http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/image3.jpg

http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/image4.jpg

http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/image5.jpg

http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/image6.jpg

http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/locationmap.jpg

http://www.viewtooffer.com/projects/Parc_Sophia/images/parc/siteplan.jpg

idiots will buy now
09-07-08, 07:44
haha, you stupid fools that are still buying condos, singapore just narrowly escaped recession for this quater. Next quater and 1st quater 2009 confirmed go into recession, by then your idiotic purchases will drop by 40%.

barbarblackchic
09-07-08, 13:45
I have the money and choose to spend on a nice condo for myself.

What do you care?

Mind your own business.

iridrium
09-07-08, 15:20
haha, you stupid fools that are still buying condos, singapore just narrowly escaped recession for this quater. Next quater and 1st quater 2009 confirmed go into recession, by then your idiotic purchases will drop by 40%.

Only gutless idiots who post anonymously will give unproductive and comment like that.

Ignore them.

EBD
09-07-08, 23:05

What do you care?

Mind your own business.

http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Lincoln Residences (D11 FREEHOLD SIM LIAN) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3380) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif L'VIV (D11 Freehold Wing Tai) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3379) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Parc Sophia D9 Freehold (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3355) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Mount Sophia Suites D9 Freehold (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3354) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)

wow you are buying a lot of condos........ or you're an agent advertising hence the upset of potentially scaring away buyers of the previous poster.

Maybe it is his business, just as much as it appears to be yours.

kal
10-07-08, 22:41
wonder hows the response of this project so far

Unregistered456
11-07-08, 12:06
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Lincoln Residences (D11 FREEHOLD SIM LIAN) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3380) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif L'VIV (D11 Freehold Wing Tai) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3379) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Parc Sophia D9 Freehold (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3355) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)
http://forums.condosingapore.com/images/buttons/lastpost.gif Mount Sophia Suites D9 Freehold (http://forums.condosingapore.com/showthread.php?t=3354) (Posted By: barbarblackchic)

wow you are buying a lot of condos........ or you're an agent advertising hence the upset of potentially scaring away buyers of the previous poster.

why bother about whether people are buying or got a few condos? busybody

relak lah
11-07-08, 12:33

He or she may be just someone who appreciates condos, or a condo owner who already bought but still likes to keep in touch with market. I know I am one of those people. He/she didn't ask people to call him/her to book a unit now right?

I think it is ok, he/she was just trying to contribute some new condos information to this forum. And I think those postings were taken directly off email that the agent probably sent this person. Whether agent or not, everyone benefits from the knowledge.

Don't so quick to jump on people.

Not everything about residential property is about buying and selling or the price of it. Residential property, fundamentally, is about a home to live in. You are perhaps too cynical to make disparaging guesses at people's motives.

11-07-08, 20:54

What do you care?

Mind your own business.

Barbarblackchic, Keep up the good work ! I and many posters here will appreciate your information on the condos.

Unregistered2
12-07-08, 18:35
Barbarblackchic, Keep up the good work ! I and many posters here will appreciate your information on the condos.
agree. thanks for providing the info Barbarblackchic.

Kandinsky
24-07-08, 12:30
would never buy parc emily coz they have lousy facing for all the units there. the worst are the studios which either face the balcony of another condo just a couple of metres away or mount emily park which is direct west sun facing. u think u have it better with the 2 and 3 bedders. They call it pool facing but u get to see your neighbour opposite changing their clothes or whoopying on the bed if they do not draw the curtains. U might think wow, D9 is upmarket area, but not everybody likes to live that near to orchard. Coronation Road West where Astrid Meadows is, viz@ holland, and the stretch of condos near barker road are a 1 zillion times more upmarket than parc emily and the area even though they are not as close to orchard. Mount Emily area is a slump of D9 and everybody knows that. I would anytime buy a condo in St Michael area (new Beacon Heights) as it is direct from the developer, with highrise living facing the beautiful city and also full condo facilities. The Parc Emily owners were paying only $800psf for their units when they first bought them at slump prices for that slump area as perceived before and they are selling their units to stupid buyers who have to borrow like hell just to put money into the pockets of these owners. low-rise projects are cheap to build and you don't get to maximise on what you pay for. for $1200psf, make sure u get a highrise condo with full condo facilities 999yr or freehold and buy a unit on a very high floor. Boon keng is an up and coming area (not a slump) and anyone should seriously consider that area. Staying a little further away from town is better than staying in a slump near town for the sake of telling people you live in D9.

