View Full Version : Facing west sun....

28-04-12, 21:48
Yesterday i did one viewing at a penthouse viewing supposed to be 5pm....about 3pm agent pull stunt call me say she can only make it 7pm...ok...the about 645 she call say she stuck in jam only can come 730pm...ok so i was like WTF is going on...:confused:

finally 730 go up and view this penthouse perfect back drop sun was setting....agent pointed to me see ..see sir so beautiful scenery...:o

then i went up to patio...KNS she forget to tell me sir NO need to take out your shoes...KNN the patio floor BURNING hot feel like those indian go fire walking ceremony....:doh:

Now i know why some agent advertise NO WEST sun...:D

28-04-12, 21:54
That reminds me of a 3 bedder unit I visited 2 years back. The entire house was burning. Walking inside that unit from room to room is like walking through the baking oven left unattended. Just after 10 mins of viewing, that poor agent in long sleeve shirt was perspiring until sweat dripping profusely like he just bathed with his shirt on! I told him the unit is v hot. He just smiled weakly and said, 'Good for drying clothes' with his clothes all wet... Such was the power of the west sun. :banghead:

28-04-12, 21:54
Yesterday i did one viewing at a penthouse viewing supposed to be 5pm....about 3pm agent pull stunt call me say she can only make it 7pm...ok...the about 645 she call say she stuck in jam only can come 730pm...ok so i was like WTF is going on...:confused:

finally 730 go up and view this penthouse perfect back drop sun was setting....agent pointed to me see ..see sir so beautiful scenery...:o

then i went up to patio...KNS she forget to tell me sir NO need to take out your shoes...KNN the patio floor BURNING hot feel like those indian go fire walking ceremony....:doh:

For penthouse, whether face north south east west, the roof terrace will be burning hot in the afternoon. Good for drying herbs and spices and sunning the mattress.:D

28-04-12, 21:56
For penthouse, whether face north south east west, the roof terrace will be burning hot in the afternoon. Good for drying herbs and spices and sunning the mattress.:DSun tan also good... ;)

28-04-12, 21:58
Sun tan also good... ;)
Ang mo sure like penthouse.:D

28-04-12, 22:04
For penthouse, whether face north south east west, the roof terrace will be burning hot in the afternoon. Good for drying herbs and spices and sunning the mattress.:D

ya i guess so but this one like direct facing west sun...if it was east facing i think impact in the afternoon towards evening would be less...anyway an eye opener for me i generally a ground loving person...but since that advertisment was so enticing decided to take a look...;)

28-04-12, 22:36
This kinda of comments only made by buyers who want to buy the unit cheap! Haha!

Office Boy like me can see through it !

Modern technology has improved so much that the rectification of the west sun problem is less than 0.5% of the unit price!

Also, if it means having to turn on the aircon an hour before your reach home, the cost is also negligible la!

Anyway, if the west sun unit has no other special views, then west sun no west sun, typical discount you can find in the market is abt 2-3%. This is the number used by valuers and developers when they price their launches.

Dont believe check it out yourself! After visiting more than 500 showflats, thats more or less the conclusion I get.

28-04-12, 22:41
ya i guess so but this one like direct facing west sun...if it was east facing i think impact in the afternoon towards evening would be less...anyway an eye opener for me i generally a ground loving person...but since that advertisment was so enticing decided to take a look...;)

At bedok reservoir?

28-04-12, 22:45
At bedok reservoir?

close...simei:cool:

28-04-12, 22:46
This kinda of comments only made by buyers who want to buy the unit cheap! Haha!

Modern technology has improved so much that the rectification of the west sun problem is less than 0.5% of the unit price!

Also, if it means having to turn on the aircon an hour before your reach home, the cost is also negligible la!

Anyway, if the west sun unit has no other special views, then west sun no west sun, typical discount you can find in the market is abt 2-3%. This is the number used by valuers and developers when they price their launches.

Dont believe check it out yourself! After visiting more than 500 showflats, thats more or less the conclusion I get.

500 showflats....what do you do for a living...:confused:

28-04-12, 22:47

I agree with the office boy:) .
I not scared of west sun.
In fact it makes the house looks bright and cheery.
And the sun set is so romantic!

House
28-04-12, 22:51
this is a very dumb agent

28-04-12, 23:00

trust me the new ruling by govt to regulate agents has not changed agents much..:cool:

28-04-12, 23:26

The agent should advise the owner to switch on the aircon few hours prior to the arrival of the viewer.

28-04-12, 23:30
The agent should advise the owner to switch on the aircon few hours prior to the arrival of the viewer.
Better still, wait till cloudy day or rainy day..! Tell buyer can check if roof has leakage....:D

Judas
28-04-12, 23:37
What can be done to reduce the heat in a west facing house (the usual curtain do not seem to be effective)?

29-04-12, 00:21
What can be done to reduce the heat in a west facing house (the usual curtain do not seem to be effective)?

sell it, buy a north - south facing unit. The most effective.

29-04-12, 00:33
You are joking right...

Can you tell me what can effectively rectify the west sun problem... please don't tell me solar fims, 3M films ...etc they don't work.... The films heat up and the glass window feels like a big heated panel.

Time the aircon to turn on before you get home?... OMG what a waste of electricity and resources.

Your talk sounds like typical agent con talk...

29-04-12, 01:08
Actually it is good to have some sun into certain areas of the house like toilets, yard area and balcony.

House
29-04-12, 01:13

condo and hdb units cant do much things at all.
1) ensure windows are open at both ends of the house, so as to enable air circulation. Better effects if you could install a air ventilation fan at the other of the house, less than $10 per mth to have it turned on 24x7.
2) double glazed windows - costly but it does helps a little.
3) solar films on windows/glass - make sure it is at least 95% IR. UV rating doesnt reduce heat.

As for landed - it will be too costly to replace the walls with "insulated bricks".

hope this helps

House
29-04-12, 01:15

yupz, thats why i say this agent is dumb dumb:doh:

29-04-12, 09:31
[QUOTE=azeoprop]Actually it is good to have some sun into certain areas of the house like toilets, yard area and balcony.
Morning sun is good enough but not aftn sun. 3m type can only minimise not completely

29-04-12, 09:54
Issued on 29-Apr-2012
Day
Forecast
Temperature
Monday
Morning thundery showers.
32/25 Degrees Celsius
Tuesday
Late morning and early
afternoon thundery showers .
33/25 Degrees Celsius
Wednesday
Late morning and early
afternoon thundery showers .
33/25 Degrees Celsius

29-04-12, 10:44
lol!!!!!!!!!!:D:D:D

29-04-12, 11:11
You are joking right...

Can you tell me what can effectively rectify the west sun problem... please don't tell me solar fims, 3M films ...etc they don't work.... The films heat up and the glass window feels like a big heated panel.

Time the aircon to turn on before you get home?... OMG what a waste of electricity and resources.

Your talk sounds like typical agent con talk...

I thought the most common one is sun louvres installed outside the house. I see on unit where the sun louvres can be slided so it can shift away from the window and not block your view. I thought it is quite a nice design and looks good on the outside.

29-04-12, 11:45
I thought the most common one is sun louvres installed outside the house. I see on unit where the sun louvres can be slided so it can shift away from the window and not block your view. I thought it is quite a nice design and looks good on the outside.

your post give me a thought of build the entire west side of the house with solar panel!

lol!! :D:D

29-04-12, 12:53
your post give me a thought of build the entire west side of the house with solar panel!

lol!! :D:D
LIKE!!!!!....

29-04-12, 13:04
You are right.

The louvre option is the best way to mitigate the sun. The sun has to be stopped outside the house and not thru' solar films which are actually inside the house and retain/emit a great deal of heat into the house. Curtains/blinds...etc don't work either for the same reason.

Landed properties can easily install these louvres. They are both functional and like you mentioned aesthetically pleasing as well. I am using adjustable wooden slatted louvres on some windows and aluminium fixed slatted louvres powder coated to "wood" colour on other windows. For me, it was more for aesthetic and privacy. You are right that it will probably solve the problem of the sun to a large extent.

