View Full Version : New Cooling Measures for Strata Landed

03-04-12, 08:03
Foreigners should pack and leave Singapore property market.

Curbs on backdoor buys of landed homes
Foreigners affected as URA won't allow strata landed homes on condo projects

(SINGAPORE) Starting today , Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) will no longer allow strata landed homes to be built in projects with 'condominium' status.
Market watchers say that this will effectively close an avenue which has allowed foreigners to buy strata landed homes within such projects without having to seek permission from the Singapore Land Authority's Land Dealings (Approval) Unit.
However, foreigners can continue to buy such strata landed homes in existing condos and in condo projects that have yet to be built but already approved by URA.
In a circular issued yesterday evening, URA said it has observed that 'in recent years, there has been an increase in the number of condominium proposals comprising a mix of strata landed and apartment units within the same development'.
Analysts list D'Leedon in the Farrer Road area, Thomson Grand, euHabitat at Jalan Eunos, Archipelago facing Bedok Reservoir Park and Woodhaven in Woodlands, among the projects with 'condo' status containing strata landed homes. Developers have taken to including some strata landed homes within their condo projects to cater to the strong demand for such landed homes from foreign buyers, who don't need LDAU's permission to buy them.
In contrast, foreigners wishing to buy any other type of landed homes, including units in a pure strata landed housing development, need LDAU's approval. They have to fulfil certain criteria before LDAU will give the nod, including being a Singapore permanent resident and making significant economic contribution to Singapore. However, under a further tightening in approval criteria last year, approvals to PRs to buy landed homes is expected to fall.
Sentosa Cove is the only place in Singapore where even non-Singapore PR foreigners may purchase a landed home, although still subject to obtaining LDAU approval.
Foreigners have increasingly taken to buying strata landed homes in projects with 'condominium' status.
A URA spokesperson said that for the whole of 2011, 97 strata landed housing units in condominiums were sold by developers, of which about 90 per cent were bought by foreigners (including PRs).
For the whole of 2010, 16 strata landed housing units in condominiums were sold by developers, of which about 60 per cent were bought by foreigners (including PRs).
In its circular yesterday, URA noted: 'Strata landed housing is essentially a form of landed housing except for its strata title arrangement. Hence, developments comprising only strata landed housing are not accorded condominium status. URA clarified this through a professional circular in October 1994.
'To align with the treatment of strata landed housing developments announced in 1994, we will no longer accord condominium status to developments comprising a mix of strata landed and apartments units. Only residential developments comprising purely apartment units and complying with the condominium guidelines will continue to be approved as condominiums.'
The new guidelines will take effect today. 'Only formal development applications (excluding Outline Applications) submitted prior to 03 Apr 2012 which have already been granted Provisional Permission or which will result in a Provisional Permission will continue to be evaluated under the old guidelines.'
Development applications submitted prior to April 3 resulting in an advice or refusal of written permission will be evaluated based on the new guidelines upon submission after the advice or refusal, URA added.
Credo Real Estate managing director Karamjit Singh noted that 'developers have been using the current guidelines as a clever way to market their strata landed properties to foreigners because a development scheme comprising strata landed homes within a project approved as 'condominium' is open to foreign buying'. 'With the latest change, URA guidelines are aligned with the general intention to safeguard landed properties for locals,' he added.
Knight Frank chairman Tan Tiong Cheng questioned the rationale behind URA's rule change to disallow strata landed units in projects with condo status. 'All the different unit types currently in projects with condo status, including strata landed units, share common facilities and make contributions for the maintenance of the shared facilities and common areas.
'Such units legally, are not the same as landed homes. You can't tear down and rebuild your unit, expand it by one square inch or change the facade or roof or appearance.'

03-04-12, 08:08
Those who already bought huat-huat as these houses will be in short supply. Rental prospects are also good for the expats with families.

03-04-12, 08:24
So since they can't buy, the can only rent landed or strata or buy big condo units to live in. This was a pretty subtle CM... If they were intending for it to be one that is.

03-04-12, 08:53
"Starting today , Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) will no longer allow strata landed homes to be built in projects with 'condominium' status."

can developers still build those "cluster house" (all landed cluster houses only, no apartments/condo) ??...

03-04-12, 08:59
"Starting today , Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) will no longer allow strata landed homes to be built in projects with 'condominium' status."

can developers still build those "cluster house" ??...

