View Full Version : Iskandar: Boon or bane for Singapore real estate?

reporter2
04-01-13, 15:30
http://www.todayonline.com/Business/Property/EDC121228-0000026/Iskandar--Boon-or-bane-for-Singapore-real-estate?

Iskandar: Boon or bane for Singapore real estate?

by Tan Chin Keong

04:45 AM Dec 28, 2012

Iskandar Malaysia was launched in November 2006 with the aim of developing the southern Johor region into a strong and sustainable metropolis of international standing.

With a total area of 2,217 sq km, the region will have five flagship zones including the Johor Baru City Centre, Nusajaya and Senai-Skudai, and will incorporate work, live and play elements. A number of key projects have been planned to attract investments into Iskandar, and some have been successfully completed, such as the Johor Premium Outlet and LegoLand.

According to recent reports, as of last September, Iskandar had recorded nearly RM100 billion (S$40 billion) in investments, about 40 per cent of which came from foreign sources.

A number of Singaporean companies such as Ascendas and Raffles Education, and even Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim, have invested in Iskandar-related projects -proof that it is gaining momentum and critical mass.

Given Iskandar's rising prominence and proximity to Singapore, one cannot help but wonder what impact it may have on the property market here.

Industrial real estate to get hit

In my view, the impact will be felt most keenly in the industrial property sector.

Due to the recent shift in government policy, Singapore's immigration and foreign worker rules have been tightened, resulting in rising wage costs, especially for labour-intensive industries such as manufacturing and construction.

In addition, industrial property prices have hit a new record high, driven by low interest rates and buoyant investment demand.

And while industrial property rentals have not risen as much as sale prices, the almost 40 per cent increase in rentals since the third quarter of 2009 has significantly increased tenants' cost base.

With the higher labour and occupancy costs here, industrial firms in Singapore may increasingly find Iskandar to be a good relocation destination.

While this may be a good option for tenants, it could be negative for industrial property demand and prices.

Besides industrial property, Iskandar could also have an impact on Singapore's housing sector.

Current record-high home prices, coupled with the Government's cooling measures and the risk of further curbs if prices continue to rise, could sap potential investment demand for residential property.

Instead, such demand may be diverted towards Iskandar, given the increasing buzz there and the fact that Iskandar's home prices are currently only a fraction of Singapore's.

And if Iskandar's transportation network and security situation are further enhanced, it could add to the attractiveness of residential properties in the region.

Currently, engineering studies are being conducted on the proposed MRT link from Woodlands to Johor Baru that would significantly enhance the convenience of commuting between Iskandar and Singapore.

Indeed, we have recently seen evidence of more Singaporeans investing in residential properties in Iskandar, either for rental income or as a second home.

Long-term gain, short-term pain

Thus, Iskandar Malaysia may be a boon for industrial property tenants and residential real estate investors in Singapore looking for lower-cost alternatives.

It may also be a boon to the Singapore Government's cooling efforts by helping divert investment demand away from the red-hot residential market.

In the long term, with the recent improvement in bilateral relations between Singapore and Malaysia, Iskandar could become a natural hinterland for Singapore, helping the Republic overcome its land constraints.

In the near term, however, Iskandar could be a bane for Singapore industrial property landlords and residential property developers, as it could divert demand away from these two market segments.

Tan Chin Keong is an analyst at UBS CIO Wealth Management Research.

04-01-13, 19:16
short term pain,
long term pain pain!

04-01-13, 20:32
short term pain,
long term pain pain!
hmm...
you mean bad? :47:

dare2
05-01-13, 05:29
People who bought Horizon Hills at $200K RM are sitting on properties that have appreciated 3x-4x their original price. Its painful ....to those who dismissed the potential just a few years ago....

05-01-13, 13:19
short term pain,
long term pain pain!

I think its healthy for the Singapore property market to have a pressure relief valve. A diversion of sorts... deflate the market a bit.

Unlike bigger countries, Singapore does not have a hinterland. This means we don't have a kampung or village to retreat to when times are bad. Prices will continue to soar.

Instead of harsh cooling measures implemented by the government, this is a much healthier and natural way to moderate prices.

virzone
05-01-13, 16:09
People who bought Horizon Hills at $200K RM are sitting on properties that have appreciated 3x-4x their original price. Its painful ....to those who dismissed the potential just a few years ago....

Sitting on the profit may not mean eventually the profit will be realised.
The resale market is not as good as Singapore. Have you already seen success stories of people who manage to sell 3-4x higher?
Ask yourself, would you buy knowing that it already increased 3-4x higher?
Most smart investor will not buy when is already high.

I have a colleague who try to sell 2x higher after some years, two very potential buyers pull out last minute. He is still holding to the unit now.:scared-5:

05-01-13, 16:58
Sitting on the profit may not mean eventually the profit will be realised.
The resale market is not as good as Singapore. Have you already seen success stories of people who manage to sell 3-4x higher?
Ask yourself, would you buy knowing that it already increased 3-4x higher?
Most smart investor will not buy when is already high.

I have a colleague who try to sell 2x higher after some years, two very potential buyers pull out last minute. He is still holding to the unit now.:scared-5:

Your colleague will be very thankful that the deal didnt go through 2 years ago. I am sure the price of his/her property must have appreciate by more than 50% over the last 2 years. Perhaps you could give him or her a call to confirm if what I am saying is correct.

The situation in Iskandar today is very very different from 2 years back. It might be good to take a drive down East Ledang office to have a look at the development plan in that area.

nuff said. Dont want to leak too much info...:D

05-01-13, 17:17
Your colleague will be very thankful that the deal didnt go through 2 years ago. I am sure the price of his/her property must have appreciate by more than 50% over the last 2 years. Perhaps you could give him or her a call to confirm if what I am saying is correct.

The situation in Iskandar today is very very different from 2 years back. It might be good to take a drive down East Ledang office to have a look at the development plan in that area.

got details put on internet to read ?
:o

property_finder
05-01-13, 18:07

Many have asked before, why buy resale at high price since Iskandar potentially still has many projects yet to be launched.

virzone
05-01-13, 19:28
Many have asked before, why buy resale at high price since Iskandar potentially still has many projects yet to be launched.

Agree totally!

By the way, my colleague who try to sell his Bukit Indah property is not two years ago. It was 2 months back.

One thing for sure is that with all these speculations in JB, developers are the ones make the most money. If you have spare cash, buy the stocks of those Iskandar's developer. :)

05-01-13, 20:23
as i mentioned before, now it is like penny stocks climbing but be careful....

Eg, SZ cannot compare to HK and maybe it will take years to come....i doubt... so ppl work there, go back home after work. so who stay in SZ? you can learn about this yourself...:o

So next time when transport network is up or further enhanced, who stay there?? think again. Today, some go batam to work and then at night go home to Sg mainland. if everything is smooth, the boat ride is even faster then passing thru the woodland custom :D

the reason why it is more popular now it because we can just drive in anytime, so called convenient.

your own call...

just my opinion. :o :2cents:

05-01-13, 21:26
Agree totally!

By the way, my colleague who try to sell his Bukit Indah property is not two years ago. It was 2 months back.

One thing for sure is that with all these speculations in JB, developers are the ones make the most money. If you have spare cash, buy the stocks of those Iskandar's developer. :)

earlier you were saying some YEARS back, now its 2 months. anyway, how long have your friends been holding on to this property?

Developers in Malaysia is no difference to those in Singapore or other part of the world. They are in the business of making money. However in % return, it is not true that developer always generate higher return than property speculators.

Based on your reasoning for buying property stock, the stock price of property developer will always rise because they will always have property to sell. Do also note that when you buy stocks, you cant leverage, but property you could.

05-01-13, 21:38
the developer is setting higher and higher prices with each phase of launch. but finding a buyer to buy your resale unit is the elusive part.

star
05-01-13, 21:50
Risk is much much higher in malaysia than in singapore. Land there are abundant and plentiful and malaysia cooling measures are very light or few if crash really will crash hard.

05-01-13, 21:52
Risk is much much higher in malaysia than in singapore. Land there are abundant and plentiful and malaysia cooling measures are very light or few if crash really will crash hard.

I think the biggest worry for investors is the flip flop government policy. Anyway, I think many investors are observing how the election with turn out.

05-01-13, 21:55
I think the biggest worry for investors is the flip flop government policy. Anyway, I think many investors are observing how the election with turn out.

policy risk isn't as prominent as the oversupply risk. the acres of space as I was going to Legoland. wow, how much housing can the whole area accomodate? developers who are going to sell you the houses in those areas will probably huat ah.

virzone
06-01-13, 09:44
[quote=Ringo33]earlier you were saying some YEARS back, now its 2 months. anyway, how long have your friends been holding on to this property?

What i meant earlier is that he try to sell after some years. Meaning he bought some years back and tried to sell 2 months back. :doh:

virzone
06-01-13, 09:51
He was holding to the Iskandar property for about two-three years and try to sell 2x higher about 2 months back...

Ringo, can you share with us some success stories of yours since you advocate Iskandar property so much?

Personally, i am not in favor of Iskandar's properties as a lot of people here knows that the crime rate is high and i think is all about speculations, no real fundamental now.

06-01-13, 11:04
Totally agree...I could be wrong...I don't see concerted effort in town planning or whatsoever so, residents to-be, be aware...
The individual developer would not be planning for amenities. Why should they, now it is hot...and furthermore, they will built and spread out as there seems no limit to the land space. Of course they will huat as long as they catch this fire. Once gone, it will be gone....demand currently is fuelled by speculation & and so called investment...:2cents: as I said, I could be wrong...

And let's face it, high crime rate will always be an issue and is always not easy to handle especially when there is a lot of spaces to hide...:scared-4:
Just to offer my opinion...:2cents:

policy risk isn't as prominent as the oversupply risk. the acres of space as I was going to Legoland. wow, how much housing can the whole area accomodate? developers who are going to sell you the houses in those areas will probably huat ah.

06-01-13, 13:12
He was holding to the Iskandar property for about two-three years and try to sell 2x higher about 2 months back...

Ringo, can you share with us some success stories of yours since you advocate Iskandar property so much?

Personally, i am not in favor of Iskandar's properties as a lot of people here knows that the crime rate is high and i think is all about speculations, no real fundamental now.

As you already highlighted. your friend is expecting a 100% returns within 2 to 3 years. thats more than 60% per year. wat other success stories do you need. There is no need to speculate, just take a drive across to Iskandar to find out for yourself.

dare2
08-01-13, 04:56
Totally agree...I could be wrong...I don't see concerted effort in town planning or whatsoever so, residents to-be, be aware...
The individual developer would not be planning for amenities. Why should they, now it is hot...and furthermore, they will built and spread out as there seems no limit to the land space. Of course they will huat as long as they catch this fire. Once gone, it will be gone....demand currently is fuelled by speculation & and so called investment...:2cents: as I said, I could be wrong...

And let's face it, high crime rate will always be an issue and is always not easy to handle especially when there is a lot of spaces to hide...:scared-4:
Just to offer my opinion...:2cents:

Obviously you have not been over to JB to look at their new township, Bukit Indah is probably as well provided as our typical HDB township accessible by major link to other business and industrial zones, the main issue is not so much their town planning but the crime rate which is somewhat exaggerated. Land may be aplenty but the various developmental nodes are valued because of their connectivity. There are also niche lifestyle development like Senibong Cove estuarine living. IDR is unlike SZ, they have planned residential, business and industrial zones....and also various entertainment parks....all they need is a casino.....and MBS will sweat....I guess you are also questioning the billion dollar international investment in IDR? Hahaha, are these people pouring money into the drain? I guess there are more experts here than those MNCs......

virzone
08-01-13, 05:40
Iskandar property may become a success in the future and all those skeptics are left behind, including myself... that is the lost of opportunity cost i have to accept.

