View Full Version : When will property crash?

Joffrey
08-10-16, 13:44
When will crash? Family of four looking for investment property. We stay in HDB and household income around 10k.

08-10-16, 13:54
Still waiting?

Don't buy when it crash or rise, buy when you can pay.

The Government has done all the thinking work for us, if you can meet the TDSR you are good to invest otherwise better don't.

Waiting for 2006 or 2009 then you have to wait a bit longer.

It will come again but you will only know after it happens.

Joffrey
08-10-16, 13:57
Still waiting?

Don't buy when it crash or rise, buy when you can pay.

The Government has done all the thinking work for us, if you can meet the TDSR you are good to invest otherwise better don't.

Waiting for 2006 or 2009 then you have to wait a bit longer.

It will come again but you will only know after it happens.

We still have outstanding loan for HDB around 100k. Saving is around 200k+. Should we go for it?

08-10-16, 17:36
Go for one within your mean.

HDB Loan doesn't pay they will not take it unless you use Bank loan.

If now can buy, wait for it to drop. How many years are you prepare to wait?

Every year wait is another year less to loan.

The property is to buy as many as you can when you are young.

When you are old its time to start selling.

You bring nothing into this World, you are not taking anything either when it is time to go.

Sandiwara
08-10-16, 18:20
Even when property already crash some people will ask when property will be crash. Because no one know until is already recover.

Pynchmail
08-10-16, 18:40
When will crash? Family of four looking for investment property. We stay in HDB and household income around 10k.

Will also depend on your age and whether your household income will be increasing.

propertycarrots
08-10-16, 20:36
Even when property already crash some people will ask when property will be crash. Because no one know until is already recover.

I agree. Certainly sectors and tiers have crashed. Look hard enough at the past caveats and you can easily tell which are the ones :)

08-10-16, 22:09
Good properties never crash. If u are waiting to buy crashed property, u are not buying a good property. Imagine a tree with stump and branches. A tree stump is solid, whereas branches are more fragile. In bad weather branches are more likely to get torn off than the stump.

Always get into the basics when buying property. There are reasons why some property is cheap, where other are expensive.

08-10-16, 22:54
The problem is the sector that they are looking at not only did not crash, it appeared to rise marginally or becoming smaller and smaller.

08-10-16, 23:19
Whoever said property market/price will NOT CRASH?
The person must still be dreaming in his/her la-la land.......

History and FACTUAL EVENTS in the past has shown that even when the property market and price going to CRASH, even when the Government goes all out to implement all kinds of property HEATING measures and loose loaning policies and similar alternatives (like allowing deferred payment scheme), the property market/price STILL CRASH! :scared-1:

The person better looks no further than the period after the Great Financial Crisis of 1997, from 1998-2005, that is an almost 8 LONG YEARS when property price get stuck in the MUD! (and don't dream that property price will always recover quickly! - It may take 8 LONG YEARS!)

That is the ULTIMATE FACT about property price! :onthego:

09-10-16, 00:10
Whoever said property market/price will NOT CRASH?
The person must still be dreaming in his/her la-la land.......

History and FACTUAL EVENTS in the past has shown that even when the property market and price going to CRASH, even when the Government goes all out to implement all kinds of property HEATING measures and loose loaning policies and similar alternatives (like allowing deferred payment scheme), the property market/price STILL CRASH! :scared-1:

The person better looks no further than the period after the Great Financial Crisis of 1997, from 1998-2005, that is an almost 8 LONG YEARS when property price get stuck in the MUD! (and don't dream that property price will always recover quickly! - It may take 8 LONG YEARS!)

That is the ULTIMATE FACT about property price! :onthego:
Good property never crash. If you have to wait for sale to come at bargain bin, it is most likely not a good buy in the first place.

Good property attract kind of buyers who are not price oriented and more toward value oriented.

To judge value out of property u need vision and experience. Should u think that u don't have enough vision and experience, just follow the biggest player in the game. In SG market, gov is the biggest player. Get ahead of the latest news which area is undergoing the biggest development. Just follow the money trail, whether it is infrastructure spending, new hospital, new school.

If u can get ahead of the information and u can buy the property in the area faster and cheaper than other people, u are buying good property. This is why I say, waiting for a crash is a wrong attitude toward property investment.

Newbie1
09-10-16, 00:15
Follow government developments?
Means buy Jurong and Paya Lebar at 2000pfs?? and Marina at 3000pfs?

Good property never crash. If you have to wait for sale to come at bargain bin, it is most likely not a good buy in the first place.

Good property attract kind of buyers who are not price oriented and more toward value oriented.

To judge value out of property u need vision and experience. Should u think that u don't have enough vision and experience, just follow the biggest player in the game. In SG market, gov is the biggest player. Get ahead of the latest news which area is undergoing the biggest development. Just follow the money trail, whether it is infrastructure spending, new hospital, new school. If u can get ahead of the information and u can buy the property in the area faster and cheaper than other people, u are buying good property. This is why I say, waiting for a crash is a wrong attitude toward property investment.

09-10-16, 00:28
Yes, you are right!
We should follow the BIGGEST PLAYER in the game - the Government!

When the BIGGEST PLAYER (here the Government) only holds FREEHOLD LAND and will NEVER SELL his FREEHOLD LAND (but will only sell them as 99-years Lease to you), now, you said you will follow the Government, and then would you be so stupid to buy 99-years Leasehold property (instead of following them to buy Freehold land and properties for long long time and don't sell)?!

To judge value out of property u need vision and experience. Should u think that u don't have enough vision and experience, just follow the biggest player in the game. In SG market, gov is the biggest player. Get ahead of the latest news which area is undergoing the biggest development. Just follow the money trail, whether it is infrastructure spending, new hospital, new school.

