View Full Version : [Serious need opinion] - The Parc or The Trilinq

highlander1984
09-06-17, 13:55

I would like to hear your honest opinion about these two condos. I know I am not comparing apple to apple. but as the case stands, these two are the closest in terms of their location to Clementi central, pricing and relative age. From a normal view point, which condo would you expect to appreciate the fastest among all common factors that are developing in the west and why?

Many thanks in advance! (sorry in advance if I should post the thread like this in this forum)

09-06-17, 14:23
if the prices are comparable, wouldn't freehold (parc) be safer?

highlander1984
09-06-17, 14:28
The Parc (freehold) is a defensive asset I think and hence should hold value better. But if I am talking about appreciation? Which one will be more ideal? Is there a chance that both appreciates together at the roughly same rate? As I see the two as almost quite similar in qualities except for trilinq being slightly nearer to clementi central but not freehold.

wannabe
09-06-17, 14:31
The Parc (freehold) is a defensive asset I think and hence should hold value better. But if I am talking about appreciation? Which one will be more ideal? Is there a chance that both appreciates together at the roughly same rate? As I see the two as almost quite similar in qualities except for trilinq being slightly nearer to clementi central but not freehold.

My colleague owns a unit at The Parc, he complains about the poor quality fitting and flooring.

highlander1984
09-06-17, 14:34
did he mentioned about the location? is it good? and morning the gantry does it get stuck with lots of cars leaving?

09-06-17, 14:55
on the other hand, for trilinq, the layout is also not ideal as the rooms are quite small.

highlander1984
09-06-17, 15:03
on a balance of the strengths and weakness (e.g. trilinq is newer, near to mrt, good school, smaller rooms, the parc is freehold, near to good school and has bigger rooms, older and etc) which in your opinion will have more room to appreciate within a 10 year run?

09-06-17, 15:22
If newness is not an issue, the Parc is better.

If newness is, then Trilinq is better with developer warranty for a period. I also hearsay got quite a bit of defects to rectify for Trilinq owners. Facilities etc are more suited for use.

For a buffer of safety, FH is safer.

Maybe try to sense the management condition of the condo to decide. Check the bus stops access and buses available as well, there are many bus routes criss crossing in this vicinity.

on a balance of the strengths and weakness (e.g. trilinq is newer, near to mrt, good school, smaller rooms, the parc is freehold, near to good school and has bigger rooms, older and etc) which in your opinion will have more room to appreciate within a 10 year run?

highlander1984
09-06-17, 15:37
If newness is not an issue, the Parc is better.

If newness is, then Trilinq is better with developer warranty for a period. I also hearsay got quite a bit of defects to rectify for Trilinq owners. Facilities etc are more suited for use.

For a buffer of safety, FH is safer.

Maybe try to sense the management condition of the condo to decide. Check the bus stops access and buses available as well, there are many bus routes criss crossing in this vicinity.

That is a very good point, meaning the parc had its issues rectified )at least I think. but if I am not going to hold for more than 10 years. and given the current state of both condos. one new and one older and the differences (e.g. furnishing, I heard the parc has marbled toilets but tonnes of wasted space, design issues, fittings) vs the trilinq which we know uses average materials and internal furnishings are not as good and it selling mainly on its closer proximity to clementi central) on a balance of these factors. Which should appreciate in the short run?

wannabe
09-06-17, 15:46
did he mentioned about the location? is it good? and morning the gantry does it get stuck with lots of cars leaving?

Nope he didnt.
You can take a look at Fulcrum@D15.
It's by the same developer.
I've seen it.

highlander1984
09-06-17, 15:57
Nope he didnt.
You can take a look at Fulcrum@D15.
It's by the same developer.
I've seen it.

What about appreciation for the Parc or the trilinq, on a balance of possibilities, which should appreciate more in a 10 year period?

09-06-17, 16:03
What about appreciation for the Parc or the trilinq, on a balance of possibilities, which should appreciate more in a 10 year period?

If purely about appreciation, both will depreciate with time.

Look at your investment timeline, 5 years not much, 10 years maybe, more than 10 years go for FH.

highlander1984
09-06-17, 16:08
somehow I have the impression that the Parc while it is comparable to trilinq, dosent appreciate as much due to the proximity to clementi central (even thou its FH, has slightly better internal furnishing). the trilinq being newer may appreciate more due to its age and proximity to clementi central despite being leasehold and not as good internal design? Am I too quick to jump the gun?

09-06-17, 16:25
somehow I have the impression that the Parc while it is comparable to trilinq, dosent appreciate as much due to the proximity to clementi central (even thou its FH, has slightly better internal furnishing). the trilinq being newer may appreciate more due to its age and proximity to clementi central despite being leasehold and not as good internal design? Am I too quick to jump the gun?

Do you know what the next buyer of your unit like.

I have a common corridor HDB for sale in 1995, the agent bought lot of buyer most did not give an offer.

I sold my unit at 285,000 on a HDB valuation of 195,000.

tonymontana
09-06-17, 23:40
For investment or own stay?

tonymontana
09-06-17, 23:44
That is a very good point, meaning the parc had its issues rectified )at least I think. but if I am not going to hold for more than 10 years. and given the current state of both condos. one new and one older and the differences (e.g. furnishing, I heard the parc has marbled toilets but tonnes of wasted space, design issues, fittings) vs the trilinq which we know uses average materials and internal furnishings are not as good and it selling mainly on its closer proximity to clementi central) on a balance of these factors. Which should appreciate in the short run?

How sure are u both will appreciate? Market is on a gentle slide down. You might lose money.

We need to know why u r thinking of buying around here.

tonymontana
10-06-17, 00:00

I would like to hear your honest opinion about these two condos. I know I am not comparing apple to apple. but as the case stands, these two are the closest in terms of their location to Clementi central, pricing and relative age. From a normal view point, which condo would you expect to appreciate the fastest among all common factors that are developing in the west and why?

Many thanks in advance! (sorry in advance if I should post the thread like this in this forum)

Ok .

Just for you, and because I got nothing to do at the moment,

Btw the two, I would definitely choose the PARC.

Location is better.

And freehold some more.

Amber Woods
10-06-17, 09:32
How sure are u both will appreciate? Market is on a gentle slide down. You might lose money.

We need to know why u r thinking of buying around here.

Exactly!

Why is he even considering buying now if his objective is for capital appreciation and sell within the next 10 years? The chances of him loosing money is rather high unless he is a foreigner looking to hedge his currency.

If he is buying now for a place to stay, than the need is different.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 10:40
Exactly!

Why is he even considering buying now if his objective is for capital appreciation and sell within the next 10 years? The chances of him loosing money is rather high unless he is a foreigner looking to hedge his currency.

I am buying to stay but of course hope that it will/may appreciate. So given these factors, a short term stay, trilinq has more chances for appreciation? And on the parc, why is the location better? As in exclusive?

tonymontana
10-06-17, 10:43
Exactly!

But the market may also go up , you see. No one knows!

tonymontana
10-06-17, 10:47
I am buying to stay but of course hope that it will/may appreciate. So given these factors, a short term stay, trilinq has more chances for appreciation? And on the parc, why is the location better? As in exclusive?

If you're buying to stay buy the one that you like.

But PARC is safer long term because its freehold. Also trilinq I don't like that location lei. Its like Faber garden wannabe , right at the edge. And next to the busy ave 6. And you alrd mention PARC got better quality / furnishing . so I think the lure of appreciation is messing around with your decision.

If market up both will up. And vice versa.

But if for me for own . Stay , for sure I get PARC.

Amber Woods
10-06-17, 11:34
But the market may also go up , you see. No one knows!

That is why when you buy a property, make sure there is 'value' in your investment. The value can be cash flow if the property is for investment. If the property is for own stay, then you have to decide to take the risk to buy high and care not what the future price will be. If you are hoping for capital appreciation within 10 years, then you must be prepared that you are going to loose money too. In another word, you are taking a gamble.

cbsh38584
10-06-17, 11:48
A couple (age 35 to Age 40) with 2 kids (age 3-10) earning combine Salary of $12k-$15k is better off living in HDB rather than upgarde to condo.
1st priority has to be plan your future retirement as early as possible through CPF. High interest (2.5% to 5%) & guarantee.

There is no much certainty in term of job sercurity now. Always remember that the company you work for promise you job today but never promised you
job tomorrow. Be prepared for rainy days. No matter how well you’re doing, you’ve got to be prepared. Don't plan to fail & go into a high debt

Assuming you are buying a condo costing $1.2m. Loan $900k. Part of your purchase is using CPF-OA whcih wipe out your future retirement.

1) Combine couple Salary assuming $12k- $15k/mth

Per month
=======
Mortage loan of 900k (1.5%) = $4300
ppty tax = $80 ($2.5k/yr)
Maint Fee = $300
Mortagage insurance = ??? (Some dont buy at all)
Electricity bill = $250
Family car loan ($70k) = $1000
Car petrol = $250
Car insurance = $80
Car road tax = $80
Couple HP bill = $120
Starhub SVC = $60
Kids enrichment = $500
Kids school fee = $800 (age 3-10)
Family expense Food etc = $800
Maid =$700
Piety Filial - Parent =$1000 (I hv a high Salary earner friend paying $6k/mth mother. Wife not so happy)
Misc like holiday etc = ???
Misc like sick = ???
-----------------------------------------------
Total $9070

Couple insurance est = $1400
2 Kids insurance = $600
=====================
Total family insurance = $2000/mth
======================

Your expense family est per month is around $11,070. Couple Salary is 12k-$15k. You are in a border line case. Risk is high as you cannot guarantee your job is secured. Stay where you are. It is a totally different condition in SG. If you dont have the right skill. A master or a honor degree is also useless.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 12:40
If you're buying to stay buy the one that you like.

But PARC is safer long term because its freehold. Also trilinq I don't like that location lei. Its like Faber garden wannabe , right at the edge. And next to the busy ave 6. And you alrd mention PARC got better quality / furnishing . so I think the lure of appreciation is messing around with your decision.

If market up both will up. And vice versa.

But if for me for own . Stay , for sure I get PARC.

But long term only applies if it is for a long period of stay? Are we looking at above 10 years? Because my time horizon is less than 10. So if I am looking to stay for less than 10, which will have a better chance to appreciate?

10-06-17, 12:41
But long term only applies if it is for a long period of stay? Are we looking at above 10 years? Because my time horizon is less than 10. So if I am looking to stay for less than 10, which will have a better chance to appreciate?

highlander1984
10-06-17, 12:43
I think your analysis is good. I am currently in the 30-33 range. Hence my decision to up my debt to equity at this point due to age/employability and lesser liabilities. Hence with that said, I am still considering these 2 condos as I believe it is possible to enjoy the best of both worlds (stay and appreciate). So given then 2 choices, any clear choice and why?

highlander1984
10-06-17, 12:48
Exactly!

I am choosing clementi area as it is really an awesome place to stay, clementi central has everything and most importantly good schools. Further, with the shown demand of clementi central flats. I am currently living in clementi ave 1 and I never knew such convenience is possible. The only regret is my current location is abt far from central and out of 1km from nan hua primary. Hence I started looking around.

10-06-17, 12:55
I think your analysis is good. I am currently in the 30-33 range. Hence my decision to up my debt to equity at this point due to age/employability and lesser liabilities. Hence with that said, I am still considering these 2 condos as I believe it is possible to enjoy the best of both worlds (stay and appreciate). So given then 2 choices, any clear choice and why?

Look like there are more info you need to provide, such as marry, children, other loan, other property.

If you are single, now already 33 wait 2 more years get your HDB first.

10-06-17, 12:56
Great advice for 95% of us all.

A couple (age 35 to Age 40) with 2 kids (age 3-10) earning combine Salary of $12k-$15k is better off living in HDB rather than upgarde to condo.
1st priority has to be plan your future retirement as early as possible through CPF. High interest (2.5% to 5%) & guarantee.

There is no much certainty in term of job sercurity now. Always remember that the company you work for promise you job today but never promised you
job tomorrow. Be prepared for rainy days. No matter how well you’re doing, you’ve got to be prepared. Don't plan to fail & go into a high debt

Assuming you are buying a condo costing $1.2m. Loan $900k. Part of your purchase is using CPF-OA whcih wipe out your future retirement.

1) Combine couple Salary assuming $12k- $15k/mth

Per month
=======
Mortage loan of 900k (1.5%) = $4300
ppty tax = $80 ($2.5k/yr)
Maint Fee = $300
Mortagage insurance = ??? (Some dont buy at all)
Electricity bill = $250
Family car loan ($70k) = $1000
Car petrol = $250
Car insurance = $80
Car road tax = $80
Couple HP bill = $120
Starhub SVC = $60
Kids enrichment = $500
Kids school fee = $800 (age 3-10)
Family expense Food etc = $800
Maid =$700
Piety Filial - Parent =$1000 (I hv a high Salary earner friend paying $6k/mth mother. Wife not so happy)
Misc like holiday etc = ???
Misc like sick = ???
Total $9070

Couple insurance est = $1400
2 Kids insurance = $600
=====================
Total family insurance = $2000/mth
======================

Your expense family est per month is around $11,070. Couple Salary is 12k-$15k. You are in a border line case. Risk is high as you cannot guarantee your job is secured. Stay where you are. It is a totally different condition in SG. If you dont have the right skill. A master or a honor degree is also useless.

Amber Woods
10-06-17, 12:58
I am choosing clementi area as it is really an awesome place to stay, clementi central has everything and most importantly good schools. Further, with the shown demand of clementi central flats. I am currently living in clementi ave 1 and I never knew such convenience is possible. The only regret is my current location is abt far from central and out of 1km from nan hua primary. Hence I started looking around.

The chances of capital appreciation lies in CCR if you can find some value buy but not in Clementi if you have to buy now. If Clementi is the only place you want and you must buy now, be prepared that prices will not be any higher than you are paying now 10 years from now.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 12:58
Look like there are more info you need to provide, such as marry, children, other loan, other property.

No loans other than hdb, which I will sell to move. Married, 1 child. Still the question, considering the two condos, their location age and all available info. Please share your opinion on which should appreciate in the short run? Many thanks

10-06-17, 13:00
Great advice for 95% of us all.

Here is the 5 %.

Depends on the job, some can plan for a few 10 years.

Also, depends on the living standard of the family, some can save a lot.

There will already have the 5% who can do better.

10-06-17, 13:03
No loans other than hdb, which I will sell to move. Married, 1 child. Still the question, considering the two condos, their location age and all available info. Please share your opinion on which should appreciate in the short run? Many thanks

Buying Condo to stay is not an asset, it is a liability.

It will only become an asset when you sell and made gain after all the deduction.

Did you get all the cherry, if not go and get another?

Case study: Family buy condo during the AFC in 1997 after selling HDB (first Cherry).

During Lehman Brothers crisis the man of the house thinks he can do another cheap buying sell Condo buy resale HDB to wait for the crash.

Lost Cash in Casino, cannot buy BTO because the first cherry refuses to pay the levy.

Now CPF all use for resale HDB, monthly salary low, children going university no money.

tonymontana
10-06-17, 13:06

No one knows which will appreciate more la. But freehold retain value better. PARC location also closer a bit to town area . and number of units is less. If same price BTW the two I think parc is safer. And that location has a more atas feel compare to trilinq. 10 years to me is long term . at the end of the day no amount of analysis can give u a definite answer . however I believe you alrd decided what u want hence buy the one u like.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 13:18
No one knows which will appreciate more la. But freehold retain value better. PARC location also closer a bit to town area . and number of units is less. If same price BTW the two I think parc is safer. And that location has a more atas feel compare to trilinq. 10 years to me is long term . at the end of the day no amount of analysis can give u a definite answer . however I believe you alrd decided what u want hence buy the one u like.

Eh, you stay in the parc ah?

tonymontana
10-06-17, 14:12
Eh, you stay in the parc ah?

No la , Its not my character to talk up my own condo.

But I do stay around west side currently.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 17:22
No la , Its not my character to talk up my own condo.

But I do stay around west side currently.

So, guys regardless of the state of my finances, trilinq vs parc, using distance to mrt , location, FH vs LH and other factors, which should appreciate better?

Khng8
10-06-17, 19:11
If anybody can know for sure which will gain more, no beggar liao.

10-06-17, 20:39

There is no one can share their opinion as to which should appreciate in the short run.
There is no more quick and good money to be made in property market in the short run.

Even it is appreciated, can you sell? sell high, buy high for a place to stay
If it is not appreciated, would you sell?

10-06-17, 21:18
There is no one can share their opinion as to which should appreciate in the short run.
There is no more quick and good money to be made in property market in the short run.

Even it is appreciated, can you sell? sell high, buy high for a place to stay
If it is not appreciated, would you sell?

Agree, you need more than one to play.

10-06-17, 21:31
I am rather disturbed by this guy keeps on asking which one would appreciate more in 10 years and now become short run.

which one would appreciate more is not only the property location, but also your unit, facing, height, layout etc....

Almost all the seasoned forumers have given their opinion and he is still keep on asking...the same question again and again...

highlander1984
10-06-17, 22:10
I am rather disturbed by this guy keeps on asking which one would appreciate more in 10 years and now become short run.

which one would appreciate more is not only the property location, but also your unit, facing, height, layout etc....

Almost all the seasoned forumers have given their opinion and he is still keep on asking...the same question again and again...

what is there to be disturbed. If you read all the forum replies, there are more advices to tell me to watch my finance la, holding value, ccr investments should appreciate. Which, does not answer my question at all. My question is very simple. Among the two, I am not looking at holding value, but rather which property should appreciate better in the short run. Just a simple opinion. And please if you are going to tell me it depends on a property's location, freehold holds value better, these are not what I am looking for.

10-06-17, 22:13

He is 33 years old with HDB and a child going primary school.

He wants to upgrade and enjoy a better lifestyle and at the same time make money.

He most likely will move to be near the child Secondary school within walking distance.

He will not move out of Clementi because this is where he like to live.

I wish him all the best and hope he open his eye to see further, the world is much bigger than Clementi.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 22:14
If anybody can know for sure which will gain more, no beggar liao.

Of course, I just want to hear anyone's opinion. An example maybe, property x is situated at the cross road between mrt and expressway. The convenience is there, but the noise is a turn off. As compared to property y, which is further away but still within walking distance to the central. Given a balance of development in the west, I think x may be better because of demand from etc etc.

highlander1984
10-06-17, 22:16
He is 33 years old with HDB and a child going primary school.

He wants to upgrade and enjoy a better lifestyle and at the same time make money.

He most likely will move to be near the child Secondary school within walking distance.

Thank you sir, you read my mind

He will not move out of Clementi because this is where he like to live.

I wish him all the best and hope he open his eye to see further, the world is much bigger than Clementi.

Thank you sir, you read my mind. And thanks for ya suggestion

10-06-17, 22:21
Thank you sir, you read my mind. And thanks for ya suggestion

I was like you when I was 43.

Know nothing about investment property or money only know pay in full doesn't loan.

The property must be near hawker center, MRT, near parents and in law place, near wife workplace, near son school.

I miss my chance to buy landed property, get more property and a lot of others.

10-06-17, 22:23
He just need someone to reassure his thinking

anythingwhatever
11-06-17, 00:45
what is there to be disturbed. If you read all the forum replies, there are more advices to tell me to watch my finance la, holding value, ccr investments should appreciate. Which, does not answer my question at all. My question is very simple. Among the two, I am not looking at holding value, but rather which property should appreciate better in the short run. Just a simple opinion. And please if you are going to tell me it depends on a property's location, freehold holds value better, these are not what I am looking for.

