View Full Version : Bleak Outlook for Singapore property

revhappy
28-11-11, 18:04
This is the beginning of the end of easy money that people were making by just blindly buying property :tsk-tsk:

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2011/11/31734/Bleak%20outlook%20for%20Singapore%20property?utm_source=emailer-italerts&utm_medium=edm&utm_campaign=news-daily

Its time for the cautious ones amongst us who held back, to celebrate :cheers4: :cheers5:

28-11-11, 18:20
This is the beginning of the end of easy money that people were making by just blindly buying property :tsk-tsk:

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2011/11/31734/Bleak%20outlook%20for%20Singapore%20property?utm_source=emailer-italerts&utm_medium=edm&utm_campaign=news-daily

Its time for the cautious ones amongst us who held back, to celebrate :cheers4: :cheers5:
yeah : ) wonder when will ssd and 40% downpayment rule be removed so that i can buy more? yeah yeah

28-11-11, 19:12
yeah : ) wonder when will ssd and 40% downpayment rule be removed so that i can buy more? yeah yeah

Yeah....I also want to buy!
But very important..... waiting for COE to fall too.

28-11-11, 20:54
Yeah....I also want to buy!
But very important..... waiting for COE to fall too.Noticed you've mentioned COE many many times liao... u can consider 2nd hand car lor... 3 to 4 year old should be decent lah. :cheers6:

28-11-11, 20:56

Its time for the cautious ones amongst us who held back, to celebrate :cheers4: :cheers5:Not celebrating yet until prices really fall 30%. Also not very good if investors are holding depreciating properties... :scared-3: Anyway, yes looking to buy too. Join the queue liao! :o

29-11-11, 00:00
The guy who wrote the article is another Mr B who missed many boats :doh: . He fail to take into consideration foreign immigration figures. As I have said before, you can have 100k new homes but what is that compared to another 1.5 million foreigners settling here in the next few years?

29-11-11, 00:34

u have good foresight indeed..
next round will be your turn for the easy $$$.
tell us which properties are u aiming for n @ what price will u be making your entry?
i am sure u have ready plans? :cheers5:

29-11-11, 03:28
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-6d5WJT8oAy0/TtPud_PEljI/AAAAAAAAGbk/B8weDhL0n-s/w908-h463-k/80%2Bper%2Bcent.JPG

29-11-11, 06:32
Imagine Bedok Residences firesale at 30% discount: e.g. $700k for 1+1 becomes $490k. It won't happen unless the interest rate sudden spikes up or there is an epidemic (notice it usually strikes during recessions). The banks that issue the reports have an agenda. In any case, increase your cash buffer.

29-11-11, 07:17
Politically, the PAP government will want to make sure property prices remain affordable. LKY had mentioned that one of the reason why the party did poorly in the last GE was because property prices were too high and people were not happy. By the next GE, the government will be doing whatever it takes to make sure property prices are not at the same level as in 2011. If not, the ruling party will be dead duck.

So, all the policies will be calibrated to ensure property prices will not be at 2011 level. This is evident with the ample supply of BTO flats at lower prices and the release of more state lands. The strategy is to make sure that new BTO flats prices are controlled and this will affect the mass market private flats.

By taking this approve, the government is not rocking the boat and will be taking a longer time to tame the market. As KBW said before, by the next GE, prices will be moderated. So it will take this long to be there.

29-11-11, 08:02
Politically, the PAP government will want to make sure property prices remain affordable. LKY had mentioned that one of the reason why the party did poorly in the last GE was because property prices were too high and people were not happy. By the next GE, the government will be doing whatever it takes to make sure property prices are not at the same level as in 2011. If not, the ruling party will be dead duck.

So, all the policies will be calibrated to ensure property prices will not be at 2011 level. This is evident with the ample supply of BTO flats at lower prices and the release of more state lands. The strategy is to make sure that new BTO flats prices are controlled and this will affect the mass market private flats.

By taking this approve, the government is not rocking the boat and will be taking a longer time to tame the market. As KBW said before, by the next GE, prices will be moderated. So it will take this long to be there.Therein lies the intricacies and sensitivities of KBW's portfolio. He also cannot bring property prices down simply because there will be too many repurcussions. He will probably just ensure that 2016 prices will not escalate too much from 2011 prices. Bringing prices down, as he's mentioned before is certainly not the solution. :scared-3:

chengerh
29-11-11, 08:10

By taking this approve, the government is not rocking the boat and will be taking a longer time to tame the market. As KBW said before, by the next GE, prices will be moderated. So it will take this long to be there.

80%+ living in HDB. Most likely last GE its the CMs+ increasing FT thats killing their votes. They should impose additional capital gain tax for PR selling HDB. PR getting same privileges as citizen is not healthy. BTO sold last two years will need +2 years to build +5 years MOP before selling in open market? How many HDB we built last 10 years? How many additional PRs during that period? As rental increases, renting PRs will be looking to purchase a flat since borrowing cost is cheap...

29-11-11, 08:16
Therein lies the intricacies and sensitivities of KBW's portfolio. He also cannot bring property prices down simply because there will be too many repurcussions. He will probably just ensure that 2016 prices will not escalate too much from 2011 prices. Bringing prices down, as he's mentioned before is certainly not the solution. :scared-3:

That will depend on what is consider affordable. Certainly, May 2011 prices were not considered "affordable" given the GE results. As such, it is very likely that 2016 prices will be lower than 2011. This need to be the case or the ruling party will still be beaten over in 2016.

29-11-11, 08:24
That will depend on what is consider affordable. Certainly, May 2011 prices were not considered "affordable" given the GE results. As such, it is very likely that 2016 prices will be lower than 2011. This need to be the case or the ruling party will still be beaten over in 2016.Well if KBW can achieve that without stirring too much repurcussions, then good job. He'll get his promotion soon. Remember MBT got the boot and not promotion? :o Our Jan CM merely caused property price rise to be more steady and predictable, not bring prices down, which was what KBW also acknowledged. He said CM was successful. His idea was not to bring prices down. That's the job of the recession, not the govt... LOL! :sleep:

29-11-11, 08:30
80%+ living in HDB. Most likely last GE its the CMs+ increasing FT thats killing their votes. They should impose additional capital gain tax for PR selling HDB. PR getting same privileges as citizen is not healthy. BTO sold last two years will need +2 years to build +5 years MOP before selling in open market? How many HDB we built last 10 years? How many additional PRs during that period? As rental increases, renting PRs will be looking to purchase a flat since borrowing cost is cheap...

crouching tiger, hidden dragon ;)

yaozong7
29-11-11, 08:31
They key remains the immigration floodgate. If population stagnates at 5.2 m, prices will eventually fall given the construction bloom.

Govt has also not disclosed their ideal population size since the GE results. LHL was deliberately vague when questioned. Is it 5.5m as LKY thinks it should be (read his book), or the 6.5m of MBT?

I believe the eventual size for the next 10 to 15 years will be 5.5m as LKY's thinking gains influence after the GE results. A population size of 6.5m will mean foreigners outnumber citizens in our tiny island, which is surely not tenable politically.

29-11-11, 08:33
That will depend on what is consider affordable. Certainly, May 2011 prices were not considered "affordable" given the GE results. As such, it is very likely that 2016 prices will be lower than 2011. This need to be the case or the ruling party will still be beaten over in 2016.
kbw just need to make flat px stagnant for the next 5yrs....5yrs later current ppty px will be acceptable......BUT so far it isnt working.....perhaps EU crisis will help later?

29-11-11, 08:34
Well if KBW can achieve that without stirring too much repurcussions, then good job. He'll get his promotion soon. Remember MBT got the boot and not promotion? :o Our Jan CM merely caused property price rise to be more steady and predictable, not bring prices down, which was what KBW also acknowledged. He said CM was successful. His idea was not to bring prices down. That's the job of the recession, not the govt... LOL! :sleep:
his CM? tot all CMs belong to MBT?

and in fact, CMs only works on the pte segment BUT not the HDBs....ZZzzzzz

29-11-11, 08:34
Chiao ka peng ahhhh!
If 2016 property prices below 2011 prices, they will only please <10% voters voting for them with hands & feets (which are useless since only <10% votes) vs the rest of >90% voters voting them out! You think they can't count or they are that stupid? :doh:

They get less votes more because don't heed citizens complaints on:
1) roads too jammed (never bother to expand roads despite increasing so many COEs)
2) public transport too crowded until cannot get on the bus and train and have to wait for a few subsequent ones (again, never plan ahead to expand the capacity due to influx of foreigners)
3) New HDB flats too expensive (resale HDB flats expensive is actually GOOD because citizens selling to PRs and make profits, if don't sell appreciating assets also shiok (can downgrade to small studio unit in future with CASH on hand for comfortable retirement), so happy will vote PAP mah!)
4) Too many PRs and PRs getting almost same privilege as citizens, then who want to convert to Singapore citizens?
5) Citizens' Kids can't get into their desired schools, crowded out by PRs' kids!
6) MPs & some ministers too arrogant, saying think like without them, your wifes will become maids in other countries, your husbands will become construction workers in other countries! :scared-3:
7) They lose many votes because of the stupid cooling measures! They make the >90% voters' & property owners perceive that the govt is trying to make their property assets drop and lose value!!! After that, they still didn't solve the problem that NEW HDB flats (those DBSS, BTO etc) are so expensive! (Remember, citizens want RESALE HDB flats to be expensive, but NEW HDB flats to be cheap!) :banghead:

29-11-11, 08:39
3) New HDB flats too expensive (resale HDB flats expensive is actually GOOD because citizens selling to PRs and make profits, if don't sell appreciating assets also shiok (can downgrade to small studio unit in future with CASH on hand for comfortable retirement), so happy will vote PAP mah!)

disagree wif this point....

bto flats definitely affordable.....
THEY WANT mao shan wang durian but govt give them a banana!

whahahhahaha

29-11-11, 08:39
Chiao ka peng ahhhh!
If 2016 property prices below 2011 prices, they will only please <10% voters voting for them with hands & feets (which are useless since only <10% votes) vs the rest of >90% voters voting them out! You think they can't count or they are that stupid? :doh:

They get less votes more because don't heed citizens complaints on:
1) roads too jammed (never bother to expand roads despite increasing so many COEs)
2) public transport too crowded until cannot get on the bus and train and have to wait for a few subsequent ones (again, never plan ahead to expand the capacity due to influx of foreigners)
4) Too many PRs and PRs getting almost same privilege as citizens, then who want to convert to Singapore citizens?
5) Citizens' Kids can't get into their desired schools, crowded out by PRs' kids!
6) MPs & some ministers too arrogant, saying think like without them, your wifes will become maids in other countries, your husbands will become construction workers in other countries! :scared-3:
7) They lose many votes because of the stupid cooling measures! They make the >90% voters' & property owners perceive that the govt is trying to make their property assets drop and lose value!!! After that, they still didn't solve the problem that NEW HDB flats (those DBSS, BTO etc) are so expensive! (Remember, citizens want RESALE HDB flats to be expensive, but NEW HDB flats to be cheap!) :banghead:

so if LHL wants to win back Aljunied ...

do you think he will have to tackle your above 7 points ?

if yes ?
how do u thing he will do it ?

29-11-11, 08:44
Expensive (in their opinion) lah!
You know what they want? I know (received many such feedbacks). In a way, you are right. To say it in layman terms, this is what they want :-
They want Bukit Merah NEW 5rm HDB flats at $300k, not Woodlands, Yishun, or Sengkang at $300k! :scared-1:

disagree wif this point....

bto flats definitely affordable.....
THEY WANT mao shan wang durian but govt give them a banana!

whahahhahaha

29-11-11, 08:45
Population (especially working force) must increase given a fast aging group of people .. how else can u compete with Shanghai who has 24 million people and Bombay having 12 millions? Ok infra is not so good in India yet .. but beware that high speed trains are already in China/Taiwan

Don't believe in the media, be it local or foreign, visit India, China, Vietnam yourself to see where the growth is .... take the high speed train in China, look the high rise condos at Suzhou, feel the chaotic Hanoi, the optimism in Shanghai, the luxurious hotels in India and the textile boom in Bangladesh

Don't become 井底之蛙

29-11-11, 08:46
Pay me $3.8m a year and I will solve the problem.
Otherwise, it is none of my problem! :p

so if LHL wants to win back Aljunied ...

do you think he will have to tackle your above 7 points ?

if yes ?
how do u thing he will do it ?

