View Full Version : Potential of Joo Chiat area

DW
16-06-08, 02:12
Dear all,
Joo Chiat for a variety of reasons has been in the news in the recent year/months for better or worse.... Particularly, the publicity (good or bad) there has to some extent appeared to be somewhat contrarian or counter-supportive of what would otherwise in some sense portrary by other write-ups or other forms of media. Top of my head we have
1. Joo Chiat lock out of workers from their quarters (that place is foreign workers infested??)
2. Appears to have some form of support for government intention to convert that to an arts / heritage place?
3. Appears to motivate the point where there are intentions to clamp down Joo Chiat as a red-light district and perhaps to revamp it over time ?
4. Joo Chiat (quarelling) families (for entertainment value?)

.... ....

I was hoping to get some views of the forumers here on owning a property in Joo Chiat area (i.e. Koon Seng Road, Joo Chiat Place, Chiku Road, Rambutan Road, Mangis Road, Joo Chiat Lane.....etc)....

Any advise or views, for or against all welcome.
Thanks!!

DW
18-06-08, 01:31
Hi Guys,
Anyone want to provide some feedback or comments in that area ? I am looking to explore an unit whihc I like there... ...

buy
18-06-08, 19:52
Hi Guys,
Anyone want to provide some feedback or comments in that area ? I am looking to explore an unit whihc I like there... ...

you can flip the class ads for more choices

Unregistered3393993
18-06-08, 21:36
If u like, just buy lah. My views on red light district is that it is difficult to go away. Many people invest few years back in Geylang believing that the garmen will clean it up soon but it didn't happen and the acitivities continue to thrive. One thing for sure, our govt is NOT against such activities because it makes Singapore more exciting. Hee hee. As long as you don't mind the activities and like the place, just go for it. Some of the shops look legitimate but if u probe further, u'll find out what they really are.

Hi Guys,

buy
25-06-08, 21:54
jsut hope gahman will clear that area soon

DW
26-06-08, 23:16
It appears there has been a number of articles in the recent weeks/months about the development of JC. There has been discussions in the press about developing that area with a slant towards art/conservation tourism... ... In some other related articles/discussions, there has been assuranec about the non-renewal of certain licences as they fall due to renewal in the Joo Chiat... ....

In consideration of the foregoing and other relevant development which you might have come across, would you view JC as potentially worthwhile looking at both from a consumption and investment point of view... ?

Gay area?
29-06-08, 13:41
I also heard that the area has become popular with the gay community (e.g. hairstylist, fashion designer). So for investment purposes, there might be good rental yield from the pink dollar since they like to congregate together? The pubs there might also develop into gay pubs I heard. Any views on that?

It appears there has been a number of articles in the recent weeks/months about the development of JC. There has been discussions in the press about developing that area with a slant towards art/conservation tourism... ... In some other related articles/discussions, there has been assuranec about the non-renewal of certain licences as they fall due to renewal in the Joo Chiat... ....

In consideration of the foregoing and other relevant development which you might have come across, would you view JC as potentially worthwhile looking at both from a consumption and investment point of view... ?

Joo Chiat
30-06-08, 20:48
To the original poster asking for potential of Joo Chiat/katong area and the vices in the Joo Chiat/Katong vicinity. See link here http://www.myjoochiat.com/about-us-resources.htm

This committee has been formed since 2005, and 3 years later, the illicit activities are getting more rampant and spreading like wildfire. So I doubt it will go away. The govt is unlikely to drive these activities away to other parts of Singapore where there is no demand. Also, a strong gay community has formed there as well, as highlighed above. It makes the place more vibrant though, just like Geylang.

DW
30-06-08, 23:18
Dear Joo Chiat,

Thank you for your message. That link has been most helpful. On a related point, I would like to get more insights and clarification on your observations, and would be most grateful for your advice on the same.

I gathered from your response that it appears the illicit activities are getting more rampant and spreading like wildfire. It would be helpful if you could point me to the source of your assessment of the benchmark / measurement of the increased activity being more rampant and its spread (i.e. the illicit activities) over the past years.

I think you made a very good point on the prospects of govt driving the activities away to other parts of Singapore where there is no demand. Admittedly, I am rather unfamiliar with the history and escort service development in Singapore. Please could members here kindly enlighten me a little in respect of how was the demand/development in Joo Chiat and Geylang originally introduced and developed there ? Are there historical reasons as to why those two areas were developed as such (*I understood from certain literature and sources that the first origination of the red light district in Singapore was known to be Kong Siak Street in Chinatown) and how did the govt managed such a move originally?

Regarding the point on gay community, I have heard about it from other members of the forums too. I wonder if the sources or basis of these views could be advised so that I have a more informed and quantified evaluation as well. Thansk!

Any response or advice on the above would be most helpful. Thanks!

To the original poster asking for potential of Joo Chiat/katong area and the vices in the Joo Chiat/Katong vicinity. See link here http://www.myjoochiat.com/about-us-resources.htm

This committee has been formed since 2005, and 3 years later, the illicit activities are getting more rampant and spreading like wildfire. So I doubt it will go away. The govt is unlikely to drive these activities away to other parts of Singapore where there is no demand. Also, a strong gay community has formed there as well, as highlighed above. It makes the place more vibrant though, just like Geylang.

To DW
01-07-08, 20:15
To DW, it's best you check out the place yourself! Anyway, my views is such activities evolve naturally. I don't think the govt make any concerted effort to move the activities from one place to another. In the past, there were raids, but now i think is more laxed - govt now take a "if it happens, it happens" attitude. If control too much is bad for S'pore's strait-laced image. That is why residential committes are formed to lobby their MP to move the activities away. In fact Katong used to rank higher than Bukit Timah in terms of prestige. Now is the other way round. Many of the houses are now rented to Chinese nationals or become foreign workers quarters.

The current vice areas in Singapore are: 1) Geylang 2)Joo Chiat 3) Chinatown 4) Tanjong Pagar Duxton area (many gay pubs as well). Many residents coexist happily with these activities. Some of these areas are rather "prime" area near city. At the end of the day, it depends on what your objective. If you're a single female, then I wd not recommend these "high risk" areas. If you're a guy, then nvrmind. If you're family, it depends on whether you're confident of shieding your children from such activites. And of course the activities may move elsewhere, but it is hard to predict. Geylang has been like that for the longest time.

buy
01-07-08, 21:16
popular place for eating nice foods

Unregistered4567
15-07-08, 12:46
popular place for eating nice foods

Can someone tell me why Astons is always fully packed with long queues? Any other nice food along Katong besides Katong laksa?

Star Investor
15-07-08, 12:49
Hey, bgt a unit near Joo Chiat / Katong area. No regrets. Good price, good location. Waiting for it to be built. Cheers!

auerbach
24-07-08, 00:26
with joo chiat having the charm to lure streetwalkers at night, it is indeed the next successor of geylang in being the up and coming red light district. I hear people automatically channelling their thoughts to joo chiat as an alternative when they talk about visiting the red light area. most prostitutes in geylang are those that have been there for decade, some probably old enough to be grandmother. those in joo chiat are hip and young china mei meis catering to the new generation of people visiting red light areas. i encourage the government to consider changing joo chiat into an alternative red light district as we need more to cater to the influx of ang mohs who would love a good night out at joo chiat, their chicken paradise....

Dear all,
Joo Chiat for a variety of reasons has been in the news in the recent year/months for better or worse.... Particularly, the publicity (good or bad) there has to some extent appeared to be somewhat contrarian or counter-supportive of what would otherwise in some sense portrary by other write-ups or other forms of media. Top of my head we have
1. Joo Chiat lock out of workers from their quarters (that place is foreign workers infested??)
2. Appears to have some form of support for government intention to convert that to an arts / heritage place?
3. Appears to motivate the point where there are intentions to clamp down Joo Chiat as a red-light district and perhaps to revamp it over time ?
4. Joo Chiat (quarelling) families (for entertainment value?)

.... ....

I was hoping to get some views of the forumers here on owning a property in Joo Chiat area (i.e. Koon Seng Road, Joo Chiat Place, Chiku Road, Rambutan Road, Mangis Road, Joo Chiat Lane.....etc)....

Any advise or views, for or against all welcome.
Thanks!!

Unregistered888
24-07-08, 00:28
with joo chiat having the charm to lure streetwalkers at night, it is indeed the next successor of geylang in being the up and coming red light district. I hear people automatically channelling their thoughts to joo chiat as an alternative when they talk about visiting the red light area. most prostitutes in geylang are those that have been there for decade, some probably old enough to be grandmother. those in joo chiat are hip and young china mei meis catering to the new generation of people visiting red light areas. i encourage the government to consider changing joo chiat into an alternative red light district as we need more to cater to the influx of ang mohs who would love a good night out at joo chiat, their chicken paradise....

zimmer
05-07-09, 23:14
Last I heard is red light district now mostly confined to 50m blue zone? It's a shame, with new geylang serai market coming up, value potential can rise if clean up continues.

alankc68
07-07-09, 00:44
hey guys,

anyone knows where exactly the (quarelling) families are? :D

would like to make a trip there since im gonna shift to joo chiat in 2 month's time.

cheers

kstan2
07-07-09, 01:27
I know its at Everritt Road. Not sure what number thou.. just look out for the big spot light at night... or CCTV.. won't miss it. :)

zimmer
07-07-09, 10:20
Are they still quarrelling? LOL

12-07-09, 20:36
Joo Chiat is famous for Vietnamese girls in the countless pubs there. Young and pretty :D

zimmer
12-07-09, 22:12
I hope the clean-up continues earnestly.

12-07-09, 22:46
Joo Chiat is famous for Vietnamese girls in the countless pubs there. Young and pretty :D

u make really funny comments.

Blue
22-07-09, 16:53
For your info, all the Budget hotels along Joo chiat Road can no longer offer transit stay, i.e. must book room for the full day overnight to next day. This is part of the cleaning up effort to drive out freelancers.:cool:

ckt77
21-08-09, 16:50
Anybody know what is the plan for Katong Mall. I am planning to buy Eastside Condo which is just opposite it and would like to know the plan for the old buildings surrounding the Eastside condo. Thank you in advance for your valuable comments.

sealover
22-08-09, 21:34
I heard it is going to be a 5 Star hotel.

tanumy
23-08-09, 08:51
Not worth to buy. If you like east buy Double bay residence at simei which is near mrt n singapore 4th uni. Left v few units. 97% units sold. Gr8 investment opportunity with high rental income. Act now and act fast.

Condorich
23-08-09, 09:53
Not worth to buy. If you like east buy Double bay residence at simei which is near mrt n singapore 4th uni. Left v few units. 97% units sold. Gr8 investment opportunity with high rental income. Act now and act fast.

DBR good meh? so long also never sell out and need you to come in and market.
If its gd, its gd, if it is lousy, dont worry cause tanumy is here.....

sealover
23-08-09, 11:39
I live in Joo Chiat for last 52 yrs since I was born. Many parts of Singapore has changed but not so much at Joo Chiat.

As most section of Joo Chiat are gazetted under conservation, people buy property to stay not so much on investment. But I can see potential great returns by investing in properties around the Joo Chiat road section between East Coast Rd and Marine Parade Road i.e. from Katong Mall to the Church of Singapore.

Those lands along Church of Singapore can't do much as the Plot ratio is 1.4.

Those old apartments behind Katong Mall all the way to Parc Seabreeze have been en-bloc and you will see another new Condo launch after the Parc Seabreeze ( I was told that it is 80% sold avg 1300 sqft ) by the same developer.

I heard that Katong Mall may be converted into Hotel which I would definately do if I am the developer. The Two IRs would definately pull in many visitors into Singapore and East Coast/Joo Chiat/Marine Parade are well situated in between the Airport and IRs. So the demands for accomodations for visitors as well as tourism will surge but there are only two good size hotels opposite Parkway Parade although there are plenty of budget hotels already.

So those who bought the new launch Condos around Joo Chiat / East Coast are aware of the above potential and invested in it for potential huge return when IRs are ready. You may say the price are ridiculous now but just wait till you see how much the Shore ( formerly Rose Garden ) is asking.

Joo Chiat will no longer be a sleepy town in few years time.

wqmai
23-08-09, 13:46
I live in Joo Chiat for last 52 yrs since I was born. Many parts of Singapore has changed but not so much at Joo Chiat.

As most section of Joo Chiat are gazetted under conservation, people buy property to stay not so much on investment. But I can see potential great returns by investing in properties around the Joo Chiat road section between East Coast Rd and Marine Parade Road i.e. from Katong Mall to the Church of Singapore.

Those old apartments behind Katong Mall all the way to Parc Seabreeze have been en-bloc and you will see another new Condo launch after the Parc Seabreeze ( I was told that it is 80% sold avg 1300 sqft ) by the same developer.

I heard that Katong Mall may be converted into Hotel which I would definately do if I am the developer. The Two IRs would definately pull in many visitors into Singapore and East Coast/Joo Chiat/Marine Parade are well situated in between the Airport and IRs. So the demands for accomodations for visitors as well as tourism will surge but there are only two good size hotels opposite Parkway Parade although there are plenty of budget hotels already.

So those who bought the new launch Condos around Joo Chiat / East Coast are aware of the above potential and invested in it for potential huge return when IRs are ready. You may say the price are ridiculous now but just wait till you see how much the Shore ( formerly Rose Garden ) is asking.

Joo Chiat will no longer be a sleepy town in few years time.

I believe that Joo Chiat had all along not been a sleepy town. The location you mentioned is excellence. If the MRT is going to build there, I would say that it would be perfected. Too bad I didnt have $$$ to buy exactly there, can only afford to buy somewhere close or nearby.

patricia
23-08-09, 15:10

Joo Chiat will no longer be a sleepy town in few years time..lmae siah. where is joo kiat?never heard before leh.:banghead:

zimmer
23-08-09, 15:21
.lmae siah. where is joo kiat?never heard before leh.:banghead:

It's the area surrounding joo chiat rd, tce and lane. Still road is the border on the east side. Anyway what are the good makan places there?

patricia
23-08-09, 15:39
how would I know??????????????:confused: if I dunno where is the place means I never go there b4 la!!!!!!you still have brain or not??????????:tongue3: lame sia:tongue3: :tongue3:

sealover
23-08-09, 16:05
I believe that Joo Chiat had all along not been a sleepy town. The location you mentioned is excellence. If the MRT is going to build there, I would say that it would be perfected. Too bad I didnt have $$$ to buy exactly there, can only afford to buy somewhere close or nearby.

Ya talking about the new MRT line, the soil investigation along the planned MRT route almost completed . Based on the points selected from the soil test, speculatively the planned underground Marine Parade station should be situated opposite Parkway Parade ( in front of Mercure Roxy Hotel ) . That big piece of land above it has been reserved for quite sometime. I understand that one property agency is brokering en-bloc for Marine Point and Marine View Mansion infront of this planned station....Tried to buy one unit there but no seller..:beats-me-man:

patricia
23-08-09, 16:19
Ya talking about the new MRT line, the soil investigation along the planned MRT route almost completed . Based on the points selected from the soil test, speculatively the planned underground Marine Parade station should be situated opposite Parkway Parade ( in front of Mercure Roxy Hotel ) . That big piece of land above it has been reserved for quite sometime. I understand that one property agency is brokering en-bloc for Marine Point and Marine View Mansion infront of this planned station....Tried to buy one unit there but no seller..:beats-me-man:wat u talking??????????????:scared-1: :hell-hath-no-fury: :banghead: :scared-4: :scared-3: :eek: :scared-2: :beats-me-man:

wqmai
23-08-09, 16:21
Ya talking about the new MRT line, the soil investigation along the planned MRT route almost completed . Based on the points selected from the soil test, speculatively the planned underground Marine Parade station should be situated opposite Parkway Parade ( in front of Mercure Roxy Hotel ) . That big piece of land above it has been reserved for quite sometime. I understand that one property agency is brokering en-bloc for Marine Point and Marine View Mansion infront of this planned station....Tried to buy one unit there but no seller..:beats-me-man:

Oh, so any idea where would be the TK MRT and East Coast MRT be located?

condobuyer101
24-08-09, 09:48

Are you saying the small park that is near the bus stop and near the overhead bridges to PP? Underground, it shd be ok but if station is above ground, it looks quite small.

24-08-09, 09:53
I heard it is going to be a 5 Star hotel.

first 5 star hotel to offer hourly rate? :D

tanumy
24-08-09, 14:07
no point buy there. Buy at simei near singapore 4th uni and changi business park. Double bay condo left few units. Low price and high return n rental. gr8 opportunity

zimmer
24-08-09, 18:04
how would I know??????????????:confused: if I dunno where is the place means I never go there b4 la!!!!!!you still have brain or not??????????:tongue3: lame sia:tongue3: :tongue3:

A brain? sigh go look it up on google maps and take a walk around there area on a weekend. It's not too far from paya lebar station. Lots of good food there.

sealover
24-08-09, 18:49
Are you saying the small park that is near the bus stop and near the overhead bridges to PP? Underground, it shd be ok but if station is above ground, it looks quite small.

Logically it has to be underground unless no budget.

sealover
24-08-09, 18:56
Oh, so any idea where would be the TK MRT and East Coast MRT be located?

Some forums pointing at Kotong Park and Mandarin Garden

ckt77
03-09-09, 09:09

I have come across a condo in District 15 that is selling about 100K below the other units in the same condo. This is a just TOP condo and nobody has shifted in yet and the developer is still touching up the area. I have the following questions.

1. How can I check the ownership of the new condo ? I checked IRAS site but there is no valuation done as this is a new condo. I checked SLA site and it lists the developer as the owner for the entire property.

2. How can I play safe in term of liasing with the agent as he keep asking me to issue cheque for the 1% option fee ?

Thank you.

ckt77
13-09-09, 22:36

Does anyone has any comment on The Geranium Condo at Joo Chiat Place ?

nanzrene
14-09-09, 13:16

I have come across a condo in District 15 that is selling about 100K below the other units in the same condo. This is a just TOP condo and nobody has shifted in yet and the developer is still touching up the area. I have the following questions.

1. How can I check the ownership of the new condo ? I checked IRAS site but there is no valuation done as this is a new condo. I checked SLA site and it lists the developer as the owner for the entire property.

2. How can I play safe in term of liasing with the agent as he keep asking me to issue cheque for the 1% option fee ?

Thank you.

Hi ckt77,

Can I know what condo is that?

Cheers,

echotrain
14-09-09, 13:48
I hope the clean-up continues earnestly.

Why buy somewhere and hope that it changes? Just get another area which doesn't have the problems that you are worried about.