View Full Version : With new CM. Its a question of affordability.

08-10-12, 01:00
a 1.2M property. So Say a 1M loan at for a

30yr old taking 30yrs loan for his 1st property. assuming able to afford the 20% of 200K. with current 1.5% loan pm payment is $3450. if int hit 3% loan pm will be $4216

45yr old taking 20yrs loan for his 1st property. assuming able to afford the 20% of 200K. with current 1.5% loan pm payment is $4850. if int hit 3% loan pm will be $5545

and increasing the older the person the more $ the person should have to folk out.

So assuming a couple at 35 gross a take home of 10K tats 50% of income. 25% if combine take home is 20K. looking at the number I think affordability now with the CM taking out some of the leverage will sting some of the buyers.

So will that impact buyer from not buying? Do most folks here expect to pay a loan till they are 65? or the cut off is actually 55?

So what would happen next? CCR will slow... coz big ticket items. OCR ~1M will still be sustainable... I guess.

or more will increasingly not buy but turn to rental. to wait it out.

08-10-12, 05:47
for the first house, I think it's probably dangerous to time it. but for the second property, one could afford to time it a little.

08-10-12, 06:31
for the first house, I think it's probably dangerous to time it. but for the second property, one could afford to time it a little.

Wah, u old bird.

For first house, if you need it buy it. Simple. No way around it. Other option is to rent it. Please don't tell me about other options of staying w mother , father, sis, bro, me , or the dog - ok. That's not called need it.

So if you want to buy your first house. Very simple. Determine are we at the highest or lowest phase. Take 2012 for example. If you see a drop coming, buy the cheapest house available. If you see this boom to continue for the next 10 yr, which I don't, then quickly see a brain specialist.

What goes up must come down. Only thing that doesn't is your age. Please don't tell me about china. It is a very unique case on their economy because they were shut off for so long.

08-10-12, 07:07
Minority - does your gross take home include cpf? Whenever people talk about gross take home, they don't normally include cpf. So I give u a chance to verify.

08-10-12, 07:09
Minority - does your gross take home include cpf? Whenever people talk about gross take home, they don't normally include cpf. So I give u a chance to verify.

CPF can get to take home meh?? Haha.

08-10-12, 08:16

It's all about definition. I part time lawyer as well. First must define, right. So if couple take home 10k. With CPR payment, they pay less from cash right. So theory flawed. Hahaha

Kane - u smart. Time for u to impart knowledge.

08-10-12, 08:28

Kane, to answer this question, YES!!!! Cannot think straight. Must think crooked. See if you can figure this out. Btw, the stuff I am talking about is legal. Hahaha.
Take your time to answer me. You may have been doing it w/o you knowing it. Hahaha

08-10-12, 08:29
Simple, sell all units at the avg 700sqft size at 1200psf to 1500psf

08-10-12, 08:35
If u look back all the CMs, all these will not affect you so long as you have the money.

08-10-12, 08:40
Sianz with this CM OCR 1900psf will not come anytime soon

08-10-12, 08:46
Cash poor upgraders to redeem their hdb loan or sell off their hdb b4 upgrade Liao, ccr low end sabo again

08-10-12, 08:53
Cash poor upgraders to redeem their hdb loan or sell off their hdb b4 upgrade Liao, ccr low end sabo again

Bro, 80/20 rule.

20 private. Just imagine, 20 of hdb want to jump onto bandwagon of private, wat will happen? Work out how many hdb will be built, combo w marriages, combo w rental to foreigners, combo w increase pay, mix it up and try to balance it. If doesn't balance, something will break.

But if u ask me, this equation of up will not last eternity, this 2 yrs, very high chance go up. That's why u have all this measures.

Govt always give clue, you have to listen and pick it up. Ah boy, pay attention in class and you will be able to tell teacher's spot the question.

Don't crack your head so much la.

But one day, I must meet u to learn the share part. I still old school, cannot keep up w your theories.

Hahahaha

08-10-12, 08:58

Yes not included. Consideration for those taking up loan. Some pple have cpf some folks dont. Ie taxi driver, insurance gentle, business man. Etc. So to fit everyone didnt include cpf in gross salary. Assume pay per mth.

