View Full Version : Cooling Measure can be as early as next week

FH99
11-04-12, 22:39
pure speculations. And as most of us have pointed out, it will be targeted at developers. Just look at the property stock price patterns these days ...

11-04-12, 23:00
i look down on them if they give more CM instead of implementing the showflat n marketing guidelines long overdue.

smallant
11-04-12, 23:17
The world markets are cooling enough lor.. Seeing lesser transactions done..
Think they will really implementing ? I doubt so .. :D

11-04-12, 23:27
I agree. They whack agents only but when it comes to developers, I don't think they even dare to speak up.

i look down on them if they give more CM instead of implementing the showflat n marketing guidelines long overdue.

11-04-12, 23:39
If they don't target CASH-BACK for new launch, I don't know what to say?!
If they don't target that 20% deferred payment scheme for new launch, , I don't know what to say?!
If they don't target 4-years SSD start from 100% payment made for property purchase, I don't know what to say?!

Talk so much, at the end of day, think they only target foreigners & resale properties' transactions! :doh:
Coffeeshop talk says any policies they have against developers going to be mild to avoid hitting their land sales programme?! Kill resale properties' market doesn't affect them!

pure speculations. And as most of us have pointed out, it will be targeted at developers. Just look at the property stock price patterns these days ...

lufu
11-04-12, 23:46
Developers pay a lot of tax. :D

Development charges, high land price, foreign worker levy, corporate tax. Cannot kill the goose that lay eggs right? :D :D :D

insigina
12-04-12, 00:04
The last CM they already infuriated many developers. Some even said they were not consulted! I don't think they will go that path again any time soon. If any CM, it will be targetted at banks and buyers of new developments. As for resale, they have achieved their objective already.

12-04-12, 00:12
Yup, doubtful with garment's ability to bite the hands that feed them thru taxes...

Buyer, kena Liao
Seller, kena Liao
Agent, kena Liao
Construction contractors, also kena Liao

Only left with developers, yet to kena!!!!

Garment got ball bor?

12-04-12, 04:23
Yup, doubtful with garment's ability to bite the hands that feed them thru taxes...

Buyer, kena Liao
Seller, kena Liao
Agent, kena Liao

Garment got ball bor?
Have lah.... I thought developer also kena a bit such as min construction timeframe and also the length the time it needs to sell, think 5 yrs right.
Another one is targeted at small developer at those telok kurau where e min plot must be 10000 sqft.

12-04-12, 08:04
if they really want to crash the private market, the best way is to crush the demand, so next cm is 'all singaporeans and pr not allowed to buy private properties'. if everybody just want a cooler market, the current CMs already done it.

12-04-12, 09:11
If there is a new CM, I think it will target commercial pty sector. There are many warning signs in the local news lately........

12-04-12, 09:13
I read that a clinic in Punggol HDB about 560sqft monthly rental is 32k :scared-1:

http://temasektimes.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/medicalpunggol.jpg?w=859&h=346

masterkey
12-04-12, 10:13
I read that a clinic in Punggol HDB about 560sqft monthly rental is 32k :scared-1:

http://temasektimes.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/medicalpunggol.jpg?w=859&h=346
Which will drive the consultation price up. What is interesting is that the top 3 bids are all more than 30k. Subsequent few bids are all very high too. HDB must have a control on the number of clinics in the area, allowing such clinics to pay high rental and remain profitable.

12-04-12, 10:15
Which will drive the consultation price up. What is interesting is that the top 3 bid are all more than 30k. Subsequent few bids are all very high too. HDB must have a control on the number of clinics in the area, allowing such clinics to pay high rental and remain profitable.

That's why prices in SG is controlled ... HDB must make $$$ just like URA selling lands ... the result is every year we are paying more and more for GP and dental and condos :doh:

The rental cost is 32k ... doctor + nurse easily 12k, other cost 1k ... fixed cost is 45k ... one day is $1,500 .. which translates to 20 patients X $75 or 30 patients X $50 to break even

12-04-12, 10:26
Have some sympathy for HDB GPs. Their overheads are so high. The medications are not cheap either. The staff costs are :beats-me-man: They have to work long hours to service their patients. It's quite a hard life. Their take home pay is probably less than what you think. And somemore they are at the front line. If they fail to make an important diagnosis, it can have serious consequences. :scared-5: So they can't exactly rush the consultations either. Babies and elderly are v. difficult patients. They can't tell you what is wrong with them and the symptoms can be deceiving. Elderly can have heart attacks without pain.....and infections without much fever......scary

