View Full Version : Lower supply drives up resale flat prices

27-10-11, 23:19
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1157017/1/html

Lower supply drives up resale flat prices
By Linette Lim | Posted: 03 October 2011 2051 hrs

SINGAPORE: Analysts have said a lower supply of Housing & Development Board (HDB) resale flats has driven up the prices of such units.

Prices of HDB resale flats in the third quarter jumped 3.8 per cent from a quarter ago.

The squeeze on supply drove the steepest quarterly increase since the third quarter of 2010, which saw a rise of four per cent.

Chesterton Suntec International research & consultancy head Colin Tan said: "The price increase is due to lower supply (of HDB resale flats).

"We have very few maturing five-year flats. Because of the nature of HDB rules, they can only come onto the market after they have satisfied the minimum occupation period of five years.

"So this is a historical case, in the sense that we built very few flats five, six years ago."

Analysts said resale prices will keep growing for the next three quarters, forcing more buyers to consider Build-to-Order (BTO) flats.

The government sets the prices for BTO flats, thereby keeping their price increases in check.

But such flats have been relatively unattractive to some buyers as they have an average waiting time of three years, and are situated in new estates with fewer amenities.

"The (prices of) the resale flats are going up," Mr Tan said.

"For the entry-level household (there are) only two choices -- resale or BTO. And if the BTO market remains flat and the resale market goes up four per cent every quarter, after a point in time, more people will migrate to the BTO launches."

Private home prices continued to climb as well, despite the government's measures to accelerate the building of new BTO flats.

They grew 1.3 per cent last quarter, slowing from the previous quarter's two per cent rise.

Non-landed residential properties in the prime city area, or core central region, increased by 0.8 per cent.

The city fringe areas, or the rest of central region, posted a 1.1 per cent increase, while the suburban areas, or outside central region, showed an increase of 2.1 per cent.

Some analysts said the increases will be short-lived.

Jones Lang LaSalle research & consultancy head Chua Yang Liang said: "This increase that we've seen in the HDB market and the private market - the rebound is probably an initial spurt as a result of the market over-correcting in the previous quarters and coming back again.

"So I think in the next quarter, you can expect that number to be more moderate."

Analysts said further tightening in housing policy is unlikely, due to the uncertain economic conditions.

The government is more likely to resort to supply side measures instead.

HDB has offered about 23,800 new flats under the BTO and Sale of Balance Flat exercises so far, and is on track to deliver 25,000 BTO flats for the whole of the year.

Next month, it will be launching 4,200 flats for sale.

For the full year, prices are expected to grow between nine and 14 per cent for HDB resale flats, and one to 1.8 per cent for private homes.

-CNA/wk

28-10-11, 00:41
That's the reason why everyone flocked to the trivelis showroom yesterday.

28-10-11, 06:57
Even for suicide cases, people all crowd along to look. :D :D :D

28-10-11, 07:52
That's the reason why everyone flocked to the trivelis showroom yesterday.Not very true for Trivelis and other dbss projects. The huge price growth is more possible for a regular BTO. Imagine someone who bought City View for 700k and selling it for $1.1mil in 5 years vs one who bought a BTO for 400k and selling it for 600k in 5 years. Both achieve 10% annual price hike but which one appeals more? At nearly half the price, I'll go for a resale BTO rather than a resale DBSS coz I can still do up the BTO flat nice nice, even nicer than the DBSS for half a million less! :doh:

28-10-11, 08:36
That option is only available IF there are Clementi BTOs to choose from and are successful in getting balloted. Actually, I don't recall there were ant BTOs in Clementi in the past one year?

28-10-11, 09:22
no wonder the 4A i bought donkey years back at 150k is now worth $500k. Can collect rental and appreciate in capital also, that is why never kill the cash cow for short term gains :cheers6:

28-10-11, 10:06
Never never sell your cow if near mrt and confirmed future development

28-10-11, 10:12
Looking forward to Concept Plan 2011.

28-10-11, 10:41
no wonder the 4A i bought donkey years back at 150k is now worth $500k. Can collect rental and appreciate in capital also, that is why never kill the cash cow for short term gains :cheers6:$350k price appreciation is common and those who bought it back then. They would be happy recipients of this one time gift from the govt. My HDB flat price appreciated $350k over less than 6 years. Those newly weds today who are buying BTO today may not enjoy such fast price appreciation. :(

28-10-11, 11:06
HDB's Q3 resale price index rises 3.8% (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1162184/1/.html)

SINGAPORE: The HDB's Resale Price Index (RPI) for the third quarter 2011 expanded to 187.2 from 180.3 in the second quarter.

In a press release on Friday, the Housing and Development Board (HDB) said this was an increase of 3.8 percent over the previous quarter.

HDB added that resale transactions for flats fell by about 10 percent to 5,903 cases from 6,581 cases in the second quarter.

Subletting transactions also fell in the rental market, by 9 percent from 7,177 cases in the second quarter to 6,549 cases in the third quarter.

The total number of HDB flats approved for subletting rose to about 39,100 units in the third quarter, compared to about 37,900 units in the previous quarter.

For upcoming sales launch in November this year, HDB said it will involved 4,200 BTO flats in various towns such as Bedok, Bukit Panjang, Hougang, Punggol and Yishun.

For 2012, HDB said prospective flat buyers can look forward to another 25,000 BTO flats.

- CNA/de

;)

28-10-11, 11:20
Will HDB ever deny subletting of HDB flats with no apparent reason? Should tenant requirements and other factors like MOP, etc are met, will HDB reject a rental application? The last quarter saw an increase in the approval of rental application. Will this quarter see a drop? The HDB flat rental demand is suspected to rise amidst increased number of FT/FW into our society! :confused:

28-10-11, 12:01
no wonder the 4A i bought donkey years back at 150k is now worth $500k. Can collect rental and appreciate in capital also, that is why never kill the cash cow for short term gains :cheers6:

Don't kill the golden goose that lays the golden egg.

popoty
28-10-11, 14:48

shit! just sold one cow near (less than 50m) MRT with cofirmed future development :doh:

28-10-11, 15:02
if you look at the price surge for last few years... is really crazy...
and shortage is not going to ease any sooner...

... HDB today just announced last quarter up 3.8% (or annually 16.09%)
... from 1Q2007 to 3Q2011 is about +80%...
PC okay at this rate but not public housing... :tsk-tsk:

(Quarter) (Index) (% Change from Previous Quarter)

III 187.2 3.8%
II 180.3 3.1%
I 174.8 1.6%
IV 172.0 2.5%
III 167.8 4.0%
II 161.3 4.1%
I 155.0 2.8%
IV 150.8 3.9%
III 145.2 3.6%
II 140.2 1.4%
I 138.3 -0.8%
IV 139.4 1.4%
III 137.5 4.2%
II 131.9 4.5%
I 126.2 3.7%
IV 121.7 5.7%
III 115.1 6.6%
II 108.0 3.0%
I 104.9 1.3%

28-10-11, 15:06
which cow is this?
Sounds like a chio bu cow with the sweetest milk...

shit! just sold one cow near (less than 50m) MRT with cofirmed future development :doh:

28-10-11, 15:59
shit! just sold one cow near (less than 50m) MRT with cofirmed future development :doh:You commented as if you have several cows! Anyway, now no cow then go buy some ducks to lay eggs lor... hopefully can find golden duck with golden egg! :cheers1:

28-10-11, 17:49
HDB's 3.8% is about on par with inflation?

popoty
28-10-11, 23:27
You commented as if you have several cows! Anyway, now no cow then go buy some ducks to lay eggs lor... hopefully can find golden duck with golden egg! :cheers1:

Left with one bull now :cheers1:

29-10-11, 00:18
Don't kill the golden goose that lays the golden egg.

i also say....:D:D:D

29-10-11, 06:31
Left with one bull now :cheers1:You bought your second HDB? Good for you! :cheers2:

29-10-11, 12:42
Despite BTO ramped up supply in a big way, Demand for resale hdb still high. Need to wait for more new flats to cross the 5 year MOP.

29-10-11, 14:26
unfortunately, MBT only built average of 5k new flats from 2005-2010

COV >80k is the norm nowadays:

Transacted 3m ago:

354 Ang Mo Kio St 32 21 to 25 110.00
Improved 2001 $678k

856F Tampines St 82 06 to 10 147.00
Apartment 1995 $695k

now asking:

5 IMP 350 ANG MO KIO STREET 32 $718K
5 IMP 245 SIMEI STREET 5 $720K
5 IMP 23 JALAN MEMBINA $890K
5 IMP 61 TELOK BLANGAH HEIGHTS $820K

29-10-11, 17:12
Where did you get this 80k figure?

29-10-11, 17:30
I meant asking for >=80k COV :scared-3: for bigger units whether can close will depend on condition/location

Find it funny that they don't even dare to publish COV data lol

29-10-11, 22:09
5 IMP 23 JALAN MEMBINA $890K

bro phantom, dont mind i like to find out this is how much valuation and COV?

hl124273
29-10-11, 22:42

I am thinking if I should sell my resale HDB EA (very near MRT) or rent it out given that my private property will be ready 1-2 yrs time ? I still have an outstanding loan with the bank for my resale HDB which i bought a decade ago. If I am to sell it today, I may not earn as in I have to top up my CPF will a little bit more since I have to pay back accrued CPF interest, plus the last decade paid quite a fair bit of interest to the bank already (drawn from CPF) and did not have any govt grant (30k for first timer plus another 10k for proximity to parents) when I first bought it . If I rent it out, minus the monthly flat installment, I can have a return of $1.x per month, but then again, much of the monthly still goes to servicing the interest. Not sure if the price will go up within the next 2 years tho ..