View Full Version : Condo price and rental are going to increase

star
12-03-13, 02:09
With so much restrictions on HDB and further possible restrictions, condo is going to benefit.

U can up your rental now, tenants got no choice but to rent your condo. See this:

Cap on foreign tenants may push up private home rents

Rule change may also see foreigners distributed across HDB estates

By Melissa Tan

PRIVATE property rents may go up slightly in some segments as a result of
the cap on the number of foreign tenants in each Housing Board block,
analysts said yesterday.

Suburban condominiums and older private apartments in the city fringe and
suburbs may see rents rise by 5 per cent to 8 per cent.

But since foreign tenants who rent Housing Board flats may be
price-sensitive, the cap may also just redistribute them across Housing
Board estates rather than pushing them over to private property, they said.

The aim of the cap on foreign tenants is to prevent the growth of foreigner
enclaves, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in Parliament
last Friday. He said implementation details are still being sorted out.

Mr Khaw was responding to Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC), who proposed a
cap of 10 per cent on the number of flats in any Housing Board block that
can be rented out to foreign workers.

He said he thought 10 per cent was "on the low side, but in principle I
agree that we should impose one". He added that the Housing Board will cap
approvals for all new HDB tenancy agreements involving non-citizens, and
those up for renewal.

The tenancy will be capped at 11/2 years with immediate effect, down from
three years previously.

These changes, however, will not apply to Malaysian tenants, as they face
fewer integration challenges, Mr Khaw said.

Property consultants said yesterday that rents for lower-end private
property could rise as a result.

Mr Chris Koh, director of Chris International, said a 5 per cent to 8 per
cent rise in rents for suburban condos or old apartments "would be a
no-brainer".

He said there were old private apartments and walk-up apartments housing a
lot of foreign workers in areas such as Siglap, Telok Kurau, Tanjong Katong,
East Coast Road and Geylang.

DWG senior manager Lee Sze Teck thinks rents for suburban private apartments
would probably go up 3 per cent to 5 per cent while the rest of the private
rental market is likely to be unaffected.

This is because some apartment rents are closer to Housing Board rents, and
some foreign tenants may want assurance of a longer tenancy contract, he
said.

But Mr Lee added that many foreign tenants were likely to be on one-year or
two-year work passes, so the tenancy cap would probably not make a
difference to most of them.

Housing Board flats are usually rented out for less than $3,000 a month
while suburban condo rents are at least $3,000.

Given that the difference between Housing Board and private unit rents for
comparable locations and unit sizes could be about $1,000 a month, many
foreign tenants are likely to try to continue renting Housing Board units,
said ERA Realty key executive officer Eugene Lim.

R'ST Research director Ong Kah Seng agreed, saying private units were likely
still beyond the reach of most foreign tenants renting Housing Board flats.

"A select few who are more affluent may opt for suburban condos but most
foreign tenants may just redistribute themselves among HDB estates," he
said.

12-03-13, 07:41
if u rent to PR is it consider foreigner?

star
12-03-13, 08:09
Condo will be red hot. With uncertainty rules on bto hdb such as mop 10yrs, can only sell back to hdb, shortening lease and limit foreign talents on each block of flat most will opt for condo.

12-03-13, 08:26

Yes, they differentiate by citizen and non citizen.

12-03-13, 08:52
With so much restrictions on HDB and further possible restrictions, condo is going to benefit.

U can up your rental now, tenants got no choice but to rent your condo. See this:

Cap on foreign tenants may push up private home rents

Rule change may also see foreigners distributed across HDB estates

By Melissa Tan

PRIVATE property rents may go up slightly in some segments as a result of
the cap on the number of foreign tenants in each Housing Board block,
analysts said yesterday.

Suburban condominiums and older private apartments in the city fringe and
suburbs may see rents rise by 5 per cent to 8 per cent.

But since foreign tenants who rent Housing Board flats may be
price-sensitive, the cap may also just redistribute them across Housing
Board estates rather than pushing them over to private property, they said.

The aim of the cap on foreign tenants is to prevent the growth of foreigner
enclaves, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in Parliament
last Friday. He said implementation details are still being sorted out.

Mr Khaw was responding to Ms Foo Mee Har (West Coast GRC), who proposed a
cap of 10 per cent on the number of flats in any Housing Board block that
can be rented out to foreign workers.

He said he thought 10 per cent was "on the low side, but in principle I
agree that we should impose one". He added that the Housing Board will cap
approvals for all new HDB tenancy agreements involving non-citizens, and
those up for renewal.

The tenancy will be capped at 11/2 years with immediate effect, down from
three years previously.

These changes, however, will not apply to Malaysian tenants, as they face
fewer integration challenges, Mr Khaw said.

Property consultants said yesterday that rents for lower-end private
property could rise as a result.

Mr Chris Koh, director of Chris International, said a 5 per cent to 8 per
cent rise in rents for suburban condos or old apartments "would be a
no-brainer".

He said there were old private apartments and walk-up apartments housing a
lot of foreign workers in areas such as Siglap, Telok Kurau, Tanjong Katong,
East Coast Road and Geylang.

DWG senior manager Lee Sze Teck thinks rents for suburban private apartments
would probably go up 3 per cent to 5 per cent while the rest of the private
rental market is likely to be unaffected.

This is because some apartment rents are closer to Housing Board rents, and
some foreign tenants may want assurance of a longer tenancy contract, he
said.

But Mr Lee added that many foreign tenants were likely to be on one-year or
two-year work passes, so the tenancy cap would probably not make a
difference to most of them.

Housing Board flats are usually rented out for less than $3,000 a month
while suburban condo rents are at least $3,000.

Given that the difference between Housing Board and private unit rents for
comparable locations and unit sizes could be about $1,000 a month, many
foreign tenants are likely to try to continue renting Housing Board units,
said ERA Realty key executive officer Eugene Lim.

R'ST Research director Ong Kah Seng agreed, saying private units were likely
still beyond the reach of most foreign tenants renting Housing Board flats.

"A select few who are more affluent may opt for suburban condos but most
foreign tenants may just redistribute themselves among HDB estates," he
said.

Foreign tenants can still rent HDB lah, just cannot do groupie sessions anymore.

12-03-13, 08:55
Condo will be red hot.

Really? I would have believe you if not for CM 1,2,3,4,5,6, 7 and coming.

12-03-13, 08:57
Foreign tenants can still rent HDB lah, just cannot do groupie sessions anymore.

But if 10% of one block can only be rented out to foreigners, then it will be restrictive. Also after 1.5 years, you may not able able to let it out even if the tenant wants to continue as it will subjected to the prevailing quota at that time.

star
12-03-13, 09:03
With 80k to 100k of foreigners and PR and new citizens coming here every year 10% for each block of flat is not enough.

Those who want to buy will choose condo. Hdb might be a non appreciation asset in future by khaw.

12-03-13, 09:06
But if 10% of one block can only be rented out to foreigners, then it will be restrictive. Also after 1.5 years, you may not able able to let it out even if the tenant wants to continue as it will subjected to the prevailing quota at that time.

this scenario is likely if only a single block has more than 10% of its units being rented out to foreigners.

assuming my unit is rented out to foreigners and the max quota has been reached for my block, any owners that wish to rent it out to foreigners will be turned down by HDB. before the lease is up, i just renew it for another 2 years and viola.

propertyhans
12-03-13, 09:07

Yes you are right sis. Once HDB landlord got the quota or permission to rent, they will hog onto it and never let go. They might even declare tenant (when don't have tenant) just to keep applying. And HDB rental is going to rise because of this restriction.

On top of that 1.5years is a big turn off for many foreigners. This effectively means that they have to start searching for new home after 1 year stay as the landlord will surely up his price knowing he is in the quota. Imagine having to search for new house every year....headache. So might as well rent condo....2 years or more lease ... Pay more for peace of mind and facilities.

regency321
12-03-13, 09:09

If it is the same tenant, should not be an issue right? Since the tenant is already part of the existing quota.

Leo.Cheng
12-03-13, 09:13
what did i say a few weeks ago?

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=374716&postcount=9
All the idiots here cannot beat one siaolang's prediction.

WOAAHHEHHEHEHEHEH

propertyhans
12-03-13, 09:15
this scenario is likely if only a single block has more than 10% of its units being rented out to foreigners.

assuming my unit is rented out to foreigners and the max quota has been reached for my block, any owners that wish to rent it out to foreigners will be turned down by HDB. before the lease is up, i just renew it for another 2 years and viola.

This is exactly what I mean by HDB landlord hogging onto the right to rent and how this will increase price for HDB rents which will make it more worthwhile for FT to rent condo. The application process may turn very ugly as more than $20k is at stake for every HDB landlord every year. It will be interesting to see how HDB will administer this.

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 09:17

From my understanding, PR is not considered as foreigner as they have long term residence pass which can purchase HDB in resale market. It doesn't make senses to restrict rent on this group.

Please check with hdb if you have doubt, I am very certain I am right on this.

12-03-13, 09:25
From my understanding, PR is not considered as foreigner as they have long term residence pass which can purchase HDB in resale market. It doesn't make senses to restrict rent on this group.

Please check with hdb if you have doubt, I am very certain I am right on this.
The words used in some article I read was citizen ans non citizen. It was very precise it seems.

12-03-13, 09:27
This is exactly what I mean by HDB landlord hogging onto the right to rent and how this will increase price for HDB rents which will make it more worthwhile for FT to rent condo. The application process may turn very ugly as more than $20k is at stake for every HDB landlord every year. It will be interesting to see how HDB will administer this.

no need, there will be HDB wars. rental landlord wannabes will start pouring paint, hanging pig's head out current units rented out to foreigners :D :D

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 09:30
The words used in some article I read was citizen ans non citizen. It was very precise it seems.

Just to make sure we on the same topic, it's on foreigners will be facing restrictions renting on hdb flats which cap at 10% and Malaysian are excluded from this.

Hehe...I am still on hang over. :cheers2:

12-03-13, 09:32
Just to make sure we on the same topic, it's on foreigners will be facing restrictions renting on hdb flats which cap at 10% and Malaysian are excluded from this.

Hehe...I am still on hang over. :cheers2:

Yes it was on that topic. Some forummer even pasted a pictorial summary of it.

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 09:35
Yes it was on that topic. Some forummer even pasted a pictorial summary of it.

Hmm...it's time to give HDB a call later to check it out. Damn...my 2yrs tendency agreement is due for renewal end of this month to a foreigner on P1 pass and is due at the wrong market cycle. :doh:

12-03-13, 09:38
Hmm...it's time to give HDB a call later to check it out. Damn...my 2yrs tendency agreement is due for renewal end of this month to a foreigner on P1 pass and is due at the wrong market cycle. :doh:

just renew the lease and inform HDB.

12-03-13, 09:41
But he can only renew for 18mths yes?

12-03-13, 09:44
But he can only renew for 18mths yes?

why only for 18mths? the lease period is determined between the landlord and the leasee.

12-03-13, 09:47
why only for 18mths? the lease period is determined between the landlord and the leasee.

That was part of the new guidelines issued for leasing of hdbs.

12-03-13, 09:50
That was part of the new guidelines issued for leasing of hdbs.

oh ya, forgot about that. just renew before the lease is up, shouldn't be an issue unless your lease lapse and someone else sneaks in before your application to sublet

12-03-13, 09:58
I think cannot leh. Cos when you apply for subletting approval for renewal, the info on the tenure is required no?

12-03-13, 10:01
I think cannot leh. Cos when you apply for subletting approval for renewal, the info on the tenure is required no?

erm....just renew another 1.5 years or shorter lah.....

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 10:26
I will keep you guy posted on this, I think should be 18mth renewal based on new ruling.

12-03-13, 10:31
I will keep you guy posted on this, I think should be 18mth renewal based on new ruling.

18mths it is, on HDB's website

Leo.Cheng
12-03-13, 10:35
There are nearly 100K HDB landlords. Be careful when you try to tune the HDB segment.