Rosegarden
12-04-12, 11:01
That's why prices in SG is controlled ... HDB must make $$$ just like URA selling lands ... the result is every year we are paying more and more for GP and dental and condos :doh:

The rental cost is 32k ... doctor + nurse easily 12k, other cost 1k ... fixed cost is 45k ... one day is $1,500 .. which translates to 20 patients X $75 or 30 patients X $50 to break even
At the bottom of the list, the lone GPs only dared to bid less than 10k. Notice that the top bidders are medical groups, so they will have as many doctors deployed to the clinic as possible for long hours so as to break even. These doctors will draw a fixed salary (not sure, probably chiaberry will know) and be worked like a production operator, except that in this case their personal liabilities are much much higher. Businesses and landlords benefit while primary producers and consumers are squeezed.

repanse71
12-04-12, 11:04
if they really want to crash the private market, the best way is to crush the demand, so next cm is 'all singaporeans and pr not allowed to buy private properties'. if everybody just want a cooler market, the current CMs already done it.

Something simpler will do to crush demand.
First, computation of CPF funds available for property investment, non owner occupied, will consider 100% of minimum sum required.
Then, up the minimum sum.

12-04-12, 11:29
At the bottom of the list, the lone GPs only dared to bid less than 10k. Notice that the top bidders are medical groups, so they will have as many doctors deployed to the clinic as possible for long hours so as to break even. These doctors will draw a fixed salary (not sure, probably chiaberry will know) and be worked like a production operator, except that in this case their personal liabilities are much much higher. Businesses and landlords benefit while primary producers and consumers are squeezed.

Exactly, and u know they will charge much more during wee hours / weekends

1. Malls taken over by CapitalMall, Fraser Centre Point, AsiaMall
2. Food courts taken over by Kopitiam, Banquet, Koufu
3. Clinics taken over by medical groups
4. Dental taken over by dental groups

No wonder inflation is so high :banghead:

12-04-12, 11:45
And talk about 5 cooling measures for private residential properties, why no cooling measures for all these commercial properties, industrial properties, retails spaces, offices and business properties that I have mentioned about and which you highlighted below? :doh:
Main culprit: REITs, big muscular entities like big companies monopolizing the market! Should tax 10% ABSD for companies buying business properties (just like companies buying private residential properties!) :p

They not even willing to cool new launch private residential? Only interested to target resale private properties with loop-sided cooling measures? :tsk-tsk:

Exactly, and u know they will charge much more during wee hours / weekends

1. Malls taken over by CapitalMall, Fraser Centre Point, AsiaMall
2. Food courts taken over by Kopitiam, Banquet, Koufu
3. Clinics taken over by medical groups
4. Dental taken over by dental groups

No wonder inflation is so high :banghead:

12-04-12, 11:46
i look down on them if they give more CM instead of implementing the showflat n marketing guidelines long overdue.Who are the them?

12-04-12, 11:47
If they don't target that 20% deferred payment scheme for new launch, , I don't know what to say?!
If they don't target 4-years SSD start from 100% payment made for property purchase, I don't know what to say?!

Talk so much, at the end of day, think they only target foreigners & resale properties' transactions! :doh:
Coffeeshop talk says any policies they have against developers going to be mild to avoid hitting their land sales programme?! Kill resale properties' market doesn't affect them!
What is your objective? To be able to hoot a new launch at low price or u not happy your resale cannot move? If new launch down, resale will be even worse hit isn't it? If u are a property owner intending to sell instead if buy, u should be happy that new launch price is holding, so resale dun have to go further down. What makes u think that punishing the new launches will help resale? like I said unless u are aiming for a crash to buy.

12-04-12, 11:51

You are right. Consumers are squeezed. It is likely that the medical groups wish to go towards a monopoly and they have economies of scale (eg can bulk purchase medications, clinic supplies, bigger discounts on radiology and lab tests, staff can rotate on shifts). For those groups connected to private hospitals, they will try and channel any complicated patients to their own hospitals for further investigation/treatment.

Note that there is an upcoming IPO for the Parkway/Pantai group. Their hospital occupancies are currently quite high DESPITE the sky-high prices. Their clinics in Mt E Novena are sold out. Resale units of specialist clinics are transacting at record prices.

Consumer will have to pay and pay. :doh:

12-04-12, 11:52
Whenever developers are dragged in, it is nearly always inevitable to talk about the price of bidding for land parcels... sigh... it actually goes back to the entire structure lah... hdb price controls the bottomline lor... just bring down every tier of price structure lor.. demand sure go up de.. hahaha but all cheaper so no need CM coz prices are already controlled... lol!

