View Full Version : More CMs coming liao! Gov going discuss poperty prices!

13-10-12, 15:14
http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/home-prices-be-discussed-parliament-monday-20121013

13-10-12, 15:16
http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/home-prices-be-discussed-parliament-monday-20121013

wahlaueh..sigh :(

Secretariat
13-10-12, 15:26

It is high time they look into the way a HDB is valued, what $&@€+ cov thing. :doh:

Pikachu1245
13-10-12, 15:27

It would be interesting if we could have statistics on:
-How many property owners are there?
-How many property owners want their property price to rise?
-How many non-property owner are waiting to buy?
-How many non-property owner who are waiting to buy want property to drop?
-Percentage of people wanting price to rise (especially current property owners) vs price to drop( especailly those waiting to buy)
-Overall Ideal price growth /drop per annum?
-Best vs Ideal property growth scenario
-Worst vs Ideal property drop scenario

If more CM cost drastic price drop, will it result in something similar to US sub-prime crisis? I wonder :confused:

13-10-12, 15:34
It is high time they look into the way a HDB is valued, what $&@€+ cov thing. :doh:

COV exist because valuations can't keep up with the perceived value of the property based on the implied yield of the rental property.

when yield was rubbish in 2002-3, people could buy hdb flats at below valuation prices.

13-10-12, 15:37
I was very confused about ST report today...saying property up only 1%???

13-10-12, 15:38
COV exist because valuations can't keep up with the perceived value of the property based on the implied yield of the rental property.

when yield was rubbish in 2002-3, people could buy hdb flats at below valuation prices.but it become a vicious cycle as the next valuation will be based on the previous valuation + cov. and it keep pile up!

13-10-12, 15:41
From Q2 to Q3?

Check out the Order Paper for monday's sitting:

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/sites/default/files/u12/OrderPaper_15Oct12.pdf

Secretariat
but it become a vicious cycle as the next valuation will be based on the previous valuation + cov. and it keep pile up!

That is my point.

A vicious cycle running at high speed as well. This means no meaningful correction, any correction is off the book, at the cov layer.

Can cov become negative?

13-10-12, 15:44
but it become a vicious cycle as the next valuation will be based on the previous valuation + cov. and it keep pile up!

actually, if you observe, valuations haven't moved much for hdb flats, even though their rentals have gone up quite a bit.

13-10-12, 15:48
I was very confused about ST report today...saying property up only 1%???basically no direction...

13-10-12, 15:50
Property related Highlights

*1. Mr Zaqy Mohamad: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) what is the Ministry's assessment of the HDB Resale Price Index reaching a record level of 197.9 in the third quarter of 2012 in spite of cooling measures and new releases of BTO flats; (b) whether the cooling measures are effective in managing property prices and curbing property speculation; and (c) what are the Ministry's plans to assure the public that HDB and private properties will continue to remain affordable to Singapore citizens and that the Ministry has a good handle on the property market.

*2. Ms Foo Mee Har: To ask the Minister for National Development in view of the recent record property transactions including a one million dollar Queenstown flat, whether the anticipated fresh flood of liquidity into the U.S. financial system with QE3 announced by the U.S. Federal Reserve will have an impact on property prices and affordability.

*31. Mr Baey Yam Keng: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) how the bases of computation for HDB flat valuation compare across flats for resale, SERS and compulsory acquisition; (b) how the Ministry views the increasing cash over valuation (COV) figures; and (c) how can the system be fine-tuned to make resale flats more affordable.

*32. Mr Lim Biow Chuan: To ask the Minister for National Development whether HDB will consider waiving the income ceiling for buying a HDB flat so that all Singapore citizens will have at least one opportunity to buy a subsidised flat from HDB.

*53. Mr Pritam Singh: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) whether the ethnic limit of 25% for the Malay ethnic group at the block level in all HDB rental flats has been reached and, if so, when; (b) whether HDB has plans to increase this limit for the Malay ethnic group at the block level; and (c) whether HDB will consider allocating rental flats on a strict needs basis only to avoid rejection or delay as a result of the applicants' preference of rental zone.

