View Full Version : The Madeira & Guilin View

GuilinView
16-02-07, 11:36
Has anyone done a comparison between The Madeira and Guilin View?

yes
16-02-07, 14:07
I believe the Madeira is much newer and looks more modern than Guilin View. Madeira also very near LRT, Guilin View maybe not so near? Madeira developed by OUB, contractor is Low Kheng Huat so quality is good. Guilin View is by CDL, not sure which contractor.

Madeira
16-02-07, 21:41
I am a specialist on The Madeira.
Madeira is newer and nearer to amenities. So the average price psf is higher by abt $20 to $30.
Most units in Guilin View have a good view of the Xiao Guilin.
For Madeira, some high floor units have excellent view of the Bukit Batok/Timah Nature reserve.

Unregistered
23-02-07, 14:36
I am a specialist on The Madeira.
Madeira is newer and nearer to amenities. So the average price psf is higher by abt $20 to $30.
Most units in Guilin View have a good view of the Xiao Guilin.
For Madeira, some high floor units have excellent view of the Bukit Batok/Timah Nature reserve.

How do you compare Madeira to Hillview Regency? Same price? which is more expensive?

Madeira
23-02-07, 19:51
How do you compare Madeira to Hillview Regency? Same price? which is more expensive?

Hillview Regency is much more expensive, typically $550 to $600 psf for high floor pool facing units. The most expensive unit, size abt 1195 sq ft, is priced at $880 K and include the interior decor worth about $80K. I almost flipped when the sales agent told me the price. Generally, Fareast Organisation likes to overprice their properties. That is why Hillview Regency and The Lakeshore still have so many unsold units. Madeira already sold out upon TOP.

Both Hillview Regency and The Madeira are 99 year leasehold properties and their leases both start from year 2000.

Unregistered
26-02-07, 11:49
If property is about LOCATION ! LOCATION AND STILL LOCATION. Madeira and Guilin View are far better than Hillview Regency. Both Madeira and Guilin View are within comfortable walking distance to Bukit Gombak MRT Station. Hillview Regency has a free feeder bus to MRT because it is too far to walk but such service only add more waiting time to travel and may not be permanent.

Unregistered
26-02-07, 12:13
Guilin View's design concept is neo classical, and The Madeira is modern. Both condos are within 5 mins walk to MRT. Maderia has a side gate to a few Muslim coffeeshops and a Shop N Save supermarket. Guilin View is opposite Little Guilin, has an exclusive location but only has a lousy mini coffeeshop and a very old provision shop across the street, have to walk 5 mins to Madeira's Muslim coffeeshops and Shop N Save. Guilin View is 3 or 4 years older than Maderia so it is only fair that the prices are lower. As for rental opportunities, Guilin View has Koreans and Hong Kongers, do not know about Maderia.

Unregistered
26-02-07, 12:21
Notice that there are very few sellers for The Maderia and Guilin View these days so maybe it is much easlier to buy into Hillview Regency. I heard that Far East do not worry about unsold units because they rent out those units, it is true?

Unregistered
16-04-07, 16:49
i personally like madiera vs guilin which looks a bit older than it is. however, at present sellers in both condos esp madiera are asking for somewhat unrealistic prices (my opinion 10% above what it should be) as they are like many sellers these days - influenced by the "hot" property market which in all reality is confined mostly to the upper segment of the market. yes, there are a few units being sold & yes there are some trickle through to the middle segment but not in a way that some of these sellers make it out to be. some units have been marketed for more than a few months with sellers stubbornly holding on to their prices while buyers are unwilling to take the bait at such levels i.e. at $480 psf and above for madiera. personally <$450 psf for madeira is more of less fair for madeira.

Unregistered
16-04-07, 21:19
i personally like madiera vs guilin which looks a bit older than it is. however, at present sellers in both condos esp madiera are asking for somewhat unrealistic prices (my opinion 10% above what it should be) as they are like many sellers these days - influenced by the "hot" property market which in all reality is confined mostly to the upper segment of the market. yes, there are a few units being sold & yes there are some trickle through to the middle segment but not in a way that some of these sellers make it out to be. some units have been marketed for more than a few months with sellers stubbornly holding on to their prices while buyers are unwilling to take the bait at such levels i.e. at $480 psf and above for madiera. personally <$450 psf for madeira is more of less fair for madeira.

If the unit is high floor and has a good view, I think it can command $480 psf. For low floor units, I think u can easily get it for below $450 psf.
The larger units or penthouses at The Madeira are the best value for money as they are transacted at $300 psf.

Unregistered
18-04-07, 14:59
I was told that some owners at Madeira are asking for prices that are above their initial purchase price during launch - can anybody verify this and is it value to buy at such given its a 99-year condos after all where prices should in theory decline with time...i am just afraid if i buy now, when the drop comes, 10-15% will be easily wiped out to reflect this adjustment between prices/age.

Madeira
18-04-07, 15:44
I was told that some owners at Madeira are asking for prices that are above their initial purchase price during launch - can anybody verify this and is it value to buy at such given its a 99-year condos after all where prices should in theory decline with time...i am just afraid if i buy now, when the drop comes, 10-15% will be easily wiped out to reflect this adjustment between prices/age.

Prices for 99-year leasehold condo actually appreciate faster than freehold properties when the market recovers. This is because they have better rental yield than freehold units. For example, you can see that many second hand properties near MRT(usually leasehold) are in great demand now and the prices have recovered significantly. But in Hillview Ave, although many development there are freehold, the prices are stll quite stagnent for most of them.

So it still depends very much on the location of the properties, rather than the lease.

Most houses in Siberia are freehold, but the prices would not appreciate.
99-year leasehold properties in Orchard Road area are rising sky high even as they get older, especially those that has enbloc potential.

Unregistered
26-04-07, 11:36
It is hard to believe that for Guilin View with 600 over units with so few
sellers. Maybe it is true that owners there want to hold and wait for property
prices in the West to climb.

Unregistered
26-04-07, 11:40
It is hard to believe that for Guilin View with 600 over units with so few
sellers. Maybe it is true that owners there want to hold and wait for property
prices in the West to climb.

Maybe they don't intend to sell? How do you know the owners of Guilin View don't have investment properties in Orchard, Newton, River Valley, Marina Bay, Keppel Bay? Maybe they find that living in Guilin View while making huge profits from buying and selling Marina Bay serves their purpose better?

