View Full Version : Twin Peaks (D9, 99 years leasehold, OUE)

20-05-10, 22:31
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/companies/story/0,4574,386501-1274299140,00.html?

Published May 19, 2010

OUE to launch Twin Peaks next month

Pricing flagged at $2,700-3,200 psf, with one-bedders going for $1.5m

By EMILYN YAP

OVERSEAS Union Enterprise (OUE) will launch Twin Peaks - a project at the site of The Grangeford - next month.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2010-05-19/BT_IMAGES_EYTWIN19.jpg
Fully furnished: One-bedders at 550-570 square feet will make up 60 per cent of the 462-unit project

The property group is also looking to boost its residential portfolio and is in talks for some development projects.

OUE CEO Thio Gim Hock shared these updates with BT yesterday. Apartments at the 99-year Twin Peaks at Leonie Hill Road will be fully furnished and the group will launch them at 'market rates', Mr Thio said.

A source flagged the possible selling price at $2,700-3,200 per square foot, and estimated that a one-bedroom unit could cost around $1.5 million.

One-bedders at 550-570 square feet will make up 60 per cent of the 462-unit project. The remaining units will comprise two-bedders measuring 1,060 sq ft, and three-bedders at 1,400-1,900 sq ft.

The said prices are comparable to those at projects nearby. Caveats lodged with the authorities show a unit at Grange Infinite changing hands for $2,862 psf last month.

Official records also note that back in August 2007, five units at The Lumos were sold for a median price of $3,334 psf.

Property consultants felt that Twin Peaks would attract some buyers despite the relatively high psf price. DTZ executive director (consulting) Ong Choon Fah noted that the location is attractive. She added that with more one-bedders available, the absolute outlay is more affordable.

Knight Frank managing director of residential services Peter Ow also said that investors who wish to lease out their apartments straightaway will benefit from the furnishings.

Buyers can choose from a list of furnishings, which include Herman Miller chairs and Foscarini lamps. OUE is able to get discounts on these items through bulk purchase - a Herman Miller chair can cost some 40 per cent less than the retail price.

It is not clear how much the furnishings add to development costs. According to a Rider Levett Bucknall report in March, a luxury quality condominium can cost $334-465 psf of gross floor area to build. The unit land price for The Grangeford was reported to be $1,810 psf per plot ratio.

OUE will have fully furnished units at other projects if there is good reception for Twin Peaks, Mr Thio said. Twin Peaks is OUE's only residential site now, but 'we have some development projects we are negotiating', he said.

More launches are slated to come in the next few weeks. Allgreen will have a preview for The Cascadia, a freehold project at Bukit Timah, this weekend. BT understands that selling prices will range from $1,400 psf to $1,600 psf.

21-05-10, 00:11
knn 1.5 mil for a one bedder??? :scared-4: i think the market has gone crazy!!!

21-05-10, 00:41
99 year leasehold somemore. if it is iconic like Orchard Residences maybe more attractive.

21-05-10, 00:47
this kind of market i dont know why buyers still come out in droves to get "chop vegetable head"...:doh: :doh:

21-05-10, 02:02
but don't know what the response is like for this project next month. quite many units, thrown in fully furnished, 99 year leasehold in luxury prime segment. untested market.

this kind of market i dont know why buyers still come out in droves to get "chop vegetable head"...:doh: :doh:

ahlahdin
21-05-10, 07:21
one bedder for $1.5m is crazy meh? obviously you haven't seen anything in marina bay yet.

21-05-10, 10:26
same thought...1.5mil for a 1bedder is not shocking. ard 3k psf very norm in orchard vicinity...however, its a 99LH being priced at FH prices...tats y throw in fully furnished to make up for tat?

21-05-10, 10:42
how much u guys 1 bedder rental can fetch? 3.5k for a 1.5mil ppty...somemore 99LH :beats-me-man:

21-05-10, 11:45
even at 3.5k / mth for a 4xxsf unit, it is a pathetic 2.x% yield. At least Espada is a freehold project as you have rightly pointed this is 99yr

how much u guys 1 bedder rental can fetch? 3.5k for a 1.5mil ppty...somemore 99LH :beats-me-man:

21-05-10, 15:12
Nowadays 1 bedders are selling like hot cakes. Suburbs one-bedder in any location can go for >$1kpsf. So the developers must have thought "this is Orchard road leh" and so multiply by 3x and increase to $3k PSF lor. I'm sure there are still buyers. $1.5m is within reach for many Singaporeans, esp for those who have been yearning and yearning for an Orchard Road address. I remember one local actress Kym Ng say she will not buy a house in any place other than Orchard Road. So this type of people will buy - it's like a dream come true to tell people they have "made it" in life and now stay in Orchard :)

21-05-10, 23:11
Can get a decent freehold 1 bedder 5xxsf for less than 1 mil at The Oxley so no point paying 1.5 mil for a 4xxsf unit whioch is 99yr only.

Nowadays 1 bedders are selling like hot cakes. Suburbs one-bedder in any location can go for >$1kpsf. So the developers must have thought "this is Orchard road leh" and so multiply by 3x and increase to $3k PSF lor. I'm sure there are still buyers. $1.5m is within reach for many Singaporeans, esp for those who have been yearning and yearning for an Orchard Road address. I remember one local actress Kym Ng say she will not buy a house in any place other than Orchard Road. So this type of people will buy - it's like a dream come true to tell people they have "made it" in life and now stay in Orchard :)

21-05-10, 23:15

Are you referring to the God of Fortune, who has arrived in Singapore?

http://www.mouseinfo.com/forums/../gallery/files/4/1/2/7/cny_10_jumping_jam__0_original.jpg (http://www.mouseinfo.com/forums/../gallery/showimage.php?i=25896&original=1)

21-05-10, 23:18
Kym Ng looks a bit like Mickey Mouse anyway, so the MM units will probably appeal to her

noblebaby
23-05-10, 00:21
First fully furnished condo...

The furniture will be a mix of contempory pieces and elegant classics from the 1930s to 1950s... From Cassina Utrect to Eames!!!

07-09-10, 08:28
From BT today "BT understands OUE will officially roll out Twin Peaks, a high-end project in Leonie Hill Road, on Sept 18. And Frasers Centrepoint has said it will go ahead with the launch of Esparina Residences - an executive condominium (EC) project at Sengkang - in October as planned.
Another EC project - the Canopy, by MCC Land at Yishun - is also scheduled for launch in October."

finally launching on sep 18.

cashrich
07-09-10, 08:43
From BT today "BT understands OUE will officially roll out Twin Peaks, a high-end project in Leonie Hill Road, on Sept 18. And Frasers Centrepoint has said it will go ahead with the launch of Esparina Residences - an executive condominium (EC) project at Sengkang - in October as planned.
Another EC project - the Canopy, by MCC Land at Yishun - is also scheduled for launch in October."

finally launching on sep 18.

All high end ones, or should I say... luxury (expansive) type, out of mass market will continue to be launched.

Mass market will be affected as HDB folks are temporarily removed from the market. They will come back when things stablise and have more cash!

08-09-10, 11:22
Actual sales performance of such "high-end" condos were hardly reported in the papers. Mainly because they really don't do very well in today's sentiments - so developers will keep it low-key. Transaction volume is woefully low. Therefore, even with new measures, the sales performance will be "unaffected" because sales performance was never great to begin with even prior to the pecuniary measures :)

08-09-10, 11:53
let's see how many units they sell in sep for this project.

Actual sales performance of such "high-end" condos were hardly reported in the papers. Mainly because they really don't do very well in today's sentiments - so developers will keep it low-key. Transaction volume is woefully low. Therefore, even with new measures, the sales performance will be "unaffected" because sales performance was never great to begin with even prior to the pecuniary measures :)

cashrich
08-09-10, 12:11

so you mean to say before that was "bad" and now its "worst" or at beast remain as "bad".

09-09-10, 14:41
Actually I think very small MM units in Ochard might sell well. It is the standard size units above 1200 sq ft that may have problems moving. Imagine 1200 x 3k psf = $3.6 million which is out-of-reach for most Singaporeans. Also $3.6 million can buy a few suburban units for investment etc - don't need to be stuck in one property. And Singaporeans, by and large, are mostly middle-class. I always use SIA first class and business class as a gauge - most Singaporeans only travel first/business if it's on company account. If use their own pocket, the majority still travel economy with entire family - which means every thousand dollars matter lah.

So very small units keeping quantum at around $1.5 million - probably can move. There are always "wannabes" wanted to be seen at certain locality for "status" - nevermind whole family cramped into a tiny area. But standard size units that you still find in many suburban launches will be very difficult to move in prime areas in today's climate and prices. Imagine paying $3.6 million for airspace that is size of 4-room flat. Most will reconsider. That's why this Twin Peaks specialise in small units - developer probably know that standard size units are not longer "affordable" or "compelling" at today's outrageous launch prices.

let's see how many units they sell in sep for this project.