29-11-11, 08:47
Well if KBW can achieve that without stirring too much repurcussions, then good job. He'll get his promotion soon. Remember MBT got the boot and not promotion? :o Our Jan CM merely caused property price rise to be more steady and predictable, not bring prices down, which was what KBW also acknowledged. He said CM was successful. His idea was not to bring prices down. That's the job of the recession, not the govt... LOL! :sleep:

By and large, MBT's idea of high property prices was not a bad one because you buy high and you also sell high. The problem MBT did not address was first timers who could not afford the high prices.

KBW is trying to succeed what MBT had failed in this aspect. So BTO flats will be affordable or cheaper going forward. This in turn will affect mass market prices.

On a macro level, the government will need to consider whether Singaporeans are spending too much of their incomes on housing? We all understand that the government has a vested interest in wanting Singaporeans to invest in Singapore with their CPF savings. This will continue to be the case. As such, it is not the government intent to have prices at deep low. The simple plan is to have affordrable flats for first timers which will also affect mass market prices. Upgaders may also find upgrading affordable since the base BTO flats prices are now controlled.

Recession will be painful and prices will fall drastically which the government is not likely to be able to control falling prices. With possible economic slow down over the next 2 years, KBW will not likely to take any drastic short term measure to control prices.

The only possible measure KBW may take is to reduce foreign ownerships which is rising at uncomfortable rate. He mentioned this before and MND is motoring the take up rate by foreigners very closely.

29-11-11, 08:48
Pay me $3.8m a year and I will solve the problem.
Otherwise, it is none of my problem! :p

i knew i would learn nothing from this forum

29-11-11, 08:50
By and large, MBT's idea of high property prices was not a bad one because you buy high and you also sell high. The problem MBT did not address was first timers who could not afford the high prices.

KBW is trying to succeed what MBT had failed in this aspect. So BTO flats will be affordable or cheaper going forward. This in turn will affect mass market prices.

On a macro level, the government will need to consider whether Singaporeans are spending too much of their incomes on housing? We all understand that the government has a vested interest in wanting Singaporeans to invest in Singapore with their CPF savings. This will continue to be the case. As such, it is not the government intent to have prices at deep low. The simple plan is to have affordrable flats for first timers which will also affect mass market prices. Upgaders may also find upgrading affordable since the base BTO flats prices are now controlled.

Recession will be painful and prices will fall drastically which the government is not likely to be able to control falling prices. With possible economic slow down over the next 2 years, KBW will not likely to take any drastic short term measure to control prices.

The only possible measure KBW may take is to reduce foreign ownerships which is rising at uncomfortable rate. He mentioned this before and MND is motoring the take up rate by foreigners very closely.

so KBW is playing politics while in politics ...

he knew what the problems were and he knew how to tackle it ..

but at that time, it was not his ministry .. so he bochup ... let MBT die
indirectly victimising the general public ..

is he selfish ? or smart ?

is this what we want in out govt ?

29-11-11, 08:51
Launching BTOs at super-ulu location is not a solution .. they must mix and match to give people a choice, otherwise every project under-subscribed. HDB resale price seems to stabilize for now due to Europe crisis.

Suzhou industrial park near the Jin Ji Lake:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5f/Suzhou_Industrial_Park_%28SIP%29_-_West_Bank_of_Jin_Ji_Lake.jpg/800px-Suzhou_Industrial_Park_%28SIP%29_-_West_Bank_of_Jin_Ji_Lake.jpg

The high speed train terminal at SuZhou, only 30mins to Shanghai:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/da/CRH-Suzhou-Station.JPG/800px-CRH-Suzhou-Station.JPG

29-11-11, 08:51
My solution is very simple:
- Make new HDB flats cheap (because the price of land at cost is so cheap! About $0.80 psf! I know I know because they acquired 25 hectares at $0.80 psf from my family!).
- Build more HDB flats in central areas and sell cheap! Increase plot ratio of all properties around MRT stations and enbloc them to build more HDB flats!
- Make HDB resale prices expensive! (please that 80% of citizens owning HDB flats)!
- Leave private to market forces (mostly rich citizens & PRs buying away)!
- Attract more foreigners to Singapore to work & settle down in Singapore, especially the rich! Create more high-end jobs servicing the rich, all citizens get richer, their resale HDB flats keep going up because sell to foreigners (i.e. PRs)!
- We need a population of 12m in order to have self-sustainable SERVICE sector making up >60% GDP! By then, Singapore economy will be less reliant on export and will be more stable going forward! (obviously, to have SERVICE sector >70% GDP, we need say 18m?).

In fact, the govt unconsciously have been doing that in the past, but they lost direction after that! :banghead:

29-11-11, 08:53
ur motivation of coming here is not to learn but to be a contrarian rite?

29-11-11, 08:53
I already point out the problems!

The worst thing is, these people don't even know what are the problems and anyhow shoot! :doh:

29-11-11, 08:54
- Make new HDB flats cheap (because the price of land at cost is so cheap! About $0.80 psf! I know I know because they acquired 25 hectares at $0.80 psf from my family!).
- Build more HDB flats in central areas and sell cheap! Increase plot ratio of all properties around MRT stations and enbloc them to build more HDB flats!
- Make HDB resale prices expensive! (please that 80% of citizens owning HDB flats)!
- Leave private to market forces (mostly rich citizens & PRs buying away)!
- Attract more foreigners to Singapore to work, especially the rich! Create more high-end jobs servicing the rich, all citizens get richer, their resale HDB flats keep going up because sell to foreigners (i.e. PRs)!

In fact, the govt unconsciously have been doing that in the past, but they lost direction after that! :banghead:

Leeds pays you $3.8 mio ah ??

why you give solution ?

29-11-11, 08:56
ur motivation of coming here is not to learn but to be a contrarian rite?

thats my style of trading for my personal investments ..

here to learn .. and advise those who are overly bull or overly bear to be less so ...

if that is also contrarian to you ..then i am

29-11-11, 08:59
thats my style of trading for my personal investments ..

here to learn .. and advise those who are overly bull or overly bear to be less so ...

if that is also contrarian to you ..then i am
wat hf u learned since feb 09?

29-11-11, 09:05
Sigh .. Singapore fast losing attractiveness to the likes of Suzhou ... Singaporeans still voting against immigrants and casinos ... we can't even build a high speed train to KL anytime soon.

Singaporeans young generation really spoilt and a bunch of frogs in the well (gua gua gua gua making noise without seeing the world outside)... no way as hardworking as mainland Chinese who must pay SGD1000psf for Beijing 4th ring properties. No wonder MM Lee thinks Singaporeans are lazy and less motivated than immigrants.

http://img.959.cn/7/2010/1019/20101019112301291.jpg

29-11-11, 09:08

pay me $3.8 mio and i will tell you

learn from someone very recently

29-11-11, 09:10

also learned to TCSS ....

life is short ... TCSS is good

29-11-11, 09:10
Sigh .. Singapore fast losing attractiveness to the likes of Suzhou ... Singaporeans still voting against immigrants and casinos ... we can't even build a high speed train to KL anytime soon.

Singaporeans young generation really spoilt and a bunch of frogs in the well (gua gua gua gua making noise without seeing the world outside)... no way as hardworking as mainland Chinese who must pay SGD1000psf for Beijing 4th ring properties. No wonder MM Lee thinks Singaporeans are lazy and less motivated than immigrants.
unemployed locals offered a job as a driver but reject hor

its about expectation mgmt

how to manage?

29-11-11, 09:11
also learned to TCSS ....

life is short ... TCSS is good
tats the spirit!!!

take a look at jlrx profile!! Mr Chicken!

whahahaha

29-11-11, 09:15
tats the spirit!!!

take a look at jlrx profile!! Mr Chicken!

whahahaha

he has long gone ....
maybe reincarnated to someone/thing else ...

so i let him go ... no intention to reminisce ...

29-11-11, 09:20
he has long gone ....
maybe reincarnated to someone/thing else ...

so i let him go ... no intention to reminisce ...
aiyo....i dun tink u learned tcss yet....

ur muscle is tightening.....ur mind is full.....

29-11-11, 09:21

http://img.959.cn/7/2010/1019/20101019112301291.jpg

We were once like the Chinese during the 70s' and early 80s'. Then we had people like OTC who gave us the MRT and more. We are now facing the same problems as with most first world countries in Europe. Of course we should try to avoid the European's way. The Americans are more flexible and are willing to chop off their arms and legs and start afresh if they are falling behind. Perhaps this is one reason why recently the government want us to learn or understand American's English. Despite all the masses, the Americans will survive and come alive again. Will we when we are there?

29-11-11, 09:24
aiyo....i dun tink u learned tcss yet....

ur muscle is tightening.....ur mind is full.....

are you thinking that is how i should react to your Mr chicken ?

29-11-11, 09:29
I know I know because they acquired 25 hectares at $0.80 psf from my family!).

No wonder can buy Orchard properties with the compensation from government. :p

29-11-11, 09:33
The Americans are more flexible and are willing to chop off their arms and legs and start afresh if they are falling behind.

i totally disagree

but who am i to comment on them.....so i shall stop here

29-11-11, 09:34
u got PM ;)

29-11-11, 09:46
Hey, side issue but since it's sooo quiet here, can fellow forumers advise me on this?

How much does it take to renovate the whole apartment including flooring?
I know it's subject to quality of materials - but say run-of-the-mill stuff.
$20 psf, $30 psf, $40 psf or more?

29-11-11, 10:03
inbox full liao.....

29-11-11, 10:20

May I ask you a simple question?
How long have u been holding back?

29-11-11, 10:24
PRice will Fall? ASK URA to release the paya lebar reserve price and u will know how much the price will fall?

Before anyone stongly believe in the report by BANK, it is time to wake up and ALSO take a look at other agencies behaviour...WHY is URA not selling the paya lebar land in recent bidding? If the analyst is so good in price prediction in singpaore property , he or she will be sitting there enjoying retirement life, still writing article??:D :D

is garmen considered in self denial by what others mention? carry on to continue miss the boats...:D

29-11-11, 10:27
i totally disagree

but who am i to comment on them.....so i shall stop here

ha ha ha ... Americans damn good at marketing to twist the reality .... it even give impression on chopping arms and legs when in reality they are leveraging their USD position as reserve currency to debase away their long term debts :doh:

29-11-11, 10:27
PRice will Fall? ASK URA to release the paya lebar reserve price and u will know how much the price will fall?

Before anyone stongly believe in the report by BANK, it is time to wake up and ALSO take a look at other agencies behaviour...WHY is URA not selling the paya lebar land in recent bidding? If the analyst is so good in price prediction in singpaore property , he or she will be sitting there enjoying retirement life, still writing article??:D :D

is garmen considered in self denial by what others mention? carry on to continue miss the boats...:D
r u encouraging bros and sis here to buy now?

29-11-11, 10:29
Cleared box

29-11-11, 10:33
if the MR B effect comes true with good value buy? why not?:D :D

but so far boleh...all still stiff like my hardened C**K:D

29-11-11, 11:44
They key remains the immigration floodgate. If population stagnates at 5.2 m, prices will eventually fall given the construction bloom.

Govt has also not disclosed their ideal population size since the GE results. LHL was deliberately vague when questioned. Is it 5.5m as LKY thinks it should be (read his book), or the 6.5m of MBT?

I believe the eventual size for the next 10 to 15 years will be 5.5m as LKY's thinking gains influence after the GE results. A population size of 6.5m will mean foreigners outnumber citizens in our tiny island, which is surely not tenable politically.

but LKY will not likely last till the next GE and already his influence is waning fast. And the new ones in office now seriously cannot make it. In my view they need another electoral setback to weed out the free loaders in their own party, which is a good thing for them actually.

29-11-11, 11:50
We were once like the Chinese during the 70s' and early 80s'. Then we had people like OTC who gave us the MRT and more. We are now facing the same problems as with most first world countries in Europe. Of course we should try to avoid the European's way. The Americans are more flexible and are willing to chop off their arms and legs and start afresh if they are falling behind. Perhaps this is one reason why recently the government want us to learn or understand American's English. Despite all the masses, the Americans will survive and come alive again. Will we when we are there?

the problem with today's leaders we have is they have no vision. LHL at best is just a figurehead that holds the party together with his father's clout. Under him there is no political courage and will anymore. no one dares to stick out their necks to speak up or do the right thing. Worse is many are just leeching off the system.

29-11-11, 12:22
LHL not so bad lah. I think he did casino against almost every one else including his father. Also his idea of Marina Bay financial center aka Manhattan of the East is pretty good. We need to be a service industry country like City of London.

29-11-11, 12:33
Yes, we have been there early this year during CNY. Very very impressed by this!

The Jin Ji Lake is 1000 bigger than our bedok reservior? :D :D :D

Launching BTOs at super-ulu location is not a solution .. they must mix and match to give people a choice, otherwise every project under-subscribed. HDB resale price seems to stabilize for now due to Europe crisis.

Suzhou industrial park near the Jin Ji Lake:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/5f/Suzhou_Industrial_Park_%28SIP%29_-_West_Bank_of_Jin_Ji_Lake.jpg/800px-Suzhou_Industrial_Park_%28SIP%29_-_West_Bank_of_Jin_Ji_Lake.jpg

The high speed train terminal at SuZhou, only 30mins to Shanghai:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/da/CRH-Suzhou-Station.JPG/800px-CRH-Suzhou-Station.JPG

29-11-11, 12:35
To be a service industry country with very large domestic service based economy, we need a population of at least 12m! :D

LHL not so bad lah. I think he did casino against almost every one else including his father. Also his idea of Marina Bay financial center aka Manhattan of the East is pretty good. We need to be a service industry country like City of London.

yaozong7
29-11-11, 12:39
To be a service industry country with very large domestic service based economy, we need a population of at least 12m! :D

12m? How many foreigners to citizens then? 75% foreigners & 25% citizens? Gd luck to whichever party that thinks 12m is an 'optimal' size. Already there are serious rethinks as to whether 6.5m is optimal (read LKY book) after GE, as that means foreigners> citizens.

29-11-11, 13:02
High land sale prices, higher selling prices of new condos (also pushing up pxs of resale condos), the need to raise population to sustain economy against an ageing population etc...how will prices fall? How many bank analysts and ppl who miss the boat have been screaming bubble and since when have they been saying it? Haas anything changed?

29-11-11, 14:08
High land sale prices, higher selling prices of new condos (also pushing up pxs of resale condos), the need to raise population to sustain economy against an ageing population etc...how will prices fall? How many bank analysts and ppl who miss the boat have been screaming bubble and since when have they been saying it? Haas anything changed?

always shouting the wolf come...will the wolf come this time? REALLY? I am tired of people syaing price will drop since the cooling measures phase 1 till now....when can they wake up and wash their face and eyes to freshen themselves up and enjoy the life in a healthy way instead of cooping up in a hole and shouting price will fall..doomsday will come like the nerdy dork( MR B ass) in another thread and people still nodding their head and follow what he says like a prophet it is like a blind leading a blind....:D

29-11-11, 14:36
Since the start of the cooling measures and SSDs, i really think many ppl had waited too long for a correction that didn't surface.. and in the course of it miss miss miss target and opportunities.

29-11-11, 14:50
For pte pty, govt only interested in quelling speculation, not for prices to fall. Govt's only priority for housing is to provide affordable housing for first time hdb buyers. Nowhere in the govt's mandate says they will bring prices down for pte. I had said many times to the forumers that oversupply even if there is is only temporary coz of immigration. To maintain our population at 5 million is shaky for our economy, we need at least 7 million
always shouting the wolf come...will the wolf come this time? REALLY? I am tired of people syaing price will drop since the cooling measures phase 1 till now....when can they wake up and wash their face and eyes to freshen themselves up and enjoy the life in a healthy way instead of cooping up in a hole and shouting price will fall..doomsday will come like the nerdy dork( MR B ass) in another thread and people still nodding their head and follow what he says like a prophet it is like a blind leading a blind....:D

29-11-11, 16:46

hey,have u gone into hiding? :scared-2:
still waiting for your analysis?
how do u intend to celebrate?pls enlighten..:cheers5:

29-11-11, 17:00
Problem is not what is the foreigners to citizens ratio. That has nothing to do with the economy.

Why 12m is not "optimal" size? I believe that is the minimum size to achieve a more resilient domestic service-based economy. Go ask any Keynes economists and they will tell you the same, and may be even much more needed! :p

Citizens not happy? Come on, let citizens buy HDB at $100k, 5 years later can sell to foreigners PRs at $1m, yet no traffic jam on road for cars, public transport so smooth and comfortable with ZERO over-crowding, PAP make citizens full privilege while PRs have very little, every thing citizens priority first! Almost everything citizens only pay 10% only while PRs pay 100%. You think >90% of citizens won't vote for PAP? (except the die hard oppositions who have no heart and those "missed the boat" without properties type)! Govt can heck care them since they constitute <10% of voters anyway! :cheers4:

12m? How many foreigners to citizens then? 75% foreigners & 25% citizens? Gd luck to whichever party that thinks 12m is an 'optimal' size. Already there are serious rethinks as to whether 6.5m is optimal (read LKY book) after GE, as that means foreigners> citizens.

29-11-11, 19:41
They have limited budget yet wanna dream BIG and unwilling to compromise, thus can only hope for crash...

30-11-11, 10:57
Ciizen-foreigner ratio is important for stability.

No point having 12M residents and subect the country to great pressure on the resources,infrastructure and living space with any possibility of having 8M foreigners leave at the drop of the hat.

Problem is not what is the foreigners to citizens ratio. That has nothing to do with the economy.

Why 12m is not "optimal" size? I believe that is the minimum size to achieve a more resilient domestic service-based economy. Go ask any Keynes economists and they will tell you the same, and may be even much more needed! :p

Citizens not happy? Come on, let citizens buy HDB at $100k, 5 years later can sell to foreigners PRs at $1m, yet no traffic jam on road for cars, public transport so smooth and comfortable with ZERO over-crowding, PAP make citizens full privilege while PRs have very little, every thing citizens priority first! Almost everything citizens only pay 10% only while PRs pay 100%. You think >90% of citizens won't vote for PAP? (except the die hard oppositions who have no heart and those "missed the boat" without properties type)! Govt can heck care them since they constitute <10% of voters anyway! :cheers4:

30-11-11, 16:51
Looks like integrated bus interchange, residential / commercial development is hot hot hot:

This is besides the future Bukit Panjang MRT (DTL2):

Sim Lian Land Pte Ltd and Sim Lian
Development Pte Ltd
492,882,000.00 $8,667.73 psm

30-11-11, 17:13
Looks like integrated bus interchange, residential / commercial development is hot hot hot:

Development Pte Ltd
Can sl build mall? Hmmmm

8xxpsf again....another 1300psf+ in the making?

Looks like sl overbidded....lol

10 fools this round...haha

30-11-11, 23:06
attempting a bedok a bukit panjang? oops.

01-12-11, 06:05
Can sl build mall? Hmmmm

8xxpsf again....another 1300psf+ in the making?

Looks like sl overbidded....lol

10 fools this round...haha

Yah, looks like an overbidded price. 1 bedder at $1,400 psf could be the upper limit. This location's population is relatively younger, so I doubt they have high purchasing power like those at Bedok, which is a mix of older HDB upgraders and landed property owners. Besides, the population density at CCK is lower and it is at the edge of the island with not much amenities.

01-12-11, 09:29

Development Pte Ltd

sim lian must be thinking FEO open market for us liao, lets go in n sell some $1400 psf housing!! Capitaland also selling like hot cakes, this one we must get!