Boon
26-04-07, 16:46
I hear that many guilin owners opt to rent out given good yields if they dont get their prefered selling price. (which begs the question where they go to stay thereafter - rent elsewhere??? or maybe they do have other units tuck away somewhere??).
Also, if they dont get their prefered price, many dont see the logic in selling only to go elsewhere to find units are even more expensive.
I guess this leads to a limited sales.

Unregistered
12-05-07, 00:51
Just got a unit in Guilin for $430 psf. Buying for location but wld have prefered madiera...but was uncomfy to stretch my budget. Heard from agent a lot of sellers looking to rent out units instead or waiting for higher prices before going into market to sell or those that havent found another place yet.

Madeira
12-05-07, 09:38
Just got a unit in Guilin for $430 psf. Buying for location but wld have prefered madiera...but was uncomfy to stretch my budget. Heard from agent a lot of sellers looking to rent out units instead or waiting for higher prices before going into market to sell or those that havent found another place yet.

Good price. Dun think u can find other place that is so near MRT and so cheap.

Unregistered
15-05-07, 13:06
Me too, bought unit at Guilin View a year ago, chose GV because my budget
could only get a smaller unit at Madeira. One year on, I say this is the best
decision. GV has so much character, beautiful environment and the walking
distance to MRT is same as Madeira. Madeira is 3 or 4 years younger,
but 99 years is 99 years. I also notice, my neighbours who are renting out their units never have them empty for more than 2 weeks. It is much better to rent out, and wait since many of them bought at prices much, much higher 5 years ago.

Unregistered
15-05-07, 13:16
How is Madeira better than Guilin View from a "living in" point of view? Anyone?

Madeira
15-05-07, 16:27
How is Madeira better than Guilin View from a "living in" point of view? Anyone?

Both Madeira and Guilin View are value for money condos.
Madeira is nearer to amenities like wet markets and coffee shops, clinics. So that explained for the extra tens of dollars per sq ft that u have to fork out.

Unregistered
16-05-07, 15:36
$430 psf is very reasonable price. Can you share about your unit type, high floor or low floor.

Unregistered
25-05-07, 00:22

Madeira has a more chic feel to it cause newer, and by design. Interior is of course newer. GV feels and looks older than its age. But looks aside, GV - like many older condos - has a more spacious and family feel to it. There are more greenary in GV vs the more concrete looking Madeira. When i was looking around for an apartment the west side, I looked at GV, Palm Garden and Madeira - in the former two I found residents playing badminton and in one case "fetch" with their dog. I dont think Madeira has the space for such activities.

Madeira
25-05-07, 15:05
I like both Madeira and Guilin View. In the end I bought Madeira in Oct 06 because it is nearer to amenities like coffee shops, McDonald, wet market and clinics. And also because the developer was dumping the last few Madeira units at incredible discounts.

Unregistered
25-05-07, 18:35
There are two other condos near the Bukit Batok MRT - The Dew and The Jade. Both are from Sim Lian. The Jade is very just besides the MRT and West Mall but a bit too noisy due to close proximity to the MRT.

The Dew is about 10 mins walk from the MRT and naer to wet market, many coffee shops, clinics, provision shops.

Anyone has comments on these two condos?

Madeira
26-05-07, 08:35
There are two other condos near the Bukit Batok MRT - The Dew and The Jade. Both are from Sim Lian. The Jade is very just besides the MRT and West Mall but a bit too noisy due to close proximity to the MRT.

The Dew is about 10 mins walk from the MRT and naer to wet market, many coffee shops, clinics, provision shops.

Anyone has comments on these two condos?

The Dew is a bit too far from MRT to walk. But certainly it is a very cheap condo in Singapore.
The Jade is really very convenient. But the price is about $200 psf more than The Dew.

Unregistered
26-05-07, 14:46
The Dew is a bit too far from MRT to walk. But certainly it is a very cheap condo in Singapore.
The Jade is really very convenient. But the price is about $200 psf more than The Dew.

10mins walking distance to MRT is still OK lah.

One of my friend lives in The Dew and I've been to his place before. The environment and landscape is very well maintained. It has full condo facilities. Although this is an EC and selling very low at <400 psf when it was launched 5yrs ago. Looking at the cost of the newly launch condo such as La Casa selling at 500psf, It'll be interesting to see how much the resale value is when it reaches 5yrs.

The Jade is super convenient with West maill and MRT at close proximity. More expensive than The Dew with it's better location and it's a private condo. However, the feedbacks I heard from others is that there are too few lifts to serve all 30 storeys of units. This causes long waiting time for the lift during peak hours where everyone is going to school/work. Too close to MRT can become a minus point - can hear "train door closing" for units facing the MRT. From the MRT station, you can see some of the units very clearly - privacy issue.

There is also another Parkview Apartment further down the road. This condo looks a bit old and landscape is so so. Not very well maintained. Heard that some owners has problem selling it at even breakeven cost.

Unregistered
28-05-07, 12:40
If proximity to MRT is the prime consideration, then I say The Dew is too far to walk, just like Westmere at Jurong East MRT, too near to take bus, too far to walk. The feeling of so near yet so far. Regent Heights and Hillview Regency also have the same problem.

The Jade is super convenient, but to choose a unit at high level, out of sight from the MRT commuters (myself love to admire those big balconies) and away from the MRT noise is difficult and expensive.

Walking distance to MRT, Maderia is near market. Guilin View, most of the units have view of Little Guilin - very rare in Singapore.

Unregistered
28-05-07, 12:56
The discount at Madeira was attractive but only penthouses are available. I brought Guilin View last year and I have neighbours who have paid much more few years ago for such CDL project they thought was a sure win, beautiful scenery and close to MRT.

Unregistered
28-05-07, 13:53
The discount at Madeira was attractive but only penthouses are available. I brought Guilin View last year and I have neighbours who have paid much more few years ago for such CDL project they thought was a sure win, beautiful scenery and close to MRT.

If you are thinking about buying Guilin View, you should take a trip to Guilin, China to get a feel what Guilin view is about. The guilin view here is now more than a small pool of cloudy yellowish water and absolutely not the samle scale as Guilin View in China.

