View Full Version : SUB-LETTING of Condos.

nciravolo
21-01-15, 11:50
Dear members,

I bought a 2 bd penthouse in a new condo development in Geylang.
I will be living there alone and I was thinking of subletting the other bedroom to anyone, on a short term basis, like on Airbnb.
I contacted the URA and I've been told that is not legal. :(
But then I see many people posting ads on their private properties.
Now I do know that for HDB, you can only sublet to people holding a valid pass, for minimum 6 months. But what about for private condos? Does the same rule apply?
I'm pretty confused and I need clarifications, before I do something illegal.
Thanks a lot to all.

21-01-15, 12:26
If you are AMDK, please go ahead and do it.
If you are a sinkie, please think twice before you do it. :)

nciravolo
21-01-15, 12:36

I am an AMDK, however I honestly don't want to do it just because "Oh yah he's a chao Ang Moh; Singapore got double standards; so he'll be, no problem leh".
I've been here for 3 years respecting the rules and regulations even if I don't fully agree with them. This is not my country, but I must respect the laws and values of its people.
So I guess I'll stick with the second part. ;)

princess_morbucks
21-01-15, 13:22
You can give your views in this survey regarding short term stays.
URA wants your opinion.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/Surveys/short-term-stay

21-01-15, 13:53

LOL, :cool:

21-01-15, 14:11
Good to respect and obey the law : )

nciravolo
21-01-15, 14:37
You can give your views in this survey regarding short term stays.
URA wants your opinion.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/Surveys/short-term-stay

Awesome.
Thanks a lot :)

wt_know
21-01-15, 15:28
you can do what you want as long as not caught
many let out their room via AirBnB does not mean it's legal
the authority is closing one eye for now but when they action or clampdown no one knows

DMCK
21-01-15, 15:31
i think many new ec owners will be renting out their flats before MOP

sherlock
21-01-15, 18:23
As the army saying goes... You can do anything you want, but just don't get caught

kellogs
21-01-15, 21:39
Actually it is very distasteful to call our foreign friends as AMDK.

If you are in a foreign land and someone address you like that ... i wonder how would you feel!

PS. I am a Singaporean!

21-01-15, 21:52
Some times, I find Ang Mo to be more benevolent than Singaporeans! :beaten:

Actually it is very distasteful to call our foreign friends as AMDK.

If you are in a foreign land and someone address you like that ... i wonder how would you feel!

PS. I am a Singaporean!

bigbear
22-01-15, 04:22
just like cycling. the other day i was told by TP not to cycle on pavement cos its not legal. we are supposed to cycle on road.

so i was given a warning instead of a $20 fine.

so do what u want, if get caught, just be prepared.

if subletting is illegal, why is the govt allowing airbnb to advertise locally on newspapers?

Singleton
22-01-15, 06:37
What about those contracts where companies signed with landlords that allow change of tenants as and when the need arise?

Does anyone know whether these are considered subletting?

22-01-15, 06:51
It really not worth the effort to go against the law when there are so many legitimate ways to make money.
That is what I tell myself everytime when I want to do something illegal.

22-01-15, 09:14
These are not because:
1) Companies need to inform owners the need to change, and provide evidence why there is a need to change... They cannot suka suka change occupants every few days or weeks...
2) There is proper tenancy agreement signed with the tenant for >6 months and STAMPED with stamp duty paid... (while all those subletting do not such official paperwork...)

What about those contracts where companies signed with landlords that allow change of tenants as and when the need arise?

Does anyone know whether these are considered subletting?

Singleton
22-01-15, 10:10
These are not because:
1) Companies need to inform owners the need to change, and provide evidence why there is a need to change... They cannot suka suka change occupants every few days or weeks...
2) There is proper tenancy agreement signed with the tenant for >6 months and STAMPED with stamp duty paid... (while all those subletting do not such official paperwork...)