The answer: Go for the Triliq. For short term appreciation, new ones normally more potential.

tonymontana
11-06-17, 01:39
Hot darn! I think you're right. Trilinq for sure! I seeeeeen the light now, baby!

highlander1984
11-06-17, 12:01
The answer: Go for the Triliq. For short term appreciation, new ones normally more potential.

What about the distance to clementi central? Considering it the Fh vs LH tradeoff between the 2. Will
The parc with its additional 5-8 mins walking distance result in a slightly lesser appreciation in this case? Because from what I am hearing here, FH certainly holds value, but in terms of appreciation wise, will it offset the distance from central and hence appreciate together with the trilinq? Then in that case, both won't make a difference?

agentg
11-06-17, 14:48
Tread starter seem like yowetan (mount sinai guy) reincarnation. Lol

11-06-17, 18:04

I have a very good laugh....

11-06-17, 18:17

Highlander is the type that never dies based on the show.

anythingwhatever
11-06-17, 21:21
Highlander is the type that never dies based on the show.

There can be ONLY ONE though... :)

tonymontana
11-06-17, 21:30
Maybe he need to say hello to my leetle friend!!

frumnat
12-06-17, 12:24
The thread starter sounds like an indecisive person. :D I think no one can convince him on the better choice of property other than himself. Something tells me he already has an answer himself and just needs an assurance like someone has mentioned. I certainly hope he didn’t ask the internet when he wanted to marry the wife. Both come with great rewards (appreciation) but also great responsibilities (risks). No one can fault you as long as you do your own DD to convince yourself. :)

12-06-17, 14:16
I have two ladies in mind.

One is in her twenties, well dressed and youthful, but is sometimes immature.

The other is in her thirties, still good looking, very mature and has saved up a fair bit more than the other.

Who should I marry to be certain of having a better wife (better appreciated one) ten years later?

12-06-17, 14:28

The other is in her thirties, still good looking, very mature and has saved up a fair bit more than the other.

Who should I marry to be certain of having a better wife (better appreciated one) ten years later?

Marry the one with a longer Lease. haha :tickled_pink:

tonymontana
12-06-17, 14:52
I have two kids. First one older is hardworking but a bit less academically inclined

Younger one is smarter but seem to be a bit lazy and take thing for granted.

Given the balance of factors, regardless of my financial situation, Which kid will be a better invedtment in long term of 10 years ie Which one should I kick out of the house.

tonymontana
12-06-17, 15:00
Marry the one with a longer Lease. haha :tickled_pink:

Haha
But the one with the shorter lease has better yield lei. So how?

12-06-17, 21:11
Going for "the one with the shorter lease has better yield" is the greatest fallacy of all times!

Think about it, 2 cases, where A has 10% higher rental than B (and assuming both can be purchased at same price):
(A) 50 years lease and can rent for $3000 pm.
(B) 90 years lease and can rent for $2700 pm.

Based on what you said, you would go for (A).
However, in reality, (B) would give you much higher total rentals until it expired worthless (vs (A)).

Example:
A would give you total rental over 50 years = 50 x $3000 x 12 = $1.8M
B would give you total rental over 90 years = 90 x $2700 x 12 = $2.916M

Therefore, (B) would give you about (2.916-1.8)/1.8 = 62% more rental $$$ over (A)!

There goes another COMMON MYTH that people take for GRANTED if they don't use their brain............

Haha
But the one with the shorter lease has better yield lei. So how?

tonymontana
12-06-17, 21:49
Going for "the one with the shorter lease has better yield" is the greatest fallacy of all times!

Think about it, 2 cases, where A has 10% higher rental than B (and assuming both can be purchased at same price):
(A) 50 years lease and can rent for $3000 pm.
(B) 90 years lease and can rent for $2700 pm.

Based on what you said, you would go for (A).
However, in reality, (B) would give you much higher total rentals until it expired worthless (vs (A)).

Example:
A would give you total rental over 50 years = 50 x $3000 x 12 = $1.8M
B would give you total rental over 90 years = 90 x $2700 x 12 = $2.916M

Therefore, (B) would give you about (2.916-1.8)/1.8 = 62% more rental $$$ over (A)!

There goes another COMMON MYTH that people take for GRANTED if they don't use their brain............

Dei, can u READ THE WHOLE THREAD FIRST . context, context.

12-06-17, 22:03

Hi Bear....we are having some funs here with the thread starter lah!

anythingwhatever
12-06-17, 23:31

His favorite LH vs FH topic... :)

13-06-17, 00:29

Can I marry both?

13-06-17, 00:31
I have two kids. First one older is hardworking but a bit less academically inclined

Younger one is smarter but seem to be a bit lazy and take thing for granted.

Given the balance of factors, regardless of my financial situation, Which kid will be a better invedtment in long term of 10 years ie Which one should I kick out of the house.

I will keep both and ask them to pay rental.

frumnat
13-06-17, 10:36
Can I marry both?

Double trouble :D

13-06-17, 10:54
Double trouble :D

Don't put together, one in Terrasse one in Southbank, got trouble go Balam Road.

frumnat
13-06-17, 11:31
Don't put together, one in Terrasse one in Southbank, got trouble go Balam Road.

Joke aside, I am targeting old FH for my next property which I can either choose to stay or rent out. Rationale being older projects better utilise the living space. Newer ones have lots of space wastage, especially bay windows!!

Thoughts please (but don’t laugh at me ok?) :D:D:D

13-06-17, 11:51
The threadstarter is not me. I have downgraded to HDB and now staying in Teban Garden 4 room HDB flat now. I was retrenched last year and my wife may lose her job since our workplace has already acquired by DBS. I have also sold the car and we are living honestly and simple now. No more bandwidth to get another property. My HDB still having an outstanding loan of 400k.

13-06-17, 12:29
That is a better arrangement for you as advised by most based on your profile shared. Remember to enjoy the roses and the beautiful spaces we have. Hope you find a suitable and relevant job soon.

Have you considered Uber or Grab driving?

The threadstarter is not me. I have downgraded to HDB and now staying in Teban Garden 4 room HDB flat now. I was retrenched last year and my wife may lose her job since our workplace has already acquired by DBS. I have also sold the car and we are living honestly and simple now. No more bandwidth to get another property. My HDB still having an outstanding loan of 400k.

13-06-17, 13:06

So, you were with ANZ.

I am extremely surprised of your update. A very drastic happening.

To be fair to all of us contributed to your decision on buying Mt Senai, we had to a great extent advised you to be more prudent and also talked about your job security and do not over-stretched. What happened to your parent-in-law and parents' HDB flats, your sold these? including your HDB flat. If you sold your Mount Senai, and sold 3 HDB, you should still have lot of cash.

To be frank, retrenchment at your age is extremely difficult to get a job of the same pay or simply getting a job.

You take care, no matter how difficult is life, still have to hang on for your family.

freesoul
13-06-17, 17:29
when market is good, all properties will appreciate, when market is bad, all properties will depreciate.

freesoul
13-06-17, 17:34
trust our own instinct. after all, you are going to stay there. pick up the one you like more and feel more comfortable with.

tonymontana
13-06-17, 23:08
Joke aside, I am targeting old FH for my next property which I can either choose to stay or rent out. Rationale being older projects better utilise the living space. Newer ones have lots of space wastage, especially bay windows!!

Agree . older condos are nicer to live in.

14-06-17, 00:45

why not landed?

frumnat
14-06-17, 10:55
why not landed?

Good question. Between space and full facilities, I would go for the latter. FH penthouse is a good compromise.

CareenOng
14-06-17, 12:49
old condo are bigger in space and living area for sure. however some buyer prefer new developer.

CareenOng
14-06-17, 12:52

nobody will laugh at you, different buyers have different likings. Some like old developer because of the space, while some like newer developer as they don't like the old design of the house.

Probably you can seek help from agency platform before you make your design and decide what is best for you.
I came across this and find it pretty good read and interesting.
https://www.facebook.com/pg/AllThingsProperties/

CareenOng
14-06-17, 12:59
For FH Properties, can consider
1) The Quinn
2) E Masion
3) R Masion

it will be a good buy now because of this recent news
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/sph-kajima-team-up-to-place-top-bid-for-bidadari-residential-and-commercial-site
Crazy bid again... what will be the price to sell with $1181 ppr?

If $1181 is the cost of the land ppr, and it's a 99 years , means Dev likely to
Sell the property at $1800-1900 factoring construction cost and profit margin.

so why not consider the FH project above.
Advise from AllThingsProperties https://www.facebook.com/pg/AllThingsProperties/
Email: [email protected]

tonymontana
14-06-17, 13:27
Agent Careen Ong, pls go market your property on official websites.

highlander1984
14-06-17, 13:49
I am back lol... thanks for the jokes and curryna replies :) on a related note, after doing some research, I realized the issues with a double ceiling (trilinq). With various forumers commenting that it dosent make sense to pay for an empty space plus still gota reno it. anyone with any tots?

highlander1984
14-06-17, 13:51
For FH Properties, can consider
1) The Quinn
2) E Masion
3) R Masion

it will be a good buy now because of this recent news
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/sph-kajima-team-up-to-place-top-bid-for-bidadari-residential-and-commercial-site
Crazy bid again... what will be the price to sell with $1181 ppr?

If $1181 is the cost of the land ppr, and it's a 99 years , means Dev likely to
Sell the property at $1800-1900 factoring construction cost and profit margin.

so why not consider the FH project above.
Advise from AllThingsProperties https://www.facebook.com/pg/AllThingsProperties/
Email: [email protected]

yeah lor Careenbong, why u hijack my thread ah.....

14-06-17, 14:28
For own stay or other intentions?

I am back lol... thanks for the jokes and curryna replies :) on a related note, after doing some research, I realized the issues with a double ceiling (trilinq). With various forumers commenting that it dosent make sense to pay for an empty space plus still gota reno it. anyone with any tots?

highlander1984
14-06-17, 14:37
For own stay or other intentions?

It will be for my stay at least for the next 6-7 years or so. After which I will most probably sell. (as per the original thread title). Is the dbl ceiling something I should be concerned about? Afterall the area of a dbl ceiling while it contributes to the size of the apartment will not be viewed under the same light from another apartment of the same size without the double ceiling.

14-06-17, 14:38

Some project count the void as strata area, but some not. You need to check with Strata Title to be sure

frumnat
14-06-17, 14:47
It will be for my stay at least for the next 6-7 years or so. After which I will most probably sell. (as per the original thread title). Is the dbl ceiling something I should be concerned about? Afterall the area of a dbl ceiling while it contributes to the size of the apartment will not be viewed under the same light from another apartment of the same size without the double ceiling.

Double volume ceiling gives you the space for creativity. But that means additional cost for any fanciful designs. Also takes more time for aircon to cool the entire space.

What is your budget?

highlander1984
14-06-17, 14:49
Some project count the void as strata area, but some not. You need to check with Strata Title to be sure

Let say assuming it is counted as strata. But it is a void space. Is this a hidden concern I should be wary off?

highlander1984
14-06-17, 14:52
Double volume ceiling gives you the space for creativity. But that means additional cost for any fanciful designs. Also takes more time for aircon to cool the entire space.

What is your budget?

for a 120sqm in total area apartment inclusive of void area in living room. max reno budget 50k-ish?can achieve something decent? void area is around 17sqm

14-06-17, 14:58
If you build it, it adds a few tens of thousands to your renovation budget.

6-7 years later, when you sell, must make sure the structure can still be used. Else, it might be hard for you to sell that extra space.

Air con may face some minor cooling problem as cold air sinks so the loft level takes longer to cool unless the vent faces it.

The extra charge of unbuilt space turned me off too.

highlander1984
14-06-17, 15:02
If you build it, it adds a few tens of thousands to your renovation budget.

6-7 years later, when you sell, must make sure the structure can still be used. Else, it might be hard for you to sell that extra space.

Air con may face some minor cooling problem as cold air sinks so the loft level takes longer to cool unless the vent faces it.

The extra charge of unbuilt space turned me off too.

agreed, that is a very important point, I noticed some of the showflats use flimsy materials for show, but otherwise cant be really "used"

frumnat
14-06-17, 15:04
for a 120sqm in total area apartment inclusive of void area in living room. max reno budget 50k-ish?can achieve something decent? void area is around 17sqm

It’s quite obvious you already have a little penchant for Trilinq. If I were you, I would go for The Parc for a few personal reasons. FH being one of them.

Dei, have you viewed the 2 places? If not, no point asking internet time and again. You wouldn’t marry a girl without first dating her, ya? :D

highlander1984
14-06-17, 15:15
It’s quite obvious you already have a little penchant for Trilinq. If I were you, I would go for The Parc for a few personal reasons. FH being one of them.

Dei, have you viewed the 2 places? If not, no point asking internet time and again. You wouldn’t marry a girl without first dating her, ya? :D

I saw the parc units and the trilinq (not the showflat, the completed empty unit). Actually I like the Parc, its bigger, FH and offers a lower PSF. But as it was built sometime ago, it contains many planter spots which were typical designs of the past. then there is also the issue of budget. due to specific directions that I want. the bigger units in the park belong to those at the max range of what I can offer. This dosent include the additional reno exp I need to incur as most units for sale were for rent with little furnishings and sometimes poorly maintained internally which I need to redo for stay.

The trilinq, well, the rooms are very small. the direction is okay. the level is fine. but it contains the dbl ceiling. the furnishings is also unimpressive for the price. literally paying the premium for the clementi plot of land. hence the pain not knowing which should I go for. as the parc is one bidge away from central and yet not too near from clementi central whereas the internal design of trilinq is ehhm...

the parc has marbled floor if I am not wrong. this adds up to better internal furnishing

14-06-17, 16:11
So your choices are to pay to your limit for a resale FH, or to keep some buffers by going for a smaller Nee LH?

And still wish to maximise profit as an investment?

There are conflicting factors that make it impossible to advise. For example, FH should increase in price more if there is a boom based on PSF price, larger size and tenure, but the lower, palatable quantum and newer condition may also result in more demand than new LH.

highlander1984
14-06-17, 16:28
Sorry, what do you mean by but the lower, palatable quantum and newer condition may also result in more demand than new LH.

14-06-17, 16:51
Sorry, what do you mean by but the lower, palatable quantum and newer condition may also result in more demand than new LH.

That means more people can afford to buy from you 6, 7 years later, much like your current affordability calculations.

But going forward, no one is really sure about incomes clearing TDSR 7 years later. If incomes grow extraordinarily fast (unlikely), then there will be a stronger demand for tenure. No one knows.

highlander1984
14-06-17, 17:24
That means more people can afford to buy from you 6, 7 years later, much like your current affordability calculations.

But going forward, no one is really sure about incomes clearing TDSR 7 years later. If incomes grow extraordinarily fast (unlikely), then there will be a stronger demand for tenure. No one knows.

I see, but this is under the assumption that both properties under comparison share the exact/almost identical traits and hence with similar location, height, décor etc the longer tenure will be the clear cut choice. But it is very difficult to find them in the first place. which once again unfortunately drives me back to the same question in the title, which I will not ask here again.

Should I instead raise the debate of the parc or the trilinq as is it a case of location, location location?

14-06-17, 18:33
Location wise not much difference. Both will give you hot sweat walking to MRT or mall, so most likely take feeder bus. Proximity to West Coast and stadium balanced by proximity to Nanhua.

Psf, size and tenure and newness are the main differences. Based on affordability, Trilinq is more suited for you.

I see, but this is under the assumption that both properties under comparison share the exact/almost identical traits and hence with similar location, height, décor etc the longer tenure will be the clear cut choice. But it is very difficult to find them in the first place. which once again unfortunately drives me back to the same question in the title, which I will not ask here again.

Should I instead raise the debate of the parc or the trilinq as is it a case of location, location location?

14-06-17, 22:01

Good to know you are smarter now not to repeat the same question.

Location is still secondary to Timing.

Location is knowledge whereas
Timing is wisdom..

I am not optimistic in buying property now or near future

14-06-17, 22:09
He is buying to stay for 7 years, surely the timing cannot be any better.

Unless your advice is for him to rent with his wife for the next few years.

Which is riskier?

Good to know you are smarter now not to repeat the same question.

Location is still secondary to Timing.

Location is knowledge whereas
Timing is wisdom..

I am not optimistic in buying property now or near future

sunman77
15-06-17, 00:58
The Parc is nearer to light HDB amenities, which I love a lot.

frumnat
15-06-17, 08:54

Which is riskier?

Never pay someone else's mortgage. Unless you have a sound financial game plan or really boh pian, then by all means rent.

highlander1984
15-06-17, 09:35

Which is riskier?

On a unrelated note, is it doable to request for a 1-2% discount from developer?

15-06-17, 09:54
On a unrelated note, is it doable to request for a 1-2% discount from developer?

Can request, but from my colleagues' experience with the developer, it is unlikely they will accede.

Need help to negotiate I can ask my relative. But generally there should be many who can help you on this.

frumnat
15-06-17, 10:38
Can request, but from my colleagues' experience with the developer, it is unlikely they will accede.

Need help to negotiate I can ask my relative. But generally there should be many who can help you on this.

Sorry to throw wet blanket. With thinning profit margin, developer is unlikely to give 1-2% discount for a single unit. My colleague tried bargaining for $5K discount for a $1M unit but got rejected. Unless you buy in bulk like Wee Cho Yaw, discount is unlikely UNLESS it is their star buy units. :D

Having said that, no harm trying. Never ask, never get.

sunman77
15-06-17, 12:12

I can.
Please contact me. My contacts are in your PM already.

stellamara
11-07-17, 15:18
hi, I have visited both condo and finally decided to buy trilinq.

you are comparing FH to LH, but the location really differs by a LOT. You can try driving out from the Parc and from Trilinq. Even though there's is a misconception that the road outside of Trilinq is always jammed but actually it moves really fast, and is only slightly jam during 6.30 - 7 pm. The other times it serve as a connector between PIE and AYE. Where can you find such access? This access can get you to Cecil street in the same amount of time as from D'leedon lol.

But the rooms are EXCEPTIONALLY small in Trilinq case and leftover lower units are subject to potential blocked views. If you did get a sufficiently high floor, the view is awesome with sea view and great balcony space (subject to individuals).

I love the high ceiling and i love the west side and high floor, ultimately i made my choice with trilinq

anythingwhatever
11-07-17, 20:18
Never pay someone else's mortgage. Unless you have a sound financial game plan or really boh pian, then by all means rent.

Agree, if one is in position to buy (bear in mind many are not), just buy (within means, of course).

anythingwhatever
11-07-17, 20:29
Sorry to throw wet blanket. With thinning profit margin, developer is unlikely to give 1-2% discount for a single unit. My colleague tried bargaining for $5K discount for a $1M unit but got rejected. Unless you buy in bulk like Wee Cho Yaw, discount is unlikely UNLESS it is their star buy units. :D

Not entirely true, it all depend on developers, some developments able to offer 3-5% discounts off listed price. (Could be a case of mark-up first then discount through).

Anyway, like you said: never try, never know. :)

Developer
11-07-17, 23:12

What is a "star buy unit"? Why is it so special? Thanks.

anythingwhatever
12-07-17, 07:38
What is a "star buy unit"? Why is it so special? Thanks.

Typically the left over units, possibly the bigger ones, or those less appealing units with poorer facing.

Developer
12-07-17, 13:04
Typically the left over units, possibly the bigger ones, or those less appealing units with poorer facing.

I see. Thanks.