Thought those are not considered condos wat?

03-04-12, 08:59
Any foreigners reading this thread in dismay....can consider the 5-bedder condo in Archipelago. Layout is good (dual-key somemore). I was doing some research on 5-bedder properties last night on propertyguru and they are really limited.

03-04-12, 09:16
umm.... then developers will build lots of those palm-isles type of "garden homes"... :D

03-04-12, 10:08
The next closest to landed in condo r those w patios.

03-04-12, 10:13
Any foreigners reading this thread in dismay....can consider the 5-bedder condo in Archipelago. Layout is good (dual-key somemore). I was doing some research on 5-bedder properties last night on propertyguru and they are really limited.

Yup this layout is so ideal.
You can rent out the small room without compromising on privacy.

coolchoc
03-04-12, 10:32
Those who already bought huat-huat as these houses will be in short supply. Rental prospects are also good for the expats with families.

not neccessary.... ura may change rule on restriction on foreign purchase anytime? may become potentially risky investment..... next time no more rich foreign buyers, must sell to citizens at lowwe $$? :D

03-04-12, 11:42
imo Archipelago, woodhaven and Thomson Grand should not even be classified as condominium bcos they do not have full facitlities.

03-04-12, 12:49
not neccessary.... ura may change rule on restriction on foreign purchase anytime? may become potentially risky investment..... next time no more rich foreign buyers, must sell to citizens at lowwe $$? :D

Pretty clear this new government is determined to not let investors make huge profits from residential properties, especially foreigners. So if I am looking for investment property, I will chose those TOPed projects in good location that command good rental yield instead of buying new launches in OCR and hoping to make a decent profits after TOP

After this round of cooling measures, I think developers should forget about targeting rich foreign investors and start building more affordable projects cater for the locals.

03-04-12, 13:08
WAH-LAU-EH !!!!! Now I blue black left right center bottom top arhhhhh...:doh:

03-04-12, 14:14
WAH-LAU-EH !!!!! Now I blue black left right center bottom top arhhhhh...:doh:

Bro handsome.... just realized your avatar kena hantam till "or bak kar"!

03-04-12, 15:30
Bleeding somemore....i like it :cheers1:

Rosegarden
03-04-12, 16:18
Why so serious, got blue black? If you already own one, good news. If not, can still buy normal landed properties. Wait .... did you just sell off a cluster landed cheap cheap to foreigner? :scared-4:

03-04-12, 16:33
You went to buy a new strata landed like those in Thomson Grand or something?

03-04-12, 17:43
Why so serious, got blue black? If you already own one, good news. If not, can still buy normal landed properties. Wait .... did you just sell off a cluster landed cheap cheap to foreigner? :scared-4:

yes la...i did but that was 2 years ago lor....:banghead:..if you meant that is considered recent sigh ya....

03-04-12, 17:45
You went to buy a new strata landed like those in Thomson Grand or something?

no la brother kane...it is I kena in stock market, now property market also kena....seems like no tomorrow to my bad luck man...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlXp1tLxrko

03-04-12, 17:55
no la brother kane...it is I kena in stock market, now property market also kena....seems like no tomorrow to my bad luck man...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlXp1tLxrko

Actually there's more la: last week the pipe under my kitchen bursted exactly at 5:30am in the morning lor. When I woke up to have breakfast, the whole kitchen was flooded and water began seeping out into the dinning area and going down on to my living room. Early in the morning 6 o'clock, I have to mobilise my ahpuneheh la.

Then Saturday morning, the curtain stick ( dunno what you call that la ) in my study room fell narrowly missed my head while I was reading !

Then my grandmother fell on Sunday and was warded ( Now she is fine liao la ).

WAHLAUEH...then today I read this article.

Ever since that basic guy started his thread in this forum, misfortune after misfortune for me hor. Very 邪!

03-04-12, 18:13
Maybe time for you to visit beings of higher order for protection....depends on whose power you believe in.... :scared-3:

03-04-12, 19:25
Would this announcement have an impact on landed properties I just wonder...

03-04-12, 22:15
blackjacktrader21:

Why don't you consult Feng Shui Master? Perhaps you just need to change a few things eg position of your desk/bed/toilet etc etc ........ and your luck might change for the better. ;)

03-04-12, 22:17
Would this announcement have an impact on landed properties I just wonder...