Madeira
28-05-07, 14:31
If you are thinking about buying Guilin View, you should take a trip to Guilin, China to get a feel what Guilin view is about. The guilin view here is now more than a small pool of cloudy yellowish water and absolutely not the samle scale as Guilin View in China.

Although our Guilin View cannot compare to China Guilin View, it is still one of the few condos in Singapore which offers some reasonable views at very reasonable price.

Unregistered
29-05-07, 15:35
The window view of Singapore Guilin View with water and hill is refreshing.

Unregistered
30-05-07, 13:26
URA webside just published statistics stating a transaction in May
of Guilin View - 1281 sqft sold at $650,000 = $507.4 per sqft.
Can any housing agent here tell us which unit is this that manage
to get such high price?

Madeira
30-05-07, 13:53
to get such high price?

Wow, I must say that this price is a recent high for this development. And this price is higher than other recent transactions by a substantial margin. I would guess that this unit is located on very high floor with fantastic view, and perhaps come with designer decor.

It could also be because the suburbs area prices are really taking off now.

This is good news for people who own units at Guilin View.

Boon
09-07-07, 21:01
Guilin 4 room owners (1700 sq ft + 1800< sg ft) asking for $1.0 mio! just a few months ago $700k+...i think its the "fishing" attitude taken by a lot of owners...not necessarily will be done.

Madeira
09-07-07, 22:16
Guilin 4 room owners (1700 sq ft + 1800< sg ft) asking for $1.0 mio! just a few months ago $700k+...i think its the "fishing" attitude taken by a lot of owners...not necessarily will be done.

I think if u bargain hard enuf, the owner would let go to u at abt $800k. I think this is abt the current mkt value.

Unregistered
09-07-07, 22:53
I think if u bargain hard enuf, the owner would let go to u at abt $800k. I think this is abt the current mkt value.

What is the point of buying a property looks more like HDB (at least from the outside)? Unless you need place to stay for your family, be prepared a drop of 30% of today price in 2011.

Madeira
10-07-07, 09:53
What is the point of buying a property looks more like HDB (at least from the outside)? Unless you need place to stay for your family, be prepared a drop of 30% of today price in 2011.

Look like HDB cannot fetch $800k? Some real HDBs actually fetched more than $700k.

Unregistered
10-07-07, 13:35
Today's Straits Time reported a Bukit Batok central 5 room flat asking for 500 K, so is a 3 bedroom in Guilin View asking for 650 K fair ?

Unregistered
10-07-07, 13:45
I think owners of Guilin View have been on too low profile, such a CDL development with a view and so near to MRT, so may units, so few sellers,
They must be too proud to sell. Looks like HDB? Maybe it is good so that the price can stay low.

Unregistered
10-07-07, 13:49
Today's Straits Time reported a Bukit Batok central 5 room flat asking for 500 K, so is a 3 bedroom in Guilin View asking for 650 K fair ?

Asking price these days are totally crazy and I don't think it is useful for anything other than making property owners feels so good about their property. I saw an ad the other days asking for 1200 psf for a Nothvale penthouse which was four times the price of last transacted price for a penthouse at Northvale

Unregistered
10-07-07, 15:43
It is totally crazy, I agree. There is no direction anymore. For those to dare price high may bag a good deal if some cash rich ex-enbloc owner desperately need to find a replacement property. Guilin View is one of those few that still price below its potential.

Boon
10-07-07, 16:09
to get such high price?

I think for every development we will see a handful of such jump in prices - there are a group of people out there who need a place and fear being left out; enbloc millionaires; speculators etc - that would pay premium prices way above the last transacted. But I personally do not think we will get more than a handful of such transactions unless this turns out to be a mass hysteria buying spree (which i dont think so).

While GV looks a little run down from the outside, some of the units look pretty nice inside. See
http://www.view2offer.com/9980
http://www.view2offer.com/8416

As for the view - yes, I agree its not quite the Guilin ala-China's, but its a refreshing view versus having to face an opposite block. Some people would pay a premium for this fungshui - water and hill thingy..(please dont ask me to elaborate, I was told of this!).

Unregistered
10-07-07, 16:23
It is totally crazy, I agree. There is no direction anymore. For those to dare price high may bag a good deal if some cash rich ex-enbloc owner desperately need to find a replacement property. Guilin View is one of those few that still price below its potential.

I am waiting for a senile mentally retarded who are holding on mountains of cash from encloc to buy penthouse at Northvale for 3.5 million. Every night I have sweet dreams of being welcome into this private room in UBS reserved exclusively for clients of private banking. During the fancy lunch, I will be listening to presentation on ideas to turn my 3million profit to 6 million.

Unregistered
10-07-07, 17:30
I am waiting for a senile mentally retarded who are holding on mountains of cash from encloc to buy penthouse at Northvale for 3.5 million. Every night I have sweet dreams of being welcome into this private room in UBS reserved exclusively for clients of private banking. During the fancy lunch, I will be listening to presentation on ideas to turn my 3million profit to 6 million.

C'mon 3.5 m for a PH this is soooooooooooooooooooooo cheap. Foreigners quick line up and start buying. Bid each other out. raise to 5 m. Foreigner, calling all foreigners!!!!!!!!!!!

Unregistered
24-07-07, 16:38
My goodness, even Guilin View have gone up to $540 per sq feet.

Unregistered
24-07-07, 18:05
My goodness, even Guilin View have gone up to $540 per sq feet.

I saw the asking prices for Guilin View top 700psf in ST last weekend.
I guess both the seller and agent are insane!
Then again, you never know, what if they find a guy who just gone crazy because of the windfalls from enbloc sale. He might as well grab it and throw in additional 100K to seal the deal on the spot

Unregistered
24-07-07, 21:29
I saw the asking prices for Guilin View top 700psf in ST last weekend.
I guess both the seller and agent are insane!
Then again, you never know, what if they find a guy who just gone crazy because of the windfalls from enbloc sale. He might as well grab it and throw in additional 100K to seal the deal on the spot

Thanks for the encoragement,
I will advertise my 3-BR top floor unit at 1.5mil this weekend
Who knows, I may get lucky
For those guys who just become insane, may be only units above 1.5 mil will catch their eyes

Madeira
24-07-07, 22:30
For those guys who just become insane, may be only units above 1.5 mil will catch their eyes

Yup. Foreigners only want to buy units that are more than $1000 psf. So u shd raise yr asking price.