09-09-10, 14:45
and 99 year leasehold somemore hehehe.

i agree that 3 to 5m category, locals will think twice before investing, more of a foreigners game.

Actually I think very small MM units in Ochard might sell well. It is the standard size units above 1200 sq ft that may have problems moving. Imagine 1200 x 3k psf = $3.6 million which is out-of-reach for most Singaporeans. Also $3.6 million can buy a few suburban units for investment etc - don't need to be stuck in one property. And Singaporeans, by and large, are mostly middle-class. I always use SIA first class and business class as a gauge - most Singaporeans only travel first/business if it's on company account. If use their own pocket, the majority still travel economy with entire family - which means every thousand dollars matter lah.

So very small units keeping quantum at around $1.5 million - probably can move. There are always "wannabes" wanted to be seen at certain locality for "status" - nevermind whole family cramped into a tiny area. But standard size units that you still find in many suburban launches will be very difficult to move in prime areas in today's climate and prices. Imagine paying $3.6 million for airspace that is size of 5-room flat. Most will reconsider.

09-09-10, 18:17
and 99 year leasehold somemore hehehe.

i agree that 3 to 5m category, locals will think twice before investing, more of a foreigners game.

wah...3-5mil...:scared-5:

me 2mil oredi tink and tink and tink....:ashamed1:

cashrich
09-09-10, 18:40
Maybe the name Twin Dips! is more suitable.

Most fitting when a double dip recession actually happens.

09-09-10, 19:56
i thought u were the one who said 3 to 5m no problem, still many local buyers can afford? hee...maybe not so after the 70% ltv kicks in hor? :ashamed1:

wah...3-5mil...:scared-5:

me 2mil oredi tink and tink and tink....:ashamed1:

09-09-10, 22:17
i thought u were the one who said 3 to 5m no problem, still many local buyers can afford? hee...maybe not so after the 70% ltv kicks in hor? :ashamed1:

i cannot afford 3-5mil....tats y those who can afford 3-5mil shd haf super strong holding power....:p

i nvr took anything more den 60% b4....so unless ltv reduce to 50% den affect me lor:p

09-09-10, 22:22
yah, but had u taken 80% and/or bot only 1 or 2 ppties, u can afford 3-5m too and we both know of pple who are currently doing so. ;) so much for "super strong holding power" hehehe. but i agree that above 5m should really be super strong holding power liao, bank won't anyhow grant for that category.

i cannot afford 3-5mil....tats y those who can afford 3-5mil shd haf super strong holding power....:p

i nvr took anything more den 60% b4....so unless ltv reduce to 50% den affect me lor:p

09-09-10, 22:31
yah, but had u taken 80% and/or bot only 1 or 2 ppties, u can afford 3-5m too and we both know of pple who are currently doing so. ;) so much for "super strong holding power" hehehe. but i agree that above 5m should really be super strong holding power liao, bank won't anyhow grant for that category.

i tink those who bot more den 5mil ppty got different set of problems/worries.

if not, y we get to see firesales for such ppty...

09-09-10, 23:36
i tink those who bot more den 5mil ppty got different set of problems/worries.

if not, y we get to see firesales for such ppty...

even for a 2.5 mio prop .. 10 pct more is 250k cash ..

thats like 50pct of the price of those MM units

for that matter .. the whole 30 pct (assuming no CPF used) is 750k, already the whole cost of a MM

its quite a big amt to put in for 'speculation' ..

so i see ... that segment $2.5 mio and above properties to slow down ...

10-09-10, 00:40
even for a 2.5 mio prop .. 10 pct more is 250k cash ..

thats like 50pct of the price of those MM units

for that matter .. the whole 30 pct (assuming no CPF used) is 750k, already the whole cost of a MM

its quite a big amt to put in for 'speculation' ..

so i see ... that segment $2.5 mio and above properties to slow down ...

to some every cent counts...to some every dollar counts...to some every 100k counts....and to some every 1mil den count?:p

19-09-10, 22:53
any1 been to the showflat? saw big big advertisement today...

i like the facade:D

20-09-10, 00:38

I thought D9 are all FH. Does the Developer keep the deed? Sounds like the trend is Developer selling FH in 99 or 103 Lease.
Is there a way for small player to do this? For example, when collective sale happens, the owner will keep the land and just sell 99 Lease to the new Developer?

