View Full Version : P1 registration strictly by distance and no more balloting

Pages : [1] 2

extremme
25-03-12, 16:16
Sc citizens to be given absolute priority over PR, yeah!!! And no more balloting, will go strictly by distance eg 1km will have priority over 1-2km. I applaud the move to give SC priority over PR. But no more balloting, only by distance, will this lead to further inflation of property values within 1pm of Atas Primary schools like nanyang, Henry park, RGPS etc?

extremme
25-03-12, 16:17
http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2012/03/seven-new-primary-schools-for-2013-and-further-differentiation-and-outreach-at-p1-registration.php

25-03-12, 16:36
Sc citizens to be given absolute priority over PR, yeah!!! And no more balloting, will go strictly by distance eg 1km will have priority over 1-2km. I applaud the move to give SC priority over PR. But no more balloting, only by distance, will this lead to further inflation of property values within 1pm of Atas Primary schools like nanyang, Henry park, RGPS etc?

There will still be balloting if the number of applicants at a particular distance exceeds the number of places available.

There should be inflation of property values within 1 km of the popular schoools. But Govt is taking pains to emphasize the merits of the non-branded schs to encourage parents to move away from the branded schools.

25-03-12, 16:52
still balloting lah. but the competition is reduced with PRs getting much lower chance than singaporeans.

extremme
25-03-12, 16:58
yeah I interpret wrongly... still got balloting within same category eg within 1km at least now no more PR!!! yeah!!!!!

andy
25-03-12, 16:59

Actually price will reduce since PRs got no chance within 1km of branded schools then might as well not buy and move further away.

extremme
25-03-12, 17:00
guess this will encourage more parents to convert to SC now just to give their child a chance

extremme
25-03-12, 17:01
Actually price will reduce since PRs got no chance within 1km of branded schools then might as well not buy and move further away.

hmm interesting school of thought.. dat is a possibility too. But if parent die die want child to enter branded school will convert to SC n buy ppty within 1km.. or rent one within 1km

25-03-12, 17:08
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-lSt0tKR3YSY/T27gRVWhjCI/AAAAAAAAG8U/BeA4KeT9SH8/s1600/School.JPG

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-3kqzW0vKsSU/T27gxHNKnOI/AAAAAAAAG8c/SgW-dg5GTe4/s1600/School+2.JPG

25-03-12, 17:09
the impact is not as great as i thought, my interpretation is:

it only applies for each phase, so PR volunteers still have advantage over SC non volunteers. it just pushes all PRs to become volunteers.

is my interpretation correct?

http://www.moe.gov.sg/media/press/2012/03/seven-new-primary-schools-for-2013-and-further-differentiation-and-outreach-at-p1-registration.php

wannabe
25-03-12, 17:18
guess this will encourage more parents to convert to SC now just to give their child a chance
think the message from govt is be a SC if you
want good school for your children. Does more
SCs translate to more demand for landed properties?
woooo what a bubble....lol

25-03-12, 18:09
Alamat! More PRs do volunteer also useless lah because has no chance. This will push more SC to do volunteers then take up all 2B & 2C quota. Now, those SC who do volunteer will have very good chances if leaves within 2km. We will see all SCs balloting in 2B & 2C and no more PRs for branded schools. This is VERY BAD!!! This will reduce the diversity of the students in the branded schools. Unless, this PR convert to SC and their kids also convert to SC.

the impact is not as great as i thought, my interpretation is:

it only applies for each phase, so PR volunteers still have advantage over SC non volunteers. it just pushes all PRs to become volunteers.

is my interpretation correct?

25-03-12, 18:10
lets sing together : dream a dream

wakakakakaka

25-03-12, 18:11
Alamat! More PRs do volunteer also useless lah because has no chance. This will push more SC to do volunteers then take up all 2B & 2C quota. Now, those SC who do volunteer will have very good chances if leaves within 2km. We will see all SCs balloting in 2B & 2C and no more PRs for branded schools. This is VERY BAD!!! This will reduce the diversity of the students in the branded schools. Unless, this PR convert to SC and their kids also convert to SC.
told u MIW out to please netizens

25-03-12, 18:11
nah! zero chance because foreigner is difficult to convert to PR not saying convert to SC. How to buy landed properties?

25-03-12, 18:12
This is fat dream!:p

lets sing together : dream a dream

wakakakakaka

25-03-12, 18:15
Who is the percentage of PRs applying to those popular schools?

25-03-12, 18:15
nah! zero chance because foreigner is difficult to convert to PR not saying convert to SC. How to buy landed properties?
i believe rich foreigners/PR wud rather pay for gd international schools.....

only those 'cmi' ones wana convert to SC to increase their chances of getting into gd sch

25-03-12, 18:20
Stupid policy and hoped that it will not get backfire and drive all the PRs out of Singapore instead of pushing PRs to convert to SCs. I wanted to see diversity in the school and also in Singapore as a whole society. Otherwise, Singapore how to progress as a nation?:tongue3: I am Singaporean and wanted to see Singapore to progress for the better as a nation.

25-03-12, 18:22
You will be surprise! a big percentage as far as I know.

Who is the percentage of PRs applying to those popular schools?

25-03-12, 18:26
The problem is good international school are all mostly full. Left with not so good one around. How many PRs are under the very rich categories?

i believe rich foreigners/PR wud rather pay for gd international schools.....

only those 'cmi' ones wana convert to SC to increase their chances of getting into gd sch

25-03-12, 18:28
wat we want is high profile PR/foreigners taking up SC rite?

not half bake ones lor....zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

25-03-12, 18:33
are Lawyer/specialist/bankers considered? high profile PR?

wat we want is high profile PR/foreigners taking up SC rite?

not half bake ones lor....zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

25-03-12, 18:43
are Lawyer/specialist/bankers considered? high profile PR?
as long not middle income earner ones which most netizens belongs to
if not hor...likely to backfire?

25-03-12, 19:01
There are thousand professionals (specialist/lawyers/bankers/etc) are PRs and their kids are very bright and doing very well in school. They are still not considered very rich until can buy CCR landed properties. (Today, you earn> 20-40k per months are not considered rich in Singapore and you still can't afford 5M landed Terrence houise in CCR) Didn't you see many top scholars are PRs? Top international school fee about 50-60k per year. How many people can afford? Even if you can afford, there is no vacancy.

25-03-12, 19:07
You will be surprise! a big percentage as far as I know.

sure is...most of the parent volunteers I met are PRs/Foreigners:mad:

andy
25-03-12, 19:08

Yes, this sounds like a cooling measure for ever increasing high standards for P1 to PLSE.

I believe it is a good strategy to debrand branded schools. Maybe we will see OCR schools having top students

extremme
25-03-12, 19:11
sure is...most of the parent volunteers I met are PRs/Foreigners:mad:
if PR are accept as PV and has priority over SC, doesn't this defeat e purpose of giving SC priority over PR? Hope e schools will take this into consideration when accepting PV

25-03-12, 19:13
i forgot that even SC > 2km has priority over PR. :ashamed1: too used to the 2km priority liao hehehe.

you are right. it means PRs have no chance of getting into the branded schools at all!

25-03-12, 19:17
you are right. to implement this policy, schools have to give SC priority in granting PV.

if PR are accept as PV and has priority over SC, doesn't this defeat e purpose of giving SC priority over PR? Hope e schools will take this into consideration when accepting PV

25-03-12, 19:25

Agreed. Remember i always said the 10% ABSD is more for headline news to singaporeans "look we listen to you! now we screw the foreigners !"

This one, not fair to PRs.... Honestly....

25-03-12, 19:26
And there goes the diversity of the branded schools soon to be filled full by lousy Singapore citizen kids! The policy is very ill-thought (or do they even give a deep thought? :doh: ). It will drive away many PR professionals who are the building block to the success of Singapore economy but these people are not rich enough to send their kids to good international schools nor secure a place there. A better policy is to set aside like 20% of the vacancies in each school for better PR kids to fight out. :tsk-tsk:
Currently in branded schools, there could be as many as 50% of the students are PRs!

Since they want to pro-Citizens, they should also introduce that no more scholarship to be awarded to non-citizens! Also, No more non-citizens in NUS & NTU! :p

I & many citizens would like also to see that PRs cannot buy resale HDB flats because no reason to let them buy public housing reserved for Citizens! :beats-me-man:

i forgot that even SC > 2km has priority over PR. :ashamed1: too used to the 2km priority liao hehehe.

you are right. it means PRs have no chance of getting into the branded schools at all!

25-03-12, 19:29
i knew u would be here to voice your "populist policy" ;) which after this i agree with u.

Agreed. Remember i always said the 10% ABSD is more for headline news to singaporeans "look we listen to you! now we screw the foreigners !"

andy
25-03-12, 19:39

Soon PRs will be extinct.
ABSD on 2nd property
can't get into schools
children must do NS

25-03-12, 19:53
i knew u would be here to voice your "populist policy" ;) which after this i agree with u.

It looks so blatantly obvious what .

I think as of now the biggest complaint in P1 registration is not PR. It's the PV system and alumni thingy. This anti PR policy doesn't really address most parents' concerns. It serves no real purpose other than a big headline.

Btw Teddy, the actual percentage of PRs in top schools at P1 level is quite low. Something like 5% from what I asked around.

25-03-12, 20:03
Depends on which school you are talking about. What you said only true for Rosyeth? :o
Schools with very large number of PRs: RGPS, ...

I think as of now the biggest complaint in P1 registration is not PR. It's the PV system and alumni thingy. This anti PR policy doesn't really address most parents' concerns. It serves no real purpose other than a big headline.

Btw Teddy, the actual percentage of PRs in top schools at P1 level is quite low. Something like 5% from what I asked around.

25-03-12, 20:24
PV policy next to go?

TKT
25-03-12, 20:32
Be careful what you wished for...

:47:

25-03-12, 20:33
So if SC has absolute advantage over PRs and if SC is staying within 1km, then as good as no need to do PV already for any phase? Or am I mistaken?

25-03-12, 20:34
Be careful what you wished for...

:47:I also wish PV policy be obliterated... really paint that ugly kiasu Singaporean mentality! :doh:

25-03-12, 20:39
I also wish PV policy be obliterated... really paint that ugly kiasu Singaporean mentality! :doh:

yap...PV should go away...such jobs can be given to part-timers/retirees :D :D

25-03-12, 20:45
Great insight. Must be both Singaporean right? Or else loophole again when 1 parent is Singaporean.

