View Full Version : From oversupply to UNDERsupply: Consultants see no glut in private home supply

28-04-12, 13:11
Consultants see no glut in
private homes
Business Times: Sat, Apr 28
SOME property consultants are
starting to switch their views on
the private housing market from
an oversupply story to one of
potential shortage, especially in
the hot-selling Outside Central
Region (OCR), based on the
latest Urban Redevelopment
Authority supply and demand
numbers.
Even as official figures show that
developers launched and sold a
record number of private homes
in the first quarter, URA noted
that this was fuelled by small
apartments that developers have
been pushing to keep lump-sum
prices affordable.
The URA's benchmark private
home price index fell 0.1 per
cent quarter-on-quarter (qoq) in
Q1, matching its earlier flash
estimate.
However, it was the industrial
property market that
outperformed every other
segment of private real estate
space, both in terms of price and
rental.
The price index for industrial
property rebounded 7.3 per cent
from the previous quarter. This,
after slowing down to a 4 per
cent rise in Q4 2011 from a 7 per
cent increase in Q3 2011. The
office price index was unchanged
while the shop price index was
up 0.2 per cent.
Likewise, URA's All Industrial
rental index rose 1.8 per cent in
Q1, surpassing gains of 0.3 per
cent for the private residential
rental index and 0.1 per cent for
the shop rental index and a 0.5
per cent dip in the office rent
index.
Developers launched 6,903
private homes in Q1, up 68.2 per
cent. Their sales rose 81.1 per
cent to 6,526 units. About four-
fifths, or 5,275 units, of the sales
came from OCR, where mass-
market homes are located.
Credo Real Estate executive
director Ong Teck Hui pointed
out that the number of units
developers sold in OCR in Q1
was about half the 10,374 they
sold in the same region last year.
Meanwhile, the stock of homes
that have yet to be sold in
uncompleted projects with
planning approvals (either
provisional or written permission)
fell from 39,184 at end-Q4 to
36,552 at end-Q1, pulled down
by a 15.8 per cent drop in OCR
to 16,928.
"What we need to watch out for
is whether the build-up in
potential supply is too slow
relative to market conditions
especially in OCR," said Mr Ong.
Savills Singapore research head
Alan Cheong noted that the
sales of 6,526 units works out to
26,104 on an annualised basis.
"At this rate, initial fears of
having 47,819 yet-to-be-sold
units (including those in projects
without planning approvals) in
the pipeline causing an
oversupply become passe,
reversing market watchers'
perception of a gross oversupply
to gross undersupply situation."
URA's sub-index for non-landed
private home prices in OCR rose
1.1 per cent in Q1, suggesting
that the uptrend could continue.
In contrast, indices for Core
Central Region (CCR), which
includes the choicest residential
locations, and Rest of Central
Region (RCR) each slipped 0.6
per cent.
DTZ Asia-Pacific research head
Chua Chor Hoon expects OCR to
remain the price outperformer,
either staying flat or easing up to
5 per cent for the full year, while
CCR will be worst hit, with a 5-10
per cent slide.
An interesting trend is that in all
three regions, prices of
uncompleted non-landed homes
were stronger than completed
properties, reflecting weaker
prices in the resale market.
Although the total number of
resales of completed private
homes slipped 29.4 per cent to
1,906 in Q1, this was due to
weak numbers in January and
February that were partly offset
by a significant recovery in
March.
"As prices of completed
properties in CCR and RCR have
fallen in Q1, buyers are moving
back to the secondary market
where they see more value for
money," says DTZ's Ms Chua.
Subsales - secondary market
deals of uncompleted properties
and often a proxy for speculative
activity - halved from 632 in Q4
to 317 in Q1. Their share of total
private home transactions
slipped to just 3.6 per cent for
Q1, following the steep seller's
stamp duty (SSD) rates
introduced in January 2011 to
deter short-term trading of
private homes. This has shrunk
the pool of buyers who can
offload their units in the subsale
market without incurring the
SSD.
At the same time, those thinking
of buying a property these days
are more likely to head for a
new developer launch. This
allows them to stretch the
purchase payment over the
three years or more that it takes
for the project to be completed
and by which time they could
sell their property without having
to incur any SSD or they could
chalk up just a small SSD.
The most recent property
cooling measure - the additional
buyer's stamp duty, which is as
high as 10 per cent for
foreigners who buy any
residential property here -
introduced on Dec 8, seems to
have had its desired effect. URA
figures show that foreigners'
share of uncompleted homes
sold by developers dived to 6.2
per cent in Q1 from 17 per cent
in Q4. With speculative demand
and foreign buying curbed, the
main bugbear for the authorities
now is exuberant developer
sales, analysts say.
URA figures show that 27 per
cent of the 6,526 units (including
68 completed units) comprised
small units (of 50 square metres
or below), up from 15 per cent
in Q4. The 27 per cent is
probably an all-time record.
Units costing up to $750,000
made up 42 per cent of
developers' Q1 sales, up from 25
per cent in Q4 and the highest
since 52 per cent in Q1 2009,
when property buying fervour
recovered after the global
financial crisis.
Reports have shown that the
bulk of small apartment buyers
have HDB addresses and are
hence unlikely to be considering
upgrading to a shoebox unit,
suggesting some exuberance in
investment demand for small
units - although some may be
buying for their children.
Source: Business Times ©
Singapore Press Holdings Ltd.

28-04-12, 13:26
yup i also beggining to feel all this talk of crash/oversupply is bulls#$t....just launch and sell people will buy buy buy...:cheers1:

28-04-12, 13:28
yup i also beggining to feel all this talk of crash/oversupply is bulls#$t....just launch and sell people will buy buy buy...:cheers1:

thats why today morning my wife asked me to read paper front page they mention property going to drop...i told her my dear please use the paper and ask my maid to use it to CLEAR my DOG POO from the garden....:D:D:D

28-04-12, 13:32
How can you trust ST .... first page title always manipulated

If I am the editor of ST, here is today's news:

"Katong Regency SO1W signals bull market ahead"

28-04-12, 14:05
wait till KBW back from Veitnam and what he got to say or what view he has or has he nothing to say with the new unit high vol transaction ? :p

28-04-12, 14:16
wait till KBW back from Veitnam and what he got to say or what view he has or has he nothing to say with the new unit high vol transaction ? :p

maybe act blur he waiting for 5 years to up..so can hand over to next BETTER player..:D

28-04-12, 14:25
maybe act blur he waiting for 5 years to up..so can hand over to next BETTER player..:D

Actually I feel that he need not be so concern about private property, just ensure that HDB is afforable can liao. That's the key objective ma.

28-04-12, 14:25
thats why today morning my wife asked me to read paper front page they mention property going to drop...i told her my dear please use the paper and ask my maid to use it to CLEAR my DOG POO from the garden....:D:D:D
LIKE!!!!!!!!!!

28-04-12, 14:33

About 4 years only. See who's next.

28-04-12, 14:39
i am convinced the ONLY person in the world that can control spore property market is Ah Ben....:o

28-04-12, 14:45
I maintain my view that prices will only drop if there is an economy crisis. This is based on past trend. Oversupply or over demand are bullshit. Property prices are closely linked to our STI. The so call 3 to 6 months lag is due to the delay between the option issued and lodging of caveat.

28-04-12, 14:46
i am convinced the ONLY person in the world that can control spore property market is Ah Ben....:o

Looks more like controlling the rental and making it go up, not the Spore pty market lar.

28-04-12, 14:48
I have a feeling this turning point to 'under-supply' situation could be fast n furious!

28-04-12, 15:46
This kind of news if published in ST, will result in panic buying by HDB upgraders and those on the sidelines

UNDERSUPPLY !!! Xiao liao. Kiasu Singaporeans will clean up every single project in next few weeks !!!

28-04-12, 19:52
Consultants see no glut in private homes
Business Times: Sat, Apr 28
SOME property consultants are starting to switch their views on the private housing market from an oversupply story to one of potential shortage,....

"At this rate, initial fears of having 47,819 yet-to-be-sold units (including those in projects without planning approvals) in the pipeline causing an
oversupply become passe, reversing market watchers' perception of a gross oversupply to gross undersupply situation."
Can simply switch views after the report that Sg needed 20k~25k new blood, simi ppty consultants are these?:doh: Many lao jiaos in this forum are better consultants.

28-04-12, 20:17
Can simply switch views after the report that Sg needed 20k~25k new blood, simi ppty consultants are these?:doh: Many lao jiaos in this forum are better consultants.

Yalor..... it is a no brainer.
I rather listen to the lao jiaos here.

danieltangtc
28-04-12, 20:36

Haha, one of my sec sch classmate is one of these so called 'consulatant'

Guess what? They all try to echoe whats in the news and other 'consultants' just to stay 'correct'

odd one out will have some explaining to do:doh:

28-04-12, 20:46

Consultant = con + insult + turn = any time can switch stands and turn around

Analyst = anal + lies = even though they are spewing lies they are anal about maintaining them

28-04-12, 20:51
Consultant = con + insult + turn = any time can switch stands and turn around

Analyst = anal + lies = even though they are spewing lies they are anal about maintaining them

like!!!!!!

28-04-12, 22:16
How can you trust ST .... first page title always manipulated

If I am the editor of ST, here is today's news:

"Katong Regency SO1W signals bull market ahead"

Thank you for using SO1W ! Glad that I am of use!

28-04-12, 22:21

In case you guys dont know, the alternate careers of these so-called ANALYSTs on newspaper, TV, whatever, is Ah B's friend - the ROTI PRATA man! Coz they can turn the turn the roti prata (the same one some more!) until it becomes crispy and burnt!

Since the first day the CM was announced, I maintained that Sg property market will maintain a gradual price appreciation of betw 0.5-1% every month/quarter. Though thats a bit vague also, but I think its clearer than the RP Man!

Dont pay too much attention to these people la! Work hard, go to the showflats, attend some launches, view some resale units, and see for yourself what kinda of market we are seeing now.

PS : If they give frequent ShowFlat points like Krisflyer, I would be RICH by now!

28-04-12, 22:37
I maintain my view that prices will only drop if there is an economy crisis. This is based on past trend. Oversupply or over demand are bullshit. Property prices are closely linked to our STI. The so call 3 to 6 months lag is due to the delay between the option issued and lodging of caveat.

Agree, only macroeconomic issues can correct the market, the rest are just noises.

28-04-12, 22:42
Agree, only macroeconomic issues can correct the market, the rest are just noises.

How about Beijing style - can only buy ONE property ?

28-04-12, 22:59
How about Beijing style - can only buy ONE property ?

One family member buy one property. GLS comes to a halt. Building grinds to a halt. They all adapt to the conditions. You need an asymmetric shock where the market cannot adjust fast enough.

28-04-12, 23:22
PS : If they give frequent ShowFlat points like Krisflyer, I would be RICH by now!
After visiting so many showflats, did u ever get served by the same agent twice? Or u always bring along ur personal stewardess?
U hv a dedicated library of brochures? :D