But condos will have a problem having these installed as it will not be allowed by the MC.... some better designed condos I noticed like The Elliot at East Coast have incorporated these louvres on the west facing unit windows.

29-04-12, 13:11
when buying properties, beware that u can't run away from the noise (facing room, children playground), heat, and smell (bin centre)

29-04-12, 13:28
You are right.

The louvre option is the best way to mitigate the sun. The sun has to be stopped outside the house and not thru' solar films which are actually inside the house and retain/emit a great deal of heat into the house. Curtains/blinds...etc don't work either for the same reason.

Landed properties can easily install these louvres. They are both functional and like you mentioned aesthetically pleasing as well. I am using adjustable wooden slatted louvres on some windows and aluminium fixed slatted louvres powder coated to "wood" colour on other windows. For me, it was more for aesthetic and privacy. You are right that it will probably solve the problem of the sun to a large extent.

But condos will have a problem having these installed as it will not be allowed by the MC.... some better designed condos I noticed like The Elliot at East Coast have incorporated these louvres on the west facing unit windows.
Isnt those worse... If you sitting there you not only get tanned unknowingly your tan become one line one line... Turn into either Bee or Jailbird

29-04-12, 13:41
Isnt those worse... If you sitting there you not only get tanned unknowingly your tan become one line one line... Turn into either Bee or Jailbird

or a tiger?....zebra...?

No matter what you the effects of the west sun will surely be felt. IMHO louvres mounted outside the windows facing the sun is the best way to beat the heat.

For adjustable louvres it is even better, you can choose to close off completely or fully open to let in more light.

29-04-12, 14:00
or a tiger?....zebra...?

No matter what you the effects of the west sun will surely be felt. IMHO louvres mounted outside the windows facing the sun is the best way to beat the heat.

For adjustable louvres it is even better, you can choose to close off completely or fully open to let in more light.
Like blinds? Thats nice... Angry bird shit may be hard to clean though...

29-04-12, 14:06
Like blinds? Thats nice... Angry bird shit may be hard to clean though...

Birds should not perch there if it is vertical.
If so, then can put a scarecrow in front of your house :D .

29-04-12, 14:12
Dear Friends!

Sunday is the time to get out and visit some showflats la!

Dont tcss here anymore ... Get Moving !

PS : Office Boy going to some showflats already! Report back later!

29-04-12, 14:29
Dear Friends!

Sunday is the time to get out and visit some showflats la!

Dont tcss here anymore ... Get Moving !

PS : Office Boy going to some showflats already! Report back later!

Office boy, you going to work today?

29-04-12, 14:42
During the day, is the sun ray that shined into the Hse. At night, is the wall that emitted the heat absorbed during the day..

U name it, solar film, think backing reflective curtain only help a bit...

U need to be a sun lover to enjoy it, other then that , it is just hot hot hot...

29-04-12, 14:44
this sun louvres is also useful to block off rain while i still can get the cooling air ..assuming i open it in half position mode???

29-04-12, 14:51

Even the wooden parquet flooring also will fade colour...

29-04-12, 14:54
condo and hdb units cant do much things at all.
1) ensure windows are open at both ends of the house, so as to enable air circulation. Better effects if you could install a air ventilation fan at the other of the house, less than $10 per mth to have it turned on 24x7.
2) double glazed windows - costly but it does helps a little.
3) solar films on windows/glass - make sure it is at least 95% IR. UV rating doesnt reduce heat.

As for landed - it will be too costly to replace the walls with "insulated bricks".

hope this helps
Solar films Needs to obtain mc approval prior installation...tks

29-04-12, 15:23
or a tiger?....zebra...?

I have seen some landed properties these days have a lot of outside louvres. Looks like Prison!!! :tongue3:

29-04-12, 15:59
I have seen some landed properties these days have a lot of outside louvres. Looks like Prison!!! :tongue3:

I do agree many overdo it. Of course... it all depends on how the louvres are done. How big the panels are, spacing between slats, chord length of slats, colour....etc.

As to whether it looks good or not is very subjective... it sure does help in keeping out the heat But the problem in Singapore is the lack of available options for external adjustable louvres/slats/blinds unlike say in Australia, USA, Europe...etc. I wonder why don't any of the Singapore window specialists bring in these products since Singapore is such a sunny country.

