View Full Version : Optima (D16, 99 years leasehold, TID <Hong Leong / Mitsui Fudosan>)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

SP specialist
03-07-09, 17:50
Much anticipated project of the east! Next to mrt.

99years. Total units: 297

Available unit type from 1brm (500sf), 2brm (700sf), 2+s (900sf), 3/3+s (1200sf), 4brm (1377sf to 1518sf)

Price to sell!!! Launching soon!!

To avoid disappointment, pls sms / call developer sales team at 96337533 to register your interest! :)

SP specialist
04-07-09, 11:33
Unit type available for sale:

1-Bedroom - 500 to 550 sqft
2-Bedroom - 700 to 880 sqft
2-Bedroom + study - 920 to 1000sqft
3-Bedroom - 1200 to 1260 sqft (9 unit with PES & Roof Terrace approx 1900 sqft)
3-Bedroom + study - 1240 to 1350 sqft (6 units with Roof Terrace approx 2000 sqft)
4-Bedroom - 1377 to 1518 sqft (4 units on top floor with Roof Terrace approx 2300 to 3300 sqft)

This development is located between newly going to TOP Casa Merah and mrt station.

Expected to sell out! Call / sms 96337533 to register your strong interest with me.

andyng76
04-07-09, 14:15

3-Bedroom + study - 1240 to 1350 sqft (6 units with Roof Terrace approx 2000 sqft)
4-Bedroom - 1377 to 1518 sqft (4 units on top floor with Roof Terrace approx 2300 to 3300 sqft)

This development is located between newly going to TOP Casa Merah and mrt station.

Expected to sell out! Call / sms 96337533 to register your strong interest with me.

Is the showroom ready for viewing?

wonder
04-07-09, 14:19
What is the indicative prices ?

Where is the showroom ?

SP specialist
04-07-09, 14:31
It should be ready by end july.

Indicative psf shld be comparable to Casa Merah.

If you are looking for 1 & 2brm units, please kindly drop me a msg to register your interest. As it may require queneing system.

Once i have floorplans finalise, can email to you.

WolleyDragon
04-07-09, 15:27

4 Bdrm is only 1377 sqft? that's pretty small..

04-07-09, 18:57
who is the developer for this project? :confused: wow, so many east side projects in july...which one to choose. The Gale? Waterfront Key? Oasis@elias? or this one? :beats-me-man:

04-07-09, 22:35
who is the developer for this project? :confused: wow, so many east side projects in july...which one to choose. The Gale? Waterfront Key? Oasis@elias? or this one? :beats-me-man:

forget about gale and oasis..

Honesty
04-07-09, 23:15

No need to choose now, I read the ST news couple of months ago, there are about 82 new projects coming soon.... many many many house. Don't rush to buy now.

If you notice, not many buyers for the new project like now, as most of the HDB upgrader had already got their units.

Investor will not buy now as the rental market is still very very weak.

05-07-09, 18:30
This one has very good location, next to tanah merah mrt. The only problem is noise from the mrt train and the loud announcements from the stations. :D Much better than gale and oasis. Comparable to waterfront key if the future bedok reservoir mrt is around there.

05-07-09, 23:35
This one has very good location, next to tanah merah mrt. The only problem is noise from the mrt train and the loud announcements from the stations. :D Much better than gale and oasis. Comparable to waterfront key if the future bedok reservoir mrt is around there.

so which one do you choose ? personal opinion, waterfront area may be a notch better with the park, reserviour and the short drive to expressway, better school (except for the MRT part). but probably getting oversupply, should be able to get starbuy in neat term. ;)

kEN9170
05-07-09, 23:45
so which one do you choose ? personal opinion, waterfront area may be a notch better with the park, reserviour and the short drive to expressway, better school (except for the MRT part). but probably getting oversupply, should be able to get starbuy in neat term. ;)

Future DTL along reservoir will be fully underground too. Another plus point for waterfront area - less noise. But it will only ready in 2016.

Acer
06-07-09, 09:14
any floor plan??

jitkiat
06-07-09, 09:58
Future DTL along reservoir will be fully underground too. Another plus point for waterfront area - less noise. But it will only ready in 2016.
By the time MRT is fully operational say 2018 (it is always late), your 99LH WFW will be 7 years already. Not to mention competition from Waterfront Keys and another project near Damai school which will be newer. Any capital appreciation will be countered by your lease depreciation. The best time to sell your 99LH for investment is just b4 TOP or within 6m of TOP. To buy for own stay ok, to buy becos there is huge investment potential is overly optimistic. And you better hope that when your unit TOP, Waterfront Keys has not started construction, otherwise the noise/dust from the construction will put off any potential buyer. If for your own stay, also need to endure the construction noise/dust for many years to come because of upcoming 3 new projects (Keys, the one near Damai, DBSS Bedok coming soon). Like Douk said, that area is hugely oversupplied too.

06-07-09, 16:12
So the gale better? Its the only freehold around. Just that location is too ulu. :beats-me-man:

jitkiat
06-07-09, 16:21
So the gale better? Its the only freehold around. Just that location is too ulu. :beats-me-man:

Oversupplied freehold & ulu worse than 99LH at better location & limited supplies. Check out prices of Ris Grandeur (freehold but further from MRT) vs Livia (closer to MRT) at Pasir Ris.

WolleyDragon
06-07-09, 16:26
Oversupplied freehold & ulu worse than 99LH at better location & limited supplies. Check out prices of Ris Grandeur (freehold but further from MRT) vs Livia (closer to MRT) at Pasir Ris.

Totally agree.. location location location...

jitkiat
06-07-09, 16:36
Totally agree.. location location location...
Will only buy suburban condo if can satisfy some of the following conditions:

1. 2/3 minutes walk to MRT & shopping centre with enough foreigners to sustain rental

2. 5 minutes walk to huge infrastructure development committed and ready before TOP and not yet priced into the developer's psf (e.g. Double Bay Residences close to upcoming 4th uni)

3. No empty land besides the development to be released before TOP time to compete with your project

4. Rental yield 4% or above with full or unique facilities to support it (e.g. Lakeshore)

5. Near good schools (e.g. Tresalveo/Rafflesia near RI/RJC)

6. Reputable developer and 2br must be sold out within one to two months of launch

7. Few competitive projects within 500m radius with few people willing to sell (due to good rental or whatever)

8. High HDB resale prices

If you ask me, Casa Merah or TID's new project are ok as 1980 5-room HDB already transacted at 535k near there and it satisfies most of the above

venus
11-07-09, 13:11
Does anyone here know the name of this project? Any updates? When is it launching?

Dreamerz
12-07-09, 13:54
It should be ready by end july.

Indicative psf shld be comparable to Casa Merah.

If you are looking for 1 & 2brm units, please kindly drop me a msg to register your interest. As it may require queneing system.

Once i have floorplans finalise, can email to you.

Hi I'm interested, Please pm me details ;)

hovivi
12-07-09, 21:31
heard it's known as tanah merah view... keenly waiting for the launch too.

Property_Owner
12-07-09, 23:13
4 Bdrm is only 1377 sqft? that's pretty small..

OMG, 300 units in such a BIG piece of land!!!!

Such have some unit facing MRT :doh:

Xarain
13-07-09, 13:49
Im interested also - pls drop the details to xarain(at)gmail.com

(at) = @ obviously

The Gale was like a market - had to sit on the floor to discuss financing plans :doh:

venus
13-07-09, 14:12
Looks like quite a no of us here are interested I this project.

SP specialist: Any updates?

SP specialist
13-07-09, 22:48
Sorry folks.. I manage to get the breakdown of the units type.

Here is the latest update:

5 Block of 14storey high!

Units type available
1brm est 500sqft (32units)
2brm est 840sqft - 870sqft (79units)
2+study est 910sqft - 1100sqft (70units)
3brm est 1170sqft - 1300sqft (70units)
3+study est 1260sqft - 1360sqft (18units)
4brm est 1480sqft (28units)

Pricing not confirm yet. But i reckon should be between 850psf - 900psf

Kindly drop me a sms at 9633 7533 to indicate the type you keen on and your name. Any further update will keep you guys posted.

Cheerios!

SP specialist
14-07-09, 17:23
Dear folks,

The new development next to Tanan Merah mrt is name Optima.

Floorplans & siteplan is ready. Please drop me a msg of your email address if you keen on this development.

Kindly to Q.

Cheers!!

SP specialist
14-07-09, 17:54
Sorry. What i mean is likely to Q not kindly to Q.

SP specialist
14-07-09, 23:11
Hi folks,

As there are too many floorplans to upload, sample of each bedroom type and siteplan.

Site plan
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/1774/siteplanq.th.jpg (http://img18.imageshack.us/i/siteplanq.jpg/)

One bedroom 486sqft
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/7295/1brm486sqft.th.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/i/1brm486sqft.jpg/)

Two bedroom 840sqft
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/5365/2brm840sqft.th.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/i/2brm840sqft.jpg/)

Three bedroom 1297sqft
http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/4706/3brm1297sqft.th.jpg (http://img18.imageshack.us/i/3brm1297sqft.jpg/)

Four bedroom 1542sqft
http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/4932/4brm1542sqft.th.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/i/4brm1542sqft.jpg/)

WolleyDragon
15-07-09, 09:26
Planter & Balcony seems to take up most of the area..

paying $$$ for free space to the developers..

kEN9170
15-07-09, 09:46
Planter & Balcony seems to take up most of the area..

paying $$$ for free space to the developers..

I like balcony but Planter a BIG NO NO....

jitkiat
15-07-09, 10:02
Another sell out project given quantum is low. People rather buy from developers than from Casa Merah owners because this gives them the option to speculate at 5x leverage. Pigeon hole living at suburb is coming.

condobuyer101
15-07-09, 10:34
location is good..but some of the 2 br units have only 85% of living area - after taking away the planter,balcony n a/c ledge.

I was quite keen but after knowing the px 800-900 psf..steep.

SP specialist
15-07-09, 11:07
TID bought this site at 400psf ++. Breakeven cost should be around 750psf. Most likely i guess 1/2brm units should be 850psf - 900psf.
3/4brm units should be 830psf - 860psf. Groundfloor & penthouse units should be 800psf + except onebedroom grd floor unit.

15-07-09, 11:31
I like balcony but Planter a BIG NO NO....

Yup balcony is anytime betta than planter ... but this new one to launch got no balcony for 1 & 2 bedders leh :(

WolleyDragon
15-07-09, 11:33
location is good..but some of the 2 br units have only 85% of living area - after taking away the planter,balcony n a/c ledge.

I was quite keen but after knowing the px 800-900 psf..steep.

worst still for 3> br units.. the percentage of living area maybe abt 70% of total floor area (excluding planter, bw, balcony & a/c ledge)

anyway, still think this development will sell.. mainly because of location

jitkiat
15-07-09, 11:51
worst still for 3> br units.. the percentage of living area maybe abt 70% of total floor area (excluding planter, bw, balcony & a/c ledge)

anyway, still think this development will sell.. mainly because of location

Tanah Merah sell at Bishan/Potong Pasir psf ?? Very soon it will be out of reach of HDB upgraders.

kEN9170
15-07-09, 11:52
Yup balcony is anytime betta than planter ... but this new one to launch got no balcony for 1 & 2 bedders leh :(

Ya no balcony..hmm..they should do away the planter in master-room.

Daniel_Yee
15-07-09, 13:27
Interested in this project. Can anyone enlighten what are the pros and cons? What about capital appreciation?

venus
15-07-09, 14:24
It's way overpriced at 800-900psf. No doubt location is gd but still a rip off. Besides at this price can even get a unit at D15.

jitkiat
15-07-09, 14:28
It's way overpriced at 800-900psf. No doubt location is gd but still a rip off. Besides at this price can even get a unit at D15.

The secret is at the size. 850sqft x 800 = 680k, affordable to HDB upgraders.

