View Full Version : Shoebox units an untested market in heartland: Khaw

reporter2
22-05-12, 22:27
http://www.straitstimes.com/Singapore/Story/STIStory_798936.html

Shoebox units an untested market in heartland: Khaw

Minister says Govt monitoring rising popularity of such flats, will regulate if necessary

Published on May 15, 2012

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20120514/ST_IMAGES_VSHOEBOX2.jpg
A bedroom in a 635 sq ft three-bedroom apartment at Natura at Hillview Terrace in Bukit Batok. A typical three-bedroom unit occupies 1,000 to 1,500 sq ft of space. Shoebox units make up 1.2 per cent of the 210,000 non-landed private housing stock. -- ST PHOTO: JOYCE FANG

By Amanda Tan

NATIONAL Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan gave yet another warning on shoebox apartments yesterday, amid a craze for these small units.

Shoebox flats, which are 50 sq m (about 540 sq ft) or smaller, have been gaining ground among homebuyers in Singapore, and have proliferated, with many being built in suburban areas.

But the shoebox market in the heartland is 'untested', Mr Khaw said in Parliament, echoing earlier warnings from property consultants that it remains to be seen if tenants will bite.

The minister also said the Government is 'monitoring the trend of shoebox units in Singapore' and will consider 'additional regulations', if necessary.

He made a similar comment at a feedback forum earlier this month, saying the Government will 'step in' if the proportion of such homes becomes too high.

While the low absolute price of such flats has appealed to buyers, they have been criticised for driving property prices higher and being too small to live in, for example.

Mr Khaw, who was replying to Mr Ang Wei Neng (Jurong GRC), noted that there are about 2,500 completed shoebox apartments in Singapore.

These make up 1.2 per cent of the 210,000 non-landed private housing stock.

About 80 per cent of these completed flats, which are targeted mostly at singles and expatriates, are found in the Central Region, he said.

Mr Khaw added that the stock of shoebox units is expected to increase, hitting about 9,700 units by 2015. But unlike existing units, many new ones will be found in suburban areas.

While he has yet to have a clear picture of the buyer profile of these flats, Mr Khaw said that, at a glance, it is mostly Singaporeans 'with an HDB address'.

'Obviously, they don't plan to stay there because they won't be able to fit into this 50 sq m for a family of several (members)... Looks like they are investors parking their funds there and expecting to be able to rent out,' he said, suggesting that some buyers could have seen units in the Central Region being tenanted out relatively easily, and with a reasonable yield.

Still, Mr Khaw stopped short of introducing new measures now, as the heartland is still an 'untested market' for shoebox units.

He said: 'It is hard for me to intervene in the market thinking that I know better than the developers or the investors.

'So I think the minimum I can do is to alert everybody... and I think my job is to share information as much as I can with the investing public as well as the developers.

'But we are watching it closely and, if need be, if evidence is clear that we need to intervene, I will not hesitate.'

Mr Khaw also highlighted new rules which will be implemented later this week to provide more transparency for buyers in the property market.

These include requiring developers to provide more information, like the breakdown of a unit's total floor area.

In a separate reply to Mr Liang Eng Hwa (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC), Mr Khaw noted that several rounds of property market cooling measures have produced results.

For the first time in several quarters, private home prices saw a marginal decline in the first quarter of the year.

'These are encouraging signs that the market is moving towards a more sustainable path. But we must not let our guard down,' he said.

Still, he acknowledged concerns, like rising prices for mass market properties outside the Central Region, and said developments will be monitored closely.

22-05-12, 22:43
talk talk and more talk...:doh:

House
22-05-12, 23:22
talk talk and more talk...:doh:

they always NATO lah

23-05-12, 07:58
for investment purpose, we have the choice not to buy the shoe box units; there is no need for government to nanny us every time. from KBW seems like many buyers of shoe box units in suburan r hdb owners, if really want to intervene, KBW should know wat to do.

23-05-12, 08:09
Many things you need to test
Most things we just put to rest
Woe betide if hold's too tight
Won't be long we see no light

23-05-12, 08:38
IMHO, if you have been staying in a "big house" before, you might have difficulty in adopting to a "smaller house" but if all along you have been staying in a "smaller house", then it might not have any problem to stay in a slightly "smaller house" than your current one.

23-05-12, 09:01
Did dtrax say it is a quantum play?

23-05-12, 09:10
Many things you need to test
Most things we just put to rest
Woe betide if hold's too tight
Won't be long we see no light

Like!
写些华文的,你该有些才华

23-05-12, 09:32
世事难预料
可致之一笑
是否抓太紧
人人道不尽

My first try!!!

Think bro kanarazu can do better

23-05-12, 09:53
世事难预料
可致之一笑
是否抓太紧
人人道不尽

My first try!!!

Think bro kanarazu can do better

欧美多事之秋
地产暗流汹涌
世事难以预料
江山如此多娇
何不把酒当歌
人生难得尽欢

:p

23-05-12, 10:00
欧美多事之秋
地产暗流汹涌
世事难以预料
江山如此多娇
何不把酒当歌
人生难得尽欢

Reading your poem the song and scenes from the 东方不败 immediately come to mind... 乐逍遥呀!!!

http://english.cri.cn/mmsource/images/2009/05/19/4220xtylnlin.jpg

23-05-12, 10:02
Reading your poem the song and scenes from the 东方不败 immediately come to mind... 乐逍遥呀!!!

lol Mr B asked me why I read his post if not making investment decision out of it ... I answered him "for entertainment"

23-05-12, 10:05
lol Mr B asked me why I read his post if not making investment decision out of it ... I answered him "for entertainment"

I totally skip that thread....

23-05-12, 10:08
seriously.......don't turn this into 唐诗101........

23-05-12, 10:13
Back to topic, if you are retiring with your HDB fully paid, CPF / cash 600k ... would you buy MM, move out to MM and rent out HDB ?? In 2009, you could buy a 2br ... but QE1/QE2 and high land / construction price simply remove that possibility

No brainer lah

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20120522/msc1e.jpg

23-05-12, 10:18

Lol!!!!!!!

23-05-12, 10:27
I think OCR MM near MRT below 800k still got chance to make a little. Below 600k next to MRT just buy !!! 8RS 441sqft MM at 550k is definitely very good buy.

THE SCALA SERANGOON AVENUE 3 Apartment 1 702,000 474sqft Strata 1,482psf Oct-10

THE SCALA SERANGOON AVENUE 3 Apartment 1 635,000 474 Strata 1,341psf Dec-10

ARCHIPELAGO BEDOK RESERVOIR ROAD Condominium 1 624,000 527 Strata 1,183psf Apr-12

BEDOK RESIDENCES BEDOK NORTH DRIVE Apartment 1 785,100 517 Strata 1,520psf Mar-12

THE TRUMPS JALAN KEMBANGAN Condominium 1 815,000 646 Strata 1,262psf Apr-12

CASPIAN LAKESIDE DRIVE Condominium 1 626,888 463 Strata 1,354psf May-12

23-05-12, 10:59

Btw its 唐诗300首 not 101. We still have 298 to go..:tongue3:

23-05-12, 11:00
I think OCR MM near MRT below 800k still got chance to make a little. Below 600k next to MRT just buy !!! 8RS 441sqft MM at 550k is definitely very good buy.

THE SCALA SERANGOON AVENUE 3 Apartment 1 702,000 474sqft Strata 1,482psf Oct-10

THE SCALA SERANGOON AVENUE 3 Apartment 1 635,000 474 Strata 1,341psf Dec-10

ARCHIPELAGO BEDOK RESERVOIR ROAD Condominium 1 624,000 527 Strata 1,183psf Apr-12

BEDOK RESIDENCES BEDOK NORTH DRIVE Apartment 1 785,100 517 Strata 1,520psf Mar-12

THE TRUMPS JALAN KEMBANGAN Condominium 1 815,000 646 Strata 1,262psf Apr-12

CASPIAN LAKESIDE DRIVE Condominium 1 626,888 463 Strata 1,354psf May-12

550k 臭臭 can make 150k after 4y SSD....

The Bedok Res is subsale?? No SSD? :scared-2: :scared-1: :confused: 1520psf is 疯 for Bedok D16

23-05-12, 11:03

Bedok R is new sales by developers just b4 ABSD

Untested for rental ... no problem ... just rent out HDB and move into MM

http://www1.uob.com.my/jsp/forms/creditcard/images/lady.gif

"The men don't get it"

23-05-12, 11:16
Bedok R is new sales by developers just b4 ABSD

Untested for rental ... no problem ... just rent out HDB and move into MM

"The men don't get it"

Men in white huh

23-05-12, 11:18
and for MM ... does not matter 99LH or freehold ...quantum and MRT is the name of game

Freehold in D16, 600m from TM MRT:

EAST VILLAGE UPPER CHANGI ROAD Apartment 1 609,022 441 Strata 1,380psf Apr-12

99LH next to Punggol MRT:

WATERTOWN PUNGGOL CENTRAL Apartment 1 617,154 527 Strata 1,170 Mar-12

if I am retiree ... which one do u think I will stay in?? One 99LH on top of mall and next to MRT or one freehold one 600m from MRT?

23-05-12, 11:36
The traditional thinking is that 2BR is less restrictive in terms of rentals as they could be rented to singles or co-shared by 2 x singles. But with more MMs coming in, i am wondering if they will start to give these 2BRs a run for their money?

- Singles or couples who are now renting 2BR condo will now have a choice of renting a cheaper MM (with more MMs in the market)

- Singles who used to co-share a 2BR condo may not mind forking out additional $500/mth for a MM to enjoy his own space and privacy

Since MM rentals in OCR is said to be 'untested', i am just sharing some of my thoughts

23-05-12, 11:38
The traditional thinking is that 2BR is less restrictive in terms of rentals as they could be rented to singles or co-shared by 2 x singles. But with more MMs coming in, i am wondering if they will start to give these 2BRs a run for their money?

- Singles or couples who are now renting 2BR condo will now have a choice of renting a cheaper MM (with more MMs in the market)

- Singles who used to co-share a 2BR condo may not mind forking out additional $500/mth for a MM to enjoy his own space and privacy

Since MM rentals in OCR is said to be 'untested', i am just sharing some of my thoughts

I already refuted the 'untested' claims with real world rentals achieved... In the other thread. No need to wonder...

Ilikeu
23-05-12, 11:39
and for MM ... does not matter 99LH or freehold ...quantum and MRT is the name of game

if I am retiree ... which one do u think I will stay in?? One 99LH on top of mall and next to MRT or one freehold one 600m from MRT?

Not sure about you... but for me, it is watertown.

Ilikeu
23-05-12, 11:40

The Bedok Res is subsale?? No SSD? :scared-2: :scared-1: :confused: 1520psf is 疯 for Bedok D16

Wah...$150k potential profit har! anymore units left?

23-05-12, 11:44

The question again boils down to location, facilities, the need for one extra room, new vs old. If you are 2 singles / a working PMET couple / retirees renting out PC. Would you pay 3k per month for renting 10y old Simei Green 2br 9XXsqft or 2.3-2.5k for brand new Optima 1br 4xxsqft or DBR 1br 5XXsqft.

Assume 2.4k per month and 700k quantum, it is about 4% gross rental yield.

23-05-12, 11:44

Diff ppl may have diff preferences, but if i were a retiree, i would not want to stay on top of a crowded modern mall. I would prefer a place with nearby hawker centres, coffeeshops, grocery stores, clinics etc. I wouldnt wanna eat at lousy food courts, crystal jades, thai express, dian xiao'er, ichibansushi everyday... LOL