View Full Version : Luxury home market fares worst in 2013

reporter2
06-01-14, 16:03
http://www.straitstimes.com/archive/friday/premium/top-the-news/story/luxury-home-market-fares-worst-2013-20140103

Luxury home market fares worst in 2013

Published on Jan 03, 2014

By Cheryl Ong

PROPERTY prices in prime districts ended the year stuck in the doldrums, leaving luxury housing as the worst performing segment of 2013.

Luxury home prices fell by 2.1 per cent last year - reversing the 0.8 per cent rise recorded in 2012.

The decline has been slow and steady and began in the second quarter, when city-centre prices fell 0.2 per cent from the first three months of the year.

They fell again - down 0.3 per cent - in the third quarter and dropped a far steeper 2.2 per cent for the three months to Dec 31, according to Urban Redevelopment Authority flash estimates yesterday.

Although prices of city-centre homes have been under pressure since the global financial crisis, property consultants attributed the 2013 decline to competitive pricing at new launches and cooling measures.

It was a different story in the city fringes, where prices rose 0.3 per cent last year, although that was modest compared with the 1.6 per cent increase in 2012 from 2011.

Suburban prices registered the steepest increase at 6.8 per cent last year over the preceding year, slightly up from the 6.5 per cent in 2012 over 2011.

Knight Frank research head Alice Tan said the additional buyer's stamp duty (ABSD) implemented in January last year has made investors think twice about buying property.

The duty - 5 per cent for permanent residents (PRs) buying their first home and 7 per cent for Singaporeans buying their second - has had a pronounced impact on the luxury home market, which has been buoyed by investor demand, said Mr Nicholas Mak, research head of SLP International.

Cautious buyers are now investing in foreign property or cheaper suburban homes.

Tighter lending guidelines have also made it tougher for buyers to afford pricier properties, which are typically found in the city centre, said Century21 chief executive Ku Swee Yong.

Developers have reduced selling prices of city-centre properties in response, causing a dip in prices, said Ms Chia Siew Chuin, director of research and advisory at Colliers International.

At Duo Residences in Bugis, 600 units were sold at a median price of $1,999 per sq ft (psf) in November, markedly lower than other city-centre projects, where median prices ranged from $2,500 to $3,000 psf.

Ms Tan expects city-centre prices to continue to slide this year given that there are still about 10,500 unsold units on the market.

And developers will still have to adjust selling prices, amid the cautious sentiments caused by the ABSD and lending curbs, she said.

06-01-14, 21:38
http://www.straitstimes.com/archive/friday/premium/top-the-news/story/luxury-home-market-fares-worst-2013-20140103

Luxury home market fares worst in 2013

Published on Jan 03, 2014

By Cheryl Ong

PROPERTY prices in prime districts ended the year stuck in the doldrums, leaving luxury housing as the worst performing segment of 2013.

Luxury home prices fell by 2.1 per cent last year - reversing the 0.8 per cent rise recorded in 2012.

The decline has been slow and steady and began in the second quarter, when city-centre prices fell 0.2 per cent from the first three months of the year.

They fell again - down 0.3 per cent - in the third quarter and dropped a far steeper 2.2 per cent for the three months to Dec 31, according to Urban Redevelopment Authority flash estimates yesterday.

Although prices of city-centre homes have been under pressure since the global financial crisis, property consultants attributed the 2013 decline to competitive pricing at new launches and cooling measures.

It was a different story in the city fringes, where prices rose 0.3 per cent last year, although that was modest compared with the 1.6 per cent increase in 2012 from 2011.

Suburban prices registered the steepest increase at 6.8 per cent last year over the preceding year, slightly up from the 6.5 per cent in 2012 over 2011.

Knight Frank research head Alice Tan said the additional buyer's stamp duty (ABSD) implemented in January last year has made investors think twice about buying property.

The duty - 5 per cent for permanent residents (PRs) buying their first home and 7 per cent for Singaporeans buying their second - has had a pronounced impact on the luxury home market, which has been buoyed by investor demand, said Mr Nicholas Mak, research head of SLP International.

Cautious buyers are now investing in foreign property or cheaper suburban homes.

Tighter lending guidelines have also made it tougher for buyers to afford pricier properties, which are typically found in the city centre, said Century21 chief executive Ku Swee Yong.

Developers have reduced selling prices of city-centre properties in response, causing a dip in prices, said Ms Chia Siew Chuin, director of research and advisory at Colliers International.

At Duo Residences in Bugis, 600 units were sold at a median price of $1,999 per sq ft (psf) in November, markedly lower than other city-centre projects, where median prices ranged from $2,500 to $3,000 psf.

Ms Tan expects city-centre prices to continue to slide this year given that there are still about 10,500 unsold units on the market.

And developers will still have to adjust selling prices, amid the cautious sentiments caused by the ABSD and lending curbs, she said.

I hope this teaches a lesson to CCR lovers and owners to listen to naysayers instead of throwing vulgarities at them, and burying their heads in the sand like ostriches. These include teddybear, HP65, and a whole bunch of others. We took abuses from you but we are able to look back and say "I told you so."

What has happened to CCR properties was exactly what I and many others predicted in 2007 and 2008. We were prescient.

06-01-14, 21:44
I hope this teach a lesson to CCR lovers and owners to listen to naysayers instead of throwing vulgarities to them, and burying their heads in the sand. These include teddybear, HP65, and a whole bunch of others.

For the genuinely well heeled, losing a few hundred Ks here or there, it would really matter much because they can easily make it back within a year.

The worst hit will be those half past six type who are desperately clinging on to their property located at the wrong side of CCR.

06-01-14, 21:53
For the genuinely well heeled, losing a few hundred Ks here or there, it would really matter much because they can easily make it back within a year.

The worst hit will be those half past six type who are desperately clinging on to their property located at the wrong side of CCR.

The former are mainland Chinese with ill gotten money who bought properties to lauder their money. The latter are Singaproeans who were stupid enough to follow the Chinese's lead.

My wife's friend from China bought 4 properties at Orchard on on visit. Now all under water.

k00L
07-01-14, 13:02
Are you predicting similar fate happening in few years time to those new OCR launch sold at up to 40% premium above neighbouring resale condo?

I hope this teaches a lesson to CCR lovers and owners to listen to naysayers instead of throwing vulgarities at them, and burying their heads in the sand like ostriches. These include teddybear, HP65, and a whole bunch of others. We took abuses from you but we are able to look back and say "I told you so."

What has happened to CCR properties was exactly what I and many others predicted in 2007 and 2008. We were prescient.

07-01-14, 14:54
Are you predicting similar fate happening in few years time to those new OCR launch sold at up to 40% premium above neighbouring resale condo?

In CCR the price disparity could be as high as 300% premium above neighboring resale.

Are you barking at the wrong tree?

07-01-14, 15:53
I am predicting that by 2019, those OCR like J Gateway that are priced significantly above surrounding estates will fall below $1300 psf (or about -25%)... :o

07-01-14, 15:59
I am predicting that by 2019, those OCR like J Gateway that are priced significantly above surrounding estates will fall below $1300 psf (or about -25%)... :o

BCA and AVA moving into JEM office tower
Westgate Office Tower TOP
Big Box TOP
Announcement of High Speed Rail station at JLD.

NTF and Jurong Community Hospital TOP
Genting Hotel TOP
Announcement of Jurong Region Line
Tender open for commercial JLD site

Sim Lian office tower TOP
J Gateway TOP
Tender release for themepark/IR in JLD

Award tender for themepark/IR
construction for new science center and theme park will commence

Masterplan 2018 release...and the rest is history

Cupcakes
07-01-14, 16:02

LOL. duno why i suddenly hate this project. J Gateway !!!!!! :D

07-01-14, 16:13
All these doesn't matter.
For so many more billions $ poured into Marina Bay, much more than JLD (in today's terms), it didn't stop "The Sail" selling price to drop to $9xx psf!
J Gateway didn't drop to $9xx psf you should already laughing all the way to the bank....... :p

BCA and AVA moving into JEM office tower
Westgate Office Tower TOP
Big Box TOP
Announcement of High Speed Rail station at JLD.

NTF and Jurong Community Hospital TOP
Genting Hotel TOP
Announcement of Jurong Region Line
Tender open for commercial JLD site

Sim Lian office tower TOP
J Gateway TOP
Tender release for themepark/IR in JLD

Award tender for themepark/IR
construction for new science center and theme park will commence

Masterplan 2018 release...and the rest is history

07-01-14, 16:51
For so many more billions $ poured into Marina Bay, much more than JLD (in today's terms), it didn't stop "The Sail" selling price to drop to $9xx psf!
J Gateway didn't drop to $9xx psf you should already laughing all the way to the bank....... :p

All these doesnt matter because they are like grapes out of your reach. All you need to do is to convince yourself those the grapes are sour..

07-01-14, 17:52
Well well, if people want to continue to have wishful thinking, by all means continue to do so.......
I am just quoting what has happened previously and history is likely to repeat itself for J Gateway (just like "The Sail").............................. :scared-3:
Or you are able to tell us what is so different about J Gateway in JLD that will not repeat the history of "The Sail" in Marina Bay? :p

All these doesnt matter because they are like grapes out of your reach. All you need to do is to convince yourself those the grapes are sour..

Originally Posted by teddybear View Post
J Gateway didn't drop to $9xx psf you should already laughing all the way to the bank.......

07-01-14, 18:04
Well well, if people want to continue to have wishful thinking, by all means continue to do so.......
I am just quoting what has happened previously and history is likely to repeat itself for J Gateway (just like "The Sail").............................. :scared-3:
Or you are able to tell us what is so different about J Gateway in JLD that will not repeat the history of "The Sail" in Marina Bay? :p

J Gateway didn't drop to $9xx psf you should already laughing all the way to the bank.......

The last time you were comparing Paterson Residence to J Gateway, not The Sail.

Looks like J Gateway is going to break the 2000psf barrier when it TOP liao..:D

07-01-14, 20:53
Obviously, if Paterson Residence is selling at only a slight premium to J Gateway, anybody with the right sense of mind will know which to buy (unless the person's pocket has not enough money because the absolute quantum for any unit in Paterson Residence is BIG while J Gateway is so much smaller despite the small difference in $PSF)...
I expect the fair $PSF for Paterson Residence should be about 2.5-3x that of J Gateway... :2cents:

The last time you were comparing Paterson Residence to J Gateway, not The Sail.

Looks like J Gateway is going to break the 2000psf barrier when it TOP liao..:D

08-01-14, 08:04
Obviously, if Paterson Residence is selling at only a slight premium to J Gateway, anybody with the right sense of mind will know which to buy (unless the person's pocket has not enough money because the absolute quantum for any unit in Paterson Residence is BIG while J Gateway is so much smaller despite the small difference in $PSF)...
I expect the fair $PSF for Paterson Residence should be about 2.5-3x that of J Gateway... :2cents:

while i would love to live around paterson hill, don't have that much money to do so.

08-01-14, 09:12

Here you go again, mocking at poor people.

08-01-14, 10:09

Don't worry we all.know he is not rich. Just pretending to be

08-01-14, 13:40
Which part of my statement is "mocking at poor people"?
I am merely stating a fact - have means have, don't have means don't have.
Otherwise all the newspapers worldwide including The Straits Times telling us the 100 richest people in Asia or 500 richest people in the world and what private jet, private yacht, castle house they have must be mocking the rest of us people for being "poor" right? :doh:

I expect the fair $PSF for Paterson Residence should be about 2.5-3x that of J Gateway...

08-01-14, 14:52
Ok guys question for you

What should be the price difference between these projects

1. Dleedon vs Panorama
2. Duo vs Yishun Integrated Development
3. The Sail vs J Gateway
4. The Metz / Grange Infinite vs those condo at Potong Pasir?

0.5x? 1.0x? 2.0x? 3.0x?

08-01-14, 14:58
Ok guys question for you

1. Dleedon vs Panorama
3. The Sail vs J Gateway

0.5x? 1.0x? 2.0x? 3.0x?

the sail $3499psf, J Gateway $1700psf

08-01-14, 19:49
You are talking about 2007 peak price for "The Sail" at $3499psf and peak price for "J Gateway at $1700psf?" :tongue3:

Otherwise I check past 1 year transactions for "The Sail" and I don't see any transaction more than $3000 psf? :doh:

Project Name
Street Name
Type
Postal
District
Market
Segment
Tenure
No. of
Units
Price
($ '000)
Area
(Sqft)1

Type of
Area2

Floor Level
Unit Price
($psf)3

Date of Option
Exercised / Sales
Agreement Signed
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,700,000 893 Strata 51 to 55 1,903 Dec-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,380,000 657 Strata 36 to 40 2,102 Nov-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,275,000 624 Strata 06 to 10 2,042 Oct-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,498,000 883 Strata 11 to 15 2,830 Oct-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 3,450,000 1,313 Strata 56 to 60 2,627 Sep-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,280,000 667 Strata 11 to 15 1,918 Sep-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,360,000 667 Strata 21 to 25 2,038 Aug-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,370,000 614 Strata 61 to 65 2,233 Aug-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,360,000 657 Strata 41 to 45 2,071 Jul-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,400,000 614 Strata 46 to 50 2,282 Jul-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,825,000 893 Strata 61 to 65 2,043 Jun-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,340,000 667 Strata 01 to 05 2,008 Jun-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,650,000 861 Strata 11 to 15 1,916 May-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,000,000 689 Strata 36 to 40 2,903 Apr-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 4,056,000 1,647 Strata 06 to 10 2,463 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 4,100,000 1,647 Strata 16 to 20 2,490 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,350,000 657 Strata 11 to 15 2,056 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,380,000 667 Strata 31 to 35 2,068 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 12,500,000 6,297 Strata 66 to 70 1,985 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,700,000 1,184 Strata 11 to 15 2,280 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 5,680,000 2,282 Strata 36 to 40 2,489 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,450,000 667 Strata 51 to 55 2,173 Jan-13

the sail $3499psf, J Gateway $1700psf

08-01-14, 19:53
go check squarefoot.com.sg, and they will show you the peak price of the sail was $3499psf, if the frog in the well dont believe then write to them lor.

08-01-14, 19:57
So you are telling us to believe a commercial company who get their data from govt statutory board URA instead of URA website where I get my below data from? :doh:
May be you should go and ask why squarefoot.com.sg give you wrong data? :rolleyes:

go check squarefoot.com.sg, and they will show you the peak price of the sail was $3499psf, if the frog in the well dont believe then write to them lor.

You are talking about 2007 peak price for "The Sail" at $3499psf and peak price for "J Gateway at $1700psf?" :tongue3:

Otherwise I check past 1 year transactions for "The Sail" and I don't see any transaction more than $3000 psf? :doh:

Project Name
Street Name
Type
Postal
District
Market
Segment
Tenure
No. of
Units
Price
($ '000)
Area
(Sqft)1

Type of
Area2

Floor Level
Unit Price
($psf)3

Date of Option
Exercised / Sales
Agreement Signed
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,700,000 893 Strata 51 to 55 1,903 Dec-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,380,000 657 Strata 36 to 40 2,102 Nov-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,275,000 624 Strata 06 to 10 2,042 Oct-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,498,000 883 Strata 11 to 15 2,830 Oct-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 3,450,000 1,313 Strata 56 to 60 2,627 Sep-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,280,000 667 Strata 11 to 15 1,918 Sep-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,360,000 667 Strata 21 to 25 2,038 Aug-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,370,000 614 Strata 61 to 65 2,233 Aug-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,360,000 657 Strata 41 to 45 2,071 Jul-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,400,000 614 Strata 46 to 50 2,282 Jul-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,825,000 893 Strata 61 to 65 2,043 Jun-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,340,000 667 Strata 01 to 05 2,008 Jun-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,650,000 861 Strata 11 to 15 1,916 May-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,000,000 689 Strata 36 to 40 2,903 Apr-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 4,056,000 1,647 Strata 06 to 10 2,463 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 4,100,000 1,647 Strata 16 to 20 2,490 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,350,000 657 Strata 11 to 15 2,056 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,380,000 667 Strata 31 to 35 2,068 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 12,500,000 6,297 Strata 66 to 70 1,985 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 2,700,000 1,184 Strata 11 to 15 2,280 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 5,680,000 2,282 Strata 36 to 40 2,489 Jan-13
THE SAIL @ MARINA BAY MARINA BOULEVARD Apartment 01 CCR 99 yrs lease commencing from 2002 1 1,450,000 667 Strata 51 to 55 2,173 Jan-13

08-01-14, 20:13
So you are telling us to believe a commercial company who get their data from govt statutory board URA instead of URA website where I get my below data from? :doh:
May be you should go and ask why squarefoot.com.sg give you wrong data? :rolleyes:

no, I am telling this frog in the well that if you wish to compare the 2 projects, best is to compare the peak price of both instead of cherry picking data for your own amusement.

08-01-14, 20:18
Why compare peak price hah?
I want to buy now, obviously I look at the price transacted for "The Sail" for the past few months.
Similarly, if you want to buy J Gateway now, you look at the price transacted for "J Gateway" for the past few months.

Now, you are telling us to look at the PEAK PRICE when you want to buy NOW?
No wonder you pay peak price of $1700 psf for J Gateway!
Sorry, I don't pay PEAK PRICE that happened more than 6 years ago, NOW I am only willing to pay a price close the recent transacted price! :rolleyes:

no, I am telling this frog in the well that if you wish to compare the 2 projects, best is to compare the peak price of both instead of cherry picking data for your own amusement.

08-01-14, 20:22
Ok guys question for you

1. Dleedon vs Panorama
3. The Sail vs J Gateway

0.5x? 1.0x? 2.0x? 3.0x?

sky a part leh…

like compare european car and jap car

08-01-14, 20:25
Why compare peak price hah?
I want to buy now, obviously I look at the price transacted for "The Sail" for the past few months.
Similarly, if you want to buy J Gateway now, you look at the price transacted for "J Gateway" for the past few months.

Now, you are telling us to look at the PEAK PRICE when you want to buy NOW?
No wonder you pay peak price of $1700 psf for J Gateway!
Sorry, I don't pay PEAK PRICE that happened more than 6 years ago, NOW I am only willing to pay a price close the recent transacted price! :rolleyes:

Stop all your nonsensical jiao wei lah. J Gateway is SOLD OUT...

If the property is not for sale, how are you expecting to see transaction price at URA site?