View Full Version : The Glades Next to Tanah Merah MRT (D16, 99 Years Leasehold, by Keppel Land)

Pages : [1] 2

newlaunchproperty
13-07-13, 03:15
THE GLADES next to TANAH MERAH MRT STATION (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html)
Pending Approval For Sale | Seeking Indication Of Interest: +65 9789 8770

Register for Expression of Interest, Showflat Invitation, Updates & Early Bird Discounts!

The Glades is an upcoming new condominium by Keppel Land Limited and China Vanke Co Ltd, located just less than 1 minute to the Tanah Merah MRT Station, The Glades is near to a future commercial hub and is only a station away from the upcoming fourth university and Changi International Business Park, and 2 MRT stations to the Changi International Airport.

Project Details:
Developer: Keppel Land Limited & China Vanke Co Ltd
Tenure: 99 years
Type: Proposed Condominium Development of 9 blocks of 726 units consisting 1-bedroom | 1 SOHO | 2-bedroom | 2 SOHO | 3-bedroom | 4-bedroom | 4 Dual Key | Penthouses
Site Area: Approx. 343,173 sqft
Total No. of Units: 726 Residential Units

Type/Size of Units:
1-bedroom | 1 SOHO | 2-bedroom | 2 SOHO | 3-bedroom | 4-bedroom | 4 Dual Key | Penthouses
Estimated 500 sqft – 1450 sqft

Why The Glades (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html)?
* 1 Minute Walk to Tanah Merah MRT station
* Excellent access to City and CBD plus any parts of Singapore via major expressways such as PIE, ECP and TPE
* Short drive to Changi Business Hub, Expo and Changi Airport
* Many education institutions nearby such as Anglican High School, Temasek Junior College, upcoming Singapore University of Technology and Design (To be ready by 2014)
* A host of retail and service amenities within close proximity such as Changi City Point, Bedok Mall, Bedok Point, Tampines Mall, Century Square, Tampines 1, East Point Mall
* Enjoy plenty of outdoor recreation facilities such as East Coast Park, Laguna Golf and Country Club and Bedok Reservoir Park
* Great rental potential

For more details on The Glades, Floor Plans, Site Plan and Latest Updates:
http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html)

Developer Appointed Marketing Agent

13-07-13, 17:41
Smells good

http://www.homedales.com/images/B007YZG7L0.jpg

13-07-13, 18:40
Hahaha! :D :D :D

Smells good

http://www.homedales.com/images/B007YZG7L0.jpg

13-07-13, 19:43
Some of my friends said this forested hill used to be some WW2 mass killing site, any information on that? Thanks! :beats-me-man:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sook_Ching_massacre#Execution

rymccondo77
13-07-13, 20:24
Personally would not worry or be concerned about something that happened so many years ago.

14-07-13, 10:51
Will they have rare finds while levelling the site?
Some of my friends said this forested hill used to be some WW2 mass killing site, any information on that? Thanks! :beats-me-man:

4wheels
14-07-13, 13:44

Such site always Huat wan.

Look at bishan and tampines, used to be cemetery, now all Huat.:o

Village Idiot
14-07-13, 15:48

I'm looking forward to see more about this one. I'm very interested.

I live at Tanah Merah for the past 2 years (Casa Merah). I like this area.

I lost interest in Urban Vista due to their tiny tiny unit sizes. Less than 600sqft for a 2 bed, 2 bath with bomb shelter + balcony + ac ledge :scared-1:

Hope the glades will give more generous unit sizes.

I think this is going to be expensive though PSF :banghead:

Did developer pay too much for the land? This is Tanah Merah after all; quite remote. Is it worth paying more than city fringe?

I'm hoping Keppel will make this a striking development with high end finishes. Then we can justify the expected high PSF.

wirehtc
14-07-13, 16:19

U mixed up mass killing field w traditional burial sites.

bakasa2002
14-07-13, 22:17

I lost interest in Urban Vista due to their tiny tiny unit sizes. Less than 600sqft for a 2 bed, 2 bath with bomb shelter + balcony + ac ledge :scared-1:

Did developer pay too much for the land? This is Tanah Merah after all; quite remote. Is it worth paying more than city fringe?

I'm hoping Keppel will make this a striking development with high end finishes. Then we can justify the expected high PSF.

Developer did pay a lot for this plot, to the tune of 8xx ppr? I guess avg will be >$1400psf. Keppel product finishes std shd b quite high...

14-07-13, 22:56
Could this be the Reflections or Caribbean of the East!?

bakasa2002
14-07-13, 23:32

Developer did pay a lot for this plot, to the tune of 8xx ppr? I guess avg will be >$1400psf. Keppel product finishes std shd b quite high...

15-07-13, 00:33
most of keppel's project finishing, even in far our places like sengkang appear to be decent, at least at the showroom level that is.

this will be an interesting launch, especially in the face of the latest measures.

newlaunchproperty
15-07-13, 12:47

With its private and landed enclave surrounding with no lack of amenities and convenience just doorstep to Tanah Merah MRT Station, the development by Keppel Land should expect good interest.

So far, the developments by Keppel Land come with decent unit sizes, let keep our finger crossed. Agreed with bro Kane, one would expect good quality furnishing for Keppel Land development. Based on their track records till date, it has not disappoint the consumers.

Land bid closed at $791.42 psf ppr. There are some mathematics to do here. This would definitely be an very interesting project! Imagine yourself staying in a unit with south facing over the landed estate towards East Coast Park!!! Really get excited thinking about it! Units with north facing do still enjoy the open views over the landed estate up north! :cool1:

moneytalk
15-07-13, 13:18

From what my folks used to tell me, I think the massacre of chinese civilians by japanese soldiers was at Upper East Coast Road and not The Glade site.

I remember seeing the barren hill when i was a child and my folks would say that chinese civilians were brutally massacred in the area of the hill.

Of course the hill looks completely different now as lots of homes are built on it. I am not so sure of the exact locality but I would think it is in the vicinity of Lucky Heights, The Summit and the The Riviera Residence. If you are interested in the history of Upper East Road, here are the links for you to read:

Aircrash at Upper East Road on 11 Aug 1951
http://2ndshot.blogspot.sg/2010/02/2nd-shot-air-crash-at-upper-east-coast.html

World War two at Upper East Coast Road
http://goodmorningyesterday.blogspot.sg/2009/12/world-war-two-at-upper-east-coast-road.html

Location of Bedok Hill massacre site
http://goodmorningyesterday.blogspot.sg/2010/02/finale-to-upper-east-coast-road.html

15-07-13, 18:22

Part of D'Manor and Casa Merah (maybe since the roads are realigned) are built on a cemetery.

Refer to URA Masterplan 1980 (yellow portion)

http://www.ura.gov.sg/dc/mp80/cb722.jpg

15-07-13, 18:33
But in July 2011, someone found skeletons. The exact location is unclear. Report says an Indian Almond tree 5-min walk downslope from Jalan Limau Kastari.

By Rachel Chan

A SHOCKING find was made by two land surveyors last Saturday afternoon when they ventured into a forested area near Tanah Merah MRT station.

The two men discovered a skeleton under a tree in a secluded spot off New Upper Changi Road, Chinese newspapers Lianhe Wanbao and Shin Min Daily News reported yesterday.

When contacted by my paper yesterday, police confirmed that they received a call at about 3.15pm, shortly after the discovery.

The identity of the skeleton and its gender remain a mystery. A blue T-shirt and a pair of white underwear were believed to have been left on the skeleton. A haversack was found nearby.

The remains were surrounded by wads of $5 and $10 notes, believed to amount to more than $1,000, as well as a battered Nokia mobile phone, reported Lianhe Wanbao. The spot where the surveyors stumbled on the skeleton is a five-minute walk downslope from a nearby private estate in Jalan Limau Kastari.

When they came to an Indian almond tree, the land surveyors were shocked to find an exposed skull, and a skeleton partially hidden by fallen leaves. The surveyors said they could not tell whether the bones belonged to a man or a woman.

They also noticed a blue rope tied to a branch 4m above the spot where the remains were found.

Shin Min Daily News reported that more than 20 police officers spent four hours combing an area the size of three basketball courts last Saturday afternoon. Neighbours reportedly detected a foul smell coming from the area two months ago.

Police have classified the case as unnatural death and are investigating.
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110704-287343.html

newlaunchproperty
16-07-13, 13:16
Estimated Size Range (Typical Unit) for each unit type:
Check out here: The Glades (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html)
*subject to change

16-07-13, 13:58
1br 430sqft, 2br 580sqft

Is this Keppel Land or Fragrance :scared-4:

bakasa2002
16-07-13, 14:38
1br 430sqft, 2br 580sqft

UV Mark II?:doh:

District 84483535
16-07-13, 14:57
The Glades New Upcoming Condo at Tanah Merah

by Keppel Land +China Vanka

Tentative Launch Mid August! -Contact us for more info.

***Pending for Sale Licence Approval
***Preliminary info, Subject to change and pending official Info from developer.
*** Seeking for indicative of Interest Now.
Location map: Click Picture for more info. (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)
http://www.newlaunchresale.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/location.jpg (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)
Amenities Nearby (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)
http://www.newlaunchresale.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/amenities.jpg (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)

*Next to Tanah Merah MRT Station

*One Station to EXPO (Up Coming 3nd Down Town Line)

*Two Station to Changi Airport.

*Upcoming Changi Business Park / Paya Lebar Commercial & Business District.
*Upcoming SUTD (Singapore University of Technology & Design).
*Shopping & Dining
more

click here (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)

We are seeking Indicative of Interest Now.

more update (site plan/floor plan/brochure)/ submit your interest for Preview Launch

click here (http://www.newlaunchresale.com/the-glades/)

** HP 8448 3535/ Andy Sek CEA No. R009833J PropNex Realty Pte Ltd Licence No. L3008022J

rymccondo77
16-07-13, 16:23
1br 430sqft, 2br 580sqft

Mmm... Urban Vista (Fragrance) effect on Keppel Land !!!

16-07-13, 20:13
Casa merah and optima owners must be laughing to the bank now....2 bedroom 580sqft haa haa. :doh:

16-07-13, 20:15
From what my folks used to tell me, I think the massacre of chinese civilians by japanese soldiers was at Upper East Coast Road and not The Glade site.

I remember seeing the barren hill when i was a child and my folks would say that chinese civilians were brutally massacred in the area of the hill.

Of course the hill looks completely different now as lots of homes are built on it. I am not so sure of the exact locality but I would think it is in the vicinity of Lucky Heights, The Summit and the The Riviera Residence. If you are interested in the history of Upper East Road, here are the links for you to read:

Aircrash at Upper East Road on 11 Aug 1951
http://2ndshot.blogspot.sg/2010/02/2nd-shot-air-crash-at-upper-east-coast.html

World War two at Upper East Coast Road
http://goodmorningyesterday.blogspot.sg/2009/12/world-war-two-at-upper-east-coast-road.html

Location of Bedok Hill massacre site
http://goodmorningyesterday.blogspot.sg/2010/02/finale-to-upper-east-coast-road.html

Thanks for the valuable information! :)

16-07-13, 22:00
I predict another J Gateway in the making,

1650psf into 430 sqft = from 700k
1550psf into 580 sqft = from 888k

huat ah

16-07-13, 22:43
Most of the world have one person dying nearby one lah. I won't care too much if you ask me.

16-07-13, 22:49
Jia lat. Even Keppel land want to go into these kind of MM units.

URA sleeping?

17-07-13, 07:46
No 1750psf no sell for MM units.

17-07-13, 08:17
Casa merah and optima owners must be laughing to the bank now....2 bedroom 580sqft haa haa. :doh:

a 580sqft 2BR........even smaller than my living room........how to squeeze a kitchen, a sofa, 2 rooms and a washing area..........

17-07-13, 08:19
forgot to add, congrats and good luck to those getting the units facing the MRT track

17-07-13, 08:51
at 580sqft for a 2 bedder, it feels like it's more of a 1+S rather.