12-04-12, 11:54
Agree. That's why many end up doing "aesthetic medicine" machiam beautician. Can earn more money doing beauty salon. One facial $100. Laser 1 pimple $100. Doctor consultation is only $30.

Have some sympathy for HDB GPs. Their overheads are so high. The medications are not cheap either. The staff costs are :beats-me-man: They have to work long hours to service their patients. It's quite a hard life. Their take home pay is probably less than what you think. And somemore they are at the front line. If they fail to make an important diagnosis, it can have serious consequences. :scared-5: So they can't exactly rush the consultations either. Babies and elderly are v. difficult patients. They can't tell you what is wrong with them and the symptoms can be deceiving. Elderly can have heart attacks without pain.....and infections without much fever......scary

flxcat
12-04-12, 12:02

This is part of the plan to create an inclusive society.
Those who make it already should slow down on wealth creation via resalling their PC.
Help those who aspire to own PC by continuing to let HDB rent out to fund their PC dream. Ha ha a very narrow view of mine indeed ha ha

rockinsg
12-04-12, 12:03
You are right. Consumers are squeezed. It is likely that the medical groups wish to go towards a monopoly and they have economies of scale (eg can bulk purchase medications, clinic supplies, bigger discounts on radiology and lab tests, staff can rotate on shifts). For those groups connected to private hospitals, they will try and channel any complicated patients to their own hospitals for further investigation/treatment.

Note that there is an upcoming IPO for the Parkway/Pantai group. Their hospital occupancies are currently quite high DESPITE the sky-high prices. Their clinics in Mt E Novena are sold out. Resale units of specialist clinics are transacting at record prices.

Want cheap cheap can go Malaysia

No choice hospitals have to pay to shareholders too :ashamed1:

12-04-12, 12:12
Who are the them?

big bludder...;)

Rosegarden
12-04-12, 12:32

Thanks for the tip on IPO ;).

BTW, didn't the real Mt E people raise a ruckus to protest against what them deem as dilution of the Mt E brand with the new Mt E Novena? You mean parkway group didn't back down and is still going ahead with the naming?

12-04-12, 12:36
Policies have to be equitable, regardless of new launch or resale. 40% cash-down to buy properties (due to 60% LTV) is meant as cooling measures, but when applied on new launch suddenly become 15% cash-down (due to 5% developers' cash-back) and 20% deferred payment scheme payment (for 2-3 years) makes sense? What cooling measure is this that actually apply to resale and not new launch? If the policies are equitably applied, and resale prices have to come down because new launch prices come down, I have nothing to say (in fact I have a lot to lose since I am holding resale properties). Not when the current policies give loop-hole to developers' new launch.... :tsk-tsk:

What is your objective? To be able to hoot a new launch at low price or u not happy your resale cannot move? If new launch down, resale will be even worse hit isn't it? If u are a property owner intending to sell instead if buy, u should be happy that new launch price is holding, so resale dun have to go further down. What makes u think that punishing the new launches will help resale? like I said unless u are aiming for a crash to buy.

12-04-12, 13:09
Want cheap cheap can go Malaysia

No choice hospitals have to pay to shareholders too :ashamed1:

Khazanah own hospitals in Malaysia (Pantai group) as well as Singapore (Parkway group).

Different pricing for different country.

12-04-12, 13:10
Thanks for the tip on IPO ;).

BTW, didn't the real Mt E people raise a ruckus to protest against what them deem as dilution of the Mt E brand with the new Mt E Novena? You mean parkway group didn't back down and is still going ahead with the naming?

As far as I am aware, it will still be Mt E Novena.

12-04-12, 13:20
Have lah.... I thought developer also kena a bit such as min construction timeframe and also the length the time it needs to sell, think 5 yrs right.
Another one is targeted at small developer at those telok kurau where e min plot must be 10000 sqft.
I believe somr of them gotten exemption. That one hear say.

12-04-12, 14:43

Buyer, kena Liao
Seller, kena Liao
Agent, kena Liao

Garment got ball bor?
like .

silver023
13-04-12, 11:39
Policies have to be equitable, regardless of new launch or resale. 40% cash-down to buy properties (due to 60% LTV) is meant as cooling measures, but when applied on new launch suddenly become 15% cash-down (due to 5% developers' cash-back) and 20% deferred payment scheme payment (for 2-3 years) makes sense? What cooling measure is this that actually apply to resale and not new launch? If the policies are equitably applied, and resale prices have to come down because new launch prices come down, I have nothing to say (in fact I have a lot to lose since I am holding resale properties). Not when the current policies give loop-hole to developers' new launch.... :tsk-tsk:

Agreed. It's time for developers to pay. Loopholes around new rules should be plugged. It's a question if whether govt dares to rock the developers' boat.

Havng said that, rumour is, rules may target REITS and/or commercial. Hearsay only.

13-04-12, 11:46

So why is the medical faculty still so sort after?
The students are not aware what they are in for.

13-04-12, 13:05
Why need somemore CM??
I tot MISSED THE BOAT EXPERT cum YOUNG KOK MR B 6-mths ago has been repeating 100x.. that price already down 20%?? He even say just bring cheques can easily get 20% off??:D :D :D

tons in strait times classified & propertyguru....go & ask for i, you will get, 10-20%...
I sold what I need to...only fools still keep now....in next 1-2 yrs, you will know....

17-04-12, 14:44
Brokers expect booming private residential property sales in Singapore, especially in the mass market segment, to result in government imposing another round of tightening measures.
"The bulk of the strong volumes represent demand for small mass market units that are substantially investment-driven in our view," CIMB Research said.
"Larger units, typically more suitable for owner occupation, have seen slower take-up. With mass market prices showing little signs of relenting, we see pressure mounting for further tightening measures," it said in a report.
CIMB kept its neutral rating on the sector and highlighted CapitaLand Ltd as its top pick and has an underperform rating on City Developments Ltd. CapitaLand's shares were down 1.7 per cent at S$2.9 and have gained 31 per cent so far this year, outperforming the broader market.
Private home sales excluding executive condominiums surged to a record 6,682 in the first quarter, the highest since the first quarter of 1996 when the Urban Redevelopment Authority began compiling the quarterly data.
"We do not discount the possibility of further measures in the shoe-box segment, although we highlight the volumes are supported by favourable interest rate environment, affordability levels and strong liquidity," Credit Suisse said. - REUTERS

17-04-12, 14:54
Brokers expect booming private residential property sales in Singapore, especially in the mass market segment, to result in government imposing another round of tightening measures.
"The bulk of the strong volumes represent demand for small mass market units that are substantially investment-driven in our view," CIMB Research said.
"Larger units, typically more suitable for owner occupation, have seen slower take-up. With mass market prices showing little signs of relenting, we see pressure mounting for further tightening measures," it said in a report.
CIMB kept its neutral rating on the sector and highlighted CapitaLand Ltd as its top pick and has an underperform rating on City Developments Ltd. CapitaLand's shares were down 1.7 per cent at S$2.9 and have gained 31 per cent so far this year, outperforming the broader market.
Private home sales excluding executive condominiums surged to a record 6,682 in the first quarter, the highest since the first quarter of 1996 when the Urban Redevelopment Authority began compiling the quarterly data.
"We do not discount the possibility of further measures in the shoe-box segment, although we highlight the volumes are supported by favourable interest rate environment, affordability levels and strong liquidity," Credit Suisse said. - REUTERS
Way off. Top 10 sales not even MM projects. Tok cok

17-04-12, 15:21
Way off. Top 10 sales not even MM projects. Tok cok

bro, top sales can never all be MM. how many Casa Cambio and GE or PRW are there? MM usually <100 units so u will see them conquering the bottom of the top 40 list. However look at how many MMs are fully sold shortly upon launch. Thats a better gauge.

17-04-12, 15:26
bro, top sales can never all be MM. how many Casa Cambio and GE or PRW are there? MM usually <100 units so u will see them conquering the bottom of the top 40 list. However look at how many MMs are fully sold shortly upon launch. Thats a better gauge.
Yes. But the report stated bulk of the VOLUME sold are small format units. Like ??

Eldenfirefly
17-04-12, 15:27
They may not wack developer that hard. After all, they need developers to continue to build and launch new units so that the supply is there. They may be worried that if they wack developer too hard, then the developers just postpone all their launches. All the big big developers got a lot of holding power.

If the developers postpone all launches, then no supply. No supply means in the end, the prices will still be driven up because demand >>> supply.
So, it may not be that simple and straight forward.

In any case, they wack developers, developer can always pass on the higher costs and taxes to the buyers mah.

17-04-12, 15:27
East Village 83 (Residential sold out)
Millage 69 (Sold out)
Natura @ Hillview 56
Casa Cambio 45 (Sold out)
Levenue 41
Parc Rosewood 41 (Almost sold out)
Sycamore Tree 41 (Sold out)
The Cristallo 38
Smart Suites 34
Cradels 31
NESS 25
Centra Residence 20 (almost sold out)
Riviera 38 20
Cardiff Residence 19 (almost sold out)
The Lush 19
Idyllic Suites 18
Primedge 18

GRAND TOTAL 618 MMs Sold.

These are all the MM project in the TOP 40 list (there are more MMs sold beyond top 40).

My point is. You can never see MM top the list when there are bigger projects with more than 100 units to compete with in the first place.

17-04-12, 15:32
East Village 83 (Residential sold out)
Millage 69 (Sold out)
Natura @ Hillview 56
Casa Cambio 45 (Sold out)
Levenue 41
Parc Rosewood 41 (Almost sold out)
Sycamore Tree 41 (Sold out)
The Cristallo 38
Smart Suites 34
Cradels 31
NESS 25
Centra Residence 20 (almost sold out)
Riviera 38 20
Cardiff Residence 19 (almost sold out)
The Lush 19
Idyllic Suites 18
Primedge 18

GRAND TOTAL 618 MMs Sold.

These are all the MM project in the TOP 40 list (there are more MMs sold beyond top 40).

My point is. You can never see MM top the list when there are bigger projects with more than 100 units to compete with in the first place.
Got your point. I was trying to say the report was wrong to attribute bulk of the sales vol to MM.....!!!!!

17-04-12, 15:34
They may not wack developer that hard. After all, they need developers to continue to build and launch new units so that the supply is there. They may be worried that if they wack developer too hard, then the developers just postpone all their launches. All the big big developers got a lot of holding power.

If the developers postpone all launches, then no supply. No supply means in the end, the prices will still be driven up because demand >>> supply.
So, it may not be that simple and straight forward.

In any case, they wack developers, developer can always pass on the higher costs and taxes to the buyers mah.
Hello. How to postpone as you please when die die must sell all units within 5yrs from date of land purchased?

17-04-12, 15:51
Got your point. I was trying to say the report was wrong to attribute bulk of the sales vol to MM.....!!!!!

But i do agree with that statement to an extent. See Ripple Bay for example.

300+ units sold in March, of which 1 bedders were almost fully sold. (122 1 bedders in the entire project). Many projects these days the 1 bedders are always first to go!

amazon777
17-04-12, 19:47
But i do agree with that statement to an extent. See Ripple Bay for example.

300+ units sold in March, of which 1 bedders were almost fully sold. (122 1 bedders in the entire project). Many projects these days the 1 bedders are always first to go!

It's the 2 bedded seaview unit that is being snap up before official launch.

18-04-12, 09:52
The thread started by saying CM as early as THIS week.

Any news ?

CondoInterested
21-04-12, 05:00
condosingapore.com natura (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=13150)

21-04-12, 10:49
The thread started by saying CM as early as THIS week.

Any news ?

The "next week" is over liao!
Unless this is going to BBBB another of those next next next next week thing.

21-04-12, 16:06
From the last few CMs, we gather that it is typically announced on Thursdays. So bro and sis here who have sleepless nites due to uncertainty, you can rest assured on all nites except maybe Wed nites... Lol

21-04-12, 16:48
Clearly I've made a mistake.
I've read the market completely wrong.
Indeed K-REITs, Fraser Comm REITs are coming UP.

I will start my 100 hours community service soon.

PS. I have blocked my other ID FH99 to avoid any confusion.

21-04-12, 16:57
This one doesn't count. The market impact is too small.

http://www.enterpriseone.gov.sg/en/News/2012/Apr/120419%20URA%20Implements%20Changes%20To%20Housing%20Developers%20Rules.aspx

19 Apr 2012
URA Implements Changes To Housing Developers Rules
New rules to take effect on 18 May 2012.

The Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) is tightening rules on property developers to promote transparency in the real estate sector and enable home buyers to make better informed decisions when acquiring a home.
From 18 May 2012, developers must:

provide more information on the housing project and property to home-buyers before issuing the Option-to-Purchase
provide their track record (at least one completed project)
obtain home-buyers' consent for changes to a housing unit
extend advertisements online
hand over keys to the units within 3 weeks after receiving payment
refund 75% of the booking fee within 4 weeks Meanwhile, the URA will also make necessary changes to the Housing Developers (Control & Licensing) Act. The revised rules will be introduced in the second half of this year.

21-04-12, 17:03
Bro, CM titles start with Measures to ensure a stable and sustainable property market....