View Full Version : Rental market sentiment

07-08-13, 09:33
Follow bro richwang style... Start one up to gauge the leasing market sentiment for residential. Pls vote based on your personal experience as well as encounters with marketers on the ground. TIA

mermaid
07-08-13, 10:03
there is undeniable a more sluggish rental market in view of more supply but whether a person's rental rate/viablity is affected or not really depends on the location of his unit.

anyway, I believe tat the over supply is only temporal; 2016 onwards new citizens will flood sg until u cry tolong n even lousy units can be easily rent out.

07-08-13, 10:10
The increase is slowing down already. But still, rental is going up :D

Just a bit slower only. Last time, 1 year rental can go up 15% easily. Nowadays, you ask for $100 more, they accept, I also okay.

MM Lovers
07-08-13, 12:09
I agree, getting tenant is quite difficult now.

revhappy
07-08-13, 15:36
HDB rental seems to be going down. Just last month 3RM HDBs in tampines were 2.4-2.5k in most propertyguru ads. Now I see they have come down to 2.2k. I believe this is the condo oversupply effect. The Pasir Ris condo TOP is bringing down 2br condo rentals down in the whole east area. Even Melville Park in Simei last year 2br was like 3k to 3.5k. Now most units are under 3k. So naturally it affects the HDB rentals also. I am loving it though :cheers2:

jslee78
07-08-13, 16:04
Rental for 2 bedders in choiced condo. in ccr and rcr area between 4th qr 2012 and 2nd qr 2013 has moved up abit. This could be the odd case.

07-08-13, 17:40
Thanks all for your precious feedback.... keep em comin!

07-08-13, 19:32
I renewed 2 and had 1 new contracts this year. all went up from 2 years ago. 8.3%, 11% and 13% respectively. The new contract found tenant before the original tenancy expired. :cheers1:

Who says the rental market is weak?:confused:

But then these are small city or city fringe properties near MRT. Who says location is not important?

07-08-13, 19:37
I did mention that there are evergreen locations because demand is always there unless this industry shuts down. Which will never happen.

07-08-13, 20:09
This thread all handsome boys. I cannot lose also, just changed my avatar :(

07-08-13, 20:36
This thread all handsome boys. I cannot lose also, just changed my avatar :(

That's veri naise.

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130406213030/animalcrossing/images/e/e3/Lion-013-2048x2048.jpg

22-08-13, 07:49
Sbr NEWS
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY | Staff Reporter, Singapore
Published: 20 hours 2 min ago 144 views 0 0 Google +1 5

Leasing demand for homes surged 15.4% to 13,
522 in 2Q13

Here are possible reasons behind it. According to Savills, despite some curbs on the
issuance of employment passes, leasing demand
continued to increase, with the total number of
leases signed in the second quarter reaching
13,522, a growth of 15.4% QoQ or 7.0% YoY. Overall, leasing volumes in the first six months were
resilient when 25,243 cases were recorded, marking
a 5.4% increase as compared with the leasing
volumes seen in the same period last year. Here's more from Savills: Current demand for temporary homes was
probably driven not only by an increasing
number of overseas nationals who are here on
a short-term project basis of between six
months and a year, but also by the rising
number of newlywed couples waiting for their homes to be completed, as 27,936 marriages
were registered in Singapore last year, a 50-
year high since the 1960s.

22-08-13, 07:56
东方不赖之 东游记 (http://www.blogger.com/profile/00883268877557265272):
06年 租03 买15。07年 住15。08年 卖15 租14 买08x2 翻08 住08。 09年 卖08 住16 买12 买14 租15x3 买15。10年 卖12 买14 住16 卖14 买19 住14。11年 放租15 卖14 住02 买14 住19。12年 放租19 住16。13年 住14。14年 ?

Very complicated. How to "租15x3"? Rent 3 units?
Like that total profit how much huh?

Sbr NEWS
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY | Staff Reporter, Singapore
Published: 20 hours 2 min ago 144 views 0 0 Google +1 5

Leasing demand for homes surged 15.4% to 13,
522 in 2Q13

Here are possible reasons behind it. According to Savills, despite some curbs on the
issuance of employment passes, leasing demand
continued to increase, with the total number of
leases signed in the second quarter reaching
13,522, a growth of 15.4% QoQ or 7.0% YoY. Overall, leasing volumes in the first six months were
resilient when 25,243 cases were recorded, marking
a 5.4% increase as compared with the leasing
volumes seen in the same period last year. Here's more from Savills: Current demand for temporary homes was
probably driven not only by an increasing
number of overseas nationals who are here on
a short-term project basis of between six
months and a year, but also by the rising
number of newlywed couples waiting for their homes to be completed, as 27,936 marriages
were registered in Singapore last year, a 50-
year high since the 1960s.

22-08-13, 08:41
东方不赖之 东游记 (http://www.blogger.com/profile/00883268877557265272):
06年 租03 买15。07年 住15。08年 卖15 租14 买08x2 翻08 住08。 09年 卖08 住16 买12 买14 租15x3 买15。10年 卖12 买14 住16 卖14 买19 住14。11年 放租15 卖14 住02 买14 住19。12年 放租19 住16。13年 住14。14年 ?

Very complicated. How to "租15x3"? Rent 3 units?

mcmlxxvi's records

Rented a unit in district 3; purchased a unit in district 15

Lived in district 15

Sold that district 15 unit; rented a unit in district 14; purchased 2 district 8 units, of which he flipped one and lived in the other

Sold the remaining unit in district 8; lived in a unit in district 16; purchased a unit in district 12 and 14 each; rented 3 different units in district 15; purchased another unit in district 15

Sold the district 12 unit; purchased a district 14 unit; lived in a unit in district 16; sold a unit in district 14; purchased a unit in district 19; lived in a district 14 unit

Leased a unit in district 15; sold a unit in district 14; lived in a unit in district 2; purchased another unit in district 14; lived in district 19

Leased a unit in district 19; lived in district 16

Lived in district 14

How many units does mcmlxxvi own now?

mermaid
22-08-13, 09:17
mcmlxxvi's records

Rented a unit in district 3; purchased a unit in district 15

Lived in district 15

Sold that district 15 unit; rented a unit in district 14; purchased 2 district 8 units, of which he flipped one and lived in the other

Sold the remaining unit in district 8; lived in a unit in district 16; purchased a unit in district 12 and 14 each; rented 3 different units in district 15; purchased another unit in district 15

Sold the district 12 unit; purchased a district 14 unit; lived in a unit in district 16; sold a unit in district 14; purchased a unit in district 19; lived in a district 14 unit

Leased a unit in district 15; sold a unit in district 14; lived in a unit in district 2; purchased another unit in district 14; lived in district 19

Leased a unit in district 19; lived in district 16

Lived in district 14

qn fm IRAS:
hmmm ... where does the district 2 come from?

22-08-13, 10:46
Very complicated. How to "[/SIZE]租15x3"? Rent 3 units?

Means rented different ones one after another la.

Total profit? In terms of today market value? Close to 800k maybe?

22-08-13, 10:47

You go and count lor lol.

22-08-13, 10:49
qn fm IRAS:

Aiyo 你的法眼 so good!! Its a typo. Should be 租.

sporadic
22-08-13, 11:08

Inspirational !

Is that from capital gains from buying/selling or does it include rental profit as well?

22-08-13, 11:10
Inspirational !

Is that from capital gains from buying/selling or does it include rental profit as well?

我没加进放租收入也。

(I no add in lease income ye)

clemdale24
22-08-13, 11:15
qn fm IRAS:

According to my calculations.. he owns 3 properties now. which districts i have no idea :P:P:P

22-08-13, 11:49
1 year move house 3 times? :scared-1:

Congratulations!
Think this is the best govt has given you in terms of asset appreciation...... ;)
Use it as bullet and you can have more than enough until you die at 100 years old.................................. :D

You should tell you story to those Miss-The-Boats ones who everyday asking govt to make property cheap cheap for them to buy and tell them to learn from you.............
If property every year also cheap cheap cannot appreciate means many singaporeans all cannot retire! :o

mermaid
22-08-13, 11:50
Aiyo 你的法眼 so good!! Its a typo. Should be 租.

你俾点心机就会睇到嘅 :D

star
22-08-13, 11:56
My friend leased out her 3 bedder condo in the east. Rental increased from $3600 to $3800.

astroboy8681
22-08-13, 12:24

with approximately 10 house moving in 8 years for 800k capital/profit realization is a tad too much hassle... however it's still very much an admirable process :)

keep it up or rather keep hold of your valuable freeholds hehe

mermaid
22-08-13, 12:34
with approximately 10 house moving in 8 years for 800k capital/profit realization is a tad too much hassle... however it's still very much an admirable process :)

keep it up or rather keep hold of your valuable freeholds hehe

I supposed mm king din buy direct fm developer. look at the ppty in & out transactions r mostly 1 yr or lesser, thus explaining oni 800k profit.
but the ROI is still gd la, $800k over 5-6 yrs.

I suppose if one buy direct, the profit shd be around $200k per transaction bah ...

22-08-13, 12:54
That is why should buy family size, 1200 sqft x $500 psf increase already $600k liao! :p

Do it twice $1.2m liao! :D

Do it 10 times will be $6.0m !!! :cheers1:

I supposed mm king din buy direct fm developer. look at the ppty in & out transactions r mostly 1 yr or lesser, thus explaining oni 800k profit.
but the ROI is still gd la, $800k over 5-6 yrs.

I suppose if one buy direct, the profit shd be around $200k per transaction bah ...

mermaid
22-08-13, 12:59
That is why should buy family size, 1200 sqft x $500 psf increase already $600k liao! :p

Do it twice $1.2m liao! :D

Do it 10 times will be $6.0m !!! :cheers1:

sure bo? family size de yield is not the highest leh ....

22-08-13, 13:09
Capital gain, not rental.

Buy $2000 psf price, go up 25% is $500 psf.

1200 sqft x $500 psf increase = $600k profit! :cool:

sure bo? family size de yield is not the highest leh ....

mermaid
22-08-13, 13:13
Capital gain, not rental.

Buy $2000 psf price, go up 25% is $500 psf.

1200 sqft x $500 psf increase = $600k profit! :cool:

Im oso talking abt capital gain la :hell-hath-no-fury:

given the same capital, 2 X 600 sqft x $550 psf increase = 660k profit reaps a higher yield wor :D

or better still 3 X 400 sqft x $600 psf increase = 720k profit :tongue3:

astroboy8681
22-08-13, 13:41
i don't subscribe to this pettybear rationale.... saint avatar but sprouting nonsense mostly :doh:

xtreme_46
24-08-13, 12:17
ura just update Jul rental..seems that rental still strong