17-07-13, 09:48
so called 2 bedder likely both single beds

17-07-13, 10:05
so called 2 bedder likely both single beds

even if it's 2 single beds, there still needs to be space for walkway, doorway, cupboard. unless its a 1BR and developer converts the storeroom into a makeshift bedroom........

ken_chong81
17-07-13, 11:51
Is the Tender out in the URA Website ?

17-07-13, 13:03
even if it's 2 single beds, there still needs to be space for walkway, doorway, cupboard. unless its a 1BR and developer converts the storeroom into a makeshift bedroom........

and no specific dining table, just the kitchen top for dining perhaps...

17-07-13, 14:07
at 580sqft for a 2 bedder, it feels like it's more of a 1+S rather.

Most probably it is.
2 bedrooms, with 1 toilet in-between and an open kitchen. Similar size and design to most of the recent far east soho apartments seen in eco, hillsta, hillier, and watertown.

17-07-13, 20:57
Soho 1 bedder and 2 bedders are liveable.

mermaid
18-07-13, 09:46
wat's the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder? if hdb can built 36sqm 2 room flat, wat's so surprising of a pte developer to built a 54sqm 2 bedder?

Autumnwinds
18-07-13, 11:32
wat's the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder? if hdb can built 36sqm 2 room flat, wat's so surprising of a pte developer to built a 54sqm 2 bedder?

Bro, you never buy hdb before right ? 2room flat equals 1bedder condo :scared-2:

mermaid
18-07-13, 11:35
2room flat equals 1bedder condo :scared-2:

so?? :doh:

Autumnwinds
18-07-13, 11:37
so?? :doh:

So you are comparing a one bedroom size to a two bedroom, that's an apple vs a pear:doh:

mermaid
18-07-13, 11:41
So you are comparing a one bedroom size to a two bedroom, that's an apple vs a pear:doh:

nope, I am merely extrapolating :doh:

hdb 2 rm flat 36sqm. add 1 more common room nids oni abt 12sqm. 1 more common toilet 5sqm, total = 36+12+5 = 53sqm = 570sqft, easily doable.

so now can tell me wats the big hoo ha of a 580sqft 2 bedder le mah?

Sandiwara
18-07-13, 12:27

hdb 2 rm flat 36sqm. add 1 more common room nids oni abt 12sqm. 1 more common toilet 5sqm, total = 36+12+5 = 53sqm = 570sqft, easily doable.

Many People do not realize that Space is the most valuable thing in Singapore. If I have to choose between 120sqm HDB and 53sqm Condo with the same price then I will choose the HDB. I am quite lucky that I can leave in 115sqm Condo in Singapore even the condo is already more than 10 years old.

mermaid
18-07-13, 12:32
Many People do not realize that Space is the most valuable thing in Singapore. If I have to choose between 120sqm HDB and 53sqm Condo with the same price then I will choose the HDB. I am quite lucky that I can leave in 115sqm Condo in Singapore even the condo is already more than 10 years old.

how abt if u r given a choice to buy either a 2rm hdb at $100k vs a $600k 1 bedder condo? assume same size same loc.

18-07-13, 12:37
Maybe condo is more towards luxurious living and HDB is more for public housing. So luxurious means big nice house.

I definitely need space and although I stay in a studio, my studio is close to 700 sq ft. And it is without balcony :D. So 2 bedder at 580 sq ft is crap IMO. Too small and uncomfortable to be considered as a "condo". Maybe nowadays, people have low expectation of space.

mermaid
18-07-13, 12:43
Maybe condo is more towards luxurious living and HDB is more for public housing. So luxurious means big nice house.

I definitely need space and although I stay in a studio, my studio is close to 700 sq ft. And it is without balcony :D. So 2 bedder at 580 sq ft is crap IMO. Too small and uncomfortable to be considered as a "condo". Maybe nowadays, people have low expectation of space.

I feel tat in the next 10 yrs to come, yr 700sqft studio will be hard to sell due to the unaffordable high quantum.

Sandiwara
18-07-13, 13:12
how abt if u r given a choice to buy either a 2rm hdb at $100k vs a $600k 1 bedder condo? assume same size same loc.

If I can afford to spend 600k, I will not buy 2rm HDB, but I will buy at least 4rm HDB.

mermaid
18-07-13, 13:16
If I can afford to spend 600k, I will not buy 2rm HDB, but I will buy at least 4rm HDB.

there is no such option in my qn! :p

Sandiwara
18-07-13, 13:42
there is no such option in my qn! :p

Buy the 2rm hdb. if possible full payment. Then safe the balance for condo down payment

mermaid
18-07-13, 13:52
Buy the 2rm hdb. if possible full payment. Then safe the balance for condo down payment

if is me I wun consider 2 rm bto at all. not rentable n hard to sell in the future. in the total 8 yrs of lock in period, I can flip 2 condos liao :cheers6:

18-07-13, 14:16
It is okay la. I don't intend to sell anyway. And I bought it during March 2009 so I can sell, I can rent or I can keep :D. Doesn't matter.

I feel tat in the next 10 yrs to come, yr 700sqft studio will be hard to sell due to the unaffordable high quantum.

18-07-13, 15:38

wait for the floor plan to be out. i'll put my bet that the condo will have a huge AC ledge for BBQing in mid-air and a huge balcony to enjoy the rumbling raucous from the MRT tracks

18-07-13, 15:39

depends on a person's budget, needs/wants, lifestyle preferences, etc

mermaid
18-07-13, 17:52
wait for the floor plan to be out. i'll put my bet that the condo will have a huge AC ledge for BBQing in mid-air and a huge balcony to enjoy the rumbling raucous from the MRT tracks

oh, I feel otherwise. if the sqft is smaller, they r promoting efficient layout, no?

19-07-13, 06:26
hdb 2r can never be the same good location under kbw

after I analyze cpf min sum, I realize why hdb resale 3r must be above 300k

half of that is 148k lol so retirees at 55 can pawn their hdbs to meet min sum

once min sum hits 300k resale hdb must rise even higher

19-07-13, 08:12
min sum has been the QE of sg since decades ago!

19-07-13, 08:27
oh, I feel otherwise. if the sqft is smaller, they r promoting efficient layout, no?

what i'm saying is even though the PC has a larger sqft area on paper, the actual livable space could be even smaller than a HDB 2Rm flat, after minusing the AC ledge and balcony.

VS
19-07-13, 09:13
I predict another J Gateway in the making,

1650psf into 430 sqft = from 700k
1550psf into 580 sqft = from 888k

huat ah
i think cannot be so cheap for small units

mermaid
19-07-13, 09:15
what i'm saying is even though the PC has a larger sqft area on paper, the actual livable space could be even smaller than a HDB 2Rm flat, after minusing the AC ledge and balcony.

really depends on the layout lah ... I hv seem smaller units having more livable space den bigger units :doh:

19-07-13, 09:29
really depends on the layout lah ... I hv seem smaller units having more livable space den bigger units :doh:

thanks for echoing my sentiments - wait for the floorplans and we discuss further

VS
19-07-13, 09:30
some ppl may choose the $100K hdb and have 500K cash for other investments/ expenses

21-07-13, 08:09
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY
Krisana Gallezo, Singapore
Published: 18 Jul 13296 views

Keppel Land to launch The Glades in 3Q

How much would a unit cost?

During the analyst briefing yesterday for its 1H results, Keppel Land announced that it is looking forward to launch The Glades at Tanah Mera in 3Q. Singapore Business Review's spotcheck with property agents found that the launch is probably in Mid-August.

The Glades is an upcoming new condominium by Keppel Land Limited and China Vanke Co Ltd. The 99-year leasehold property is located near Tanah Merah MRT Station and is only a station away from the upcoming fourth university and Changi International Business Park, and 2 MRT stations to the Changi International Airport. It is consists of 9 blocks of 726 units with sizes ranging from 500 sqft - 1450 sqft. Indicative prices are not known yet but industry watchers predict over $1400psf.

- See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/residential-property/exclusive/keppel-land-launch-glades-in-3q

wirehtc
21-07-13, 08:43
Near MRT = $1500 psf. So with more MRT stations, expect the new launches to support one another and push up the psf to mimimum $1000 psf even at not so accessible locations. In 1-2 years' time, only ECs will be below $1000 psf.

22-07-13, 12:26
Near MRT = $1500 psf. So with more MRT stations, expect the new launches to support one another and push up the psf to mimimum $1000 psf even at not so accessible locations. In 1-2 years' time, only ECs will be below $1000 psf.

And I think thats gradually become true and the new price-level, benchmark.

22-07-13, 13:36
And I think thats gradually become true and the new price-level, benchmark.

this is the ceiling. as for what is the trough, must be tested by a downturn then can confirm

22-07-13, 16:36
Yup, fully agree. 1.8k psf for suburban? Forget it. Count me out...

this is the ceiling. as for what is the trough, must be tested by a downturn then can confirm

23-07-13, 07:53
Yup, fully agree. 1.8k psf for suburban? Forget it. Count me out...

jurong at $1700psf - will you bite?

23-07-13, 09:36
Nope.. The risk is too high (high interest rate and low rental), upside too little.

I will buy V on shenton instead if I have the chance. My sister bought at $2150 psf. It is a much better deal than 1.7k in Jurong I feel.

3k psf is much much much more feasible in Marina bay than 2.5k psf in Jurong.

jurong at $1700psf - will you bite?

23-07-13, 10:44
Nope.. The risk is too high (high interest rate and low rental), upside too little.

I will buy V on shenton instead if I have the chance. My sister bought at $2150 psf. It is a much better deal than 1.7k in Jurong I feel.

3k psf is much much much more feasible in Marina bay than 2.5k psf in Jurong.

gum sia, same sentiments too. but some nicompoop is raving that Jurong @ $1600psf is cheapppppp

:beats-me-man: :beats-me-man:

23-07-13, 11:08
They will repent when they realise the rental there is not as good as they would want it to be.

Altez is another one to look out for I believe. 2 bedrooms average 2M. Even the buyers stretch 35 years @ 80% loan, every month still about 6.5 to 7k including maintenance and tax. Icon 2 bedroom rental around 5 to 5.5k only. And those buyers bought it much cheaper and we have skysuites 2 bedders sold at 1.2 to 1.5M. And Katong regency as well. They will repent :banghead: :banghead:

I am a practical guy. I don't believe there are so many people who are willing to have negative cash flow every month. Let alone leaving it empty. A few owners maybe. Not the majority.

gum sia, same sentiments too. but some nicompoop is raving that Jurong @ $1600psf is cheapppppp

:beats-me-man: :beats-me-man:

newlaunchproperty
27-07-13, 02:56
Latest Artistic Impressions and Units Size Range.
Check out ---> The Glades (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html) <---

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t457/skychiu/Property%20Tanah%20Merah/The%20Glades/E-Mailer_zpsf8d0c2ee.jpg (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html)

29-07-13, 18:04
Just a wild guess... It could be eCo.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-1vDrdqeCYYw/UeO5eE1cjzI/AAAAAAAACaw/zpSPvw66Hcg/s1600/new_condo_tanah_merah_mrt_keppel_land.jpg

But in July 2011, someone found skeletons. The exact location is unclear. Report says an Indian Almond tree 5-min walk downslope from Jalan Limau Kastari.

By Rachel Chan

A SHOCKING find was made by two land surveyors last Saturday afternoon when they ventured into a forested area near Tanah Merah MRT station.

The two men discovered a skeleton under a tree in a secluded spot off New Upper Changi Road, Chinese newspapers Lianhe Wanbao and Shin Min Daily News reported yesterday.

When contacted by my paper yesterday, police confirmed that they received a call at about 3.15pm, shortly after the discovery.

The identity of the skeleton and its gender remain a mystery. A blue T-shirt and a pair of white underwear were believed to have been left on the skeleton. A haversack was found nearby.

The remains were surrounded by wads of $5 and $10 notes, believed to amount to more than $1,000, as well as a battered Nokia mobile phone, reported Lianhe Wanbao. The spot where the surveyors stumbled on the skeleton is a five-minute walk downslope from a nearby private estate in Jalan Limau Kastari.

When they came to an Indian almond tree, the land surveyors were shocked to find an exposed skull, and a skeleton partially hidden by fallen leaves. The surveyors said they could not tell whether the bones belonged to a man or a woman.

They also noticed a blue rope tied to a branch 4m above the spot where the remains were found.

Shin Min Daily News reported that more than 20 police officers spent four hours combing an area the size of three basketball courts last Saturday afternoon. Neighbours reportedly detected a foul smell coming from the area two months ago.

Police have classified the case as unnatural death and are investigating.
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110704-287343.html

gadiny
29-07-13, 20:18
Hello all, some infor on the 3rd new condo at TM within a year!

- The glades introduction video per

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAmw7zuLVm4

- Some floor plans per

http://www.propertyfishing.com/new-launch-condos/the-glades/floor-plans/

29-07-13, 21:25
Haiyo... Tembusu 2?

Why nowadays they like to cover all over with greens... is it so as to cover up otherwise shoddy workmanship?

29-07-13, 22:40
Those 3 giant flower buds reminds me of the supertrees in gardens by the bay haa haa haa...:scared-3:

gav108
29-07-13, 23:01
nice landscaping. too bad half of it is exposed to the mrt track and gawkers. spoil the privacy and serenity.

what's with the tiny unit sizes nowadays? standard sized 2 bedders at 62 sq m? compact 3 bedders at 78 sq m? :scared-1:

VS
30-07-13, 10:15
Hello all, some infor on the 3rd new condo at TM within a year!

- The glades introduction video per

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAmw7zuLVm4

- Some floor plans per

http://www.propertyfishing.com/new-launch-condos/the-glades/floor-plans/

Balcony as big as living room!!

moneytalk
30-07-13, 13:24
Just a wild guess... It could be eCo.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-1vDrdqeCYYw/UeO5eE1cjzI/AAAAAAAACaw/zpSPvw66Hcg/s1600/new_condo_tanah_merah_mrt_keppel_land.jpg

My guess is the empty plot of land on the reserve list, waiting for a developer to trigger it for release.

smellyfish
30-07-13, 18:42
Balcony as big as living room!!

i find so long as the balcony is deep enough, is actually quite nice to have a big one.

worst balcony are long and narrow. small ones for one two person to sit out for a smoke break also not nice. Big Big one where you can put a whole sitting area outside is actually nice.

chrischocolates
31-07-13, 00:24
DEVELOPMENT ATTRIBUTES

9 blocks of 726 units

ONLY 1 Minute Walk to Tanah Merah MRT station!!!
Developers with impeccable track record – Keppel Land & China Vanke
Excellent access to City and CBD plus any parts of Singapore via major expressways such as PIE, ECP and TPE
Short drive to Changi Business Hub, Expo and Changi Airport
Many education institutions nearby such as Anglican High School, Temasek Junior College, upcoming Singapore University of Technology and Design (To be ready by 2014)
A host of retail and service amenities within close proximity such as Changi City Point, Bedok Mall, Bedok Point, Tampines Mall, Century Square, Tampines 1, East Point Mall
Enjoy plenty of outdoor recreation facilities such as East Coast Park, Laguna Golf and Country Club and Bedok Reservoir Park
Excellent rental potential

***Seeking indication of Interest Now*** (http://www.sgpropertyagent.com.sg/The-Glades-at-Tanah-Merah.html):cool:

Size Range (Typical Units Only)
1 Bedroom : 431 – 506 sqft
1 SOHO : 473 – 484 sqft

2 Bed Compact : 570 – 624 sqft
2 Bedroom : 667 – 721 sqft
2 SOHO : 581 – 624 sqft

3 Bed Compact : 840 – 861 sqft
3 Bedroom : 990 – 1044 sqft

4 Bedroom : 1281 – 1507 sqft
4 Dual Key : 1378 sqft

Penthouses : 1916 – 2594 sqft

Shops (3 Units Only) : 517 - 560 sqft

***Seeking indication of Interest Now*** (http://www.sgpropertyagent.com.sg/The-Glades-at-Tanah-Merah.html):cool:

Village Idiot
05-08-13, 23:36
What's with the tiny unit sizes nowadays? standard sized 2 bedders at 62 sq m? compact 3 bedders at 78 sq m? :scared-1:

I'm posting on The Glades thread because, as mentioned, I am thinking about buying. However, the closer I look at SG property the less I understand it (the logic seems broken).

I agree with the comment about the tiny units. So small it feels like a prison cell. This is a suburban development, not city. Rather than raise the price they shrink the units and hope we don't notice :tsk-tsk:

I had an agent tell me to expect The Glades to launch at minimum 1550 PSF. That means those "good facing" 1 or 2 bed could be 1700 PSF. Working on a 2 bed at 721 sqft that's 1,225,700. I checked resale units at Optima and for a same sized pool view high floor unit owners are asking approx. 1,200,000. So why would anyone buy The Glades? Optima can fetch rental income or be lived in immediately, The Glades is years away. It's a genuine question, I am confused. It will surely sell out in the blink of an eye. Is there a "more money than sense" attitude creeping in?

Are the government really trying to cool the market or are they just trying to fill their pockets :)

This is a bit of a controversial post :scared-2: But that's what the Internet is for, right :tongue3: All genuine questions.

gadiny
06-08-13, 06:19
Hi morning all, more from youtubes on the Glades for your reference!

1. Showflat
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMTGwjGV_f0

2. The 'innovative convertible system' for the Soho units. Something different as usually for Soho, developers do a platform

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8UvMcpRJVU

06-08-13, 07:27
hi Idiot... NEW is always better to most.

much like how men prefer to have virgin wives. some more buying a house is like one of the biggest commitment of a lifetime for most.

06-08-13, 07:37
nice concept but not really practical for the convertibles. esp if they price it at a premium just for that.

for single person, most likely end up doing everything from the main sofa. it looks spacious enough for one to sleep on anyway.

for two pax, maybe then they can have some fun and exercise while converting and transformers mode here and there on a daily basis.

06-08-13, 07:56
Poor jolin looks very busy converting and transforming. Cannot imagine doing this everyday.:scared-4: maybe after the 1 year warranty period, the transformers will start falling apart haa haa. :rolleyes:

Village Idiot
06-08-13, 08:30
hi Idiot... NEW is always better to most.

much like how men prefer to have virgin wives. some more buying a house is like one of the biggest commitment of a lifetime for most.

:D But Optima only just TOP. How long does it take for it not to be considered NEW anymore? 6 months?

Hehehehe just though that a completed house that can be income generating and lived in should sell for more than a plot of grass. Just giving a balanced view. Since the money in SG property is seemingly limitless then let me try to balance this in my own mind my by say those Optima owners are dumb and they need to jack up the asking price :)

Pull-down bed? OMG. No thanks. That style I don't like (personal opinion).

06-08-13, 08:45
:D But Optima only just TOP. How long does it take for it not to be considered NEW anymore? 6 months?

Hehehehe just though that a completed house that can be income generating and lived in should sell for more than a plot of grass. Just giving a balanced view. Since the money in SG property is seemingly limitless then let me try to balance this in my own mind my by say those Optima owners are dumb and they need to jack up the asking price :)

Pull-down bed? OMG. No thanks. That style I don't like (personal opinion).

dont get me wong.... i actually agree with u.

one of my tactic has been to buy only those that near top (within 6 mths) where their full price potential has not been reached.

06-08-13, 08:46
Poor jolin looks very busy converting and transforming. Cannot imagine doing this everyday.:scared-4: maybe after the 1 year warranty period, the transformers will start falling apart haa haa. :rolleyes:

i think i just saw her bicep get bigger.

06-08-13, 09:10
Mechanical parts are subjected to wear and tear, and you risk limbs and head injuries. They are also not cheap and a hassle to use.

babyt
06-08-13, 10:10
i also worry about such beds and storage that need u to open up and down...eventually the parts will spolit one. based on previous experience, must be gentle when handling retractable mechanism.

last time my parents storage bed also not good, after sometimes, the drawers cannot pull out easily and start to wear n tear.

i also dunno why would a person of 1 bedder SOHO will want to waste space on 2 beds (based on video example). Unless u r such a generous host who host ppl to stay in ur house almost weekly, otherwise, ur 1 bedder sld be designed according to your needs and not to how u want to cater for ur guests.

06-08-13, 10:17

1. Showflat

2. The 'innovative convertible system' for the Soho units. Something different as usually for Soho, developers do a platform

I really don't know what to say .. it is like worker dorms for SBS drivers :beats-me-man:

06-08-13, 10:29
I really don't know what to say .. it is like worker dorms for SBS drivers :beats-me-man:
No wonder accident many many?

06-08-13, 10:46
The video so funny:D , need to do some ritual 拜拜 before transformation, or was it warm up exercise before lifting & folding of furniture?

Anyway ID copied from NY http://youtu.be/Ql4p6VDyHzk :p

06-08-13, 10:52
The video so funny:D , need to do some ritual 拜拜 before transformation, or was it warm up exercise before lifting & folding of furniture?

damn boring ... they should hire sexy mei mei like in the car industry ... total failure :rolleyes:

06-08-13, 11:00

You off your speeker issit... Morning yoga la. Enjoy outside greenery... Which actually turns out to be busy traffic...Lol

bakasa2002
06-08-13, 11:41

Had the same sentiments ... This is going to cost $1500psf?

06-08-13, 13:44
damn boring ... they should hire sexy mei mei like in the car industry ... total failure :rolleyes:

ya lor, if sexy mei mei lowers the drop down bed, immediately psf jump another $200.

You off your speeker issit... Morning yoga la. Enjoy outside greenery... Which actually turns out to be busy traffic...Lol

w/o music & no yoga the psf is levitating for D16...land bid is defying gravity. :old-chinese-guy: :old-chinese-guy: hohoho

Village Idiot
06-08-13, 20:15

:D hahaha that's funny.

Seriously though, your dining table is a retractable plank of wood, your office desk is a retractable plank of wood and your bed is a retractable plank of wood. Not to mention that the integrated sofa looks like an uncomfortable plank of wood. The moveable wall, I don't really know what to think; not sure whether to think it's creative or ridiculous. It's a bit like a hotel suite, nice to stay for a few days but I wouldn't want to live there. This is just my opinion (and I'm entitled to it, as they say). Anyway, I'm still sure they will all sell out within 10 minutes. Anyone on here really like the concept and will buy?

babyt
06-08-13, 20:34
instead of showing how to store 2 extra beds...they sld show how to find space to put ur stuff.

afterall, our living condition isnt perfect, tidy and clean like the video.

Village Idiot
06-08-13, 20:55
instead of showing how to store 2 extra beds...they sld show how to find space to put ur stuff.

afterall, our living condition isnt perfect, tidy and clean like the video.

Can always buy up 2 units. 1 to live in and 1 to store your stuff :)

jslee78
06-08-13, 21:35
keppel land paid high price for the land, so must find " creative" way to sell at even higher price. China Vanke owns 30% of the development and this is their first development here. Can Vanke works magic and brings in the chinese buyers? I am eagerly waiting for the sale result.

Village Idiot
06-08-13, 22:10
keppel land paid high price for the land, so must find " creative" way to sell at even higher price. China Vanke owns 30% of the development and this is their first development here. Can Vanke works magic and brings in the chinese buyers? I am eagerly waiting for the sale result.

