View Full Version : Building boom in Geylang

reporter2
31-03-12, 01:00
http://www.straitstimes.com/Singapore/Story/STIStory_780631.html

Building boom in Geylang

Some 1,900 private homes planned; many are shoebox units

Published on Mar 23, 2012

By Gan Yu Jia

MENTION Geylang and many think of the red-light district, but the area is in the middle of a building boom, with developers banking on its proximity to the centre of town.

About 1,900 private homes across more than 25 developments will be completed over the next three to four years, and many will be shoebox flats, an increasingly popular choice for Singaporeans, investors and expatriates.

The challenge, as some agents note, is Geylang's seedy reputation.

Occupancy will be tested soon enough when many of the flats, in particular the shoebox units, hit the market.

These are homes ranging from less than 400 sq ft to 600 sq ft, and Geylang will be awash with them.

Centra Studios, a 51-unit condominium in Lorong 25 by Pinnacle Realty, has 40 one-bedroom apartments ranging from 344 sq ft to 527 sq ft, while the 39-unit Prime Residence in Lorong 22 by Springlife Development has 12 one-bedders ranging from 398 sq ft to 409 sq ft, and 20 one-plus-one units from 527 sq ft to 538 sq ft.

Property agents told The Straits Times they are confident that these tiny flats will remain popular because of the location, and they pointed to the high rents as evidence.

One housing agent said: 'Location-wise, going to the CBD (Central Business District) is five to seven minutes' drive. With the upcoming Paya Lebar commercial hub, this whole Geylang, Kallang area will be between the CBD and the hub.'

The rents, which are already 'the highest in the Aljunied area', will either stay at the same level or go even higher in the next few years.

The agent estimated that a one- or two-bedder shoebox unit in Geylang can be rented for about $2,500 to $3,000 a month, with 'rental returns going very high at 6 per cent to 7 per cent because of the location'.

He believes most tenants will be expatriates or childless couples.

Mr William Choo, a senior marketing consultant at Huttons Asia, said monthly rents are 'about $3,000 plus' for Geylang shoebox units.

While he tips an oversupply of such units - 'it's not possible to anticipate demand' - he added that there will eventually be tenants to occupy all the homes. He said: 'Once the pricing is right, someone will take up the place.'

A check with the Urban Redevelopment Authority's online system revealed that from last November to January this year, median rents for Lorongs 26, 28, 30 and 34 ranged from $2.90 per sq ft (psf) to $3.33 psf. For a 500 sq ft apartment, this translates to $1,450 to $1,665 rental per month.

It is not known if these rents were for shoebox units. Rents for such units tend to be significantly higher on a psf basis because of their compact sizes.

There are also pitfalls amid the optimism about demand, including concerns that units in this traditional red-light district would draw the wrong crowd.

Chesterton Suntec International research head Colin Tan said: 'I have had clients ask me why all the rooms (in Geylang units) have attached bathrooms. You could read more into that, in the sense that they may be used as serviced apartments, dormitories or budget hotels.'

He added that banks may hesitate to lend to investors out of concern over the area's seedy reputation. 'In official red-light areas, some banks won't want to lend their names to such projects, because they are considered high-risk.

'Second, you are not sure if the activities that occur in those units are legal or not... Another concern is the reputation of the bank; it may not want to be associated with such properties.'

Mr Tan Kok Keong, OrangeTee's head of research and consultancy, noted that the high rental yields may be due only to the lowered capital values of property in the area.

'If you look at the projects there, they are roughly sold for between $1,300 and $1,400 psf,' he said.

'So if you take other places equally distant from the city centre, like Pasir Panjang or even Toa Payoh, and if you compare prices, then obviously there's a 5 per cent to 10 per cent discount for Geylang.

'Part of the reason is the reputation.'