15-07-09, 14:51
Yah, they even have mini 2 bedders, with open kitchen and 1 toilet only. Stack 18, 694sqft only.;)

jitkiat
15-07-09, 15:04
Yah, they even have mini 2 bedders, with open kitchen and 1 toilet only. Stack 18, 694sqft only.;)
IMO, this mini 2br is better buy than the rest, pool facing (south facing) .. at least no planter in Master Bedroom, small a/c ledge ... 1 toilet ok for this kind of pigeon hole size anywhere. 694 x 880psf = 610k ... my best guess, could be higher. I met one excited young chap bought studio@>1071psf at 8@W.

Lord Anus
15-07-09, 15:08
KNN sounds like some cheap Korean car. This Hong Leong really cheena company who dunno how to choose English name.

15-07-09, 16:16
Haa haa....nowadays condos sound like cars. Over at st michael got the Airstream...sounds like honda airwave and honda stream combined new model haa haa. :rolleyes:

WolleyDragon
15-07-09, 16:29
KNN sounds like some cheap Korean car. This Hong Leong really cheena company who dunno how to choose English name.

What to do? This is a JV between a cheena company and a japanese company.. so england not very powerful.. come up with a farked up name.

jitkiat
15-07-09, 16:55
What to do? This is a JV between a cheena company and a japanese company.. so england not very powerful.. come up with a farked up name.
Hiroshima better :D May be it means profit will be "optimum".

cndomay
15-07-09, 19:38
There is another condo behind the optima. Looks like TOP soon.
Curious what is the name of the condo. 99 LH also?

optima location is not so congested as compared to simei. but loose out in conveneience as nearest amenity is bedok or simpang bedok.

15-07-09, 19:46
The one is Casa Merah loh, launched during the peak of the boom, and was all snap up within a week or two. :cool: The launch price for casa merah was 588psf in april 07....and this one is 800-900psf?! :tsk-tsk:

cndomay
15-07-09, 20:50
The one is Casa Merah loh, launched during the peak of the boom, and was all snap up within a week or two. :cool: The launch price for casa merah was 588psf in april 07....and this one is 800-900psf?! :tsk-tsk:

wah, $300 more PSF. how to buy! Casa Merah neighbour would laugh at optima buyers. optiMAX is a better name. lol

venus
15-07-09, 20:58
Our agent friend here still can say priced to sell wor...

venus
15-07-09, 21:06
TID bought this site at 400psf ++. Breakeven cost should be around 750psf. Most likely i guess 1/2brm units should be 850psf - 900psf.
3/4brm units should be 830psf - 860psf. Groundfloor & penthouse units should be 800psf + except onebedroom grd floor unit.

From what I understand, developer only paid $282psf for this plot of land.

cndomay
15-07-09, 21:16

so buyers better put on big OPTIcal-glasses before commiting to OPTIma.

btw, an example of Casa merah transaction:

Jun 09: $712k, 947SF, 752PSF, 2BR

think they shld launch optima lower than CM, as it has not been built yet.

xtink
15-07-09, 21:48
where to find one where it is not a rip-off now? with more positive news coming on, the ripper is getting richer...:(

SP specialist
15-07-09, 23:56

HI Venus, you are right. 282psf is what they had paid. Apologised. Mistaken for another project in st michael.

Pricing will be probably know tommorrow. Will update you guys.

Daniel_Yee
16-07-09, 00:25
Hmm.. You sound like a no integrity agent.. Or plain stupid, careless and forgetful.

Even if I want to buy, I won't buy from you because:-

1) No integrity. Hate agents like you..
2) Stupid, careless and forgetful. What if you forget to get the option with my cheque or what if you lose my 1% cheque..

Beware of this agent. Talk cock sing song here. 400+ psf. Say until so shoik. Pui. Disgraceful..

HI Venus, you are right. 282psf is what they had paid. Apologised. Mistaken for another project in st michael.

Daniel_Yee
16-07-09, 00:34
So Mr. SP Specialist, so now 282 psf, can I say breakeven at 600psf?

Shouldn't 1/2 bedroom sell at 700 to 750psf? 3/4 bedroom sell 680 to 710psf?

Where is your integrity?

WolleyDragon
16-07-09, 08:37
So Mr. SP Specialist, so now 282 psf, can I say breakeven at 600psf?

Shouldn't 1/2 bedroom sell at 700 to 750psf? 3/4 bedroom sell 680 to 710psf?

Where is your integrity?

Bro.. prices are not determined by agents..they are just mouthpieces promoting the development.

Daniel_Yee
16-07-09, 10:04
Yah.. Are you another agent? Same company? See the message below. This agent 'claim' the land was bought at 400psf++. So he deduce breakeven around 750psf. To earn some profit, units should be priced around 830 to 900.

My logic is, since this agent talk cock sing song like nobody business, the land psf is 282. So breakeven should be 600 right? Get me? Or are you his colleague?

No matter what, this condo will be a sure sell out. Even at 900psf. It's near MRT. I am glad I bought my TR close to 1k psf.

Originally Posted by SP specialist

Bro.. prices are not determined by agents..they are just mouthpieces promoting the development.

Property_Owner
16-07-09, 10:12
so now 282 psf, can I say breakeven at 600psf?

Breakeven I would say around $500psf. but will WT want to launch at that price? What ever price they launch they will call it current market price, current marketing sentiments. Compare to Atre, developer breakeven is about 800psf, they launch at current market price and sentiments at about avg 850psf, profit 50psf only.

I think this Optima will get good response. But just not my cup of tea. :spliff2:

kspchew
16-07-09, 10:16

Any links as to where you obtain the price of the plot of land?

jitkiat
16-07-09, 10:27
It is all at the URA website ... wonder why people will trust agent. They got it cheaper than Casa Merah actually but I am not sure whether construction cost is the same now, could be cheaper. Developers are businessman trying to maximize profit, not doing charity. Which one is bigger rip-off you decide.

psm per gross plot ratio
Casa Merah - $3,428.29 (650psf)
Optima - $3,037.75 (?)
Double Bay (Simei) - $3186.25 (680psf)
8@W - $2906.49 (810psf)
Mi Casa - $2180.64 (650psf)

venus
16-07-09, 10:28

Just go google "tid tanah merah"

condobuyer101
16-07-09, 10:38
Hi SP specialist,
looking forward to your update. Now more hopeful that price is more within my range.

venus
16-07-09, 10:49
UOL paid $296psf for DBR if im not wrong. So i'm guessing Optima's pricing should be comparable to DBR??

From the siteplan, it looks like not much facilities...only the standard stuff...nothing special. Was really keen but kinda disappointed now. The name is also a big turned off for me.

condobuyer101
16-07-09, 10:52
I think will be good to rent out?

unless you're buying for stay..

UOL paid $296psf for DBR if im not wrong. So i'm guessing Optima's pricing should be comparable to DBR??

From the siteplan, it looks like not much facilities...only the standard stuff...nothing special. Was really keen but kinda disappointed now. The name is also a big turned off for me.

jitkiat
16-07-09, 10:53

30year old 5-room HDB in Bedok is selling at 400+psf. In Simei, 20year old 5-room HDB is only 340psf. They will definitely take this into consideration. Should be slightly higher than Casa Merah asking prices of 750-800psf.

Daniel_Yee
16-07-09, 11:01
Developers of course will maximise their profit. Now is the best time to slaughter buyers. Even during recession.

But don't cheat people. Like SP Specialist, he say until 900psf is justifiable like this. Maybe now he will say something - TID bought land at 282psf. Renovation is first class and project is a very high ended design so 800 breakeven? Sell at 830psf to earn 30psf? Where is the integrity?

Really 子不教,父之过

It is all at the URA website ... wonder why people will trust agent. They got it cheaper than Casa Merah actually but I am not sure whether construction cost is the same now, could be cheaper. Developers are businessman trying to maximize profit, not doing charity. Which one is bigger rip-off you decide.

psm per gross plot ratio
Casa Merah - $3,428.29
Optima - $3,037.75
Double Bay (Simei) - $3186.25
8@W - $2906.49

venus
16-07-09, 11:12
True but they will be ppl who are willing to be slaughtered. Developers are taking advantage of kiasu singaporeans who all scared to miss the boat again.

Pardon my ignorance but does it make sense for them to sell higher than casa merah? If so, I would rather go for CM which is also new and top soon.

Daniel_Yee
16-07-09, 11:40
It does make sense because property prices shoot up when in recession. No one knows how long the recovery is going to take. This is a senseless world. No, Singapore only. The other parts of the world prices still dropping. Haha.

CM is much better because of immediate rental yield. Optima will need at least 3 years from now. But if CM cannot rent out well, then CM will continue to have lower psf than Optima but I don't think so. Rental there is not bad one. I already seen ads asking 3.5k for 2 bedders but of course, asking and getting is 2 different things but should be around $3+ psf. So a 947sq ft will fetch about 2.9 to 3.3k lor. Wow, 5% rental yield. Haha. Better than city area. Shit man. Should have bought one at CM.

Anyway, this should be a good project. Near MRT and amenities but the price :doh:

True but they will be ppl who are willing to be slaughtered. Developers are taking advantage of kiasu singaporeans who all scared to miss the boat again.

Pardon my ignorance but does it make sense for them to sell higher than casa merah? If so, I would rather go for CM which is also new and top soon.

16-07-09, 11:48
It does make sense because property prices shoot up when in recession. No one knows how long the recovery is going to take. This is a senseless world. No, Singapore only. The other parts of the world prices still dropping. Haha.

CM is much better because of immediate rental yield. Optima will need at least 3 years from now. But if CM cannot rent out well, then CM will continue to have lower psf than Optima but I don't think so. Rental there is not bad one. I already seen ads asking 3.5k for 2 bedders but of course, asking and getting is 2 different things but should be around $3+ psf. So a 947sq ft will fetch about 2.9 to 3.3k lor. Wow, 5% rental yield. Haha. Better than city area. Shit man. Should have bought one at CM.

Anyway, this should be a good project. Near MRT and amenities but the price :doh:

2 bedroom in River Valley 1260 sqft is going at 3k a mth

tanah merah can command 3,5k ? not bad at all

16-07-09, 11:50

near MRT is good .. but are you all aware that the govt is aiming at mrt everywhere ? ' no one needs to walk 500 m to the nearest station' tat's there target ...

soon ... away from MRT will become more prime than near one

WolleyDragon
16-07-09, 11:57
Yah.. Are you another agent? Same company? See the message below. This agent 'claim' the land was bought at 400psf++. So he deduce breakeven around 750psf. To earn some profit, units should be priced around 830 to 900.

My logic is, since this agent talk cock sing song like nobody business, the land psf is 282. So breakeven should be 600 right? Get me? Or are you his colleague?

No matter what, this condo will be a sure sell out. Even at 900psf. It's near MRT. I am glad I bought my TR close to 1k psf.

Originally Posted by SP specialist

WTF you talking about?? anyway, I'm laughing at your ignorance :D

jitkiat
16-07-09, 11:58
near MRT is good .. but are you all aware that the govt is aiming at mrt everywhere ? ' no one needs to walk 500 m to the nearest station' tat's there target ...

soon ... away from MRT will become more prime than near one
I beg to differ on this. The reason why car usage is still affordable (relatively low carpark charge / ERP) compared to Hong Kong is because Singapore public transport sucks. Once everywhere is MRT and express buses like London/Tokyo/Hong Kong. It will be super-expensive to drive or take taxi. Driving will be for the rich only next time. How much take taxi in Tokyo from city to airport compared to train fare?? It is going to happen to Singapore sooner or later.

BTW, LTA is already taking over as the master bus planner. They should have done this long time ago.

cndomay
16-07-09, 20:59
those units facing the mrt will be quite close to the tracks and station and be affected by the grinding mrt noise?

those facing casa m will stare at each other living room to living room?

think casa m being sited inner is better shielded from vehicle and mrt noise. and thus a better buy.

16-07-09, 21:03
I beg to differ on this. The reason why car usage is still affordable (relatively low carpark charge / ERP) compared to Hong Kong is because Singapore public transport sucks. Once everywhere is MRT and express buses like London/Tokyo/Hong Kong. It will be super-expensive to drive or take taxi. Driving will be for the rich only next time. How much take taxi in Tokyo from city to airport compared to train fare?? It is going to happen to Singapore sooner or later.

BTW, LTA is already taking over as the master bus planner. They should have done this long time ago.

precisely .. in future ..only the rich will drive .. give it some time .. singapore so small .. knowing singapoerans ..eventually they will get use to it and still drive ..

jitkiat
16-07-09, 21:09
precisely .. in future ..only the rich will drive .. give it some time .. singapore so small .. knowing singapoerans ..eventually they will get use to it and still drive ..

The road condition in Singapore is already congested compared to 10 years ago even with ERPs. Already, my friend staying in Yishun, gave up driving, convert to weekend car, and take MRT to work (equally jam-packed in the morning). Yes, can still drive your weekend car, I wonder where else in the world we have weekend cars :D

Singapore must attract the rich to survive, so must make driving condition very good for them loh :spliff: The cost of driving now is about 10-12k per year (100-120k in 10 years). May be should start a poll to see how tolerant is our forumers on the cost of owning a car. Would you drive if the cost double, triple?

16-07-09, 21:11
The road condition in Singapore is already congested compared to 10 years ago even with ERPs. Already, my friend staying in Yishun, gave up driving, convert to weekend car, and take MRT to work (equally jam-packed in the morning). Yes, can still drive your weekend car, I wonder where else in the world we have weekend cars :D

Singapore must attract the rich to survive, so must make driving condition very good for them loh :spliff:

remember govt said ..spore will be Monte carlo ?? rich poeple live there .. drive nice cars ..

if spore can achieve that .. if rich people come and live here ..this country will last for a long time ..

Property_Owner
17-07-09, 09:04

LOL, does make sense why people still spending money like no recession. You are just a loser! But this got problems, buy that got problems. Then best is dun buy! Keep your hard earn money under your pillow. Dun know are you related to another loser who claims RG will drop to 900psf but himself go and buy carebelle. hahaha:D:D:D:D:D

wqmai
17-07-09, 09:14
LOL, does make sense why people still spending money like no recession. You are just a loser! But this got problems, buy that got problems. Then best is dun buy! Keep your hard earn money under your pillow. Dun know are you related to another loser who claims RG will drop to 900psf but himself go and buy carebelle. hahaha:D:D:D:D:D

Dun call people loser la. To make money, we need all kind of people around to make money. Some people will start buying only at high prices. But imagine if no such people buying at high prices, how are you going to offload your properties at high prices?

Property_Owner
17-07-09, 09:29
Dun call people loser la. To make money, we need all kind of people around to make money. Some people will start buying only at high prices. But imagine if no such people buying at high prices, how are you going to offload your properties at high prices?

I have a worker under me earning abt $10k per month. Last heard his wife income is about $8k. But this guy doesn't own a single property. Still renting and renting for pass 6 years already. I chat with him before, from 2003 to 2005 he said no sentiments to buy, market going down, recession and so on. then in 06 he claims marketing might be picking up. May enter in the wrong time and buy high. So didn't buy also.
07/08 dun need to explains. This year in Feb I told him best time to buy, again same crap reason. Prices will go down more. :doh: He just move into a new place last 2 weeks and took a 2 years lease.

Best part of the story is I recommend him a agent for this new place for the rental. And the unit is mine(use wifey name as landlord) without him knowing. Thanks for paying my loan. :D:D:D:D:D

jitkiat
17-07-09, 09:36
remember govt said ..spore will be Monte carlo ?? rich poeple live there .. drive nice cars ..

if spore can achieve that .. if rich people come and live here ..this country will last for a long time ..
City Square Johor bahru 70% owned by GIC (bought in 2004 for 123mio USD) ... Singaporeans, spend money in JB also profit goes to GIC. :banghead: Resistance is futile :hell-hath-no-fury:

shespawn
17-07-09, 09:52
anyone going for the private preview? any idea which property agent company is assigned to this project?

Daniel_Yee
17-07-09, 12:06
Of course I have to be fussy lah. You think buy property like buy vegetable in market is it? You got $ to burn your problem but I will only buy property I think is fantastic. Maybe you are rich and have the habit of buying cock properties but I not as rich as you. Anyway, carabelle is another crap project. Will never consider. And I didn't put my hard earn money under my pillow. I put them under twin regency.

Talking about your loser RG, I do think he is a loser as well. Talk so much never buy.

shespawn
17-07-09, 13:52
sometimes i do get pretty annoyed with pple who keep talking abt buying but always complaining about the furnishings. to me, furnishings are just secondary factor, which you can easily change. Whereas location and exterior are things you can't change. of course, buying a house means another 20-30 years of liability, so better consider every factors well!

19-07-09, 23:35
So when is the VVIP preview? :beats-me-man:

Property_Owner
20-07-09, 09:44
So when is the VVIP preview? :beats-me-man:

Heard already started to collect cheque again

d_p
20-07-09, 10:41
Heard already started to collect cheque again

All these nonsense preview, vvip viewing, collect cheque are for blood sucking developer to test water ie how well the response and reception. From all these, much easier for them to come up with a figure to slaughter. :cheers1:

venus
20-07-09, 11:40
Totally agree! They get all the kar kia agents to go around hinting a high px before launch to guage the response and price accordingly.

shespawn
20-07-09, 11:42
sigh, there's always alot of these suckers or investors around to help pump up the numbers what.

jitkiat
20-07-09, 11:43
As usual, 2brs lower than 700k will get sold out with high psf just like WFK. The real challenge is how to sell the larger 3br units.

kEN9170
20-07-09, 12:00
As usual, 2brs lower than 700k will get sold out with high psf just like WFK. The real challenge is how to sell the larger 3br units.

One good point for WFK is that there's no balcony and planter for 2 bedder units from level 2 to 6.

Daniel_Yee
20-07-09, 13:38
Think this is going to be a fully sold out condo.. as usual..

shespawn
20-07-09, 14:40
Think this is going to be a fully sold out condo.. as usual..

yah, like buying mangoes at 50% discount, everyone come grab one. Might have a queue forming up 1 or 2 days before the preview launch.

jc
20-07-09, 15:59
sometimes i do get pretty annoyed with pple who keep talking abt buying but always complaining about the furnishings. to me, furnishings are just secondary factor, which you can easily change. Whereas location and exterior are things you can't change.

Agree :) Better still sell me close to bare at cheaper px, i can do up the apt on my own.

pod
24-07-09, 01:10
For those who tinks that by jus closing their windows or putting acoustic curtains will siphon off the MRT noise level can continue to dream....

I happen to stay more then 500metres away.... mind you.. i can still faintly hear when the mrt arrives...

So if u buy this ppty... u can shout across the station and ask ur maid to close ur windows if its raining...

hahaha...

Buy ppty bery bery headache.... :doh:

24-07-09, 12:58
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/news/story/0,4574,343095,00.html?

Published July 24, 2009

Preview of two condo projects planned for next week

One is next to Ang Mo Kio Hub and the other beside Tanah Merah MRT Station

TWO 99-year-leasehold condominium projects next to MRT stations are slated to be previewed next week - Far East Organization's Centro Residences next to Ang Mo Kio Hub and TID's Optima@Tanah Merah.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2009-07-24/BT_IMAGES_KROPTIMA24.jpghttp://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2009-07-24/BT_IMAGES_KROPTIMA24-68G.jpg
Price expectations: Market watchers suggest Optima (above) could be priced at about $750-$800 psf on average, while prices at Centro Residences are tipped to start from $1,150 psf

Prices at the 34-storey Centro Residences are tipped to start from $1,150 per square foot (psf). Far East bought the site at a state tender in September 2007 for $601 psf per plot ratio. That was a record price for suburban condo land.

Analysts reckon Far East's breakeven cost for the project could be close to $1,000 psf.

They suggest that Far East is releasing the project, which is along Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8, to ride on the current home buying momentum but it may release only about 100 or so units initially and sell the rest as construction proceeds to extract higher prices progressively. The condo has a total of 329 units.

Far East is starting its preview on Wednesday evening and will release two and three-bedroom units.

A typical two-bedder of about 800 square feet could cost about $900,000, while a typical three-bedroom apartment of 950 sq ft may be priced on average at about $1.15 million.

As for Optima, beside the Tanah Merah MRT Station, market watchers suggest it could be priced at about $750-$800 psf on average.

They based this estimate on current average pricing for Waterfront Key in Bedok ($735 psf) and Dakota Residences ($900 psf) and adjusted for locational differences.

The 297-unit Optima will be a 14-storey project comprising one-bedroom studio apartments as well as two, three and four-bedroom apartments plus 18 penthouses.

Developer TID is a joint venture between Mitsui Fudosan of Japan and Hong Leong Group Singapore.

Another Hong Leong unit, Tripartite Developers, previewed The Gale along Upper Changi Road two weeks ago. The 329-unit freehold project, priced at $650 to $725 psf, is over 80 per cent sold.

With the release of Centro and Optima, the pipeline of suburban condos on 99-year-leasehold sites bought at state tenders will shrink further.

This will increase impetus on developers to trigger the release of sites on the government's reserve list, analysts say.

Already, the government has announced the release of two sites from this list this week - at Chestnut Avenue and Dakota Crescent.

24-07-09, 13:41
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/444321/1/.html

Optima@Tanah Merah to be launched by end-July

Posted: 23 July 2009 1959 hrs

SINGAPORE : Property developer TID will hold a preview of its newest condominium project - Optima@Tanah Merah - before the end of this month.

Located next to the Tanah Merah MRT Interchange along New Upper Changi Road, commuters will be able to get to the city centre by train in less than 20 minutes and to Changi International Airport in about 6 minutes.

The 99-year leasehold development has 297 units that feature one-bedroom studio apartments, 2- to 4-bedroom units plus 18 penthouses which come with open balconies and terraces.

TID is a joint venture between Japan's largest listed developer, Mitsui Fudosan, and Hong Leong Group Singapore.

Its portfolio includes projects such as the St Regis Hotel and Residences, Parc Emily, Oceanfront on Sentosa, as well as The Gale, which was launched recently.

Hong Leong said interest in Optima is already building up, with over 1,000 enquiries received over the past two months.

The project is expected to receive its Temporary Occupation Permit (TOP) by 2014.

- CNA/al

Daniel_Yee
24-07-09, 15:03
This is a repost from the general section. Just for everybody info, collecting blank cheques is unethical. It is quite rampant for this project as well. Every agent I talked to has asked me to issue a blank cheque for them to try to secure a unit. The PSF is 830 to 910.

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/...ompts-warnings (http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC090724-0000081/Agents-greed-prompts-warnings)

Agents' 'greed' prompts warnings

'Fee for secure booking' practice reportedly rampant at Meadows@Peirce

by Esther Fung

05:55 AM Jul 24, 2009

THE sizzling-hot property market and the rush by buyers to secure choice units have led some property agents to turn greedy.

Some agents are offering potential buyers their services to secure a booking for their choice units if they pay them a commission. This has prompted at least two marketing agencies to warn their agents against this practice.

This scheme is reportedly rampant at the freehold Meadows@Peirce development near Teachers' Estate, which is supposed to be open for preview only from today.

Some marketing agents, however, told Today that it is the potential buyers that are offering commissions to agents to secure for them their choice units.

The fee earned by these agents is said to be about 1 per cent of the property value. With unit prices at Meadows@Peirce ranging from $900,000 to more than $1 million, these agents could potentially earn between $9,000 and more than $10,000 for each unit that they can secure for an eager buyer.

In an email to its 3,000 associates on Wednesday, ERA Realty Network, one of the marketing agents for the project, warned: "Please do NOT collect commission from buyers for Meadows@Peirce or any other projects. Anyone caught doing so will be terminated from ERA and no commission will be paid to the associates."

ERA's associate director Eugene Lim said the email was a "preventive measure".

"We want to stop it before anyone receives a commission. It is not right," he added.

Of late, ERA has been cracking the whip on its agents in an industry where complaints of rogue or ignorant agents are rife. Last week, ERA warned its agents against submitting transactions under the names of senior colleagues to garner a higher share of the commissions.