But until then, there are still some risks that fellow investors should be aware of. I think this article sum it up nicely. The author is not against the investment in Iskandar, he just list out the factor to be considered, that's all.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/property-blog/factors-aware-invest-iskandar-johor-090413664.html

08-01-13, 07:34
Sg & MNCs are considering it as an extended arm for manufacturing base whereby lands and labour are abundance...residential is a by product, to me.... What do you think why a traffic network is so impt which is being considered and even a MRT link has been brought up a few times, it's because it will be convenient for u to work there and then come back after work...:D

It is anybody's guess and above is just base on my guess as well. :2cents:

Obviously you have not been over to JB to look at their new township, Bukit Indah is probably as well provided as our typical HDB township accessible by major link to other business and industrial zones, the main issue is not so much their town planning but the crime rate which is somewhat exaggerated. Land may be aplenty but the various developmental nodes are valued because of their connectivity. There are also niche lifestyle development like Senibong Cove estuarine living. IDR is unlike SZ, they have planned residential, business and industrial zones....and also various entertainment parks....all they need is a casino.....and MBS will sweat....I guess you are also questioning the billion dollar international investment in IDR? Hahaha, are these people pouring money into the drain? I guess there are more experts here than those MNCs......

08-01-13, 09:35
I was looking at a jb blog. The people living in JB really car-pool to come to singapore to work.
Sg & MNCs are considering it as an extended arm for manufacturing base whereby lands and labour are abundance...residential is a by product, to me.... What do you think why a traffic network is so impt which is being considered and even a MRT link has been brought up a few times, it's because it will be convenient for u to work there and then come back after work...:D

08-01-13, 14:53
The upcoming Raffles American School permanent campus, classes already started in temporary campus

http://www.btinvest.com.sg/personal_finance/education/raffles-edu-buys-iskandar-site-20120920/

http://www.btinvest.com.sg/system/assets/7682/BT_20120920_ASRAFFLES20_172508e.jpg

08-01-13, 14:54
As I said land is the most valuable ...

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/20121203235316/20121203235316.pdf

08-01-13, 14:56
MRT connectivity to JB ??? You can wait another 10y .... plan is to connect to Republic MRT station at TSL ... so wait for TSL to be up first lol

08-01-13, 15:01
EduCity has a good start ... growth is ?

More than 100 children from Singapore travel to Johor daily to go to school in Malaysia's new education hub, Iskandar Educity.

They include Singaporeans as well as children of expatriates based in Singapore.

Some families have also moved to Johor so the children can be closer to school, and the parents commute to Singapore for work.

The education centre in the Nusajaya township, just across the Second Link in Tuas, has a cluster of schools of various levels, from pre-school to university.

Three have Singapore operators - the Management Development Institute of Singapore, Raffles University Iskandar and Raffles American School.

Others include Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia, the Netherlands Maritime Institute of Technology and the University of Southampton.

Marlborough College Malaysia, which opened two weeks ago, is a branch of Britain's well-known Marlborough College, which counts Kate Middleton, the Duchess of Cambridge, among its alumni.

Principal Robert Pick said half of its 350 students aged between four and 15 commute daily from Singapore. He declined to give the breakdown, but said expatriates outnumbered Singaporeans.

The children are picked up by a fleet of buses from their homes in Singapore from 7am to make the commute to Malaysia via the Second Link.

They are "fast-tracked" across the border using a Malaysian Automated Clearance System pass that does not require their passports to be stamped, and the children do not have to get off the buses.

The journey takes about 40 to 50 minutes on a good day and over an hour if there is heavy traffic.

The school declined to give contacts of Singaporean parents, and those approached by The Sunday Times did not want to be interviewed.

But one British expatriate who commutes daily with her three children is Ms Joanna Ackerly, an events manager at the college. She drives her three children aged six, eight and 10 from their home in central Singapore to Johor and back every day.

She said she was attracted to Marlborough's small class size of 18 pupils, academic reputation and holistic philosophy, as well as its sprawling campus.

The long twice-a-day commutes were better than she expected, she said.

To save on travelling time, some parents have moved to Johor.

Ms Daphne Ashford-Smith, 35, a partner in a wealth management company who lived in Singapore for eight years, moved to Johor last month with her husband, managing director Robert Smith, 34, and their two daughters aged 41/2 and 18 months.

The couple commute daily to Singapore for work, while elder daughter Tahliah attends Marlborough College. The younger daughter is in a childcare centre near Mrs Ashford-Smith's workplace.

They decided to place Tahliah in Marlborough because she could not get a place at the international school of their choice in Singapore.

"Tahliah had been on the waiting list for two years and they had no space for her until 2014 at the earliest. We had also tried to look at other schools but found that they also had long waiting lists or were simply not aligned with our requirements," she said.

She visited Marlborough College and liked the emphasis on extra-curricular activities.

"We would never find the time to take Tahliah to any classes ourselves. They have been offering the children opportunities to try different classes and decide which they like," she said.

Other schools in the Iskandar area have also drawn Singapore students.

Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia launched its Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery degree course in 2009 and moved into its new campus last year.

Its 120 undergraduates include a handful of Singaporeans. When the new term begins at the end of the month, a few more will be among the intake of 100.

Adiel Haqiq Hussien is studying at Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia. Half of the 350 children aged between four and 15 at Marlborough College Malaysia commute daily from Singapore.

Singaporean Adiel Haqiq Hussien, 23, enrolled in the five-year medical course after completing his national service last year, and starts his second year at the end of the month.

He said he chose the university's Johor campus over several others in Britain because the tuition and accommodation costs were considerably lower.

He stays on campus during term time. His parents, a doctor and a housewife, live in Johor and his siblings study in Singapore.

Another school in Iskandar which opened recently, Raffles American School, now has just nine students, two of whom are Singaporean siblings aged 11 and 14.

