View Full Version : Tender closing for residential site at Tampines Avenue 10 (Parcel B)

16-07-13, 20:28
LAND PARCEL AT TAMPINES AVENUE 10 (PARCEL B)
ALLOWABLE DEVELOPMENT : RESIDENTIAL
SITE AREA : 17,102.9 m²
MAXIMUM PERMISSIBLE GFA : 47,889 m²
DATE OF LAUNCH : 15 MAY 2013
DATE TENDER CLOSED : 16 JULY 2013
LEASE PERIOD : 99 YEARS
RANKING NAME OF TENDERER
TENDERED
SALE
PRICE ($)
TENDERED
SALE PRICE
IN
$PSM OF
GFA
1 MCC Land (Singapore) Pte Ltd $289,700,000.00 $6,049.41
2 UOL Venture Investments Pte. Ltd. and Kheng
Leong Company (Private) Limited $269,200,000.00 $5,621.33
3 Kingsford Development Pte Ltd $258,258,000.00 $5,392.85
4 EL Development Pte Ltd $230,100,000.00 $4,804.86
5 FCL Place Pte. Ltd. $225,880,000.00 $4,716.74
6 Keng Hoe Development Pte. Ltd. $203,800,000.00 $4,255.67
7 CEL EC Development Pte Ltd $201,000,000.00 $4,197.21
8 BBR Property Pte. Ltd. $192,113,300.00 $4,011.64
9 Fragrance Homes Pte Ltd $184,550,000.00 $3,853.70
10 Allgreen Properties Limited $183,060,000.00 $3,822.59

princess_morbucks
16-07-13, 20:28
http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/money/story/tampines-ave-10-site-draws-2897-million-top-bid-10-way-tussle-20130716

Published on Jul 16, 2013
8:11 PM

By Cheryl Ong

A residential plot at Tampines Avenue 10 has beaten market expectations by attracting a top bid of about $289.7 million in a 10-way tussle amongst developers.

Analysts said that they were "shocked" by the bullish bidding for the Tampines Avenue 10 (Parcel B) plot, despite new rules implemented by the Monetary Authority of Singapore last month to cap mortgage limits for borrowers already in debt.

The top bid when the tender closed on Tuesday came from Chinese developer MCC Land, with an offer of $562 per sq ft (psf) per plot ratio (ppr).

This was 7.6 per cent above the next highest bid submitted by a tie-up between UOL Venture Investments and Kheng Leong Company, at $522 psf ppr.

16-07-13, 20:30
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/4238/88d4.jpg

princess_morbucks
16-07-13, 20:38
Indeed very shocking at $562 per sq ft (psf) per plot ratio (ppr), and 10 bidders!
Qbay was at $418 psf ppr in May 2012.
So it just gets higher and higher!

16-07-13, 20:41
Indeed very shocking at $562 per sq ft (psf) per plot ratio (ppr), and 10 bidders!

When Jurong sells for $1,700, anything goes !

Developer will ask themselves, if they sell this site for $1,500, it is consider dirt cheap!

Jurong for $1,700 or QBay II for $1,500 (no MRT, no this no that) - which would u choose ?

16-07-13, 20:43
No screams ?

16-07-13, 20:53
which other project is developed by mcc land ?
nvr heard of them

nickq
16-07-13, 21:07
The site area is smaller than q bay and yet they bid at a higher price. What's so good about this site?

16-07-13, 21:08

WOW this is crazy, higher price than even D5 Jalan Lempeng Clementi site!!!
Just like the forumers say, if FAR EAST Tampines can bid so high, Jurong East should reach $2000PSF soon! River Valley $2500psf, Orchard $5000psf!!!!

Huat ah!!!!

aunhyunty
16-07-13, 21:10

Developer will ask themselves, if they sell this site for $1,500, it is consider dirt cheap!

Jurong for $1,700 or QBay II for $1,500 (no MRT, no this no that) - which would u choose ?

I don't get it. Near mrt better right?

Pro888
16-07-13, 21:14
nvr heard of them

Coming in fast & furious. Aggressive. Mainly in the north part.

princess_morbucks
16-07-13, 21:24
nvr heard of them

The Canopy EC
One Canberra EC
Canberra Residences

LOL...seems like they like the letter "C" with the word "can".
So mabbe this new project will start with C as well?