In theory, tenants can change every few months bec easy to give reasons why there is a change and companies can be collecting short term rents from them

so this is different from landlord sublettting rooms?

22-01-15, 10:22
from yesterday's news, seems that gov is willing to be flexible in short term renting....strange

22-01-15, 12:02
Different lah.

1) only corporate tenants are allowed to change occupiers.
2) Occupiers must be legally employed employees of the corporate tenant, not just anybody else.
3) occupiers usually stay for 1 year to 2 years, not just a few days.
4) corporate tenant must have tenancy agreement signed, must be stamped with stamp duty paid.

In theory, tenants can change every few months bec easy to give reasons why there is a change and companies can be collecting short term rents from them

so this is different from landlord sublettting rooms?

22-01-15, 12:03
You think so. KBW is not quite happy but will leave it to people. Survey on this matter will be opened tomorrow. Guess you can give your opinion at this survey.
from yesterday's news, seems that gov is willing to be flexible in short term renting....strange

22-01-15, 12:31
Have given mine, BUT
Forgot to tell them that they should make it ILLEGAL for Airbnb etc from helping to advertise for such short-term rentals in private condos.... May be somebody can help to fill in the survey?

You think so. KBW is not quite happy but will leave it to people. Survey on this matter will be opened tomorrow. Guess you can give your opinion at this survey.

22-01-15, 17:25
I have done my part too.
Have given mine, BUT
Forgot to tell them that they should make it ILLEGAL for Airbnb etc from helping to advertise for such short-term rentals in private condos.... May be somebody can help to fill in the survey?

22-01-15, 18:23
You are for or against short-term rental?

I have done my part too.

22-01-15, 18:24
I have done my part too by objecting to short-term stay.

If you look at Q6, one of the purpose I gather is to grant authorities with more legal power to enforce and prosecute illegal short term renting.

Hee Hee don't be caught.

22-01-15, 18:38
I think short term room rentals for pte pty is ok but not whole units. If anything happens (e.g. nuisance), the owner can be around to rectify the problem.

22-01-15, 18:56
I think short term room rentals for pte pty is ok but not whole units. If anything happens (e.g. nuisance), the owner can be around to rectify the problem.

Oh quite true.
But owner may employed the same old strategy of locking up 1 room and not staying there.

22-01-15, 19:35
If you rent for only a few days to tourist, you as an owner would definitely want to be around to check on things daily, like operating a bnb

22-01-15, 19:52
Make a guess?
You are for or against short-term rental?

bigbear
22-01-15, 20:08
"im ok to rent (if i need moneY) but if im staying in my house, i dont want my neighbours to rent out"

22-01-15, 21:48
Will the owner own up to damage to common property caused by a stranger (who is the short-term tenant of his property)? :sulkiness:

23-01-15, 00:41
Short or long term tenants can damage pty. I am more afraid of long term tenants actually coz they are in the condo for 2 years. Short term tenants will usually be too busy with holiday itenary to damage common pty. Moreover, what is the condo security for?

Will the owner own up to damage to common property caused by a stranger (who is the short-term tenant of his property)? :sulkiness:

23-01-15, 07:37
Survey is just to let you have an option to blow your objection, to be a Global city and have a village mind set will get you to nowhere. Take a flight and go and enjoy the world instead of scare this scare that.

23-01-15, 07:40
Short or long term tenants can damage pty. I am more afraid of long term tenants actually coz they are in the condo for 2 years. Short term tenants will usually be too busy with holiday itenary to damage common pty. Moreover, what is the condo security for?

I don't mind short-tem tenants maybe for 1 or 2 weeks but then again as a owner will be very busy, every 1 or 2 weeks has to look for new tenants and signing contract. You will meet many different types of tenants within 1 year and not sure whether will all these different people create different problems to the neighbours. As a owner, we have to answer for it and it creates another headache if there are many complains now and then.

23-01-15, 08:43

Long term tenant - u have 2 month deposit.... Can repair a lot of things...

Short term tenant - if they book 5 days, they damage your sink, bath tub, tiles, kids draw on the wall, etc... then they disappear on the 4 th day, what can be done????

23-01-15, 09:06
Actually no need to seek public feedback. Govt officials just need to read this forum thread.

23-01-15, 09:29
Questions:
1) Short-term tenants are strangers to people in the housing estate. If they damage common properties, who knows which landlords will be held responsible?

2) Short-term tenants commit arson and even crime or steal things, left already then found out. You can pursue them after they left Singapore? Accountability and bearing responsibility is an issue here. You as landlord willing to bear responsibility?

23-01-15, 11:25
Bro, we are on the same page on this. I have highlighted some of these points in the survey.
Questions:
1) Short-term tenants are strangers to people in the housing estate. If they damage common properties, who knows which landlords will be held responsible?

2) Short-term tenants commit arson and even crime or steal things, left already then found out. You can pursue them after they left Singapore? Accountability and bearing responsibility is an issue here. You as landlord willing to bear responsibility?

23-01-15, 12:06
Anyone did Home stay, Home swap before? Very common oversea, Malacca also have.

23-01-15, 13:15

Short term tenants will add further burden to the estate, culminating in higher running costs borne by all sub-proprietors. This is not equitable as it means the costs are socialised while the few landlords reap all the profits.

Of course there is no stopping other owners from doing the same. If so this will eventually lead to a situation where the estate becomes less and less desirable as more owners do the same and transients move in and genuine stayers move out. In time not just the estate but also the surrounding environment will take on a lesser shade. Cue geylang.

23-01-15, 13:58
Foreigners have been moving in and out of condos in Singapore for decades, if every foreigner entering a condo is to be perceived as an arsonist, thief or vandal, then I think nobody would want to do homestay around the world. I think if you had lived abroad long enough, perhaps you will not be so closed up. Of course there are guests from certain countries we have to be wary but even long term tenants living in the estate we have to be careful. Long term tenants or owners inviting guests over can also damage property and steal things not to mention overseas tourists.

Questions:

23-01-15, 14:31
Foreigners have been moving in and out of condos in Singapore for decades, if every foreigner entering a condo is to be perceived as an arsonist, thief or vandal, then I think nobody would want to do homestay around the world. I think if you had lived abroad long enough, perhaps you will not be so closed up. Of course there are guests from certain countries we have to be wary but even long term tenants living in the estate we have to be careful. Long term tenants or owners inviting guests over can also damage property and steal things not to mention overseas tourists.

I think the point is longer term stayers and tenants may be more vested in the condos they live in.

Homestay is also slightly different as the owner is living under the same roof too.

23-01-15, 14:35
I am supportive of renting out rooms with owner present not so much the whole unit.

I think the point is longer term stayers and tenants may be more vested in the condos they live in.

Homestay is also slightly different as the owner is living under the same roof too.

casvel
23-01-15, 14:45
Wouldn't having less restrictions of any kind be better for private properties, isn't that the advantage of owning a private housing? Wouldn't it blur the lines even more with public housing if both have the same restrictions?

23-01-15, 14:53
My friend's experience: Have seen several female foreigners bringing luggage in every few weeks. They will be leaving the place after 10am in scantily clothes. They will leave three weeks later and another group replace them. This group of foreigners are her on social visit pass but working illegally in Singapore. Do you want to see them in your housing estate? Have posted this experience in my response to MND.

23-01-15, 18:15
Of course, I have lived abroad long enough to tell you what you are advocating about short-term rental in condos are very different from those homestays overseas!

In those homestays, they are landed properties with NO COMMON PROPERTY, hence cases where common properties are used heavily / misused / damaged by short-term tenants and other owners having to help to shoulder repair costs just because of the SELFISH benefits of 1 single strata-title owners do not arise. This is on top of the fact that landlords live in the property too!

