View Full Version : Buy EC or buy private condo

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 13:18
Im in dilemma and still very green in property, need advice from experts here.

I own a 4 room HDB, fully paid at CCK. Have 2 plan options in mind:

1) Buy a private condo, rent out current HDB, move to condo for own stay
Pros: No restrictions in buying any private properties in the future, at the same time i can hold a HDB unit
Cons: What if no tenant for my current unit? And if I sell the HDB after owning a private property, I will not be able to buy any HDB again, unless i sell my private property.

2) Buy new EC at CCK (launching soon), but i would have to sell my current HDB flat.
Pros: More value for $ for EC (i guess and I hope) than private condo
Cons: Cannot buy any private condo within the first 10 years.

A question: after 10 years MOP of EC, after the EC be privatised, does the owner of the EC considered as a HDB owner or private condo owner?

Please share your views. Much appreciated.

29-11-11, 13:44
buy private and keep HDB for rental...sure make money

29-11-11, 14:16
fully paid 4rm HDB assume it was bot sometime ago (and much cheaper), rent out and make good rental yield. Never sell it unless absolutely need to.

29-11-11, 14:19
Depends on how much capital appreciation over how many years if sell ... CCK if not near MRT is not so good location

29-11-11, 14:21
2) Buy new EC at CCK (launching soon), but i would have to sell my current HDB flat.

is it true ?

29-11-11, 14:22
hi may I know wher is your HDB location ? good location? for eg , is it near amenities or at a place where it is near bird cannot lay egg place, such as foul smell ? u know which part of CCK i mean? :D

U have to weigh the gain be it capital or rental.. some time it is good to sieze an opportunity , once u miss it...u cannot tell when the next time it will come...:D

29-11-11, 14:30
since its fully paid, there is no reason to sell it. Personally i would keep the house and purchase a Private condo. i dont think there is much problem looking for tenants. The tough part is getting good tenants whom dont destroy your house.

Good luck searching for a nice condo ; )

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 14:31
my HDB is about 700m from CCK station, I would say very convenient to amenities. Wet market, Giant, clinics, CC, Southview Primary and CCK primary all are within short walking distance.
But, it's a low floor unit. Does it make any difference?

29-11-11, 14:36
hi may I know wher is your HDB location ? good location? for eg , is it near amenities or at a place where it is near bird cannot lay egg place, such as foul smell ? u know which part of CCK i mean? :D

U have to weigh the gain be it capital or rental.. some time it is good to sieze an opportunity , once u miss it...u cannot tell when the next time it will come...:D

one point to remember, policies are man made it can be withdrawn once situation warrants it...hope u buy your dreamt unit successfully..:D

29-11-11, 14:38
my HDB is about 700m from CCK station, I would say very convenient to amenities. Wet market, Giant, clinics, CC, Southview Primary and CCK primary all are within short walking distance.
But, it's a low floor unit. Does it make any difference?

Hmm..i see near block 253 or block 475...i guess you have already made your decision in your mind just need someone to reaffirm it for you that is all...:D :D

My friend stays in that area too Palm garden....

29-11-11, 14:45
No offence, 700m from CCK MRT not very exciting for people working at CBD/ Marina Bay, not even those working in JLD in the future ...30y old 3r HDB next to Bedok MRT can rent 2k+ per month because it is only 25mins to Suntec, 30 mins to CBD / 35 mins to Marina Bay by MRT via EWL/CCL ... this also explains why so many ppl willing to buy Bedok Residences @ 1.3kpsf vs Mi Casa 850psf

As I said, what is the capital appreciation if you sell (i.e. 7% annual return for 10y since you bought??), if you think by selling you can get a better located PC, then sell :2cents:

Why buy condo @ CCK again :doh:

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 14:50
Hmm..i see near block 253 or block 475...i guess you have already made your decision in your mind just need someone to reaffirm it for you that is all...:D :D

Hi :)

It's block 285. :)

I planned to get a private condo and keep the HDB unit, until I saw the advertisement of the new CCK EC launch. So, I'm in dilemma now.

And If I don't buy EC now, we will hit the income ceiling very soon, then no way to buy at all in the future. I think I must have thought too much...:doh:

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 14:56
No offence, 700m from CCK MRT not very exciting for people working at CBD/ Marina Bay, not even those working in JLD in the future ...30y old 3r HDB next to Bedok MRT can rent 2k+ per month because it is only 25mins to Suntec, 30 mins to CBD / 35 mins to Marina Bay by MRT via EWL/CCL ... this also explains why so many ppl willing to buy Bedok Residences @ 1.3kpsf vs Mi Casa 850psf

As I said, what is the capital appreciation if you sell (i.e. 7% annual return for 10y since you bought??), if you think by selling you can get a better located PC, then sell :2cents:

Pardon a stupid question: How to calculate the annual return?
A very good piece of opinion: ya, why buy CCK again? :doh: Hmm..seems like it's time for me to move out from this area...Have been staying here for 9 years. Guess if anything, they are good schools nearby. :D

29-11-11, 14:57
In the first place, your MOP should only be 5 years. I am surprised that those property agents here did not correct you on this ;)

You buy now, you are buying at the peak of property prices. But you can also sell your hdb flat at sky high prices too. Your call :D

Pros: No restrictions in buying any private properties in the future, at the same time i can hold a HDB unit
Cons: What if no tenant for my current unit? And if I sell the HDB after owning a private property, I will not be able to buy any HDB again, unless i sell my private property.

A question: after 10 years MOP of EC, after the EC be privatised, does the owner of the EC considered as a HDB owner or private condo owner?

29-11-11, 14:59

I planned to get a private condo and keep the HDB unit, until I saw the advertisement of the new CCK EC launch. So, I'm in dilemma now.

And If I don't buy EC now, we will hit the income ceiling very soon, then no way to buy at all in the future. I think I must have thought too much...:doh:

Hi I see that you have certain reason to continue to stay in CCK, let dwell into the pte pty in CCK, acc to what I know, There are a few of them (dont quote me as I am not agent) for eg Warren...northvale, palm garden, mi casa and the upcoming CDL touted luxury E condo...

Northvale is abit old and if you are interested, pls question the agent thouroughly on its condition and view it with your eyes open(dont ask me more:D )

Warren TOP 2004 developed by MCL not bad price a bit high now...

further now is palm garden not very near MRT... micasa is the latest one but according to my fenghsui si fu(let say if you believe) the buliding design is like staircase, so may not be good as staricase design is either u go up or u go down rite like luck ha ha:D

if u want to know mroe about yew tee Condos..we can talk about it too...:D have to go now..wish you get the condo u like..

29-11-11, 15:01
I am also quite an expert in CCK condos although I am a geylang OKT. There are other condos near Yew Tee MRT like Regent Grove and Windermere too, and not forgetting Yew Mei Green (EC):D

mygeemeel
29-11-11, 15:03
If I am in this situation, i would keep HDB and buy a PC rather than an EC.

My reasons:
1. Collect rent from HDB unit.
2. Almost guaranteed (at least once in your lifetime) to have either SERS/Enbloc etc. Then i get a chance to have a higher floor unit otherwise no loss since already at low floor.