Perhaps this new project may be called "The Candescence" or "The Candelilla" ?

16-07-13, 21:39
562psf, about 150psf more than QBay

selling price will be around 1100psf, same as Qbay

Khng8
16-07-13, 21:43
What's Q'bay's land price?
Anybody has ready access to this data?

princess_morbucks
16-07-13, 21:47
What's Q'bay's land price?
Anybody has ready access to this data?

$418 psf ppr.

Pro888
16-07-13, 21:47

MCC land link to Mr. Hu Jintao.

They can better manage cost, collaboration with China Jingye as the main-con.

Khng8
16-07-13, 21:56
Thanks Princess!
Wow. Really surprise that this plot sell higher than Q'bay when it's located further away from the reservoir & no view to speak of?
Cooling measure also not working lei ...

CondoInterested
16-07-13, 22:08
nvr heard of them The Canopy EC
One Canberra EC
Canberra Residences

Perhaps this new project may be called "The Candescence" or "The Candelilla" ?The Nautical does not start with 'C' :D

Tan80000
16-07-13, 23:30

At least 1250psf..we shall see...:banghead:

bakasa2002
16-07-13, 23:36

Omg, really no <$1000psf le...

Propertykaiser
16-07-13, 23:39
https://www.propertykaiser.com.sg/article/govt-land-sales-a-whopping-34-5-increase-in-psf-over-a-perio#.UeVpDY2usxh :D

16-07-13, 23:41
jin scary.. my guess will be av 1150 psf

16-07-13, 23:47
MCC land is flushed with cash now. Of course this China developer is bullish. No fear. MAS says Singapore is stable.

16-07-13, 23:51
They don't know that plot of land across the road is meant for industry. Similar to the ones further down the road. These industrial factories can be as tall as 13 storeys HDB flat height.

http://news.asiaone.com/A1MEDIA/news/07Jul13/images/20130716.204212_sph_st_tampines10.jpg

bakasa2002
16-07-13, 23:54
They don't know that plot of land across the road is meant for industry. Similar to the ones further down the road. These industrial factories can be as tall as 13 storeys HDB flat height.

http://news.asiaone.com/A1MEDIA/news/07Jul13/images/20130716.204212_sph_st_tampines10.jpg

Developers dunno?

16-07-13, 23:57
There... industrial land

http://www.ura.gov.sg/MP2008/regional_highlights/east/page3_2.jpg

nickq
16-07-13, 23:57

Is this reflected in the Masterplan that the industrial area will be so tall?

17-07-13, 00:02
More land to be sold around the vicinity in future.
So no fear for those who do not like this plot.
A new road will be introduced behind Qbay and this parcel B.

http://www.newhousesingapore.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/qbay-potential-ura-map1.png

Place of worship next to parcel B.

17-07-13, 00:04
Is this reflected in the Masterplan that the industrial area will be so tall?

Plot ratio is 2.5 for the industrial land.
Plot ratio is 2.8 for residential land.

17-07-13, 00:12
Good news though. Parcel B will be able to see the quarry!
But it's west sun.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-dFAKL4e00C4/UJzfGPjFkXI/AAAAAAAAEfE/Tb53JeXoz2Q/s1600/Screen+shot+2012-11-09+at+PM+06.44.30.png

Pro888
17-07-13, 00:14
More land to be sold around the vicinity in future.
So no fear for those who do not like this plot.
A new road will be introduced behind Qbay and this parcel B.

http://www.newhousesingapore.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/qbay-potential-ura-map1.png

Place of worship next to parcel B.

Future development beside this plot is for BTO.

17-07-13, 00:20
I do think there might be potential for those planning to purchase this for home stay. Rental may be good too with nearby polytechnic and united world college but there will be completion.

If priced reasonable, say below 1200psf, it might just attract buyers to snap it up. This is the last plot to have quarry view.

TampInes ave 10 is traditionally a heavily utilised road with many heavy vehicles.

West facing units may have quarry view but could be too warm for comfort.