Unregistered
24-07-07, 23:33
Yup. Foreigners only want to buy units that are more than $1000 psf. So u shd raise yr asking price.

Yes, foreigners buyers are only interested in prime property which is at least at 1000psf or above. Unfortunately, they are not stupid nor insane and as such they would not want to bother with property like guilin view even if is going for 400psf. The best bet is indeed to try your luck with the locals who had gone crazy because they couldn't take the shock from the sudden windfalls from enbloc sale of their units

Unregistered
25-07-07, 00:05

High floor 3-BR unit at Guilin View is about 1300sft. At 1.5mil, he is planning to ask something like 1150 psf for his unit. What are you suggesting?

Unregistered
10-03-08, 11:45
High floor 3-BR unit at Guilin View is about 1300sft. At 1.5mil, he is planning to ask something like 1150 psf for his unit. What are you suggesting?

Allow me to give my neutral opinion: transactions are currently at 500+psf and there is always risk of further dropping for LH properties with current market sentiment. What makes the owner thinks that his unit is worthing 1150psf? Its still your call, if you want to buy from him, but make sure you get a superbig discount (maybe 10yrs maintenance + property tax rebates + fully furnished).

Now the personal opinion: I went there for CNY gathering at colleague's unit. Location is very convenient but quite noisy partly due to mrt track (for a condo in suburban), the facilities suffered quite substantial wear and tear considering that the condo is not that old, but colleague told me it was worse till to 'high usage' by those 'extended families'.

Unregistered
10-03-08, 22:22

U can wait long long...

Unregistered
13-03-08, 12:33

i guess the senile, mentally retarded person is you!!

Unregistered
14-03-08, 17:06
this guy is apparently very free. he posted the same nonsense in other threads too.

Unregistered
16-03-08, 09:33
Allow me to give my neutral opinion: transactions are currently at 500+psf and there is always risk of further dropping for LH properties with current market sentiment. What makes the owner thinks that his unit is worthing 1150psf? Its still your call, if you want to buy from him, but make sure you get a superbig discount (maybe 10yrs maintenance + property tax rebates + fully furnished).

Now the personal opinion: I went there for CNY gathering at colleague's unit. Location is very convenient but quite noisy partly due to mrt track (for a condo in suburban), the facilities suffered quite substantial wear and tear considering that the condo is not that old, but colleague told me it was worse till to 'high usage' by those 'extended families'.

Allow me to share my two-cents worth on the threee developments in this thread's discussion -- Guilin View, the Madeira and Hillview Regency. I happened to know the management council of all three, including Westmere, mentioned by another writer.

Both Guilin and Madeira are located in HDB territory and are better known as upgrader's condo. The same applies to Westmere, but Westmere is slightly different, being an EC.

Since the majority of Guilin and Madeira are HDB upgraders, the price relative tends to be in the order of -- HDB Executive Apartments >> ECs >> upgraders' condos >> private condos.

Hillview Regency, Signature Park, Parc Palais, etc., in the Hillview area are regarded as private condos rather than upgraders. So the price tends to be higher.

Yes, Guilin is much older than the Madeira, and worse, the MRT track cuts across the estate! Otherwise, the difference is minor.

Both Guilin and Madeira are near to the MRT, with side gates to the nearby HDB shops. Of course, the Jade is smack across the MRT with the noisy West Mall facing it.

If you are already living in private properties or in an EC, the tendency is that you would prefer private condos like Hillview. On the other hand, if you are an HDB upgrader, you would be more comfortable with Guilin or the Madeira because of the familiar surroundings as well as the more affordable price range.

Price-wise, Madeira could fetch a tad higher, say $20 to $30 psf than Guilin because it is newer, otherwise both should trade in the $500+ to $600+ range depending on facing and height.

Hillview, like others in the Hillview area, tends to command a slightly higher psf and prices could be in the upper $500 through the lower $700 psf depending which condo, facing, height and finishing.

And if you move further down the Bukit Timah Road area towards Newton, the psf moves further up to as high as the $2,400 psf.

Hope the above helps.

Teana
15-04-08, 14:58
Private Residential Units Sold in the Month of March 2008

Project Name . Locality . Units Sold In Month . Highest $psf . Median $psf . Lowest $psf
Hillvista ............. OCR ....... 2 ............................... 1,058 ............ 1,034 ............ 1,010

Boon
01-08-08, 01:12
I just saw May & June caveats for Guilin ...show prices for standard 1281 psf 3-room being transacted at $665-700k vs Jan/Feb caveats of $750-850k...a decline of 10-15%. On the way to the $550-600k level which I expect it to go to i.e. another 10-15% to wipe out the froth that built up last year.

GVer
31-08-08, 14:30
I just saw May & June caveats for Guilin ...show prices for standard 1281 psf 3-room being transacted at $665-700k vs Jan/Feb caveats of $750-850k...a decline of 10-15%. On the way to the $550-600k level which I expect it to go to i.e. another 10-15% to wipe out the froth that built up last year.

Hope your dreams come true but people like me who bought GV during project launch in 1997, you can be assured I will not sell you at the price you are looking! I have holding power and GV is very rentable, being at good location!

Boon
01-09-08, 05:06
Hope your dreams come true but people like me who bought GV during project launch in 1997, you can be assured I will not sell you at the price you are looking! I have holding power and GV is very rentable, being at good location!

HAHA no la..not buying..i ALREADY bought la..in May 2007...Blk 22 low flr for $550k. Just giving my view on the market (definately no regrets vs buying one in Madeira - i love my balcony).

Boon
17-10-08, 21:10
Going going going..lower...i read an advert for standard GV 3 room going for $650K OFFER. Nego nego...maybe $625k also will let go. Almost there...another 10% more to go

Unregisteredw
18-10-08, 22:45
That's the problem with leasehold properties. It falls like knives.

Going going going..lower...i read an advert for standard GV 3 room going for $650K OFFER. Nego nego...maybe $625k also will let go. Almost there...another 10% more to go

Get Real!
18-10-08, 23:47
The FH will fall just as fast and as deep. In 1997 and 2001, both FH and LH felt like a rock and I don't see why it will be different this time.

