View Full Version : The S'porean buyer and the S$1m OCR home

reporter2
15-10-11, 20:21
http://www.todayonline.com/Business/Property/EDC110930-0000267/The-Sporean-buyer-and-the-S$1m-OCR-home

The S'porean buyer and the S$1m OCR home

by Ku Swee Yong

04:46 AM Sep 30, 2011

Before the Lehman crisis, foreign buyers were widely considered to have helped drive prices of luxury properties in areas such as Orchard Road, Marina Bay and Sentosa Cove to record highs.

In the last two years, interest in the Core Central Region (CCR) that is home to the affluent postal codes has been lacklustre. On the other hand, transaction volumes in the mass market, or Outside Central Region (OCR), have remained strong and new record-high psf prices are regularly set, with a stunning S$1,600 psf being achieved. Then in 2Q11, the average price of a residential unit in the OCR surpassed the psychological hurdle of S$1 million.

Following on from the article, "Oversupply risks in Outside Central Region" (Today, Sept 23), we delved deeper into the numbers to examine the issue: Are foreigners ramping up purchases in the OCR and contributing to the oversupply risks or are locals still the main driving force?

From Table 1, we can see that the proportion of Singaporean buyers in the OCR has remained steady at about 70 to 77 per cent in the last six quarters from 1Q10 to 2Q11.

Over the same period, Singapore Permanent Residents (SPRs) and foreigners made up 22 to 30 per cent of the buyers. If we focus on foreigners alone, the percentage fluctuated between 8 and 15 per cent, with the numbers tied to developers' launch activities.

For example, in 1Q11, Singaporean buyers were spooked by the strong policy measures introduced in mid-January and the number of transactions attributed to locals plunged to 2,243 from 2,806 in 4Q10. The restraint of Singaporean buyers, coupled with new launch projects where developers conducted overseas sales exhibitions, caused the foreigners' percentage contribution to rise to 15 per cent.

Purchase Intentions

Most of the foreigners and SPRs who buy in OCR do so for practical purposes such as proximity to relatives, children's schooling, commute to jobs, etc. In other words, most foreigners and SPRs purchase in OCR mainly for their own stay and it is a minority who buy OCR properties for pure investment returns.

The percentage contribution by foreigners and SPRs has been more or less steady and there is no clear trend that there is an increasing proportion of foreigners and SPRs buying into OCR. Increasing numbers, yes, but not necessarily increasing proportion. If we also take into account the fact that the proportion of foreigners in the total population is rising, a gradual increase in foreigner participation across all segments of non-landed residential properties is to be expected.

Who drove the average OCR price over the S$1-million mark?

The numbers in Table 3 show Singaporeans, not foreigners, to be the main driving force. 2Q11 data shows 44 per cent of total OCR transactions went above S$1 million. Of this, about 31 per cent is attributed to Singaporeans, while foreigners and SPRs combined accounted for only 12 per cent. Over the 6 quarters under review, the percentage of Singaporeans who purchased OCR properties priced over $1 million grew from 20 per cent to 31 per cent, while foreigners and SPR combined grew from 7 per cent to 12 per cent in the same period.

Singaporeans have been buying up OCR properties at higher and higher prices, partly due to rising Housing and Development Board (HDB) prices and partly due to the accumulated equity that upgraders have built up in their HDB flats. For those who are selling their HDB flats to move into mass-market private homes, selling into a rising HDB market allows them to afford a higher-priced purchase. After all, it is upgrading for their family enjoyment.

However, should there be a severe downturn in the global economy and unemployment in Singapore shoots up, might it be the locals who end up holding the more expensive OCR properties, and not so much the foreigners and SPRs?

Ku Swee Yong is founder of real estate agency International Property Advisor, specialising in property services for high-net-worth clients. He is the author of Real Estate Riches: Understanding Singapore's Property Market in a Volatile Economy.

17-10-11, 10:26
I wonder why these papers still engage this Ku Swee Yong to write for them. He has been consistently WRONG and bashing OCR properties since 2006. And his prediction that CCR property should be 7x OCR property has not come true. Most of his articles are so shallow and give no insights. He talks about property without mentioning rentals or yields. Once he bother to look at cash flows, he may one day understand why his Orchard Road property today is not worth 7x of RCR or OCR. Until then, nobody should engage him to write rubbish in the mainstream media.

17-10-11, 10:42
I wonder why these papers still engage this Ku Swee Yong to write for them. He has been consistently WRONG and bashing OCR properties since 2006. And his prediction that CCR property should be 7x OCR property has not come true. Most of his articles are so shallow and give no insights. He talks about property without mentioning rentals or yields. Once he bother to look at cash flows, he may one day understand why his Orchard Road property today is not worth 7x of RCR or OCR. Until then, nobody should engage him to write rubbish in the mainstream media.

i am sure die hard ccr supporters enjoyed reading it:D

17-10-11, 11:21
He was a CCR bull at the peak and during the correction in Lehman's collapse, CCR new projects were some of the hardest hit in the crisis.

17-10-11, 12:00
simply "jia liao bee":doh:

17-10-11, 12:01
He was a CCR bull at the peak and during the correction in Lehman's collapse, CCR new projects were some of the hardest hit in the crisis.

i tink all the projects wif prices slashed falls in ccr in early 09......crapland oredi got a few projects....LOL

in fact, ocr condos drop very slightly or never at all in early 09 bcoz prior to tat, ocr prices nvr chiong much....however, this time round will be different liao...ocr got some meat to fall

17-10-11, 12:03
simply "jia liao bee":doh:

he does put up some figures which is unknown to me :p

17-10-11, 12:18
i tink all the projects wif prices slashed falls in ccr in early 09......crapland oredi got a few projects....LOL

in fact, ocr condos drop very slightly or never at all in early 09 bcoz prior to tat, ocr prices nvr chiong much....however, this time round will be different liao...ocr got some meat to fall

Agree, OCR selling at 1200psf or higher are in a more precarious position if there were to be a pullback.

CCR at 2500 also have quite some meat to pullback.

17-10-11, 12:44
i am sure die hard ccr supporters enjoyed reading it:D
are u all waiting for me to come out and say yes ? ha ha :D

OCR never moved up at all in 2006-7. so 2006 CCR was a good buy.
CCR never moved up at all in 2009-10. so 2009 (or maybe early 2010) OCR was a good buy too.

Now today, from 2011 onwards, which segment will outperform (or face severe correction) ? his opinion is not nonsense.

17-10-11, 13:10
We are gradually moving on through inflation, pass the $1mil mark for OCR properties liao. We should never be alarmed coz its always been only a matter of time. In another 10 years, the ave 3 bedder OCR unit may well be $1.5mil and HDB may well hover about the $800k to $1mil region for a 4 bedroom by then. :sleep:

17-10-11, 13:13
Buy and keep properties rather than Cash?
We are gradually moving on through inflation, pass the $1mil mark for OCR properties liao. We should never be alarmed coz its always been only a matter of time. In another 10 years, the ave 3 bedder OCR unit may well be $1.5mil and HDB may well hover about the $800k to $1mil region for a 4 bedroom by then. :sleep:

17-10-11, 13:57
I am willing to sell my 5r HDB @ 1 million near MRT in 10y time if you pay me 20% deposit now, any taker? Future date the contract lol

17-10-11, 14:11
Buy and keep properties rather than Cash?Properties are investment portfolios. Cash it only when you need the cash for various reasons, from taking a tour around the world or heavy medical bills even after insurance deduction or for children's overseas education, etc. :spliff:

17-10-11, 14:14
I am willing to sell my 5r HDB @ 1 million near MRT in 10y time if you pay me 20% deposit now, any taker? Future date the contract lolSuspect Pinnacle @ Duxton will be the first HDB to break the $1mil barrier (another 2 to 3 years for that MOP to be up) and after than, all hell breaks loose for HDB flats. Records will start to tumble. LOL! :o

17-10-11, 16:37
Suspect Pinnacle @ Duxton will be the first HDB to break the $1mil barrier (another 2 to 3 years for that MOP to be up) and after than, all hell breaks loose for HDB flats. Records will start to tumble. LOL! :o

I think Tiong Bahru, Red Hill will break first..

17-10-11, 20:47
I am willing to sell my 5r HDB @ 1 million near MRT in 10y time if you pay me 20% deposit now, any taker? Future date the contract lol

ahhhaha , good try. No need to wait so long, 99.999999% of hdb owners will sell now. :)

17-10-11, 21:08
New private home sales surged 21 per cent with 1,631 homes finding buyers last month. This is more than the 1,351 units sold in August. Including executive condominium units, the number swelled to 2,064 units.

Mr Li Hiaw Ho, executive director of CBRE Research, said the high September volume was mainly supported by mass-market and upgrader-type projects, with a total of 433 executive condominium (EC) units sold in September, compared to 290 in August.

'It is likely that the latest Government move to raise the household income ceiling for EC buyers from $10,000 to $12,000 per month has given a boost to the sales momentum,' he added.

Arc At Tampines, the first EC project launched after the announcement, registered 233 units sold at a median price of $734 per sq ft (psf). RiverParc Residence in Punggol sold another 90 units ($685 psf) in addition to the 393 already sold, while Blossom Residences in Bukit Panjang sold 52 units at $706 psf on top of the 361 units sold earlier.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_724294.html

17-10-11, 21:33
Suspect Pinnacle @ Duxton will be the first HDB to break the $1mil barrier (another 2 to 3 years for that MOP to be up) and after than, all hell breaks loose for HDB flats. Records will start to tumble. LOL! :o

why bother the pinnacle duxton hdb to break the 1million barrier.??
hdb wf location or sea view are alrdy asking for 1million.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-property-listing?listing_type=sale&search_type=hdb&property_type=H&school=&mrt=&address=Street%2C+building%2C+postcode&property_id=&distance=1.0&latitude=&longitude=&interest=&hdb_type_group=&minprice=1000000&maxprice=1250000&minbed=&maxbed=&minsize=&maxsize=&minsize_land=&maxsize_land=&freetext=&minpsf=&maxpsf=&listing_posted=&mintop=&maxtop=&sort=&order=&min_latitude=&max_latitude=&min_longitude=&max_longitude=&submit=

17-10-11, 21:52

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-property-listing?listing_type=sale&search_type=hdb&property_type=H&school=&mrt=&address=Street%2C+building%2C+postcode&property_id=&distance=1.0&latitude=&longitude=&interest=&hdb_type_group=&minprice=1000000&maxprice=1250000&minbed=&maxbed=&minsize=&maxsize=&minsize_land=&maxsize_land=&freetext=&minpsf=&maxpsf=&listing_posted=&mintop=&maxtop=&sort=&order=&min_latitude=&max_latitude=&min_longitude=&max_longitude=&submit=
Those listed...owners have long necks like giraffe..., some in areas who are just simply trying their AXX luck...:doh:

But if wait long long, dream may come true...some day, some year...:D

17-10-11, 22:14

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-property-listing?listing_type=sale&search_type=hdb&property_type=H&school=&mrt=&address=Street%2C+building%2C+postcode&property_id=&distance=1.0&latitude=&longitude=&interest=&hdb_type_group=&minprice=1000000&maxprice=1250000&minbed=&maxbed=&minsize=&maxsize=&minsize_land=&maxsize_land=&freetext=&minpsf=&maxpsf=&listing_posted=&mintop=&maxtop=&sort=&order=&min_latitude=&max_latitude=&min_longitude=&max_longitude=&submit=Asking doesn't mean sold... well you may be right.. don't bother pinnacle. They will hit the $1.2mil then... LOL! :D

17-10-11, 22:16
Those listed...owners have long necks like giraffe..., some in areas who are just simply trying their AXX luck...:doh:

But if wait long long, dream may come true...some day, some year...:D

Meiling street alrdy sold at high 900kssss. isn't it??
or like between 950-980k some years ago.. so wads new??

17-10-11, 22:30
the reporters are just waiting for that first one to cross 1mio. the rental returns are all primed for that quantum.

17-10-11, 22:32
Meiling street alrdy sold at high 900kssss. isn't it??
or like between 950-980k some years ago.. so wads new??
Hougang, Serangoon North in the listing, what do u think....

I believe wait long enough, surely can, see how long their giraffe necks only....

Better still, list them as $1.5m..., shout and shout..someday would come...:doh:

17-10-11, 22:36
Hougang, Serangoon North in the listing, what do u think....

I believe wait long enough, surely can, see how long their giraffe necks only....

Better still, list them as $1.5m..., shout and shout..someday would come...:doh:Freehold condos in the vicinity cost less than $1.5mil. These agents are just pushing it with $1mil asking liao. HDB flats will take queue number and wait long long. Shout till throat hoarse also no enquiries. :tsk-tsk:

17-10-11, 22:43
Freehold condos in the vicinity cost less than $1.5mil. These agents are just pushing it with $1mil asking liao. HDB flats will take queue number and wait long long. Shout till throat hoarse also no enquiries. :tsk-tsk:
Ya, In that listing, Serangoon North Ave 1, Block 129, Executive, 1700sqft asking for $1m, banking on "privatization and enbloc", jialat, when HDB resale transaction in 2011 have not even cross $600k..., super bullish or super foolish:doh:

17-10-11, 23:07
Ya, In that listing, Serangoon North Ave 1, Block 129, Executive, 1700sqft asking for $1m, banking on "privatization and enbloc", jialat, when HDB resale transaction in 2011 have not even cross $600k..., super bullish or super foolish:doh:

this guys aren't looking to move in the first place. macham playing tikam tikam.

18-10-11, 09:10
this guys aren't looking to move in the first place. macham playing tikam tikam.They aren't really moving but are open to move if they can get their asking price. If someone offers me $1mil, I'll also sell my HDB... LOL! Similarly, if someone offers me $2mil for my OCR 3 bedder PC, I'll also gladly sell it and move out... LOL! :tongue3:

18-10-11, 10:14
They aren't really moving but are open to move if they can get their asking price. If someone offers me $1mil, I'll also sell my HDB... LOL! Similarly, if someone offers me $2mil for my OCR 3 bedder PC, I'll also gladly sell it and move out... LOL! :tongue3:

Haha bro, undercut u! 988,888 I sell my prime location HDB. Consider throw in free SLK car to drive for a year too.

18-10-11, 11:09
Haha bro, undercut u! 988,888 I sell my prime location HDB. Consider throw in free SLK car to drive for a year too.Very auspicious quantum$, if you have a nice matching SLK licence plate, 8888, even better...:D

$1mil for HDB resale flat will surely come sooner than later.., just where and who is the 1st sucker who buy..:D

18-10-11, 11:47
Very auspicious quantum$, if you have a nice matching SLK licence plate, 8888, even better...:D

$1mil for HDB resale flat will surely come sooner than later.., just where and who is the 1st sucker who buy..:D

i tink 10yrs later, HDB px cud at least be 40-50% more den current px as long PAP rules

now a old old 30+yo 3rm flat in gd location cost about 300k liao.....expect to hit 400-450k in 10yrs time.....

new new and bestest HDB pinnacle at duxton 5rm flat will be? condos nearby can fetch 2k psf....u make ur guess:D

18-10-11, 12:13
Singapore banking system very risky as it is pegged to US Fed rate. I cannot imagine if US 10y bond yield hits 7% for prolonged period of time similar to Italy. Our mortgage rate will shoot up to 9 or 10%. Would it happen by 2020? May be 50% chance. Doom day scenario :scared-1:

Time to buy TBT?

http://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3ATBT

18-10-11, 12:20
Singapore banking system very risky as it is pegged to US Fed rate. I cannot imagine if US 10y bond yield hits 7% for prolonged period of time similar to Italy. Our mortgage rate will shoot up to 9 or 10%. Would it happen by 2020? May be 50% chance. Doom day scenario :scared-1:

Time to buy TBT?

http://www.google.com/finance?q=NYSE%3ATBT

when is the last time sibor rates hit above 5%?

18-10-11, 12:22
when is the last time sibor rates hit above 5%?

http://www.salary.sg/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/historical-sibor2.png

18-10-11, 12:24
http://www.salary.sg/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/historical-sibor2.png

did our ppty px crash during the spikes?

18-10-11, 12:28
did our ppty px crash during the spikes?

There was a big correction in 1998/1999, but the spike in SIBOR did not last as it was temporary due to fear in Asian currency crisis. Prolonged high rate will be much more damaging then a temporary spike for a few months.

18-10-11, 12:31
There was a big correction in 1998/1999, but the spike in SIBOR did not last as it was temporary due to fear in Asian currency crisis.

correction starts from 97 financial crisis.....perhaps spike in sibor rates helps the deccelaration:2cents:

18-10-11, 12:34
I hope our scholars in MAS are studying how to de-peg SIBOR from US fed rate, otherwise one day we will be doomed.

18-10-11, 12:37
I hope our scholars in MAS are studying how to de-peg SIBOR from US fed rate, otherwise one day we will be doomed.

if int rates consistently high in USA...wat does it means for US in terms of economic health? dead meat too?

18-10-11, 12:41
When is the earliest US will raise interest rates?
if int rates consistently high in USA...wat does it means for US in terms of economic health? dead meat too?

18-10-11, 12:46
When is the earliest US will raise interest rates?I suspect next year or the year after. Now is low until cannot smell... who is absorbing the impact? :doh:

18-10-11, 12:47
Operation twist is there to tackle the longer term rates from rising.

flagship74
18-10-11, 13:12
i tink 10yrs later, HDB px cud at least be 40-50% more den current px as long PAP rules

now a old old 30+yo 3rm flat in gd location cost about 300k liao.....expect to hit 400-450k in 10yrs time.....

new new and bestest HDB pinnacle at duxton 5rm flat will be? condos nearby can fetch 2k psf....u make ur guess:D

My frz 3 rm flat 32+ years old house is alraeady selling at 400k liao:D

18-10-11, 13:13
My frz 3 rm flat 32+ years old house is alraeady selling at 400k liao:D

power!:D :cheers6:

18-10-11, 13:15
Which area is this?

flagship74
18-10-11, 13:20
Which area is this?

everton park

18-10-11, 13:28
What's the rental for tthe 3 rm around the area.

flagship74
18-10-11, 13:32
What's the rental for tthe 3 rm around the area.

2.2k for e whole unit...around 800+ for one rm..can u imagine the utlities rm can also rent at $400...:doh:

basically i a evertonian..haha:D

18-10-11, 14:53
2.2k for e whole unit...around 800+ for one rm..can u imagine the utlities rm can also rent at $400...:doh:

basically i a evertonian..haha:D$800+ for one room is indeed good. :o

18-10-11, 14:59
last year or the year before, the papers used to publish the high prices of HDB transacted....

now, no more....haha

18-10-11, 15:03
Members of Parliament (MP) raised concerns over supporting infrastructure and affordability of HDB flats.

Chairman of Government Parliamentary Committee (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=government+parliamentary+committee&fr=fp-today&cs=bz) (GPC) for Manpower Zainudin Nordin (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=zainudin+nordin&fr=fp-today&cs=bz) urged the government to find new solutions to the affordability of public housing.

"CPF grants are helpful but it seems like we are just taking money from one pocket to return it to another. We must seriously consider the pricing formula for HDB flats and seek to make it a transparent one as much as possible," said Zainudin, MP to Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

"This way, we can assure residents that the government is not out to make profits from sales of housing. And by pricing flats more reasonably, we can also relieve the debt service burden of our residents," Zainudin added.

Deputy chairman of GPC for Finance, Trade and Industry Liang Eng Hwa (http://sg.search.yahoo.com/search?p=liang+eng+hwa&fr=fp-today&cs=bz) highlighted Singaporeans’ concerns who have been affected by the aggressive ramp-up of HDB's home-building programme, Channel NewsAsia reported.

Liang, MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, hopes that enough emphasis will be put on supporting infrastructure and amenities while HDB builds flats fast to meet increasing demand.

"More amenities and affordable eateries need to be planned. Following the announcement on the building of new hawker centres, housing estates with a significant increase in flat supply like Zhenghua should be given priority for a new hawker centre," Liang said.

He added that some residents have accepted that there will be less open spaces and views from their windows will be blocked by new flats. Some residents are also concerned that traffic conditions will worsen in the near future.

"Just like we do not want to grow our economy at all costs, we should be careful not to build our housing at all costs. And here, the cost that I am most concerned about is the social costs, which are impossible to quantify in dollars and cents," said Liang.

18-10-11, 15:07
It is not in the interest of PAP to see 1 million HDB to appear in headline news at least until they win the next term, beware

18-10-11, 15:12
Interesting to note that this thread began as a $1mil OCR PC and now becomes $1mil HDB flat... wow! PAP now panic already... How come HDB prices are escalating so quickly. Did they do something wrong? KBW = MBT? Sigh! :scared-4:

18-10-11, 16:34
Interesting to note that this thread began as a $1mil OCR PC and now becomes $1mil HDB flat... wow! PAP now panic already... How come HDB prices are escalating so quickly. Did they do something wrong? KBW = MBT? Sigh! :scared-4:$1mil OCR PC..., hard to find NEW one that can raise 3 children ( Gahmen say need three + 1 maid, total 6 pple living nowadays...)...

Gahmen say have 3 kids if you can afford it ( still true? ), husband and wife - presume working. If like that, surely need a maid to help out in the house. Total 6 pple in household...$1mil OCR Private Condo - NEW..., can only buy 2+1 or 2 bedder..., jialat..shattered dreams liao...:doh:; if need 3 bedder...mean $1mil not enough for NEW private condo liao..

KBT and Gahmen need to retink ...ideal household size?

18-10-11, 16:48
maid can stay in HS ? ;) Or triple decker in SOHO?

anyway be prepared of maid salary inflation lol

18-10-11, 17:49
$1mil OCR PC..., hard to find NEW one that can raise 3 children ( Gahmen say need three + 1 maid, total 6 pple living nowadays...)...

Gahmen say have 3 kids if you can afford it ( still true? ), husband and wife - presume working. If like that, surely need a maid to help out in the house. Total 6 pple in household...$1mil OCR Private Condo - NEW..., can only buy 2+1 or 2 bedder..., jialat..shattered dreams liao...:doh:; if need 3 bedder...mean $1mil not enough for NEW private condo liao..

KBT and Gahmen need to retink ...ideal household size?If cannot afford $1mil, then try not to have 3 kids lor... if die die must have 3 kids, then be satisfied with HDB lah. If die die must have 3 kids and stay in condo, then go for 2+1 at some ulu place, the one child sleeps in study while the 2 same gender children take the other normal room. Maid stay in household shelter. :D

18-10-11, 17:51
maid can stay in HS ? ;) Or triple decker in SOHO?

anyway be prepared of maid salary inflation lolDon't get me started on the maid salary inflation. Now the few maid agencies kana fine from govt already but nothing is mentioned about bringing the salary down. Now Indo maid more exp than some Filipino. :scared-4: Really hope the govt will say something about the hike or have they?

18-10-11, 17:53
Don't get me started on the maid salary inflation. Now the few maid agencies kana fine from govt already but nothing is mentioned about bringing the salary down. Now Indo maid more exp than some Filipino. :scared-4: Really hope the govt will say something about the hike or have they?

You can dream on. Taiwan/HK salary is probably around 700SGD. Demand and supply

18-10-11, 18:00
You can dream on. Taiwan/HK salary is probably around 700SGD. Demand and supply
Wats the rate in sg? 450 now?

Worsty
18-10-11, 18:32
Wats the rate in sg? 450 now?

It's not the pay we give them. We are paying the same amount if not more than HK and Taiwan. It's just that our greedy government eats into the domestic helper's pay.

18-10-11, 19:26
It's not the pay we give them. We are paying the same amount if not more than HK and Taiwan. It's just that our greedy government eats into the domestic helper's pay.

sigh, increased my maid's pay so much these few months..must keep the maid happy now

time has changed, it is no longer we choose them, it is now for them to decide what sort of employers they want....

18-10-11, 19:37
You got it right.
SG is the Regional Maid Training Centre.

Fresh maid get experience from SG and go to HK/Taiwan.
Govt eat the levy and we suck thumb and train the next one.

How to have 3 kids? Space so expensive, maid salary inflation, levy never go away, COE higher. Good luck to those who actually have 3 school-going children now...can they afford to stay in SG?

cl0ver
18-10-11, 20:04
You got it right.

How to have 3 kids? Space so expensive, maid salary inflation, levy never go away, COE higher. Good luck to those who actually have 3 school-going children now...can they afford to stay in SG?

if you have 3 school going children, why do you still need a maid? Its time to teach them some independence. Singaporeans are just too spoilt.

18-10-11, 21:25
if you have 3 school going children, why do you still need a maid? Its time to teach them some independence. Singaporeans are just too spoilt.

agree, you need the maid more in their infants years when you're short of hands and legs to look out for their safety. when they are ready for school, they should start looking after themselves.

18-10-11, 21:29
It's not the pay we give them. We are paying the same amount if not more than HK and Taiwan. It's just that our greedy government eats into the domestic helper's pay.Yes, u are right, becos of levy to Gahmen...:doh:

18-10-11, 21:35
If cannot afford $1mil, then try not to have 3 kids lor... if die die must have 3 kids, then be satisfied with HDB lah. If die die must have 3 kids and stay in condo, then go for 2+1 at some ulu place, the one child sleeps in study while the 2 same gender children take the other normal room. Maid stay in household shelter. :D
Yes, agreed. So the $1mil housing budget goes like this

3 kids: LL stay in "prime (matured like Tiong Bahru, Bishan, Bukit Merah,etc ) "$1m HDB resale...

2 or 1 kid: can stay in $1mil 2+1 private OCR condo

Maid no choice sleep in bomb shelter/store room

18-10-11, 21:37
Don't get me started on the maid salary inflation. Now the few maid agencies kana fine from govt already but nothing is mentioned about bringing the salary down. Now Indo maid more exp than some Filipino. :scared-4: Really hope the govt will say something about the hike or have they? Gahmen sleeping..., fine is too lenient..., should BAN.., cartel in cohoots...:doh:

Maybe NTUC should start maid agency division, bring some sensible competition to weed out those "bad eggs"...:doh:

18-10-11, 21:39
Yes, agreed. So the $1mil housing budget goes like this

3 kids: LL stay in "prime (matured like Tiong Bahru, Bishan, Bukit Merah,etc ) "$1m HDB resale...

2 or 1 kid: can stay in $1mil 2+1 private OCR condo

Maid no choice sleep in bomb shelter/store room

i prefer good location HDB to ulu location pte condo any day.

18-10-11, 21:47
You got it right.

Those who listen to Gahmen blindly, have 3 school going kids can be rough in the pocket$,

MAS Inflation now 5%
COE: easily double digit inflation
Maid: also easily double digit inflation
HDB flats: also double digit inflation especially resale

Pay: single digit pay rise at best, now worry about global recession..., retrenchment...imminent?
Bank fixed deposit: Almost zero %

So going forward, no car, take public transport, no maid, do housework. Be prepared that 1 spouse maybe retrenched when global recession hit, Quality of life drop.., no more $2k per pax annual holiday, scale down to budget airlines holidays on $500 per pax...:doh:

18-10-11, 21:58
As I highlighted HK gov set up Treasuary inflation protected securities for hk citizens, allow middle class to hedge inflation, SG gov wants you to put your $$ in DBS/OCBC so they can pay you peanut interest ...it is amazing even WP MP never raise this issue

18-10-11, 22:01
i prefer good location HDB to ulu location pte condo any day.
Ya, but for some once they upgraded to a "C" condo status, die die also need to have it, can't lose face to go back to HDB..., small condo unit never mind..., still condo...,at most no house warming, even have house warming also at club house..., friends and relative never get to see how "BIG" their unit is...:D

18-10-11, 22:11
Ya, but for some once they upgraded to a "C" condo status, die die also need to have it, can't lose face to go back to HDB..., small condo unit never mind..., still condo...,at most no house warming, even have house warming also at club house..., friends and relative never get to see how "BIG" their unit is...:D

That's why the best is like what one member here suggested, stay in hdb, rent out all the pte houses/apts.

18-10-11, 22:13
You got it right.

Its all about expectation mgmt

Send kids to parents plc during day time....stay in hdb, take public tpt....dun nid car and maid

If really hf 3kids and their age vy close....one shd become hsewife or hseman

18-10-11, 22:14
That's why the best is like what one member here suggested, stay in hdb, rent out all the pte houses/apts.Yes, that's the most efficient use of your assets.., but some day...still need to pamper yourself b4 u dig the grave....

18-10-11, 22:15
Yes, u are right, becos of levy to Gahmen...:doh:
Hk and taiwan dun hf govt levy on maids?

18-10-11, 22:18
Yes, that's the most efficient use of your assets.., but some day...still need to pamper yourself b4 u dig the grave....

Take holiday every month. When in Singapore go around and collect rental. Then drink kopi and eat bak kut teh.

18-10-11, 22:30
That's why the best is like what one member here suggested, stay in hdb, rent out all the pte houses/apts.

I dun even want to retire in Sg...too costly alr

get a good sea front, five star condo in My, and a tax free MB, BMW...
and hire a maid with no levy...

18-10-11, 22:38

When retire, it's all about quality of life, Singapore just doesn't offer enough...or just too pricey...:2cents:

18-10-11, 22:54
eventually our cost of living will reach Japanese level where it is cheaper to just rent out your house and travel around the world lol

18-10-11, 23:02
Sounds like a plan, I want a place where it's not too crowded when I retire.

18-10-11, 23:11
Sounds like a plan, I want a place where it's not too crowded when I retire.

ya, to add in
pollution free
can sleep without air-cond
not too hot...
safe...
can make more money...
good food...
good shopping...
good gym...
friendly....
no traffic jam...
majong kaki..golf kaki, badminton kaki...

so many to list...:doh:

18-10-11, 23:15
ya, to add in
pollution free
not too hot...
safe...
can make more money...
good food...
good shopping...
good gym...
friendly....
no traffic jam...

Don't think such a place exist in this world...

18-10-11, 23:28

I am sure u can afford to retire in sg...

If u cant, how many of us can?:eek:

Worsty
18-10-11, 23:28
eventually our cost of living will reach Japanese level where it is cheaper to just rent out your house and travel around the world lol

For the longest time i envisioned Tokyo to be this expensive place to visit until i paid a visit to my brother (he works in Rongppogi) earlier this year and found the place to be very affordable. Way nicer food and better shopping (Japan exclusives not sold anyway else) both activities cheaper than what i usually spend in Singapore.

All thanks to Singapore Inc

18-10-11, 23:29
For the longest time i envisioned Tokyo to be this expensive place to visit until i paid a visit to my brother (he works in Rongppogi) earlier this year and found the place to be very affordable. Way nicer food and better shopping (Japan exclusives not sold anyway else) both activities cheaper than what i usually spend in Singapore.

Care to share more details? :D
How come i find it vy ex to holiday in tokyo:ashamed1:

And the food there sucks!:doh:

Sg jap food much better:beats-me-man:

Worsty
18-10-11, 23:30
ya, to add in
pollution free
not too hot...
safe...
can make more money...
good food...
good shopping...
good gym...
friendly....
no traffic jam...

Tokyo lo...world's best city handsdown.

Ticks for all your requirement except maybe for badminton kaki....you bring us along to retire with you there la. We play badminton with you :D

18-10-11, 23:47
Tokyo lo...world's best city handsdown.

Ticks for all your requirement except maybe for badminton kaki....you bring us along to retire with you there la. We play badminton with you :D

But natural disaster ah...

Worsty
18-10-11, 23:51
Care to share more details? :D
How come i find it vy ex to holiday in tokyo:ashamed1:

And the food there sucks!:doh:

Sg jap food much better:beats-me-man:
I think some Singaporeans don't quite like the jap food there because the food there tend to have more shoyu. Especially their Ramen and Udon. But i like the richness of their broth.

Their bread, fruits, sashimi , sake etc etc are amazing. Tsukiji fish market's fresh seafood is priced to sell and the tuna just melts in your mouth.

Shopping during new years with their massive sale is a bargain especially their 'mystery' bags. The better one such as those with bags from Balenciaga, Prada/Miu Miu, LV etc plus an array of other branded goodies cost cheaper in total than just the bag itself when i visit the Singapore outlet.

Spent less money in Disneyland/Sea than Universal studios here in Singapore as well.

The only bit about Tokyo i find expensive is when you go up the slopes to snowboard. Australia and New Zealand is cheaper in that regards. Parking charges are crazy though but i did remember seeing Maseratis and Ferraris in the showrooms and telling myself how cheap they were.

What did you do over there?

Worsty
18-10-11, 23:55
But natural disaster ah...

Tokyo city is far from the nuclear power plants. In fact, immediately just after the disaster, it's the best time to go. $500+ all in for return flights plus hotel stay.

18-10-11, 23:57
Went tokyo twice...duno whr to find gd lobangs for food shopping etc....wat i eat suxx....wat i see super ex....go there nvr buy much except some local products which is super ex as well:doh:

Tok abt tokyo disneyland i :simmering: :simmering: :simmering:

All speak in their own language nia....den i ask myself y i wasting my time there ?:doh:

18-10-11, 23:58
Hk and taiwan dun hf govt levy on maids?

HK like dun have le..., dun know abt Taiwan..

http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/faq_fdh.htm#48 (http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/faq_fdh.htm#48)

FAQs relating to Suspension of Levy for Employment of FDHs
Eligibility Criteria
Q48:Under what conditions will an employer enjoy the waiver of levy during the suspension period from 1 August 2008 to 31 July 2013?
A48:Employers are not required to pay the Employees Retraining Levy as long as the visas for the helpers are granted by the Director of Immigration from 1 August 2008 to 31 July 2013 regardless of the date of signing the employment contract or the date of submission of the visa application.

Daniel Foo
18-10-11, 23:59
Don't think such a place exist in this world...

I know of such a place, i.e. old age home or retirement village. ;) You can even have free companionship and people to nurse and take care of you...:D :D

19-10-11, 00:09

Affordable meh?? Noodles at bar top Yen800~1150, watermelon S$25, even MacD cost more but i agree the quality of food is better.

19-10-11, 00:12
Affordable meh?? Noodles at bar top Yen800~1150, watermelon S$25, even MacD cost more but i agree the quality of food is better.
The food serve at normal outlets suxxx man.....Tried a few stalls...sashimi not fresh and got lots of veins...lousy cut and cost almost the same as sakae sushi:doh:

Only gd food at those restaurants but cost abt 60+ pax....for tat money i can get boston lobster liao in sg:D sakae teppanyaki boston meal for 2pax:D

19-10-11, 00:16
HK like dun have le..., dun know abt Taiwan..

http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/faq_fdh.htm#48 (http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/faq_fdh.htm#48)

FAQs relating to Suspension of Levy for Employment of FDHs
Eligibility Criteria
Q48:Under what conditions will an employer enjoy the waiver of levy during the suspension period from 1 August 2008 to 31 July 2013?
A48:Employers are not required to pay the Employees Retraining Levy as long as the visas for the helpers are granted by the Director of Immigration from 1 August 2008 to 31 July 2013 regardless of the date of signing the employment contract or the date of submission of the visa application.

Mmmm....hk pay 700-800 sgd and we pay 400....but due to levy of 200/295....become same....lol

But nvm la....newbie maids actually better den experienced maids....just change maid after 2yrs or so lor:D

19-10-11, 01:00
Mmmm....hk pay 700-800 sgd and we pay 400....but due to levy of 200/295....become same....lol

But nvm la....newbie maids actually better den experienced maids....just change maid after 2yrs or so lor:D
Really depend on luck..., just that when newbie come mostly polite, hardworking, after 2 years, always eyes open, like to be smart and at times try to test my limits of kindness..., this is my own experience, others may differ...max...my maid stay for 4 years.., after that want to go HK, Middle East, dream of Canada, etc..Guess only natural, S'pore is stepping stone only, a training centre for greener pastures for them...

19-10-11, 05:20
Affordable meh?? Noodles at bar top Yen800~1150, watermelon S$25, even MacD cost more but i agree the quality of food is better.Oh yes.. watermelon is the runaway winner... was shocked when I was there 5 years back... :scared-4:

19-10-11, 05:25
Really depend on luck..., just that when newbie come mostly polite, hardworking, after 2 years, always eyes open, like to be smart and at times try to test my limits of kindness..., this is my own experience, others may differ...max...my maid stay for 4 years.., after that want to go HK, Middle East, dream of Canada, etc..Guess only natural, S'pore is stepping stone only, a training centre for greener pastures for them...Absolutely agree... my maids have never completed their contract and asked to leave liao.. :doh: Our country protects these maids more than the employers. Maid want to terminate contract, employers must still buy tickets for them to return and to pay all the admin fees again to hire new maid. Maid agencies happy like no others too. These maids don't even need to pay any penalty for breaching of their contract. Oh wait, we have to pay for them to break their contract :scared-1:. Think we are the employees and they are our employers. :scared-4:

samsara
19-10-11, 06:58
人往高处走,水往低处流 (Man heads for higher ground, water flows to lower ground)

Most people will aim for progression to a better environment and situation. It is part of the natural survival instinct. My household's domestic helper has been with us for three years and although we do our best to treat her as one of the family, she still suffers from homesickness every now and then, especially during the festive periods.