If u can get ahead of the information and u can buy the property in the area faster and cheaper than other people, u are buying good property. This is why I say, waiting for a crash is a wrong attitude toward property investment.

09-10-16, 01:33
Follow government developments?
Means buy Jurong and Paya Lebar at 2000pfs?? and Marina at 3000pfs?
Most property prices are formulated as 75% current value + 25% future value. So when u buy a property, it's already taking into account future 25% increase.

What it means the minute u buy a property, u are already paying 25% too much. To convert this 25% future value into current value, u need time variable. The longer your holding power, the bigger your current value.

09-10-16, 07:24
The Govt has unlimited capital and is a price setter with one of the primary aims to aid social levelling through various policies, especially education and housing.

For example, HDB flats may not have a high price tag when bought, but it offers many the chance to focus on income, upgrade when ready, or for some, a million dollar price when sold.

Can any individual or corporation say they can satisfy unlimited capital and price setting? If not, whichever status of property one has is subject to Govt allowing the recognition of its value in line with social strategies.

Yes, you are right!
We should follow the BIGGEST PLAYER in the game - the Government!

When the BIGGEST PLAYER (here the Government) only holds FREEHOLD LAND and will NEVER SELL his FREEHOLD LAND (but will only sell them as 99-years Lease to you), now, you said you will follow the Government, and then would you be so stupid to buy 99-years Leasehold property (instead of following them to buy Freehold land and properties for long long time and don't sell)?!

09-10-16, 09:06
The Govt has unlimited capital and is a price setter with one of the primary aims to aid social levelling through various policies, especially education and housing.

For example, HDB flats may not have a high price tag when bought, but it offers many the chance to focus on income, upgrade when ready, or for some, a million dollar price when sold.

Can any individual or corporation say they can satisfy unlimited capital and price setting? If not, whichever status of property one has is subject to Govt allowing the recognition of its value in line with social strategies.
HDB is one of the unique property which current value is almost 100%. So the future value is not even taken into account yet. The gov selling it at almost no profit, minimal transactional cost and financing cost.

Current value doesn't get crashed in any market conditions. So when buying any property keep in mind it's true current value and future value. Future value is rather fragile, because once the future projection doesn't get realized the price will comes down. This is when people lose money on property.

09-10-16, 13:46
Really??? The gov selling HDB flats at almost no profit???
That is real joke!

They bought most of those HDB flats' land from people at <$1 psf of land area with FREEHOLD title (even when market price is already >$150 psf) and now selling at >$300 psf ppr of HDB flats' floor area with just 99-years land lease or >$840 psf of 99-years land lease (assuming plot ratio of 2.8) and if those difference of >$839 psf land area from Freehold to become 99-years leasehold is not HUGE PROFIT then what is "PROFIT"? :scared-3:

HDB is one of the unique property which current value is almost 100%. So the future value is not even taken into account yet. The gov selling it at almost no profit, minimal transactional cost and financing cost.

Current value doesn't get crashed in any market conditions. So when buying any property keep in mind it's true current value and future value. Future value is rather fragile, because once the future projection doesn't get realized the price will comes down. This is when people lose money on property.

09-10-16, 15:55
HDB pray will auto assemble from the sky?

Construction costs? Manpower costs? Administration and arbitration?

That is real joke!

They bought most of those HDB flats' land from people at <$1 psf of land area with FREEHOLD title (even when market price is already >$150 psf) and now selling at >$300 psf ppr of HDB flats' floor area with just 99-years land lease or >$840 psf of 99-years land lease (assuming plot ratio of 2.8) and if those difference of >$839 psf land area from Freehold to become 99-years leasehold is not HUGE PROFIT then what is "PROFIT"? :scared-3:

09-10-16, 16:18
Ask you, how much does a 5-room BTO HDB flat costs?
How much is the construction costs?

HDB pray will auto assemble from the sky?

Construction costs? Manpower costs? Administration and arbitration?

That is real joke!

09-10-16, 16:37

Minimum 150psf. Maximum 250psf.

Construction is only part of the costs, to maintain the whole HDB machinery involves costs as well.

09-10-16, 17:23

Let me guess, 126 sqm(1356 sqft) bought at SGD 225,600 in 1995.

about 166 sqft everything included.

09-10-16, 19:08
By the way, in 1995, construction costs for BTO HDB flats only about $50 psf.
That means, after construction costs, the difference is like about $157,256. The majority of these are attributed to the 99-years lease land costs, of which the actual cost to the government is about $0.60 psf of land area (where this figure is for FH and not 99-years LH), assuming plot ratio of 2.8 means actual costs is $0.60/2.8 = $0.214 psf ppr of built-up area.
So profits to government is about $157,256 - (0.214 x 1356) = $156,965 per 5-room HDB flat in 1995!

How much is a 126 sqm 5-room HDB flat now in say Sengkang or Punggol?
And what is the construction costs?

Let me guess, 126 sqm(1356 sqft) bought at SGD 225,600 in 1995.

about 166 sqft everything included.

09-10-16, 19:58
By the way, in 1995, construction costs for BTO HDB flats only about $50 psf.
That means, after construction costs, the difference is like about $157,256. The majority of these are attributed to the 99-years lease land costs, of which the actual cost to the government is about $0.60 psf of land area (where this figure is for FH and not 99-years LH), assuming plot ratio of 2.8 means actual costs is $0.60/2.8 = $0.214 psf ppr of built-up area.
So profits to government is about $157,256 - (0.214 x 1356) = $156,965 per 5-room HDB flat in 1995!

How much is a 126 sqm 5-room HDB flat now in say Sengkang or Punggol?
And what is the construction costs?

I think you getting close to what I trying to say.

Money before September 15, 2008, everyone was told they cannot print their problem away.

After America show the World how to print their problem away, everyone start printing.

Same 2 Bedroom, Same area, Same construction material from Jun 2006 to Jun 2010 appreciate 1,000,000.

09-10-16, 20:06
HDB flats construction costs, based on estimation, could NOT BE more than $150 psf even at current level, which means $150 psf is MAX, not min...............

Don't forget, private condo units cost of construction, inclusive of flooring, fully furnished wardrobes, kitchen cabinets, bathrooms, and even electrical appliances and car parks is only about $250-300 psf.

HDB builds car park which they then continue to collect $$$ (and hence these costs cannot be charged to HDB flats' buyers).

So You mean HDB is so inefficient to need so much overhead (as compared to private property developers whose selling price usually about 20% above land+construction costs and still made GOOD PROFITs)?

If this is so, then that is worrying, just wondering whether CPF managing CPF Life also has very high overheads in order to maintain the whole CPF Life machinery????

Minimum 150psf. Maximum 250psf.

Construction is only part of the costs, to maintain the whole HDB machinery involves costs as well.

09-10-16, 20:23
When was the last time you paid for parks and badminton court, basketball court, road lamps, covered walkways etc?

Actually the problem is not just costs. It's easy to rent out flats to cover more than mortgage. How can it be sold lower?

A car cost is also 20k but sold to owners become 100k.

HDB flats construction costs, based on estimation, could NOT BE more than $150 psf even at current level, which means $150 psf is MAX, not min...............

Don't forget, private condo units cost of construction, inclusive of flooring, fully furnished wardrobes, kitchen cabinets, bathrooms, and even electrical appliances and car parks is only about $250-300 psf.

HDB builds car park which they then continue to collect $$$ (and hence these costs cannot be charged to HDB flats' buyers).

So You mean HDB is so inefficient to need so much overhead (as compared to private property developers whose selling price usually about 20% above land+construction costs and still made GOOD PROFITs)?

If this is so, then that is worrying, just wondering whether CPF managing CPF Life also has very high overheads in order to maintain the whole CPF Life machinery????

09-10-16, 20:25
What? You mean HDB flat buyers need to pay for the parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc??? Was those items mentioned as costs included when a couple buys a new BTO HDB flat?

When was the last time you paid for parks and badminton court, basketball court, road lamps, covered walkways etc?

09-10-16, 20:34
Then? Money drop from the sky or park drop from the sky?

Increase income tax people kp, increase GST people kb, how else to best draw money to build useful facilities?

What? You mean HDB flat buyers need to pay for the parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc??? Was those items mentioned as costs included when a couple buys a new BTO HDB flat?

09-10-16, 20:44
Wow! This is the FIRST TIME I heard HDB flats' prices include costs to build parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc!

Wait a minute, NOW you seem to be telling us that those car parks building costs are charged to HDB flats' buyers but HDB/Government collect the revenue and put into their pocket???

Wait a minute, those badminton courts, basketball courts, parks etc, paid by HDB flats' buyers, do HDB flats' owners have exclusive privilege and priority to book and use these courts? (just like private property owners who paid for them and hence have exclusive privilege and priority to use them!)

Wait a minute, isn't road lamps belong to roads, and LTA already collected road taxes and COEs from car users to pay for all these construction and maintenance?

Wait a minute, isn't GST, income taxes etc collected to provide facilities, support PA, etc and also pay for the parks, covered walkways etc?

Wait a minute, all those you mentioned seemed to be owned by other government statutory boards (NOT owned by HDB) and are already covered by taxes collected from other sources (by other Government statutory boards), suddenly you claimed they are paid by HDB and actually these money are collected from HDB flats' owners???

Don't bullshit lah! :scared-3:

If like that, SLA sell land to HDB at market price of >$8xx psf of 99-years LH land, HDB still considered making HUGE profits! (since HDB pay for other statutory boards all those costs from their selling HDB flats' revenue, all other statutory boards also cover HDB costs and share their tax revenue!)
Or using your analogy, it is not wrong to say that Government making HUGE profits (via HDB & SLA).......

Then? Money drop from the sky or park drop from the sky?

Increase income tax people kp, increase GST people kb, how else to best draw money to build useful facilities?

09-10-16, 22:52
It's simple enough for me. All revenues are ultimately used for the long term survival needs and to maintain or improve standard of living of the mass.

What a flat buyer can derive of the flat and it's vicinity by living in it or by renting it out far outweighs the mortgage he puts in it. This is a globally recognized price. And it's good enough for most.

Do you even have a hdb or ever had one?

Wow! This is the FIRST TIME I heard HDB flats' prices include costs to build parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc!

Wait a minute, NOW you seem to be telling us that those car parks building costs are charged to HDB flats' buyers but HDB/Government collect the revenue and put into their pocket???

Wait a minute, those badminton courts, basketball courts, parks etc, paid by HDB flats' buyers, do HDB flats' owners have exclusive privilege and priority to book and use these courts? (just like private property owners who paid for them and hence have exclusive privilege and priority to use them!)

Wait a minute, isn't road lamps belong to roads, and LTA already collected road taxes and COEs from car users to pay for all these construction and maintenance?

Wait a minute, isn't GST, income taxes etc collected to provide facilities, support PA, etc and also pay for the parks, covered walkways etc?

Wait a minute, all those you mentioned seemed to be owned by other government statutory boards (NOT owned by HDB) and are already covered by taxes collected from other sources (by other Government statutory boards), suddenly you claimed they are paid by HDB and actually these money are collected from HDB flats' owners???

If like that, SLA sell land to HDB at market price of >$8xx psf of 99-years LH land, HDB still considered making HUGE profits! (since HDB pay for other statutory boards all those costs from their selling HDB flats' revenue, all other statutory boards also cover HDB costs and share their tax revenue!)
Or using your analogy, it is not wrong to say that Government making HUGE profits (via HDB & SLA).......

10-10-16, 10:06
Wait a minute, why are you deviating from the questions I posed to you about your claim that HDB priced HDB flats that already included the costs to build HDB car parks, parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc???

So I supposed that is plain BULLSHIT and ABSURD and you have abandoned your bullshit claim??? :playful:

If this is the case, then you can't deny that Government as a whole still make BIG PROFITS from selling BTO HDB flats (via the land they acquired at <$1 psf of FH land area that their subsidiary SLA then sell to HDB at market price of >$800 psf of 99-years LH land area).......

It's simple enough for me. All revenues are ultimately used for the long term survival needs and to maintain or improve standard of living of the mass.

What a flat buyer can derive of the flat and it's vicinity by living in it or by renting it out far outweighs the mortgage he puts in it. This is a globally recognized price. And it's good enough for most.

Do you even have a hdb or ever had one?

DMCK
10-10-16, 10:07
TS, after 6 pages I think you have been confused hahaa, with your income and cash holding you should be able to buy, if the property has crashed, do you dare to buy in the first place?

10-10-16, 10:11
What I will do is to buy a HUDC.

DMCK
10-10-16, 10:19
What I will do is to buy a HUDC.

but he owns a HDB, can he buys?

10-10-16, 10:28
I only said parks, maybe include playground. Never said car parks leh... And lamp posts are the walkway lamp posts, not the roadside ones. If you want to be anal and bite on it, please carry on.

Look, if you only look at things from the surface, you are going to miss all the opportunities. That's all I can say. :)

Wait a minute, why are you deviating from the questions I posed to you about your claim that HDB priced HDB flats that already included the costs to build HDB car parks, parks, badminton courts, basketball courts, road lamps, covered walkways etc???

So I supposed that is plain BULLSHIT and ABSURD and you have abandoned your bullshit claim??? :playful:

If this is the case, then you can't deny that Government as a whole still make BIG PROFITS from selling BTO HDB flats (via the land they acquired at <$1 psf of FH land area that their subsidiary SLA then sell to HDB at market price of >$800 psf of 99-years LH land area).......

10-10-16, 10:28
but he owns a HDB, can he buys?

Fully privatised. I think can buy?

10-10-16, 10:30
TS, after 6 pages I think you have been confused hahaa, with your income and cash holding you should be able to buy, if the property has crashed, do you dare to buy in the first place?

It should be rephrased as "if the property is so easy to be crashed, do you dare to buy?"

Or "why is it so hard to crash the property market?"

10-10-16, 11:11

Actually if we were to talk about profits from making BTO flats, wouldn't the gov make more if they were to sell all the land to private developers like in HK? So quite difficult to make comparison.

10-10-16, 12:37
Regardless of who they sell to, they will still be making BIG PROFITS!

HDB flats is needed to serve the social purpose, and to "win" votes, so it doesn't make sense to make it so expensive like in HK.

Anyway, HK government has limited land to sell, unlike SG.....

Actually if we were to talk about profits from making BTO flats, wouldn't the gov make more if they were to sell all the land to private developers like in HK? So quite difficult to make comparison.

10-10-16, 12:52
SG has unlimited land to sell??? Wow, great!

Regardless of who they sell to, they will still be making BIG PROFITS!

HDB flats is needed to serve the social purpose, and to "win" votes, so it doesn't make sense to make it so expensive like in HK.

Anyway, HK government has limited land to sell, unlike SG.....

cbsh38584
10-10-16, 13:07

With a HDB outsanding loan of $100k & saving $200k. It is a definitely no no now. You are planning to fail . If one of them become jobless or loss of income due
to unforseen big illness. You will be in financial trouble & struggling everyday . Stay where you are now until you are financially much stronger. Then you can consider EC.

HDB four flat 900 sqft Vs A condo (3rm) 900sqft
=====================================
ppty tax - HDB est $89/yr Vs Condo $2000/yr+
Maint fee - HDB est $789 /yr Vs Condo $3600/yr
HDB 80% to 90% subsidize if there is a HOME improvement scheme for old estate. Condo does not have at all.

Plan your retirement as young as possible
================================
A few mths ago, I met 2 former colleague. Very responsible, energetic & motivated when there were young engineers. They are almost "MARRIED" to their job as they often work long hours (12-15hrs). They were in the mid 20s & late 20s at that time in the 1990s.

I had a short conversation (now 40s). They looked very stressful & they told me that they are SICK of their job. How they wish they can slow down & spend more time with their family. But they cant as they have alot of family commitment to take care of.

What I am trying to point out that when you are young & fit. You have the high level or energy & the ability to take stress. But once you reach 40s. Your responsiblilty grow leap & bounce due to your family commitment. Your stress level will also increase. Dont mismange your financial health your reach 40+ due to over commitment in your ppty investment. The level of stress will be even higher & may affect your family relationship.

If u are able to plan your retirement as young as possible through managing your CPF transfer from OA (2.5%) to SA (4%). ONLY your CPF which 20% from your OWN Salary & 17% from employer are GOOD ENOUGH for a comfortable retirement at age 55 to 58. U need to ensure & ENDURE & stay employed as long as possible at least till age 55.

Take note that if your CPF acct has let say 800k by age 65. It is est that about 400k is your own 20% + 17% contribution from your 30 yrs of working. The rest est 400k is from the high compounded interest earned.

Our long term growth maybe between 1-3%. Not the 7%-12% in the 70s,80s & 90s. Job securities is a real threat. Do your own detail calculation. Dont blindly follow our
former PM Goh 5cs dream in the early 90s. It is over. The current Cs is contentment, continuous learning, compassion etc etc

BYE BYE TENSION & HELLO PENSION at age 55-58 (CPF).

10-10-16, 16:14
Better don't think your money in CPF going to let you retire in comfort. When ypu know how they print money, you will put all in other asset.

10-10-16, 16:18
My father bought a 3 room HDB for 6600 CPF never use for other investment after retirement, now CPF zero at age 82.

10-10-16, 16:20
Buy the biggest you can afford when you are young sell when you are old.

10-10-16, 18:21
In Singapore, >90% of the vacant land available for development is owned by Singapore Government,
while HK has much less (probably <30%),
So SG got so much more land to sell right? :playful:

SG has unlimited land to sell??? Wow, great!

10-10-16, 19:02
In Singapore, >90% of the vacant land available for development is owned by Singapore Government,

You are right, got a lot of lands.

Don't know where they get all the money from.

I can confirm not from me, I borrow to the max already.

https://www.truuue.com/blog/new-developments-enhancing-the-east-district/

https://blog2.truuue.com:3010/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/Image-5.png

10-10-16, 19:03

https://www.quora.com/In-the-Hong-Kong-SAR-what-happens-when-the-lease-on-your-self-owned-property-expires

http://www.landsd.gov.hk/en/service/landpolicy.htm

All land holdings in Hong Kong are leasehold. (The only freehold land for all practical purposes is that small plot of land where St. John's Cathedral sits.) That means land in Hong Kong is leased from the government.

10-10-16, 19:30
Don't know what to say, if Bank can loan me money to buy property I will buy again.

10-10-16, 19:32
Stability will only return when Hong Kong ends its property tyranny
Andy Xie says Hong Kong must restructure its property market to help ordinary people - rather than milking them for the benefit of the business elite - if stability is to return (http://www.scmp.com/comment/insight-opinion/article/1616266/stability-will-only-return-when-hong-kong-ends-its-property)

Tight land supply adds to the problem - often a result of hoarding by a few of the big boys. The banking system is structured to load people with a mountain of debt, which means people must work even harder to keep their tiny apartment.

The system worked when incomes were rising rapidly. When China was not fully open up to the world, Hong Kong had plenty of opportunities as a bridge between the two, and could charge a hefty premium for the service. After China joined the World Trade Organisation, those opportunities as a middleman vanished. Taxing people with ever higher property prices couldn't work anymore. But Hong Kong's system didn't adjust to the new reality. The ensuing instability is hurting everyone. The city's ruling elite, through uncontrollable greed, have done themselves in.

And regardless of HK or Singapore, when the 99-years land lease is up, you need to demolish the building and return the land to the government......

https://www.quora.com/In-the-Hong-Kong-SAR-what-happens-when-the-lease-on-your-self-owned-property-expires

http://www.landsd.gov.hk/en/service/landpolicy.htm

All land holdings in Hong Kong are leasehold. (The only freehold land for all practical purposes is that small plot of land where St. John's Cathedral sits.) That means land in Hong Kong is leased from the government.

Newbie1
10-10-16, 19:53
Don't know what to say, if Bank can loan me money to buy property I will buy again.

u still buy with 10% ABSD if bank loans u 40%?
Big or small unit?

10-10-16, 21:46
u still buy with 10% ABSD if bank loans u 40%?
Big or small unit?

if u've been following his posts, u will know that he can't pass TDSR. to help him to buy, u need to help him solve his TDSR problem. :)

10-10-16, 22:24
if u've been following his posts, u will know that he can't pass TDSR. to help him to buy, u need to help him solve his TDSR problem. :)

Correction, Not only TDSR.

3rd property onward 25% cash, LTV 40% for loan less than 30 years and before age 65

Above 30 years loan and beyond 65 LTV 20%.

On Top of ABSD 10% plus BSD 3%-5400.

For a million dollar property, I need to pay cash min 60% plus 10% plus 3%-5400.

24,600plus700,000=724,600.

http://81817777.com/_Media/ocbc_tdsr-08_med.jpeg

10-10-16, 22:31
Top 4 Reasons For Deflation - Hidden Secrets Of Money 6 (Mike Maloney)
https://youtu.be/8GP87dgTqF8

10-10-16, 22:38
Top 4 Reasons For Deflation - Hidden Secrets Of Money 6 (Mike Maloney)
https://youtu.be/8GP87dgTqF8

He is selling gold, his main point.

Gold cannot collect rental and cannot stay in it.

You need to find a place to store it and if you buy paper gold it is even worst, you may end out no money and no gold.

Newbie1
10-10-16, 22:40
Thanks for the calculation.
So for 1 m ppty, need to come out with 725k cash
That means those still buying must be cash rich
Plus TDSR, these buyers must be very strong

say, rent out 3k, 36k/725k still about 5%?

Correction, Not only TDSR.

3rd property onward 25% cash, LTV 40% for loan less than 30 years and before age 65

Above 30 years loan and beyond 65 LTV 20%.

On Top of ABSD 10% plus BSD 3%-5400.

For a million dollar property, I need to pay cash min 60% plus 10% plus 3%-5400.

24,600plus700,000=724,600.

http://81817777.com/_Media/ocbc_tdsr-08_med.jpeg

10-10-16, 22:45
Thanks for the calculation.
So for 1 m ppty, need to come out with 725k cash
That means those still buying must be cash rich
Plus TDSR, these buyers must be very strong

say, rent out 3k, 36k/725k still about 5%?

Correction you need to factor in maintenance, lost of rental income, interest rate increase, property tax etc.

Newbie1
10-10-16, 23:16
Then probably end up with 2-3%
Have to agree that LTV and TDSR make it quite tough

Correction you need to factor in maintenance, lost of rental income, interest rate increase, property tax etc.

cbsh38584
11-10-16, 07:56
Better don't think your money in CPF going to let you retire in comfort. When ypu know how they print money, you will put all in other asset.

"We don't want to be a nation of property speculators," - Lawrence Wong

Big profit within 5-10 yrs in ppty investment is over. We are not in the 70s ,80s & 90s where growth was 7%-12%.
The TDSR will likely to stay. ABSD may change but it will not be back to the normal ONLY 3% stamp fee.

You need to have more alternative income when you are approaching age >55.
1) CPF the safest , guarantee & high compounded interest.
A basic Salary $2500 @ age 25 with 3% increement till age 55-57 will allow you to grow your CPF to $800-1m. But U need to transfer
your CPF OA (2.5%) to CPF SA (4%) as young as possible. TAKE NOTE.A basic Salary at a start $2500 is good enough
Dont need to be a high income earner of 10k-20k.

If you have 100k in CPF SA (4%) @ age 30.
25 yrs later = $266k snowball compounded interest effect.
30 yrs later = $324k.
35 yrs later = $395k
40 yrs later = $480k

60 yrs later = $1.05m . That is what the rich parent are doing. Put excess CASH into the children's CPF acct @ age 1-3.

2) Rental income - Depend on the economic situtaion & also luck. My friend was so unlucky that he rented to a SG family which they borrowed from loan shark.
Almost one yr to rental income. The worst is that many visit to police station U are luckily that HDB did not give you trouble for renting to a group of NOISY vitenam students.
If they are in prositute biz which U are not aware of. U will have alot of trouble.

3) Bond fund paying 3%+ yearly or investment grade blue chip bond pay 3%.

4) Dividend fund or ETF index fund

5) Direct into reit & blue chip but carry higher risk if you are emotionally always like to invest like a HERD or follow the crowd.

cbsh38584
11-10-16, 08:19

Big profit within 5-10 yrs in ppty investment is over. We are not in the 70s ,80s & 90s where growth was 7%-12%.
The TDSR will likely to stay. ABSD may change but it will not be back to the normal ONLY 3% stamp fee.

A basic Salary $2500 @ age 25 with 3% increement till age 55-57 will allow you to grow your CPF to $800-1m. But U need to transfer
your CPF OA (2.5%) to CPF SA (4%) as young as possible. TAKE NOTE.A basic Salary at a start $2500 is good enough

30 yrs later = $324k.
35 yrs later = $395k
40 yrs later = $480k

60 yrs later = $1.05m . That is what the rich parent are doing. Put excess CASH into the children's CPF acct @ age 1-3.

2) Rental income - Depend on the economic situtaion & also luck. My friend was so unlucky that he rented to a SG family which they borrowed from loan shark.
Almost one yr to rental income. The worst is that many visit to police station U are luckily that HDB did not give you trouble for renting to a group of NOISY vitenam students.
If they are in prositute biz which U are not aware of. U will have alot of trouble.

5) Direct into reit & blue chip but carry higher risk if you are emotionally always like to invest like a HERD or follow the crowd.

Back in 2005, A rookie agent was advertising Pasir ris HDB 5rm flat for renting. 3 potential tenants( philippines , M'sian & me) .I am willing to
slightly pay a little more as I was waiting for my condo which TOP 2 yrs later. The rookie agent accepts my offer & want CASH & assured me
that he is a CHRISTIAN & will not lie. I approach my agent why it is not cheque to his company name. My agent (sister church friend) told me
it is OK to pay cash as she has done a few times b4. I pay in CASH ($800) but took picture of his IC.

A few days later, he just disappeared. I went to his HDB flat IC address. A very big surprise. Paint splash over the door. My sister's agent
apologies to me. I called & called & finally he answered. I told him I will make a police report if he dont return back my CASH deposit. He did
return to me. So lucky. A very educational experience with no loss of $.

11-10-16, 08:35
Where do the million Foreign worker stay.

11-10-16, 08:59
They will have dormitories specially built for them, with recreational facilities!

So mass-market and low-end condos would not be able to get them as tenant anymore!

Where do the million Foreign worker stay.

11-10-16, 10:17
They will have dormitories specially built for them, with recreational facilities!

So mass-market and low-end condos would not be able to get them as tenant anymore!

Sorry to inform you not all stay in dormitories, my condo have one idiot rent to them.

11-10-16, 10:18
It is cheaper to house them in condo than dormitories. Free parking included.

frumnat
11-10-16, 10:24
Sorry to inform you not all stay in dormitories, my condo have one idiot rent to them.

You don't mean foreign construction workers, do you?

11-10-16, 11:14
Fully agree. The nation shouldn't be all property speculators, but owners and investors (in for the long run), we can take a few.

All funds are similar in my opinion. Even a 2% average property price growth over the next 10 years, or 20% growth will be quite good for investors in property. Say a current $1mil property grows in value to 1.22mil 10 years later.

Based on the initial funds of 300K put in (assuming downpayment and ABSD for second property and all miscellaneous in), plus "loss" of 18,000 annually due to months of lack of tenants lah, maintenance, repairs etc, and all rent channelled to repayment of mortgage loan of 25 years averaging at 2.6% interests a year...

At the end of 10 years, you have a balance mortgage of $540K and a net equity position of 680K. The total downpayment is still 300K plus "loss" of 180K, putting in total 480K. The nett gain 10 years later is 200K.

Note that I have taken amongst the most drastic stance on loss from renting out, input of 1.5K every month over 10 years, and also an interest rate that is at least 1% higher than what we have at the moment.

Based on these values, assuming 480K as the initial capital, the gain is very close to 3.5% (or close to the SA account % you have so often touted), with the option to withdraw anytime required for emergency (factor in 1-2 years to sell).

Based on 300K as initial capital and 1.5K input (loss) every month, the gain % is actually 4.3% which is higher than SA interest.

And if we extrapolate these over 20 years, diluting the effect of ABSD, the % gains will be even higher.

And if someone actually doesn't have to pay ABSD, these figures will be even more exaggerating!

11-10-16, 11:17
You don't mean foreign construction workers, do you?

Do a Google search and you will know this is not news.

Amber Woods
11-10-16, 11:38
Fully agree. The nation shouldn't be all property speculators, but owners and investors (in for the long run), we can take a few.

All funds are similar in my opinion. Even a 2% average property price growth over the next 10 years, or 20% growth will be quite good for investors in property. Say a current $1mil property grows in value to 1.22mil 10 years later.

Based on the initial funds of 300K put in (assuming downpayment and ABSD for second property and all miscellaneous in), plus "loss" of 18,000 annually due to months of lack of tenants lah, maintenance, repairs etc, and all rent channelled to repayment of mortgage loan of 25 years averaging at 2.6% interests a year...

At the end of 10 years, you have a balance mortgage of $540K and a net equity position of 680K. The total downpayment is still 300K plus "loss" of 180K, putting in total 480K. The nett gain 10 years later is 200K.

Note that I have taken amongst the most drastic stance on loss from renting out, input of 1.5K every month over 10 years, and also an interest rate that is at least 1% higher than what we have at the moment.

Based on these values, assuming 480K as the initial capital, the gain is very close to 3.5% (or close to the SA account % you have so often touted), with the option to withdraw anytime required for emergency (factor in 1-2 years to sell).

Based on 300K as initial capital and 1.5K input (loss) every month, the gain % is actually 4.3% which is higher than SA interest.

And if we extrapolate these over 20 years, diluting the effect of ABSD, the % gains will be even higher.

And if someone actually doesn't have to pay ABSD, these figures will be even more exaggerating!

It's all depend on when you buy during the property cycle and/or economic cycle.

For those who bought during the peak in 1997, they only break even after almost 20 years.

For those who bought in 2006, they are likely to see appreciation of about 40% after 10 years today.

For those who bought in 2009, they are likely to see 0% appreciation after 10 years in 2019.

For those who bought during the recent peak in 2013, they are likely to see negative appreciation after10 years if 1997 peak serves as a reference.

11-10-16, 13:01
1997 cannot print money
2006 start to recover
2009 whole world printing money
2013 taking a break before the next tsunami.
If you remove all the CMs you tell another story.

Amber Woods
11-10-16, 14:33
Unfortunately, the printed money went into equities and hard assets and not into factories and machinery. This resulted in inflated assets and negative economic growth. Appreciated asset is different from inflated asset where the latter will give way due to lack of real economic growth to support the inflated price.

11-10-16, 15:36
Unfortunately, the printed money went into equities and hard assets and not into factories and machinery. This resulted in inflated assets and negative economic growth. Appreciated asset is different from inflated asset where the latter will give way due to lack of real economic growth to support the inflated price.

But income growth is also very real during this period... Plus disruptive technology and cheaper ringgit that helps families save. Disposable income definitely has increased for the top 20, 30% of households...

In the end, really not sure who is correct.

Amber Woods
11-10-16, 16:25
But income growth is also very real during this period... Plus disruptive technology and cheaper ringgit that helps families save. Disposable income definitely has increased for the top 20, 30% of households...

In the end, really not sure who is correct.

Income growth is correspond to normal inflation. Prices rise from 2006 to 2009 was due to asset appreciation in respond to inflation and income growth. Prices rise from 2009 to 2013 was due to mostly to asset inflation and not asset appreciation with some inflation and income growth at play.

11-10-16, 17:06
Income growth is correspond to normal inflation. Prices rise from 2006 to 2009 was due to asset appreciation in respond to inflation and income growth. Prices rise from 2009 to 2013 was due to mostly to asset inflation and not asset appreciation with some inflation and income growth at play.

Then this?

https://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en-GB&ie=UTF-8&source=android-browser&q=singapore+income&gfe_rd=cr&ei=26r8V-bJE4uHoAPHoKHQAw&gws_rd=ssl#gfe_rd=cr&gws_rd=ssl&imgrc=2Ldf07X9S9F4SM%3A

Amber Woods
11-10-16, 17:13
Then this?

https://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en-GB&ie=UTF-8&source=android-browser&q=singapore+income&gfe_rd=cr&ei=26r8V-bJE4uHoAPHoKHQAw&gws_rd=ssl#gfe_rd=cr&gws_rd=ssl&imgrc=2Ldf07X9S9F4SM%3A

You decide after taking into account all the information you have gathered or learnt. If I will you, I will take a step back, review my portfolio and take necessary actions to reduce risk to a minimum.

11-10-16, 17:38
Remember these are only median incomes which indicate the maximum rental or HDB mortgage the family can pay.

Buying family and profile is a different story. We have stared at those figures with Teddybear before.

You decide after taking into account all the information you have gathered or learnt. If I will you, I will take a step back, review my portfolio and take necessary actions to reduce risk to a minimum.

Amber Woods
11-10-16, 17:46
Remember these are only median incomes which indicate the maximum rental or HDB mortgage the family can pay.

Buying family and profile is a different story. We have stared at those figures with Teddybear before.

Good luck to what you think is correct.

11-10-16, 19:02
Good luck to what you think is correct.

I not good in finance and statistic, one thing I know after 8 years oversea I get to see a lot of restaurants and most of the time pack.

Income high or low just needs to see what people eat and wear.

11-10-16, 19:56
Property market will crash when Singapore's economy goes into recession.....
They are still trying to hold up to prevent recession........
But doubt they can hold very long........

1-2% GDP growth can easily become negative and hence recession..........
Even without recession, we are already hearing lots of retrenchment in banking, manufacturing, R&D sector, and companies (high profile ones some more) moving out of Singapore etc!

Government cannot prevent economic recession, and hence cannot prevent property market crash (that comes with it).

My estimate is probably 2018-2020 period.............

Government ready to act if Singapore goes into recession (http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/govt-ready-to-act-if-spore-goes-into-recession)

Singapore is not expected to go into a recession, but should the economy turn negative, the Government stands ready to respond, Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade) Lim Hng Kiang told Parliament yesterday.

"Depending on the nature and severity of the downturn, the Government is prepared to consider introducing a range of contingency measures, which could include broad-based as well as sector-specific measures," he said, without giving details of specific steps.

The economy is expected to grow between 1 per cent and 2 per cent this year, but there is widespread concern on the ground over rising unemployment and a weak global economic outlook.

A total of 15 MPs had filed 16 questions about the weak economic indicators of recent months for yesterday's one-day sitting, and some asked what was being done to help workers and create new jobs amid challenging conditions.

He also stressed the need to ensure that the current low growth of 1 per cent to 2 per cent is but a transition, not the new normal. "Our future norm should be 2 per cent to 3 per cent of quality growth."

11-10-16, 20:02
It is official that Singapore economy will go through periods of negative growth........
You can still say there is NO RECESSION, doesn't matter the names......
The most important thing is that when there are periods of negative growth, regardless of you call it "recession" or not, people will be retrenched, and they will have difficulty servicing their housing loans (let alone still looking to buy properties)!

No recession, but expect periods of negative growth: MTI (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/no-recession-but-expect-periods-of-negative-growth-mti)

WHILE the Singapore economy could go through several quarters of negative growth, the government does not expect an outright recession to take place, Trade minister Lim Hng Kiang said on Monday.

Even without recession, we are already hearing lots of retrenchment in banking, manufacturing, R&D sector, and companies (high profile ones some more) moving out of Singapore etc!

Government cannot prevent economic recession, and hence cannot prevent property market crash (that comes with it).

Government ready to act if Singapore goes into recession (http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/govt-ready-to-act-if-spore-goes-into-recession)

Singapore is not expected to go into a recession, but should the economy turn negative, the Government stands ready to respond, Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade) Lim Hng Kiang told Parliament yesterday.

"Depending on the nature and severity of the downturn, the Government is prepared to consider introducing a range of contingency measures, which could include broad-based as well as sector-specific measures," he said, without giving details of specific steps.

The economy is expected to grow between 1 per cent and 2 per cent this year, but there is widespread concern on the ground over rising unemployment and a weak global economic outlook.

A total of 15 MPs had filed 16 questions about the weak economic indicators of recent months for yesterday's one-day sitting, and some asked what was being done to help workers and create new jobs amid challenging conditions.

He also stressed the need to ensure that the current low growth of 1 per cent to 2 per cent is but a transition, not the new normal. "Our future norm should be 2 per cent to 3 per cent of quality growth."

11-10-16, 21:53
Such sweet news. I have made quite a killing in stocks recently. Will be sitting on quite a pile to see if pump into cars. Next 10 years all secure if COE drops!

Anything goes. If recession comes will be ready to hop more durians! Cars or one more property. Huat arh!

It is official that Singapore economy will go through periods of negative growth........
You can still say there is NO RECESSION, doesn't matter the names......
The most important thing is that when there are periods of negative growth, regardless of you call it "recession" or not, people will be retrenched, and they will have difficulty servicing their housing loans (let alone still looking to buy properties)!

No recession, but expect periods of negative growth: MTI (http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/government-economy/no-recession-but-expect-periods-of-negative-growth-mti)

WHILE the Singapore economy could go through several quarters of negative growth, the government does not expect an outright recession to take place, Trade minister Lim Hng Kiang said on Monday.

Newbie1
11-10-16, 22:05
Excellent summary. Thanks!

How does one transfer money from OA to SA and is there a limit?

pty seminars and gurus suggesting that can own properties with little donwpayment, is this cloud funding?

30 yrs later = $324k.
35 yrs later = $395k
40 yrs later = $480k

Newbie1
11-10-16, 22:10
Thought read somewhere u mentioned that property prices in CCR have already crashed?
Would CCR prices crash even further when recession comes?

Seeing the photos from the 2 latest new property launches at Alps and Forestwoods
The mood did not reflect the situation that the recession is coming

Maybe there is a disconnect somewhere

Newbie1
11-10-16, 22:19
http://www.theedgeproperty.com.sg/content/alps-residences-see-280-units-sold-launch-day-all-eyes-forest-woods

11-10-16, 22:38
CCR selective locality has already crashed, and badly at that....

OCR,as you mentioned, there is a disconnect........

But reality will set in once the property market crash comes......

Those that had crashed probably will still drop but not much, those at HISTORICAL HIGH will CRASH the most........... No reward for guessing it right which will CRASH BADLY in coming recession...........

Thought read somewhere u mentioned that property prices in CCR have already crashed?
Would CCR prices crash even further when recession comes?

Seeing the photos from the 2 latest new property launches at Alps and Forestwoods
The mood did not reflect the situation that the recession is coming

Maybe there is a disconnect somewhere

Amber Woods
12-10-16, 01:39
I not good in finance and statistic, one thing I know after 8 years oversea I get to see a lot of restaurants and most of the time pack.

Income high or low just needs to see what people eat and wear.

There is a vast different in today's demographic especially so in Singapore where the younger generation are living differently from their parents' era. They live a different lifestyle and hence they are much more vulnerable when recession hits them. They usually need their parents to bill them out.

12-10-16, 08:58
Excellent summary. Thanks!

How does one transfer money from OA to SA and is there a limit?

pty seminars and gurus suggesting that can own properties with little donwpayment, is this cloud funding?

Go and attend the seminars, remember never never never sign out anything in the seminars. Good to know what they are doing but newbie beware never never never sign out.