Then if i am choosing a PC. Also depends on budget. If i am buying Mass Mkt PC, then i will wait a little for prices to soften somemore or if someone wants to run road and eager to sell.

If location, schools and/or FH are criteria and if budget allows, then i will go property shopping (so many to choose from). Don't have to wait for prices to soften. If i love it so much and i can afford, i will just buy it. The good thing is interest rate is very attractive.

If i have only enough to buy an EC, that means i cannot keep my HDB under the regulation. Then i rather stay put at where i am. In my opinion 10 years is a long time.

Lastly, i feel garmen launched EC and amended the salary ceiling is to help HDB prices rise and also provide price support to Mass Mkt PC.

I am also quite an expert in CCK condos although I am a geylang OKT. There are other condos near Yew Tee MRT like Regent Grove and Windermere too, and not forgetting Yew Mei Green (EC):D

dont ply your trade in CCK ..one geylang is enough :D :D

well, rent out HDB + CPF contribution can cover Condo installment then its ok. 5 year MOP is a lousy constraint.

Pardon a stupid question: How to calculate the annual return?
A very good piece of opinion: ya, why buy CCK again? :doh: Hmm..seems like it's time for me to move out from this area...Have been staying here for 9 years. Guess if anything, they are good schools nearby. :D

Use this one, put the monthly savings at 0 ... adjust the rate/years until you hit your target selling price

http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/calculator/Compound_Calc/comp_calc.asp

29-11-11, 15:04
dont ply your trade in CCK ..one geylang is enough :D :D

Hello there, Property Agent :D

29-11-11, 15:06
If I am in this situation, i would keep HDB and buy a PC rather than an EC.

My reasons:
1. Collect rent from HDB unit.
2. Almost guaranteed (at least once in your lifetime) to have either SERS/Enbloc etc. Then i get a chance to have a higher floor unit otherwise no loss since already at low floor.

Then if i am choosing a PC. Also depends on budget. If i am buying Mass Mkt PC, then i will wait a little for prices to soften somemore or if someone wants to run road and eager to sell.

If location, schools and/or FH are criteria and if budget allows, then i will go property shopping (so many to choose from). Don't have to wait for prices to soften. If i love it so much and i can afford, i will just buy it. The good thing is interest rate is very attractive.

If i have only enough to buy an EC, that means i cannot keep my HDB under the regulation. Then i rather stay put at where i am. In my opinion 10 years is a long time.

Lastly, i feel garmen launched EC and amended the salary ceiling is to help HDB prices rise and also provide price support to Mass Mkt PC.

omg.... folks do a little homework lah.... MOP is only 5 years!!!!! :doh:

mygeemeel
29-11-11, 15:07

You should encourage him to buy Geylang. Prices there are very affordable and it look like New York's Time Square, all the neon lights etc. Somemore FH.

29-11-11, 15:08
You should encourage him to buy Geylang. Prices there are very affordable and it look like New York's Time Square, all the neon lights etc. Somemore FH.

The new generation of geylang OKTs are well skooled and widely-travelled, thank you. :D

29-11-11, 15:10
for those who wanting to train your mind a bit, use rules of 72:

In finance, the rule of 72, the rule of 70 are methods for estimating an investment's doubling time. The rule number is divided by the interest percentage per period to obtain the approximate number of periods (usually years) required for doubling

e.g. if annual return is 6%, you need 72 / 6 = 12y to double your investment
if annual return is 12%, you only need 6y

29-11-11, 15:10
Hello there, Property Agent :D

I am so good and familiar with Sg property in the west that people called me agent(that specialised in west property n other than that specialisation, dont get me involved :D ) I take it as a compliment...:D really have to go and fetch my family for dinner...talk to you all next time when I am free....

29-11-11, 15:11
I am so good and familiar with Sg property in the west that people called me agent(that specialised in west property n other than that specialisation, dont get me involved :D ) I take it as a compliment...:D really have to go and fetch my family for dinner...talk to you all next time when I am free....

Bye Bye Sir! :D

29-11-11, 15:14

I am a specialist in that area too, for obvious reasons. My take, never ever buy MM or any apts at > $1000psf now. Many owners who have bought their units at easily just $200psf-300psf are selling out :D :D :D

mygeemeel
29-11-11, 15:18
I am a specialist in that area too, for obvious reasons. My take, never ever buy MM or any apts at > $1000psf now. Many owners who have bought their units at easily just $200psf-300psf are selling out :D :D :D

I saw some small units with basement (the basement windows overlook the front porch). Looked like landed but no space for carpark. I wonder when it floods will it become indoor swimming pool.

29-11-11, 15:18
the moment u book a EC unit from developer, u cant buy PC liao....so effectively MOP become 5yrs from TOP+ average 3yrs of construction period

all these r basic knowledge a ppty investor must know de

even though i cant buy HDB, i also go read up the rules and regulation at www.hdb.gov.sg plus www.ura.gov.sg to have a better understanding of the whole Sg ppty landscape

recently also read abit on www.cea.gov.sg

spend some time going thru the abovementioned websites rather den reading doomsayer news articles ;)

wif all these basic knowledge, u WUN get smoked by agts anymore ;)

edwinleeap
29-11-11, 15:21

Buy private condo and rent out the property with the higher rent quantum.

29-11-11, 15:26
Buy private condo and rent out the property with the higher rent quantum.
logically, one shd rent out tat ppty tat fetches highest rental yield based on current valuation

i hf yet heard of anyone staying in let say a HDB/MM and rent out landed? may hf such ppl la...mabe waiting to 'flip' their landed hse la...hehehe

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 15:38
Use this one, put the monthly savings at 0 ... adjust the rate/years until you hit your target selling price

http://www.cpf.gov.sg/cpf_info/calculator/Compound_Calc/comp_calc.asp

Thanks. Will figure it out!

BTW, any one can advise on my question about after 10 years MOP, once the EC becomes privatised, what's the status of the owner, under the HDB regulations?

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 15:45

what is a good range of capital appreciation for HDB?

29-11-11, 15:47
Thanks. Will figure it out!

BTW, any one can advise on my question about after 10 years MOP, once the EC becomes privatised, what's the status of the owner, under the HDB regulations?
aiyo....can search hdb website for answers rite?

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatEligibilityECOpen?OpenDocument

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 16:21
aiyo....can search hdb website for answers rite?

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatEligibilityECOpen?OpenDocument

I know about the info on after 5 years to SGporeans and PRs, and only after 10 years can sell to open market. The part that Im not very sure is : after 10 years, the owner of EC will be categorised as private property owner? in other words, must wait at least 30 months after selling the EC to buy a unit directly from HDB..

Well, while I was typing this, I suddenly realised that the status of owner it's actually not very important to me 10 years later. Very likely not eligible to buy any unit directly from HDB, unless rules & policy change. :beats-me-man:

29-11-11, 16:27
what is a good range of capital appreciation for HDB?

Aiya ... if the same amount of money invested in stock, what u expect? If you manage to beat stock market return considered very good already right?