*54. Ms Sylvia Lim: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) what due diligence does the Building and Construction Authority (BCA) exercise before granting approval for condominium developers to use tempered glass in panels used as safety barriers at balconies despite the associated risk of spontaneous breakage; (b) what led the BCA to require the use of laminated glass instead in such panels with effect from July 2011; and (c) what is BCA's recommendation to resolve the safety issues for condominium developments which were constructed before application of the July 2011 ruling.

*69. Ms Denise Phua Lay Peng: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) whether HDB can consider increasing the percentage and/or the absolute cap of the discount off the purchase prices of new replacement flats in SERS projects such as that in Rochor Centre and other recently announced estates affected by SERS; and (b) when this discount formula was last reviewed.

*70. Ms Low Yen Ling: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) how many members of the public participated in online survey and face-to-face interviews during the public consultation on the Building Maintenance and Strata Management Act (BMSMA) held in April-May 2012; (b) since 2005, what is the percentage increase in (i) the number of managing agents of strata properties; and (ii) the number of strata title developments; and (c) whether the Ministry will consider an education campaign to increase awareness of the BMSMA amongst dwellers of strata title developments.

*71. Mr Gerald Giam Yean Song: To ask the Minister for National Development whether HDB will consider building flats ahead of demand so that first-time buyers, especially young couples, can obtain the keys to their new flats earlier than what is possible under the current Build-to-Order system whereby a construction tender is called only when about 70% of the units are booked.

*75. Ms Tin Pei Ling: To ask the Minister for National Development whether HDB will consider installing rain shielding devices or structures free of charge for HDB units and blocks affected by heavy rains after HDB upgrading works.

*76. Mr Lim Biow Chuan: To ask the Minister for National Development whether HDB is able to install rain shelters at HDB flats so to prevent rain water from entering HDB flats during heavy downpours.

*77. Ms Denise Phua Lay Peng: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) how other non-public housing buildings provide for bomb shelters; and (b) whether HDB can consider other alternatives to the construction of bomb shelters in new HDB flats.

*78. Mr Baey Yam Keng: To ask the Minister for National Development how are Town Councils required to regulate and enforce the way in which HDB lift lobbies are used by residents, including the placing of objects such as bicycles and flower pots where they do not pose safety and evacuation concerns according to SCDF guidelines.

9. Mr Lim Biow Chuan: To ask the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance (a) in the last five years, how many residents in Singapore have been declared as property traders; and (b) whether they were informed in advance that they had been declared as property traders before they were taxed on their income.

13. Mr Gan Thiam Poh: To ask the Minister for National Development (a) what is the number of completed HDB flats that were issued with temporary occupation permits in each of the last two years and how many are projected to be completed in the current FY and in each of the next three years; (b) what is the number of completed landed and non-landed private housing units that were issued with temporary occupation permits in each of the last two years and how many are projected to be completed in the current FY and in each of the next two years; (c) what is the number of unsold public and private housing units to date; and (d) what is the projected number of new private housing units that will be released into the market in the next one year.

14. Mr Sitoh Yih Pin: To ask the Minister for National Development on how HDB aims to stabilise the pricing of public housing given the substantial rise in the open market prices of HDB flats in recent times.

13-10-12, 15:51
Give each and every Singaporeans a free HDB. Ha then won't have any problem of rising HDB prices. Straight away HDB become zero in value :D :D

13-10-12, 15:51

yeah, for people who projects like watertown at 1400psf, their price is up only 1%, correct ah. ha.

13-10-12, 15:54
Point No 32 sounds interesting. Can it extend to all Singaporeans regardless of property ownership :D :D

13-10-12, 16:08
basically no direction...

Ask any Statistician and they will tell you "Statistics don’t lie, people do".

All this 1% rise, CPI 5 % ,inflation 3 % are from Statistics but when it is presented by people it became a different story.

June 2006 SGD 535000, June 2010 1,500,000, how much is the rise, you do the math. (QE1 & QE2 and operation twist).

13-10-12, 17:13
It will be more of the same answer. We will build more, we will be vigilant and we will come in when the market is naughty.:)

13-10-12, 17:35
now everything in a big mess they want to talk and bring down prices how to have confidence in this type of governing...what is the man in the street supposed to do....buy/sell/hold...:cool:

13-10-12, 17:36
Give each and every Singaporeans a free HDB. Ha then won't have any problem of rising HDB prices. Straight away HDB become zero in value :D :D

Currently 80%+ of the population stays in HDB...u think they want the value to be up or down?? Isn't it obvious? Those making noise one are those minority...:D

13-10-12, 17:47
Currently 80%+ of the population stays in HDB...u think they want the value to be up or down?? Isn't it obvious? Those making noise one are those minority...:D

How come 40 percent voted against PAP last election? Must be one ungrateful bunch right? :)

13-10-12, 18:00
Because property prices didn't go up high enough for them to have an enough wind-fall!
Since there are so many CMs, come next election may be >>40% will vote against PAP? :p

How come 40 percent voted against PAP last election? Must be one ungrateful bunch right? :)

Originally Posted by lajia

13-10-12, 18:02
Because property prices didn't go up high enough for them to have an enough wind-fall!
Since there are so many CMs, come next election may be >>40% will vote against PAP? :p

Originally Posted by lajia

Next election maybe introduce more CMs... More cooling off days before voters go to the poll.

13-10-12, 18:52
Our geographical location much better than hk but our pty prices cheaper than hk, I think we have room to go up further

13-10-12, 18:56

A large number want to upgrade from hdb to private but can't afford so voted against PAP :D :D

13-10-12, 19:49

This one also very obvious...not all voted against them are because of HDB...:D if the value of hdb fall and they don't take care...hahaha...I tell you, then maybe worst, maybe 80% will vote against them :p

13-10-12, 20:44
wahlaueh..sigh :(
No need so sigh lah..
Monday first thing they will talk how come their own HDB are selling at record price.. before talk about why pty price is transacted at record price mah.. :D

13-10-12, 21:01
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb-for-sale-201-jurong-east-street-21-11610187

13-10-12, 21:49
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb-for-sale-201-jurong-east-street-21-11610187

Well willing seller willing buyer. If got people be happy for the seller.

13-10-12, 21:55

wow....cool questions :)

13-10-12, 21:56
No need so sigh lah..
Monday first thing they will talk how come their own HDB are selling at record price.. before talk about why pty price is transacted at record price mah.. :D

sigh sigh :(

13-10-12, 21:57
may i know if got live telecast like in USA bo ? if yes what time? thank you :(

13-10-12, 22:07
Well willing seller willing buyer. If got people be happy for the seller.

it'll raise a lot of sellers' expectations if they can sell this at $900k.

13-10-12, 22:13
it'll raise a lot of sellers' expectations if they can sell this at $900k.

Its location is by no means without merit....
(working towards my 4000th post before bidding nitenitez lol)

13-10-12, 22:17
Its location is by no means without merit....
(working towards my 4000th post before bidding nitenitez lol)

its merit creates a snowball effect, that's the issue.

13-10-12, 22:18
its merit creates a snowball effect, that's the issue.

Snowball in JLD oni ba... Not every area got big expansion planned

13-10-12, 22:22
Snowball in JLD oni ba... Not every area got big expansion planned

every area with a hub nearby would start asking for crazy prices if they succeed.

13-10-12, 22:26
Crazy but possible. JLD is still in the early stages of expansion over the next 8-10 years, it is probably only at the 30% mark at the moment.

13-10-12, 22:36
Crazy but possible. JLD is still in the early stages of expansion over the next 8-10 years, it is probably only at the 30% mark at the moment.

so where do you think prices should be at 100% mark in your opinion?

13-10-12, 22:44
so where do you think prices should be at 100% mark in your opinion?

I haven't done this projection for the properties in JLD, and it might be scary to crunch the number for the pte properties. You can roughly gauge the speed prices are climbing up to 2013 by tracking the prices at Hundred Trees (when it TOP), which is just outside JLD. The Hong Leong Garden Shopping Center new launch can give you a good estimate what prices could be like just outside JLD in 2015 assuming it will TOP by then.