The only thing special this time around is that there are many over priced old properties (both LH and FH) around because of the recent "enbloc" mania pushed the price of many of these properties skyhigh in the last 2-3 years. This category is most shaky and is most difficult to predict the bottom. Just watch!

That's the problem with leasehold properties. It falls like knives.

Boon
19-10-08, 00:14
The FH will fall just as fast and as deep. In 1997 and 2001, both FH and LH felt like a rock and I don't see why it will be different this time.

The only thing special this time around is that there are many over priced old properties (both LH and FH) around because of the recent "enbloc" mania pushed the price of many of these properties skyhigh in the last 2-3 years. This category is most shaky and is most difficult to predict the bottom. Just watch!

I know of a friend who is stuck with a 30 year old prop in river valley - bought it cause condo the left enbloc, condo to the right en bloc, so comon sense tells yo ucondo in between en bloc right? ...but now he cant even rent out not only because of crisis but because of the bloody noise and dust from the surrounding construction! I m thinking maybe NOW'S the time to buy the unit from him :p (at half price of course..he's beats me up every time i offer him)

FFI
19-10-08, 00:15
Comparing Guilin View and the FH properties in the vicinity Hillview and Hume area, Guilin View seems to be falling much much faster, despite having a MRT station nearby. Just an observation.

Get Real!
19-10-08, 01:05
It is difficult to gauge the rate of drop when you look at only a couple transactions over a short period (a few months). The real fall has not even started to show as yet because we are in a period of "inactivity" in the market. When the activity starts to build up next year, the mommentum for the downward trend will start to build up.

Comparing Guilin View and the FH properties in the vicinity Hillview and Hume area, Guilin View seems to be falling much much faster, despite having a MRT station nearby. Just an observation.

tboonk
07-04-09, 22:33
Hello... does anyone know the size of the site area for Madeira? Considering a unit there.. Do you know if all the layouts at madeira are squarish? I understand that there are many sizes of 3 rooms for this development, eg. 1238, 1259, 1302 and 1356 sqf.

bhavesh
12-04-09, 15:53
Hello... does anyone know the size of the site area for Madeira? Considering a unit there.. Do you know if all the layouts at madeira are squarish? I understand that there are many sizes of 3 rooms for this development, eg. 1238, 1259, 1302 and 1356 sqf.

Can anyone help me to decide which is the best condo for investment as well as staying Guilin view, warren, parc oasis north wale or floravale?

which is the best psf price for each condo:confused:

beverly
12-05-09, 22:35

Hi, I have seen some Madeira units 2 years back. One thing I didn't like about the units are that the master toilet itself is facing the entrance of the master bedroom i.e the moment u step into the master bedroom , first thing u see is the toilet facing the master bedroom door .. I dunno if there are any units that are not structured this way, but so far those I have seen are structured that way. And bay windows too if I rem correctly. The faciiilites look good and well maintained.

TMATT
08-01-12, 22:17
So Madeira and Guilin View, which one really better?
as Rainforest EC launch at that price range, only mean this two condo will raise further, more so these are near to Jurong , 2nd Financial Hub

09-01-12, 14:09
So Madeira and Guilin View, which one really better?
as Rainforest EC launch at that price range, only mean this two condo will raise further, more so these are near to Jurong , 2nd Financial Hub

quick quick buy now before price shoots to the roofie...:D :D

TMATT
13-01-12, 23:10
you must be staying at Madeira or Guilin view,
why price will go up at this area?

quick quick buy now before price shoots to the roofie...:D :D

BB
30-01-12, 21:37
The coming Jurong Lake District development will definitely cause the valuation to go up (only 2 MRT station away from Jurong East). Caspian at Lakeside MRT already asking ave $1000. Clementi Regent Park asking ave $1200. At current price ave $800 psf, there is great upside potential once Jcube, JEM, Big Box, Jurong Hosipital and one capitaland mall ready in a few years. Only 3 mins mrt ride away from Bukit Gombak mrt to JE mrt.

30-01-12, 21:58
You owner of guilin view or madeira?
The coming Jurong Lake District development will definitely cause the valuation to go up (only 2 MRT station away from Jurong East). Caspian at Lakeside MRT already asking ave $1000. Clementi Regent Park asking ave $1200. At current price ave $800 psf, there is great upside potential once Jcube, JEM, Big Box, Jurong Hosipital and one capitaland mall ready in a few years. Only 3 mins mrt ride away from Bukit Gombak mrt to JE mrt.

30-01-12, 22:10

Sshhh not so loud, I intend to buy more in this area, looking at 700psf :D

BB
31-01-12, 17:26
You owner of guilin view or madeira?
No. Just a property hunter looking for undervalued property. GV & Madeira is now under my radar screen. I am also looking at Glendale Park, with the upcoming mrt & mall opposite. Another condo with great upside potential.

BB
01-02-12, 21:58
SINGAPORE: Singapore-listed TT International said it has signed an agreement with private equity real estate firm Lucrum Capital, which will invest at least S$200 million to complete the Big Box project, a mega retail warehouse located in Jurong.

In a statement, TT International said it has started exclusive discussions with Lucrum's wholly-owned subsidiary Lucrum Development (Singapore) for the proposed investment.

Under the agreement, TT International's interest in the project will be transferred to its wholly-owned subsidiary, Big Box Pte Ltd, and Lucrum Development will have the option to acquire up to 49 per cent shareholding in the unit.

TT International has to date invested S$95 million in the Big Box project, including acquiring the land from JTC Corp. and undertaking some foundation work on the land.

Construction work was halted during the 2008 and 2009 global financial crisis as TT International underwent a financial restructuring.

The Big Box, an eight-storey warehouse retail store with a gross floor area of about 1.3 million square feet, is located just next to Jurong MRT station.

It is targeted to be completed at the end of 2013 and will be the last and largest of four warehouse retail projects approved by Singapore's Economic Development Board under the Warehouse Retail Scheme, the other three being outlets for IKEA, Courts and Giant in the eastern part of Singapore.

Wong Ah Long, chairman of Lucrum Capital, said: "The location itself, the potential itself, it reminds me of what we did many years ago for Marina Centre, from forming Suntec City, Millennium Centre into what it is today and that is something we can replicate again within the next five years."

TT International's executive director Julia Tong said: "As part of our efforts to deliver shareholder value, TT International intends to develop Big Box successfully in Singapore and then export this homegrown warehouse retail concept to countries in the region."

