View Full Version : calls for 'timely review' of property tightening measures

09-09-11, 16:52
what if govt review and implement more drastic measures? :eek:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_711113.html

Redas calls for 'timely review' of property tightening measures

The Real Estate Developers Association of Singapore (Redas) said that it hopes the government will initiate a 'timely review' of the various market tightening measures.

Redas president Wong Heang Fine said at the association's Mid Autumn Festival at Shangri-la Hotel on Friday that this will help avoid artificially suppressing genuine demand for private properties here.

He added that Redas hopes that the government will continue its pragmatic approach and moderate its land sale through the reserve list.

09-09-11, 23:22
REDAS urges govt to review property market tightening measures
By Joanne Chan | Posted: 09 September 2011

SINGAPORE: The Real Estate Developers' Association of Singapore (REDAS) has raised concerns over a potential oversupply of private homes in the near term, especially with the uncertain global outlook.

It is urging the government to review its land sales programme to ensure that new supply is introduced only when the market is confident of absorbing it.

With the possibility of demand for private homes dropping due to an economic downturn, developers are pointing to the need to rein in supply.

In the second half of this year, the government will put up for sale 17 private residential sites under the Confirmed List of the Land Sales Programme.

Including recent sites sold, an estimated 53,000 private homes will hit the market over the next few years.

To ensure a more sustainable market, REDAS wants the government to moderate its land sales by putting more sites on the Reserve List system instead of the Confirmed List.

That way, land is put up for tender only when there is sufficient interest.

REDAS president Wong Heang Fine said: "The Reserve list actually works well because all of us can actually trigger the land sales and each of us can then look at the particular site a bit more carefully.

"So the Reserve List allows some flexibility, whereas in the Confirmed List, the government would have to sell the site, irrespective of market conditions."

Group CEO of Frasers Centrepoint, Lim Ee Seng, echoed this sentiment. Mr Lim said there is "adequate" supply in the market and he does not see the need for more sites to be introduced in the near term.

For now, developers are still optimistic that demand will hold.

Kwek Leng Beng, executive chairman of City Developments, said: "I mean you put the money in the bank, you are getting very little interest. If you buy stocks and shares, volatility is so great.

"So you have (an) alternative investment asset, and I think that's good if you can diversify. But as I've emphasised, don't buy if you cannot pay."

REDAS also urged the government to review the various property cooling measures introduced so as to avoid artificially suppressing genuine demand.

While take up rates for property launches are still relatively strong, developers said market conditions could change in the next three to six months.

- CNA/cc/al
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1152072/1/.html

10-09-11, 22:32
Buyers need to form an association as well. We can then refuse to pay anything more than 10% premium from the Developers break even cost.

We can also invite KBW for tea and share with him how many voters we are representing.

11-09-11, 00:35
The clearest sign to date that developers are getting concerned! 2011 may well end on a high for ppty prices but 2012 is still a :confused:. Hmmmm...

11-09-11, 00:40
Most probably they are more concerned on how to sell their overbidded land haa haa.... :rolleyes:

linchong84
11-09-11, 00:47
he scared his bishan cannot sell at 1.5kpsf :D :D :D :D :D

11-09-11, 00:57
Looking at how crazy buyers in Singapore are, the Bishan plot should do pretty well lah!!! But how long more can such momentum persist? :confused: They better quickly launch that project before some measures get implemented or some thing happens. :D

11-09-11, 00:59
"Developers shall be punished" as promised by MBT. :rolleyes:

11-09-11, 01:04
The more they ask for

The more they will have to pay...

who ask them to be the evil one in the first place?

Take note.. they are crying for mercy before being slaughther with cheaper, better and faster BTOs.

linchong84
11-09-11, 01:11
haha interesting to read the quotes of the 3 CEOs..

Can tell crapland is very scared because its bishan site might be launching in the next couple of months..

also can tell frasers scared because its punggol 1billion site not launched yet..

cdl seems quite cool abt it.. what do they have in their land bank now? empty liao ah?

11-09-11, 02:36
Let's see how these developers will respond with great deals and bargains! Biggest winners may well be the buyers or so I thought! :D

flagship74
11-09-11, 07:47
KBW probably is worried now..all developers retreat and build housing outside sillypore:doh:

11-09-11, 08:29
For properties near mrt, there will still be buyers rushing into the showrooms like seow kao to snap up units, evident from many projects including treasure trove. Developers know that so mrt land will continue to rise in prices economic downturn or not. The only time when developers will lower prices if jobs are hit and majority of singaporeans face bread n butter issues, which I don't foresee it happening.
Let's see how these developers will respond with great deals and bargains! Biggest winners may well be the buyers or so I thought! :D

11-09-11, 09:54
I find the developers really stupid.

What are they saying????

Is the prices going to go up or down???

One hand tell buyers say price will go up so faster buy. The other hand tell URA prices will fall so don't release land. like that also can.....