It might increase the rental yield of landed properties.

extremme
03-04-12, 22:29
for existing old condos who want to tear down their condo n build cluster housings for e residents instead will this have any impact ? are they allowed to do it now? am asking cause my friend 's old condo was thinking of doing this but still in midst of seeking residents approval

Rosegarden
03-04-12, 22:41
In HK, one can hire an old woman to beat paper dolls with her old wooden clog under a bridge. Singapore can find?

Actually there's more la: last week the pipe under my kitchen bursted exactly at 5:30am in the morning lor. When I woke up to have breakfast, the whole kitchen was flooded and water began seeping out into the dinning area and going down on to my living room. Early in the morning 6 o'clock, I have to mobilise my ahpuneheh la.

Then Saturday morning, the curtain stick ( dunno what you call that la ) in my study room fell narrowly missed my head while I was reading !

Ever since that basic guy started his thread in this forum, misfortune after misfortune for me hor. Very 邪!

03-04-12, 23:01

U got pray n donate money/time to help others or not? Good to find inner peace in urself n stop chasing wat u had lost else it is same as a gambler trying to win back his losses at casino. Grandma fell is one thing, but need to analyse y she fell n rectify things. Hope things will turn out well for u.

04-04-12, 08:45
It might increase the rental yield of landed properties.

Would it jack up demand for rental and purchase of larger condo units...

04-04-12, 08:52
Would it jack up demand for rental and purchase of larger condo units...

Yes that is possible too.

I notice that Westerners like to live in landed property as this is what they are used to. Those who have landed property or even LH landed near to international schools....their rentals should do well in the future as the supply will be limited now.

04-04-12, 08:54
Yes that is possible too.

I notice that Westerners like to live in landed property as this is what they are used to. Those who have landed property or even LH landed near to international schools....their rentals should do well in the future as the supply will be limited now.

They just like space. Anything that offers them more space, they will appreciate it.

04-04-12, 09:10
One of my friends (Singaporean) went to US to work. Bought a plot of land with USD200K+ and it has a mini-forest of fir trees around the house. So different their kind of living conditions overseas. Compared to our chicken-coops over here. :mad:

04-04-12, 09:19
One of my friends (Singaporean) went to US to work. Bought a plot of land with USD200K+ and it has a mini-forest of fir trees around the house. So different their kind of living conditions overseas. Compared to our chicken-coops over here. :mad:

boh bian leh.. my friend house in perth is 600 sqm and he told me his is 1 of the smallest in the neighbourhood :scared-4: i told him mine is 3 times smaller.. but higher lah...
his wife plants some vegetable (vietnamese) in the garden, also got chilli.. shiok right, imagine the children all run around in the garden..

04-04-12, 09:27
boh bian leh.. my friend house in perth is 600 sqm and he told me his is 1 of the smallest in the neighbourhood :scared-4: i told him mine is 3 times smaller.. but higher lah...
his wife plants some vegetable (vietnamese) in the garden, also got chilli.. shiok right, imagine the children all run around in the garden..

Yes my parents live in Perth. Nice quiet life style. Their planted chili are v. hot like chilli padi. I once got good job offer there but feel that it is TOO quiet for me so didn't take it up.

yaozong7
04-04-12, 10:28
Yes my parents live in Perth. Nice quiet life style. Their planted chili are v. hot like chilli padi. I once got good job offer there but feel that it is TOO quiet for me so didn't take it up.

Is really too quiet there lah esp after 6 pm. Casino is the only bright spot at night. I visited the casino virtually every night during a short assignment there, as there's nothing else to do. Good for retirement but for pple in their prime, it's hard getting used to it.

04-04-12, 10:30

I will only migrate there if I can bring my helper along with me. :)

04-04-12, 10:35
Still a second class citizen. :banghead:

04-04-12, 11:24

You are too soft. My parents are in their 80s. They have no helper. ? only a gardener to mow the lawn, I *think* (my mum does most of the weeding herself). They don't live in a teeny apartment. They have a family size landed house.

04-04-12, 12:30

Me too.... can't live without domestic help.
My quality of life will deteriorate.

04-04-12, 12:45
OMG.... Singaporeans are such a pampered lot.

We are no longer the tough, resilient people we used to be... don't go blaming the Gahmen on this one. Better ask the help to go serve NS with your son.

