View Full Version : Waterfront Waves (D16, 99 year LH, Frasers Centrepoint / Far East Organization)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

ahlahdin
10-03-08, 23:51
Kalpana Rashiwala

Tue, Feb 19, 2008

The Business Times

Modest weekend sales at Waterfront Waves

http://www.asiaone.com/a1media/business/02Feb08/images/20080221.151803_bedokreservoircondo_350x175.jpg

IN A bellwether post-Budget property launch, Frasers Centrepoint and Far East Organization sold 20 units at the weekend at their Waterfront Waves condo fronting Bedok Reservoir. The project was officially launched at the weekend with the start of an advertising campaign.

The sales brought the total sold so far at the 99-year leasehold project to 100 units, including 80 sold earlier after the condo was soft launched around mid-January. So far, 180 units at the 405-unit development have been released.

The average price currently for the entire development is $750 per square foot after discounts, with the spread ranging from around $650 psf to $930 psf. However, for the 100 units sold so far, the average achieved is $801 psf, as they are among the better-facing units. About 85 per cent of buyers of the 100 units are Singaporeans and 35 per cent have existing HDB addresses.

Property industry watchers were keeping an eye on Waterfront Waves for an indication of buying sentiment after Friday's Budget.

Some developers hoped the Budget would boost buyer confidence, paving the way for them to go ahead with launches they had held back because of sentiment dented by the stock market plunge and sub-prime woes.

While the 20 sales at the weekend seem modest, Frasers Centrepoint assistant general manager (sales & marketing) Elson Poon said the result was 'within our expectations in view of current market sentiment'.

'People are still cautious when it comes to making big-ticket purchases,' he added.

The project's pricing may have been a factor, market watchers reckon.

Mr Poon confirmed that the $801 psf average price achieved for the 100 units is a new high for a condo launch in the Bedok Reservoir area. Three-bedroom units at Waterfront Waves cost between $880,000 and just over $1 million.

Giving his take on the outcome for the maiden launch post-Budget, CB Richard Ellis executive director (residential) Joseph Tan said: 'The buying mood is still cautious. But if you're expecting a price correction, it may not happen for a while. The bulk of unlaunched projects are held by mainstream developers. They have the capacity to hold and control prices.'

Another property consultant said: 'If there's any price drop it may be started by smaller developers, who usually try not to hold. As long as they can make money, they'll let go.'

ahlahdin
10-03-08, 23:51
Lynette Khoo

Mon, Jan 21, 2008

The Business Times

Waterfront Waves enjoys brisk sales

DEFYING wide consensus of a more subdued private property market here amid US sub-prime woes, house hunters bought half the 120 units launched over the weekend at Waterfront Waves.

The project, near Bedok Reservoir, is a 405-unit condominium jointly developed by Far East Organization and Frasers Centrepoint (FCL).

The average price achieved for the 60 units sold was $750-800 per square foot (psf), with one unit fetching the highest price of $874 psf.

"Waterfront Waves has this exclusive product differentiation - it is one of the last developments with direct view of the Bedok Reservoir," said Cheang Kok Kheong, chief operating officer of Frasers Centrepoint Homes.

The private preview of the Waterfront Waves over the weekend drew a good turn-up of close to 1,000 people.

Giving the breakdown on the profile of the buyers, Mr Cheang noted that 30 per cent of them have HDB addresses and 70 per cent have private addresses. Most of them indicated that they were looking to stay in the new units.

Located near the Bedok Reservoir and less than two minutes from the Pan Island Expressway, the condominium is slated for completion in 2010 with construction work likely to start by the third quarter of this year.

Mr Cheang said he does not see a softening of property market sentiment as the sub-prime problem will likely blow over in another six months to one year.

"There is still strong demand for the entry-level private property market in selected areas with quality living standards," said Mr Cheang.

With three of the nine blocks at Waterfront Waves already launched, FCL is now looking to launch a few more blocks this weekend.

ahlahdin
10-03-08, 23:56
Nov 21, 2007

Waterfront condos coming up at Bedok Reservoir

By Fiona Chan, Property Reporter

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20071120/ST_IMAGES_FIOBEDOK.jpg
WATER FRONTAGE: The first of the four projects, Waterfront Waves, may fetch prices of up to $850 psf, says Mr Ku. -- PHOTO: FRASERS CENTREPOINT

FOUR condominiums will be built where the former Waterfront View estate in Bedok Reservoir Road used to be.

The first will be launched in the first quarter of next year, said developers Frasers Centrepoint and Far East Organization yesterday.

It will be called Waterfront Waves and have 405 units, of which more than half will be three- and four-bedroom apartments. More than 60 per cent of the units will also have reservoir views, the developers added.

The Straits Times understands that the other three condos will also have 'Waterfront' in their names and are likely to be of similar sizes.

Together known as the Waterfront collection, the four-condo development is the largest in the area to have a direct water frontage, the developers said. In all, it could have 1,600 units.

The developers are also in talks with the Public Utilities Board about 'enhancing the neighbourhood's communal parks and water bodies'.

Although property consultants will not disclose prices for Waterfront Waves, they believe prices may start from $700 per sq ft (psf).

Mr Ku Swee Yong, director of marketing and business development at Savills Singapore, said units on lower floors with no water views could fetch that price.

On higher floors, prices could go up to $850 psf, he added.

Frasers Centrepoint and Far East jointly bought the former HUDC site last year for about $240 psf of gross floor area.

hayata1972
11-03-08, 10:18
Bedok reservoir

Unregistered
11-03-08, 15:44
Where have all the posts disappeared?

Unregistered
11-03-08, 15:55
Where have all the posts disappeared?

as most of the posts are towards negative feel for the property market, someone who invested a lot in properties hacked into system and delete them all, hoping to stop people from reading them....

Unregistered
11-03-08, 22:47
Waterfront waves:

Too expensive.
Nothing special.

hayata1972
11-03-08, 23:02
http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/4395/890021843091be95de9ggxk7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Baywater

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/9618/476807207191804dc66mw4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The clearwater

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/7899/aquariusbytheparkdj3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Aquarius by the park

Unregistered
11-03-08, 23:33
www.flickr.com/photos/panelo/1432952933/

Unregistered
12-03-08, 08:30
http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/4395/890021843091be95de9ggxk7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Baywater

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/9618/476807207191804dc66mw4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The clearwater

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/7899/aquariusbytheparkdj3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Aquarius by the park
The pictures are very nice, but other than that, can you tell us what are benefits of buying a condominium in bedok reservoir?

hayata1972
12-03-08, 18:33
http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/276/waterfrontwave2cv3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Waterfront waves location.
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/2233/waterfrontwave1xi1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/8599/477831847125baf463bms1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Bedok reservoir
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/9898/177448516f2d770823bmr6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Bedok reservoir.

hayata1972
12-03-08, 19:04
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/7719/bedokres9pc4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Morning @ bedok reservoir
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/1853/bedokres6jw0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Daytime @ bedok reservoir
http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1983/bedokres8gw9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Cycling @ bedok reservoir
http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5710/bedokres6mc1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Wakeboarding @ bedok reservoir

A MORE RECREATIONAL BEDOK RESERVOIR
Residents of Bedok can look forward to a different Bedok Reservoir come 2008. Together with NParks, PUB has exciting plans lined up to transform Bedok Reservoir into a playground for both land and water activities.
Street lamps, plants and a new fishing deck are just some of the features that have been introduced at the reservoir. Other developments in the pipeline include more prominent signs leading into the reservoir, a new car park, a new boat launching slipway as well as enhanced link from Bedok Estate to the reservoir.
And that's not all. To enhance the Bedok Reservoir for international and community events, a floating viewing gallery and a scating gallery for spectators of outdoor performances could well become reality.
By Lawrence Foo

hayata1972
12-03-08, 19:16
SDBA Master Series 2008
Dates:6th April 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
25th May 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
20th July 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
21st September 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
19th October 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
9th November 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm
Venue:Bedok ReservoirDocuments:Entry Rules (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20MASTER%20SERIES%202008%20Entry%20Rules.doc)
Additional Rules (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20Master%20Series%202008%20-%20Additional%20Rules.doc)
Registration Form (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20Master%20Series%202008%20Registration%20Form.doc)
Announcement 2 (2 Mar 2008)
Men’s Category Participation List:

1) People’s Association Water-Venture
2) Australian Chamber of Commerce
3) Seahawk Sports Club
4) Ngee Ann Polytechnic
5) NTUC Club
6) Singapore Institute of Management
7) Nanyang Junior College
8) Mountbatten Constituency Sports Club
9) Republic Polytechnic
10) Temasek Polytechnic
11) Canadian Association of Singapore
12) ITE
13) Singapore Polytechnic
14) Naynayng Technological University
15) Singapore Civil Defence Force

Women’s Category Participation List:

1) Australian Chamber of Commerce
2) Ngee Ann Polytechnic
3) NTUC Club - Team A
4) NTUC Club - Team A
5) Singapore Institute of Management
6) Republic Polytechnic
7) Canadian Association of Singapore
8) ITE
9) Singapore Polytechnic

[Updated on 9 Mar 2008]

Announcement 1 (12 Feb 2008)
The Singapore Dragon Boat Association successfully launched the SDBA Master Series for men in year 2007. A total of 20 teams competed in the 5 Series.

This year the Singapore Dragon Boat Association will also launch the SDBA Master Series 2008 for women in conjunction with the Men’s SDBA Master Series 2008 at Bedok Reservoir on:

1) 30th March 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.
2) 25th May 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.
3) 20th July 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.
4) 21st September 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.
5) 19th October 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.
6) 9th November 2008, Sunday 9am to 5pm.

Please note that the times are tentative.

The distance of the race is 500 meters.

For the women category it will be a 10-crew dragon boat event but the women will race in a 20-crew dragon boat.

A maximum of 30 crews will participate in each series on which the format of the race will be based.

Each participating team will be charged a nominal fee of S$600.00 up front for the men’s category and S$300.00 up front for the women’s category for the whole SDBA Master Series 2008 with no refund if a team misses one Series or terminates its participation after having started.

The best of 5 Series will count towards the total points after the completion of the Series in November 2008 taking into consideration that some teams may miss a Series owing to other commitments.

A SDBA Master Series Challenge Trophy will be up for grabs for the team with the highest total points as well as cash prize of S$3,000.00 for the men’s category (1st Position) and S$1,500.00 for the women’s category (1st Position) at the conclusion of the Series in November 2008.

To encourage Corporates, Junior Colleges and Secondary Schools to participate in the SDBA Master Series 2008 they may join forces by sending a combined Corporate Team, Junior Colleges or Secondary Schools to compete in the Series.

Attached are the:

1) SDBA Master Series 2008 Entry Rules (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20MASTER%20SERIES%202008%20Entry%20Rules.doc)
2) SDBA Master Series 2008 Additional Rules (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20Master%20Series%202008%20-%20Additional%20Rules.doc)
3) SDBA Master Series 2008 Registration Form (http://www.sdba.org.sg/docs/2008/master2008/SDBA%20Master%20Series%202008%20Registration%20Form.doc)

Please note that the closing date is on 8th March 2008, Saturday.

We look forward to your support and participation to make the SDBA Master Series 2008 as successful as in 2007.

Thank you.

Updated on 1 Mar 2008

Unregistered
12-03-08, 19:34
Means traffic jams,noise,littering,pollution.

Unregistered
12-03-08, 20:22
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/7719/bedokres9pc4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Morning @ bedok reservoir
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/1853/bedokres6jw0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Daytime @ bedok reservoir
http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/1983/bedokres8gw9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Cycling @ bedok reservoir
http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5710/bedokres6mc1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Wakeboarding @ bedok reservoir

A MORE RECREATIONAL BEDOK RESERVOIR
Residents of Bedok can look forward to a different Bedok Reservoir come 2008. Together with NParks, PUB has exciting plans lined up to transform Bedok Reservoir into a playground for both land and water activities.
Street lamps, plants and a new fishing deck are just some of the features that have been introduced at the reservoir. Other developments in the pipeline include more prominent signs leading into the reservoir, a new car park, a new boat launching slipway as well as enhanced link from Bedok Estate to the reservoir.
And that's not all. To enhance the Bedok Reservoir for international and community events, a floating viewing gallery and a scating gallery for spectators of outdoor performances could well become reality.
By Lawrence Foo
Wow, well done my man.

Unregistered
12-03-08, 22:21
How is the movement for the waterfront waves collections? Any statistics?

Unregistered
12-03-08, 23:33
Means traffic jams,noise,littering,pollution.

poor project and expensive. nobody will buy one lah.

Unregistered
12-03-08, 23:34
The pictures are very nice, but other than that, can you tell us what are benefits of buying a condominium in bedok reservoir?

No benefits. No MRT.. Dont buy.

Unregistered
13-03-08, 00:23
to be honest, i think stay east coast better and if i want to stay near a reservoir, macritchie may be a better choice!

Unregistered
13-03-08, 08:24
Waterfront waves has been selling well inspite of these jokers giving one liner remarks. Seems to me that within this forum, there seems to be protective instincts within each different developments. Even though the market is not very good right now, being childish and putting in silly remarks does not help in your sales. Lets be more matured and have a intellectual discussion about our condos alright?

Unregistered
13-03-08, 08:58
http://www2.nationproperty.com.sg/npp2/transacted_private.aspx
These are some of the Dist 16 properties transacted for the month of DEC 2007 and early JAN 2008.

Unregistered
13-03-08, 12:00
Why give us the address to nationproperty? What does it show?

Unregistered
13-03-08, 12:14
Wow, 1313sqf unit in waterfront waves transacted for 875psf on early january. Check out the lastest transacted prices in nationproperty.

Unregistered
13-03-08, 20:59
Waterfront waves is still moving well. Kudos to Waterfront waves!

Unregistered
13-03-08, 21:46
How many units have been sold so far? Anyone with this info?

Unregistered
13-03-08, 22:14
Wow, 1313sqf unit in waterfront waves transacted for 875psf on early january. Check out the lastest transacted prices in nationproperty.
You mean price dropping. I saw transactions above 900$ earlier.

Unregistered
13-03-08, 22:26
You mean price dropping. I saw transactions above 900$ earlier.

this is a comment that just shows how much you understand abt the pricing of properties.. dont you realise that some units command a higher psf cause of many factors?! moron

Unregistered
13-03-08, 23:01
hahahah

sour grapes eaters are back again

they are all over the whole forum

Unregistered
14-03-08, 20:57
hahahah

sour grapes eaters are back again

they are all over the whole forum
You call us the sour grapes, we call you the idiots. May you speculators all go jump into the bedok reservoir.

Unregistered
14-03-08, 21:30
You call us the sour grapes, we call you the idiots. May you speculators all go jump into the bedok reservoir.

haha u think we fools are

you ask us to jump we go jump

who you think you are

Unregistered
15-03-08, 21:59
haha u think we fools are

you ask us to jump we go jump

who you think you are

Aiya, waterfront waves are too expensive compared to Clear waters and other condos next to it.

ALL 99 leasehold and Full condo facilities wat.. $875/sqft???? Ghost will buy...

Unregistered
15-03-08, 22:25
http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/276/waterfrontwave2cv3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/2233/waterfrontwave1xi1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/8599/477831847125baf463bms1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Bedok reservoir
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/9898/177448516f2d770823bmr6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Bedok reservoir.

Nicely taken.
All the reservior facing developments can really enjoy the good views and air.
The other good thing is that it is fresh water.

Unregistered
15-03-08, 22:35
Aiya, waterfront waves are too expensive compared to Clear waters and other condos next to it.

ALL 99 leasehold and Full condo facilities wat.. $875/sqft???? Ghost will buy...

Why u ppl simply like to argue fruitlessly???

If u ppl have so much time to waste by arguing your surrounding developments, why don't you use it to PROMOTE the WHOLE AREA around the reservoir???!!!!

Any rise in price of the developments in that area is good for all the neighbouring developments!!!!

THINK!
Do the right thing and The whole area there will be highly in demand and attractive, be it baywater, clearwater, WW, etc...and all will gain $$ and popularity!!!

Unregistered
16-03-08, 14:40
Waterfront waves has been selling well inspite of these jokers giving one liner remarks. Seems to me that within this forum, there seems to be protective instincts within each different developments. Even though the market is not very good right now, being childish and putting in silly remarks does not help in your sales. Lets be more matured and have a intellectual discussion about our condos alright?

come on lah.. No deferred payment scheme.. must pay 20% first and wait till 2012.. market sure crash by that time.. use ur brain to think, no brain use ur cock.

Unregistered
16-03-08, 14:41
Why u ppl simply like to argue fruitlessly???

If u ppl have so much time to waste by arguing your surrounding developments, why don't you use it to PROMOTE the WHOLE AREA around the reservoir???!!!!

Any rise in price of the developments in that area is good for all the neighbouring developments!!!!

THINK!
Do the right thing and The whole area there will be highly in demand and attractive, be it baywater, clearwater, WW, etc...and all will gain $$ and popularity!!!

so u take the lead is it?? if not, shut up.

Unregistered
17-03-08, 10:01

It seems like you are not a resident around this area. Please proceed to the appropriate thread to post your comments.

Unregistered
17-03-08, 10:07

wow u very hot temper person hor

hahahahaha

be careful later u tio heart attack leh

cool down!!

Unregistered
19-03-08, 23:45
By looking at URA's figure, this project dont seems to move at all..

Price will drop soon.

Unregistered
20-03-08, 00:24
By looking at URA's figure, this project dont seems to move at all..

Price will drop soon.
Don't move does not mean price will drop...The developer are holding it very well and they rich. Why should they drop their for you... FAT HOPE!!!!!! TAN KOO KOO...I think you must be those that miss the boat and wanted to take a ride when the price drop.

Unregistered
21-03-08, 14:56
Don't move does not mean price will drop...The developer are holding it very well and they rich. Why should they drop their for you... FAT HOPE!!!!!! TAN KOO KOO...I think you must be those that miss the boat and wanted to take a ride when the price drop.
Dont move means dont sell. Dont sell means no buyer. No buyer mean price drop.. So simple also dont understand..

Pls accept this fact.. Stop cheating urself.

Unregistered
21-03-08, 16:37
Dont move means dont sell. Dont sell means no buyer. No buyer mean price drop.. So simple also dont understand..

Pls accept this fact.. Stop cheating urself.

No poor buyer like you doesn't mean no buyers lah.
Stop cheating yourself thinking you can afford lah.
Posting nonsense in CONDOsingapore.com doesn't mean you can afford a condo lah.

URA
21-03-08, 16:39
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of February 2008

Project Name ..... Locality . Units Sold In Month . Highest $psf . Median $psf . Lowest $psf
Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 26 ............................. 920 ............... 808 ............... 694

Unregistered
21-03-08, 17:40
WTH! The flooring used are homogenuous tiles which are used in HDB flats. Yet they command Upper East Coast Pricing. They should sell at $300psf instead.

Unregistered
21-03-08, 23:05

Project Name ..... Locality . Units Sold In Month . Highest $psf . Median $psf . Lowest $psf
Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 26 ............................. 920 ............... 808 ............... 694
920psf already hit, good for you!

Unregistered
22-03-08, 00:22
No poor buyer like you doesn't mean no buyers lah.
Stop cheating yourself thinking you can afford lah.
Posting nonsense in CONDOsingapore.com doesn't mean you can afford a condo lah.
why keep cheating urself.. Its a fact the waterfront wave is not moving. By viewing the ura website, the figures cannot go wrong.

Come on.. admit.. u had make a wrong move, made a bad choice for buying this condo.

To ERR IS HUMAN. GOD WILL FORGIVE U....

Unregistered
22-03-08, 00:23
920psf already hit, good for you!

How about the 690+/sqft one, Bad luck to u???

Unregistered
22-03-08, 00:24
WTH! The flooring used are homogenuous tiles which are used in HDB flats. Yet they command Upper East Coast Pricing. They should sell at $300psf instead.
Agree.. Finishes very low class.. think worse than DBSS.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 11:43
How about the 690+/sqft one, Bad luck to u???
The high is $930psf.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 11:46
The high is $930psf.
Yup, if it is so lousy how come people willing to pay $930psf? I think this website has many sour grapes and miss the boaters trying to scare the price down. Dream on.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 15:35
Yup, if it is so lousy how come people willing to pay $930psf? I think this website has many sour grapes and miss the boaters trying to scare the price down. Dream on.

About 20 years ago, my aunt bought a unit 3 rm condo in tanglin, cost around $300,000. At that time, it was like now. World market got into a lot of problem and No body, nobody was interested to buy. Too expensive, they said.

Now they were looking at $3,500,000 price due en-bloc!!

year 2008 is a pause for Singapore property, and maybe a chance for those who missed out the last few years. When the World market issues are restored, Singapore property will again, what we will say, NO HORSE RUN.
Just look at all the line up that are coming your way in Singapore. F1, YOG, IRs, Marina and etc.........

As the saying goes, market goes up, you dare not buy....waiting for it to pause or go down. When the market pause or goes down, you also dare not to buy......waiting to goes further down. Either way, you will not buy, cos you always waiting.

Happy waiting.

PS : Don't treat property like a stock. Give it a 5 years window.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 16:08
About 20 years ago, my aunt bought a unit 3 rm condo in tanglin, cost around $300,000. At that time, it was like now. World market got into a lot of problem and No body, nobody was interested to buy. Too expensive, they said.

Now they were looking at $3,500,000 price due en-bloc!!

year 2008 is a pause for Singapore property, and maybe a chance for those who missed out the last few years. When the World market issues are restored, Singapore property will again, what we will say, NO HORSE RUN.
Just look at all the line up that are coming your way in Singapore. F1, YOG, IRs, Marina and etc.........

As the saying goes, market goes up, you dare not buy....waiting for it to pause or go down. When the market pause or goes down, you also dare not to buy......waiting to goes further down. Either way, you will not buy, cos you always waiting.

Happy waiting.

PS : Don't treat property like a stock. Give it a 5 years window.

I bought a condo in 2004 and another in early 2007 both at 40-50% below the original owners purchase price. I was actively persuading many of my colleagues and friend that prices will not remain low forever. My argument was very simple, I believe in the remaking story of Singapore and the fundamental shift in our population policy. When the 2008 master plan is released later this year, people will start to understand why we need to build upwards and why prices of our condo/HDB flats will continue to trend upwards unless we hit a few more crisis or we have a reversal in our major policy concerning growing our population to 5.5-6.5 million.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 16:13
I bought a condo in 2004 and another in early 2007 both at 40-50% below the original owners purchase price. I was actively persuading many of my colleagues and friend that prices will not remain low forever. My argument was very simple, I believe in the remaking story of Singapore and the fundamental shift in our population policy. When the 2008 master plan is released later this year, people will start to understand why we need to build upwards and why prices of our condo/HDB flats will continue to trend upwards unless we hit a few more crisis or we have a reversal in our major policy concerning growing our population to 5.5-6.5 million.

Just FYI, both condos are now rented and capital value has gone up by 70-80%. I did not sell in the lat few months because I hold the view that Singapore property prices especially in the mass market segment will be well supported going forward. Rental I am getting is way beyond my expectation. And furthermore, mortgage brokers are calling me almost every week to help me reduce my financing cost. If you have access to capital today, it gets cheaper.

Unregistered
23-03-08, 20:41
i am staying in bedok reservoir road

the bedok reservoir park has just added some

very nice floating platform!

Go and take a look at it

it is behind sheng siong market

You can do your fishing or just simply stroll around there

!!!

richardsng_era
23-03-08, 23:51
Transacted Price for WFW:

Jan 2008
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/4543/wfwpricejan08vl9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Feb 2008
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/7759/wfwpricefeb08xq1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Richard Sng
ERA Singapore
HP: +65-92993342
Email: [email protected] ([email protected])
Home Page: http://www.homes88.net (http://www.homes88.net)
My Space: http://richardsng-era.spaces.live.com (http://richardsng-era.spaces.live.com)

Unregistered
24-03-08, 01:30
Just FYI, both condos are now rented and capital value has gone up by 70-80%. I did not sell in the lat few months because I hold the view that Singapore property prices especially in the mass market segment will be well supported going forward. Rental I am getting is way beyond my expectation. And furthermore, mortgage brokers are calling me almost every week to help me reduce my financing cost. If you have access to capital today, it gets cheaper.
How do you find time to post here? With the high rental income have you quit your job and have nothing else to do?

Unregistered
24-03-08, 01:33
SOON IT WILL BE SOMEONE ELSE'S TURN TO BUY YOURS AT 40-50% LOWER THAN YOUR PURCHASE PRICE. YOU KNOW HISTORY REPEATS?

Unregistered
24-03-08, 02:13
Are there a lot of pple at the showrooms?

Unregistered
25-03-08, 10:11
Transacted Price for WFW:

Jan 2008
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/4543/wfwpricejan08vl9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Feb 2008
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/7759/wfwpricefeb08xq1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Richard Sng
ERA Singapore
HP: +65-92993342
Email: [email protected] ([email protected])
Home Page: http://www.homes88.net (http://www.homes88.net)
My Space: http://richardsng-era.spaces.live.com (http://richardsng-era.spaces.live.com)
wah, these are the units which have lodged the caveat. How about those that did not lodge? How to find out?

Unregistered
25-03-08, 10:23
SOON IT WILL BE SOMEONE ELSE'S TURN TO BUY YOURS AT 40-50% LOWER THAN YOUR PURCHASE PRICE. YOU KNOW HISTORY REPEATS?
Why loser? Once bitten, twice shy ah? You deserve the loss!
Told you to follow us, you don't listen. See what happen!
Next time, listen carefully and follow us.

Unregistered
25-03-08, 10:27
wah, these are the units which have lodged the caveat. How about those that did not lodge? How to find out?
You just have to wait for it.
Or you can use the guide below.

Unregistered
25-03-08, 22:19
Are there a lot of pple at the showrooms?
Gots a lot of agents, no buyers.

All beating fly.

Unregistered
25-03-08, 22:22

Lodge caveat means got buyers. No caveat means nobody buy? what do u mean those that did not lodge???

Unregistered
25-03-08, 22:23
Why loser? Once bitten, twice shy ah? You deserve the loss!
Told you to follow us, you don't listen. See what happen!
Next time, listen carefully and follow us.

Follows us means not to buy.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 02:00
Follows us means not to buy.
Follow you means talking cock.
So go **** off.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 02:02
Lodge caveat means got buyers. No caveat means nobody buy? what do u mean those that did not lodge???
Wrong lah.
Are you a new bird?

Some buyers don't lodge caveats immediately.
So you can't see the caveats.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 09:48
mad dog is coming!!!

host
26-03-08, 10:57
Warning! No abusive language.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 11:31
cool down...

Unregistered
26-03-08, 12:19
Ya lor cool down, cool down... I think alot of us is in here for some info and education, hopefully to make good investment and money. So why not share the good tips here.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 12:29
BEdok reservoir!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Unregistered
26-03-08, 14:37
Btw, I heard that the first few stacks of all reservoir facing units have been sold. Dunno when they may release the rest of the reservoir facing ones?

Unregistered
26-03-08, 14:39
It is a myth (perhaps the oldest one in the book) that Freehold is better than Leasehold. There are no conclusive studies on this.
What many seem to forget is that property is all about LOCATION. The first thing students of real estate are taught is location, location and location. So focus more on location and less on tenure.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 15:57
yep right

location is very impt

something which u can see and feel it

no point it is freehold but sitting in a concrete jungle

Unregistered
26-03-08, 16:47
yep agree agree

Unregistered
26-03-08, 22:58
It is a myth (perhaps the oldest one in the book) that Freehold is better than Leasehold. There are no conclusive studies on this.
What many seem to forget is that property is all about LOCATION. The first thing students of real estate are taught is location, location and location. So focus more on location and less on tenure.
Wah.. Real estate student.. May i know from which school that teaches student, tenure is not impt???

Unregistered
26-03-08, 22:59
yep right

location is very impt

something which u can see and feel it

no point it is freehold but sitting in a concrete jungle

come on, even fishmonger n vegetable seller knows FH better than 99 LH.

Unregistered
26-03-08, 23:00
BEdok reservoir!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So?? No MRT, no amenities..

Unregistered
27-03-08, 19:48

Haha! Fishmonger n vegetable seller just want to stay near the market. They dont care it's a 99 or FH. Anyway, fyi, Freehold refers to the land only, not the apartment. The outlook of Freehold property will sooner or later become old as times passes, then not much buyer will be keen even if your property is freehold in the middle of district 9.

Unregistered
27-03-08, 20:26
Wah.. Real estate student.. May i know from which school that teaches student, tenure is not impt???

How silly r u? Tenure is part of the whole equation. But foremost is always location...then the rest are secondary.

Unregistered
27-03-08, 20:28

What is wrong wif fishmonger n veg seller? R u undermining them? I think they are much smarter than u who post this unconclusive argument between FH and LH.

Unregistered
27-03-08, 23:07

What is wrong wif fishmonger n veg seller? R u undermining them? I think they are much smarter than u who post this unconclusive argument between FH and LH.
Aiyah! Why you all keep arguing?

Most important thing with this WW thingy now is "Huat Ah"!

You are happier now. Agree?

Unregistered
31-03-08, 08:54
921psf hit at end feb 08, march transactions reflected are mainly average $850psf. Huat ah!

Unregistered
31-03-08, 11:41
921psf hit at end feb 08, march transactions reflected are mainly average $850psf. Huat ah!
If the prices for the new launch WW can command such a price, how much would it benefit the projects surrounding it? Is it good to buy secondary market units or this new launch?

Unregistered
31-03-08, 12:07
Soon will be at 600. Thats the true worth.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 15:02

posting this only reflects what a silly and ignorant person you are. suggest you post your comments on some other forum that suits your intelligence level.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 15:03
sourgrape eater in this forum,...

Unregistered
31-03-08, 15:14
European Stock-Index Futures Retreat; BNP, UBS May Decline

By Adria Cimino

March 31 (Bloomberg) -- European stock-index futures fell, following U.S. and Asian markets lower, as concern deepened that losses in the credit markets will hurt economic and profit growth.

BNP Paribas and Fortis may decline after their U.S.-traded securities dropped. UBS AG will probably slip as Merrill Lynch & Co. said the region's biggest bank by assets may have more writedowns. Vodafone Group Plc might drop after Morgan Stanley downgraded the stock. Goldman, Sachs & Co. advised investors to sell shares of British Airways Plc.

Futures on the Dow Jones Euro Stoxx 50 Index, a benchmark for the euro region, fell 23, or 0.7 percent, to 3,539 at 7:05 a.m. in London. The U.K.'s FTSE 100 Index may decrease 21, according to Cantor Index, a betting firm.

``The markets seem incapable of shaking off concerns about U.S. investment banks and the depth of this current U.S. recession,'' Oliver Stevens, head of dealing at IG Markets in Melbourne, wrote in a note to clients.

U.S. stocks on March 28 extended the worst quarterly slump since 2002. Asia's benchmark today had its biggest drop in two weeks.

Europe's Stoxx 600 has fallen 16 percent this quarter, headed for its worst quarter since at least 1987, on concern credit-market losses will erode earnings. The financial industry worldwide has already reported $208 billion in losses related to the collapse of the U.S. subprime mortgage market, according to Bloomberg data.

Analysts have slashed profit-growth estimates for Stoxx 600 companies. Earnings will rise only 1.9 percent on average this year, down from 11 percent predicted at the end of 2007, Bloomberg data show.

BNP, UBS

American depositary receipts of BNP, France's biggest bank, ended 1.3 percent below the close in Paris last week. ADRs of Fortis, Belgium's largest financial-services company, also finished 1.3 percent lower.

UBS may have a further $11 billion in writedowns in the first quarter and report a 2008 loss, Merrill said. The brokerage cut its 2009 earnings-per-share forecast by 6 percent.

Separately, UBS may ask shareholders to approve a capital increase of as much as 16 billion Swiss francs ($16.1 billion), the Sonntag newspaper reported, citing people it didn't identify.

Credit Suisse Group, Switzerland's second-biggest bank, may retreat. Merrill reduced its 2008 earnings-per-share forecast by 13 percent and its 2009 forecast by 4 percent.

U.K. banks forecast that credit market turmoil will last at least until the end of the year, twice as long as they predicted three months ago, according to a survey by the Confederation of British Industry.

Lending conditions will worsen in the next six months, leaving banks with ``significantly'' higher borrowing costs, according to the quarterly survey of financial firms.

Vodafone was downgraded to ``underweight'' from ``overweight'' by Morgan Stanley, which lowered its share-price estimate by 21 percent to 170 pence.

British Airways, Europe's third-largest carrier, was cut to ``sell'' from ``buy'' at Goldman Sachs.

Tesco Plc, the biggest supermarket chain in Britain, has put the expansion of its Fresh & Easy stores in the U.S. on hold for three months to allow the business time to ``settle down.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 15:15
SPECULATORS PANICKING AND S******* IN THEIR PANTS.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 15:55

Thanks for this low quote that u r declaring....u r really helping us, potential buyers. keep it up silly.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 17:17

This price is not impossible but i cannot imagine the state of the economy at that time.

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:51
March 30, 2008

PROPERTY

HDB resale market healthy but prices rising at slower pace

Total sale prices likely to be steady or higher while upfront cash demands may continue to slide

By Joyce Teo, Property Correspondent

WHILE quiet may prevail in the private homes market, the resale market for HDB flats offers another picture - one filled with steady activities.

Still, a number of potential HDB resale flat buyers are kept out of the market by the high upfront cash sums that some sellers demand.

These cash sums are on top of the valuation price of a flat and can be paid only in cash.

Last year, when HDB resale prices rose 17.5 per cent in line with the private property boom, many sellers rode on the buying wave and started asking for cash- over-valuation sums ranging from $50,000 to more than $100,000.

For those who are holding off their HDB purchases for a lower price, property agents say cash- over-valuation amounts could continue to slide. But HDB resale flat prices are unlikely to tumble in the foreseeable future, they say.

'The HDB market is still very healthy,' said Mr Chris Koh, director of Dennis Wee Properties.

Resale prices are still rising - albeit at a slower rate than last year - as valuations have generally risen, property agents say.

Even if the cash-over-valuations are slightly lower than late last year, the total resale price will still be steady or higher.

ERA Realty Network's assistant vice-president, Mr Eugene Lim, said his firm expects the first-quarter HDB resale price index to show a marginal rise of 3 per cent or less.

The resale price index increased by 5.7 per cent in the fourth quarter of last year.

Cash-rich en-bloc sellers

'WE ARE still seeing en-bloc sellers downgrading to the bigger HDB flats such as the executive flats,' said Mr Koh.

With their $2 million or so sales proceeds, some en-bloc sellers, especially the retired ones, prefer to buy an HDB flat to live in and a small private property for investment, he said.

Meanwhile, some of the HDB resale flat buyers are downgrading to smaller flats.

As a result, there is more sales activity among three- or five-room flats and executive flats, said Mr Koh.

He said some collective sale sellers are of the view that the private property market will fall some time down the road.

This group would buy an HDB resale flat to live in while they wait for a good time to enter the private property market, he said.

They need to live in their resale flats for only one year before they can sell them, if they are taking a bank loan for the purchase.

Those who take an HDB loan for a resale flat purchase have to live in it for 21/2 years before they can sell it.

While this group may not be big, they do help to prop up the HDB market to a certain extent.

Lower upfront demands

THE Government has increased the supply of HDB flats as its stock depletes, and has assured the public that it will boost supply when needed.

As buyers now have more choices, some agents are taking double the time to sell resale flats, compared with around one month on average late last year, said Mr Eric Cheng, executive director of HSR Property Group.

Because of the weak sentiment in the private homes market this year, HDB flat sellers have also become more realistic in asking for lower sums of cash, property agents say.

Today, sellers in prime areas like Holland and Tiong Bahru may ask for $35,000 to $60,000 cash, compared with maybe $80,000 to $100,000 last year, said Mr Cheng.

Mr Koh said cash-poor buyers need not consider only far-out areas like Marsiling. They can also look at towns such as Yishun, Tampines, or Pasir Ris, where sellers are now asking for less cash.

The HDB recently said its records for last month showed that about a quarter of the resale flats were transacted at prices not exceeding $10,000 above market valuation. These included those in more established towns such as Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Tampines and Yishun.

Such cash-over-valuation levels of below $10,000 for flats in established towns are attractive in today's market, said Mr Cheng.

Those who do not have an urgent need for a place to live in can wait a little longer to see if they can buy a resale flat with a smaller cash sum, say some property agents. But do not expect the valuation price to fall just yet.

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:52
March 31, 2008

Bush readying plan to rescue home owners

Proposal encourages lenders to forgive part of debt and refinance mortgages

WASHINGTON - THE Bush administration is finalising a plan to rescue thousands of home owners facing foreclosure by helping them refinance into more affordable loans, the Washington Post said.

The proposal is aimed at assisting borrowers who owe their banks more than their homes are worth because of declining home prices, the newspaper reported in its Saturday edition, citing unnamed government officials.

If enacted, it would mark the first time the White House is committing federal dollars to help the most hard-pressed borrowers.

President George W. Bush said on Saturday that the government would expand efforts to help home owners avoid foreclosure.

The White House is 'committed to building on' its programme to help borrowers refinance mortgages, he said in a weekly radio address.

Officials are weighing measures to 'provide some additional help to some home owners', White House spokesman Tony Fratto said.

Under the plan, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) would encourage lenders to forgive a portion of these loans and issue new, smaller loans in exchange for the backing of the US government, the Post said.

Two leading Democratic lawmakers have proposed a similar programme to expand the FHA, so that it absorbs more failing mortgages once lenders have erased some of the loan amount.

Senate Banking Committee chairman Christopher Dodd and House Financial Services Committee chairman Barney Frank are expected to push their FHA plan when lawmakers return to Washington this week.

Bush administration officials have told the Post that they believe they can accomplish some of the same goals of the legislation through regulatory changes, though important details need to be nailed down.

Administration officials told the Post they opposed some aspects of Mr Frank's legislation, including a provision to spend US$10 billion (S$13.8 billion) buying vacant foreclosed homes.

The plan could dampen criticism from Democrats, who say the administration has so far been more concerned with helping Wall Street than with aiding those losing their homes in the foreclosure crisis that threatens to push the US economy into a deep recession.

But it could agitate conservatives, who might view the programme as another government bailout, the Post said.

The plan is unlikely to be unveiled before Mr Bush returns from a trip to Europe this week, officials told the paper.

REUTERS, BLOOMBERG NEWS

Unregistered
31-03-08, 17:53

If it reaches 600. I will buy the whole block. Do you how much the cost to build? Land cost plus materials plus labours plus etc. It cost more than 600. Talk about inflation. Even the price of rice also increase.

Can you get for me 'mee-pok' at 10cts? That was more than 40 years ago price.

If it is the true worth, do the sum and let me see how you come out with the cost. A lot of developers will be waiting to employ you. Maybe you have a good contact that gives you very good price for the building material and maybe also free land. Be REAL!!

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:54
Monday, March 30, 2008

PROPERTY

Total sale prices likely to be steady or higher while upfront cash demands may continue to slide

WHILE quiet may prevail in the private homes market, the resale market for HDB flats offers another picture - one filled with steady activities.

Still, a number of potential HDB resale flat buyers are kept out of the market by the high upfront cash sums that some sellers demand.

These cash sums are on top of the valuation price of a flat and can be paid only in cash.

Last year, when HDB resale prices rose 17.5 per cent in line with the private property boom, many sellers rode on the buying wave and started asking for cash- over-valuation sums ranging from $50,000 to more than $100,000.

For those who are holding off their HDB purchases for a lower price, property agents say cash- over-valuation amounts could continue to slide. But HDB resale flat prices are unlikely to tumble in the foreseeable future, they say.

'The HDB market is still very healthy,' said Mr Chris Koh, director of Dennis Wee Properties.

Resale prices are still rising - albeit at a slower rate than last year - as valuations have generally risen, property agents say.

Even if the cash-over-valuations are slightly lower than late last year, the total resale price will still be steady or higher.

ERA Realty Network's assistant vice-president, Mr Eugene Lim, said his firm expects the first-quarter HDB resale price index to show a marginal rise of 3 per cent or less.

The resale price index increased by 5.7 per cent in the fourth quarter of last year.

'WE ARE still seeing en-bloc sellers downgrading to the bigger HDB flats such as the executive flats,' said Mr Koh.

With their $2 million or so sales proceeds, some en-bloc sellers, especially the retired ones, prefer to buy an HDB flat to live in and a small private property for investment, he said.

As a result, there is more sales activity among three- or five-room flats and executive flats, said Mr Koh.

He said some collective sale sellers are of the view that the private property market will fall some time down the road.

This group would buy an HDB resale flat to live in while they wait for a good time to enter the private property market, he said.

They need to live in their resale flats for only one year before they can sell them, if they are taking a bank loan for the purchase.

Those who take an HDB loan for a resale flat purchase have to live in it for 21/2 years before they can sell it.

While this group may not be big, they do help to prop up the HDB market to a certain extent.

Lower upfront demands

THE Government has increased the supply of HDB flats as its stock depletes, and has assured the public that it will boost supply when needed.

As buyers now have more choices, some agents are taking double the time to sell resale flats, compared with around one month on average late last year, said Mr Eric Cheng, executive director of HSR Property Group.

Because of the weak sentiment in the private homes market this year, HDB flat sellers have also become more realistic in asking for lower sums of cash, property agents say.

Today, sellers in prime areas like Holland and Tiong Bahru may ask for $35,000 to $60,000 cash, compared with maybe $80,000 to $100,000 last year, said Mr Cheng.

Mr Koh said cash-poor buyers need not consider only far-out areas like Marsiling. They can also look at towns such as Yishun, Tampines, or Pasir Ris, where sellers are now asking for less cash.

The HDB recently said its records for last month showed that about a quarter of the resale flats were transacted at prices not exceeding $10,000 above market valuation. These included those in more established towns such as Ang Mo Kio, Bedok, Tampines and Yishun.

Such cash-over-valuation levels of below $10,000 for flats in established towns are attractive in today's market, said Mr Cheng.

Those who do not have an urgent need for a place to live in can wait a little longer to see if they can buy a resale flat with a smaller cash sum, say some property agents. But do not expect the valuation price to fall just yet.

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:54
Monday, March 31, 2008

WASHINGTON - THE Bush administration is finalising a plan to rescue thousands of home owners facing foreclosure by helping them refinance into more affordable loans, the Washington Post said.

The proposal is aimed at assisting borrowers who owe their banks more than their homes are worth because of declining home prices, the newspaper reported in its Saturday edition, citing unnamed government officials.

If enacted, it would mark the first time the White House is committing federal dollars to help the most hard-pressed borrowers.

President George W. Bush said on Saturday that the government would expand efforts to help home owners avoid foreclosure.

The White House is 'committed to building on' its programme to help borrowers refinance mortgages, he said in a weekly radio address.

Officials are weighing measures to 'provide some additional help to some home owners', White House spokesman Tony Fratto said.

Under the plan, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) would encourage lenders to forgive a portion of these loans and issue new, smaller loans in exchange for the backing of the US government, the Post said.

Two leading Democratic lawmakers have proposed a similar programme to expand the FHA, so that it absorbs more failing mortgages once lenders have erased some of the loan amount.

Senate Banking Committee chairman Christopher Dodd and House Financial Services Committee chairman Barney Frank are expected to push their FHA plan when lawmakers return to Washington this week.

Bush administration officials have told the Post that they believe they can accomplish some of the same goals of the legislation through regulatory changes, though important details need to be nailed down.

Administration officials told the Post they opposed some aspects of Mr Frank's legislation, including a provision to spend US$10 billion (S$13.8 billion) buying vacant foreclosed homes.

The plan could dampen criticism from Democrats, who say the administration has so far been more concerned with helping Wall Street than with aiding those losing their homes in the foreclosure crisis that threatens to push the US economy into a deep recession.

But it could agitate conservatives, who might view the programme as another government bailout, the Post said.

The plan is unlikely to be unveiled before Mr Bush returns from a trip to Europe this week, officials told the paper.

REUTERS, BLOOMBERG NEWS

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:55
March 30, 2008

PROPERTY

Lower upfront demands

Let's Spoil The Forum
31-03-08, 17:56
March 31, 2008

Unregistered
31-03-08, 17:57
you 2 idiots, post your news in the general section

Unregistered
31-03-08, 17:58
you 2 idiots, post your news in the general section
administrator, please do something to these news

Unregistered
31-03-08, 18:01

Aiyah! Why you all keep arguing?

Most important thing with this WW thingy now is "Huat Ah"!

You are happier now. Agree?

Unregistered
31-03-08, 18:02

Unregistered
If the prices for the new launch WW can command such a price, how much would it benefit the projects surrounding it? Is it good to buy secondary market units or this new launch?

Unregistered

posting this only reflects what a silly and ignorant person you are. suggest you post your comments on some other forum that suits your intelligence level.

Unregistered

31-03-08, 18:03
Thanks for this low quote that u r declaring....u r really helping us, potential buyers. keep it up silly.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 18:03
This price is not impossible but i cannot imagine the state of the economy at that time.

Unregistered
31-03-08, 18:04
If it reaches 600. I will buy the whole block. Do you how much the cost to build? Land cost plus materials plus labours plus etc. It cost more than 600. Talk about inflation. Even the price of rice also increase.

Can you get for me 'mee-pok' at 10cts? That was more than 40 years ago price.

If it is the true worth, do the sum and let me see how you come out with the cost. A lot of developers will be waiting to employ you. Maybe you have a good contact that gives you very good price for the building material and maybe also free land. Be REAL!!

Yes. I support your view. Where on earth can you get 600 where the construction alone costs more than 350? The 600 dollars man must be referring to 'mee pok' at 10 cents and policemen wearing shorts fourty years. Ignore him, unless his grandfather sold him the "600".!!!!!

Unregistered
01-04-08, 17:13
Prices are still rising. How to drop to $600psf?

You must be joking right? Otherwise, you are insane.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/CNAlogo.gif
HDB and private property prices up in Q1 flash estimates
Channel NewsAsia
Tuesday, 1 April 2008, 1345 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/imagegallery/store/phpqVz7c1.jpg

Private residential property prices in Singapore rose 4.2% in the first quarter this year, according to the latest preliminary estimates from the Urban Redevelopment Authority.

The pace was slower than the 6.8% clip recorded in the fourth quarter of last year.

On a quarter on quarter basis, the biggest rise in property prices for non-landed properties came from the central districts just outside the prime postal districts of 9, 10 and 11.

Prices in these central areas (i.e. RCR) increased 7.7% in January to March, compared with the October to December period.

Properties in the prime districts of 9, 10 and 11, as well as the downtown area and Sentosa (i.e. CCR), rose 7.5% on quarter.

And those in the rest of Singapore (i.e. OCR) advanced about 7% in the first quarter from the previous three months.

The preliminary estimates are based on transaction prices given in caveats lodged during the first 10 weeks of the quarter, as well as the number of new units sold.

Meantime, the Housing and Development Board says prices of HDB resale flats rose 3.4% in the January to March period over the previous three months.

This is lower than the 5.7% increase in the fourth quarter.

Both the URA and HDB will release final figures at the end of April.

The URA said in its release, that as at 4th Quarter 2007,there are about 64,900 private residential units in the pipeline, of which about 56,100 new private housing units are expected to be completed between 2008 and 2011.

There are also some 38,300 units that have yet to be put on sale by developers.

As for the supply of government flats, the HDB said it had made available in the first quarter of this year, some 1,100 new flats in two Build-To-Order (BTO) projects in Punggol and Yishun.

It said that depending on demand, there could be another 5,000 new BTO flats in towns such as Punggol, Sengkang, Woodlands and Bukit Panjang.

The total planned BTO supply of 6,100 new flats for January till September 2008 will surpass the annual BTO flat supply in 2007 and 2006.

This new supply of flats will be in addition to those offered under Balloting Exercises for surplus replacement SERS and other flats, as well as the planned release of three Design-and-Build sites in Simei, Toa Payoh and Bedok with some 1,500 flats in the 1st half of 2008.

Unregistered
01-04-08, 20:28

I like your style. Don't forget, if FRASERS and FAR EAST will to lower their prices, it will affect the next 2 phases. In so doing, they will lose a lot of money. Do you think they want to do that!!

In short, they will tell you to 'tan ko ko'. Anyway, good try.

Unregistered
01-04-08, 20:34
$600 is too high.. $500 /sqft more likely.

Unregistered
01-04-08, 20:41
Looking at the Q1 08 price movement, £400 psf more likely.

Unregistered
01-04-08, 20:44

Yeah, they are going to give you free most likely.

Unregistered
01-04-08, 20:46

KMA. KMA. KMA. KMA. KMA.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 08:56

Thanks again for this low quote that u r declaring....u r really really helping us, potential buyers. keep it up silly!!

Unregistered
02-04-08, 09:11
400 british pounds mind you.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 12:18
400 british pounds mind you.
Wah! £400 psf means S$1,093 psf!

S$1,093 psf is a bit high at the current moment.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 13:37

If you dont understand how FAREAST doing business, i advise you to visit Lakeshore or Hillview Regency to see their true color. Don't be naive!

Unregistered
02-04-08, 13:43
If you dont understand how FAREAST doing business, i advise you to visit Lakeshore or Hillview Regency to see their true color. Don't be naive!

Yes, La Casa also can.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 16:09
Yes, La Casa also can.

...WW is to build by FCL. The next phase will be by Far East. right or wrong?

Unregistered
02-04-08, 20:37
To get both player to JV (Frasers & Far East) into these projects, they must have done their home work.I still think they will slowly and steady increase the price in due time. Those who bought this phrase will be 'reward beautifully'.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 20:56
To get both player to JV (Frasers & Far East) into these projects, they must have done their home work.I still think they will slowly and steady increase the price in due time. Those who bought this phrase will be 'reward beautifully'.
Yes, most definately, phase 1 buyers are getting the best prices.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 22:19
That is why there are still many leftovers at this project.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 22:21
Yes, most definately, phase 1 buyers are getting the best prices.

Ya Ya.. First to buy, but first to die if market crashes.

Unregistered
02-04-08, 23:53
Ya Ya.. First to buy, but first to rise if market surge.

Unregistered
03-04-08, 11:47

You sound like a OLD Lady. Buy don't buy, buy don't buy. Dare not take any risk. By the time you want to buy, others already cheong and buy. Price too high, wait for next slow down. Then next and next. Will you be around for waiting and commenting?

This slow down is a good pause and you might not get this kind of price in another few years time.

Unregistered
03-04-08, 23:11
You sound like a OLD Lady. Buy don't buy, buy don't buy. Dare not take any risk. By the time you want to buy, others already cheong and buy. Price too high, wait for next slow down. Then next and next. Will you be around for waiting and commenting?

This slow down is a good pause and you might not get this kind of price in another few years time.
shares rally!

Unregistered
04-04-08, 11:30

High risk high return. Get it ppl?

Unregistered
05-04-08, 00:38

How u know i am a old lady. you must be an agent, trying to cheat buyers..

Unregistered
05-04-08, 00:41
If its so good, how come got so many unsold unit(more than 80%)??? Why?Why?Why?Why?Why?

The reason is simply overprice, lousy layout, no amenties etc

Observer II
05-04-08, 07:21
Sentiment is quiet now and ppl are more cautious. It seems that there are still many ready buyers out there getting ready to buy when the sentiment improves.
I heard that All reservoir facing units were sold out. So looks like sales are slower for the pool view and those park facing.

Unregistered
05-04-08, 09:33
Sentiment is quiet now and ppl are more cautious. It seems that there are still many ready buyers out there getting ready to buy when the sentiment improves.
I heard that All reservoir facing units were sold out. So looks like sales are slower for the pool view and those park facing.
Jurong better. Rush there. No one will look at Bedok very soon.

Unregistered
05-04-08, 09:34
If its so good, how come got so many unsold unit(more than 80%)??? Why?Why?Why?Why?Why?

The reason is simply overprice, lousy layout, no amenties etc
Now gone all chance. Everyone rushing to Jurong. Better water there.

Unregistered
05-04-08, 10:12
Jurong better. Rush there. No one will look at Bedok very soon.
The MasterPlan 2008 will be realised next month. Other areas, e.g. Paya Lebar Business Hub, etc. will be announced too. You go buy Jurong is definitely correct but don't say other areas no good too early. Comment after seeing the plan. Agree?

Unregistered
05-04-08, 15:59
Understand that reservoir facing units are all fully sold.
Is looking at location near Seletar Reservoir or Bedok Reservoir for own stay.
Any idea when is the next phase of Reservoir facing units launching?

Thank you.

Unregistered
05-04-08, 16:16
How u know i am a old lady. you must be an agent, trying to cheat buyers..

I am NO agent. No time for that. The way you post and the way you.......tell me that you are a OLD lady. If not......you behave like ONE. This kind of style shows very very clearly the style of old lady.

hayata1972
06-04-08, 00:13
If buyers are willing to cough up up to $9xxpsf for a high floor reservoir unit there, i cannot see how stupid our buyers can be to be tricked so easily.

There definately must be something that draws buyers to pay so high don't you guys think so?

There will be a second big dip in the share market, i am waiting for it to happen because after that, the market will start to rally again. There is still a time frame for purchases, but, it is getting shorter. Brace for the rally guys!

bull after bear.
06-04-08, 15:22
If buyers are willing to cough up up to $9xxpsf for a high floor reservoir unit there, i cannot see how stupid our buyers can be to be tricked so easily.

There definately must be something that draws buyers to pay so high don't you guys think so?

There will be a second big dip in the share market, i am waiting for it to happen because after that, the market will start to rally again. There is still a time frame for purchases, but, it is getting shorter. Brace for the rally guys!
Hayata1972, you are very well informed. Yes, in fact property analysts are all waiting for the US 2nd Drop in Wall street, because after that, the share share market will start to rally and we all know what is next.

hayata1972
06-04-08, 17:48
There is nothing special in what i have said. Warren buffet has already said this sometime ago. Recently George soros has repeatly said this as well. When this 2 influential persons has said this, they are personally going to bring the market down.

Watch for the fireworks.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 17:57
The MasterPlan 2008 will be realised next month. Other areas, e.g. Paya Lebar Business Hub, etc. will be announced too. You go buy Jurong is definitely correct but don't say other areas no good too early. Comment after seeing the plan. Agree?
According to quite a few "experts" on this board the cannons are still booming. I just hope they are not confusing it with the big thuds of speculators jumping from high rises.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 19:51

Yeah, the dip is already factor in. If you are a chartist, you are looking into the 5th waves. The 4th waves corrections are what we saw when the investment Bear S. was pulling everyone into FEAR level. Having seen that, looks like all HELL has been factors in.

Just look at the recent data about employment. 80,000 (last Friday) . But DOW just drop 16 points. Why? with the result so bad, why it did not drop few hanudred points? Everyone has come to the point and acknowledge that US is already in Recession.

With interest so low, matter of time, money will starts to flow back to the equity market. In fact, story about US funds have been moving money back to Asia these few weeks. Check it out!!

Rally. Yes on the way.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 19:53
April 6, 2008

PROPERTY

7 signs of a property slowdown

Buyers seem to be gaining ground again in the private homes market but consultants say it's far from crashing yet

After rocketing to dizzying heights last year, the private homes market has stalled because of the global credit crunch - an external factor that took the market by surprise.

The withdrawal of the deferred payment scheme last year has also dampened demand somewhat.

Sales volumes and interest have fizzled out just as quickly as the market surged last year.

While many players hang on to the notion that strong fundamentals - low interest rates, for instance - will support the market, sentiment has fast melted away.

Is the property market slowing to a crawl? We examine the mounting evidence.

1 Growth in home prices weakens

The Urban Redevelopment Authority's (URA's) early estimate of first-quarter data showed a 4.2 per cent rise in private home prices against 6.8 per cent in the previous quarter and 31 per cent last year.

Consultants expect price growth to weaken. Prices, especially for high-end homes, might fall but not significantly as sellers are still reluctant to accept lower prices, said a seasoned property agent. 'There's no urgency to do so.'

2 Launches are held back

Developers have ample properties to sell but most continue to hold back launches. Some small ones have gone ahead but the response has been unimpressive.

With buyers and sellers choosing to remain on the sidelines as the global impact of a slowing United States economy remains uncertain, the market is largely quiet.

URA data showed that only 185 new private homes were sold in February, down from 328 in January. Last year, developers sold 14,811 new homes.

3 Collective sales have died down

This market is dead, for now at least, as developers stay away and new rules make it tougher for owners to sell en bloc.

So far this year, only one sale has been done compared with 26 in the first quarter of last year.

And one potential sale - that of Makeway View in Newton - was cancelled after the buyer, Bravo Building Construction, said it had found out that it would have to pay a higher-than-expected development charge.

Owners of some estates are starting to lower their price expectations.

Pinetree Condominium in Balmoral Park, for instance, was recently relaunched at a lower indicative price of $128 million - down from around $145 million last September, but still well above the 2006 price tag of $59 million.

4 Investor funds pull out or hold off

Islamic investment bank Kuwait Finance House, which agreed last December to buy 97 Goodwood Residence units for $818.4 million from GuocoLand, allowed the purchase option to lapse.

Both parties said last month that they were still in talks but did not provide clear reasons for the pullout. Industry sources had speculated that the fund's price - a record for the condo's area - was too high.

A recent DTZ Research report said some funds are holding off making investments, at least for the first half of this year, until the extent of the US slowdown and its global impact become clearer.

5 Sellers hand out discounts galore

In the resale market, sellers are getting more flexible. There are more desperate sellers in the market this year, property agents said.

Some want to sell one or two of their properties because they had bought some units under the deferred payment scheme, and payment is due in six months to a year, one agent said.

For new launches or sales of new units, some developers are also willing to give discounts when asked, while others offer stamp duty rebates to attract buyers.

6 Agents less sought after, ads dwindle

Property agents have more free time and are taking out fewer advertisements because of the poor response.

Last year, a seller's unit could be marketed by five to six agents, with the deal going to the agent who garnered the best price.

But this year, a seller might go with one agent, said HSR Property Group's executive director, Mr Eric Cheng.

On average, an ad for a reasonably priced unit could attract 12 to 15 calls last year. That is now down by half, he said. Prime, high-end homes have it worse, he added, noting that there could be no calls at all for some ads.

'I have not been advertising since Nov 15 because I could see sales volume falling,' said agent Andrew Soh.

7 Buyers toss in low bids to test the waters

Some developers have offered rather low bids in recent land tenders, which signals a slowing property market.

The Government in mid-March decided not to award a landed housing site in Jurong West as the bids were too low.

Then, the lowest bid for a Yishun condo site came in at just $95 per sq ft of potential gross floor area.

'The developers are pricing in the risks of falling prices,' said Knight Frank's director for consultancy and research, Mr Nicholas Mak.

'Given thin volume, they could also be hoping that there is no competition.'

Going forward, optimistic players are waiting for the market to regain some of its former glory in the next six months.

The pessimistic ones are prepared to ride out the whole year and possibly the next.

'If volume remains thin, there is a chance that private home prices might weaken this year, but the market is not expected to crash,' said Mr Mak.

The 8th sign is the loud thuds heard due to speculators jumping off high rises.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 19:54
SORRY AT WATERFRONTS NO THUDS ONLY SOUND OF SPLASHING WATER AS THEY JUMP INTO THE RESERVOIR.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 20:35

Have you ever wonder why Mr Mah refuses to reinstate DFS? Cos he knows that this slow down is just Only temporary. When the US issue is over in due time, the Spore properties will starts to cheong again. Let me ask you a question, do you think this smart guy who oversees the whole of Spore development do not knows what is going on?

The facts that he refuses to reinstate DFS tells us that he expects property price to shot up again. And he knows that this period is just a pause.

And please lah, this is not a stock market........speculators jumping.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 20:40
Have you ever wonder why Mr Mah refuses to reinstate DFS? Cos he knows that this slow down is just Only temporary. When the US issue is over in due time, the Spore properties will starts to cheong again. Let me ask you a question, do you think this smart guy who oversees the whole of Spore development do not knows what is going on?

The facts that he refuses to reinstate DFS tells us that he expects property price to shot up again. And he knows that this period is just a pause.

No smart guy in the world knows what is going on. If guys were smart enough it wouldn't have happened.
Only GOD knows. Mark my words.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 20:43

HAHA THE PAUSE NORMALLY LASTS FOR A FEW YEARS. WE HAD SOME'PAUSES' IN THE PAST TOO. MORON.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 20:45
Waterfront should be selling at 500psf soon.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 22:58
According to quite a few "experts" on this board the cannons are still booming. I just hope they are not confusing it with the big thuds of speculators jumping from high rises.
Another moron cock talking cork here.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 22:59
HAHA THE PAUSE NORMALLY LASTS FOR A FEW YEARS. WE HAD SOME'PAUSES' IN THE PAST TOO. MORON.
k.n.n, l.c. moron, your c.b. also has pauses.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 23:02
SORRY AT WATERFRONTS NO THUDS ONLY SOUND OF SPLASHING WATER AS THEY JUMP INTO THE RESERVOIR.
k.n.n., l.c. moron, that's the sound of your c.b. kenna f-ed. you wanna go around the forum tok cock, we will f you.

Happy Feet
06-04-08, 23:04
Waterfront should be selling at 500psf soon.
£500 psf? Good!
Now already S$930psf. Soon will be £500psf.
Yes!

Unregistered
06-04-08, 23:40
£500 psf? Good!
Now already S$930psf. Soon will be £500psf.
Yes!
Splash Splash Splash ....3 speculators just jumped in the water.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 23:41
k.n.n., l.c. moron, that's the sound of your c.b. kenna f-ed. you wanna go around the forum tok cock, we will f you.
Speculators getting pissed off at the dropping market. Its dead and buried.

Unregistered
06-04-08, 23:42
No smart guy in the world knows what is going on. If guys were smart enough it wouldn't have happened.
Only GOD knows. Mark my words.
You said it. 100% agree.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 00:02
Poor people, cannot afford to buy yet write so much.

Pls go back to your public slump and think, why u cannot afford.

Why others can and u cannot????

U are a disgrace...

Why can u and have u achieve in your life???

use u ka chin to think.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 00:05
Poor people, cannot afford to buy yet write so much.

Pls go back to your public slump and think, why u cannot afford.

Why others can and u cannot????

U are a disgrace...

Why can u and have u achieve in your life???

use u ka chin to think.

Pls dont reply to sour grapes. They will go elsewhere eventually.

These lowly and uneducated morons are not worth our attention.

They are worse than rats.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 00:10

Sour grapes are the ones vested and stuck. Bought high now market dropping. No where to run. Stuckkkkkkkkkk Ohhhhhhhhhhhh Stuckkkkkkkk.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 00:32

Pissed Pissed Pissed
Those stuck are pissed
Thought market would go up
and they could flip
But ended up getting the whip.
Ohhh pissed pissed pissed
Speculators are pissed

Unregistered
07-04-08, 01:20
Sour grapes are the ones vested and stuck. Bought high now market dropping. No where to run. Stuckkkkkkkkkk Ohhhhhhhhhhhh Stuckkkkkkkk.
Totally agree.

You think so easy to get price to increase by 42%? In their dream!

Too bad for them. Price only went up 4.2%!

ObserverII
07-04-08, 11:51
Totally agree.

Property mkt only started to pick up in mid/late 2005. Now only 1st half of 2008. Property cycle last much longer than this.
This current quiet mkt is reflecting that it is only taking a breather. Just like the stock mkt, it can't go up all the time, though maintaining its uptrend, it will bound to retreat (breather) for a period before making a new high.
If this is the case, our property mkt has been taking its breather since Nov07 and till date it is almost 6 mths of rest after 3 yrs uptrend. Based on this, it is likely property mkt will start picking up very soon and how long the next uptrend, no one knows. Watch for this phenomenom.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 12:09
Property mkt only started to pick up in mid/late 2005. Now only 1st half of 2008. Property cycle last much longer than this.
This current quiet mkt is reflecting that it is only taking a breather. Just like the stock mkt, it can't go up all the time, though maintaining its uptrend, it will bound to retreat (breather) for a period before making a new high.
If this is the case, our property mkt has been taking its breather since Nov07 and till date it is almost 6 mths of rest after 3 yrs uptrend. Based on this, it is likely property mkt will start picking up very soon and how long the next uptrend, no one knows. Watch for this phenomenom.

Please lah, don't console yourself leh, what phenomenom? take breather where got 6 mths one? Prices had been stagnant, units sold has been decreasing every month, supply will be increasing while demand not there, the signs has been showing that prices will buckle soon...

Unregistered
07-04-08, 12:14
last time ppl say bread is a cheapo stuff , will never increase one lar

Look at now what happen , prices increase , all go and buy NTUC brand!!!

Look at mixed rice , use to be 2 dollars for one meat + one vega

now lesser rice ,but min 2.20 or 2.50!!!

Even the prata i love to eat become 80 cent for one small piece

so tell me why property will drop?

ARe u ppl telling me we must eat but dun need a house to stay?

stay at longkang?

Unregistered
07-04-08, 12:20
last time ppl say bread is a cheapo stuff , will never increase one lar

Look at now what happen , prices increase , all go and buy NTUC brand!!!

Look at mixed rice , use to be 2 dollars for one meat + one vega

now lesser rice ,but min 2.20 or 2.50!!!

Even the prata i love to eat become 80 cent for one small piece

so tell me why property will drop?

ARe u ppl telling me we must eat but dun need a house to stay?

stay at longkang?

When prata goes to $10 for a small piece and rice to 25$ the we have to sell property and buy food.

hayata1972
07-04-08, 13:22
Yeah, the dip is already factor in. If you are a chartist, you are looking into the 5th waves. The 4th waves corrections are what we saw when the investment Bear S. was pulling everyone into FEAR level. Having seen that, looks like all HELL has been factors in.

Just look at the recent data about employment. 80,000 (last Friday) . But DOW just drop 16 points. Why? with the result so bad, why it did not drop few hanudred points? Everyone has come to the point and acknowledge that US is already in Recession.

With interest so low, matter of time, money will starts to flow back to the equity market. In fact, story about US funds have been moving money back to Asia these few weeks. Check it out!!

Rally. Yes on the way.

Don't say i didn't remind the bystanders around. There will be one more dip before the stocks start to rally again. When that happens, Singapore property will start to move up again. The fundamentals here are too strong this time to be ignored.

The prediction is 3-6 mths time. You have this amount of time to make a purchase. I suggest you all go hunting before the bull comes out of its cage again.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 14:04
Please lah, don't console yourself leh, what phenomenom? take breather where got 6 mths one? Prices had been stagnant, units sold has been decreasing every month, supply will be increasing while demand not there, the signs has been showing that prices will buckle soon...
What is the cause? Is it people no money to buy or people no guts to buy?

Unregistered
07-04-08, 14:45
the bull is sleeping now

so the bear take over and run around for a while

wait till the bull wake up, then it will be $$$$

then the bear will lock up for long period of time again

Unregistered
07-04-08, 16:08
Don't say i didn't remind the bystanders around. There will be one more dip before the stocks start to rally again. When that happens, Singapore property will start to move up again. The fundamentals here are too strong this time to be ignored.

The prediction is 3-6 mths time. You have this amount of time to make a purchase. I suggest you all go hunting before the bull comes out of its cage again.

Can't sell your units right, try to get others to hold so you can sell. If the stock rally again, who will bother to buy properties. Better buy more share to gain faster. Save your energy, nobody will listen to you now.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 16:26
It's all about timing and making the right decision. In 2005 I asked a foreign friend of mine to buy instead of renting. He smile at me & said that rental is cheap and he has no intention to buy. in 2006, I bought my second condo for investment & I told him again it's time to buy a property, he said he preferred to rent. Mid last year, he has decided to buy one and is looking around but find that the price is too high. Today, he is still renting and paying almost the same installment cost if he had purchased one.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 19:48

Dude. You speak like a Pure bred Moron. 10 years ago......$1500psf over at Orchard.....very expensive. Can you get one at $1500psf now! KMA Boy.

Unregistered
07-04-08, 19:56
When prata goes to $10 for a small piece and rice to 25$ the we have to sell property and buy food.

hahaha... good say

Unregistered
07-04-08, 20:00
Can't sell your units right, try to get others to hold so you can sell. If the stock rally again, who will bother to buy properties. Better buy more share to gain faster. Save your energy, nobody will listen to you now.

buy share also hold property.. gd choice

Unregistered
07-04-08, 22:14
He tell you to go hunting, you say he ask you to hold?

You are the real moron who only talk to yourself.

Unregistered
08-04-08, 12:07

From your comments, it seems like you are not so saavy or experience afterall. It seems like you are also afraid or simply no confident. That probably sums up that you are simply a crowd follower. Do you understand what it means to be a crowd follower?

Unregistered
08-04-08, 12:10
Peaked Peaked Peaked
Analysts say it has peaked
Desperate flippers get freaked
Because they realised that the news has leaked
Now on to the exits as fast as they could bolt
Beacuse no question of their units ever being sold
Mayhem all over as they rush
Fellow flippers will they crush?
Thud Thud Thud Splash Splash Splash
It is all over in a flash

Unregistered
08-04-08, 12:14
the bull is sleeping now

so the bear take over and run around for a while

wait till the bull wake up, then it will be $$$$

then the bear will lock up for long period of time again
The bull was slaughtered. Didn't you hear it? Well the beef was good...mmmmm yummy.

Unregistered
08-04-08, 12:16
Totally agree.

Analysts say private home sales have peaked

By Ng Baoying, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 07 April 2008 2347 hrs

SINGAPORE: Sales of private properties have been sliding amid a standoff between buyers and sellers, say market watchers.

In February, sales for new launches were only one tenth of the record numbers seen in August last year......................................................

Last year, property launches drew a crowd despite the extravagant price tags. But now, the market is paying for it in more ways than one. Prices are coming off their highs, leaving some buyers with significant losses........

While URA flash estimates showed private property prices increased 4.2 per cent in the first quarter, the rise was only for a handful of properties.

...................................................................................

Oh the 4.2% deceives some speculators........

Unregistered
08-04-08, 14:15
The bull was slaughtered. Didn't you hear it? Well the beef was good...mmmmm yummy.

You another crowd follower.

Unregistered
08-04-08, 17:52
40 years ago, my dad bought a landed property @ only $100,000( expensive at that time.) Now is about few millions. Do you think it is possible to drop back to $100,000?

Orchard road 10 years ago was $1,500psf.....wa lau, even Jackie Chan bought 1 unit.......price drop (everyone was laughing & commenting) ....due to some economic problems, we called it TOM-YAM crisis. Even now, can you get for me this price, $1,500psf? Fat hope!!

Come on, even stock price does not go up in a straight line. It goes zip-zap, up, down and pause and then up. Year 2007 is a good year, went up fast.....let the bull rest before it cheong again. Another few years down the road, don't be surprise this Waterfront waves sub-sale is $1,500psf.