29-11-11, 16:35
I know about the info on after 5 years to SGporeans and PRs, and only after 10 years can sell to open market. The part that Im not very sure is : after 10 years, the owner of EC will be categorised as private property owner? in other words, must wait at least 30 months after selling the EC to buy a unit directly from HDB..

Well, while I was typing this, I suddenly realised that the status of owner it's actually not very important to me 10 years later. Very likely not eligible to buy any unit directly from HDB, unless rules & policy change. :beats-me-man:
It was also mentioned smwhr in the hdb website tat after 10yrs, all restrictions will be lifted ....exactly the same as any other pte ppty

As for ur dilemma, nid to noe more details like how much cash on hand, ur age , earning power , risk profile etc....

Selling a fully paid up hdb may not be a bad idea.....cov so goodie now...hmm....and hdb flat r not allowed to remortgage....so money stuck there....bad if u r still below 40.....When we r yng, must take higher risk.....time is money;)

29-11-11, 16:56
After reading so many advices from forummers here, most are evidently in favor of you renting HDB and buying PC.

Only Dplate said not a bad idea to sell HDB coz got high COV and COV may drop in the near future. But you must always consider your options with respect to your personal and family committment and financial muscles! Remember a $50k COV probably will be recovered with a 2 year tenancy contract! Also, the 2 years may see price appreciation that is more than $50k even.

Anyway, my advise is simple, sell HDB only if you absolutely need the ready cash. Otherwise, keep it for rental! :)

29-11-11, 17:13
watch out for this....

- fully paid HDB will qualify for 80% loan in new PC
- but if you had already used your cpf for your hdb, you need to set aside amount of 50%-MinSum (~60+K) before using it as downpayment for your new PC...

which means, if you are using your cpf for more than 1 property, you need set aside 50%-MinSum for 2nd property

:rolleyes:

29-11-11, 18:23
fully paid 4rm HDB assume it was bot sometime ago (and much cheaper), rent out and make good rental yield. Never sell it unless absolutely need to.

i also say....:D:D:D

29-11-11, 19:34
logically, one shd rent out tat ppty tat fetches highest rental yield based on current valuation

i hf yet heard of anyone staying in let say a HDB/MM and rent out landed? may hf such ppl la...mabe waiting to 'flip' their landed hse la...hehehe

Haha, my friend might be one of them. He is currently staying in a landed ppty and have 2 condos for renting. One of them is just opposite his house. His whole family loves swimming so much, so occasionally they will walk over to this condo to have a swim but there is no public toilet near the pool, so every time, they have to walk back to their house to bath and change, he found it very awkward. Now he plans to stay in this condo and rents out his landed.:cool: I wonder whether will they get used to it or not, I had been to this condo, it is soooooo much smaller than his landed.

29-11-11, 19:49

I would go for option 1. The main goal of property investment isn't to get "value for $" but for passive income through rental income and capital appreciation. As long as you buy a private property that you can afford to pay for without collecting rent, your "cons" in (1) will be irrelevant.

29-11-11, 19:59
Go for #1

Take advantage of the low interest rate.

29-11-11, 20:36
I always believe one should sell HDB now, unless it's in such a prime location like next to Bishan MRT.

CCK is very far. Also 700m for you is ok, for a tenant is very far. School , is there any branded school in CCK ? There is no rental demand for school purpose. Unlike the few HDBs in farrer road, because of NYPS, the rental demand is very high.

Can it fetch 600k now ? If yes u should take profit. With the cash u can afford other investment opportunities. HDB cannot cash out.

Not only COV, but HDB valuation can come down very fast. With so many HDB upgraders enting mass market segment this year, u can imgine come 2014 when all these new condos TOP, how many HDBs will be on the market for rental and resale. Is ur CCK HDB competitive enough ? I really doubt.

29-11-11, 20:49
Just want to add, pty investment is for long term capital appreciation. HDB is not an asset class to hold for long term.

29-11-11, 20:50
I always believe one should sell HDB now, unless it's in such a prime location like next to Bishan MRT.

CCK is very far. Also 700m for you is ok, for a tenant is very far. School , is there any branded school in CCK ? There is no rental demand for school purpose. Unlike the few HDBs in farrer road, because of NYPS, the rental demand is very high.

Can it fetch 600k now ? If yes u should take profit. With the cash u can afford other investment opportunities. HDB cannot cash out.

Not only COV, but HDB valuation can come down very fast. With so many HDB upgraders enting mass market segment this year, u can imgine come 2014 when all these new condos TOP, how many HDBs will be on the market for rental and resale. Is ur CCK HDB competitive enough ? I really doubt.
your analysis is quiet interesting. if u look at cash flow perspective for say the next 50 years, would it still make sense for the HDB? HDB is constantly upgraded by HDB.

alternative is cash out $600k(just an example) and buy a PC, but this will require additional capital outlay before it generate positive cashflow. But this option, unless goes for FH, the PC might face problem of depreciating value once it pass 20+ years.

29-11-11, 20:54
Just want to add, pty investment is for long term capital appreciation. HDB is not an asset class to hold for long term.

so if we look at it from cash flow perspective, since its paid up already, do u think HDB have better cashflow?

PC shld have higher appreciation potential since its should have as much regulation as HDB...

29-11-11, 20:59
Haha, my friend might be one of them. He is currently staying in a landed ppty and have 2 condos for renting. One of them is just opposite his house. His whole family loves swimming so much, so occasionally they will walk over to this condo to have a swim but there is no public toilet near the pool, so every time, they have to walk back to their house to bath and change, he found it very awkward. Now he plans to stay in this condo and rents out his landed.:cool: I wonder whether will they get used to it or not, I had been to this condo, it is soooooo much smaller than his landed.

If the unit is rented out, by right your friend can't use the swimming pool. Otherwise it'll be no different ffrom public pool.

29-11-11, 21:03
HDB will not be an income generating instrument for 50 yrs.
This member mentioned he can afford a pte pty now without funding from the HDB. Therefore the asset in HDB is purely for investment purpose. For investment purpose, HDB is too sensitive to gov policies. Do u remember not so long ago u cannot just rent out a HDB so easily ? Gov can easily U turn on the HDB renting policy. Once that happen u will see tons of HDB for sale. More over, when HDB gets old, gov has every incentive to do SERS and u are never sure what price u will get, because u as an lessee cannot decide when to "enbloc". Public housing is a very politically sensitive issue, u can bet gov will not want to see million dollar HDB any time soon. One should take profit when it's due.

29-11-11, 21:17
HDB will not be an income generating instrument for 50 yrs.
This member mentioned he can afford a pte pty now without funding from the HDB. Therefore the asset in HDB is purely for investment purpose. For investment purpose, HDB is too sensitive to gov policies. Do u remember not so long ago u cannot just rent out a HDB so easily ? Gov can easily U turn on the HDB renting policy. Once that happen u will see tons of HDB for sale. More over, when HDB gets old, gov has every incentive to do SERS and u are never sure what price u will get, because u as an lessee cannot decide when to "enbloc". Public housing is a very politically sensitive issue, u can bet gov will not want to see million dollar HDB any time soon. One should take profit when it's due.

HDB is a tool to anchor PR and new citizens. Government will continue to allow PR to buy and rent HDB. Don't sell your HDB.