Meanwhile, Lucrum Capital's director David Batchelor said the project meets with its "long-term objectives" and that the company "believes in the impending growth potential of Jurong Gateway as Singapore's largest regional centre."

01-02-12, 22:42

That's why I say condo on top of MRT or super near MRT calling for high prices will fall to the same level as the rest during crisis.

MRT condo bubble. Seriously, 200-300psf more just when it is smack next to MRT? Err mm. Don't make sense.

01-02-12, 23:07
If being beside MRT station doesn't deserve a premium, what more for a new launch condo selling at 35-50% more than another resale condo within 100m of the new launch? :scared-2:

That's why I say condo on top of MRT or super near MRT calling for high prices will fall to the same level as the rest during crisis.

MRT condo bubble. Seriously, 200-300psf more just when it is smack next to MRT? Err mm. Don't make sense.

01-02-12, 23:17
If being beside MRT station doesn't deserve a premium, what more for a new launch condo selling at 35-50% more than another resale condo within 100m of the new launch? :scared-2:

And that 35-50% difference can pay for many cabs with midnight charge plus advanced booking fee.

02-02-12, 18:14
The mrt already factored into the prices of hillview condos and could go even higher when hillview mall and mrt up and running. the traffic situation in hillview is a big turn off for me and I am not sure how the situation would improve. Between gv n madeira, I think the latter is a better option. I am not crazy about xiao guilin coz the water is dead water that doesn't move and the view isn't all that fantastic as well (of course better than looking at ppl's kitchen).
No. Just a property hunter looking for undervalued property. GV & Madeira is now under my radar screen. I am also looking at Glendale Park, with the upcoming mrt & mall opposite. Another condo with great upside potential.

02-02-12, 19:09
Now still play JLD? are u kidding? those let go one aleady let go all zhao luo liao hand high high over to the next buyer....:D

now at other side punggol la...:p

02-02-12, 19:27
btw guilin and madeira, just go for madeira becos very nicely mainained, nearer to mrt yet shielded from the track noise, surrounded by 24 hour coffee shops, macdonald, supermarket and wet market : )

02-02-12, 19:33
Now still play JLD? are u kidding? those let go one aleady let go all zhao luo liao hand high high over to the next buyer....:D

now at other side punggol la...:p
frankly speaking JLD plan is more concrete than punggol :)p by 2013 4 big malls and 2 offices will be completed bringing the count of mall to 5 in such a small jurong east area! the only confirmed things in punggol r tons and tons of hdb and condos and ec..

02-02-12, 19:49
yeah the prices there are all forward pricing now...pricing like lakefront residences lo...those resale are already all up tens of % already..upside maybe but hard to say...:o

BB
02-02-12, 19:53
Plus a New Air Con Jurong East Bus Interchange

SINGAPORE: The Jurong East Bus Interchange will be moving to a temporary location, next to the existing bus interchange, from Saturday.

SBS Transit said the move is to facilitate the development of a new integrated bus interchange on the existing site.

All 17 bus services will be moving over to the temporary interchange along Jurong Gateway Road.

SBS Transit said staff will be deployed on the first few days to assist passengers.

- CNA/cc

02-02-12, 20:58
yeah the prices there are all forward pricing now...pricing like lakefront residences lo...those resale are already all up tens of % already..upside maybe but hard to say...:o

Yup although forward priced but not as crazy as punggol at 1300psf :doh:

The resale in the area still cheap, 700 to 950psf :D

Each new mall completed will probably rise the psf by 15 to 25psf, starting with the completion of jcube in march this year :D

BB
02-02-12, 21:11
The best buy will be Condo right beside Jurong East Mrt to capitalize on the new upcoming developments. But there's none at the moment. This make Condo near Chinese Garden, Lakeside, Bukit Batok, Bukit Gombak & Clementi mrt very attactive.

TMATT
02-02-12, 22:21
Can forget about Madeira as all want to stay not sell.
Those stay there know too well the value will only raise toward $1000psf,
$1100psf,$1300psf year after year,when 2nd Greatest Financial Hub is up!!

Those buy Madeira when it launch at $400psf,now enjoying almost 3x the return,if it also rent out...too bad,miss the Boat early

03-02-12, 07:44
Yup although forward priced but not as crazy as punggol at 1300psf :doh:

The resale in the area still cheap, 700 to 950psf :D

Each new mall completed will probably rise the psf by 15 to 25psf, starting with the completion of jcube in march this year :D

than u should not miss the opportunity now..quickly buy...:p dont wait if not the Jcube completed, u will miss the boat...quick buy now dont wait....:D :D

TMATT
03-02-12, 09:02
You confirm stay at West,Madeira,Jade or Lakeshore ;)

than u should not miss the opportunity now..quickly buy...:p dont wait if not the Jcube completed, u will miss the boat...quick buy now dont wait....:D :D

03-02-12, 09:40
Think he lives in jurong, one of the older projects
You confirm stay at West,Madeira,Jade or Lakeshore ;)

03-02-12, 10:16
ha ha... if that is the case..than it also means that u stay in RH..BB:p

(no need to reply as I know which area u stay:o as in this forumm long enough)

03-02-12, 10:26
My RH unit rented out from april 2011 to april 2013. I live in RCR, not OCR :D

TMATT
03-02-12, 12:43
West side will be popular after Financial Hub up.

South & Central need not said,only thing is when catch up with other major city interm of psf.

North will be very interesting once Malaysia "link" to spore!

03-02-12, 18:25

i know u already said loud loud last time and many times already...:p

and rest assured u are not the only one doing this..:D

03-02-12, 18:28
West side will be popular after Financial Hub up.

South & Central need not said,only thing is when catch up with other major city interm of psf.

North will be very interesting once Malaysia "link" to spore!

yeah that is why if u think the place(Jurong huh) got potential..and if you have not invested there yet...mai tu liao(sound familiar? )...quickly buy buy, ka ka hoot la and hope that it will go up loh...:p

03-02-12, 18:31
The best buy will be Condo right beside Jurong East Mrt to capitalize on the new upcoming developments. But there's none at the moment. This make Condo near Chinese Garden, Lakeside, Bukit Batok, Bukit Gombak & Clementi mrt very attactive.

begining of 2010 already got this news ma....if want to buy dont think so much...ka ka hoot..pao tan one since if you beleive that it will shoot high high..go all the way man.... :p mai tu liao...

TMATT
04-02-12, 00:45
what is "RH"? sorry, new to forum, not sure a lot of short term....

BB
04-02-12, 07:40
Jurong Lake District consists of two complementary precincts, Jurong Gateway and Lakeside. These refer to the areas around the Jurong East MRT Station and Jurong Lake in the west region of Singapore. The area around the Jurong East MRT Station, known as Jurong Gateway, will be developed into a vibrant commercial hub with a good mix of office, retail, residential, hotel, entertainment, food & beverage and other complementary uses. It will be the biggest commercial hub outside the city centre. A new and unique leisure destination will be created around Jurong Lake, also to be known as Lakeside, with edutainment attractions for the whole family. Jurong Lake will be brought closer to Jurong Gateway through the introduction of possible new waterways and pedestrian linkages. Lakeside is envisaged to be developed into a major leisure destination for Singaporeans and tourists. The attractions at Jurong Lake will be differentiated from others located in Marina Bay, Southern Waterfront and Mandai. Singaporeans can look forward to enjoy greater access to the lake with additional green spaces and new attractions around the lake for the whole family.

From the perspective of fengshui, Jurong, located in the western part of Singapore, falls into the category of the western dragon. According to WayOnNet Group's Top Notch Fengshui Master Tan, Western dragon is the most beautiful dragon of the five dragons. It starts from Tuas and ends at Pearl's Hill. This piece of land is also the "Land of the Flower Basket" which is also where the Golden Boy and Jade Girl fell in love. The "Land of Flower Basket" lies within the lake- Chinese and Japanese Garden and Tang Dynasty. From the perspective of fengshui, Singapore's western dragon belongs to the metal element and is therefore advantageous to the technical profession. Thus, Jurong Industrial Park is seen as well suited for light industrial activities.

The purity and simplicity of the Jurong district linger despite the introduction of the industrial sector. Traffic jams are minimal in the morning and is smoother towards the evening. Several well-known learning institutions such as National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Polytechnic and Ngee Ann Polytechnic gather in the West as well. The scenery is magnificent but unfortunately, many people fail to notice its aura. Furthermore, the Jurong district is currently experiencing a poor luck cycle in today's fortune 8 and thus has failed to develop to its best. Given its unfavourable fengshui, an allowance of at least ten to fifteen years is required for better luck to come by. Coincidentally, in ten to fifteen years, the new Jurong district will be evolved.

Till date, luxurious shopping districts, hotels, cafes and entertainment are still lacking in the West. As Jurong has been emphasizing too much on industrialization, it has overlooked those areas, which promise bright prospects. Jurong possesses the necessary conditions to be developed into a business and entertainment district. It would also be ideal if cars will be allowed to enter Lakeside, where all the entertainment lies, to ease transportation and create convenience among the people. Now is a good time to seize the opportunity to start investing in Jurong as its properties are still relatively cheap. Once the development is completed and luck starts picking up, property prices will also soar.

Jurong possesses good business prospects but lacks appropriate marketing. Suitable types of businesses for the area are beauty, entertainment, tourism, industrial and various forms of entrepreneurship. Today, Jurong is still dominated by heavy and light industries. In addition, the old JTC building has yet to be developed. After appropriate revamp coupled with better luck, the industrial sector will advance further. However, given such a vast piece of land, comprehensive planning and a very good concept are crucial to bring auspiciousness to Jurong Land. For instance, IMM has failed in the past due to a poor concept. But after its implementation of an improvised concept and a well-organized planning, IMM succeeded eventually. Similarly, this mindset should be applied to the Jurong Master Plan 2008. Entertainment and leisure should be integrated into the industrial land to transform Jurong into the second Orchard Road. West residents are big spenders but unfortunately, they have no idea where to spend. Thus, various types of businesses should be set up to trigger higher levels of consumption among the residents of the West. Most people tend to earn more in the industrial sector but west residents spend little and are thrifty on daily lives. They are often pragmatic spenders who are more prudent with their finances. It is unlike the east residents who mostly work in offices and are often spendthrift. With work, entertainment and leisure gathered together nearer to home, the idea simply creates excitement and fervour among the people in the West.

Master Tan also advises more landscaping to be done around the Jurong district as the Golden Boy and Jade Girl represent the land. In addition, it would be ideal to design the landscape into a plum blossom shape. Otherwise, displaying baskets of flowers or vases is also ideal because this couple certainly loves greenery and scenery. Adding more landscaping and greenery will thus exude an alluring sight. Besides, individuals can also accessorize and beautify themselves with jewellery in hope of attracting romance. Note that Jurong area is usually chilly and can often cause individuals to be prone to the cold bug; place Ru Yi in the living room or at the work desk to improve health and wealth and enhance luck with romance.

TMATT
04-02-12, 14:48
BB, post the photo,video clip maybe more understand what the URA want in the West side to be in future, when the master plan coming out?

05-02-12, 11:56
BB, post the photo,video clip maybe more understand what the URA want in the West side to be in future, when the master plan coming out?

all these news is not new, similar info already existed 2 years ago, do a check at caspian and other threads u will know more than the info here....:p...ka ka hoot dont wait la ...mai tu liao...:p

05-02-12, 15:08
Centris owners already screaming $11xxpsf, don't seem like much upside at that price.

TMATT
05-02-12, 19:14
For few friends who buy CONDO above Jurong point,no upside is ok,
they buy at $480psf -$550psf,already sit in large profit,
if include rental which $3300 above...they are 1/2 millionaire already!

Think Madeira condo will give similar return,but refer to those buy in 2001😉
Too bad no much Madeira unit on sale now...as owner know this is a pot of Gold,
More so this area during GE2011, win big big for PAP,they will take care residence here a lot to show case😊

Centris owners already screaming $11xxpsf, don't seem like much upside at that price.

06-02-12, 09:33

since all friends here are so enthusiatic, so I dont want to be wet blanket ...encourage them ka ka hoot lo..if not later they cannot sleep..anyway, their money and they have every right to decide and use whatever they wish ...:p

06-02-12, 11:53
Aiya at the end of the day if paying that extra can better their lives in some way for those die die must live above the mall type, then it will be money well spent by them. Just like those who bought two bedr at caspian for own stay, die die must live in front of mrt track type. Many people won't be able to understand.
since all friends here are so enthusiatic, so I dont want to be wet blanket ...encourage them ka ka hoot lo..if not later they cannot sleep..anyway, their money and they have every right to decide and use whatever they wish ...:p

TMATT
10-02-12, 22:38
Bukit Panjang belong to D23?
Then expect Madeira and other condo at this area price to raise to higher level again.
Already saw the Hillier Caveats record -
THE HILLIER Apartment $933,462 624sqft 1,495psf

Sim Lian won the bid for the Bukit Panjang mixed-commercial site (mall-MRT-condo)
it on top of upcoming Bukit Panjang MRT, hear they pay about $800++psf!!!! Confirm breakeven cost at $1200psf?

Then prices could soar to more than $1,300psf to $1500psf, similiar to watertown, but they should price lower so it can sell like a hot cake.
If any unit sell less then $600K, sure Buy :rolleyes:
For those who stay at Madeira area, congret!
It matter of time these area condo all over $1000psf (less EC)

11-02-12, 04:50
Bukit Panjang belong to D23?
Then expect Madeira and other condo at this area price to raise to higher level again.
Already saw the Hillier Caveats record -
THE HILLIER Apartment $933,462 624sqft 1,495psf

Sim Lian won the bid for the Bukit Panjang mixed-commercial site (mall-MRT-condo)
it on top of upcoming Bukit Panjang MRT, hear they pay about $800++psf!!!! Confirm breakeven cost at $1200psf?

Then prices could soar to more than $1,300psf to $1500psf, similiar to watertown, but they should price lower so it can sell like a hot cake.
If any unit sell less then $600K, sure Buy :rolleyes:
For those who stay at Madeira area, congret!
It matter of time these area condo all over $1000psf (less EC)

I think it could be around $1,200 psf. These MRT+mall are draining away the lure of CCR.

TMATT
11-02-12, 15:07
Will Madeira enblock & URA plan a
Condo+Mall+MRT+Nature Resort style of project there?

Actually possible as shop there hear was 30yrs old while The Madeira about 10yrs...maybe should check out propertyguru listing see got unit on sale!
Anyone got master plan 2012 link?

I think it could be around $1,200 psf. These MRT+mall are draining away the lure of CCR.

BB
11-02-12, 16:41
According to master plan, there are 2 small sites near Bukit Gombal mrt available for development. One of them has very high plot ratio of 3.5, at least a 40 storey high condo. Land not release for sales yet.

BB
11-02-12, 16:49
Coming New Office & Shopping Mall (Westgate) at Jurong East MRT. Opening next year 2013.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2tqfTFmh8c&feature=player_embedded

TMATT
11-02-12, 18:16
Wow,impress,they try to made west side another Marina South?
As for pot of land next to Madeira,sorry not really sure which one,got map? Tks for sharing 😉

Coming New Office & Shopping Mall (Westgate) at Jurong East MRT. Opening next year 2013.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2tqfTFmh8c&feature=player_embedded

BB
13-02-12, 20:13
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-Y4DNa30EU&feature=related

TMATT
22-04-12, 13:10
Suddenly got so many sale within a month, some big project coming up around this area?

THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 970,000 1,356 Strata 715 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 990,000 1,302 Strata 760 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 980,000 1,238 Strata 792 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 981,000 1,324 Strata 741 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 840,000 1,055 Strata 796 Mar-12

TMATT
22-04-12, 13:13
Either this writer is an owner at Madeira, or an agent who holding many unit to rent/sell at this condo :D
But very well written

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/singapore-condo-reviews/the-madeira-243

Best in the West
Posted by Regent on Mar 29, 2012

This condo is undoubtedly the BEST in the West. At an average psf of $741, it is definitely value for money compared to other condos near to MRT stations. The compound is superbly designed with plenty of open spaces, gardens, wide walkways and a huge swimming pool. One remarkable feature is the small build-up area (< 20% of total land) compared to open spaces, with ample spaces to stroll, swim, etc. [P.S., many condos nowadays have large build-up area with cramp spaces, narrow walkways, pools squeezed so close to the blocks that one can accidentally fall into the pools, or even dive into the pools directly from the unit ! ]. The condo also has great amenities (household stores, wet markets, 24-hr supermarts, coffeeshops, etc) with absolute convenience in buying daily necessities, groceries, meals, etc. It is also perfectly situated away from the busier main roads and MRT tracks, thereby providing a peaceful ambience.

Inside the condo unit, every inch of space is well utilised with no bay windows. With full height windows, the living hall and bedrooms get maximum daylight and ventilation. The kitchen is bright, spacious with a big well sheltered yard. Residents in higher floor units enjoy plenty of open scenic views of lush greenery, hills and nature reserves. Designed as 3 tower blocks and located within Bt Gombak hilly area, this condo is especially windy due to wind channelling effects. Most residents here do not need to use their air-con at all.

Lastly, the condo has been newly painted last year with its original grey+white theme matching perfectly with its modern design of big glass window panels and minimal concrete walls. Its 3 tower blocks have a beautiful architectural design capped with nice arc-shape structures, that is both elegant and visually appealing like a new modern condo.

[In contrast, some condos can have very pathetic design that look not much different from public HDB blocks; some look even more like flatted factories !].

22-04-12, 13:30
Suddenly got so many sale within a month, some big project coming up around this area?

THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 970,000 1,356 Strata 715 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 980,000 1,238 Strata 792 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 981,000 1,324 Strata 741 Mar-12
THE MADEIRA BUKIT BATOK STREET 31 Condominium 1 840,000 1,055 Strata 796 Mar-12

The land next to jurong east has been triggered for sale. Smart buyers will buy now instead of waiting any longer. The site is expected to launch $1500psf and above. Do your own maths whether now Madeira is a steal or not.

BB
16-06-12, 07:29
According to the below research, Madeira is the condo with the higest rental yield in Singapore.

http://www.squarefoot.com.sg/market-watch/rental-yield

TMATT
19-06-12, 23:51
Good information, Good Webpage.
No wonder this condo getting more interest nowaday.
You stay at Madeira?

According to the below research, Madeira is the condo with the higest rental yield in Singapore.

20-06-12, 07:24

I tot it is Geylang condos.