View Full Version : What else can we do in terms of property investment in 2014?

Royston8H
18-01-14, 21:10
Property prices are sky high and signs of dropping are getting more.
Will welcome your views in the singapore property market trend.

18-01-14, 22:16

11 post at counting within one day. You must be a lao JIAO wearing new clothe in this forum.

Royston8H
19-01-14, 00:05
No lah...it is really my first time posting though i read this forum posting before.

:p. Sometimes can learn from seniors like you:rolleyes:

11 post at counting within one day. You must be a lao JIAO wearing new clothe in this forum.

19-01-14, 06:25
After 15 April 2014, Singapore property will cheong/rocket like nobody's business. Good Luck.

19-01-14, 06:59
What is the good news then? :D
After 15 April 2014, Singapore property will cheong/rocket like nobody's business. Good Luck.

JNSYN
19-01-14, 08:19

Ask your mentor Wendy and share with us lah.....
Why come here to get idea for your blog or maybe mentor????.

Royston8H
19-01-14, 09:26
Hey BlackJack21Trader,

Your comment is interesting. Can help to shed a light about this good news?

Royston8H
19-01-14, 09:36
Yes, i learnt from Wendy Kwek (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/wendy-kwek/) about property investment. Before that, i thought i can be on my own in property investment and i never realise how powerful is the leverage of a big property investor network and opportunities are just lying around us. I should have learnt from her when i met her many years back. Learning is never endless anyway.

This forum will have a lot of clues about private condo. Start to monitor the trend of local private condo market development.

I am quite happy to know from a blog post asking for comments about the 5 yrs dbs loan package @1.88% FIXED yesterday. This is quite a new home loan package only known to me from that blog post yesterday. haha, I learnt something too and i am serious to consider re-finance in this coming July if the package still exist.

Ask your mentor Wendy and share with us lah.....
Why come here to get idea for your blog or maybe mentor????.

19-01-14, 17:26

bro BJ, I have already cheong in, waiting for the rocket to cheong and you bringing us the good news : ) : )

SQ008
19-01-14, 17:33
bro BJ, I have already cheong in, waiting for the rocket to cheong and you bringing us the good news : ) : )

me to. doubt it will happen with all the falling prices.

19-01-14, 18:03
I did a google for 15th April 2014 and the first entry is "The Total Lunar Eclipse". Is that going to make our properties cheong??!!! :)p

19-01-14, 19:21
nowadays it is a game of which country is more rotten :hell-hath-no-fury:

Royston8H
19-01-14, 20:10
Both local cooling measures TDSR (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/tdsr-total-debt-servicing-ratio) and ABSD seem creating serious impact to the current property trend. We should see such impact becomes more obvious from this Q1 2014.

Unless government decides to remove such impactful cooling measures, i cant really not thinking a little pessimistic in 2014. How high can the URA property price index (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/ura-property-price-index) Singapore goes?

19-01-14, 20:27
Property market most likely may crash in 2014 (unless govt do something)! :p

Both local cooling measures TDSR (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/tdsr-total-debt-servicing-ratio) and ABSD seem creating serious impact to the current property trend. We should see such impact becomes more obvious from this Q1 2014.

Unless government decides to remove such impactful cooling measures, i cant really not thinking a little pessimistic in 2014. How high can the URA property price index (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/ura-property-price-index) Singapore goes?

Royston8H
19-01-14, 20:49
Hmm...dont think it will crash in 2014...but downward Singapore property market (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/category/singapore-property-market) trend is very likely.

I would think the crash may be in 2016 for the fact that the supply of both newly completed public housing units and private condos will be huge in 2015 and market cannot digest in time.

Patrickstar
19-01-14, 21:09
I think developers suffer more from tdsr than absd what you think?

Property market most likely may crash in 2014 (unless govt do something)! :p

Royston8H
19-01-14, 21:15
Ya, i do fully agree your point. Developers will suffer badly by this TDSR especially those who are launching new projects in 2014-2015. For those developers who are going to complete their projects in 2014-2015, they are very heng because these developments probably already sold during last two year peaks

19-01-14, 21:17
Developers no suffer lah, just build smaller and smaller MMs that small people can digest, also still can build retirement homes that can build super mini MMs but young people can also buy.............. :doh:
Gov is biggest gainer from ABSD, SSD, property tax changes! :o

I think developers suffer more from tdsr than absd what you think?

Royston8H
19-01-14, 21:21
haha...true also...just like the case of the hillford...

19-01-14, 21:26

if that is the scenario looming in the near future, price softened will be a good news for those eyeing to buy 99LH...99LH price drops , those shorter LH like 60 yrs will be a challenge,...unless price also drops not proportionally but exponentially to be attractive...LOL:D

Patrickstar
19-01-14, 23:39
When developers exhaust the supply of carrotheads, they have to find new ways of creating new carrotheads :D

Developers no suffer lah, just build smaller and smaller MMs that small people can digest, also still can build retirement homes that can build super mini MMs but young people can also buy.............. :doh:
Gov is biggest gainer from ABSD, SSD, property tax changes! :o

20-01-14, 02:29
When developers exhaust the supply of carrotheads, they have to find new ways of creating new carrotheads :D

would you consider those who purchase GCBs in 2012/13 as carrotheads ?

after all in 2007 I almost bought one myself ... at only 800 psf ...

last 2 yrs GCBs were going at 1500 to 2000 psf ... are they carrot heads ?