And in February, a couple successfully sued ERA after its agents profited from "flipping" an apartment they were engaged to sell. The couple had sold their apartment through ERA agent Jeremy Ang, but it turned out that the buyer, Ms Natassha Sadiq, was the wife of his boss Mike Parikh, a senior director at ERA. She immediately resold the unit for a $257,000 gain.

Another marketing agent for Meadows@Peirce also issued an email warning a few days ago. Knight Frank reminded its 700 agents that they cannot receive or ask for commission from buyers, cannot collect an entrance fee into the showflat and cannot ask for blank cheques, which can subsequently cause the buyer to feel pressured to make a purchase.

The company's executive director Foo Suan Peng said: "This is something we don't condone because it will give rise to conflict of interest."

Agents Today spoke to said the "fee for secured booking" practice happens with other projects, too. One said there was "nothing wrong" for buyers to pay agents, as both are willing parties.

Singapore Accredited Estate Agencies chief executive Tan Tee Khoon disagrees. He told Today: "The agent receives a commission from buyers when they are already hired by the developer to provide the services. That is unethical."

24-07-09, 15:12
This is a repost from the general section. Just for everybody info, collecting blank cheques is unethical. It is quite rampant for this project as well. Every agent I talked to has asked me to issue a blank cheque for them to try to secure a unit. The PSF is 830 to 910.

http://www.todayonline.com/Business/...ompts-warnings (http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC090724-0000081/Agents-greed-prompts-warnings)

Agents' 'greed' prompts warnings

'Fee for secure booking' practice reportedly rampant at Meadows@Peirce

by Esther Fung

05:55 AM Jul 24, 2009

THE sizzling-hot property market and the rush by buyers to secure choice units have led some property agents to turn greedy.

Some agents are offering potential buyers their services to secure a booking for their choice units if they pay them a commission. This has prompted at least two marketing agencies to warn their agents against this practice.

This scheme is reportedly rampant at the freehold Meadows@Peirce development near Teachers' Estate, which is supposed to be open for preview only from today.

Some marketing agents, however, told Today that it is the potential buyers that are offering commissions to agents to secure for them their choice units.

The fee earned by these agents is said to be about 1 per cent of the property value. With unit prices at Meadows@Peirce ranging from $900,000 to more than $1 million, these agents could potentially earn between $9,000 and more than $10,000 for each unit that they can secure for an eager buyer.

In an email to its 3,000 associates on Wednesday, ERA Realty Network, one of the marketing agents for the project, warned: "Please do NOT collect commission from buyers for Meadows@Peirce or any other projects. Anyone caught doing so will be terminated from ERA and no commission will be paid to the associates."

ERA's associate director Eugene Lim said the email was a "preventive measure".

"We want to stop it before anyone receives a commission. It is not right," he added.

Of late, ERA has been cracking the whip on its agents in an industry where complaints of rogue or ignorant agents are rife. Last week, ERA warned its agents against submitting transactions under the names of senior colleagues to garner a higher share of the commissions.

And in February, a couple successfully sued ERA after its agents profited from "flipping" an apartment they were engaged to sell. The couple had sold their apartment through ERA agent Jeremy Ang, but it turned out that the buyer, Ms Natassha Sadiq, was the wife of his boss Mike Parikh, a senior director at ERA. She immediately resold the unit for a $257,000 gain.

Another marketing agent for Meadows@Peirce also issued an email warning a few days ago. Knight Frank reminded its 700 agents that they cannot receive or ask for commission from buyers, cannot collect an entrance fee into the showflat and cannot ask for blank cheques, which can subsequently cause the buyer to feel pressured to make a purchase.

The company's executive director Foo Suan Peng said: "This is something we don't condone because it will give rise to conflict of interest."

Agents Today spoke to said the "fee for secured booking" practice happens with other projects, too. One said there was "nothing wrong" for buyers to pay agents, as both are willing parties.

Singapore Accredited Estate Agencies chief executive Tan Tee Khoon disagrees. He told Today: "The agent receives a commission from buyers when they are already hired by the developer to provide the services. That is unethical."

I think collecting blank cheques is ok like in those pre-booking but collecting blank cheques or helping buyers secure their choice units which requires the buyers to pay them a fee is wrong... since they are already hired by the developer. If buyers pay the agents (which I cant figure why would anyone so stupid to do that), it will be tantamount to moonlighting

24-07-09, 15:20
830 to 910psf??! :not-worthy:

xtink
24-07-09, 15:22
soon.. we will start to see people Q'g up for projects overnight liao (or had it already happened?? :confused: )

then that will be the time to start looking for buyers for your house very soon....

venus
24-07-09, 16:06
830 to 910psf??! :not-worthy:

There will still be ppl queuing to buy. These ppl hv gone out of perspective.

24-07-09, 20:40
I will be going to take a look....after missing the starbuys of waterfront waves, missed out on the preview of the gale, loose to kiasu people of waterfront key and priced out at the meadows. Hopfully this one will bring some hope... :not-worthy:

24-07-09, 20:48
this kind of price for tanah merah still worth a look meh?

I will be going to take a look....after missing the starbuys of waterfront waves, missed out on the preview of the gale, loose to kiasu people of waterfront key and priced out at the meadows. Hopfully this one will bring some hope... :not-worthy:

kEN9170
24-07-09, 21:20

When i bot a starbuy unit at WFW, people around me said I'm crazy.
But now they :banghead: !

24-07-09, 23:14
At more than 800psf for Tanah merah? I suggest you go for WFK. WFK has more units released today..

the reservior and nice surrounding will make those condos stand out from other mass market projects in long term.:2cents:

Property_Owner
25-07-09, 11:24

When I bought Sail, my wife ask me go eat shit. In 07 I ask her go eat shit.
When I bought Reflection, I ask my wife go eat shit. Now wifey asking me to eat shit. :doh:

25-07-09, 11:54
So buy Optima will eat shit or not? :rolleyes:

Property_Owner
25-07-09, 12:42

Can hold the shit first. Never knows. I feel got chance leh.

cndomay
25-07-09, 12:44
optima ' the most anticipated launch ' - wonder why it is so.

its only star point is the mrt.

25-07-09, 13:37

if u think this way chances are... u may overpay ~~ :eek:

home-run
25-07-09, 14:28
HOTTEST NEW LAUNCH !!

Location: Tanah Merah Kecil Avenue, opposite Tanah Merah MRT station

Tenure: 99-years leasehold

Total Units: 297 (5 towers, 14 storeys)

Site Area: 106,299.88 sq ft

Facilities: Full facilities condo with free form pools and tennis court

Unit Types:
1 bedroom ~ 504-596sqft
2 bedroom ~ 714-1400sqft
2+1bedroom ~ 948-1699sqft
3 bedroom ~ 1211-2020sqft
3+1 bedroom ~ 1288-2393sqft
4 bedroom ~ 1456s-3046sqft

Salient Points:

- Up & Coming Business & Academic Hub at Changi Business Park/Singapore Expo/Offices for high-tech firms e.g IBM & Honeywell, Future admin and IT support for several banks.

- Future 4th University, opening next to Spore Expo, 2 new integrated retail / hotel / business park to be built, Which means it will be an expat haven with attractive rental yields! – Being home to four recreational clubs, TMCC/NSRCC/LNCC/SAFYC, Tanah Merah offers a vast spectrum of recreational choices such as golfing, tennis, bowling, swimming and water sports amongst other activities.

REGISTER FOR VIP PREVIEW NOW!!!
START BOOKING YOUR CHOICE UNITS!!!

ONLY 20% DOWNPAYMENT & $0 TILL TOP!!!

SALES ENQUIRY HOTLINE : 81835132/97673202

Est VIP Preview : 31st July 09

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o133/cristiano7bsc/Optima/289_OptimaPicture.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o133/cristiano7bsc/Optima/288_TanahmerahsiteplanINFO.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o133/cristiano7bsc/Optima/288_TMFloorPlan1rm2rrm.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o133/cristiano7bsc/Optima/288_TMFloorPlan4rm.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o133/cristiano7bsc/Optima/288_TMFloorPlan.jpg

:cheers6:

driftwave
25-07-09, 16:48
Frankly speaking.....if ur intent is to stay in for the next 10yrs....i dun think anyone will eat shit.....No matter how, SG is still an Island....

At the end of the day, all of us are going to eat and shit in it as well......:scared-4: hehehe......

noblebaby
25-07-09, 17:54
me too, when i buy ppl ask me eat shit... now i ask them eat shit...

noblebaby
25-07-09, 17:56
Why all the mass market condos design look the same???

kEN9170
25-07-09, 17:58

ya...all looks similar...Dakota Residences, WFK, Optima.......

driftwave
25-07-09, 18:00
just like fashion.....its more of trend.....at the moment the only unique design for mass mkt condo is Mi Casa...

noblebaby
25-07-09, 18:25
maybe.... even those mid-tier condos also look the same... one tower... thin structure... one lap pool, nothing else... boring...

just like fashion.....its more of trend.....at the moment the only unique design for mass mkt condo is Mi Casa...

25-07-09, 21:50

perhaps more saving on the architect's fee.

pod
25-07-09, 22:45

The 3 bedroom design looks exactly like my friends HDB flat... ha ha ha... except that there is no wasted balcony space....

26-07-09, 00:07
....if only this one can sell 580psf like the Caspian.....:rolleyes:

driftwave
26-07-09, 00:11
Conspiracy Thoery....wahahahaha....:D

perhaps more saving on the architect's fee.

kEN9170
26-07-09, 07:10
Sunday Times - property section reported Optma will be sold at $900psf.:scared-4:

optima ' the most anticipated launch ' - wonder why it is so.

its only star point is the mrt.

26-07-09, 07:53
Sunday Times - property section reported Optma will be sold at $900psf.:scared-4:

:banghead: I think can forget it liao....any more projects in the pipeline?

kEN9170
26-07-09, 08:47

Can i invite you to join our Crazy Club Family at Waterfront Waves? :)
Re-consider Waterfront Key?

You can also join Mr Kiat @ Double Bay Residences. Very near MRT, CBP and 4th uni, Eastpoint Mall,....etc, etc. :D

New launch in the East :
Elliot @ East Coast (Freehold) - shld be more expansive(http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Elliot+at+East+Coast+launching+soon/)

Other launches :
http://www.h88.com.sg/index.php?category=Property+Launches

26-07-09, 09:31
Even they price it at 1k psf, also sell out one. Nowadays, buyers buy with their ass. AMK 1150psf. 1st floor at 1k psf. I think that is a joke. I know huttons has already received a lot of cheques for optima even around 850-900psf so this one confirm sell out one... On that day, even if huttons say 950 to 1000psf, you think buyers won't buy?

Our parents use their brains to buy houses. Nowadays, use ass to think. What a transformational change..

ipoh72
26-07-09, 09:38
we need more of these ppl so tat the next bubble will come and burst quickly
Even they price it at 1k psf, also sell out one. Nowadays, buyers buy with their ass. AMK 1150psf. 1st floor at 1k psf. I think that is a joke. I know huttons has already received a lot of cheques for optima even around 850-900psf so this one confirm sell out one... On that day, even if huttons say 950 to 1000psf, you think buyers won't buy?

Our parents use their brains to buy houses. Nowadays, use ass to think. What a transformational change..

ipoh72
26-07-09, 09:47
is this the normal practice, to give a signed chq to a stranger agent?

cndomay
26-07-09, 09:57

Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions [ GK Chesterson ]
the fallacy that the market is cheap has become fashionable!

cndomay
26-07-09, 10:04

nothing strange. he is no stranger but one who makes peoples dream come true, ha ha

26-07-09, 14:35
plus hdb the bedroom 2 and bedroom 3 is much bigger.

The 3 bedroom design looks exactly like my friends HDB flat... ha ha ha... except that there is no wasted balcony space....

forte
26-07-09, 16:35

wow $900psf!!! This is one of the project i was very interested in when i started house hunting earlier this year....so glad gotten my WFW during starbuy instead of waiting for this as it will really be out of my range....

26-07-09, 16:58
no signature.

26-07-09, 17:02
wow $900psf!!! This is one of the project i was very interested in when i started house hunting earlier this year....so glad gotten my WFW during starbuy instead of waiting for this as it will really be out of my range....