12-03-13, 10:38

interestingly, most topic and staticstic about Singporean wage and employability includes PR as Singaporean. :eek:

12-03-13, 10:40
interestingly, most topic and staticstic about Singporean wage and employability includes PR as Singaporean. :eek:

shh......this is a political hot potato. even DPM refuse to release stats that show a breakdown between citizens and PRs.

12-03-13, 10:44
There are nearly 100K HDB landlords. Be careful when you try to tune the HDB segment.

This doesn't include those who rent out 1 rooms sort? Or does it include? And there's probably a small handful that rent out but don't declare. Therefore isn't in the statistics.

cnud
12-03-13, 10:51
Resale condo turn now to be hot!

12-03-13, 10:58
Resale condo turn now to be hot!

The rental in the next few months will tell the story.

12-03-13, 11:03
KBW is shaking the boat. now he has declared openly that he wants to suppress HDB prices. our pte property market follows HDB markets. if HDB prices go down, pte condos will go down too, logically.

cnud
12-03-13, 11:06
KBW is shaking the boat. now he has declared openly that he wants to suppress HDB prices. our pte property market follows HDB markets. if HDB prices go down, pte condos will go down too, logically.

Wrong..

The boats for future departures will be smaller and the waters is full of cash.

Remember time is not on anyone's side.

12-03-13, 11:07

aiyah.....like i said, the intention is to stabilize prices. to cause a crash would be detrimental to SG's GDP (that is entwined with the property market) and wipeout of lots of Singaporean's savings.

there will be attached conditions, so just stay tune to the news

star
12-03-13, 11:12
Hdb is for stay only in future.
Condo for price appreciation and investment.
Khaw is going to deattach condo from hdb. Condo price will soar. Who will want to buy hdb if so many uncertainty and restrictions are involved. 80k to 100k new foreigners coming in every year if they hear hdb no longer investment most will buy condo.

12-03-13, 11:14

Better renew before the quotas are imposed. And renew again slightly before the end of the 18 months (must remember not to let the subletting approval lapse).

12-03-13, 11:16
im not saying prices will crash, but i am saying that yes, most likely stabilize, or even a dip. now KBW wants to make HDB flats cheaper, explicitly saying so which i thought it is quite obvious that he wants HDB to become affordable (in other words, cheap). LOL.

cnud
12-03-13, 11:21
Must read carefully... He mentioned new BTO... In non matured estate.. Cap on rental.. Longer MOP.. Shorter leases.. More selective foreigners coming in..

HDB should be for own stay and nothing else.

Investments must look at PC.

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:21
Better renew before the quotas are imposed. And renew again slightly before the end of the 18 months (must remember not to let the subletting approval lapse).

Ok. I will try to hike his rental as I have more reasons to do so already due to the quota, if not he would need to rent a condo...hahaha

sherlock
12-03-13, 11:25
Yes... PR is considered Singaporean. When I was doing the TA myself for my PC and went to IRAS to stamp it, the tenant was classified under Sin NRIC :scared-4:

12-03-13, 11:25
What is the trade off for it to be 30% cheaper?

12-03-13, 11:27
Ok. I will try to hike his rental as I have more reasons to do so already due to the quota, if not he would need to rent a condo...hahaha

If all landlords apply the same logic. Rental will go up.

12-03-13, 11:30
What is the trade off for it to be 30% cheaper?

Trade off? Singaporean have to work harder for retirement. Thats wat they want thats what they get. ;)

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:33
If all landlords apply the same logic. Rental will go up.

I am always a fair landlord, I always tell my tenants that my HDB is rent to them at a 6% against the current market value. They will have a chance to enjoy a lower rental rate when there's a drop in my property valuation.
:p

Especially currently, my valuation had increased again. :tongue3:

12-03-13, 11:34
How you arrived at this magical number of 6%?

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:36
How you arrived at this magical number of 6%?

That's the approx rental rates around my area.

Monthly rental X 12months = XXX

XXX / Current Valuation = approx 6%

star
12-03-13, 11:40
Trade off? Singaporean have to work harder for retirement. Thats wat they want thats what they get. ;)

Yes very true. Thats what singaporean asking for. To own a condo will be a dream for them if hdb is non longer a capital appreciation asset. How to upgrade? Work harder is the only way. I find the complainers very dumb now.

12-03-13, 11:40
Actually 6% gross yield is quite a good level

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:42
Actually 6% gross yield is quite a good level

That's why its the most ideal to rent out HDB and stay in PC.

PC can only rent out 3-3.5% due to the high entry price.

12-03-13, 11:42
Perhaps EC won't be an appreciating asset next time.

12-03-13, 11:44
That's why its the most ideal to rent out HDB and stay in PC.

PC can only rent out 3-3.5% due to the high entry price.

that's why come 2015-2017 when all the mass market condos TOP, the upgraders will move into their condos and there will be excess supply of HDB for rental. LOL.

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:47
You look at D19, you think how much 3 bed room la fiesta or The Luxurie able to rent out when it TOP?

Compass Height is only renting out 3500 monthly for a 3 bed room, how much premium can those 2 project command? Should be quite limited.

Their average gross yield is around 3.2%

Lemonlaw
12-03-13, 11:48
that's why come 2015-2017 when all the mass market condos TOP, the upgraders will move into their condos and there will be excess supply of HDB for rental. LOL.

Your assumption is true provided the population figures still remains today.

More people, HDB will launch even more project to counter the unbalance, importantly is the location of the hdb properties.

Only HDB that are near MRT will be in demand and have more nego power.

:cheers2:

star
12-03-13, 11:53
Things will change when population increases while rental quota for each block of hdb remain at 10%. Condo rental is set to go up especially those below $3k rental.
If new bto flat mop is 10yrs, condo rental will be very good.

12-03-13, 11:58
You look at D19, you think how much 3 bed room la fiesta or The Luxurie able to rent out when it TOP?

Compass Height is only renting out 3500 monthly for a 3 bed room, how much premium can those 2 project command? Should be quite limited.

Their average gross yield is around 3.2%

For being new. Probably $4,000 per mth in today's terms for a 3 bed.

12-03-13, 13:55

Don forget also those upgraders who have committed themselves to ECs, moving fwd they need to let go their existing hdb >> even more hdb in the mkt, be it for sales or rental.

12-03-13, 13:57
Your assumption is true provided the population figures still remains today.

More people, HDB will launch even more project to counter the unbalance, importantly is the location of the hdb properties.

Only HDB that are near MRT will be in demand and have more nego power.

:cheers2:

yes, his/her assumption shld be sound, since only talking abt supply side of the equation. NOt sure if demand side got enough local (unlikely if they are eligible & go for new BTO) and foreigners (also comes with restrictions) to support anot. Rental looks like have to depend on PRs or Msians to support?

12-03-13, 14:04
yes, his/her assumption shld be sound, since only talking abt supply side of the equation. NOt sure if demand side got enough local (unlikely if they are eligible & go for new BTO) and foreigners (also comes with restrictions) to support anot. Rental looks like have to depend on PRs or Msians to support?

have you forgotten the 6.9mil population forecast?!??!! :doh:

12-03-13, 14:05
Is best case 6mio ?

12-03-13, 14:05
have you forgotten the 6.9mil population forecast?!??!! :doh:

Ohhhhhhh that one, then it would be "locals" to support the mkt lor :o

12-03-13, 14:08
Is best case 6mio ?

if the garmen dare to say 6.9mil, u can safely bet on a figure higher than that

12-03-13, 14:13
Ohhhhhhh that one, then it would be "locals" to support the mkt lor :o

Should have more than enough support on the demand side.

12-03-13, 14:58
Don forget also those upgraders who have committed themselves to ECs, moving fwd they need to let go their existing hdb >> even more hdb in the mkt, be it for sales or rental.

Can only for sales after that 5 years MOP before on the market for rental.

12-03-13, 15:25
Can only for sales after that 5 years MOP before on the market for rental.

they can only commit to the EC provided they had met the 5 years MOP.

12-03-13, 17:25
if the garmen dare to say 6.9mil, u can safely bet on a figure higher than that

6.9 mill then whoops oh oh slight miscalculation it's > 7 mill. So sorry guys. :mad:

Wynyard
12-03-13, 18:49
Hi, newbie qtn to ask, have not tried to rent out a flat before.