----

Ok I can't believe I said reasonably priced as 1200psf.
It wasn't too long ago that Waterview was priced below 900psf.

17-07-13, 00:26
Future development beside this plot is for BTO.

We won't know until the authorities announce. Please be patient.

Pro888
17-07-13, 00:30
We won't know until the authorities announce. Please be patient.

Dun be so kan chiong post without checking. I wldn't post something tat i dun know la. Go check Jan BTO. :doh:

17-07-13, 00:31
I hate iPhone spellcheck.

I do think there might be potential for those planning to purchase this for home stay. Rental may be good too with nearby polytechnic and united world college but there will be competition.

If priced reasonable, say below 1200psf, it might just attract buyers to snap it up. This is the last plot to have quarry view.

TampInes ave 10 is traditionally a heavily utilised road with many heavy vehicles.

West facing units may have quarry view but could be too warm for comfort.

----

Ok I can't believe I said reasonably priced as 1200psf.
It wasn't too long ago that Waterview was priced below 900psf.

17-07-13, 00:32
Dun be so kan chiong post without checking. I wldn't post something tat i dun know la. Go check Jan BTO. :doh:

Haha of course I am. That's just me. But thank you for telling me.

17-07-13, 00:37
Thanks to Pro888 for pointing out

BTO is behind parcel B.

http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2013-02-04/tampines_greenforest_sitelayout.jpg

This BTO has 424 units in four 15-storey blocks of 3- and 4-room flats.

Pro888
17-07-13, 00:42
Haha of course I am. That's just me. But thank you for telling me.

No prob.

When u see a plot that is zoned for worship, high chance HDB is close.

Pro888
17-07-13, 00:57
At least 1250psf..we shall see...:banghead:

I dun know how much you know abt mcc, but i tell u they can work around with 50-150psf margin. Further, their working cost is lower.

17-07-13, 06:54
"The tender results are shocking," said Ong Teck Hui, national director of research and consultancy at Jones Lang LaSalle (JLL).
Analysts zoned in on the size of the top bid, which was 34 per cent higher than the adjacent site where Q Bay Residences will be. That plot sold for about $418 psf ppr last May. Also, only three bids were put in.
It led consultants to predict earlier only three to six bidders and a top bid in the range of $400 psf ppr to $470 psf ppr. They also noted that the plot was not near an MRT station, and there are several other projects in the area.
Eugene Lim, key executive officer at ERA Realty, said the results yesterday showed that developers are "still hungry for land sites to build their land bank", even after the Monetary Authority of Singapore put in place the total debt servicing ratio (TDSR) framework for all property loans starting on June 29.
URA had extended the deadline for the tender for the Tampines Avenue 10 plot from July 2, to give developers more time to consider the new rules.
But it appeared to have little impact.
"The top bidders are obviously optimistic about market outlook and confident that pricing will hold or perhaps edge up a little," Mr Ong from JLL said. The confidence stems from the rebound of the housing market after each round of measures, he said.
Christine Li, head of research and consultancy at OrangeTee, said developers may also have been encouraged by the J Gateway condominium in Jurong selling out, as well as plans to develop Tampines North.
When contacted, an MCC Land spokesman said: "We are still confident about the mass market housing segment and intend to develop a condominium project with about 500 units on the site".
Analysts are expecting a breakeven price of $940 psf ppr to $1,050 psf ppr, with a selling price above $1,100 per square foot (psf). Average selling prices at Q Bay is around $1,022 psf, Religare Capital Markets data shows.
Nicholas Mak, head of research and consultancy at SLP International, said the tender yesterday shows land prices are still rising. This may not bode well for tenders of three executive condominium sites which will close on July 30. The government chose to close them on the same day to moderate prices.
But Mr Mak said that "initial experiment could fail when the tender results are unveiled", if the results yesterday is an indication of bullish sentiments from developers.
Higher land prices are trapping developers too.
With fewer home sales expected for the year and prices expected to fall, Tata Goeyardi, head of Asean real estate research at Religare Capital Markets, said Singapore developers remain in "a no-win situation where a drop in prices and volumes could hurt their margins while the failure of any such price corrections could likely drive more measures from the government".

wirehtc
17-07-13, 07:24
Amazing. > S$1100 psf condo at this location. J-Gateway effect. In any case labour and material costs are rising. All priced in.

Tan80000
17-07-13, 07:25
I dun know how much you know abt mcc, but i tell u they can work around with 50-150psf margin. Further, their working cost is lower.

I estimate their BEP is about $1100, thus i guess the selling price is at least $1250psf...

Just guessing lar as I m not n expert...We all will know in a year time..

Any way congrate to all Q Bay owner...on paper already sit on good profits...:cheers4:

wirehtc
17-07-13, 07:42
I estimate their BEP is about $1100, thus i guess the selling price is at least $1250psf...

Any way congrate to all Q Bay owner...on paper already sit on good profits...:cheers4:

Depends on materials used also. Chinese companies have lower costs.

ichigo55
17-07-13, 07:57
this is totally out of world ... has paradigm change so much that local market are no longer discerning on the area and location of property?
So as long its new and land was purchased at a high price, buyers will be enticed that its a good buy.

Pro888
17-07-13, 09:30

To enlighten u further, they can work with $400psf construction, labour, marketing cost plus profit margin etc etc all in.

economist
17-07-13, 09:49
I can't help but notice that the neighbourhood park near the BTO looks very nice, seems like better living environment for the BTO residences than nearby condos.

17-07-13, 10:22
I think we can see how the Chinese created the bubble in China, because now they are doing the same thing to Singapore. :scared-2:

17-07-13, 10:25
power of suburbia:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VCqAjYO3NM

princess_morbucks
17-07-13, 11:00
this is totally out of world ... has paradigm change so much that local market are no longer discerning on the area and location of property?
So as long its new and land was purchased at a high price, buyers will be enticed that its a good buy.

If everyone is willing to pay the amount, then a new standard is set.
Willing buyer willing seller.
In Singapore, buy property and you will never go wrong!

Tan80000
17-07-13, 11:33
To enlighten u further, they can work with $400psf construction, labour, marketing cost plus profit margin etc etc all in.

Lucky the expert share my view of selling price at around 1200...:tongue3:

A 99-year leasehold residential site (pictured) at Tampines Avenue 10 has received overwhelming response attracting a total of 10 bids when its tender closed yesterday, according to the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA).

MCC Land (Singapore) submitted the top bid of S$289.7 million for the 184,000 sq ft site, launched for sale on 15 May. This works out to S$562 psf ppr.

According to Desmond Sim, Associate Director at CBRE Research, the highest bid “exceeded expectations, given that this is the first tender since the TDSR measures were announced”.

“The relative closeness of the first three bids reflects once again the insatiable appetite that developers have for land. In addition, the total quantum for the site appears to be more palatable to a wider range of developers.”

The top bid is 7.6 percent higher than the second highest bid of S$269.2 million jointly submitted by UOL Venture Investments and Kheng Leong Company.

CBRE expects the new project to launch at around S$1,200 psf, with the break-even cost at between S$1,000 and S$1,050 psf.

17-07-13, 12:46

The paradigm has changed since the time we opened the floodgates of immigrants richer than most locals.

Hence, from a property perspective, prices increased in tandem with the overall average income increase as a result of immigrants.

In the past, a family with income of $8K is at top 25% of the country and could well afford a QBay, but now with 1 million foreigners ushered in at the top 10%, this family is now pushed down to top 35% and can only afford a PC in Loyang! And soon, the same family will not be able to afford a PC anymore. It is not that it become too expensive, it is that they got pushed down the ladder.

Hope Office Boy's simple explanation above helps.

mermaid
17-07-13, 13:18
tis only goes to show tat both developers' and home owners' thirst for ppty is no lesser den our govt hunger for more babies. they hv reached a stage of wat the Chinese hv technically termed "饥不择食“。

gd news for existing owners, cos all ppty will appreciate 的不清不白。 but problem for ppl who wish to buy more ppty. with tdsr+cm+absd+higher new launch, how to buy? :mad:

wirehtc
17-07-13, 13:18
The paradigm has changed since the time we opened the floodgates of immigrants richer than most locals.

Hence, from a property perspective, prices increased in tandem with the overall average income increase as a result of immigrants.