Good for u. Starbuy is worth it.

Daniel_Yee
26-07-09, 17:19
Depends.. 6 months ago, no way. Agent begging you to come and see showflat. Open until 8pm and have red carpet for you.

Now, you want the unit, you better give a cheque. If not, there are many buyers waiting to give cheque.

At the end of the day, huttons will probably consolidate all the cheques, up the price for those popular units, and tell buyers that optima starts from 1000psf. At 1k psf, still got takers one. Agents will tell you if AMK can sell 1150psf, optima at 1k psf is a steal. Especially if tanah merah location is surrounded by landed properties, just like sixth avenue. With MRT somemore.

So it really depends how badly you want the unit. Now, the market is if you want to buy, then give cheque. If not, there are hundreds of cheques waiting. Casa Merah buyers must be laughing all the way now. Heard TOP next month and TID come out with something so spectacular.

26-07-09, 17:25
anyone know how much psf cash merah is fetching now?

Depends.. 6 months ago, no way. Agent begging you to come and see showflat. Open until 8pm and have red carpet for you.

Now, you want the unit, you better give a cheque. If not, there are many buyers waiting to give cheque.

At the end of the day, huttons will probably consolidate all the cheques, up the price for those popular units, and tell buyers that optima starts from 1000psf. At 1k psf, still got takers one. Agents will tell you if AMK can sell 1150psf, optima at 1k psf is a steal. Especially if tanah merah location is surrounded by landed properties, just like sixth avenue. With MRT somemore.

So it really depends how badly you want the unit. Now, the market is if you want to buy, then give cheque. If not, there are hundreds of cheques waiting. Casa Merah buyers must be laughing all the way now. Heard TOP next month and TID come out with something so spectacular.

Daniel_Yee
26-07-09, 17:30
Not so sure about this week. Last week, was window shopping around, asking price is ridiculous. First floor is asking 750k. Mid floor 800k and above. High floor some asking 860k. All are 2 bedders. 3 bedders worse. I didn't even bother to enquire further. Most are 1 mil and above. Crazy world (or you can say I miss the downturn :banghead::banghead:). I think this week went up again? Now, agents tell me no one want to sell below 850psf when next door is asking around 900psf. Knn..

kEN9170
26-07-09, 17:31

There was a caveat logged on 6Jul09, blk 52, #06-06, 1238sqft @ $751psf.

Any idea why Casa Merah is classified as Apartment and not Condominium status?

wkang1970
26-07-09, 17:55
apartment or condo status, does that matter? nowaday either one come with facilities, unlike in the past. what matter is the price!

kEN9170
26-07-09, 18:01
apartment or condo status, does that matter? nowaday either one come with facilities, unlike in the past. what matter is the price!

True both status come with facilities. But any difference in price?

Daniel_Yee
26-07-09, 18:04
900+ k for a 3 bedroom.. Crazy price. Condominium need to satisfy certain requirement. But no difference one. If you see got enough facilities, there isn't any difference. I think a lot of condos having lesser facilities than casa merah. Esta is one of them. Anyway, The Sail is also an apartment :). But you see the psf..

wkang1970
26-07-09, 18:14
i dun think there is any different in price. for pte ppty, what matter is the location.

jitkiat
26-07-09, 18:34
Can i invite you to join our Crazy Club Family at Waterfront Waves? :)
Re-consider Waterfront Key?

You can also join Mr Kiat @ Double Bay Residences. Very near MRT, CBP and 4th uni, Eastpoint Mall,....etc, etc. :D

Thank you for support. 3 bedrooms @ DBR now selling like hotcakes btn 680-720psf (850-900k). If Optima is really selling at 850-900psf. It makes DBR selling price looks cheap as it is only one MRT stop away but with more facilities, a mall & nearer to the 4th uni. :D

IMO, Optima developer is making big bet that smaller unit, high psf can sell. See whether they can sell 700sqft pigeon hole at 900psf or not. If sold out, it will set a new benchmark at suburb pigeon hole living. Demand most likely come from 3r or 4-room (small) HDB upgraders.

kEN9170
26-07-09, 19:43
Agreed DBR will be a good buy if Optima is selling at 900psf.

Thank you for support. 3 bedrooms @ DBR now selling like hotcakes btn 680-720psf (850-900k). If Optima is really selling at 850-900psf. It makes DBR selling price looks cheap as it is only one MRT stop away but with more facilities, a mall & nearer to the 4th uni. :D

IMO, Optima developer is making big bet that smaller unit, high psf can sell. See whether they can sell 700sqft pigeon hole at 900psf or not. If sold out, it will set a new benchmark at suburb pigeon hole living. Demand most likely come from 3r or 4-room (small) HDB upgraders.

Daniel_Yee
26-07-09, 20:03
Yup. Agree. DBR is a better buy if Optima sells 850-900. Unless those who mind surrounded by HDB, then need to go for Optima. Not a lot of condos now surrounded by landed like sixth ave or Tg Rhu. If not, then no reason to buy Optima. Somemore, DBR got a mall 10 mins walk away only but Optima got nothing yet. Unless suddenly, a mall pop up and finish building in 2 years time then Optima is a better buy.

Then again, if you read today straits times, buyers are nuts now. Don't know if I miss the boat (again!) or it is a blessing in disguise :beats-me-man:.

Honesty
26-07-09, 21:02
Yup. Agree. DBR is a better buy if Optima sells 850-900. Unless those who mind surrounded by HDB, then need to go for Optima. Not a lot of condos now surrounded by landed like sixth ave or Tg Rhu. If not, then no reason to buy Optima. Somemore, DBR got a mall 10 mins walk away only but Optima got nothing yet. Unless suddenly, a mall pop up and finish building in 2 years time then Optima is a better buy.

Then again, if you read today straits times, buyers are nuts now. Don't know if I miss the boat (again!) or it is a blessing in disguise :beats-me-man:.

Don't worry Daniel, the boat you miss got hole in it and it will sink very soon. Ther will be plenty of boats coming by this year end...:spliff:

LadyJ
26-07-09, 21:34
Don't worry Daniel, the boat you miss got hole in it and it will sink very soon. Ther will be plenty of boats coming by this year end...:spliff:

Those who put in a blank cheque for this condo just because there is a MRT nearby are in serious trouble. Purchasing at 900psf, they will probably see their doomsday, no way going to sell the place and make a profit 'cos this is no D9,10,11 or even near places like Queenstown, Redhill and East Coast.

ipoh72
26-07-09, 22:30
this is looking like 96 and 97, people always never learn from past lessons .... with 900psf for a pigeon hole, DBR and casa merah is a much better choice now, if you can afford.

Those who put in a blank cheque for this condo just because there is a MRT nearby are in serious trouble. Purchasing at 900psf, they will probably see their doomsday, no way going to sell the place and make a profit 'cos this is no D9,10,11 or even near places like Queenstown, Redhill and East Coast.

26-07-09, 22:32

if they are nuts, all the more u shld not go nuts with them ~ ;)

26-07-09, 23:07
Wait till the condo at AMK launch at 1150psf in the next few weeks. How to subsale??????? Seriously, there is no way anyone will pay 1300psf for AMK !!! That is why I say, Optima will sell out at 900psf because one dick is launching in a location worse than tanah merah but 250psf more.

26-07-09, 23:12
DBR not bad and I like the design actually. But if anyone has been to there should notice the track noise. Piang eh, will go deaf man. And I stand at the other side already, not below the track one. Sound like crane passing by every 2-3 mins. As for CM, asking price is high (all asking more than 800psf already) but still lower than Optima. I know I am fussy but I am sure everyone want their money to be well spent.

this is looking like 96 and 97, people always never learn from past lessons .... with 900psf for a pigeon hole, DBR and casa merah is a much better choice now, if you can afford.

pod
26-07-09, 23:20

how do u search to even list the unit number?

I tot URA website only show size & psf only?

26-07-09, 23:21
Not so sure about this week. Last week, was window shopping around, asking price is ridiculous. First floor is asking 750k. Mid floor 800k and above. High floor some asking 860k. All are 2 bedders. 3 bedders worse. I didn't even bother to enquire further. Most are 1 mil and above. Crazy world (or you can say I miss the downturn :banghead::banghead:). I think this week went up again? Now, agents tell me no one want to sell below 850psf when next door is asking around 900psf. Knn..

:doh: really looks like bursting bubble.. but the more we think it is not sustainable, the more bullish it becomes..:beats-me-man:

Honesty
26-07-09, 23:38
:doh: really looks like bursting bubble.. but the more we think it is not sustainable, the more bullish it becomes..:beats-me-man:

There are small percentage of funny people around in singapore, so let them be lor... let them be the bull....

shespawn
27-07-09, 10:33
I remembered many years ago, i was in the 4 hr queue to buy CM and even got the choice unit 2 bedder facing the pool. back then, they were 720psf, and we were like: "crazy man, the prices are mad, we won't give in to this frantic buying." then came the recession, prices was still holding well. now come TOP, even the west sun facing unit is selling 750+ psf. Pple are still buying. so what is new abt $900psf? afterall, there are still willing parties.

Daniel_Yee
27-07-09, 11:24
800psf and above liao...

I remembered many years ago, i was in the 4 hr queue to buy CM and even got the choice unit 2 bedder facing the pool. back then, they were 720psf, and we were like: "crazy man, the prices are mad, we won't give in to this frantic buying." then came the recession, prices was still holding well. now come TOP, even the west sun facing unit is selling 750+ psf. Pple are still buying. so what is new abt $900psf? afterall, there are still willing parties.

27-07-09, 11:50

I was at the casa merah launch also....but never buy, thought it was crazy price. :rolleyes:

venus
27-07-09, 12:18

720psf?? I went to the preview for invited guest, it was going for around 580psf only leh. NTUC members got further discount as well. Then developer increase price to 600+ psf few days later due to overwhelming response.

shespawn
27-07-09, 12:52
I was at the casa merah launch also....but never buy, thought it was crazy price. :rolleyes:

yah me too, but crazy pple bought last time all making good profit. i least i got a better deal, but just another 3 years of wait.

720psf?? I went to the preview for invited guest, it was going for around 580psf only leh. NTUC members got further discount as well. Then developer increase price to 600+ psf few days later due to overwhelming response.
The 580psf is probably the 3 bedroom ones. I was also at the private preview there too. or should i say, most singaporeans since they are all ntuc members.

venus
27-07-09, 13:13
yah me too, but crazy pple bought last time all making good profit. i least i got a better deal, but just another 3 years of wait.

The 580psf is probably the 3 bedroom ones. I was also at the private preview there too. or should i say, most singaporeans since they are all ntuc members.

Haha im not ntuc member la. yes u r right, was enquiring on 3 bedders. Wah u mean the psf for 2 and 3 br differs by so much? This is truely crazy! even at 580psf (during that time) I already thought it was a tad expensive. At that time my friend just bought a 3 br unit at savannah for only 560k, works out to be less than 500psf.

Easting
27-07-09, 13:27
drove by the place and all the property agents sweating there, swarming for business, just like meadow @ pierce. For the price of 900psf, might as well search at more upscale place like costa del sol, the older condos of bayshore park, the bayshore, the summit or the upcoming FH like breeze by east, balcon east and East Coast Residences. But got to be fast as prices in the area are relatively untap and will be in the "radar zone" soon. Recently costa del sol started to inch towards 1100psf for good units in early July, check out the reports in The Edge property articles.

WolleyDragon
27-07-09, 15:51
drove by the place and all the property agents sweating there, swarming for business, just like meadow @ pierce. For the price of 900psf, might as well search at more upscale place like costa del sol, the older condos of bayshore park, the bayshore, the summit or the upcoming FH like breeze by east, balcon east and East Coast Residences. But got to be fast as prices in the area are relatively untap and will be in the "radar zone" soon. Recently costa del sol started to inch towards 1100psf for good units in early July, check out the reports in The Edge property articles.

Yeah, I know what you mean.. macham like driving/cruising past the Geylang lorongs..the free-lancers will strike their best poses..