$1,500psf......you must be thinking, don't bull-shit.
Think again........everything is getting expensive. Even if you earn $10,000 a month, what is that.....compare if your father's time earning $10,000!!

Money is getting small. Housing is a good hedge against inflation. Those who are wise and savvy........you will retire with style and NO worries.

Unregistered
08-04-08, 22:19
today i was shocked when i went to bedok

central for my fav popular mee soto,which used

to be selling at 1.50, now already increase to 2.00

!!!! that is how many percent increase?????

even the auntie know how to increase prices!!!

so property will dip ?

hahahahaha i doubt so

Unregistered
08-04-08, 22:29
40 years ago, my dad bought a landed property @ only $100,000( expensive at that time.) Now is about few millions. Do you think it is possible to drop back to $100,000?

Orchard road 10 years ago was $1,500psf.....wa lau, even Jackie Chan bought 1 unit.......price drop (everyone was laughing & commenting) ....due to some economic problems, we called it TOM-YAM crisis. Even now, can you get for me this price, $1,500psf? Fat hope!!

Come on, even stock price does not go up in a straight line. It goes zip-zap, up, down and pause and then up. Year 2007 is a good year, went up fast.....let the bull rest before it cheong again. Another few years down the road, don't be surprise this Waterfront waves sub-sale is $1,500psf.

Think again........everything is getting expensive. Even if you earn $10,000 a month, what is that.....compare if your father's time earning $10,000!!

Money is getting small. Housing is a good hedge against inflation. Those who are wise and savvy........you will retire with style and NO worries.

why must you elaborated this? there's away rich & poor people around. Cannot be all rich people and no poor mah...sign

Unregistered
09-04-08, 00:12
April 8, 2008

Fewer home loans taken up as property market cools further

By Grace Ng, Finance Correspondent

THE number of home loans taken up has fallen sharply in recent months as the property market continues to contract.

Only 4,200 new home loans were approved in January, up about 13 per cent on the 3,722 in December but down 21 per cent from the peak of 5,319 last August.

The Credit Bureau of Singapore figures also show that 2,544 second mortgages were taken up in January, a 31 per cent drop from the high of 3,698, also last August.

'We expect the growth in new mortgages to slow further this year,' said Credit Bureau general manager Mark Rowley.

Inquiries for new home loans have also dropped, down to 8,923 in February, the lowest since April 2006.

Mr Gregory Chan, OCBC Bank's head of consumer secured lending, said: 'We have observed that property buyers are becoming more cautious in their purchase decisions.'

United Overseas Bank's (UOB's) head of loans, Mr Kevin Lam, said that 'in line with property sales transactions, our loan applications were slower in January and February' but there was 'a pick-up in market activity at the end of March'.

His counterpart at HSBC Singapore, Ms Alice Chia, said the bank has 'seen a reduction in applications for new home loans, which is reflective of sentiment towards the property market'.

THERE GOES THE PROPERTY MARKET....ILL, DEAD AND BURIED. REST IN PEACE.

Unregistered
09-04-08, 00:46

This is true if you buy and keep for 40 year sure. If you have the holding power and can pay your mortagage don't even twice about buying now. Buy now and don't waste any more time.

However if you don't have confidence in servicing it, then you will better think twice. Sure you paint a rosy picture but don't forget that many people also get burnt during the last property hype. Are these people retiring in style?

Unregistered
09-04-08, 11:44
NO SIGN OF THE SPECULATORS.....THEY ARE FINISHED!!! MAD RUSH AT THE EXITS....OTHERS PLEASE AVOID THE EXITS....SPECULATORS FLEEING...WATCH OUT FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY.

Unregistered
09-04-08, 18:51
You are dead cos' can't pay the loan? Ha ha ha! So poor thing!
Nowaday, people buy with cash, fewer loans liao!

Unregistered
09-04-08, 18:52
NO SIGN OF THE SPECULATORS.....THEY ARE FINISHED!!! MAD RUSH AT THE EXITS....OTHERS PLEASE AVOID THE EXITS....SPECULATORS FLEEING...WATCH OUT FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY.
Maddog/tiger, you mad rushing to your coffin? So fast ah?
We are still safe and sound leh. Ha ha ha!

Unregistered
09-04-08, 18:52
Published April 9, 2008

Private bankers upbeat despite credit crunch

By GENEVIEVE CUA

(SINGAPORE) The world may be mired in a credit crunch, economic slowdown and rocky stock markets. But bankers catering to the well-heeled in Asia expect growth almost akin to that of last year, as they hunker down to squeeze yet more productivity out of their relationship managers.

Credit Suisse managing director and head of private banking Marcel Kreis, for instance, says revenues and assets under management have been growing by 20-30 per cent annually. 'Our Asia Pacific private banking operations have been enjoying very strong momentum and this is expected to continue in the next two years, with the objective of doubling the Asian business.'

Merrill Lynch head of global wealth management (Asia Pacific) Rahul Malhotra says the bank saw growth of 30-40 per cent in assets last year. 'I would be surprised if we didn't see those numbers this year . . . There is growth overall in Asian economies. Even with what is happening in the US, inherently we will see growth come through.'

Private banks' relatively low penetration of Asian markets presents opportunities, says Tjun Tang, Boston Consulting Group director. BCG is currently compiling data for its annual wealth survey. 'We're seeing assets sitting in private banks of less than US$1 trillion. But household wealth across Asia comes to US$16 trillion . . . Many banks are growing 20-30 per cent a year. If the underlying wealth is growing at an 8 per cent rate, there must be an increasing penetration of services.'

Market volatility, however, could impact banks' revenue streams as a substantial proportion comprises income that is transactional in nature. 'In Asia, a lot of revenues are generated through private banks selling transactional products. Now that there is less of a single directional trend, one risk is that private banking income may decline or be less stable,' says Mr Tang.

Still, he expects margins in Asia to remain healthy. 'We're still fairly bullish on Asia despite compensation levels having gone up a lot. Pre-tax margins are still in good territory.'

On the hiring front, the appetite for junior bankers appears to have abated, but almost all the banks say they are on the lookout for mature bankers with a book of business.

Nick Hughes of Fox Partnership, which specialises in placing top-level hires in wealth management, says: 'A bank may suffer sub-prime woes. But if there is a strong banker talent, he or she is an asset, regardless of the current situation.' Banks, he adds, will demand more accountability.

The firm continues to work on a number of 'interesting' projects, which includes placing Asian bankers in posts in Switzerland, for instance, to serve Asia from Europe, as well as the reverse - the hiring of European bankers for Asia.

On investments, bank strategists continue to see opportunities in emerging markets, particularly the Middle East and Latin America, and selected Asian markets. JP Morgan Private Bank chief investment strategist Ivan Leung believes regional stock markets are 'excellent long- term investments'. He singles out Thailand and Taiwan, which have underperformed Asia ex-Japan for four years, but are at the start of a domestic turnaround. Singapore and Korea are cheap, he adds, 'but will likely require some patience'.

On a 12-month view, Deutsche Bank Private Wealth Management forecasts a return of 10-16 per cent for US equities; 8-13 per cent for Euroland; and a higher 10-17 per cent for Latin America and Asian equities due to higher growth and earnings.
Stop wasting your time on the forum. The forum will not make you rich.
Have a break. Let me buy you a cup of coffee.

- Your private banker

Unregistered
09-04-08, 20:33

Hey hey hey hey. This is a property you are talking about. Not equities or future trading. In future or equities trading, I can go in and out within a min. Sell and then buy. Or buy then sell. Don't try that on property unless you are a REAL pro in flipping.

If you cannot hold for at least a few years time frame, I suggest you go and trade stocks. Property can never be ill, dead and buried. Cos, the next turning, it will even surge higher than previous. Check it out, what happened the last time.

The way you put it.......shows that you can never never grows rich. Your mind is too focus on negative aspects. Looks for GOLD, not DIRT.

Unregistered
09-04-08, 21:03
This is true if you buy and keep for 40 year sure. If you have the holding power and can pay your mortagage don't even twice about buying now. Buy now and don't waste any more time.

However if you don't have confidence in servicing it, then you will better think twice. Sure you paint a rosy picture but don't forget that many people also get burnt during the last property hype. Are these people retiring in style?

Agreed with you, make sure you can service the loan. I didn't paint a rosy pix, I am bullish cos Singapore is going thru' exciting periods if you care to understand the underlying moods hype by the 2IRs and many other ongoing projects.

Yes, many people get burnt. And also many many more made a lot of money in the last property hype. And they are retiring in style. My elder brother is a good eg. now he owns 5 bunglows. Fully paid. His group of frends too were doing equally well.

I knew of 1 banker who were holding 3 landed properties when the market turn down during the last crisis, about 10 years ago. He has to sell at a great lost. On the other hand, much much earlier he made tons and tons of money flipping propeties. In the end, he still makes money. But he tends to highlight about the 3 landed propeties he got burnt.

Anyway, do be careful. Buying property is a BIG item. Buy within your means.

Unregistered
10-04-08, 12:51
Agreed with you, make sure you can service the loan. I didn't paint a rosy pix, I am bullish cos Singapore is going thru' exciting periods if you care to understand the underlying moods hype by the 2IRs and many other ongoing projects.

Yes, many people get burnt. And also many many more made a lot of money in the last property hype. And they are retiring in style. My elder brother is a good eg. now he owns 5 bunglows. Fully paid. His group of frends too were doing equally well.

I knew of 1 banker who were holding 3 landed properties when the market turn down during the last crisis, about 10 years ago. He has to sell at a great lost. On the other hand, much much earlier he made tons and tons of money flipping propeties. In the end, he still makes money. But he tends to highlight about the 3 landed propeties he got burnt.

Anyway, do be careful. Buying property is a BIG item. Buy within your means.
Why are you bullish?
Is it because the economy is doing well?

http://www.afp.com/english/home/imgs/logo.gif
Singapore's GDP Rebounds By 16.9% In Q1
MAS moves to curb inflation as growth rebounds
Agence France-Presse
Singapore
Thursday, 10 April 2008

Singapore's central bank unexpectedly further tightened monetary policy on Thursday, pushing the Singapore dollar to a record high against the U.S. dollar, in a move aimed at keeping a lid on soaring prices.

Singapore's economy grew at an annualised, seasonally adjusted rate of 16.9% in the first quarter, beating economists' expectations, government data showed on Thursday, after a surprise 4.8% contraction in the fourth quarter of 2007.

The data beat a median forecast from economists polled by Reuters for growth of 11.5% because of a recovery in pharmaceutical and electronics manufacturing.

"The GDP figures were stronger than what the market had predicted and that gave the Monetary Authority confidence to tighten the policy," said Joseph Tan, an economist at Fortis.

"Strength of GDP quarter-on-quarter came from domestic sources. Where we go from here is a step in time approach but the one-up shift of the band, as opposed to the steepening of the Singapore dollar, shows that MAS recognises inflation is an imminent danger."

The Monetary Authority of Singapore conducts policy through the exchange rate, steering the Singapore dollar within a secret trade-weighted band against a basket of currencies, rather than by adjusting interest rates.

Growth Support

"Against backdrop of continuing external and domestic cost pressures, an upward shift of the policy band at this point will help to moderate inflation going forward, while providing support for sustainable growth in the economy," the central bank said in a twice-yearly monetary policy statement.

"MAS will therefore re-centre the exchange rate policy band at the prevailing level of the S$NEER. There will be no change to the slope or width of the policy band."

The Singapore dollar hit a record high, up 0.9% on the news to 1.3683 per U.S. dollar. The currency has gained around 5% this year.

Ten out of the 12 economists polled by Reuters had expected the MAS to refrain from tightening monetary policy due to concerns about slower economic growth.

The other two had expected the MAS to tighten policy to fight inflation, which stood at 6.5% in February. In January it hit 6.6%, the highest since March 1982.

The MAS said it expected inflation in the upper half of its 4.5% to 5.5% forecast range this year.

Singapore is one of the first Asian countries to report GDP data each quarter. The health of its exports is seen by analysts as a barometer of demand for Asian goods.

Despite concern about slower global growth, most central banks in Asia have refrained from easing monetary policy due to high inflation.

Some analysts said a stronger Singapore dollar would further cut demand for the island's exports by making them more expensive at a time when demand in the key U.S. market is weakening.

They also said a stronger Singapore dollar may not be as effective as before in reining in inflation because domestic factors such as a tight labour market, high wages and elevated property prices were factors as well.

The MAS tightened policy slightly at its last meeting in October as asset prices spiralled higher.

Singapore's economic growth is largely fuelled by manufacturing of products such as electronics, pharmaceuticals and oil rigs. However, the economy also relies increasingly on tourism, financial services and construction.

Unregistered
10-04-08, 16:41
There's a new freehold Upp East Coast condo asking about the same price as Wasterfront Waves. Good luck.

Unregistered
10-04-08, 17:49
There's a new freehold Upp East Coast condo asking about the same price as Wasterfront Waves. Good luck.

You mean they have reservoir there also ha.
Come on, Upper East Coast and East coast drive /ave /etc or even Siglap are totally different. Don't confuse others. Of course price will be different. Upper East Coast are consider same as Waterfront area....or that stretch. But no view lar.

Unregistered
10-04-08, 17:59

Which project???

Unregistered
11-04-08, 12:44
beautiful n peaceful surroundings

Unregistered
11-04-08, 19:23
Which project???

My agent, told me about it. You can call him at 92993342 if you are keen

Unregistered
11-04-08, 19:45
My agent, told me about it. You can call him at 92993342 if you are keen

Breeze by the East.From 855 psf.

hayata1972
14-04-08, 17:31
The prices at waterfront waves are holding steady. April transactions are starting to be reflected. $838psf for a 1593 sqft unit has been transacted.
Proves that the location is premium.

joyce501
14-04-08, 21:48
You mean they have reservoir there also ha.
Come on, Upper East Coast and East coast drive /ave /etc or even Siglap are totally different. Don't confuse others. Of course price will be different. Upper East Coast are consider same as Waterfront area....or that stretch. But no view lar.

:confused: A bit difficult to compare as one (WW) has view, but the other (Breeze) is freehold.

jt88
15-04-08, 09:50
also must take into consideration that maintenance fees in 5-storey apartments likely to be much higher than mass development. but breeze is nearer to amenities - I love Siglap.. so yuppy..

Teana
15-04-08, 14:38
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of March 2008

Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 14 ............................. 913 ............... 806 ............... 713

hayata1972
17-04-08, 00:42
$806 median price for waterfront wave in March08'. Good news for waterfront waves owners.

hayata1972
17-04-08, 09:09
Source: www.gov.sg (http://www.gov.sg/)

SPEECH BY MR RAYMOND LIM, MINISTER FOR TRANSPORT AND SECOND MINISTER FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS

AT LAND TRANSPORT DURING COMMITTEE OF SUPPLY DEBATE, 9 MARCH 2007, 3.30 PM AT PARLIAMENT

An Excerpt

Expanding our Rail Network
We have set ourselves a target of raising the public transport share of all morning peak hour trips from the current 63% to at least 70% by 2020.
To achieve this, it is important that we increase the density of our rail network.
In most major cities that have a high public transport modal share such as London, New York and Tokyo, the rail network ¨C density and frequency ¨C plays a critical role as it is the most competitive alternative to the car, in terms of speed, reliability and comfort.
We see this too in Singapore. Commuters surveyed in LTA¡¯s 2006 Public Transport Customer Satisfaction Survey gave the thumbs-up for the MRT. 94% of users surveyed were satisfied with MRT services.
It scored well in critical attributes such as travel time (94% were satisfied), reliability (93%) and station accessibility (93%).
Looking ahead, and this is in answer to Liang Eng Hwa, expanding our MRT network is a key plank of our strategy to improve public transport journey times, to close the gap with private transport.
So what can Singaporeans look forward to?
The Circle Line will open from 2010 onwards, improving connectivity and reducing travel times. From Bishan to Peya Lebar, 30 minutes now.
When the Circle Line is up and running, 17 minutes. For Bishan residents, an exciting night out at Holland Village will be less than 20 minutes away, while a lovely evening stroll at the Botanic Gardens is just two stops away from Bishan Station.
The Circle Line will also help to spice up our city life by connecting people and places. For example, sports fans will be glad to know that after watching their favourite football team at the new Sports Hub, they can if they wish to do so take a train ride from the Stadium Station to Mountbatten Station to have supper at Old Airport Road.
Beyond this, the LTA is completing its feasibility studies for a new 33-station Downtown Line that will link the eastern and north western corridors to the Marina Bay.
When the Downtown Line is up, residents in Bukit Panjang, Bukit Timah, Bedok Reservoir and Macpherson can take the train to see the bright lights of the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort.
A trip from Bukit Panjang to the city centre that now takes 60 minutes will be shortened by one-third. A resident in the Bedok Reservoir area will no longer need to take a feeder bus to Bedok Central to catch a train into the CBD. The Downtown Line will connect his home in the heartlands directly to the Marina Bay. Beyond the Downtown Line, we are identifying other possible rail lines and extensions required to support Singapore¡¯s development to 2020 and beyond.
As part of our long-term planning for a future Singapore of 6.5 million population, we expect that we will need to at least double our current rail network of 138 km for a 50% increase in population. That means putting in the equivalent of at least 7 North-east Lines.
Our expansion plans will bring the MRT to areas that are currently not well-served, enhance connectivity, reduce travel time, and relieve congestion on heavily-used MRT routes.
Full Text of Speech

DTL 3 to be brought forward by 2 years

The Minister also announced that Stage 3 of the Downtown Line (DTL) will now be completed two years earlier - from 2018 to 2016 - to benefit residents of Bedok Reservoir and Tampines.

And another time he said this...

Source: www.gov.sg (http://www.gov.sg/) Media Release Mar 2007

URA
15-05-08, 23:35
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of April 2008

Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 1 ............................... 909 ............... 909 ............... 909

Unregistered123
16-05-08, 17:08
We told clients and investors to sell all Singapore holdings (property, stocks and everything else) in June 2007. We determined that prices would never, ever be higher and were predicting a 15% drop in pricing by March 2008 and 25% drop by June 2008.

Rationale was simple and not rocket science.

#1. There was no demand for housing when the boom started.
The vacancy rates on existing housing were above New York, London, Hong Kong, Tokyo and other major urban market levels. A Singapore property boom made no sense at all.

#2. Singapore GDP...nice impressive numbers. But the growth was 99% construction related. There is no economic growth when the construction boom ends and those numbers are subtracted from the total.

#3. The existing luxury housing vacancy levels in Singapore were adequate to fill the needs of Singaporeans and any possible influx of new senior executives for the next 5 years. Thus, there was no demand for executive luxury housing in the market.

#4. Value for money on Singapore property for foreign investors is not good when compared to other projected growth economies. (Several factors are weighed including psf, quality of workmanship, size of economy, projected growth of economy, lifestyle and culture of the market.)

#4. The targeted future population numbers of Singapore are pie in the sky and completely without substance. Singaporeans are not having kids and the demand for jobs in Singapore will be service led lower paying jobs to supply the planned tourism developments. None of these new inhabitants will be buying or renting condo's, especially in the high-end. And tourists visit, they don't buy or rent.

#5. Singapore is not a supply/demand driven economy. It is a small, managed economy. Thus, the property development plans were lofty, risky, and not based on future real supply/demand realities.

#6. There is a lack of real, transparent, objective information available in the Singapore market about the Singapore market. This leads to investors’ belief in hype and speculation rather than economic principles.

#7. Global money supplies and markets are taking a beating and will continue to take a beating. The second call on the sub prime products happens this June so more big losses are expected. This will stall or even damage the Singapore economy.

We expect distress sales in the property market to start soon. The high-end rental market is non-existent and the higher % of all unit sales were high-end investment property, speculator driven.
These buyers need "wealthy" renters to subsidize the million dollar mortgages. Most locals cannot afford the rents the market is demanding.
Surveys of multinational companies and banks have indicated that there is no boat-load of expats with a big housing allowance arriving at the Singapore port anytime soon. The new owner is now stuck with 100% of a very expensive monthly mortgage.

Here is an example of one major high-end development I'm following to prove the point. These are some very telling numbers.
600+ units launched
20+ remaining at $2,000 per square foot via the developer.
100+ units previously sold are now for sale privately less than 7 months after launch for $1,300 to $1,600 per square foot.
The reason...no rental income.
That tells me that property owners are willing to admit that market prices are down 25%+ already. Unfortunately, even at a 25% discount, there are no buyers.

Existing Singapore residents are keeping the rental market buoyant due to the fact they sold their old places and are waiting for the prices to drop...OR...waiting for their new unit to be completed. These people are relatively small in overall numbers and definitely not going to rent high end luxury units. They are driving HDB, middle priced housing rents up right now. They are also demanding 12 month leases or even less if they can get it proving that they are waiting to move or sitting on the sidelines waiting for prices to drop.

The Singapore property market is massively oversupplied today and more units are on the way. This is not good. This is should be extremely troublesome to anyone who owns property anywhere in that market. The potential valuation losses in the property market could be enormous, especially at the high-end. Overall prices could sink well below SARS levels and this could happen within 6 months to a year.

The short lived property boom was very much like a pyramid scheme.
It was all hype and no substance.
The first guys in are now smoking big cigars.
The last guys in are now left holding the ashtray.

Unreg¡stered
16-05-08, 17:58
We told clients and investors to sell all Singapore holdings (property, stocks and everything else) in June 2007. We determined that prices would never, ever be higher and were predicting a 15% drop in pricing by March 2008 and 25% drop by June 2008.

Interesting article, I wonder which company is behind this, maybe credit suisse,anyway its all nice and easy to say this now when the property market is in a period of consolidation,the 15% drop has not been realised yet, URA data showed prices were up on the whole for the first quarter and as for furher 25% drop by next month, I am in the market and I know prices are no where close to that, because there are buyers out there that would have grabbed it otherwise, lots of buyers around testing the market, so far very few are succesful as sellers are holding esp if the unit is a good one,

Property and stocks are two different investments altogether, within a condo or housing dev. there are so many types of units and it suits people differently, unlike stocks that are uniform,For example in Seaview Condo, you could get a low, mid or high floor unit and can be further divided into those that get morning or afternoon sun and further divided into what views it has, then there is the layout etc etc.

My point is that these statistics work well for stocks and similar investments, not for real estate,

Just because a unit in the development is sold for 600 psf does not mean the whole condo will be priced as such, that unit could be on a low floor and facing a busy road with afternoon sun, so does that mean your unit which is on the high floor with unblocked sea view and no afternoon sun has depreciated, I beg to differ, prices of real estate in Singapore is reflective of the quality and surrounding environment, and that is what we are paying for,

With construction prices heading up new developments will only cost more making existing ones more affordable and room to appreciate further...

My humble two cents...
All the above predictions did not materialised at all.
The report/analysis is a complete failure.

I wonder why Unregistered123 post a faulty report here?

Baywater Supporter
26-05-08, 17:05
It seems such a big hoo-hah... on Waterfront Wave leh...
1) Price so high
2) Hall so small and balcony too big.
3) I have seen baywater....it seems so much better in terms of layout.
4) Baywater is ready don't have to wait...
5) Why wait for 2 years when you have something ready now.
6) Baywater can get 1.2 million high floor facing reservoir view also what.

Can anyone give me a reason why i should not choose baywater over waterfront wave?

Unregistered......
26-05-08, 17:35
because you are obviously a baywater owner trying to talk up the price.

RTY
26-05-08, 22:34
$806 median price for waterfront wave in March08'. Good news for waterfront waves owners.

Median prices is not a true reflective of the market lah..........

Baywater Supporter
27-05-08, 09:25
No way... i am talking up price of Baywater leh...
I am using logic over emotions.

I buy baywater now. I rent it out for 2 years....... i can get 5K X 24 months = 120K.

Come 2010, i am 120K richer. I sell Baywater...buy Waterfront can right.
Maybe economy go down

great
27-05-08, 09:32

I buy baywater now. I rent it out for 2 years....... i can get 5K X 24 months = 120K.

Maybe economy go down
Hahaha, what a good argument you put up with.

Unregistered.
27-05-08, 09:38

Maybe economy go down
Are you sure your such tiny estate can rent out at 5K? a year???! so no convinent, so noisy - don't forget, you have to either face PIE, or these 2 main roads, Fei Shui no good leh. Who want to stay? who want to buy?

LogicMan
27-05-08, 12:59
Seeing is believing....

Waterfront Wave havent built yet.
Based on Experience... you buy now....later when house is built...
chialat.....hall to small.. room to small.. etc
What you see is not what you get!!!
The showflat quite deceiving leh......

But with Baywater at hand now... you physically see the flat... you can start living....ok maybe not 5K per month.rent ....at least 4K per month can get right....

A lot of conflicting information...people talking about fengshui....and then people talking about new school United World College...got a lot of ang moh will want to stay....Ang moh....normally dont take fengshui into account...also what...

So best bet is to get something ready...rent it out...wait for WW to be ready...if good then buy... at least you earn 2 years from Baywater rent already.....Somemore got Waterfront Key coming up in 6 months... market going down..

use logic...not emotions...

Unregistered123
27-05-08, 18:41
http://property.zaobao.com/pages5/private080417.shtml

URA
18-06-08, 12:34
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of May 2008

Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 21 ............................. 903 ............... 767 ............... 712

Unregistered1
18-06-08, 12:57
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of May 2008

Waterfront Waves . OCR ....... 21 ............................. 903 ............... 767 ............... 712

Baywater.
Year 2008:
Avg Price=$ 818,250
Avg PSF =$ 562
Total Sold=4

Year 2007:
Avg Price=$ 675,556
Avg PSF =$ 503
Total Sold=31

Year 2006:
Avg Price=$ 650,205
Avg PSF =$ 471
Total Sold=64

Unregistered1
18-06-08, 12:59
Year 2008:
Avg Price=$ 771,467
Avg PSF =$ 601
Total Sold=15

Year 2007:
Avg Price=$ 587,394
Avg PSF =$ 514
Total Sold=59

Year 2006:
Avg Price=$ 482,519
Avg PSF =$ 434
Total Sold=31

Year 2005:
Avg Price=$ 484,524
Avg PSF =$ 414
Total Sold=21

Year 2004:
Avg Price=$ 506,400
Avg PSF =$ 431
Total Sold=14

Year 2003:
Avg Price=$ 592,333
Avg PSF =$ 449
Total Sold=15

Year 2002:
Avg Price=$ 609,413
Avg PSF =$ 473
Total Sold=38

Year 1999-2001:
Avg price=$ 663,059
Avg PSF =$ 562
Total Sold=323

Unregistered1
18-06-08, 13:02
Year 2008:
Avg Price=$ 704,222
Avg PSF =$ 611
Total Sold=9

Year 2007:
Avg Price=$ 687,605
Avg PSF =$ 515
Total Sold=43

Year 2006:
Avg Price=$ 538,316
Avg PSF =$ 426
Total Sold=19

Year 2005:
Avg Price=$ 540,333
Avg PSF =$ 417
Total Sold=9

Year 2004:
Avg Price=$ 546,429
Avg PSF =$ 430
Total Sold=7

Year 2003:
Avg Price=$ 573,000
Avg PSF =$ 432
Total Sold=4

Year 2002:
Avg Price=$ 648,000
Avg PSF =$ 416
Total Sold=21

Year 1999-2001:
Avg price=$ 729,793
Avg PSF =$ 564
Total Sold=251

ABC123
18-06-08, 13:17
Year 2008:
Avg Price=$ 704,222
Avg PSF =$ 611
Total Sold=9

Year 2007:
Avg Price=$ 687,605
Avg PSF =$ 515
Total Sold=43

Year 2006:
Avg Price=$ 538,316
Avg PSF =$ 426
Total Sold=19

Year 2005:
Avg Price=$ 540,333
Avg PSF =$ 417
Total Sold=9

Year 2004:
Avg Price=$ 546,429
Avg PSF =$ 430
Total Sold=7

Year 2003:
Avg Price=$ 573,000
Avg PSF =$ 432
Total Sold=4

Year 2002:
Avg Price=$ 648,000
Avg PSF =$ 416
Total Sold=21

Year 1999-2001:
Avg price=$ 729,793
Avg PSF =$ 564
Total Sold=251

Just as scheduled, URA has just invited developers to submit bids for the 3.2ha site, just beside The Tropica. Interest is expected to generate alot of interest.
The site is well connected to major arterial roads and expressways such as Tampines Expressway and the Pan Island Expressway. The Tampines MRT station and bus interchange, which is located in close proximity to the sale site, will provide convenient access to all parts of the island.
Near to Hitech wafer Park Industry yet not too close.
View of Bedok Reservior yet no busy/noisy road as compared to the opposite bank of the Reservoir.....