20-09-10, 08:44
The government's August 30 cooling measures were expected by analysts to affect mostly the HDB resale and entry-level private condo markets, but could be causing some buyers in the high-end segment to be more guarded as well, gauging by the response to Twin Peaks' official launch yesterday, marked by the start of its ad campaign.
Overseas Union Enterprise, the project's developer, is understood to have sold about half of the 70 units it has released so far of the 99-year leasehold condo at Leonie Hill Road.
While OUE has been previewing the project for a few weeks, the bulk of the options are said to have been issued over the weekend. The average price is about $2,870 psf. Prices start from about $1.5 million for a one-bedroom unit of 550 sq ft.

20-09-10, 08:45
previously Grangeford was also 99 year leasehold so they are not keeping the deed. there are some pockets of old 99 year leaseholds in D9 too. most recently of course, Orchard Residences. LOL. :D

I thought D9 are all FH. Does the Developer keep the deed? Sounds like the trend is Developer selling FH in 99 or 103 Lease.
Is there a way for small player to do this? For example, when collective sale happens, the owner will keep the land and just sell 99 Lease to the new Developer?

20-09-10, 09:46
previously Grangeford was also 99 year leasehold so they are not keeping the deed. there are some pockets of old 99 year leaseholds in D9 too. most recently of course, Orchard Residences. LOL. :D

draycott area aso have...

leonie studio relatively new and failed to break 2kpsf....twin peaks 2.8-3k psf....PEAK PRICE:p

how much they bot enbloc?

20-09-10, 10:01
can't remember liao but i think not cheap. i m not going to the showflat to contribute to the exaggerated numbers like NV's showflat hehehe.

comes fully furnished wor this twin peaks.

draycott area aso have...

leonie studio relatively new and failed to break 2kpsf....twin peaks 2.8-3k psf....PEAK PRICE:p

how much they bot enbloc?

20-09-10, 12:38
Looks like nowadays the buyers don't even bother to customise their house themselves. Imagine every unit looks the same as every other neighbour! Looks like mainly targeting the foreign specuvestors market who don't care about personal taste in their homes. Just furnish with lots of designer badge means "good taste" :) Anyway, last Sat's papers showcased some individuals who decorated their homes head to toe with designer-logo furniture and that convince me that good taste cannot be bought.

This one the showflat sure got a lot of wannabes yuppies one :) Yesterday I was at Orchard and I really feel like a foreigner. Orchard Road is now full of Filipinos and PRCs. Anyway, most "experts" think high-end is risk-free investment and not affected by measures and "bao jia" one. Let's see how "risk free" this is. Buy buy buy!

can't remember liao but i think not cheap. i m not going to the showflat to contribute to the exaggerated numbers like NV's showflat hehehe.

comes fully furnished wor this twin peaks.

Condorich
21-09-10, 03:36
Twin Peaks, One Peak on the left and another Peak on the right. It will come.

Grimloq
22-09-10, 13:43
Is the showflat at the building site? Curious to go have a look

22-09-10, 14:38
Hahaha, that is funny! :cheers1:
With Singapore population of about 5.1m and citizens only about 3m (probably about 500k are converted somemore), everywhere you go if you will also be surrounded by foreigners! At least in Orchard, you are surrounded by high-end better spending-capability foreigners! (not the construction workers & maids etc in Jurong or somewhere else in the heartland neighbourhood). :p

Looks like nowadays the buyers don't even bother to customise their house themselves. Imagine every unit looks the same as every other neighbour! Looks like mainly targeting the foreign specuvestors market who don't care about personal taste in their homes. Just furnish with lots of designer badge means "good taste" :) Anyway, last Sat's papers showcased some individuals who decorated their homes head to toe with designer-logo furniture and that convince me that good taste cannot be bought.

This one the showflat sure got a lot of wannabes yuppies one :) Yesterday I was at Orchard and I really feel like a foreigner. Orchard Road is now full of Filipinos and PRCs. Anyway, most "experts" think high-end is risk-free investment and not affected by measures and "bao jia" one. Let's see how "risk free" this is. Buy buy buy!

22-09-10, 21:06
Are u sure? Looks like you're not familiar with Orchard. I'm that there are much more maids and construction workers in a very short stretch of Orchard Road than any part of suburban Singapore or upper districts.

Hahaha, that is funny! :cheers1:
With Singapore population of about 5.1m and citizens only about 3m (probably about 500k are converted somemore), everywhere you go if you will also be surrounded by foreigners! At least in Orchard, you are surrounded by high-end better spending-capability foreigners! (not the construction workers & maids etc in Jurong or somewhere else in the heartland neighbourhood). :p

22-09-10, 21:20
Twin Peaks debut: take-up at high-end projects remains slow

September pre-sales: weekend of 18-19 September 2010

While pre-sales at high-end projects have been relatively slow for some time now (Residences at Emerald Hill, which was launched in July, continued to see no sale in August, for instance), we believe projects like Twin Peaks, which is made up of mostly 1-bedders, would have achieved better sales before the August 31 measures introduced by the government to curb property speculation. The relatively lacklustre debut of Twin Peaks may have negative read-through for Allgreen’s Suites at Orchard, which is expected to be launched soon. The key difference, however, is OUE paid S$1,810psfppr for the land (and is now selling the project on a fully furnished basis) while Allgreen paid S$669psfppr for the Suites at Orchard site.

We visited OUE’s latest up-market project, Twin Peaks, on Sunday afternoon. This is the redevelopment of the Grangeford Apartments, which was bought en-bloc by the developer in 2007 for S$625mn or S$1,810psfppr. Twin Peaks is made up of two 36-storey towers, comprising mostly small units – about 60% of the units are 1-bedders ranging at 549-571 sq ft and the remaining units are 2-bedders (1,055 sq ft) and 3-bedders (1,399-1,895 sq ft). The units are sold on a fully-furnished basis and the average price is about S$2,870psf (we were quoted S$1.64mn or S$2,991psf for a 549-sq ft 1-bedder on the 19th floor, facing away from Orchard Road). There were about six to seven groups of visitors on our visit and many of the visitors appeared to be locals (although there was also an Indonesian family). While there were interested visitors, we got the impression that few translated into sales over the weekend, which tallies with the Business Times report (“Home sales pipe down as buyers turn more guarded”, September 20) suggesting about half of the 70 units were sold but most of the sales were secured over the previous weeks.

28-09-10, 08:54
From ST today,

"Over in Leonie Hill Road, Overseas Union Enterprise could not provide a sales update for its 99-year leasehold Twin Peaks project launched about a week ago.
But executive chairman Stephen Riady said he is confident of selling the 462-unit project, where homes are sold on a fully furnished basis.
The firm released 70 units for sale last weekend - the number needed to cover construction costs. It sold half of them, achieving prices of $2,890 psf.
Another 12 units are booked, having been reserved two months ago by buyers wanting to delay their decisions because of the cooling measures, he said."

could not provide update = zero sales lah hahaha. yah, "cooling measures does not affect prime and luxury"...yeaahhh right! hahaha

28-09-10, 09:46
From ST today,

"Over in Leonie Hill Road, Overseas Union Enterprise could not provide a sales update for its 99-year leasehold Twin Peaks project launched about a week ago.
But executive chairman Stephen Riady said he is confident of selling the 462-unit project, where homes are sold on a fully furnished basis.
The firm released 70 units for sale last weekend - the number needed to cover construction costs. It sold half of them, achieving prices of $2,890 psf.
Another 12 units are booked, having been reserved two months ago by buyers wanting to delay their decisions because of the cooling measures, he said."

could not provide update = zero sales lah hahaha. yah, "cooling measures does not affect prime and luxury"...yeaahhh right! hahaha

those 3x buyers must be shivering now?

28-09-10, 09:50
dun think so leh. i thought some forrumers said these pple buy and keep for long time type? doesn't matter price up or down? no need rental?

28-09-10, 09:56
dun think so leh. i thought some forrumers said these pple buy and keep for long time type? doesn't matter price up or down? no need rental?

developer just nid to sell 70units to cover construction cost?

28-09-10, 10:39
dunno real or bluff, anyway din even manage to sell the 70. :ashamed1:

28-09-10, 10:46
Can check how much they pay for the land?
Fully furnished won't cost much money lah. Give you fully luxury furnishings like Hansgrohe/Axor, Toto, Miele, marbles & granites flooring & walls & furnitures in whole house only like add another $150 psf only lah (you can buy resale and do a full luxury renovation to restore like new at about $150 psf!).

dunno real or bluff, anyway din even manage to sell the 70. :ashamed1:

28-09-10, 11:14
Can check how much they pay for the land?
Fully furnished won't cost much money lah. Give you fully luxury furnishings like Hansgrohe/Axor, Toto, Miele, marbles & granites flooring & walls & furnitures in whole house only like add another $150 psf only lah (you can buy resale and do a full luxury renovation to restore like new at about $150 psf!).

true

somemore they mix high end marble with china tiles you also dunno

28-09-10, 11:38
Is this really so or you joking? (Experience people can tell marbles from tiles easily lah. But give you low-end cheap-skate marbles & granites many will most likely can't tell they are not high-end).

true

somemore they mix high end marble with china tiles you also dunno

28-09-10, 11:42

Ya lor, I read liao also stunt. Blood suckers, so the remaining units are pure profits haha