in the know
24-07-08, 15:13
A person who can afford to live in D9,10,11 has no need to EVER visit other parts of Singapore. A friend of mine has never been to anywhere outside of D1, D4, D9,10,11 except to Changi Airport. Yeah, she is from a rich family.

Petmail
03-10-08, 04:40
Hi there... There must be a lot of very valid & good reasons why there are still so many people buying in this location. Be open-minded about location cos different location has got different group of people with difference concepts and life-style too. looking @ 1200psf I doubt you can seriously get any good units from D9 too. Even D10 & D11 already selling minimum 1400psf onwards unless you are getting the D9 1bdrm from me which is still a developer's unit. Am marketing for Beacon height also but do not need to cost you 1200psf too; average still around 950psf.

Pet

Petmail
03-10-08, 04:42
By the way, there are only 33 exclusive units left available for your selection! So buy now before its all gone!

Pet

bhfollower
04-10-08, 01:25
hi Pet, r u serious that only 33 out of 212 units left for bh?
By the way, there are only 33 exclusive units left available for your selection! So buy now before its all gone!

Pet

Petmail
04-10-08, 04:32
hi Pet, r u serious that only 33 out of 212 units left for bh?

Hi bhfollower.. I actually mean 33 units left for Parc Sophia. There are still quite a number of units available for BH. However, the 1+1 is left with not more than 8 units left if I remember correctly. If you are still keen to explore having a good deal in BH, do not hesitate to contact me @ 82818888.

Pet

windyfoong
23-10-08, 14:36
I found one website very impressive and comprehensive,just like an condo directory search engine. I was attracted by its 720 degree virtual tour,transaction chart,elevation,floor plan,ect. Look up urself in more details,then u will know how helpful and comprehensive it is.

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/parcsophia

Petmail
04-11-08, 02:25
I found one website very impressive and comprehensive,just like an condo directory search engine. I was attracted by its 720 degree virtual tour,transaction chart,elevation,floor plan,ect. Look up urself in more details,then u will know how helpful and comprehensive it is.

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/parcsophia

Hi there windyfoong, this website is being set up by one of the agent from knightfrank actually. pretty inpressive I have to admit though.

Pet

moonk123
12-12-08, 16:15
Project Name-Parc Sophia(Former ADIS VILLAS)
Developer-Oxley Ventures Pte Ltd
Property Type-Apartment
Tenure - Freehold
Total Units - 152
Completion Date - est 31 dec 2013
District - 9

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/in5.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/floor_typeA1.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/floor_typeA4.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/floor_typeB1.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/floor_typeB3.jpg

<<<< click here for more floor plans >>>> (http://www.virtualhomes.sg/parcsophia)

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/2764/Images/elevation.jpg

xtink
05-01-09, 21:30
my virgin post in this forum. and starting my homework in scouting around for a good condo for investment.

went to parc sophia for a look. psf about $1250. not sure if it sounds reasonable. any comments?

Petmail
05-01-09, 22:09
if for 1250psf with exclusiveness, amenties and access to mrt like less than 5mins.. this is a good buy! if you would also like to explore other oppotunity to gain minimum 4.9% to potentially over 6% for property investment, do drop me a line @ 82818888.

Pet

home-run
05-01-09, 22:50
Well, if u really want to see if Parc Sophia is a gd buy, go take a look at 8 @ MtSophia and Nomu psf den u ask urself which one is a better buy:doh:

05-01-09, 23:32
NOMU's psf still quite high leh plus i have not seen much units for NOMU for sale yet. 8@MS is 99 LH though full condo facilities. Personally I dun quite like parc sophia's design but if it could be price lower, would be interested in it as well

ahlahdin
05-01-09, 23:55
NOMU's psf still quite high leh plus i have not seen much units for NOMU for sale yet. 8@MS is 99 LH though full condo facilities. Personally I dun quite like parc sophia's design but if it could be price lower, would be interested in it as well

NOMU's price is high because of its architecture, design, layout and overall glamorous status. You cannot expect NOMU price to be the same as 8@MS and Parc Sophia. Those 2 condo are like run of the mill condos that you can see anywhere. If you still doubt the value of a good architect + location, ask yourself why people are still paying premium for Bentley, Ferrari, Patek Phillipe and Audemars Piguet even in a recession, when a BMW or Rolex/Omega will do.

06-01-09, 00:01
NOMU's price is high because of its architecture, design, layout and overall glamorous status. You cannot expect NOMU price to be the same as 8@MS and Parc Sophia. Those 2 condo are like run of the mill condos that you can see anywhere. If you still doubt the value of a good architect + location, ask yourself why people are still paying premium for Bentley, Ferrari, Patek Phillipe and Audemars Piguet even in a recession, when a BMW or Rolex/Omega will do.

No doubt it is design by WOHA, better quality etc.. but we do need to keep in mind that it was sold at around $1100-$1300 psf, given a choice of course NOMU would be a better deal if prices do drop to 06/07 levels if investors are forced to sell. Personally I have seen online ads for NOMU 2rm at around 13XX alreadi

Petmail
06-01-09, 00:11

hi bro, seems like you kinda gonna invest in quite a few projects liao leh...

Pet

06-01-09, 00:15
hi bro, seems like you kinda gonna invest in quite a few projects liao leh...

Pet

No lar, investing in only 1 but have targeted a few areas. I am taking things one step at a time and not over stretch my budget :)

ahlahdin
06-01-09, 00:58
No doubt it is design by WOHA, better quality etc.. but we do need to keep in mind that it was sold at around $1100-$1300 psf, given a choice of course NOMU would be a better deal if prices do drop to 06/07 levels if investors are forced to sell. Personally I have seen online ads for NOMU 2rm at around 13XX alreadi

Well then better pray that at least a few of the 50 owners at NOMU have no money to pay for their home/investment. Something tells me that NOMU doesn't fit the profile of an investment/speculative property (too small and too stylish), it is more for those trendy and wealthy yuppies to buy and stay.

You want to know which condos will crash in price, follow those top choices for speculators loh, back when deferred payment still around. Rivergate, Watermark, Park Infinia, 8@MS, Seafront@Meyer aiyah that kind you know one lah.

Must add here at this point that I am not vested in NOMU, just voicing my frank comments on it, compared to the other 2 condos.

fire
06-01-09, 12:46
I live just across Parc Sophia and I have a few comments to make about the location.

Its just adjacent to Old School and on certain nights, it can get very noisy as they do hold some performance. The noise coming from the hostel can be quite annoying too.

There are 5 KTV at peace mansions and a few more in Parklane compared to 6mths ago. From the way I look at it, the Sophia area turning into a sleeze joint. For that price, I would recommend somewhere else. Personally, I do like the Sophia/Wilkie area for its quietness, however the infrastructure is changing (24hrs makan joint, ktvs, new office building Citadel or whatever its called)

My 2.5cents

condowner
06-01-09, 21:18
I live across Parc Sophia too (so hello neighbor) sorry but have to disagree with u though n i m not bothered at all by the very nights when students get together.
As i am quite familiar with the Sophia area (and lI ove it) i ve got to say that NOMU is to me the best project in the area, it s going to TOP very soon n for sure is going to be another very interesting project from WoHa. I have had a quicj tour n it really looks amazing, also believe it or not but the view from the pool offers amazing view of Sg skyline and of the IR.
Whatever the project i m a firm believer that Sophia area has a very strong potential for it's charming (not at the moment with all constructions) central yet quiet atmosphere.

dmon
06-01-09, 23:18
agree that this place will be quiet in coming years. However, I find the roads around Sophia a bit congested. A place for young couples and retirees?

dmon
06-01-09, 23:27
since early dec 2008, i hardly see property advertisements but noticed the decreasing activities in forum. Some threads have been left inactive since mid June......everyone is busy resolving their own problems?

oxboy99
09-01-09, 15:06
Yup... the forum is quiet because most are here to buy or sell property and the market is down.

Most of the ppl here are property agents so they are now VERY busy trying to get a sale in an over saturated market. Did you see how many new launches are un-sold?

I do not recommend anyone buy anything new at this period of time as the main contractor will be squeezed and you will end up with a low quality product. The TOP date might also be pushed back while waiting to get more buyers.

These all happened to me during the last recession. The price is good but you get LESS than what you pay for.

Try bargain hunting on the resale market and double check the unit for flaws and low quality fittings.

dazzle
09-03-09, 23:24
Heard that there are a few units left for Parc Sophia and that the developers revised the price.
At $1300psf is this worth getting? I was comparing it with Wilkie Studio, CapitalLand refuse to budge below $1800 when I counter offered them. Both are almost at same location.

ahlahdin
10-03-09, 00:05
Heard that there are a few units left for Parc Sophia and that the developers revised the price.
At $1300psf is this worth getting? I was comparing it with Wilkie Studio, CapitalLand refuse to budge below $1800 when I counter offered them. Both are almost at same location.

isn't wilkie studio by CDL?

anyway there are rumours that CDL could be in trouble. so there may come a time when they have to start getting rid of their unsold units.

dazzle
10-03-09, 00:19
oh yeah.. my typo, its CDL

dazzle
10-03-09, 00:23
isn't wilkie studio by CDL?

anyway there are rumours that CDL could be in trouble. so there may come a time when they have to start getting rid of their unsold units.

So I should wait and tell them that if ever they (CDL) wants to sell at the price i counter offered, to call me?

ahlahdin
10-03-09, 01:26
So I should wait and tell them that if ever they (CDL) wants to sell at the price i counter offered, to call me?

Hey man, it all depends on your needs and wants. I really do not know what CDL's plans are or their true financial state, it was just rumours that's all. They may or may not capitulate and start selling their stock at rock bottom prices.

CDL have been known to resist maket sentiment and maintain high selling prices for their properties, even when property is fully built. Equatorial, Residences@Evelyn,and more...

dazzle
10-03-09, 23:50
Hey man, it all depends on your needs and wants. I really do not know what CDL's plans are or their true financial state, it was just rumours that's all. They may or may not capitulate and start selling their stock at rock bottom prices.

CDL have been known to resist maket sentiment and maintain high selling prices for their properties, even when property is fully built. Equatorial, Residences@Evelyn,and more...

Thanks for the 2 cents :)

dazzle
10-03-09, 23:51

Looking at the psf at Parc Sophia compared to the neighboring developments, why are people not snapping it up? Anything I should know about that development?

11-03-09, 11:01
I don't know why Mt Sophia area, although near Orchard Dhoby Ghaut MRT station, cannot command as much as the other private properties near Orchard Road (e.g. Cairnhill, Somerset, Paterson, Scotts, Tanglin, Granges areas). Could it be due to proximity to Little India & Selegie & Jalan Besar which make people feel this area is less favorable?

Looking at the psf at Parc Sophia compared to the neighboring developments, why are people not snapping it up? Anything I should know about that development?

fire
11-03-09, 11:27
I don't know why Mt Sophia area, although near Orchard Dhoby Ghaut MRT station, cannot command as much as the other private properties near Orchard Road (e.g. Cairnhill, Somerset, Paterson, Scotts, Tanglin, Granges areas). Could it be due to proximity to Little India & Selegie & Jalan Besar which make people feel this area is less favorable?

Its probably because of the sleazy KTVs around the area. Currently residing at one of the apartments along Sophia Road and I am not at all impress with the vicinity.

11-03-09, 11:39
In what way you don't like / not impress about the vicinity? Care to share? Thanks.

Its probably because of the sleazy KTVs around the area. Currently residing at one of the apartments along Sophia Road and I am not at all impress with the vicinity.

fire
11-03-09, 11:43
1. Too many Churches around.
2. KTV - 5 of them at Peace Mansions, many more at Parklane
3. Double Parking Problem...I encountered times where a trailer got stuck trying to get through into Sophia Rd.

Gordon Yuen
11-03-09, 11:51
3. Double Parking Problem...I encountered times where a trailer got stuck trying to get through into Sophia Rd.

Also land area is a bit small to build 3 blocks and there will be no view at all coz front and back are blocked by other apartments and are very near.

11-03-09, 11:51
What I scare most is having to drive through single lane narrow road to get to own house because such road are potential problems - getting stucked by some idiots illegally parking by side of road, or just a car breakdown will jam the whole road, easy to target for kidnapping / mugging also (if the person is rich and become easy target). Not safe for kids to walk along too.

11-03-09, 11:57
A few comments on that area, other than the above stated.. it is also not as exclusive as other "prime" orchard areas like carinhill and paterson... the parc sophia area is also situated beside a hostel. I drove there once around 12midnight and have hostel students having around the main road something I would not like if I am staying there and besides there is also a school nearby which might cause noise distraction.
If the mt sophia area now commands around ~1200psf, I would rather wait for gd deals in other prime D9 areas and besides the 2rm @ parc sophia is rather cramp if you look at the layout

Having said that it is also worth noting that the area is also undergoing changes woth new Wilkie Edge mall for example.. some pple might now like the fact that it is near little india though I am perfectly fine with it :)

dazzle
18-03-09, 02:20
Was in that area this evening. Some of the shops are starting to open at Wilkie Edge (Starbucks, 7 Storey hot pot, etc.). There is a Japanese food court (3rd storey at POMO building) nearby too. I was looking at the construction of the new School of Arts (SOTA) building nearby. Seems like there could be a possible new walkway down (or up) from Sophia/Adis Road to the Cathay besides the one that is now part of the Cathay residences and another walkway further down connecting Plaza Sing to Old School. If things continue to develop in that direction and the buzz sustained, it would be possible that picking up a property in that area could be a good idea. Now considering Parc Sophia since it is the more reasonably priced development compared the the others around that area.

fire
20-03-09, 11:36
Was in that area this evening. Some of the shops are starting to open at Wilkie Edge (Starbucks, 7 Storey hot pot, etc.). There is a Japanese food court (3rd storey at POMO building) nearby too. I was looking at the construction of the new School of Arts (SOTA) building nearby. Seems like there could be a possible new walkway down (or up) from Sophia/Adis Road to the Cathay besides the one that is now part of the Cathay residences and another walkway further down connecting Plaza Sing to Old School. If things continue to develop in that direction and the buzz sustained, it would be possible that picking up a property in that area could be a good idea. Now considering Parc Sophia since it is the more reasonably priced development compared the the others around that area.

You forgot to mention that there are two Massage Parlour shops at Parklane just opened in Feb. I just got raided on the 17th March. So how can this be a prime area when there are so many vice operations around? Sophia 8 could hardly command decent rents when they are situated closer to Douby Ghaut MRT. There are better areas around and the reason I am renting at one of the residences is because its the cheapest compared to sunshine plaza. Paying 3k for a 2+1 1,000+sqft apartment.

dazzle
23-03-09, 15:39
Hmmmm... KTVs & massage parlours makes an interesting mix ;)
Anyway got it after thinking for the longest time (especially considering Fire's inputs & CDL's non-response for Wilkie Studio) coz i kinda like the area (not the KTVs and massage parlours) - that just a personal taste lah - no offence to those who dont. Thanks Fire for the honest opinion.
Just jumped the gun & snapped one... oh well.. guess we will be bumping into each other. Went to sign the papers yesterday. Crossing my fingers that I made right decision. They said that they will close the showroom & start construction by this week. Only 1-2 units left. Anyone else here bought Parc Sophia?

nusnam
26-03-09, 22:17
What was the psf that you bought at? I like the area too. If it's inconvenient, you can pm me about it, thanks.

dazzle
26-03-09, 23:28
What was the psf that you bought at? I like the area too. If it's inconvenient, you can pm me about it, thanks.

Hi nusnam, pm sent ;)

ahlahdin
27-03-09, 02:16
Very simple.

Tanglin, Nassim, Ardmore, Boulevard and Cuscaden area (uptown) is the crown jewel of Orchard.

Go further down Orchard and you get Cairnhill, Oxley and Somerset, which can be considered second tier.

At the very end of Orchard Road, there is Dhoby Ghaut which is the asshole of Orchard.

You can see this hierarchy from the quality of shopping malls of Orchard as well.

Plaza Singapura at Dhoby Ghaut is infested with young hooligans and good for nothing poor heartland kids hanging around smoking, eating roti and drinking beer. They loiter there the whole night because the buses have stopped operating after 1am and they cannot afford the taxi ride back to Yishun or Woodlands or wherever.

The shops at Plaza Sing also damn low class, totally out of line with the other premium Orchard malls.

06-04-09, 21:28
I thought so too as Ardmore, Nassim, Boulevard, and Cuscaden previously contain the most expensive apts in Singapore. However, I believe that the crown jewel location of Orchard (and hence Singapore) will soon be shifted to centre on Ion. Ion will contain the most upper-class shops in Singapore. Orchard Residences on top of Ion and The MarQ@Paterson (which is a short distance from Ion) have now broken previous records to contain some of the most expensive private apartments in Singapore. Anybody concur with this?

Very simple.

Tanglin, Nassim, Ardmore, Boulevard and Cuscaden area (uptown) is the crown jewel of Orchard.

Go further down Orchard and you get Cairnhill, Oxley and Somerset, which can be considered second tier.

At the very end of Orchard Road, there is Dhoby Ghaut which is the asshole of Orchard.

You can see this hierarchy from the quality of shopping malls of Orchard as well.

Plaza Singapura at Dhoby Ghaut is infested with young hooligans and good for nothing poor heartland kids hanging around smoking, eating roti and drinking beer. They loiter there the whole night because the buses have stopped operating after 1am and they cannot afford the taxi ride back to Yishun or Woodlands or wherever.

The shops at Plaza Sing also damn low class, totally out of line with the other premium Orchard malls.

kalumder
06-04-09, 22:08
I thought so too as Ardmore, Nassim, Boulevard, and Cuscaden previously contain the most expensive apts in Singapore. However, I believe that the crown jewel location of Orchard (and hence Singapore) will soon be shifted to centre on Ion. Ion will contain the most upper-class shops in Singapore. Orchard Residences on top of Ion and The MarQ@Paterson (which is a short distance from Ion) have now broken previous records to contain some of the most expensive private apartments in Singapore. Anybody concur with this?

I believe the crown jewel in 10 years will be Marina bay. If you look at what is still to come both residential and commercial, and how it targets the high come sectors (banks/financial industry will recover, they always have). I also think because of the IR many upmarket brands will try and open up shops closer to the IR, as it will attract people who are willing to spend money (If the husbands gamble than the wife must get a new purse). It will be interesting to see. Orchard will always be important long term, but I think there is a real chance it might become second fiddle to Marina bay.

nusnam
07-04-09, 09:41
Very simple.

But then you have orchard towers, smacked right in Tanglin area and you know how many KTVs and such are there, many more and sleazier than those at Selegie.