29-04-12, 16:53

nothing beats a south facing property where you can open the windows to let in the light and still keep relatively cool.

Of course, if your property is Semi-D, then sure got sun problem.

Bungalow = oven?? I am sure there is a way all the GCBs are keeping cool? Maybe aircon 24/7?

29-04-12, 17:58
Bungalow = oven?? I am sure there is a way all the GCBs are keeping cool? Maybe aircon 24/7?

I think some of the GCB are designed to not have windows or have lesser/smaller windows in the west-facing side (since they have the luxury of space to customize the configuration).

29-04-12, 18:03
Even the wooden parquet flooring also will fade colour...

Yup. Had a house with west sun. Furniture
and cupboards deteriorate quite fast.

29-04-12, 22:28
for those who likes natural ventilation like myself (open windows and maybe just a ceiling fan) west sun is a big NO-NO. Best bet to get one or 2 floors below the PH or high floor and if there is west sun, make sure it only shines into your yard (good for drying clothes)

Maybe it doesn't affect prices according to the agent but i have stayed in a west sun kena'ed unit before and never would i stay again! :tongue3:

29-04-12, 22:44
for those who likes natural ventilation like myself (open windows and maybe just a ceiling fan) west sun is a big NO-NO. Best bet to get one or 2 floors below the PH or high floor and if there is west sun, make sure it only shines into your yard (good for drying clothes)

Maybe it doesn't affect prices according to the agent but i have stayed in a west sun kena'ed unit before and never would i stay again! :tongue3:

Agents will say anything to make a sale.... it definitely has a significant impact on the prices.... more so on condos than on landed.

House
29-04-12, 23:33
Agents will say anything to make a sale.... it definitely has a significant impact on the prices.... more so on condos than on landed.

Dear Sir, the west sun is nothing compare to your billion dollar SEA view and the million dollar MBS aka fireworks view. :tongue3:

Everyone lies:D

29-04-12, 23:55

For me, every 2 years look for new tenant, all feedback that they have enought of it(sun light) already ...

29-04-12, 23:58
Yup. Had a house with west sun. Furniture
and cupboards deteriorate quite fast.
All the items in way of the sun light kana... Can see two diff tone for area not affected

stiook
30-04-12, 22:17
For me, every 2 years look for new tenant, all feedback that they have enought of it(sun light) already ...

now I also worried my tenant will not renew... they will be facing the hottest month of the year soon. :(

I stayed there for 7 years... cannot imagine will stay west-facing again...

Judas
30-04-12, 23:50
Anybody with experience with solar curtains?
http://voices.yahoo.com/solar-curtains-product-review-6551940.html?cat=6

30-04-12, 23:55
Anybody with experience with solar curtains?
http://voices.yahoo.com/solar-curtains-product-review-6551940.html?cat=6

Don't know if they work but they sure look ugly....(think they don't work too)

01-05-12, 00:19
Don't know if they work but they sure look ugly....(think they don't work too)

Yup.... the place looks like a cocoon :eek: !

01-05-12, 00:24
A green and money saving way to make use of the solar heat is to use them to dry your wet clothes. You need a window grill with horizontal bars and plenty of clothes hangers though.

01-05-12, 00:51
A green and money saving way to make use of the solar heat is to use them to dry your wet clothes. You need a window grill with horizontal bars and plenty of clothes hangers though.

The hot sun will bleach your clothes.
How much clothes can you hang there everyday.
It is spoil the facade as well.

01-05-12, 00:56
The hot sun will bleach your clothes.
How much clothes can you hang there everyday.
It is spoil the facade as well.

Those cheap types r ok. Freshest smelling clothes r still sun dried.

01-05-12, 01:02
Those cheap types r ok. Freshest smelling clothes r still sun dried.

Actually you are rite.
Towels, bath mats all turn out dry and crisp.

01-05-12, 01:05

haha... make sure your undergarments don't have any holes in them when you have guests...

01-05-12, 01:15
haha... make sure your undergarments don't have any holes in them when you have guests...