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 21:42
Thanks all for valuable advice! Indeed interesting and I learn a lot from you guys!

Looks like more forumers here are into keep hdb, buy pc. Although some forumers whom support the idea of selling hdb also make valid food for thought. I guess no one can predict what's our dear gahmen's next policy..:beats-me-man:

FYI, my current hdb definitely not fetching 600k. Don't think any of 4room in cck can fetch tat $. Just above 300k.

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 21:44
watch out for this....

- fully paid HDB will qualify for 80% loan in new PC
- but if you had already used your cpf for your hdb, you need to set aside amount of 50%-MinSum (~60+K) before using it as downpayment for your new PC...

which means, if you are using your cpf for more than 1 property, you need set aside 50%-MinSum for 2nd property

:rolleyes:
Yup, need to set aside a min of $65,500 in our CPf

29-11-11, 21:47
Thanks all for valuable advice! Indeed interesting and I learn a lot from you guys!

Looks like more forumers here are into keep hdb, buy pc. Although some forumers whom support the idea of selling hdb also make valid food for thought. I guess no one can predict what's our dear gahmen's next policy..:beats-me-man:

FYI, my current hdb definitely not fetching 600k. Don't think any of 4room in cck can fetch tat $. Just above 300k.

A 4rm CCK flat nowadays can easily fetch $375k to $400k for now. Go check around :D

29-11-11, 21:48

Keep ur 3xxk hdb

I tot can fetch 5xxk including cov....

29-11-11, 21:50
Keep ur 3xxk hdb

Nope, CCK 4rm flats start from $375k to $400k for now. If she wants to sell at slightly above $300k I will gladly get my relatives to buy from her :D

29-11-11, 21:53
4rm/5rm cck should be slightly above 400K... 3rm at teckwhye already hit 300K...

29-11-11, 21:55
Keep ur 3xxk hdb

haha... where got so high... cck is where birds don't lay eggs... i like cck because no bird poo fall from sky... :cool:

29-11-11, 21:57
haha... where got so high... cck is where birds don't lay eggs... i like cck because no bird poo fall from sky... :cool:

The newer EAs in that estate can fetch $600k+, the slightly older ones $550k upwards :D

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 21:59
:ashamed1: Seems like the $ increase again. Tot still at the range of 350k. :doh:

Dplate changes hid mind, guess my current 300k unit too kacang. :tongue3:
Btw, I'm below 35 yes old, someone mentioned age plays a part also

29-11-11, 22:01
The newer EAs in that estate can fetch $600k+, the slightly older ones $550k upwards :D

those should be near lot 1... i got 1 tenant sold condo and downgrade to EA there at close to 600K bought >1yr ago...

29-11-11, 22:03
those should be near lot 1... i got 1 tenant sold condo and downgrade to EA there at close to 600K bought >1yr ago...

Those units near Yew Tee MRT station CCK North 6 and 7 (Blks 600 to 700 series also can hit that kind of prices for now) :D

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 22:07
600k to get a ea at cck, and not brand new..isn't better pay slightly more to get a condo? Of cos smaller sqf..

Am I making sense?

29-11-11, 22:08
Government will continue to allow PR to buy and rent HDB. Don't sell your HDB.

But gov will not necessarily continue allowing sporeans to be HDB landlord so easily. Not so long ago, in order to rent out HDB, u have to be posted overseas and not residing in SG. Just reversing back to this policy alone will make this whole rental business void.

Can u take the risk ? HDB rental is not a given.

29-11-11, 22:15
Those units near Yew Tee MRT station CCK North 6 and 7 (Blks 600 to 700 series also can hit that kind of prices for now) :D

true... some are only 5rm and hit 600K,... somemore if you look at top floor of those few blocks, some has terrace... is like penthouse like that... damn shiok!!... :scared-4:

behind these hdb blocks are windermere and quintet... 10yr old windermere $650psf or 900K for 1453ft, 5yr old quintet around $700psf, 900K for 1258ft... think very value for $$... :rolleyes:

Irene_kyng
29-11-11, 22:16
But gov will not necessarily continue allowing sporeans to be HDB landlord so easily. Not so long ago, in order to rent out HDB, u have to be posted overseas and not residing in SG. Just reversing back to this policy alone will make this whole rental business void.

Can u take the risk ? HDB rental is not a given.
Then I will move back to stay at my hdb :rolleyes:

29-11-11, 22:17
:ashamed1: Seems like the $ increase again. Tot still at the range of 350k. :doh:

Dplate changes hid mind, guess my current 300k unit too kacang. :tongue3:
Btw, I'm below 35 yes old, someone mentioned age plays a part also
I dun mean it tat way la sister! Hehe

3xxk can keep for rental lor....yield shd be quite ok.....worse come to worse shd be able to fetch 1.5k for ur 4rm flat;)

If it worth 5xxk, can cash out and get a condo when px corrects mah rite? 3xxk wif ltv 40%, cant really buy any decent condo....

U r still vy yng! Can afford to take more risk.....;)

29-11-11, 22:24
Then I will move back to stay at my hdb :rolleyes:

me too...:D

whoh757
29-11-11, 22:55
600k to get a ea at cck, and not brand new..isn't better pay slightly more to get a condo? Of cos smaller sqf..

Am I making sense?

Option 1 - A 3bedroom OCR resale condo cost say $1m. After the 20% downpayment, based on 30yr 1.5% loan, instalment is $2.8k. If interest rate rises to 4%, instalment will be around $4k.

you would have to tahan upfront $200k cash and $65k CPF Min sum (each person), pay the instalments, and still have some emergency cash... yes??

:cheers3:

29-11-11, 22:58
heya... too much liquidity and high inflation... everybody rushing into condos... and yet everybody keeping their old hdb pushing up resale price....

i guess very soon kbw will have to come out CM5...
- 1st loan max LTV=70%
- 2nd loan max LTV=50%
- all foreigners max LTV=50%
- all must sell hdb within 3yrs after purchase private property.
- SSD now applies to commercial properties also

:scared-4:

29-11-11, 23:04
heya... too much liquidity and high inflation... everybody rushing into condos... and yet everybody keeping their old hdb pushing up resale price....

i guess very soon kbw will have to come out CM5...
- 1st loan max LTV=70%
- 2nd loan max LTV=50%
- all foreigners max LTV=50%
- all must sell hdb within 3yrs after purchase private property.
- SSD now applies to commercial properties also

:scared-4:
Shd just tackle hdb resale for now....crazy to haf 50-100k cov amid global debt crisis! Siao arghhhhhh

29-11-11, 23:17
Shd just tackle hdb resale for now....crazy to haf 50-100k cov amid global debt crisis! Siao arghhhhhh

Actually I feel that HDB is undervalued and hence ppl are still willing to give high COVs.

29-11-11, 23:18

tackle resale? got few possible ways....
1. throw out lots and lots of new ec,.. but still need 3yrs to build ec and not all will buy ec
2. build lots and lots of bto,.. but still need ~8yrs to reach resale market
3. inject new flats directly onto resale market, at no subisdy price or at resale market price... but they cannot even fulfill bto demand now...
4. modify DBSS to DBSS2, where DBSS2 is treated as resale flats... private developer can build it very fast
5. new regulations of cannot own both hdb and pc at the same time, all the people who own both hdb and private properties now must sell off hdb within 3 yrs...
6. or, mnd chief can try everyday blog and shout down the resale market loh...

only 4 & 5 workable and effective... mnd is damn handicap now... :ashamed1:

29-11-11, 23:33
Need to stay in hdb while owning private property at the same time

29-11-11, 23:44
forget about EC, just keep your hdb and buy a condo. Some doomsayers say prices will fall by 20% next year but i differ on that. You may wish to wait and look out for good buys in the resale market or from new launches. With so many new launches coming up, you will be spoilt for choice.

29-11-11, 23:49
my 4 rm hdb in a nearby estate is fetching $500k liao, don't underestimate what your flat is worth. Only dif is my flat is 5 min walk to the mall and mrt.

30-11-11, 06:10
Need to stay in hdb while owning private property at the same timeIs this a question or an information? :confused:

30-11-11, 06:11
Is this a question or an information? :confused:

A rhetorical statement, imho :D

30-11-11, 07:47

Demand and supply imbalances creates positive COV or sale below valuation like what Eastboy pointed out. In the early 2000 when there was clearly excess units available. COV usually never cross 30kand it usually applies to those smack next to MRT and mall. Throw rock also can hit sort of close.

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 07:59
my 4 rm hdb in a nearby estate is fetching $500k liao, don't underestimate what your flat is worth. Only dif is my flat is 5 min walk to the mall and mrt.

:cheers4: I guess for many who bought their HDB unit in early 2000, the price alr double now.

30-11-11, 08:04
may be got another way here for ts...

- bet bigger on ec
- sell hdb when ec top
- buy 4bdr dual key at that cck ec, should be ~1.1m
- 3bdr section for own stay
- can rent out the studio section if need to, e.g. any difficulties to repay loan
- studio section also can be occupied by parents, and rent out their hdb, if need to...
- studio should be able to fetch close to 2K because near to cck mrt and malls

but hor, if things don't work out fine don;t come kill me hor... :beats-me-man::scared-2:

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 08:06
Option 1 - A 3bedroom OCR resale condo cost say $1m. After the 20% downpayment, based on 30yr 1.5% loan, instalment is $2.8k. If interest rate rises to 4%, instalment will be around $4k.

you would have to tahan upfront $200k cash and $65k CPF Min sum (each person), pay the instalments, and still have some emergency cash... yes??

:cheers3:

When I called up CPF to check 2 days ago, was told the min sum of $65k is combination from both husband and wife accounts le..

30-11-11, 08:06
may be got another way here for ts...

- bet bigger on ec
- sell hdb when ec top
- buy 4bdr dual key at that cck ec, should be ~1.1m
- 3bdr section for own stay
- can rent out the studio section if need to, e.g. any difficulties to repay loan
- studio section also can be occupied by parents, and rent out their hdb, if need to...
- studio should be able to fetch close to 2K because near to cck mrt and malls

but hor, if things don't work out fine don;t come kill me hor... :beats-me-man::scared-2:
worse scenario....buy 1.1mil EC liao....3yrs later HDB drop by 30% how? cannot hold must sell within 6mths.....whahahaha

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 08:13
worse scenario....buy 1.1mil EC liao....3yrs later HDB drop by 30% how? cannot hold must sell within 6mths.....whahahaha

A very valid concern actually...

Whereas for any changes in gahmen's policy, e.g. all PC owners must sell their HDB unit within 6 months etc..Can gahmen just suka suka change their policy like this? The impact will be very big.

30-11-11, 08:16
A very valid concern actually...

Whereas for any changes in gahmen's policy, e.g. all PC owners must sell their HDB unit within 6 months etc..Can gahmen just suka suka change their policy like this? The impact will be very big.

Unlikely lah ... what if the PC is still under construction and under SSD also??

In fact, your HDB only yielding 5-6% annual return right since 2000? So what is the big deal, bubble very big meh?

300k 10y ago, compound 5% annually, gives only 500k at the end of 10y .... so most HDBs up from 300k to 500k only in last 10y ... this you call bubble?!

edwinleeap
30-11-11, 08:16
When I called up CPF to check 2 days ago, was told the min sum of $65k is combination from both husband and wife accounts le..

Each person must have half the minimum sum amount in OA+SA. But only OA money can be touched for property.

30-11-11, 08:17
Unlikely lah ... what if the PC is still under construction and under SSD also??

In fact, your HDB only yielding 5-6% annual return right since 2000? So what is the big deal, bubble very big meh?
doomsayers based on 2007-2011 and say HDB bubble big big la!
whahaha

30-11-11, 08:20

ok..ok.. you win...
if so kiasu or kiasi then sell hdb first lor... rent another hdb until ec top... or stay with parents...

30-11-11, 08:21
doomsayers based on 2007-2011 and say HDB bubble big big la!
whahaha

Cannot take so short time frame lah ... if you take STI, was around 2,000 in year 2000 ... now around 2,700 so compound 3% per year + dividend 2% per year .... which is also about 5% compound over last 10y

So tell me, STI / HDB resale in bubble?? COV may be in bubble only due to valuation problem

In fact 5% compound is pathetic ... it is the target of insurance company

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 08:21

300k 10y ago, compound 5% annually, gives only 500k at the end of 10y .... so most HDBs up from 300k to 500k only in last 10y ... this you call bubble?!

What i meant for BIG IMPACT is the big impact to the overall HDB market, not to myself per say. Yup, afterall, my unit is a small kacang to many CondoS owners here. :tongue3:

I don't see this as bubble either. :)

30-11-11, 08:23
Cannot take so short time frame lah ... if you take STI, was around 2,000 in year 2000 ... now around 2,700 so compound 3% per year + dividend 2% per year .... which is also about 5% compound over last 10y

So tell me, STI / HDB resale in bubble?? COV may be in bubble only due to valuation problem

In fact 5% compound is pathetic ... it is the target of insurance company
we buy into future.....dun dwell on the past....wahhaha

HDB u gain more if includes rental saved.....;)

30-11-11, 08:25
ok..ok.. you win...
if so kiasu or kiasi then sell hdb first lor... rent another hdb until ec top... or stay with parents...

now rental so high.....2k/mth.....3yrs=72k

let say her 4rm flat worth 400k now....72k=18% hor.....whahahahaha

30-11-11, 08:25
we buy into future.....dun dwell on the past....wahhaha

HDB u gain more if includes rental saved.....;)

But HDB buying/selling cost very high .. stamp duty already 2.5%, agent fees when selling is 2% ... legal fees, HDB loan rate 2.6% ... so i would think STI ETF returns about the same as HDB resale over the last 10y afterall especially if you reinvest the dividend paid

30-11-11, 08:26
What i meant for BIG IMPACT is the big impact to the overall HDB market, not to myself per say. Yup, afterall, my unit is a small kacang to many CondoS owners here. :tongue3:

I don't see this as bubble either. :)
i believe ur HDB at very most drop by 100k.....from 400 drop to 300k.....and u prolly bot it for 150k.....hehehe

30-11-11, 08:27

that means resale price still too cheap, either rental must come down or resale price must move up to reduce the hdb yield back to 3.5%

I know someone bought a 5r HDB 700m from Yee Tee MRT in 2005 for 230k ... unlikely to be 150k if bought within last 10y

30-11-11, 08:29

ok...lor... if so kiasi with risks and so kiasu with little rental... then got to buy pc lor....
anyway i also never look at ec once decided to keep old hdb as better choice....

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 08:30

Hmm...a very good point, another thought trigger to me. I was thinking of getting a new launch PC, have to wait 3-4 years to TOP. But if I look at the opportunity cost, compare to getting a subsale condo, I would be able to collect rent 3 years earlier if I go with a alr TOP condo..
Is my logic making sense? Thanks!

30-11-11, 08:33
Hmm...a very good point, another thought trigger to me. I was thinking of getting a new launch PC, have to wait 3-4 years to TOP. But if I look at the opportunity cost, compare to getting a subsale condo, I would be able to collect rent 3 years earlier if I go with a alr TOP condo..
make perfect sense only if the resale unit u r buying is at least 10-20% cheaper den new launches ;)

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 08:34
that means resale price still too cheap, either rental must come down or resale price must move up to reduce the hdb yield back to 3.5%

I know someone bought a 5r HDB 700m from Yee Tee MRT in 2005 for 230k ... unlikely to be 150k if bought within last 10y

Yup, I bought at 200k.

30-11-11, 08:34

you pay less/little interest during construction time... but that's much less than rental collection during this heaty market and low interest rate....

30-11-11, 08:53
doing some quick calculation here... if bet big on ec... still got quite some advantage....

that cck ec is likely to be ~$750psf...
pte condo launched at same location will hit 1.1K psf

so if you get a 1000ft 3bdr, you already got advantage of around $300K... 1300ft will be $400K...

except it comes with all the ec restrictions.... :beats-me-man:

30-11-11, 08:56
Given Mi Casa subsale below 850psf ... I doubt anybody can sell at 1.1kpsf for big size units.

MI CASA CHOA CHU KANG AVENUE 3 Condominium 1 920,000 1,119 Strata 822psf Oct-11
MI CASA CHOA CHU KANG AVENUE 3 Condominium 1 1,050,000 1,238 Strata 848psf Oct-11
MI CASA CHOA CHU KANG AVENUE 3 Condominium 1 860,000 1,119 Strata 768psf Oct-11

Just get a Mi Casa subsale if die die must stay @ CCK ... forget about EC

30-11-11, 08:56
doing some quick calculation here... if bet big on ec... still got quite some advantage....

that cck ec is likely to be ~$750psf...
pte condo launched at same location will hit 1.1K psf

so if you get a 1000ft 3bdr, you already got advantage of around $300K... 1300ft will be $400K...

except it comes with all the ec restrictions.... :beats-me-man:
ur calculation KOYAK big time la

this CCK EC is just beside Mi casa

right now u can get Mi casa subsale at ard 800psf....so i tink buying the EC will only have 100psf px advantage but comes wif restrictions and slightly further to MRT....Mi casa gona TOP by mid2012 somemore

however, the quantum cud be quite a big gap.....mi casa unit sizes quite big by today standard.....

30-11-11, 09:02
hmm... oops... paiseh... so low??... :ashamed1:

~5yr old warren and ~10yr old northvale already hit near that range liow... i think yee tee residences higher...
what's happening to mi-casa... or cck is really brids don't lay eggs... :scared-4:

30-11-11, 09:04
hmm... oops... paiseh... so low??... :ashamed1:

~5yr old warren and ~10yr old northvale already hit near that range liow... i think yee tee residences higher...
what's happening to mi-casa... or cck is really brids don't lay eggs... :scared-4:
since 1yr ago i haf been eyeing mi casa.....but cant find 750psf high flr park facing...LOL

can only find 750psf low flr poolview tat time...now poolview asking 850psf...LOL

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 09:05
Yup, the $ psf for micasa is quite low, in fact, the lowest for all the new launches in the west, if im not wrong. :D

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 09:07
since 1yr ago i haf been eyeing mi casa.....but cant find 750psf high flr park facing...LOL

can only find 750psf low flr poolview tat time...now poolview asking 850psf...LOL

hahaa, u should have bought a high floor park facing unit tat time, and can sell to me cheaper than market now, still a win-win situation...:D :D

30-11-11, 09:07
Yup, the $ psf for micasa is quite low, in fact, the lowest for all the new launches in the west, if im not wrong. :D
so forget abt the EC....

wana upgrade to condo....get mi casa and sell or keep HDB nxt yr better choice;)

u see now can get any 800psf poolview anot at mi casa lor....below 800psf goodie

30-11-11, 09:08
hahaa, u should have bought a high floor park facing unit tat time, and can sell to me cheaper than market now, still a win-win situation...:D :D
during launch u mean? i din submit chq and all high flr park facing all gone on 1st preview day....about 600-650psf

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 09:13
during launch u mean? i din submit chq and all high flr park facing all gone on 1st preview day....about 600-650psf

wow, all gone during the first preview day! I din know about it..nobody selling their park view unit now. :(

30-11-11, 09:14
wow, all gone during the first preview day! I din know about it..nobody selling their park view unit now. :(
got la...at a premium px....hehee

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/8241506/for-sale-mi-casa

30-11-11, 09:19
far east got another new plot near teckwhye, right??... no mrt, mall or anything... lrt only...
like that how much can they sell??... 850psf?

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 09:20
got la...at a premium px....hehee

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/8241506/for-sale-mi-casa

I know there r unit mid floor facing pool, asking $890 psf alr lo..

The Palette at Pasir Ris also ard the same $ range for psf..but TOP 3-4 years later, which is a better choice?

30-11-11, 09:21
far east got another new plot near teckwhye, right??... no mrt, mall or anything... lrt only...
like that how much can they sell??... 850psf?

cut smaller....900psf....LOL

2bdr 7xxsqft, 3bdr 1k sqft....whahahhaa

er wait....tat plot nearer to tennery.....agts can say tennery 1.3kpsf!! so this one 1kpsf CHEAP CHEAP ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

30-11-11, 09:24
I know there r unit mid floor facing pool, asking $890 psf alr lo..

The Palette at Pasir Ris also ard the same $ range for psf..but TOP 3-4 years later, which is a better choice?
u buy condo to stay rite? mi casa layout goodie for family ;)

the only thing i dun like is the balcony.....concrete wall balcony....machiam HDB

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 09:28
Y mi casa layout goodie for family? can enlighten?

30-11-11, 09:30
Y mi casa layout goodie for family? can enlighten?
more spacious mah compared to recent new launches

squarish layout.....master bedrm big big....but still got baywindows hor...

anyway u take a look la.....den decide for urself.....;)

30-11-11, 09:40
:cheers4: I guess for many who bought their HDB unit in early 2000, the price alr double now.

:cheers4::cheers4::cheers4::cheers4::cheers4:yup....

30-11-11, 09:41
THE CENTRIS JURONG WEST CENTRAL 3 Apartment 1 1,100,000 915 Strata 1,202psf Nov-11

Mi Casa is cheap compared to Centris .... better cheong and buy

30-11-11, 09:42
a wise man once said children are a gift from god and hdb is a gift from the spore govt....:D....love them and treasure them.....:D:D:D

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 10:21
Mi Casa vs The Palette, which one better? :p
Pardon my silly question sometimes please.

30-11-11, 10:45

palette better if looking at Building DESIGN Aspect...It looks like a building that is ought to ..mi casa like staircase design (EC next to it will be the same)...I believe in Fenghsui design like a staircase..either u go up or go down in luck...with strong magnetic fiedl from the signalling camp some more...maybe buy not for self stay ...my personal view...:D :D

30-11-11, 10:47
IMHO, tho both location cmi, pasir ris is slightly better. I will not go for any condo beside EC for sure. Mi Casa is out for me..

If u want to feel better for not choosing an EC, get a FH condo!

30-11-11, 10:51
IMHO, tho both location cmi, pasir ris is slightly better. I will not go for any condo beside EC for sure. Mi Casa is out for me..

If u want to feel better for not choosing an EC, get a FH condo!
U very atas...beside ec also hiam....den those beside hdb how?

30-11-11, 10:52
palette better if looking at Building DESIGN Aspect...It looks like a building that is ought to ..mi casa like staircase design (EC next to it will be the same)...I believe in Fenghsui design like a staircase..either u go up or go down in luck...with strong magnetic fiedl from the signalling camp some more...maybe buy not for self stay ...my personal view...:D :D
Whaha....mi casa px nvr drop but edge up instead since our last discussion :p

30-11-11, 10:56
u buy condo to stay rite? mi casa layout goodie for family ;)

the only thing i dun like is the balcony.....concrete wall balcony....machiam HDB
Concrete more expensive and durable then glass ok!!!!! :-)....

30-11-11, 11:05
U very atas...beside ec also hiam....den those beside hdb how?

Not hiam la, dun want to fight to sell next time mah.. They got more leeway to undercut prices leh...

30-11-11, 11:10
Not hiam la, dun want to fight to sell next time mah.. They got more leeway to undercut prices leh...
Sell before they serve 5ys mop la....hehehe

30-11-11, 11:11
Concrete more expensive and durable then glass ok!!!!! :-)....
Ya....den stay hdb better rite :p

Latest hougang cape bto got better view den boathse and cost half the px...goodie!

30-11-11, 11:25
Whaha....mi casa px nvr drop but edge up instead since our last discussion :p

I am talking about Building DESIGN aspect...not pricing, not location etc..

If touch on price aspect, which area price drops esp near amenities? up till now still STIFF like ........:D :D :D (u know what rite?)

better not talk too much later MR B jumps in with his notorious CUT and PASte RED font shouting doomsday is near price drop 50%:D :D

30-11-11, 12:19
What doubled, mine more than tripled coz I paid $150k.

30-11-11, 12:21
What doubled, mine more than tripled coz I paid $150k.

Must see how many years you hold mah ... HDB in last 10y triple very rare leh

cl0ver
30-11-11, 12:43
its actually quite true... mine bought 7yrs ago $210k now last transacted same block $570k, thats 2.7 times

30-11-11, 12:46
its actually quite true... mine bought 7yrs ago $210k now last transacted same block $570k, thats 2.7 times

2003/2004 SARS period was the lowest point for property pricing, in year 2000/2001, not that low. Also you must factor in reno cost, stamp duty, legal fees, interest paid etc right?

30-11-11, 12:50
that's why should start with a hdb:):D

30-11-11, 12:54
that's why should start with a hdb:):D

you only hear the success story that ppl bought in 2003-2005 making a fortune, back in 1997 ... there was a colleague who bought 550k TPY HDB back in 1996 ... it was almost end of the world for her .... even until today, the return is pathetic if you bought in 1996

Anyway ... China A is getting more exciting now ... down 3.2%

30-11-11, 14:10
I heard HDB flat prices are flat to down from 1998 - early 2009 (almost 11 years) because of over-supply. Will we get there from 2014 onwards when most new launch HDB flats completed & another over-supply again? :beats-me-man:
People tends to remember only the recent but forgot about the past. :doh:

2003/2004 SARS period was the lowest point for property pricing, in year 2000/2001, not that low. Also you must factor in reno cost, stamp duty, legal fees, interest paid etc right?

Pro888
30-11-11, 16:52
Nvr follow this thread by today drove past the ec site. Should receive good response.

Next to the ec site, is it hdb ? Quite nice

Irene_kyng
30-11-11, 16:57
Nvr follow this thread by today drove past the ec site. Should receive good response.

Next to the ec site, is it hdb ? Quite nice

Yes, think will get gd response, mainly due to the location.

You mean the empty plot of land? or the one under construction? The under construction is Mi casa (PC). :o

30-11-11, 17:59
something interesting...

http://www.iproperty.com.sg/news/4602/Expert-Eye-Choa-Chu-Kang

30-11-11, 18:01

there is going to be a massive over supply in pasir ris...just go there and c te number f new devts coming up...:o

30-11-11, 18:45
I heard HDB flat prices are flat to down from 1998 - early 2009 (almost 11 years) because of over-supply. Will we get there from 2014 onwards when most new launch HDB flats completed & another over-supply again? :beats-me-man:
People tends to remember only the recent but forgot about the past. :doh:The oversupply scenario should not occur coz last time its build and build. Now its build to order. Only there will be little vacant units. Different strategy! However, it is the resale market that might take a knock coz demand will be low... :D

30-11-11, 19:10
I am referring to resale HDB - rather sell at high price now befor all the new supply come online, I believe resale won't fetch so good price later.

The oversupply scenario should not occur coz last time its build and build. Now its build to order. Only there will be little vacant units. Different strategy! However, it is the resale market that might take a knock coz demand will be low... :D

30-11-11, 19:10
I am referring to resale HDB - rather sell at high price now befor all the new supply come online, I believe resale won't fetch so good price later.

The oversupply scenario should not occur coz last time its build and build. Now its build to order. Only there will be little vacant units. Different strategy! However, it is the resale market that might take a knock coz demand will be low... :D

Pro888
30-11-11, 20:45
Yes, think will get gd response, mainly due to the location.

You mean the empty plot of land? or the one under construction? The under construction is Mi casa (PC). :o

The empty plot should be another condo.

Govt planted ec at different part of sg to cater for the demand. Generally, all new ec should perform ok.

Also saw clearing of keat hong camp. Wat is goin to be built there ?

Today "Go West" - Pet shop boy, go see see look look.

30-11-11, 21:10
??...

http://www101.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampuadp.nsf/0/SA_BTO_201201/$file/CCKmap_04(311011).pdf

30-11-11, 21:38
People tends to remember only the recent but forgot about the past. :doh:

started rising in end 2007 lah :D

30-11-11, 21:42
5-6yrs later den come online

Pro888
30-11-11, 21:48
??...

http://www101.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampuadp.nsf/0/SA_BTO_201201/$file/CCKmap_04(311011).pdf

Thanks for the info.

Go West - song by Pet shop boy.