31-03-12, 01:04
http://www.straitstimes.com/Singapore/Story/STIStory_780631.html

Building boom in Geylang

Some 1,900 private homes planned; many are shoebox units

Published on Mar 23, 2012

By price (CONDOsingapore.com)

MENTION Geylang and many think of the red-light district, but the area is in the middle of a building boom, with developers banking on its proximity to the centre of town.

About 1,900 private homes across more than 25 developments will be completed over the next three to four years, and many will be shoebox flats, an increasingly popular choice for Singaporeans, investors and expatriates.

The challenge, as some agents note, is Geylang's seedy reputation.

Occupancy will be tested soon enough when many of the flats, in particular the shoebox units, hit the market.

These are homes ranging from less than 400 sq ft to 600 sq ft, and Geylang will be awash with them.

Centra Studios, a 51-unit condominium in Lorong 25 by Pinnacle Realty, has 40 one-bedroom apartments ranging from 344 sq ft to 527 sq ft, while the 39-unit Prime Residence in Lorong 22 by Springlife Development has 12 one-bedders ranging from 398 sq ft to 409 sq ft, and 20 one-plus-one units from 527 sq ft to 538 sq ft.

Property agents told The Straits Times they are confident that these tiny flats will remain popular because of the location, and they pointed to the high rents as evidence.

One housing agent said: 'Location-wise, going to the CBD (Central Business District) is five to seven minutes' drive. With the upcoming Paya Lebar commercial hub, this whole Geylang, Kallang area will be between the CBD and the hub.'

The rents, which are already 'the highest in the Aljunied area', will either stay at the same level or go even higher in the next few years.

The agent estimated that a one- or two-bedder shoebox unit in Geylang can be rented for about $2,500 to $3,000 a month, with 'rental returns going very high at 6 per cent to 7 per cent because of the location'.

He believes most tenants will be expatriates or childless couples.

Mr William Choo, a senior marketing consultant at Huttons Asia, said monthly rents are 'about $3,000 plus' for Geylang shoebox units.

While he tips an oversupply of such units - 'it's not possible to anticipate demand' - he added that there will eventually be tenants to occupy all the homes. He said: 'Once the pricing is right, someone will take up the place.'

A check with the Urban Redevelopment Authority's online system revealed that from last November to January this year, median rents for Lorongs 26, 28, 30 and 34 ranged from $2.90 per sq ft (psf) to $3.33 psf. For a 500 sq ft apartment, this translates to $1,450 to $1,665 rental per month.

It is not known if these rents were for shoebox units. Rents for such units tend to be significantly higher on a psf basis because of their compact sizes.

There are also pitfalls amid the optimism about demand, including concerns that units in this traditional red-light district would draw the wrong crowd.

Chesterton Suntec International research head Colin Tan said: 'I have had clients ask me why all the rooms (in Geylang units) have attached bathrooms. You could read more into that, in the sense that they may be used as serviced apartments, dormitories or budget hotels.'

He added that banks may hesitate to lend to investors out of concern over the area's seedy reputation. 'In official red-light areas, some banks won't want to lend their names to such projects, because they are considered high-risk.

'Second, you are not sure if the activities that occur in those units are legal or not... Another concern is the reputation of the bank; it may not want to be associated with such properties.'

Mr Tan Kok Keong, OrangeTee's head of research and consultancy, noted that the high rental yields may be due only to the lowered capital values of property in the area.

'If you look at the projects there, they are roughly sold for between $1,300 and $1,400 psf,' he said.

'So if you take other places equally distant from the city centre, like Pasir Panjang or even Toa Payoh, and if you compare prices, then obviously there's a 5 per cent to 10 per cent discount for Geylang.

'Part of the reason is the reputation.'

my first SPH article! :D :cheers5:

31-03-12, 07:23
You are claiming an author's work as yours...this is dicey.

31-03-12, 07:28
You are claiming an author's work as yours...this is dicey.

I suspect Price = Gan Yu Jia ! Many chio SPH writers also lurking around this forum....this Reporter2 also like some reporter from mediacop I know one.