Creative ways are such as make the units unfeasibly tiny, make the balcony bigger than the living space, make the AC ledge huge, cut back on facilities, pack in as many units as possibly, build the stacks so close together that you can reach out and pass things to your neighbor. The agents then come up with ways to make all these negatives sound positive :D

jslee78
07-08-13, 18:31
You are a smart one! Besides location and price, able to differentiate between design with good fundalmental value vs flashy design that only looks good in the marketing brochures, video and showflat, is also an important factor for successful property investment.

gav108
07-08-13, 18:56
i agree with you guys that all these flashy gadgets are impractical and cannot make up for small space. all those mechanical components are bound to malfunction over time, and i wouldn't want to have a good workout before i can even have a bed to lie on. as for those 2 bunk beds...imagine having to share the same tiny space with 2 visiting friends. no matter how chummy i m with them, i would prefer to provide them with the privacy of a guest room, and have my own privacy as well. like this quite 'lose face', unless i am a teenager playing tree house with my playmates...

wonder if the developer is also thinking of promoting the 1 bedder as an attractive rental unit to a family of 4 (a couple in the queen-sized bed and 2 kids in the bunks) or to 3 hippy friends, thereby justifying its high price?

07-08-13, 21:07
this project will be good to test market sentiment after a stunning J Gateway sellout

and according to LKY:

Japan’s reluctance to open up to immigrants will further lead to its decline, he said.
“If I were a young Japanese and I could speak English, I would probably choose to emigrate,” said Lee.

=> Japanese must be very offended reading this :scared-5:

Village Idiot
07-08-13, 21:14
Unless i am a teenager playing tree house with my playmates...

That's a good one :D

I'm not a successful property investor, so I am only saying what I see. In fact I'm actually looking to buy a property for what it really should be bought for; I will live in it. I will not be buying that unit from the video. I'll step aside and let Jolene and her friends grab it :D

I actually think the sofa is worse than the bunk beds. It looks about as comfortable as a park bench. It has no back rest or arm rests. Imaging coming home from a hard day at work and that is all you have to sit on :banghead:

I'd like to force the guy who designed it to live there for a year and see whether he still thinks he did a good job :doh:

GSLJ
08-08-13, 16:59

1. Showflat

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8UvMcpRJVUThanks for the vidz.

Come back home to chill and relax, too tiring to play transformer all the time.

Village Idiot
09-08-13, 13:16
Thanks for the vidz.

Come back home to chill and relax, too tiring to play transformer all the time.

It's clearly quite radical and doesn't meet with everyone's tastes/ requirements (including mine, as I have voiced my opinion) but I bet they still sell out in 10 minutes flat. I could probably pitch a tent next to an MRT station and sell it for 2 million hahaha. Ah, SG property, the unburstable bubble..... yikes!

09-08-13, 15:19
From what I can recall. That strip of land is not ver broad. It is quite long but it's definitely not wide. Moreover it's on a slope. I hope they will keep the slope.

http://the-glade.org/wp-content/uploads/The-Glades-Site-Plan.jpg

09-08-13, 15:25
Looks like it will be part of the design. The blocks on the upper part will have an advantage over those below.

http://homesactually.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/The-Glade-at-Tanah-Merah-External-view.jpeg

09-08-13, 15:32
Those on high floor facing Bedok Rise will have sea view. As long as it's above those landed properties.

http://thegladecondo.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/The-Glades-View-of-Site.jpg

09-08-13, 15:47
Not forgetting this Hong Kong apartment. The one at Glades is more spacious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36NQ9QbAZ0w

1. Showflat

09-08-13, 16:16
Transformers no transformers, frankly speaking is a matter of getting used to it. Is just like every morning wakey, need to fold blankets, pao kopi and so on. Imo, I think play transformers everyday will also used to it. Just like when I go cycle with my foldie bike must fold up fold down, mount in car, mount out car.. slowly it becomelike doing any daily chores.

Village Idiot
09-08-13, 17:43
Thanks for sharing that view! That is really nice. Any idea which floor and above can enjoy that view? I guess the developer will load the prices for the units with that view, certainly might expect those to cost a lot more than the units facing the road and the train track. I would like to own one of those units - hope I can afford it when the pricing is announced.

gadiny
09-08-13, 17:55
The site below seems to suggest last 3 floor of each block facing bedok rise to get the million dollar view!!! Do note the block ranges from 10 to 12 storey.
http://www.wilsonlee168.com/the-glades.html

Village Idiot
09-08-13, 21:02
The site below seems to suggest last 3 floor of each block facing bedok rise to get the million dollar view!!! Do note the block ranges from 10 to 12 storey.
http://www.wilsonlee168.com/the-glades.html

I suspect the million dollar view is going to cost more than a million dollars :tongue3: Thanks for sharing the link though.

10-08-13, 02:47
Thanks for sharing that view! That is really nice. Any idea which floor and above can enjoy that view? I guess the developer will load the prices for the units with that view, certainly might expect those to cost a lot more than the units facing the road and the train track. I would like to own one of those units - hope I can afford it when the pricing is announced.

Anything above 3rd storey...

10-08-13, 02:52
Interesting. It's also unblocked for those facing mrt track. Except that you have to make a guess which floor will face the track. Otherwise it's pretty much clear view because of low rise housing.

10-08-13, 06:41
Interesting. It's also unblocked for those facing mrt track. Except that you have to make a guess which floor will face the track. Otherwise it's pretty much clear view because of low rise housing.

bro u seem v onz this project.

r u gonna look see and perhaps get one?

10-08-13, 09:17
I'm just going to take a look. Not sure if I want to buy. I'm on the fence.

10-08-13, 09:19

I think you should just buy if you can live for another 30 years.

Village Idiot
10-08-13, 11:46
Not forgetting this Hong Kong apartment. The one at Glades is more spacious.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36NQ9QbAZ0w

Bed above the bath tub. WTF. :doh: What's next, bed on the ceiling maybe, strap yourself in at night to defy gravity.

Village Idiot
10-08-13, 12:08

Can I ask what are your reservations about this development - assuming you have a blank cheque.

I want to consider buying here but I have some uneducated reservations.

1. Did developer pay too much for the land, so owners will pay too much for the units?
2. There is no sense in the market. People will pay any amount for anything. If that attitude changes, negative equity is not a nice place to be.
3. Rental. There is no shortage of choice around the Tanah Merah area. I think from the MRT station there will be at least 6 developments in short walking distance - and rentals at the Glades are going to be the highest in that area.
4. Those facing the track and those SOHO units are out for me, so I'm left with paying an even higher premium.
5. Could just buy a resale unit at Casa Merah or Optima and it's cheaper PSF.
6. Bartley Ridge is tempting me and it's way cheaper PSF.

All genuine questions. Would anyone care to answer from their experience.

10-08-13, 13:18
You dont really need to care how much developer paid as long as the price is right for you. As for competition, unfortunately there isnt much to differentiate this project from the others mentioned.... Unless you get the ones facing south with sea view.

Village Idiot
10-08-13, 15:41
You dont really need to care how much developer paid as long as the price is right for you. As for competition, unfortunately there isnt much to differentiate this project from the others mentioned.... Unless you get the ones facing south with sea view.

I guess you are saying, if you think it's worth it buy it, if you don't then don't. That's fair. Wouldn't want to pay for your advice though :) Just joking. Thanks for the reply. Appreciated.

I guess my point was, holding the highest priced property in the area when there is nothing to differentiate it from the others makes it risky. I think you did answer my question. Thanks.

10-08-13, 18:56
1. Did developer pay too much for the land, so owners will pay too much for the units?

That is the developer problem. If owners find it too expensive, then don't buy. I mean, if keppel land sell its 450 sqft studio at 1.5M, will anyone buy?

2. There is no sense in the market. People will pay any amount for anything. If that attitude changes, negative equity is not a nice place to be.

That is the owner's problem. If they like negative equity, so be it. Some like drugs, some like casino and we can't stop them.

3. Rental. There is no shortage of choice around the Tanah Merah area. I think from the MRT station there will be at least 6 developments in short walking distance - and rentals at the Glades are going to be the highest in that area.

Rental won't be the highest. It will be equivalent to optima or casa merah. And it is subjected to market forces. If Tg Pagar rental drops, I will expect the whole Singapore rental to drop. No such thing call Tg Pagar rental dropping but Redhill going up.

Yes, that is an obvious choice if Glade is selling > 1.6k psf. You get 4 years of rental as well.

Can I ask what are your reservations about this development - assuming you have a blank cheque.

I want to consider buying here but I have some uneducated reservations.

4. Those facing the track and those SOHO units are out for me, so I'm left with paying an even higher premium.
6. Bartley Ridge is tempting me and it's way cheaper PSF.

All genuine questions. Would anyone care to answer from their experience.

10-08-13, 19:22
We should let the developers bear the wrath of negative equity. Greedy developers shall be punished. :rolleyes:

10-08-13, 19:36
Read from the UV thread that the tenant profile for this area are dominated by Indian Nationals. Is this really true?

Village Idiot
11-08-13, 01:49
Thank you, thomastansb; some good and frank answers there, which all make sense.

The answer on rental really made me see the light. Just because owners have paid the highest prices for the unit doesn't mean they can demand higher rentals. Tenants don't care what the unit cost the owner, they only care what the going rental PSF is for the area. I get it. Rental yields could be very small or nonexistent (unless demand outstrips supply).
For example, I am paying 3,500 per month for a 950 sqft 2-bed unit at Casa Merah (lease just renewed), that's 3.68 PSF. Consider a 721 sqft 2-bed at Glades at the same rental PSF, that's 2,656 rental per month. Assuming 1,600 PSF the sale price would be 1,153,600. Mortgage 922,880 over 25 years at 1.5% is 3,690 per month. Means the owner has to top up the mortgage by 1k each month. If interest rates go up and you add in some capital depreciation then it's jump of the bridge time.
Is my logic correct?

Village Idiot
11-08-13, 02:00
Read from the UV thread that the tenant profile for this area are dominated by Indian Nationals. Is this really true?

I have lived at Casa Merah for the last 2 years and by looking at the residents I would say it's not a bad mix. Certainly, yes, a lot of Indian Nationals. I'd say 1/3 Indians - of course, I am unsure who are owners and who are tenants, or whether those Indians are in fact Singapore Citizens (I believe a lot of Indians are).

11-08-13, 09:28
I didn't mean the psf rental will be the same.

Let's say Casa Merah 2 bedder (947 sq ft) is rented out at 3.5k.

Optima 2 bedder (850 sq ft) will be rented out close to 3.5k as well.

Glade 2 bedder (750 sq ft) - I believe it will be rented out around 3.5k as well. So PSF wise, glade will be highest.

HOWEVER, if glade 2 bedder is 550 sq ft, then I don't think 3.5k is achievable. Maybe 2.8k because it is too small.

I discover that if studio drop below 400 sq ft, the rental will be only 2/3 of a normal sized studio. So I think a 2 bedder 550 sq ft is considered as a super MM unit so rental will be lower as well.

Thank you, thomastansb; some good and frank answers there, which all make sense.

The answer on rental really made me see the light. Just because owners have paid the highest prices for the unit doesn't mean they can demand higher rentals. Tenants don't care what the unit cost the owner, they only care what the going rental PSF is for the area. I get it. Rental yields could be very small or nonexistent (unless demand outstrips supply).
For example, I am paying 3,500 per month for a 950 sqft 2-bed unit at Casa Merah (lease just renewed), that's 3.68 PSF. Consider a 721 sqft 2-bed at Glades at the same rental PSF, that's 2,656 rental per month. Assuming 1,600 PSF the sale price would be 1,153,600. Mortgage 922,880 over 25 years at 1.5% is 3,690 per month. Means the owner has to top up the mortgage by 1k each month. If interest rates go up and you add in some capital depreciation then it's jump of the bridge time.
Is my logic correct?

11-08-13, 11:16
Will you pay 10% more if you are above a mrt stn?

Is my logic correct?

jslee78
11-08-13, 12:47
The residential price of the area has increased at least 60 % since the launch of Optima ( estimated about $900-1000psf ) in just a short few years. Before Optima, the average price was about 600-700psf. How much will the price goes up further? What are the catalyst and growth story? Changi Business Park has already fully developed and the current psf price may have already fully realised . Will the 4th university provides the magic touch? What esle? expansion of EXPO? Aerospace industries? On the other hand, rental yeild will be very poor and with very high competition; Optima owners can drop the rental value when market is bad and may still have +ve cash flow. Overall, It is a very risky investment. There may be better value eslewhere if one must invest in property now. My 2c opinions.

Village Idiot
11-08-13, 13:08
The residential price of the area has increased at least 60 % since the launch of Optima ( estimated about $900-1000psf ) in just a short few years. Before Optima, the average price was about 600-700psf. How much will the price goes up further? What are the catalyst and growth story? Changi Business Park has already fully developed and the current psf price may have already fully realised . Will the 4th university provides the magic touch? What esle? expansion of EXPO? Aerospace industries? On the other hand, rental yeild will be very poor and with very high competition; Optima owners can drop the rental value when market is bad and may still have +ve cash flow. Overall, It is a very risky investment. There may be better value eslewhere if one must invest in property now. My 2c opinions.

Exactly what I was thinking. Thanks for sharing your opinion, it sounds very logical to me. With Eco, Urban Vista and Glades all coming up at roughly the same time it's going to be a tenant's market. Supply might even exceed demand. To share a story with you, my landlord wanted to increase my rental from 3,500 to 3,800 per month. I refused and said I would move out. Over 2 months there were only 4 viewings by tenants and it seems none were interested at the 3,800 asking price. In the end, the landlord agreed to let me extend at 3,500. My point is, it seems tenants had options. I must add this was at the time when Optima TOP and there were still rental properties available - I think it's full now. I was going to move to Optima.
Hope we can keep this debate going, I feel the power in this forum is from having these debates.

11-08-13, 15:16
This place is becoming like the condo forest in hillview area.
Exactly what I was thinking. Thanks for sharing your opinion, it sounds very logical to me. With Eco, Urban Vista and Glades all coming up at roughly the same time it's going to be a tenant's market. Supply might even exceed demand. To share a story with you, my landlord wanted to increase my rental from 3,500 to 3,800 per month. I refused and said I would move out. Over 2 months there were only 4 viewings by tenants and it seems none were interested at the 3,800 asking price. In the end, the landlord agreed to let me extend at 3,500. My point is, it seems tenants had options. I must add this was at the time when Optima TOP and there were still rental properties available - I think it's full now. I was going to move to Optima.
Hope we can keep this debate going, I feel the power in this forum is from having these debates.

Village Idiot
11-08-13, 21:48

Very very competitive on rentals in the future, I think the power is shifting from the landlords to the tenants.

When I first took up my place 2 1/2 years ago there were few vacant units in this area. My landlord was so confident that he refused to lower the asking rental by even 1 cent and refused to even clean the floors in the unit that were really dirty since the previous tenant was keeping cats. 2 years later I had power to hold the rental at 3.5k by threatening to move out. Fast forward 4 years and I think tenants will have the power to force down rental costs, or at least stop them rising. Glades owners will have no room to maneuver, whereas Optima and Casa Merah owners will. I could see Glades owners being in -ve cash flow and negative equity. You might have noticed I'm talking myself out of buying now.

But, to share with you my agent said there is well over 300 people registered for the special/preview launch - all bringing blank cheques no doubt and eager to buy, buy, buy.

VS
23-08-13, 15:22
Heard that The Glades soft launch this Sat, prices starts from$1.5k psf

newlaunchproperty
24-08-13, 14:56
Heard that The Glades soft launch this Sat, prices starts from$1.5k psf
Hi VS, you are right.

Our The Glades showflat is opened for viewing for our invites this weekend on 24 & 25 Aug 2013.

Expression of Interest (EOI) and Cheque Submission by 27 Aug 2013 (Tues).

Check out The Glades (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/the-glades.html) for more information. Hurry, register your interest with me now!

The Glades Developer Sales Team

ppty
24-08-13, 15:19
just across at stratford court rental is at 2.50 to 2.70 psf

units are going at 900 plus psf

would just stay away from the Glades - as someone rightly mentioned here - let the developer carry the negative equity......

Adva181
24-08-13, 16:58

I never buy into a place whereby there are strong competition. It's sucide unless you are buying for own stay.

Other examples apart from hillview areas are pasir ris monster 5. (Livia, NV etc.
Bedok reservoir (more than 7 in a stretch)
Flora drive (Palm isle, Edelwise etc)
Tampines Ave 10 (Waterview, Qbay and other GLS)

All my units has less than 1 condo in ~1km radius

babyt
24-08-13, 18:00
where in SG there is a condo that is sooo far apart from another condo?

sg land is scarce...maybe not now, but sure new condo will pop up eventually.

I think many owners are suiciders since most condos are just beside each other.

24-08-13, 18:11
It is not proven. Rental move up and down across island. No such thing call more private in an area = that area is lousy in rental.

I never buy into a place whereby there are strong competition. It's sucide unless you are buying for own stay.

Other examples apart from hillview areas are pasir ris monster 5. (Livia, NV etc.

Adva181
24-08-13, 18:14
It is not proven. Rental move up and down across island. No such thing call more private in an area = that area is lousy in rental.

None of my units in OCR. Rental $8psf.
No more than 1 condo within ~1km

Ya nearby building 1-2 new condo but TOP is still 1-2 years away.
At least I can still enjoy some premium now

Adva181
24-08-13, 18:25
where in SG there is a condo that is sooo far apart from another condo?

sg land is scarce...maybe not now, but sure new condo will pop up eventually.

I think many owners are suiciders since most condos are just beside each other.

I give u an example-
Clift, nearest condo is Emerald Garden.
All others like Icon, One shenton all 1km away.
Nearest BUC is Robinson Suits.

Need more examples?

Actually just need to do some homework and u can find some gems.
Those chasing after new launch which are surrounded by large development are :doh:

24-08-13, 19:41
I thought near the clift at tanjong pagar got Altez and skysuites @ anson under construction? :beats-me-man:

Adva181
24-08-13, 21:15
I thought near the clift at tanjong pagar got Altez and skysuites @ anson under construction? :beats-me-man:

Altez n Skysuites are 1km away from Clift.
Different catchment of tenants.
Clift is serving those working in Club streets Robinson Road Cecil street etc.
Those working in China street surely will not walk 2km to altez.

24-08-13, 23:05

What about the amber road area?
amber residences, seaview, cotz d azur, one amber, the esta, shore residences, the aristo, silversea, parc seabreeze, moda n coralis...:doh: :doh: :doh:

25-08-13, 00:54
I have Clift studio as well. Rental around 4 to 4.5k. Almost same as Sail, one shenton and a bit higher than Icon as Icon is having massive constructions now.

PSF wise, it is higher because it is smaller. My unit is 495 sq ft. Easily $8 psf. Sail, same rental, only $6+ psf. Rental same but psf higher. But the 1km radius logic doesn't work here because the rental is almost similar. PSF is not accurate because Clift size is much smaller.

I give u an example-

Need more examples?

Those chasing after new launch which are surrounded by large development are :doh:

25-08-13, 00:58
Actually his logic is flawed. The 1km radius thingy is total crap. Woodlands has fewer condos than D15 but I don't see higher rental at woodlands. Punggol and Sengkang also very little condo but why the rental there so low??

Rental go up and down in tandem with other properties islandwide. It is just shifting of tenants from one place to another place. If Pasir Ris has more condos, those staying at tampines will move over. Then simei will move over to tampines. And etc etc etc. So if over supply at Pasir Ris, tenants just move over from other locations. So overall, rental will be lower across Singapore. Those staying at Tg Pagar might contemplate moving to redhill because cheaper since some staying at redhill move to Jurong (just an example).

What about the amber road area?
amber residences, seaview, cotz d azur, one amber, the esta, shore residences, the aristo, silversea, parc seabreeze, moda n coralis...:doh: :doh: :doh:

25-08-13, 01:15
and with more supply, tenants will choose the one most cost effective. anw, the writing is on the wall since last 2 years. hope marginal and creative ones are capable to hold when theirs TOP in next few years.

25-08-13, 01:16
Actually his logic is flawed. The 1km radius thingy is total crap. Woodlands has fewer condos than D15 but I don't see higher rental at woodlands. Punggol and Sengkang also very little condo but why the rental there so low??

Rental go up and down in tandem with other properties islandwide. It is just shifting of tenants from one place to another place. If Pasir Ris has more condos, those staying at tampines will move over. Then simei will move over to tampines. And etc etc etc. So if over supply at Pasir Ris, tenants just move over from other locations. So overall, rental will be lower across Singapore. Those staying at Tg Pagar might contemplate moving to redhill because cheaper since some staying at redhill move to Jurong (just an example).

a bit flawed.. though there are some similar examples. one north, heritage view

Adva181
25-08-13, 09:08
I have Clift studio as well. Rental around 4 to 4.5k. Almost same as Sail, one shenton and a bit higher than Icon as Icon is having massive constructions now.

PSF wise, it is higher because it is smaller. My unit is 495 sq ft. Easily $8 psf. Sail, same rental, only $6+ psf. Rental same but psf higher. But the 1km radius logic doesn't work here because the rental is almost similar. PSF is not accurate because Clift size is much smaller.

:doh: I am not trying to say if your condo 1km radius has no competition, u can get $8. I am only saying u get less competition while renting out and can get more desirable rate as compared to those clusters we talk about. I also have a unit in sail, Clift n sail serving different group of tenants.
I dun need to educate the forumers about logic here, they are all expert n I am just stating some common mistake followers made.

Yup one North is another good one. I went for the preview but missed out eventually. I UOL sold most of the units to insiders and agent. :tongue3:

Adva181
25-08-13, 09:21

Alamak..:doh: Of course I am not referring to all districts. Compass point residences has no competition for many years n enjoy good rental n the units are taken up very quickly. I can't be so stupid to fail to understand this when I hold so many units right?
Aiya no need to argue lah, we are all highly educated people with high EQ n can conclude things in the most constructive ways, or else we wun be multiple units owners right? :cheers6:

Opps, sorry to hijack The Glades thread.
Case closed. :p

GSLJ
25-08-13, 13:18
Received SMS from agent.

Showflat opens today!

1room 700k
2room 840k
3room 1.25 mil
Soho/1/2/3/4/dk/ph

Anyone going for viewing? :)

25-08-13, 13:47
Things may change when Telok Ayer station of DTL1 opens at the end of the year.
I give u an example-

Need more examples?

shauntanzs
25-08-13, 14:20
Things may change when Telok Ayer station of DTL1 opens at the end of the year.

Bro DC33, u still holding to EM?

25-08-13, 14:27
Received SMS from agent.

Showflat opens today!

1room 700k
2room 840k
3room 1.25 mil
Soho/1/2/3/4/dk/ph

1 bedroom same price as My Manhattan but size is 452sqft vs MM's 560sqft. :doh:

25-08-13, 14:40
Why not when it gives good rental yield? Can find tenants very quickly even with higher rent. Lastly, it is 999LH in a few place that is rare. Th recent commercial land bid price near Cecil and Telok Ayer has reached new high.
Bro DC33, u still holding to EM?

25-08-13, 16:58
Received SMS from agent.

Showflat opens today!

1room 700k
2room 840k
3room 1.25 mil
Soho/1/2/3/4/dk/ph

Price is affordable. 3 rm at 1.25mil is good.

25-08-13, 17:13
1 bedroom same price as My Manhattan but size is 452sqft vs MM's 560sqft. :doh:

if country garden can sell a few thousands in weeks, Glades will be gone by days :D

like COE/car market ... all buyers super-loaded :scared-1:

commercial vehicle COE all time high at 71k+ ... properties should be same, no 710k (10x COE) no talk

25-08-13, 20:19
haha.. is there a correlation between coe and prop prices?

Simply East
26-08-13, 16:30
Received SMS from agent.

Showflat opens today!

