View Full Version : Coco Palms

Pages : [1] 2

microhdb
29-03-14, 10:51
Strange, market so quiet, usually got new development will immediate see thread on it, but coco palms by CDL on the last plot in pasir Ris Grove no new thread yet ? Market must be very bad then. :sleep:

29-03-14, 10:54
Property market going to CRASH before end of this year or next year because of ABSD and TDSR? :o

Strange, market so quiet, usually got new development will immediate see thread on it, but coco palms by CDL on the last plot in pasir Ris Grove no new thread yet ? Market must be very bad then. :sleep:

terrynfs
29-03-14, 11:26
good location, will be a hot project

Yuki
30-03-14, 21:39
good location, will be a hot project

Head it was delayed to May for launch.

4wheels
31-03-14, 11:26
so the new project is name coco palms? I was actually very keen in this project too! till now no news leh!

terrynfs
02-05-14, 12:00
1 br from 498k
2 br from 718k
3 br from 888k

not bad

02-05-14, 12:03
888k ... huat ah huat huat ah ... but how small ??

terrynfs
02-05-14, 12:21
888k ... huat ah huat huat ah ... but how small ??

904 sqft with bw and pl

Khng8
02-05-14, 13:10
Lease starts from Jun 2008 so will be nearly 10 yrs old when TOP.
So still can sell at premium to nearby projects?

sleeping lamb
02-05-14, 13:51
The lease term is not really a concern I guess. To me, it's the expected TOP in mid 2019 that puts me off. It's five long years from now.

Yuki
02-05-14, 13:52

Coco Palms is the latest condominium in the private residential enclave along Pasir Ris Grove, just minutes' ... Tenure of Land, 99 years lease w.e.f 7 Jan 2008.

So it means 10+yr plus has left after collection of keys..

Yuki
02-05-14, 14:29
Coco Palms is the latest condominium in the private residential enclave along Pasir Ris Grove, just minutes' ... Tenure of Land, 99 years lease w.e.f 7 Jan 2008.

So it means 10+yr plus has left after collection of keys..

Has lapsed

GSLJ
02-05-14, 21:44

This is rather surprising.

Wonder why land lease wef Jan 2008, but launch in 2014? :beats-me-man:

02-05-14, 22:12
How come they never bother to top up the lease. Waterfront gold and isle lease were top up for 2 years to start from 2009 because they were launched later. :tsk-tsk:

Strata
02-05-14, 22:23
Not attractive at all if u do the calculation:

1. Its become 10 year old project when reach TOP...
2. The price did not make big difference compare to nearby projects;
3. Overcrowded..900+units...for the 4 big projects by CDL, it has almost more than 3k units...very competitive to rent or sell...

Yuki
02-05-14, 22:30

3. Overcrowded..900+units...for the 4 big projects by CDL, it has almost more than 3k units...very competitive to rent or sell...

So if it sells cheaper..Then its expected?

I think cdl brought the huge piece of land a long time ago. ..but released the project over the years.

But those who brought for rental is still ok as investment? Since near mrt?

Not for own stay though. .

gav108
02-05-14, 22:54
NV residences 642 units
Livia 724 units
Palette 892 units
D' Nest 912 units
Elias Green 419
Coco Palms 944 units
Total: 4533 units, excluding Ris Grandeur and Belysa (EC) along same road.

Lease from Jan 2008. Expected TOP Mid 2019. Difference = 11 years.
Lease left when TOP = 99-11 = 88 years :eek:
Usually lease left at TOP is 94-95 years. Coco Palms is shortchanging buyers by 6-7 years of lease. Will it be priced at 6-7% discount from the current "market rate"?

Yuki
02-05-14, 23:04
NV residences 642 units
Livia 724 units
Palette 892 units
D' Nest 912 units
Elias Green 419
Coco Palms 944 units
Total: 4533 units, excluding Ris Grandeur and Belysa (EC) along same road.

Lease from Jan 2008. Expected TOP Mid 2019. Difference = 11 years.
Lease left when TOP = 99-11 = 88 years :eek:
Usually lease left at TOP is 94-95 years. Coco Palms is shortchanging buyers by 6-7 years of lease. Will it be priced at 6-7% discount from the current "market rate"?

I think already priced in..coz it's priced at 700k onwards..

They reckoned the buyers not stupid lar.

D'nest lease started in 2010..only started selling last year right? Estimated Top is 2017.. 7 years gone but still selling very briskly as it's very near MRT. :cheers1:

Would you buy if it's priced at a discount?

gav108
02-05-14, 23:21
I think already priced in..coz it's priced at 700k onwards..

They reckoned the buyers not stupid lar.

D'nest lease started in 2010..only started selling last year right? Estimated Top is 2017.. 7 years gone but still selling very briskly as it's very near MRT. :cheers1:

Would you buy if it's priced at a discount?

1 br from 498k
2 br from 718k
3 br from 888k

For 2 br, size is from 743 sq ft, which means from 966 psf. Sounds good but the tricky word is "from". Must be 2nd floor, main road cum HDB facing or bin centre cum substation facing, looking at the site plan. And must contend with bay windows. Anyway the cooling measures have killed my appetite for another property..so unless they can offset my ABSD..lol

newlaunchproperty
03-05-14, 02:22
Hi Everyone,

Your Long Awaited Development "Coco Palms (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html)" Condominium by CDL.
The last plot of land that is the nearest to MRT among the other 4 developments by CDL.
Our showflat preview starts on 3 May 2014 (Sat)!

For More Info and Registration for Showflat Appointment, Visit our Homepage at:
Coco Palms Condominium at Pasir Ris (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html)

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t457/skychiu/Property%20Pasir%20Ris/Coco%20Palms/PB-Coco-Palms-Pool_zps70ab0232.jpg (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html)

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t457/skychiu/Property%20Pasir%20Ris/Coco%20Palms/PB-Coco-Palm-Logo_zps5bd4c412.jpg (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html)

03-05-14, 09:37
All floor plans here.
http://www.cocopalm.com.sg/floor-plans/

Lots of bay windows and planters, plus lease start from 2008. Not that cheap afterall. :2cents:

03-05-14, 11:02
All floor plans here.
http://www.cocopalm.com.sg/floor-plans/

Lots of bay windows and planters, plus lease start from 2008. Not that cheap afterall. :2cents:

I think it will be hot.

mwchua
03-05-14, 15:08
how much for 3room dual key units?

NV2010
03-05-14, 15:35
Passed by the show-flat today, seems crowed.

Yuki
03-05-14, 17:22
how much for 3room dual key units?

Don't remember seeing any dual key.

The interiors..as expected from Cdl are impressive... high floor to ceiling...at 2.9m..built in carpentry.. Floor storage..free dining table etc

However.. Lots of carpentry to hide the bay windows... Mirrors on walls n even in ceiling to make rooms bigger..

Not exactly cheap..the units are too many...there will be intense competition to use these facilities.. Dun think will be able to use them in the end..

The showroom is very crowded...

but considering the lesser lease plus smaller units...it's still ex.

I still think vue 8 make a better buy with its practical design without bay windows.. Planter ledge.. N 6 longer lease years..

For same price..can get 1033sft in vue 8 vs 904 sft in coco palms....

Etc..from homeowners point of view la..

princess_morbucks
03-05-14, 22:42
https://www.facebook.com/bestnewlaunches/posts/620494418044959

1Br from $498K, 2Br from $718K, 3Br from $888K, 4Br from $1.23m

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1.0-9/10320516_672429319490236_2599224330109465698_n.jpg

https://scontent-a-sin.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/t1.0-9/10157198_672429369490231_988803848294241214_n.jpg

Home Lover
03-05-14, 23:56
https://www.facebook.com/bestnewlaunches/posts/620494418044959

Any indicative price for the 5 bedders ? Layout looks good except for BW and planters. What' the nett floor area ?

04-05-14, 06:49
Looks like those wishing for a crash can wait long long.....:p

04-05-14, 07:16
Don't remember seeing any dual key.

The interiors..as expected from Cdl are impressive... high floor to ceiling...at 2.9m..built in carpentry.. Floor storage..free dining table etc

However.. Lots of carpentry to hide the bay windows... Mirrors on walls n even in ceiling to make rooms bigger..

Not exactly cheap..the units are too many...there will be intense competition to use these facilities.. Dun think will be able to use them in the end..

The showroom is very crowded...

but considering the lesser lease plus smaller units...it's still ex.

I still think vue 8 make a better buy with its practical design without bay windows.. Planter ledge.. N 6 longer lease years..

For same price..can get 1033sft in vue 8 vs 904 sft in coco palms....

Etc..from homeowners point of view la..

This one is much better due to MRT station, proximity to amenities n ease of entry/exit to TPE. Factoring in e lease, it looks value for money.

dleedoner
04-05-14, 08:53
With stronger GDP and stock market - well.. prices will be resilent...those waiting to buy on cheap... perhaps will need to think twice.

NV2010
04-05-14, 09:28
Expect at least 1000 cheques will be collected during preview!

NV2010
04-05-14, 09:44
D'Nest previews on 15 March 2013

Buy a unit at unbelievably low price.

D'Nest, a joint project by Hong Leong, CDL and Hong, is holding a VVIP Preview tomorrow (March 15).

This 99LH project located at Pasir Ris Grove is composed of 912 residential units.

Singapore Business Review's spotcheck with property agents found that the estimated quantum price starts from $490,000 for a one-bedroom unit with size ranging from 484-570 sqft.

Pricing for other units are as follows:

2-bedroom units from 753-1,012 sqft - starts from $680,000

3-bedroom units from 936-1,496 sqft - starts from $820,000

4-bedroom units from 1,270 -1,798 sqft - starts from $1.1M.

According to agents, innovative storage space is provided in most units

Capital aprreciation is also expected for this property, which is only approximately 5-minute walk to Pasir Ris MRT, with CDL launching one more residential plot nearby in the future at a higher price, said agents.

princess_morbucks
04-05-14, 10:09
Saw this website about coco palms vs vue8.
It tabulates the various Pasir Ris projects and the start of the land leases.

http://www.hot-property.sg/residential/coco-palms-pitted-against-vue-8/

yesnomaybe
04-05-14, 10:40
Not exactly a neutral analysis.

Personally I find it difficult to accept bay windows for a new development

Yuki
04-05-14, 11:23
This one is much better due to MRT station, proximity to amenities n ease of entry/exit to TPE. Factoring in e lease, it looks value for money.

If you drive.. Most probably jam there during peak hours..due to white sands etc crowd there. Seriously nearness to MRT is overrated. I lived near the tampines MRT for many many years n had to put up the noises as this is not an underground MRT...:scared-5: N imagine the crowd too..:scared-4: gives me headache...

My comparison is psf price n factoring in the bay windows n shorter lease etc. My family lives in a unit with bay windows n they swore never ever to get one with such stupid features n I agree..
Regardless of the workarounds.. Its a nightmare to upkeep! :doh:

And bearing in mind that 6 years has lapsed..I expected the price to be cheaper than d'nest due to shorter lease..the land is brought on 2008 before the afc..so technically should be cheaper than the launch price of osais @ elisa???

If it's priced according to these then I will it fair to the homearners.. Make it at least cheaper than d'nest perhaps..And might consider to buy.

But of course it's my naive thinking.. Cdl surely wants to make as much money as possible la..

I think young couples with no kids who can wait for the 5 years top can go for it..due to smaller size n price.still within their budget.
.I think they still have to factor in the reno to make these usable.

For investors.. Think their golden rule isnear MRT so just buy? So I can't comment on this...

Nonetheless ..Cdl always Kenna sue for poor workmanship...why never opt for out of court settlement? :confused:iirc..recently also sued again..So me not comfortable n no confidence on how they handle another huge project without going down the same route.. .

Lastly..this is perhaps my naive thinking again..
Singapore going to be damn crowded in next decade..Hence perhaps development in laid-back places n less crowd will be more priced as more peaceful...away from the maddening crowded. The central amenities are only 2 bus stops.away if I choose stratum or Vue 8.. Other amenities I walk to elias mall or west plaza..

But Again it's my personal view as a homeowner.

Yuki
04-05-14, 11:36
Re-edit

"and bearing in mind that 6 years has lapsed..I expected the price to be cheaper than d'nest due to shorter lease..the land is brought on 2008 before the afc..so technically should be slightly more ex than the launch price of oasis @ elisa or we should use the launch price of oasis as a baseline???"

4wheels
04-05-14, 12:30

Unfortunately this is a piece of old land. Cdl has to follow rules set by ura when they purchase the land.

4wheels
04-05-14, 12:32
Expect at least 1000 cheques will be collected during preview!

If that translate to sales.... Otherwise nothing to shout about... But if the price is right, it will sell likes the Inflora.

NV2010
04-05-14, 12:51
If that translate to sales.... Otherwise nothing to shout about... But if the price is right, it will sell likes the Inflora.

It's a prediction of the people response.:doh:

Yuki
04-05-14, 14:07
I did a check on the travel time to MRT by bus from locations 2 to 3 busstops away.

Assume 2 mins to walk to busstop..4 to 5 mins to reach bus interchange 1 to 2 min to walk to MRT station.. 8 to 10 mins in total

Vs

2 mins to walk out from the coco palm estate..3 to 4 mins walk to MRT station direct.

We're talking about roughly 3 to perhaps 5 mins of difference in travel distance.

Then consider if it's raining heavily or carry heavy bags of grocery..it would be mostly
sheltered for 1st scenario vs 4 mins of no shelter? And around 3 to 4 mins of walking heavy stuffs vs 7 to 8 mins of walking.

Just thinking aloud whether if the nearness to MRT really matters in this case. :2cents:

04-05-14, 14:12
If you drive.. Most probably jam there during peak hours..due to white sands etc crowd there. Seriously nearness to MRT is overrated. I lived near the tampines MRT for many many years n had to put up the noises as this is not an underground MRT...:scared-5: N imagine the crowd too..:scared-4: gives me headache...

My comparison is psf price n factoring in the bay windows n shorter lease etc. My family lives in a unit with bay windows n they swore never ever to get one with such stupid features n I agree..
Regardless of the workarounds.. Its a nightmare to upkeep! :doh:

And bearing in mind that 6 years has lapsed..I expected the price to be cheaper than d'nest due to shorter lease..the land is brought on 2008 before the afc..so technically should be cheaper than the launch price of osais @ elisa???

If it's priced according to these then I will it fair to the homearners.. Make it at least cheaper than d'nest perhaps..And might consider to buy.

But of course it's my naive thinking.. Cdl surely wants to make as much money as possible la..

I think young couples with no kids who can wait for the 5 years top can go for it..due to smaller size n price.still within their budget.
.I think they still have to factor in the reno to make these usable.

For investors.. Think their golden rule isnear MRT so just buy? So I can't comment on this...

Nonetheless ..Cdl always Kenna sue for poor workmanship...why never opt for out of court settlement? :confused:iirc..recently also sued again..So me not comfortable n no confidence on how they handle another huge project without going down the same route.. .

Lastly..this is perhaps my naive thinking again..
Singapore going to be damn crowded in next decade..Hence perhaps development in laid-back places n less crowd will be more priced as more peaceful...away from the maddening crowded. The central amenities are only 2 bus stops.away if I choose stratum or Vue 8.. Other amenities I walk to elias mall or west plaza..

But Again it's my personal view as a homeowner.

This project is relatively better than a number of other current projects. Some many potential buyers in e showroom under these stringent cooling measures must have done their sums. Own stay or investment, must buy near MRT stations n amenities in OCR n RCR.

04-05-14, 14:17
I did a check on the travel time to MRT by bus from locations 2 to 3 busstops away.

Assume 2 mins to walk to busstop..4 to 5 mins to reach bus interchange 1 to 2 min to walk to MRT station.. 8 to 10 mins in total

Vs

2 mins to walk out from the coco palm estate..3 to 4 mins walk to MRT station direct.

We're talking about roughly 3 to perhaps 5 mins of difference in travel distance.

Then consider if it's raining heavily or carry heavy bags of grocery..it would be mostly
sheltered for 1st scenario vs 4 mins of no shelter? And around 3 to 4 mins of walking heavy stuffs vs 7 to 8 mins of walking.

Just thinking aloud whether if the nearness to MRT really matters in this case. :2cents:

you need to factor in bus waiting time. As long as you need to rely on an extra transportation mode to reach a destination, a premium is already factor for a development that is within 200-500 walking distance

Yuki
04-05-14, 14:30
you need to factor in bus waiting time. As long as you need to rely on an extra transportation mode to reach a destination, a premium is already factor for a development that is within 200-500 walking distance

Thanks for pointing this out. I have factored this in my calculation. There is 6 bus services for the bus stops I did the check on..N even though there is 6 to 8 mins of bus interval between each service, there is a high chance there is another service will arrive in between this interval. Of course due to experience there will be occasions that all 6 services arrive at the same time..:doh:

N a side note, I relied heavily on the bus app iris to catch the arrival of buses.

Nonetheless I do agree that walking to MRT definitely will mean that I will be assured of when I will reach the mrt station.

But of course if there are existing developments that are like 20 to 30 mins busstop away then I would think it's a no go...

C&K
04-05-14, 14:31

Morning and evening rush hours may mean there is a long waiting time as one may not get the chance to be on the bus the first time.
Just like the MRT where one may only board in the 3rd train.
So been near does have its benefits if one also considers school going kids.

Yuki
04-05-14, 14:33
This project is relatively better than a number of other current projects. Some many potential buyers in e showroom under these stringent cooling measures must have done their sums. Own stay or investment, must buy near MRT stations n amenities in OCR n RCR.

Yes definitely agree coz everyone considerations are different.

04-05-14, 14:45
Thanks for pointing this out. I have factored this in my calculation. There is 6 bus services for the bus stops I did the check on..N even though there is 6 to 8 mins of bus interval between each service, there is a high chance there is another service will arrive in between this interval. Of course due to experience there will be occasions that all 6 services arrive at the same time..:doh:

N a side note, I relied heavily on the bus app iris to catch the arrival of buses.

Nonetheless I do agree that walking to MRT definitely will mean that I will be assured of when I will reach the mrt station.

But of course if there are existing developments that are like 20 to 30 mins busstop away then I would think it's a no go...

If having 6 bus services going to an interchange, it will no doubt be a benefit but other issues that you need to consider are factors like jams during peak periods. Then wad about those 3-4 bus stops away, also not much diff in terms of time if the psf is much lower. Iris is a gd option but sticking to the bus time and rushing down is another issue unless you are very carefree and can time accordingly

Ultimately it is about the premium that you deem is worthy enough to pay for a development that is within walking distance to mall/mrt station. If a 2 busstop development is 15% cheaper, it is definitely worth considering assuming all else equals

Yuki
04-05-14, 15:31
x;476739]If having 6 bus services going to an interchange, it will no doubt be a benefit but other issues that you need to consider are factors like jams during peak periods. Then wad about those 3-4 bus stops away, also not much diff in terms of time if the psf is much lower. Iris is a gd option but sticking to the bus time and rushing down is another issue unless you are very carefree and can time accordingly

Ultimately it is about the premium that you deem is worthy enough to pay for a development that is within walking distance to mall/mrt station. If a 2 busstop development is 15% cheaper, it is definitely worth considering assuming all else equals[/QUOTE]

Yes.. I am just trying to point out these points for homeowners to make an informed decision to dispell the misconception that coco palms units are cheaper compared to those a few bus stops away.

04-05-14, 16:09
Yes.. I am just trying to point out these points for homeowners to make an informed decision to dispell the misconception that coco palms units are cheaper compared to those a few bus stops away.

Between bay windows and air-con ledges (recent tactics by developers to cut down on bay windows), I will go for bay windows which is more usable. Most parts of Singapore are jammed during peak hour (as indicated by my TMC/GPS).

There are still empty plots around the MRT station. In future, I think they will be commercial. Nowadays properties here is about walkability to MRT (<10 min) and amenities (eateries, convenience shops etc), not by bus or car.

I believe CDL is taking corrective measures to prevent quality issues, given the bad publicity recently. I think this project is likely to be well-delivered.

yesnomaybe
04-05-14, 18:39
Between bay windows and air-con ledges (recent tactics by developers to cut down on bay windows), I will go for bay windows which is more usable. Most parts of Singapore are jammed during peak hour (as indicated by my TMC/GPS).

There are still empty plots around the MRT station. In future, I think they will be commercial. Nowadays properties here is about walkability to MRT (<10 min) and amenities (eateries, convenience shops etc), not by bus or car.

I believe CDL is taking corrective measures to prevent quality issues, given the bad publicity recently. I think this project is likely to be well-delivered.

The era of condos with bay windows is over..unless they are like Coco Palms where the developer delayed the launch.

NV2010
04-05-14, 19:01
The Glades at Tanah Merah

1 bedroom units from S$670,000 onwards
2 bedroom units from S$780,000 onwards
3 bedroom units from $1,158,000 onwards

- 3 mins walk to the nearest mrt.

Coco palms V The Glades.

fireflyy
04-05-14, 19:31
The era of condos with bay windows is over..unless they are like Coco Palms where the developer delayed the launch.

Pardon me... but at this age in time why does this new development have bay windows? It is a URA requirement when the land was purchased in 2008?

princess_morbucks
04-05-14, 20:37
Pardon me... but at this age in time why does this new development have bay windows? It is a URA requirement when the land was purchased in 2008?

Did some research, since you asked.
Coco palm land was acquired on 17 Jan 2008.

The bay window and plantar box were excluded from GFA until 22 Sept 2008.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/circulars/2008/sep/dc08-18.aspx

Therefore Coco palms developer can still build bay windows and plantar boxes without counting them in the GFA.

This means the coco palms developer need not pay development charges on these bay window spaces and plantar box spaces, but they will count it as part of the floor space when they sell it to the buyer.

Yuki
04-05-14, 20:43

Therefore Coco palms developer can still build bay windows and plantar boxes without counting them in the GFA.

This means the coco palms developer need not pay development charges on these bay window spaces and plantar box spaces, but they will count it as part of the floor space when they sell it to the buyer.

Based on the fact that the land was acquired cheap back then..their profit is sure a lot!:eek:

princess_morbucks
04-05-14, 20:52
Based on the fact that the land was acquired cheap back then..their profit is sure a lot!:eek:

This is called land banking.
Big developers with deep pockets can afford to do so.

http://business.asiaone.com/news/cdl-hong-leong-top-land-bank-ranking

CDL, Hong Leong top land bank ranking

Therefore CDL's Kwek Leng Beng is dubbed as "Kwek Land Bank".

gav108
04-05-14, 21:01
corrections of some things mentioned earlier:

1) leasehold is from 7 jan 2008.
2) based on ura masterplan, there are another 5 pieces of land slated for residential development nearer to mrt/bus interchange than coco palms, 3 between mrt and coco palms, and 2 across the road from bus interchange next to pasir ris park. these lands around the mrt are Not slated for commercial. there's also another large piece of land reserved for residential next to these 2 pieces of land that's abt the same distance to mrt as coco palms. in total there are SIX more pieces of residential land around pasir ris mrt that are mostly nearer to the mrt than coco palms.

di
04-05-14, 21:28

2) based on ura masterplan, there are another 5 pieces of land slated for residential development nearer to mrt/bus interchange than coco palms, 3 between mrt and coco palms, and 2 across the road from bus interchange next to pasir ris park. these lands around the mrt are Not slated for commercial. there's also another large piece of land reserved for residential next to these 2 pieces of land that's abt the same distance to mrt as coco palms. in total there are SIX more pieces of residential land around pasir ris mrt that are mostly nearer to the mrt than coco palms.

Yes. this info is readily available from ura masterplan as early as 2008. I would say the units facing the park and yet near the MRT is the BEST combination. :p

fireflyy
04-05-14, 21:30

ahhh i see... Thank you Princess for the explanation.

04-05-14, 22:22

There should be future malls beside the MRT and shops embedded within the residential sites. This is my best guess based on developments at terminal stations with residential estates e.g. Boon Lay MRT, Punggol MRT etc.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/MS/DMP2013/regional-highlights/east-region/~/media/dmp2013/additional-plans/E-Region.ashx

princess_morbucks
04-05-14, 22:37
There should be future malls beside the MRT and shops embedded within the residential sites. This is my best guess based on developments at terminal stations with residential estates e.g. Boon Lay MRT, Punggol MRT etc.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/MS/DMP2013/regional-highlights/east-region/~/media/dmp2013/additional-plans/E-Region.ashx

Pasir ris really needs a bigger mall.
So many projects coming up and still got vacant land.
The infrastructure has to be able to support the increase in population.

di
05-05-14, 00:28
Pasir ris really needs a bigger mall.
So many projects coming up and still got vacant land.
The infrastructure has to be able to support the increase in population.

Yes..but it seems like the 2 departments not talking. Minister only concern about building non stop to cater for housing needs and happily declare that he made his target.

Then when the crunch comes, the other ministers will apologies for lack of foresight.just like what it happened to our transport. :beats-me-man:

star
05-05-14, 01:38
Singapore got too many malls. If u need a mall travel to tampines.

princess_morbucks
05-05-14, 05:37
Singapore got too many malls. If u need a mall travel to tampines.

As it is the malls at Tampines , esp Tampines mall is bursting at the seams.

propertybuyer073
05-05-14, 09:05
Thanks for the excellent discussions.

I believe many prospective buyers will thank all of you for raising many considerations before buying such as the below, the shorter land lease, why the various baywindows, planters (which apparently are not counted in the GFA)

Thank you for giving us a more balanced view before committing...

Yuki
05-05-14, 09:15

Yes, the details are available way back in 2008.I was gunning for the plot of land near bus interchange (but around a bus stop away, next to stratum) facing the park..but I guess I have to wait another 2 years for the land to be released and 4 for it to be built....:rolleyes:

Yuki
05-05-14, 09:24

Yes, the details are available way back in 2008.I was gunning for the plot of land near bus interchange (but around a bus stop away, next to stratum) facing the park..but I guess I have to wait another 2 years for the land to be released and 4 for it to be built....:rolleyes:

Yuki
05-05-14, 09:26
Thanks for the excellent discussions.

I believe many prospective buyers will thank all of you for raising many considerations before buying such as the below, the shorter land lease, why the various baywindows, planters (which apparently are not counted in the GFA)

Thank you for giving us a more balanced view before committing...

No problem! Glad our discussions have helped you guys so that you make an informed decision... :)

Blue
06-05-14, 15:38

I guess by the time the plot of land nearest to MRT is launched, the price will be different. The reason why CDL can offer low price is bec they bought the land cheap from the garment in the first place. So good luck to you if you wanna wait for the right place at the right price. Just don't look back with regrets few years on....:)

I also read abt your comments / discussions on how another project 2 bus stops away is a better buy than Coco Palms. I think it is a no-brainer to anyone buying a condo. Definitely the one nearest to MRT is more worthy and sells faster. It is not so much about how to get to MRT, it is the perceived value and status to the owner. I guess the owner will be more proud to say his condo is 5 mins walk to the MRT and the mall vs "Well, I need to take a bus and it is only 2 stops from the MRT." :cheers1:

Yuki
06-05-14, 19:46
I guess by the time the plot of land nearest to MRT is launched, the price will be different. The reason why CDL can offer low price is bec they bought the land cheap from the garment in the first place. So good luck to you if you wanna wait for the right place at the right price. Just don't look back with regrets few years on....:)

I also read abt your comments / discussions on how another project 2 bus stops away is a better buy than Coco Palms. I think it is a no-brainer to anyone buying a condo. Definitely the one nearest to MRT is more worthy and sells faster. It is not so much about how to get to MRT, it is the perceived value and status to the owner. I guess the owner will be more proud to say his condo is 5 mins walk to the MRT and the mall vs "Well, I need to take a bus and it is only 2 stops from the MRT." :cheers1:

Hi blue. .I think it should be perceived value n status to most owners. You see..my family and us ruled out this launch due to the following personal considerations

- livability , coco 2 bedder is still smaller than the nearby units
- bay windows n planter, I hate them coz they eat up my already small unit ..plus I m living in one n looking at them every day. .dun wan to make the same mistake
- shorter lease time. .by the time I took over the value of the land has dropped by ten years compared to the nearby units..and considering that I m no investor who will rent out or sell within 5 to 8 years perhaps..I will probably move out after maybe 20 to 25 years..by then harder for next buyer to get bank loan mah
- price, if I m going to put up with above flaws. .then I m only willing to consider it if its going like 600 k or slightly more to mitigate the risk of loss by the time i need to sell..but..this is an impossible price unless I go for ulu inflora?? But cdl launched at this price hence not cheap to me..
- too many units. .I have putup with so many people in mrt..hawker centre..I cant relax if the weekend is filled with so many people using the lagoon..if there are 944 units..n assuming 2 people per family..n that only 40 percent use the facilities with their visitors.. .That means over 500 people? ? I probably go mad
- others..like mrt noise ..dun wan to live with mrt noise or weekend noise from crowd.. .prefer peace..again if no noise lesser means I need to look further right?
And lastly..too long to Top. If ready only by Dec 2019..maybe those nearby parcels with smaller density will also complete by then.
- slightly further alternative. I m in luck coz there are nearby new albeit smaller launches..but not so far until not acceptable la

My previous comments are meant for prospective homeowners ..n not investors to factor the first 3 points n ask themselves. .is it really cheap? Is the price n wait worth it? Or go for dnest or those nearby which is slightly bigger n longer lease but still near the mrt? Or look further a few bus stops away?

Everyone looks out for different attributes to make a place call home. If your main criteria which is being near the mrt over rides the other factors which is not a main consideration...why not? I m sure there are other buys who think like you too.

Yes i m perhaps the stupid buyer that doesn't go by the golden near the mrt rule..but then with buyers like me who stayed out it means you n others have a higher chance to snag one doesnt it?

guess u made up your mind to purchase one ? Congrats on your purchase. .!

Mu
06-05-14, 20:15
Hi blue. .I think it should be perceived value n status to most owners. You see..my family and us ruled out this launch due to the following personal considerations

- livability , coco 2 bedder is still smaller than the nearby units
- bay windows n planter, I hate them coz they eat up my already small unit ..plus I m living in one n looking at them every day. .dun wan to make the same mistake
- shorter lease time. .by the time I took over the value of the land has dropped by ten years compared to the nearby units..and considering that I m no investor who will rent out or sell within 5 to 8 years perhaps..I will probably move out after maybe 20 to 25 years..by then harder for next buyer to get bank loan mah
- price, if I m going to put up with above flaws. .then I m only willing to consider it if its going like 600 k or slightly more to mitigate the risk of loss by the time i need to sell..but..this is an impossible price unless I go for ulu inflora?? But cdl launched at this price hence not cheap to me..
- too many units. .I have putup with so many people in mrt..hawker centre..I cant relax if the weekend is filled with so many people using the lagoon..if there are 944 units..n assuming 2 people per family..n that only 40 percent use the facilities with their visitors.. .That means over 500 people? ? I probably go mad
- others..like mrt noise ..dun wan to live with mrt noise or weekend noise from crowd.. .prefer peace..again if no noise lesser means I need to look further right?
And lastly..too long to Top. If ready only by Dec 2019..maybe those nearby parcels with smaller density will also complete by then.
- slightly further alternative. I m in luck coz there are nearby new albeit smaller launches..but not so far until not acceptable la

My previous comments are meant for prospective homeowners ..n not investors to factor the first 3 points n ask themselves. .is it really cheap? Is the price n wait worth it? Or go for dnest or those nearby which is slightly bigger n longer lease but still near the mrt? Or look further a few bus stops away?

Everyone looks out for different attributes to make a place call home. If your main criteria which is being near the mrt over rides the other factors which is not a main consideration...why not? I m sure there are other buys who think like you too.

Yes i m perhaps the stupid buyer that doesn't go by the golden near the mrt rule..but then with buyers like me who stayed out it means you n others have a higher chance to snag one doesnt it?

guess u made up your mind to purchase one ? Congrats on your purchase. .!

Good for you. You have placed a lot of though and consideration. However, just a gentle note that sometimes you will not be able to tick all the boxes at once.
The real value of Coco Palms, as is the other developments by CDL is the fact that they are near enough to the MRT at just the right price point. Any nearer, and you will see at least $1100 to $1300 as an average. This is generally the rule of thumb. So to me, the area presents a rare opportunity to be close enough to the MRT without the crazy price tag of next to MRT living.

But if you have the resources, and can afford something above $1200 psf, don't buy this project, because you will never be comfortable with the TPE noise/ huge population of residents/MRT noise/Pasir Ris "ulu"ness etc. This project, along with the others within the CDL enclave are not for choosy buyers.They are for buyers hunting for "value for money" and willing to sacrifice something to gain another.

Yuki
06-05-14, 20:52
Good for you. You have placed a lot of though and consideration. However, just a gentle note that sometimes you will not be able to tick all the boxes at once.
The real value of Coco Palms, as is the other developments by CDL is the fact that they are near enough to the MRT at just the right price point. Any nearer, and you will see at least $1100 to $1300 as an average. This is generally the rule of thumb. So to me, the area presents a rare opportunity to be close enough to the MRT without the crazy price tag of next to MRT living.

But if you have the resources, and can afford something above $1200 psf, don't buy this project, because you will never be comfortable with the TPE noise/ huge population of residents/MRT noise/Pasir Ris "ulu"ness etc. This project, along with the others within the CDL enclave are not for choosy buyers.They are for buyers hunting for "value for money" and willing to sacrifice something to gain another.

Yes sad but true..have to give up one thing or another. :banghead:

As for the psf price..judging by most people responses..the 2 bedders think its very possible to look at $1100 to $1200 as average i.e for mid level 2 bedders onwards to be priced at $850k?

M expecting the prices to be similar to The jewel at buangkok mrt.

di
06-05-14, 22:22

For projects launched next to MRTs or upcoming confirmed MRTs location...the prices sold already factored in the premium for location etc. Then let us assume the following.

Fixed variables:
Buyer Y is looking at minimum stay horizon of 13 to 15 years.
After which he or she moves on.

Assumption - all the usual factors considered equal priority...and not the usual MRT rules all kinda rule..

Pasir ris west newly launched projects applies to only those 2 to 3 busstops away..since we are at this topic..

Price:
Further away therefore cheaper + Plus point

Size:
Bigger means more livable + Plus point

Amenities:
Elias Mall, Schools, OFS, West Plaza, neighborhood options, cheaper alternatives? Can still shop at White sands before reaching home + Plus point

Crowd
Significantly lesser, can make do with less crowd since Singapore reaching 7 million very soon + Plus point

Nature
Literally doorstep, can walk to sea and also play in condo pool without the crowd + Plus point

Peaceful
Who wouldn't want peace, smaller development means lesser people + Plus point

Transport
2-3 busstops away ..walk around 15 mins to 20 mins tops? - Negative point

Price Appreciation
I believe that most investors are looking at this and assume the MRT golden rule. Not much since not near MRT FOR NOW - Negative point

Lease
Since there is a mention of lease here...longer lease is better with shorter TOP + Plus point

Unique factor?
Near sea? Next to 2 schools (neighbor plus OSF?) + Plus point

Overall score: 8 out of 10

Coco palms..centrally launched

Size:
Small..wah! How come still got bay windows at this era?! - Negative point

Amenities:
White sands! So many other facilities like Library? Shopping? Not exactly cheaper alternatives? But overall + Plus point

Crowd
A lot! :scared-5: In the central place sure got crowd from the station plus the condo pool...crowded..think very hard to book facilities...- Negative point

Nature
Need to take 2 to 3 busstop away - Negative point

Peaceful
Ehmmm...don't think will get to enjoy the facilities due to intense competition..lots of crowd during the weekend, MRT and bus interchange noises for those who is facing outwards from the estate- Negative point

Transport
Just walk la! + Plus point

Price Appreciation
Got MRT means BUY BUY BUY!! + Plus point

Lease
Shorter lease with longer TOP...- Negative point

Unique factor?
Near big hawker + Plus point

Overall score: 4 out of 10

That is the score for now. Since cross island line is announced and plans to connect punggol to pasir ris will be in place by 2030, 16 or earlier years from now. Government plans to make MRT available within 10 mins of walk. Possible mrt stations here:
https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&oe=UTF8&msa=0&msid=214804489391734348552.0004d3b39bf0bd72e5758&ll=1.357646,103.830535&spn=0.184867,0.36391&t=m&source=embed&dg=feature

Lets relook at the scoring again after 13 to 15 years.
The 2 negative points for Pasir ris west newly launched projects will become positive, better still should be underground MRT, since the saga with OSF means government highly likely will not touch the parks, nature etc. N the units are brought at lower price, the upside is much higher considering underground, cheaper entry price and more livable conditions?

However the -ve factors for Coco palms not change, except more crowded due to increased traffic?

But of course la, this is just pure speculation. And still rumors as pointed out by Yuki in other threads. These additional MRTs are still not announced yet. Sakli there is no station in between Pasir ris west and central :banghead:, but looking at Tampines East , West I suspect highly unlikely right.

Anyway this is an interesting case study based on so many possibilities, factors, observations and the valid points put up by the alternative thinking buyers. Any more alternative thinking potential buyers here can share?

Please do not flame me coz I am also seriously considering coco palms :p. thanks Yuki for being brave enough to voice alternative views.

Still thinking crunching numbers here :2cents:.

Mu
06-05-14, 23:09
For projects launched next to MRTs or upcoming confirmed MRTs location...the prices sold already factored in the premium for location etc. Then let us assume the following.

Fixed variables:
Buyer Y is looking at minimum stay horizon of 13 to 15 years.
After which he or she moves on.

Assumption - all the usual factors considered equal priority...and not the usual MRT rules all kinda rule..

Pasir ris west newly launched projects applies to only those 2 to 3 busstops away..since we are at this topic..

Price:
Further away therefore cheaper + Plus point

Size:
Bigger means more livable + Plus point

Amenities:
Elias Mall, Schools, OFS, West Plaza, neighborhood options, cheaper alternatives? Can still shop at White sands before reaching home + Plus point

Crowd
Significantly lesser, can make do with less crowd since Singapore reaching 7 million very soon + Plus point

Nature
Literally doorstep, can walk to sea and also play in condo pool without the crowd + Plus point

Peaceful
Who wouldn't want peace, smaller development means lesser people + Plus point

Transport
2-3 busstops away ..walk around 15 mins to 20 mins tops? - Negative point

Price Appreciation
I believe that most investors are looking at this and assume the MRT golden rule. Not much since not near MRT FOR NOW - Negative point

Lease
Since there is a mention of lease here...longer lease is better with shorter TOP + Plus point

Unique factor?
Near sea? Next to 2 schools (neighbor plus OSF?) + Plus point

Overall score: 8 out of 10

Coco palms..centrally launched

Size:
Small..wah! How come still got bay windows at this era?! - Negative point

Amenities:
White sands! So many other facilities like Library? Shopping? Not exactly cheaper alternatives? But overall + Plus point

Crowd
A lot! :scared-5: In the central place sure got crowd from the station plus the condo pool...crowded..think very hard to book facilities...- Negative point

Nature
Need to take 2 to 3 busstop away - Negative point

Peaceful
Ehmmm...don't think will get to enjoy the facilities due to intense competition..lots of crowd during the weekend, MRT and bus interchange noises for those who is facing outwards from the estate- Negative point

Transport
Just walk la! + Plus point

Price Appreciation
Got MRT means BUY BUY BUY!! + Plus point

Lease
Shorter lease with longer TOP...- Negative point

Unique factor?
Near big hawker + Plus point

Overall score: 4 out of 10

That is the score for now. Since cross island line is announced and plans to connect punggol to pasir ris will be in place by 2030, 16 or earlier years from now. Government plans to make MRT available within 10 mins of walk. Possible mrt stations here:
https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?ie=UTF8&hl=en&oe=UTF8&msa=0&msid=214804489391734348552.0004d3b39bf0bd72e5758&ll=1.357646,103.830535&spn=0.184867,0.36391&t=m&source=embed&dg=feature

Lets relook at the scoring again after 13 to 15 years.
The 2 negative points for Pasir ris west newly launched projects will become positive, better still should be underground MRT, since the saga with OSF means government highly likely will not touch the parks, nature etc. N the units are brought at lower price, the upside is much higher considering underground, cheaper entry price and more livable conditions?

However the -ve factors for Coco palms not change, except more crowded due to increased traffic?

But of course la, this is just pure speculation. And still rumors as pointed out by Yuki in other threads. These additional MRTs are still not announced yet. Sakli there is no station in between Pasir ris west and central :banghead:, but looking at Tampines East , West I suspect highly unlikely right.

Anyway this is an interesting case study based on so many possibilities, factors, observations and the valid points put up by the alternative thinking buyers. Any more alternative thinking potential buyers here can share?

Please do not flame me coz I am also seriously considering coco palms :p. thanks Yuki for being brave enough to voice alternative views.

Still thinking crunching numbers here :2cents:.

I think one key consideration is missing. There has to be weights assigned to easy criteria. Each person will weigh them differently.To some people, walking distance to MRT means 20x weight since they don't have to wait for buses. To some, privacy means 30x weight because they can't tolerate noise. There is absolutely no way to make a meaningful comparison.

di
06-05-14, 23:54
I think one key consideration is missing. There has to be weights assigned to easy criteria. Each person will weigh them differently.To some people, walking distance to MRT means 20x weight since they don't have to wait for buses. To some, privacy means 30x weight because they can't tolerate noise. There is absolutely no way to make a meaningful comparison.

Even if we take away the privacy, etc, the high possibility that the MRT is going to be within walking distance for the Pasir ris west projects (by 16 years), and these are now selling at a lower price at a longer lease is still something worth considering. Plus, these projects come with the other +ve points which coco palms don't have.

But of course, that means suffering (if someone values walking distance of 5 mins a lot) for the next 16 years if they choose to choose the west projects.

But for others who don't mind a slighter further distance, a few bus stops away and or perhaps to walk 15 mins or 20 mins longer, they do not necessary mean worse off if we look at a longer time interval of approx 15 years...which is usually the time horizon for long time investors. ;) :2cents:

It seems that the coco palms upside is limited...n there is still potential upside for west launches...both are good in a certain sense...so hard to choose. :p

Plus, we should exercise daily...15 to 30 mins daily is actually good for our health....hahah as my friends always insisted. :D

sleeping lamb
07-05-14, 08:43
Even if we take away the privacy, etc, the high possibility that the MRT is going to be within walking distance for the Pasir ris west projects (by 16 years), and these are now selling at a lower price at a longer lease is still something worth considering. Plus, these projects come with the other +ve points which coco palms don't have.

But of course, that means suffering (if someone values walking distance of 5 mins a lot) for the next 16 years if they choose to choose the west projects.

But for others who don't mind a slighter further distance, a few bus stops away and or perhaps to walk 15 mins or 20 mins longer, they do not necessary mean worse off if we look at a longer time interval of approx 15 years...which is usually the time horizon for long time investors. ;) :2cents:

It seems that the coco palms upside is limited...n there is still potential upside for west launches...both are good in a certain sense...so hard to choose. :p

Plus, we should exercise daily...15 to 30 mins daily is actually good for our health....hahah as my friends always insisted. :D it all boils down to individual preference. If you don't drive, it's always better to stay near the train station.

07-05-14, 08:48
why all this talk about walking? i'm pretty sure there will be commercial shuttle bus services plying in all the CDL developments in the vicinity.

in this hot weather, i applaud all those who would like to sweat it out for a 10-15min walk

LiveYoung
07-05-14, 12:47

Plus, we should exercise daily...15 to 30 mins daily is actually good for our health....hahah as my friends always insisted. :D

A few points I want to add on,

1. Most likely you do not have to wait 16 years for the cross island line stations to be announced. 2030 I think is the time phase 1's construction is completed.

2. Residents at Pasir Ris west, more specifically those 2 condos' owners have to walk by the main road to reach the mrt station, meaning they inhale exhaust air by cars and buses all the way from home to mrt. I don't think it's a healthly exercise if they do it every day.

yesnomaybe
08-05-14, 00:14
A few points I want to add on,

1. Most likely you do not have to wait 16 years for the cross island line stations to be announced. 2030 I think is the time phase 1's construction is completed.

2. Residents at Pasir Ris west, more specifically those 2 condos' owners have to walk by the main road to reach the mrt station, meaning they inhale exhaust air by cars and buses all the way from home to mrt. I don't think it's a healthly exercise if they do it every day.

Point 2 is ridiculous

LiveYoung
08-05-14, 09:59
Point 2 is ridiculous

http://www.ehhi.org/reports/exhaust/summary.shtml

yesnomaybe
08-05-14, 11:00
http://www.ehhi.org/reports/exhaust/summary.shtml

I know about the harm of exhaust fumes...just that Coco Palms is situated along an equally busy road ...With very heavy traffic...especially of heavy vehicles

My point is that your assertion that Coco Palms is better than Vue8 in terms of air quality is clearly untrue

beepbeep
09-05-14, 09:44

The architectural plan was submitted and approved in 2008 when bay windows were a norm then so can't change.

If you notice there is no big balcony like the current new launches but only a foot wide planter at the living room to make up for the bay windows. That is the reason the master room can fit in a king size bed with sufficient walking space despite having the bay windows

newlaunchproperty
09-05-14, 14:49
The architectural plan was submitted and approved in 2008 when bay windows were a norm then so can't change.

If you notice there is no big balcony like the current new launches but only a foot wide planter at the living room to make up for the bay windows. That is the reason the master room can fit in a king size bed with sufficient walking space despite having the bay windows
Bingo peepbeep!

You got the exact analysis on the comparison between bay window with the combination of smaller planter to the current big balcony development. I believe that private condo owners would appreciate internal useable space on/above bay window than external big balcony space. And look at all the L-shape windows in the master bedroom that maximize views, light exposure and most importantly, ventilation within the unit. :cheers4:

What can go wrong to own a private property with resort-inspired facilities, within 5 minutes walk to MRT and Shopping Mall (Good distance as you will not hear MRT track noise from the development) yet at an reasonable pricing (At least in the current market) if one is seriously looking for own stay or investment!

It is less than 5 days before we close our registration for our VVIP booking on 17 May 2014. Interested Home Upgraders and Investors may register (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html) with us an our Coco Palms (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html) homepage below to be part of our exclusive clients for the priority booking. :)

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/t457/skychiu/Property%20Pasir%20Ris/Coco%20Palms/PB-Coco-Palm-Logo_zps5bd4c412.jpg (http://newlaunch-property.com/showcase/coco-palms-condo.html)

invigorated
09-05-14, 15:21

Received the leaflet in my mailbox and the design of the units reek of hdb blocks.

Like you, I feel that the lesser 10+years when TOP makes this less worthwhile. The other putoff is the TOP in 2019. In the current market with so many units about to TOP, imagine the opportunity cost of rental for almost 5 years..that's almost 100k.

Plus 900+ units fighting for the use of facilities? Can't imagine here.

4wheels
09-05-14, 16:36
Plus 900+ units fighting for the use of facilities? Can't imagine here.

this is something that I dislike. I understand it was originally to be 600+ units but ...

Strata
09-05-14, 17:18
this is something that I dislike. I understand it was originally to be 600+ units but ...

Of cos can squeeze more will not give it a miss lah.....

I heard this large piece of agricultural land makes Mr Quek earn $$$$$$..

invigorated
09-05-14, 17:18

Think potential buyers have to buy with eyes wide open and not just look at the price, which really isn't much lower after factoring TOP date.

Buyers will be competing on facilities, parking, the morning queue out of car park and eventually rental, potential buyers. Esp when CDL still has thousands of units to clear..

iridrium
09-05-14, 20:49
Think potential buyers have to buy with eyes wide open and not just look at the price, which really isn't much lower after factoring TOP date.

Buyers will be competing on facilities, parking, the morning queue out of car park and eventually rental, potential buyers. Esp when CDL still has thousands of units to clear..

I can't agree with you more. When you can reason like that, you have reach the property nirvana. Too bad too few people can reason like this.

玉格格
11-05-14, 23:01

nid to add in at least 50k for the 2008 old land n low quality furnishing.
n the quality of furnishing is so un cdl ... they used tiles! :doh:
but I saw digital locks!

11-05-14, 23:44
What kind of digital locks? Cheap ones and expensive good ones a lot of price difference!
There is the very cheap kind that is very easy to break-in! :(

but I saw digital locks!

Yuki
12-05-14, 00:36
but I saw digital locks!

Tiles are a norm now. Are there digital locks
.don't remember seeing any...

VS
12-05-14, 10:02
I heard that VVIP discount is 25%. Does that means that after the VVIP bookings, remaining units will be sold as list price (ie 25% more than the offer price at 17th May)?

12-05-14, 10:27
This one is better for own stay rather than rental. the whole piece of land there got so many condos TOP and looking for rental. very scary.

Yuki
12-05-14, 10:42
This one is better for own stay rather than rental. the whole piece of land there got so many condos TOP and looking for rental. very scary.

But own stay so very crowded too..hard to use facilities. ..

Not bashing this project. I likw how they propose the floor storage n the fact that they maximise the wardrobe all theynway up the ceiling.

4wheels
12-05-14, 10:55
I heard that VVIP discount is 25%. Does that means that after the VVIP bookings, remaining units will be sold as list price (ie 25% more than the offer price at 17th May)?

discount is not importance as the list price is not known to public. The developer can always give the same discount but increase the list price. Eventually, the final psf is the buyer bought is the right measurement.

LiveYoung
12-05-14, 11:30
Regardless of all the savvy investors' bashing here in condosg, this will most likely still sell like hot cake, like last time the D'nest lanuch.:o

johnoon
12-05-14, 12:25
Coco Palm Floor Plans, Site plan etc here :D

http://newlaunch-sgcondo.com/coco-palms-condo/

Yuki
12-05-14, 14:33
Regardless of all the savvy investors' bashing here in condosg, this will most likely still sell like hot cake, like last time the D'nest lanuch.:o

Guess as long its "hot" in demand its a good investment? Theory etc aside...:confused:

LiveYoung
12-05-14, 14:59
Guess as long its "hot" in demand its a good investment? Theory etc aside...:confused:

You need the buying frenzy during launch to create the initial hype, so as many will immediately remember the Condo name. In turn, it will somehow drive the perception value up for the condo, making people believe it's a good buy. That's how it works for most people I suppose. So really, it's critical to have one's independent thought. It applies to many areas, not only when it comes to investment.:o

Yuki
12-05-14, 16:48
You need the buying frenzy during launch to create the initial hype, so as many will immediately remember the Condo name. In turn, it will somehow drive the perception value up for the condo, making people believe it's a good buy. That's how it works for most people I suppose. So really, it's critical to have one's independent thought. It applies to many areas, not only when it comes to investment.:o

Sometimes I think I analysis too much..especially buying a big ticket item ..hype means prying ones emotions impairing judgement? . I m not comfortable with that.

nickq
12-05-14, 17:02
To all the experts here: which stack do you think it's the best for 1 bedder and 2 bedder? :)

babyt
12-05-14, 17:18
is the walking distance really that near to MRT?

6 mins as stated but I doubt so...probably 10mins and furthermore, no sheltered walkway to mrt.

Yuki
12-05-14, 17:51
is the walking distance really that near to MRT?

6 mins as stated but I doubt so...probably 10mins and furthermore, no sheltered walkway to mrt.

If really want near..buy the stacks just next to the road leading to the mrt. If you buy inside the development still need to walk around the lagoon etc. Quite a distance... Furthermore need to walk around the roads to reach the mrt. I m familiar with the area since I used to walk to my aunt house in the area. What I hate is when it rains..not sheltered. :(

chivano
12-05-14, 21:19
To all the experts here: which stack do you think it's the best for 1 bedder and 2 bedder? :)

Best in term of?

nickq
13-05-14, 09:35
Best in term of?

If for own stay which is the better stack?

chivano
13-05-14, 10:55
If for own stay which is the better stack?

Personally, I will take:

1BR - stack 26, 67
2BR - stack 47, 07

These few stacks might be the most expensive stack too.

All depends.....

玉格格
13-05-14, 13:35
Tiles are a norm now. Are there digital locks
.don't remember seeing any...

tiles a norm for cdl meh?
I saw it a the 1 bedder door.
honestly the 2 bedder de design is gd, as long as u dun hiam the BW.
if u take the unit nearer to the side gate, 5 mins walk to mrt no prob.
but pricing wise I feel exp due to the shorter lease.

propersquare
13-05-14, 18:29
Review link by ProperSquare website.... cheers.

http://www.propersquare.com/reviews/details/coco-palms-review

jjvios
16-05-14, 09:30
Anyone has any idea how many cheques were collected for sat?

mkoay
16-05-14, 12:16
With interest rates going up and prices coming down for resale, will be good to see how much CDL will launch this project. Bear in mind.... D'Nest still have units unsold... 4 Bedder going for 920+ psf

VS
16-05-14, 13:07
With interest rates going up and prices coming down for resale, will be good to see how much CDL will launch this project. Bear in mind.... D'Nest still have units unsold... 4 Bedder going for 920+ psf

Ya, will know the exact prices tomorrow.

terrynfs
17-05-14, 10:24
vvip today? any live photos?

Yuki
17-05-14, 15:09
vvip today? any live photos?

Dun think anyone replying you coz they are busy snapping up the units?

A lot of people at the vvip today. The agent smsed me the photos.

Prices range from 760k +++ for the not so good units mid floor onwards..

Hit east or west sun. The better stacks are not released.

sunboy77
17-05-14, 15:18
1BR fully sold.

terrynfs
17-05-14, 15:26
Dun think anyone replying you coz they are busy snapping up the units?

A lot of people at the vvip today. The agent smsed me the photos.

Prices range from 760k +++ for the not so good units mid floor onwards..

Hit east or west sun. The better stacks are not released.

really hot project as expected

Yuki
17-05-14, 15:41
really hot project as expected

I realized that any project near mrt will be snapped up...regardless of their attributes.

More for investors rather than homeowners I believe. I really tried hard to imagine myself living with the tiny unit...made worse by the bay windows, crowds, noise...and then the 11 years shorter lease. I gave up although its nearer to the MRT. :(

IsaacTan
17-05-14, 16:01
I realized that any project near mrt will be snapped up...regardless of their attributes.

More for investors rather than homeowners I believe. I really tried hard to imagine myself living with the tiny unit...made worse by the bay windows, crowds, noise...and then the 11 years shorter lease. I gave up although its nearer to the MRT. :(

Ground floor with PES....selling about $985K.Total floor area 1001sqft.
You're right that the land started on 2008.
But i thought SG rule was you need to develop the land after bidding in 1-2 years time?
How can they hold for so long?

star
17-05-14, 16:56

The reason is quantum. Even near mrt if quantum is high it can't sell. Panorama, sky habitat are some examples.

Inflora sold out, hillford sold out. Location location is old way, now is quantum, quantum.

4wheels
17-05-14, 17:07
what are the psf of those sold unit?

17-05-14, 17:39
It is still so hot with only 88 years of lease when TOP. :D

Yuki
17-05-14, 17:45
what are the psf of those sold unit?

Not so good ones around over $900. Better ones from $10xx ...The best stack is from $11xx I guess?

If left 88 years might as well look at resale...immediate occupation/rental..bigger size...plus u get to see the actual unit itself....and not be shocked to see how small when collect the keys. :2cents:

Yuki
17-05-14, 17:46
The reason is quantum. Even near mrt if quantum is high it can't sell. Panorama, sky habitat are some examples.

Inflora sold out, hillford sold out. Location location is old way, now is quantum, quantum.

Means if I reduce the size of 2 bedders to 60 sqm...sell at $11xx or $12xx whilst keeping within $800k...then buyers still buy?! :scared-5:

mkoay
17-05-14, 17:59

Yeah.... managed to get ballot within 30min but after seeing the 4BD priced at $970 plus psf... not worth it. Eventhough they state 25% discount, they must have increased the list price. But I guess most of the buyers there are 1 and 2 bedders.

RCT
17-05-14, 18:05
As usually... Now only have small buyers so have to make small small so that psf can be high high while quantum low low..... Cannot imagine staying in those small house...

IsaacTan
17-05-14, 18:19
As usually... Now only have small buyers so have to make small small so that psf can be high high while quantum low low..... Cannot imagine staying in those small house...

Nowaday there're also unit with 1 toilet for 2 bedder

Yuki
17-05-14, 18:23
Yeah.... managed to get ballot within 30min but after seeing the 4BD priced at $970 plus psf... not worth it. Eventhough they state 25% discount, they must have increased the list price. But I guess most of the buyers there are 1 and 2 bedders.

3 busstops away is approx $100 psf cheaper n bigger size too.

Cdl must be trying to recoup their losses for their other projects by squeezing the mass market buyers more.

Yuki
17-05-14, 18:25

Regret.regret

Should have brought 3 years ago instead of waited..at least the units were bigger...better furnishing. :doh:

Small n.smaller units are here to stay..

17-05-14, 18:31
It is still so hot with only 88 years of lease when TOP. :D

This 1 cheaper than hillford leh...

17-05-14, 18:35

Already told you that it will be a hot project ;)

The bigger units will take some time to sell though.

CDL bought the land cheap, so anything above $900 psf is still very good profit.

4wheels
17-05-14, 20:05
Already told you that it will be a hot project ;)

The bigger units will take some time to sell though.

CDL bought the land cheap, so anything above $900 psf is still very good profit.

is it hot? What is the sales so far? If it is just 1bd and 2 bd, I think is normal lah!:)

VS
17-05-14, 20:13
Ground floor with PES....selling about $985K.Total floor area 1001sqft.
You're right that the land started on 2008.
But i thought SG rule was you need to develop the land after bidding in 1-2 years time?
How can they hold for so long?

Ground floor 01-44: sold for $777K, 980 sq ft including PES

4wheels
17-05-14, 20:57
Ground floor 01-44: sold for $777K, 980 sq ft including PES

opened kitchen 2bd facing bus-stop!

RCT
17-05-14, 22:04
Regret.regret

Should have brought 3 years ago instead of waited..at least the units were bigger...better furnishing. :doh:

Small n.smaller units are here to stay..

If for own stay, I think now HDB is build much better than Condo...

mlchoo
18-05-14, 09:14
Anyone knows how is the sale?

18-05-14, 09:45
since the lease starts from January 2008, by the time the Coco Palms is completed by 2019, eleven years would have already been run on its 99 year lease, leaving it with 88 years on its land lease.

not worth, unless they give 20% real discount.

IsaacTan
18-05-14, 10:05
since the lease starts from January 2008, by the time the Coco Palms is completed by 2019, eleven years would have already been run on its 99 year lease, leaving it with 88 years on its land lease.

Isn't under the law they must sell or develop the land in 1-2 years after bidding of the land?
How they could hold it for so long?

yesnomaybe
18-05-14, 10:53
488 units sold yesterday according to Huttons agent friends

terrynfs
18-05-14, 11:03

better than d'nest last year

4wheels
18-05-14, 11:55

good sales. Base on the distribution, I would think about 75% sold are the 1bd and 2 bd

http://www.e-newproperty.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Unit-size-breakdown.jpg

yesnomaybe
18-05-14, 12:14
1 bedrm fully sold

2 bedrm limited units left

Good house
18-05-14, 12:35
Wonderiing if people are buying as holiday home.?
Stay big HDB, buy one bedder to use facility

Yuki
18-05-14, 13:21
1 bedrm fully sold

2 bedrm limited units left

Did they release the premium stacks for 2 bedders? How much are these units?

Yuki
18-05-14, 13:22

Exactly..but moving forward do u think government will sell shorter lease to make housing more affordable to people?

RCT
18-05-14, 13:54
better than d'nest last year

Not too bad... Sold ard 50%?

18-05-14, 13:58
To be honest I not surprise if alot of PRCs hooted it. Was at shwrm last wk many PRCs pple in showrm. Was at Robinson at Raffles City yesterday night, got a happy couple wif the lady proudly holding the condo brochure..maybe already hooted one that's why so happy

Good house
18-05-14, 14:20
To be honest I not surprise if alot of PRCs hooted it. Was at shwrm last wk many PRCs pple in showrm. Was at Robinson at Raffles City yesterday night, got a happy couple wif the lady proudly holding the condo brochure..maybe already hooted one that's why so happy

They used to small space in the city. Heating is expensive in winter, small space save energy.

玉格格
18-05-14, 14:26
This 1 cheaper than hillford leh...
hillford better loc leh ...

18-05-14, 14:35
hillford better loc leh ...

So now you do reverse.... 60 year lease... How many years used up before top... 60 years minus time to build = say 55 year... Do reverse interpolation to 90 years. How much hillford is worth on psf basis... Hahahahah

玉格格
18-05-14, 14:50
So now you do reverse.... 60 year lease... How many years used up before top... 60 years minus time to build = say 55 year... Do reverse interpolation to 90 years. How much hillford is worth on psf basis... Hahahahah

i nvr feel hillford is cheap in the 1st place wor :p
but den u r rite in a sense, coco is still better value den hillford, juz tat perhaps there r better value proj around, like the sengkang riverxxxxx new launches.

terrynfs
18-05-14, 16:29
Not too bad... Sold ard 50%?

ya, and should achieve 70-80% within the first month, not bad for such a big project

Yuki
18-05-14, 17:13
i nvr feel hillford is cheap in the 1st place wor :p
but den u r rite in a sense, coco is still better value den hillford, juz tat perhaps there r better value proj around, like the sengkang riverxxxxx new launches.

Sengkang projects like rivertrees riverbanks usually face "rivers"...aka lobang canal lei. Facing the sea better?

玉格格
18-05-14, 19:47
Sengkang projects like rivertrees riverbanks usually face "rivers"...aka lobang canal lei. Facing the sea better?

nobody asked u to choose the unit tat faces canal, swamp, smelly water wat!!! :hell-hath-no-fury:

Yuki
18-05-14, 19:50
nobody asked u to choose the unit tat faces canal, swamp, smelly water wat!!! :hell-hath-no-fury:

Then u mean face pool? Then of all the other launches why sengkang better value??

18-05-14, 20:06
Isn't under the law they must sell or develop the land in 1-2 years after bidding of the land?
How they could hold it for so long?

Law only changed recently if I don't remember wrongly.

玉格格
18-05-14, 20:19
Then u mean face pool? Then of all the other launches why sengkang better value??

u mean dun hv units facing road, trees, or oth units meh?

cos i rmb seeing the indicative $ for 2 bedders is $6xx

beepbeep
18-05-14, 23:52

Given a fresh piece of 99 years land, developers will launch only 9 months to 1 year later not immediately. The construction will take 3+ years, so total nearly 4+ years already spent. So Coco Palms is only 6+ years older than a GLS project not 11 years.

20% discount will mean same price as EC prices, let us know if CDL offers that.

yl
19-05-14, 08:29
Given a fresh piece of 99 years land, developers will launch only 9 months to 1 year later not immediately. The construction will take 3+ years, so total nearly 4+ years already spent. So Coco Palms is only 6+ years older than a GLS project not 11 years.

20% discount will mean same price as EC prices, let us know if CDL offers that.

What is the number of lease left after top?

beepbeep
19-05-14, 08:43
What is the number of lease left after top?

What is the number of lease left for a fresh GLS land after top?

IsaacTan
19-05-14, 09:11
H**lford 60years lease already around $1k psf.
If for own stay, should be more than enough for at least 1 generation.
For investment, then might post a different story.
Just my :2cents: :ashamed1:

Ferogi
19-05-14, 09:15
Coco Palms is slated to be completed in June 2019, can anyone advise usually how much earlier does CDL deliver (i.e. TOP)? How much earlier did the other condos in the same plot of land welcome their owners as compared to the promised date?

19-05-14, 10:00
CITY Developments (CDL) sold most of its launch units in the Coco Palms project over the weekend after trimming the price tag, the developer said yesterday.

Coco Palms, a joint venture between CDL and Hong Realty (Pte) Ltd, sold about 490 units at an average price of $980 per square foot (psf) as at 3pm yesterday. The number of units sold represents 82 per cent of the 600 units available at the weekend launch, or 52 per cent of the 944 units in the entire development.

Separately, a representative for Aspial Corp subsidiary World Class Land said that its Waterfront@Faber project sold 80 units, but declined to disclose how many units were offered for launch. Against the project's entire stock, the developer sold 38 per cent of the 210 units in the entire development.

CDL said that it sold the Coco Palms units below initial expectations.

"Originally, we had planned to market this final premium plot at between $1,100 and $1,200 psf as it is the closest to the MRT station," CDL group general manager Chia Ngiang Hong said in a statement. "However, as the group had acquired this site at a historically low price and it has been part of our legacy landbank, this affords us the opportunity to price this launch attractively."

Coco Palms is a 99-year leasehold project in the Pasir Ris Grove neighbourhood. Units range from 463 sq ft one-bedroom units to 3,111 sq ft penthouses.

Take-up of the one and two-bedroom units were stronger on the opening weekend, CDL said in a statement.

About three-quarters of the buyers were Singaporeans.

Coco Palms sits on the fifth and final parcel of CDL's long-held landbank in the Pasir Ris Grove estate. That land has been under CDL's control for more than a decade.

CDL's D'Nest, which was launched in March, is 94 per cent sold to date. Data by the Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore show that two D'Nest units sold in April at a median price of $992 psf.

Waterfront@Faber, which sits on the banks of Sungei Ulu Pandan, is also a 99-year leasehold development with 199 apartments and 11 strata houses.

Indicative prices, set at the beginning of the month, started at $863,000 for a two-bedroom unit and $2.48 million for a strata-landed unit.

Singapore developers have been shaving prices amid a slowdown in home sales. CapitaLand, for example, in April sold 80 new units at Sky Habitat in Bishan at a median price of $1,377 psf, or a 13 per cent discount from its year-ago initial launch price.

beepbeep
20-05-14, 09:34
Neighbours of Coco Palms,

17th May is the day we braved thru the rain, sun and long balloting process for at least 3 hours and waited past midnight for the OTP to be issued, just to be one of the 944 owners in Coco Palms. Our perseverance paid off as the Coco Palms price increased by 1% the very next day.

Coco Palms facebook group was set up to gather all neighbours by simply follow the link
http://www.facebook.com/groups/cocopalms/

Ferogi
20-05-14, 12:24

17th May is the day we braved thru the rain, sun and long balloting process for at least 3 hours and waited past midnight for the OTP to be issued, just to be one of the 944 owners in Coco Palms. Our perseverance paid off as the Coco Palms price increased by 1% the very next day.

Coco Palms facebook group was set up to gather all neighbours by simply follow the link

Coco Palms sale is amazing. One of the better ones recently. Any idea how much increase now?

20-05-14, 13:44
What a joke. Nothing to shout about. Quantumn play again. Small unit moves only.
Many carrot heads overlooked the lease starting dates.

20-05-14, 13:53
What a joke. Nothing to shout about. Quantumn play again. Small unit moves only.

Can share what you know?

20-05-14, 14:03
Can share what you know?

Spent so much time here but didnt even read straits time.
go and read mondays paper yourselve. Ok lah Spoonfeed you abit. Check the lease period and completion date and what are the majority units sold

pod
20-05-14, 14:04
go and read mondays paper yourselve. Ok lah Spoonfeed you abit. Check the lease period and completion date and what are the majority units sold

Yes agree with u on this.

Potential buyers. PLEASE CHECK LEASE COMMENCEMENT DATE? :doh:

20-05-14, 14:14

Thank you, you are so helpful.

Strata
20-05-14, 14:36

I fully agreed with you. Obviously the developer is creating this to make their sales look good by moving all smaller units out first to create the demand. I'm afraid they have to give great discount to larger units sooner after kenna stuck for long time.

20-05-14, 15:26
Interesting views :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

So, does it mean, if condo take 5 years to top from 99 years. left 94 years rite... So condo, 5 years from top date left 89 years, price will be cheaper????
So 5 years later, prices will be even cheaper than the one that is 5 year old from top :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

4wheels
20-05-14, 15:36
many buyers bought the 1Bd and 2bds are because of Quantum and potential yield from rental.

3bd above will be more difficult to sell due to ABSD and TDSR. Base on the news, I believe CDL could sell it much lower since they acquire the land at historical low price.

=======
CDL said that it sold the Coco Palms units below initial expectations.

"Originally, we had planned to market this final premium plot at between $1,100 and $1,200 psf as it is the closest to the MRT station," CDL group general manager Chia Ngiang Hong said in a statement. "However, as the group had acquired this site at a historically low price and it has been part of our legacy landbank, this affords us the opportunity to price this launch attractively."

Coco Palms is a 99-year leasehold project in the Pasir Ris Grove neighbourhood. Units range from 463 sq ft one-bedroom units to 3,111 sq ft penthouses.

Take-up of the one and two-bedroom units were stronger on the opening weekend, CDL said in a statement.

About three-quarters of the buyers were Singaporeans.

Coco Palms sits on the fifth and final parcel of CDL's long-held landbank in the Pasir Ris Grove estate. That land has been under CDL's control for more than a decade.

CDL's D'Nest, which was launched in March, is 94 per cent sold to date. Data by the Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore show that two D'Nest units sold in April at a median price of $992 psf.

============

20-05-14, 15:47
Coco Palms sale is amazing. One of the better ones recently. Any idea how much increase now?

with a diminishing lease and increasing price, how is this combination good???

20-05-14, 16:12

So, does it mean, if condo take 5 years to top from 99 years. left 94 years rite... So condo, 5 years from top date left 89 years, price will be cheaper????
So 5 years later, prices will be even cheaper than the one that is 5 year old from top :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Those who don't know where is Marine Parade will have the above logic.

20-05-14, 16:17
Those who don't know where is Marine Parade will have the above logic.

brudder, your southbank is 99 years from 2006.... so 8 years liao... so every year, prices going to drop leh... based on their theory... Now only left 91 year lease leh...:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

I joking hor... :cheers5::cheers5::cheers5:

Yuki
20-05-14, 16:50

Logically speaking the higher the number of lease left is more ex isn't ?

So if a condo left with 30 years is cheaper than a unit left with 80 years old..to cite an extreme example.

So coco palms is not exactly cheaper when doing a comparison with other similar projects near mrt since it has lesser lease.

20-05-14, 16:53
Am new here..logically speaking the higher the number of lease left is more ex isn't ?

So if a condo left with 30 years is cheaper than a unit left with 80 years old..to cite an extreme example.

So coco palms is not exactly cheaper when doing a comparison with other similar projects near mrt since it has lesser lease.

If only it is so simple.

Brought Southbank in June 2006, TOP 2010, 4 years later, going by the logic what should the price be.

I brought it for SGD 535,000.

20-05-14, 16:58
brudder, your southbank is 99 years from 2006.... so 8 years liao... so every year, prices going to drop leh... based on their theory... Now only left 91 year lease leh...:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

I joking hor... :cheers5::cheers5::cheers5:

I know, :cheers4::cheers4:

My father brought 3 room HDB in 1969 for SGD 6,600. Go by the logic of reducing lease the price should be lower right.:tsk-tsk::tsk-tsk::tsk-tsk::tsk-tsk:

yl
20-05-14, 17:23
If only it is so simple.

Brought Southbank in June 2006, TOP 2010, 4 years later, going by the logic what should the price be.

I brought it for SGD 535,000.

How about similar projects launching near mrt in the region in the similar time frame I.e year 2014?.

If during the uptrending of the property cycle..Wouldnt a shorter lease project still be cheaper than a longer lease?

If not why owners find it hard to borrow from banks with ahorter lease?

If longer lease...to me as an owner i have a longer shelf period to sit through property downcycle n resell or rent out for investment returns.

LiveYoung
20-05-14, 17:24
Number of leasehold years left does have impact when 2nd hand buyer were to get loan from bank. And an older condo by measurement of leasehold years left does generally command a weaker resale value if compared to nearby comparable condos with more years left. This is what we call depreciation on long-term asset. No point to mix the concept of depreciation up with potential price appreciation a few years down the road because of inflation, land scarcity and booming economy etc. They are totally two separate concepts.

20-05-14, 17:30
How about similar projects launching near mrt in the region in the similar time frame I.e year 2014?.

If during the uptrending of the property cycle..Wouldnt a shorter lease project still be cheaper than a longer lease?

If not why owners find it hard to borrow from banks with ahorter lease?

If longer lease...to me as an owner i have a longer shelf period to sit through property downcycle n resell or rent out for investment returns.

When compare apple to apple than shorter lease should be cheaper, but every unit of the two development are not apple to apple. e.g unit number, facing, renovation, got super natural spirit living in the unit........

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_ePwCmg71B3o/SNsQZxeEJ3I/AAAAAAAAAQw/00f-7UYqyJM/s1600/99-LH-depreciation-SLA.gif

http://smartpropertybuyer.blogspot.fr/2008/09/99-leasehold-property-calculation-of.html

Marine Parade has the distinction of being Singapore’s first residential estate built entirely on reclaimed land. Sited in the east of Singapore, Marine Parade has a wide array of social amenities and recreational facilities, including the beaches on the east coast of the island. The public housing flats in the area are among the most coveted in Singapore and command high resale prices.

http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/SIP_1699_2010-08-06.html

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2009/10/hdb-flats-prices-press-censorship/

In the 1970s, at HDB Marine Parade Estate, prices of 3-room, 4-room and 5-room new flats were $17,000, $20,000 and $35,000 respectively.

20-05-14, 17:41
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1.0-9/10301456_10202694813704408_7390924548128919771_n.jpg

yl
20-05-14, 17:43
When compare apple to apple than shorter lease should be cheaper, but every unit of the two development are not apple to apple. e.g unit number, facing, renovation, got super natural spirit living in the unit........

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_ePwCmg71B3o/SNsQZxeEJ3I/AAAAAAAAAQw/00f-7UYqyJM/s1600/99-LH-depreciation-SLA.gif

http://smartpropertybuyer.blogspot.fr/2008/09/99-leasehold-property-calculation-of.html

Marine Parade has the distinction of being Singapore’s first residential estate built entirely on reclaimed land. Sited in the east of Singapore, Marine Parade has a wide array of social amenities and recreational facilities, including the beaches on the east coast of the island. The public housing flats in the area are among the most coveted in Singapore and command high resale prices.

http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/SIP_1699_2010-08-06.html

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2009/10/hdb-flats-prices-press-censorship/

In the 1970s, at HDB Marine Parade Estate, prices of 3-room, 4-room and 5-room new flats were $17,000, $20,000 and $35,000 respectively.

Yes..I agree. Thats y certain units command higher psf during developer sales. Thanks for sharing the link ..can kearn more.

I think second buyer will find it harder to loan from the bank once the lease has ran for 30 years?

yl
20-05-14, 17:45
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1.0-9/10301456_10202694813704408_7390924548128919771_n.jpg

Goodness! N these are not near mrt right?

Just wondering. .those who believe that nearness to mrt is everything..any flats or condos going for that price?!

rymccondo77
20-05-14, 20:38
From Marine Parade, you can easily go to CBD / Orchard Road areas without the need to take the MRT.

I used to stay in Marine Parade and hardly took MRT during the 10 plus years that I stayed there (90's to 00's).

Strata
20-05-14, 21:07
From Marine Parade, you can easily go to CBD / Orchard Road areas without the need to take the MRT.

I used to stay in Marine Parade and hardly took MRT during the 10 plus years that I stayed there (90's to 00's).

Driving mah, No MRT at marine parade mah..ECP quite fast but with MCE now, slighlty longer..

VS
20-05-14, 23:10

That is provided people staying there got cars.

rymccondo77
21-05-14, 00:32
That is provided people staying there got cars.

I took buses - direct buses to CBD and Orchard Road from Marine Parade :)

Yuki
21-05-14, 10:55
Read about the good sales...

People really gone coco nuts over this project.

Nonetheless. ..congrats to the newowners!

mlchoo
21-05-14, 11:34
NV Residences 743sf and 797sf units sold in March and May for $1171 and $1146psf.
Coco Palms is much cheaper at average of $980psf.
Lease tenure same as NV Residences but Coco Palms is nearer to MRT.

yl
21-05-14, 11:52
NV Residences 743sf and 797sf units sold in March and May for $1171 and $1146psf.

Hi..the number of lease left after top for both projects are different. There are units at coco going at those rates too.

If you multiply the difference in the top year by the rental. .then difference can amount to quite a lot.

mlchoo
21-05-14, 13:01
NV Residences lease same as Coco Palms i.e. from 2008.

But of course the rental lost from now till Coco Palms TOP. However, one does not need to pay so much interest during progressive payment of Coco Palms. Good for those who are a bit tight now but wanting to get the location.

If one does not need the place so soon and can wait, when Coco Palms ready, it will have an advantage as being newer and nearer.

Best stacks for Coco Palms 2 bedder in the centre facing lagoon is definitely much less than the $1171psf NV Residence 2 bedder went for.

21-05-14, 13:36

But of course the rental lost from now till Coco Palms TOP. However, one does not need to pay so much interest during progressive payment of Coco Palms. Good for those who are a bit tight now but wanting to get the location.

If one does not need the place so soon and can wait, when Coco Palms ready, it will have an advantage as being newer and nearer.

Best stacks for Coco Palms 2 bedder in the centre facing lagoon is definitely much less than the $1171psf NV Residence 2 bedder went for.

for NV, at least owners can earn a decent yield from renting their units out, while coco owners can't.

as for being nearer, i don't buy it. they are all in the same vicinity and i can bet that there will be a shuttle bus servicing all CDL developments.

acosean
21-05-14, 13:43
I thought coco palms is walking distance to mrt but nv isnt?

garychang
21-05-14, 13:47
For investors, although NV res can be rented out now, depends on which units u get... go for inner facing or facing Livia ones... selling cheap are those facing Palette. When Seastrand is ready, tenants will flood there if rental is a couple of hundreds diff...

so coco palms still better investment in general for capital gain.
looking at rental gains alone is not safe strategy.

there are a few 2BRs left.
cheapest and best available 3BRs at stack 42 and 48 selling fast. Just whack these stacks!

For home, the entire plot needs to walk quite far to MRT... about 600m unless the plot (now barrier up liao) is ready and residents can cut through this development... if not, its still gonna be pretty bad when scorching sun or rain hard. not near enuf to walk, not far enuf to take bus... luckily got condo bus...

4wheels
21-05-14, 14:57

not forgetting NV Residences can stay or get return immediately.

21-05-14, 15:15
not forgetting NV Residences can stay or get return immediately.

The only issue is finding the choice unit you want :)

yl
21-05-14, 15:25

Aside from rental loss..need to look at the opportunity cost lost from locking down the sums over the 5 years too.

Just to share: http://propertysoul.com/2013/01/18/should-you-buy-near-to-the-mrt-line/ (http://propertysoul.com/2013/01/18/should-you-buy-near-to-the-mrt-line/)

extracted from the article:

Think an MRT station built right in front of your doorstep can increase the value of your property? Think again.
What about the hassles (air and noise pollution, traffic congestion, etc.) you have to endure during its construction?
How to convince buyers and tenants that the construction mess is only temporary and convenience will come in the near future?
Would it take long before your condo will be surrounded by public housing, neighborhood shops, hawker centres, ‘pasar malam’ that tend to be found near MRT stations?
Can you imagine the traffic jam, shopping crowd, human noise, etc. that come at peak hours, every evening, all weekends and on public holidays?
Do you know why projects at prime districts like Tanglin, Bukit Timah, Holland Road, River Valley can sell at premium prices, regardless of proximity to any MRT station?
Honestly, do you or your family really heavy users of public transportation? Or do you rather drive or be chauffeured around?
tanah-merahFor me, I prefer to stay in a quiet place at least 10-minutes away from the bustling atmosphere of the MRT station (bus is ok though).
The most important thing is that I won’t see the MRT track from my window. From experience, if you can see it, you can definitely hear it – no matter how far the distance or how high the storey you are in.
It is interesting to see that sales brochures distributed in any showflat in Singapore like to highlight the selling point ‘near to MRT’. Sometimes, one MRT is not enough. They put ‘proximity to’ or ‘in between’ two MRT stations (Although in reality, it may not be near to any of the two).
In many big cities in US, Europe and Tokyo, you won’t find any developer using ‘near to public transportation’ as a selling point (except when selling to overseas buyers like Singaporeans!). It is because there are so many mass transit lines and stations that it is almost impossible not to find one near to any development.
The history of MRT in Singapore is not very long. For many years, there are only two lines (North-South and East-West) serving the whole country. And it is the slow development and lack of improvement in the MRT service that make it sound very precious to be near one.
Perhaps one day, when our MRT system can match big cities like Tokyo, a property next to the MRT station will also be nothing special to a buyer.

Honestly. ..what we are discussing here based on theory only..both of us can be right at certain points in time.

There will also be another mrt either in pasir ris drive 1 or 3 ...most probably under ground but could be 10years or more later.

Lets revisit by then n see how did the projects in pasir ris perform ...

acosean
21-05-14, 17:03
Allow me to share my humble opinion. To me, in ppty selection, it isnt just about location, location, location. There are many other crucial factors in place as well. I will speak for a case study, which is my hunting of ppty in the past few years.

First, location means which district in sg. Any home in pasir ris is deemed to be of poor location because it is very far to most places in sg (except to tampines). But if some of ur close relatives or family members live in pasir ris or tampines, and ur workplace is somewhere here, you wont deem its location to be poor.

Second, locality matters a lot too. If a ppty is near mrt or amenities such as food centres or grocery stores, it is deemed to have a good locality.

Other equally important variables include the view (sea, paranomic, or blocked view), facing (north-south vs afternoon Sun), floor level (high or low), vicinity issues (eg whether it is surrounded by or next to red light districts, petrol station, rubbish dump or religious establishments), floorplan layout (no dead space, unnecessary terrace/balcony/planter/bay window), floor size, quality of furnishings, assortment of facilities (eg parc Olympia scores high on this), price, alongside with several others.

I first scouted for a $1.4m PH in geylang. Excellent location (near city) n locality (near mrt n amenities n close to a premier school). But wife rejected because of vicinity issues. Next, I spotted a walkup apartment in tg katong rd. Rejected again though excellent location n locality, and no vicinity issues. Cos no lift to level 2 where the house is. Then a PH along haig rd. Everything good but still rejected (with lift somemore). Why? Rooms are largely dark even when all Windows n curtains are open. Then a PH near still rd. Still no go cos this double storey house has a layout that makes it look cramp and much smaller than its actual floorsize. Also, one view is looking at the roof of a confectionery whose roof have large compressors emiting loud fan noise.

So in the end we bought a seaview ppty at pasir ris. Inlaw then blamed us for choosing a ppty of extreme poor location.

So moral of story- it isnt abt just location, location, location.

mlchoo
21-05-14, 17:09
To each his own.

Some are happy to pay 10% lesser for a Coco Palms choice unit compared to a comparable condo nearby. If collecting rental now is important, then go for NV or Livia.

Cannot compare with places like River Valley, Bukit Timah etc. These are in central of Singapore so even not near MRT, their prices will be higher than Coco Palms. But if you compare say The Orchard Residences above Orchard MRT vs The Cosmopolitan (about 1km away from Orchard) at Kim Seng Road, no second guessing which is much more expensive.

Developers highlight "near MRT" as one of their selling point for a reason. Generally, buyers want to be near MRT as this is still a convenient way to travel around Singapore in general unless you have 2-3 cars at home for your family to use. For chauffer driven people, don't even need to stay here. They will be staying at maybe a GCB already.

At the end of the day, buying a property has its benefits and risks. Each property got its pros and cons. As long as one is happy with his/her purchase.

Cheers :cheers5:

Aside from rental loss..need to look at the opportunity cost lost from locking down the sums over the 5 years too.

Just to share: http://propertysoul.com/2013/01/18/should-you-buy-near-to-the-mrt-line/ (http://propertysoul.com/2013/01/18/should-you-buy-near-to-the-mrt-line/)

Think an MRT station built right in front of your doorstep can increase the value of your property? Think again.
What about the hassles (air and noise pollution, traffic congestion, etc.) you have to endure during its construction?
How to convince buyers and tenants that the construction mess is only temporary and convenience will come in the near future?
Would it take long before your condo will be surrounded by public housing, neighborhood shops, hawker centres, ‘pasar malam’ that tend to be found near MRT stations?
Can you imagine the traffic jam, shopping crowd, human noise, etc. that come at peak hours, every evening, all weekends and on public holidays?
Do you know why projects at prime districts like Tanglin, Bukit Timah, Holland Road, River Valley can sell at premium prices, regardless of proximity to any MRT station?
Honestly, do you or your family really heavy users of public transportation? Or do you rather drive or be chauffeured around?
tanah-merahFor me, I prefer to stay in a quiet place at least 10-minutes away from the bustling atmosphere of the MRT station (bus is ok though).
The most important thing is that I won’t see the MRT track from my window. From experience, if you can see it, you can definitely hear it – no matter how far the distance or how high the storey you are in.
It is interesting to see that sales brochures distributed in any showflat in Singapore like to highlight the selling point ‘near to MRT’. Sometimes, one MRT is not enough. They put ‘proximity to’ or ‘in between’ two MRT stations (Although in reality, it may not be near to any of the two).
In many big cities in US, Europe and Tokyo, you won’t find any developer using ‘near to public transportation’ as a selling point (except when selling to overseas buyers like Singaporeans!). It is because there are so many mass transit lines and stations that it is almost impossible not to find one near to any development.
The history of MRT in Singapore is not very long. For many years, there are only two lines (North-South and East-West) serving the whole country. And it is the slow development and lack of improvement in the MRT service that make it sound very precious to be near one.
Perhaps one day, when our MRT system can match big cities like Tokyo, a property next to the MRT station will also be nothing special to a buyer.

Honestly. ..what we are discussing here based on theory only..both of us can be right at certain points in time.

There will also be another mrt either in pasir ris drive 1 or 3 ...most probably under ground but could be 10years or more later.

yl
21-05-14, 18:38
Allow me to share my humble opinion. To me, in ppty selection, it isnt just about location, location, location. There are many other crucial factors in place as well. I will speak for a case study, which is my hunting of ppty in the past few years.

First, location means which district in sg. Any home in pasir ris is deemed to be of poor location because it is very far to most places in sg (except to tampines). But if some of ur close relatives or family members live in pasir ris or tampines, and ur workplace is somewhere here, you wont deem its location to be poor.

Second, locality matters a lot too. If a ppty is near mrt or amenities such as food centres or grocery stores, it is deemed to have a good locality.

Other equally important variables include the view (sea, paranomic, or blocked view), facing (north-south vs afternoon Sun), floor level (high or low), vicinity issues (eg whether it is surrounded by or next to red light districts, petrol station, rubbish dump or religious establishments), floorplan layout (no dead space, unnecessary terrace/balcony/planter/bay window), floor size, quality of furnishings, assortment of facilities (eg parc Olympia scores high on this), price, alongside with several others.

I first scouted for a $1.4m PH in geylang. Excellent location (near city) n locality (near mrt n amenities n close to a premier school). But wife rejected because of vicinity issues. Next, I spotted a walkup apartment in tg katong rd. Rejected again though excellent location n locality, and no vicinity issues. Cos no lift to level 2 where the house is. Then a PH along haig rd. Everything good but still rejected (with lift somemore). Why? Rooms are largely dark even when all Windows n curtains are open. Then a PH near still rd. Still no go cos this double storey house has a layout that makes it look cramp and much smaller than its actual floorsize. Also, one view is looking at the roof of a confectionery whose roof have large compressors emiting loud fan noise.

So in the end we bought a seaview ppty at pasir ris. Inlaw then blamed us for choosing a ppty of extreme poor location.

So moral of story- it isnt abt just location, location, location.

Advantage of Buying resale is that can really see the actual unit. Buying based on plan might run into problems like units look smaller than actually is etc.

Coco Palms do has good attributes too. Planters n bay windows aside.... I really ike how the interiors maximise the storage space.

Are u the ripple bay owner? The sea view is awesome! Near to downtown east also..the project seem to top very soon.

yl
21-05-14, 18:40
To each his own.

Some are happy to pay 10% lesser for a Coco Palms choice unit compared to a comparable condo nearby. If collecting rental now is important, then go for NV or Livia.

Cannot compare with places like River Valley, Bukit Timah etc. These are in central of Singapore so even not near MRT, their prices will be higher than Coco Palms. But if you compare say The Orchard Residences above Orchard MRT vs The Cosmopolitan (about 1km away from Orchard) at Kim Seng Road, no second guessing which is much more expensive.

Developers highlight "near MRT" as one of their selling point for a reason. Generally, buyers want to be near MRT as this is still a convenient way to travel around Singapore in general unless you have 2-3 cars at home for your family to use. For chauffer driven people, don't even need to stay here. They will be staying at maybe a GCB already.

At the end of the day, buying a property has its benefits and risks. Each property got its pros and cons. As long as one is happy with his/her purchase.

Cheers :cheers5:

Yes..the most important is that buyer happy with purchase..every project is not perfect. :)

beepbeep
21-05-14, 19:35

He's someone who prefers to stay at least 10 mins away from MRT, so don't think any of Coco Palms, Glades, La Fiesta, Bedok Residences, Watertown owners are his followers.

acosean
21-05-14, 23:49
YL - yes, we finally bought a Ripple Bay unit. Projected completion is Apr 2015 and expected TOP is between Jul and Sep 2015.

According to my mother-in-law, it has a perfect view and facing, good landscaping and facilities (with sky gym, beach volleyball court and floating hammocks, etc.), and not too bad locality (feeder bus stop right outside it) and beach park is just downstairs, near Downtown East, and perhaps near future MRT station on the Cross-Island Line.

But she says it has a poor location -too far from where she lives (Katong) or town.

electron
22-05-14, 09:10
YL - yes, we finally bought a Ripple Bay unit. Projected completion is Apr 2015 and expected TOP is between Jul and Sep 2015.

According to my mother-in-law, it has a perfect view and facing, good landscaping and facilities (with sky gym, beach volleyball court and floating hammocks, etc.), and not too bad locality (feeder bus stop right outside it) and beach park is just downstairs, near Downtown East, and perhaps near future MRT station on the Cross-Island Line.

But she says it has a poor location -too far from where she lives (Katong) or town.

I lived in Pasir Ris, more specifically, Jalan Loyang Besar for nearly 20 years. It's a great place to come home to. And if it's your plan, it's also a great place for your kids to grow up in. Though the area has lost most of its rustic charm - Ripple Bay was jungle when I bought my place in the early '90s.

The connectivity of the location's already much improved from that era. There were no bus stops along JLB. 354 (formerly 350) didn't operate during rush hour. Enjoy (and be satisfied with) your buy!

I now live in Katong. But you can't expect to afford Katong for your first property hehe.

electron
22-05-14, 09:15
Back to Coco Palms.

For the record, this land was not acquired in a GLS, and CDL really has no pressing timeline to sell the units. CDL has owned that huge plot for more than 20 years (and I wouldn't be surprised if the land cost them less than $100 psf). CDL's making plenty of good money, regardless of whether they sold Coco Palms at 980psf or 1200psf. Or even 500psf.

There was a sign advertising a new condo for launch soon ever since the mid-1990s, but rumour has it that the government did not grant CDL the neccessary lease top-up at the time.

But we don't evaluate a property based on what the previous owner bought it for. Still find it one of the better locations in Pasir Ris.

pod
22-05-14, 12:31
I lived in Pasir Ris, more specifically, Jalan Loyang Besar for nearly 20 years. It's a great place to come home to. And if it's your plan, it's also a great place for your kids to grow up in. Though the area has lost most of its rustic charm - Ripple Bay was jungle when I bought my place in the early '90s.

The connectivity of the location's already much improved from that era. There were no bus stops along JLB. 354 (formerly 350) didn't operate during rush hour. Enjoy (and be satisfied with) your buy!

I now live in Katong. But you can't expect to afford Katong for your first property hehe.

Katong no fight la... Superb location, food, ammenities, recreation etc etc Ppty price also power right? :D

22-05-14, 12:57
Katong no fight la... Superb location, food, ammenities, recreation etc etc Ppty price also power right? :D

Cannot compare like that lah! Coco has other attributes which katong don't have. High price doesn't mean good for staying. If anyone think that katong is premier than coco because is higher class, higher price to me is just pride at play. Who cares? Every weekend relax at pasir ris beach and for yuki I felt Vue 8 overlooking the beach is a fastastic buy that not many can experience. I would definetly get one if I have the means .:D

supercharged
23-05-14, 13:05
Hi guys,

I got a unit on stack 47 (main lagoon pool facing) on may 17th launch day. Buying to stay, not rent. Nice to meet other Coco Palms owners here, if there is any :D

VS
23-05-14, 13:20
Hi guys,

I got a unit on stack 47 (main lagoon pool facing) on may 17th launch day. Buying to stay, not rent. Nice to meet other Coco Palms owners here, if there is any :D

Congrats, that is a nice view!!

supercharged
23-05-14, 13:40
Congrats, that is a nice view!!

Just to show why I got Coco palms and not others:

1. Distance to MRT: Near enough, but not too near like DBSS Pasir Ris One, good to have even though I drive
2. Distance to my parents in Changi area
3. Affordability: Within my budget, even though units are pretty small
4. Facing: Looked at Sea Horizon EC last year, smaller units have pretty bad facing but smaller units still get good facing in Coco Palms
5. Balcony: No balcony for master-bed room means a bigger interior space
6. Amenities nearby: Shopping malls, IKEA, COURTS, GIANT, near TPE / ECP or PIE
7. Project features: Up to 7-8 different pools and other amenities (it has a few retail stores too likely to have at least 1 minimart & laundry store)

I opted for flatted out floor storage for the common bed room. I just thought it is impossible to tick every boxes and this project ticked most of them and I was lucky to get called out pretty early, even though all the units I wanted was sold out by then. Can't imagine how the buyers after me felt..

IsaacTan
23-05-14, 15:10
Hi guys,

Congrats...Mind telling the $psf for your unit?

Ferogi
23-05-14, 15:34
Does anyone know when's the earliest we can move into coco palms? I'm hoping it's early to mid 2018.

supercharged
23-05-14, 16:03
Does anyone know when's the earliest we can move into coco palms? I'm hoping it's early to mid 2018.

I reckon mid 2018. Anything earlier is bonus. Early 2018 is not impossible. Some projects, once stage one starts, takes 3 to 3.5 years to complete (usually closer to 3 yrs)

Coco palms stage 1 is June 2015.

Ferogi
23-05-14, 18:38
I reckon mid 2018. Anything earlier is bonus. Early 2018 is not impossible. Some projects, once stage one starts, takes 3 to 3.5 years to complete (usually closer to 3 yrs)

Coco palms stage 1 is June 2015.

Thanks for the info. Wish it's 2018 in a blink!

mlchoo
23-05-14, 19:13
Hi neighbour,

I too got a unit on launch day @ stack 07. Can wave at you across the lagoon next time. :)

Hi guys,

beepbeep
23-05-14, 20:19

kye
24-05-14, 10:30
I bought a unit at stack 22 on 17 May too. Our numbers were called about an hour after the balloting started & there was a wide choice for me .. It was such an exciting day for us. I'm keen to join the Facebook group but can anyone advise me if my posts, if any, is going to show up on newsfeed/timeline?

johnoon
24-05-14, 11:34
Coco Palm Floor plans here :D

http://newlaunch-sgcondo.com/coco-palms-condo/

supercharged
24-05-14, 12:08
I bought a unit at stack 22 on 17 May too. Our numbers were called about an hour after the balloting started & there was a wide choice for me .. It was such an exciting day for us. I'm keen to join the Facebook group but can anyone advise me if my posts, if any, is going to show up on newsfeed/timeline?

There were an estimated of 100-150 names called before my turn. When I reached the booking counter, most of the stacks I wanted were close to fully sold out with a few stacks not released for booking (e.g stack 29).

So I "settled" for stack 47 :D

kye
24-05-14, 21:31
There were an estimated of 100-150 names called before my turn. When I reached the booking counter, most of the stacks I wanted were close to fully sold out with a few stacks not released for booking (e.g stack 29).

Settled? 47 is right in front of the lagoon. I believe the price to be higher than others .. lol ..

yl
25-05-14, 01:25

What was the psf for that stack?

supercharged
25-05-14, 01:54
Settled? 47 is right in front of the lagoon. I believe the price to be higher than others .. lol ..

Because 47 wasn't in my consideration at first. Was looking at stack 37 earlier, the one facing the 50M lap pool. But the price of stack 37 vs 47 is really close.

Stack 47 $PSF from lowest floor: estimated from $1000 :D

The 2 bedder on the higher floors are 1m++ really expensive :tsk-tsk:

yl
25-05-14, 08:23
Because 47 wasn't in my consideration at first. Was looking at stack 37 earlier, the one facing the 50M lap pool. But the price of stack 37 vs 47 is really close.

Stack 47 $PSF from lowest floor: estimated from $1000 :D

The 2 bedder on the higher floors are 1m++ really expensive :tsk-tsk:

47 is the best stack for the 2 bedders..you have made an excellent choice. does 1k start from the ground level? Coz the ground level floor area bigger when u factor in the pes..so the psf for ground level is usually cheaper. I m wondering the average price for a mid floor for that stack..coz it would have been my choice if I have brought one. ;)

Huh coco palms 2 bedders on higher floor is estimated to be 1 million??:scared-1:

supercharged
25-05-14, 11:19
47 is the best stack for the 2 bedders..you have made an excellent choice. does 1k start from the ground level? Coz the ground level floor area bigger when u factor in the pes..so the psf for ground level is usually cheaper. I m wondering the average price for a mid floor for that stack..coz it would have been my choice if I have brought one. ;)

Huh coco palms 2 bedders on higher floor is estimated to be 1 million??:scared-1:

Between 47 and 07 (both stacks have the best facing in Coco palms), 47 is better as nearer to MRT side. People on stack 07 or nearby need to make big detour to reach the side gate leading to MRT, because of the big lagoon in the middle.

Also, 07 have ground units and walk way in front of these units.. privacy is reduced, even with a 1.2m (IIRC) wall.

47 starts from 2nd floor, no ground unit. The lagoon pool extends to the 2nd floor unit's balcony, no walk way at all in between. So literally speaking, the owner of this unit can dive into the pool from his/her balcony :cool:

If I can recall correctly, I saw 9th floor of stack 47, 1.05million for a 2bedder.. Haha damn expensive. The lowest floor unit of stack 47 (2nd floor) is only 760k+

kye
25-05-14, 14:02
Stack 22 wouldn't be my choice if I hadn't had to consider many factors, ie facing, afternoon sun, away from drive 1 main road, away from lagoon, price, etc. We brought my mil & mom to the show flat yesterday and my mil was grouchy why I chose 22. C'mon 22 isn't that bad, my unit is on high floor! The units left after 17 May was on level 1-3. The rest were all taken.

supercharged
25-05-14, 14:19
Stack 22 wouldn't be my choice if I hadn't had to consider many factors, ie facing, afternoon sun, away from drive 1 main road, away from lagoon, price, etc. We brought my mil & mom to the show flat yesterday and my mil was grouchy why I chose 22. C'mon 22 isn't that bad, my unit is on high floor! The units left after 17 May was on level 1-3. The rest were all taken.

Congrats on your purchase bro, the older generations always have something to say so I don't bother much :D

25-05-14, 14:23
Hi I am curious. How about the lease? Is it refill by CDL or it stays as it is.

yl
25-05-14, 14:26

Is this for own stay right? top floor rocks..great view..but the noises from the surrounding might be a bane if near busy road..

Am staying in top floor ...a bit western sun. As mine is not facing main road..still very quiet. but i hate the west sun...its very hot at times...:scared-3:

I think mentality of older generation the same....our parents said the same thing too...no west sun! i kinda understand why after living in one...but then again why bother what they think? Although they have interests at heart...what it matter most is that you love your unit.

btw how much is the psf for this layout? i like the enclosed kitchen concept but think it will be highly sought after.

VS
25-05-14, 14:26
[QUOTE=
If I can recall correctly, I saw 9th floor of stack 47, 1.05million for a 2bedder.. Haha damn expensive. The lowest floor unit of stack 47 (2nd floor) is only 760k+[/QUOTE]

Not so much, the 11th floor of stack 47 was going for just under $800K, on 17th May, after all the "discounts".

yl
25-05-14, 14:31
Hi I am curious. How about the lease? Is it refill by CDL or it stays as it is.

it stays as it is...

unless u are thinking of resale only after the 20 years..the lease years shouldn't be an issue. but the resale buyer might use that to negotiate for a lower price.

25-05-14, 14:32
it stays as it is...

unless u are thinking of resale only after the 20 years..the lease years shouldn't be an issue. but the resale buyer might use that to negotiate for a lower price.

Thanks. Then the price should be lower to justify that.

yl
25-05-14, 14:40
Thanks. Then the price should be lower to justify that.

That was what I was thinking too. To me the property have "aged" by 10 years by the time it TOP. If it was priced lower, I think is more reasonable.

For homeowners the possibility of staying there for over 2 decades is highly possible before they upgrade/downgrade since the cost of replacement will be high i.e. if the property market is good, their unit can sell at a higher price..their replacement unit should be at an even higher price since they are upgrading. Hence they might be at a disadvantage. But this is the thinking of someone buying for own stay lar.

For investment purposes... I was told it is a good entry price. Hence I suspect a lot of people buy to rent out.

Me...I am looking mainly for own stay and thus after factoring a lot of considerations, I went for a project much more livable although slightly further away from the mrt. :beats-me-man:

25-05-14, 14:42
That was what I was thinking too. To me the property have "aged" by 10 years by the time it TOP. If it was priced lower, I think is more reasonable.

For homeowners the possibility of staying there for over 2 decades is highly possible before they upgrade/downgrade. Hence they might be at a disadvantage. But this is the thinking of someone buying for own stay lar.

For investment purposes... I was told it is a good entry price. Hence I suspect a lot of people buy to rent out.

Me...I am looking mainly for own stay and thus after factoring a lot of considerations, I went for a project much more livable although further away from the mrt. :beats-me-man:

I may be sound negative; do you reckon rental market to be healthy when there are so many units available within and outside of this development? For this issue, we have many new developments coming up within that area and not forgetting nearby HDBs.

kye
25-05-14, 14:47
Is this for own stay right? top floor rocks..great view..but the noises from the surrounding might be a bane if near busy road..

Am staying in top floor ...a bit western sun. As mine is not facing main road..still very quiet. but i hate the west sun...its very hot at times...:scared-3:

I think mentality of older generation the same....our parents said the same thing too...no west sun! i kinda understand why after living in one...but then again why bother what they think? Although they have interests at heart...what it matter most is that you love your unit.

btw how much is the psf for this layout? i like the enclosed kitchen concept but think it will be highly sought after.

Yes I intend to live in coco myself. The sun doesn't bother me that much as both of us are working & reaches home after the sun sets. We will probably be home 1 out of 7 days .. So I left it to hubby to decide and short list the stacks. I'm quite upset but ah yeh I do love my unit so I'm going to chuck what mil criticized to the back of my mind. But both of my moms think well of the deco. The showrooms are indeed awesome.

I paid $1023/psf. My first choice was the closed concept kitchen cos I do cook on weekends. I cannot stand clutters so the open is out for me, though I agree it makes the living/dining area more spacious. I need to build storage space though. I'm not sure how I'm going to squeeze all the stuff I have in my HDB 4room into the 2br unit.

25-05-14, 14:49
Yes I intend to live in coco myself. The sun doesn't bother me that much as both of us are working & reaches home after the sun sets. We will probably be home 1 out of 7 days .. So I left it to hubby to decide and short list the stacks. I'm quite upset but ah yeh I do love my unit so I'm going to chuck what mil criticized to the back of my mind. But both of my moms think well of the deco. The showrooms are indeed awesome.

I paid $1023/psf. My first choice was the closed concept kitchen cos I do cook on weekends. I cannot stand clutters so the open is out for me, though I agree it makes the living/dining area more spacious. I need to build storage space though. I'm not sure how I'm going to squeeze all the stuff I have in my HDB 4room into the 2br unit.

Hi...What is the size of the 2br unit and how much do you paid for? You buying 2nd property? or exchange HDB with this private unit? Any kids etc?

kye
25-05-14, 14:51
Congrats on your purchase bro, the older generations always have something to say so I don't bother much :D

Thanks!! We are happy we managed to get a unit here and at high floor. I know mothers think well but we cannot please everyone.

yl
25-05-14, 14:51
I may be sound negative; do you reckon rental market to be healthy when there are so many units available within and outside of this development? For this issue, we have many new developments coming up within that area and not forgetting nearby HDBs.

Yes it will be. the competition of nearby units with similar attributes means the rental is going to be depressed.. imagine the surrounding projects have around 4k units in total. just do the maths.

So...i feel the projects in pasir ris should be meant for own stay better.

Even for as for investment wise, maybe better grab something that is more niche..more bargain power. i.e. Vue 8 right next to OSF...since the parents of OSF highly unlikely take mrt. how to fight?

But don't flame me please... :scared-2: in case some forummers think otherwise.

25-05-14, 14:52
Yes it will be. the competition of nearby units with similar attributes means the rental is going to be depressed.. imagine the surrounding projects have around 4k units in total. just do the maths.

So...i feel the projects in pasir ris should be meant for own stay better.

Even for as for investment wise, maybe better grab something that is more niche..more bargain power. i.e. Vue 8 right next to OSF...since the parents of OSF highly unlikely take mrt. how to fight?

But don't flame me please... :scared-2: in case some forummers think otherwise.

It should be alright since you enter knowing what's going on and you have already aligned your expectation.

yl
25-05-14, 14:58

thats great! as long as you love your unit..why bother right? Older generations always try their best to advice...but they didn't realise that their words might come across as criticism. we also always kenna the same.. :doh:

nonetheless, i am sure they have your interests at heart. I think your hb have made a good choice! as i said...high floor really rocks! really it is...i love the view from high floor. if hot then just on aircon..no problem one. honestly, of all the designs for 2 bedders..the enclosed one made the best efficient use of interior space...especially with the planter ledge in the kitchen. Remember to take photos of the showroom..can copy the id ideas n get your id to do the same. :)

kye
25-05-14, 15:06
Hi...What is the size of the 2br unit and how much do you paid for? You buying 2nd property? or exchange HDB with this private unit? Any kids etc?

743sqf at $760,500. We have only one kid. Yes this is our second property.

25-05-14, 15:09
743sqf at $760,500. We have only one kid. Yes this is our second property.

Congratulates. Mind if I ask one more - do you pay ABSD? How old are you and your husband. How old is your kid? If bought for own stay, how do you settle the schooling?

kye
25-05-14, 15:10
thats great! as long as you love your unit..why bother right? Older generations always try their best to advice...but they didn't realise that their words might come across as criticism. we also always kenna the same.. :doh:

nonetheless, i am sure they have your interests at heart. I think your hb have made a good choice! as i said...high floor really rocks! really it is...i love the view from high floor. if hot then just on aircon..no problem one. honestly, of all the designs for 2 bedders..the enclosed one made the best efficient use of interior space...especially with the planter ledge in the kitchen. Remember to take photos of the showroom..can copy the id ideas n get your id to do the same. :)

No!! They didn't allow photo taking!! I can only remember so much and the only thing that reminds us of the ID touch are the pictures on the brochures. Anyway my home loan with ocbc entitles me to 3 yr interest free installments. I'll probably engage ID for the touch ups before we move in.

kye
25-05-14, 15:13
Congratulates. Mind if I ask one more - do you pay ABSD?

Yes I did. A whopping $53K for nothing!! This is a real deterrent to 2nd property. That's why I told my mil we can only take a small unit and so coincidence that this development suits my budget and close enough to MRT. Not perfect of cos but that's all I can afford.

25-05-14, 15:15
Yes I did. A whopping $53K for nothing!! This is a real deterrent to 2nd property. That's why I told my mil we can only take a small unit and so coincidence that this development suits my budget and close enough to MRT. Not perfect of cos but that's all I can afford.

As long you are happy, it should be good then. I wish I could have the 400k to settle the 50% but I guess I am stuck with my property and my household income is way below 10k SGD...

kye
25-05-14, 15:17
Congratulates. Mind if I ask one more - do you pay ABSD? How old are you and your husband. How old is your kid? If bought for own stay, how do you settle the schooling?

Yes I paid $53K ABSD, we are 40 this yr. my kid is 10 and will be in sec 2 by the time we move in. I will either arrange sch bus to bring him to school or have my fil drive him like now.

yl
25-05-14, 15:17

i see...i believe she will understand.

congrats on your purchase! remember to post the photos once you have gotten your keys. :D

LinLin
25-05-14, 15:21

congrats on your purchase! remember to post the photos once you have gotten your keys. :D

Hi, i was there late morning at the showflat. It was announced that unit #03-22 has been sold.
Unit #02-22 still available then.

kye
25-05-14, 15:24
As long you are happy, it should be good then. I wish I could have the 400k to settle the 50% but I guess I am stuck with my property and my household income is way below 10k SGD...

How old are you now? We were lucky our 4room HDB was bought cheaply and loan cleared in less than 10 yrs. it's not easy to save up the 80ish K down payment. Took me years plus I borrowed a portion from dear mommy. But it was a dream for both of us to procure a 2nd property so we really worked hard towards this goal. Since it's new and location great, I will live here instead of renting it out. Don't think rental will be that fantastic anyway, with over 4000 Units around ..

25-05-14, 15:27
How old are you now? We were lucky our 4room HDB was bought cheaply and loan cleared in less than 10 yrs. it's not easy to save up the 80ish K down payment. Took me years plus I borrowed a portion from dear mommy. But it was a dream for both of us to procure a 2nd property so we really worked hard towards this goal. Since it's new and location great, I will live here instead of renting it out. Don't think rental will be that fantastic anyway, with over 4000 Units around ..

I am already 37 and my spouse is 32. We can't afford any as we have a big outstanding loan to clear.

What's your remaining loan amount for your HDB unit? I presume you are taking 50% loan for your 2nd property.

kye
25-05-14, 15:28

Thank you. I'm happy and on cloud 9 still. Remember to return in 4yrs to see the photos I'm gg to flaunt. Hahaha

4wheels
25-05-14, 15:34

be happy with your purchase. don't get to bother about others commens.

kye
25-05-14, 15:40
I am already 37 and my spouse is 32. We can't afford any as we have a big outstanding loan to clear.

What's your remaining loan amount for your HDB unit? I presume you are taking 50% loan for your 2nd property.

I cleared my HDB so I managed to get 80% loan ..