I do not know of condos overseas where homestays are LEGALLY allow, and in fact many big cities have started to ban these or tighten regulations. Time for Singapore to do the same............

Long-term tenants are subjected to proper records, proper checks, and when they do bad things, neighbours can recognize them and take them to task or take their irresponsible LANDLORD to task!

Can these neighbours deal with people who come and go everyday or every other day and and know which landlords to take to task? CAN'T! It is a matter of lack of accountability and responsibility and proper records and checks, hence short term rentals MUST BE BANNED from private condos!

I know short-term rentals are VERY LUCRATIVE for those landlords and since they don't live in those private properties and they don't have to deal with the short-term rental tenants, it is none of their concern.
I am also a landlord, BUT I despise earning such lucrative money at the expense of my neighbours!

There are also many online rental "shops" lobbying strongly to allow short-term rentals because they will benefit MONETARILY tremendously! I won't be surprised that "YES" votes is LOUDER than "No" votes! URA better wake up!

23-01-15, 19:20
well said teddybear.

I have the strong feeling the authority is using this opportunity to ban short term renting once and for all. After they have made the final decision, they will clamp down hard on those who create nuisance to neighbors and the development with illegal short term rental.

23-01-15, 23:51
If owners are in the house and if only renting one room for a week, what is the issue?

Long term tenant - u have 2 month deposit.... Can repair a lot of things...

Short term tenant - if they book 5 days, they damage your sink, bath tub, tiles, kids draw on the wall, etc... then they disappear on the 4 th day, what can be done????

24-01-15, 00:07
If tourists want to damage public property, they can damage it anywhere, they need not damage only property in the condo. If all hotels in Singapore have this kind of mentality, they won't have any business, coz everytime when a guest checks in, they will be paranoid about things damaged in the room and common areas. Homestays are not limited to landed property and I believe you have heard of homestays in hong kong as well. Perhaps the authorities can make it mandatory for owners to register any short term tenants with the management of the condo.

Of course, I have lived abroad long enough to tell you what you are advocating about short-term rental in condos are very different from those homestays overseas!

In those homestays, they are landed properties with NO COMMON PROPERTY, hence cases where common properties are used heavily / misused / damaged by short-term tenants and other owners having to help to shoulder repair costs just because of the SELFISH benefits of 1 single strata-title owners do not arise. This is on top of the fact that landlords live in the property too!

I do not know of condos overseas where homestays are LEGALLY allow, and in fact many big cities have started to ban these or tighten regulations. Time for Singapore to do the same............

Long-term tenants are subjected to proper records, proper checks, and when they do bad things, neighbours can recognize them and take them to task or take their irresponsible LANDLORD to task!

Can these neighbours deal with people who come and go everyday or every other day and and know which landlords to take to task? CAN'T! It is a matter of lack of accountability and responsibility and proper records and checks, hence short term rentals MUST BE BANNED from private condos!

I know short-term rentals are VERY LUCRATIVE for those landlords and since they don't live in those private properties and they don't have to deal with the short-term rental tenants, it is none of their concern.
I am also a landlord, BUT I despise earning such lucrative money at the expense of my neighbours!

There are also many online rental "shops" lobbying strongly to allow short-term rentals because they will benefit MONETARILY tremendously! I won't be surprised that "YES" votes is LOUDER than "No" votes! URA better wake up!

24-01-15, 06:39
Both MA and MC will have a lot more work. AGM will be more exciting.

24-01-15, 06:41
Hotel association of spore will be very unhappy.

24-01-15, 08:03
It is also the condo security to be on guard 24/7 regardless of whether short term rental is allowed or not.

24-01-15, 08:04
Many hotels will close shop, no good hotels in Singapore because they rather let short-term rentals in private properties take over the business....

So, end result is: quality of stay for tourists in Singapore deteriorated SIGNIFICANTLY, tourists get BAD IMPRESSION of Singapore, TOURISM DOWN THE DRAIN!

So, CONCLUSION: allowing short-term rental of private properties is VERY VERY BAD for Singapore TOURISM!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel association of spore will be very unhappy.

24-01-15, 08:12
Hotels are different, because the whole property is owned by 1 single entity, so there is NO situation where that short-term rental landlord (who only him/her ALONE benefited monetarily) YET unfairly pushing the additional COSTS to other strata-title owners of the estate when the short-term tenants damage the properties in the hotel! It is regardless of whether the short-term tenant is a tourist or even a Citizen of Singapore!

If you want, you can buy a hotel and rent out or buy a whole private condo estate and rent out, then nobody will care how you rent out the rooms, regardless of 1 day, 1 month, 1 year etc!

Register short-term tenants with management of the condo? Ha ha ha! Now you are thinking of using the MC and the MA for free! At the expense of all other owners who need to foot extra money for MA to take on extra workload and MC (the poor people who volunteer their precious time for FREE) to take on extra workload and responsibility so that you alone can BENEFIT MONETARILY? :boxing:

If tourists want to damage public property, they can damage it anywhere, they need not damage only property in the condo. If all hotels in Singapore have this kind of mentality, they won't have any business, coz everytime when a guest checks in, they will be paranoid about things damaged in the room and common areas. Homestays are not limited to landed property and I believe you have heard of homestays in hong kong as well. Perhaps the authorities can make it mandatory for owners to register any short term tenants with the management of the condo.

24-01-15, 08:14
So you are thinking of asking the condo security guards to DO EXTRA WORK to be on guard because of short-term tenants?
Again, EXTRA WORK means EXTRA COSTs! Who pay? You expecting all your neighbours to foot the EXTRA COSTS for you while YOU ALONE collect the MONEY? :im-a-gonna-get-u:

It is also the condo security to be on guard 24/7 regardless of whether short term rental is allowed or not.

CondoWE
24-01-15, 08:45
Hotels are different, because the whole property is owned by 1 single entity, so there is NO situation where that short-term rental landlord (who only him/her ALONE benefited monetarily) YET unfairly pushing the additional COSTS to other strata-title owners of the estate when the short-term tenants damage the properties in the hotel! It is regardless of whether the short-term tenant is a tourist or even a Citizen of Singapore!

If you want, you can buy a hotel and rent out or buy a whole private condo estate and rent out, then nobody will care how you rent out the rooms, regardless of 1 day, 1 month, 1 year etc!

I like this one...:star::star::star:!

bigbear
24-01-15, 08:50
give me a choice, i rather stay in hotel, not BnB....cos u dont want to be scrutinise for every movement n action and still u r staying in someone house, housekeeping is impt.

By the way, air bnb is very good to check out how people deco their house with themes!

and there are gay Bnb website catering to owners who want to earn pink dollars.

http://www.misterbnb.com/en/location/search_nc?hosting_search%5Baddress%5D=singapore&hosting_search%5Bcheckin%5D=&hosting_search%5Bcheckout%5D=&hosting_search%5Bnb_person%5D=1&hosting_search%5Blongitude%5D=103.81983600000001&hosting_search%5Blatitude%5D=1.352083&hosting_search%5Bviewport%5D=%28%281.1587023%2C+103.60557549999999%29%2C+%281.470624%2C+104.08524299999999%29%29&hosting_search%5Bprecision%5D=country%2Cpolitical&hosting_search%5Bcountry%5D=SG&hosting_search%5Barea%5D=&hosting_search%5Bdepartment%5D=&hosting_search%5Bcity%5D=&hosting_search%5Bzip%5D=

24-01-15, 09:04
If short-term rental is allowed, won't be surprised that there will be sexual service BnB catering to people who want such service but not in Geylang....
Wow! Private condo units can also double-serve as brothels.......
Easier for pimps to carry out their business without getting caught as well........

give me a choice, i rather stay in hotel, not BnB....cos u dont want to be scrutinise for every movement n action and still u r staying in someone house, housekeeping is impt.

By the way, air bnb is very good to check out how people deco their house with themes!

http://www.misterbnb.com/en/location/search_nc?hosting_search%5Baddress%5D=singapore&hosting_search%5Bcheckin%5D=&hosting_search%5Bcheckout%5D=&hosting_search%5Bnb_person%5D=1&hosting_search%5Blongitude%5D=103.81983600000001&hosting_search%5Blatitude%5D=1.352083&hosting_search%5Bviewport%5D=%28%281.1587023%2C+103.60557549999999%29%2C+%281.470624%2C+104.08524299999999%29%29&hosting_search%5Bprecision%5D=country%2Cpolitical&hosting_search%5Bcountry%5D=SG&hosting_search%5Barea%5D=&hosting_search%5Bdepartment%5D=&hosting_search%5Bcity%5D=&hosting_search%5Bzip%5D=

24-01-15, 09:48

Clearly these short term low rent places cater to those with no budget. Is this the kind of "tourists" and "tourism" Spore wants to attract? For this group we actually don't need to attract them as most are economic refugees dying to come here. I remember last year there was a news piece on such foreigners renting short term in JB while applying and trying to get work in spore.

24-01-15, 12:48
Registering or notifying MC about short term tenants is a lot of work? Just fill in form and pass it to them to put into file is a lot of work? Security guards guarding the condo is their normal work, not extra work. For big condos, every week there are strangers in the condo for bbq n parties, the guards should be vigilant at all times, whether or not the govt legalises short term tenancy.

So you are thinking of asking the condo security guards to DO EXTRA WORK to be on guard because of short-term tenants?
Again, EXTRA WORK means EXTRA COSTs! Who pay? You expecting all your neighbours to foot the EXTRA COSTS for you while YOU ALONE collect the MONEY? :im-a-gonna-get-u:

24-01-15, 15:40
It is not just the work but added responsibility. Desperate owners will likely to resort to short-term subletting.
Registering or notifying MC about short term tenants is a lot of work? Just fill in form and pass it to them to put into file is a lot of work? Security guards guarding the condo is their normal work, not extra work. For big condos, every week there are strangers in the condo for bbq n parties, the guards should be vigilant at all times, whether or not the govt legalises short term tenancy.

24-01-15, 17:17
Survey is just to let you have an option to blow your objection, to be a Global city and have a village mind set will get you to nowhere. Take a flight and go and enjoy the world instead of scare this scare that.

Is spore a more a global city than New York? Airbnb is not legal in New York. Perhaps you can tell them not to "scare this scare that".

25-01-15, 16:07
Good on ya, mate!

I would have exploited my advantage if I were you :)
Though respect for thinking otherwise. We need more foreigners like you here.

25-01-15, 16:08
Different strokes for different folks.
When we say it in jest... it is to be taken as light-hearted humour.

In Australia, i've heard people call chinese , chinks..
indians are curry muchies...

we all live and let live :)

My favourite ex-NMP Has this to say.. I read it everytime I go to sleep.

Are Singaporeans so easily offended? Please. Have more of a backbone and thick-skin. Have more confidence in ourselves.

Tan Tock Seng Hospital has said that the account of its Filipino staff was hacked but even if it wasn't so what? Are you going to go on a frenzied witch -hunt just because some foreigner called you a loser on the Internet ?

I am not going to mince my words: only losers get offended when people call them losers.

I am getting sick and tired of people getting into a frenzy every time a foreigner mouths off something offensive on the Internet.

Are we such a petty, insecure people that we have to demand blood whenever someone decides to insult us on the internet?!!

Singapore is a great place and Singaporeans are a great people. No Facebook or Twitter insult will change that. Believe in that and these perceived insults will be like water off a duck's back.

Laugh if it off. A great nation would.