Their family moved to Johor, said school superintendent Rob Mockrish. The school can take in 120 for now and will eventually have boarding facilities for 450 students.

Raffles University Iskandar and the Netherlands Maritime Institute of Technology now have only Malaysian students but plan to take in international students next year.

08-01-13, 15:05
Lots of people know Legoland JB, here is a blog about Hello Kitty theme park @ Puteri Harbour with photos

http://www.jaynechua.com/review-hello-kitty-town/

dare2
08-01-13, 16:47

As it is already a number of Singaporean are already commuting from JB, if one work in the relocated offices why would one want to come back here to stay? The cost of living is so much cheaper there. The only issue is education if one has school going children. A typical wage earner if based in JB work wise can rent out his HDB/PC and finance a second property over there.......why just come back and stay in a property that can earn you enough to buy a much bigger place there?

Assuming if rent out HDB for 2.5K, convert to RM almost 7K....can finance a million RM Semi-D already....

08-01-13, 19:41
just my guess, either you have no children or you are not be married yet or you have yet to consider about security and some other issues that your family might face. money is not everything, it is also the lifestyle you are forgoing...
you go ask hundreds and thousands of HK ppl commuting between HK and SZ. Why would they want to do that. If you have colleagues doing that they will tell you the reasons. :)
If cost of living is what you are primarily looking at, then maybe batam might be a better choice for you?? There are also thousands of ppl commuting between Sg and Batam each day do you know that? Why do they want to do that??
I just stating some e.g....not to invite any argument...:2cents:

in Sg, i want to go for mid night show i just go, i want to eat a bowl of noodles i just walk a few hundred meters and there is a kopi shop or hawker centre. if u stay in Mal, do you have this? are you not worry if your girlfriend or wife say they are going to package some food at 10pm??:eek:
:2cents:

As it is already a number of Singaporean are already commuting from JB, if one work in the relocated offices why would one want to come back here to stay? The cost of living is so much cheaper there. The only issue is education if one has school going children. A typical wage earner if based in JB work wise can rent out his HDB/PC and finance a second property over there.......why just come back and stay in a property that can earn you enough to buy a much bigger place there?

Assuming if rent out HDB for 2.5K, convert to RM almost 7K....can finance a million RM Semi-D already....

FREDDIE
08-01-13, 19:50
just my guess, either you have no children or you are not be married yet or you have yet to consider about security and some other issues that your family might face. money is not everything, it is also the lifestyle you are forgoing...
you go ask hundreds and thousands of HK ppl commuting between HK and SZ. Why would they want to do that. If you have colleagues doing that they will tell you the reasons. :)
If cost of living is what you are primarily looking at, then maybe batam might be a better choice for you?? There are also thousands of ppl commuting between Sg and Batam each day do you know that? Why do they want to do that??

in Sg, i want to go for mid night show i just go, i want to eat a bowl of noodles i just walk a few hundred meters and there is a kopi shop or hawker centre. if u stay in Mal, do you have this? are you not worry if your girlfriend or wife say they are going to package some food at 10pm??:eek:

Ya, Safety is still the most important. Once hit money can not bring back......

dare2
08-01-13, 20:01

...as I mentioned in the earlier response, you simply do not know what it's like in Johore.....possibly what you know is based on what others say or what you read on internet, you can also get killed going to midnite show in Sg, or robbed or burgled.....its how you take precaution....haha Batam??? you are at the mercy of the ferry service and not as well linked as JB, do not stretch your 'argument' without real facts......or twisted facts.

08-01-13, 20:10
its ok, agree to disagree...just offering views from other angle. batam boat ride is more consistent than the JB traffic...:) once i catch the boat, i know roughly i will reach home by what time. maybe you have also never commute to batam to work :)
you are right to say that i have never walk out in JB at night...but i also commute to JB to work just fyi...
anyway, enough being said, thanks. :2cents:

...as I mentioned in the earlier response, you simply do not know what it's like in Johore.....possibly what you know is based on what others say or what you read on internet, you can also get killed going to midnite show in Sg, or robbed or burgled.....its how you take precaution....haha Batam??? you are at the mercy of the ferry service and not as well linked as JB, do not stretch your 'argument' without real facts......or twisted facts.

08-01-13, 20:10
in JB .. just act like poor man and avoid certain places you will be safe.. don't wear your Rolex or wear gold like this ... like it or not more people will need to stay in JB, even ang mohs

http://www.zerohedge.com/sites/default/files/images/user3303/imageroot/2012/12-2/20130106_goldshirt_0.JPG

dare2
08-01-13, 20:14
its ok, agree to disagree...just offering views from other angle. batam boat ride is more consistent than the JB traffic...:) once i catch the boat, i know roughly i will reach home by what time. maybe you have also never commute to batam to work :)
you are right to say that i have never walk out in JB at night...but i also commute to JB to work just fyi...
anyway, enough being said, thanks. :2cents:
...hahaha i will never consider commuting to Batam....have you tried riding the boat in heavy downpour? Have you eaten in Batam? What is the entertainment scene like there? Good if you keep a mistresslah....

star
08-01-13, 20:39
JB houses will never reach KL price. The capital is in KL not JB. If KL already has so many vacant condo do be careful of JB.

08-01-13, 20:45
I almost take up MM2H, cheap BMW and Merc....on top of cheap and big house....

But, my friend told me, I would pack and come back within a week, why? it is the life style I want.

BTW, certain projects in Penang already hit the price of KLCC.

dare2
08-01-13, 21:10
...ya KL is the capital, but Sg is nearer to Kl.....u can get best of both world...just need to be more open minded.....btw, if you stay in East side Sg and works in the West.....chances are you would take longer to reach home than if you travel to Nusajaya....

dare2
08-01-13, 21:27
...ya KL is the capital, but Sg is nearer to Kl.....u can get best of both world...just need to be more open minded.....btw, if you stay in East side Sg and works in the West.....chances are you would take longer to reach home than if you travel to Nusajaya....
I mean JB is nearer than KL....