25-03-12, 20:49
Correction to my previous post. Your understanding is correct. I hope there are no loopholes though. Its about time Singaporeans are treated better than PRs.

extremme
25-03-12, 21:13
Great insight. Must be both Singaporean right? Or else loophole again when 1 parent is Singaporean.
no need as long as 1 parent Is SC, ur child can be SC. the other parent can be PR

extremme
25-03-12, 21:17
So if SC has absolute advantage over PRs and if SC is staying within 1km, then as good as no need to do PV already for any phase? Or am I mistaken?
not true for extremely popular schools u might even need to ballot for those within 1km if there's too many kids, ESP dragon yr babies

it's not easy to qualify for PV too. Heard of several cases where e parents r professionals earning $10k a mth each n get rejected for neighborhood School PV :doh:

25-03-12, 21:18
Correction to my previous post. Your understanding is correct. I hope there are no loopholes though. Its about time Singaporeans are treated better than PRs.
U and teddybear always sing diff tune....

Wakakkaak

25-03-12, 21:19
In my company, all the expats send their children to international schools.

There are different type of PRs

Ang Moh/NRI high-earners => International School

The only PRs going local schools are PRC, Malaysians and Koreans. Koreans from my observation are not particular abour branded school. They just treat SG as stepping stone to learn English and go US/UK for high school. So no need go branded schools since they dun intend to stay SG for entire education. So only PRC PRs and Malaysian PRs are affected.

extremme
25-03-12, 21:24
especially PRC prs whose kids are extremely smart n parents extremely KS!

25-03-12, 21:35
These are foreigners and they are not PR!:tongue3:

In my company, all the expats send their children to international schools.

There are different type of PRs

Ang Moh/NRI high-earners => International School

The only PRs going local schools are PRC, Malaysians and Koreans. Koreans from my observation are not particular abour branded school. They just treat SG as stepping stone to learn English and go US/UK for high school. So no need go branded schools since they dun intend to stay SG for entire education. So only PRC PRs and Malaysian PRs are affected.

25-03-12, 21:40
PV is only PV phase.

SC has absolute advantage over PRs only in each phase. So unless there is strict implementation by schools that singaporeans have priority over foreigners when applying to be PV, PRs still have a chance to "jump queue".

25-03-12, 21:47
It is up to the schools to choose PVs. If the school values the diversity of students, then they may let more PR than SC to do the PV and also ensure the total PVs population is within 2B quota. then, PR got chance. If not, totally no chance.

PV is only PV phase.

SC has absolute advantage over PRs only in each phase. So unless there is strict implementation by schools that singaporeans have priority over foreigners when applying to be PV, PRs still have a chance to "jump queue".

25-03-12, 21:50
It's e teachers, facilities n competition with smart students tt make a good sch good. MOE shd focus on inc first 2 qualities in more schs n not remove competition in e best schs. I believe in students learning from e best competitors.

25-03-12, 21:52
For goodness sake. There are many expatriates holding PR residency.

These are foreigners and they are not PR!:tongue3:

25-03-12, 21:59
You must be kidding! You thought so easy for Expatriates to convert to SC now! Wake up! I know many real cases nowadays. People who has PHD and working here for 4 years and also those so-called scholars under SG government scholarship were rejected for PR application. You need to stay and work for at least certain years in Singapore in order to get one nowadays. Also, expatriates foreigners were never ever want to get PR because they will lose all the expat terms if they are PR. If no expat term, you thought they can send their kids to international school.:tongue3:

For goodness sake. There are many expatriates holding PR residency.

25-03-12, 22:13
Wah lau. Just because you don't know of any rich NRI or ang moh who are PRs and still earning lots of money doesn't mean they don't exist lah!

And since when I talk about converting to SC? I only said only PRs affected PRC and Malaysian and who cares? Why u so worried for them? Isn't it good news for SC?

You must be kidding! You thought so easy for Expatriates to convert to SC now! Wake up! I know many real cases nowadays. People who has PHD and working here for 4 years and also those so-called scholars under SG government scholarship were rejected for PR application. You need to stay and work for at least certain years in Singapore in order to get one nowadays. Also, expatriates foreigners were never ever want to get PR because they will lose all the expat terms if they are PR. If no expat term, you thought they can send their kids to international school.:tongue3:

25-03-12, 22:15
Wah lau. Just because you don't know of any rich NRI or ang moh who are PRs and still earning lots of money doesn't mean they don't exist lah!

And since when I talk about converting to SC? I only said only PRs affected PRC and Malaysian and who cares? Why u so worried for them? Isn't it good news for SC?

It cuts both ways. Now PRs' children will turn to less branded schools and add competitions to SCs' children there. The schools might have problems coping with students with a large gap in learning abilities.

FH99
25-03-12, 22:21
Any of the forumers from "branded" primary school? Does it really make a difference?

25-03-12, 22:21
That is under the assumption that PRs are always smarter than Singaporean lor. I think the impact on property prices is not significant. Maybe marginal downside on the property near popular primary schools.

Anyway, people usually judge people by the secondary school and JC and not primary school. Dunno why SG parents why so KS.

It cuts both ways. Now PRs' children will turn to less branded schools and add competitions to SCs' children there. The schools might have problems coping with students with a large gap in learning abilities.

25-03-12, 22:25
You have a very short view and only think about your own interest for short term. I worried for Singapore economy because it is build on many PRs professionals. Even KBW used to be Malaysian and some many old ministers. The truth is those you mentioned are very small number. Most of the expats will lose their expatriate term if they convert to PRs and they won't want to.

FH99
25-03-12, 22:30
People judge you by which university you come ... or maybe masters for the next generation.
I just couldn't stop laughing at a CV who puts his JC there. In the end, I hired him - nothing to do with the JC. His track record in previous job and interview performance was what I was looking at.

Ringo
25-03-12, 22:32
Good move by our gzovernment. A sign that this country is matured enough to stop prostituting ourselves to pr and foreigners.

25-03-12, 22:39
Virgin post in this thread!

LKY said your mother and your wife will be a maid in a foreign land if we dont have foreign talents. Where got the good life now in Singapore. Since when you prostitute yourself to PR and foreigner? :doh:

Good move by our gzovernment. A sign that this country is matured enough to stop prostituting ourselves to pr and foreigners.

25-03-12, 22:46
That is under the assumption that PRs are always smarter than Singaporean lor. I think the impact on property prices is not significant. Maybe marginal downside on the property near popular primary schools.

Anyway, people usually judge people by the secondary school and JC and not primary school. Dunno why SG parents why so KS.

By just numbers alone, the probability of smarter PR students ending up in non-branded schools will be higher since they are not very eligible for the better and more popular schools.

25-03-12, 22:54
People judge you by which university you come ... or maybe masters for the next generation.
I just couldn't stop laughing at a CV who puts his JC there. In the end, I hired him - nothing to do with the JC. His track record in previous job and interview performance was what I was looking at.
Pri sch is impt for scholarships wor....

25-03-12, 22:57
Anyway i agree this got vy minimal impact on ppty......

Its more political den anything else

We listened!!

25-03-12, 23:02
Pri sch is impt for scholarships wor....

Montessori got count? :scared-3:

25-03-12, 23:04
Oooo....collateral agenda is to push more PR to take up SC

25-03-12, 23:05

That should bump up NSF headcount.

stiook
25-03-12, 23:05
If I am PR and now renting with the hope of getting within 1km into branded school and also PVing, I will be extremely TL...

Does this policy make sense? Personally, I dont think so...

FH99
25-03-12, 23:08
The best way to encourage PRs to take up SCs (and also to keep SCs to stay at Singapore) is to reduce NS to 1 year.

kasparov
25-03-12, 23:13

Oooo...assimilate like the Borg....
:cheers3:

25-03-12, 23:33
Anyway i agree this got vy minimal impact on ppty......

Its more political den anything else

We listened!!

if there is any impact, wouldn't it have a dampening effect on pty? Bcos the PR segment of the market is now removed from the demand for pty around popular primary schools... :confused:

25-03-12, 23:34
If I am PR and now renting with the hope of getting within 1km into branded school and also PVing, I will be extremely TL...

Does this policy make sense? Personally, I dont think so...

Well I think we(citizen) shouldnt feel like a guest in my own country. If a PR come here to make $$$ and compete for our limited resources yet receive same benefits as citizen, then the policy would be silly.

If I m a Singapore citizen n my kid can't attend a Singapore primary school next to my house because the spot is taken by a PR/foreigner, I will be extreme TL. Does the policy make sense? Sure it does.

On the same basis ,If pap sell hdb to PR cheaper than SC does it make sense?

25-03-12, 23:35
if there is any impact, wouldn't it have a dampening effect on pty? Bcos the PR segment of the market is now removed from the demand for pty around popular primary schools... :confused:

Well make sense ;)

Some say more PR will take up SC and buy up the landed there instead.....

25-03-12, 23:36

Well it depends if there r more rich SC or more kiasu PRs then

25-03-12, 23:38
so again, this policy hits CCR more than OCR since the whole stretch of bukit timah is all branded pri sch?

25-03-12, 23:42
so again, this policy hits CCR more than OCR since the whole stretch of bukit timah is all branded pri sch?
Tats y teddybear so worked up again?

stiook
25-03-12, 23:51
Well I think we(citizen) shouldnt feel like a guest in my own country. If a PR come here to make $$$ and compete for our limited resources yet receive same benefits as citizen, then the policy would be silly.

If I m a Singapore citizen n my kid can't attend a Singapore primary school next to my house because the spot is taken by a PR/foreigner, I will be extreme TL. Does the policy make sense? Sure it does.

The reason I said so is because the problem with P1 registration is not really due to PR issue. I will also TL if my kid cannot go to the school next to my house in Jurong but a kid who stay in Changi got in because his father studied there.

Didnt intend to turn this into a P1 registration policy debate. :cool:

26-03-12, 00:05
The reason I said so is because the problem with P1 registration is not really due to PR issue. I will also TL if my kid cannot go to the school next to my house in Jurong but a kid who stay in Changi got in because his father studied there.

I understand , I too agree higer priority shld be given to within 1km to maximize resources.

But the system is such, it's gives credit to heritage. So we must make sure we do it right in our generation, so our children n their children can say heng ha, grandpa studied there last time.

26-03-12, 00:07
They should abolish PVs (a scheme to milk free labours) & base solely on distance. Why make kids travel 2-3 hours a day to go to school & back & deprive those who live within 2km of school from going to their nearest school? :doh:

26-03-12, 00:23
They should abolish PVs (a scheme to milk free labours) & base solely on distance. Why make kids travel 2-3 hours a day to go to school & back & deprive those who live within 2km of school from going to their nearest school? :doh:

NononononNo it shld be distance first then left 15% place for PV

26-03-12, 00:31
The best way to encourage PRs to take up SCs (and also to keep SCs to stay at Singapore) is to reduce NS to 1 year.

PRs' offsprings already have to do NS doesn't matter 1 or 2 years. I would dare say reducing NS to even 6 months won't have a big impact on citizenship numbers.

The thing that will have a major impact is dual citizenship. How many British/Australians or Americans are willing give up their birth rights?

26-03-12, 01:27
PRs' offsprings already have to do NS doesn't matter 1 or 2 years. I would dare say reducing NS to even 6 months won't have a big impact on citizenship numbers.

The thing that will have a major impact is dual citizenship. How many British/Australians or Americans are willing give up their birth rights?

Ask Jim Rogers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Rogers

extremme
26-03-12, 01:36
I understand , I too agree higer priority shld be given to within 1km to maximize resources.

But the system is such, it's gives credit to heritage. So we must make sure we do it right in our generation, so our children n their children can say heng ha, grandpa studied there last time.
I think heritage counts. Can you imagine if they go strictly by distance and any Tom dick n Harry (no pun intended) can go to nanyang primary instead of Harry or LHL kids who used to study there? LKY always felt genes mattered. So instead of smart Alecs n their smart Alec kids entering e schools which will still give e school e academic excellence it is looking for, now ah beng ah seng kids can enter. This might bring down the school academic standard n reputation.

It is a vicious cycle . The kids who want to enter branded schools are already very well nurtured by KS parents lotsa enrichment . And these kids by virtue of all their extra lessons will do better in school, bringing up school standard n reputation .

If go solely by distance, ppty prices will likely shoot up for those near branded schools.

26-03-12, 02:05
I think heritage counts. Can you imagine if they go strictly by distance and any Tom dick n Harry (no pun intended) can go to nanyang primary instead of Harry or LHL kids who used to study there? LKY always felt genes mattered. So instead of smart Alecs n their smart Alec kids entering e schools which will still give e school e academic excellence it is looking for, now ah beng ah seng kids can enter. This might bring down the school academic standard n reputation.

It is a vicious cycle . The kids who want to enter branded schools are already very well nurtured by KS parents lotsa enrichment . And these kids by virtue of all their extra lessons will do better in school, bringing up school standard n reputation .

If go solely by distance, ppty prices will likely shoot up for those near branded schools.

When Ah Beng and Ah Seng kids don't make the grade, the primary school will post them to another school.

In 2006 I was doing some school hunting for my son after his June Pri. 6 exam. They call it the DSA.

First I sent my son to the entrance test for the NUS high. They open 3 school for all student in Pri. 6 who think they are good enough to go to NUS High to take the test. There are about 500 students in each center total about 1500 students taking the test.

After the test 400 students will be selected for the 3 days Math and Science camp in NUS High and than 180 will be selected for the DSA. NUS High intake per year is 200 students, 180 from DSA and 20 from PSLE result.

During the Open House, I was shock to overheard some of the parents talking about how they prepare their kids for PSLE. One of the parent was saying if your kid is in Pri.6 he should have finish his Pri. 6 subject before the start of the term in Jan. They prepare their kids one year in advance for the PSLE.:scared-1:

http://www.highsch.nus.edu.sg/

Moral of the story, if you are not prepare to prepare your kids one year in advance don't waste time looking for Branded Pri school.

PS If parents don't even know what school is NUS High School :scared-1: don't waste time going to the Branded school.

26-03-12, 06:31
PV is only PV phase.

SC has absolute advantage over PRs only in each phase. So unless there is strict implementation by schools that singaporeans have priority over foreigners when applying to be PV, PRs still have a chance to "jump queue".So the 'jump queue' example is realistic lah... if going just phase, PRs doing PVs will be in the earlier phase than SC not doing PVs lah... of will MOE take in SCs according to phases before going to PRs according to phases? :rolleyes:

26-03-12, 06:36
NononononNo it shld be distance first then left 15% place for PVR u saying that no PV phase anymore? So every schools will have 85% vacancies for SCs followed by 15% vacancies for PRs? Don't think so leh! :rolleyes:

26-03-12, 06:38
When Ah Beng and Ah Seng kids don't make the grade, the primary school will post them to another school.

In 2006 I was doing some school hunting for my son after his June Pri. 6 exam. They call it the DSA.

First I sent my son to the entrance test for the NUS high. They open 3 school for all student in Pri. 6 who think they are good enough to go to NUS High to take the test. There are about 500 students in each center total about 1500 students taking the test.

After the test 400 students will be selected for the 3 days Math and Science camp in NUS High and than 180 will be selected for the DSA. NUS High intake per year is 200 students, 180 from DSA and 20 from PSLE result.

During the Open House, I was shock to overheard some of the parents talking about how they prepare their kids for PSLE. One of the parent was saying if your kid is in Pri.6 he should have finish his Pri. 6 subject before the start of the term in Jan. They prepare their kids one year in advance for the PSLE.:scared-1:

Moral of the story, if you are not prepare to prepare your kids one year in advance don't waste time looking for Branded Pri school.

PS If parents don't even know what school is NUS High School :scared-1: don't waste time going to the Branded school.Preparing the kid one year in advance??? I wouldn't bother coz that kid will feel so bored in class everyday learning things he/she already knew.

If parents don't know NUSH, maybe can try Sports School or SOTA... Lol! :cheers4:

26-03-12, 06:44
I wonder how many "discretionary" places the principals in the schools can offer. I remember more than 10+ years ago, one parent I know attended a briefing by Nanyany Pri principal. She blantantly said you need to pay XXXX amount of money to secure a place. I remember I was quite surprised (?shocked) at the time to hear it. And another parent I know told me it cost XXXX amount for a kid to get into another branded sch. That was when I was pondering whether to register my own kid for that branded sch or not. My kid almost guaranteed a place due to parent alumnus but I was considering to register him in another (nearby) sch at the time.

So I wonder if paying $$$ for a place in a branded sch is still going on and why is it not against the rules and regulations of MOE that such things can be allowed to happen?

felicia_sg
26-03-12, 07:45
Can't pay money or donation directly! But u can organize this n that to sell your ideas to the principals as PV. :p this is up to the school lah.

I wonder how many "discretionary" places the principals in the schools can offer. I remember more than 10+ years ago, one parent I know attended a briefing by Nanyany Pri principal. She blantantly said you need to pay XXXX amount of money to secure a place. I remember I was quite surprised (?shocked) at the time to hear it. And another parent I know told me it cost XXXX amount for a kid to get into another branded sch. That was when I was pondering whether to register my own kid for that branded sch or not. My kid almost guaranteed a place due to parent alumnus but I was considering to register him in another (nearby) sch at the time.

So I wonder if paying $$$ for a place in a branded sch is still going on and why is it not against the rules and regulations of MOE that such things can be allowed to happen?

26-03-12, 07:46

So I wonder if paying $$$ for a place in a branded sch is still going on and why is it not against the rules and regulations of MOE that such things can be allowed to happen?In the name of donations, there is nothing MOE can do about it... there are several schools which have the traditions of having v rich parents so monetary contribution is a norm for such schools. How to argue like that? :doh:

26-03-12, 08:32

PS If parents don't even know what school is NUS High School :scared-1: don't waste time going to the Branded school.

Some students in NUS High oredi doing first and second year university syllabus. The record is one NUS High graduate got accepted DIRECTLY into MIT 3rd year course.

26-03-12, 08:42
Some students in NUS High oredi doing first and second year university syllabus. The record is one NUS High graduate got accepted DIRECTLY into MIT 3rd year course.

Wah so fierce. Want to start work so early and lose those carefree days of being a student?

26-03-12, 08:45

Most likely is via connection of the school's management and MIT.

26-03-12, 08:49
Most likely is via connection of the school's management and MIT.

Heard he/she took MIT exams whilst still a student of NUS High and attained sufficient credits to be admitted directly into 3rd year.

26-03-12, 08:53
yah, but it depends on how the schs accept PV. if they accept enough singaporeans (including those staying > 2km) until the quota is filled before accepting PRs then PRs have zero chance at both PV phase and phase 2C (non PV phase).

So the 'jump queue' example is realistic lah... if going just phase, PRs doing PVs will be in the earlier phase than SC not doing PVs lah... of will MOE take in SCs according to phases before going to PRs according to phases? :rolleyes:

26-03-12, 08:57
Heard he/she took MIT exams whilst still a student of NUS High and attained sufficient credits to be admitted directly into 3rd year.

How did the student even get to see the MIT exam papers in the 1st place? You cant even do that at NUS or NTU. There must be some facilitation between the school management (I bet there was also MOE's support) and MIT. There are *extremely* bright students in the top JCs also, but this has never been done for them.

alamak
26-03-12, 09:01

Ha.. My ex-GEP RGPS daughter is in 2nd year NUSH. A very good and competitive school for academic brilliance and for those truly with passion in Maths & Sciences too. Having said that NUSH also have high emphasis on Humanities and Language too since there are affiliated to our NUS.

Any way, my point is - it is the child and not the branded Primary school that make any difference. A brilliant child with the right attitude to learning WILL DO WELL in any LOCAl Primary school. Branded school don't make your child "branded" or "smarter" . BTW, my daughter was from a local neighbourhood Schools, CHIJ Toa Payoh before she was posted to RGPS for her GEP programme in P4. My child does not receive any tuition or enrichment programme for her primary school. Only thing she had was Music and Piano which is her passion ( without me forcing her to learn).

Parents, my advise is Nurturing & stimulating the brilliant mind is part n parcel in every school not just branded school. It is how prepare and receptive the child is to these external stimulus. The child with a positive and willing mindset inculcate in them when they are young can absorb and learn much more than you can ever imagine. Some of my daughter classmates have already master A level Physics and Mathematics. :cool:

Ringo
26-03-12, 09:07

Singaporeans seems to enjoy treating wealthy pr and foreigners like kings and queens because they are not proud to be SC.

26-03-12, 09:07
Ha.. My ex-GEP RGPS daughter is in 2nd year NUSH. A very good and competitive school for academic brilliance and for those truly with passion in Maths & Sciences too. Having said that NUSH also have high emphasis on Humanities and Language too since there are affiliated to our NUS.

Any way, my point is - it is the child and not the branded Primary school that make any difference. A brilliant child with the right attitude to learning WILL DO WELL in any LOCAl Primary school. Branded school don't make your child "branded" or "smarter" . BTW, my daughter was from a local neighbourhood Schools, CHIJ Toa Payoh before she was posted to RGPS for her GEP programme in P4. My child does not receive any tuition or enrichment programme for her primary school. Only thing she had was Music and Piano which is her passion ( without me forcing her to learn).

Parents, my advise is Nurturing & stimulating the brilliant mind is part n parcel in every school not just branded school. It is how prepare and receptive the child is to these external stimulus. The child with a positive and willing mindset inculcate in them when they are young can absorb and learn much more than you can ever imagine. Some of my daughter classmates have already master A level Physics and Mathematics. :cool:

So smart. Next time I might be retrenched and replaced by these brilliant kids. When that happens, do visit my durian stall that I will set up at Geylang Lorong xx.

Ringo
26-03-12, 09:11

How can you tell if a k2 kid is a tom dick or harry? By their family wealth?

26-03-12, 09:14
Some of my daughter classmates have already master A level Physics and Mathematics. :cool:

Some of the top PSLE students in recent years oredi passed and got distinction for the A level Maths even before they took the PSLE.

extremme
26-03-12, 09:16
How can you tell if a k2 kid is a tom dick or harry? By their family wealth?

haha, people like you and me?

26-03-12, 09:17
Some of the top PSLE students in recent years oredi passed and got distinction for the A level Maths even before they took the PSLE.

So smart. But hor why Singapore got no Nobel Prize winners?

extremme
26-03-12, 09:17
In the name of donations, there is nothing MOE can do about it... there are several schools which have the traditions of having v rich parents so monetary contribution is a norm for such schools. How to argue like that? :doh:
i think now even if you want to "donate" something to the school to secure a place, you'll be rejected. Perhaps 10 over years ago , yes. But now the schools themselves are so rich! with all the rich parents contributing to donation drives etc, they don't need your donation anymore. And if you think you can donate $X amount, there's always someone else richer who can donate $X + X and $X+X+X amt.

26-03-12, 09:20

definitely going on, a foreigner i know just placed his kid into a top branded primary and on extremely short notice too. :beats-me-man:

extremme
26-03-12, 09:23
definitely going on, a foreigner i know just placed his kid into a top branded primary and on extremely short notice too. :beats-me-man: maybe the foreigner is as well known as Jim rogers? His daughter is in Nanyang. Im sure he can easily get his kids into any schools by virtue of his reputation. He has the right reputation for the schools, being an economic guru, smart etc, not like some TCS artistes trying so hard to get their kids in too.

Or he must be filthy rich.

26-03-12, 09:23
definitely going on, a foreigner i know just placed his kid into a top branded primary and on extremely short notice too. :beats-me-man:

有钱能使鬼推磨...

26-03-12, 09:24

Not yet or our research environment too lousy or bureaucratic. Toking about smart kids. I heard of a 3 year old boy doing fractions at his age. Another 6 year old boy oredi reading the unabridged version of Charles Dickens Great Expectations. But then hor, smart doesn't mean guaranteed success later on in life.

extremme
26-03-12, 09:26
Not yet or our research environment too lousy or bureaucratic. Toking about smart kids. I heard of a 3 year old boy doing fractions at his age. Another 6 year old boy oredi reading the unabridged version of Charles Dickens Great Expectations. But then hor, smart doesn't mean guaranteed success later on in life.

Yes, totally agree. Sometimes smart pple have absolutely no EQ and are not street smart at all. They are only smart academically.

26-03-12, 09:29

more than 20 years ago, parents alr prepared their children at least one year before hand especially those wanted to get into the gifted.

alamak
26-03-12, 09:31

I think the S'porean Nobel prize winner (if any ) will not be based here. More likely he/she would have a different Citizenship oredi.

26-03-12, 09:32
SINGAPOREAN FIRST!!!

big big headline....:D

26-03-12, 09:33
If u look at Ivy and top universities in the US, u will notice the % of international students is less than 15%. They have given priorty to their locals.

The govt shall not just look at P1, but other levels as well. There are many cannot get into local u but managed to get into top U in Australia.

There are many PRC still finding good ways to get into schools here.

alamak
26-03-12, 09:36
more than 20 years ago, parents alr prepared their children at least one year before hand especially those wanted to get into the gifted.

Most kids at P3 (age of 9) who are GEP-prep in some tuition agency may get thru through round one of screening test (top 10%) but most will be filtered out by final selection test which is only 1% (500) out of yearly cohort of est 50,000.

26-03-12, 09:42
remember last year, zoe tay did PV but didn't get into NYP?

big headline...

they forgot to abolished the old boys and girls scheme....

26-03-12, 09:45
If u look at Ivy and top universities in the US, u will notice the % of international students is less than 15%. They have given priorty to their locals.

The govt shall not just look at P1, but other levels as well. There are many cannot get into local u but managed to get into top U in Australia.

There are many PRC still finding good ways to get into schools here.
rewind back to GE discussion

i still feel sick after knowing our govt go and chase after top china students and dangle carrots....zzzzzzzzzz

26-03-12, 09:49

smarter u are the more pervert one might become (too stress). look at those scholars that commit crime. scholar in childporn scandal n recent high flyer principal in prostitution......phew!!!

26-03-12, 09:53
smarter u are the more pervert one might become (too stress). look at those scholars that commit crime. scholar in childporn scandal n recent high flyer principal in prostitution......phew!!!
cannot say like dat la

alot more ah beng ah seng find prost wat.....wakakakaka

i can only say they r not smart enuff....y kena caught? LOL

26-03-12, 09:57
rewind back to GE discussion

i still feel sick after knowing our govt go and chase after top china students and dangle carrots....zzzzzzzzzz

i heard govt rational is to build good relationship with them and not really want to get them to become citizen. having said that i heard when the school leader went to china to recruit scholar, those student really very desperate to get selected. some are from poor family and is quite sad that some student are too poor to even get proper education.

26-03-12, 10:01

good post.

but important thing is you or your wife are good at taking good care of your child needs & emotion after-school too..

;)

26-03-12, 10:02

Unless you are super talented or your parents have given you a head-start in life (e.g. $700k to invest in properties), you need to cultivate 关系 to go far in life.

26-03-12, 10:05
i think now even if you want to "donate" something to the school to secure a place, you'll be rejected. Perhaps 10 over years ago , yes. But now the schools themselves are so rich! with all the rich parents contributing to donation drives etc, they don't need your donation anymore. And if you think you can donate $X amount, there's always someone else richer who can donate $X + X and $X+X+X amt.I heard (only hear ah... don't flame me) of a certain Mr Lim (you know who???) who donated $1mil to a certain institution, just coz his daughter is studying in that school (not to get the child in). Will the school accept that donation? Of course lah... not $10k but $1000k. Can even set up a scholarship bursary or the like... :rolleyes:

26-03-12, 10:06
i heard govt rational is to build good relationship with them and not really want to get them to become citizen. having said that i heard when the school leader went to china to recruit scholar, those student really very desperate to get selected. some are from poor family and is quite sad that some student are too poor to even get proper education.

Yes, I think this is part of our foreign affair's mission to cultivate good relations with China and neighbouring countries. It is hoped that some of these bright chaps go back to their own countries and secure high positions in the government. It might open doors for Singapore in future.

26-03-12, 10:08
yah, but it depends on how the schs accept PV. if they accept enough singaporeans (including those staying > 2km) until the quota is filled before accepting PRs then PRs have zero chance at both PV phase and phase 2C (non PV phase).So SC who don't qualify for phase 1/2A and work hard for the PV phase may also not guarantee a place in that school lah... wah... kiasuparent.com here man... how many schools actually get filled up before PV phase (I assume its Phase 2B)? I thought it is mandatory that every schools must have a certain number of vacancies in every phase??? :confused:

26-03-12, 10:10
Yes, I think this is part of our foreign affair's mission to cultivate good relations with China and neighbouring countries. It is hoped that some of these bright chaps go back to their own countries and secure high positions in the government. It might open doors for Singapore in future.

got 101 reasons....but den backfire in last GE tats y now trying to.....and wat will all these new initiatives leads to? any collateral damage? as stated by teddy?

26-03-12, 10:21
got 101 reasons....but den backfire in last GE tats y now trying to.....and wat will all these new initiatives leads to? any collateral damage? as stated by teddy?

These scholarships were already in place many years ago, and during my time, we just accepted that different types of scholarships are given out on competitive basis so if you are smart you just try your best to get it.

Many companies are holding back their investments in Singapore due to costs. Now we have this additional barrier of PRs securing good school placements. School topics are close the parents' (investors') hearts, so definitely there is going to be some negative impact in attracting investments.

Note the "coincidence" of government announcing more land for foreign schools a few days before this announcement. This is how government works. There should be more policy changes favoring SC in the pipeline.

26-03-12, 10:22
These scholarships were already in place many years ago, and during my time, we just accepted that different types of scholarships are given out on competitive basis so if you are smart you just try your best to get it.

Many companies are holding back their investments in Singapore due to costs. Now we have this additional barrier of PRs securing good school placements. School topics are close the parents' (investors') hearts, so definitely there is going to be some negative impact in attracting investments.

Note the "coincidence" of government announcing more land for foreign schools a few days before this announcement. This is how government works. There should be more policy changes favoring SC in the pipeline.Certainly hope you are right on the more policies favouring SCs.. :)

26-03-12, 10:27
Note the "coincidence" of government announcing more land for foreign schools a few days before this announcement. This is how government works. There should be more policy changes favoring SC in the pipeline.
excellent point ;)

26-03-12, 10:33
1. Heritage - alumni should always come first
2. Distance - Within 5km, all goes into ballot.

Cannot be based solely on distance. Or else people will "buy" their way in indirectly through buying a house within 1km. I give more credit to PVs. At least they put in some effort other than those who throw money to rent house or rent mailbox within 1km. In fact its worse than donating to the school - the school benefits from the donation.

26-03-12, 10:39

Cannot be based solely on distance. Or else people will "buy" their way in indirectly through buying a house within 1km. I give more credit to PVs. At least they put in some effort other than those who throw money to rent house or rent mailbox within 1km. In fact its worse than donating to the school - the school benefits from the donation.While the distance to school priority disadvantaged those who are poorer, the advantage given for PV also discounts single parents who have to work hard for the family or for those who needs both parents to work hard and have no time for PV, or mother who have to look after aged parents at home (healthcare providers or the likes) etc... there is never a completely satisfactory policy lah... anyway, at least this is hopefully a start of more good things for SC in the years ahead. :cheers5:

26-03-12, 10:45
It's very interesting. There is a poll on kiasuparent.com asking how many will fake an address they are NOT staying in to get into a school. The majority says YES.

Or they own 2 properties, eg. buy an MM near the school, NOT staying in the one near the school but fake it in their IC., rent out the one near the school, just to get in.

Every rule - there will winners and losers. Can't satisfy everyone. AND I know of students who go to branded primary school like NYPS and still end up in a neighbourhood secondary school. Its the SECONDARY SCHOOL that morph the character. And I know of lots of people in RI who come from neighbourhood primary schools.

While the distance to school priority disadvantaged those who are poorer, the advantage given for PV also discounts single parents who have to work hard for the family or for those who needs both parents to work hard and have no time for PV, or mother who have to look after aged parents at home (healthcare providers or the likes) etc... there is never a completely satisfactory policy lah... anyway, at least this is hopefully a start of more good things for SC in the years ahead. :cheers5:

extremme
26-03-12, 10:59

Cannot be based solely on distance. Or else people will "buy" their way in indirectly through buying a house within 1km. I give more credit to PVs. At least they put in some effort other than those who throw money to rent house or rent mailbox within 1km. In fact its worse than donating to the school - the school benefits from the donation.

what about those MPs, grassroots who are in phrase 2A1? I seriously don't know why must give priority to these people

26-03-12, 11:00
It's very interesting. There is a poll on kiasuparent.com asking how many will fake an address they are NOT staying in to get into a school. The majority says YES.

Or they own 2 properties, eg. buy an MM near the school, NOT staying in the one near the school but fake it in their IC., rent out the one near the school, just to get in.

Every rule - there will winners and losers. Can't satisfy everyone. AND I know of students who go to branded primary school like NYPS and still end up in a neighbourhood secondary school. Its the SECONDARY SCHOOL that morph the character. And I know of lots of people in RI who come from neighbourhood primary schools.

No wonder Treescape in TK and many other MMs there can sell so well. <1km to tao nan. 500k capital u get good rental yield + able to send ur children to good schools. worthwhile investment? :beats-me-man:

26-03-12, 11:19
No wonder Treescape in TK and many other MMs there can sell so well. <1km to tao nan. 500k capital u get good rental yield + able to send ur children to good schools. worthwhile investment? :beats-me-man:
once u use tat address to enrol into the sch, can still rent it out meh? or dun get caught policy or after 1-2yrs can rent it out liao and MOE dun check?

26-03-12, 11:21
once u use tat address to enrol into the sch, can still rent it out meh? or dun get caught policy or after 1-2yrs can rent it out liao and MOE dun check?
:beats-me-man: didnt think of that. haha but i'm sure ppl got ways going around this?

26-03-12, 11:26

For registration using address of yet-to-be completed property

An original Sales and Purchase document is required if the address of a yet-to-be completed property is used for registration. A copy of this document is to be retained by the school. Parents using the yet-to-be completed property address for registering their child in a school of choice must move into the new property within two years of the child's entry into Primary One.

26-03-12, 11:33

An original Sales and Purchase document is required if the address of a yet-to-be completed property is used for registration. A copy of this document is to be retained by the school. Parents using the yet-to-be completed property address for registering their child in a school of choice must move into the new property within two years of the child's entry into Primary One.

know someone go n rent bukit timah at 4k mthly just to secure a slim chance to get into NYP. the chance is as good as zero but he still want to try. this is the mindset of parent now. go all out to secure place. govt shld ban rental address as registeration

26-03-12, 11:33

Move in within 2 years, wat about moving out? a day of MOP l:rolleyes:

26-03-12, 11:36
Move in within 2 years, wat about moving out? a day of MOP l:rolleyes:

Not stated means can right? But quite leh chay to shift house here and there.

26-03-12, 11:36
:beats-me-man: didnt think of that. haha but i'm sure ppl got ways going around this?I understand that primary school administrators won't have time to check on the home addresses of all P1 kids. What they do is they randomly select some kids and call them. Even that can't be that certain unless they go to the child's home physically. There is really nothing to be done to police this dishonest practice unless funds are pumped in to employ people just to do home visits as a full time job? No reasons/incentives for MOE to do that though. :beats-me-man:

26-03-12, 11:39
I understand that primary school administrators won't have time to check on the home addresses of all P1 kids. What they do is they randomly select some kids and call them. Even that can't be that certain unless they go to the child's home physically. There is really nothing to be done to police this dishonest practice unless funds are pumped in to employ people just to do home visits as a full time job? No reasons/incentives for MOE to do that though. :beats-me-man:

Use PVs to check lah. Sure effective one.

26-03-12, 11:40
I understand that primary school administrators won't have time to check on the home addresses of all P1 kids. What they do is they randomly select some kids and call them. Even that can't be that certain unless they go to the child's home physically. There is really nothing to be done to police this dishonest practice unless funds are pumped in to employ people just to do home visits as a full time job? No reasons/incentives for MOE to do that though. :beats-me-man:

It wont be implemented. Politically nearly impossible to evict a student out like that.

26-03-12, 11:45

An original Sales and Purchase document is required if the address of a yet-to-be completed property is used for registration. A copy of this document is to be retained by the school. Parents using the yet-to-be completed property address for registering their child in a school of choice must move into the new property within two years of the child's entry into Primary One.Like that I move in for 2 months while waiting for rental then move out when tenants move in? Just shift min logistics to last that 2 months? Can or not? ;) The system is so grey with so many loopholes... :doh:

26-03-12, 11:47
Like that I move in for 2 months while waiting for rental then move out when tenants move in? Just shift min logistics to last that 2 months? Can or not? ;) The system is so grey with so many loopholes... :doh:

Honestly dont think the schs or MOE will conduct checks leh? but then again im just pure guessing. far from being a parent myself.

26-03-12, 11:48
Use PVs to check lah. Sure effective one.Since the number of PVs which schools will accept is limited to the number of vacancies available and the PV hours are restricted for each child, schools will usually deploy these parents to do stuff which are more urgent like do traffic marshaling or take kids out during excursions, etc. No incentive for schools to get PV to police the home address... not their problem anyway... :rolleyes:

26-03-12, 11:56
i believe hor,....once u use tat address to enrol ur kid ....u cannot rent out tat ppty liao during ur kid's schooling term.....unless u dun stamp ur TA

of coz i believe the chances of getting caught for not staying physically there is very slim la....perhaps buy a MM and left it vacant lor....

wow one more plus pt for MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

extremme
26-03-12, 11:57
Use PVs to check lah. Sure effective one.

lol, good one! the PV will sure be very on! Weed out their competition!! hahahaha

26-03-12, 12:08
It wont be implemented. Politically nearly impossible to evict a student out like that.

Don't anyhow pray-pray leh. There have been cases of students being evicted for that. You don't want to be in that sad situation. It's bad for the kid as well. Lower their morale to be evicted.

It's a good idea to send PV to do the checks on home addresses actually. :D

The parents need to change their IC address to match the address on the registration form. I think it would not be difficult for the authorities to get the records of parents who change their IC within a year or two of registration and do more detailed checks on them if they so wished to do so. From time to time they may do it and send out an example to others by publicly evicting these students whose parents were caught. Really....it is a risk.

wannabe
26-03-12, 12:11

You can do anything you want, just don't get caught.

26-03-12, 12:19
Don't anyhow pray-pray leh. There have been cases of students being evicted for that. You don't want to be in that sad situation. It's bad for the kid as well. Lower their morale to be evicted.

It's a good idea to send PV to do the checks on home addresses actually. :D

The parents need to change their IC address to match the address on the registration form. I think it would not be difficult for the authorities to get the records of parents who change their IC within a year or two of registration and do more detailed checks on them if they so wished to do so. From time to time they may do it and send out an example to others by publicly evicting these students whose parents were caught. Really....it is a risk.

It must have been done extremely quietly as I dont know of such cases. Just have to justify why there is a change in address right? Like those who justify to IRAS why they need to buy and sell properties every 1 or 2 years.

26-03-12, 12:25
It must have been done extremely quietly as I dont know of such cases. Just have to justify why there is a change in address right? Like those who justify to IRAS why they need to buy and sell properties every 1 or 2 years.

I think it was done quietly in the past not to make it widely known of such abuse. But if it becomes common-place due to the new rules of proximity being of prime importance.....the authorities may decide to clamp down on such abuse of the proximity rules. You never know. Just don't be the one to get caught, that's all I can say. Leave the unit vacant and say you moved in with your parents as you needed someone to take care of the kid after school. Or something along those lines. Don't immediately rent out the unit. It is not advisable to rent out the unit until the kid has been in the school at least a year.

26-03-12, 12:42
I think it was done quietly in the past not to make it widely known of such abuse. But if it becomes common-place due to the new rules of proximity being of prime importance.....the authorities may decide to clamp down on such abuse of the proximity rules. You never know. Just don't be the one to get caught, that's all I can say. Leave the unit vacant and say you moved in with your parents as you needed someone to take care of the kid after school. Or something along those lines. Don't immediately rent out the unit. It is not advisable to rent out the unit until the kid has been in the school at least a year.

If it is MM, the lost of rental income for 2 years would be $2.5k x 12 x 2 = $60k. It might be easier to make out-right donation to secure the placement if this is possible.

26-03-12, 12:59
I strongly believe this new policy is nothing but a political move, to show Singaporeans about the "new PAP".

The affected number of PRs in P1 registration is very small. I even think the competition for balloting will get worse, because many Singaporean parents will think now they have higher chances, and will all flock to <1km of branded schools.

And after this year, the focus will be on PV and Alumni. Because very likely, for this year, when PR is out of the picture, the balloting situation still does not change. :cool: (at least now ppl will not blame PR for this)

From a political point of view, PAP scores this time.

26-03-12, 13:09
I strongly believe this new policy is nothing but a political move, to show Singaporeans about the "new PAP".

The affected number of PRs in P1 registration is very small. I even think the competition for balloting will get worse, because many Singaporean parents will think now they have higher chances, and will all flock to <1km of branded schools.

And after this year, the focus will be on PV and Alumni. Because very likely, for this year, when PR is out of the picture, the balloting situation still does not change. :cool: (at least now ppl will not blame PR for this)

From a political point of view, PAP scores this time.You are sharp on this front. Notice that nothing else changes except SC vs PR. If PV scheme or alumni scheme is changed, it'll surely incur loads of complaints and MIW will not score... then PM will summon Mr Heng into his office for coffee. Apparently nothing like this has happened, well at least not yet... :cheers5: MIW scored indeed! :)

26-03-12, 13:10
If it is MM, the lost of rental income for 2 years would be $2.5k x 12 x 2 = $60k. It might be easier to make out-right donation to secure the placement if this is possible.

Yes agreed. It would be less expense and less hassle.

That's why my friend was laughing at me when I said I was considering not sending my son to ACS. Was thinking of sending him to Ai Tong (which would also be 100% chance of success as there was a sibling in the sch at the time). But my friend said "Do you know how much people have to pay to secure a place in this school?"

26-03-12, 13:13
Yes agreed. It would be less expense and less hassle.

That's why my friend was laughing at me when I said I was considering not sending my son to ACS. Was thinking of sending him to Ai Tong (which would also be 100% chance of success as there was a sibling in the sch at the time). But my friend said "Do you know how much people have to pay to secure a place in this school?"Why is your friend laughing at you? Is he/she referring that people have to pay to get into ACS or Ai Tong?

26-03-12, 13:13
You are sharp on this front. Notice that nothing else changes except SC vs PR. If PV scheme or alumni scheme is changed, it'll surely incur loads of complaints and MIW will not score... then PM will summon Mr Heng into his office for coffee. Apparently nothing like this has happened, well at least not yet... :cheers5: MIW scored indeed! :)

I strongly suspect the balloting statistics will not change much even with PRs out of the picture. Then the MIW have proved their point.

26-03-12, 13:16
Why is your friend laughing at you? Is he/she referring that people have to pay to get into ACS or Ai Tong?

He/she was telling me that people have to pay quite a lot to get into ACS. I am not able to confirm or deny this fact though. But this is what my friend told me.

26-03-12, 13:16
I strongly suspect the balloting statistics will not change much even with PRs out of the picture. Then the MIW have proved their point.If the phase system is still in tack, statistics will not change much lah... within a specific phase, SC will get priority over PR. Then when SC are all accounted, PR will fill in the vacancies before proceeding to the next phase. In that sense, if SC cannot fully fill up the available vacancies for that phase, PRs will still have their chances.... when govt says SCs gets absolute priority over PRs, its not really that absolute... still dependent on phases lah... confined by phase still... :doh:

wannabe
26-03-12, 13:26
He/she was telling me that people have to pay quite a lot to get into ACS. I am not able to confirm or deny this fact though. But this is what my friend told me.

Well i was from the secondary and jc, honestly it may not be the best thing to place your son in the primary school.

extremme
26-03-12, 13:28

From a political point of view, PAP scores this time.

Indeed they have made a very shrewd and wise political move this time round...

PV should have a higher chance of being removed rather than alumni. I personally feel PV is unfair to alot of people

26-03-12, 14:18
Indeed they have made a very shrewd and wise political move this time round...

PV should have a higher chance of being removed rather than alumni. I personally feel PV is unfair to alot of peopleTotally agreed...

26-03-12, 14:21
Well i was from the secondary and jc, honestly it may not be the best thing to place your son in the primary school.Agreed... Well I was from the primary and secondary school and decided not to return to the JC but chose another one nearer my house... that probably tells a lot about my affinity for the school... :D but if i have to do PV to enroll my son into another sch, I'll probably just settle for the alumni path... :p

26-03-12, 14:27
neighbourhood school is equally good la. Look at last year result.

Elite school served a different purpose. For elite kids to mingle around, special talent kids (sport or music), more $$ to enhance the school building...

neighbourhood school - be humble, down to earth, train your own ability, not train ur kid in materialism or propertism, no iphone or ipad. Make ur own living...

26-03-12, 14:32
neighbourhood school is equally good la. Look at last year result.

Elite school served a different purpose. For elite kids to mingle around, special talent kids (sport or music), more $$ to enhance the school building...

neighbourhood school - be humble, down to earth, train your own ability, not train ur kid in materialism or propertism, no iphone or ipad. Make ur own living...
Wakaka....somehow quite agree wif u....

We can always impart propertism after school hours....wakakaka

26-03-12, 14:47
Agreed... Well I was from the primary and secondary school and decided not to return to the JC but chose another one nearer my house... that probably tells a lot about my affinity for the school... :D but if i have to do PV to enroll my son into another sch, I'll probably just settle for the alumni path... :p

Agreed. That is the path of least resistance. If yr kid is very bright, he can still change school if selected into GEP after P3. Even if not selected into GEP, you can still apply to other sch for transfer after P3 as there will be places in other sch due to kids transferring out for GEP.

But if yr kid doesn't get into GEP, my advice is to leave him in ACS as you will have the security blanket of the affiliated sch if for some unpredictable reason he falters during PSLE and gets some score that doesn't get him into top sch.

26-03-12, 14:57

PV is also buying the way in mah. Who can volunteer. Can a person living hand to mouth volunteer? only pple with alot of $$$$ and alot of time on hand can go volunteer ma.....

Staying nearby is so that MOST pple can maimise resources. also abit common sense not to send one's kid trade 1-2 hours just to get to school.

Buying a house near to school is common sense to me. Just the same as buying house near to work or near to Mrt, minimize time spend on travelling.

i would agree cannot solely based on distance, but give it more weight. Imagine a normal family stay near to a good school for the longest time ever, but cannot send their kid cos got MANY RICH PV secure places for their kids, and this "neaby household" travel 1 hr to n fro to another school. Also dont make sense right?

26-03-12, 15:02
It just prove tat there r many hard to please ks parents :p

waoahahahaha

26-03-12, 15:05
It just prove tat there r many hard to please ks parents :p

waoahahahaha

Haha then those new primary schools announced today, who will send their children there!?

26-03-12, 15:11
Haha then those new primary schools announced today, who will send their children there!?

Those who can't get into the nearby so-called branded schools. Nan Chiau Primary had the highest balloting ratio in the whole of Singapore last year. Those Sengkang residents now have more sch to fall back on.

26-03-12, 15:14
Those who can't get into the nearby so-called branded schools. Nan Chiau Primary had the highest balloting ratio in the whole of Singapore last year. Those Sengkang residents now have more sch to fall back on.

Wah then these "back up" schools must be quite scary to send ur children there right?

26-03-12, 15:14

u will be surprised that they are many heartlanders who can't be bothered with all these KSism and will send their kid to the new schools.

some also hiam the 'new' smell...

26-03-12, 15:15
u will be surprised that they are many heartlanders who can't be bothered with all these KSism and will send their kid to the new schools.

some also hiam the 'new' smell...

New but child turn pai kia how :tsk-tsk:

26-03-12, 15:17
PV is also buying the way in mah. Who can volunteer. Can a person living hand to mouth volunteer? only pple with alot of $$$$ and alot of time on hand can go volunteer ma.....

Staying nearby is so that MOST pple can maimise resources. also abit common sense not to send one's kid trade 1-2 hours just to get to school.

Buying a house near to school is common sense to me. Just the same as buying house near to work or near to Mrt, minimize time spend on travelling.

i would agree cannot solely based on distance, but give it more weight. Imagine a normal family stay near to a good school for the longest time ever, but cannot send their kid cos got MANY RICH PV secure places for their kids, and this "neaby household" travel 1 hr to n fro to another school. Also dont make sense right?Wait spent $1.5mil to buy a own stay house near the pri school and your child failed to enter... :doh:

26-03-12, 15:20
New but child turn pai kia how :tsk-tsk:
no guarantee one.

vice versa also true. Many ACS relative of mine turn out to be not CEO or director some how...

26-03-12, 15:23
Wakaka....somehow quite agree wif u....

We can always impart propertism after school hours....wakakaka

i think most of us grew up like that la unless u are born silver spoon. To me, if born silver spoon, any school also can la...coz no need to study also can make it

just passing time...

26-03-12, 15:25
i think most of us grew up like that la unless u are born silver spoon. To me, if born silver spoon, any school also can la...coz no need to study also can make it

just passing time...Yup... I know the boss of a MNC with 3 kids. The eldest just flunk her exams and go to do what she likes coz no pressure to do well... she already can retire before even starting work. Work to her will be just passing time... Lol! :)

26-03-12, 15:27
Yup... I know the boss of a MNC with 3 kids. The eldest just flunk her exams and go to do what she likes coz no pressure to do well... she already can retire before even starting work. Work to her will be just passing time... Lol! :)
Haha! too bad i'm not an ASK

26-03-12, 15:28
Wah then these "back up" schools must be quite scary to send ur children there right?

Don't underestimate the "new" schools. MOE have the resources to deploy their top teachers there to teach Singaporeans a lesson that even "new" or "neighbourhood" schools can produce top students. Like I understand what they did at one time to Henry Park Primary - they deployed some of their good teachers to neighbourhood schools - and this "top" school results dropped. This was told to me by an ex-parent whose kid did not do well at PSLE (went to Normal stream).

Nman
26-03-12, 15:31
Sporean like to choose stay near to good and branded school, mee too. But i don't think PR got such habit. PR like to purchase freehold and house build by famaous developer. So that property not affected.

26-03-12, 15:40
So this new policy affects children entering P1 in 2014 when registration starts in Jun 2013? So SC parents of kids entering P1 next year and registration starts this year will be cursing how come not implemented earlier... Oops! Then again there's really no end to such arguments...

26-03-12, 15:56
SCGS used to be an elite school but last year, there was no balloting...

the game is changing. Rulang and Southview are hot like cheese cakes

wannabe
26-03-12, 16:03
Agreed... Well I was from the primary and secondary school and decided not to return to the JC but chose another one nearer my house... that probably tells a lot about my affinity for the school... :D but if i have to do PV to enroll my son into another sch, I'll probably just settle for the alumni path... :p

Unless you have shitloads of $, else sending your kid to ACS will bring quite a lot of pressure on yourself and your kid.
The need to keep up with the Joneses.

26-03-12, 16:12
SCGS used to be an elite school but last year, there was no balloting...

the game is changing. Rulang and Southview are hot like cheese cakes

The cut-off point for SCGS girls to stay in their own affiliated sec school is going up up and upz. Now that they are going to be an IP school, it could even be 250 by the time that P1 cohort reaches P6. In which case the affiliation is of no great advantage.

26-03-12, 16:14
Unless you have shitloads of $, else sending your kid to ACS will bring quite a lot of pressure on yourself and your kid.

It's not so bad as that. There are kids there from "average" HDB-dwelling families too. I know that as my kid did go to ACS in the end and I brought him to various different venues for birthday parties and friends' homes ranging from landed GCB to HDB apartments.

26-03-12, 16:22
It's not about your kid going to ACS, it's about the parents of the other kids going to ACS. Networking! :cool:

wannabe
26-03-12, 16:25
It's not so bad as that. There are kids there from "average" HDB-dwelling families too. I know that as my kid did go to ACS in the end and I brought him to various different venues for birthday parties and friends' homes ranging from landed GCB to HDB apartments.

In my time it was quite bad. Felt kinda deprived.
I can only feel for those who stayed in HDB.
I think for my entire class of 30+ probably only 4-5 stayed in public housing.

wannabe
26-03-12, 16:27
It's not about your kid going to ACS, it's about the parents of the other kids going to ACS. Networking! :cool:

It's all about networking. Your kids will grow up with kids with similar atas background. Easy to do business next time.

26-03-12, 16:33
250 is for girls can make it to IP school. 220 is for affialated Scgs secondary entry. Affilialation has great advantage!

The cut-off point for SCGS girls to stay in their own affiliated sec school is going up up and upz. Now that they are going to be an IP school, it could even be 250 by the time that P1 cohort reaches P6. In which case the affiliation is of no great advantage.

26-03-12, 16:36
250 is for girls can make it to IP school. 220 is for affialated Scgs secondary entry. Affilialation has great advantage!

Ehhh...is yr kid in SCGS currently? I heard that the cut-off is going progressively higher each year. One parent told me it would be 250 when her kid reaches P6 (? I think kid is in P3 this year). Or perhaps I misunderstood (or she misunderstood).....

26-03-12, 16:40
In my time it was quite bad. Felt kinda deprived.
I can only feel for those who stayed in HDB.
I think for my entire class of 30+ probably only 4-5 stayed in public housing.

My daughter has the reverse problem. She decided not to go to ACSJ and chose Anderson instead as JC citing snobbishness and ACS/MGS cliques as reasons against going there. When her project mates met at our place, they made snide comments about how expensive it looks (and it's not landed even - just a newly renovated/old resale condo).

wannabe
26-03-12, 16:47
My daughter has the reverse problem. She decided not to go to ACSJ and chose Anderson instead as JC citing snobbishness and ACS/MGS cliques as reasons against going there. When her project mates met at our place, they made snide comments about how expensive it looks (and it's not landed even - just a newly renovated/old resale condo).

Yup the snob factor has always been part of a AC culture.
And its pretty in-your-face if you study there.
I stay in a small landed property in orchard but i keep very low profile in school so that i don't get unwanted attention from the real rich cliques.
I mean in a school whereby families own private jets, islands, shopping centres, you dont really boast of where you stay cos its going to sound really pathetic.
I don't even tell people i'm from ACS. Straight away you will get a reaction from them.

26-03-12, 17:17
It's not so bad as that. There are kids there from "average" HDB-dwelling families too. I know that as my kid did go to ACS in the end and I brought him to various different venues for birthday parties and friends' homes ranging from landed GCB to HDB apartments.The classmates I visited when I was studying there all landed. Still remembered I went to a GCB with huge swimming pool... me staying in 4 room HDB then like mountain tortoise... wah... :D

26-03-12, 17:19
Yup the snob factor has always been part of a AC culture.
And its pretty in-your-face if you study there.
I stay in a small landed property in orchard but i keep very low profile in school so that i don't get unwanted attention from the real rich cliques.
I mean in a school whereby families own private jets, islands, shopping centres, you dont really boast of where you stay cos its going to sound really pathetic.
I don't even tell people i'm from ACS. Straight away you will get a reaction from them.I stayed in HDB then... my classmate invited me to his birthday party and father booked whole restaurant or something... I was like wow! U staying in landed not bad liaoz lah... :cheers1:

wannabe
26-03-12, 17:29
I stayed in HDB then... my classmate invited me to his birthday party and father booked whole restaurant or something... I was like wow! U staying in landed not bad liaoz lah... :cheers1:

lolz.... just feel that its not a very conducive environment for a kid
to grow up in. My personal thoughts...

26-03-12, 17:43
The classmates I visited when I was studying there all landed. Still remembered I went to a GCB with huge swimming pool... me staying in 4 room HDB then like mountain tortoise... wah... :D

Doesn't that make you more determined to study harder? Their parents may be richer, but your grades are better than them.

26-03-12, 17:55
for once we can sing tgt

wakakaka

26-03-12, 18:13
Doesn't that make you more determined to study harder? Their parents may be richer, but your grades are better than them.I wasn't a hardworking or grades driven student anyway... I don't even remember me taking PSLE... Lol! Too young to consider all these then... :D

26-03-12, 18:31
I can sympathise to some extent. I entered SCGS at Sec 2. Encountered some hostilities because I was a newbie and my academic performance was good. Somewhat disturbed their established pecking order. The girls were rather b****y and I did not feel comfortable with their attitude. Thus I did not send my daughter to that school. Even to this day, when one of the old classmates met me, they ask me about my connections with my rich cousin rather than asking about me.

My sons are OK in ACS though. The youngest finds it useful having cash-rich friends. He sells them a few items that he no longer has any use for but he does check with me before selling them. He also gets items as "gifts" from the rich friends for example a friend bought him a recorder when he forgot to bring one to music lesson and would not accept money in return. And he enjoys their birthday parties. The friends tell him there's no need to buy them presents as they have enough already so he just goes to enjoy the games and the company.

26-03-12, 18:33

wakaka your child so big already. I thought u young lady. Your nick Chiaberry sounds like young sweet chiobu:ashamed1: (My imagination of u)

26-03-12, 18:59
wakaka your child so big already. I thought u young lady. Your nick Chiaberry sounds like young sweet chiobu:ashamed1: (My imagination of u)

Ah nooo....I am AUNTIE chiaberry :cool:

26-03-12, 20:16

I read on the kiasuparents forum that to be PV in some schools, there's SELECTION. LOL. Just becoz you want to be PV doesn't mean automatically can do so. :eek:

I think at the end of the day you will go for the alumni path......:sleep:

26-03-12, 20:50
It's all about networking. Your kids will grow up with kids with similar atas background. Easy to do business next time.

Agree with you.
When I see my ACS and MGS friends clique together, I kinda feel envious, cos I know that I can't be as close to them cos I was not from their school.
I was never from any affliated school so I don't feel anything for my previous schools. School and uni were just places for study. I never had any attachment to them.

26-03-12, 20:54

Hmmm.....first many of us tot that chiaberry was male, then realizing that she is female, we tot she is a young chiobu.... LOL......:p .

26-03-12, 21:32
I read on the kiasuparents forum that to be PV in some schools, there's SELECTION. LOL. Just becoz you want to be PV doesn't mean automatically can do so. :eek:

I think at the end of the day you will go for the alumni path......:sleep:What is worse... after all the PVs, then u kana balloted out coz too many SCs in that PV phase... :doh:

26-03-12, 21:34
Hmmm.....first many of us tot that chiaberry was male, then realizing that she is female, we tot she is a young chiobu.... LOL......:p .I knew that its a 'she' coz nick has the word berry.... probably surname is Chia... :cheers1:

26-03-12, 21:40
Was analysing the new scheme... imagine one couple spent $1.5mil to buy a property near a good (not top) primary school. They dutifully did PV and so qualified for phase 2A2 (or something) but because there were more SCs than available vacancies so have to do balloting. After balloting, that couple kana pushed to phase 2B (or something), along with all the PRs who did PV too. Then in the next phase, its oversubscribed again coz got more SCs again, so have to do balloting again. This same couple kana balloted out yet again. All the PV work and the spending $1.5mil on that new property all come to naught. Is this possible? :scared-4:

spikey69
26-03-12, 21:47
Was analysing the new scheme... imagine one couple spent $1.5mil to buy a property near a good (not top) primary school. They dutifully did PV and so qualified for phase 2A2 (or something) but because there were more SCs than available vacancies so have to do balloting. After balloting, that couple kana pushed to phase 2B (or something), along with all the PRs who did PV too. Then in the next phase, its oversubscribed again coz got more SCs again, so have to do balloting again. This same couple kana balloted out yet again. All the PV work and the spending $1.5mil on that new property all come to naught. Is this possible? :scared-4:

yes possible...but it should be from p2B to p2C...p2A is for alumni...extremely unlikely for p2A to undergo balloting

26-03-12, 21:54
yes possible...but it should be from p2B to p2C...p2A is for alumni...extremely unlikely for p2A to undergo ballotingSo if no alumni or siblings in the school, couple at best only qualify for p2B. If more SCs than available vacancies, then must ballot liao... sianz... Wah... more stressful than taking exams coz you have no control over the result... :scared-4:

26-03-12, 21:55
Ah nooo....I am AUNTIE chiaberry :cool:Hi Auntie chiaberry... thank you for imparting your wealth of knowledge and experience to us who are either young parents or would-be parents or even interested non-parents... :cheers5:

26-03-12, 21:57

I read that some kiasu parents (on the aptly named kiasuparents forum) even went so far as to have MULTIPLE homes all within 1km of top schools then they decide after one phase if they need to change their IC address before going for the next phase. :scared-4: There's a whole thread devoted to use of addresses for P1 registration (eg if applying before new property TOP how to go about it etc etc). Quite an eye opener to see the lengths to which parents will go to get their kid into their choice schools.

26-03-12, 22:01
Hi Auntie chiaberry... thank you for imparting your wealth of knowledge and experience to us who are either young parents or would-be parents or even interested non-parents... :cheers5:

You're welcome. Just sharing some of what I've been through these past years.

BERRY clever for being one of the first to work out I was a she. I thought it was pretty obvious.

wannabe
26-03-12, 22:04
I read that some kiasu parents (on the aptly named kiasuparents forum) even went so far as to have MULTIPLE homes all within 1km of top schools then they decide after one phase if they need to change their IC address before going for the next phase. :scared-4: There's a whole thread devoted to use of addresses for P1 registration (eg if applying before new property TOP how to go about it etc etc). Quite an eye opener to see the lengths to which parents will go to get their kid into their choice schools.
well like i said, Huat Ah!!!! lol

26-03-12, 22:07
I read that some kiasu parents (on the aptly named kiasuparents forum) even went so far as to have MULTIPLE homes all within 1km of top schools then they decide after one phase if they need to change their IC address before going for the next phase. :scared-4: There's a whole thread devoted to use of addresses for P1 registration (eg if applying before new property TOP how to go about it etc etc). Quite an eye opener to see the lengths to which parents will go to get their kid into their choice schools.Now with the ABSD, it becomes more expensive to buy a 3rd or subsequent properties to boost one's proximity to a good or branded primary school... sigh! Me no :2cents: liao...

26-03-12, 22:08
So if no alumni or siblings in the school, couple at best only qualify for p2B. If more SCs than available vacancies, then must ballot liao... sianz... Wah... more stressful than taking exams coz you have no control over the result... :scared-4:

haha a number of times I wanted to suggest that Govt should perhaps consider some IQ type exams for entry to sch. I remember I had to sit exams for entry to P1 in Malaysia (Bukit Bintang Girls School in KL) and also for entry to SCGS mid-way through Secondary 2. I had to speed through the Sec 1 and Sec 2 text books for Maths and Science before coming to Singapore for the exams (previously was studying in an international school overseas). One thing that international schools taught me was to be able to study independently direct from books without need for teacher/tutor. Thus I was bored in SCGS with the rote-learning system of Singapore sch. History lesson was :sleep: at the back of the class.

But that would spark a frenzy and more hot-housing of kids in pre-school and spawn a new industry of school entrance preparatory courses for pre-school kids.

26-03-12, 22:12
haha a number of times I wanted to suggest that Govt should perhaps consider some IQ type exams for entry to sch. I remember I had to sit exams for entry to P1 in Malaysia (Bukit Bintang Girls School in KL) and also for entry to SCGS mid-way through Secondary 2. I had to speed through the Sec 1 and Sec 2 text books for Maths and Science before coming to Singapore for the exams (previously was studying in an international school overseas). One thing that international schools taught me was to be able to study independently direct from books without need for teacher/tutor. Thus I was bored in SCGS with the rote-learning system of Singapore sch. History lesson was :sleep: at the back of the class.

But that would spark a frenzy and more hot-housing of kids in pre-school and spawn a new industry of school entrance preparatory courses for pre-school kids.Yes... pls don't start that here. Just look at HK... :doh:

andy
26-03-12, 22:15

It is even worse than that. There is a whole real-time strategy blow by blow description how to use multiple addresses on the final day of the registration;-)

26-03-12, 22:17
need to show address on ic? I thought contract can already?:scared-4:

26-03-12, 22:17
It is even worse than that. There is a whole real-time strategy blow by blow description how to use multiple addresses on the final day of the registration;-)

Yes I was very bemused by that. :scared-1: :p

26-03-12, 22:19
It is even worse than that. There is a whole real-time strategy blow by blow description how to use multiple addresses on the final day of the registration;-)That is just awe....ful! :scared-4:

andy
26-03-12, 22:19
CNA
"Mr Eugene Lim, ERA Realty Network's key executive officer, said: "The premium that buyers have been known to pay for being located near good schools is as much as 10, sometimes even 15 per cent.

"So, if there are less buyers competing for these units near these good schools, technically the premium would go down. But it's still early days. It's very hard to say at this point if the prices will be affected, because for the gap that is vacated by the PRs, the locals will come in and fill it"

Any thoughts on above?

Ringo
26-03-12, 22:21
Ah nooo....I am AUNTIE chiaberry :cool:

Aka MILF huh?

26-03-12, 22:21
need to show address on ic? I thought contract can already?:scared-4:

THE ADDRESS ON THE NRIC must be the one that is used for registration. Yes you have to change your address. It is quite inconvenient if you are not really living there. You have to go and empty the mail box every so often because those correspondence linked to your ic will be posted there automatically.

HP65
26-03-12, 22:24

But that would spark a frenzy and more hot-housing of kids in pre-school and spawn a new industry of school entrance preparatory courses for pre-school kids.

Wow, BBGS? Good school! I was from Monkey Boys School lol

andy
26-03-12, 22:24
THE ADDRESS ON THE NRIC must be the one that is used for registration. Yes you have to change your address. It is quite inconvenient if you are not really living there. You have to go and empty the mail box every so often because those correspondence linked to your ic will be posted there automatically.

Child can have multiple guardians......

26-03-12, 22:29

looks like yours is the route less travelled.

as for HK, i cannot imagine putting kids through interview prep for pre-school admission interview!!??!!

26-03-12, 22:29
CNA
"Mr Eugene Lim, ERA Realty Network's key executive officer, said: "The premium that buyers have been known to pay for being located near good schools is as much as 10, sometimes even 15 per cent.

"So, if there are less buyers competing for these units near these good schools, technically the premium would go down. But it's still early days. It's very hard to say at this point if the prices will be affected, because for the gap that is vacated by the PRs, the locals will come in and fill it"

Any thoughts on above?If these PRs decides not to buy properties near these good schools, property prices might dip coz less competition (probably like what you mentioned, gap will be filled up by locals), they'll be snatching up properties elsewhere away from good schools but must be near MRT, etc. sending the price of these other properties upwards too. In the end, everywhere also witness rise in property prices... :scared-4:

26-03-12, 22:31

as for HK, i cannot imagine putting kids through interview prep for pre-school admission interview!!??!!Yup... subjecting toddlers through those horrible interviews is simply denying these young kids their right to a carefree life (at least what some other parents sincerely and earnestly believed in)... :banghead:

26-03-12, 22:32
Child can have multiple guardians......One is father's parents while the other is mother's parents... :)

extremme
26-03-12, 22:35
You're welcome. Just sharing some of what I've been through these past years.

BERRY clever for being one of the first to work out I was a she. I thought it was pretty obvious.
hee I knew all along u were a gal due to use of word berry but like e rest had conjured up images of a sweet young chiobu :)

26-03-12, 22:37
Yup... subjecting toddlers through those horrible interviews is simply denying these young kids their right to a carefree life (at least what some other parents sincerely and earnestly believed in)... :banghead:

children should enjoy their childhood, there will be a time for great responsibility to rest upon their shoulders, so why rush them there so soon.

FH99
26-03-12, 22:39
Just subscribe to Discovery Channel, your child will do very well in PLSE Science.

26-03-12, 22:40

as for HK, i cannot imagine putting kids through interview prep for pre-school admission interview!!??!!

I saw that TV programme one Friday night while in the gym. I felt sorry for those kids. If they were mine, I think all but the youngest would have flunked the interview coaching or not coaching.

For Bukit Bintang GS in KL, if my (fading) memory serves me, there were 2 tests, one before getting into the school and one on the very first day of school for immediate streaming into classes based on ability. In a way, I think it was "fairer" than all this palaver about scheming to rent/buy/find "guardians" near the school of choice here.

26-03-12, 22:42
Wait spent $1.5mil to buy a own stay house near the pri school and your child failed to enter... :doh:

But 1.5m is not spend. It's invested. Even if the kid don't get it, the $$$ didn't disappear ma. Touch wood :scared-4:

FH99
26-03-12, 22:42
Enroll your kid to Higher Chinese, read Zaobao, and write some thoughts, your child will do well in PLSE Chinese.

26-03-12, 22:43
I saw that TV programme one Friday night while in the gym. I felt sorry for those kids. If they were mine, I think all but the youngest would have flunked the interview coaching or not coaching.

For Bukit Bintang GS in KL, if my (fading) memory serves me, there were 2 tests, one before getting into the school and one on the very first day of school for immediate streaming into classes based on ability. In a way, I think it was "fairer" than all this palaver about scheming to rent/buy/find "guardians" near the school of choice here.

yeah, seriously, do we want our kids to behave like adults at the age of 8? are we still trying to groom the next generation industrial worker or the next generation entrepreneur?

26-03-12, 22:43
hee I knew all along u were a gal due to use of word berry but like e rest had conjured up images of a sweet young chiobu :)

Sorry to crush your dreams. :rocking-the-decks: :D

FH99
26-03-12, 22:44
Learn some simple Olympic Math, and master algebra in P6, your child should be able to solve the most difficult PLSE Math.

FH99
26-03-12, 22:47
Read widely, and borrow some books from The Learning Lab library, your child will do well in PLSE English.

FH99
26-03-12, 22:49
Stop playing any computer games. Your child will start to enjoy reading.

FH99
26-03-12, 22:52
With S$70, you can buy the papers of all the top schools. Study yourself to find the errors in Answer keys. You will appreciate it is not easy to be a P6 student these days. When you are seriously studying, your child will excel in PSLE.

FH99
26-03-12, 23:00
Last but not least, remember the difference between Education and Training.

You can train a dog, but you don't educate a dog.

26-03-12, 23:03
With S$70, you can buy the papers of all the top schools. Study yourself to find the errors in Answer keys. You will appreciate it is not easy to be a P6 student these days. When you are seriously studying, your child will excel in PSLE.

There are some "stupid" questions in the Science papers. I have a post-grad degree in Science-related field and can't figure out what is the answer they are trying to extract from some of the questions. LOL!

26-03-12, 23:11
There are some "stupid" questions in the Science papers. I have a post-grad degree in Science-related field and can't figure out what is the answer they are trying to extract from some of the questions. LOL!
That's when they try to be too clever.

27-03-12, 09:55

No offence! Maybe like wat the govt always say, its time to upgrade! haha:cheers5:

27-03-12, 11:19
No offence! Maybe like wat the govt always say, its time to upgrade! haha:cheers5:

Or is it downgrade to the level of the PSLE Science teacher?

Perhaps I should resign from current job and take up lecturing job in the new School of Medicine being built in Tan Tock Seng Hospital. See how many hot young medical students I can mislead. wakaka

Ilikeu
27-03-12, 11:31
Unless I am mistaken, the straightforward reading of the change of rule simply states that SC has absolute priority over PR. Hence no need to do PV.

For example, my intepretation is:

If 50 places are available and 50 SC stays within 1km, then all 50 of them will get the places, regardless of whether they do PV or not.

But if 60 SC (within 1 km) apply, then ballot will be conducted to choose 50. Again PV is not mentioned in the press release and no preference or advantage are given to those who perform PV to stand a higher chance duirng the ballot to choose the 50 SC.

27-03-12, 11:52
Unless I am mistaken, the straightforward reading of the change of rule simply states that SC has absolute priority over PR. Hence no need to do PV.

For example, my intepretation is:

If 50 places are available and 50 SC stays within 1km, then all 50 of them will get the places, regardless of whether they do PV or not.

But if 60 SC (within 1 km) apply, then ballot will be conducted to choose 50. Again PV is not mentioned in the press release and no preference or advantage are given to those who perform PV to stand a higher chance duirng the ballot to choose the 50 SC.

Dun think so. Quote from Today's paper: "PRs will remain eligible for the same phases of the P1 registration exercise as citizens. However, when balloting is necessary in a specific phase of the registration exercise, citizens will be given absolute priority over PRs, even before home-to-school distance is considered".

Alumni under Phase 2A. PV under Phase 2B. The rest of the lesser beings all belong to Phase 2C. After phase 2A is completed, the remaining places will be allocated as follows: 50% for Phase 2B and 50% for Phase 2C.

If need to ballot under Phase 2B, then all SCs considered first. If no need to ballot under Phase 2B, then a PV who is PR will also be admitted.

For Phase 2C, if ballot (which is usually the case for top schools), then SCs first before PRs are considered.

So, if you are a PR and PV and there is no ballot for Phase 2B., your child gets in before the SC who needs to ballot in Phase 2C.

But if both a SC and the PR need to ballot in Phase 2C, the SC who is living 2km away gets priority over the PR who is living 1km away.

27-03-12, 12:25
Perhaps a clearer explanation is as follows:

If you are a SC, but not alumni, PV , RC member, clan member etc, you are eligible only for Phase 2C, the most keenly fought phase.

If you are a PR who is either alumni, PV, RC member, clan member etc, you belong to Phase 2A or 2B. You get priority over the SC who is eligible only for phase 2C. But, you do not have priority over SCs who are in the same phase as you, e.g. 2A or 2B.

So, a PR who wants to go to a top school needs to be a PV if he has no other connections, to stand a chance of getting in.