BeR
19-06-08, 00:25
Just as scheduled, URA has just invited developers to submit bids for the 3.2ha site, just beside The Tropica. Interest is expected to generate alot of interest.
The site is well connected to major arterial roads and expressways such as Tampines Expressway and the Pan Island Expressway. The Tampines MRT station and bus interchange, which is located in close proximity to the sale site, will provide convenient access to all parts of the island.
Near to Hitech wafer Park Industry yet not too close.
View of Bedok Reservior yet no busy/noisy road as compared to the opposite bank of the Reservoir.....

Yes totally agree but it is D18 though. The other side of the bank is also getting very bad with the roads...alamak look at the construction and it will be jammed once the exit is up. already now roadworks everywhere. haha sometimes i think the longvale estate is the best leh... they can privatize that.... all the way in quite, have food, shop and no traffice no noise. But i stay at clearwater.. still happy lucky not at bay or acq. WW is over priced project but good for us... let it be. Will wait till people dump it before TOP and it is TOP in the awaited year of 2010.... also the layout is bad hall so small eat and watch TV at same place like a squatter. Which Squatter paid 900 plus to squat?

Unregistered 34
29-06-08, 21:07
I just viewed the showroom (quite quiet now, not many people.. got teabreak buffet somemore) actually the agents said that the development only 45% sold.. wah lau, launched so long still now only 45% sold??

Quoted prices were $730psf.. (I asked for median price range and it's about $750 psf)

I still think it's not worth it cause;
1) not worth paying $1 Million for a 99 yr leasehold..
2) freehold apartments / condos going for the same price at east coast..
3) apartment finishing nothing spectular..

Only thing that pulls this condo project is the view.. that's the only selling point.. other than that.. It's basically crap.

kal
29-06-08, 21:16
personal point of view, bedok reservoir area is a bit cramp, narrow roads, not so convenient, WW is ex, Baywater area too small/cramp, Clearwater/Aquarius a bit old already........ PERSONAL POINT OF VIEW only ok....

Passerby
29-06-08, 21:22
I just viewed the showroom (quite quiet now, not many people.. got teabreak buffet somemore) actually the agents said that the development only 45% sold.. wah lau, launched so long still now only 45% sold??

Quoted prices were $730psf.. (I asked for median price range and it's about $750 psf)

Only thing that pulls this condo project is the view.. that's the only selling point.. other than that.. It's basically crap.

I believe at these prices... the units are non reservoir facing....

Location not so fantastic.... ok only.

To add on.... if the nearby sites launch the new condo... I bet prices will come down... i.e. its location not so niche....

I think the Bishan project wld be better... if got more money... Dakota will be best

Unregistered123
30-06-08, 11:25
I believe at these prices... the units are non reservoir facing....

Location not so fantastic.... ok only.

To add on.... if the nearby sites launch the new condo... I bet prices will come down... i.e. its location not so niche....

I think the Bishan project wld be better... if got more money... Dakota will be best

Bishan project average at $750 psf, Dakota at $976 psf...

------ From other thread-------
Encouraging sales indicative of improving home buying sentiment
Encouraging sales at recent project launches to boost June sales. We
understand from City Development management that around 15 out of the 77
units in the recent soft launch of the Shelford Suites project near the upcoming Botanic Gardens MRT have been sold at ASP around S$1500-1600 psf. Earlier, according to The Business Times, Sim Lian Group has sold around 100 units at its 99-year leasehold Clover By The Park condo last week out of the 308 units launched at an ASP of S$750 psf. Since the launch of Dakota Residences last Friday, Ho Bee has sold 95 units in the project at ASP of $976 psf. The sales of the 210 units in these three projects alone will boost the Jun sales numbers.

Watch out for the upcoming launch of City Development’s Livia project.
City Developments plans to launch 200 out of 724 units in the phase 1 of its Livia project at Pasir Ris Drive 1 this coming weekend. The units in the mass market project are expected to be priced at around S$650 psf. The pricing is attractive and expected to set a new benchmark of future launches in that area. The Livia project will be the first major project launch in recent months by a large cap developer in the mass-market segment. The sales in the project will serve as a barometer to test the home buying sentiment and to set the tone for the forthcoming launches for the other large cap developers.
The encouraging sales this month is expected to maintain the sales momentum that gathered pace last month. A good sales performance next month as well could act as a catalyst to revive the overall home buying sentiment.

Water Lover
30-06-08, 23:39

Like the reservoir just across the road. Bought one unit immediately on my first visit. Can't wait to bring my childresn there for sport activities and jogging. Maybe made the wrong choice. For those price conscious maybe should wait for better one with good view, cheap and good location....cheers..

Unreg¡stered
01-07-08, 14:35
Bishan project average at $750 psf, Dakota at $976 psf...

------ From other thread-------
Encouraging sales indicative of improving home buying sentiment
Encouraging sales at recent project launches to boost June sales. We
understand from City Development management that around 15 out of the 77
units in the recent soft launch of the Shelford Suites project near the upcoming Botanic Gardens MRT have been sold at ASP around S$1500-1600 psf. Earlier, according to The Business Times, Sim Lian Group has sold around 100 units at its 99-year leasehold Clover By The Park condo last week out of the 308 units launched at an ASP of S$750 psf. Since the launch of Dakota Residences last Friday, Ho Bee has sold 95 units in the project at ASP of $976 psf. The sales of the 210 units in these three projects alone will boost the Jun sales numbers.

Watch out for the upcoming launch of City Development’s Livia project.
City Developments plans to launch 200 out of 724 units in the phase 1 of its Livia project at Pasir Ris Drive 1 this coming weekend. The units in the mass market project are expected to be priced at around S$650 psf. The pricing is attractive and expected to set a new benchmark of future launches in that area. The Livia project will be the first major project launch in recent months by a large cap developer in the mass-market segment. The sales in the project will serve as a barometer to test the home buying sentiment and to set the tone for the forthcoming launches for the other large cap developers.
The encouraging sales this month is expected to maintain the sales momentum that gathered pace last month. A good sales performance next month as well could act as a catalyst to revive the overall home buying sentiment.
Everything got up and down one.

Market came down in Q4 '07.
It is now going up from Q2 '08.

Just a cycle. No big deal. Quite normal.

Published June 27, 2008

Ho Bee's robust sales prompt more launches

SOME developers are riding on the pick-up in home-buying mood created by Ho Bee's Dakota Residences preview last week to launch their own projects.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2008-06-27/BT_IMAGES_CRCLOVER27.jpg
Upbeat: Sim Lian Grp has sold about 100 units of the Clover By The Park condo since its Wednesday preview

Mainboard-listed Sim Lian Group, for one, has sold about 100 units of its Clover By The Park condo at Bishan St 22 since it began previewing the development on Wednesday at an average price of $750 psf.

Next to Kovan MRT Station, an outfit controlled by UOB-Kay Hian star stockbroker pair Han Seng Juan and David Loh Kim Kang is getting ready to release its 512-unit condo, according to industry sources.

BT understands that Centurion Kovan, which is developing the project, plans to preview the condo soon to 'remisier friends' of Messrs Han and Loh. There are also plans to preview the condo overseas, including China. The average price is expected to be in the $850-900 psf range.

The duo bought the 189,812 sq ft site at a state tender in October last year for around $436 psf per plot ratio.

Over in Bishan, Sim Lian is developing two 39-storey blocks with a total of 616 units for the Clover By The Park condo. The first phase released earlier this week comprises one tower with 308 units. It is near good schools like Catholic High (within 1 km), Ai Tong Primary School and Raffles Institution. 'Clover By The Park features three-bedroom and four-bedroom units to luxurious penthouses and suites of six bedrooms,' Sim Lian said in a release yesterday.

Ho Bee has sold 95 units at Dakota Residences since last Friday. The average price is $976 psf. All three projects are 99-year leasehold.

Quiet showflat
01-07-08, 14:44
Just wait a few mths and Dakota and Bishan showflat will also be quiet. By then everyone will flock to the newest kid on the block. When Waterfront first launched, it was also the "star" development with fairly crowded showroom :)

Agent
01-07-08, 14:46
Heard that there's 4 marketing agents for WFW (DW, ERA, HSR, PN). So desperate to sell. Why not drop the price so that they can sell faster?

Agent
01-07-08, 14:52
Why not buy Livia over at Pasir Ris where you get both convenience & lifestyle living. WFW lacks what Livia have in terms of location, amenities, lifestyle & Livia is priced about the same (avg $700psf) as WFW (avg $750psf). Better think before buying WFW. For those who bought WFW, good luck to you!

dakoda sucks.
01-07-08, 19:11
Just wait a few mths and Dakota and Bishan showflat will also be quiet. By then everyone will flock to the newest kid on the block. When Waterfront first launched, it was also the "star" development with fairly crowded showroom :)
100% correct! In fact those that bought Dakoda will die an even horrible death... surrounded by hdb, somemore 1 and 2 room flat, imagine to rent out to foreigners that look around the cheapo, crapo surroundings..... Daylight robbery.

Buyer88
01-07-08, 20:30
100% correct! In fact those that bought Dakoda will die an even horrible death... surrounded by hdb, somemore 1 and 2 room flat, imagine to rent out to foreigners that look around the cheapo, crapo surroundings..... Daylight robbery.

Think you're being elitist. I drive a BMW and stay private house... I don't even say such words.

I think
01-07-08, 20:47

I think this person stays in the SIT flats...

kal
01-07-08, 22:04

Although i don really fancy this project but aiyo, why curse ppl horrible death.... tat shows how wicked n evil n horrrrribllleee character u r !! wat a shame of u

Unregistered00
01-07-08, 22:11
Although i don really fancy this project but aiyo, why curse ppl horrible death.... tat shows how wicked n evil n horrrrribllleee character u r !! wat a shame of u
That person refers to Dakoda and not Dakota Residences. Dakoda, I am not sure where that is.... only he knows. :)

toaler
01-07-08, 22:47
Why not buy Livia over at Pasir Ris where you get both convenience & lifestyle living. WFW lacks what Livia have in terms of location, amenities, lifestyle & Livia is priced about the same (avg $700psf) as WFW (avg $750psf). Better think before buying WFW. For those who bought WFW, good luck to you!

can pull my hair out commuting between town and bedok everyday by car. to live at pasir ris is a driver's nightmare.

Acer
02-07-08, 14:18

stay in 1 or 2 room flat, does not turn them robber

poor does not mean they are bad person

Good luck
02-07-08, 15:22

Don't be so mean to those that are less fortunate than you. Don't forget that your ancestors also go through hardship and work hard to bring you up and make you what you are today. Spare some thoughts for the less fortunate and you could become a better person. Good luck.

wfw
03-07-08, 01:36
Lastest news for WFW buyers. 866psf just hit again for a reservoir view unit.

idiot
03-07-08, 01:48
When the recession this year-end hit you see if your unit can even ask for 86psf. You go jump into the reservoir.

Fúck You
05-07-08, 00:09
When the recession this year-end hit you see if your unit can even ask for 86psf. You go jump into the reservoir.
Fúck you asshole! Why curse others to jump into the reservior when they did not offend you? Go fúck yourself in the river, idiot!

Buyer88
05-07-08, 08:36

New units re-launched at lower prices...

Think the market is riding on Dakota pricing strategy... pricing below the original target of 1100 psf..to boost sales.

Unreg¡stered
05-07-08, 17:04
New units re-launched at lower prices...

Think the market is riding on Dakota pricing strategy... pricing below the original target of 1100 psf..to boost sales.
Swee! Cheong liao!

Smarian.
06-07-08, 07:29
The Price war has begun

Waterfront Waves new release from $694 psf Straits Times July 5th

Check URA transaction Average more than $800 psf, Apr 08 $909 psf

Waterfront Waves owners will not be pleased.....

Lily
06-07-08, 10:23
The Price war has begun

Waterfront Waves new release from $694 psf Straits Times July 5th

Check URA transaction Average more than $800 psf, Apr 08 $909 psf

Waterfront Waves owners will not be pleased.....
That is bad for early buyers but good for buyers now.... or possibility of different finishing by units...?

Waterfront BUT NO WAVES
12-07-08, 18:48
That is bad for early buyers but good for buyers now.... or possibility of different finishing by units...?

Looks like the crowd of property browsers had left this project to LIVIA and others liao.............
Waterfront is not making any waves already. How longer can the developer hold on to launching the rest of the projects (5 years, 10 years?). These are 99 LH.

SeriousBuyer
12-07-08, 20:09
Looks like the crowd of property browsers had left this project to LIVIA and others liao.............
Waterfront is not making any waves already. How longer can the developer hold on to launching the rest of the projects (5 years, 10 years?). These are 99 LH.

Love it... but nearby condo transacting much lower... can understand why the crowd left for other condo... Clover... Livia... so much cheaper...

AgentKhoo
12-07-08, 21:46
Love it... but nearby condo transacting much lower... can understand why the crowd left for other condo... Clover... Livia... so much cheaper...

Buy Dakota Residences! Very good! Very cheap! Near city! Near entertainment and good food! Got MRT!

Miss Ling
12-07-08, 21:52
Buy Dakota Residences! Very good! Very cheap! Near city! Near entertainment and good food! Got MRT!
The Dakota Residences showroom was packed today and the agent told me 10 units sold today. Anyway, this thread is about WW.... I like the project too, good developer.

Miss Ling
12-07-08, 22:26
I am a real loser who do not know the good value of Dakota Residences. Please forgive me.

Passerby
13-07-08, 20:51
I am a real loser who do not know the good value of Dakota Residences. Please forgive me.

Visited a friend near Waterfront... pass by the showroom...very quiet.......

Unregistered007
13-07-08, 22:24
Visited a friend near Waterfront... pass by the showroom...very quiet.......

You should go to Dakota. At first glance, every impressive, so many cars parked outside the showroom. Then it dawned on us that actually these were the agents' cars. Agents far outnumber the small number of visitors today.

Unreg¡stered
14-07-08, 00:39
You should go to Dakota. At first glance, every impressive, so many cars parked outside the showroom. Then it dawned on us that actually these were the agents' cars. Agents far outnumber the small number of visitors today.
I was there on Sunday afternoon 4pm. Quite a big crowd.

I illegally parked in a reserved lot. (Is that lot for an agent?)