EBD
20-01-14, 08:47

I can't speak for patrickstar - but I think if you bought back then - really smart move. I rebought down in RV in mid 2009 , so like you have heaps of buffer.

WWIII would need to break out to put you in negative equity.

It's the folks buying now with all the cooling measures in place and so many warnings from govt but yet still paying record highs that could be in real danger of getting stuck.

Kiasu mentality is key driver here. I guess they don't believe Khaw when he tell them to wait a while as he continues to take the pressure out of the system.

Sadly - the developers seem to be able to come up with new ways of skirting around the measures - latest gimmick is retirement village or whatever they call it on 60 year LH - yet young couples are not restricted from buying it for their own stay.

If you bought directly from a developer in 2013 at a severe premium psf to neighbouring projects - I think that would definitely make you a carrothead.
So being in the market at the moment to me doesn't make you a carrothead.
All about when you entered I guess.

20-01-14, 09:46

Sadly - the developers seem to be able to come up with new ways of skirting around the measures - latest gimmick is retirement village or whatever they call it on 60 year LH - yet young couples are not restricted from buying it for their own stay.

i would like to point out that it is URA that is providing the ways and means for developers to skirt the measures for minimum size for units, carparks, 60year LH etc.

http://forums.condosingapore.com/showpost.php?p=457468&postcount=55
links given, can crosscheck the facts.

Royston8H
20-01-14, 12:20
Agreed that buying price is the key to make money n not when selling it. Risk reward ratio is not really that attractive.

I can't speak for patrickstar - but I think if you bought back then - really smart move. I rebought down in RV in mid 2009 , so like you have heaps of buffer.

WWIII would need to break out to put you in negative equity.

It's the folks buying now with all the cooling measures in place and so many warnings from govt but yet still paying record highs that could be in real danger of getting stuck.

Kiasu mentality is key driver here. I guess they don't believe Khaw when he tell them to wait a while as he continues to take the pressure out of the system.

If you bought directly from a developer in 2013 at a severe premium psf to neighbouring projects - I think that would definitely make you a carrothead.
So being in the market at the moment to me doesn't make you a carrothead.
All about when you entered I guess.

20-01-14, 12:25
Every time you buy, either the buyer or seller is the "carrot head"...

if anyone can 100% know the exact time the property will cheong or crash, he is definitely not human =)

EBD
20-01-14, 12:47
Every time you buy, either the buyer or seller is the "carrot head"...

if anyone can 100% know the exact time the property will cheong or crash, he is definitely not human =)

True - but there are always indicators to tell you if you are over paying or getting value.

Some people just don't know how to analyse & prefer the sweet sweet talk of the professional salesman. :D

20-01-14, 12:49

GCBs cannot be mentioned in the same breadth along with condos. I believe you would know this too - they appeal to the ultra rich, who aren't really carrot heads (or are really gigantic carrot heads with ultra deep pockets)

Patrickstar
20-01-14, 15:48
To the rich spending money is a lifestyle. I have witnessed people placing sgd80k in one single bet at casino n when they lose that hand, they just continue playing with no qualms. These are the same rich people that pay whatever for a gcb without batting an eyelid. They don't bother making money from property price movements but from their multimillion dollar businesses. Property bought for own stay to them is meant for enjoyment, not as a means to make money.

20-01-14, 17:12
To the rich spending money is a lifestyle. I have witnessed people placing sgd80k in one single bet at casino n when they lose that hand, they just continue playing with no qualms. These are the same rich people that pay whatever for a gcb without batting an eyelid. They don't bother making money from property price movements but from their multimillion dollar businesses. Property bought for own stay to them is meant for enjoyment, not as a means to make money.

I really have to agree with you..... When you have a couple of hundred millions in the bank an earning 5% per year in low risk assets, property becomes a hobby and collectors items...

When I visited clermont show flat, the agent told me those who bought it knows it's expensive, but they like it so they buy....

Just like hermes bags..... everyone knows it's expensive and overpriced, but they still buy it so that during dinners and cocktail events they can show it off, just like property, they Wil, announced that they have collected another limited edition blah blah blah property

20-01-14, 17:25
I really have to agree with you..... When you have a couple of hundred millions in the bank an earning 5% per year in low risk assets, property becomes a hobby and collectors items...

When I visited clermont show flat, the agent told me those who bought it knows it's expensive, but they like it so they buy....

Just like hermes bags..... everyone knows it's expensive and overpriced, but they still buy it so that during dinners and cocktail events they can show it off, just like property, they Wil, announced that they have collected another limited edition blah blah blah property

GCB buyers are highly geared too so is majority of the millionaire because most millionaire get rich by knowing how to borrow cheap money to make money, not save or keep money to get rich.

20-01-14, 17:29
GCBs cannot be mentioned in the same breadth along with condos. I believe you would know this too - they appeal to the ultra rich, who aren't really carrot heads (or are really gigantic carrot heads with ultra deep pockets)

So when rich people buying something over priced, they are not carrothead, so when your neighbour bought something over priced he is carrothead?

Just because you choose to bootlick your boss that doesnt mean we need to follow you.

Perhaps you are misguided by sougrape head syndrome?

20-01-14, 18:13
GCB buyers are highly geared too so is majority of the millionaire because most millionaire get rich by knowing how to borrow cheap money to make money, not save or keep money to get rich.

Not true..... As people become multi millionaire, it will be wealth preservation first....

If you already have 300m, why take more risks for another 100m? Up to a certain level, you know you will never be able to finish spending your money, so no need to take extreme risks anymore....

300m x 5% equal 15m a year in interest, take risk for what Ah?

I am not saying there will not be this that are looking for even more money and take risk, but I am very very very sure the big majority will not take big risks

MGM
20-01-14, 18:35
me to. doubt it will happen with all the falling prices.

Can try commercial property investment instead of residential since commercial is less restrictive at this moment?

Wunderkind
20-01-14, 18:48
If the govt want to cool the market , you can't fight it. Go with the flow. Traffic light is red. So you stop for a while until the light turns green again. If you dash out , you will have to pay the fine . Be careful u dun crash when y beat the red light.

20-01-14, 18:50
Not true..... As people become multi millionaire, it will be wealth preservation first....

If you already have 300m, why take more risks for another 100m? Up to a certain level, you know you will never be able to finish spending your money, so no need to take extreme risks anymore....

300m x 5% equal 15m a year in interest, take risk for what Ah?

I am not saying there will not be this that are looking for even more money and take risk, but I am very very very sure the big majority will not take big risks

Let me tell you what is true.

If a millionaire is worth $100m, that doesnt mean he has got $100m of hard cash sitting in the bank doing nothing, the $100m he is worth are most likely to be the value of the companies, investment, assets he own, not cash. And majority of his wealth could easily be wipe out if his business or investment fail and thats the reason why nett worth of HNWI or UHNWI could rise and fall so quickly.

As for rich buying GCBs, the richer you are the smarter you are in leveraging because your ability to borrow is an asset and thats a privilege and entitlement for being rich. And if you dont borrow money to make money, you will never get rich.

k00L
20-01-14, 19:09

If a millionaire is worth $100m, that doesnt mean he has got $100m of hard cash sitting in the bank doing nothing, the $100m he is worth are most likely to be the value of the companies, investment, assets he own, not cash. And majority of his wealth could easily be wipe out if his business or investment fail and thats the reason why nett worth of HNWI or UHNWI could rise and fall so quickly.

As for rich buying GCBs, the richer you are the smarter you are in leveraging because your ability to borrow is an asset and thats a privilege and entitlement for being rich. And if you dont borrow money to make money, you will never get rich.

Seriously do you know any GCB owners? They may have wealth invested in yield-earning assets but that doesnt mean they are leveraged.

Every year, about 200 GCBs are bought < number of new UHNWI individuals pte bank accounts in Singapore

20-01-14, 19:29

hhhmmm

seriously I thought millionaires are those who have CASH of over a million ...

assets not counted leh ...

I remember reading somewhere...

even I have 2 fully paid properties ... each worth over a million ...but I have < 1 million cash in bank acc ... I am still not considered a millionaire leh ...

although citigold people treat me very well lah

20-01-14, 19:30
Seriously do you know any GCB owners? They may have wealth invested in yield-earning assets but that doesnt mean they are leveraged.

Every year, about 200 GCBs are bought < number of new UHNWI individuals pte bank accounts in Singapore

200 gcb transaction a year? You obviously know a lot more than anyone here.

Have you found a playground to hangout yet?

20-01-14, 19:52
Millionaires are those have at least a million in asset (houses other than those they live) + cash, etc. so you should be a millionaire if you have achieved it.
hhhmmm

even I have 2 fully paid properties ... each worth over a million ...but I have < 1 million cash in bank acc ... I am still not considered a millionaire leh ...

20-01-14, 19:53
hhhmmm

1 million worth of cash in the bank is not uncommon among HNWI. My post was replying to CCR saying if you have $300m, why take risk, just collect 5% interest is good enough.

Firstly no one in their right mind will keep $300m cash to collect interest and no businessman will stop being a businessman just because he has got more than enough to spend for the next generation as there is always risk in making business and investment decision.

Royston8H
20-01-14, 20:28
If we have one million cash at bank now, what else will you invest now?

i would think that even if I have this amount of cash at bank, it still doesnt make sense to throw such "liquid cash" to buy private properties at this juncture.

20-01-14, 21:09
Can try commercial property investment instead of residential since commercial is less restrictive at this moment?

agents on the ground said that a lot of investors cross over to commercial already since CM at residential started to bite...

but again recent TDSR bites both ways(that is why rumour (remember Rumour only)saying some CMs might be removed which reason given is TDSR is more than enough)...

Having say that, compare to residential, commercial is still better environment as CMs not that much at this moment...

if you are gg commercial don't go too small such as those below 100sqft although low quantum but high in psf...:) and avoid those far fetched place by all means...

20-01-14, 21:29
No need to argue anymore!
The fengshui queen, lynn yap, has spoken.

she says to stay in cash!
sell your porperties for lesser profit in 2014 instead of losing more after.
2019 will be a year similar to 2009 when properties will go up up up.

you can read her fengshui in the latest ebook by propertyguru

20-01-14, 21:34
No need to argue anymore!
The fengshui queen, lynn yap, has spoken.

she says to stay in cash!
sell your porperties for lesser profit in 2014 instead of losing more after.
2019 will be a year similar to 2009 when properties will go up up up.

you can read her fengshui in the latest ebook by propertyguru

than mai tu liao (dont wait already)...quickly go and sell all your properties and rent one...and sit on the tumb peow (toilet bowl) counting on the days when the crash come and hump tump...and don't forget to spend a million dollar on her fengshui mascot so she can huat first than yr turn will come....LOL :D:D

Royston8H
20-01-14, 22:10
Fengshui really work quite well for me though it costs a bomb. But not the lynn yap lah....i went for the one started since 1986....

20-01-14, 22:24
than mai tu liao (dont wait already)...quickly go and sell all your properties and rent one...and sit on the tumb peow (toilet bowl) counting on the days when the crash come and hump tump...and don't forget to spend a million dollar on her fengshui mascot so she can huat first than yr turn will come....LOL :D:D

LOL. Just sharing.

20-01-14, 22:30
Make sure property price drop more than 15%, or else not worth it to sell....

3% Buyer stamp duty
5% rental for one year to two years
1-2% agent commission
5% reno cost for new place.

Total 15%....

Never count moving cost, time, effort

If drop 25% like in the global financial crisis then only make 10% nett....

If got 2nd property of course can try to time the market, but market must at least drop 10 to 12% too.....

20 property only make 200k nett if market drop 25%.....

Who plan to sell and wait for prices to Drop? Care To share?

20-01-14, 22:35
1 million worth of cash in the bank is not uncommon among HNWI. My post was replying to CCR saying if you have $300m, why take risk, just collect 5% interest is good enough.

Firstly no one in their right mind will keep $300m cash to collect interest and no businessman will stop being a businessman just because he has got more than enough to spend for the next generation as there is always risk in making business and investment decision.

2 of my friends stay in GCB... Their father owns the place not them....

they each have 2 GCB. One has another 2 condos and the other one has 3 condos....

All GCB fully paid, only the investment Condo has some loan which the rental more than cover.....

I know for a Fact! They do not over leverage, they have Arrived! No need to leverage if time. When I mentioned 5% of course I don't mean putting money in the bank, I mean a mix of binds and shares and reits.... and conservatively the earn 5%, where got money in bank earn 5% One!

You must learn to be less arrogant when you post and reply.... or else will make many people dislike you.... it's always good to share and learn from each other....

20-01-14, 23:21
2 of my friends stay in GCB... Their father owns the place not them....

they each have 2 GCB. One has another 2 condos and the other one has 3 condos....

All GCB fully paid, only the investment Condo has some loan which the rental more than cover.....

I know for a Fact! They do not over leverage, they have Arrived! No need to leverage if time. When I mentioned 5% of course I don't mean putting money in the bank, I mean a mix of binds and shares and reits.... and conservatively the earn 5%, where got money in bank earn 5% One!

You must learn to be less arrogant when you post and reply.... or else will make many people dislike you.... it's always good to share and learn from each other....

No offense but i do think that using all these my friend this and tat are kind of childish because you are using one example to stereo type the profile of the market and totally disregards what the media are reporting about how tdsr are affecting the gcb market. And lastly please don't bs to us that your gcb father and the entire family are opening up their books to you to scrutinized and where of earth do they find these money to buy gcbs if they are not in the business of taking risk?

Sorry to say, If they have arrived then they shouldnt be telling the world how many properties they own and how they pay in cash. Or perhaps it's you that are sugar coating and improvising the facts just for arguement sake.

20-01-14, 23:37
Most gcb are hand me down from grandpa time,most are already in 2nd generation hands...

My friend is the same, in 10 to 20 years will be third generation hands

20-01-14, 23:47
Most gcb are hand me down from grandpa time,most are already in 2nd generation hands...

My friend is the same, in 10 to 20 years will be third generation hands

And why are we wasting time talking about them when discussing about leveraging loan and how tdsr is affecting the gcb market! They are custodian further forefathers property, that doesnt reflect their ability and eagerness to pay in full.

