View Full Version : In today mkt...1mil property how much to offer

04-10-11, 23:10
800k....will kena scolding....:scared-3:...just asking so when i start viewing i am prepared....anyway will not be going in at least 6mths unless i c something me and my better half...absolutely love....:D

04-10-11, 23:14
800k....will kena scolding....:scared-3:...just asking so when i start viewing i am prepared....anyway will not be going in at least 6mths unless i c something me and my better half...absolutely love....:D

My property is $1mil (my asking price), you can offer $800k and I guarantee I wont scold you if you really intend to buy. By the way I bought it under $600k...

smallant
04-10-11, 23:18
Really ah.. But will u sell ? Assuming last done is 980k ? haha Valuation is 950k ?

04-10-11, 23:23
Really ah.. But will u sell ? Assuming last done is 980k ? haha Valuation is 950k ?

Offer $850k and close at $880k. Walk away if this price not reached. Come back in half a year's time and maybe even $800k also a done deal! :D :D :D

04-10-11, 23:23
I'm a serious seller. Really :doh:

You only offer to pay what you think it is worth. It is an art actually, just like buying art. Don't trust my asking price. I was just asking.

05-10-11, 00:05
Y even bother if the asking px is way above ur expectation?:p

sfwoo
05-10-11, 00:08
Recently heard one asking $2.28 ml. Offered $1.98 mil. Accepted.
Buyers market.

05-10-11, 00:11
Recently heard one asking $2.28 ml. Offered $1.98 mil. Accepted.
Buyers market.
Wats the project? Or isit landed?:D

05-10-11, 00:29
What was the last transaction for the neighborhood?

05-10-11, 00:29

bro i know u waiting for landed me too...but at todays price...nia:D

sfwoo
05-10-11, 00:30
Cluster house.

05-10-11, 00:30
My property is $1mil (my asking price), you can offer $800k and I guarantee I wont scold you if you really intend to buy. By the way I bought it under $600k...

he he sounds familiar...:D

05-10-11, 00:31
bro i know u waiting for landed me too...but at todays price...nia:D

Landed is at insane levels. How many people can carry a $2mio loan on their landed?

05-10-11, 00:38
Landed is at insane levels. How many people can carry a $2mio loan on their landed?

yup its madness 5k a month on your mortgage...for a normal working joe thats suicide man....and 2 mil would probably get ua crappy piece of landed to start off with...:(

05-10-11, 00:42
yup its madness 5k a month on your mortgage...for a normal working joe thats suicide man....and 2 mil would probably get ua crappy piece of landed to start off with...:(
U rented a landed in frankel rite? Rental 3.8k? How much the landed worth?

05-10-11, 00:42
actually i realize one thing the sellers agent can be ur best ally and partner in crime basically if the seller trusts his agent he can do wonders for you but of course he needs to be rewarded....:spliff:....red packet by buyer...:D...u scratch my back i scratch urs...win win...sama sama...:)

05-10-11, 00:45
U rented a landed in frankel rite? Rental 3.8k? How much the landed worth?

3.5kbro....land worth 4 mil....4000sq feet land buit up 2000sq ft single storey original condition but very very decent and liveable otherwise my co will reject....:D.....agent was asking 4k...ka ka offer 3.5k...he bite...so onzz...:D

actually i realize one thing the sellers agent can be ur best ally and partner in crime basically if the seller trusts his agent he can do wonders for you but of course he needs to be rewarded....:spliff:....red packet by buyer...:D...u scratch my back i scratch urs...win win...sama sama...:)
Some Folks here vy high moral standard one hor:D

Cluster house.

Which cluster project is this? I don't think there are any resale cluster worth more than $2mio except hillcrest villa.

05-10-11, 00:48
3.5kbro....land worth 4 mil....4000sq feet land buit up 2000sq ft single storey original condition but very very decent and liveable otherwise my co will reject....:D.....agent was asking 4k...ka ka offer 3.5k...he bite...so onzz...:D
Wow....gross rental yield for the landlord merely 1% wor....jus enuff to cover interest....haha

Best deal for u:cheers6:

Ur hdb rental yield more den 5% rite? Hehehehe

05-10-11, 00:48

Yes $2mio buys a lousy terrace house. So a high income earner only can afford a lousy terrace??

05-10-11, 00:50
Some Folks here vy high moral standard one hor:D

bro one thing i learnt this world dog eat dog especially when come to property buying selling an dealing with agents...so u want it play the game end of day u happy agent happy...seller...:scared-3:...ha ha just like stock market someone got to win someone got to loose....:D

05-10-11, 00:53
Wow....gross rental yield for the landlord merely 1% wor....jus enuff to cover interest....haha

Best deal for u:cheers6:

Ur hdb rental yield more den 5% rite? Hehehehe

every month top up about 1.2k thats why i dare to rent for 3.5k anyway rental only for a year within that period hope can get good buy otherwise go back hdb and live happily ever after....:D

05-10-11, 00:54
Yes $2mio buys a lousy terrace house. So a high income earner only can afford a lousy terrace??

well maybe when it all comes tumbling down 2 mil might get u a semi d...but honestly i doubt so....:scared-3:

05-10-11, 00:56
Which cluster project is this? I don't think there are any resale cluster worth more than $2mio except hillcrest villa.

dmanor at tanah merah....:rolleyes:

05-10-11, 01:00
dmanor at tanah merah....:rolleyes:

That's definitely not worth more than $2mio, even for the corners.

05-10-11, 04:13

bro one thing i learnt this world dog eat dog especially when come to property buying selling an dealing with agents...so u want it play the game end of day u happy agent happy...seller...:scared-3:...ha ha just like stock market someone got to win someone got to loose....:D

Be careful when feeding wild dogs, they may bite you one day.

05-10-11, 06:29

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/30/man-killed-by-pack-of-dogs_n_842839.html

Larry Armstrong, New Mexico Man, Killed By Pack Of Dogs

sfwoo
05-10-11, 06:44
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/30/man-killed-by-pack-of-dogs_n_842839.html

Larry Armstrong, New Mexico Man, Killed By Pack Of Dogs
Indonesia also got another dogs eat man case.
The man went away for months. Did not arrange for dogs to be fed. When he returned, the starving dogs ate him.

Back to thread, looks like buyers can offer 15% less than asking.

If wait some more, maybe more.

Cluster houses asking above $2mil I have seen 2, in west and south west.

05-10-11, 07:02
Do not pay more than $550k for your terrace house. Especially if its located at Macpherson Gardens Estate. :D :D :D

05-10-11, 07:15
Do not pay more than $550k for your terrace house. Especially if its located at Macpherson Gardens Estate. :D :D :D
How about this at Geylang Lor 3, Even better, DO NOT pay more than $200k for this terrace: :D

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/4998749/for-sale-2-sty-terrace-lorong-3-geylang-kallang-bo

05-10-11, 07:46
How about this at Geylang Lor 3, Even better, DO NOT pay more than $200k for this terrace: :D

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/4998749/for-sale-2-sty-terrace-lorong-3-geylang-kallang-boWith 9 years left, you need to rent at $2500/mth just to break even. Must rent way above $2500/mth just to make it a sensible investment purchase. How possible? :doh:

05-10-11, 07:59
every month top up about 1.2k thats why i dare to rent for 3.5k anyway rental only for a year within that period hope can get good buy otherwise go back hdb and live happily ever after....:D
bro, good house for staying usually dont appear during downturn but good buy for investing do appear. btw hdb climbed up again;

05-10-11, 08:12
That's definitely not worth more than $2mio, even for the corners.

but the name sounds like its BIG time ha ha...:D

05-10-11, 08:14

ha ha thats why u must feed them PREMIUM quality dog food not chicken bones i got 2 real dogs thats why i know....:D:D:D

05-10-11, 08:16

that one literally can buy for your children below 10 years old after that must sell cos too small...:D:D:D

05-10-11, 08:30
ha ha thats why u must feed them PREMIUM quality dog food not chicken bones i got 2 real dogs thats why i know....:D:D:D
Feed doggy with homecooked premium salmon meat bestest! Gd for their skin:D :p

05-10-11, 09:46
You guys should make use of this opportunity to park into D9,D10,D11 or D15 properties. Do not any-o-how invest just because it appears cheap.

Golden Era of the Mega Lions ( 2012 -2015 )

The characteristic of this Era:

1) Death of the old western capitalist system.

2) Bridge formed for the middle class to the wealthy class.

3) Arbitrage opportunity as demise of the old western capitalist system usher in the new eastern financial system.

4) High inflation in asset class.

5) Zero growth in the west but global growth continues in the east.

6) Continual birth of the new eastern millionaires.

7) Lion City under the radar screen of major funds around the world as the gateways to the eastern growth is identified in 2012.

8) Final realisation that indeed decoupling has happened.

9) The ground work is laid for Mega Super Lion Boom in 2014.

关云神龙股侠。

05-10-11, 09:51
You guys should make use of this opportunity to park into D9,D10,D11 or D15 properties. Do not any-o-how invest just because it appears cheap.

Golden Era of the Mega Lions ( 2012 -2015 )

The characteristic of this Era:

1) Death of the old western capitalist system.

2) Bridge formed for the middle class to the wealthy class.

3) Arbitrage opportunity as demise of the old western capitalist system usher in the new eastern financial system.

4) High inflation in asset class.

5) Zero growth in the west but global growth continues in the east.

6) Continual birth of the new eastern millionaires.

7) Lion City under the radar screen of major funds around the world as the gateways to the eastern growth is identified in 2012.

8) Final realisation that indeed decoupling has happened.

9) The ground work is laid for Mega Super Lion Boom in 2014.

关云神龙股侠。
can list down some good buy? within reasonable price? say <1.3mil???

smallant
05-10-11, 09:58
I seeing a lot of liquidity around... Couples hunting for hse to rent ! All waiting for property prices to collapse...
But after 3 govt measures.... SSD,,, LTV etc... those holding... can still tahan I guess short of a complete collapse in the world order..
So guess advice is if you see a nice durian dropping.. better hop it fast... :D

05-10-11, 10:00

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/4998749/for-sale-2-sty-terrace-lorong-3-geylang-kallang-bo

months ago, its was only for 170k.
check with the agent, and told me 140-150k owner may sell.

280k, no loan allowed. might as well try ur luck at stocks with 280k.
better luck, faster returns

05-10-11, 10:04

9 more years of lease

05-10-11, 10:37
With 9 years left, you need to rent at $2500/mth just to break even. Must rent way above $2500/mth just to make it a sensible investment purchase. How possible? :doh: Yup, this one is not firesales, just to highlight in terms of quantum still can find low in Geylang. Wonder what happens when lease run out..., have to vacate or can top up lease..

mayb need to check URA Master Plan ...:2cents:

05-10-11, 11:53
I seeing a lot of liquidity around... Couples hunting for hse to rent ! All waiting for property prices to collapse...
But after 3 govt measures.... SSD,,, LTV etc... those holding... can still tahan I guess short of a complete collapse in the world order..
So guess advice is if you see a nice durian dropping.. better hop it fast... :D
if so many durian drops, better chose a good one. so there is any potential good durian in D9/10/15 with OCR price? :D :D

05-10-11, 13:45
if so many durian drops, better chose a good one. so there is any potential good durian in D9/10/15 with OCR price? :D :DBy then OCR prices also drop to EC prices... everybody rushing to buy liao. Cannot afford Mao Shan Wan, just go for D24. LOL! :spliff:

05-10-11, 14:57

Tell me about it!
Pathetic, right?