Over there at Tanah Merah Kecil, the same will happen to these agents..:doh:

Dreamer
27-07-09, 21:19
Drove passed Optima site at about 7+pm already saw queue forming up...about 20 of them with umbrellas under the rain. :scared-1:

Gosh! it 5 more days before the launch and these people intend to queue for so many nights? Not that it is cheap...:confused:

cndomay
27-07-09, 21:27

in 2007, an american couple lost S$10M ( in singapore ), when their lawyer went missing with their property payment.

so it is quite right to feel concerned :)

venus
27-07-09, 21:41
Drove passed Optima site at about 7+pm already saw queue forming up...about 20 of them with umbrellas under the rain. :scared-1:

Gosh! it 5 more days before the launch and these people intend to queue for so many nights? Not that it is cheap...:confused:

Are u sure they are buyers and not agents hanging around? If ppl start queuing the nite b4 i won't be surprised. But 5 days before?!! OMG are they nuts or what? So gian meh?

PropertiesHunter
27-07-09, 21:44
There are 30-40 ppl there queueing at 7pm. Some are agents from CBRE

wkang1970
27-07-09, 22:24
if this project can sell at 900psf, then city fringe can sell above 1000psf. YEAH!!!! :im-so-happy:

noblebaby
27-07-09, 22:40
think ard 750-800psf....

if this project can sell at 900psf, then city fringe can sell above 1000psf. YEAH!!!! :im-so-happy:

d_p
27-07-09, 22:45

It could be developer or the exclusive marketing agent paying bangala to q to generate the hype mah. Developer profit in millions, what is afew K for them to pay ppl to q. Anyway they will make back easily from all the kuku buyers mah.:2cents:

27-07-09, 22:51
think ard 750-800psf....

Hopefully this will be the real pricing.....:not-worthy:

Honesty
27-07-09, 22:52
if this project can sell at 900psf, then city fringe can sell above 1000psf. YEAH!!!!

Of course you can.:im-so-happy:There are plenty of suckers out there waiting to buy at $1,000 psf for further than city fringe... I think city fringe can sell more then that.

noblebaby
27-07-09, 22:53
CBRE declined to comment... market sources, average is 750-850psf....

for this price, i wont buy also, crazy...

Hopefully this will be the real pricing.....:not-worthy:

SP specialist
27-07-09, 23:36
Currently the Q had accumulated more than 100!!! I cant imagine the demand is so hot for this project. Btw, they are selling at least 900psf abv for 2bedders and close to 1000psf for 1bedders. I told my buyers this price to go in is risky but is up to him to choose.

27-07-09, 23:51
What?! U mean there are 100 people Q-ing at the showflat now? :eek: :scared-1:

venus
28-07-09, 00:12
These ppl are digging their own grave :hell-hath-no-fury:

Property_Owner
28-07-09, 10:09
What?! U mean there are 100 people Q-ing at the showflat now? :eek: :scared-1:

Some are been paid by developer la. Make people gian loh. Just like in a hawker center

shespawn
28-07-09, 10:10
wah, this is getting out of hand.. prices 850psf are One Amber prices last time! i think it's mostly investors buying hoping to resale to HDB upgraders. Queue for 4 days??? like buying MacDonald Hallo Kitty toys, no price sensitvity at all.

kEN9170
28-07-09, 10:16
Some are been paid by developer la. Make people gian loh. Just like in a hawker center

The queue was dispersed by TID last nite. The crowd was told the queue no count. The sales will only start this Fri.

ipoh72
28-07-09, 10:25
and worst we have "hardworking" agent in this forum hyping up the whole thing such as saying the price will be 1000psf when the developer have not even anounced them ...
wah, this is getting out of hand.. prices 850psf are One Amber prices last time! i think it's mostly investors buying hoping to resale to HDB upgraders. Queue for 4 days??? like buying MacDonald Hallo Kitty toys, no price sensitvity at all.

cndomay
28-07-09, 12:49
and worst we have "hardworking" agent in this forum hyping up the whole thing such as saying the price will be 1000psf when the developer have not even anounced them ...

developer claimed this is the last piece of land next to tanah merah mrt for condo, so miss this chance and regret. ( anyone can confirm this is correct? )

having known that there are people willing to queue for days to book a unit, what will the developer do? they will be fools if they don't capitalise on the 'pent up demand'

sabian
28-07-09, 12:56
still have another plot on the other side of the commercial plot.

optima is sitting on 1 of the 3 plots.

cndomay
28-07-09, 13:14

someone told me there is going to be a mall next to optima. but since optima's launch never say a word abt it, think it will not happen in next 10 years.

and with plots still available, relax abit lah

Daniel_Yee
28-07-09, 13:15
Center will be shopping mall. On the other far side, will be another condo.

developer claimed this is the last piece of land next to tanah merah mrt for condo, so miss this chance and regret. ( anyone can confirm this is correct? )

having known that there are people willing to queue for days to book a unit, what will the developer do? they will be fools if they don't capitalise on the 'pent up demand'

shespawn
28-07-09, 13:32

I suspect so too, check out the master plan 2008, you be able to see that the middle site is for commercial while both sites next to it is meant for residential.

http://www.ura.gov.sg/mp08/map.jsf?goToRegion=SIN

28-07-09, 13:36
"At another suburban condo, Optima, located next to the Tanah Merah MRT station, more than 40 people lined up yesterday afternoon to stake claim on the 297 units for sale, even before the showflat opens on Friday.

Many of those in the Optima queue were property agents holding places for their clients with blank cheques in hand.

However, some in the queue were possibly property agents lining up with a view to buying properties for their own investment purposes.

Pricing for the 99-year leasehold project has not even been finalised, according to developer TID, a tie-up between Hong Leong Group and Japan's Mitsui Fudosan.

Agents estimate that prices will be about $750 to $850 psf, with two-bedroom units going for about $600,000 to $700,000 and three-bedroom units from $700,000 to over $800,000.

They say buyers are so keen on the units that they have submitted blank cheques for them to fill in the amounts once the price list is available - a fairly common tactic in a boom market, and one that has resurfaced in recent weeks.

TID was alerted to the existence of the queue at about 5pm yesterday. At 10pm last night, TID representatives told those in the queue to go home, saying that the queue would not be recognised. The queue soon dispersed.

'We're not going to sell anything until Friday,' a Hong Leong spokesman had said earlier. A preview would be held for Hong Leong and TID staff on Thursday.

Last week, Hong Leong said in a press release that more than 1,000 inquiries have come in for Optima, which it said was 'the last condominium site available in the vicinity' of the Tanah Merah area."

The more I read this, the more I think TID self-directed the whole episode, from the 1000 enquiries press release last week to the dispersing of the queue yesterday night hee. I find this really amusing.

ipoh72
28-07-09, 14:02
they have to capitalised this possible the last launch of the area to capture buyer with last burst of fire before the 7th month .... ....
"At another suburban condo, Optima, located next to the Tanah Merah MRT station, more than 40 people lined up yesterday afternoon to stake claim on the 297 units for sale, even before the showflat opens on Friday.

Many of those in the Optima queue were property agents holding places for their clients with blank cheques in hand.

However, some in the queue were possibly property agents lining up with a view to buying properties for their own investment purposes.

Pricing for the 99-year leasehold project has not even been finalised, according to developer TID, a tie-up between Hong Leong Group and Japan's Mitsui Fudosan.

Agents estimate that prices will be about $750 to $850 psf, with two-bedroom units going for about $600,000 to $700,000 and three-bedroom units from $700,000 to over $800,000.

They say buyers are so keen on the units that they have submitted blank cheques for them to fill in the amounts once the price list is available - a fairly common tactic in a boom market, and one that has resurfaced in recent weeks.

TID was alerted to the existence of the queue at about 5pm yesterday. At 10pm last night, TID representatives told those in the queue to go home, saying that the queue would not be recognised. The queue soon dispersed.

'We're not going to sell anything until Friday,' a Hong Leong spokesman had said earlier. A preview would be held for Hong Leong and TID staff on Thursday.

Last week, Hong Leong said in a press release that more than 1,000 inquiries have come in for Optima, which it said was 'the last condominium site available in the vicinity' of the Tanah Merah area."

The more I read this, the more I think TID self-directed the whole episode, from the 1000 enquiries press release last week to the dispersing of the queue yesterday night hee. I find this really amusing.

venus
28-07-09, 14:06
someone told me there is going to be a mall next to optima. but since optima's launch never say a word abt it, think it will not happen in next 10 years.

and with plots still available, relax abit lah

The rumour about shopping mall has been going on for years and til now still no news at all. Anyway ura can always change the plan again u nvr know. There is already a new mall coming up few km away at bedok, may not be viable to hv another one at TM.

28-07-09, 14:28
[quote=Daniel_Yee]It does make sense because property prices shoot up when in recession. No one knows how long the recovery is going to take. This is a senseless world. No, Singapore only. The other parts of the world prices still dropping. Haha.
----------------
Prices are still a good 10% to 20% lower than the peak of 2007. Take a look at this report from Bloomberg on the situation in the US. Demand for new housing has also increased. Developers are always trying to push the pricing boundaries and everyone is hoping to cash in on the current buying wave.

Published July 28, 2009

Sharpest rise in US new-home sales in 8 years

June's 11% gain points to housing slump stabilising

(WASHINGTON) Purchases of new homes in the US climbed 11 per cent last month, the biggest gain in eight years, underscoring evidence that the deepest housing slump since the Great Depression is starting to stabilise.

Sales increased to a 384,000 annual pace, higher than any forecast of economists surveyed by Bloomberg News and the most since November, figures from the Commerce Department showed yesterday in Washington. The number of houses on the market dropped to the lowest level in more than a decade.

Falling prices and a drop in mortgage rates have started to lure buyers even as the unemployment rate rises. Economists estimate that the worst US recession in five decades is on the verge of ending as downturns in housing and manufacturing ease.

'We are making some progress in absorbing this huge inventory overhang' and that 'is a fundamental step we need to take to begin to see home prices improve', said Robert Dye, a senior economist at PNC Financial Services Group in Pittsburgh. At the same time, rising joblessness means 'a rebound will be modest at best', he added.

Economists forecast that new home sales would rise to 352,000, according to the median of 62 projections in a Bloomberg News survey. Estimates ranged from 335,000 to 377,000. Commerce revised May's reading up to a 346,000 rate from a previously reported 342,000.

'The data will reinforce the developing thinking that the housing market has bottomed and that the economy has stabilised and will grow in the third quarter,' said Jim Awad, managing director at Zephyr Management in New York.

The median price of a new home decreased 12 per cent to US$206,200 from US$234,300 in June last year. Last month's value compares with US$219,000 in May.

Sales of new homes were down 21 per cent from June last year. They reached a record-low 329,000 in January, down 76 per cent from the July 2005 peak.

The jump in sales last month was led by a 43 per cent surge in the Midwest. Purchases increased 29 per cent in the North-east and 23 per cent in the West. They dropped 5.3 per cent in the South, to the lowest level since January 1991.

Builders had 281,000 houses on the market last month, down 4.1 per cent from May and the fewest since February 1998. The number of unsold properites fell a record 36 per cent from June last year. It would take 8.8 months to sell all homes at the current sales pace, the lowest level since October 2007.

Other reports underscore the stabilisation in housing. The Wells Fargo/National Association of Homebuilders sentiment index has risen in five of the past six months, and existing home sales have increased for three months in a row. -- Bloomberg, Reuters

jitkiat
28-07-09, 14:43
The rumour about shopping mall has been going on for years and til now still no news at all. Anyway ura can always change the plan again u nvr know. There is already a new mall coming up few km away at bedok, may not be viable to hv another one at TM.
It is not viable to have a mall with just a few condos and landed properties. Even Eastpoint mall @ Simei biz is not that good sometimes. For ppl who stay in TM, Simei or Bedok, they can also go to T3@Changi or Tampines only a few MRT stops away.

Daniel_Yee
28-07-09, 15:39
Ya lor.. You have to read carefully. Prices in US still dropping mah. 12% last month. Still no recovery. Just that people buy when price is deemed cheap. Must remember, more buyers doesn't mean prices going up. Maybe people think it is damn cheap that is why they buy.