08-10-12, 09:00
Sianz with this CM OCR 1900psf will not come anytime soon

But likly OCR will do better than CCR due to quantum

08-10-12, 09:01

Well with every CM co,es oppprtunity. Maybe CCR low end become affordable

08-10-12, 09:04
I foresee smaller 3 bedder ~800 sqf. For all OCR...... Just to meet some of the quantum for folks that still aspire to buy.

But seriously now only buy for stay not invest. The message is very clear.

08-10-12, 09:05
Yes not included. Consideration for those taking up loan. Some pple have cpf some folks dont. Ie taxi driver, insurance gentle, business man. Etc. So to fit everyone didnt include cpf in gross salary. Assume pay per mth.

It is a requirement to have cpf bro.

Please do not include taxi driver into the equation hor, I do have a brain u know.

And please don't justify they have 2 or more jobs hor, because somewhere a long the line, they will have cpf.

I very direct one. So bear w me. But if u don't like, let me know and I will not respond to your post in future as I have absolutely nothing to gain by debunking you. I just want to share.

08-10-12, 09:07
I foresee smaller 3 bedder ~800 sqf. For all OCR...... Just to meet some of the quantum for folks that still aspire to buy.

But seriously now only buy for stay not invest. The message is very clear.

I seriously think u did not get their message. Up to now I still puzzled why no one can tell me why the govt did this? Or am I the warp one? I think I am the warp one.

08-10-12, 09:14
All these CMs are risky ... on one hand it does slow down the bubble but what if, just what if inflation goes rampant and gold up to $3000USD with US printing 200b per month to dilute its debt??

Then only those owning hard assets will be protected, price of PCs (especially MMs) will shoot through the roof as all cash / CPF will suddenly shift into hard assets ... those holding cash/CPF/bonds will be burnt badly??

then SG garmen will be criticized of ensuring only the rich can hedge itself

;)

08-10-12, 09:15
Bro, 80/20 rule.

20 private. Just imagine, 20 of hdb want to jump onto bandwagon of private, wat will happen? Work out how many hdb will be built, combo w marriages, combo w rental to foreigners, combo w increase pay, mix it up and try to balance it. If doesn't balance, something will break.

But if u ask me, this equation of up will not last eternity, this 2 yrs, very high chance go up. That's why u have all this measures.

Govt always give clue, you have to listen and pick it up. Ah boy, pay attention in class and you will be able to tell teacher's spot the question.

Don't crack your head so much la.

But one day, I must meet u to learn the share part. I still old school, cannot keep up w your theories.

Hahahaha

Phantom, paiseh, say must meet u, scully u say no, I lose face. I retract. Hahaha

toiletsiao
08-10-12, 09:18
Kane, to answer this question, YES!!!! Cannot think straight. Must think crooked. See if you can figure this out. Btw, the stuff I am talking about is legal. Hahaha.
Take your time to answer me. You may have been doing it w/o you knowing it. Hahaha

i think u meant buying property using CPF to service the loan, then u rent out the property? Hence indirectly u are "cashing" out on your CPF OA....

08-10-12, 10:04
i think u meant buying property using CPF to service the loan, then u rent out the property? Hence indirectly u are "cashing" out on your CPF OA....

Hahaha. U damn smart. Only problem again is the 80/20 rule. 20 will save and reinvest. 80 will buy a merz, bm, lexus... and go on long holidays.

This is one of ways. In fact the rest are peanuts compared w this.

08-10-12, 10:14
I seriously think u did not get their message. Up to now I still puzzled why no one can tell me why the govt did this? Or am I the warp one? I think I am the warp one.

Then maybe u can enlighten us what the message is?

08-10-12, 10:36
s Bank Ltd and Oversea-Chinese Banking Corp Ltd may benefit from new rules to cool Singapore's property market by capping residential loan tenures at 35 years.

Although the new rules will mean slower mortgage growth and limit the ability of some property owners to refinance, banks that recorded stronger housing loan growth in the last 2 years are in a better position to keep their customers without having to be aggressive on interest rates.

Therefore, OCBC and UOB are expected to benefit as both posted a 2-year housing loan growth of about 19 per cent a year on average, more than double of DBS Group Holdings' 8 per cent.

By 0207 GMT, shares of DBS were down 1.2 per cent at S$14.28, while UOB dropped 1.1 per cent at S$19.63 and OCBC fell 0.7 per cent to S$9.42.