After i committed to buying an inter terrace for about that amount, I realized that it is like living in a 3 room hdb flat on a ground floor cos I will be sandwiched by neighbours.

If want corner terrace have to pay $200k more which IMHO is not worth it.
All my life I have not stayed in a place sandwiched by neighbours..... dunno what's it is gonna be like.

What to do.....my other half wants a freehold land, so being his other half, in order to make him happy, since i can't buy it for him, i agree to buy it with him.

05-10-11, 15:18

This Lor 3 pay only $50k-$70k. The lease is running out soon! :D :D :D

05-10-11, 17:32
This Lor 3 pay only $50k-$70k. The lease is running out soon! :D :D :DSure, if can get that price, turn it into short-time lodging..., maybe half year can recoup ?:D

05-10-11, 18:40

From ura website

LANDED HOUSING DEVELOPMENT LORONG 3 GEYLANGTerrace House
$174,000 853 sq ft Aug-11
$172,000 853 sq ft Jul-11
$100,000 853 sq ft Jul-11

05-10-11, 20:12
Tell me about it!
Pathetic, right?

After i committed to buying an inter terrace for about that amount, I realized that it is like living in a 3 room hdb flat on a ground floor cos I will be sandwiched by neighbours.

If want corner terrace have to pay $200k more which IMHO is not worth it.
All my life I have not stayed in a place sandwiched by neighbours..... dunno what's it is gonna be like.

What to do.....my other half wants a freehold land, so being his other half, in order to make him happy, since i can't buy it for him, i agree to buy it with him.

Yes, I'm prone to mosquito bites, so it would be unwise of me to buy a terrace to be a feast for the mosquito colony.

05-10-11, 20:14
wow... 5 pages in less than 24 hours. Things are hotting up again.....:D

05-10-11, 20:18

Hotting up with bidders trying their success with a low bid.

05-10-11, 20:21
5 pages of vultures circling above wounded prey, waiting for it to drop.... :)

question is, whether there is more vultures than prey.....:(

cl0ver
05-10-11, 20:24
more like ahpeks look see look see only.

05-10-11, 20:35
5 pages of vultures circling above wounded prey, waiting for it to drop.... :)

question is, whether there is more vultures than prey.....:(

All circling around hoping for the prey to get more skinny and weak.

sfwoo
05-10-11, 21:06
All circling around hoping for the prey to get more skinny and weak.

HAHAHA!
Like that property prices how to drop?
So many people looking to buy.

05-10-11, 21:12
HAHAHA!
Like that property prices how to drop?
So many people looking to buy.

can, the vulture with the fastest finger wins, in the meantime, due to a lack of nourishment, there's a chance that the prey may go weak. that's hope.

art10626
05-10-11, 21:15
dun say, i think only certain sectors of the society are bearish... seems that all the stock crashes have really little impact on the larger public here...

Had a call from agent... explaining sentiment doesn't matter to property market... price surely rise further due to strong demand, see population still increasing in Singapore! Asking price high high never mind, grab now before miss the train again!

05-10-11, 21:20
dun say, i think only certain sectors of the society are bearish... seems that all the stock crashes have really little impact on the larger public here...

Had a call from agent... explaining sentiment doesn't matter to property market... price surely rise further due to strong demand, see population still increasing in Singapore! Asking price high high never mind, grab now before miss the train again!

Agent again..... :doh:

05-10-11, 21:26
sentiment counts for everything, it's the reason why markets can be overbought and oversold.

art10626
05-10-11, 21:32
do we hear anything close to a firesale so far? (so far only 1 case mentioned in this thread)

see restaruants still long queue, cars still sell well, orchard road shopping like with super spending power... makes me really wonder am i living in a different world....

guess nothing is going to hit home until we see retrenchment in the non-banking sector here.

05-10-11, 21:36
do we hear anything close to a firesale so far? (so far only 1 case mentioned in this thread)

see restaruants still long queue, cars still sell well, orchard road shopping like with super spending power... makes me really wonder am i living in a different world....

guess nothing is going to hit home until we see retrenchment in the non-banking sector here.

good food will always see a queue, good times, queue will be twice as long. cars selling well? doubt that, a few dealership are lamenting slow sales. but shopping will always be good unless we have a epidemic, touchwood.

art10626
05-10-11, 21:50

did manage to make me feel embarrassed to start negotiation with a 8% discount...

05-10-11, 21:53
did manage to make me feel embarrassed to start negotiation with a 8% discount...

so you inked the deal at 5% discount out of guilt? :cheers1:

art10626
05-10-11, 21:58
wah lao, STI lost so much already can't believe zero impact on property... so give myself a few more months lor...

05-10-11, 22:09
wah lao, STI lost so much already can't believe zero impact on property... so give myself a few more months lor...Its coming.... :spliff:

05-10-11, 22:48

I would have gone for the jugular straight-off with a 30% discount. No deal? Nevermind, come back 6 months later lor.... when the seller is in more of a mood to compromise :D

05-10-11, 23:00
I would have gone for the jugular straight-off with a 30% discount. No deal? Nevermind, come back 6 months later lor.... when the seller is in more of a mood to compromise :D

And folks, I kid you not. At least in Geylang, the prices of these pte apts and condos have shot through the roof. Take a poorly maintained pte apt chokeful of china prc tenants, every single unit of them. Ok lah, might as well name the place. Crystal Lodge at lorong 16. It was only transacting about $410k to $450k back in 2008/09.

Fast forward to today, no change or improvement to the said location, poor maintenance, all lowly paid tonnes of FT prc tenants.... and one silly joker willing paid about $835k for a 3 bedder there just last month :banghead: :banghead: :D

Even if you deduct 30% off the latest paid price, all the earlier owners still make easily a cool $150k to $180k if they sell around $560k to $580k (plus all these years of rental yields) :cool: :cool: :tongue3:

cl0ver
06-10-11, 07:54
Its coming.... :spliff:

only comes when interest rates goes up.....

06-10-11, 09:46
only comes when interest rates goes up.....Interest rates going up coming soon! :D

06-10-11, 10:03
Interest rates going up coming soon! :D

Interbank lending rate, no. Margins over cost of funds, perhaps.

06-10-11, 10:16
sibor rates how to raise?? not in near future lor

but bank's spread oredi started to increase....but theres a limit.....normally spread is 1-1.5%

06-10-11, 10:35

the best agents i know are in the choa chu kang lim chu kang are....rip...:)

06-10-11, 10:37
Its coming.... :spliff:

for those that dont understand english....

akan datang....:D:D:D

06-10-11, 10:39
And folks, I kid you not. At least in Geylang, the prices of these pte apts and condos have shot through the roof. Take a poorly maintained pte apt chokeful of china prc tenants, every single unit of them. Ok lah, might as well name the place. Crystal Lodge at lorong 16. It was only transacting about $410k to $450k back in 2008/09.

Fast forward to today, no change or improvement to the said location, poor maintenance, all lowly paid tonnes of FT prc tenants.... and one silly joker willing paid about $835k for a 3 bedder there just last month :banghead: :banghead: :D

Even if you deduct 30% off the latest paid price, all the earlier owners still make easily a cool $150k to $180k if they sell around $560k to $580k (plus all these years of rental yields) :cool: :cool: :tongue3:

thats because when u buy geylang property u think with ur Small head...:D:D:D...

06-10-11, 10:42

easy peasy these kind of threads just start talk kok about something that everybody like to talk about....very soon many pages...most of thread i start like that...somehow talking in forum more interesting than talking face to face...ha ha:)

06-10-11, 11:14
well, i've morons trying their luck by offering 800-900psf for my FH unit in D15 (just 5min walk to PP).

my thought is - doesn't even cover my replacement cost so please don't bother me with your pathetic cheque.

06-10-11, 11:17
I am only prepare to pay 1100psf for Mt Sinai area... I am waiting for a mega correction. Meanwhile I will work extremely hard to save enough for the right moment.

06-10-11, 13:52
well, i've morons trying their luck by offering 800-900psf for my FH unit in D15 (just 5min walk to PP).

my thought is - doesn't even cover my replacement cost so please don't bother me with your pathetic cheque.

you got a gem...dont SELL....:cool:

06-10-11, 22:09

Huh? I thought you should call the people who buy from you at your asking price 'MORONS' and call the people who try to buy from you at a discount the "SMART INVESTORS". :p

You mean you will pay people their asking price everytime ?

Dont think it's nice to call someone a moron just because you are trying to sell at your asking price and people are just low-balling you.

06-10-11, 22:17
you got a gem...dont SELL....:cool:Gem for homestay don't sell but gem for investment will be more a gem when sold to make huge profits! Rental yields are slow and unpredictable! :D

06-10-11, 22:20
Gem for homestay don't sell but gem for investment will be more a gem when sold to make huge profits! Rental yields are slow and unpredictable! :D

gems are like diamonds.. no value after discovery and yet have to spent money to polish it up. Need a license to mine them. Can only profit if a buyer buys them.

07-10-11, 02:19
Huh? I thought you should call the people who buy from you at your asking price 'MORONS' and call the people who try to buy from you at a discount the "SMART INVESTORS". :p

You mean you will pay people their asking price everytime ?

Dont think it's nice to call someone a moron just because you are trying to sell at your asking price and people are just low-balling you.

well, if low balling is smart then why don't every 'smart' investor put up offers that are reminisent of the 1970s? your definition of being 'smart' is akin to walking into Tiffany's and telling them their stuff should be priced at Taka jewellery's level

morons are those that don't do their homework and think every house on the block is up for firesale. if you are offering me an amount that's way below my replacement costs, it's a waste of your time and mine.

07-10-11, 06:16
well, if low balling is smart then why don't every 'smart' investor put up offers that are reminisent of the 1970s? your definition of being 'smart' is akin to walking into Tiffany's and telling them their stuff should be priced at Taka jewellery's level

morons are those that don't do their homework and think every house on the block is up for firesale. if you are offering me an amount that's way below my replacement costs, it's a waste of your time and mine.

Hey... don't ask, don't know mah...

This is a free market, the potential buyer offers what he thinks its worth. Why is it moronic? If its not what you expect than don't sell. Why should a buyer consider about your replacement cost?

Homework? Market rate is only perception based previous transactions not necessarily future transactions. Your view seems to suggest that they should only stay flat or go up, it can very well go down if market forces determine so.

I assure you the potential buyer is not wasting his time. Your time may be wasted though but that is something you have to contend with when you try to sell your property.

07-10-11, 08:40
Gem for homestay don't sell but gem for investment will be more a gem when sold to make huge profits! Rental yields are slow and unpredictable! :D

gem is a 3 letter word another 3 letter word is mrt...when mrt comes up near parkway parade......;)

07-10-11, 09:05

i assume u sell thru agent?

tell ur agent no xx px pls dun bother u lah:D

07-10-11, 10:13
i assume u sell thru agent?

tell ur agent no xx px pls dun bother u lah:D

my agent was suave, didn't bother me with the kacang putehs on the table. just gave me a routine update that made me laugh

07-10-11, 10:19
Hey... don't ask, don't know mah...

This is a free market, the potential buyer offers what he thinks its worth. Why is it moronic? If its not what you expect than don't sell. Why should a buyer consider about your replacement cost?

Homework? Market rate is only perception based previous transactions not necessarily future transactions. Your view seems to suggest that they should only stay flat or go up, it can very well go down if market forces determine so.