Then there is also this nick Patricia, I think she works for a property firm and drives a BMW. Spoken to her in real life before, but of course she did not realise she is talking to the most handsome guy on Earth la. Saw her reading this forum at a talk.

dun think I dunno ok. that is why I told u guys not to feed the greedy landed owners anymore. Use this power group to help us make landed affordable hor !

"He who controls the media, controls the world "- wise words by BJ21T

WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH

31-03-12, 07:41
I suspect Price = Gan Yu Jia ! Many chio SPH writers also lurking around this forum....this Reporter2 also like some reporter from mediacop I know one.

Then there is also this nick Patricia, I think she works for a property firm and drives a BMW. Spoken to her in real life before, but of course she did not realise she is talking to the most handsome guy on Earth la.

dun think I dunno ok. that is why I told u guys not to feed the greedy landed owners anymore. Use this power group to help us make landed affordable hor !

"He who controls the media, controls the world "- wise words by BJ21T

WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH

1. Point in red text noted but needs verification. Can you paste their photos here?

2. Point in blue text is curious. I thought most ladies will be swept off their feet by very handsome guys, yet she din realise.

3. Point in green text "affordable landed" means how much monthly salary allows one to afford? $1k?

31-03-12, 07:55
1. Point in red text noted but needs verification. Can you paste their photos here?

2. Point in blue text is curious. I thought most ladies will be swept off their feet by very handsome guys, yet she din realise.

3. Point in green text "affordable landed" means how much monthly salary allows one to afford? $1k?

1) One of them must be in this photo, but I cannot verify leh..

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s297/blackjack21trader/381746_244752968927437_125584034177665_590159_22437974_n.jpg

2) Maybe she has hyperopia ?

3) WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA. Good one, brother !

31-03-12, 07:58
1) One of them must be in this photo, but I cannot verify leh..

2) Maybe she has hyperopia ?

3) WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA. Good one, brother !

I was joking with you. You really paste the photo here :p

31-03-12, 08:00

WOAHAHAHAHAHAH mai sabo leh, brother hyenergix.

31-03-12, 08:02

never bluff you right? very chio right? How I wish I were 20 years younger . :doh:

31-03-12, 08:07
Yes, quite pretty. A few of them actually look like interns. I cant imagine a multi-millionare taking photos for a group of young reporters. Better dun let your wife see these photos :tongue2:

31-03-12, 10:08
never bluff you right? very chio right? How I wish I were 20 years younger . :doh:
i picture u to be the 1 on the extreme left and bro hyenergix is the shy 1 at the back :beats-me-man: :D :cheers6:

31-03-12, 10:13
i picture u to be the 1 on the extreme left and bro hyenergix is the shy 1 at the back :beats-me-man: :D :cheers6:

Wha, I kenna esposed liao, zhen tao yan :p

Ricade
31-03-12, 10:13
Yday I spoke to my friend.. She's just a normal person who doesn't really look at property but she stays ard joo chiat. Was sending her back last night by car.. We drove past lion city.

She said.. Wah Lau.. 2 years ago wanted to buy some geylang property.. But father don't allow. See lah now property here reaching $2000psf!

I was like shocked man...!!! What?!?! Told her u joking right..

She said no what.. Paya lebar business hub coming up (right in front of paya lobar MRT). Over there price will definitely increase to $2000 one lah..

Kept quiet and think in my mind.. Will this really happen? But nevertheless really a lot of construction going on ard this area.. They've been ramping up infrastructure development for at least the past 5 years..

Will it really boost land price in this area by so much? Hmm..

31-03-12, 10:15
Yday I spoke to my friend.. She's just a normal person who doesn't really look at property but she stays ard joo chiat. Was sending her back last night by car.. We drove past lion city.

She said.. Wah Lau.. 2 years ago wanted to buy some geylang property.. But father don't allow. See lah now property here reaching $2000psf!

She said no what.. Paya lebar business hub coming up (right in front of paya lobar MRT). Over there price will definitely increase to $2000 one lah..