If I first gotten hdb approval to sublet, I found a tenant n he stay for 1.5yrs. Do I need to seek approval again from hdb for the next 1.5yrs? Or just need to inform hdb that my tenant will be renewing the lease?

Does it matter if tenant is still same person or if new tenant, hdb will treat as new application?

12-03-13, 19:59
Hi, newbie qtn to ask, have not tried to rent out a flat before.

If I first gotten hdb approval to sublet, I found a tenant n he stay for 1.5yrs. Do I need to seek approval again from hdb for the next 1.5yrs? Or just need to inform hdb that my tenant will be renewing the lease?

Does it matter if tenant is still same person or if new tenant, hdb will treat as new application?

no point worry about whats going to happen in future nowadays property law change just like people change under wear:banghead:

12-03-13, 20:37
hear from a few agents CCR rental is currently slowing, any truth?
but i just renewed mine at slight increase though ~

Wynyard
12-03-13, 21:32
no point worry about whats going to happen in future nowadays property law change just like people change under wear:banghead:
Yes Bro :D

Thought of finding out more details now on renting out hdb, just to have a feel of what I will need to do in future :p

12-03-13, 21:34
Is your rental in the $4-6k bracket or the $8-9k bracket?

12-03-13, 22:44
Not slow. Is dropping. Used to be 4k easily at Sail. Now, 3.8k also take if not, lugi.

star
12-03-13, 23:06
Not slow. Is dropping. Used to be 4k easily at Sail. Now, 3.8k also take if not, lugi.

No lah Ah bear. January alot of contracts, only one contract at $3.8k and the highest is $5.3k for 1 bedroom.

13-03-13, 00:27
I not bear leh. I still holding CCR and RCR units. Now kicking myself for not switching to OCR.

But I notice CCR rental really CMI. Fed up.

No lah Ah bear. January alot of contracts, only one contract at $3.8k and the highest is $5.3k for 1 bedroom.

Leo.Cheng
13-03-13, 14:41
This doesn't include those who rent out 1 rooms sort? Or does it include? And there's probably a small handful that rent out but don't declare. Therefore isn't in the statistics.

agree, but i think the actual figure should be very much higher in respect to the point u raised up; and not vice versa.

13-03-13, 17:10
in the US, they call it the shadow inventory for those foreclosed homes for sale. in Singapore, we call those sublet quietly: shadow landlord/tenant/rental. lol.

Leo.Cheng
13-03-13, 17:57
in the US, they call it the shadow inventory for those foreclosed homes for sale. in Singapore, we call those sublet quietly: shadow landlord/tenant/rental. lol.

Exactly,good brother kane. As u are aware, I only talk logic to forumers who show an intellectual level within my class.

That is the reason why I keep saying, be very careful when you try to tune the HDB segment. In HDB, only expect the prices to go up and not the reverse, otherwise many discontent lower middle class owners will emerge from the shadow.

Do not forget, 90% of our population stays in HDB.

Take my advice or leave it, it does not affect me anyway :)

Lemonlaw
13-03-13, 17:59

Those are ghost landlord, playing with fire may lead to self disruption in due course. :scared-2:

Leo.Cheng
13-03-13, 18:00
Exactly,good brother kane. As u are aware, I only talk logic to forumers who show an intellectual level within my class.

That is the reason why I keep saying, be very careful when you try to tune the HDB segment. In HDB, only expect the prices to go up and not the reverse, otherwise many discontent lower middle class owners will emerge from the shadow.

2 years ago, I spoke of the grumpy middle class and the power of the Internet and social media. I also warned about public figures not to dig their noses while waiting at the traffic lights or post their affluent private lives on social media.

Now got happen bo?

Think.....how come I am so accurate...THINK....who I am actually :)

13-03-13, 21:11
I not bear leh. I still holding CCR and RCR units. Now kicking myself for not switching to OCR.

But I notice CCR rental really CMI. Fed up.

I think which part of CCR also play a part. Not all will command high rental

14-03-13, 12:57

not only the discontented commoners will emerge from the shadows, the ruling shadow shoguns will also summon ninjas to lop off the head of the one who cause their money to burn in a poof