I assure you the potential buyer is not wasting his time. Your time may be wasted though but that is something you have to contend with when you try to sell your property.

are you deaf or daft? why should i sell below market value if i'm not in dire need to let go of the unit? as you said, free market = willing buyer, willing seller. it's moronic if one can't see beyond the fact that a buyer must offer a proposition that's enticing enough for the seller to bite.

if you can't afford a tiffany's, don't walk into the store and treat it like taka jewellery.

07-10-11, 10:29
personally i will not try low balling too.....if asking px far exceeded my expectation, i will just walk away and look for other ppty lor....there r so many ppty for sale rite?

and if u want more den 10% below current market px, shd just monitor the market and wait for their asking px to drop first den try nego 5-10% from the asking px:2cents: :D

07-10-11, 10:39
You may think your property is like a tiffany in jewelery terms but the person who gave you a lower offer might just be seeing your property as taka grade, hence taka pricing. He is being smart to offer you low, only a true moron would buy at higher than market price or even market price in this property peak.

(Btw tiffany is about the only jewelers to laser inscribe their serial numbers on the crown instead of the girdle of the diamond, really stupid thing to do as it affects the value of the precious stone. They of all jewelers should know better)
are you deaf or daft? why should i sell below market value if i'm not in dire need to let go of the unit? as you said, free market = willing buyer, willing seller. it's moronic if one can't see beyond the fact that a buyer must offer a proposition that's enticing enough for the seller to bite.

if you can't afford a tiffany's, don't walk into the store and treat it like taka jewellery.

07-10-11, 10:43
You may think your property is like a tiffany in jewelery terms but the person who gave you a lower offer might just be seeing your property as taka grade, hence taka pricing. He is being smart to offer you low, only a true moron would buy at higher than market price or even market price in this property peak.

i am getting confused here.....my standard of low balling is at least 20% off market valuation

personally dislike low ballers.....

for eg.try selling ur car/hse next time on ur own without agents....u will understand.....

bullman
07-10-11, 10:59
i am getting confused here.....my standard of low balling is at least 20% off market valuation

for eg.try selling ur car/hse next time on ur own without agents....u will understand.....

I never sell any units by myself after some bad experiences. Let the agents do the grunt work which often gets dirty. IMO, the 1-2% is well spent here.

However, rental is a totally different ball game and I prefer a more hands-on approach.

07-10-11, 11:02
I never sell any units by myself after some bad experiences. Let the agents do the grunt work which often gets dirty. IMO, the 1-2% is well spent here.

However, rental is a totally different ball game and I prefer a more hands-on approach.

after some bad experience rite....meaning u did tried selling on ur own before rite?:p

ya lor...i did tried b4 too...and i HATE LOW BALLERS:tongue3:

and sama sama....1-2% is $$ well spent and rental i also kapo abit.....still let agts handle but i try to be there during viewing...:D

bullman
07-10-11, 11:05

Take it easy bro. Hold on to your PSB for a while longer. The story there is just beginning to unfold with 112 Katong, ERL and the upcoming launches by CapLand and FEO.

In my dream, $2000 psf is definitely possible in the near future of 2-3 years. Why do you think that low ball offers are beginning to flow in?

sfwoo
07-10-11, 11:06

Yeah lor...sell house sell car by self will end up vomiting blood.

10-20% is fine by my standards. i'm getting offers 40-50% below market price. that's moronic

hypothetically, if past transacted price for similar property is $800k, valuation is $750k and a guy comes along and offers you $720k, I don't think that is low balling. Yes, I agree that 20% below value is a bit too much

07-10-11, 11:14

(Btw tiffany is about the only jewelers to laser inscribe their serial numbers on the crown instead of the girdle of the diamond, really stupid thing to do as it affects the value of the precious stone. They of all jewelers should know better)

i would call someone who's buying at higher than market price a carrot head. i go with devilplate on this, if you can't afford, don't try. if the buyer is pursuing the seller, then the assessment of value lies with the seller. if the seller is pursuing the buyer, it's reversed.

btw, it's a brand premium that people are willing to pay for a tiffany's, not where the inscription is done.

bullman
07-10-11, 11:17
after some bad experience rite....meaning u did tried selling on ur own before rite?:p

and sama sama....1-2% is $$ well spent and rental i also kapo abit.....still let agts handle but i try to be there during viewing...:D

Yes I tried selling twice by myself before and absolutely loathe the experience. The bargaining over the $10-20 psf reminds me of a wet market.

For rental, I hired an admin to handle my units and also compile the profiles of the potential tenants for screening.

07-10-11, 11:22
Yes I tried selling twice by myself before and absolutely loathe the experience. The bargaining over the $10-20 psf reminds me of a wet market.

For rental, I hired an admin to handle my units and also compile the profiles of the potential tenants for screening.

agts told me they vomit blood by selling HDB too.....haggering over $100-500....den ended up sometimes they make up the difference from their comm to close the deal....LOL

smtimes humans like to hagger la....i also hagger over comm.....especially on the 7% GST.....i am sure many of us do tat rite....hehehehe:ashamed1: :D

can tell u have many units on hand.....nid an admin:cool: :cheers6:

bullman
07-10-11, 11:37
agts told me they vomit blood by selling HDB too.....haggering over $100-500....den ended up sometimes they make up the difference from their comm to close the deal....LOL

smtimes humans like to hagger la....i also hagger over comm.....especially on the 7% GST.....i am sure many of us do tat rite....hehehehe:ashamed1: :D

can tell u have many units on hand.....nid an admin:cool: :cheers6:

The profile of HDB buyers are slightly different I guess and yes, the 7% GST irks me too.

I guess you have quite a few as well, so you should know that once you hit a certain threshold of units, its easier to get someone to perform mundane chores like chasing of rental, coordination of move -in, out etc.. One should not sweat the small details and lose focus of spotting and accumulating on more good value units in the market.

sfwoo
07-10-11, 11:38
10-20% is fine by my standards. i'm getting offers 40-50% below market price. that's moronic

40-50% below market value, talk to them also waste saliva.

07-10-11, 11:55
These buyers are not sincere when they offer 40-50% below market value. Do not waste time with them. Came across an angmo husband and singaporean wife who claim that they are willing to offer close to my offer price. Hence, allow them to view the unit and they even took picture of my unit becos I have done up the planter and bay windows. Came back with an offer 35% less than the offer price and this is during the heating up period last year. :doh:
40-50% below market value, talk to them also waste saliva.

07-10-11, 12:12
These buyers are not sincere when they offer 40-50% below market value. Do not waste time with them. Came across an angmo husband and singaporean wife who claim that they are willing to offer close to my offer price. Hence, allow them to view the unit and they even took picture of my unit becos I have done up the planter and bay windows. Came back with an offer 35% less than the offer price and this is during the heating up period last year. :doh:

so what happened in the end? did they walk away?

07-10-11, 12:50

Who's asking you to sell?:confused:

The buyer does not know your financial circumstances, he couldn't care less. Maybe you are in dire straits maybe you are not.... who knows. Maybe he is sincere maybe he isn't, so what. If you put up your property for sale this is what you have to put up with.

No point calling people moronic, daft, deaf...whatever. You have the right not to sell and he has the right to offer, as ridiculously as it seems to you.

ahkongkid
07-10-11, 13:01
Who's asking you to sell?:confused:

The buyer does not know your financial circumstances, he couldn't care less. Maybe you are in dire straits maybe you are not.... who knows. Maybe he is sincere maybe he isn't, so what. If you put up your property for sale this is what you have to put up with.

No point calling people moronic, daft, deaf...whatever. You have the right not to sell and he has the right to offer, as ridiculously as it seems to you.

Agreed. You are bound to have lowballers no matter what you are selling, be it watches, cars etc. Just reject and move on to the next offer. No need to get so worked up over lowballers :D

07-10-11, 13:03
I love drama. It goes well with my lunch. Keep it up.

07-10-11, 13:37

u sell the unit yourself or thru agent? if thru agent..F the agent, the agent should f the couple off for offering 35% below the value...some angmo are cheapskate if they are not subsidied by company....

like u go in PML and ask the salesman 35% off the 5 series I want...Kiam Gan!!

07-10-11, 13:40
:hell-hath-no-fury: :cool:

07-10-11, 14:26
my agent was suave, didn't bother me with the kacang putehs on the table. just gave me a routine update that made me laugh

look on the bright side at least u had a good LAUGH....:D:D:D....nowadays everything so gloomy not easy to LAUGH....:D:D:D

07-10-11, 14:32

when i sold my property i agree to 1% commision to my agent but after he closed deal and came to me with commision form payable to his company i put 2%...;)....cos he got me a price way above my expectation....he was stunned....ask me u sure..i said YES i make u make....he worked very hard to market my property...and i appreciate his hard work...bottomline...have a big heart money easy come easy go.....once u start counting every:2cents::2cents:.....life is meaningless....:cheers1:

07-10-11, 14:35

chill bro one night i rushed back cos agent say buyer coming to make an offer buyer came with wife it was their 3rd viewing everything was tense.....then wife walked to my kitchen stood there and said she likes to spend lot of time in kitchen but my kitchen feels hot in the night..WTF...:mad:...its part and parcel bro just hang on a lot of idiots will sniff u out and try their luck in this kinda market....:)

07-10-11, 14:36
when i sold my property i agree to 1% commision to my agent but after he closed deal and came to me with commision form payable to his company i put 2%...;)....cos he got me a price way above my expectation....he was stunned....ask me u sure..i said YES i make u make....he worked very hard to market my property...and i appreciate his hard work...bottomline...have a big heart money easy come easy go.....once u start counting every:2cents::2cents:.....life is meaningless....:cheers1:

I tot it would be better if you give him the 1% as planned, then the other 1% you give him as ang pow? Otherwise you give him 2% to the company then company "tan tio".
Anyway you must be very pleased with the transaction.

07-10-11, 14:38

stay tuned there be more drama in next few months,....:D:D:D

07-10-11, 14:41
chill bro one night i rushed back cos agent say buyer coming to make an offer buyer came with wife it was their 3rd viewing everything was tense.....then wife walked to my kitchen stood there and said she likes to spend lot of time in kitchen but my kitchen feels hot in the night..WTF...:mad:...its part and parcel bro just hang on a lot of idiots will sniff u out and try their luck in this kinda market....:)

omg........that's one of the lamest reasons i've heard. she isn't planning to sleep on the stove or in the kitchen at night eh???

07-10-11, 14:43
I tot it would be better if you give him the 1% as planned, then the other 1% you give him as ang pow? Otherwise you give him 2% to the company then company "tan tio".
Anyway you must be very pleased with the transaction.

i did offer but i appreciate his INTEGRITY....he said he works for his company and whatever payments will be paid to his company...ironically after that when i closed rental with another agent for my landed property which i am renting for a year the agent said NO need for tenants commision...the landlord will pay him his dues....i gues what goes round comes around....:)....for the record my selling agent was a staunch muslim and my rental agent a staunch christian....ha ha how religion is linked to our property market....:D:D:D...GOD bless...;)

07-10-11, 14:45
omg........that's one of the lamest reasons i've heard. she isn't planning to sleep on the stove or in the kitchen at night eh???

like i said this market u got to expect a lot of crap...next day the same couple called my agent to offer 15% below asking...i politely told my agent to ask them take a trip to that BIG open field in SENGKANG.......