In the past, a family with income of $8K is at top 25% of the country and could well afford a QBay, but now with 1 million foreigners ushered in at the top 10%, this family is now pushed down to top 35% and can only afford a PC in Loyang! And soon, the same family will not be able to afford a PC anymore. It is not that it become too expensive, it is that they got pushed down the ladder.

It is hard truth. The strongest survive. Plus inflation effect, money is getting smaller.

VS
17-07-13, 14:03
The Canopy EC
One Canberra EC
Canberra Residences

Perhaps this new project may be called "The Candescence" or "The Candelilla" ?

"Canbuay" -- "can buy"

VS
17-07-13, 14:06
Omg, really no <$1000psf le...

I thought it has been sometime that new launch PC are >$1000 psf? Got to look for ECD, for <1000 psf

17-07-13, 16:20
It is not always. There are pitfalls too.
If everyone is willing to pay the amount, then a new standard is set.
Willing buyer willing seller.
In Singapore, buy property and you will never go wrong!

17-07-13, 16:34

can be summarized into 3 words

'dog eat dog'
'狗咬狗'

17-07-13, 17:41
how come FEO didn't bid???

I thought they will bid and collect the whole parcel as bay collection? :rolleyes:

LAND PARCEL AT TAMPINES AVENUE 10 (PARCEL B)
ALLOWABLE DEVELOPMENT : RESIDENTIAL
SITE AREA : 17,102.9 m²
MAXIMUM PERMISSIBLE GFA : 47,889 m²
DATE OF LAUNCH : 15 MAY 2013
DATE TENDER CLOSED : 16 JULY 2013
LEASE PERIOD : 99 YEARS
RANKING NAME OF TENDERER
TENDERED
SALE
PRICE ($)
TENDERED
SALE PRICE
IN
$PSM OF
GFA
1 MCC Land (Singapore) Pte Ltd $289,700,000.00 $6,049.41
2 UOL Venture Investments Pte. Ltd. and Kheng
Leong Company (Private) Limited $269,200,000.00 $5,621.33
3 Kingsford Development Pte Ltd $258,258,000.00 $5,392.85
4 EL Development Pte Ltd $230,100,000.00 $4,804.86
5 FCL Place Pte. Ltd. $225,880,000.00 $4,716.74
6 Keng Hoe Development Pte. Ltd. $203,800,000.00 $4,255.67
7 CEL EC Development Pte Ltd $201,000,000.00 $4,197.21
8 BBR Property Pte. Ltd. $192,113,300.00 $4,011.64
9 Fragrance Homes Pte Ltd $184,550,000.00 $3,853.70
10 Allgreen Properties Limited $183,060,000.00 $3,822.59

nickq
17-07-13, 19:48

I thought they will bid and collect the whole parcel as bay collection? :rolleyes:

FCL has 75% effective interest in Q Bay, so honestly speaking Q Bay is not really a FEO project.

17-07-13, 20:50
Wow! Not too much info bro
Shhh

Pro888
17-07-13, 21:04

FEO preparing to bid for Yishun hub

luzman
17-07-13, 23:32

I choose neither....its all over priced..

17-07-13, 23:36
contrary to popular belief, nothing will be below 1200psf when SIBOR starts to move up

18-07-13, 08:07
contrary to popular belief, nothing will be below 1200psf when SIBOR starts to move up

Mind share with Office Boy the rational behind this statement ?

18-07-13, 08:17
lemme fathom a guess.

int rate move up.
tdsr reduced further effctively.
unit sizes decline further.
super mm (and im talking 3br 4br mm) galore means high high psf.

kamparboy
18-07-13, 08:24
The wafer-fab (UMC, Global-foundries) and Flat Panel Display Maker (AUO) along tampines ave 10 employ huge amount of foreign engineers from PRC. Turnover is quite healthy, imagine average household of engineer earn $9k (Base on 2010/11 survey of Punggol where most of the foreign engineers that have taken up PR) are living now), Tampines Ave 10 will provide a closer option for them with 3-5 bus-stop to work place (cycling also can).

If you observed closely most of the development in Punggol, Seng kang is bid by PRC related developer.

Thus that why i suspect that they will be healthy take up rate for the development along tampines avenue 10, limited supply anyway, Parcel C and D is the only one up for grab.

Pray that the proposed industrial land along tampines ave 10 be rezone to commercial zone or better still mixed development in the upcoming 2013 Master Plan. Then the price is not $1k psf anymore lo....huat ah

18-07-13, 08:25
lemme fathom a guess.

int rate move up.
tdsr reduced further effctively.
unit sizes decline further.
super mm (and im talking 3br 4br mm) galore means high high psf.

Your conclusion always point to MM will see price hikes ?

I doubt phantom is so sneaky to play with words, when he means > $1,200 psf, I think he meant in general.

18-07-13, 08:29
i actually dont like to see 2br 3br 4br mm happening.

it is sort of 'inhumane' and also dilutes the exclusivity of besides giving bad rep to 1br mm. lol

What used to be a value proposition (1br) has been made a scapegoat and excuse for high pricing by developers.

18-07-13, 08:41
Sibor move up.... GLS is still not coming down.

18-07-13, 09:06
but isn't the latest 2 bedder 580sqft a mm?

mermaid
18-07-13, 09:36
i actually dont like to see 2br 3br 4br mm happening.

it is sort of 'inhumane' and also dilutes the exclusivity of besides giving bad rep to 1br mm. lol

What used to be a value proposition (1br) has been made a scapegoat and excuse for high pricing by developers.

tis is the norm. juz look at HK/Jpn n u will conclude tat our mm is nothing as compared to their dwarf's unit ....

18-07-13, 11:25
tis is the norm. juz look at HK/Jpn n u will conclude tat our mm is nothing as compared to their dwarf's unit ....

We should have legislation to stop these dwarf's unit happening in Singapore. Make all units more than 500 sqft.

Those already sold should be subjected to higher property taxes (say 2 times the current).

mermaid
18-07-13, 11:29
We should have legislation to stop these dwarf's unit happening in Singapore. Make all units more than 500 sqft.

mai liddat leh ... kbw has no stand to restrict developers fm building 1 bedder < 500sqft when he himself is building 1 bedder < 400sqft! :scared-2:

hahahaha :D

18-07-13, 13:05
i heart mermaid lol

walkthetiger
18-07-13, 15:01
The wafer-fab (UMC, Global-foundries) and Flat Panel Display Maker (AUO)... employ huge amount of foreign engineers from PRC. ....imagine average household of engineer earn $9k .....

Hope you are right.

18-07-13, 17:27
The wafer-fab (UMC, Global-foundries) and Flat Panel Display Maker (AUO) along tampines ave 10 employ huge amount of foreign engineers from PRC. Turnover is quite healthy, imagine average household of engineer earn $9k (Base on 2010/11 survey of Punggol where most of the foreign engineers that have taken up PR) are living now), Tampines Ave 10 will provide a closer option for them with 3-5 bus-stop to work place (cycling also can).

If you observed closely most of the development in Punggol, Seng kang is bid by PRC related developer.

Thus that why i suspect that they will be healthy take up rate for the development along tampines avenue 10, limited supply anyway, Parcel C and D is the only one up for grab.

Pray that the proposed industrial land along tampines ave 10 be rezone to commercial zone or better still mixed development in the upcoming 2013 Master Plan. Then the price is not $1k psf anymore lo....huat ah

Wow...that's impressive.

bakasa2002
18-07-13, 22:46

Tot most wld expect px to correct when int rate r up?

mermaid
19-07-13, 09:17
Tot most wld expect px to correct when int rate r up?

wat if when int rates is up but GLS $ is oso up? liddat prices of new launches will still drop meh?

mayb to the developers, to earn lesser is always better den starving?

19-07-13, 09:33
wat if when int rates is up but GLS $ is oso up? liddat prices of new launches will still drop meh?

mayb to the developers, to earn lesser is always better den starving?

If we take parallel to car industry , when sales drop they super jack up margins to remain profitable and stay afloat. COE only went up $40k, a 3 series went up almost $100k

When jurong is priced at record lvls on "efficient layout " and sold out in a day, I m sure any bright eye developer will go in the same direction