View Full Version : worst layout condo, apartment

13-01-12, 07:08
Let put up a list of what you think is the worst layout condo, apartment ....

Aristo@amber likely to be one of them

13-01-12, 08:04
what is your motivation to do this ?

13-01-12, 12:36
To me, the worst layout is a penthouse with a roof terrace occupying the whole of the upper level. It is simply not practical in land scare and hot, sunny Singapore.

13-01-12, 12:47
To me, the worst layout is a penthouse with a roof terrace occupying the whole of the upper level. It is simply not practical in land scare and hot, sunny Singapore.

penthouses are hot as hell and noisy as hell.

13-01-12, 12:53
Build partitions & rent them out...haha
http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=225360&postcount=6

Astronotus oscellatus
13-01-12, 15:40
Can run a laundry service for the development. A lot of space to sun dry bed sheets.

13-01-12, 16:35

Ya.... what is this for ???

13-01-12, 17:51
To know which projt to avoid ...hence this threads.
Not vested, not an agent, no conspiracy theory here

13-01-12, 18:05
http://sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/2/d/1/c/2d1cfa16689124_1_V550.jpg
http://sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/f/1/e/f/f1ef2a16302697_1_V550.jpg
http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/3099/Images/suites_at_katong_typeF.jpg

13-01-12, 18:08
http://sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/2/d/1/c/2d1cfa16689124_1_V550.jpg
http://sg2.pgimgs.com/images/thumb/f/1/e/f/f1ef2a16302697_1_V550.jpg
http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/3099/Images/suites_at_katong_typeF.jpg

wow, you didi your homework.:)

Last one not so bad what.... seen worse....

13-01-12, 18:13
wow, you didi your homework.:)

Last one not so bad what.... seen worse....

Last one, can imagine how dark n stuffy?

13-01-12, 18:29
Last one, can imagine how dark n stuffy?

oh, yah... didn't notice the lack of windows....:ashamed1:

13-01-12, 18:31
To know which projt to avoid ...hence this threads.
Not vested, not an agent, no conspiracy theory here

this is not neccessary

i am sure u are discerning enough to read floorplans:)

13-01-12, 20:57

agree...Calrose's penthouses are like that...

others i've seen are blossom residences (woodleigh) and a number of others in northwest...plenty of those around

i recall the PH i viewed in Nuovo...2 rooms on top one room on bottom...i was like WTF :scared-5:

13-01-12, 21:54
Thanks mcm, great work to get all those layout...

13-01-12, 22:20

to warn all other bros....:eek:

14-01-12, 06:44
Thanks for the support,

to warn all other bros....:eek:

14-01-12, 06:47
Think everyone forgot about lincoln suites

14-01-12, 07:21
Lousy layout are those that after putting a queen sized bed, you cannot walk or actually can still barely walk but cannot open wardrobe liao... :doh:

dlam
14-01-12, 08:20

Sounds like Treasure Trove. Exactly the same specs that you mentioned. :cheers1:

14-01-12, 08:29
IMO, penthouses are good only if they are at least 2000sqft in a highrise development of more than 30 storey and good unblock view.
penthouses are hot as hell and noisy as hell.

Adva181
14-01-12, 10:33
Sounds like Treasure Trove. Exactly the same specs that you mentioned. :cheers1:

And waterview

14-01-12, 11:45
to MCM: why type E is bad? The only issue perhaps is the morning sun.

14-01-12, 12:16

it is bad to me due to odd shaped and planter area contributing a significant ratio

the middle layout looks fine to me if one can accept shoebox sizes

14-01-12, 12:26
it is bad to me due to odd shaped and planter area contributing a significant ratio

planter box still ok in this design. what I dont like in MM is bomb shelter.
this layout still give me enough space to move around unlike some with narrow walkway which is useless.

14-01-12, 12:43
I think flamingoe V also tbe same . There is no transparecies in prices

14-01-12, 13:43

the odd shape and angle makes it hard to place furniture leh...

14-01-12, 13:45

middle layout how to place tv in living room....

14-01-12, 14:05
middle layout how to place tv in living room....

Ya hor.... if only the bomb shelter could be done away with.

14-01-12, 17:57
Agreed, that another classic unbeatable and unfriendly layout

Think everyone forgot about lincoln suites

14-01-12, 18:21
IMO, penthouses are good only if they are at least 2000sqft in a highrise development of more than 30 storey and good unblock view.

wb ph has one of the best layout. if i got money, i will buy ....

14-01-12, 18:22

Been to deroyal penthouse. Open roof terrace (3 storey unit), 20++ storeys, more than 2000 sq ft. Consider good?

14-01-12, 19:01
the interlace and d'leedon win hands down in the contest for worst layout. both have rooms of irregular shapes, toilets with no windows and kitchens with no ventilation.

Yuck.

14-01-12, 20:56
With mech carpk, mm and Oxley, we are seeing more of v bad layout. Irregular shaped

14-01-12, 21:08
Kitchen with no window, toilet w no windowt, all are ridiculous...
Irregular shaped are fengshui taboo

the interlace and d'leedon win hands down in the contest for worst layout. both have rooms of irregular shapes, toilets with no windows and kitchens with no ventilation.