UOB, with the highest percentage exposure to housing loans, is expected to gain the most, DMG said, maintaining its 'buy' rating on the bank with a target price of S$21.40. - REUTERS

08-10-12, 10:41
s Bank Ltd and Oversea-Chinese Banking Corp Ltd may benefit from new rules to cool Singapore's property market by capping residential loan tenures at 35 years.

Although the new rules will mean slower mortgage growth and limit the ability of some property owners to refinance, banks that recorded stronger housing loan growth in the last 2 years are in a better position to keep their customers without having to be aggressive on interest rates.

Therefore, OCBC and UOB are expected to benefit as both posted a 2-year housing loan growth of about 19 per cent a year on average, more than double of DBS Group Holdings' 8 per cent.

By 0207 GMT, shares of DBS were down 1.2 per cent at S$14.28, while UOB dropped 1.1 per cent at S$19.63 and OCBC fell 0.7 per cent to S$9.42.

UOB, with the highest percentage exposure to housing loans, is expected to gain the most, DMG said, maintaining its 'buy' rating on the bank with a target price of S$21.40. - REUTERS
U saw my post to newie11,ha?
The reporter failed to talk about legal subsidy. This is the killer. Don't wait for report to come out. Figure it out and u are 1st in the race. That's how money is made.

08-10-12, 10:42
Another analysis. Sunset industry for mortgage banker. Need to find loans somewhere else.

08-10-12, 10:43
Guss thats why the banks removed the lawyer fees and bank subsidy... ;) they have preemptive information.

leftfield
08-10-12, 10:51
Guss thats why the banks removed the lawyer fees and bank subsidy... ;) they have preemptive information.

This came from a MAS directive, the banks did not remove these subsidies on their own.

08-10-12, 10:57

Nope - ;)

This is an MAS guideline. Newie11 can vouch to this.

I am glad you do not take me offensive. I will tell u the reason why via PM. wait for my PM on why govt came out with this measure.

08-10-12, 11:01
Then maybe u can enlighten us what the message is?

Since u really want to know, you have pm. Confidential OK.

08-10-12, 11:16
Since u really want to know, you have pm. Confidential OK.PM me too!

08-10-12, 11:18
PM me too!
Got free coffee or not? I now thirsty.

Localite
08-10-12, 11:24
Notice all the CMs so far have very little effect on property price?

The reason is because the SG property demand is very inelastic to all them CMs since speculators are already out since the first CM.

Removing the 50 year old who is taking a 35 year loan does not do much to curb property prices if there are many 30 year olds in the buyers' queue.

To put another perspective, our property market has very low elasticity to all these prudent CMs but there is very high elasticity to economic sentiment.

You see property market crashed in late 2008 - even though most people are not directly affected by the Lehman issue. Sentiment is very key to the SG market.

Today the sentiment is driven by the low interest rate expectations and further reinforced by the QE3. Long term investors are very prudent and are not affected by these sensible CMs.

The marginal investors will be weeded out - which is good for the longer term stability.

08-10-12, 11:27
I remember the bankers make out loans base on the lowest age of the borrower. i.e. husband 45 wife 30. means can borrow 35yrs. Is that still valid? I very long never bother banker for loan liao.

If that is still valid means more ah lau can go marry the 30yr girl! then go leverage 35yr!

good this will drive up marriage? but fertility hmm diff ball age. ;)

08-10-12, 11:31

The reason is because the SG property demand is very inelastic to all them CMs since speculators are already out since the first CM.

Removing the 50 year old who is taking a 35 year loan does not do much to curb property prices if there are many 30 year olds in the buyers' queue.

To put another perspective, our property market has very low elasticity to all these prudent CMs but there is very high elasticity to economic sentiment.

You see property market crashed in late 2008 - even though most people are not directly affected by the Lehman issue. Sentiment is very key to the SG market.

Today the sentiment is driven by the low interest rate expectations and further reinforced by the QE3. Long term investors are very prudent and are not affected by these sensible CMs.

The marginal investors will be weeded out - which is good for the longer term stability.