BTW Puteri Harbour prices ........its almost there liao...

yaozong7
08-01-13, 23:56
Many sinkies knowledge of JB is limited to Taman Sentosa, Pelangi, Century & Melodies.

I doubt they have physically been to Bukit Indah, Sutera Utama, Mt Austin & Taman Molek to look at the townships there. No supper possible at JB? I think the traffic is far worse at 11pm compared to 8 pm in many of these areas. Lol........

09-01-13, 04:29
JB houses will never reach KL price. The capital is in KL not JB. If KL already has so many vacant condo do be careful of JB.

dont say it too soon. Many friends from KL, including those in real estate are are already flummoxed by the prices of property in Iskandar area.

There will be a sentosa cove type of marina property coming soon.

http://puteriharbour.com.my/private_marina.php

dare2
09-01-13, 04:31
Many sinkies knowledge of JB is limited to Taman Sentosa, Pelangi, Century & Melodies.

I doubt they have physically been to Bukit Indah, Sutera Utama, Mt Austin & Taman Molek to look at the townships there. No supper possible at JB? I think the traffic is far worse at 11pm compared to 8 pm in many of these areas. Lol........
...haha, precisely, many are too scared to go out and see, one mentioned he even work there but...possibly only dare to drive straight to work and drive straight back.

dare2
09-01-13, 04:43
IDR

Committed investments have reached RM105.14 billion as at end-November 2012

The Financial Times-owned fDI magazine has ranked Iskandar Malaysia as the 4th best investment destination of Global Free Zone of the Future 2012/2013

...Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim’s 1st investment in Iskandar is a RM10 billion integrated waterfront development called Vantage Bay in Johor Bahru

Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim’s 2nd investment in Iskandar is to build RM3.5 billion Motorsports City in Iskandar

more facts at:
http://www.iskandar.asia/iskandar-malaysia/facts-and-figures.html

...of course to some analysts on this forum, IDR is still a bunch of cowboy towns....

09-01-13, 07:31

yes, possibly the only reason why i still staying in sgp now is becoz of kids education. else i would have moved to iskandar. i work in the far west. better to take 2nd link to work than to commute daily to work on the congested expressway (2nd link also congested, but stay BUNGALOW leh. how to fight)

09-01-13, 07:33

yes, and not to mention, the security and safety at all these bukit indah, horizon hills and other areas are very good. almost can say no need to fear. of coz outside the guarded compound, use your common sense.

of coz "cheap" is relative lah. for many seniors here who have portfolio of few mil ppty and already staying in landed ppty, the risk and trouble is not worth taking. for me, i think the overall package is good.

09-01-13, 08:57
yes, possibly the only reason why i still staying in sgp now is becoz of kids education. else i would have moved to iskandar. i work in the far west. better to take 2nd link to work than to commute daily to work on the congested expressway (2nd link also congested, but stay BUNGALOW leh. how to fight)

then get robbed at night or on ur way out to the supermart.?

09-01-13, 09:51
latest
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=%2F2013%2F1%2F9%2Fbusiness%2F12549613&sec=business

09-01-13, 15:10
I am waiting to see the project by E&O JV with Tamasek
the land cost is only M$25

09-01-13, 15:49
just read this..
http://themalaysianreserve.com/main/...hor-for-rm401m

Property developer UEM Land Holdings Bhd has entered into two agreements to sell 43.64 acres (17.66ha) of its land in Puteri Harbour, Johor, for RM400.8 million to an investment holding and general trading company owned by well-known businessmen.

The land will be sold to Liberty Bridge Sdn Bhd, a company equally-owned by Multi Purpose Holldings Bhd managing director (MD) Tan Sri Surin Upatkoon@Lau Kim Khoon, Syarikat Pengeluar Air Selangor Holdings Sdn Bhd chairman Tan Sri Nik Awang@Wan Azmi Wan Hamzah, Kuala Lumpur Kepong Bhd MD Tan Sri Lee Qi Hian and UOB Kay Hian Holdings Ltd MD Wee Ee Chao.

09-01-13, 15:51
I am waiting to see the project by E&O JV with Tamasek
the land cost is only M$25
1 article says double storey terrace starts from 1m. note that medini is 99LH

dare2
09-01-13, 17:29
...so another theme park coming as mentioned above...US Six Flags to invest RM1.5bil in Iskandar theme park

NUSAJAYA: US-based theme park operator Six Flags Entertainment Corp is planning to invest between RM1.2bil and RM1.5bil to set up a theme park in Iskandar Malaysia.
Sources told StarBiz that the theme park, which will be double the size of Legoland Malaysia and the company's first theme park in Asia, would offer more than 40 rides.
According to Wikipedia, Six Flags Entertainment is the world's largest amusement part corporation based on quantity of properties and the fifth most popular in terms of attendance.
The company maintains 19 properties throughout North America consisting of theme parks, thrills parks, water theme parks and family entertainment centres.
Iskandar Invesment Bhd (IIB) president and chief executive officer Datuk Syed Mohamed Syed Ibrahim, who spoke about Iskander Malaysia getting a theme park, which will be third in Iskandar Malaysia, said an announcement would be made by an investor within the next six months on the matter.
The other two theme parks are Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Family Theme Park.
“The new theme park caters to young adults unlike the existing two parks which are for children,'' he told reporters yesterday after the ground-breaking ceremony of the RM250mil Raffles American School campus on an 18.21ha site at EduCity, offering pre-kindergarten to 12th grade education.
He declined to give more details when asked on the new theme park and its attractions, including whether it would be a water-theme park.
Syed Mohamed said the opening of Legoland Malaysia and Puteri Harbour Theme Park last year had created a new level of confidence among domestic and foreign investors that Iskandar Malaysia was moving in the right direction.
“Different theme parks cater to different segments of visitors and this will be better than just having one park in our development,'' he added.
The US$200mil Legoland Malaysia on a 23ha site, which is a joint venture between Merlin Entertainment Groups and IIB, is the first Legoland park in Asia.
Other Legoland theme parks across the world are situated in Denmark, the UK, Germany and in Florida and California.

http://www.sixflags.com/national/index.aspx

...as investment pours in, more jobs will be created...once gainfully employed, less desperate out-of-job individuals will resort to crime....at least petty crime.

09-01-13, 21:01
Will the coming election or election results affect the pty mkt in M'sia??

dare2
09-01-13, 21:11
Will the coming election or election results affect the pty mkt in M'sia??
...the opposition relied on Anwar's charisma and image....but he is now a fading figure without all the mud thrown at him of late. The southern state is unlikely to swing towards the opposition and risks losing the progress made in recent years.....so if anything, the results will reaffirm IDR value.

dare2
10-01-13, 19:59
Well the 3rd theme park news is not accurate after all:

Six Flags says Malaysian theme park investment report ‘not true’.......

10-01-13, 20:51
Johor may review procedures for foreigners to buy houses
Posted: 10 January 2013 2132 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/southeastasia/view/1247178/1/.html

JOHOR BAHARU, Malaysia: Johor state will review procedures and conditions for foreigners to own houses due to spiralling house prices in the state, especially in Iskandar Malaysia.

Bernama news agency quoted Local Government, Housing, Arts, Culture and Heritage Committee chairman Ahmad Zahri Jamil as saying that the state Economic Planning Unit (UPEN) was studying ways to tighten the rules on foreign ownership.

He said this was to control spiralling house prices since locals are finding it difficult to buy houses.

"The price of property is determined by the market force. However, the prices also reflect on demand and supply or just because of extreme speculation. So, we have to conduct a detailed study," he told reporters at Kota Iskandar, Nusajaya, on Thursday.

Foreigners are currently allowed to purchase houses priced at a minimum of RM500,000, according to specific quota.

For example, for double-storey houses, only 30 per cent of the units are allocated for foreigners and the move was to attract foreign investment.

Foreigners may only be allowed to purchase houses above RM1 million.

Mr Ahmad Zahri said Singaporeans accounted for 90 per cent of foreigners who bought houses in Johor state, followed by Britain, United States and China.

- Bernama/de

10-01-13, 22:52
show of hands who is still actively planning to buy a property there again.

dare2
11-01-13, 04:23
I have and would ...

11-01-13, 05:24
show of hands who is still actively planning to buy a property there again.

Actively looking for one. Singapore is getting worse.

It is just a matter of time (within next 5-10 years) when middle income groups (now they think they still can) realise that it is impossible to retire comfortably in Singapore anymore.

A lot of additional tax payers money are needed to support the aging population and infrastructure, on top of overcrowding (>6mil), inflation and large influx of foreigners. Cheers.

11-01-13, 05:38
Something is very wrong with our system - most citizens don't get the benefits of being in of the richest countries in the world in terms of GDP per capita.

11-01-13, 06:19
I have and would ...

Some recommendations:

- Avoid condos (oversupply, overpriced)
- Buy G&G FH landed in or close to good tamans well supported by locals and amenities (Bukit Indah, Sutera, Molek, Austin etc) (reasonable supply, reasonable price)
- Avoid properties that are way below $1 mil RM mark (difficult to sub-sell or re-sell)

That's all from me before I disappear for a long time again! :)

yaozong7
11-01-13, 14:24
Some recommendations:

- Buy G&G FH landed in or close to good tamans well supported by locals and amenities (Bukit Indah, Sutera, Molek, Austin etc) (reasonable supply, reasonable price)
- Avoid properties that are way below $1 mil RM mark (difficult to sub-sell or re-sell)

Best piece of JB property advice on this thread! Haha. Buy JB G&G FH landed to retire, and rent out your HDB and private.

Certainly can retire in JB comfortably with HDB & condo rental income (say $2,500 + $3,500). Individuals have to weigh crime risk on their own though.

11-01-13, 15:15
Best piece of JB property advice on this thread! Haha. Buy JB G&G FH landed to retire, and rent out your HDB and private.

Certainly can retire in JB comfortably with HDB & condo rental income (say $2,500 + $3,500). Individuals have to weigh crime risk on their own though.

what is G&G ??

property_finder
11-01-13, 15:29
Some recommendations:

How do you feel about purchasing Iskandar condos, such as FH condos in Puteri Harbour that are over 1 million ringgit for own stay, and perhaps rent out if there is a rental market?

NorthernStar
11-01-13, 15:50
what is G&G ??
gated and guarded..

dare2
11-01-13, 17:00
How do you feel about purchasing Iskandar condos, such as FH condos in Puteri Harbour that are over 1 million ringgit for own stay, and perhaps rent out if there is a rental market?
My first purchase was a Condo, nice unblocked sea view in exclusive area, recently added a G&G semi-D.....think G&G has better upside than condo. Similar G&G in Penang is over $2M ringgit and selling well. In JB still around $1.5M RM.

Condo is a more risky proposition, so need to be very careful with location. Setia 88 and other town area condos may sound like good choices, but , the MRT connection is still not confirmed, plus looking at the traffic condition, much need to be done to improve the infra-structure to cater for the increase in traffic should the MRT/CIQ materialized, otherwise, it is gonna be a major challenge to drive if you live there. Puteri harbor sounds more viable, but the prices has shot up like crazy.

11-01-13, 19:43

Avoid condos. UEM itself is cashing out from Puteri Harbour. Rental n resale market shd boom in e next few years w Singaporeans choosing to retire. in. JB instead.

I have juz added a FH G&G at Tebrau to my portfolio. Juz in time bcoz I project e next wave of Singaporeans buying coming in e next few weeks due to cooling measure in Singapore today n a cooling measure by Malaysian govt in next few months. Prop in $500k-1mil RM will b snapped up.

dare2
11-01-13, 21:23
Avoid condos. UEM itself is cashing out from Puteri Harbour. Rental n resale market shd boom in e next few years w Singaporeans choosing to retire. in. JB instead.

I have juz added a FH G&G at Tebrau to my portfolio. Juz in time bcoz I project e next wave of Singaporeans buying coming in e next few weeks due to cooling measure in Singapore today n a cooling measure by Malaysian govt in next few months. Prop in $500k-1mil RM will b snapped up.

I am not too sure about the reason why UEM is cashing out, it may not be a negative thing, with more foreign resources being drawn in, it will speed up the growth of PH. This in turn will make IDR more attractive as a whole, thus UEM will benefit from the spin-off. They are possibly also liquidating to beef up their development fund to catch the waves before it gets saturated.

11-01-13, 21:43
Some photos of the show unit that I visited today with ID. Living room is loft design. Less than 1/2 the price of my FH MM in Singapore. Enjoy viewing ;)

http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/820/imag1679.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/820/imag1679.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/855/imag1678d.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/855/imag1678d.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/24/imag1676.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/24/imag1676.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/823/imag1675r.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/823/imag1675r.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/585/imag1674n.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/585/imag1674n.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/202/imag1673.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/202/imag1673.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/854/imag1672o.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/854/imag1672o.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/195/imag1671.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/195/imag1671.jpg/)
http://imageshack.us/scaled/thumb/59/imag1670.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/59/imag1670.jpg/)

11-01-13, 21:52
I am not too sure about the reason why UEM is cashing out, it may not be a negative thing, with more foreign resources being drawn in, it will speed up the growth of PH. This in turn will make IDR more attractive as a whole, thus UEM will benefit from the spin-off. They are possibly also liquidating to beef up their development fund to catch the waves before it gets saturated.

I'm not too sure either. But I wld rather not risk and I am not vested there.

11-01-13, 22:00
Wow, You are very positive with malaysian property.
I'm not too sure either. But I wld rather not risk and I am not vested there.

11-01-13, 22:07
Wow, You are very positive with malaysian property.

So far I was right even though I kenna bashed here in the middle of last year when I bought my first one. Hope I remain right this time also. I was quite skeptical about 2 years ago. I guess it is just like durain, once you have tried it you will love it :p

But I have to add that I am very selective there, more so than in Singapore. This second one took me 2-3 months of searching before I decide on it. The most intensive search was 1-2 weeks ago when I disappeared from this forum, then I went up to confirm with the sales manager on the potential before signing the OTP.

13-01-13, 10:20
I hope u guys are rite about property prospective up north. The upcoming election is to be closely monitored as foreign investment are almost 100% affected by any policy change. I wouldn't be surprise if something of a crisis like the old CLOB shares situation were to be repeated where a lot of ppl got burnt, even investors were not spared, not to mention a lot speculators...:2cents:

1) current situation is that they can built almost without any boundary constraints, this is actually a big cap to your property value. Abundance of space...
2) again, I think at this rate of growing, a lot is talking about paper gain. I personally think the market is very much of a foreigner to foreigner market. As usual, there won't be much local buying.
3) if u die die must buy due to high confidence and cash loaded, then u have to focus on Location. Nothing else...No matter how cheap or attractive it is, don't be distracted. Because imagine who would want to buy from u if the developer keep building new ones?? Obviously location is almost the most important factor.

Just offering some views from another angle...:o :2cents:

13-01-13, 10:24
Believe some of the investors are using spare cash to buy for long-term.
I hope u guys are rite about property prospective up north. The upcoming election is to be closely monitored as foreign investment are almost 100% affected by any policy change. I wouldn't be surprise if something of a crisis like the old CLOB shares situation were to be repeated where a lot of ppl got burnt, even investors were not spared, not to mention a lot speculators...:2cents:

1) current situation is that they can built almost without any boundary constraints, this is actually a big cap to your property value. Abundance of space...
2) again, I think at this rate of growing, a lot is talking about paper gain. I personally think the market is very much of a foreigner to foreigner market. As usual, there won't be much local buying.
3) if u die die must buy due to high confidence and cash loaded, then u have to focus on Location. Nothing else...No matter how cheap or attractive it is, don't be distracted. Because imagine who would want to buy from u if the developer keep building new ones?? Obviously location is almost the most important factor.

Just offering some views from another ange...:o :2cents:

dare2
13-01-13, 21:28
...if you buy to stay, location is important for your convenience or comfort, if for investment should look at less developed area but need to research on its future/potential development.

As discussed many times earlier in this forum, there are far too much committed investment in IDR, it looks like an easy run in for the potential that this State has.......Billions of investment much have been based on sound research and knowledge.

14-01-13, 02:43

My perspectives after mths of research:

For point 1, prime locations e.g. Bukit Indah will run out of land in next few years.

For point 2, most buyers r Malaysians, specifically e Chinese.

For point 3, high risk location means better returns but it depends on holding power n ur objective.

14-01-13, 02:47
...if you buy to stay, location is important for your convenience or comfort, if for investment should look at less developed area but need to research on its future/potential development.

As discussed many times earlier in this forum, there are far too much committed investment in IDR, it looks like an easy run in for the potential that this State has.......Billions of investment much have been based on sound research and knowledge.

IDR juz needs to maintain current rate of investments. Screwed up policies in Singapore will do e rest to help IDR.

14-01-13, 02:50
Believe some of the investors are using spare cash to buy for long-term.

Agree. Prop price is low, so risk is also lower. Sing prop is much more risky since 2011 w unpredictable CMs n v high prop prices.

14-02-13, 14:26
It is really hot right now ...

http://biz.thestar.com.my/archives/2013/2/7/business/iskandar-medini-singaporean-b1.JPG

14-02-13, 14:34
Heard PM Lee is going over to medini on 18 or 19th Feb for the breakground of the wellness hub. They may even announce on the development of mrt in JB jointly in the same meeting.

14-02-13, 14:34
a lot will happen comes 2015-2016

University of Reading EduCity future campus

http://www.reading.ac.uk/web/MultimediaFiles/11128_111_Entrance_View-edited_v2.jpg

14-02-13, 14:41
Uni of Southampton offerign MEng program at Iskandar

http://www.southampton.ac.uk/documents/usmc/usmc_student_handbook_201213.pdf

14-02-13, 14:50
Uni of Southampton offerign MEng program at Iskandar

http://www.southampton.ac.uk/documents/usmc/usmc_student_handbook_201213.pdf

SMEs should be shifting there over the next few years. Sad for our manufacturing sector. No wonder engineering and science are declining in popularity.

14-02-13, 15:07
http://www.guardian.co.uk/higher-education-network/blog/2012/may/08/educity-iskandar-malaysia

hmmm... Educity is supposed to have shared facilities ... something new to me

New Castle University Iskandar:

http://www.ncl.ac.uk/numed/about/campus/gallery/

14-02-13, 15:37
I wish crime rate could be lower. Just a strait across, but things can be so different.

14-02-13, 16:19
My perspectives after mths of research:

For point 1, prime locations e.g. Bukit Indah will run out of land in next few years.

For point 2, most buyers r Malaysians, specifically e Chinese.

For point 3, high risk location means better returns but it depends on holding power n ur objective.

What is your opinion on Nusa Sentral (just beside Bt. Indah).. which is up & coming new town

14-02-13, 16:36
Something is very wrong with our system - most citizens don't get the benefits of being in of the richest countries in the world in terms of GDP per capita.

Swiss living standard lol

ok ... I am neither too bullish nor bearish about Iskandar ... imho, it will be come Singapore's retirement + education + medical village

1. retirement - this needs no explanation, rent out your HDB at 3k pm in Singapore (or another one or two private properties) and enjoy life at lower cost of living in Iskandar, with first class hospitals and shopping within easy reach ...

2. higher education - since a few UK universities / Raffles American / Marlborough college has invested in EduCity ... and when NTU/NUS tuition fee becomes 100k per year ... where else can u go

3. Kenobi-wan has said, cannot afford go JB .... packaged deal including hotel stay :-)

14-02-13, 17:52
What is your opinion on Nusa Sentral (just beside Bt. Indah).. which is up & coming new town

Location wise not as good but price is good. Y not get bt Indah subsale? Some r juz $500-600k RM but less than 2000 sqft.

14-02-13, 18:12
There are 2 causeway link buses from giant hypermart bukit indah to singapore:
CW3 to jurong east bus interchange
CW6 to boon lay

http://www.causewaylink.com.my/singapore-bus#/-1/

14-02-13, 18:18
There are 2 causeway link buses from giant hypermart bukit indah to singapore:
CW3 to jurong east bus interchange
CW6 to boon lay

http://www.causewaylink.com.my/singapore-bus#/-1/

I din know u r exploring this market also.

14-02-13, 18:39
I din know u r exploring this market also.

Look see look see only. If only I am working in Jurong. :beats-me-man:

14-02-13, 21:17
imo, developers marketing to Singaporeans really dun know how to pull it off ... if only the build integrated luxurious condo on top of Bukit Indah Jusco I will immediately buy one :rolleyes:

14-02-13, 21:24
imo, developers marketing to Singaporeans really dun know how to pull it off ... if only the build integrated luxurious condo on top of Bukit Indah Jusco I will immediately buy one :rolleyes:

You are also exploring JB? Sky Executive is already close enough, yet at a short distance that is good for maintaining serenity. The new condos at Bukit Indah are selling very fast. Those who doubt me should go down to take a look at the bull run in JB property market. The fundamentals are very strong for landed so there is no issue of bubble. For condos you have to chose very carefully, but Bukit Indah area is quite safe.

14-02-13, 21:40
I have forget to add that Iskandar is still at early stage of development, so the risk of failure is there and the crime rate is there. Most importantly you must enjoy your house-hunting adventure, must be happy with the purchase and able to afford it comfortably. So please don't just rush in for the :2cents: But the rewards are definitely there for early risk-takers.

15-02-13, 06:19
Next week will be likely announcement of the MRT plans to JB according to the news.

http://www.nanyang.com/node/509544?tid=460

15-02-13, 07:25

Not all condos are well maintained ah...

15-02-13, 10:33
They are selling Medini like Shenton Way .. 99LH in a no-man land

2030 may be

p3nboy
15-02-13, 12:49

LIKE :D

Is there anyone here actually cash out with gains from the JB property?

How long does it take to sell and the nationality of the buyer if i may ask?

There are so many new projects, why should i buy from a resale?

In 5-10 years time, there will be plenty of units in JB available for rental. should i decide to stay in JB, I will take my pick and bargain for for the best deal.

16-02-13, 00:29
Iskanda is a Malaysia trap. Like clobe, or the 87 property measures.

16-02-13, 10:43
Iskanda is a Malaysia trap. Like clobe, or the 87 property measures.

Everytime go over there, see all the vast land evrywhere...anywhere also can build or can tear and rebuilt...land aplenty..unlike Sg...:cheers1:

16-02-13, 11:00
Sg land pegged to gold, OCR land near mrt priced at 300psf when gold was 800usd, now gold at 1630 u see gls at 600psf

Islandar land plant oil palm better

16-02-13, 14:00
Sg land pegged to gold, OCR land near mrt priced at 300psf when gold was 800usd, now gold at 1630 u see gls at 600psf

er... may i ask, in this case, why sg companies invest up north huh? big names like temasek, peter lim, etc ? :ashamed1:

16-02-13, 14:12
Gold price today is at about 1600 only. Waiting for it to drop further.

16-02-13, 16:59
I would have a different opinion on this. Gold price are peg to uncertainty. The more uncertain it is in this WORLD, the higher the gold price. Last few years have been very uncertain due to US economy, Europe crisis and so on. Therefore, gold price was higher and higher. Now when situation are clearer wth lots of liquidity and low interest rate environment, gold price will drop and it will continue....to drop...