:cheers6:

07-04-09, 10:31
I believe the crown jewel in 10 years will be Marina bay. If you look at what is still to come both residential and commercial, and how it targets the high come sectors (banks/financial industry will recover, they always have). I also think because of the IR many upmarket brands will try and open up shops closer to the IR, as it will attract people who are willing to spend money (If the husbands gamble than the wife must get a new purse). It will be interesting to see. Orchard will always be important long term, but I think there is a real chance it might become second fiddle to Marina bay.
How about Tanjong Rhu? it's just opposite marina bay, and it's more family oriented than the Sail or Icon.
Any comment on Tanjong Rhu? What's the reasonable price to buy those 99LH projects there?

oxboy99
07-04-09, 10:47
I have to admit the location is not good. As an owner, I will tell you my gripes:
1) You have to pass 2 ERP to get back home Mon-Sat 9am - 8pm
2) KTVs and Massage Palours - although it is frequented by Datuks from Malaysia, it makes the area sleazy.
3) Proximity to Little India - as it is VERY close to Little India, you will get a lot of foreign workers. They congregate every Sunday at the bank and the Little India MRT. Get used to it!
4) Narrow road - you HAVE to make a U turn just to get out as the road is one way with many vehicles parked on each side. I get tired just thinking abt it...

People who buy this location are being cheated by the mere fact that the govt designated it D9. It is at the edge, ppl!!! It is closer to Little India than Orchard. The pricing should reflect that.

But please go ahead and buy... there are a lot of people who will take your money...

07-04-09, 10:56
I have to admit the location is not good. As an owner, I will tell you my gripes:
2) KTVs and Massage Palours - although it is frequented by Datuks from Malaysia, it makes the area sleazy.
3) Proximity to Little India - as it is VERY close to Little India, you will get a lot of foreign workers. They congregate every Sunday at the bank and the Little India MRT. Get used to it!
4) Narrow road - you HAVE to make a U turn just to get out as the road is one way with many vehicles parked on each side. I get tired just thinking abt it...

People who buy this location are being cheated by the mere fact that the govt designated it D9. It is at the edge, ppl!!! It is closer to Little India than Orchard. The pricing should reflect that.

But please go ahead and buy... there are a lot of people who will take your money...

your point about it being closer to little india than to orchard ... and hence it should reflect a price closer to selegie's than to orchard ..

i kind of agree and like to agree to that ...

which is why i have been arguing with a friend ..who keeps recommending me One Jervios / Domain 21 ...saying cheap ...

yes compared to Holt / Nathan / RV it looks like good value ..

but isnt it end of river valley ... beginning of Delta/ Alexandra ? nearest MRT is Tiong Bahru ...

so it should be dist 3 price .. not dist 9/10

but your know agent will tell you differrently lah ...

on the same note .. novena is a NO NO to me .. dist 11 ? Sky@11 is toa payoh or Thomson ?? hahah

nusnam
07-04-09, 15:24
Not necessarily.. but at least 1 but then it's in town, what do you expect?

Yes and no, depends on how you think. Orchard towers have many more and sleazier KTVs and venues, does that devalue Orchard Boulevard/Tanglin area?

Little India MRT is nearby but still some walking distance away, you probably won't see them in mount sophia anyway, unless for those working OT.

Yes that is the down side that it's a one-way.. no way around i guess unless the government decides to build another u-turn half way.

Yes i agree that it's far from Orchard but then it's much nearer to City Hall and Shenton Way, so it's not as bad as you've stated. And also, foreign students from indo/thai studying at NAFA, SOTA etc might be looking for rental in that area.

:2cents:

ahlahdin
07-04-09, 18:11
FYI, Holt rd and the RV side of Nathan rd are just next to Jervois rd (One Jevois end). So if u want to slam Jervois area for being next to D3, at least include also Nathan and Holt. Especially Holt Rd, which entrance is directly opposite One Jervois.

I agree that Sky@Eleven is nowhere near Novena. Novena refers to the area around Novena church, Novena Sq, United Square and Moulmein Rd. That area is proper D11, together with the Dunearn Road elite school stretch. But those locations at Balestier and Toa Payoh at the D11 fringe should not be considered for investment IF priced like mainstream D11 prices. It is ridiculous that a D11 property at Balestier should be priced similar to another D11 property at Shelford Road or Trevose Crescent.

Similarly for D10, those at Ghim Moh and Clementi really should not be considered at all IF priced like for eg mainstream D10 Holland Bukit Timah. It is obvious developers just want to chop carrot head by advertising the district code big big when the real location is not very prime at all.

When buying D10 and D11, just remember these are both big land area districts that encompass wildly diverse locations, some more prime, some less. But generally easy to distinguish which location is good or bad.

As size of D9 is considerably smaller than either D10 and D11, it is harder to determine which areas are more/less prime. For eg, D9 Rivergate's location at first glance may be less than ideal as it is next to Havelock rd and Outram rd. But then again, just up River Valley Close is Urbana, opposite that is One Devonshire, just a little further is the Metz, all within a two to three minute walk between them. So is Rivergate good or lousy location? It is all relative I guess! Average if it is compared to others in D9 but good if it is compared to rest of core central region.

Conclusion is this location thingy is quite subjective when it comes to D9.

However for Emily-Sophia region, it is very clear that the Istana is the huge land mass that separates it from main D9 and Orchard, hence putting it closer to D8 in real location terms. Lousy in relation to D9,10,11 as well as in relation to CCR. How about in relation to RCR? Would majority of people prefer to stay in say, Alexandra Rd than Mount Emily?

It is like how the culture and people in Western China are more Central Asian or Persian than East Asian mainly because of the big desert mass that separates them, and Japanese and Korean culture and people are actually similar to Chinese despite being in different national borders. I am talking about real people, not those plastic tv/movie stars.

your point about it being closer to little india than to orchard ... and hence it should reflect a price closer to selegie's than to orchard ..

i kind of agree and like to agree to that ...

which is why i have been arguing with a friend ..who keeps recommending me One Jervios / Domain 21 ...saying cheap ...

yes compared to Holt / Nathan / RV it looks like good value ..

but isnt it end of river valley ... beginning of Delta/ Alexandra ? nearest MRT is Tiong Bahru ...

so it should be dist 3 price .. not dist 9/10

but your know agent will tell you differrently lah ...

on the same note .. novena is a NO NO to me .. dist 11 ? Sky@11 is toa payoh or Thomson ?? hahah

07-04-09, 19:48
Yes i agree that it's far from Orchard but then it's much nearer to City Hall and Shenton Way, so it's not as bad as you've stated. And also, foreign students from indo/thai studying at NAFA, SOTA etc might be looking for rental in that area.

:2cents:

renting to students is never ideal, they are not going to take care of your place, especially some nationalities ~ :scared-3:

dazzle
08-04-09, 11:37
I heard that Parc Sophia is 100% sold liao...
Was in the area yesterday. Saw piles at the place where the showroom was located... so piling work has began.
On the sign board at the site the expected completion date is put as end 2010 but in the brochure the latest completion date is 2013
Any idea about the actual completion date? 2011? 2012?

Also from some agent's website:

http://www.sgre.com.sg/projects/parcsophia.jpg

kalumder
08-04-09, 20:11
How about Tanjong Rhu? it's just opposite marina bay, and it's more family oriented than the Sail or Icon.
Any comment on Tanjong Rhu? What's the reasonable price to buy those 99LH projects there?

I consider marina square to be directly opposite. I have never been interested in Tanjong Rhu, as I target DINKs when investing in property. I dont know enough about Tanjong Rhu to tell you what is a resonable price. It would also depend on the unit as they vary greatly (skyline view, express way noise pollution etc..), sorry. While it is ideally located and closer to CBD, there is not much to do within walking distance. That is why I would prefer Katong, I dont want to have to drive my kids everywhere once they are old enough to use public transport.

back to parc sophia.

08-04-09, 20:35
Not sure about that. However, once we see the properties in that area transacted at highest prices in Singapore (at the moment the record is $5000 psf and above), then we will know that place is going to be or already the crown jewel of Singapore. For this matter, Marina Bay is still not there yet, have to wait (not sure how long though - not even sure if it can really reach there).