Working and staying away from home is not easy for anyone; the attachment to one's loved ones lingers at the back of one's mind. Given a choice, I believe most folks who are working overseas would rather be home with their family.

Really depend on luck..., just that when newbie come mostly polite, hardworking, after 2 years, always eyes open, like to be smart and at times try to test my limits of kindness..., this is my own experience, others may differ...max...my maid stay for 4 years.., after that want to go HK, Middle East, dream of Canada, etc..Guess only natural, S'pore is stepping stone only, a training centre for greener pastures for them...

19-10-11, 07:13
Oh yes.. watermelon is the runaway winner... was shocked when I was there 5 years back... :scared-4:
Superb packaging make melons looked like some forbidden fruit$...:scared-3:

19-10-11, 07:46
Superb packaging make melons looked like some forbidden fruit$...:scared-3:Just cross over the causeway and you can get those forbidden fruit for less than S$2. :D Was tempted to bring watermelon to Japan to sell at $10. Make 400% profit... Hmmm... :spliff:

19-10-11, 08:13
Just cross over the causeway and you can get those forbidden fruit for less than S$2. :D Was tempted to bring watermelon to Japan to sell at $10. Make 400% profit... Hmmm... :spliff:

if not because of big brother, we become like Japan very fast.
Now, even big brother prices are going up too...

19-10-11, 08:19
One big tin of infant milk powder is $79. 5 years ago it was $48. Did milk powder ingredienys inflate by that much or is someone profiteering in between?

19-10-11, 08:34
I am sure u can afford to retire in sg...

If u cant, how many of us can?:eek:

In fact, i hv alr retired in Sg and living in a simple life..and kept myself busy by posting to this forum.

My retirement home in Penang is under construction but yet to decide to make it first home or second home.

In fact, Penang is a very interesting place to invest and stay...

19-10-11, 09:00
In fact, i hv alr retired in Sg and living in a simple life..and kept myself busy by posting to this forum.

My retirement home in Penang is under construction but yet to decide to make it first home or second home.

Penang is nice. Good food and friendly people plus waterfront living.

19-10-11, 09:16
Just cross over the causeway and you can get those forbidden fruit for less than S$2. :D Was tempted to bring watermelon to Japan to sell at $10. Make 400% profit... Hmmm... :spliff:

U bring wrg fruit, honey dew better, sell 200 usd

19-10-11, 09:28
One big tin of infant milk powder is $79. 5 years ago it was $48. Did milk powder ingredienys inflate by that much or is someone profiteering in between?

Breast feeding is best for infants. It's the ideal composition for human baby and most economical and healthy option. Any time and any place far superior to any formula milk sold in Singapore or anywhere in the world. Can boycott the infant formula milk.

Maybe there's hidden taxation to discourage the use of formula milk. :p

19-10-11, 10:22
Absolutely agree... my maids have never completed their contract and asked to leave liao.. :doh: Our country protects these maids more than the employers. Maid want to terminate contract, employers must still buy tickets for them to return and to pay all the admin fees again to hire new maid. Maid agencies happy like no others too. These maids don't even need to pay any penalty for breaching of their contract. Oh wait, we have to pay for them to break their contract :scared-1:. Think we are the employees and they are our employers. :scared-4:

maids can happy happy terminate contract?:confused:

19-10-11, 10:24

penang abit far BUT nice place! i am sure ur unit endows wif FULL SEAVIEW:cheers6:

19-10-11, 10:26
Breast feeding is best for infants. It's the ideal composition for human baby and most economical and healthy option. Any time and any place far superior to any formula milk sold in Singapore or anywhere in the world. Can boycott the infant formula milk.

Maybe there's hidden taxation to discourage the use of formula milk. :p

agree....breast milk got natural antibodies which milk powder can nvr replace

i wud suggest a mixture of breast feeding and milk powder(convenience):2cents: :D

19-10-11, 11:39
maids can happy happy terminate contract?:confused:Welcome to the real world... my first maid cried she missed home and demanded to return just 1.5 yr into the contract of 2 yrs. No choice, after checking with MOM and maid agencies, she can leave and I have to pay for her transport back, at least to Bintam then she go from there herself. :doh: I did not terminate her contract, she did. I can of course send her to agency but that would not solve her problem of wanting to go home and agency will say u send her back coz no employers want a homesick maid anymore... :banghead: She did not pay any penalty for breaking the contract. I did! :hell-hath-no-fury: Trust me, maids are highly protected in our land, not employers. :rolleyes:

19-10-11, 11:41

Maybe there's hidden taxation to discourage the use of formula milk. :pBreast feeding is indeed the best food for a baby but not all mothers have excessive supply. Some can last for 2 years. Some can only tahan for 3 months before the tap runs dry for various reasons from stress from MIL to needing to return to work, etc etc.

19-10-11, 11:43
One big tin of infant milk powder is $79. 5 years ago it was $48. Did milk powder ingredienys inflate by that much or is someone profiteering in between?I know for sure of one particular brand of baby milk which claims to have added certain stuff to better stimulate baby's brain growth and conveniently added $20 per 1.8L tin w/o embarrassment. :banghead: A baby still has to drink whether or not its $40 or $60. Sigh! :mad:

19-10-11, 11:58
I know for sure of one particular brand of baby milk which claims to have added certain stuff to better stimulate baby's brain growth and conveniently added $20 per 1.8L tin w/o embarrassment. :banghead: A baby still has to drink whether or not its $40 or $60. Sigh! :mad:

buy cheaper brands lor:D

actually after 1yo, can stop feeding milk liao:2cents: :D

cut n paste from a website:

Breast milk is the best choice for infants with its perfect balance of nutrients. It is most easily digested, best tolerated, and is all most babies need to grow. Breast feeding has many benefits for both you and the baby. Babies may be protected from gastrointestinal and respiratory infections. They also have a lower incidence of allergic disease in comparison with formula-fed babies. Psychologically, the breast feeding experience enhances the bond between mother and baby. It gives a wonderful sense of security for the baby and can afford an emotional high for mothers.
Breast feeding is generally recommended for the first 12 months of life. The amount of breast milk taken each day may decrease once solids are introduced (usually around four to six months). Of course, you may stop breast feeding anytime you need and want to, as formulas are available that closely mimic the qualities of breast milk. But cow's milk from the carton just doesn't have the same benefits as breast milk or formula in the first year of life.

19-10-11, 12:07
Problem is after starting with certain brand, not very wise to just switch brands coz baby may not be accustomed to new taste, etc or worse still develop sensitive reaction to a new milk option. Rare but not impossible. Can afford the price hike but its the frustration that such price hikes are not properly controlled or at least that's how I perceived. :tsk-tsk:

19-10-11, 13:30
still has "wet nurse" services in Singapore to provide breast milk for the little ones?

19-10-11, 13:37

Is not just the ingredients. There are a lot of overhead costs involved in the manufacturing...

19-10-11, 14:22
Is not just the ingredients. There are a lot of overhead costs involved in the manufacturing...But these overhead cost still existed five years back also, when the tin costs $48. :cheers6:

19-10-11, 14:45
Run Harder...work harder, faster and cheaper.

Those who listen to Gahmen blindly, have 3 school going kids can be rough in the pocket$,

MAS Inflation now 5%
COE: easily double digit inflation
Maid: also easily double digit inflation
HDB flats: also double digit inflation especially resale

Pay: single digit pay rise at best, now worry about global recession..., retrenchment...imminent?
Bank fixed deposit: Almost zero %

So going forward, no car, take public transport, no maid, do housework. Be prepared that 1 spouse maybe retrenched when global recession hit, Quality of life drop.., no more $2k per pax annual holiday, scale down to budget airlines holidays on $500 per pax...:doh:

19-10-11, 15:12
But these overhead cost still existed five years back also, when the tin costs $48. :cheers6:

Exactly, I don't see diaper prices rising in that sort of ridiculous proportions.

19-10-11, 15:35
I know for sure of one particular brand of baby milk which claims to have added certain stuff to better stimulate baby's brain growth and conveniently added $20 per 1.8L tin w/o embarrassment. :banghead: A baby still has to drink whether or not its $40 or $60. Sigh! :mad:

interesting. the question is "can you afford not to give the child the best brain boosting milk in the market?"

I dont think anybody here their kids to be outcompeted in the brains department, later in life, competing with FW for manual work. Not because the kids are stupid, but because there are more intelligents one around.

19-10-11, 16:15
ho ho ho, can buy condo but agonizing over $80 milk, some even buy $800 Cordyceps for their children :tongue3:

19-10-11, 16:53
funny, where is this thread going to now?

19-10-11, 18:49
Ha, i disgressed, my bad. Almost thought this was some motherhood forum. But the resilience of middle income to absorb all these stunning price increases in child care and infant food just underscores how the suburbia home got to where it is now at just over $1m.

19-10-11, 20:24
When economy recovers coupled with inflation seeping in, its not just housing prices climbing up. Everything from milk powder to a cup of coffee and even today's COE premiums. Big car COE is now >$75k. :doh: History of $100k COE is slowly creeping its way back again. Those who invest smartly and rightly will feel the heat now but probably can relax more later. Those who are not investing will feel the heat now as well as later... :tsk-tsk:

19-10-11, 20:31
When economy recovers coupled with inflation seeping in, its not just housing prices climbing up. Everything from milk powder to a cup of coffee and even today's COE premiums. Big car COE is now >$75k. :doh: History of $100k COE is slowly creeping its way back again. Those who invest smartly and rightly will feel the heat now but probably can relax more later. Those who are not investing will feel the heat now as well as later... :tsk-tsk:
I read somewhr our core inflation is abt 2.x% ?:rolleyes:

19-10-11, 20:36
I read somewhr our core inflation is abt 2.x% ?:rolleyes:Not sure about core inflation but our current inflation rate hovers about 5%. Think some analysts project it to be at 5.5% even. Sigh! That is high for those who are into cars and houses which constitutes a huge part of that inflation. :scared-3:

19-10-11, 20:50
ho ho ho, can buy condo but agonizing over $80 milk, some even buy $800 Cordyceps for their children :tongue3:Agree with your rhetorical question but its not as if the person is paying full cash for the condo. Its a monthly committment of say $2500 for his $1mil property of which $1800 is deducted from both husband and wife's cpf, leaving a cash payment of about $700. So an additional $100 a month (assuming $80 tin can last about 3 weeks for newborn), its actually more than 14% of a family's monthly cash expenses on mortgage payment so its still actually a significant proportion of expense! Normal to sweat it out a bit on milk powder prices lah... :D

19-10-11, 21:02
penang abit far BUT nice place! i am sure ur unit endows wif FULL SEAVIEW:cheers6:

ya, full unblocked seaview...no noise, with 24 hours supermarket around the corner. but also realised the sea is so dark in the night. Can pick up a BMW, Volvo or BM, need not pay for the COE and govt tax as well.

I spent lot of time in comparing JB, Penang and KL and decided to park $ in Penang...

In fact, I am not only hedgeing against inflation, but also borrow into a weak currency as well. Can get 2 loans at 90% LTV even I hv no income.

Now getting more people buying properties in KL and JB with no money down....and some worse, not only no money down, but can take money from the bank when buy properties...real problem....

19-10-11, 21:09
Not sure about core inflation but our current inflation rate hovers about 5%. Think some analysts project it to be at 5.5% even. Sigh! That is high for those who are into cars and houses which constitutes a huge part of that inflation. :scared-3:
Core inflation more applicable to lower income...but hor really at 2.x% meh?:rolleyes:

19-10-11, 21:28
ya, full unblocked seaview...no noise, with 24 hours supermarket around the corner. but also realised the sea is so dark in the night. Can pick up a BMW, Volvo or BM, need not pay for the COE and govt tax as well.

I spent lot of time in comparing JB, Penang and KL and decided to park $ in Penang...

In fact, I am not only hedgeing against inflation, but also borrow into a weak currency as well. Can get 2 loans at 90% LTV even I hv no income.

Now getting more people buying properties in KL and JB with no money down....and some worse, not only no money down, but can take money from the bank when buy properties...real problem....

I tot buy foreign import car in msia also got tax? And higher risk of kena stolen hehe

Wow...sounds like another subprime in the making:scared-5:

19-10-11, 21:30
I tot buy car in msia also got tax? And higher risk of kena stolen hehe

Wow...sounds like another subprime in the making:scared-5:

I am referring to the scheme under "Make Malaysia your Second Home" MM2H...no govt tax and 10 years renewal visa....

19-10-11, 21:49

I am interested. How did you get 2 loans at 90% LTV with no income?
I am looking at Penang area too for retirement.
Looking at ING 4.99% fixed for 30 years.

Does Penang being Chinese majority play a part in your decision to choose it as your retirement home?

19-10-11, 21:54
I am referring to the scheme under "Make Malaysia your Second Home" MM2H...no govt tax and 10 years renewal visa....
Just curious, did you consider Phuket? And why choose Penang?

19-10-11, 22:21
U oredi got it? Care to share more details or any gd webby to browse:D

19-10-11, 22:22
Just curious, did you consider Phuket? And why choose Penang?
Wow...y compare thailand wif boleh land?

19-10-11, 22:58
i like to see December's inflation numbers with COE shooting to 75k already. and is there a long time ratio average between the price of a house and a car?

19-10-11, 23:02
Ooops, this thread is going to be off track again.
Anyway, it is good to share as so many interested in Penang now.

Let me take the easy question first.
Why not Phuket but Penang?
When I look for a place for real investment (ie bigger sum), I first look into the political master first. Thai Govt still cannot....too busy with short term domestic issues and to secure the seat for next term..If u take urban planning and town renewal of TPE, BKK, u will know what I mean. Of course, how good they are in the eyes of investors is also very critical.

Second : Phuket : what is their real economy? hardly anything...other than tourism.

Third : supply of land : Phuket : still a lot....

Why Penang ?

1. Who is the political master now ? After Lim Guan Eng in seat, the crime rate has dropped a lot (he got backfired lately to show off to JB), but the most important indication is the FDI and growth. Penang is now having the highest FDI out of all states. Bosch, Intel, Motorola, have increased their presence in big way. The free trade zone coupled with low cost of production and good workforce are key contributors.

2. Penang is no longer in the hand of NATO govt. A lot of transformation plan is in place and will be executed or executing or executed. The second bridge contract is awarded to China contractor. very smart. I think China Premier went there as well. (need to confirm this)

3. Penang has become a world heritage site. I am not sure the impact of this, but I can see the foreign interest in buying Penang as retirement home or second home has increased, Japan and Korea are buyers.

4. Across Asia, all the hot countries Sg, HK, have heavy cooling measures for property. But not for Malaysia, this year, they just increased the property gain tax to 10% only.

5. Medical cost is very low and of good quality, lots of Indonesia are flying there for medical care.

6. Chinese based.

7. good seafront land is limited. And the price is only 10-20% of Sentosa, freehold.

In fact, I hv a long list to mention, but above are the major ones.

I bot into Quayside and also moved a few friends in as well.
All are very happy now.

Risk : over supply of condo....as such, must pick those with the X factor.
Risk : local buying power is that strong yet
Risk : Rental yield is low
Risk : ????
Risk : lock in 3 years

E&O is launching a new tower next month, can arrange for bulk purchase at a better discount as they know me well. PM me if ur interested

How I secure the two loans at 90% LTV, the banks are willing. Their Govt allows that.

20-10-11, 00:21
wah...retirement 2nd home also must tag to capital appreciation:not-worthy:
I thought just buy one enjoy & relac, body massage, makan and beautiful beach. For phuket there are lots of willing ang mo buyers especially the russians when they escape from winter.

For Penang as you said & heard from locals, mostly Japs & Koreans especially those ever stationed there are more than happy to retire & play golf. If not worng rental yield is a lot lower compared to KL.

This one? http://www.quaysideresort.com/home.html

20-10-11, 00:23
wah, just check out a few penang condos. singapore condos no fight against penang condos (not in terms of price of course :)).

I heard from Malaysian friends that Malaysians are not that into condos. They prefer landed instead.

20-10-11, 00:52
Laguna, how is the maintenance of condos there. I was told generally their maintenance not that good.

20-10-11, 08:36
Phuket was hit by tsunami the last time. How about penang?

Latio
20-10-11, 09:21
Laguna is right about Penang.

my friend just bought a new commercial unit top next 2years type. was told tat they will manage your rental as they want to maintain certain type of tenants for certain image.. hassle free..FH too

:spliff:

20-10-11, 09:28
Langkawi & Penang are hit too, Phuket more devastating. Maybe that's the reason why laguna buy condo instead of villas.

p3nboy
20-10-11, 09:29
I bot into Quayside and also moved a few friends in as well.
All are very happy now.

Me too....

http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd3/malibuphoto/Suites%20at%20Quayside/?albumview=slideshow

20-10-11, 09:48
Me too....

http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd3/malibuphoto/Suites%20at%20Quayside/?albumview=slideshow

wah so nice.. like the kitchen and the view... care to share how big and $$?

p3nboy
20-10-11, 09:51
cheaper than 5rm HDB flat....

20-10-11, 09:55
singapore still the best place, stable politics, good business environment..no flip flop of policies, people respect law and almost everything running almost systematic way...rich country with reputable standing internationally...very safe and good to invest here:D

20-10-11, 10:12
wats the criteria to qualify for mm2h

20-10-11, 10:35

http://www.mm2h.net/

Phuket was hit by tsunami the last time. How about penang?

Part of the Gurny was affected, but not so bad
Quayside was not affected at all

Me too....

This is StraitQuay. Not Quayside
Quayside is even more beautiful

http://www.quaysideresort.com/concept.html

Langkawi & Penang are hit too, Phuket more devastating. Maybe that's the reason why laguna buy condo instead of villas.

Ya, also got villas on the hilltop, overseas the sea..beautiful
But these are for sales, as I partner a local developer

wah, just check out a few penang condos. singapore condos no fight against penang condos (not in terms of price of course :)).

I heard from Malaysian friends that Malaysians are not that into condos. They prefer landed instead.

changing now...

Laguna, how is the maintenance of condos there. I was told generally their maintenance not that good.

Depends, some are really in very bad condition
even brand in, also very bad...
must hv a reputable developer

20-10-11, 10:53
U wana retire so early? Must park RM150k/300k for mm2h.

http://www.mm2h.com/malaysia-buying-property.php (http://www.mm2h.com/malaysia-buying-property.php)

There is no requirement to buy property under the Malaysia My Second Home programme and some people chose to rent. It is also not essential to join the MM2H programme in order for a foreigner to buy property in Malaysia.