But in Singapore, prices went up like 10-30% in the last 2 months?

[quote=Daniel_Yee]It does make sense because property prices shoot up when in recession. No one knows how long the recovery is going to take. This is a senseless world. No, Singapore only. The other parts of the world prices still dropping. Haha.
----------------
Prices are still a good 10% to 20% lower than the peak of 2007. Take a look at this report from Bloomberg on the situation in the US. Demand for new housing has also increased. Developers are always trying to push the pricing boundaries and everyone is hoping to cash in on the current buying wave.

Published July 28, 2009

Sharpest rise in US new-home sales in 8 years

June's 11% gain points to housing slump stabilising

(WASHINGTON) Purchases of new homes in the US climbed 11 per cent last month, the biggest gain in eight years, underscoring evidence that the deepest housing slump since the Great Depression is starting to stabilise.

Property_Owner
28-07-09, 21:22
Some tips. Try looking at project at MRT line EW6. Some good buys.

Honesty
28-07-09, 22:24
[quote=Daniel_Yee]Ya lor.. You have to read carefully. Prices in US still dropping mah. 12% last month. Still no recovery. Just that people buy when price is deemed cheap. Must remember, more buyers doesn't mean prices going up. Maybe people think it is damn cheap that is why they buy.

You are right...US 'buy' cos it prices is cheap, just like our prices in Feb and Mar 09.

Now is longer cheap...don't understand why people still keep buying.

Why we can see the different and others can't....

venus
28-07-09, 22:41
kiasu...monkey see monkey do mah. Let these ppl cheong 1st until the bubble burst. Then that will be the time when clear headed ppl move in for good buy.

shespawn
28-07-09, 22:43
[quote=Daniel_Yee]Ya lor.. You have to read carefully. Prices in US still dropping mah. 12% last month. Still no recovery. Just that people buy when price is deemed cheap. Must remember, more buyers doesn't mean prices going up. Maybe people think it is damn cheap that is why they buy.

You are right...US 'buy' cos it prices is cheap, just like our prices in Feb and Mar 09.

Now is longer cheap...don't understand why people still keep buying.

Why we can see the different and others can't....

i also wonder why too.. maybe they have a crystal ball at home.

hkching
29-07-09, 01:07
[quote=Honesty]

i also wonder why too.. maybe they have a crystal ball at home.

I guess people feel that when economy fully recovers then the price will shoot further up.

When we say prices are high now, what are we comparing against? 6 mths ago or 2 year ago, etc...? My feeling is that after the price stablise, a new benchmark price for private property will emerge. Then a few years down the road, it will be normal to pay 900psf for private property any where in Singapore.

WolleyDragon
29-07-09, 08:50
kiasu...monkey see monkey do mah. Let these ppl cheong 1st until the bubble burst. Then that will be the time when clear headed ppl move in for good buy.

There's never a good time to buy.. simply, if you like what you see and can afford it, then take the plunge. :)

venus
29-07-09, 12:52
There's never a good time to buy.. simply, if you like what you see and can afford it, then take the plunge. :)

I agree with u that if u like it and afford it just buy.... but not at a ridiculously high price. When I bought my first home 10 yrs back I just bought it cos i liked the plc, could afford it and didn't mind paying a premium. Was young and inexperience then and didn't think too much about future value and things like that. Many years later when I needed to upgrade to a bigger plc I had to sell it at a big loss. It was a very painful lesson.
:(

ipoh72
29-07-09, 13:09
well, it takes some painful lesson for some of us to wake up ... me too ... bought at high and now still cant sell ... good thing is I cant sell my place now so couldnt be bothered with the property craze that is going on now .... :)
I agree with u that if u like it and afford it just buy.... but not at a ridiculously high price. When I bought my first home 10 yrs back I just bought it cos i liked the plc, could afford it and didn't mind paying a premium. Was young and inexperience then and didn't think too much about future value and things like that. Many years later when I needed to upgrade to a bigger plc I had to sell it at a big loss. It was a very painful lesson.
:(

venus
29-07-09, 13:22
well, it takes some painful lesson for some of us to wake up ... me too ... bought at high and now still cant sell ... good thing is I cant sell my place now so couldnt be bothered with the property craze that is going on now .... :)

Now property prices so high u should take this opprtunity to sell it rite? As for me I managed to rent out out 2 years. When the lease was up I managed to find a buyer so decided to cut my losses and move on. As it was 99 years and thought the longer I hold the harder too sell later.

So ppl dun learn the hard way like us. The 1st thing we learn about trading is buy low sell high. not buy high and hope it will go higher. :o

29-07-09, 14:56
[quote=shespawn]

I guess people feel that when economy fully recovers then the price will shoot further up.

When we say prices are high now, what are we comparing against? 6 mths ago or 2 year ago, etc...? My feeling is that after the price stablise, a new benchmark price for private property will emerge. Then a few years down the road, it will be normal to pay 900psf for private property any where in Singapore.

I think so too....its like new launch 450psf with a 3 bedroom unit costing around 550k in 2004 will never happen again.:(

kEN9170
29-07-09, 15:08
[quote=hkching]

I think so too....its like new launch 450psf with a 3 bedroom unit costing around 550k in 2004 will never happen again.:(

There is a saying "the current low/peak are always higher than the previous low/peak". Maybe this is true...:(

shespawn
29-07-09, 15:26
[quote=hkching]

yah loh, imagine you saved enough to buy during the bad times, and the bad times also commanding 800psf, like saving for something that will never materialise. or just be in longer debt to own it.
our salary is not increasing every month lah.

WolleyDragon
29-07-09, 15:48

Back in 2006, I was happily comfortable with a budget of abt $700K plus.. and off went to look for a 3 Bdrm FH condo.. (my naivety was using 2003 ~ 2004 prices to gauge my purchase price) when the Agents asked about my budget.. they could only snigger that my amt was not enough at all.. :doh:

Back then, no forums like this to help share on launches, prices, and condo facilities..

KOVAN
29-07-09, 16:13
Back in 2006, I was happily comfortable with a budget of abt $700K plus.. and off went to look for a 3 Bdrm FH condo.. (my naivety was using 2003 ~ 2004 prices to gauge my purchase price) when the Agents asked about my budget.. they could only snigger that my amt was not enough at all.. :doh:

Back then, no forums like this to help share on launches, prices, and
condo facilities.. Yeah now your $700K plus can only buy a 2brrm FH condo 4mnth ago:beats-me-man:

tanumy
29-07-09, 20:18
the price so high rather buy DBR at simei which is better choice in terms of value and money.

hovivi
29-07-09, 21:10
mah bow tan said there are signs of speculation in the mkt. He prob heard of the absurb price here and how so many trying to justify it is alright!

jitkiat
29-07-09, 22:03
the price so high rather buy DBR at simei which is better choice in terms of value and money.

Aiya, no use lah, many of these people, cannot afford 3 room @ DBR 830k(1259sqft@660psf) but can afford to buy pigeon hole 2br unit at 630k (700sqft@900psf)

Honesty
29-07-09, 23:07
Now property prices so high u should take this opprtunity to sell it rite? As for me I managed to rent out out 2 years. When the lease was up I managed to find a buyer so decided to cut my losses and move on. As it was 99 years and thought the longer I hold the harder too sell later.

So ppl dun learn the hard way like us. The 1st thing we learn about trading is buy low sell high. not buy high and hope it will go higher. :o

Beware Buyers!!!!:scared-5: :scared-5: :scared-5:

Below is what the real market we are in:-

"He added that it is uncertain if the buying momentum seen in recent months can be sustained."

"The forecast is still for negative growth this year. Although it's not as negative as it was in the beginning of the year. I think there is still uncertainty... But what is important really is for all of us, all the players in the market, to make sure that the market remains healthy," said Mr Mah.

kal
30-07-09, 04:18
then ask Mr Mxx priced the toa payoh and simei DBSS lower la, then those new launches around those area wont dare to price high high mah.. DBSS priced high high, condo of course must be higher rite.. common sense !!

990113d03
30-07-09, 08:51
Interestingly, if we compared the DBSS Park Central in AMK with Centro, Park Central is priced ~$500psf while Centro is priced ~1150psf. Thats a 650psf difference! Compared to DBSS Parc Lumiere in Simei with DBR, Parc Lumiere is priced ~$425psf while DBR is priced ~$670psf. A narrower price difference of $245psf only. And if we compared DBSS Natural Loft in Bishan with Clover by the Park, Natural Loft is priced ~550psf while Clover by the Park is priced ~750psf. A even narrower price difference of 200psf! Considering purely land cost and building cost, what do u guys tink should be the difference in psf bet a DBSS(99yrs LH) and condo(99yrs LH) in the same vincinity taking into consideration that DBSS interior is similar to condo but with no external facilities like gym, tennis court, pools?

wkang1970
30-07-09, 13:33
Aiya, no use lah, many of these people, cannot afford 3 room @ DBR 830k(1259sqft@660psf) but can afford to buy pigeon hole 2br unit at 630k (700sqft@900psf)

the way i see it, 1) DBR is too far away from city 2) pigeon hole is nearer to city. So no choice rather pay cheaper (in term for quantum)for nearer to city but smaller unit. :)

Daniel Foo
30-07-09, 14:43
Interestingly, if we compared the DBSS Park Central in AMK with Centro, Park Central is priced ~$500psf while Centro is priced ~1150psf. Thats a 650psf difference! Compared to DBSS Parc Lumiere in Simei with DBR, Parc Lumiere is priced ~$425psf while DBR is priced ~$670psf. A narrower price difference of $245psf only. And if we compared DBSS Natural Loft in Bishan with Clover by the Park, Natural Loft is priced ~550psf while Clover by the Park is priced ~750psf. A even narrower price difference of 200psf! Considering purely land cost and building cost, what do u guys tink should be the difference in psf bet a DBSS(99yrs LH) and condo(99yrs LH) in the same vincinity taking into consideration that DBSS interior is similar to condo but with no external facilities like gym, tennis court, pools?

Good analysis, the government should seriously step in to price the DBSS cheaper and affordable. This would cool off the pent up demand. With this, the crowd will shift away from Mass Region project to DBSS instead.

Government currently taking a wait & see approach on property speculation and preventing the property balloon to burst.
They have announced intention to release more URA land to developers and also releasing more new homes in the next 2 years. With this news on property speculation yesterday, the property stock counter have threaded downwards. Thus property flippers, better take a careful approach, do not get burnt !!:spliff:

jitkiat
30-07-09, 15:07
Don't underestimate the pent-up demand. The HDB upgraders all bought low low at 2009-5 = 2004 where you can get Queenstown at 250k, Duxton @ 300k, Punggol at 200k. These upgraders, sitting on 200+k of profit & saving accummulated for 5 years, are eagerly waiting to jump into condo worth 800k to 1 million dollars. Money no issue to them as they already have almost 300-400k of cash on hand.

Next year, pent-up demand comes from those who bought HDB at 2005, still cheap. The HDB 5-year cannot sell policy make sure pent-up demand is slowly coming on-board every year ... unless we have another external shock ... looks like the game has just begun

990113d03
30-07-09, 15:12
Good analysis, Jitkiat, that is the reason for the pent up demand. The HDB upgraders who bought HDB cheap in 2004. I believe next 2 years, there will still be pent up demand from HDB upgraders as HDB prices from 2005-2006 is still relatively cheap compared to 2007-2009.

hovivi
30-07-09, 22:44
jus bk fm showflat. Fish mkt! Super crowded.

jitkiat
30-07-09, 22:51
jus bk fm showflat. Fish mkt! Super crowded.

What is the 2bedroom psf? 850?

venus
30-07-09, 23:55
some of the small units...think studio ....is going for 1000psf!!!

pod
31-07-09, 00:56
traffic going to be super jam soon with all 4 condos up! roads all so narrow.....

venus
31-07-09, 01:21
The entrance are all on diff road so not too bad.

pod
31-07-09, 01:27
The entrance are all on diff road so not too bad.

