View Full Version : 4rm HDB flat vs 1-2 bedded PC

DMCK
16-11-12, 14:07
Lets say I have a fully paid 4rm HDB flat for rental, the location is not so ideal. Should I sell it to buy a 1-2 bedded PC where is better location for rental?

16-11-12, 15:30
Lets say I have a fully paid 4rm HDB flat for rental, the location is not so ideal. Should I sell it to buy a 1-2 bedded PC where is better location for rental?

MM Lee always said NEVER sell your hdb...:cheers5:

16-11-12, 16:00
Lets say I have a fully paid 4rm HDB flat for rental, the location is not so ideal. Should I sell it to buy a 1-2 bedded PC where is better location for rental?if you have no $$ to fund downpayment for second one, yes, sell. if you have $$ for the downpayment, then dont sell.

16-11-12, 17:40

solely from yield perspective, HDB will always be better. furthermore, unlikely you can get a 1-2 BR PC without having to top up. that means you will be exposed to one additional loan. consider that as a risk (while the HDB is virtually risk-free)

16-11-12, 17:49
got one question here....

if you suay-suay gone into bankruptcy for whatever reasons...
- you still can own a hdb flat,... right??... (hdb=public housing)
- creditors cannot recover their debt by force selling off/liquidate your hdb (through court order).... right ??... (unless the HDB is mortgaged with a private bank)

:confused:

16-11-12, 18:46
yea.. HDB should always be your 'base'..

:cool:

bsslang
16-11-12, 19:12
If you are eligible to buy EC as second timer, then it is a good option. Your 4-room may be able to fully cover the new 1-2 bedder without loan.

Else calculating the rental % yield difference between HDB and PC may easily give you the answer.

16-11-12, 21:45
If you are eligible to buy EC as second timer, then it is a good option. Your 4-room may be able to fully cover the new 1-2 bedder without loan.

Else calculating the rental % yield difference between HDB and PC may easily give you the answer.

but no passive income. one should always strive for that as the end result.

16-11-12, 22:40

- creditors cannot recover their debt by force selling off/liquidate your hdb (through court order).... right ??... (unless the HDB is mortgaged with a private bank)

Just one question also...

If the money made from selling your HDB can avoid bankruptcy, would you do it?

16-11-12, 22:53

Why u sound so much like chestnut? :confused: :confused: :confused:

16-11-12, 23:01
Why u sound so much like chestnut? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Bro, u mean I sound like this?:confused:
I think I not so pro leh.

17-11-12, 06:26
Bro, u mean I sound like this?:confused:
I think I not so pro leh.

small fish's post does sound like chestnut..

instead of giving direct answer... it is best field questions to make one think.. :D:D

maybe 'small fish' kena influence by chestnut, somehow.. :D

17-11-12, 08:11
small fish and chestnut both are nice to eat when roasted

17-11-12, 08:43
small fish and chestnut both are nice to eat when roasted

Agreeable, and not much carb. Uncle understand.

Hahahaha

17-11-12, 08:45
Agreeable, and not much carb. Uncle understand.

Hahahaha

please dont say UNDER-STAND...u might turn him ON...:D:D:D

17-11-12, 08:57

HAHAHAHAHA!!! :hornybastard::hornybastard::hornybastard::hornybastard:

17-11-12, 09:21
Just one question also...

If the money made from selling your HDB can avoid bankruptcy, would you do it?

Umm... hey,..actually for previous post i was asking a question, and not try telling people something... :D

anyway,.... heehee.... i don't know....
- if 1 day i suay suay gone bankruptcy then i will decide what to do....
- i had been voluntary contributing cpf all the time, and cpf pays my hdb loan => less cash, creditors see that also sian...
- i'm still on old old hdb loan. never switch to private bank eventhough hdb loan is 3+%. old system is like 1st charge cpf, 2nd charge hdb mortgage...

when 1 day i suay suay need go bankruptcy,
- likely it will be a severe recession or depression,...
- likely hdb price crashed by 60-70%... my property holding values all gone,...
- likely whatever biz i'm running will be dead, no way to recover or restart another 1
- likely i willl owe >500K,... hdb proceed cannot cover
- likely the economy is in big shxt...

If the money made from selling HDB can avoid bankruptcy (say 200K-300K), but say if i'm too old and economy no sight of recovering.... may be i will decide go bankruptcy lah.... :( :scared-3: :beats-me-man:

17-11-12, 10:03

Ok, I thrust the above is in order then.

Oops, I think my iPad is functioning very weirdly... I keep typing thrust, see... Let me try again, trust... Now it works...

Ok, I trust the above is in order.

17-11-12, 10:21
Ok, I thrust the above is in order then.

Oops, I think my iPad is functioning very weirdly... I keep typing thrust, see... Let me try again, trust... Now it works...

Ok, I trust the above is in order.

lol!! :D

:doh::doh::doh: