View Full Version : Bad quality properties – a big surprise for home owners

vip
03-05-16, 23:39
https://propertysoul.com/2016/05/03/bad-quality-properties/

Bad quality properties – a big surprise for home owners

May 3, 2016

Today my mother called about problems with her flat in Hong Kong again.

Since she collected the keys 15 years ago, she has done countless fixing and touch-up of defects in her apartment.

Two years ago, the neighbor downstairs complained about water seepage from her master toilet. She spent thousands of dollars to fix it. Next came the second toilet. Again they had to dig up the place, replace the pipes and redo the waterproof. Shortly after, there was complaint about leakage from the kitchen.

Last week the management office told her that water seepage from her balcony damaged the false ceiling of her neighbor’s unit downstairs. The neighbor just spent a considerable sum of money renovating their flat.

And this was only the water proofing problem.

She was really fed up with the endless fixing of defects. “This project is a government subsidized housing. Yet the building quality is so poor that the flat is full of defects.” She added, “If this is in Singapore, the government will never allow this to happen.”

How well are home buyers protected in Singapore?

I immediately kept quiet. I didn’t tell her that residents of The Seaview condominium just lost their case against the developer, the architect and the main contractor for $32 million worth of defects. The court decided that all three parties were not liable for the negligent acts of the independent contractors.

That implies, in the future if a developer and its main contractor refuse to rectify the defects of their projects, the buyers can only go after the many independent subcontractors one by one.

I also didn’t tell her that, in general Singaporeans are sophisticated customers and know their consumer rights, though they can react differently depending on situations.

We can spend $50 in a restaurant and complain about the bad service. We can ask for a full refund of a $500 electric appliance because it is not working properly. We can demand a discount off a $5,000 tour package because it doesn’t go to all the sightseeing places as promised.

But when we buy a $1.5 million property with a $1.2 million loan payable for the next 30 years, being one out of hundreds of owners in the same project, our bargaining power is very low.

In fact, most buyers have no idea what are noticeable or hidden defects, not to mention lodging complaints about them.

So when problems start to surface after the 1-year warranty period a few years later, many are shocked; some are angry; most have no clue; and the rest just wonder what happened.

Poor building quality affecting value of properties

In his article ‘Makeshift patching will not fix defects of Singapore housing market’ (The Business Times, April 21, 2016), Ku Swee Yong, CEO of Century 21 Singapore, mentioned that poor home construction quality is damaging the reputation and affecting the value of Singapore properties.

“Cases of building defects in new developments reported in the media include million-dollar homes such as The Sea View, RiverParc Residence, The Sail @ Marina Bay and The Coast in Sentosa Cove … Such a ruling (of The Seaview case) incentivises developers and main contractors to outsource more of their work. Coupled with the increasing incidences of shoddy workmanship and building defects, the finished quality of real estate might drop, as would its value.”

Mr. Ku’s emphasized the same fact in his new book Weathering A Property Downturn – Defensive Plays for Real Estate Investors:

“Today, we see higher incidences of residential properties completed with shoddy workmanship, even within prestigious developments in the luxury districts. Some defects are not obvious at the TOP handover and may remain hidden for more than a year. For example, sloppy waterproofing will lead to seepage or sewerage issues and poor installation of dry partition walls will reveal cracks after more than a year.”

“Bad workmanship is not just getting more apparent in private residential developments. Some of the recent incidents in public housing discussed in Parliament included: defects and design flaws in DBSS (Design, Build and Sell Scheme) flats such as Centrale 8, Pasir Ris One and Trivelis, and BTO (Build-To-Order) flats in Chua Chu Kang, Pungol and Bukit Panjang. Residents complained about overly narrow corridors, cracked walls, plaster slabs falling off the façade of HDB blocks, uneven flooring, leaks and overflowing toilets.”

Raising the standard of construction quality

I agree with Mr Ku that it’s time developers and contractors raised the standards of construction quality in Singapore. Boosting on state-of-the-art designs and congratulating each other on building awards are not going to earn the trust from home buyers.

“Perhaps we should postpone our building awards to be handed out only after the homes are completed, and have proven to provide comfort and enjoyment for the residents for more than 10 years. Government agencies, designers, architects, developers, builders and property managers need to raise their standards on build quality for investors and home buyers.”

Stop turning a deaf ear to the complaints from property buyers and investors. Stop giving developers and contractors excuses to shrink from their responsibilities. Stop allowing the bad sheep to continue damaging the reputation of the industry.

Otherwise, more and more buyers who have spent their hard-earned dollars and life savings in their homes will eventually find that they are buying flats built with shoddy workmanship, poor quality materials and sub-standard fittings. And Singapore properties will carry a bad name hereafter.

Raising public awareness about home defects

We never study about buying a home in school. Most people know nothing about defects in TOP units. Those buying resale units can’t tell the differences between a hairline crack and a structural crack.

Tan Wee Kwang, Director of Absolute Inspection, worked 20 hours a day, 7 days a week to inspect TOP units and resale properties in Singapore. Inspecting, lodging and rectifying home defects are labor-intensive and time-consuming. And there are simply too many poor quality projects, too many TOP units waiting to be inspected, too many defects found in a TOP unit, and too many owners who have no clue.

The only solution to solve this problem in the long-term is to educate home buyers and property investors about construction quality and building defects.

It is easy to open a fish steamboat restaurant, with customers making reservations weeks in advance for a meal to be fed with fish. But if we teach people how to fish and how to prepare the dishes, we feed them for a lifetime. They will in turn share the skills with others and promote fishing or cooking fish. This is the best way to create promote the art and raise industry standards of fishing and cooking.

Property Club Singapore (http://propertyclubsg.com)has the idea of running a workshop to educate home buyers and owners about defect inspection for long. But we must find an independent defect inspector who has no conflict of interest by not working with a developer, contractor, renovation company, property agency, etc. Wee Kwang from Absolute Inspection is a professional defect who has the passion, patience, honesty and integrity that I am looking for.

Finally, the Home Defects Inspection Hands-On Workshop (http://www.propertyclubsg.com/defects-inspection-workshop/)is ready. We will go together to visit a unit that just obtains its TOP. We will show the participants onsite what is shoddy workmanship, where are the defects, how to spot them, why they can go unnoticed, how to use different equipment for inspection, and what can be done to rectify the defects.

We will charge a fee a small percentage of what might cause the owner if a future defect pops up, and a fraction of the price of hiring a defect inspector, yet high enough to ensure that there won’t be any no-show for the workshop.

Whether you are buying a new or resale unit, an HDB or private property, if you are serious about identifying defects in properties, and want no surprises of hidden defects in your home years down the road, join us for the Home Defects Inspection Hands-On Workshop (http://www.propertyclubsg.com/defects-inspection-workshop/) this Saturday.

04-05-16, 09:43
Such seminars highlight why sometimes new properties are better.

Imagine one goes for a resale with a home defects inspector. The seller will most likely ask you to balik kampung.

04-05-16, 10:51
Who knows whether the home defects inspector is an inspector or your family member if you don't say?

Instead, if you buy new U/C before TOP properties, it is like you are buying PAYING A PREMIUM for NEW aka "LOTTERY" component hoping that you will get the prize win, high quality property and size, design, usable area according to the show flat and brochure etc - which obviously as we all know will NOT COME TRUE! :chargrined:

Is this the reason why people like to buy NEW, i.e. it comes with "LOTTERY" win component (just like many people like to gamble by at CASINO or buy LOTTERY)?
Or alternative is because 99-years LH property must buy NEW (so that it is easier to flip before 20 years lease is over)???

Imagine one goes for a resale with a home defects inspector. The seller will most likely ask you to balik kampung.

wannabe
04-05-16, 10:56

I thought the author's point is resale is better cos some of the defects will only surface after a year or so?
From my personal experience i agree with the author.
In fact i always bring a defects inspector along on my 2nd viewing.

04-05-16, 11:29
I doubt a defect inspector can check the waterproofing during a viewing.

For example, if the waterproofing affects the unit downstairs only, can check?

"leaks and overflowing toilets.” - can really check by just flushing?

"overly narrow corridors, cracked walls, plaster slabs falling off the façade of HDB blocks, uneven flooring" You may see these in either of these in a newly TOP or resale development - what can be done except avoid buying?

And if you indeed find a resale with none of these problems and everything else to your definition of perfection (location, facing, status etc), how much are you willing and able to pay for it?

I thought the author's point is resale is better cos some of the defects will only surface after a year or so?
From my personal experience i agree with the author.
In fact i always bring a defects inspector along on my 2nd viewing.

04-05-16, 13:39
Fee : Member - $299 (1 pax), $549 (2 pax)
Non-Member - $449 (1 pax), $849 (2 pax)

wow

04-05-16, 14:00
Warren Buffet once said, “Honesty is a very expensive gift. Do not expect it from cheap, people”.

wow

wannabe
04-05-16, 14:02
I doubt a defect inspector can check the waterproofing during a viewing.

For example, if the waterproofing affects the unit downstairs only, can check?

"leaks and overflowing toilets.” - can really check by just flushing?

"overly narrow corridors, cracked walls, plaster slabs falling off the façade of HDB blocks, uneven flooring" You may see these in either of these in a newly TOP or resale development - what can be done except avoid buying?

And if you indeed find a resale with none of these problems and everything else to your definition of perfection (location, facing, status etc), how much are you willing and able to pay for it?

Not sure about waterproofing for downstair unit, but waterproofing for upstair unit can tell.
water seepage through tiles can also be very obvious

Whether to pay for the unit despite these problems spotted during viewing, will depend on the asking price, the cost for repairs, and whether there are other units for sale in the development w/o such problems.

wannabe
04-05-16, 14:04
Warren Buffet once said, “Honesty is a very expensive gift. Do not expect it from cheap, people”.

It helps if one has a close relative working in HDB for 30years whose job is to inspect defects. Lolz

wannabe
04-05-16, 14:08
A lot of the new properties nowadays are so badly built, their walls are all full of cracks just barely 1 year after TOP.
Especially those developments from those Construction companies turned "developers".
Pity those owners who get a rude shock after they have collected their keys.

04-05-16, 14:26
Internal walls are regulated to be partition type by authorities. What to do?

At least the facilities like wifi, fiber are modern.

No choice since land price and construction price is so high.

A lot of the new properties nowadays are so badly built, their walls are all full of cracks just barely 1 year after TOP.
Especially those developments from those Construction companies turned "developers".
Pity those owners who get a rude shock after they have collected their keys.

wannabe
04-05-16, 15:18
Internal walls are regulated to be partition type by authorities. What to do?

At least the facilities like wifi, fiber are modern.

No choice since land price and construction price is so high.

Not sure if you have seen any actual units of developments that TOP lately, you will be shocked.
But maybe thats just me.
So fussy and particular as always. LOLx
I really don't know how people can bear to pay for such properties.
Thats why so many want to sell even at a loss...
RCR prices also dropping, just not as bad as CCR properties.

A recent example.

STUDIO8 8 Jalan Ayer #04-05 46 683100 1380 05-Feb-2016
STUDIO8 8 Jalan Ayer #04-05 46 766000 1547 09-Jan-2012

04-05-16, 15:28
Who is the developer? 1380psf is decently priced for a resale unit a few years old but that is just me.

Are you referring to new or resales?

Yah I have inspected new units lately with agent (for free). Bo daiji leh. Nothing a good coat of paint can't fix.

04-05-16, 15:37

wow

LOL. Cut throat.

wannabe
04-05-16, 16:17
Who is the developer? 1380psf is decently priced for a resale unit a few years old but that is just me.

Are you referring to new or resales?

Yah I have inspected new units lately with agent (for free). Bo daiji leh. Nothing a good coat of paint can't fix.

Bro, referring to resales on developments that TOP in 2014,2015.
Technically 1-2 years old, hardly people stay.
Cracks appearing over ALL the walls in the unit.... (Not referring to Studio8 cos i have not seen that one)
Its blatantly very shoddy workmanship.

Agent say "Owner selling at a loss, factoring the absd, interest payments, etc, its a very good bargain"

My reply to the agent was "Just look at quality of the development, no wonder selling at a loss"

Agent kept quiet...

04-05-16, 17:07
Obviously the owner's fault. Want to sell, first thing is to paint nicely lor...

Inside crack ok, how can let buyers see outside crack???

Haha...

Bro, referring to resales on developments that TOP in 2014,2015.
Technically 1-2 years old, hardly people stay.
Cracks appearing over ALL the walls in the unit.... (Not referring to Studio8 cos i have not seen that one)
Its blatantly very shoddy workmanship.

Agent say "Owner selling at a loss, factoring the absd, interest payments, etc, its a very good bargain"

My reply to the agent was "Just look at quality of the development, no wonder selling at a loss"

Agent kept quiet...

wannabe
04-05-16, 17:19
Obviously the owner's fault. Want to sell, first thing is to paint nicely lor...

Inside crack ok, how can let buyers see outside crack???

Haha...

Lol...not just one out-of-the-blue unit
Have seen 3 like this.
One of it just TOP only....
Quality so bad still 2000+ psf...

04-05-16, 17:27
If you think that was bad, let me find you an ultimate one that TOP in 2005.

Paint crack is extremely common in old property.

Lol...not just one out-of-the-blue unit
Have seen 3 like this.
One of it just TOP only....
Quality so bad still 2000+ psf...

04-05-16, 17:54
If you think that was bad, let me find you an ultimate one that TOP in 2005.

Paint crack is extremely common in old property.

Spiderweb crack before painting.

and after painting.

TOP 2005.

Same unit and wall with picture taken about half a meter away.

A good paint does wonders. Usually developer paint is low quality as owners can paint own colour scheme over.

wannabe
04-05-16, 20:31
Spiderweb crack before painting.

and after painting.

TOP 2005.

Same unit and wall with picture taken about half a meter away.

A good paint does wonders. Usually developer paint is low quality as owners can paint own colour scheme over.

wahlau, 10years old its understandable due to wear & tear.
I'm referring to properties that just barely TOP 1 year with cracks all over the wall.
think u r missing the point.

04-05-16, 20:42
I already mentioned in an earlier post it is because of the inferior paint used by developers. Because most owners will paint over with decent paint, no point using the best. It's the most easy to rectify issue for a rookie seller. The problem is with owner.

wahlau, 10years old its understandable due to wear & tear.
I'm referring to properties that just barely TOP 1 year with cracks all over the wall.
think u r missing the point.