View Full Version : Ceiling height

11-02-12, 15:53
True that ground floor unit is always having higher ceiling than the floor units above?

11-02-12, 15:56
True that ground floor is always having higher ceiling than the floors above?
usually yes for hdb... not necessarily for condo

11-02-12, 15:59
usually yes for hdb... not necessarily for condo

So far it has been true for the projects I have seen - first floor about 3.2 m and subsequent floors above about 2.8m m. I wouldn't want to live in the first floor HDB.

11-02-12, 16:35
Heritage view and Dover park view all ceiling height 3m... Damn high... Spacious.... 1249 sqft.... Only 1.2m....

11-02-12, 16:42
So far it has been true for the projects I have seen - first floor about 3.2 m and subsequent floors above about 2.8m m. I wouldn't want to live in the first floor HDB.
one rosyth 5m kekeke

11-02-12, 17:59
one rosyth 5m kekeke
Wow.. That can renovate into two tier with a unit floor.

11-02-12, 18:07
full height glass somemore

flagship74
11-02-12, 19:15
one rosyth 5m kekeke
void deck celling lagi high:D

11-02-12, 19:28
full height glass somemore
I had seen unit where they built a upper tier/deck with stairway and use it as study room...very impressive and nice.

hee hee , however if leave it stock.... The curtain definitely will be very very ex...:D :D

11-02-12, 20:35
I had seen unit where they built a upper tier/deck with stairway and use it as study room...very impressive and nice.

hee hee , however if leave it stock.... The curtain definitely will be very very ex...:D :D
spray christmas snow all over lor. cheap and cooling effect

11-02-12, 21:25
True that ground floor unit is always having higher ceiling than the floor units above?

Top floor HDB is always having higher ceiling.

12-02-12, 05:32
Top floor HDB is always having higher ceiling.

Older generation tends to avoid top floor in HDB, due to heat n leakage issue. I suppose e problem will still b w us due to lowest quote n higher construction costs.

12-02-12, 08:09

I thot it would affect the floor structure if it is not meant to withold the weight of the additional tier ?

richie$$$
12-02-12, 08:36
so...give u 15 ft ceiling height wht u tall.
b pratical less flrs less sales 4 hdb charge u higher
no wonder threads cm up either redundant or like poopoo

12-02-12, 11:02
Heritage view and Dover park view all ceiling height 3m... Damn high... Spacious.... 1249 sqft.... Only 1.2m....

Think there are many condos with 3m ceiling height also, not just this 2 right?

12-02-12, 12:47
Most of the older condos (can't put a time, roughly before 2004) in CCR are all mostly at least 3m ceiling height. I understand that after that many reduced to <=2.85m only? :banghead:
OCR newer ones my friends places mostly 2.8m.

Think there are many condos with 3m ceiling height also, not just this 2 right?

12-02-12, 13:26
Older generation tends to avoid top floor in HDB, due to heat n leakage issue. I suppose e problem will still b w us due to lowest quote n higher construction costs.

Older generation do not complain much on HDB. It take me 7 years of complain to HDB to get my unit rectify. The view in my unit is Wow, when I show it to my neighbor in the lower floor. Most of the Roof Top are flat roof, my block is a Peak roof (A Roof over the flat roof)

http://www.rechargenews.com/multimedia/archive/00035/Singapore_35295a.jpg

12-02-12, 14:00
I thot it would affect the floor structure if it is not meant to withold the weight of the additional tier ?
Not sure how they gotten the approval , properly using light weight materials bah...

12-02-12, 14:05
spray christmas snow all over lor. cheap and cooling effect
I seen unit with full glass panel which is about 4 m....but owner only put up curtain partial from the top..view from night macham wearing mini shirt but instead mini below , is mini on top lol....

12-02-12, 14:10
Yap top hdb usually higher ceiling, nn only leak problems but also the heat released at night.. is damm hot and properly they provide higher ceiling for top unit

richie$$$
12-02-12, 15:12
so...give u 15 ft ceiling height wht u tall.
b pratical less flrs less sales 4 hdb charge u higher
no wonder threads cm up either redundant or like poopoo

bullman
13-02-12, 08:20
Most of the older condos (can't put a time, roughly before 2004) in CCR are all mostly at least 3m ceiling height. I understand that after that many reduced to <=2.85m only? :banghead:
OCR newer ones my friends places mostly 2.8m.

That's very true. That was why I was pleasantly surprised that Soleil had a ceiling height of about 3.05 M when I first step into my unit. A high ceiling makes the unit look spacious and bright. The other unit in my inventory that stands out will be an older project ; Grosvenor view, with a ceiling height of 3.2 M.

13-02-12, 08:45
What is the ceiling height for new HDB now?

13-02-12, 10:26
That's very true. That was why I was pleasantly surprised that Soleil had a ceiling height of about 3.05 M when I first step into my unit. A high ceiling makes the unit look spacious and bright. The other unit in my inventory that stands out will be an older project ; Grosvenor view, with a ceiling height of 3.2 M.
Mountbatten Lodge (ground floor) 3.3m. R66 3.2m. Residences @ Somme 2.8m. City Regency 3-3.2m. Cosmo 2.8m. DOasia 3.2m. Cotz 2.8m. Kovan Grandeur (ground floor) 3.4 to 4m. All measurements were made up to false ceiling for lower numbers and to concrete for higher numbers where there is a range.

13-02-12, 10:28
I seen unit with full glass panel which is about 4 m....but owner only put up curtain partial from the top..view from night macham wearing mini shirt but instead mini below , is mini on top lol....
But if you look into the unit from ground up its full view up the mini skirt ohlala

13-02-12, 10:52
What is the ceiling height for new HDB now?Not sure about the new BTOs currently built but I suspect its about 2.6m. If add false ceiling, it might drop to 2.35m. Wow! You stretch out your arm can hit ceiling fan liao! :scared-4:

13-02-12, 13:52
All HDB now only 2.6m...

I really dont understand.... "air" space is free....
We are already living in such tight spaces.... flats and condos are getting smaller, why dont give us more "headroom"...

At most pay a bit more in construction costs only....

Govt should look into this...

2.9m to 3.2m will make a lot of difference...

For a 25 storey apt.. only 10m higher.... no big deal...

13-02-12, 14:09
Why was the ground floor having higher ceilings compared to the other floors in the older developments in the first place? Is there any reason for this?

I do notice this in some new developments eg Foresta also has this feature for the ground floor. But never ask why...will be good to know the reason.

13-02-12, 14:39
All HDB now only 2.6m...

I really dont understand.... "air" space is free....
We are already living in such tight spaces.... flats and condos are getting smaller, why dont give us more "headroom"...

At most pay a bit more in construction costs only....

Govt should look into this...

2.9m to 3.2m will make a lot of difference...

For a 25 storey apt.. only 10m higher.... no big deal...
In this time and age where everything needs to maximize, especially when all plots come with height restrictions.

13-02-12, 15:34
Exactly my point... Why have such strict height restrictions? Give us more space lah....

13-02-12, 15:44
For the aeroplanes to fly over la ...too high and kena macam World Trade towers.

Anyway there density (plot ratio), height restrictions and no of floor restrictions (usually related to plot ratio but not always eg Jade Towers, Eastern Lagoon II)

Exactly my point... Why have such strict height restrictions? Give us more space lah....

danntbt
13-02-12, 19:33
Older generation do not complain much on HDB. It take me 7 years of complain to HDB to get my unit rectify. The view in my unit is Wow, when I show it to my neighbor in the lower floor. Most of the Roof Top are flat roof, my block is a Peak roof (A Roof over the flat roof)

http://www.rechargenews.com/multimedia/archive/00035/Singapore_35295a.jpg

...is this so WOW? rooftop view of other flats?????

13-02-12, 20:24

Max Height restriction in Singapore due Bukit Gombak.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-I_r41Zo1X_A/TzkQ0JJlVGI/AAAAAAAAGpw/b8rBAb3hFkw/s1600/Capture.JPG

13-02-12, 20:25

That is what he say? WOW. When I go back Singapore and meet him I ask for you OK.

13-02-12, 20:26
Hahaha.... LOL

13-02-12, 20:37
http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1300&dat=19791126&id=_vZUAAAAIBAJ&sjid=6JIDAAAAIBAJ&pg=3561,5454850

13-02-12, 20:56
Hi Bro,

Forgive me, I am a little slow.

Can you explain to me the connection btw ceiling height or a "Wow" view with Vietnamese in stolen aeroplanes? Thanks

http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1300&dat=19791126&id=_vZUAAAAIBAJ&sjid=6JIDAAAAIBAJ&pg=3561,5454850

13-02-12, 20:59
Hi Bro,

Forgive me, I am a little slow.

Can you explain to me the connection btw ceiling height or a "Wow" view with Vietnamese in stolen aeroplanes? Thanks

No connection.

13-02-12, 21:02
The strict Height restriction in Singapore is because of the eyes they put on Bukit Gombak, one look at the height the other look at the angle. Even with the eyes, they still cannot see the C-130 flying from Vietnam to Singapore. There is no connection between ceiling height and Height restriction in Singapore.

13-02-12, 21:07
The Vietnamese on the stolen C-130 did not sneak in. They had engine trouble and radioed in an emergency.

The strict Height restriction in Singapore is because of the eyes they put on Bukit Gombak, one look at the height the other look at the angle. Even with the eyes, they still cannot see the C-130 flying from Vietnam to Singapore. There is no connection between ceiling height and Height restriction in Singapore.

13-02-12, 21:10
The Vietnamese on the stolen C-130 did not sneak in. They had engine trouble and radioed in an emergency.

Then we don't need to buy 4 E2C.

We did tell the Vietnamese if they intend to sent their bomber to bomb Singapore they can radioed us in advance.

13-02-12, 21:29

Dude.. you are mixing up all the connections.

If you say that there are building height restrictions due to to sensors in Gombak. Ok... whatever... I take your word for it.

But what is the connection with the Vietnamese on their stolen plane? ....which i say again.... radioed in their landing... clearly written in the article you provided.

As to whether we need to buy E-2Cs 4, 8, 20... whatever (what are they anyway? radars?).... what has it got to do with the Vietnamese? ... whom I say again.... radioed in their landing

13-02-12, 21:31

If you say that there are building height restrictions due to to sensors in Gombak. Ok... whatever... I take your word for it.

But what is the connection with the Vietnamese on their stolen plane? ....which i say again.... radioed in their landing... clearly written in the article you provided.

As to whether we need to buy E-2Cs 4, 8, 20... whatever (what are they anyway? radars?).... what has it got to do with the Vietnamese? ... whom I say again.... radioed in their landing

The paper is begin polite to say they radioed in their landing. Singapore will be come history if they sent in the bomber.

13-02-12, 21:31

We did tell the Vietnamese if they intend to sent their bomber to bomb Singapore they can radioed us in advance.

Now you are being ridiculous... childish

13-02-12, 21:35
Now you are being ridiculous... childish

My next birthday I will celebrate my 12 birthday.

13-02-12, 21:44

Where will you in 1979?

13-02-12, 21:53
... more displays of maturity....

13-02-12, 21:57

Boy, you are entering manhood soon!

13-02-12, 21:57

hahahahah :D :D

13-02-12, 21:59
... more displays of maturity....

This year I will celebrate my 12 birthday.

13-02-12, 22:07
This year I will celebrate my 12 birthday.

I get it now.
You were born on 29 feb.
So you are 48 years old!

13-02-12, 22:08
I get it now.
You were born on 29 feb.
So you are 48 years old!

You are right.:cheers4:

13-02-12, 22:10
I get it now.
You were born on 29 feb.
So you are 48 years old!

Yep no spring chicken but yet behaving like a jerk.

13-02-12, 22:25
Back to Building Height restriction, building near Bukit Gombak received daily dose of radio radiation from the microwave oven up there. The nearer and higher your unit the more you get.

13-02-12, 22:37
http://maps.google.fr/maps?q=1.368869,103.755291&hl=en&ll=1.369491,103.758337&spn=0.01448,0.022724&num=1&t=h&z=16

This is the nearest you can get to Gombak in Streetview.

http://maps.google.fr/maps?q=bukit+gombak+RSAF+ground+radar&hl=en&ll=1.362386,103.764605&spn=0.001821,0.00284&hq=bukit+gombak+RSAF+ground+radar&radius=15000&t=h&z=19&layer=c&cbll=1.362386,103.764605&panoid=eXaofhzKkiWx3o50f9ULFg&cbp=12,29.28,,0,10.11

13-02-12, 22:53
Yep no spring chicken but yet behaving like a jerk.

You can be a microwave chicken after a period of time if your unit is near Gombak or high enough.