Please share.

economist
31-01-15, 08:49

Well said!

economist
31-01-15, 08:50

Register short-term tenants with management of the condo? Ha ha ha! Now you are thinking of using the MC and the MA for free! At the expense of all other owners who need to foot extra money for MA to take on extra workload and MC (the poor people who volunteer their precious time for FREE) to take on extra workload and responsibility so that you alone can BENEFIT MONETARILY? :boxing:

Well said!

31-01-15, 10:30
Why must owners who rent out rooms in their apartment for home stay be desperate? There are many retirees i have met overseas that do home stay business as an interest n pastime. It also provides them extra pocket money.

It is not just the work but added responsibility. Desperate owners will likely to resort to short-term subletting.

31-01-15, 10:37
Repeat post deleted.

31-01-15, 11:26
Since they are the minority, they are very welcomed to go overseas for GREENER pasture so that they can do home stay business as an interest n pastime, and to be among people who love the same, BUT not here in Singapore!

Why must owners who rent out rooms in their apartment for home stay be desperate? There are many retirees i have met overseas that do home stay business as an interest n pastime. It also provides them extra pocket money.

31-01-15, 11:34
Why must they go overseas to do it when Singapore is their home and a hub for tourism? You suggesting it just because of your personal dislike?

Since they are the minority, they are very welcomed to go overseas for GREENER pasture so that they can do home stay business as an interest n pastime, and to be among people who love the same, BUT not here in Singapore!

31-01-15, 11:37
Because they are the minority, just like in every democratic society, the govt is elected by the majority votes, and the MINORITY should not think that just because they MAKE THE LOUDEST VOICE they will win and expect the MAJORITY to follow them...... May be in Thailand if you are the junta you can do that, not here please............. :frog:

Why must they go overseas to do it when Singapore is their home and a hub for tourism?

31-01-15, 11:42
If they are minority, then why you worry? If they are minority then it should be even easier to control n regulate.

Because they are the minority, just like in every democratic society, the govt is elected by the majority votes, and the MINORITY should not think that just because they MAKE THE LOUDEST VOICE they will win and expect the MAJORITY to follow them...... May be in Thailand if you are the junta you can do that, not here please............. :frog:

31-01-15, 11:48
I want to raise the awareness here, so that the SILENT MAJORITY will vote otherwise the "SILENT MAJORITY" will become over-ruled by the "LOUD MINORITY", like that minority the BIGGEST and LOUDEST LIAR here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If they are minority, then why you worry? If they are minority then it should be even easier to control n regulate.

31-01-15, 16:00
Is spore a more a global city than New York? Airbnb is not legal in New York. Perhaps you can tell them not to "scare this scare that".

https://www.airbnb.com/s/NYC?af=1922719&c=A_TC%3Dtwjnrjqqwz%26G_MT%3Db%26G_CR%3D22111507576%26G_N%3Dg%26G_K%3Dair%20bnb%20ny%26G_P%3D&gclid=Cj0KEQiAl7KmBRDW6s-Xi_uT9OgBEiQAZdbbSegzN868h_VZg6_Y6WFRPFHEBe7uR_t_WZd58cbdeDAaAnGK8P8HAQ

If you can't win them join them and you set the rule.

Prostitution in Singapore in itself is not illegal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prostitution_in_Singapore

31-01-15, 18:50
https://www.airbnb.com/s/NYC?af=1922719&c=A_TC%3Dtwjnrjqqwz%26G_MT%3Db%26G_CR%3D22111507576%26G_N%3Dg%26G_K%3Dair%20bnb%20ny%26G_P%3D&gclid=Cj0KEQiAl7KmBRDW6s-Xi_uT9OgBEiQAZdbbSegzN868h_VZg6_Y6WFRPFHEBe7uR_t_WZd58cbdeDAaAnGK8P8HAQ

If you can't win them join them and you set the rule.