21-01-14, 07:38
Great analysis. Properties are bought to be kept just like your friend's parent and your friend. They become a collectibles item in a land scarce Singapore especially with good landed properties with limited edition.
Make sure property price drop more than 15%, or else not worth it to sell....

3% Buyer stamp duty
5% rental for one year to two years
1-2% agent commission
5% reno cost for new place.

Total 15%....

Never count moving cost, time, effort

If drop 25% like in the global financial crisis then only make 10% nett....

If got 2nd property of course can try to time the market, but market must at least drop 10 to 12% too.....

20 property only make 200k nett if market drop 25%.....

Who plan to sell and wait for prices to Drop? Care To share?

tradert
21-01-14, 07:48
Great analysis. Properties are bought to be kept just like your friend's parent and your friend. They become a collectibles item in a land scarce Singapore especially with good landed properties with limited edition.

Agreed. My grandfather used to own 2 landed in SG but sold them long ago.

When is the next time to buy landed in SG? Prices have crept up above the affordability of most people.

21-01-14, 08:43
Did your grandpa re-invest? Just becos our Sing $ value has reduced in buying power over the years due to inflation and printing of money by our big bro, japan , south korea, etc/ Property investment is of the ways of preserving wealth in the local context.:rolleyes:
Agreed. My grandfather used to own 2 landed in SG but sold them long ago.

When is the next time to buy landed in SG? Prices have crept up above the affordability of most people.

21-01-14, 10:57
LOL. Just sharing.

:D hope u don't mind the joke and suaning(sarcastic)....sometimes dont take life too seriously...life is short...

clemdale24
21-01-14, 11:15
There are plenty of rich people in singapore. Does anyone know what it takes to be considered a HNWI? or more specifically, whats 90th percentile? 80th, 70th etc etc. just for interests sake.

21-01-14, 11:26
Did your grandpa re-invest? Just becos our Sing $ value has reduced in buying power over the years due to inflation and printing of money by our big bro, japan , south korea, etc/ Property investment is of the ways of preserving wealth in the local context.:rolleyes:

I grew up in Florence rd area...

I remember the land was huge ... 3 rambutan trees ... side by side .. and their branches didn't touch each other ... that's the width of the land ...

there was a huge house on the opposite end ... 6 bedrooms ... 2 baths only..

a huge garden ... another portion divided for us to keep chickens and geese. there were durian trees and also sour sop ...

then another part the size of 2 tennis courts side by side ... most of the time we used it as car park ... about 4 cars .. can do U turn anytime..

on my grandpa and grandma's birthday ... they would have chef (si fu) to come and cook for like 10 tables of relatives ...

after my grandpa died... the sons (4 of them incl my dad) sold the land..

I believe it was around 30000 sqft ...

and NO....they did not reinvest ... they merely bought HDB ( at that time considered condo lah hahaha ) ... and no more for investment ..

sad ..

21-01-14, 13:07
I know that place quite well. It is a pity and they are FH land. The problem is that usually the elders will provide everything for their children and they do not need to worry as they are in the comfort zone. If your grandpa is to leverage based on his property then, New Wealth will be created and this trend will run in the family as the younger generation is watching their parents' action. Well, it is never too late to start. I suppose that you have started as you have been in this forum for a while.:p

I remember the land was huge ... 3 rambutan trees ... side by side .. and their branches didn't touch each other ... that's the width of the land ...

there was a huge house on the opposite end ... 6 bedrooms ... 2 baths only..

a huge garden ... another portion divided for us to keep chickens and geese. there were durian trees and also sour sop ...

then another part the size of 2 tennis courts side by side ... most of the time we used it as car park ... about 4 cars .. can do U turn anytime..

on my grandpa and grandma's birthday ... they would have chef (si fu) to come and cook for like 10 tables of relatives ...

after my grandpa died... the sons (4 of them incl my dad) sold the land..

I believe it was around 30000 sqft ...

and NO....they did not reinvest ... they merely bought HDB ( at that time considered condo lah hahaha ) ... and no more for investment ..

sad ..

21-01-14, 13:49

selling is taking a gamble..... you might win and buy back and have 10% nett gain if property Index drop 25%... but if never drop 25% and only drop 15%, then you basically waste time and effort...

history will tell us that

1. 4 crisis one after the other aka, Asian financial crisis, then dot com burst, then 911, then sars = 50% drop in price

2. 1 Super big global financial crisis in 2008 = 25% drop

3. Over supply, rising interest rates, cooling measures = 10% Drop?

With inflation at 3% per year, after 5 years if prices remain as it is, it's already 18-20% cheaper.... tharman already said 1 year ago, prices a bit too high, a few things can bring the prices back to equilibrium, price drop a bit, inflation will make price cheaper over time , income level goes up...

so decide for yourself if it's worth while to sell and wait for prices to drop..