LOL.... sometimes birds might build a nest in it too :D .

01-05-12, 10:54
What... You mean you leave undergarment hanging when guests are visiting?? Gee....

01-05-12, 14:38
What... You mean you leave undergarment hanging when guests are visiting?? Gee....

If not... how to block the sun?

01-05-12, 15:50

Sunlight kills the germs very effectively. Best of all it is free, but not too much of it, so NE or SW facing fairly okay.

01-05-12, 16:53

Ur underwear must b very big piece design to be able to block the sun....

supermax
01-05-12, 18:49
I do agree many overdo it. Of course... it all depends on how the louvres are done. How big the panels are, spacing between slats, chord length of slats, colour....etc.

As to whether it looks good or not is very subjective... it sure does help in keeping out the heat But the problem in Singapore is the lack of available options for external adjustable louvres/slats/blinds unlike say in Australia, USA, Europe...etc. I wonder why don't any of the Singapore window specialists bring in these products since Singapore is such a sunny country.

Planning to buy a condo in Melbourne,any gurus can give advice which facing is ideal as the city has cold winter.Thnks

01-05-12, 22:02
Planning to buy a condo in Melbourne,any gurus can give advice which facing is ideal as the city has cold winter.Thnks

NS facing... the UV down under is no joke.

There is a health warning on the too much sun.

The current slogan is " There is no such thing as a healthy tan"...

Fair Dinkum.

House
02-05-12, 00:28

any facing as long as it's near the universities:D

danieltangtc
02-05-12, 01:20
As an australian uni grad, i agree on the cold winters. However, i also agree on the equally hot summers (almost 50 degrees). As such no one unit is perfect. Top floor west facing units are great during winter as the sun heats up your ceiling and house before 5. During winter, the sky gets all black at 5 as the days are shorter. Save on the heater and you get to enter a warm house. I have been into some cold units with no sun facing and its like a freezer. Some friends even leave heater on 24/7.

During summer, my west facing top floor unit got so hot that my plastic stuff melted and literally HOT water came out from my cold water tap.

But if you're not staying in there then just ignore all I've said and get one near to uni, QV, central market and Chinatown with tram stop. Easy to rent to students ;)

supermax
02-05-12, 22:17
As an australian uni grad, i agree on the cold winters. However, i also agree on the equally hot summers (almost 50 degrees). As such no one unit is perfect. Top floor west facing units are great during winter as the sun heats up your ceiling and house before 5. During winter, the sky gets all black at 5 as the days are shorter. Save on the heater and you get to enter a warm house. I have been into some cold units with no sun facing and its like a freezer. Some friends even leave heater on 24/7.

During summer, my west facing top floor unit got so hot that my plastic stuff melted and literally HOT water came out from my cold water tap.

But if you're not staying in there then just ignore all I've said and get one near to uni, QV, central market and Chinatown with tram stop. Easy to rent to
students ;)
The project i intend to buy has units facing NE and SW,nearby Victoria Market,dont know which facing to choose?

02-05-12, 22:21
My dad hangs SG flag or some light-reflecting cloth on the wall (outside). It does block out some heat...

How do you put your arms or legs through the undergarments if they don't have holes? :D You use cloth to wrap?

02-05-12, 22:33
The project i intend to buy has units facing NE and SW,nearby Victoria Market,dont know which facing to choose?

Go for north facing units in the southern hemisphere. The sun swings towards the north in the southern hemispheres during winter when you need the sun, and similarly towards the south during summer when you don't want the sun.

Elementary geography :2cents:

Similarly, southern facing units is preferred in the northern hemisphere. Eg china, mandatory to having south facing windows in housing units in northern china.... In line with fengshui too!:)

Provided the views are equally good/bad....

Singapore, north or south no difference, since we're smack on the equator.:p

03-05-12, 06:39
Prevailing wind conditions in Singapore are mainly in the NE/SW direction (like our airport runways) and during summer months the SW winds prevail so between N and S facing, S would at least get some wind for ventilation during warmer months. Between the equinoxes of March and September the sun rises and sets from azimuth 67 to 293 at an angle 70 degree to the N so this is second reason why S theoretically better as the sun is minimized during the warmer months. Between Sep and Mar equinoxes, which is past the warmer months the S will get the sun as it rises and sets from azimuth 113 to 247 and at an angle. I think its not too bad since year end is generally cooler than mid year. In China my guess is there is the chilling N wind that comes by during winter so S facing is preferred to keep warm. That said, direction is just one of many factors to consider when choosing a house. Hope sharing this helps.

heehee
03-05-12, 07:55
S & SE is better. SW even has wind is warm wind, not really of any use.

Prevailing wind conditions in Singapore are mainly in the NE/SW direction (like our airport runways) and during summer months the SW winds prevail so between N and S facing, S would at least get some wind for ventilation during warmer months. Between the equinoxes of March and September the sun rises and sets from azimuth 67 to 293 at an angle 70 degree to the N so this is second reason why S theoretically better as the sun is minimized during the warmer months. Between Sep and Mar equinoxes, which is past the warmer months the S will get the sun as it rises and sets from azimuth 113 to 247 and at an angle. I think its not too bad since year end is generally cooler than mid year. In China my guess is there is the chilling N wind that comes by during winter so S facing is preferred to keep warm. That said, direction is just one of many factors to consider when choosing a house. Hope sharing this helps.

03-05-12, 08:11

You getting Fulton ln? Bot a unit there last weekend. Backside itchy.
Haha

03-05-12, 09:37
Can't believe this thread is so hot ... .in a decent project, if you sell me 10% lower and the unit is facing SSW or NNW (and unblocked view) I will take ... so it all depends on the price isn't it?? Pure west facing units is rare nowadays ... still SW is better than NW simply because at year end, more rain less sun, SW only gets west sun at year end :D

坐北朝南 is a general guideline ... not a hardwired rule, getting sunlight into toilet or your kitchen sink is a plus

supermax
03-05-12, 21:48
Go for north facing units in the southern hemisphere. The sun swings towards the north in the southern hemispheres during winter when you need the sun, and similarly towards the south during summer when you don't want the sun.

Elementary geography :2cents:

Similarly, southern facing units is preferred in the northern hemisphere. Eg china, mandatory to having south facing windows in housing units in northern china.... In line with fengshui too!:)

Provided the views are equally good/bad....

Singapore, north or south no difference, since we're smack on the equator.:p

Bro,Thnks for the infor.In other words will go for South facing in Melbourne.

supermax
03-05-12, 21:51
You getting Fulton ln? Bot a unit there last weekend. Backside itchy.
Haha

U bought phase 1 or 2? I think that location wont go wrong,cheers:)

03-05-12, 21:56
Bro,Thnks for the infor.In other words will go for South facing in Melbourne.

I think he meant North facing in Southern Hemisphere.

heehee
03-05-12, 23:39
Can advise what does "sun rises and sets from azimuth 67 to 293 at an angle 70 degree to the N" mean?
Sun doesn't rise exactly at East but is at 70 degrees to the North during Mar-Sep, is that what you mean?
What about Oct-Feb period? I guess Sun moves toward South? By how many degrees?
Thanks. Learn something new today.

04-05-12, 00:18
Can't believe this thread is so hot ... .in a decent project, if you sell me 10% lower and the unit is facing SSW or NNW (and unblocked view) I will take ... so it all depends on the price isn't it?? Pure west facing units is rare nowadays ... still SW is better than NW simply because at year end, more rain less sun, SW only gets west sun at year end :D

坐北朝南 is a general guideline ... not a hardwired rule, getting sunlight into toilet or your kitchen sink is a plus
Ya, some sun is good. Won't want to be living like a vampire. Natural light bring out the warmth in the house....agree , sunlight into toilet good for ventilation, kitchen and yard is good, so that these areas are not damp and gloomy, good for drying clothes, much better than dryer...:2cents:

04-05-12, 05:35
Can advise what does "sun rises and sets from azimuth 67 to 293 at an angle 70 degree to the N" mean?
Sun doesn't rise exactly at East but is at 70 degrees to the North during Mar-Sep, is that what you mean?
What about Oct-Feb period? I guess Sun moves toward South? By how many degrees?
Thanks. Learn something new today.