The main road are with a marked bus lanes. During peak hours, left 2 lanes. 1 straight 1 turning lanes. Private estates = 1 lane. True that openings are different, but when u have 4 condos n a huge plot of pte estates behind with a school off loading students will make a difference. This place is unique as the condos are located abit too near the main road hence bottle neck will be common in near future. (actually already is now, cos i ply these roads daily)

Otherwise, if just taking public transport like bus or rail service then is super convenient. :D

venus
31-07-09, 01:51
If there really gonna be a shopping mall next time traffic will be even worse.

pod
31-07-09, 01:54
If there really gonna be a shopping mall next time traffic will be even worse.

u r right...... faints:doh:

Maybe good for renting out easily.... :D

Daniel Foo
31-07-09, 02:04
The main road are with a marked bus lanes. During peak hours, left 2 lanes. 1 straight 1 turning lanes. Private estates = 1 lane. True that openings are different, but when u have 4 condos n a huge plot of pte estates behind with a school off loading students will make a difference. This place is unique as the condos are located abit too near the main road hence bottle neck will be common in near future. (actually already is now, cos i ply these roads daily)

Otherwise, if just taking public transport like bus or rail service then is super convenient. :D

There is actually "4 different routes" or entry point to get to Casa Merah :-

1) via Upper Changi Rd, turn left immediatley after The Tanamera condo, then pass East Meadow condo, drive along the big open field and turn left to CM.

2) same as above via Upper Changi Road too,but immediately after Tanah Merah MRT turn left (before flower nursery). You will have to pass by Optima condo first then to Casa Merah.

3) come in from via Bedok Road, i.e from the back via Simpang Bedok side (passing all the eateries and Bedok Market Place).

4) same as route (1) above, but going thru the landed property turning through Tanah Merah Kecil Ave and hit downwards to Casa Merah

Congestion is the least concern as there are many entry points to Casa Merah. Thus jam not an issue even with 10 condos there.

Only lately all the crazy frenzy over the Optima with many agents & people queing & parking their cars illegally in front of Casa Merah thus causing obstruction. :spliff2:

Solution: Just call 999 if people park illegally & that should do the trick...:D

venus
31-07-09, 02:18
Anyone bought a unit? The bathrooms finishing is very nice....

Sea
31-07-09, 03:10
Update:

160 units released for sales, balance only 13 units!!

Sms at 90686016 on new launch of units!!

noblebaby
31-07-09, 09:56
crazy................

Update:

160 units released for sales, balance only 13 units!!

Sms at 90686016 on new launch of units!!

Acer
31-07-09, 10:18
u know what is the psf??
if its 1000
then faint liao

why ppl can buy at such a hi psf.
do they think it will go up to 1100?

:scared-4:

gohsoonk
31-07-09, 10:19

The biggest variable in the price difference is the land cost and the developer. Different developers have different "styles" in pricing.

31-07-09, 10:21
From today's Straits Times,

"The interest was evident last night at Tanah Merah, where crowds gathered at the 297-unit Optima showflat although the public launch is scheduled for today.
The response was so strong that the developer TID held a ballot at midnight for about 300 genuine buyers who were queueing outside the showflat earlier so they did not have to stay overnight.
They had submitted cheques together with their application form by 9.30pm for the 120 units on offer at an average early-bird price of $790 per sq ft (psf), said a spokesman."

Ok lah, psf was not so crazy which explains the good response but the process of getting a unit described above certainly is crazy.

u know what is the psf??
if its 1000
then faint liao

jitkiat
31-07-09, 10:25
From today's Straits Times,

"The interest was evident last night at Tanah Merah, where crowds gathered at the 297-unit Optima showflat although the public launch is scheduled for today.
The response was so strong that the developer TID held a ballot at midnight for about 300 genuine buyers who were queueing outside the showflat earlier so they did not have to stay overnight.
They had submitted cheques together with their application form by 9.30pm for the 120 units on offer at an average early-bird price of $790 per sq ft (psf), said a spokesman."

Ok lah, psf was not so crazy which explains the good response but the process of getting a unit described above certainly is crazy.

So 700sqft x 800psf = 560k for a 2 bedroom with 1 toilet + open kitchen ... only for young couple with at most 1 kid I guess ... price will go up today liao

31-07-09, 10:27
again, another reputable developer shrinking sizes to get higher psf just like at centro.

So 700sqft x 800psf = 560k for a 2 bedroom with 1 toilet + open kitchen ... only for young couple with at most 1 kid I guess ... price will go up today liao

jitkiat
31-07-09, 10:31
again, another reputable developer shrinking sizes to get higher psf just like at centro.
If you read another thread, ppl buying condo nowadays concern about electricity bill :doh:

So small is good, can on air-con whole day still electricity bill cheap. Small is good becos pay less maintenance. Small is good so 1 baby is enough. Small is good then in-laws don't come and stay. Small is good so can hold HDB and rent out. :D

Developers just give what people want. Market is always right.

venus
31-07-09, 11:06
u know what is the psf??
if its 1000
then faint liao

Not to worry, 1000psf is only for a handful of small unit lah. Was really really crowded so only managed to take a glance of the pricelist. Good thing they go by balloting. Heard their own staff already took up abt 80 units even before they let public go in. But only those with cheques in hand are let in.

Property_Owner
31-07-09, 11:11
If you read another thread, ppl buying condo nowadays concern about electricity bill :doh:

So small is good, can on air-con whole day still electricity bill cheap. Small is good becos pay less maintenance. Small is good so 1 baby is enough. Small is good then in-laws don't come and stay. Small is good so can hold HDB and rent out. :D

Developers just give what people want. Market is always right.

Well said.:cheers1:

Property_Owner
31-07-09, 11:12
Anyone bought a unit? The bathrooms finishing is very nice....

How much time you spend in your bathrooms? When poo time so happy. finishing so good.

Daniel_Yee
31-07-09, 11:16
You wait long long.. I was there last night..

3 bedders facing Casa Merah starting from 750psf (first floor) to 900psf (high floor)
2 bedders starting from 900psf to 960psf
Studio from 1000 to 1100psf

For quantum wise

3 bedders - 980k (first floor) to 1.3M (high floor)
2 bedders - 630k to 880k
Studio from - 500k to 600k

By 3am, left 10 units. I didn't manage to get any. Now, developer is going to raise the price to more than 1k psf for 2 bedders.. How to buy??

Property_Owner
31-07-09, 11:27
By 3am, left 10 units. I didn't manage to get any. Now, developer is going to raise the price to more than 1k psf for 2 bedders.. How to buy??

Relax pal. I think I found another good buy. D9, 1300psf only. sure have things to buy.

Daniel Foo
31-07-09, 11:32

3 bedders facing Casa Merah starting from 750psf (first floor) to 900psf (high floor)

For quantum wise

2 bedders - 630k to 880k

Brudder Yee, your price above I believe is the normal que price.
Do you know what is the developer's price for those Hong Leong blokes?
How many units allocated for Hong Leong people?

wkang1970
31-07-09, 11:37
Relax pal. I think I found another good buy. D9, 1300psf only. sure have things to buy.

U sure D9 will want to sell 1300psf now, seeing suburban is selling above 1000psf, even city fringe may not want to sell lower than suburban. :2cents:

Daniel_Yee
31-07-09, 11:41
Hi Daniel (sound like calling myself), I have no idea what is the price for HL staff.

You are right about the price. What I was quoted is for normal people like me. Anyway, my agent just called me. Optima will released the remaining 140 units for balloting. Total 150 units. Balloting will take place at 4pm. In other words, the showflat is built just for 1 day usage. But will be open for the next few weeks for buyers to view. According to my agent, this one will sell out in less than a day and set a new record. Don't know how true or he tua kang only. The price will be up about 50-100psf for all units. Of course la, developer seeing so many people queuing and fighting, of course up the psf. They see gold bars lining up presenting to them. Hahaha. Was told that Optima is one of the rare condo having studio units along the MRT and thus, the heavy demand for it. Again, don't know got tua kang or not. As of now, developer has 400 blank cheques for 150 units. I don't even want to go down already...

Latest price from agent:-

Studio (limited units) - 1050psf to 1200psf
2 bedders - 1000psf to 1100psf

Brudder Yee, your price above I believe is the normal que price.
Do you know what is the developer's price for those Hong Leong blokes?
How many units allocated for Hong Leong people?

pod
31-07-09, 11:45
at this price.... no capital gain..... rental yield....??

Mayb buy for own stay ok.... dun expect any income from this.. cos Leasehold & also paid a premium....

the other 3 immediate condos behind laffing n enjoying the sudden appreciation of their properties...

BUY BUY BUY!:D

31-07-09, 11:46

For quantum wise

2 bedders - 630k to 880k

buy choa chu kang lor
also walking distance to MRT ..be CCK station or Yew Tee station ..at least 5 condos there ... 1281 sqft stillway below 1 mio ...

jitkiat
31-07-09, 11:48
Hi Daniel (sound like calling myself), I have no idea what is the price for HL staff.

You are right about the price. What I was quoted is for normal people like me. Anyway, my agent just called me. Optima will released the remaining 140 units for balloting. Total 150 units. Balloting will take place at 4pm. In other words, the showflat is built just for 1 day usage. But will be open for the next few weeks for buyers to view. According to my agent, this one will sell out in less than a day and set a new record. Don't know how true or he tua kang only. The price will be up about 50-100psf for all units. Of course la, developer seeing so many people queuing and fighting, of course up the psf. They see gold bars lining up presenting to them. Hahaha. Was told that Optima is one of the rare condo having studio units along the MRT and thus, the heavy demand for it. Again, don't know got tua kang or not. As of now, developer has 400 blank cheques for 150 units. I don't even want to go down already...

Latest price from agent:-

Studio (limited units) - 1050psf to 1200psf
2 bedders - 1000psf to 1100psf

DBR has about 10 units of studios ... all sold out on 1st day launch... range from 750psf (low floor non-pool view) to 898psf (high floor poolview) only in March.

Property_Owner
31-07-09, 12:16
U sure D9 will want to sell 1300psf now, seeing suburban is selling above 1000psf, even city fringe may not want to sell lower than suburban. :2cents:

Take the challenge. Buy if it's really 1300psf. Ask Proud_owner, he knows too. I just share with him. Can you believe it? Bet you can't right? D9 @ 1300psf.

jitkiat
31-07-09, 12:28
Take the challenge. Buy if it's really 1300psf. Ask Proud_owner, he knows too. I just share with him. Can you believe it? Bet you can't right? D9 @ 1300psf.

It depends on how old and how big. Quantum too big ppl cant afford bcos bank don't want to lend.

Daniel_Yee
31-07-09, 13:20
By the way, those price I quote haven't include developer discount of 6 to 8%. I don't understand them. Just give one price lah..

Just received the price for 2 bedders:-

750 to 800k. Haven't discount yet.

Acer
31-07-09, 13:45
they marked up the price then discount

dun you guys think is the same

discount is just a marketing tools

Daniel_Yee
31-07-09, 13:59
Maybe people feel more shoik when they got discount.. To me, it's the same.

Anyway, at 930 to 970psf for 2 bedders, might as well go buy OA or Esta. Top up a bit only. Then again, no MRT lah.. OA and Esta sellers will be thinking if Optima can subsale 1000psf, mine can subsale 1200 liao..

they marked up the price then discount

dun you guys think is the same

discount is just a marketing tools

Daniel Foo
31-07-09, 14:32
Maybe people feel more shoik when they got discount.. To me, it's the same.

Anyway, at 930 to 970psf for 2 bedders, might as well go buy OA or Esta. Top up a bit only. Then again, no MRT lah.. OA and Esta sellers will be thinking if Optima can subsale 1000psf, mine can subsale 1200 liao..

latest 2 BR = 880-920 (depending on floor)
1 BR= 1000- 1050(depending on floor)

after all the discount etc:doh:

ipoh72
31-07-09, 14:49
can someone confirm this. is it true that the developer bought the land in 03, so how many years will be left if it's going to TOP in 2014 ?

latest 2 BR = 880-920 (depending on floor)
1 BR= 1000- 1050(depending on floor)

after all the discount etc:doh: