View Full Version : Medge (D11, Freehold, Macly)

ryan
19-09-06, 03:54
This one was a fast seller..

ryan
19-09-06, 04:02
Located at Minbu Road, just at the border of D11 and D12 (Martaban Road). 44 units sold out within one month for $670 psf to $800 psf. TOP in 4th quarter 2007.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3435/medgehx5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/3855/medge1wf3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/87/medge2fx3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Intrepid Explorer 2.0
01-03-07, 15:19
ryan, it has grown a lot since then :D

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/2379/medge1rl6.jpg

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7376/medge2xo9.jpg

kawaiing
05-04-11, 08:39
HI all experts
Is this project worth 1.5k psf for a MM unit at current price? To buy and rent out purposes. Thanks for advices

05-04-11, 09:06
HI all experts
Is this project worth 1.5k psf for a MM unit at current price? To buy and rent out purposes. Thanks for advices

1.5kpsf....if its high flr den ok becoz the MM high flr commands pretty gd view....rental i believe can fetch 2.5-2.8k

however, i must say the pool looks like longkang:p

05-04-11, 09:21
HI all experts

463sf x 1500psf = 694,500

Good buy

kawaiing
05-04-11, 09:49
its 614spf x 1465=900k, level 2, nice unit layout and nice renovation.

05-04-11, 09:58
its 614spf x 1465=900k, level 2, nice unit layout and nice renovation.

u mean this one? not much reno wor....
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/3586745/for-sale-the-medge

its actually a 1bedder rite? gd for own consumption but bad for rental yield wor...900k pretty large quantum....

i rather u pay 900k for a 1bedder at montebleu with full condo facilities
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/3590200/for-sale-montebleu

kawaiing
05-04-11, 10:03
u mean this one? not much reno wor....
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/3586745/for-sale-the-medge

its actually a 1bedder rite? gd for own consumption but bad for rental yield wor...900k pretty large quantum....

i rather u pay 900k for a 1bedder at montebleu with full condo facilities
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/3590200/for-sale-montebleu

Ya this the one, its one plus one, the study room is not that small, but one thing is level 2 worry not easy to sell if cannot rent out, i staying at montebleu now, just feel that the 1bedder the balcony take up too big area. Thanks for the advices

05-04-11, 10:07
Ya this the one, its one plus one, the study room is not that small, but one thing is level 2 worry not easy to sell if cannot rent out, i staying at montebleu now, just feel that the 1bedder the balcony take up too big area. Thanks for the advices

welcome....hows ur stay at montebleu so far?

if same quantum...go for montebleu anytime.....1bedder can fetch a couple of hundred more den medge 1+study definitely....and montebleu's pool definitely looks more decent:D

kawaiing
05-04-11, 10:13
welcome....hows ur stay at montebleu so far?

if same quantum...go for montebleu anytime.....1bedder can fetch a couple of hundred more den medge 1+study definitely....and montebleu's pool definitely looks more decent:D

Montebleu is good for me, most people are tenants here so carpark always 1/3 so no issue to find a lot, only thing is maintainance fee i think abit too high, and expected to be more after june this place hand over from developer and sure got those sinking fund added like P11.

05-04-11, 10:18
Montebleu is good for me, most people are tenants here so carpark always 1/3 so no issue to find a lot, only thing is maintainance fee i think abit too high, and expected to be more after june this place hand over from developer and sure got those sinking fund added like P11.

expected lor...151units and yet full condo facilities....ya,,,sinking fund is the killer...

my current plc from about $160(TOP) increased to $210 and now $260.....

kawaiing
05-04-11, 10:27
expected lor...151units and yet full condo facilities....ya,,,sinking fund is the killer...

mine now is $385... dunno how much will add... xian..:scared-5:

melodies
05-04-11, 10:28
2 bedders or 3 bedders?

kawaiing
05-04-11, 10:32
2 bedders or 3 bedders?

3bedders unit

05-04-11, 13:13
no leh, even places like caribbean with 1000 units also went from 3xx when TOP to 5xx now for 3 bedder.

05-04-11, 15:32
Low overhanging beams is a no-no and turn off personally... bad fengshui also.

http://i2.propertyguru.com.sg/images/thumb/8/d/2/8/8d28a06409977_1_V550.jpg

melodies
05-04-11, 16:05
1000 units still want to collect $5xx pm? So ex? I thought only those exclusive estates with 200+ units then need $5xx pm?

no leh, even places like caribbean with 1000 units also went from 3xx when TOP to 5xx now for 3 bedder.

