View Full Version : D 8/9/10/11....4k rental properties are HOT!!

08-11-12, 21:56
The past few weeks has been a fun time for me as i had the privelage of visting a number of d9/10/11 properties to help my sis whose husband has got a job posting to work here for 2 years....unfortunately their budget for rental is about $4k...we had a UNIT confirmed at sophia lodge but got played out last minute due to another higher offer...:cool:

Along the way also missed out a few good deals at yong ann park/langston ville...other people who viewed just SNAPPED up the rentals...before we could decide....:(

Anyway today just signed the LOI for a unit at balmoral area...VERY VERY nice and within budget...:D

But heck i was amazed at how hot these BUDGET $4k plus d 8/9/10/11 rental properties are....:scared-5:

Trigger
08-11-12, 22:03
4k for what size unit at d9/10/11?

08-11-12, 22:07
4k for what size unit at d9/10/11?

1000 sq ft...2 bedder...some 2 plus study...generally all asking about $4.5k...but those bar girl apts can get $4k...:D:D:D...i saw a few...bar girls...:cheers5:

Trigger
08-11-12, 22:09
1000 sq ft...2 bedder...some 2 plus study...generally all asking about $4.5k...but those bar girl apts can get $4k...:D:D:D...i saw a few...bar girls...:cheers5:

wow, no wonder u said u had a fun time:banana:

08-11-12, 22:10
wow, no wonder u said u had a fun time:banana:

no la but it was in interesting observation...:D

08-11-12, 22:13

Is it your perception that it is hot based on 1 or 2 proposed offers that did not go thru?

9/10/11 covers a very big area, which condos if you do not mind sharing are so hot?

4k for 2 roomers probably the older condos, the new ones on the correct side of 9/10/11 for 1000 sqfeet would be around 5k, while 4k would be closer to MM size

08-11-12, 22:13

Wouldn't tt be a better deal? :p

08-11-12, 22:15
Wouldn't tt be a better deal? :p

considering my brother in law staying there he married with 2 kids..i dont think so...but i wouldnt mind visiting him if he did...:D

dunatos
08-11-12, 22:16
D8 belongs to this category as well?

08-11-12, 22:25
Is it your perception that it is hot based on 1 or 2 proposed offers that did not go thru?

9/10/11 covers a very big area, which condos if you do not mind sharing are so hot?

4k for 2 roomers probably the older condos, the new ones on the correct side of 9/10/11 for 1000 sqfeet would be around 5k, while 4k would be closer to MM size

4k is a CRAPPY budget but if ur NOT too fussy NOT too choosy there are plenty out there...but our experience was that what we liked for $4 to 4.2K a lot of others also liked...so GONE

yong ann park 2units...2 bedder about $4k SNAPPED up by next person who viewed after us....langston ville 3 bedder 1100sqft...$4.5k GONE with the wind oops i mean tenant...sophia lodge...GONE....BUT BUT BUT i must add to be fair these units are NICELY done up very liveable there are still heaps out there that we viewed with stale smell of cigarette smoke in the air....some walk ups at cairnhill still availible...those facing CTE BIG NO NO.....:rolleyes:

Bottomline my take is that if you got a DECENT facing nicely done up unit about 1000sqft...not too noisy...not too arrogant an owner...it is EASY to rent out...to be honest...we viewed 20 units....15 were so so...5 were really nice ..anyway we finally found 1 after 1month of SEARCHING...poor agent...today he is a happy man..his job done and so is MINE:cheers5:

08-11-12, 22:27
D8 belongs to this category as well?

d8 i think is mount sophia side.. a FEw nice OLD apts there...:)

but HONESTLY i must add that the first thing my bro said is that he dont want to stay in those small MM...apts..dont blame him...his house in australia about 5k sq ft....:doh:

08-11-12, 22:34
4k is a CRAPPY budget but if ur NOT too fussy NOT too choosy there are plenty out there...but our experience was that what we liked for $4 to 4.2K a lot of others also liked...so GONE

yong ann park 2units...2 bedder about $4k SNAPPED up by next person who viewed after us....langston ville 3 bedder 1100sqft...$4.5k GONE with the wind oops i mean tenant...sophia lodge...GONE....BUT BUT BUT i must add to be fair these units are NICELY done up very liveable there are still heaps out there that we viewed with stale smell of cigarette smoke in the air....some walk ups at cairnhill still availible...those facing CTE BIG NO NO.....:rolleyes:

Bottomline my take is that if you got a DECENT facing nicely done up unit about 1000sqft...not too noisy...not too arrogant an owner...it is EASY to rent out...to be honest...we viewed 20 units....15 were so so...5 were really nice ..anyway we finally found 1 after 1month of SEARCHING...poor agent...today he is a happy man..his job done and so is MINE:cheers5:

Yong An Park 2 bedder 4k if nicely done up may be value for money
Sophia Lodge, very small site and not much to offer other than newer and convenient.

08-11-12, 22:40
Yong An Park 2 bedder 4k if nicely done up may be value for money
Sophia Lodge, very small site and not much to offer other than newer and convenient.

this the one but gone...it is really big....like 4rm flat...

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/11789716/for-rent-sophia-lodge

yong ann is a BEAUTIFUL OLD condo i would like to own personally and the 2 bedder is like THE smallest there i think...look at this...:scared-1::scared-1::scared-1:

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/10073473/for-rent-yong-an-park

08-11-12, 22:54

yong ann is a BEAUTIFUL OLD condo i would like to own personally and the 2 bedder is like THE smallest there i think...look at this...:scared-1::scared-1::scared-1:

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/10073473/for-rent-yong-an-park

Yes, Yong Ann old and graceful, difficult to enbloc bec the older folks who have been there for years unlikely to agree.

stiook
08-11-12, 23:03

This one says pool view... other people's pool?

08-11-12, 23:08
This one says pool view... other people's pool?

frankly this tub condo the pool is like oversized bath tub...cmi...:doh:

Secretariat
09-11-12, 05:58

Thank you for the field report.

Young An Park 1023 sqf

(URA record) Last transacted at $1.75 mil on Dec 2011
(Propertyguru) On sales at $2.3 mil currently

Based on 80LTV, 30-years tenure at around 1.08% interest rate.

Monthly installment is about $5900
Current rental rate is about $4200
Net -$1700

09-11-12, 08:25
Thank you for the field report.

Young An Park 1023 sqf

(URA record) Last transacted at $1.75 mil on Dec 2011
(Propertyguru) On sales at $2.3 mil currently

Based on 80LTV, 30-years tenure at around 1.08% interest rate.

Monthly installment is about $5900
Current rental rate is about $4200
Net -$1700

it is NOT worth to buy for investment cos yield SUCKZ...but if you bought many years ago i guess u got a gem..:rolleyes:..anyway $4k rental for a place like that is great considering location and living enviroment:)

09-11-12, 08:58
hi radha

how is ur poor bro going to squeeze into the 1000sqft with 2 kids ?

why must be 9,10,11 ? is it school factor ?

09-11-12, 09:21
Now you know why the two bedders are good investment unit for rental besides capital appreciation. Good location and view can snap up very quickly at more than 5k.

09-11-12, 09:26
Now you know why the two bedders are good investment unit for rental besides capital appreciation. Good location and view can snap up very quickly at more than 5k.
See the calculation above, negative yield if want to buy now :scared-5:

09-11-12, 09:27
Conclusion? NOT HOT. At $4k budget for 1000sqft and still got so many choices and can find so fast at D9 D10 and D11, means rental market very cold and landlord desperate.

09-11-12, 09:31
$4k is a crappy budget??

09-11-12, 09:35
Do not mean this development and now. But still can lookout for this range for fire sale.
See the calculation above, negative yield if want to buy now :scared-5:

09-11-12, 09:55
hi radha

how is ur poor bro going to squeeze into the 1000sqft with 2 kids ?

why must be 9,10,11 ? is it school factor ?

he is based here alone thats why budget for rental based on single expat...his family will come once in a while during holidays....:)...when he is overseas i will use the swimming pool...:D:D:D....and check out some babes....ouch....my wife just hit me...:D:D:D:D

09-11-12, 09:57
Do not mean this development and now. But still can lookout for this range for fire sale.
what range of sales is fire sale? 1mil for 2 bedder (only rent at 4500..), 700K for 1 bedder? :D :D :D

09-11-12, 10:22
$4k is a crappy budget??

yup i know he working for german mnc...everything kena squeeze...he adked for $5k...then the big big boss...squeeze to $4k....:scared-3:...such is life for expat in spore

09-11-12, 10:37
1 million 2 bedder for $4500 monthly rental is not so bad with a yield of about 5.5% and can service loan with some take home pocket money. Not forgetting the capital appreciation.
what range of sales is fire sale? 1mil for 2 bedder (only rent at 4500..), 700K for 1 bedder? :D :D :D

09-11-12, 10:38
Is it semen? 2nd largest bank, commerzbank, already starting retrenchment exercise. :cool:
yup i know he working for german mnc...everything kena squeeze...he adked for $5k...then the big big boss...squeeze to $4k....:scared-3:...such is life for expat in spore

09-11-12, 10:49
1 million 2 bedder for $4500 monthly rental is not so bad with a yield of about 5.5% and can service loan with some take home pocket money. Not forgetting the capital appreciation.
but the problem is that, now is CCR, the avg asking price of 2 bedder is around 1.5-1.8mil, 1 bedder around 1.2 mil, only 350 ~ 450 sqft MM around 900K. :scared-3:

where got pocket money one?:doh:

09-11-12, 10:55
CCR psf will further narrow with OCR/RCR in next few years; mark my words for it

09-11-12, 11:18
CCR psf will further narrow with OCR/RCR in next few years; mark my words for it

is ocr/rcr going up to meet ccr or reverse ?

09-11-12, 11:48
Is it semen? 2nd largest bank, commerzbank, already starting retrenchment exercise. :cool:

Nope its oil and gas...;)

09-11-12, 12:30
Office Boy also see quite a few expats coming to the office.

I think rental is going to hold for quite a while more.

The balance is probably the rate of expats coming in and the number of units we have.

So far, the balance has been quite well kept.

09-11-12, 12:55
Is he paid in US$? Got a friend who works with an oil and gas MNC and paid in US$. Had pay cut for quite a while do to the exchange rate. Got another friend who works in a large local oil and gas company who had 12 mths of bonus and can pay for a condo.:)
Nope its oil and gas...;)

09-11-12, 13:23
Is he paid in US$? Got a friend who works with an oil and gas MNC and paid in US$. Had pay cut for quite a while do to the exchange rate. Got another friend who works in a large local oil and gas company who had 12 mths of bonus and can pay for a condo.:)

local terms with company car thrown in....;)...but from he told me times are hard...he lucky to get this posting been trying a long long time...in my heart i was thinking how nice a few years ago i bought a 2-bedder ccr...now will have confirm tenant....:doh::doh::doh::o

09-11-12, 13:26
local terms with company car thrown in....;)...but from he told me times are hard...he lucky to get this posting been trying a long long time...in my heart i was thinking how nice a few years ago i bought a 2-bedder ccr...now will have confirm tenant....:doh::doh::doh::o

Bro, maybe you wont even rent to him because, just maybe, the outside rental is 4.5K.... You will keep quiet leh....
I today just TCSS....:cheers4:

09-11-12, 13:41
MR B told me that Hamilton Scott will fall >50% from current $3000psf to $1500psf by 2015.. In the meantime I just buy season parking for my falali to park downstair first.. Hopefully by 2015 I can park her inside my house.. So now I just have to wait for that 50% fall lor

09-11-12, 13:51
is ocr/rcr going up to meet ccr or reverse ?

somewhere in between, CCR up 10%, OCR up 30%, RCR up 15% loh :p

the primary reason (without any major blackswan incident) is due to HDB resale price playing catching up ... due to HDB COV (i.e. you cannot get loan from bank to cover COV) so it takes a long time to sell at the fair price ... there should be another 30% upside for HDB in next 4y

09-11-12, 13:55
Bro, maybe you wont even rent to him because, just maybe, the outside rental is 4.5K.... You will keep quiet leh....
I today just TCSS....:cheers4:

ha ha true...but one thing i learnt....spend a few $$ paint up ur place keep it clean....sure easy to rent some landlord just cannot be bothered...:o

09-11-12, 14:16
ha ha true...but one thing i learnt....spend a few $$ paint up ur place keep it clean....sure easy to rent some landlord just cannot be bothered...:o

Bro, you damn smart. The key is to just paint it white... Dont itchy backside and paint light brown, green, etc.... White always does the job !!!!
Next, polish the marble. This is like the car, polish your car super shiny, seller think - Swee....
:cheers4:

09-11-12, 15:10
Bro, you damn smart. The key is to just paint it white... Dont itchy backside and paint light brown, green, etc.... White always does the job !!!!
Next, polish the marble. This is like the car, polish your car super shiny, seller think - Swee....
:cheers4:

i know bro i ONCE was a landlord...i managed to rent my flat to SIA stewardesses...:D:D:D...i mop and polished my flat before viewing when they view straightaway onzzzz...

09-11-12, 18:49
i know bro i ONCE was a landlord...i managed to rent my flat to SIA stewardesses...:D:D:D...i mop and polished my flat before viewing when they view straightaway onzzzz...

You never throw in weekly housekeeper free?

09-11-12, 19:42
or polish their booties for free?

09-11-12, 22:09
he he along the way i made house calls...walau one of them wearing lingerie when i came to check the water pressure cause they complained too low....i could feel the pressure in my crotch....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

09-11-12, 22:26
he he along the way i made house calls...walau one of them wearing lingerie when i came to check the water pressure cause they complained too low....i could feel the pressure in my crotch....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

SIA girls so sexy so sexy :p

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNEJrd6GkSY

09-11-12, 22:31

ya and NOT shy best tenant are stewardesses....you collect money and got free show to see...:D...my next tenant was IT professional from India...:doh:

09-11-12, 22:36

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNEJrd6GkSY

chio meh??

09-11-12, 22:36

1000sqf 4K is very cheap!

09-11-12, 22:41

very cheap? the going rate is higher? $4psf isn't the average meh?

09-11-12, 22:49

not the best of the best but decent and liveable......trust me can find...just signed for 950sqft 2 bedder at balmoral area for $4k pm...;)

09-11-12, 22:53
not the best of the best but decent and liveable......trust me can find...just signed for 950sqft 2 bedder at balmoral area for $4k pm...;)

which project? balmoral heights?

09-11-12, 22:53
very cheap? the going rate is higher? $4psf isn't the average meh?
in D9 4K get u a studio only. 2bedders are 6K and above

09-11-12, 23:00

Balmoral cheap cheap nia.. again depend on which condo. If want cheap cheap go for super old condos.

Minimum 25th Percentile Median 75th Percentile Maximum
BALMORAL PARK 0.68 3.00 3.44 4.36 8.06
BALMORAL ROAD 1.85 2.85 3.73 4.22 5.92

09-11-12, 23:17
which project? balmoral heights?

correct u so smart...:D

09-11-12, 23:24
You got go there before or not ?

If you dont drive, going home will help you redefine the meaning of UPHILL task.

Very siong one. I got colleague who terminated rental because cannot take the UPHILL task every day.

But if you are some Skyfall guy or Tomb Raider woman, then no prob of course!

09-11-12, 23:27
correct u so smart...:D

only a few projects fairly new on that street can get at that kind of price. the afternoon son is quite hot though as it faces the afternoon sun. need to blast the air con. size quite good though. i have seen a unit there before.

10-11-12, 01:07
only a few projects fairly new on that street can get at that kind of price. the afternoon son is quite hot though as it faces the afternoon sun. need to blast the air con. size quite good though. i have seen a unit there before.

yup i realized that...but my bro is workaholic type NOT like me TCSS type...:D:D:D plus his role is regional based so he based locally but will be travelling quite a bit in asean region...so i guess ok...but honestly $4k is a VERY tight budget...was either this or walk up at killiney side or facing CTE at cairnhill...so i guess..moral of story better to get burnt by sun than smell traffic fumes or use ur legs walk up/down...:cheers5:

10-11-12, 01:08
You got go there before or not ?

If you dont drive, going home will help you redefine the meaning of UPHILL task.

Very siong one. I got colleague who terminated rental because cannot take the UPHILL task every day.

But if you are some Skyfall guy or Tomb Raider woman, then no prob of course!

ha its only called HEIGHTS but go no uphill....:confused: