PDA

View Full Version : Apartment vs Condo

Windyblue
27-04-09, 14:24
Hi Everyone, I'm a relative newbie to this forum and was wondering if some of the savvy seniors here would be kind enough to enlighten me on the mind-boggling considerations of buying my first private property.

I've been visiting countless launches in D15/16 and there are condos and then there are smaller developments classified as apartments - not much facilities and with electronic gates.

I'm attracted to to the small 2/2+1 penthouses in the apartments and also the 2+1 units in the condos.

Could someone please share with me what, if any, are downsides I should be aware of when going for apartments? Do they have a different appreciation pattern in terms of value/rental? Are they not desired because smaller number of units = smaller sinking fund for maintenance etc?

I am planning to buy to stay for about 5 years before selling off or renting out. I currently have a 5-rm HDB flat.

kEN9170
27-04-09, 16:10
Hi Everyone, I'm a relative newbie to this forum and was wondering if some of the savvy seniors here would be kind enough to enlighten me on the mind-boggling considerations of buying my first private property.

I've been visiting countless launches in D15/16 and there are condos and then there are smaller developments classified as apartments - not much facilities and with electronic gates.

I'm attracted to to the small 2/2+1 penthouses in the apartments and also the 2+1 units in the condos.

Could someone please share with me what, if any, are downsides I should be aware of when going for apartments? Do they have a different appreciation pattern in terms of value/rental? Are they not desired because smaller number of units = smaller sinking fund for maintenance etc?

I am planning to buy to stay for about 5 years before selling off or renting out. I currently have a 5-rm HDB flat.

hihi, apartment usually has lesser units

Downside :
- Lesser units mean higher maintenance fees