05-04-11, 17:26
you'd be surprised. many condo maintenance fees are going up, investors need to take this into account too.

as for caribbean, yeah...so ex! i have quite a few friends staying there, all lamenting this ever increasing fee. even the new owners who bought the previously tenanted units sold by keppel last year, start off already $500.

1000 units still want to collect $5xx pm? So ex? I thought only those exclusive estates with 200+ units then need $5xx pm?

05-04-11, 18:05
you'd be surprised. many condo maintenance fees are going up, investors need to take this into account too.

as for caribbean, yeah...so ex! i have quite a few friends staying there, all lamenting this ever increasing fee. even the new owners who bought the previously tenanted units sold by keppel last year, start off already $500.

paying $250 at carabelle for a 3 bedder.:D but we have 338 units here. so, why so expensive at Caribbean?

05-04-11, 18:08
paying $250 at carabelle for a 3 bedder.:D but we have 338 units here. so, why so expensive at Caribbean?

quite reasonable if it oredi includes sinking fund:spliff:

05-04-11, 18:16

sinking fund is included. total bill including sinking fund contribution is $252 per month.

beats me why ours is so low. understand that monthly fee at botannia is more than $300 per month for 7 shares.

05-04-11, 18:29
Doesn't the monthy fee typically rise after the developer handover the maintenance?

05-04-11, 20:21
has developer handed over the maintenence yet? 250 is before or after GST? these days 7% (heard it will be 9% after elections), can be significant.

i m not sure why for carribean, maybe becoz their "Waterways" r harder clean? LOL.

but we can be sure, the more "gimmicks" a new condo project has, the higher will be the maintainence in future and it will be RISING! :scared-1:

05-04-11, 20:58
has developer handed over the maintenence yet? 250 is before or after GST? these days 7% (heard it will be 9% after elections), can be significant.

i m not sure why for carribean, maybe becoz their "Waterways" r harder clean? LOL.

but we can be sure, the more "gimmicks" a new condo project has, the higher will be the maintainence in future and it will be RISING! :scared-1:

yes, this is the rate set set the first resident AGM, after the developer pulled out. we don't pay GST because carabelle is not GST registered. we may become GST registered if total monthly bills in the future goes above $1 million.

I am not sure whether our bills will rise in the future. but so far, two years after TOP, the bills are probably one of the lowest in SG.

05-04-11, 21:28
Correction: it is total annual ( NOT mthly) collection above $1m !
Govt surely love those big many units condo estate because they sure have to pay 7% GST! (Paying higher GST is just a matter of time!) :p
Why pay GST for nothing? :banghead:

yes, this is the rate set set the first resident AGM, after the developer pulled out. we don't pay GST because carabelle is not GST registered. we may become GST registered if total monthly bills in the future goes above $1 million.

I am not sure whether our bills will rise in the future. but so far, two years after TOP, the bills are probably one of the lowest in SG.

05-04-11, 21:49
Very sorry to hear that you will be paying GST for your condo maintenance soon! :scared-3:
338 units x $252 x 12 mths = $1.022m !
Because out of 338 units, some are smaller (while a small number are bigger), so total collection a year for your crabelle probably just slightly under $1m! :doh:

That is I say, always go for those <200 units condo! That will give you allowance for maintenance fund up to $450 pm before you need to pay GST! (Obviously, even less number is better!) :D

06-04-11, 01:29
sinking fund is included. total bill including sinking fund contribution is $252 per month.

beats me why ours is so low. understand that monthly fee at botannia is more than $300 per month for 7 shares.

Don't be too happy yet... The mcst might be miscalculating the needs PCMCIA condo, in two years time, when cyclical repair and repalcement works comes, they will askmfor special levy... For a com do ofmyour size, pairing works alone will be about 600k...

06-04-11, 07:50
Don't be too happy yet... The mcst might be miscalculating the needs PCMCIA condo, in two years time, when cyclical repair and repalcement works comes, they will askmfor special levy... For a com do ofmyour size, pairing works alone will be about 600k...
Thats why I reiterate - small is beautiful! Lol

06-04-11, 08:28
Very sorry to hear that you will be paying GST for your condo maintenance soon! :scared-3:
338 units x $252 x 12 mths = $1.022m !
Because out of 338 units, some are smaller (while a small number are bigger), so total collection a year for your crabelle probably just slightly under $1m! :doh:

That is I say, always go for those <200 units condo! That will give you allowance for maintenance fund up to $450 pm before you need to pay GST! (Obviously, even less number is better!) :D

that is true. in a few years, we will go over the 1 million hump, which will make us an involuntary GST registrant. but mind you that becoming a GST registrant is not all bad. We will be getting GST refund for operating costs. So the net effect is really negligible.

Thus, it is not true that small project is good. some small projects charge more than $600 per month in the west coast area. they don't have economies of scale.

06-04-11, 09:09
Small developments under 50units are rarely good. Can't hit economies of scale on the sinking fund accumulation. It's advantage is exclusivity, which may or may not come with privacy, depending on how close it is to tw neighbouring plots.

06-04-11, 10:52
Small developments under 50units are rarely good. Can't hit economies of scale on the sinking fund accumulation. It's advantage is exclusivity, which may or may not come with privacy, depending on how close it is to tw neighbouring plots.

Actually, 'privacy' WITHIN the project is already godsend. Imagine no need to fight with others to use the pool or queue to use the gym nor fight for parking space (think 'The Sea View')... not to mention the lesser level of internal noise (children crying, dogs barking, tv, hifi, mahjong, karaoke etc)....

06-04-11, 10:55
Actually, 'privacy' WITHIN the project is already godsend. Imagine no need to fight with others to use the pool or queue to use the gym nor fight for parking space (think 'The Sea View')... not to mention the lesser level of internal noise (children crying, dogs barking, tv, hifi, mahjong, karaoke etc)....

in actual fact, MM boutique apts dun hf children at all....bcoz can only fit singles or couples...hehe....plenty of car lots too as mostly r tenanted out....

06-04-11, 11:00

You probably have not lived in a large project. In my project, there are 338 units, but few use the large lap pool even on the weekend. The jacuzzi pool is unused most of the times. the gym has four treadmills, which are left unused most of the time. We are the only family using these facilities.

Singaporeans like to pay for facilities, but don't use them. they are too busy making money to have time for exercise.

06-04-11, 11:19
You probably have not lived in a large project. In my project, there are 338 units, but few use the large lap pool even on the weekend. The jacuzzi pool is unused most of the times. the gym has four treadmills, which are left unused most of the time. We are the only family using these facilities.

Singaporeans like to pay for facilities, but don't use them. they are too busy making money to have time for exercise.

So good. Where is this?

06-04-11, 15:28
his carabelle

So good. Where is this?

06-04-11, 15:59
Why so large for what? To me, >200 units already too large! Too many people, like HDB estate or in fish market!
Too small <80 units probably got economy of scale issue. 100-200 units just nice, not too large and not too small, maintenance fee just optimal with best privacy and communal space and facilities and car park space for holding parties. :cheers1:

06-04-11, 17:11

Singaporeans like to pay for facilities, but don't use them. they are too busy making money to have time for exercise. Really?, I remember last CNY, my friend who is staying in the same project as you. I visited him on wkend, quite crowded the pool, maybe new then. Must ask my friend this weekend when i see him, if he is one of those subsidising your usage...:D

06-04-11, 17:27

Yes you have a point too... I'm sure yours is no mass market project right?

8kenshin
08-04-11, 05:33

The Caribbean's land area is huge at 900,000sqft. There's lots of garden areas, landscaping, a huge lagoon with a fountain that shoots water up (maybe) 10 meters high, 1 x 50m and 2x 25m pools, an enormous underground carpark, private lifts for every apartment...all very expensive to maintain.

Does anyone know the plot ratio? Would guess its 1.4x.

08-04-11, 10:01
The Caribbean's land area is huge at 900,000sqft. There's lots of garden areas, landscaping, a huge lagoon with a fountain that shoots water up (maybe) 10 meters high, 1 x 50m and 2x 25m pools, an enormous underground carpark, private lifts for every apartment...all very expensive to maintain.

because the grounds are so large, shouldn't it have tremendous economies of scale? You need only two security guards for 1000 plus units or 5000 plus residents.

08-04-11, 14:26
But their number of units is also unprecedented in Singapore! Land huge but number of units even more huge! So should be cheaper as have economy scale right? But then so stupid, have to pay 7% GST on maintenance and sinking fund for nothing! :doh:

8kenshin
08-04-11, 14:42
But their number of units is also unprecedented in Singapore! Land huge but number of units even more huge! So should be cheaper as have economy scale right? But then so stupid, have to pay 7% GST on maintenance and sinking fund for nothing! :doh:

Just pointing out why even with a lot of units why the maintainace will be high. That is a Shangri-la will cost more to maintain than a Fairmont hotel.

With low rise and private lifts, could be one lift for every 8 or so units oin average.

08-04-11, 18:09
just realised the jan 14 cooling measures effect beginning to wear off!!!

u go check carribean......feb only 1 transaction.....but march quite alot!!!

08-04-11, 19:18
last time i compared between caribeen and wb. i realised the maintenance is quite high in caribeen becoz they use a high-tech security system control thru server, maintenance goes into cleaning of the longkang in front of their unit too...

what a turn off