13-10-12, 22:55
may i know if got live telecast like in USA bo ? if yes what time? thank you :(

I think only evening news show highlights of the parliamentary debates.

13-10-12, 22:55
I haven't done this projection for the properties in JLD, and it might be scary to crunch the number for the pte properties. You can roughly gauge the speed prices are climbing up to 2013 by tracking the prices at Hundred Trees (when it TOP), which is just outside JLD. The Hong Leong Garden Shopping Center new launch can give you a good estimate what prices could be like just outside JLD in 2015 assuming it will TOP by then.

the speed hasn't been any different from the rest of the other island to be honest.

13-10-12, 23:05
the speed hasn't been any different from the rest of the other island to be honest.

Thx. I was a bit busy n din monitor others closely. But prices moved up quite fast this year at HT, Caspian, Lakefront etc. I believe infrastructure investment there will inflate prices soon.

13-10-12, 23:06
Thx. I was a bit busy n din monitor others closely. But prices moved up quite fast this year at HT, Caspian, Lakefront etc. I believe infrastructure investment there will inflate prices soon.

the infrastructure expansion did give it a lift. i look at prices across the island. and the rate of increase has been fairly homogeneous across several RCR and OCR areas.

14-10-12, 09:11
Next 3-5yrs Hotspots:

JLD
PLB
PUNGGOL
KALLANG
BIDDADARI
BEDOK/TM

14-10-12, 09:14
Next 3-5yrs Hotspots:

JLD
PLB
PUNGGOL
KALLANG
BIDDADARI
BEDOK/TM

Isn't that almost the whole island, except the south?

14-10-12, 09:42
Actually if company directors etc who buy or sell shares due to insider information is illegal, it should made illegal for office holders to do real estate transactions with insider
knowledge. At the very least, there should be a declaration.

14-10-12, 09:54

Forgot to add Hillview

14-10-12, 09:55
Actually if company directors etc who buy or sell shares due to insider information is illegal, it should made illegal for office holders to do real estate transactions with insider
knowledge. At the very least, there should be a declaration.

Aint those already regularly reported under Insider trading?

14-10-12, 09:55

Hahaha...then maybe u go by the priority. The top in the list is JLD...:D

14-10-12, 09:57

There is no North

14-10-12, 11:02
There is no North

Yup, forgot about that part of the island :o .

14-10-12, 11:09
D15 super prime, d16 prime according to bro bj

14-10-12, 11:19
Deliberately avoid North and South to reduce travel load, especially CTE.

14-10-12, 15:51
D15 super prime, d16 prime according to bro bj

Happening as per BJ's blueblack eyes...Think it's on fri or sat straits time...
something along the line of ...
"Marine Parade will have a Christmas lightup and decorations like ORCHARD ROAD for the 1st time and will make it a yearly event"...

Pikachu1245
14-10-12, 16:09
Deliberately avoid North and South to reduce travel load, especially CTE.

North will have NSE and TSL soon......:cool:

14-10-12, 16:53
Happening as per BJ's blueblack eyes...Think it's on fri or sat straits time...
something along the line of ...
"Marine Parade will have a Christmas lightup and decorations like ORCHARD ROAD for the 1st time and will make it a yearly event"...

Wow Bro BJ not only has a 3rd eye, he also has 6th sense.

Now wonder he has 21 behind his name 2+1 = 3. Double that becomes 6.

14-10-12, 17:35
Wow Bro BJ not only has a 3rd eye, he also has 6th sense.

Now wonder he has 21 behind his name 2+1 = 3. Double that becomes 6.

You maths very good!
Very suitable to be property investor or Office Girl. haha!

14-10-12, 17:49
澳門推出壓抑樓價措施
香港電台 – 2012年10月12日星期五下午4:19

為應對量化寬鬆措施可能引致資金流入,澳門推出措施,壓抑樓價。

措施包括收緊買樓按揭,澳門居民購買樓價330萬元以下的樓宇,最高按九成,非澳門居民則按七成;330萬元至600萬元樓宇,澳門居民最高可做七成按揭,非澳門居民六成;600萬元至800萬元樓宇,澳門居民最高按揭六成,非澳門居民則降至五成;800萬以上樓宇,澳門居民最高按五成,非澳門居民則四成。

另外,徵收特別印花稅措施,將由住宅延伸至商舖及車位。非澳門居民購買物業,一律增加額外印花稅10%。

14-10-12, 17:52
IMF:本港短期仍需要推措施阻樓價續升

香港電台 – 2012年10月12日星期五下午1:16

國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)駐港代表克雷格(Sean Craig)表示,由於供應有限及低息環境,推高本港樓價。雖然見不到本港樓市出現泡沫,但仍要留意樓價可能下跌的風險。他指,過去1年政府推出措施增加供應,相信有助樓價回穩,而金管局在美國推出第3輪量化寬鬆措施(QE3)之後,亦迅速作出反應,但他認為,短期仍有需要推出措施阻止樓價持續上升。

基金組織下調今明兩年本港經濟增長預測,估計今年本港經濟增長1.8%,較4月時的預測低0.7個百分點。明年本港經濟增長預測則由4.3%降至3.5%。

另一駐港代表梅耶爾(Andre Meier)表示,本港經濟增長放慢,因為出口疲弱及內地自由行旅客來港消費下跌。他認為,本港經濟仍維持良好,須留意歐債危機及美國財政懸崖帶來的下行風險,認為本港經濟將復蘇,不存在滯脹問題。他又說,美國推出QE3之後,不見有龐大資金流入本港。

14-10-12, 18:35
North will have NSE and TSL soon......:cool:

Must phase it first. When those highways completed, there should be huge development in the North. South is super developed already.

14-10-12, 22:44
Must phase it first. When those highways completed, there should be huge development in the North. South is super developed already.

highways and mrt.

14-10-12, 22:54
澳門推出壓抑樓價措施
香港電台 – 2012年10月12日星期五下午4:19

為應對量化寬鬆措施可能引致資金流入,澳門推出措施,壓抑樓價。

措施包括收緊買樓按揭,澳門居民購買樓價330萬元以下的樓宇,最高按九成,非澳門居民則按七成;330萬元至600萬元樓宇,澳門居民最高可做七成按揭,非澳門居民六成;600萬元至800萬元樓宇,澳門居民最高按揭六成,非澳門居民則降至五成;800萬以上樓宇,澳門居民最高按五成,非澳門居民則四成。

另外,徵收特別印花稅措施,將由住宅延伸至商舖及車位。非澳門居民購買物業,一律增加額外印花稅10%。

10% ABSD ! Cool!

Strange policy though, does it mean Mainlanders will flock there to buy 10 units of properties below 330K ? Then it will create hardships for low income earners ?

14-10-12, 23:12
10% ABSD ! Cool!

Strange policy though, does it mean Mainlanders will flock there to buy 10 units of properties below 330K ? Then it will create hardships for low income earners ?

the winds could blow this way soon...

14-10-12, 23:18
the winds could blow this way soon...

This wind is blow from Sg to Macau one.

We already 10% ABSD. And we already 40% downpayment.

14-10-12, 23:20
This wind is blow from Sg to Macau one.

We already 10% ABSD. And we already 40% downpayment.

HK has yet to introduce ABSD...why?

14-10-12, 23:21
oh yeah, misread it, i think the year end came just in time for everyone to slow down as, maybe early next year we'll see another CM...

14-10-12, 23:23

You ask me ar ?
I am just an Office Boy, how will know HK policies and politics ?

Maybe LKS say cannot have ABSD ?

14-10-12, 23:23

maybe they'll be next after macau.

what's their LTV ruling like? i thought for more ex units, it's 50%.

15-10-12, 19:55

Publications - Singapore Parliament Reports

The Singapore Parliament Report for a sitting is made available seven working days after the adjournment of a sitting.

15-10-12, 22:43
you all missed out Buona Vista...

It will be the hottest spot in the next 5 years...

Biopolis, Fusionopolis, Mediapolis, Lucas Film Studio, The Metroplois Office building 1m sq ft of office space, Star Vista, The Rochester, Probably the rest of the Rochester Park Bungalows will be tendered out soon, and lastly the Nepal Hill APAC Leadership learning centre....

Add: NUS, NUH, Sin Poly, Tanglin Trust school, ACSI, ACJC, FairField, Dover Preparatory school, UWC.....

All the above within 2 km of Buona Vista MRT....

How many condos there?
The Rochester, On North, Dover Parkview, Heritage view, Normanton, Vista Park?

PropertyNewbie
15-10-12, 22:45

Biopolis, Fusionopolis, Mediapolis, Lucas Film Studio, The Metroplois Office building 1m sq ft of office space, Star Vista, The Rochester, Probably the rest of the Rochester Park Bungalows will be tendered out soon, and lastly the Nepal Hill APAC Leadership learning centre....

Add: NUS, NUH, Sin Poly, Tanglin Trust school, ACSI, ACJC, FairField, Dover Preparatory school, UWC.....

How many condos there?

Good call and thanks for sharing

15-10-12, 22:58

How many condos there?
LIKE LIKE! Haha.
I always see Bouna got up, in fact I see all GROWTH areas got up 'http://www.ura.gov.sg/MP2008/growth_areas.htm'. The commercial metropolis phase X will one by one TOP and with increasing expats there. Just spend a night at One Rochestor restaurant with your love one and you will see how artas and how many ang mohs there. A pity the star vista with a super nice structure but the tenant mix is super CMI [more of window shopping] and tons of FnB. This is the only place with immediate supply of expats and limited supply of condos. Too bad the psf all up up UPzzz.

15-10-12, 23:52

How many condos there?

I think buy the shops there (if they are for sale) would be a much better idea !

16-10-12, 00:26
asking prices seem to have priced all that upcoming development in Buona Vista as it is

16-10-12, 00:30
asking prices seem to have priced all that upcoming development in Buona Vista as it is

BV is a high risk high return area.

In property investment, not much point going for high risk high return.

If you can take high risk, you deserve better returns.

For $1,500+, u can get nice places at East Coast, etc.

16-10-12, 00:37

or the older and more spacious resale in district 10/11.

Werther
16-10-12, 00:45
I can't agree more. Buona vista/Dover is one of the most unspoilt location, yet near to town. It is quiet and feng shiu shd be good cos near to all good schools and churches. There was a report few years ago many local scholars lived in Dover area.

I have been telling friends to buy even before star vista is opened. It is gonna to be the next happening and exciting place to be.

Thanks for the reminder...

16-10-12, 01:11

I dont agree.... Heritage View and Dover PArkview is only 1100+psf....
Those nearer to west coast alos not very ex....

You are referring to just One North and The Rochester...

Actually I think its under priced...

Because for this particular cluster of growth aream you are going to attract a lot of higher income earner aka.... Biopolis - scientist researcher, Fusionoplois - Techonlogy based white collar worker, Mediapolis - creative professional plus actors and actresses from Media Corp...

Coupled with all the good international schools and close to the city, holland village, Dempsey.... i feel its under appreciated....

I dare say Dover and Heritage will hit 1300psf....

16-10-12, 01:23
When I was researching the D5 area [bouna], if you look from 2 different aspects you will see differently. The older condos like Dover parkview is over-price if you benchmark against decent size 2/3rm ONR at 12xx-1.4k psf [can exclude the 1rm ONR coz the psf is meant to distort and bluff chewren]. This essentially makes the older condo overpriced because ONR is trading at only 8% premium compare to a super old condo at Bouna. If dover parkview is trading at 15-25% cheaper due to its age, I will issue a immediate buy call. This makes a 2/3rm ONR condo a value buy in this aspect. Of cse if dover parkview goes up 1.3k psf, the newer condos will be priced up accordingly.

So will it hit 1.3k psf for dover parkview? My ans is also a possible YES given the tight supply in this area and the main reason why Dover parkview is holding firm and trading at only 8%+ cheaper compared to ONR is because of its strong rental demand.