For me, property is meant to keep and collect rental, after you die, the house still there for your loved ones.... sell and keep cash but then money become smaller each passing year

21-01-14, 14:39
At the meantime collecting bullets just in case there are good buys.
selling is taking a gamble..... you might win and buy back and have 10% nett gain if property Index drop 25%... but if never drop 25% and only drop 15%, then you basically waste time and effort...

1. 4 crisis one after the other aka, Asian financial crisis, then dot com burst, then 911, then sars = 50% drop in price

With inflation at 3% per year, after 5 years if prices remain as it is, it's already 18-20% cheaper.... tharman already said 1 year ago, prices a bit too high, a few things can bring the prices back to equilibrium, price drop a bit, inflation will make price cheaper over time , income level goes up...

so decide for yourself if it's worth while to sell and wait for prices to drop..

For me, property is meant to keep and collect rental, after you die, the house still there for your loved ones.... sell and keep cash but then money become smaller each passing year

Royston8H
21-01-14, 21:44
Agreed to accumulate cash or at least throw into stable dividend stocks or even some form of alternative investment to let money and bullet grow faster

22-01-14, 12:14

after my grandpa died... the sons (4 of them incl my dad) sold the land....

po, ur last name "lim" ?

22-01-14, 12:20
po, ur last name "lim" ?

many...LIM PEH

onglai
22-01-14, 16:43
many...LIM PEH

maybe lim ah pin..

22-01-14, 17:19
maybe lim ah pin..

hahahah

good one

but no ... I am not surnamed Lim

22-01-14, 17:23

http://www.ecreativeim.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/facebook-like-icon-560x520.png

Jun 2006 SGD 535,000

Jun 2010 SGD 1,550,000.

Buy when you can afford, sell when you are force to. Never wait under the tree for the rabbit.

守株待兔

A down-on-his-luck farmer wished his luck would change, but lacked the gumption to create his own good fortune. One day while lamenting his fate, he witnessed a rabbit run headlong into a tree, snapping his neck from the imapct. For our starving farmer, this meal was a banquet. He decided to abandon farming altogether and sat under the tree every day afterwards, waiting for more rabbits to crash into it. Of course, none did, and the farmer ended up with nothing. Instead of waiting for success to fall into your lap, go out and create your own.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMTalRxyPzU

Royston8H
22-01-14, 20:09
I am out of market for past 2 years and only recently started to relook into private property trend since it is trending downward.

Any good alternate investment to invest in 2014 to continue to grow our money harder but in a shorter timeframe? :rolleyes:

23-01-14, 10:10
maybe lim ah pin..

u guys are really fast :), don't play play hor florence is the wife of ah pin.

Royston8H
24-01-14, 19:56
Anybody have difficulty in refinancing your bank loan?

It gonna to be very tough and more paperwork will be needed.

WhoAmI?
24-01-14, 23:45
By the way, anybody know who is lim ah pin? Any history to tell? Why there are two road named after them, husband and wife?

24-01-14, 23:58
u guys are really fast :), don't play play hor florence is the wife of ah pin.

is that a fact ? or are you pulling my legs ?

25-01-14, 00:00
By the way, anybody know who is lim ah pin? Any history to tell? Why there are two road named after them, husband and wife?

although I grew up in Florence Rd .. I do not know the history ...

I do know though that Kheam Hock road was name after my friend's grand uncle ..

onglai
25-01-14, 08:39
although I grew up in Florence Rd .. I do not know the history ...

I do know though that Kheam Hock road was name after my friend's grand uncle ..

googled found this. shd be real.. bee hoon king sia!.

http://books.google.com.sg/books?id=DTOJAAAAQBAJ&pg=PA226&lpg=PA226&dq=who+is+lim+ah+pin+wife&source=bl&ots=yUfnErNesx&sig=Wl7Bel8c86bqz6g5ms2M1ZxjOd4&hl=en&sa=X&ei=MxXjUsnnHKS4iQeeoYDYBg&redir_esc=y#v=onepage&q=who%20is%20lim%20ah%20pin%20wife&f=false

Royston8H
26-01-14, 20:38
Wow.. you all very kaypo... lim peh become lim ah pin and florence....:confused:

Btw, Anybody have difficulty in refinancing your bank loan?

It gonna to be very tough and more paperwork will be needed

26-01-14, 22:08
Tough for multiple loans, board rates and creative buyers

26-01-14, 22:10

After death, house could be free if u purchased mortgage insurance

Royston8H
27-01-14, 20:49
Any idea what is the best loan for refinancing now?

Tough for multiple loans, board rates and creative buyers

28-01-14, 00:54
Any idea what is the best loan for refinancing now?

Definition of best differs from person to person.

You can diy at the site in my signature

28-01-14, 02:33
full capital repayment will be the best.

28-01-14, 06:42
full capital repayment will be the best.

With full capital available, interest offset scheme is the best so that the liquid cash can be used to purchase bargain buy.

Royston8H
28-01-14, 20:10
Agreed. Why have to make full capital repayment and turns away good debt?

If anyone knows the best interest rate package in town, do share with us. ;)

29-01-14, 00:58
have $ and nothing to do with it then pay up. unless its put into something else like equity etc.

Royston8H
29-01-14, 12:30
http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/category/property-investment-deals/I invest in alternate investment at double digit growth per annum. Investible Money is not at bank n growing at this rate to accumulate bullets for the next round.

Wunderkind
29-01-14, 15:59
Given today's property market situation, will investors be compelled to divert their funds into the stock market to chase for better yields ?

Will 2014 see a bull run on the equity market as the property market languishes ?

Now you understand why the Singapore Stock Exchange is taking precaution to set trigger on penny stocks price swing.

29-01-14, 16:40
One should be looking at the Developed Market equity rather than Emerging Market ones. A lot more meat there. STI did not have much movement in the year of 2013. ;)
Given today's property market situation, will investors be compelled to divert their funds into the stock market to chase for better yields ?

Will 2014 see a bull run on the equity market as the property market languishes ?

Now you understand why the Singapore Stock Exchange is taking precaution to set trigger on penny stocks price swing.

29-01-14, 16:56
Did not GIC is also interested in Student hostel investment:

Singapore's GIC and Macquarie invest in Australian student dorm developer

http://business.asiaone.com/sites/default/files/styles/medium/public/2014/01/29/20121018.122205_banks.jpg

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014

AFP

SINGAPORE- Singapore sovereign wealth fund GIC and Australia's Macquarie Capital said Wednesday they have formed a joint venture that bought a majority stake in an Australian student accommodation group.
The investment into Iglu is the largest transaction of its kind in the Australian student accommodation sector, GIC and Macquarie said in a statement.
The statement, however, did not give the value of the investment.
Iglu, a specialist developer of purpose built off-campus student accommodation, currently has three properties in Brisbane and Sydney offering 900 beds.
GIC and Macquarie Capital said they plan to build additional student accommodation near schools and public transport facilities in cities where there is a shortage.
Australia has the third highest number of international students in the world behind Britain and the United States, according to information on its main government website, which also said that the country has seven of the top 100 universities globally.
GIC, previously known as the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, manages more than $100 billion of Singapore's foreign reserves.
Among its latest investments, GIC in December bought a 50 per cent stake in a major London office complex which press reports said was worth around 1.7 billion pounds ($2.8 billion).
In January, GIC partnered with a group of investors to buy $1.3 billion worth of Manhattan office space from Time Warner.
GIC is one of two Singapore sovereign wealth funds, the other one being Temasek Holdings.

Royston8H
29-01-14, 20:53
Stock Can be a good investment if you have the right trading psychology and control over your own emotion.

To be honest, i tried everything including CFD in overseas stock exchange like hangseng. Can be very challenging.

Preferably in value investing for those local reits related due to asset backup.;)

Royston8H
29-01-14, 20:55
Possible too. :rolleyes: Aussie dollar weakens quite a bit. Went for some land n property in mel.

Did not GIC is also interested in Student hostel investment:

Singapore's GIC and Macquarie invest in Australian student dorm developer

http://business.asiaone.com/sites/default/files/styles/medium/public/2014/01/29/20121018.122205_banks.jpg

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014

AFP

SINGAPORE- Singapore sovereign wealth fund GIC and Australia's Macquarie Capital said Wednesday they have formed a joint venture that bought a majority stake in an Australian student accommodation group.
The investment into Iglu is the largest transaction of its kind in the Australian student accommodation sector, GIC and Macquarie said in a statement.
The statement, however, did not give the value of the investment.
Iglu, a specialist developer of purpose built off-campus student accommodation, currently has three properties in Brisbane and Sydney offering 900 beds.
GIC and Macquarie Capital said they plan to build additional student accommodation near schools and public transport facilities in cities where there is a shortage.
Australia has the third highest number of international students in the world behind Britain and the United States, according to information on its main government website, which also said that the country has seven of the top 100 universities globally.
GIC, previously known as the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, manages more than $100 billion of Singapore's foreign reserves.
Among its latest investments, GIC in December bought a 50 per cent stake in a major London office complex which press reports said was worth around 1.7 billion pounds ($2.8 billion).
In January, GIC partnered with a group of investors to buy $1.3 billion worth of Manhattan office space from Time Warner.
GIC is one of two Singapore sovereign wealth funds, the other one being Temasek Holdings.

Royston8H
30-01-14, 09:11
Wishing all the chatters a very prosperous Chinese New Year.

may all like minded people achieve their success n deserve better in life. Cheers

Royston8H
03-02-14, 21:37
Probably nasdaq and dow jones will still try to break new high for sometimes while federal reserve is cutting more of the QE.

STI is trying to break trough at 3000. the charting does not look good and in fact it is flat and square one since Sept 2010. See 5 yrs STI (http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=%5ESTI).

One should be looking at the Developed Market equity rather than Emerging Market ones. A lot more meat there. STI did not have much movement in the year of 2013. ;)

04-02-14, 08:47
Accumulating $ for this opportunity. :D
Probably nasdaq and dow jones will still try to break new high for sometimes while federal reserve is cutting more of the QE.

STI is trying to break trough at 3000. the charting does not look good and in fact it is flat and square one since Sept 2010. See 5 yrs STI (http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=%5ESTI).

Royston8H
04-02-14, 12:22
Just like what dennis ng - housingloan guru had did in his earlier years.

Royston8H
08-02-14, 07:55
Looking at the 5yrs trending of STI, the current level is the same like sep 2010 hovering below 3000. This is weakening signal for sure. Not so optimistic on stock market n will not enter if it is not trending up. It is flat for quite a while :doh:

08-02-14, 10:04
Market movement is in DM. :)
Looking at the 5yrs trending of STI, the current level is the same like sep 2010 hovering below 3000. This is weakening signal for sure. Not so optimistic on stock market n will not enter if it is not trending up. It is flat for quite a while :doh:

08-02-14, 14:27
rental yield of STI at 3pc .. flat for many years means lost to CPF SA return of 4.x% or proven REITs

Royston8H
08-02-14, 17:29
If u buy sti etf on sept2010 n hold on until now, it is not yielding anything. During these 3-4 yrs, there were some ups n downs but not the booming. For those bought reits last yr n havent sold them for dividend yield, capital may like to depreciate more.

Royston8H
11-02-14, 22:53
Looks like more QE3 tapering is coming on the way as Yellen takes over Chairmanship. Interest rate will rise again. :o

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/money/story/yellen-says-fed-stay-course-taper-20140211

[QUOTE=Royston8H;460813]Probably nasdaq and dow jones will still try to break new high for sometimes while federal reserve is cutting more of the QE.

12-02-14, 06:01
nice

http://www.zerohedge.com/sites/default/files/images/user3303/imageroot/2014/02/20140211_EOD1_0.png

Royston8H
13-02-14, 22:21
Good luck to all tomorrow too.

Have you bought $10mil toto already?

http://www.singaporepools.com.sg/ms/toto10m/en/groupplay.html

Even planner for such money pool is made easy

oops....jus cant help it. :D:D:D

14-02-14, 08:55
This is a long shot. Better make $ with own effort. :D
Good luck to all tomorrow too.

Have you bought $10mil toto already?

http://www.singaporepools.com.sg/ms/toto10m/en/groupplay.html

Even planner for such money pool is made easy

oops....jus cant help it. :D:D:D

Royston8H
15-02-14, 17:02
Cant help it to have this toto fun. :D

For those are seriously keen to improve their knowledge in property investment, you may like to check out http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com free preview by Wendy Kwek (my mentor). Next schedule is on 19 and 20Feb, 730-930pm.

Just for sharing.

Royston8H
27-02-14, 19:34
Just bumped across a market research report. Looks pretty interesting. For sharing.v

http://www.blackrock.com/corporate/en-us/literature/whitepaper/bii-2014-outlook-international.pdf

Royston8H
08-03-14, 01:03
How about this assured UK student accommodation investment (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com/blog/uk-student-accommodation-investment/)?

:rolleyes:

Royston8H
03-04-14, 21:22
Seen Wendy Kwek before? She turned from Broke to Owning over 100 properties

Property Investment (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com) Works! :cheers6:

04-04-14, 02:11
Seen Wendy Kwek before? She turned from Broke to Owning over 100 properties

Property Investment (http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com) Works! :cheers6:

have you been to her seminar? any verification? from what i read, the over 100 properties is co-owned with other parties.
what's her % holdings in the properties?

from what i read abt robert kiyosaki's detractors,he made more money selling books,seminars rather than from properties.
and the detractors say his book should be in fiction section, because his stories are made up.

just like this thread
http://www.condosingapore.com/forums/showthread.php?p=470453
mr david cheong probably made more money training 3000 agents than his commissions.

trust but verify.

MGM
05-04-14, 19:57
seriously will skyrocket? but prices already so steep? Checked out New Condo (http://newcondosingapore) and the price is not as attractive as executive condo (http://singaporeec.com) leh

Royston8H
07-04-14, 12:58
Yes. Graduated from her property riches program few yrs ago. Verification could be done by third parties such as Promising Sme committee or asia pacific brand award committee. See http://www.propertyrichesprogram.com for more testimonials n info sharing.

Be frank, she might already liquidated quite a few which were bought few yrs ago n keeping those high yield units.

Whether it is a property investment or seminar event organising, its still a legal business n nothing wrong to profit from running business along with investment portfolio.

have you been to her seminar? any verification? from what i read, the over 100 properties is co-owned with other parties.
what's her % holdings in the properties?

from what i read abt robert kiyosaki's detractors,he made more money selling books,seminars rather than from properties.
and the detractors say his book should be in fiction section, because his stories are made up.

just like this thread
http://www.condosingapore.com/forums/showthread.php?p=470453
mr david cheong probably made more money training 3000 agents than his commissions.

trust but verify.