View Full Version : Got money why don't buy property.

28-05-12, 20:19
The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com (http://www.straitstimes.com)
Published on May 28, 2012

Investors cry foul over $10m start-up 'scam'

They claim they were tricked into thinking company was doing well

By Jalelah Abu Baker
THEY thought they were investing in the next Google or Yahoo!, but after sinking more than $10 million into a start-up fronted by an entrepreneur from Hong Kong, a group of Singaporean investors have now lodged a police report alleging the proposal was a scam. More than 20 investors had put money into a website touted to be the first business-to-business portal for suppliers in the region to market their products in China. But they say the start-up has failed to take off. Among the investors are a former MP, businessmen and lawyers who requested anonymity to avoid embarrassment. Aged 50 to 60, some are seasoned investors while others are first-timers. Speaking to The Straits Times, eight of them claimed they were approached by a stockbroker, who used to be a trading representative at a securities firm here, in 2006 and 2007. They said they trusted him as he was senior and had several years of experience. The Hong Kong businessman in question appeared to have a doctorate and has links with Chinese and Hong Kong officials, they said. The company that would run the website was described as a professional IT firm specialising in e-business solutions and products. According to a presentation the investors attended here, it had invested millions of dollars over six years to develop the website. The investors bought the company's pre-IPO shares and were told they would get back manifold returns but were not allowed to see its accounts. They were also offered Hong Kong carpark space as collateral. While most of the investors knew the Hong Kong businessman through the former stockbroker, one of them, a 51-year-old owner of a materials supplier who invested $500,000, had met the businessman in Japan several years ago. He later attended a seminar the businessman had sponsored at a Singapore university. 'He had a way of talking, and making it seem like he knew many people.' An independent valuation pegged the company's worth at HK$857 million (S$140 million). Several international advisory members were said to be part of the company. The investors were also told Hong Kong and Macau entrepreneurs such as Mr Richard Li and Mr Stanley Ho were investors. The businessman even appeared on the cover of a Hong Kong magazine. 'But we found out that it is really easy to get these kinds of magazines produced there,' said another investor, a 52-year-old marketing director who put in $300,000. Late last year, the investors were told the company was not making money and they could invest in another of his firms. While some of them acknowledge that any investment carries a risk, they claimed the businessman had delayed telling them how the company was doing. They also allege he had tricked them into thinking it was doing well. They started filing police reports from February. They added that they had been called up for interviews with the Commercial Affairs Department which deals with white-collar crime here. The former stockbroker, who previously coordinated meetings and handled all administrative jobs here for the businessman, said he himself had made a police report against his former boss. He claimed he was paid $10,000 per month. He is now working in Malaysia as he said he has suffered damage to his reputation and could not get a job here. 'He forced me to resign, saying the company was not doing well. He shouted vulgarities at meand scolded me,' the former stockbroker said. Attempts to reach the Hong Kong businessman failed.
[email protected] ([email protected])

Copyright © 2011 Singapore Press Holdings. All rights reserved.

28-05-12, 20:24
Coz property at most give you 4x -> 1mil to 4mil but with a dream a dream pre-ipo shares, you can get 110x upon ipo, i.e 1mil to 110mil with a 5yrs+ exit strategy

TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
28-05-12, 20:25
What did they think it was?

Alibaba2 .com?

I guess GREED and STUPIDITY treads a fine line.

28-05-12, 20:28
Invest in what you know, what you don't know is call gambling.

28-05-12, 21:46
yes, property is still very safe especially with big developers ... unlike the following banks:

http://chart.finance.yahoo.com/z?s=BKIA.MC&t=1y&q=l&l=on&z=l&a=v&p=s&lang=en-US&region=US

http://chart.finance.yahoo.com/z?s=NBG&t=5y&q=&l=&z=l&a=v&p=s&lang=en-US&region=US

Shoeboxsupporter
29-05-12, 13:18
yes, property is still very safe especially with big developers ... unlike the following banks:

http://chart.finance.yahoo.com/z?s=BKIA.MC&t=1y&q=l&l=on&z=l&a=v&p=s&lang=en-US&region=US

http://chart.finance.yahoo.com/z?s=NBG&t=5y&q=&l=&z=l&a=v&p=s&lang=en-US&region=US

Banks will never be the same again, CITIBANK, Bank of America, now 2 more.....

29-05-12, 13:33

If you are good, can buy now at < $1, then if the bank recover (if they ever), you can get back 50 times!

Thats call BIG risk BIG return!

But must have guts and spare cash la!

Office Boy dont have BOTH!

29-05-12, 13:41
If you are good, can buy now at < $1, then if the bank recover (if they ever), you can get back 50 times!

Thats call BIG risk BIG return!

But must have guts and spare cash la!

Office Boy dont have BOTH!

Checkout citibank from 50 to 1 now still below 3

Blue
29-05-12, 17:06
Invest in property - you have full control of your investment. You decide whether to rent out or sell and at whatever price you wish subject to maret conditions.