AND FLY KITES.......:D:D:D:D:D:D

novel
07-10-11, 15:12

haha..I encountered such ppl... go view ppl's unit the agent already told us that the buyer intend to sell at 1050psf for a 1289sft unit but he keep telling the agent I give you $1.15mil cheque you go tell the buyer to take it.... :rolleyes:

07-10-11, 15:19
The agt is a chiobu? Guy leh....hehehehe

U so generous man....make more donation:spliff:

07-10-11, 15:26
i did offer but i appreciate his INTEGRITY....he said he works for his company and whatever payments will be paid to his company...ironically after that when i closed rental with another agent for my landed property which i am renting for a year the agent said NO need for tenants commision...the landlord will pay him his dues....i gues what goes round comes around....:)....for the record my selling agent was a staunch muslim and my rental agent a staunch christian....ha ha how religion is linked to our property market....:D:D:D...GOD bless...;)
Nowadays after cea is formed....lots of estate agt act and regulations....agts machiam treated like criminals! Seriously go take a look at those laws....u will b shocked! Small small issue, agts can b fine up to 25k and or 12 mths imprisonment:scared-1: :D whahahaha

Tat agt also dare not collect comm from u since he oredi paid by his landlord....if not u can complain to cea for dual representation and he can b jailed! Whahahaha....its tat serious nowadays

klim828
07-10-11, 15:26
sibor rates how to raise?? not in near future lor

but bank's spread oredi started to increase....but theres a limit.....normally spread is 1-1.5%

Care to explain what that means?

Only when interest rates rise, will the prices drop.

But everyday, I hear US lowering rates, EU lowering rates, even Australia lowering rates!

How much lower can they get!!!???

How much longer do I have to wait???!!!:mad:

07-10-11, 16:54
Told the agent off. Do not bring anyone that does not have budget + or - 10 of my asking price? Good thing that they did not buy as the subsequent caveats lodged have gone up.
u sell the unit yourself or thru agent? if thru agent..F the agent, the agent should f the couple off for offering 35% below the value...some angmo are cheapskate if they are not subsidied by company....

like u go in PML and ask the salesman 35% off the 5 series I want...Kiam Gan!!

07-10-11, 17:05
Are they allowed to have dual representation in the first place?
Nowadays after cea is formed....lots of estate agt act and regulations....agts machiam treated like criminals! Seriously go take a look at those laws....u will b shocked! Small small issue, agts can b fine up to 25k and or 12 mths imprisonment:scared-1: :D whahahaha

Tat agt also dare not collect comm from u since he oredi paid by his landlord....if not u can complain to cea for dual representation and he can b jailed! Whahahaha....its tat serious nowadays

07-10-11, 17:07
The agt is a chiobu? Guy leh....hehehehe

U so generous man....make more donation:spliff:

no chiobu...if chiobu...my wife tie me up...:D ..small world bro if u make extra just share with those that helped you one day will come back...;)

07-10-11, 17:08

yup its about time they cleaned up the act so not every tom dick and Ah long can be agent:scared-1:

07-10-11, 17:46
Are they allowed to have dual representation in the first place?
Before cea, can wat....u always see one agt serving and collecting comm from both buyers n sellers for hdb transactions....rental deal also vy common....

07-10-11, 18:19
Just have a conversation with a HIGHLY reliable source... Ok la this person is in the min of man(hood). Anyway, they are cutting down the number of work passes and fr influx drastically... Fyi

07-10-11, 20:46
Just have a conversation with a HIGHLY reliable source... Ok la this person is in the min of man(hood). Anyway, they are cutting down the number of work passes and fr influx drastically... Fyi

yee ha:D:D:D

cl0ver
07-10-11, 22:14
everything cut huh? COE quota cut.... work pass cut....
but tax got cut or not?

07-10-11, 22:32
I also got several highly reliable sources that the government intends to keep FW/FT numbers this way.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1147002/1/.html
(note: policy tightening is not directly equal to number tightening)

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=5076774

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100808-231116.html

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/foreigners-help-create-jobs-poreans-pm-lee-055352604.html

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1038320/1/.html

art10626
07-10-11, 22:48
but cut or not cut also no immediate impact right...? can't be like stock market lidat

07-10-11, 23:01
I heard harder to get approval from ldu to buy landed liao

08-10-11, 01:14
you are right about the carrot head part and those walking into tiffany to buy diamond rings are also carrot heads. Brand or no brand, nobody inscribes markings or serial numbers on the crown of a piece of GIA certified diamond, it is always done on the girdle. Inscribing on the crown doesnt make them unique, just makes them look stupid if you know about how to treat a piece of diamond. I asked the salesgirl at takashimaya tiffany's recently why they would do it on the crown instead of the girdle, she didnt even know what to say lol

i would call someone who's buying at higher than market price a carrot head. i go with devilplate on this, if you can't afford, don't try. if the buyer is pursuing the seller, then the assessment of value lies with the seller. if the seller is pursuing the buyer, it's reversed.

btw, it's a brand premium that people are willing to pay for a tiffany's, not where the inscription is done.

08-10-11, 01:39
Why believe in the mainstream media?

I also got several highly reliable sources that the government intends to keep FW/FT numbers this way.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1147002/1/.html
(note: policy tightening is not directly equal to number tightening)

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=5076774

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100808-231116.html

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/foreigners-help-create-jobs-poreans-pm-lee-055352604.html

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1038320/1/.html

08-10-11, 07:42
You think the famiLEE would allow economy to spiral downwards due to lack of workers. It is a very stupid move in my opinion to restrict workers, it is like shooting yourself in the foot. It is better to create more efficient infrastructure and services to serve the increasing population. This will also boost the property prices. Despite the rants, quality of life has improved significantly for most people with vibrant economy and more customers for businesses in the past 10 years.

08-10-11, 14:20
Not just cutting but not approving renewal of PRs too. Singaporean will revert their views someday and accept FTs or workers wholeheartedly when they see the need of having them as shared by Ex MM.

08-10-11, 15:54
you are right about the carrot head part and those walking into tiffany to buy diamond rings are also carrot heads. Brand or no brand, nobody inscribes markings or serial numbers on the crown of a piece of GIA certified diamond, it is always done on the girdle. Inscribing on the crown doesnt make them unique, just makes them look stupid if you know about how to treat a piece of diamond. I asked the salesgirl at takashimaya tiffany's recently why they would do it on the crown instead of the girdle, she didnt even know what to say lol

well, the twisted logic are:
1) nobody will steal Tiffany diamonds because their values is lessened so can steal any other diamonds except for Tiffany.
2) a diamond is forever. When you give a loved one a Tiffany, it is meant to be kept forever, and not for resale. Lessen the incentive for an ex-gf/spouse to sell the Tiffany away and if sell, ex-gf/spouse will never ever profit much for your gift.

08-10-11, 15:56
Not just cutting but not approving renewal of PRs too. Singaporean will revert their views someday and accept FTs or workers wholeheartedly when they see the need of having them as shared by Ex MM.

who will rent their apartments/condos/HDBS if not for FW/FT.

13-10-11, 12:07
:D :D this weekend SHIFTING...next weekend UNPACKING following weekend...VIEWING...:D :D

13-10-11, 12:10
Enjoy shopping at PP. :)
:D :D this weekend SHIFTING...next weekend UNPACKING following weekend...VIEWING...:D :D

13-10-11, 12:49
Enjoy shopping at PP. :)

pp== double edge sword...:scared-1:

pp=parkway parade...:D..will enjoy that

pp=para pundek....thank god i not going to c anymore of them...:simmering:

13-10-11, 14:18

let's strive to be a more, ahem, inclusive society :D

13-10-11, 15:35
let's strive to be a more, ahem, inclusive society :D
ha ha easier said than done...:D...glad i am out of that enviroment...:)

13-10-11, 17:32
:D :D this weekend SHIFTING...next weekend UNPACKING following weekend...VIEWING...:D :DWhat are u viewing after you have shifted? Or viewing to buy? If buying now, isn't prices still a little steep? :o

13-10-11, 22:28

radha isn't exactly a chinese name either ;) :banghead: :doh: ;) :hell-hath-no-fury::D

14-10-11, 08:45
radha isn't exactly a chinese name either ;) :banghead: :doh: ;) :hell-hath-no-fury::D

i think i need to change my nick...me born singapore me go army me NO migrate...me serve reservist....me study singapore...ME SINGAPOREAN...:D

14-10-11, 08:47
i think i need to change my nick...me born singapore me go army me NO migrate...me serve reservist....me study singapore...ME SINGAPOREAN...:D

oh forgot to add me No Go Geylang...:scared-1::scared-1::scared-1:

14-10-11, 11:25

Last I checked, Singapore is not a province in China and its default ethnicity is not Chinese.

14-10-11, 11:39
Last I checked, Singapore is not a province in China and its default ethnicity is not Chinese.

but our president scholar is a prc leh........:beats-me-man:

14-10-11, 22:12
What are u viewing after you have shifted? Or viewing to buy? If buying now, isn't prices still a little steep? :o

yup now definately too steep only can c c look look every saturday morning buy straits times sit down kopi tiam lim kopi....:D...read classifieds...then open my mac book air see wat forum talking thats the life....:D...call and disturb agents....:D

15-10-11, 07:30
but our president scholar is a prc leh........:beats-me-man:

With about half the population as PRs or FWs/FTs, it is just a matter of time (in about 10 years' time) that you see more PRs and foreigners in higher official positions and in politics. However, their loyalty remains to be tested. By then, will the property owners who are citizens be ready to defend the land (including foreigners and their properties) in times of war?

15-10-11, 07:40
oh forgot to add me No Go Geylang...:scared-1::scared-1::scared-1:

You should! Please cum to Geylang! :D

15-10-11, 09:58
With about half the population as PRs or FWs/FTs, it is just a matter of time (in about 10 years' time) that you see more PRs and foreigners in higher official positions and in politics. However, their loyalty remains to be tested. By then, will the property owners who are citizens be ready to defend the land (including foreigners and their properties) in times of war?
Vy few serve army wif pride liao la

1911 good show! All serve wif pride! Revolution....lol

15-10-11, 20:33
Vy few serve army wif pride liao la

1911 good show! All serve wif pride! Revolution....lol

When Jackie chan was interviewed in HK, he said this film is to instill some positive values into the mind of the youngsters today.

Too bad this is too Chinese for the SG gen Y to appreciate...

15-10-11, 21:51
When Jackie chan was interviewed in HK, he said this film is to instill some positive values into the mind of the youngsters today.

Too bad this is too Chinese for the SG gen Y to appreciate...Just look at how many theatres are screening this show and how many shows a day? Compare it with movies like Transformer and Harry Potter. These are the money getter that appeals to the crowd. 1911 ranks among the 'not too bad but...' movies. :D

15-10-11, 21:53
Just look at how many theatres are screening this show and how many shows a day? Compare it with movies like Transformer and Harry Potter. These are the money getter that appeals to the crowd. 1911 ranks among the 'not too bad but...' movies. :D

see Mah Bow Tan's review

Saw "1911" - story of Dr Sun Yat Sen's struggle to overthrow the Qing and establish the Republic of China. Absorbing history lesson. But Jackie Chan was disappointing

16-10-11, 17:53
see Mah Bow Tan's review

Saw "1911" - story of Dr Sun Yat Sen's struggle to overthrow the Qing and establish the Republic of China. Absorbing history lesson. But Jackie Chan was disappointing

Maybe he was expecting Jackie Chan to punch Dr. Sun Yet Sen using the Drunken Fist.

17-10-11, 14:16
Maybe he was expecting Jackie Chan to punch Dr. Sun Yet Sen using the Drunken Fist.Maybe, maybe.. this is Jackie's 100th movie in his long spanning acting career and certainly not his usual genre of action and laughter.