View Full Version : Exactly how important is location to you?

mermaid
06-08-13, 10:16
When buying a pte property?

Justify yr stand.

06-08-13, 10:25
for own stay i would buy CCR or RCR, for investment i would consider anywhere that makes money. price is an important consideration in property investment. right location wrong price is a no go (like j gateway). not so ideal location with right price with further upside in price is a buy call for me. developers find singaporeans such easy prey all the time because singaporeans look at location n forget totally about the price, which is why developers can throw in all that wasted space into the unit and there will still be goons who take it. Always remember that having people buying with you in a project doesnt make you any smarter, fools can move in droves.

06-08-13, 10:25
Again. For own stay or investment? 3M formula never fails.

mermaid
06-08-13, 10:30
Again. For own stay or investment? 3M formula never fails.

3M formula - u mean 3M N95 mask?! :eek: :tongue3:

u shd justify yr choice like wat regulators did iso of asking me for the purpose mah.

princess_morbucks
06-08-13, 10:31
For own stay, I will go for OCR and not too convenient now, but potential to be convenient, as I drive.
If it remains inconvenient, so be it .
But for investment, I am looking at good returns, so the 3M's apply.

06-08-13, 10:38

u shd justify yr choice like wat regulators did iso of asking me for the purpose mah.
This kinda proud ass attitude will get you nowhere.

06-08-13, 10:38
No brainer. Of course location is important for investment. But it comes with a price. Once no rental you can die standing.For low budget, think not so good location but reasonable price with good view and serene environment is still a good investment. I realized some ang mos like quiet, private area even though location is far from central. These are probably middle level management who are more than those high level expatriate and don't mind a bit of traveling.

mermaid
06-08-13, 10:42
This kinda proud ass attitude will get you nowhere.

not proud ass la :(

cos diff ppl might hv different choices under diff conditions mah ... and I shd not restrict ppl to discuss only a specific aspect, no?

mermaid
06-08-13, 10:46
for me:

for investment:
If RCR - no more than 5 mins walk to mrt
If CCR in D9/D10 - $ is my main consideration
I will not consider OCR for investment cos too risky liao.

for ownstay:
doesn’t matter where, as long as it is cheap & near mrt.

princess_morbucks
06-08-13, 10:51

Dear sis mermaid,
mcm has justified his answer by saying he will go with the 3M's.

Looks like you are still living in a hazy world of N95 masks.
Btw, your signature is so distracting.
I get giddy when looking at it, just fyi.

06-08-13, 10:51
not proud ass la :(

cos diff ppl might hv different choices under diff conditions mah ... and I shd not restrict ppl to discuss only a specific aspect, no?
Ok... I retract ...understooded. Btw will this poll result help you in making your next property punt

smellyfish
06-08-13, 10:54
price point is more impt than location

mermaid
06-08-13, 10:55
Dear sis mermaid,
mcm has justified his answer by saying he will go with the 3M's.

Looks like you are still living in a hazy world of N95 masks.
Btw, your signature is so distracting.
I get giddy when looking at it, just fyi.

eh, Im not zarbo leh! :mad: :(

he said me proud ass mah :beats-me-man:

P/S: ok, I hide my signature when princess is around :scared-2:

mermaid
06-08-13, 11:00
Ok... I retract ...understooded. Btw will this poll result help you in making your next property punt

definitely. when a person buys a ppty, he will like to ensure tat there is a future market for it, be it for sale or rent.

understanding potential buyers' buying attitude will facilitate us in making a better decision.

princess_morbucks
06-08-13, 11:13
eh, Im not zarbo leh! :mad: :(

he said me proud ass mah :beats-me-man:

P/S: ok, I hide my signature when princess is around :scared-2:

Sorry, bro!
I also like Chen Kun.
Are you as handsome as he is?
No need to hide your signature because of me lah.....it is just my feedback nia.

mermaid
06-08-13, 11:18
Sorry, bro!
I also like Chen Kun.
Are you as handsome as he is?
No need to hide your signature because of me lah.....it is just my feedback nia.

Im not good looking n tat is a fact.
but it is fine cos Im not an artiste :D
did I say I like chen kun? :tongue3:

06-08-13, 11:47
For investment, its always important to buy into area that has a good growth story. Places like Punggol, new Marina, JLD are example of places that has good potential.

For own stay, the most important is convenience and good fengshui.
Convenience - Near school, near work, near amenities, good transport connectivity

Fengshui - Road leading in and out of your home must not have traffic congestion, NS facing, must not be noisy at night.

star
06-08-13, 12:16
I would say choose the cheapest u can find. Cheapest when compared with surrounding condos. Look at minton and waterview, both far from mrt but price has increased alot. Cheapest has potential in price increase too. Look at who is the developer too. If FEO or Capitaland price is marked up very high. I prefer Sim Lian. Just my own view.

lionhill
06-08-13, 12:35
Another factor missed is facilities of the PC and the surronding environment.
This factor may not be fuly considered for a project under construction, but it matters a lot in its value for an existing project.

mermaid
06-08-13, 13:10
Another factor missed is facilities of the PC and the surronding environment.
This factor may not be fuly considered for a project under construction, but it matters a lot in its value for an existing project.

a proj with gd facilities would oso mean the maintenance fee will be high.

EBD
06-08-13, 13:29
I would say choose the cheapest u can find. Cheapest when compared with surrounding condos. Look at minton and waterview, both far from mrt but price has increased alot. Cheapest has potential in price increase too. Look at who is the developer too. If FEO or Capitaland price is marked up very high. I prefer Sim Lian. Just my own view.

+like
Let neighbours drag you up , rather you drag neighbours up.

princess_morbucks
06-08-13, 13:30
a proj with gd facilities would oso mean the maintenance fee will be high.

Not true, if it is a big development.

princess_morbucks
06-08-13, 13:33

I partially agree with you esp if it is for own stay.
However, must see why is it cheaper than the surrounding.
Must make sure that it is not facing expressway or big road, otherwise the noise and air pollution can kill.

mermaid
06-08-13, 13:44

+like
Let neighbours drag you up , rather you drag neighbours up.

but cheapest oso hv its reason de, eg McKenzie in D9 is srsly undervalued.

but I do get yr points; look for units which has been currently undervalued. liddat I tink it is oso gd to consider projects which hv many empty plots of land around reserved for residential, cos it means u will be drag up by yr neighbours :D

mermaid
06-08-13, 13:46
Not true, if it is a big development.

not exactly leh, some exp developers oso hv pricier maintenance fee for mass condo. eg Jewel@buangkok by CDL vs Riversound by qingjian.

elmo
06-08-13, 13:53
Only enuff $$$ for 1 property
If you only have $$$ for one property, then it is a matter of space vs. convenience. For me, space is important due to a big family and it only need to be near to schools and basic ammenities.

Enuff $$$ for multiple properties
It is a case of upside potential within one's budget constraints. I.e. after setting aside $$$ for your own stay. For me, I would maximize my investment budget. I.e., I will choose the least cost option for my own stay (within my acceptable standards of living). With the remaining budget, it is a case of then picking the best upside potential unit(s) within the investment budget constraint.

sabian
06-08-13, 15:17

but I do get yr points; look for units which has been currently undervalued. liddat I tink it is oso gd to consider projects which hv many empty plots of land around reserved for residential, cos it means u will be drag up by yr neighbours :D
Or dragged down if the macro environment is negative. Eg: the initial buyers of Hume Park 1 & II.

mermaid
06-08-13, 15:45
Or dragged down if the macro environment is negative. Eg: the initial buyers of Hume Park 1 & II.

so the safest bet is to buy a near mrt project in rcr wif plenty of future growth potential. Yr project, being one of the pioneers in tat area will huat each time a new project is launched or top-ed :cheers5: :cheers4:

clemdale24
06-08-13, 16:38
so the safest bet is to buy a near mrt project in rcr wif plenty of future growth potential. Yr project, being one of the pioneers in tat area will huat each time a new project is launched or top-ed :cheers5: :cheers4:

what do u think of eight riversuites in boon keng?

EBD
06-08-13, 17:05

true.

If there are structural problems stay the heck away. Not sure what the story with MacKenszie is. Maybe it's because it's just inside D9, feels a little ulu and practically in little india :beats-me-man:

Otherwise worst house on best street applies for potential upside vs best house on the worst stree

mermaid
06-08-13, 17:56
what do u think of eight riversuites in boon keng?

quite a gd choice. D12 n near to mrt n close to food centre. not sure abt pricing though.
y the qn on tis proj?

clemdale24
07-08-13, 11:32
quite a gd choice. D12 n near to mrt n close to food centre. not sure abt pricing though.
y the qn on tis proj?

i am/was looking seriously into this project. think it's not bad. just trying to get unbiased opinions on it.

mermaid
07-08-13, 11:41
i am/was looking seriously into this project. think it's not bad. just trying to get unbiased opinions on it.

isn't D13 a better choice in the sense tat they are relatively undeveloped now. in future when biddadari is fully developed, wouldn't one able to reap a larger margin?
juz my opinion :o