Invest in business where you are not running it yourself or you have no majority control is as good as buying penny stocks in a stock market. You are at the mercy of the company's performance led by others. And these others can still be filthy rich, sucking dry all the company's cash through fat bonuses and salaries while the company left with net losses where u as a shareholder are left without dividends, worsened with lower share price.

As someone said to me before, stock market is the biggest casino in the world.

So take control of your own fate, buy property!!!

TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
29-05-12, 17:10
Invest in property - you have full control of your investment. You decide whether to rent out or sell and at whatever price you wish subject to maret conditions.

Invest in business where you are not running it yourself or you have no majority control is as good as buying penny stocks in a stock market. You are at the mercy of the company's performance led by others. And these others can still be filthy rich, sucking dry all the company's cash through fat bonuses and salaries while the company left with net losses where u as a shareholder are left without dividends, worsened with lower share price.

What a timely post... I was just 'arguing' with my mother who only plays stock who told me not 'to buy too many properties'... esp shoebox as some Minister is voicing out against it.

I asked her how much did you really make in the past 10-20 years playing stock? Got 100k in pure profits not? Stock market is just like casino! (to which she agreed)

Blue
29-05-12, 17:24
Bro, y u change ur nick? Are u really gay?

Gay as in homosexual or happy? :D

29-05-12, 17:25
What a timely post... I was just 'arguing' with my mother who only plays stock who told me not 'to buy too many properties'... esp shoebox as some Minister is voicing out against it.

I asked her how much did you really make in the past 10-20 years playing stock? Got 100k in pure profits not? Stock market is just like casino! (to which she agreed)

TOGV :
Your question to your mother not convincing la !
You shld ask her got $250K in pure profits or not!

Thats roughly the average we get for buy/sell ONE condo.

Muahahaahaaa!

29-05-12, 17:26
Bro, y u change ur nick? Are u really gay?

Gay as in homosexual or happy? :D

I think TOGV's highlight is ONLY. Exclusive.
No one else can challenge. Unique.

Then he win lor!

Blue
29-05-12, 17:33
TOGV :

Muahahaahaaa!

$250K a little below avg. I thought $300K leh. :D

TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
29-05-12, 19:15
TOGV :

Muahahaahaaa!

Dear Kopiboy of SG you really made my day la... so cute u :cheers1:

TheOnlyGayInTheVillage
29-05-12, 19:17
I think TOGV's highlight is ONLY. Exclusive.
No one else can challenge. Unique.

Then he win lor!

I like your shortform of my nick... feels like going to the cinema hahaha...

Or maybe a future high end shoe brand wahahahaha...

Well, as to whether i'm the ONLY here... i can't wait for some guy or gal to 'come out' and challenge me (like Queen Latifa)!

rockinsg
29-05-12, 21:14

There are lot of assumptions. You are exposed to lot of risks in property too.

You are in mercy of voters. Vote opposition and property price would be nowhere to be found.:scared-3:

You are at mercy of govt. Next time may introduce more ABSD. BBSD. DDST. who knows. Rise in rental property tax highly possible.:doh:

29-05-12, 21:52
To make 250k profit in stock, you probably started with 100k capital and you either a super-trader or damn-lucky to hit 250k (i.e. >100% growth) as long term return of stock is only 7% pa ... in fact with STI stuck at 2800, all the endowment / ILP insurance that overweight stock is going to perform very badly using the so called dollar averaging stupid technique

29-05-12, 21:58

You are in mercy of voters. Vote opposition and property price would be nowhere to be found.:scared-3:

You are at mercy of govt. Next time may introduce more ABSD. BBSD. DDST. who knows. Rise in rental property tax highly possible.:doh:

After COE and GST, the government has found two more cash-cows: land and property taxes. Surely milk them to fatten its coffer. Conclusion: more lean years ahead for property owners.

29-05-12, 22:44
HK garmen so nice .. .

联合早报网讯)香港文汇报报道,港府再派钱!政府下周二(6月5日)将发行第二批100亿元通胀挂债券(iBond),入场费为1万元,只接受香港市民认购。iBond标榜派息率与通胀挂,首批iBond全年派息达6.8厘,令不少错过认购的市民大叹走宝。港府预测全年通胀将放缓至3.5%,估计一手新iBond每半年派息175元,但在股市低迷、楼价偏高,以及存息极低情况下,业界认为新iBond仍具吸引力,港府则表示会尽量做到一人一手。

首批iBond总回报近10%

Mr B should consider switch citizenship

Blue
30-05-12, 10:29

Dun agree. Look at the property prices in Potong Pasir & Hougang which is/was managed under Opposition Party, still prices went up in tandem with others

Government intervention affects all sectors - be it forex, shares, properties

Higher property prices = Higher tax for the govt => Win-Win situation. So y would our dear PAP give up this lucrative income stream besides COE and ERP? IRAS and LTA are probably the highest income earner among the other statutory boards. :cheers5:

30-05-12, 20:44
More MM and reduced 2 and 3 bedders to come.