1room 700k
2room 840k
3room 1.25 mil
Soho/1/2/3/4/dk/ph

Any views regarding the showflat after visiting?

bakasa2002
27-08-13, 10:29
Any views regarding the showflat after visiting?

I am not impressed ... Had expected better quality from Keppel and the px they are charging. =)

GSLJ
27-08-13, 13:01
Any views regarding the showflat after visiting?Agree with Bakasa2002, not impressed with the quality.

I was there over the weekend, showroom was packed! They have 1/2/3 bedder show units for viewing. Indicative price 1.4k- 1.6k psf. I find the units rather small, but the landscaping is nice. High floor units facing Bedok rise will have a distance sea view. There will also be a covered walkway link to Mrt too.

Land price around 800, construction costs plus misc add another 400, so at 1.4k psf I feel is reasonable. But this is BUC, so TOP should be around 4 years or 2017. If it's for rental yield, the resale condos opposite may be another option to consider for immediate returns.

Chillyred888
28-08-13, 08:11
This project not so hot judging from the response here le:cool:

28-08-13, 08:29
i thought rent is moderating given the completion of Optima? still people flocking to showrooms. looks like the next CM is to reduce loan tenure to 25 years.

shauntanzs
28-08-13, 22:46
I think game over for many people.
Eg 45years old man earning 10k pm
Has 1 existing property.

To buy a 2 bedder 1.2m at The Glade, he need to fork out cash 50% 600k plus SD 120k = 720k
Does all average dudes has this amount of money?

Even if he cleared round 1, now comes round 2.

Balance Loan 600k over 20 years, monthly installment $3500 pm
If he has existing house loan assuming 2k pm n car loan 1.5k pm,
He fail to cross the 60% TSDR hurdles.

Game over.

28-08-13, 23:03
I think game over for many people.
Eg 45years old man earning 10k pm
Has 1 existing property.

To buy a 2 bedder 1.2m at The Glade, he need to fork out cash 50% 600k plus SD 120k = 720k
Does all average dudes has this amount of money?

Even if he cleared round 1, now comes round 2.

Balance Loan 600k over 20 years, monthly installment $3500 pm
If he has existing house loan assuming 2k pm n car loan 1.5k pm,
He fail to cross the 60% TSDR hurdles.

Game over.

http://fanboygaming.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Game-over.jpg

Village Idiot
28-08-13, 23:37
i thought rent is moderating given the completion of Optima? still people flocking to showrooms. looks like the next CM is to reduce loan tenure to 25 years.

I agree.

This is a serious question, can someone explain why people are not deterred in any way from buying SG property, even when it doesn't seem sensible. Having a spare 1+ million dollars to spend on a tiny box apartment is one thing, thinking it's a good idea is another. I think were the next cooling measures to say all buyers must have a limb amputated then buyers would still happily queue up.

It is at the point where, even at a low 1.5% interest rate, the potential monthly rental cannot even cover the monthly mortgage. I can only assume then, that the rich investors don't really look at the rental yield anymore and are in it purely for the anticipated capital appreciation. Would I be right? And just how high can a tiny box appreciate? Can and will people pay unlimited amounts for a tiny box in a suburban location? I don't see wage inflation keeping up with house inflation.

repanse71
29-08-13, 10:29
I agree.

This is a serious question, can someone explain why people are not deterred in any way from buying SG property, even when it doesn't seem sensible. Having a spare 1+ million dollars to spend on a tiny box apartment is one thing, thinking it's a good idea is another. I think were the next cooling measures to say all buyers must have a limb amputated then buyers would still happily queue up.

It is at the point where, even at a low 1.5% interest rate, the potential monthly rental cannot even cover the monthly mortgage. I can only assume then, that the rich investors don't really look at the rental yield anymore and are in it purely for the anticipated capital appreciation. Would I be right? And just how high can a tiny box appreciate? Can and will people pay unlimited amounts for a tiny box in a suburban location? I don't see wage inflation keeping up with house inflation.

There are a sizeable group who are
1. staying fully paid up HDB and condo
2. baby boomers with easily 300k in investible CPF
3. saved up quite a bundle in cash now parked in TD
4. general distrust in equities, bonds,,,

I personally know many of above who are now getting into the act.
They have no issue with 50% cash upfront, nor TDSR....

repanse71
29-08-13, 10:37
I agree.

People believe the 6.9m population target is very REAL.
In fact, people believe the TRUE target is 8m.

Once PM Lee discloses the plan for Paya Lebar airbase and Tanjong Pagar container terminal, more will believe in the 6.9m - 8m population target.

29-08-13, 11:09
You take 1M buy a MM, rental 3k, still got 3.6% yield.

You take 1M buy Iskandar properties, already drop 5%. Not prices drop but currency drop.

This is one of the many reasons. People see Singapore as a strong country with sound security, resilient currency, continuous growth, no external debt etc....

I agree.

Adva181
29-08-13, 13:06
You take 1M buy a MM, rental 3k, still got 3.6% yield.

You take 1M buy Iskandar properties, already drop 5%. Not prices drop but currency drop.

This is one of the many reasons. People see Singapore as a strong country with sound security, resilient currency, continuous growth, no external debt etc....

Lol, I nearly bought a Penang property 2 years ago when the fx is 2.36. Now 2.59 almost 10% value gone. But in 2 yrs, the value up 10% also. So break even lol.

Adva181
29-08-13, 13:11
There are a sizeable group who are
1. staying fully paid up HDB and condo
2. baby boomers with easily 300k in investible CPF
3. saved up quite a bundle in cash now parked in TD
4. general distrust in equities, bonds,,,

I personally know many of above who are now getting into the act.
They have no issue with 50% cash upfront, nor TDSR....

I belongs to this group.
Even when I belong to this group, I am not willing to pay the stupid 10% ABSD. :mad:

henryhk
29-08-13, 14:07
http://fanboygaming.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Game-over.jpg
Yes, I belong to this group,
Game over for me, but not for my kids, I will still pay 500k for them to acquire a 1st pte property if need to.

Since garment says they can loan to 80%, might as well take it.

29-08-13, 14:32
henryhk, do not give up. One day they will remove those absds

henryhk
29-08-13, 16:35
I nver hope ABSD will be removed...because it is false hope.....so will need my kids to follow my footstep and buy pte instead of hdb....

29-08-13, 18:13
They will remove one day and i think the day wont be far.

Laguna buy for chewren , it is a good move

I nver hope ABSD will be removed...because it is false hope.....so will need my kids to follow my footstep and buy pte instead of hdb....

wirehtc
29-08-13, 18:16
They will remove one day and i think the day wont be far.

Laguna buy for chewren , it is a good move

Extremely unlikely to remove. Remember the population plan.

Xan
30-08-13, 00:52

If one day absd removed, I confirm, guarantee plus chop....hell will break loose. :D

Village Idiot
30-08-13, 01:58
I belongs to this group.
Even when I belong to this group, I am not willing to pay the stupid 10% ABSD. :mad:

That was the point I was trying to make/ ask. "Can do" and "will do" are very different.

No doubt there are many rich people in Singapore who can easily pay 1m, 2m, 3m for a box apartment, in straight cash even. Yes, they "can do".

I was thinking (out loud) whether just because you can does it mean you should. Is it at the point where it no longer makes sense? To my untrained eye, I see rentals leveling or even dropping, yet see sale prices climbing and climbing. Therefore, I concluded that buying SG property as an investment is purely about capital appreciation these days.

Sale prices can possibly climb forever as there are enough rich people to pay whatever it takes. I don't think rentals can climb like that though. Most people are paying rental from salary. So for example, if I'm working hard to earn 10k per month am I really going to be happy to pay 6K, 7K, 8K to rent? Wouldn't this type of situation mean the normal foreigners (not on expat deals) would start to leave Singapore?

I'm confused ;) ;) ;)

Village Idiot
31-08-13, 19:18
Was at the show flat this morning. It was packed!

As I expected the units feel really small. The show flat doesn't have all the walls in place which can make it feel bigger than it really is - but it still felt really very small (I looked at the 1 and 2 bed units).

The development itself is pleasant, but it's an odd shape with all the blocks in a row and 1/2 the development is open to be gawped in at, especially from those riding past on the MRT. Still, I'd say it's going to have more than some of the others developments in the area. Optima, for example, is very bland surroundings.

I'm still seriously considering a 2 bed compact unit. Depends on the pricing when actual price is announced.

As someone mentioned the finishing is not amazing. And hopefully the workmanship on the real units will be better than on the show flat.

jslee78
01-09-13, 07:52
Was at the show flat this morning. It was packed!

As I expected the units feel really small. The show flat doesn't have all the walls in place which can make it feel bigger than it really is - but it still felt really very small (I looked at the 1 and 2 bed units).

The development itself is pleasant, but it's an odd shape with all the blocks in a row and 1/2 the development is open to be gawped in at, especially from those riding past on the MRT. Still, I'd say it's going to have more than some of the others developments in the area. Optima, for example, is very bland surroundings.

I'm still seriously considering a 2 bed compact unit. Depends on the pricing when actual price is announced.

As someone mentioned the finishing is not amazing. And hopefully the workmanship on the real units will be better than on the show flat.

Prelaunch period seems to be extended. Few guys mentioned that show flat is crowded, are there many cheque submitted ?

qianfugui
01-09-13, 12:26
I agree.

Ha Ha .. talkjing about wage inflation .Tan Ku Ku liao .. only certain class of folks will see automatically wage inflation and adjustment .. the rest will see wage stagnation even after 10-15 years in a country that do not recognize the minimum wage .. where tripartite union look at businesss interest than interest of workers .. where plentifiul of cheap labours with the FT continuous influx ...:banghead:

Village Idiot
01-09-13, 17:59
Ha Ha .. talkjing about wage inflation .Tan Ku Ku liao .. only certain class of folks will see automatically wage inflation and adjustment .. the rest will see wage stagnation even after 10-15 years in a country that do not recognize the minimum wage .. where tripartite union look at businesss interest than interest of workers .. where plentifiul of cheap labours with the FT continuous influx ...:banghead:

Yep, the only thing that is cheap in Singapore is salaries :D

I'm from UK, but I'm not getting any special expat terms here in SG. My salary is pretty lousy and if you are not getting any wage inflation them I am also not :)

UK has minimum wage, but trust me if you are earning minimum wage you are still living in misery. I don't think minimum wage solves any problem. Certainly not when we are talking about buying a condo - no one on minimum wage is buying a condo that's for sure!

01-09-13, 18:39
Yep, the only thing that is cheap in Singapore is salaries :D

I'm from UK, but I'm not getting any special expat terms here in SG. My salary is pretty lousy and if you are not getting any wage inflation them I am also not :)

UK has minimum wage, but trust me if you are earning minimum wage you are still living in misery. I don't think minimum wage solves any problem. Certainly not when we are talking about buying a condo - no one on minimum wage is buying a condo that's for sure!

welcome to $ingapore:D :D :D ....where everybody walks and $$$ talks:D :D :D

Village Idiot
01-09-13, 22:48
welcome to $ingapore:D :D :D ....where everybody walks and $$$ talks:D :D :D

Hahahaha I'm not new, no need to welcome me. I've been here 4 years :tongue3: I've seen it change so much in those 4 years - $ are much harder to make than to spend that's for sure.

Village Idiot
05-09-13, 21:48
Just met my agent.

Tomorrow is the launch day, from 9 am.

Many stacks are not being released.

Any some stacks are over subscribed.

In total, almost 300 cheques have been received.

Just an update. This thread on glades has been very quiet.

05-09-13, 22:56
Just met my agent.

Tomorrow is the launch day, from 9 am.

Many stacks are not being released.

Any some stacks are over subscribed.

In total, almost 300 cheques have been received.

Just an update. This thread on glades has been very quiet.

300 cheques vs how many units released?

bakasa2002
06-09-13, 00:50
The way the project is done up and priced, it made eCO seems like a really good buy ... at least 150psf cheaper ...

jslee78
06-09-13, 04:57
300 cheques vs how many units released?

Wow! not a bad response. Total no. Of units 726. 300 cheques is about 40%. Is this due to Vanke's effect and investment ? Will be good to find out how many percentage of buyers is Chinese from China.

Khng8
06-09-13, 12:19
Has sales started?
How's the response?

Village Idiot
06-09-13, 16:05
Has sales started?
How's the response?

I'm just back from the launch. It's the only launch I've ever been to so I have nothing to compare it against.

I would say that the turnout of buyers was very poor (lots of agents and bankers making the tent look full, but buyers very small number). No way the 300 that my agent had said. Maybe less than 100 and many were looking like they were not going to buy - shaking their heads when they saw the price list.

For example, the 1 bedder in stack 38 was asking over 1,700 psf :scared-1:

I've heard stories that launch day is usually like a feeding frenzy, but this was not at all like that. I heard one guy make a good point when he said only 2 units were bought by Keppel staff (they get to buy before launch), shows that their own staff don't even believe in the project :doh:

06-09-13, 16:50
The way the project is done up and priced, it made eCO seems like a really good buy ... at least 150psf cheaper ...

It is about $350psf cheaper for 3 bedders

Village Idiot
06-09-13, 17:24

Further from the MRT though. Some people hate walking :) I walked from MRT to ECO to test it and it's quite far. But still, at 350psf cheaper it's worth walking a few minutes more.

Khng8
06-09-13, 17:46
Is the $1700psf quoted the net price or before discount?
What's the discount for early bird?
Thanks in advance.

gav108
06-09-13, 17:46
I'm just back from the launch. It's the only launch I've ever been to so I have nothing to compare it against.

I would say that the turnout of buyers was very poor (lots of agents and bankers making the tent look full, but buyers very small number). No way the 300 that my agent had said. Maybe less than 100 and many were looking like they were not going to buy - shaking their heads when they saw the price list.

For example, the 1 bedder in stack 38 was asking over 1,700 psf :scared-1:

I've heard stories that launch day is usually like a feeding frenzy, but this was not at all like that. I heard one guy make a good point when he said only 2 units were bought by Keppel staff (they get to buy before launch), shows that their own staff don't even believe in the project :doh:

stack 38 is probably the most expensive 1 bedder stack as it has pool view, as well as distant sea view, for higher floors through the wide gap between blocks. so it's not a good gauge. besides, eco is a much further walk away from mrt, and most blocks are face-to-face, with no sea view. will probably check out glades soon to see general pricing.

bakasa2002
06-09-13, 21:46

Wow, such a big diff? I thought it was $1250 v $1400 or glades 3br is higher than $1400?

06-09-13, 21:57
Wow, such a big diff? I thought it was $1250 v $1400 or glades 3br is higher than $1400?

I paid around $1188 for eco high floor unblocked view, The Glades #08-08 at.around $1520

Village Idiot
06-09-13, 23:29
Is the $1700psf quoted the net price or before discount?
What's the discount for early bird?
Thanks in advance.

Early bird discount was said to be 2%. I don't believe that BS.

I didn't see the final sales board, but seriously doubt they sold many today.

Village Idiot
06-09-13, 23:31
Early bird discount was said to be 2%. I don't believe that BS.

I didn't see the final sales board, but seriously doubt they sold many today.

Oh, by the way, the maintenance fees are high. I only saw for the 2 bedder and I think it was quoted at 330 - 380 SGD per month. Good luck trying to pass that on to your tenant.

Village Idiot
06-09-13, 23:39
Oh, by the way, the maintenance fees are high. I only saw for the 2 bedder and I think it was quoted at 330 - 380 SGD per month. Good luck trying to pass that on to your tenant.

Oh, and another by the way, the price jump from the south facing units without sea view to those with sea view was significant. I looked at a 2 bed. The floor 7 unit (assume without sea view) was 35k cheaper than the floor 8 unit (assume with sea view). Is it worth 35k? Maybe it is. Again investor might think it can't be passed on to tenants? I'm speculating - as my user name suggests I'm an idiot so I could be wrong.

yesnomaybe
07-09-13, 21:48
Went there around 7pm to have a look see...certainly was quieter than I expected for a newly launched project..no sales chart on display so sales must be below expectation

Village Idiot
08-09-13, 00:46
Went there around 7pm to have a look see...certainly was quieter than I expected for a newly launched project..no sales chart on display so sales must be below expectation

They had the sales chart out for a while on launch day but it quickly disappeared. I don't think many people bought on launch day.

yesnomaybe
08-09-13, 09:30
The Developers bought the land at $791 psf ... Much higher than the $500+ psf for eCO and Urban Vista

Having said that the Glades is located near Changi Airport and Changi business park

Village Idiot
08-09-13, 17:11
The Developers bought the land at $791 psf ... Much higher than the $500+ psf for eCO and Urban Vista

Having said that the Glades is located near Changi Airport and Changi business park

What's your point? So is eCO and Urban Vista. Is it sarcasm :beats-me-man:

JuzMe
08-09-13, 18:55
Expensive & not impressive for the price. No wonder so quiet there.

gadiny
08-09-13, 19:09
Just came back from showflat, quiet for a new launch. Understand from agent 80 plus units sold out of 400 plus units released. The units sold mainly 2br and 3br compact. Extra 2% discount given for this soft launch period till coming fri or sat (cannot remember) when it is launched officially.

yesnomaybe
08-09-13, 20:16
What's your point? So is eCO and Urban Vista. Is it sarcasm :beats-me-man:

No sarcasm intended mate, even with high rent level I think there's still rental potential given the manpower requirement for constructing the additional airport terminals

iridrium
08-09-13, 20:43
No sarcasm intended mate, even with high rent level I think there's still rental potential given the manpower requirement for constructing the additional airport terminals

If your theory holds water, isn't it better to buy Eco or urban vista instead ? Or other cheaper resale around the area?

IMO , should just let keppel and vanke rot with this development. Why should buyers overpay when they overpaid.

09-09-13, 01:05
If your theory holds water, isn't it better to buy Eco or urban vista instead ? Or other cheaper resale around the area?

IMO , should just let keppel and vanke rot with this development. Why should buyers overpay when they overpaid.

with the kinda of response they are getting, buyers are starting to vote with their wallets.

Village Idiot
09-09-13, 20:40

I'm skeptical. I've lived in this area for over 2 years.

When I first rented a Casa Merah 2-bed (2 1/2 years ago) demand was higher than supplies. My landlord was smug about it.

6 months ago he asked for a rental increase and I refused. He marketed the property for 2 months but had no takers and agreed to freeze the rental. The shoe was on the foot.

Fast forward when Urban Vista, Eco and Glades are all TOP, do you think there is enough rental demand to fill all these units. I think landlords will be in a price war to secure tenants.

Also, I'm told, I think reliably, that the so called commercial development between Optima and Urban Vista has been changed from commercial to a mixed development. Meaning even more residential units.

Once everything is up there will be literally thousands of residential units within a short distance from the MRT.

On another note, boarding the MRT at Tanah Merah, heading West, on a morning between 8am and 9am is a nightmare - it's so crowded you often have to wait for 2 or 3 trains to go past before you can squeeze on. Some people first board the train heading East and take it all the way to Pasir Ris, when everyone alights they stay on the train and get a seat and wait for it to come back in the other direction. What the hell is it going to be like at Tanah Merah MRT station when all these new developments are complete - you will not be able to even get on the platform, you'll be queuing on the concourse :jaw-dropping:

Village Idiot
09-09-13, 21:01
Just came back from showflat, quiet for a new launch. Understand from agent 80 plus units sold out of 400 plus units released. The units sold mainly 2br and 3br compact. Extra 2% discount given for this soft launch period till coming fri or sat (cannot remember) when it is launched officially.

For those experience property gurus, if sales remain flat what is likely to happen?

1. The developer will delay construction?
2. The developer will discount more and more until buyers start to bite?

If the developer's profit margin is eroded significantly does it mean they are likely to cut corners on the build (damage limitation) and produce a really lousy end product?

Anybody have any idea?

09-09-13, 21:23

This is what i am paying for a 3 bedroom at waterbank. The Glades lift must be made of gold

JuzMe
09-09-13, 22:18
This is what i am paying for a 3 bedroom at waterbank. The Glades lift must be made of gold
+1. hahaha, what a joke all these condo so far away asking for $$$$$ prices & maintenance.

yesnomaybe
09-09-13, 23:20

When I first rented a Casa Merah 2-bed (2 1/2 years ago) demand was higher than supplies. My landlord was smug about it.

6 months ago he asked for a rental increase and I refused. He marketed the property for 2 months but had no takers and agreed to freeze the rental. The shoe was on the foot.

Fast forward when Urban Vista, Eco and Glades are all TOP, do you think there is enough rental demand to fill all these units. I think landlords will be in a price war to secure tenants.

Also, I'm told, I think reliably, that the so called commercial development between Optima and Urban Vista has been changed from commercial to a mixed development. Meaning even more residential units.

Once everything is up there will be literally thousands of residential units within a short distance from the MRT.

On another note, boarding the MRT at Tanah Merah, heading West, on a morning between 8am and 9am is a nightmare - it's so crowded you often have to wait for 2 or 3 trains to go past before you can squeeze on. Some people first board the train heading East and take it all the way to Pasir Ris, when everyone alights they stay on the train and get a seat and wait for it to come back in the other direction. What the hell is it going to be like at Tanah Merah MRT station when all these new developments are complete - you will not be able to even get on the platform, you'll be queuing on the concourse :jaw-dropping:

Mr VI, why are you residing in Tanah Merah then if you work in the city (I'm assuming) ? You should be looking to buy in city fringe area instead

yesnomaybe
09-09-13, 23:27
Or go all the way to Pasir Ris... Vue 8 Residence
$900-1200 psf. High floor units with sea view
Call me at 91087536 if you're interested.

RCT
10-09-13, 06:59

Why not rent at Pasir Ris better? And also when building airport, can the construction workers rent a condo? Because I believe the manager and engineer in such project will not be a big number anyway.

yesnomaybe
10-09-13, 08:04
Well there is also the Changi Business park and of course the flight crew people.
From anecdotal evidence, the 1 and 2 bedroom units at Optima were easily rented out. I think you can't go very wrong with a 1 or 2 bedder next to a mrt station.

Village Idiot
10-09-13, 08:32
Mr VI, why are you residing in Tanah Merah then if you work in the city (I'm assuming) ? You should be looking to buy in city fringe area instead

Good question. I used to work at Changi Business Park. I changed jobs and now work at Suntec, but I'd already renewed my lease at Casa Merah before I changed jobs.

Village Idiot
10-09-13, 08:41
Well there is also the Changi Business park and of course the flight crew people.
From anecdotal evidence, the 1 and 2 bedroom units at Optima were easily rented out. I think you can't go very wrong with a 1 or 2 bedder next to a mrt station.

You know better than I do. But I was thinking, there isn't an endless supply of tenants, but there seems to be a total over supply of units around Tanah merah mrt - 100s if not 1000s of new units being built. Does the government plan the supply in an area versus potential demand? Or couldn't they care less, not their problem ;)

10-09-13, 10:05

OCR cheaper than city mah. :)

10-09-13, 10:21
Rental don't work this way. It is not area based but rather, spread across the island. Singapore is too small. Let's take a look at studio only. If I work in Paya Lebar, and there is no condo there, I will find Lavendar or Tanah Merah. But Lavendar 3.8k, Optima 3.2k, I will take Optima. But some have more housing allowance so they can afford Lavendar. Those who can only pay 2.5k, they will go for Pasir Ris studio.

Let's say there are 1,000 new units at tanah merah. Those who are staying at Pasir Ris will come over to tanah merah since rental there will probably drop to 2.5k. But no one will be interested in Pasir Ris anymore and Pasir Ris have to lower their rental to 2k because no MRT there. And since TM is 2.5k rental, Lavendar will face competition as well. They cannot hold on to 3.8k anymore since TM 2.5k. They will probably reduce their price to 3k. This will have ripple effect to D1, D2 as well.