04-04-12, 20:14
U got pray n donate money/time to help others or not? Good to find inner peace in urself n stop chasing wat u had lost else it is same as a gambler trying to win back his losses at casino. Grandma fell is one thing, but need to analyse y she fell n rectify things. Hope things will turn out well for u.

Thanks hyenergix! Very good and sensible suggestion. Always good advice from you, brother :)

05-04-12, 10:33
You are too soft. My parents are in their 80s. They have no helper. ? only a gardener to mow the lawn, I *think* (my mum does most of the weeding herself). They don't live in a teeny apartment. They have a family size landed house.

I dont need the helper to take care of me, but rather to help take care of those who are incapable of taking care of themselves. You might consider yourself lucky that your folks are healthy in their 80s, what if our parents are sick and bedridden, while at the same time we still have to work and take care of our own children?

Australians are doing it all by themselves because they dont have a choice. Given a choice like living in Singapore, most expat family will naturally hire a helper.

05-04-12, 10:38
You must have a long-serving domestic help.

I had good service long time ago - but the last couple of years have been 'challenging' to find a decent FDW. Lots of different issues and if this is the trend, I reckon not being dependend is the way to go.

Me too.... can't live without domestic help.
My quality of life will deteriorate.

05-04-12, 10:53
I dont need the helper to take care of me, but rather to help take care of those who are incapable of taking care of themselves. You might consider yourself lucky that your folks are healthy in their 80s, what if our parents are sick and bedridden, while at the same time we still have to work and take care of our own children?

Australians are doing it all by themselves because they dont have a choice. Given a choice like living in Singapore, most expat family will naturally hire a helper.

Availability of cheap domestic labour is going to decline in the future.

Australia has a lot of elderly folk. Because they are used to taking care of themselves, they tend to remain independent for a long time. After all, doing housework/gardening keeps them fit and mobile for a longer time than sitting around at home ordering the domestic help around.

Taking a FDW to a foreign country is pretty scary. There are not uncommon incidents of people bringing their maids over for sabbaticals overseas to take care of the children and the maids disappearing into thin air (ran away).

05-04-12, 11:06
Availability of cheap domestic labour is going to decline in the future.

Australia has a lot of elderly folk. Because they are used to taking care of themselves, they tend to remain independent for a long time. After all, doing housework/gardening keeps them fit and mobile for a longer time than sitting around at home ordering the domestic help around.

Taking a FDW to a foreign country is pretty scary. There are not uncommon incidents of people bringing their maids over for sabbaticals overseas to take care of the children and the maids disappearing into thin air (ran away).

the grass is always greener on the other side and western culture is not a cup of tea for everyone.

Most elderly in Australia will usually end up in retirement home when they are incapable of taking care of themselves. I am not sure if that is the best way to spend the last part of your life.

05-04-12, 11:16
the grass is always greener on the other side and western culture is not a cup of tea for everyone.

Most elderly in Australia will usually end up in retirement home when they are incapable of taking care of themselves. I am not sure if that is the best way to spend the last part of your life.

Yes you are right. If you did not spend some time in the West, it is not that easy to adapt to the way of life there (although there are many people who was lyrical about how much better the education system overseas is for the children, less stress, more quality time etc).

I am not sure if I would want to end up in a nursing home either. But unfortunately we are slowly going that way with our own society. With the low birth rate, many Singaporeans will end up in retirement home in the future which is not that far away. And with the shrinking sizes of homes, the family is not likely to be able to accomodate granny or grandpa with his wheelchair, portable toilet, walking frame, etc etc. Private nursing care at home is expensive (and cost will go up a lot in the years to come). You can't totally rely on the FDW to take on the role of care-giver and nurse when you are out at work and the children are in school. It is possible for the FDW to abuse the elderly person (has happened).

05-04-12, 11:20
You must have a long-serving domestic help.

I had good service long time ago - but the last couple of years have been 'challenging' to find a decent FDW. Lots of different issues and if this is the trend, I reckon not being dependend is the way to go.

The first one worked with me for 8 years.
Subsequently the others work for 2 years only as they had young kids and wanted to go home to take a break. Present one just renewed contract with me. So far, all my helpers are good and I am satisified with their performance.
Without a helper, life can still go on but I find myself rushing for time and I am unable to spend quality time with my family.
So I consider hiring a helper money well spent.