20-10-11, 10:54
Doubtless the starting capital to buy Penang condo is attractive but is this for investment or retirement stay? If for investment, how's the potential for price appreciation? Any past data to compare? :o

20-10-11, 11:09
Doubtless the starting capital to buy Penang condo is attractive but is this for investment or retirement stay? If for investment, how's the potential for price appreciation? Any past data to compare? :o
It may not make u fat from investment but it will make u fat from lazing in penang...hehe

20-10-11, 11:27

Me and my frns bot around Feb this year, unblocked seaview, price ranged from M$871 to M$934 psf

A frn bot a 2 bedroom, low floor, with pool view, two months back at M$1071 psf

p3nboy
20-10-11, 11:33
Me and my frns bot around Feb this year, unblocked seaview, price ranged from M$871 to M$934 psf

Opps...I paid 6XXpsf for mine.:ashamed1:

yaozong7
20-10-11, 11:39

I prefer JB landed (gated & guarded ) though. S$250k can get liao, & can watch my SG channels. On non-peak hours, can drive back to SG in 30 mins to play mj during retirement....

But that's another 20-30 years down the road though....haha

p3nboy
20-10-11, 11:41
I prefer JB landed (gated & guarded ) though. S$250k can get liao, & can watch my SG channels. On non-peak hours, can drive back to SG in 30 mins to play mj during retirement....

yeah.....

http://www.eastledang.com/

20-10-11, 11:50
JB Not safe:(

20-10-11, 12:13
JB Not safe:(
yes, this rules out everything

20-10-11, 18:30
It is all about risk threshold.
yes, this rules out everything

20-10-11, 20:21
Pros and cons lah... penang may be safer but traveling there by plane takes an hour plus. Driving takes at least 8 hours for a speedster. JB drive can take less than an hour so more convenient but slightly more dangerous. Its preference! Well, I'd probably buy the seaview bungalow at Bintan for retirement. Ferry less than an hour and its also safer! :spliff:

20-10-11, 21:31
Pros and cons lah... penang may be safer but traveling there by plane takes an hour plus. Driving takes at least 8 hours for a speedster. JB drive can take less than an hour so more convenient but slightly more dangerous. Its preference! Well, I'd probably buy the seaview bungalow at Bintan for retirement. Ferry less than an hour and its also safer! :spliff:
Bintan! Sex island:hell-hath-no-fury:

20-10-11, 21:43
It is all about risk threshold.

At retirement age, I would think risk threshold should be very low.

20-10-11, 22:37

why penang ppty so hot? did you buy into KL property? tot of buying last yr

cl0ver
20-10-11, 23:06

In SG sometimes going from home to work also takes more than one hour. Penang is a good retirement location if you want to spend like 1-2 months there then come back here and alternate. Flights are cheap. Food is fantastic and ppl there speak hokkien and mandarin, so most will feel at home......

20-10-11, 23:09
Bintan! Sex island:hell-hath-no-fury:Still ok lah... Batam is worse... :p

20-10-11, 23:25
Still ok lah... Batam is worse... :p

or do you mean better....:ashamed1: ?

21-10-11, 08:23
why penang ppty so hot? did you buy into KL property? tot of buying last yr

I dun like KL, went there shop, shop, but nothing caught my eyes
perhap may pick up Dua Residences one day

21-10-11, 08:26
I also spent sometime looking in Batam and Bintan, looking at their villas etc. But cannot, no economic fundamental to support.

Even those with rental guarantee, but all priced in.

No gearing as well.

U can see what happen to those bot Nonsa Marina Point at Batam

21-10-11, 08:35
Then don't buy for investment. Just get a retirement home there. Relax and enjoy sea breeze. Everyday holiday... :D

21-10-11, 08:36
or do you mean better....:ashamed1: ?Wives and husbands may have different opinions on this question but wives and gfs surely have different opinions! :rolleyes:

21-10-11, 08:44
How about malacca? How's that place for retirement?

21-10-11, 09:30
The choice of food there unsuitable for old folks with high chelesterol, high blood pressure, diabetes, etc.:tsk-tsk:

21-10-11, 09:33
The choice of food there unsuitable for old folks with high chelesterol, high blood pressure, diabetics, etc.:tsk-tsk:

home cooked food bestest for old folks la....

eat outside food whr got healthy one:p :rolleyes:

yaozong7
21-10-11, 09:33
How about malacca? How's that place for retirement?

Cheaper than KL, Penang n JB, but not much shopping there. Much safer than JB & KL, but if I am in retirement mode, I will still probably choose JB since most of my friends are in SG.

Just dun drive the S class & 7 series in JB, n be generally more alert esp in & out of cars. Should be able to live out your retirement days. Park mostly inside shopping complexes lor, if scared car stolen. Haha.

21-10-11, 09:36
If still have to be super alert to such safety features, then retirement is not enjoyable. :(

21-10-11, 09:44
retire in sg bestest....old liao how to drive in msia? how to stay alert against robbers?

p3nboy
21-10-11, 11:51
anyone mention Chiangmai...pace is slow, weather is cool, plenty of golf courses, massage is cheap, fxxx is good...:p

21-10-11, 11:53
anyone mention Chiangmai...pace is slow, weather is cool, plenty of golf courses, massage is cheap, fxxx is good...:pThink the day time weather is warmer than Singapore. Only night time is cooler! :o Didn't really like that place though! :tongue3:

21-10-11, 11:55
anyone mention Chiangmai...pace is slow, weather is cool, plenty of golf courses, massage is cheap, fxxx is good...:p

yes, very nice place

p3nboy
21-10-11, 13:30
I will stay there between Oct-Jan....why buy when you can rent....

gap969
21-10-11, 13:45
I would rather consider retiring in places like toronto

Reason being at retirement age medical expense would skyrocket
The place of retirement should also have adequate medical facilities and medical welfare which covers this.:D

Condo Kaiser
21-10-11, 14:08
Toronto too cold most time of the year...

Best place to go is Australia la.... Retire in Perth / Melb / Syd....

stay in a chinese surburb... drive what car also safe... nice big garden....

21-10-11, 14:13
Which part of Australia can be affected by floods?

gap969
21-10-11, 15:04
Toronto too cold most time of the year...

Best place to go is Australia la.... Retire in Perth / Melb / Syd....

stay in a chinese surburb... drive what car also safe... nice big garden....

Staying in AU will get discriminated leh :beats-me-man: :D

21-10-11, 15:06
Staying in AU will get discriminated leh :beats-me-man: :DTotally agreed... they have somethings against Japanese, I think. My dad a Singaprean was there some years back and the Aussies mistakened him for being a Japanese and scolded him for just walking along the streets in Gold Coast. :doh: Not sure their thoughts about Singaporeans. :beats-me-man:

Worsty
21-10-11, 15:19
Totally agreed... they have somethings against Japanese, I think. My dad a Singaprean was there some years back and the Aussies mistakened him for being a Japanese and scolded him for just walking along the streets in Gold Coast. :doh: Not sure their thoughts about Singaporeans. :beats-me-man:

In Melbourne and Sydney city, there's so much Asians that it's possible to not interact with any Aussies except when you go shopping. Those in zone 1 are totally used to seeing Asians due to them going over for uni studies.

Going to zone 2-3 (at least 1 hrs drive/train from city) is where you might find some hostile racist.

21-10-11, 15:23
In Melbourne and Sydney city, there's so much Asians that it's possible to not interact with any Aussies except when you go shopping. Those in zone 1 are totally used to seeing Asians due to them going over for uni studies.

Going to zone 2-3 (at least 1 hrs drive/train from city) is where you might find some hostile racist.But these busy cities where more Asian frequent are simply not conducive for retirement... :tsk-tsk:

cl0ver
21-10-11, 15:40
retire in sg bestest....old liao how to drive in msia? how to stay alert against robbers?

sg is last on my list to retire....
may opt for melbourne.... nice and relaxing..

21-10-11, 15:46
have two retirements homes.... 1 north, 1 south.

When north gets too hot or too cold.... move south, like migratory birds....

One is australia and one in canada :D

21-10-11, 15:50
If you speak English fluently and write English properly, they might treat you better. leave your singlish at home when you go.

p3nboy
21-10-11, 16:05

ya loh, whatever for?

Aussie...try it in cantonese:D

cl0ver
21-10-11, 16:42
ya loh, whatever for?

Aussie...try it in cantonese:D

so many asians in australia lah...
melbourne is more laid back compared to Sydney although Perth is nearer and same timezone as us......

21-10-11, 16:46
After discussing so much for a perfect retirement home, Sg landscape may change over the next 10 years so much that staying here may well be a feasible option. :o Fact of the matter is few would like to go away from where his/her friends are for retirement. I'm just hoping that our country will become more affordable for retirement. Maybe the govt can build an offshore island for nice and slow living for those who don't want to rush here and rush there. Take things easy. LOL! Like an old folks island! :doh:

21-10-11, 17:31
After discussing so much for a perfect retirement home, Sg landscape may change over the next 10 years so much that staying here may well be a feasible option. :o Fact of the matter is few would like to go away from where his/her friends are for retirement. I'm just hoping that our country will become more affordable for retirement. Maybe the govt can build an offshore island for nice and slow living for those who don't want to rush here and rush there. Take things easy. LOL! Like an old folks island! :doh:

pulau semaku :)

21-10-11, 17:36
SG and Johor nursing home also North-South wor...

have two retirements homes.... 1 north, 1 south.