Take a look at Singapore's sun path diagram.
http://www.gaisma.com/en/location/singapore.html

What I mean is that in June the sun rises at the 2'o clock direction and sets at the 10 o'clock direction. That's roughly azimuth 67 to 293. And if u r standing right in the middle of a clock face, the sun actually rises and sets from positions 2 to 10 in front of you at an angle and not directly above you from positions 3 to 9. Oct to Feb will be south, you are right, maximum is around Dec when the earth's Dec solstice which is roughly 4 o'clock direction to 8.

04-05-12, 10:14

What I mean is that in June the sun rises at the 2'o clock direction and sets at the 10 o'clock direction. That's roughly azimuth 67 to 293. And if u r standing right in the middle of a clock face, the sun actually rises and sets from positions 2 to 10 in front of you at an angle and not directly above you from positions 3 to 9. Oct to Feb will be south, you are right, maximum is around Dec when the earth's Dec solstice which is roughly 4 o'clock direction to 8.

It used to take me some time to understand the sun path previously. kanarazu, I think you gave a marvelous and succinct explanation! Thanks!

04-05-12, 10:19
Now I understand all this 'Sun moves every half year concept'.
Learn new stuff - cool. No wonder I can't dry my shoes in the balcony from April...Sun moved to the yard...

But why like dat?

04-05-12, 11:29
Now I understand all this 'Sun moves every half year concept'.
Learn new stuff - cool. No wonder I can't dry my shoes in the balcony from April...Sun moved to the yard...

But why like dat?
Coz the Earth rotates at an angle on its axis. And I think that is roughly 27deg? The Sun never moves. It is the fixed "light" source...

04-05-12, 11:42

This diagram is fantastic, will add to my phone & remove all the guess work. Thanks.
Ur explaination is clear as daylight, do u happen to be able to tell the time just by looking at the position of the sun? Am not surprised if ur answer is yes.

04-05-12, 12:07
This diagram is fantastic, will add to my phone & remove all the guess work. Thanks.
Ur explaination is clear as daylight, do u happen to be able to tell the time just by looking at the position of the sun? Am not surprised if ur answer is yes.
Yes the sun path diagram really accurate. I stay in a condo exactly NS facing on the South side. The sun shine really follows the pattern. Last 6 months its my opposite neighbours balconies got those angled morning and afternoon sun. Just when I thought ha ha I am always in cool shade now its my turn... Bloody.... But good as can save on dryer. Just sun laundry 4 hours settled...

04-05-12, 13:04

LIKE!!!!!:)

04-05-12, 13:12
Yes the sun path diagram really accurate. I stay in a condo exactly NS facing on the South side. The sun shine really follows the pattern. Last 6 months its my opposite neighbours balconies got those angled morning and afternoon sun. Just when I thought ha ha I am always in cool shade now its my turn... Bloody.... But good as can save on dryer. Just sun laundry 4 hours settled...
Save on dryer spent on aircon. :p
Mine South facing slight hit Oct~Mar, next time must hunt for a precise 5:30 clock facing...heehee:D

pinkpolkadot
04-05-12, 15:04
Is East facing a good choice?

04-05-12, 15:06
Gre8t ..morning Sun to let in the sunshine...

04-05-12, 19:45

No lah I cannot tell. :) but I know the mid day sun is at 1pm and not 12 noon in singapore since sunrise sunset is 7am7pm.

04-05-12, 19:46

No... Hot like crazy between 10am-12pm.

04-05-12, 19:53
Wow, from all the "like" posts, you all are geniuses.
I can't understand at all :ashamed1: .
Anyway I never notice where the sun shines as I always hide in the aircon room with the curtains closed.
My place has so much sun that I have no problem drying clothes, sunning my mattress. My dryer broke down because I hardly used it.
Sun makes the place bright and cheerful.
No wonder some people get depressed during winter.

04-05-12, 20:01
Wow, from all the "like" posts, you all are geniuses.
I can't understand at all :ashamed1: .
Anyway I never notice where the sun shines as I always hide in the aircon room with the curtains closed.
My place has so much sun that I have no problem drying clothes, sunning my mattress. My dryer broke down because I hardly used it.
Sun makes the place bright and cheerful.
No wonder some people get depressed during winter.

Is ur place windy as well sister carp?

pinkpolkadot
04-05-12, 20:15
No... Hot like crazy between 10am-12pm.

Good for laundry and airing the house.

04-05-12, 21:05
No lah I cannot tell. :) but I know the mid day sun is at 1pm and not 12 noon in singapore since sunrise sunset is 7am7pm.
At 1pm because Sg time forward to +8 GMT instead of +7 GMT :cool:
U not local ya?

04-05-12, 21:24
At 1pm because Sg time forward to +8 GMT instead of +7 GMT :cool:
U not local ya?

I am local. I remember it should be forward 30 min not 1 hour in the early 80s. I was mindful of that because I wanted to catch the RTM tv programme in the evening.

04-05-12, 22:03
Yup 30min in 1982, another 30min in 1941.

04-05-12, 22:28
Yup 30min in 1982, another 30min in 1941.

1942 we followed GMT+9 when we became 昭南島 under Japanese rule. Under british rule we were 7.5. The 1982 time zone shift was from GMT +7.5 to GMT+8. The most suitable time for SG IMHO should be GMT+7 same as ID and TH if we want to align the mid day sun to be at 12 noon exactly

05-05-12, 00:20
1942 we followed GMT+9 when we became 昭南島 under Japanese rule. Under british rule we were 7.5. The 1982 time zone shift was from GMT +7.5 to GMT+8. The most suitable time for SG IMHO should be GMT+7 same as ID and TH if we want to align the mid day sun to be at 12 noon exactly

Having the midday sun at 12 noon exactly does not have any real advantages. Unless you need to keep time for something like a gunfight appointment at "High Noon at the OK Corral"

The real advantage is that the sun will rise 1 hour earlier if Singapore goes GMT+7. This means that the Sun in Singapore will typically rise around 6am instead of 7am. Singaporeans, especially school children will find it easier to wake up as the sun rises bcoz this is closer to their natural circadian rythm and will feel less fatigued when up.

The reason for the change to GMT+8 was a political one... and has to do with our neighbours up north, which I think is an interesting story as told by LKY in one of his memoirs. haha... unlike me... I guess nobody reads his memoirs anymore. (I think I am gonna get flamed for even mentioning it....)

ps. - I took some poetic licence, the gunfight at Ok Corral was actually at 3pm...

05-05-12, 00:44

ps. - I took some poetic licence, the gunfight at Ok Corral was actually at 3pm...
good classic movie....:D

05-05-12, 02:05
Is ur place windy as well sister carp?

Hi bro price, yes it is extremely windy at my place especially if there is a thunderstorm.
It can be quite scary n I have to make sure the doors are properly secured with hooks to prevent them from slamming.

05-05-12, 08:01
Hi bro price, yes it is extremely windy at my place especially if there is a thunderstorm.
It can be quite scary n I have to make sure the doors are properly secured with hooks to prevent them from slamming.

:scared-1:...thats scaring...:scared-1:

05-05-12, 12:49
Last night 2am storm the deck chairs almost flew across the pool at my condo...

06-05-12, 20:55
now I also worried my tenant will not renew... they will be facing the hottest month of the year soon. :(

I stayed there for 7 years... cannot imagine will stay west-facing again...

yap...the "Solar Windows" covers at a angle est at 22 degree northwest at the peak around 3rd week June and those are the hottest period...

and most of the tenant will use this excuse to ask for rental fee to maintenance also

06-05-12, 20:57
Last night 2am storm the deck chairs almost flew across the pool at my condo...

my place the swimming pool is covered with tree leaves

surfuz
19-05-12, 12:14
For PH units, a lot of owners install timber decking at the open terrace. Won't that help?

19-05-12, 13:00
One side of my house kena west sun, and one reason why I love it is because my sun loving plants get to grow very well there ... But the tiles could get really hot and scorch the feet if walk barefooted