Kept quiet and think in my mind.. Will this really happen? But nevertheless really a lot of construction going on ard this area.. They've been ramping up infrastructure development for at least the past 5 years..

Maybe the huge plot of FH land, yes. :2cents: in time to come

Btw, the recent new launch which was sold out within a weekend, was priced at $3kpsf-$4kpsf for its commercial units. So $2000 is a steal. :D :cheers5:

Ricade
31-03-12, 10:35
Maybe the huge plot of FH land, yes. :2cents: in time to come

Btw, the recent new launch which was sold out within a weekend, was priced at $3kpsf-$4kpsf for its commercial units. So $2000 is a steal. :D :cheers5:

Commercial definitely more expensive lah.. But do u know that Suntec office space also going for ard 3.5k psf?

No no doubt leasehold but Suntec leh.. Grade A office plus now on top of MRT.

Anyways my friend was talking abt residential psf.. $2k for ard paya lebar / geylang area? Southbank, citylights and that standalone condo in kallang owners must be happy man.. Haha

Not that they are not already happy right now. Lol

31-03-12, 11:12
Wait for the gaint, "SouthBeach" to come. Look at one of two basement floors of the development with so many bored piles.

http://i332.photobucket.com/albums/m356/DC33_2008/DSC03314.jpg

Commercial definitely more expensive lah.. But do u know that Suntec office space also going for ard 3.5k psf?

No no doubt leasehold but Suntec leh.. Grade A office plus now on top of MRT.

Anyways my friend was talking abt residential psf.. $2k for ard paya lebar / geylang area? Southbank, citylights and that standalone condo in kallang owners must be happy man.. Haha

Not that they are not already happy right now. Lol

31-03-12, 15:09

Just drive into Lor 26 to Lor 30, developers enblocking like no tomorrow arh :mad:

Ricade
31-03-12, 23:58
Met an agent today who happen to be geylang specialist, he also told me to look more into Geylang area. he shared that there has been lots of cleaning up efforts from the government for this area.

I asked him: "U hia bor??!?" want to clean up then nx time where to put the red light district?

Surprisknly he told me: "Kranji"

Haha is this true? Anyone care to share their inputs?

01-04-12, 00:27
Met an agent today who happen to be geylang specialist, he also told me to look more into Geylang area. he shared that there has been lots of cleaning up efforts from the government for this area.

I asked him: "U hia bor??!?" want to clean up then nx time where to put the red light district?

Sounds familiar....somebody over here mentioned kranji too.....perhaps heard from the same agt....wakakakaka

anyway mm there oredi 12xxpsf liao....whr got undervalue?

01-04-12, 07:07

It's true. I have seen chickens* loitering in Kranji. A sign of things to come.

* wild type

Ricade
01-04-12, 09:13
It's true. I have seen chickens* loitering in Kranji. A sign of things to come.

* wild type

Hahaha good one

01-04-12, 17:46
Aiyah, miss the picture leh, bro Blackjack.

01-04-12, 17:49
Sounds familiar....somebody over here mentioned kranji too.....perhaps heard from the same agt....wakakakaka

anyway mm there oredi 12xxpsf liao....whr got undervalue?

Maybe it is FH lor. Last time undervalue, now..... not sure. :D

02-04-12, 07:14
Aiyah, miss the picture leh, bro Blackjack.

sister irisng told u to stalk here 24 hours like forumer basic why u never listen leh ?

WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

02-04-12, 08:54
sister irisng told u to stalk here 24 hours like forumer basic why u never listen leh ?

WOAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Aiyah, I have to watch out for my rice bowl lah, hehehe:D

fafalulu
02-04-12, 12:04
Red light D shift or not, the landscape in Geylang will change quite significantly with the coming of many developments.. in the looooong run should be a good bet:2cents:

Ricade
02-04-12, 12:45
ya but on light hearted note, too long armageddon probably come already haha