11-09-11, 10:11
I thought developers are telling garment to consider lifting the CMs in anticipation of the US and Euros economy as it is likely for Singapore to go into technical recession closer to the end of the year. Otherwise, market will fall badly.

What are they saying????

One hand tell buyers say price will go up so faster buy. The other hand tell URA prices will fall so don't release land. like that also can.....

11-09-11, 10:27

What are they saying????

I think they are thinking they want sales momentum to relieve them from their cash drain of holding land at high prices. They could hoard units at those prices but it's totally unproductive use of capital.

11-09-11, 10:32
Sim Lian at ATT has already broken and make money from Friday. Local projects of large developers, CDL and Capitaland, is sure win but not overseas projects in China, Vietnam, etc..
I think they are thinking they want sales momentum to relieve them from their cash drain of holding land at high prices. They could hoard units at those prices but it's totally unproductive use of capital.

11-09-11, 10:39
Sim Lian at ATT has already broken and make money from Friday. Local projects of large developers, CDL and Capitaland, is sure win but not overseas projects in China, Vietnam, etc..

Those who bid for land at lower prices are still ok. Those who bid at high prices will be asking for review of cooling measures.

11-09-11, 10:49
It is REDAS role to wayang and speak out for the smaller developers. Big boys like FEO, CDL and Capitaland have no problem with holding.
Those who bid for land at lower prices are still ok. Those who bid at high prices will be asking for review of cooling measures.

11-09-11, 11:25
Supply > Demand = Prices drop. I think this is what lots of people have in their mind. So I think govt is trying to release more lands to increase the supply of the pte ppty, hoping that the ppty market will adjust the price by itself because govt cannot control the price of the pte ppty. But what will happen if supply is so much more than demand, then it might not be so good for the economy, don't they not afraid that it might end up like USA. :2cents: But what happen if the developers have the holding power, then the pte ppty market will still remain strong.

11-09-11, 11:51
We are not the same as US as we are smaller, etc. Garment will not allow prices to free-fall cost we will loose all our investors.
Supply > Demand = Prices drop. I think this is what lots of people have in their mind. So I think govt is trying to release more lands to increase the supply of the pte ppty, hoping that the ppty market will adjust the price by itself because govt cannot control the price of the pte ppty. But what will happen if supply is so much more than demand, then it might not be so good for the economy, don't they not afraid that it might end up like USA. :2cents: But what happen if the developers have the holding power, then the pte ppty market will still remain strong.

11-09-11, 12:11

What are they saying????

One hand tell buyers say price will go up so faster buy. The other hand tell URA prices will fall so don't release land. like that also can.....It is the agents who are telling buyers price will go up so faster buy, not the developers. It is also these same agents who are telling sellers price will come down so faster sell! Make sense? :cheers6:

11-09-11, 14:30
It is the agents who are telling buyers price will go up so faster buy, not the developers. It is also these same agents who are telling sellers price will come down so faster sell! Make sense? :cheers6:

They just want to churn. Dead market is bad business for them.

11-09-11, 16:02
cdl seems quite cool abt it.. what do they have in their land bank now? empty liao ah?

CDL might not have much in the land bank, but I believe Kwek's privately held hong leong holdings still own a sizable land bank in Singapore.

11-09-11, 18:47
I guess CDL is consolidating for the next move. Their shares are still fine even with the recent bad news from US and Euros. Should drop tomorrow. :)
CDL might not have much in the land bank, but I believe Kwek's privately held hong leong holdings still own a sizable land bank in Singapore.

12-09-11, 00:49
One of senior managers in CapitalLand has sold his own property and rents to stay. That's the equivalent for shorting the property market.
Maybe he knows something we don't ... or he is taking action on something well known.

12-09-11, 01:04
One of senior managers in CapitalLand has sold his own property and rents to stay. That's the equivalent for shorting the property market.
Maybe he knows something we don't ... or he is taking action on something well known.

if you know him just ask him directly what he's thinking, then no need to second guess.

mygeemeel
12-09-11, 01:47
He probably owns a few units and decided to sell one to buy a new Aston Martin?

12-09-11, 06:35
If what he knows prompted him to sell his own roof and start to rent, then it must either be really huge or he just simply dislike his current place and so decided to sell when time is still relatively good. It shouldn't be that big otherwise not only one senior management personnel will sell but the entire team. Again, with SSD, it complicates things! Seriously, selling one's house does not imply alot! :tsk-tsk:

12-09-11, 09:17
This is not worrysome! We have to be worried if the CEO of Capitaland is selling all his properties. :scared-3:

12-09-11, 09:45

cant be bothered about small fry

mabe lost alot of $$ at casino?owe debts? kena burnt by stocks/futures etc etc??

12-09-11, 09:57
This is not worrysome! We have to be worried if the CEO of Capitaland is selling all his properties. :scared-3:

this is NEVER happen ..

cos if it does ... its considered INSIDER trading and he can be arrested ...

so .. all except him ...who knows the truth ..can sell ...

12-09-11, 09:59
this is NEVER happen ..

we r toking about ppty trends and nobody can be 100% correct

12-09-11, 10:17
The person did sell a property but to consolidate funds and buy another in-house project.
this is NEVER happen ..

linchong84
12-09-11, 10:21
looking at the land bids in the past 3 mths and launch prices recently, we might be at peak now? Or has SL already set the market for the fall from peak?

12-09-11, 10:23
Public sentiment is not on the side of the developers. I highly doubt KBW would change the CM this year. To quote LKY, "this is not politically digestible".:)

12-09-11, 10:25
SL just want to consolidate their funds and prepare for the next round of land sales. Do not think they have so much reserve in their land bank.
looking at the land bids in the past 3 mths and launch prices recently, we might be at peak now? Or has SL already set the market for the fall from peak?

12-09-11, 10:27

ATT priced reasonably la

cannot say its underpriced la

no matter wat, punggol is still punggol and 900psf is quite fair

dun tok about overpriced manhattan and lets use double bay.....doing about 900psf also and i tink simei got more rental demand den punggol

12-09-11, 10:29
Public sentiment is not on the side of the developers. I highly doubt KBW would change the CM this year. To quote LKY, "this is not politically digestible".:)

kbw high chance will reduce the number of land sites under confirmed list for next yr due to global market turmoil.....for 2H 2011, it will remain unchanged

12-09-11, 10:48
KBW has to do something to response to the pleads made by REDAS.
kbw high chance will reduce the number of land sites under confirmed list for next yr due to global market turmoil.....for 2H 2011, it will remain unchanged

12-09-11, 10:55
ATT priced reasonably la

dun tok about overpriced manhattan and lets use double bay.....doing about 900psf also and i tink simei got more rental demand den punggol

Agreed. Just because sengkang sells at a ludicrous price of over $1k doesn't mean everybody must accept $1k as the benchmark. Maybe things would be different 3 years down the road where people will happily buy at $1k psf on the resale market. But I think ATT isn't a bargain basement deal to begin with.

12-09-11, 10:57
KBW has to do something to response to the pleads made by REDAS.

I think at the moment KBW doesn't have to do squat. He needs to address public housing concerns first and that will take months if not years to quell.

12-09-11, 11:15
One of the setback of this development is the small pools in front of each blocks which makes it rather cramp between blocks. This seems to be the trend and residents of all the blocks will be happy with pool view. Look at Eu Habitat.
Agreed. Just because sengkang sells at a ludicrous price of over $1k doesn't mean everybody must accept $1k as the benchmark. Maybe things would be different 3 years down the road where people will happily buy at $1k psf on the resale market. But I think ATT isn't a bargain basement deal to begin with.

flagship74
12-09-11, 11:19

Maybe he kiam ah long lui leh?:D

12-09-11, 11:19
People look like they're accepting it. I remember commenting how close the blocks were for kovan residences. But now, it's fast becoming a norm.

12-09-11, 11:22
Yes agree...he can't reduce what's been announced.
Prices overheat again sure kena whack.
Can't be seen to U-turn on policy...if anything they want prices to moderate but trouble is it's not totally in their control.

Developers have to take the first hit before policy makers can come in to support.

linchong84
12-09-11, 11:22
ATT priced reasonably la

Don't agree.. reasonableness depend on what's the market price that people willing to pay.. the fact that many people are willing to pay a lot for D19 non-MRT projects such as H2O and terrasse shows that 'reasonable price' has increased.. i'm talking about market reasonable price and not individual reasonable price..

12-09-11, 11:35
Just like MM units. So small but people buy it because of lower quantum and good rental returns for now.
People look like they're accepting it. I remember commenting how close the blocks were for kovan residences. But now, it's fast becoming a norm.

12-09-11, 14:30
One of the setback of this development is the small pools in front of each blocks which makes it rather cramp between blocks. This seems to be the trend and residents of all the blocks will be happy with pool view. Look at Eu Habitat.

ATT pool view ok for low floors, mid to high floors only staring at opposite blks. Need to walk out to the balcony & peep down for pool view. If any unit has quarrel with spouse, all ur neighbours will be standing at the balcony for live telecast.

12-09-11, 14:35
One may get to see alot of international colour flags at the balcony.
ATT pool view ok for low floors, mid to high floors only staring at opposite blks. Need to walk out to the balcony & peep down for pool view. If any unit has quarrel with spouse, all ur neighbours will be standing at the balcony for live telecast.

12-09-11, 14:58
One may get to see alot of international colour flags at the balcony.

ATT got yard & balcony at kitchen, think 2 bd got drying ledge. Unless ur neighbour trying to seduce u. :D

12-09-11, 15:38
wah... this one shiok... everyday can watch drama from your balcony... live somemore... cool...