View Full Version : The Pier at Robertson (D9, Freehold, CDL)

col.kurtz
29-01-07, 14:13
Hi I am currently renting in another condo, but am looking to buy a place in this building, The Pier. What are your honest opinions on The Pier?

yulishu
29-01-07, 15:37
i wouldnt choose the pier (by feo) personally ... it's actually rather ugly... haha... like a heavy hdb....

but the layout of the individual condo units is better than many of cdl's projects... plus if your workplace is nearby or to the west, not too bad...though that place is dead around weekends except for the market...

ultimately, what's your rental/investment budget, where's your workplace and do you own/drive a car? that should be critical factors affecting your choice...where are u currently staying, for how long and your reason for change?

col.kurtz
29-01-07, 15:50
Hello yulishu :)

I do not own a car, and I do not expect to buy one. Taxis are frequently available in the area and I can easily walk out to Havelock Road to catch one. I don't know about The Pier resembling HDB's but I know it is new and prices are quite high. There are also some good restaurants on the first floor and I personally do not mind living in the pier, but it will cost more $$! :(

yulishu
29-01-07, 16:30
sorry my mind thinking of the icon by feo - it's actually rather ugly..... like a heavy hdb.... but the layout of the individual condo units is better than many of cdl's projects... plus if your workplace is nearby or to the west, not too bad...though that place is dead around weekends except for the market...

the pier by cdl is also already done up... u may go take a look... personally the cdl factor is a minus point for me... depending on your budget and your workplace and when u actually need a place, how long - the maximum period u can wait...

for investment, i'd try another project in the same location... river valley is a very good location... preferable to tanjong pagar (except for mrt commuters) ... currently if not wrong, the going rate for the pier is around $1200psf which comes up to almost $900+K for a 700+psf studio...

Madeira
29-01-07, 16:32
I would try to stay at a place that minimises the travelling time to work, or to school for myself and family members. Luckily for me, most of the places I need to go are in the west. So my apartment costs only one tenth of those in Orchard Rd.

yktan
30-01-07, 20:54
No the Pier does not look like HDB, it looks like those HUDC chalet in East Coast :D :D

SP specialist
06-12-08, 12:11
For sale

The Pier @ Robertson.

Two bedrooms. 1044sqft. Poolview

Tenanted till 2011. 5.4% yield

Asking 1.55mil

Call 96337533

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/3452/livingroomxo3.th.jpg

http://img372.imageshack.us/img372/7751/balconywa1.th.jpg (http://img372.imageshack.us/my.php?image=balconywa1.jpg)

Real Estate Pundit
07-12-08, 20:37
Caveats lodged from end August 2007 to date;

Unit, # SQFT PSF, $ Total Date
08-2x 1206 1907 $2,300,000 30Jul08
08-1x 743 1700 $1,263,100 11Jul08
09-1x 743 1640 $1,218,888 11Apr08
06-2x 1206 2150 $2,592,900 03Mar08
09-2x 1959 1914 $3,750,000 20Feb08
05-2x 678 1563 $1,060,000 21Dec07
05-1x 732 1600 $1,171,200 30Oct07
05-2x 936 1923 $1,800,000 16Oct07
07-1x 743 1696 $1,260,000 12Oct07
09-2x 678 1593 $1,080,000 03Oct07
03-2x 732 1590 $1,163,880 10Sep07
10-1x 753 1753 $1,320,000 31Aug07

moonk123
09-12-08, 20:54
Project Name-THE PIER AT ROBERTSON
Developer-City Developments Ltd
Property Type-Apartment
Tenure - Freehold
Total Units - 201
Completion Date - May-2006
District - 9

1 bedroom / Studio (657 - 893sf)
2 bedroom (936 - 1410sf)
Loft Units (1787 - 2217sf)
Penthouse (4176 - 4489sf)

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/202/Images/main.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/202/Images/floor_typeA.jpg

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/202/Images/floor_typeB.jpg

>>> click here for more photos and floor plans >>> (http://www.virtualhomes.sg/thepieratrobertson)

http://www.virtualhomes.sg/FileUpload/Project/202/Images/site.jpg

view 720 degree virtual tour from :
http://www.virtualhomes.sg/thepieratrobertson

Reporter
05-11-09, 12:35
http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/common/mast_home.gif
Foreigners back in private home market
Foreign buyers are streaming back into the private homes market in growing numbers, especially those from China
Joyce Teo
The Straits Times
Thursday, 5 November 2009

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/image/20091105/homesales-st.jpg
New research from property consultancy Savills Singapore shows foreigners accounted for 22.7% of private home sales in the third quarter. -- Photo: Desmond Foo, ST

Foreign buyers are streaming back into the private homes market in growing numbers, especially those from China.

New research from property consultancy Savills Singapore shows foreigners accounted for 22.7% of private home sales in the third quarter – above the 19.7% average since the start of 2000.

Buyers from China have dislodged those from India for the No. 3 spot in the rankings this year with a contribution of nearly 15% of total foreign purchases. This puts China just behind Indonesia in the second spot and Malaysia at No. 1.

In the past two years, India had been in third spot, but it has slipped to fourth.

Last year, buyers from China had moved up to the No. 4 spot, dislodging buyers from Britain.

Buyers from Myanmar featured more strongly, coming in at No. 8. They did not make it to the top 10 last year, and were 10th in 2007.

In the July to September period, foreign buyers – including permanent residents – lodged 2,448 private home caveats, a key step to buying a home.

This is up from 1,807 caveats in the second quarter and just 498 in the first, according to data compiled by Savills.

In all, permanent residents bought 1,389 homes in the third quarter.

DTZ said its preliminary data for the third quarter showed that foreigners accounted for about 25% of total sales, compared with about 33% during the boom of 2007.

The most popular project sought by foreigners was Sophia Residence, a project launched in July. Then came Caribbean at Keppel Bay, Ascentia Sky, One Devonshire and Viva.

Permanent residents preferred Melville Park, a 99-year leasehold condominium in Simei, the recently launched Trevista, followed by Caribbean at Keppel Bay.

About 54% of the purchases by China buyers were for resale homes, said DTZ head of South-east Asia research Chua Chor Hoon.

Like Malaysian buyers, buyers from China tend to prefer homes priced between $500,000 and $1 million.

One-fifth of them bought homes costing $1.5 million to as much as $5 million.

Indonesians, however, tended to go for higher priced projects, particularly those priced $1.5 million to $5 million.

They like properties located at Novena, River Valley and the Singapore River.

They had been the biggest group of foreign buyers, taking first place from 2004 to 2007, only to lose the spot to Malaysia during the recent economic crisis, said Ms Christine Sun, Savills Singapore’s senior research & consultancy manager.

The latest figures featured a substantial rise in the number of foreign transactions for higher-priced properties.

A total of 86 properties priced above $5 million were sold in the quarter, up from 27 in the second and a mere six in the first.

Also, there was a 60% rise in deals for projects costing between $1.5 million and $5 million. Demand from foreigners for mass market homes was little changed from the second quarter.

Savills said recent data showed that foreigners who are not permanent residents tend to buy more pricey projects.

This group was also more likely to buy homes in prime districts than permanent residents, said Ms Sun. ‘We are hearing that more of these super-rich mainland Chinese buyers have come in recent weeks to buy prime properties like the bungalows in Sentosa Cove.’

But the big influx of foreigners to the luxury market in the 2006-2007 boom has not quite returned, consultants said.

Still, support from regional buyers could rise further. Jones Lang LaSalle’s head of residential, Ms Jacqueline Wong, said the firm has had rising interest from new potential buyers from India, China and Russia in the past four months.

‘We are one of the places they are considering. They see Singapore as a safe haven,’ said Ms Wong.

A senior private banker at a foreign bank said: ‘We are seeing some clients consider buying a Singapore property as one of a string of homes they have around the world. Luxury homes have come down 30% from the peak, so they are better value now.’

DTZ’s Ms Chua said foreign buyers see the growing attraction of Singapore as a global city and expect prices to keep rising as the economy strengthens.

‘Prices of prime and luxurious units have not reached 2007 levels and there is still the potential of capital appreciation depending on the rate of economic recovery,’ she said.

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii268/kcc0002/ForeignBuyersOnTheRise.jpg

lorbert
18-11-09, 11:38
hey guys, got a nicely decorated unit in The Pier @ Robertson up for sale, view to offer.

Very resort style decor, everything will be left behind, including electrical stuffs and furnitures, seldom used as owner mostly travelling.

Just bring your luggage and move in and enjoy the luxurious living.

PM me if you are keen and I will show u some pictures I took while I was there :)

L

Heng
18-11-09, 12:28
pl email me the photos : asking price ? bank valuation ?

lorbert
18-11-09, 13:37
pl email me the photos : asking price ? bank valuation ?
PM me your email address. Thanks!

L

Reporter
08-12-09, 23:53
Caveats lodged from end August 2007 to date;

Unit, # SQFT PSF, $ Total Date
07-1x 743 1696 $1,260,000 12Oct07
Early this year, this pier was under water. At least it is out of the water and functioning as a pier now.

The Pier At Robertson
Address ........................................... psf .................. Area ........ Price ............... Contract Date
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #07-12 ... $1,750 psf ..... 743 sqft ... $1,300,000 ...... 2 Nov 09

lorbert
18-12-09, 02:37
Email sent to interested parties :)

Reporter
09-02-10, 22:18
Early this year, this pier was under water. At least it is out of the water and functioning as a pier now.

The Pier At Robertson
Address .................................... psf ............... Area ........ Price ............ Contract Date
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #07-12 .... $1,750 psf .... 743 sqft .... $1,300,000 .... 2 Nov 09
2 months have gone and this figure is outdated.

The new figure is $1,784 psf!

The Pier At Robertson
Address .................................... psf ............... Area ........ Price ............ Contract Date
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #10-04 .... $1,784 psf .... 678 sqft .... $1,210,000 .... 14 Jan 10

Reporter
26-02-10, 22:07
2 months have gone and this figure is outdated.

The new figure is $1,784 psf!

It was 2 months for the last time but it is 2 weeks this time.

2 weeks have gone and the nëw hïgh for The Pier at Robertson is now $1,917 psf!

The Pier At Robertson
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #03-26 .... $1,917 psf .... 678 sqft .... $1,300,000 .... 8 Feb 10

27-02-10, 08:07
It was 2 months for the last time but it is 2 weeks this time.

2 weeks have gone and the nëw hïgh for The Pier at Robertson is now $1,917 psf!

The Pier At Robertson
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #03-26 .... $1,917 psf .... 678 sqft .... $1,300,000 .... 8 Feb 10

Thanks ! Great info :)

orange
27-02-10, 12:50
u r back! how? got huat big big at rws or not

27-02-10, 12:55
u r back! how? got huat big big at rws or not

haha... no leh...:doh:

Reporter
03-06-10, 01:02
The Pier at Robertson has finally broken the $2,000-psf barrier with a nëw hïgh of $2,094 psf!

The Pier At Robertson
Address .................................... psf ............... Area ........... Price ............ Contract Date
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #04-08 .... $2,094 psf .... 1,206 sqft .... $2,525,000 .... 14 May 10

03-06-10, 05:58
The Pier at Robertson has finally broken the $2,000-psf barrier with a nëw hïgh of $2,094 psf!

The Pier At Robertson
Address .................................... psf ............... Area ........... Price ............ Contract Date
80 Mohamed Sultan Road #04-08 .... $2,094 psf .... 1,206 sqft .... $2,525,000 .... 14 May 10

My personal view is that this area is potentially worth more than 2000psf due to the river and city factors. Currently the prices reflect an under-enhanced river.No offence, but I hope big brother should be more creative and do more jazz up of the river area. All advanced cities in the world with property besides rivers are worth more than the inner cities. However, the reverse is true here. :scared-4:

03-06-10, 06:38
Well, maybe I could give some hints to the big brother:

1) We cannot beat them with their scenic beauty, but we could create a special theme for our river. Since our city is so modernised, we could distinguish ourselves from other great rivers of the world by brainstorming first a good theme for our own river. A carefully thought out theme will engrave our river memories into tourists minds and they will be back for more. Currently, there is no theme at all.

2) No daytime activity. Currently there is more night time activities due to : 1) pubs and restaurants 2) our hot weather. To overcome 1), you can introduce more daytime activities ( not neccessary commercial activites only , can be normal everyday activity like transportation in the river or human traffic along the river banks).To overcome 2) More trees/shades/shelthers/air blowers along the bank ?

3) Do you know what is our sole major advantage of our Sg River ? It is a narrow and sheltered river- that is our Biggest advantage..

If you can't beat them with your looks, beat them with your inner beauty.......... Think about it, big brother...

03-06-10, 06:59
By the way, one of the mistakes you made in tourist attractions ( like Tang Dynasty ) if you so allow me to point out to you.... The basic entry prices there were too expensive for locals. You can actually set a lower price for our locals. If you are afraid to advertise the prices for locals in the open, you can always let the locals use their cash cards for entry. You see,you need to have HUGE local crowd at the tourist attraction location in order to appeal to the tourists. Take some hints from Taiwan, and see why they are so popular with tourists. Tourists come here to see us, our people. Not to see other tourists. Think about it...

ST88
09-08-12, 14:29
The price seems to be stagnant at $2000 psf since 2010.

A good buy now or is everyone buying the new launches nearby?

starrynight
16-02-13, 10:14
For my own records:

2013-02-04
#05-13
7431,9391,440,000HDB2013-01-14
#02-05
1,1191,9652,200,000Private2013-01-04
#05-21
7321,9471,425,000Private2012-10-12
#04-11
7531,7921,350,000HDB