Yuck.

14-01-12, 21:20
Kitchen with no window, toilet w no window are common for MM...
But I agree that irregular room shape is a no-no.
Actually, the majority of projects have poor layout.

hovivi
14-01-12, 23:35
Some layout has toilet beside bedroom and everytime some used the toilet can hear the audio loud and clear...

15-01-12, 09:41
Some layout has toilet beside bedroom and everytime some used the toilet can hear the audio loud and clear...

Er, thought it's very common to have toilet beside bedroom?

15-01-12, 09:47

Yuck.

And duchess residences have very good layout, with rooms with regular shapes, toilets with windows, and kitchens with ventilation :D

...sorry can't resist ;)

15-01-12, 09:51
Er, thought it's very common to have toilet beside bedroom?

Ya Loh. Most master bedrm has toilet. Jr master also hasone. Even common toilet also near other bedrm.

Toilet can locate somewhere else meh?

15-01-12, 09:59
i prefer point block style design with only 4 units per floor. toilets and kitchen will be well ventilated. and yes i cannot accept windowless kitchen/toilet

15-01-12, 10:41
Ya Loh. Most master bedrm has toilet. Jr master also hasone. Even common toilet also near other bedrm.

Toilet can locate somewhere else meh?

Simple. Dont want anyone to hear your watergun or bombing just go to condo common toilet outside near the pool or gym.... Guarantee safe. But maybe must BYOP.

15-01-12, 11:04
Simple. Dont want anyone to hear your watergun or bombing just go to condo common toilet outside near the pool or gym.... Guarantee safe. But maybe must BYOP.

Funny :p

But What is BYOP?

15-01-12, 13:07
Funny :p

But What is BYOP?

Bring Your Own Paper

15-01-12, 14:41
Agreed, Asian cooking, even if light cooking need kitchen with window.
Or the whole house get the smell.
Ventilator allow toilet without window but personal preference is toilet that has window to allow ventilation and light , or sunlight to prevent moist and dampness

i prefer point block style design with only 4 units per floor. toilets and kitchen will be well ventilated. and yes i cannot accept windowless kitchen/toilet

15-01-12, 14:50
Bay window and planters are waste of space...
Very Narrow balcony or balcony that faced wall also made no sense.
Balcony must be big and wide enough to chill out.
Pte pool and jacuzzi also not v functional.

15-01-12, 14:53
Those room that small should be call study room.... Misrepresenttation

Lousy layout are those that after putting a queen sized bed, you cannot walk or actually can still barely walk but cannot open wardrobe liao... :doh:

16-01-12, 08:55
Another worst layout is ZENITH at ZION ROAD. Its one of the worst I have seen. Donno how to use the rooms. all like sharp sharp or narrow. must be for very lean pple.

http://www.singaporeexpats.com/singapore-property-pictures/floorplan/zenith/floorplan-Type-F.jpg

http://www.singaporeexpats.com/singapore-property-pictures/floorplan/zenith/floorplan-Type-D2.jpg

http://www.singaporeexpats.com/singapore-property-pictures/floorplan/zenith/floorplan-Type-B.jpg

bigapplefan
16-01-12, 17:21
I ever saw MMs where the layout is such that the sofa is at a diagonal or perpendicular to the TV console, due to space constraint. Its ridiculous. How do they expect you to watch tv like that. duh :doh:

16-01-12, 17:35
I ever saw MMs where the layout is such that the sofa is at a diagonal or perpendicular to the TV console, due to space constraint. Its ridiculous. How do they expect you to watch tv like that. duh :doh:

dont use TV, use a projector instead.
projectors have keystone correction.

17-01-12, 12:16
dont use TV, use a projector instead.
projectors have keystone correction.

no more TV watch from IPAD or Tablet!

Mr.Keh
17-01-12, 22:32

Agree. Especially those 1bedders with large roof terraces and balcony thrown in. Absolute waste of space for our air-con loving Singaporeans.

I went to see one such unit in telok Kurau area and the agent was saying that Europeans are in love with such apartments as they can't get enough sunshine in their home countries.

Not sure if that is true but I was not willing to pay just 10 to 15% less Psf for the extra exposed space. Roof Terraces Psf should come at a much lower price, I.e 30 to 40 percent less compared to the normal built-in area and balcony. That was the pricing formula just a few years back.

18-01-12, 16:30
Entertaining..thread

skins
08-07-13, 12:30
What about layouts like a toilet to your side once you enter the house? Damn weird, rather they put the toilet in masterbed room

08-07-13, 12:40
Singapore's smallest private apartment (24sqm) which still has a big bay window :doh:

http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Singapore's+smallest+studio+spotted%3A+258+square+feet/

astroboy8681
08-07-13, 14:39
checked out city loft when TOP, no joke i was seated at the most miserable 2-seater sofa and when lean forward i can actually press the LCD tv buttons!!!
Distance : 1.6 metre (seriously got me tickled)

HS in a MM unit is also quite a no-brainer.

relax88
14-07-13, 11:51
but all new condo lay out all quite impractical :simmering: