View Full Version : Fully DIY curtain your 1 bedder MM in under SGD80

16-11-11, 21:03
Living curtains - 19.90
Bedroom panel curtains - 19.90
Living rail - 6.90 x 2
Bedroom rail - 15.90
3M command clips - 9.90

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-3o_U0V6JbcI/TsO_MOzi85I/AAAAAAAALUw/w53SJDI4qnw/s512/image.jpeg
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-ctOKq1tmdac/TsO_LT5ok6I/AAAAAAAALUY/Ps6nMUUSI3o/s512/image.jpeg
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-9ijxxKVse_k/TsO_Lr9GCBI/AAAAAAAALUk/tlj56RytfUQ/s576/image.jpeg

16-11-11, 21:06
Wah is that a 366sqft mm?

16-11-11, 21:16
the living room is indeed very small.... difficult to breath and think.

16-11-11, 21:29
Btw bro, the curtains cmi lah...like shower curtain leh. Treat your tenant better la....heee:cheers1:

16-11-11, 21:39
Btw bro, the curtains cmi lah...like shower curtain leh. Treat your tenant better la....heee:cheers1:

Shower curtains more expensive ok??? :tongue3:

16-11-11, 21:40
how come showflats never show this view.....:simmering: :banghead: :eek:

16-11-11, 21:40
perhaps dont need the tv console, get a tv stand instead... there is such a thing right?

16-11-11, 21:43
perhaps dont need the tv console, get a tv stand instead... there is such a thing right?

You all cruel landlords!!!! :doh:

lOL:D :D :D

16-11-11, 21:47

I think wall-mounted would save more space, a tv console or stand sticks out too much.

16-11-11, 22:00
how come showflats never show this view.....:simmering: :banghead: :eek:

Showflats always put mirrored wall and then super narrow depth sofa plus wall mount the LED super flat tv....

16-11-11, 22:02
So spartan.... reminds me of a hostel.

16-11-11, 22:06
Showflats always put mirrored wall and then super narrow depth sofa plus wall mount the LED super flat tv....

Btw, if you don't mind me asking, what size is the apt and how much is the rental ? Thks!

16-11-11, 22:29
Looks like some fragrance hotel :scared-4: . Ground floor unit with high ceiling? ;)

16-11-11, 22:40
Looks like some fragrance hotel :scared-4: . Ground floor unit with high ceiling? ;)

Ehhh....?

How do you know what a Fragrance Hotel look like from the inside.....hmmm:ashamed1:

16-11-11, 22:46
If Fragrance runs a hostel this is how it will look lol :ashamed1:

16-11-11, 22:50
Ehhh....?

How do you know what a Fragrance Hotel look like from the inside.....hmmm:ashamed1:

I concur it does look like it because I used Fragrance before with my girl when I was still in army :D except that tv was wall mounted and 3-1 kopi and instant milo provided. :p

16-11-11, 23:10
I think wall-mounted would save more space, a tv console or stand sticks out too much.

This is how thry typically do up their MM showflat...
http://i2.propertyguru.com.sg/images/thumb/5/9/b/c/59bcf215483562_1_V550.jpg

16-11-11, 23:21
Nice pic, good job.
It show the real size without the fancy id

17-11-11, 06:50
For staying or rental? I think you can still have a quality life-style in an MM according to the HDB CEO. House-chores can be done in under 1 hour per week.

17-11-11, 08:51
For staying or rental? I think you can still have a quality life-style in an MM according to the HDB CEO. House-chores can be done in under 1 hour per week.

Personally, less is more - as i am born with moderate to severe allergies to dust, amongst other things...

I am already grateful i dont have to be warded every week or month and can have my own domain.

So i opt for less embellishments and smaller space to clean. MM is perfect for me, but i would believe maybe not for most ordinary folks... Singaporeans are a typical 'face' people. Their ego gets hurt bigtime when people comment their space is tiny.... Or 'cosy' which is a nicer word to use for the more tactful ones.

17-11-11, 08:59
Cute MM.... got high ceiling... you got more pictures?

if i were to stay in this MM, think i will use the living room as bedroom, and bedroom as living room... :D

17-11-11, 09:07
Cute MM.... got high ceiling... you got more pictures?

if i were to stay in this MM, think i will use the living room as bedroom, and bedroom as living room... :D

How so? Although i think if you can knock down the wall can build a mezzanine housing the bedroom and walk-in wardrobe....

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-aAKb9qmKEsM/Tp2RGzRtUdI/AAAAAAAALTk/6q13DojM9mo/s576/IMG-20111018-00012.jpg
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-O2wY0wV7UEA/Tp2RQTpxX5I/AAAAAAAALT0/1qtALuoLZW0/s512/IMG-20111018-00006.jpg
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-LfXEWtUj0_U/Tp2RUFCcCoI/AAAAAAAALT4/ep9y_C_xHNA/s512/IMG-20111018-00005.jpg

Sorry bedroom is really really tiny hard to take pic. Tiny as it is but they actually still build for two small side tables both sides of a queen bed.

17-11-11, 09:13
Since it is ground floor with high ceiling, and face pool, best to build a platform or something. Old people say tiles with ground floor and near water very humid, bare feet on cold humid tiles bad for health.

17-11-11, 11:42
ground floor a bit hard to swap living and bedroom,...

if on higher floor, and if i were to stay inside,...
- i will put a wide sliding/folding door at the living room, use it as bedroom
- knock the door of bedroom wider, use it as living room, and could put a sofa bed together with TV set there.
- tiny dinning table put together with your open kitchen

work-able??

17-11-11, 11:49
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-aAKb9qmKEsM/Tp2RGzRtUdI/AAAAAAAALTk/6q13DojM9mo/s576/IMG-20111018-00012.jpg

More space can be created if the kitchennette counter and shelves were position along the wall with the entance door.

Dining table can then be placed along the length of the wall

17-11-11, 11:56
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-LfXEWtUj0_U/Tp2RUFCcCoI/AAAAAAAALT4/ep9y_C_xHNA/s512/IMG-20111018-00005.jpg

High ceiling accentuates the narrowness of the space. The visual perception is that the room is narrower than it actually is. What one can do is to build shelves above the sliding doors. This can function as storage space and at the same time give the living room better visual proportion.

17-11-11, 12:00
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-O2wY0wV7UEA/Tp2RQTpxX5I/AAAAAAAALT0/1qtALuoLZW0/s512/IMG-20111018-00006.jpg

The bedroom door can be changed to a sliding door.This gives the interior of the room more space for manoeuvring,

17-11-11, 14:40
ground floor a bit hard to swap living and bedroom,...

if on higher floor, and if i were to stay inside,...
- i will put a wide sliding/folding door at the living room, use it as bedroom
- knock the door of bedroom wider, use it as living room, and could put a sofa bed together with TV set there.
- tiny dinning table put together with your open kitchen

work-able??

Why u want bedroom with balcony and full view of opp neighbour? The living room becomes with the half height windows?

17-11-11, 14:41

High ceiling accentuates the narrowness of the space. The visual perception is that the room is narrower than it actually is. What one can do is to build shelves above the sliding doors. This can function as storage space and at the same time give the living room better visual proportion.

Getting to the shelves would be challenging.... 3m high.... Unless is for placing ornaments etc.. Once put there wont take down often type

17-11-11, 14:43

More space can be created if the kitchennette counter and shelves were position along the wall with the entance door.

Dining table can then be placed along the length of the wall

Yes you are so right they should have designed it that way in the first place!!!

17-11-11, 14:44
Getting to the shelves would be challenging.... 3m high.... Unless is for placing ornaments etc.. Once put there wont take down often type

storage space for stock for the vending machines at PES. :)

17-11-11, 14:47
storage space for stock for the vending machines at PES. :)

LOL!!!!!!!

17-11-11, 15:57
Why u want bedroom with balcony and full view of opp neighbour? The living room becomes with the half height windows?

for me, living room too squeeze, distance from sofa to TV set too near... unless if i put TV at corner of glass door and change sofa to 2x single-seat arm chairs.

another good way could be knock down the whole wall between living and bedroom, replace with sliding/folding door. TV put on turn table that can turn 180 degree...

work-able ??.. (i mean if for own stay... not renting out)

:rolleyes:

17-11-11, 20:27

I was thinking more like cabinets with doors so you can store stuff that you only want to access occasionally, like say... winter clothes, sports equipment, fishing gear, knick knacks.....etc

17-11-11, 20:59
Which project is this?

18-11-11, 09:56
for me, living room too squeeze, distance from sofa to TV set too near... unless if i put TV at corner of glass door and change sofa to 2x single-seat arm chairs.

another good way could be knock down the whole wall between living and bedroom, replace with sliding/folding door. TV put on turn table that can turn 180 degree...

Sounds possible!

18-11-11, 10:03
I was thinking more like cabinets with doors so you can store stuff that you only want to access occasionally, like say... winter clothes, sports equipment, fishing gear, knick knacks.....etc

I have a very 'lean' life in general as i make a point not to horde stuff. Always spring clean my life once in a while. So i really have very few bulky possessions. Eg hundreds of CDs burn to high quality mp3 store on DVD or portable drive. No printer nor scanner - just use tablet as the 'printout' to show people. Mobile phone cam is hi res and captures text on A4 very well so works as 'scanner'. Books read finish liao give away... Old clothes rarely use donate... For single cooking pot/pan just double up as plate/bowl. Shoes just need one pair work, one pair togs, one pair sports. Sports shoes can do away if you dont even run/treadmill.

Guess am bordering on the line of insanity but think it came from the countless (over 10) times i moved the past couple of years... So now very 'mobile' like nomad.

18-11-11, 10:04
Which project is this?

Check out D19 thread....

18-11-11, 11:56
Mcmlxxvi, Congrats on shifting to your new home!
It's so exciting esp when you can travel light.

Some interesting references:

Totally Amazing Technology In This House
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=catll-XwVn0

Many of us would have seen this before.

One Tiny Apartment Transforms into many Rooms
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UBs0u8TY6jk&sns=fb

US woman finds staying in 90 sq ft flat totally worth it!
Yours is so much bigger!!!
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/us-woman-finds-staying-90-sq-ft-flat-20110404-015613-313.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZSdrtEqcHU&feature=player_embedded

18-11-11, 13:20
Shower curtains more expensive ok??? :tongue3:

ur curtains so transparent.......at nite how to turn on the lights? LOL

the living rm curtain really funny.....too short lah.....hehehe

18-11-11, 13:29

tats y i mentioned last time tat mm of less den 400sqft better to have open concept......nid at least 450sqft without balcony to haf proper 1bedroom

18-11-11, 14:41
Mcmlxxvi, Congrats on shifting to your new home!
It's so exciting esp when you can travel light.

Yeah. Seen those before. Thanks!

When i had my biggest space of 538sf, i actually didn't really know what to do with most of it!!! I am so used to maximising space and squeezing every inch out... If its too big its no challenge!

18-11-11, 14:43
ur curtains so transparent.......at nite how to turn on the lights? LOL

the living rm curtain really funny.....too short lah.....hehehe

Actually at night, other than what i watch on tv, most of the house cant be seen leh. Coz people cant step right up to the curtain (theres still the PES) to kaypo...

If you meant the bedroom one... Ahah! No hanky panky with lights on ok...
The lighting from the pool area is bright enough to provide 'mood' light inside the bedroom without pple outside able to see the ongoings or what position u are using keke

Short is good so pets can easily go in and out via the space kaka

18-11-11, 15:04
Actually at night, other than what i watch on tv, most of the house cant be seen leh. Coz people cant step right up to the curtain (theres still the PES) to kaypo...

The lighting from the pool area is bright enough to provide 'mood' light inside the bedroom without pple outside able to see the ongoings or what position u are using keke

u power!!

bad can tok until become goodie:D :spliff:

18-11-11, 15:06
Yeah. Seen those before. Thanks!

When i had my biggest space of 538sf, i actually didn't really know what to do with most of it!!! I am so used to maximising space and squeezing every inch out... If its too big its no challenge!

u r the only one who minds bigger space....hehehe

18-11-11, 15:11

Har?.... still got pets some more ah...

18-11-11, 15:21
Har?.... still got pets some more ah...

catty!!!:D

18-11-11, 15:28
u power!!

bad can tok until become goodie:D :spliff:

This i learnt from my daddy... 阿Q mentality...:D

18-11-11, 15:29
catty!!!:D

Heya u never come and say hi when u visit keke we can go lim kopi

19-11-11, 19:25
Thanks for sharing your MM's photos. me never have a chance to physically seen an MM before... ;)

it makes me think of:
for some young PR or FT couples, after working for first few years, likely could only have savings of ~S$100K (cpf+cash)

if buying a resale 3rm hdb, ~$350K
- Need ~65K (20% downpayment) + ~30K (COV)
- Might not have enough cash for COV also

if buying an MM (400ft), ~$500K
- Need ~100K (20% downpayment), can be in cash or cpf
- monthly mortgage servicing: S$1211 (400K, 40yr, 2%)

so the young couples might as well just get an MM??

=> conclusion, there could be a real demand for MM, either now or in the future...

19-11-11, 19:51
Thanks for sharing your MM's photos. me never have a chance to physically seen an MM before... ;)

it makes me think of:
for some young PR or FT couples, after working for first few years, likely could only have savings of ~S$100K (cpf+cash)

=> conclusion, there could be a real demand for MM, either now or in the future...

You are most welcome. Your observation is correct. Private capital gain potential is higher plus there is no restrictions of MOP or renting out if you so choose to.

19-11-11, 20:25
How so? Although i think if you can knock down the wall can build a mezzanine housing the bedroom and walk-in wardrobe....

Sorry bedroom is really really tiny hard to take pic. Tiny as it is but they actually still build for two small side tables both sides of a queen bed.

I love units with direct access to the pool :)

19-11-11, 20:48

it makes me think of:

Base on absolute value, yes. Based on space effeciencies, not sure.

If LH and HDB /EC, seems HDB or EC have a larger space, but lately , size seems moderated.

19-11-11, 20:54
Base on absolute value, yes. Based on space effeciencies, not sure.

If LH and HDB /EC, seems HDB or EC have a larger space, but lately , size seems moderated.

singles below 35yo cannot buy hdb

some yuppies just dunwan to stay in hdb flat...

20-11-11, 09:18
anyone here knows which furniture store other then ikea makes good space design furniture