Good post from econ 101. Actually the big problem is resale HDB always valued at about 1/2 of comparable PC price at same location. If 15% of population want to engage in bubble garmen can close one eye but people who make a fortune in selling their PCs/landed turn around and bid HDB resale to the roof :eek: Then HDB COV/resale price so high until all new SPRs cannot afford to buy so they bid the rental to the roof ... the cycle continues

08-10-12, 11:32
Maybe we sld have policy that takes in account one's fertility.
Have 1 child - can op to have 5 more years added to max loan period
and if 2 children - can add 10 addtional years.
Rational - can children to help pay off if all else fail. :o

I remember the bankers make out loans base on the lowest age of the borrower. i.e. husband 45 wife 30. means can borrow 35yrs. Is that still valid? I very long never bother banker for loan liao.

If that is still valid means more ah lau can go marry the 30yr girl! then go leverage 35yr!

08-10-12, 11:44
This is the most useless cooling measure. I've not heard of anyone taking more than 30 year loan, let alone 35 years. So if the bank cannot sell 30 year loan, then sell 29.9 year loan for those who demanded such long tenure. And the majority of people still take way below 30 year loan, and if they take more than 30 year loan, its not because no money, more because interest rate low so might as well drag it out.

toiletsiao
08-10-12, 11:45

yes still valid :)

Amber Woods
08-10-12, 11:46

I am not trying to be smart or act smart. I did realise that some developers are giving so call legal subsidies such as furniture vouchers and cash back upon TOP which can amount to 1 or 2 percent of the price of the property. WIth this CM, by limiting the tenure and increasing up front cost, MAS was hoping that it will "kill off" such legal handouts since buyers would not demand lower price.

I remember KBW did mentioned months ago that the govt was monitoring such handouts by developers. Does this CM addresses this problem?

08-10-12, 11:50
OK, today I good mood. Will tickle your investment mind.

1. Did anyone ever wondered why woman pay less taxes then man?
2. How does this impact your rental income which will go into your earned income?
3. Do you have absolute trust in your wife? if you do, then you can make it more viable.

I believe some of you know what i am talking about and have already implemented it.

08-10-12, 11:51
I am not trying to be smart or act smart. I did realise that some developers are giving so call legal subsidies such as furniture vouchers and cash back upon TOP which can amount to 1 or 2 percent of the price of the property. WIth this CM, by limiting the tenure and increasing up front cost, MAS was hoping that it will "kill off" such legal handouts since buyers would not demand lower price.

I remember KBW did mentioned months ago that the govt was monitoring such handouts by developers. Does this CM addresses this problem?

It addresses it but it is not the main reason why this was implemented. It is for the greater cause of the country.

08-10-12, 12:01

Actually this new round of cooling measures might just encourage more cash rich investors to come out to flex their muscle. This is like people buying luxury goods, the more expensive and exclusive it gets, more people will be drawn into it because want to show off to the agent and banker that they have money.

also those who are still waiting might choose to jump now because time is not on their side.

Amber Woods
08-10-12, 12:06
Actually this new round of cooling measures might just encourage more cash rich investors to come out to flex their muscle. This is like people buying luxury goods, the more expensive and exclusive it gets, more people will be drawn into it because want to show off to the agent and banker that they have money.

The real rich will not do that. There is no need for them to do so. It is not not so rich that always feel the need to show.

08-10-12, 12:10
It addresses it but it is not the main reason why this was implemented. It is for the greater cause of the country.
To increase birth rate??

08-10-12, 12:14
To increase birth rate??

old man high blank rates..... young boys got bullet but no $$... ;)

Secretariat
08-10-12, 12:17

More cheap money lor...since govt is unable to control its flow effectively, they raise the ticket cost for those who want to play mah?

cnud
08-10-12, 12:53
The real rich will not do that. There is no need for them to do so. It is not not so rich that always feel the need to show.

How you define RICH? and NOT SO RICH?

08-10-12, 13:10
Citigold just called me a moment ago but was busy. Asking to invest again? :)
Another analysis. Sunset industry for mortgage banker. Need to find loans somewhere else.

08-10-12, 13:12
You are absolutely right. This is the group of people who flashes their car, clothes, houses, etc. It is sometime a pain to have such new neighbours. :doh:

08-10-12, 13:15
fren 38yo, 1 condo on 15 yrs loan, another condo 35 yrs loan. if wan to buay 3rd condo pay 60% deposit and < 30 yrs loan...

correct ?

08-10-12, 13:15

Bro, among all the rm, Citibank the best. So far they make money for me. Uob, Hsbc, all I lose. DBS treasures also good.
I invest w them because I need some of their services.

08-10-12, 13:17
Bro, among all the rm, Citibank the best. So far they make money for me. Uob, Hsbc, all I lose. DBS treasures also good.
I invest w them because I need some of their services.i like such privilege banking only because can nuah at the lounge, sip free coffee, 1 hr free parking, no need queue to change angpao notes...

08-10-12, 13:18

Was it from your relationship manager or some strange voice who called you?

08-10-12, 13:18

also those who are still waiting might choose to jump now because time is not on their side.

lol bro Ringo you hit the nail on the head, my colleague suddenly said must buy PC now because he is 40y old liao :D

08-10-12, 13:19
fren 38yo, 1 condo on 15 yrs loan, another condo 35 yrs loan. if wan to buay 3rd condo pay 60% deposit and < 30 yrs loan...

correct ?max 27 yrs loan and can get 60% LTV, provided the income is high enough

08-10-12, 13:19
You are absolutely right. This is the group of people who flashes their car, clothes, houses, etc. It is sometime a pain to have such new neighbours. :doh:

Bro, lucky I not your neighbor. I love to pamper myself w car because I got nothing else to spend on. I hate it when car break down. I am no mechanic la. One day we meet, I hope u don't suan me. Wa so old drive cabrio

08-10-12, 13:20
i like such privilege banking only because can nuah at the lounge, sip free coffee, 1 hr free parking, no need queue to change angpao notes...

like 10x .... bro solid lah, "Nuah" at the lounge and TCSS at this forum but so far always kopi auntie if got beautiful and sexy lady then will be super crowded :p

08-10-12, 13:22
i like such privilege banking only because can nuah at the lounge, sip free coffee, 1 hr free parking, no need queue to change angpao notes...
Yup, was thinking of Asia treasure, kanna scolded by spouse. Why put so much there. Go and invest, money earn can afford more. Then wake up.

08-10-12, 13:23
My banker from Standard Chartered has been helping me to grow my money. Having returns of 5-6% and appreciation of value too. May consider being a citigold member.
I invest w them because I need some of their services.

08-10-12, 13:24
My banker from Standard Chartered has been helping me to grow my money. Having returns of 5-6% and appreciation of value too. May consider being a citigold member.

whats the requirement to be a member of Stan Chart

08-10-12, 13:24
Yup, was thinking of Asia treasure, kanna scolded by spouse. Why put so much there. Go and invest, money earn can afford more. Then wake up.Asia Treasure best, can use airport dedicated lounge, free food buffet!

08-10-12, 13:25
Warning, they very pushy. They got high quota and will behave like drug pushers. Just tell them off if they begin to piss u off. If u want to be citigd, find a friend to do referral and your friend will get something which he can pass to u.

I am a simple person who drives a basic 4-wheel car. Spouse reprimanded me for wanting to buy a Beemer few years back.
Bro, lucky I not your neighbor. I love to pamper myself w car because I got nothing else to spend on. I hate it when car break down. I am no mechanic la. One day we meet, I hope u don't suan me. Wa so old drive cabrio

max 27 yrs loan and can get 60% LTV, provided the income is high enough

thanks ... everyone is blur. If wan to buy, straight away mental block of 60 deposit

08-10-12, 13:26
Got a few friends already in there.
Warning, they very pushy. They got high quota and will behave like drug pushers. Just tell them off if they begin to piss u off. If u want to be citigd, find a friend to do referral and your friend will get something which he can pass to u.

08-10-12, 13:26
Asia Treasure best, can use airport dedicated lounge, free food buffet!

Next time u go citi lounge, let me know. I meet u there. Only went once. Hahaha.

08-10-12, 13:28
This is like a mid-life decision that is really critical to consider.:scared-4:
lol bro Ringo you hit the nail on the head, my colleague suddenly said must buy PC now because he is 40y old liao :D

08-10-12, 13:28
I am a simple person who drives a basic 4-wheel car. Spouse reprimanded me for wanting to buy a Beemer few years back.I am even simpler, travel with my trusted ezlink card everyday. no car. remember, opportunity cost of 1 car = 1pc

08-10-12, 13:30
Car was really cheap then. No bad for you as you got to choice of Volvo, Mercedes, etc.
I am even simpler, travel with my trusted ezlink card everyday. no car. remember, opportunity cost of 1 car = 1pc

08-10-12, 13:31
I am a simple person who drives a basic 4-wheel car. Spouse reprimanded me for wanting to buy a Beemer few years back.

Bro, must enjoy la, u never know when u will kick bucket. Touch wood.
Last time young, no money to enjoy food. Now got money, cannot enjoy food.
But I still like going on michilin restaurant holidays. Food super shiok. If u go London, must try Gordon Ramsay restaurant. Just talking about it, I salivate. Must book 3 mth advance

08-10-12, 13:34
I am even simpler, travel with my trusted ezlink card everyday. no car. remember, opportunity cost of 1 car = 1pc
U smart. Save and invest first. Later enjoy.

For me, I balance. My kids big Liao, so no point leaving so much for them. With what we are leaving behind, it is more then enough. The rest my spouse and I enjoy.

08-10-12, 13:36
bro lovelle, buay or buy? lol
third condo 60% loan if borrow 27yrs, 40% loan if borrow more than that

08-10-12, 13:36
Car was really cheap then. No bad for you as you got to choice of Volvo, Mercedes, etc.

Got chauffeur somemore!

08-10-12, 13:39

correct ?

All blur now......
His fren still got outstanding loan so 3rd condo 40% loan only.
And cannot more than 27 years cos exceed 65 years old.

08-10-12, 13:48
All blur now......
His fren still got outstanding loan so 3rd condo 40% loan only.
And cannot more than 27 years cos exceed 65 years old.2nd, 3rd or 4th or watever, as long as still got outstanding loan, it will be:

1. Not more than 27 yrs tenure, 60% loan

OR

2. More than 27 yrs tenure, 40% loan

08-10-12, 13:53

All basic relationship 200k.
Private up a lot liao. Depend bank to bank. DBS private client already 1.5 mil

08-10-12, 13:55
2nd, 3rd or 4th or watever, as long as still got outstanding loan, it will be:

1. Not more than 27 yrs tenure, 60% loan

OR

2. More than 27 yrs tenure, 40% loan

Ya you are right :ashamed1: .
Blur ....I read so many times still cannot absorb.
Really sia suay :o .

08-10-12, 13:58

Stand Chart so far is better I feel services and products. HSBC surface look nice but many caveats, Citi they have been toning down their marketing so i am not impressed.

08-10-12, 13:59

Buy lol

The hokkiens

08-10-12, 14:03
All basic relationship 200k.
Private up a lot liao. Depend bank to bank. DBS private client already 1.5 mil

So far i do my own investment...blue chip, oil n gas, transport

08-10-12, 14:30
So far i do my own investment...blue chip, oil n gas, transport
I also, I do singapore stocks, US stocks, forex, etc... I also put money in hsbc, dbs, citi, uob, etc... must spread. if any bank kaput, there is only a small amount you are guaranteed. So i quite scared of private banking. unless w dbs.

I jack of all trades, master of some.

08-10-12, 14:41
I also, I do singapore stocks, US stocks, forex, etc... I also put money in hsbc, dbs, citi, uob, etc... must spread. if any bank kaput, there is only a small amount you are guaranteed. So i quite scared of private banking. unless w dbs.

I jack of all trades, master of some.

i just leave money in 1 or 2 sg banks. don't do US and forex. bought a bit of gold and mainly blue chips in sg...

lose a bit in Hk share..

08-10-12, 18:33
I think in short the CM is tell u no $ dont play prop. Too risky for u. If u want to buy for stay 1 property u cn go hdb. Got bit more cash then go mass market pc. Pronto.

08-10-12, 18:34
i just leave money in 1 or 2 sg banks. don't do US and forex. bought a bit of gold and mainly blue chips in sg...

lose a bit in Hk share..

Tat also no gurantee... U might have to buy gold stack at home...

08-10-12, 20:05
Tat also no gurantee... U might have to buy gold stack at home...

don't want to be too fanciful. Too much stress and work.. That's not my purpose..

i wan passive income. Not active income