Prostitution in Singapore in itself is not illegal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prostitution_in_Singapore

A lot of things are illegal, doesn't mean people will be law abiding. But that is besides the point. Let's first stick to whether airbnb should be legalised or not.

31-01-15, 22:25
Yes it should, if you can win them, join them.

What good do you get if you make it illegal, they still do it and the manpower cost to get them is huge.

19-05-16, 13:23
PUBLISHED7 HOURS AGO (19 May 2016)
Yeo Sam Jo

'No clear consensus' in public consultation on such stays in private residential properties, it says.

After holding a public consultation on short-term rentals last year, the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) said yesterday that it needs more time to review the issue.

Results of the consultation, held from January to April last year, were "split, with no clear consensus", the URA revealed.

"This issue on short-term stays is complex, multi-faceted, has wide- ranging implications and it warrants a careful and balanced review," it said, adding that it "needs more time to study the issue"

Last year, the authority conducted the consultation to assess whether there is a need to review the policy on short-term rentals in private residential properties.

It is illegal to lease a home for less than six months in Singapore. Private home offenders can be fined up to $200,000 and jailed for up to a year. Despite this, listings for short-term rentals have sprung up on home-sharing websites like Airbnb, PandaBed and Roomorama.

The consultation came in two forms. The first was an online survey open to the public, which ran from January to February and had about 2,000 respondents.

Discussions were also held with close to 100 stakeholders, including home-sharing portals, hotel and serviced apartment representatives, neighbourhood committees of private housing estates and condominium management corporations.

The URA said that while participants acknowledged the need to accommodate the demand for short- term home sharing, there was also "strong endorsement" of existing controls on subletting.

These controls are intended to "preserve the privacy and sanctity valued by the vast majority of home owners", it added.

Noting that hotel and serviced apartment operators are subject to business taxes and requirements to ensure the safety and well-being of their occupants, the URA said: "There was important feedback that any change in rules should ensure a level playing field."

It stressed that while the review is ongoing, the six-month rule still stands and enforcement will be taken against misuse.

In 2013, 2014 and 2015, the URA received 231, 375 and 377 complaints on short-term stays respectively. From January to April this year, there were 161 complaints.

A spokesman for Airbnb said: "We are disappointed that after more than a year since URA concluded its public consultation, there has not been a revision to URA's guidelines. We encourage Singapore to adopt fair and progressive rules to allow regular people to share their homes."

PandaBed chief executive James Chua, 36, hopes that any change in regulation will consider the interests of all parties involved. "There are tourists who find home-sharing a bona fide better alternative to hotel rooms," he said. "The regulations need to take into account what the Internet brings to the market."

Singapore Hotel Association executive director Margaret Heng said the consultation results indicate that there is concern relating to short-term rentals, especially in the areas of safety and security.

"The hotel industry shares the same concern as these two factors are critical for the continued growth of the tourism industry in Singapore," said Ms Heng.

A 43-year-old business owner, who wanted to be known only as Ms Chew, said the condominium unit next to hers has been used for short-term stays for a few years.

"This did not bother us until my daughter's bicycle was stolen from outside our house in January.

"I am not against short-term rentals but landlords should put in place adequate checks and balances, like making sure visitors are registered. I have three young kids in the house and am worried for their safety."

Freelance property broker Alex Poh, 62, said short-term rentals could be regulated "like Grab and Uber", referring to the ride booking apps. He said: "It'll boost tourism and be good for our economy."

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/ura-needs-more-time-to-study-short-term-stays-issue

19-05-16, 21:29
https://www.ura.gov.sg/uol/about-us/our-people/board-members.aspx

Our People
Board Members

CHAIRMAN
Mr Peter Ho Hak Ean
Senior Advisor, Centre for Strategic Futures and
Senior Fellow, Civil Service College

MEMBERS

Mr Liang Eng Hwa
Managing Director, Treasury & Markets, DBS Bank Ltd and