01-12-11, 01:26
Any reason why cck gd for rentals ?
Forumers always assume hdb can rent out but is there a pool of tenant that die die need to rent in cck ? Dont follow the herd,

After reading so many advices from forummers here, most are evidently in favor of you renting HDB and buying PC.

Only Dplate said not a bad idea to sell HDB coz got high COV and COV may drop in the near future. But you must always consider your options with respect to your personal and family committment and financial muscles! Remember a $50k COV probably will be recovered with a 2 year tenancy contract! Also, the 2 years may see price appreciation that is more than $50k even.

Anyway, my advise is simple, sell HDB only if you absolutely need the ready cash. Otherwise, keep it for rental! :)

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 08:09
Forumers always assume hdb can rent out but is there a pool of tenant that die die need to rent in cck ? Dont follow the herd,

Good question! Anyone or any property agents can share views? :)

01-12-11, 08:25
anyone familiar wif cck? hows the rental at northvale in 2000-2005?

01-12-11, 08:26
Good question! Anyone or any property agents can share views? :)
u stay in CCK for 9 yrs liao rite....how come u also clueless....hehehe

01-12-11, 08:56
u stay in CCK for 9 yrs liao rite....how come u also clueless....heheheYou must be actively looking out for investment opportunities and alert to property movements then you'll not be clueless ma. My granny stayed in Toa Payoh for more than 30years but won't know a thing about rental market mah... LOL! :)

01-12-11, 09:08
anyone familiar wif cck? hows the rental at northvale in 2000-2005?

Not so good as compared to now....

overall i think rental market NOW all up for HDB and condo at suburbs but not those very far far away from amenities...

01-12-11, 09:13

bro, some of them their investment vehicles are not property market but others...so this is natural not everyone like you...:D

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 09:24

Hahaha...:ashamed1: Yup, stay in CCK for 9 years alr, but i don't have many frens in CCK. heehee...and never thought of renting out my unit till recently.

Perhaps, just to share why I chose to buy a unit in CCK 9 yrs ago..

I was a PR then, so only can buy resale unit. Rent a unit for 1 year near Chinese Garden, started looking ard JE, then moved up to Bt batok, then to CCK. Stopped at CCK bcos units are relatively new, lifts at each level (no upgrading project soon, PR needs to pay alot for project upgrading ya), and also COV relatively lower.

So, why DIE DIE must stay CCK meh?? :beats-me-man:

01-12-11, 09:28
Hahaha...:ashamed1: Yup, stay in CCK for 9 years alr, but i don't have many frens in CCK. heehee...and never thought of renting out my unit till recently.

Perhaps, just to share why I chose to buy a unit in CCK 9 yrs ago..

I was a PR then, so only can buy resale unit. Rent a unit for 1 year near Chinese Garden, started looking ard JE, then moved up to Bt batok, then to CCK. Stopped at CCK bcos units are relatively new, lifts at each level (no upgrading project soon, PR needs to pay alot for project upgrading ya), and also COV relatively lower.

So, why DIE DIE must stay CCK meh?? :beats-me-man:
tks for sharing....i was just teasing u hor ;)

r u a citizen now? gotten ur grant oredi? if not can try bto rite? LOL

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 09:38
tks for sharing....i was just teasing u hor ;)

r u a citizen now? gotten ur grant oredi? if not can try bto rite? LOL

Heehee I know la..:-)

Yup, citizen now, never use the grant. Not eligible for BTO, can only buy EC..tat's y the thought of EC or PC. If EC can get the grant, but need to let go of current HDB unit and "tied" by all the new HDB rules.

01-12-11, 09:49

Yup, citizen now, never use the grant. Not eligible for BTO, can only buy EC..tat's y the thought of EC or PC. If EC can get the grant, but need to let go of current HDB unit and "tied" by all the new HDB rules.
hmmm more reason for u to get EC liao.....got 30k grant rite?

y not u spend the next few wkends travelling around whole SG and look at those oredi launched ECs first? ;)

Pro888
01-12-11, 09:50

This one not so near to mrt. Should buy 1 nearer. CCK is RCR. Heee

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 10:03
hmmm more reason for u to get EC liao.....got 30k grant rite?

y not u spend the next few wkends travelling around whole SG and look at those oredi launched ECs first? ;)

Hmm...something "fishy" about the alr launched ECs....

No time to travel ard whole SG le..dun mind can share your views about those alr launched ECs?? ;)

01-12-11, 10:19
Hmm...something "fishy" about the alr launched ECs....

No time to travel ard whole SG le..dun mind can share your views about those alr launched ECs?? ;)
i seldom visit ECs leh....the last one i went was esparina.....LOL

01-12-11, 10:26
i seldom visit ECs leh....the last one i went was esparina.....LOLOh yes... esparina is one of the better located EC in Singapore... got NTUC, MRT plus 2 coffee shops, a clinic, seven eleven and many other shops. :o

01-12-11, 11:34
Buy Double Bay Residences @ Simei.... better than CCK

01-12-11, 11:37
how about caspian

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/8247498/for-sale-caspian

i believe downside risk for caspian limited if u can get 800-850psf

gd luck;)

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 13:12

what is RCR? :confused:

Irene_kyng
01-12-11, 13:14
How about The Palette? average psf at $870..

01-12-11, 13:40
i seldom visit ECs leh....the last one i went was esparina.....LOL

the moment u put your address now at the entrance record book...the agents will tell you to look around as you deem fit:p no time to entertain you....(indirectly in a polite way instead of dont waste my time)

01-12-11, 13:41
Buy Double Bay Residences @ Simei.... better than CCK

this one very nice....I luv it...

01-12-11, 13:50

how can CCK be RCR?! eh, wrong information lah.....:confused:

Pro888
01-12-11, 16:42
how can CCK be RCR?! eh, wrong information lah.....:confused:

You ask Lend Lease lor.

me tryin to confuse some, but Lend Lease say 1 mah. CBD in the west.

They are building the Jem @ Jurong East. Due to JLD, CCK, BB & BG should be consider RCR. hahaha.....

01-12-11, 16:44
You ask Lend Lease lor.

They are building the Jem @ Jurong East. Due to JLD, CCK, BB & BG should be consider RCR. hahaha.....

Singapore is a city state hor.....

So whole SG is CCR!
Pro888 say one.....hehehe

Pro888
01-12-11, 16:46
what is RCR? :confused:

CCR - Egg yoke
RCR - Egg white
OCR - Egg Shell

:D :D :D

Pro888
01-12-11, 16:47
Singapore is a city state hor.....

So whole SG is CCR!
Pro888 say one.....hehehe

Yes. I was abt to say that. How big is sg.

01-12-11, 19:10
You ask Lend Lease lor.

then benoit equals marina bay and jurong islands equals sentosa??:scared-5:

Pro888
01-12-11, 19:49
then benoit equals marina bay and jurong islands equals sentosa??:scared-5:

To a NSmen, $10 is alot, but to a tycoon, $1 mil is too little. Benoi got many banga stayin. Good wat, dry dry stil can msg maid maid. Back home flood & drought.

Jurong Island at night very quiet. Got unblock seaview. Some more got army or cisco guard.