28-09-10, 11:47
Is this really so or you joking? (Experience people can tell marbles from tiles easily lah. But give you low-end cheap-skate marbles & granites many will most likely can't tell they are not high-end).

i dunt know cos i have not been there to see

BUT i know a developer ..
i know what they do and use

they have all branded appliances etc ..
italian marble flooring ..

branded faucets ..but the wall tile in toilets all use china tiles ..
just that your eyes get drawn to the faucets ..
even the kitchen .. you only see the appliances right ?

do you really take a good look at the tiles ?

this is what i meant by mixing expensive and cheap ..
and when u see 2500-3000 psf and all the expensive appliances .. you will think that EVERYTHING is high end ..

thats why i agree that to do up to really high end wont cost you 200 psf ..
so if Horizon tower there LH 1500 psf ??? + 200 psf i can make it as high end and move in like Twin Peak ..

so do you need to pay 2850 psf ?

28-09-10, 12:19
Horizon Tower different mah, left 70+ years lease, nobody want to hold anymore because time is running out. All those owning Horizon Tower mostly hoping for enbloc or to flip to somebody else to hold the baby (until lease runs out)! Because of enbloc speculation/element, nobody want to renovate because later gonna enbloc more loo gi. :banghead: So end up estate is not in good condition. Prime properties must be in good condition & conducive for staying, otherwise why buy? (Not all private properties in CCR are worth buying :p). Otherwise given that location easily worth $2k psf. So Twin Peaks is right market price (not over-valued - (Based on HK pricing of similar properties should be worth $6k psf? :p), but Horizon Tower is under-valued (but for above reasons).
(Ops, Twin Peaks being also 99LH will see lots of their owners 20 years later doing same things as Horizon Towers owners! :scared-3:).

i dunt know cos i have not been there to see

BUT i know a developer ..
i know what they do and use

they have all branded appliances etc ..
italian marble flooring ..

branded faucets ..but the wall tile in toilets all use china tiles ..
just that your eyes get drawn to the faucets ..
even the kitchen .. you only see the appliances right ?

do you really take a good look at the tiles ?

this is what i meant by mixing expensive and cheap ..
and when u see 2500-3000 psf and all the expensive appliances .. you will think that EVERYTHING is high end ..

thats why i agree that to do up to really high end wont cost you 200 psf ..
so if Horizon tower there LH 1500 psf ??? + 200 psf i can make it as high end and move in like Twin Peak ..

so do you need to pay 2850 psf ?

Squall8888
28-09-10, 13:54
No one knows. Up or down, hard to predict. Many people also mock at those who bought Alexis, Livia etc but... who knows..

28-09-10, 17:09

This is a little bit worrysome. I guess they need to sell 70 units to cover certain stage of the construction.
In Singapore, the good thing is each Project has its own account. So money will not be mis-used for something else. But how about if the Developer cannot sell enough units? Do they allowed to pump cash into the Project account? If not, the "uncompeleted peoject" will just remain like that - uncompleted. You can see this in lots of countries: Thailand, China and even US.
If they are allowed to pump cash into the Project account to complete the project, share holders will suffer. UOE share price dropped 2% today. And MACD is entering negative. Let's hope they are not related.

07-10-10, 18:06
This is a little bit worrysome. I guess they need to sell 70 units to cover certain stage of the construction.
In Singapore, the good thing is each Project has its own account. So money will not be mis-used for something else. But how about if the Developer cannot sell enough units? Do they allowed to pump cash into the Project account? If not, the "uncompeleted peoject" will just remain like that - uncompleted. You can see this in lots of countries: Thailand, China and even US.
If they are allowed to pump cash into the Project account to complete the project, share holders will suffer. UOE share price dropped 2% today. And MACD is entering negative. Let's hope they are not related.

UOE Share price dropped 6.5% today with 141M volume (normaly daily volume is 3M). Let's hope this will not trigger a big drop for other property counters.

07-10-10, 18:49
this is stock specific. controlling shareholders, Lippo Group, wants to raise $300+m by selling 120m shares at 2.80 so funds who are are going to get the placement can arbitrage by selling down first, hence the fall.

UOE Share price dropped 6.5% today with 141M volume (normaly daily volume is 3M). Let's hope this will not trigger a big drop for other property counters.

EBD
11-11-10, 13:40
Ya lor, I read liao also stunt. Blood suckers, so the remaining units are pure profits haha

I think the 70 covers construction cost only, now way can be the land price too. They still have to recover the land cost.

UOE bought the place for 625m how can each of the 70 unit be 9m?

Sorry, I have a morbid fascination with this place, my old home - can see it 2 years on all black windows at night.

I never knew why they paid so much.... our sales team was damn good.

18-11-10, 12:23
cheap sales at Twin Peaks? 6 units #02 to #06 sold at standard price of 2702psf in oct. #30 sold at 3094psf in aug.

18-11-10, 18:38
cheap sales at Twin Peaks? 6 units #02 to #06 sold at standard price of 2702psf in oct. #30 sold at 3094psf in aug.

cheap meh? 99LH leh.:( low floor some more

18-11-10, 18:47
cheaper than before but most certainly not cheap yet. :)

cheap meh? 99LH leh.:( low floor some more

15-06-11, 13:55
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/news/story/0,4574,443396,00.html?

Published June 15, 2011

Jackie Chan, Wakin Chau buy Leonie Hill Rd condos

(SINGAPORE) Hong Kong movie superstar Jackie Chan and his good friend singer/song writer Wakin Chau have again picked up a few apartments - this time in Overseas Union Enterprise's Twin Peaks condo at Leonie Hill Road.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2011-06-15/BT_IMAGES_KRJACKIE15.jpg
Twin Peaks: Units in the 99-year leasehold project are trading at an average price of about $2,850 psf but the two celebrities are reckoned to have enjoyed discounts

BT understands that Mr Chan has bought two units on one of the lower floors of the 35-storey project, while Mr Chau purchased a unit on another floor.

All three units are said to be one bedders of 571 square feet each. Units in the 99-year leasehold project are trading at an average price of about $2,850 per square foot although market watchers reckon the two celebrities would have enjoyed a discount given the star attraction they would bring to the development, which is expected to be completed around early 2014.

Mr Chau, previously known as Emil, held a concert in Singapore about a fortnight ago.

Interestingly, Mr Chan used to own a three-bedroom apartment in the old Grangeford Apartments which OUE bought through a collective sale a few years ago and which is being torn down for redevelopment into Twin Peaks.

Residents of Twin Peaks, at the corner of Grange and Leonie Hill roads, will have the option of engaging hospitality and housekeeping services from the Mandarin Orchard Singapore, which is also part of the OUE group. BT understands that the units bought by Mr Chan and Mr Chau will have views of Grange Road/ Orchard Road.

In March last year, the duo picked up four apartments in the freehold Centennia Suites at Kim Seng Road worth over $10 million. In that deal, Mr Chan acquired three units - two, three and four bedders making up an entire floor - while Mr Chau purchased a three bedder.

The average price in the project then was reported at about $2,000-2,100 psf. Centennia Suites is being developed by a privately held entity of Lippo Group. The Indonesian group also controls OUE, which is listed in Singapore.

Mr Chan also bought the former Jinriksha Station at 1 Neil Road in late 2007 for $11 million.

Twin Peaks comprises two identical 35-storey towers with a total of 462 units, offering a mix of one, two and three-bedroom apartments. OUE began selling units in the project in July last year and to date more than 50 units have been sold. The highest price achieved in the development is $3,170 psf.

OUE is expected to relaunch the project later this year once its new showflat is ready.

15-06-11, 14:52
Buy more pirated dvds, mp3. or use torrent to download their movies and songs :).
See whether they can buy more condos in Singapore.

15-06-11, 14:54
last year buy $10m worth of big units. this year only buy 3 studios worth 4.5m? even they also cut back? LOL.

Buy more pirated dvds, mp3. or use torrent to download their movies and songs :).
See whether they can buy more condos in Singapore.

15-06-11, 16:18
haha, jackie bought MM units.

He obviously will not live in them. So, it is just speculation prompted by the discount for his star quality. It is so beneath him. Shame.

15-06-11, 22:02

He obviously will not live in them. So, it is just speculation prompted by the discount for his star quality. It is so beneath him. Shame.

to him, a hongkie, considered a very big MM liao

16-06-11, 03:56

Not really lah. He is endorsing mm. He is Likely to be collecting advertising fee for that.

08-07-11, 09:13
JJ Lin just bought a unit here.

Joining Jackie Chan and Wakin Chou

08-07-11, 09:14
3 stars there.. one young, one old and one middle...

hurry, grab a unit there.

EBD
08-07-11, 09:32

He used to own a unit in Grangeford that they are knocking down now.
He didn't live there either - or at least I never saw him in the lift......

11-07-11, 02:16
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/suite/story/0,4574,446484-1310068740,00.html?

Published July 7, 2011

Mandopop idol JJ Lin buys Twin Peaks unit

ABOUT two weeks after Hong Kong movie superstar Jackie Chan and singer/song writer Wakin Chau picked up three apartments at the Twin Peaks condo project at Leonie Hill Road, Singapore-born Mandopop idol JJ Lin has followed suit.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/mnt/media/image/launched/2011-07-07/BT_IMAGES_KRJJ7-TH9.jpg
Celebrity appeal: JJ Lin's purchase follows those of Jackie Chan and Wakin Chau. Units in the 99-year leasehold project are trading at an average of $2,850 per square foot

The 30-year-old is understood to have bought a one-bedroom apartment of 571 square feet in the 35-storey project, which is being developed by Overseas Union Enterprise (OUE). His unit is said to be on a higher floor than the three units bought earlier by the two Hong Kong celebrities.

Chan is said to have purchased two adjoining units while Chau acquired a unit on another level.

All three apartments are also 571 sq ft one-bedders and will have views of Grange Road/Orchard Road.

Lin, 30, a former Anglo-Chinese School boy, is a singer-songwriter and composer based in Taiwan with a following in China, Taiwan and Singapore.

Units in the 99-year leasehold Twin Peaks project are trading at an average price of about $2,850 per square foot. The development, which will come up on the former Grangeford Apartments site, is expected to be completed around early 2014.

A spokeswoman for OUE confirmed the sale of a unit to Lin and added: 'Undoubtedly, the purchases by the celebrities have generated much interest in Twin Peaks and we are very encouraged by the response.'

Among the perks that residents of Twin Peaks will enjoy is that they may engage hospitality and housekeeping services from the Mandarin Orchard Singapore, which is also part of the OUE group.

Twin Peaks comprises two identical 35-storey towers with a total of 462 units, offering a mix of one, two and three-bedroom apartments. OUE began selling units in the project in July last year and to date has sold nearly 60 units in the development. The highest price achieved is $3,170 psf.

OUE is expected to relaunch the project later this year once its new showflat is ready.

The company's spokeswoman said that the development has drawn buyers from Singapore, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, India, Hong Kong and Taiwan.

jezz
11-07-11, 11:09
He used to own a unit in Grangeford that they are knocking down now.
He didn't live there either - or at least I never saw him in the lift......

both jackie and zhou hua jian bought centennia suites off kim seng road sometime last year...

Condo Kaiser
12-07-11, 23:44
yeah.. jackie bought 3 units (whole floor) wakin just got one 2 bedder i think..

Centennia suites is one NICE condo man...:spliff: :spliff:

Jackie got so many properties around the world.. very hard for him to utilise all of them la.. i know he owns a whole street of shops in Australia... think it's Canberra's china town... or Adelaide... one of the smaller cities la... his dad lives there or something...

EBD
13-07-11, 08:41
yeah.. jackie bought 3 units (whole floor) wakin just got one 2 bedder i think..

Centennia suites is one NICE condo man...:spliff: :spliff:

Jackie got so many properties around the world.. very hard for him to utilise all of them la.. i know he owns a whole street of shops in Australia... think it's Canberra's china town... or Adelaide... one of the smaller cities la... his dad lives there or something...

He does utilise them. He rents them out.

EBD
22-02-12, 12:05
Deutsche Bank update..... 21 Feb 2012

"Sales at Twin Peaks have come to a standstill, with only
one unit sold in the quarter (50 out of 462 units sold to date), below mgmt's
initial target"

22-02-12, 13:24
Deutsche Bank update..... 21 Feb 2012

"Sales at Twin Peaks have come to a standstill, with only
one unit sold in the quarter (50 out of 462 units sold to date), below mgmt's
initial target"

Stand-by for fire-sales. I project minimum 10% discount to re-start sales. Initial buyers will cry.

22-02-12, 14:52
Stand-by for fire-sales. I project minimum 10% discount to re-start sales. Initial buyers will cry.

10% discount? U sure? Mass-market already 18% off discount, At least 25% discount guarantee sales up by min 100 units

22-02-12, 16:42
10% discount? U sure? Mass-market already 18% off discount, At least 25% discount guarantee sales up by min 100 units

18% VVIP discounts are fake. They are designed to allow "discount reduction" which is another way to raise price. 25% discount sounds good to clear many units.

17-09-12, 13:03
after a long hiatus, 2 sold at 2806 and 3050psf.

16-10-12, 14:01
another 2 units sold at 2696 and 2710psf in sep.

15-01-13, 11:55
1 more sold at 2778psf