View Full Version : Today i met my agent...

18-11-11, 15:09
Like all good agents this the day he looking forward to...PAYDAY...completed the sale of my property....so got to pay him his WELL EARNED 2%....:cheers1:

Anyway..he sounded a bit like Mr B.....:eek:

He told me last month eat GRASS...no sale closed...market very bleak dont get conned by all those figures in papers about record price/new property snapped up..etc etc.....the mood on the ground is VERY sombre in the resale...mkt.....:cool:

He said only a matter of time before sellers will buckle...especially for those more beaten up and less desirable properties....however in his circle of contacts he has MANY clients watching like HAWKS for good oppurtunities to go in and BUY....everyone looking at early 2009 as a baseline and a lesson in property investment....:2cents:

anyway to each his own and we all have our own investment strategy and plan so wishing all good bros/sis best of luck in your investments and plan...:cheers1:

as for me in my own small capacity i have learnt a lot thru this forum as well as thru attending seminars/talks/research etc etc...so i hope i have enough knowledge and foresight to make the right call...in my own property investment.

so once again...may all bros HUAT BIG BIG...:cheers1::cheers1::cheers1:

Worsty
18-11-11, 15:19
Like all good agents this the day he looking forward to...PAYDAY...completed the sale of my property....so got to pay him his WELL EARNED 2%....:cheers1:

He told me last month eat GRASS...no sale closed...market very bleak dont get conned by all those figures in papers about record price/new property snapped up..etc etc.....the mood on the ground is VERY sombre in the resale...mkt.....:cool:

He said only a matter of time before sellers will buckle...especially for those more beaten up and less desirable properties....however in his circle of contacts he has MANY clients watching like HAWKS for good oppurtunities to go in and BUY....everyone looking at early 2009 as a baseline and a lesson in property investment....:2cents:

anyway to each his own and we all have our own investment strategy and plan so wishing all good bros/sis best of luck in your investments and plan...:cheers1:

as for me in my own small capacity i have learnt a lot thru this forum as well as thru attending seminars/talks/research etc etc...so i hope i have enough knowledge and foresight to make the right call...in my own property investment.

Are you still looking to rent your Eastside landed? Or?

18-11-11, 15:24

as for agent's words.....its very subjective.....no matter how bad the market is, there will always be top rookies/producers and words from them can be very different!;)

even during gd times, there r many cmi agents tat din close any deal.....to them, market must be very bad hor....LOL

18-11-11, 15:26
Are you still looking to rent your Eastside landed? Or?

i signed 1 year tenancy staying at my eastside landed happilly...hopefully within next 6 to 8 mths a good oppurtunity comes up to buy a decent FH 3 bedder condo d15/16...:D....otherwise just quitely move back to my dear HDB flat...:rolleyes:

18-11-11, 15:27
Even when Agent complained eat GRASS, if you tell them that U want to buy a property now, I believe 99 out of 100 ( maybe the odd 1 only if Agent is your best buddy ), will NOT reject you and will tell you Yes, they have the property that you are looking for...:2cents:

18-11-11, 15:28
as for agent's words.....its very subjective.....no matter how bad the market is, there will always be top rookies/producers and words from them can be very different!;)

even during gd times, there r many cmi agents tat din close any deal.....to them, market must be very bad hor....LOL

TOTALLY agree just like in the casino there will always be the top shot punter making Big Bucks....while the majority will cry until no more tears....:D:D:D

18-11-11, 15:28
Yes, the sentiment is cautious and it has been so for a few months. While it may seem that a crash is imminent, wide anticipation of the crash in itself may cushion the blow somewhat.

18-11-11, 15:30
Even when Agent complained eat GRASS, if you tell them that U want to buy a property now, I believe 99 out of 100 ( maybe the odd 1 only if Agent is your best buddy ), will NOT reject you and will tell you Yes, they have the property that you are looking for...:2cents:

yup for sure even mine asked me WHATS my plan..but SINCERLY he adviced me DO NOT GO IN now...maybe cos he already made good money from me thats why he sincere...:D

18-11-11, 15:34

what would be the reaction if you tell your agent you want to sell your property ?

18-11-11, 15:39
Agents are doing cold call now for desperate sellers as many are waiting to buy. Not time yet.

18-11-11, 15:52
Agents are doing cold call now for desperate sellers as many are waiting to buy. Not time yet.

just checking a few of the projects ..

ardmore II 26

18-11-11, 16:06

just checking these 2 projects ..

ardmore II 26 2644 psf oct 2011 2 units sold
aalto 1865 psf oct 2011 1528 sqft ... for this size ..range was
2552 - 1530 psf

seems to me .. prices are either stagnate or slight down ..

though on and off ..some projects still manage to sell 1 unit at a higher price

18-11-11, 16:07

standard reply from them:

anytime is a gd time to BUY or SELL!:rolleyes:

18-11-11, 16:10
yup for sure even mine asked me WHATS my plan..but SINCERLY he adviced me DO NOT GO IN now...maybe cos he already made good money from me thats why he sincere...:D

or mabe he knows u want cheap cheap deal!!!

since his ones r all peg to market value...den dunwan to waste his time mah....LOL

18-11-11, 16:12
just checking these 2 projects ..

ardmore II 26 2644 psf oct 2011 2 units sold
aalto 1865 psf oct 2011 1528 sqft ... for this size ..range was
2552 - 1530 psf

i will keep an eye on COE cat B first.....if drop alot...hint hint liao

18-11-11, 16:14

I just took a look at our favorite bashing project, duchess residences. This is in bt timah. It did 2 in Oct, 1848 psf for a 1900 4bd, 1919 psf for a 1485 3bd. Slightly higher than last.

I think stagnant is the correct word to describe the current resale market

18-11-11, 16:15
what would be the reaction if you tell your agent you want to sell your property ? Guess, my AGENTs will say sell, because he got commission to gain. Only difference is what price each Agent will pitch your property...

18-11-11, 16:18

anytime is a gd time to BUY or SELL!:rolleyes: ya..., all of them want to keep you warm..., stay in touch...

18-11-11, 16:43
yup for sure even mine asked me WHATS my plan..but SINCERLY he adviced me DO NOT GO IN now...maybe cos he already made good money from me thats why he sincere...:DThink he's genuinely sincere. My agent, after selling my property, asked me point blank, 'Do you have another property to sell?' They will never say enough of earning... Only after they ascertain that they cannot squeeze further from you, they'll tell you honest stuff like 'Don't enter market now, wait awhile more.' You know one, you know 99.9% of them already! :sleep:

18-11-11, 16:47
Think he's genuinely sincere. My agent, after selling my property, asked me point blank, 'Do you have another property to sell?' They will never say enough of earning... Only after they ascertain that they cannot squeeze further from you, they'll tell you honest stuff like 'Don't enter market now, wait awhile more.' You know one, you know 99.9% of them already! :sleep:

u really tink so?

smart agts will noe when to stop persuading u to buy or sell.....nvr burn brigdes.....

y not u call tat agent now and say u r interested to take a look at palette....see wat he say....:D

18-11-11, 16:54
My more experienced mentor taught me how to not listen to agents.
Call same agent to sell and then another call to buy and you get different story. Better to call your lawyers/bankers than agents.

18-11-11, 16:55
u really tink so?

smart agts will noe when to stop persuading u to buy or sell.....nvr burn brigdes.....

y not u call tat agent now and say u r interested to take a look at palette....see wat he say....:DLOL! Will let you know if I ever have the time to entertain him... LOL! :o

18-11-11, 16:58
Guess, my AGENTs will say sell, because he got commission to gain. Only difference is what price each Agent will pitch your property...

it took my agent a good 5 mths to sell a brand new semi D ... in D14

i believe its sold at 940 psf

18-11-11, 17:02
it took my agent a good 5 mths to sell a brand new semi D ... in D14

i believe its sold at 940 psf

which part of D14

sounds like a gd deal if its 940psf land(not built in) and not anywhr near geyland

18-11-11, 17:04
My more experienced mentor taught me how to not listen to agents.
Call same agent to sell and then another call to buy and you get different story. Better to call your lawyers/bankers than agents.

they r equally dangerous

18-11-11, 20:07
i will keep an eye on COE cat B first.....if drop alot...hint hint liao

COE is a bad gauge.

18-11-11, 20:09

SHHH...inside news a good agent will tell seller now is time to sell and then he will tell buyer now is time to buy...:D...SHHHH

18-11-11, 20:10

SHHH...inside news a good agent will tell seller now is time to sell and then he will tell buyer now is time to buy...:D...SHHHH

18-11-11, 20:25

ya lah.... if you are seller, agent will say market like shit... lucky you sell early.

If you are buyer I bet it will be a totally different story...

18-11-11, 20:54
SHHH...inside news a good agent will tell seller now is time to sell and then he will tell buyer now is time to buy...:D...SHHHHSHHH... a bad agent will also say that with plus plus... in fact all agents will say the same thing... SHHH! :sleep:

18-11-11, 20:55
If there is no good time to buy, where got good time to sell. If there is no good time to sell, where got good time to buy:confused:

18-11-11, 21:17
Think he's genuinely sincere. My agent, after selling my property, asked me point blank, 'Do you have another property to sell?' They will never say enough of earning... Only after they ascertain that they cannot squeeze further from you, they'll tell you honest stuff like 'Don't enter market now, wait awhile more.' You know one, you know 99.9% of them already! :sleep:

the ONLY person worse than a HOUSING agent is a USED car salesman,....:D:D:D:D...JOKE

18-11-11, 21:37
Agents like to act smart and give advice. Thye have 50-50 chance of being right. If they really know where the market is headed would they still be workimg :rolleyes:
In 2010 jan, my friend's agent advised her not to buy hdb resale but to wait for prices to drop - he believed it would drop. 6 months later prices went up by 30k. Now in nov 2011, price has gone up even more. :doh: But anyway my friend bought in 2010 jan :)

19-11-11, 06:11
And whatever govt is doing... Resale price is still going up, especially at good locations. Just less than one year ago hdb resale say a 5 bedrm at >$600k people wow! Now price is at $700k level! :D

19-11-11, 06:35
And whatever govt is doing... Resale price is still going up, especially at good locations. Just less than one year ago hdb resale say a 5 bedrm at >$600k people wow! Now price is at $700k level! :DHDB serves as the bottomline in our housing sector. It may be influenced by private sector but more affected by govt. At least we know both factors are pushing prices north... :rolleyes:

19-11-11, 09:46
Garment is slowly moving HDB flats out from prime land in town. Beach road may be next.

19-11-11, 12:41
Garment is slowly moving HDB flats out from prime land in town. Beach road may be next.

then maybe tanjong pagar....:2cents:

SpinCity
19-11-11, 13:34
Agents like to act smart and give advice. Thye have 50-50 chance of being right. If they really know where the market is headed would they still be workimg :rolleyes:
In 2010 jan, my friend's agent advised her not to buy hdb resale but to wait for prices to drop - he believed it would drop. 6 months later prices went up by 30k. Now in nov 2011, price has gone up even more. :doh: But anyway my friend bought in 2010 jan :)
The best agent is the one who never tells you to sell or to buy, but always faithfully executes your instructions. They are agents, not advisors. They know what's going on yesterday, and maybe today, in the market, but for tomorrow they may not know better than you do

19-11-11, 13:37
The best agent is the one who don't give you advice on whether to sell or to buy, but always faithfully execute your instructions. They are agents, not advisors

agents dun give advice one la.....they bopian but to comment when buyers/sellers ask them whether gd time to buy or sell mah

whahahah

am i right? whahaha

19-11-11, 18:43
And whatever govt is doing... Resale price is still going up, especially at good locations. Just less than one year ago hdb resale say a 5 bedrm at >$600k people wow! Now price is at $700k level! :D

I undermind the raise the HDB resale px. But it is quite clear that resistant is building up.

20-11-11, 10:45
agents dun give advice one la.....they bopian but to comment when buyers/sellers ask them whether gd time to buy or sell mah

whahahah

am i right? whahahaTo a large extent but if they see you waverinig between buy or don't buy, they'll help their own cause by offering some unsolicited advice/comments to tilt the balance to their favor. LOL! ;)

20-11-11, 10:52
To a large extent but if they see you waverinig between buy or don't buy, they'll help their own cause by offering some unsolicited advice/comments to tilt the balance to their favor. LOL! ;)

whenever $$ is involved....things get touchy:hell-hath-no-fury:

20-11-11, 10:54
Jalan membina, Kim tian 5 room hdb is 800+ k liao

20-11-11, 11:11
Jalan membina, Kim tian 5 room hdb is 800+ k liao

I thought it crossed 800k long ago?

20-11-11, 11:56
I thought it crossed 800k long ago?

last time is 1 transcation, now is multiple trascation

20-11-11, 12:09
last time is 1 transcation, now is multiple trascation

I see. Hdb narrowing the gap with condo again.

20-11-11, 12:40
I see. Hdb narrowing the gap with condo again.
thats y condos are still worth buying...
if u live in a HDB 5room or executive flat,u pay about $160 for carpark n maintenance..for $120-$160 more for maintenance in a condo,u get to enjoy all the sports n clubhse facilities,clean lifts,more greenery n most important is security..:cheers6: :cheers6:

20-11-11, 13:18
So the choice is between a $1m brand new Ocr condo vs a $800+k. 5 year old ccr HDB.

20-11-11, 20:56
You should be looking at 2004 baseline instead :D

20-11-11, 21:34
So the choice is between a $1m brand new Ocr condo vs a $800+k. 5 year old ccr HDB.I'll choose OCR HDB instead. :spliff2:

dmonddd
20-11-11, 21:44
So the choice is between a $1m brand new Ocr condo vs a $800+k. 5 year old ccr HDB.

I will choose $1m brand new OCR condo
Why? Next gen preference. Esp when the transportation infra improving in OCR

Why CCR HDB owners selling? their profile?

mkl22
21-11-11, 10:32

or waterloo.

dmonddd
21-11-11, 10:41

good observation or info
quickly move and moving dates not so near next GE

21-11-11, 13:05

i'll keep a OCR near mrt, mall etc. hdb for sure... more long term gain potential while enjoy the conv in the meantime.

21-11-11, 14:19
Met a few agents yesterday, not today though. No signs of developer softening prices yet. Still have OCR asking $13xx psf to $16xx psf in one project to $8xx psf in another (mass market project). Wow! Market is still strong! :beats-me-man:

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:32
Met a few agents yesterday, not today though. No signs of developer softening prices yet. Still have OCR asking $13xx psf to $16xx psf in one project to $8xx psf in another (mass market project). Wow! Market is still strong! :beats-me-man:

asking versus transacted psf..we know there's a gap.
i have experienced asking for sky psf but cant close despite property in d11 and near hot primary schools

i was reviewing ura caveat psf vs property guru asking psf, the gap is quite wide now, in general

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:34

if law allows buyers to pay agents commission, you will hear different story.
No No no no its not allowed = just a hypothetical scenario

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:37
i'll keep a OCR near mrt, mall etc. hdb for sure... more long term gain potential while enjoy the conv in the meantime.

is this factor mainly driving the OCR condo sales?
sell off CCR HDB buy OCR condo take a small loan

so we see a reshaping of country's property portfolio - CCR HDB owners relocating to OCR

then question : who buys the CCR HDB other than gahmen relocation?

21-11-11, 14:41
Agreed - I noticed this as well.
But volume of transactions in resale market reflects this gap.
I reckon volume will further tighten for q4.
Q1 2012 will be key for price direction.

asking versus transacted psf..we know there's a gap.
i have experienced asking for sky psf but cant close despite property in d11 and near hot primary schools

i was reviewing ura caveat psf vs property guru asking psf, the gap is quite wide now, in general

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:45
Agreed - I noticed this as well.
But volume of transactions in resale market reflects this gap.
I reckon volume will further tighten for q4.
Q1 2012 will be key for price direction.

i agree that this bearish trend will continue when we step into 2012

But I still find it challenging to understand the ppl buying at new launches.
upgraders mainly or investors/speculators?

remember at one point - CM on private and public ownership 6 mths window decide, had some caught in a position

21-11-11, 14:51
HDB upgraders?
HDB prices still unaffected or even slight increase.
Most of the new launch volume in OCR.

i agree that this bearish trend will continue when we step into 2012

But I still find it challenging to understand the ppl buying at new launches.
upgraders mainly or investors/speculators?

remember at one point - CM on private and public ownership 6 mths window decide, had some caught in a position

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:51
btw if there are agents reading this...

please don't paint the wrong picture or provide advice to your clients.
they do read and at times are better informed.

managing them like those days may backfire and caused domino effects to ALL.
i prefer honest and rationale agents and act on instruction with high responsiveness

...not those who like some forumers who like to tc. and
those who clashed few viewers at same time -doesn't work,
scaring tactics doesn't work - other potential buyers will grab this one if you don't decide.

dmonddd
21-11-11, 14:54
HDB upgraders?
HDB prices still unaffected or even slight increase.
Most of the new launch volume in OCR.

like the e.g. given are these buyers at new condo launches = HDB upgraders.
sell CCR HDB 800K+ then buy OCR condo for $1m
loan only $200k or less.

but where are they gonna stay pending completion of condo? stay with kids/parents?

OR none of the above. The buyers at new launches are investors/speculators?

21-11-11, 15:07
Those who really want to make the 'jump' will have to figure it out ...rent, bunk with parents.
Some investors - stay in present HDB and planning to rent it out when they shift to the new condo.
I know of at least two like this...one already renting their HDB and another waiting for the condo to TOP.

like the e.g. given are these buyers at new condo launches = HDB upgraders.
sell CCR HDB 800K+ then buy OCR condo for $1m
loan only $200k or less.

but where are they gonna stay pending completion of condo? stay with kids/parents?

OR none of the above. The buyers at new launches are investors/speculators?

dmonddd
21-11-11, 15:16
1) Some investors - stay in present HDB and planning to rent it out when they shift to the new condo.
I know of at least two like this...one already renting their HDB and another waiting for the condo to TOP.

on 1) can they rent HDB out ..thot CM curbs that unless their HDB bought many many years ago.