This is the same for any district. Like D2 many condos coming up, rental will probably be around 3.5k. People will shift from D7/D8 to D2 since same rental. What happen to D7/D8? Rental will drop and will ripple across the island.

You know better than I do. But I was thinking, there isn't an endless supply of tenants, but there seems to be a total over supply of units around Tanah merah mrt - 100s if not 1000s of new units being built. Does the government plan the supply in an area versus potential demand? Or couldn't they care less, not their problem ;)

10-09-13, 10:23
When that happens, what do you think for people living in Bedok or Kembangan? Isn't it worse for them?

yesnomaybe
10-09-13, 12:16

For foreigners working at Changi business park or the airport, the logical area to rent would be Tanah Merah.
I personally know a lot of SIA flight crew reside in Pasir Ris

10-09-13, 14:15
Fast forward when Urban Vista, Eco and Glades are all TOP, do you think there is enough rental demand to fill all these units. I think landlords will be in a price war to secure tenants.:

Singapore has high in-flows of FTs, and so I think demand is not really an issue when these units TOP.

To get out of price war, therefore it is important to select a REASONABLE unit that will easily secure a tenant over others first. A lot of investors make the mistake of buying the cheapest units (e.g. low floor, west facing, no view, bad feng shui etc) - they are the ones who probably will have to rent out their units last if there are many units for tenants to choose from the same project.

Hence if there are many similar units, one should pay attention to the unique selling points of an individual unit before signing the OTP. Sometimes, paying like $30,000 more for higher floors or unobstructed views is actually worth it vs paying for cheapest launch price and you get weird tenants who want it cheap and turn your unit into a cheapo place!

10-09-13, 14:23
It is not a linear relationship as this is a complex problem and multifactorial in nature. It can be at macro and micro level. Imagine when hdb dwellers start to rent out their hdb flats and move to their condos as flats give better yield coupled with oversupply of condos in two years time. :eek:
Rental don't work this way. It is not area based but rather, spread across the island. Singapore is too small. Let's take a look at studio only. If I work in Paya Lebar, and there is no condo there, I will find Lavendar or Tanah Merah. But Lavendar 3.8k, Optima 3.2k, I will take Optima. But some have more housing allowance so they can afford Lavendar. Those who can only pay 2.5k, they will go for Pasir Ris studio.

Let's say there are 1,000 new units at tanah merah. Those who are staying at Pasir Ris will come over to tanah merah since rental there will probably drop to 2.5k. But no one will be interested in Pasir Ris anymore and Pasir Ris have to lower their rental to 2k because no MRT there. And since TM is 2.5k rental, Lavendar will face competition as well. They cannot hold on to 3.8k anymore since TM 2.5k. They will probably reduce their price to 3k. This will have ripple effect to D1, D2 as well.

This is the same for any district. Like D2 many condos coming up, rental will probably be around 3.5k. People will shift from D7/D8 to D2 since same rental. What happen to D7/D8? Rental will drop and will ripple across the island.

Village Idiot
10-09-13, 19:03
When that happens, what do you think for people living in Bedok or Kembangan? Isn't it worse for them?

Much worse!!

Kembangan there is rarely many people trying to board.

Bedok you are totally screwed. The platform is packed and seriously no one can even squeeze on board. I've seen people pushing and shoving each other and screaming at each other - I can't speak Chinese but I'm pretty sure they were not saying nice things to each other.

I have no idea how they eventually force their way on. Maybe leave house 8am arrive work 11am - 3 hours stood on the platform.

And as for the people in the red uniforms with the glow sticks who are meant to try to keep order on the platforms, all I can say is they are useless!!!

Village Idiot
10-09-13, 19:13

This makes sense. It's well described.

So my next question. For a pure investor, sharply falling rentals versus all time ridiculous condo selling prices makes SG property a bad proposition. Right or not?

Anyone think a 452 sqft studio at Tanah Merah is worth the 1,700+ psf? As an investment proposition?

10-09-13, 22:32

So my next question. For a pure investor, sharply falling rentals versus all time ridiculous condo selling prices makes SG property a bad proposition. Right or not?

Anyone think a 452 sqft studio at Tanah Merah is worth the 1,700+ psf? As an investment proposition?

yes it is worth it if u looking at a NEGATIVE investment

10-09-13, 23:42
I agree. Our public transport is really bad. It is very sickening.

Much worse!!

Bedok you are totally screwed. The platform is packed and seriously no one can even squeeze on board. I've seen people pushing and shoving each other and screaming at each other - I can't speak Chinese but I'm pretty sure they were not saying nice things to each other.

I have no idea how they eventually force their way on. Maybe leave house 8am arrive work 11am - 3 hours stood on the platform.

And as for the people in the red uniforms with the glow sticks who are meant to try to keep order on the platforms, all I can say is they are useless!!!

10-09-13, 23:47
What do you think? I mean, there is no right or wrong. There is always a cycle. Be it 4 years, 6 years or 8 years. Sometimes, shorter, sometimes longer. Some are luckier. Buy low, rent out 5 years, sell then prices drop. Some are unlucky. Buy high, rental drop then sell low.

But at its peak, there will always be people buying at ridiculous pricing and still think it is a good buy. 2 years later, they repent. Some weaker owners have to sell at a massive loss. So history will always repeat itself. 1.8k psf for Jurong or Tanah Merah, no thanks.

1997 - Drop
1999 - Recover
2001 - Drop
2003 - Drop
2006 - Recover
2008 - Drop
2009 - Recover

201? - Drop

yesnomaybe
11-09-13, 07:40
Yes, there are cycles....but there is also the ongoing govt program to boost the population in SG to the 6.9 million figure meaning about 100,000 immigrants annually

henryhk
11-09-13, 07:43
2008 didn't really drop, is a short pull back....who waiting for big drop now will disappoint......as the holding power now is different....any big drop in 5 years time....alot sitting on the fence waiting

kEN9170
11-09-13, 08:15
Much worse!!

For Bedok still not too bad. There will be alternate empty carriage arrived from the depot.

11-09-13, 10:08
When crisis come, who want to come? This 6.9M is crap. It is just an excuse for people to sell you something. Don't be fooled.

Since 1990s, Singapore has been bringing in foreigners. In fact, from 2013 till 2030, if we take the 6.9M target, we are actually slowing down.

Anyway, if immigrants are so "powerful" that they can make property "invincible", then property will not drop > 30% in end 2008/ early 2009.

Yes, there are cycles....but there is also the ongoing govt program to boost the population in SG to the 6.9 million figure meaning about 100,000 immigrants annually

mermaid
11-09-13, 13:14
When crisis come, who want to come? This 6.9M is crap. It is just an excuse for people to sell you something. Don't be fooled.

I like wat u said in bold.
so it is up to individuals as to whether they buy a story at the end of the day.
Im very amused to see J gateway owners given the assurance tat it will yield one of the highest rental in sg when it TOP wor!

yesnomaybe
11-09-13, 13:52

Since 1990s, Singapore has been bringing in foreigners. In fact, from 2013 till 2030, if we take the 6.9M target, we are actually slowing down.

Anyway, if immigrants are so "powerful" that they can make property "invincible", then property will not drop > 30% in end 2008/ early 2009.

Of course there are many forces at work to influence the final outcome. If it is so simple like 2 years up 2 years down then kindergarten kids can be analysts too

13-09-13, 22:25
I agree. Our public transport is really bad. It is very sickening.

next friday i am taking the train to town to watch the F1 wish me luck:D:D:D

13-09-13, 22:28
Of course there are many forces at work to influence the final outcome. If it is so simple like 2 years up 2 years down then kindergarten kids can be analysts too

honestly some of our anal lists are worse than kinder kids:D:D:D

14-09-13, 08:09
I always say u guys must monitor dragon heads

our wire bro already posted KF report showing the dragon heads are soaring, I just spoke to my friend who owned property in BJ/SG ... he confirmed and double confirmed

how can dragon tail stay low for long :doh:

buy b4 it is too late !!!

Khng8
14-09-13, 08:21
Hi Phantom, are you suggesting The Glades is a good buy?

Or JUST BUY ANyYTHING??

14-09-13, 10:06
if for investment need to do homework

the new bishan condo looks more investment friendly

14-09-13, 11:01
I always say u guys must monitor dragon heads

our wire bro already posted KF report showing the dragon heads are soaring, I just spoke to my friend who owned property in BJ/SG ... he confirmed and double confirmed

how can dragon tail stay low for long :doh:

buy b4 it is too late !!!

Sg property prices in terms of psf and quantum is the 2nd highest among the list. Take note.

I am surprised HK property prices appreciated so much.

I would recommend Hold instead of Buy.

Village Idiot
14-09-13, 16:13
Sg property prices in terms of psf and quantum is the 2nd highest among the list. Take note.

Hold instead of buy means what?

Do something else with your money?

I'm a first time buyer. I have money in my pocket and I want to invest. But it was money that was hard to earn (I'm a working man) and I don't want to flush it down the toilet. I spoke to a few friends (wealth managers) and they all said buying SG property would be the most stupid investment decision I could possibly make. They said, if I must invest in property then look at a different market, not Singapore. They were saying London.

14-09-13, 16:36

Singapore 99LH and freehold, BJ/Shanghai 70LH ... pure psf comparison is meaningless ... in HK, carpark not included, built-in areas definition also different

For ppl still renting, just buy lah

Village Idiot
15-09-13, 11:19
Update from a reliable source:

6 units sold yesterday and 5 more reserved.

So far developer has not reduced prices, as far as I'm told. But maybe there is some room for haggling?

I was also told (but this was from a person who is involved in the project and is biased) that TDSR is what has killed this project as well as other condo launches - his point was this launch is no worse than any other and once the market finds a way to accept or work around TDSR then SG property will be back and will be as hot as ever before. Don't shoot the messenger, OK ;)

GSLJ
15-09-13, 14:32
I was also told (but this was from a person who is involved in the project and is biased) that TDSR is what has killed this project as well as other condo launches - his point was this launch is no worse than any other and once the market finds a way to accept or work around TDSR then SG property will be back and will be as hot as ever before. Don't shoot the messenger, OK ;)I concur, this TDSR rendered many potiential buyers to the sidelines.

This project is actually quite nice. You have mrt at doorstep, just few stops to reach expo, airport and short drive to Siglap,east coast park. Easy access to town as well with the PIE, TPE, ECP at your disposal. Units facing the landed areas wil have a lovely distance sea view, nice landscaping within as well.

I see stiff competition coming from the Bishan new launch Sky Vue, but that project will be surrounded by hdb blocks. So if you prefer the east, this one may be worth a look. :)

15-09-13, 14:35
Before you all starting buying in say London, NY, etc, first check what are the taxes involved, what are the rules, regulations, and loan amount and interest (if you are taking loan) etc. If it is so good, their citizens won't be buying in Singapore! :rolleyes:

Hold instead of buy means what?

Do something else with your money?

I'm a first time buyer. I have money in my pocket and I want to invest. But it was money that was hard to earn (I'm a working man) and I don't want to flush it down the toilet. I spoke to a few friends (wealth managers) and they all said buying SG property would be the most stupid investment decision I could possibly make. They said, if I must invest in property then look at a different market, not Singapore. They were saying London.

15-09-13, 14:58
People are buying continental cars now instead of houses.
I concur, this TDSR rendered many potiential buyers to the sidelines.

This project is actually quite nice. You have mrt at doorstep, just few stops to reach expo, airport and short drive to Siglap,east coast park. Easy access to town as well with the PIE, TPE, ECP at your disposal. Units facing the landed areas wil have a lovely distance sea view, nice landscaping within as well.

I see stiff competition coming from the Bishan new launch Sky Vue, but that project will be surrounded by hdb blocks. So if you prefer the east, this one may be worth a look. :)