When north gets too hot or too cold.... move south, like migratory birds....

One is australia and one in canada :D

21-10-11, 17:37
pulau semaku :)Perfect choice. There is an impressive array of bio diversity on this island... LOL! By then, maybe the landfill already overflow... LOL! :p

21-10-11, 23:40

what do you think of the upside potential? Obviously buy for capital gain or holiday stay only.

22-10-11, 00:10
Anyone explored London prop? So many adverts, even got $ don't know how to choose!

22-10-11, 07:00
Anyone explored London prop? So many adverts, even got $ don't know how to choose!London not very stable. Remember the recent riots in London in Aug? :tsk-tsk:

22-10-11, 08:53
what do you think of the upside potential? Obviously buy for capital gain or holiday stay only.

There is no one can guarantee the upside potential. I hv presented my case earlier on why I park my $ there.

Mainly buy for capital gain, 3 of us buy for retirement.

Anyone explored London prop? So many adverts, even got $ don't know how to choose!

London should focus on Zone 1 or those sub-urb with the tube within short walking distance, and time taken to central via tube is short, say less than 20 minutes

Dun buy here, the markup by the agents is easily 40%. U can PM me as I hv reliable direct contact there offers very attractive deal.

Of course, u need to consider the exchange risk and other factors, as it will take some time for Europe to recover. Even UK is not in EU, it will be affected as well.

22-10-11, 12:01
Laguna, any insight to Kl or iskandar? Did u consider these 2 areas? The DPS is attractive! Hehe.. Will PM u on London too. Thanks

22-10-11, 13:41
Laguna, any insight to Kl or iskandar? Did u consider these 2 areas? The DPS is attractive! Hehe.. Will PM u on London too. Thanks

yes, for KL and Iskandar.
It depends on what u want.
Retiring near Sg then Iskandar....but beware of crime...
For KL, only look for prime...

22-10-11, 16:24
yes, for KL and Iskandar.
It depends on what u want.
Retiring near Sg then Iskandar....but beware of crime...
For KL, only look for prime...

Looking for investment. I know KL have mont kiara, bangsar and klcc area. Just saw the Mirage Resi exhibition. Studio all sold. 2br left 1 unit. 1280 sf 1.9m. 5000 dp is all it takes!!!

22-10-11, 18:11
What do you think of Ringitt in the long run like 10 years later? Appreciate or depreciate from now against SGD?

23-10-11, 09:56
What do you think of Ringitt in the long run like 10 years later? Appreciate or depreciate from now against SGD?

10 years ago it was like 2.2 now at 2.4. But the FD fixed rate is attractive around 3% and if you have epf account in malaysia, the rate is like 4.5% much better rate then cpf here.

I dont think it will appreciate alot.

23-10-11, 10:00

Olympic round the corner and developers build so many and now no one buying due to bad economy in Europe?

23-10-11, 10:00
10 years ago it was like 2.2 now at 2.4. But the FD fixed rate is attractive around 3% and if you have epf account in malaysia, the rate is like 4.5% much better rate then cpf here.

I dont think it will appreciate alot.
Wats the mortgage rate in msia? 4-5%?

23-10-11, 10:03
There is no one can guarantee the upside potential. I hv presented my case earlier on why I park my $ there.

Mainly buy for capital gain, 3 of us buy for retirement.

any potential for capital gain from the way you see?

23-10-11, 10:18
Wats the mortgage rate in msia? 4-5%?usually the malaysians try to pay the loan as soon as possible. They are not like SG plan for 25-30 years. agv 10-15 years. those days mine was 5.5% and u can top up without any penalty.

23-10-11, 10:23
Always fearful of the policy change in Malaysia. This is kind of risk is beyond computation or anticipation.
usually the malaysians try to pay the loan as soon as possible. They are not like SG plan for 25-30 years. agv 10-15 years. those days mine was 5.5% and u can top up without any penalty.

23-10-11, 12:01
Always fearful of the policy change in Malaysia. This is kind of risk is beyond computation or anticipation.Not as if Singapore don't have policy change... our housing market has seen many policies changed in recent years too. :rolleyes:

23-10-11, 13:49
melbourne is more laid back compared to Sydney although Perth is nearer and same timezone as us......

Our skin is still yellow, no matter how.
I dun like that kind of feeling at all.

Maybe the govt can build an offshore island for nice and slow living for those who don't want to rush here and rush there. Take things easy. LOL! Like an old folks island! :doh:

Our garment is very smart, properties at the offshore island is gg to be much more expensive.

The location of our third IR is more or less firmed up. Islands will be used for this sort of purpose.ie high economy value. Like Jurong island, Sentosa.

My view, M$ is undervalued, but it will remain undervalue for sometime, unless there are some drastic changes. But changes still need time to be in place and felt. In fact, Malaysia can be very very much better than today.

If u take S$ against all major currencies, u will know our currency is very strong. This truly hurts our exports.

When Sg went independence, S$ was at par with M$, and perhaps 3-4 to A$, and 5 to GBP.

Wats the mortgage rate in msia? 4-5%?
I paid 3.9%, not too bad

any potential for capital gain from the way you see?

it depends on the timeline and type of properties u hv.
Capital gain or not, depends on the economy and growth.
I hv presented earlier my case on Penang.
Out of all the states, Penang island is the only one that I am more positive with.

Always fearful of the policy change in Malaysia. This is kind of risk is beyond computation or anticipation.
I was pleasantly surprised of the M'ysia budget this year on the property cooling measures introduced. From here, u can read the thinking of Malaysia Garment.
Malaysia changes a lot, they know they need to play the catch up game now. U see how their PM went to US asking for investment, thumb up.

23-10-11, 13:55
Where's the location of the 3rd IR?

23-10-11, 14:20
Where's the location of the 3rd IR?
Wud there be 3rd IR within 5yrs?

23-10-11, 14:41
Wud there be 3rd IR within 5yrs?

I think the 5 years is from the date of the existing IR opening.
Not too sure about the exact terms between the two IR and Sg Garment.

If u take into account the construction time for the third IR, I think it is about time to announce the third IR which I know is at one of the southern islands. It takes about 4 years to complete from announcement time.

If u read the ST today....the IR operations will be big here....so many high rollers..and eventually may be world number ONE..good good good good...

23-10-11, 14:48
We're fast becoming Monaco of the East.

23-10-11, 15:45
The change in housing policy in S'pore does not put foreign investors worst off. Malaysia? QUOTE=ysyap]Not as if Singapore don't have policy change... our housing market has seen many policies changed in recent years too. :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

23-10-11, 15:49
Doubtful if they going to implement it in the next five years. They may lose a few more seats in the next election.

If u take into account the construction time for the third IR, I think it is about time to announce the third IR which I know is at one of the southern islands. It takes about 4 years to complete from announcement time.

If u read the ST today....the IR operations will be big here....so many high rollers..and eventually may be world number ONE..good good good good...

23-10-11, 16:08
More SC will be collecting keys within these few years, voters may vote otherwise. haahaa

23-10-11, 21:41
The change in housing policy in S'pore does not put foreign investors worst off. Malaysia?Wait till our MND no choice but to dish out a foreign investment's bitter candy then it'll be interesting to watch what's next. Agreed that for the time being, it is highly unlikely MND will do something like this to commit suicide! :o

23-10-11, 22:59

i read somewhere sg gov licensed them to operate for 10 years without any competition. marina started in 2010 which means it will last till 2020.

24-10-11, 09:18
Olympic round the corner and developers build so many and now no one buying due to bad economy in Europe?

There's a shortage of housing due to under supply during the crisis years. Now playing catch up, rental is going up. Locals can't afford to buy due to lower purchasing power, lower LTV, rising price due to demand from overseas and inflation. Of cos Olympics is a big reason too. I am still studying the master plans which seemed quite a few.the new Crossrail is an example.

24-10-11, 10:00
There's a shortage of housing due to under supply during the crisis years. Now playing catch up, rental is going up. Locals can't afford to buy due to lower purchasing power, lower LTV, rising price due to demand from overseas and inflation. Of cos Olympics is a big reason too. I am still studying the master plans which seemed quite a few.the new Crossrail is an example.

regarding overseas investment like London, USA and Australia, would tenants more likely to play punk if they know the landlords are overseas and individuals, and not overseas corporations?
ie they delay payment or even dont pay rental at all once get the keys.

this has been bugging me for quite some time.

because some of you here have experiences with bad tenants. Already troublesome to chase bad tenants in Singapore, what more overseas where the laws are not landlord friendly? even more troublesome?

24-10-11, 19:41
My German friend told me that he refuse to rent out his properties as it takes a year to get rid of the tenants.
And apparently, the tenants will move around and get free stay

24-10-11, 20:42
My German friend told me that he refuse to rent out his properties as it takes a year to get rid of the tenants.
And apparently, the tenants will move around and get free stayIn other words, Germany is not property investment friendly! :p

24-10-11, 23:47
And apparently, the tenants will move around and get free stay

i think it's something to do with the authorities not wanting social issues where people are kicked out onto the streets.

that's silly anyway, protecting tenants who are don't fulfill the terms of the contract.

30-10-11, 13:30
Perth is nice. Just that the damn flys are irritating.:confused: