View Full Version : The Scala - 99 years leasehold by Hong Leong Holdings

Pages : [1] 2

moneyspinner
11-06-10, 13:51
Category: Property Launches (http://www.h88.com.sg/index.php?category=PROPERTY+LAUNCHES)
That Lorong Chuan condo is called The Scala

http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2010-06-11/scala_sitemap.jpg Remember that land parcel at Serangoon Ave 3 (http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Possible+%241100+psf+for+Serangoon+Ave+3+condo/), the one right next to Lorong Chuan MRT (http://www.h88.com.sg/directory/mrt/CC14/)? Well some details for this District 19 development have finally come in - Hong Leong Holdings' new condo is called 'The Scala'.

Here are some of the details for all you house-hunters (note, it's still murky at this stage):

Tenure: 99-year leasehold
District: 19
Developer: Hong Leong Holdings
Site Area: ~149,378 sqft
Blocks: 5
Floors: 17
Units Mix:
1BR (~473 sqft)
2BR (~828 sqft)
2+1 (~893 sqft)
3BR (~1033 sqft)
3+1 (~1108 sqft)
4BR (~1270 sqft)

Price
The developers paid a good $529psf ppr for the land. Potentially the selling price could come close to $1,100psf, which would make it the most expensive condo in that area!

The location seems pretty good too - MRT right next door, American and Australian international schools and a brand spanking new mall called Nex.

Our crystal ball foresees a very good response for 99-year leasehold condo. Would you pay that kind of money for a condo in Serangoon? Have your say (http://www.facebook.com/h88.com.sg).

11-06-10, 14:06
SCALA? :doh: :D :p :banghead: :ashamed1:

maciam sala...

or scarly...

sorry, really can't hold back my laughter...:)

11-06-10, 14:09
Sounds like a girl who can't stop crying:confused:

SCALA? :doh: :D :p :banghead: :ashamed1:

maciam sala...

or scarly...

sorry, really can't hold back my laughter...:)

11-06-10, 17:03
u all vy notti!

i wud rather they use old fashioned names like chuan residences...:D

definition of Scala

Scala

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation (http://forums.condosingapore.com/#head), search (http://forums.condosingapore.com/#p-search)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/f8/Wiktionary-logo-en.svg/37px-Wiktionary-logo-en.svg.png (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Special:Search/Scala)Look up scala (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/scala) in Wiktionary (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Wiktionary), the free dictionary.Scala may refer to:

SCALA (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/SCALA), the Student Chapter of the American Library Association
FF Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/FF_Scala) and FF Scala Sans (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/FF_Scala_Sans), typefaces by Dutch typeface designer Martin Majoor
Scala Sancta (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_Sancta) or Holy Stairs, a staircase in Rome, Italy
One of several fluid-filled cavities in the cochlea (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Cochlea)
Scala (unit) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_(unit)&action=edit&redlink=1), a unit of area (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Area) equal to 1,600 square yards (1,300 m2), used in Cyprus, 20th centuryIn music:

Scala (band) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_(band)&action=edit&redlink=1), an electronic rock group from England which produced three albums in 1996-1998
Scala & Kolacny Brothers (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%26_Kolacny_Brothers), a Belgian girls' choir
Former name of Escala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Escala_(group)), an electronic string quartet
Scala, an album by This Heat (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/This_Heat)In computing:

Scala, Inc (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala,_Inc), producer of multimedia computer software for video production, presentations and digital signage
Scala (programming language) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_(programming_language)), a functional/object-oriented programming language
Scala (program) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_(program)), a program for creating musical scalesEntertainment establishments:

La Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/La_Scala), an opera house in Milan, Italy
Scala (club) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_(club)), a nightclub in London, UK
Scala Theatre (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_Theatre), a theatre in London, UKPlaces:

Scala (SA) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_(SA)), a village on the Amalfi Coast
Scala (Saxony) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_(Saxony)&action=edit&redlink=1), a part of German community Kittlitz (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Kittlitz)People:

Gia Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Gia_Scala) (1934–1972), an actress
Nevio Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Nevio_Scala) (born 1947), an Italian soccer coach
Darren Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Darren_Scala&action=edit&redlink=1) (born 1968), a photographerSnails:

Scala (genus) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_(genus)&action=edit&redlink=1), a genus (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Genus) of marine snails.

11-06-10, 17:42
From your search, there is a very strong European connection, thus maynot be an auspicious name:eek:

The condo is literally next to the track, so be prepared for some soccer or rugby balls to come crashing in.

From the map in the first post, cant help but notice that Chuan park is seating on a vast piece of land, if this one sells well at$1,100 psf, soon there might be more calls for Chuan Park to enbloc. :2cents:

11-06-10, 20:51
Sometimes developers never bother to find out the meaning of the condo name. It's like The Gale - which means a storm with strong winds. What an unauspicious name right? Imagine living in a stormy place.

Still prefer the good old names of parks and greens - Ardmore Park, Bayshore Park or something. Nowadays dun even know how to pronouce the "La" and the "Le" or The Arte or the L'Viv ir I'Liv or whatever :) Go watch The Noose, it was hilarious - La Chateau Quay become La Char Kwey Tiao :ashamed1:

11-06-10, 20:53
From your search, there is a very strong European connection, thus maynot be an auspicious name:eek:

The condo is literally next to the track, so be prepared for some soccer or rugby balls to come crashing in.

From the map in the first post, cant help but notice that Chuan park is seating on a vast piece of land, if this one sells well at$1,100 psf, soon there might be more calls for Chuan Park to enbloc. :2cents:

i remember long ago ... theres a condo there ...called Arang Court ...

is Scala the old Arang court ?

11-06-10, 22:00
those freehold around that area 5 year old already selling over 1000psf.

but i was looking at the size, 1270psf for a 4 bedroom. i think some rooms probably won't come with a built in wardrobe.

12-06-10, 00:34
Sometimes developers never bother to find out the meaning of the condo name. It's like The Gale - which means a storm with strong winds. What an unauspicious name right? Imagine living in a stormy place.

Still prefer the good old names of parks and greens - Ardmore Park, Bayshore Park or something. Nowadays dun even know how to pronouce the "La" and the "Le" or The Arte or the L'Viv ir I'Liv or whatever :) Go watch The Noose, it was hilarious - La Chateau Quay become La Char Kwey Tiao :ashamed1:

its not, its la cai tao kway.

scsc
12-06-10, 20:52
those freehold around that area 5 year old already selling over 1000psf.

but i was looking at the size, 1270psf for a 4 bedroom. i think some rooms probably won't come with a built in wardrobe.

would have ba.. its quite standard item...
but i guess Scala would have rather smallish rooms... maybe can knock-down 1-2 rooms to a bigger one? Is that possible like the Dawson DBSS?

I wonder if the small site area will compromise common breathing space..

Guess its interesting to guess how the concept would be like:)

Sinclone
01-07-10, 23:15
Brought to you by PropertyLaunch.sg (http://www.propertylaunch.sg)

New Launch Singapore Property coming to Serangoon Ave 3 Area

The Scala @ Serangoon Ave 3

Located just beside Nanyang JC and next to Lorong Chuan MRT
A Good Peaceful Location for all Families
An Excellent Location in the Heartland, Where Amenities never ends
consist of 1, 2, 2+Study, 3, 3+Study and 4 bedrooms units

Floor Plans already release, please download from this site (http://www.propertylaunch.sg/Singapore%20Property%20New%20Launch/The%20Scala.php)

Excellent Modern unique Facade architecture that is going to shine the area
Cutting edge in both design and concept
Will be the prominent project in the vicinity
Just next to or 1 min walk to Lorong Chuan MRT Station
Excellent attractive price development not to be missed
Fantastic Cosy and Quiet residential location for your family
Excellent descent size, efficient unit layout and facing
Excellent Superb Quality Contemporary interior finishes
10 mins walk or 1 MRT Stop to Serangoon Central new upcoming $1.3b Mega Shopping Mall
Just mins drive to Serangoon Garden Food Paradise
Close Proximity to Bishan Junction 8 Shopping Mall and Heartland Mall
Close Proximity to Australian International School and Stamford American International School
15 mins drive to Orchard, CBD and Marina IR
within 1 km to St Gabriel's Primary School and Yangzheng Primary School
Easy access to Major Expressway, CTE and PIE
High Capital appreciation and Rental Yield
Developed by Reputable Developer

Please call Developer Sales Team at 6100 8090 / 8181 1129 / 97999 757 for enquiries.

for preview registration, brochures and floorplans, please visit The SCALA (http://www.propertylaunch.sg/Singapore%20Property%20New%20Launch/The%20Scala.php) here

Register yourself for all new projects updates and information in PropertyLaunch.sg (http://www.propertylaunch.sg) - Your Singapore New Launch Property Resource and Info Site.

hk2313
06-07-10, 12:19
price indication 1100 psf for 2 bedders according to agent

scsc
06-07-10, 13:49

Hmm... quite a challenging figure at current cautious market sentiment...
But depends on the overall package.... who knows it becomes the "Vision" of NorthEast :cool:

cashrich
06-07-10, 13:54

size small but location pretty ok.

4 bedders are actually 3 bedder size... rooms are pretty small

But project is not as cluttered as others.

06-07-10, 13:57
i think their whole idea is to keep the absolute $ quantum "affordable" so shrink unit size for high psf = "STILL AFFORDABLE" :doh:

06-07-10, 14:31
I like the layout of the 2 bedders, not the usual open main door see through to the balcony type. And the rectangular living/dining area has sliding glass doors on the longer side of the rectangle = more brightness, as compared to the usual ones on the shorter side of the rectangle.

Too bad price 1100psf...not affordable for me. :o

scsc
06-07-10, 19:49
~70% of units below 1k sqft.
MM projects

I guess the targets are on singles, professionals...

Location is good except simple amenities
Buy if u like the enclave environment & the hop to mrt...

Size & affordability wise... KR looks like a better deal... Juz my opinion

07-07-10, 09:19
Drove past, showflat is ready. Agents still busy trying to direct traffice (oops i mean collect cheques).

Let me guess the cheque collection cut-off is thursday and preview on friday. :beats-me-man:

07-07-10, 09:22
its not. heard its on 28th. 3 weeks to go, super kiasu siah. :scared-1:

Drove past, showflat is ready. Agents still busy trying to direct traffice (oops i mean collect cheques).

Let me guess the cheque collection cut-off is thursday and preview on friday. :beats-me-man:

07-07-10, 10:51
The road in front traffic quite bad during rush hours.
4 Bedrooms can squeeze into 1270 sqft? 3 bedrooms can squeeze into 1030-1055 sqft? Mmm, 1-2 of the rooms can only put just bed and nothing else? :scared-1:

07-07-10, 10:59
other than master, all other bedrooms can only put single bed regardless of no. of bedrooms. its a new but sad trend. :(

The road in front traffic quite bad during rush hours.
4 Bedrooms can squeeze into 1270 sqft? 3 bedrooms can squeeze into 1030-1055 sqft? Mmm, 1-2 of the rooms can only put just bed and nothing else? :scared-1:

scsc
07-07-10, 13:57
other than master, all other bedrooms can only put single bed regardless of no. of bedrooms. its a new but sad trend. :(

For owner, buy big ones then hack to proportion loh...

For rentals, should be ok ba... hobbits Shire... hehe

07-07-10, 15:30
then defeats the purpose liao. buy big ones at high psf then hack to turn it into a hdb sized 3 bedder. hehehe.

For owner, buy big ones then hack to proportion loh...

For rentals, should be ok ba... hobbits Shire... hehe

07-07-10, 15:38
create your own mini-me units...

jencrs
07-07-10, 16:15
3 bedrooms can squeeze into 1030-1055 sqft?wah lau i paiseh the place i bot even smaller 3rm 915sqft nia :ashamed1: But one of the smallest I heard La Brisa 3rm at 603 sqft.

07-07-10, 16:29
your info is correct. also, the project u bot is considered Mickey Mouse so its alright to have 3rm at 915sq ft.

this project is by a reputable developer and probably wouldn't want its units to be called MM but the sizes and design they are putting through are really getting them there. your 915sq ft could perhaps even be more efficient than their 1000+sq ft since their's will have a bigger balcony. :D

wah lau i paiseh the place i bot even smaller 3rm 915sqft nia :ashamed1: But one of the smallest I heard La Brisa 3rm at 603 sqft.

scsc
14-07-10, 23:24
wah lau i paiseh the place i bot even smaller 3rm 915sqft nia :ashamed1: But one of the smallest I heard La Brisa 3rm at 603 sqft.

Does your 3rm 915sqft got bay windows & big planters ?
If no, then provided if kitchen is small but usable & 1 common bath.... should be ok la... at least for a small family

Aiya... surely u bought for something u need or prefer...

jencrs
15-07-10, 00:15
Does your 3rm 915sqft got bay windows & big planters ?
If no, then provided if kitchen is small but usable & 1 common bath.... should be ok la... at least for a small family

Aiya... surely u bought for something u need or prefer...Ya it has a bit of bay windows, not excessive. But also got planters which is so unnecessary and big a/c ledge, all of which eats up into every precious sq ft.

But ya I got it because it did fulfill most of my preferences lor.

15-07-10, 01:04
due to haig 162...i chance upon a nrly sold out project called haig residences...they left 1 last 3bedder unit of 872sqft...my first impression was so small! but after looking at the flrplan...not too bad...i put up an offer but was rejected by developer...lol...i not willing to match developer's price partly bcoz its a boutique devt and pool only 15m...but quite value for $ for own stay lah due to small quantum....

those who looking for self stay...can consider this one...asking price 870k...shd be slightly nego...:D

15-07-10, 01:11
due to haig 162...i chance upon a nrly sold out project called haig residences...they left 1 last 3bedder unit of 872sqft...my first impression was so small! but after looking at the flrplan...not too bad...i put up an offer but was rejected by developer...lol...i not willing to match developer's price partly bcoz its a boutique devt and pool only 15m...but quite value for $ for own stay lah due to small quantum....

those who looking for self stay...can consider this one...asking price 870k...shd be slightly nego...:D

in yrs time ..all these MM condos (whole blk MM unit) can be enbloc to build big units ...

the trend will change i am sure ..

as peoplpe get richer ..they want bigger unit

so can buy lah ...hold for 30 yrs .. (propertism) and wait for enbloc (aagain propertism )

jlrk will be very happy to see this

jencrs
15-07-10, 01:21
i not willing to match developer's price partly bcoz its a boutique devt and pool only 15m...but quite value for $ for own stay lah due to small quantum....Is pool size just a personal preference for you, or do you use it as part of your assessment if a condo's a worthy investment?

15-07-10, 01:51
Is pool size just a personal preference for you, or do you use it as part of your assessment if a condo's a worthy investment?

bcoz i will be buying it as an investment mah...i dun mind 15m puny pool and others will mind rite? i am only attracted to its low quantum and reasonable psf lor...how to find 8xxk new project 3bedder at tat area...was tinking if can get it cheap...mabe 2yrs later can make some $ when it TOP?:D

pool size, apt vs condo status, number of units blah blah will affect the price appreciation...rental etc mah.

definitely boutique apts must sell cheaper den condo with full facilities and 50m pool rite?

jencrs
15-07-10, 14:07
bcoz i will be buying it as an investment mah...i dun mind 15m puny pool and others will mind rite? i am only attracted to its low quantum and reasonable psf lor...how to find 8xxk new project 3bedder at tat area...was tinking if can get it cheap...mabe 2yrs later can make some $ when it TOP?:D

pool size, apt vs condo status, number of units blah blah will affect the price appreciation...rental etc mah.

definitely boutique apts must sell cheaper den condo with full facilities and 50m pool rite?I think for the pool definitely needs a minimum size, it'll be pretty crap if I just kick off 1 wall and reach the other end liao. But I'm just thinking if it's a 20-25m pool with +/-100units vs 50m pool with 300-400 units not much diff. Same ratio of sweat and pee vs water haha. you know what I mean la. I just see u mention pool size often that's why i asked.

I see you mentioned apt vs condo also. i know last time foreigners cannot buy apt, only condo, but I believe no more such restrictions right? Correct me if I'm wrong pls. So are you talking more of the actual land area, rather than the apt vs condo status? Apt status is up to 45k I think.

But definitely a lack of other facilities like tennis courts or a good expanse of landscaping to walk around would make a significant difference to pricing.

15-07-10, 14:52
Pool definitely needs to be at least 25m lah, otherwise 3 strokes reach the other end doesn't seem like for humans (for dogs may be)? :scared-1:
Obviously, 100+/- units need a >=25mx5m pool. 400+/- units can get >=50mx10m or not (otherwise pool water over-whelmed by sweat & pee?). :p Seems like nowsadays cannot get so big pool unless the development got like 1000+/- units? For 1000+/- units I would expect like >=50mx25m?

I think for the pool definitely needs a minimum size, it'll be pretty crap if I just kick off 1 wall and reach the other end liao. But I'm just thinking if it's a 20-25m pool with +/-100units vs 50m pool with 300-400 units not much diff. Same ratio of sweat and pee vs water haha. you know what I mean la. I just see u mention pool size often that's why i asked.

I see you mentioned apt vs condo also. i know last time foreigners cannot buy apt, only condo, but I believe no more such restrictions right? Correct me if I'm wrong pls. So are you talking more of the actual land area, rather than the apt vs condo status? Apt status is up to 45k I think.

But definitely a lack of other facilities like tennis courts or a good expanse of landscaping to walk around would make a significant difference to pricing.

15-07-10, 15:07
Pool definitely needs to be at least 25m lah, otherwise 3 strokes reach the other end doesn't seem like for humans (for dogs may be)? :scared-1:?

Haha.. are you the agent I went to a landed for viewing?

There's a 15m lap pool in it.. and the agent mentioned.. this one i think cannot swim in ... I think you can let your koi fishes swim there lah..

haha.. i burst out laughing.. agent also can say that type of things on the house..

15-07-10, 15:09
This is not a bad project. Just got to find the right stack. Height may not differ much as view is limited.

16-07-10, 10:15
Not much of a view all kanna blocked by neighbouring condos and JC. However if not blocked by Chiltern park (and high enough) they might have a view of the city (coz after chiltern park is all landed).

This is not a bad project. Just got to find the right stack. Height may not differ much as view is limited.

iridrium
16-07-10, 11:55
Not much of a view all kanna blocked by neighbouring condos and JC. However if not blocked by Chiltern park (and high enough) they might have a view of the city (coz after chiltern park is all landed).

Regardless, I reckon it will sell like hotcakes.

22-07-10, 19:12
The site plan looks like an animal with a horn, or even an elephant with its trunk pointing upwards. :p Is the preview this weekend? :beats-me-man:

scsc
22-07-10, 19:38
The site plan looks like an animal with a horn, or even an elephant with its trunk pointing upwards. :p Is the preview this weekend? :beats-me-man:

heard that its early next week.... better throw cheques early else going.. going... gone...:scared-5: haha

22-07-10, 19:59
i'm just wondering how tight are the bedrooms?? just over 1000sqft to contain 3 bedrooms? hmm...

22-07-10, 21:54
i'm just wondering how tight are the bedrooms?? just over 1000sqft to contain 3 bedrooms? hmm...

This is still acceptable in today's standard. The smaller 3 bedder in 8@woodleigh is 958sqft. About the size of a hdb 4 room flat. :p
http://www.8woodleigh.sg/bedroom3.html

22-07-10, 22:09
This is still acceptable in today's standard. The smaller 3 bedder in 8@woodleigh is 958sqft. About the size of a hdb 4 room flat. :p
http://www.8woodleigh.sg/bedroom3.html

what to do ???

the property market this round is supported by upgraders ..

upgrade from HDB to condo ... 958 sqft is already what these upgraders are used to .. so effectivelky they are paying for swimming pool, security guards and car park ..

so why non upgraders want to 'downgrade' ??

why compete with upgraders for MM uints? leave it to them ..

non HDB upgraders should upgrade to better location, bigger units ..

i repeat .. if everyone buys MM unit .. the more one should buy BIG units ..

23-07-10, 09:04
HL is hoping for this to be a bull-mah :p which will likely to be because of the MRT.

23-07-10, 09:07
Last time 80% stay in HDB and 20% stay in private. It is about half of the 80% that intend to jump ship to private, but due to financial constraint got to go for MM units.

As the chinese saying going no fish, prawn also good. and this is the prawn mah.

what to do ???

upgrade from HDB to condo ... 958 sqft is already what these upgraders are used to .. so effectivelky they are paying for swimming pool, security guards and car park ..

23-07-10, 09:22
i tot statistics shown tat MM units less den 500sqft consists only ard 9% of the total sales volume so far...?

i aso hope my big units can appreciate more wor...

but it is still better to follow the trend ...if trend later on change to big units, we still got time to hoot more big units :D n jus nid to monitor very closely and be real quick....small fishes always safer to go with the flow...

23-07-10, 09:40
We are following the footsteps of Tokyo and Hong Kong. The only difference is our public housing is the moderator until recent years where it is beyond its control.

23-07-10, 10:30
We are following the footsteps of Tokyo and Hong Kong. The only difference is our public housing is the moderator until recent years where it is beyond its control.

Primary cause : Human GREED

we r part of the game and can be considered as culprits:o

imagine everyone so frenly, caring and loving....

we sell our house just based on bank valuation...HDB no COV...den will not have such problems in the first place...

BUT SELLERS ALWAYS ASK FOR HIGHER PRICE:D :D :D

23-07-10, 11:54
That is life! We are just trying to create a well for the next generation.

23-07-10, 13:47
That is life! We are just trying to create a well for the next generation.

hehe...more like creating a well for 'your' own generation...:D

poor gets poorer...rich dad poor dad:D

23-07-10, 14:03
Sure! It has to meet individual needs before sharing with others. Look at Warren Buffet, Bill Gates, Jet Li, etc,

23-07-10, 14:13
imagine what happens if owners can only sell at bank valuation or less and not more. :scared-4:

Primary cause : Human GREED

we r part of the game and can be considered as culprits:o

imagine everyone so frenly, caring and loving....

we sell our house just based on bank valuation...HDB no COV...den will not have such problems in the first place...

BUT SELLERS ALWAYS ASK FOR HIGHER PRICE:D :D :D

23-07-10, 14:54
imagine what happens if owners can only sell at bank valuation or less and not more. :scared-4:

mabe GLS shd just set a fixed price or even a capped price...haha

den by draw lot/balloting....

or buy HDB at XX price...when u sell must only sell at original price...haha:D :D :D or best still, dun allow to SELL AT ALL...ENFORCED PROPERTISM:cheers6:

all care and share! CARE BEAR!

23-07-10, 21:07
Might be interested in stack 13 829sqft 2 bedder. But must see the price first.... which i think is beyond my budget. :beats-me-man:

23-07-10, 21:42
Might be interested in stack 13 829sqft 2 bedder. But must see the price first.... which i think is beyond my budget. :beats-me-man:

how abt mm...heard from 1200psf?

23-07-10, 22:37
how abt mm...heard from 1200psf?

I am trying to upgrade from MM ... :p

23-07-10, 23:02
I am trying to upgrade from MM ... :p

mabe get a resale 2bedder instead which may fall within ur budget:D

23-07-10, 23:11
Hmm. Actually HDB flats are quite big in size. For instance, I believe 5 room flats and executive flats are between 1250 to 1600 sq ft? Everytime I see home decor magazines, the 5 room HDB and above looks spacious! Most upgraders probably come from 5 room and above. In fact, those HDB flat upgraders are usually the ones who complain the condo hall and bedroom are too small because they're used to good-size HDB flats with no wastage like planter and huge aircon ledge. So not true that upgraders are used to 900 sq ft 3 bedders. More like condo dwellers who are already used to such cramped environment :)

Looks like we may have cages like in Hong Kong in the not-too-distant future. BTW, the cages in HK fetches the highest PSF. So those MM areas that cannot squeeze out higher PSF may go down the "cages" route. Maybe $2500psf for a 100 sq ft cage in D15 in the not too distant future?

what to do ???

23-07-10, 23:16
But they are concentrated in a few areas. So if you segregate by areas, I'm sure some districts will have a very high percentage of MM in recent developers sales. Perhaps >50%.

i tot statistics shown tat MM units less den 500sqft consists only ard 9% of the total sales volume so far...?

i aso hope my big units can appreciate more wor...

but it is still better to follow the trend ...if trend later on change to big units, we still got time to hoot more big units :D n jus nid to monitor very closely and be real quick....small fishes always safer to go with the flow...

23-07-10, 23:20
Yah...I think many will prefer to stay in the cage within the city then to wake up early everyday and squeeze in sardine tubes to go to work and to go home...wasting 2-3hrs of their life everyday. :beats-me-man:

23-07-10, 23:31
No need 2-3 hours commuting lah :) Buy a car and at worse 30 minutes each way. I actually enjoy the drive to work in the morning and I don't find it a "waste" - listening to my favourite music, wind in the hair. To each his own.

I will NEVER want to live beside my office. Dunno why. When I go home, I just don't want to see my office. :sleep:

If not for government regulations on min size, I'm sure the developers will start selling cages in SG. Just like HK, such cages will fetch the highest PSF for both rental and base value. As you've pointed out, there will be people who prefer to stay in cages in the city then commute to work.

Yah...I think many will prefer to stay in the cage within the city then to wake up early everyday and squeeze in sardine tubes to go to work and to go home...wasting 2-3hrs of their life everyday. :beats-me-man:

23-07-10, 23:40
if your office is next to the mrt station even better. i love to take the train in the morning. sit or stand back, relax and listen to music. the impatient drivers and bad road manners amidst the jam is a pain to drive through.

23-07-10, 23:49
No need 2-3 hours commuting lah :) Buy a car and at worse 30 minutes each way. I actually enjoy the drive to work in the morning and I don't find it a "waste" - listening to my favourite music, wind in the hair. To each his own.

I will NEVER want to live beside my office. Dunno why. When I go home, I just don't want to see my office. :sleep:

If not for government regulations on min size, I'm sure the developers will start selling cages in SG. Just like HK, such cages will fetch the highest PSF for both rental and base value. As you've pointed out, there will be people who prefer to stay in cages in the city then commute to work.

dun work better:D

23-07-10, 23:59
few have the luxury of that option.

24-07-10, 00:51
Unless you live close to the place you work, it is more like 1-1.5 hours to drive if you live in Suburbs and work in the CBD area...

cl0ver
24-07-10, 01:00
not true lah... take CTE only 20mins from AMK around 8am....

24-07-10, 01:12
not true lah... take CTE only 20mins from AMK around 8am....

20 mins from AMK to where ? at 8 am

have to pay a few ERP right ?

price to pay for a smooth ride ...

24-07-10, 01:25
during peak peak hrs....mrt definitely faster den driving....but mrt goto stand and mabe kena molest when its super duper sardine packed...although i dun really mind:D

cl0ver
24-07-10, 08:24
yes, have to pay ERP.
parking in CBD is paid for by company, so ERP cost is a non issue.
i think 2 gantries at CTE plus one at CBD total cost around $7.
for me and my wife, that's $3.50 each

sometimes, ppl only know how to complain but don't see the overall picture.
if me and my wife were to take a bus to MRT and then MRT to work back and forth, it will cost the same.
but takes longer, less comfort, inconvenient, etc.
of coz ppl are also going to say must factor in petrol, road tax, etc....

but that is life isn't it? it's all about choices.
do you drink $1 kopi every morning or $4 from starbucks?

24-07-10, 09:48
yes, have to pay ERP.
parking in CBD is paid for by company, so ERP cost is a non issue.
i think 2 gantries at CTE plus one at CBD total cost around $7.
for me and my wife, that's $3.50 each

sometimes, ppl only know how to complain but don't see the overall picture.
if me and my wife were to take a bus to MRT and then MRT to work back and forth, it will cost the same.
but takes longer, less comfort, inconvenient, etc.
of coz ppl are also going to say must factor in petrol, road tax, etc....

but that is life isn't it? it's all about choices.
do you drink $1 kopi every morning or $4 from starbucks?

some say take taxi cheaper:beats-me-man: :D :D :D

24-07-10, 10:39
Thankfully I don't work in the CBD..... :rolleyes:

gohsoonk
24-07-10, 10:59
Taxi is cheaper if it does not work out to be more than S$1000 per month. (factoring in fuel, maintenance, road tax, car park, monthly installment into the TCO of a car costing 60K).

some say take taxi cheaper:beats-me-man: :D :D :D

24-07-10, 15:39
How can it be? Unless you stay in the north via CTE issit? For some strange reasons, my morning drive is always very smooth. Maybe because my company is very flexible and I leave my home at 9am and reach office by 9:15am. I love the drive - very smooth all the way. No, I don't like taxis. I can't stand the wait and queue for taxis. By the time my taxi comes, I would have reached the office. On the way home probably takes more time, but never more than 40 minutes during evening peak. And if I go home after 7:30pm - it would be very smooth on my way home as well. Maybe I'm lucky lah.

I love cars by the way - so maybe that's why I love the morning drive to work. It's therapeutic to me. I cannot imagine living next to my office. You miss an important aspect of life, which is "travelling" and "commuting" within your own country :) There're always new things to discover every day - MRT construction, new buildings etc.

Unless you live close to the place you work, it is more like 1-1.5 hours to drive if you live in Suburbs and work in the CBD area...

24-07-10, 15:43
How can it be? Unless you stay in the north via CTE issit? For some strange reasons, my morning drive is always very smooth. Maybe because my company is very flexible and I leave my home at 9am and reach office by 9:15am. I love the drive - very smooth all the way. No, I don't like taxis. I can't stand the wait and queue for taxis. By the time my taxi comes, I would have reached the office. On the way home probably takes more time, but never more than 40 minutes during evening peak. And if I go home after 7:30pm - it would be very smooth on my way home as well. Maybe I'm lucky lah.

I love cars by the way - so maybe that's why I love the morning drive to work. It's therapeutic to me. I cannot imagine living next to my office. You miss an important aspect of life, which is "travelling" and "commuting" within your own country :) There're always new things to discover every day - MRT construction, new buildings etc.

the traffic at 8 and the traffic is VERY different. lucky you have a flexible job and hours.

24-07-10, 15:59
Surely it's not all about money? If you really count like that, one will NEVER buy a car, let alone performance cars. When one has enough (for his or her own purpose), that is when he/she starts thinking about what stuff makes him/her happy - and that is not necessaily relating to making more money or investment returns.
Taxi is cheaper if it does not work out to be more than S$1000 per month. (factoring in fuel, maintenance, road tax, car park, monthly installment into the TCO of a car costing 60K).

scsc
26-07-10, 17:48
hmm... so quiet here... thought i see many activities on site when i pass by at night during the weekend...

any Q ?

cashrich
26-07-10, 19:35
Surely it's not all about money? If you really count like that, one will NEVER buy a car, let alone performance cars. When one has enough (for his or her own purpose), that is when he/she starts thinking about what stuff makes him/her happy - and that is not necessaily relating to making more money or investment returns.

Correct... when one has enough to live on without working, say 100 years old.... the excess money beyond that is for splurgingggg....... who live forver? just enjoy it while it last. Bill Gates, Warran Buffet choses to "throw away" their money to others instead of their kids ...

26-07-10, 21:40
any comments/review on this project? is it a waste of time to go down?

gohsoonk
26-07-10, 21:53
Yup. You are right. However, we have to know the numbers at the back of our head and it helps when you just started work.

People only look at making themselves happy when they have worked a while and their wallets get thicker...

26-07-10, 22:49
The land used to be part of NYJC right? :beats-me-man:

26-07-10, 22:57
The land used to be part of NYJC right? :beats-me-man:

really ?

NYJC ground is not that big actually ..

27-07-10, 08:41
I believe there was NYJC's football field where the project sits.

27-07-10, 08:50
I think not the actual field with the running track but the weekend warrior's field.

Actually the best plot of land there should be where NYJC building is because it is on a raised plot of land.

I believe there was NYJC's football field where the project sits.

27-07-10, 10:56
I heard this one is sure sell-out one because of the MRT station. Nowadays any condo in the suburbs near MRT station sells better than those prime properties not near MRT station. The name of the condo is interesting - it's like a fusion between "secali" and "sala".

So Scala = secali sala = secali wrong buy? What a name...

scsc
27-07-10, 11:18
here... the devil puts it on the plate

u all vy notti!

i wud rather they use old fashioned names like chuan residences...:D

definition of Scala

Scala

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation (http://forums.condosingapore.com/#head), search (http://forums.condosingapore.com/#p-search)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/f8/Wiktionary-logo-en.svg/37px-Wiktionary-logo-en.svg.png (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Special:Search/Scala)Look up scala (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/scala) in Wiktionary (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Wiktionary), the free dictionary.Scala may refer to:
SCALA (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/SCALA), the Student Chapter of the American Library Association
FF Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/FF_Scala) and FF Scala Sans (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/FF_Scala_Sans), typefaces by Dutch typeface designer Martin Majoor
Scala Sancta (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_Sancta) or Holy Stairs, a staircase in Rome, Italy
One of several fluid-filled cavities in the cochlea (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Cochlea)
Scala (unit) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_%28unit%29&action=edit&redlink=1), a unit of area (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Area) equal to 1,600 square yards (1,300 m2), used in Cyprus, 20th centuryIn music:
Scala (band) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_%28band%29&action=edit&redlink=1), an electronic rock group from England which produced three albums in 1996-1998
Scala & Kolacny Brothers (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%26_Kolacny_Brothers), a Belgian girls' choir
Former name of Escala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Escala_%28group%29), an electronic string quartet
Scala, an album by This Heat (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/This_Heat)In computing:
Scala, Inc (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala,_Inc), producer of multimedia computer software for video production, presentations and digital signage
Scala (programming language) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%28programming_language%29), a functional/object-oriented programming language
Scala (program) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%28program%29), a program for creating musical scalesEntertainment establishments:
La Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/La_Scala), an opera house in Milan, Italy
Scala (club) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%28club%29), a nightclub in London, UK
Scala Theatre (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_Theatre), a theatre in London, UKPlaces:
Scala (SA) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Scala_%28SA%29), a village on the Amalfi Coast
Scala (Saxony) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_%28Saxony%29&action=edit&redlink=1), a part of German community Kittlitz (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Kittlitz)People:
Gia Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Gia_Scala) (1934–1972), an actress
Nevio Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Nevio_Scala) (born 1947), an Italian soccer coach
Darren Scala (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Darren_Scala&action=edit&redlink=1) (born 1968), a photographerSnails:
Scala (genus) (http://forums.condosingapore.com/w/index.php?title=Scala_%28genus%29&action=edit&redlink=1), a genus (http://forums.condosingapore.com/wiki/Genus) of marine snails.

27-07-10, 12:28
a new definition for my nickname: devil on the plate:D

27-07-10, 16:04
I understand today is the actual launch day, for "real" VIPs and "insiders" so to speak.

this forum is surprisingly quiet. a new big 470 unit condo near MRT and Serangoon area should have a lot of interest...

maybe most of them had been absorbed by Minton already... this one is in a better location though

27-07-10, 16:11
this forum has been quiet for a long time and is no longer representative of actual sales. the haig 162 thread was pretty quiet too but that still sold most of its units in a day. we need one of the forumers here to go down tomorrow and update us on the sales stats. :)

I understand today is the actual launch day, for "real" VIPs and "insiders" so to speak.

this forum is surprisingly quiet. a new big 470 unit condo near MRT and Serangoon area should have a lot of interest...

maybe most of them had been absorbed by Minton already... this one is in a better location though

27-07-10, 16:58
I wouldn't be surprise if the 2 bedders are the first to move. Size wise it's still liveable, price wise, I'm not so excited based on the guided price. 3 and 4 bedder size a bit squeezy.

cashrich
27-07-10, 17:15
when PPI is at all time high, lots of people sit on the side lines...
No harm anyway... since under construction.
What's the hurry?

27-07-10, 17:26

sure bo? today sales started for internal staff? strange to start on tues...usually on thur...den public preview on fri....

duno y...this scala doesnt appeal to me....it is actually not near to city by physical distance or number of mrt stations....kovan area is better? the only project tat i am interested in tat area is The Chuan....but asking prices r sky high:scared-5:

mabe forumers r busy buying from secondary market now. :spliff2:

27-07-10, 17:27
when PPI is at all time high, lots of people sit on the side lines...
No harm anyway... since under construction.
What's the hurry?

hurry to get choice units la if really keen....8th,18th flr etc:D

cashrich
27-07-10, 17:30
hurry to get choice units la if really keen....8th,18th flr etc:D

haha #18-18 hot right?

ha :cool:

27-07-10, 21:31
Very good location and neighbourhood. I think this project should sell like hot cakes. If not it shows that market is really slowing.

27-07-10, 22:19
First there are not that many posters in this forum. It has become a very "cosy" forum where a few "regulars" come in to TCSS. Secondly, I believe many of the bros and sis here already have at least 1-2 private properties (some have LOTS!), so the need to purchase that "elusive" home sweet home is no longer there. If there is a good deal, then buy for investment. If no good deal, then just give it a miss. That's why there isn't a lot of "constructive discussion" on Scala other than some jibes on its "unconventional" name somewhat related to a snail.

I know the northeastern of Singapore is an "up and coming" area. It also has pretty good public transportation with the northeast line and now the circle line. But it just doesn't appeal to me. Maybe, it just lacks "charisma" and personality. I always know the northeast part of Singapore as the area where the "northeast MRT line passes through". That's how indescript it is.

27-07-10, 22:35
Think Minton thread also very quiet nowadays. :sleep:

isaaclim
28-07-10, 07:55
Very good location and neighbourhood. I think this project should sell like hot cakes. If not it shows that market is really slowing.

100+ units sold. Today, they will be serving those submitted cheque. 1000+ cheques collected. This is total madness!

If you want 1/2 bedroom @ The Scala and not yet submitted cheque, subsale is your only hope liaw. One bedroom may hit 1.5kpsf by today.

28-07-10, 08:49
I believe this place will have quite a lot of upgraders.

28-07-10, 10:40
at 1k plus psf it will no longer be affordable by upgraders unless they are willing to shrink their lifestyle and accept a small area.

28-07-10, 10:51
100+ units sold. Today, they will be serving those submitted cheque. 1000+ cheques collected. This is total madness!

If you want 1/2 bedroom @ The Scala and not yet submitted cheque, subsale is your only hope liaw. One bedroom may hit 1.5kpsf by today.

serious!!!!:scared-4:

how much!!! wah lau...later i must go down kaypoh liao!!!! stay tuned:D

28-07-10, 11:00
at 1k plus psf it will no longer be affordable by upgraders unless they are willing to shrink their lifestyle and accept a small area.

with HDB fetching record prices and 30-50k COV, y not:D

28-07-10, 11:03
as with recent new launches, looking forward to your update. :)

but actually i thought this would be the response after the clues we got from terrene, 368 and haig 162 sales. how come u so surprised?

serious!!!!:scared-4:

how much!!! wah lau...later i must go down kaypoh liao!!!! stay tuned:D

28-07-10, 11:14
as with recent new launches, looking forward to your update. :)

but actually i thought this would be the response after the clues we got from terrene, 368 and haig 162 sales. how come u so surprised?

bcoz i wud tot this one will mainly attract upgradders....and 1000+ chq collected....WAH

368/haig not surprised....especially HAIG. :D
but terrene i am pleasantly surprised:D

anw, gd for us who got vested interest in D13 or even 19:cheers1:

28-07-10, 11:14
with HDB fetching record prices and 30-50k COV, y not:D

that 30-50k doesn't count for much when they shop for a condo nowadays... And the V vs the condo's V is heaven and earth in some places.

28-07-10, 11:19
that 30-50k doesn't count for much when they shop for a condo nowadays... And the V vs the condo's V is heaven and earth in some places.

as long the proceeds enuff to cover for first 20%....some will cheong liao:hell-hath-no-fury: :cutedoggy:

28-07-10, 11:20
i thought upgraders is where the power is since hdb is so well supported?

quantum is "affordable", guess hdb upgraders does not care so much about psf as was the case with the hdbs they sold. quantum more impt to them.

bcoz i wud tot this one will mainly attract upgradders....and 1000+ chq collected....WAH

28-07-10, 11:22

quantum is "affordable", guess hdb upgraders does not care so much about psf as was the case with the hdbs they sold. quantum more impt to them.

ok lor...i shdnt be so so surprised...

market is turning HOT...HUAT!!!:cheers5:

28-07-10, 11:49

omg....1.5k psf for lorong chuan?! :scared-3:

28-07-10, 11:58

i got vested interest in D19 hdb counted or not :tongue3: :D

28-07-10, 12:02
i got vested interest in D19 hdb counted or not :tongue3: :D

counted!!! i always hear agents saying the condos nearby so so expensive and small when they r selling HDB...

wonder wat they will say about scala...how to justify the high psf...by the way...wats the psf for 2/3bedder?

cl0ver
28-07-10, 12:14
First there are not that many posters in this forum. It has become a very "cosy" forum where a few "regulars" come in to TCSS. Secondly, I believe many of the bros and sis here already have at least 1-2 private properties (some have LOTS!), so the need to purchase that "elusive" home sweet home is no longer there. If there is a good deal, then buy for investment. If no good deal, then just give it a miss. That's why there isn't a lot of "constructive discussion" on Scala other than some jibes on its "unconventional" name somewhat related to a snail.

I know the northeastern of Singapore is an "up and coming" area. It also has pretty good public transportation with the northeast line and now the circle line. But it just doesn't appeal to me. Maybe, it just lacks "charisma" and personality. I always know the northeast part of Singapore as the area where the "northeast MRT line passes through". That's how indescript it is.

maybe should ask that guy who owns 92 properties mentioned in the papers if he is buying this

28-07-10, 12:16
My guess 3 bed -$1,100 psf, 2 bed -$1,200 psf, 1bed 1,400 psf.:beats-me-man:

counted!!! i always hear agents saying the condos nearby so so expensive and small when they r selling HDB...

wonder wat they will say about scala...how to justify the high psf...by the way...wats the psf for 2/3bedder?

28-07-10, 12:17
sure bo? today sales started for internal staff?

see I told u yesterday ;)

should have run down and hoot yesterday mah

I think this is targeting at "Serangoon Gardens" crowd. a lot of ppl like this.

wesing
28-07-10, 12:23

Hong Leong/CDL projects sell like hotcakes!

28-07-10, 12:33

targeted at the minton crowd ~~

scsc
28-07-10, 13:01
anyone kind to post some showroom pics?

cashrich
28-07-10, 13:22
go to h88?

Maybe the people there are the Axe'd agents.. so many agents kanna...

jencrs
28-07-10, 15:55
I was there at 10am and the carpark was already full, had to park on the side of the road. Went in and saw a lot of ppl in the tent waiting for balloting. Couldn't be bothered with putting in a check, and obviously would be too long before walk-ins are allowed, so decided to fall out and see some other places.

Only just received a call to go have a look but sian liao, weather so nice to slp. Heard from the agents there to expect abt 12xxpsf for a 2bdrm and 11xxpsf for a 3bdrm. Anyway, waiting eagerly for updates. July really shaping up to be a pretty solid month.

28-07-10, 15:59
Just came back from the showflat. There are studio, 2bedder and 3 bedder for you to see. Most of those released were sold, including my targeted stack 13. Anyway the word to describe the place is claustrophobic.

The common room is ultra small, can only fit a standard single bed. The 2 bedder's common room was join up with the master bedroom to give an illusion of space. :tsk-tsk:

The studio showflat gave me an idea how small my 8@W studio will be...:(

noblebaby
28-07-10, 16:19
the ID is so similar to Waterfront Gold... haha, same ID firm, by SuMisura :banghead:

Just came back from the showflat. There are studio, 2bedder and 3 bedder for you to see. Most of those released were sold, including my targeted stack 13. Anyway the word to describe the place is claustrophobic.

The common room is ultra small, can only fit a standard single bed. The 2 bedder's common room was join up with the master bedroom to give an illusion of space. :tsk-tsk:

28-07-10, 16:20
appreciate your efforts in putting up the photos. :)

scsc
28-07-10, 16:20

thanks for the pics, az..
8@W studio (no balcony but have BW) is cheaper..
Not sure what singlehood can do with balcony... lighting fags or keep spiders? :doh:

Less the balcony, then should be sama in size le...

wesing
28-07-10, 16:33
July really shaping up to be a pretty solid month.

Seems like buyers trying to snap up units before 7th lunar month which starts on 10 August. Based on the good sales figures from 368, Terrene, WF Gold, Minton, Haig 162 and now Scala, chow chow can hit 900 units:D :D and probably will yi wah exceed 1000 units in July:scared-1: :scared-1:

scsc
28-07-10, 16:39
Seems like buyers trying to snap up units before 7th lunar month which starts on 10 August. Based on the good sales figures from 368, Terrene, WF Gold, Minton, Haig 162 and now Scala, chow chow can hit 900 units:D :D and probably will yi wah exceed 1000 units in July:scared-1: :scared-1:

my July guess (include Scala sales in July) 1200 units :cheers6:

28-07-10, 19:05
ok here is my update!!:D

as of now: all 1 and 2bedders GONE!!! left 2+study onwards.

I was quoted 1bedder from 12xxpsf and 2bedder from 10xx-1100psf

the layout for 1bedder is goodie...min wastage except for the balcony to those who find it redundant. but 12xxpsf....no i will not bite unless it is stack 26 or 5...anyway when i reach there, all 1bedders r gone! so u can say i sour grape lor:D

furnishing quite good for mass market standard ....but hey...at 1kpsf++ cannot really jusitfy mass market anymore? hehe

agree the common bedroom for 2/3 bedder r so damn smallllllllllll even without baywindows...and they provide swing door type of wardrobe for common bedrooms....shd just install sliding door types to save up some space:doh:

when i was checking the prices: i found out one very interesting thing!!! the ground flr 2bedder unit with patio of size 958sqft was selling at around 920k and one floor up at 850sqft was selling at 970k!!!!! save 50k and yet get 108sqft of free patio!!!!!!!!!!!!! BEST DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!:D

too bad.... when units r release for the public without prior chq submission....tat unit is GONE!!!!!! 03-17.....i was actually preparing my chq!!!!!:(

so guys...check out for other available ground flr units at other stacks if u r keen b4 u commit on higher floors:D

28-07-10, 19:18
Nowadays people scared of ground floor units...wait flood waters come and destroy your house haa haa... :rolleyes:

28-07-10, 19:23
Nowadays people scared of ground floor units...wait flood waters come and destroy your house haa haa... :rolleyes:

tat unit was on elevated land tats y it is not 01-17 but 03-17:D (2 floors higher den NYJC...if flood, NYJC kena first..haha)

anyway, snap up by others:( ...end of story

cashrich
28-07-10, 19:53
tat unit was on elevated land tats y it is not 01-17 but 03-17:D (2 floors higher den NYJC...if flood, NYJC kena first..haha)

anyway, snap up by others:( ...end of story

ahaha.. miss the boat literally.

cashrich
28-07-10, 19:58
I am curious to know... why the prices of this scared lah.... is more expansive than some FH projects? Arn't FH projects better? Is MRT the magic? Asked for fun for other readers as I have my own answers. But I would appreciate if anyone else can share too. My answers may not be the same...

Help help....

greenhorn
28-07-10, 20:00
Went to showflat this evening. All 1, 2, 3+study and 4 bedroom units are sold out. Left 2+study and 3 rooms. Prices around $1200psf. Understand 1 bdrms up to $1400psf. $ so high and still so many people waiting to buy (many in showflat and many more in tent outside, even after 6pm). Hats off to Hong Leong for a great job, as always.

28-07-10, 20:17
Was there in the afternoon, saw a few ang mos buying also....hrmmm... :spliff:

wesing
28-07-10, 20:27
So how many of the 468 units were released today?

When you mentioned "All 1, 2, 3+study and 4 bedroom units are sold out", does it mean all of the total or all of the launched units?

greenhorn
28-07-10, 20:49
So how many of the 468 units were released today?

When you mentioned "All 1, 2, 3+study and 4 bedroom units are sold out", does it mean all of the total or all of the launched units?

Total. All units were released by developer.

28-07-10, 21:53
Wow, I expected 1 and 2 bedders to be sold out but I didn't expect the 3+1 and 4 to go as well.

28-07-10, 21:55

looking only at Quantum and Not PSF is a big mistake ..

i made that mistake once in 2006 .. regret till today .. learned my lesson already

28-07-10, 21:59
Thought the estuary is already mad enough, sold out in over a month though developer released in 2 phases.
But this is even more mad than I expected. Although no view to talk about but very good location.

28-07-10, 22:10
I am curious to know... why the prices of this scared lah.... is more expansive than some FH projects? Arn't FH projects better? Is MRT the magic? Asked for fun for other readers as I have my own answers. But I would appreciate if anyone else can share too. My answers may not be the same...

Help help....

MRT convenience is a must for upgraders ~

28-07-10, 22:11
Thought the estuary is already mad enough, sold out in over a month though developer released in 2 phases.
But this is even more mad than I expected. Although no view to talk about but very good location.

apart from the MRT ... what amenities are there ? thats within walking distance ?

the cafe in the old office/factory looking building acorss the street ?
NYJC canteen ? NYJC jogging track ?

seriously ..any nearby amenities ?

28-07-10, 22:12
MRT convenience is a must for upgraders ~
can also command higher rental premium...

isaaclim
28-07-10, 22:13

Help help....

Why? Because that FH is one BIG street away from MRT station and it is just at door step for The Scala.

isaaclim
28-07-10, 22:17

i made that mistake once in 2006 .. regret till today .. learned my lesson already

This is another mistake again... Don't commit just because of psf.

What kind of mistake that you made in 2006? Isn't anythings you buy then, is double or triple now?

28-07-10, 22:18
Why? Because that FH is one BIG street away from MRT station and it is just at door step for The Scala.

thats really silly mentality ...

but unfortunately ..its brutally true ...

28-07-10, 22:21
apart from the MRT ... what amenities are there ? thats within walking distance ?

the cafe in the old office/factory looking building acorss the street ?
NYJC canteen ? NYJC jogging track ?

I believe people don't mind taking one MRT down to Bishan J8, or one MRT to Nexus, or a short drive to Chomp Chomp, a short drive to upp serangoon to get that graving durian, or a short drive to the surrounding industial parks (eg AMK, Toa Payah, ......), so many good schools around, .....

the location is better than the hot bedok reservoir waterfront series, and the mrt is already existing! and price is about the same...

28-07-10, 22:21
Total. All units were released by developer.

woohoo!!! congrats to CDL once again! :cheers4:

28-07-10, 22:24

A brand new mega shopping mall is opening end of this year in Serangoon MRT. That's 1 (or is it 2?) MRT away, or 10 mins away by car. So u cannot say there is nothing there. Qwek is no stupid to bid that land at $530 psf.

28-07-10, 22:28
A brand new mega shopping mall is opening end of this year in Serangoon MRT. That's 1 (or is it 2?) MRT away, or 10 mins away by car. So u cannot say there is nothing there. Qwek is no stupid to bid that land at $530 psf.

makan place spore everywhere also have

each will have its famous stall

if tahts the case .. then as long as theres a mall there ..it will chiong ..

like that everywhere in spore will be 1200-1500 psf in no time ..

ponggol .. woodlands ... changi point ... tuas ...

this is very scary ..

28-07-10, 22:31
The end of the world is coming....:D

28-07-10, 22:32
This is another mistake again... Don't commit just because of psf.

What kind of mistake that you made in 2006? Isn't anythings you buy then, is double or triple now?

not just 1200-1400 psf for lor chuan ridiculous ..it is 99LH as well .. I AM A FH MAN

personally i wont pay for that location .. like i said i rather pay 1850 psf for river valley ...

what mistake i made in 2006 ? i saw a 3600 sqft unit FH condo .. the quantum frightened me off .. but i failed to see that the PSF was just slightly higher than marine parade HDB ..

while now looking at Scala .. 1100-1400 psf LH .. IF that is going to be the base psf for that area shouldnt the FH be a better deal ?

wouldnt 1700-2000 at D9/10 a better deal ?

28-07-10, 22:52
once it is near MRT, renting out is not an issue. in bad time people dont care about views but savings on transport and convenience if they have to give up their car.

Help help....

28-07-10, 22:58
once it is near MRT, renting out is not an issue. in bad time people dont care about views but savings on transport and convenience if they have to give up their car.

singaporeans will not give up their cars ...

ERP, ERP everywhere .. traffic improved ..only on school holidays ..

COE up and up ..still people buy cars ..

MRT stations everywehere ..COE still up ..

its a 'fresh trend' to be near MRT ..and say that " I will stop driving now that i live next to MRT" .. give it a few mths/yrs ..will still buy car ..

28-07-10, 23:00

once your wife pregnant .. and complain MRT too hot, crowded, smelly .. even if you live INSIDE the MRT station ... once she complains, or once you have a baby ... you will get a car ..

this holds true for a big pct of the population

28-07-10, 23:01
agree and well said. But I am just saying IF (no choice!) if you are out of job, one of the thing need to forgo is CAR.

28-07-10, 23:04
ok lah, i got 5 cars and decided to sell 4 leaving behind 1 Japanese made car..

once your wife pregnant .. and complain MRT too hot, crowded, smelly .. even if you live INSIDE the MRT station ... once she complains, or once you have a baby ... you will get a car ..

28-07-10, 23:06
agree and well said. But I am just saying IF (no choice!) if you are out of job, one of the thing need to forgo is CAR.

thats true ..

if out of job ..better dont get pregnant also ...

i know of people ..living near mrt .. main line .. got retrenched .. still kept the car .. reason: need to go around for interview .. if i arrived sweaty ..how to get a job ?

28-07-10, 23:07
Maybe should start buying landed since so many buying condos now..:banghead:

28-07-10, 23:08
ok lah, i got 5 cars and decided to sell 4 leaving behind 1 Japanese made car..

hahahah

now i know why your name R-Drama

i 2 cars already kana scolded by my bros .. in the end i passed one to my brother to use ..

28-07-10, 23:10
Maybe should start buying landed since so many buying condos now..:banghead:

i am a contrarian

people buy MM i buy big unit

people buy LH i buy FH

people buy condo i buy landed

people buy near MRT i buy those without

why ? i also practise a bit of propertism ..

in time to come :

big units will be a rarity
FH will be a rarity
landed will be a rarity
quiet/non crowded areas will be a rarity ( no need MRT, cos my theory is every household will still have a car)

28-07-10, 23:14

that one confirm have to buy car. gynae all have clinics that are typically not near MRT station.

28-07-10, 23:16
i am a contrarian

people buy LH i buy FH

in time to come :

FH will be a rarity
landed will be a rarity
quiet/non crowded areas will be a rarity ( no need MRT, cos my theory is every household will still have a car)

what i believe in is all properties will go up...just a matter of which goes up more and which faster. That's my Singapore! :D

28-07-10, 23:17
that one confirm have to buy car. gynae all have clinics that are typically not near MRT station.

we are supposed to get healthiery stronger etc

my mom didnt really have a gynae ..

my dad didnt have a car until we were in primary school

MRT was unheard of

our house was in a kumpong ... had to walk 30 minutes to the nearest bus stop or main road to flag a cab ..

are men and particularly women getting weaker now ?

28-07-10, 23:18
You are quite right. Good job.

I used to change car every 1 to 3 years. I am not exactly good in car but like the built quality of the new models.

I only embarked on property last year and realized that this is where I should place my $$. Thats why I am in this forum.

hahahah

now i know why your name R-Drama

i 2 cars already kana scolded by my bros .. in the end i passed one to my brother to use ..

28-07-10, 23:21
You are quite right. Good job.

I used to change car every 1 to 3 years. I am not exactly good in car but like the built quality of the new models.

I only embarked on property last year and realized that this is where I should place my $$. Thats why I am in this forum.

you are not wrong in the past ...

singaporean businessmen very $$ eyes ...

you drive a Daihatsu to show flat .. no 'hue' you ..

you drive a european car ..the jaga at the car park entrace direct you and greet you

28-07-10, 23:23

MRT was unheard of

our house was in a kumpong ... had to walk 30 minutes to the nearest bus stop or main road to flag a cab ..

the mindset that we want to give the best to our loved ones and children drives it all. last time, even though our folks want to do it, they didn't have the $$...

28-07-10, 23:24
you sounds like an old nagging, say something about future lah.

I reminded me I need to walk 8 bus stops from my landed LH home to my primary school in Lim Chu Kang. Now the area is with the army. REally miss it.

MRT was unheard of

28-07-10, 23:25

you drive a european car ..the jaga at the car park entrace direct you and greet you

same with some sellers i believe, you drive daihatsu and say they should sell at zero COV, they think you crazy. you drive a merz and say they should sell at zero COV, they think you very sharp to spot the market turning down. same advice, different presentation, results in very different response.

28-07-10, 23:25
I don't have a driving licence yet....:o

28-07-10, 23:27
tats why drive BMW and bring maid when go show flat. Sure open door big big and smile big big. But then sign in as HDB address, their face abit twisted. haha

28-07-10, 23:29
tats why drive BMW and bring maid when go show flat. Sure open door big big and small big big. But then sign in as HDB address, their face abit twisted. haha

ha, depends on the crowd, if big crowd, yeah, bored by half, if no viewers, don't worry, they'll be very patient with you. you're the black swan case who might just be their lucky ticket for another closed deal.

28-07-10, 23:35
tats why drive BMW and bring maid when go show flat. Sure open door big big and smile big big. But then sign in as HDB address, their face abit twisted. haha

ahahah true true

once i drove there ..the jaga directed me where to park etc and ran after me to guide me further ..

i think i shocked him when i came out of the car ..wearing shorts and slippers ...

anyway going back to Scala .. i was a NYJCian .. i dont really find the surrounding any attractive ..

well i am not a shopper ..so the malls, Chomp chomp (cannot get a seat) are no attraction to me ..

28-07-10, 23:36
I don't have a driving licence yet....:o

no worries ... tong pang a friend who is driving lah ..

28-07-10, 23:37
It holds true for scala project here. You drive 7 series agent no hue cos so many checks on hand liao.

Anyway, when I view projects, I always look at downside risk, for eg, how to off load the unit in time of crisis, is it too conservative?

28-07-10, 23:40
makan place spore everywhere also have

each will have its famous stall

if tahts the case .. then as long as theres a mall there ..it will chiong ..

like that everywhere in spore will be 1200-1500 psf in no time ..

ponggol .. woodlands ... changi point ... tuas ...

this is very scary ..

y u so worry??? i am enjoying the HOT HOT sales even though i nvr buy any unit there....my existing ppty will benefit from it indirectly:cheers1:

MARKET CHIONG ARGH!!!! I WILL BE CONTENTED WITH ANOTHER 30% INCREASE FROM HERE B4 NEXT CORRECTION/CRASH:spliff:

28-07-10, 23:41
If I am the agent, I will not under mind people wearing shorts and slippers......tow kay leh, can afford not to go office.....

ahahah true true

once i drove there ..the jaga directed me where to park etc and ran after me to guide me further ..

i think i shocked him when i came out of the car ..wearing shorts and slippers ...

anyway going back to Scala .. i was a NYJCian .. i dont really find the surrounding any attractive ..

well i am not a shopper ..so the malls, Chomp chomp (cannot get a seat) are no attraction to me ..

28-07-10, 23:43
the locality is great, but i get the sense that people are starting to lose some sense of proportion. LH next to MRT is now like 1200psf min for a 2 bedder.

28-07-10, 23:46
Wow. I am surprised - 99LH in a non descript location can sell at $1400psf and still snapped up like hot cakes. Now Ang Moh Kio Centro seems cheap - at least Ang Moh Kio has more personality :) Even driving to work from here would be a nightmare. I presume have to go through CTE?

So looks like selling points are:-

1) Got MRT station (but then a lot of 99Lh condos also got MRT station. Some more this circle line is a stupid line that goes in a circle that leads no where.)

2) Got eating places 2 MRT stops away (but then 2 MRT stops away is like comparing Bishan and Novena right? 2 MRT stops = very far)

3) Got international school (Is this Aljunied GRC where residents were upset about low class workers dormitory? The MP will ensure dormitories will not open door near your estate but in Ang Mo Kio. The MP will ensure you will not mix around with foreign workers but only high class white skin foreigners - that's why international schools are here. )

4) Very tiny units which keep quantum small (As long as quantum cheap, living area doesn't matter).

That about sums up the appeal of the area :) When Terrene did so well, I could understand because it is at least freehold. This 99LH Scala? Really sala leh! But who cares - for suburban property owners, it means huat ar!

28-07-10, 23:49
singaporeans will not give up their cars ...

ERP, ERP everywhere .. traffic improved ..only on school holidays ..

COE up and up ..still people buy cars ..

MRT stations everywehere ..COE still up ..

its a 'fresh trend' to be near MRT ..and say that " I will stop driving now that i live next to MRT" .. give it a few mths/yrs ..will still buy car ..

we r toking about rentals/tenants.

if D9,10,11....FH is ur cup....perhaps u can make the D9,10,11 thread more active,....it is quite dead now

u will be happier to tok about ur CUP rather den spewing negativities over 99LH/MRT/HDB ?:D

28-07-10, 23:56
i am a contrarian

people buy LH i buy FH

in time to come :

FH will be a rarity
landed will be a rarity

i tink its not bcoz ppl dunwan to buy FH big units...got $..can afford 3-5mil ppty...will these buyers hoot The Scala? out of 10millionaires...perhaps only 1 is super high heeled like ppty_owner....not many in tat category....not to mention this is a forum....rarely u will find super filthy richies participating here.....i wud say most forummers over here/internet r the younger generation perhaps 30-40 form the majority.....how many forummers here got the bullet/ammo to hoot big big FH units?

obviously, u r in the wrong forum....u shd form an exclusive ppty forum which toks about prime big units FH ppty....many of us including me....dun even dare to step into posh orchard road showflats....one big big unit can cost more den all my ppty added up:o

28-07-10, 23:56
the locality is great, but i get the sense that people are starting to lose some sense of proportion. LH next to MRT is now like 1200psf min for a 2 bedder.

dun forget is FEO who came out 1st with Centro at AMK

29-07-10, 00:03
Wow. I am surprised - 99LH in a non descript location can sell at $1400psf and still snapped up like hot cakes. Now Ang Moh Kio Centro seems cheap - at least Ang Moh Kio has more personality :) Even driving to work from here would be a nightmare. I presume have to go through CTE?

So looks like selling points are:-

1) Got MRT station (but then a lot of 99Lh condos also got MRT station. Some more this circle line is a stupid line that goes in a circle that leads no where.)

2) Got eating places 2 MRT stops away (but then 2 MRT stops away is like comparing Bishan and Novena right? 2 MRT stops = very far)

3) Got international school (Is this Aljunied GRC where residents were upset about low class workers dormitory? The MP will ensure dormitories will not open door near your estate but in Ang Mo Kio. The MP will ensure you will not mix around with foreign workers but only high class white skin foreigners - that's why international schools are here. )

4) Very tiny units which keep quantum small (As long as quantum cheap, living area doesn't matter).

That about sums up the appeal of the area :) When Terrene did so well, I could understand because it is at least freehold. This 99LH Scala? Really sala leh! But who cares - for suburban property owners, it means huat ar!

u dun own any LH ppty now rite?

i have LH, FH, new, resale/old....but i cannot afford big big units FH in orchard, BIg big landed GCBs or even bungalows in sentosa...any of them cost 5mil+++ at least...me and my frens always say...SIAO AR.......spend 5mil...10mil(how to find a tenant to cover ur mthly installment)...OR 38mil for a 99LH bungalow in sentosa!!! CRAZY ARGH!!!:D

it seems tat ppl loves to use the HIGHEST PSF to tok down a project......den they tend to use LOWEST PSF to tok up another :D

29-07-10, 00:03
dun forget is FEO who came out 1st with Centro at AMK

well that wasn't sold out in a day, this was! so why isn't centro sold out yet? they hoarding the bulk of their units? market's already caught up with the initial sales price.

29-07-10, 00:06
well that wasn't sold out in a day, this was! so why isn't centro sold out yet? they hoarding the bulk of their units? market's already caught up with the initial sales price.

area wise centro is slightly less prestigious

29-07-10, 00:07

the funny thing is...nobody offer high high or even close to 1kpsf for my FH near MRT older ppty:( :banghead:

29-07-10, 00:08
Sometimes need to go with the flow :ashamed1:

Most Singaporeans will have cars - but foreign "white collar" tenants, esp the entry level ones don't. So those condos near MRT stations will appeal to them and they don't mind paying higher rental to be near MRT. After all, cars are really expensive in Singapore. Also in Singapore, sometimes the wife doesn't drive and would insist staying near a MRT station.

Quiet and non-crowded areas and MRT station are not mutually exclusive. With the downtown line running up Bukit Timah and even Bedok reservior, these would become quiet and yet accessible area. And it doesn't look like an area where the residents will welcome with open arms a large cookie cutter mall like Jurong Point or Parkway Parade or Tampines Mall to disturb the peace..

So I would agree with your "contrarian" views other than the MRT part. MRT is definitely a plus point.

i am a contrarian

people buy LH i buy FH

in time to come :

FH will be a rarity
landed will be a rarity

29-07-10, 00:13

u r obviously not monitoring the market...i just received sms from FEO few days back promoting their Centro and state prices from 1.22mil for 2bedders:scared-1:

anyw, dun get the wrong idea tat i am saying scala is cheap...i only got tempted with tat ground flr mispriced unit...haha

now my waterbank looks cheaper?? similar psf....better layout and nearer to TOWN:D

29-07-10, 00:17
What is the average PSF in this project?

Not talking down lah - just doesn't see the appeal to fetch that kind of price for a 99LH and sharing my views. Obviously, many people think otherwise, as can be seen by the sales performance :) . So many people think it's a worthy buy like yourself.

Sorry, never like this area after the worker's dormitory saga.

u dun own any LH ppty now rite?

i have LH, FH, new, resale/old....but i cannot afford big big units FH in orchard, BIg big landed GCBs or even bungalows in sentosa...any of them cost 5mil+++ at least...me and my frens always say...SIAO AR.......spend 5mil...10mil(how to find a tenant to cover ur mthly installment)...OR 38mil for a 99LH bungalow in sentosa!!! CRAZY ARGH!!!:D

it seems tat ppl loves to use the HIGHEST PSF to tok down a project......den they tend to use LOWEST PSF to tok up another :D

29-07-10, 00:19
Hong Leong may have used Centro as reference and priced below to sell quickly and not end up like FEO, still hittig fly.

29-07-10, 00:24
What is the average PSF in this project?

Not talking down lah - just doesn't see the appeal to fetch that kind of price for a 99LH and sharing my views. Obviously, many people think otherwise, as can be seen by the sales performance :) . So many people think it's a worthy buy like yourself.

Sorry, never like this area after the worker's dormitory saga.

u can refer to my earlier post...i provided an update after my visit to the showflat in the afternoon jus now. lets not tok about studio's PSF as it is often very misleading....2bedder,850sqft(no baywindows, no planters box) from 10xx to 1100psf(such as from 2nd flr)....if i am not wrong, terrene 2bedder from 1200psf...opss...cant rmb!! getting old(only rmb tat PH i am eyeing at the Terrene which cost 1kpsf):o

in fact, i am totally not interested in this project....only got tempted at the mispriced ground flr unit:D

u can say i am BIAS....a project like Scala priced from 1kpsf and can sell so well...I AM A VERY VERY HAPPY PPTY OWNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jencrs
29-07-10, 00:45
Anyway, just a little more update. I just left the showrm and counted 111 units left unsold. So 357 sold out of 468 which is about 76%. Pretty nice. I believe a few checks still coming in though. For the decent units left, should be looking at about 1.2x mil quantum for 3 bdrm high floor for just under 1200 psf. 2+1 high flr abt 960k.

Everytime i see something moving quickly like this, 368 and terrene, always makes me feel i'm missing out. hiaz hahah.

29-07-10, 00:49
2+1 high flr abt 960k.

Everytime i see something moving quickly like this, 368 and terrene, always makes me feel i'm missing out. hiaz hahah.

u mean 2+study high flr(such as above 10th flr) only 960k???? den how come i was quoted 97xk for 04-11 which is just a 2bedder, 850sqft!!! 03-02, 850sqft 2bedder was quoted 94xk too!!!!:scared-4: :scared-3: :beats-me-man:

anyway, i heard prices had gone up...or rather those bot yday(internal staff, VVIP or public individual who bot at least 3units) got some special discount...mid-high flr stack 2, 2bedder was sold 1130psf....but i was quoted 03-02(lowest flr) for 94xk which is 1105psf...assuming 5k per floor...10th flr shd add another 35k more which work out to be ard 980k=1150psf...so apparently discount of around 1-2%....not so bad:D

jencrs
29-07-10, 01:09
Dun make me work so hard leh haha, ok lemme get the brochure....... ok quoted to me was #15-21 @ $961200 / 1063psf. Prob cuz of west sun and stack is right in front of the mrt entrance. The #15-22 was sold for $1.075M as a comparison.

Just to add some of my thoughts, this place dun really have walkable amenities nearby. MRT really near so that's great, but so what if NEX or J8 is 1 stop away? If i have to go into the mrt, 1 stop, 3 stops or even 5 stops not much difference la.

29-07-10, 01:15
we r toking about rentals/tenants.

if D9,10,11....FH is ur cup....perhaps u can make the D9,10,11 thread more active,....it is quite dead now

u will be happier to tok about ur CUP rather den spewing negativities over 99LH/MRT/HDB ?:D

i am not spewing negativities leh

i am worried for the buyers , esp upgraders ..

to upgrade is to move to a better location or a bigger place ,

this is a lateral move ..

i am always worried for people who buy with the 'wind' .. will there be tenant forever ?

is there any condo in spore thats fully tenanted ?

for those who buy to stay .. seriously i dun know what is good at that location

29-07-10, 01:31
i am not spewing negativities leh

i am worried for the buyers , esp upgraders ..

to upgrade is to move to a better location or a bigger place ,

this is a lateral move ..

i am always worried for people who buy with the 'wind' .. will there be tenant forever ?

is there any condo in spore thats fully tenanted ?

for those who buy to stay .. seriously i dun know what is good at that location

i nvr stay at tat area too...also duno wat so good about it....i also nvr stay NY b4....nvr will too...SG my HOME:D

aiya, i am sure u been thru 1990-97 ppty bull run? (i am not:( )...but i am very sure during tat time,...market is at least 10X crazier or hotter den current situation

it is greed and fear....greed to make more $ via ppty investment....fear of losing out....u oredi own a few ppty...same here as well...but for those who owns none....i am sure they feel GANCHEONG....u nvr noe when is the next correction/crash....2011? 2012? or 2015? it is everyone's guess

imagine ppty prices were to go up for another 30-50% by 2015....how??

ppty if dun overleverage not too bad...equities is the killer....any stock can get delisted overnight....bonds??...high risk low gain(lehman bro best example)....FD?? high risk low gian as well if u believe any BANK can collaspe(lehman bro again).....where can we really invest our $$??? can u enlighten me as well???i may sound very bullish but in fact, i am holding quite a substantial % of my total portfolio in CASH now....inflation coupled with low deposit rates is really eating me alive everyday:beats-me-man:

29-07-10, 08:14
Scala vs 368 Thomson, which is better?

Dun make me work so hard leh haha, ok lemme get the brochure....... ok quoted to me was #15-21 @ $961200 / 1063psf. Prob cuz of west sun and stack is right in front of the mrt entrance. The #15-22 was sold for $1.075M as a comparison.

Just to add some of my thoughts, this place dun really have walkable amenities nearby. MRT really near so that's great, but so what if NEX or J8 is 1 stop away? If i have to go into the mrt, 1 stop, 3 stops or even 5 stops not much difference la.

nav14
29-07-10, 08:50
Hong Leong may have used Centro as reference and priced below to sell quickly and not end up like FEO, still hittig fly.

Centro at 1200psf +/- is a better buy than Scala. Unlike Scala it is located next to a MAIN MRT line and not a circle line. It is also located next to a shopping centre and not 1 station away.

Centro looks reasonbaly priced now.

nav14
29-07-10, 08:55
Centro at 1200psf +/- is a better buy than Scala. Unlike Scala it is located next to a MAIN MRT line and not a circle line. It is also located next to a shopping centre and not 1 station away.

Scala being located near International schools, so more expats will rent it is an overrated factor. How many expats with kids who want to stay specifically in that area due to its proximity to international schools, would want to stay in a 1270 sq ft crammed unit with 4 rooms, which is the biggest size available. I bet not more than 5 families in the whole development.

29-07-10, 08:55
Scala vs 368 Thomson, which is better?
Scala own stay and lease
368 fh syndrome

29-07-10, 08:57
There is no great view in this development so which ever floor will do. Lower floor for some stacks might be better as it may provide some shades in the afternoon sun.
u mean 2+study high flr(such as above 10th flr) only 960k???? den how come i was quoted 97xk for 04-11 which is just a 2bedder, 850sqft!!! 03-02, 850sqft 2bedder was quoted 94xk too!!!!:scared-4: :scared-3: :beats-me-man:

anyway, i heard prices had gone up...or rather those bot yday(internal staff, VVIP or public individual who bot at least 3units) got some special discount...mid-high flr stack 2, 2bedder was sold 1130psf....but i was quoted 03-02(lowest flr) for 94xk which is 1105psf...assuming 5k per floor...10th flr shd add another 35k more which work out to be ard 980k=1150psf...so apparently discount of around 1-2%....not so bad:D

29-07-10, 08:59
Scala own stay and lease
368 fh syndrome

Rental at scala will be competitive just like Dakota R and WaterBank.

nav14
29-07-10, 09:00
Scala own stay and lease
368 fh syndrome

Choosing between Scala and 368 or any of the new freehold condos nearby like Arte going for the same price as Scala is a no brainer.

Makes 368, Arte look cheap now.

cashrich
29-07-10, 09:02
Scala being located near International schools, so more expats will rent it is an overrated factor. How many expats with kids who want to stay specifically in that area due to its proximity to international schools, would want to stay in a 1270 sq ft crammed unit with 4 rooms, which is the biggest size available. I bet not more than 5 families in the whole development.

Good observation... lots of expats buying for their own use.. save on rental and yet enjoy capital gain. Even koven melody folks etc will shift there... being new.

Bad for the rental market of older condo around there.. but they will gain with higher resale prices brought upon by scared lah higher pricing.

FH is really crappy when it is really old. Govt can take it back anytime, just built a road on it, through it etc will do and give u $1. They will not do it for obviouse reasons but they could if they want it. Same with LH too.. so why pay more for the same RISK?

This project is mainly for families, who find it more peaceful to stay there than CENTRO... as with its pricing.. centro do seem attractive but the take up ratE?

This is launched at the peak of PPI... before any next new peak... any correction later... good luck...

nav14
29-07-10, 09:06
Good observation... lots of expats buying for their own use.. save on rental and yet enjoy capital gain. Even koven melody folks etc will shift there... being new.

Bad for the rental market of older condo around there.. but they will gain with higher resale prices brought upon by scared lah higher pricing.

FH is really crappy when it is really old. Govt can take it back anytime, just built a road on it, through it etc will do and give u $1. They will not do it for obviouse reasons but they could if they want it. Same with LH too.. so why pay more for the same RISK?

This project is mainly for families, who find it more peaceful to stay there than CENTRO... as with its pricing.. centro do seem attractive but the take up ratE?

This is launched at the peak of PPI... before any next new peak... any correction later... good luck...

I bet the take up rate for Centro will improve over the next few weeks after people realise it now looks reasonably priced when compared to Scale that sold like hot cakes.

29-07-10, 09:24
If the expatriates can afford to send kids to the international school, they will want to stay at a better and larger place. One should do a survey of those condos near international school. The no. of buses and no. of private cars fetching kids can tell. In addition, may not be wise to be too close to international schools.

29-07-10, 09:29
but looking only at psf and not quantum can also be a mistake.

29-07-10, 09:38
Actually this one by Hong Leong, so CDL does not come into the picture. Actually one question i have any idea how they decide which developer in the group develop which property (HL, CDL, TIDL {is it part of the grp}....? ).

woohoo!!! congrats to CDL once again! :cheers4:

29-07-10, 09:51

MRT was unheard of

tats very true!! what happen to the new generation? too pampered until become emotional & physically weak. what u said is true.....last time u can see a woman with a few kids taking bus to anywhere. now u seldom see this scene. or maybe singaporean are getting richer each day...........

29-07-10, 09:52
i know the area, stay nearby at Ser Gdns, was down on sun with another friend - a neighbour who wanted to KPO. 5pm already, Agent say quickly give cheque b4 they close at 8pm, showflat not open for viewing. Deadline for cheque was 8pm so that can ballot on wed. Must give blank cheque.., sound really crazy. was quoted at ave. $1200 psf. Agent also don't know launch price on sun. 5mins after i drove off, Agent called my mobile asking me "how". Next morn, 7.30am, raining so heavy, so nice to sleep. Agent sms me, say he got approval to extend cheque deadline submission to 10am on monday. He say can come to my house to pick up. After considering, i replied, sorry, decided not to invest.

My reasons: ( personal - not to spoil pple who bought):

1. at $1150 ave - as stated in tis morn ST - very pricy for 99LH. Even have Aussie & American school, not many angmo will want to cramp into a 1-2 bedder. Most Angmo who already need to stay around the area are willing to get a big 3-4 bedder type or rent landed at ser gdns. My neighbr is Angmo with family. Hus & wife with 2 kids. I see many Angmo families now stay at ser gdns with kids.., some cycling to Aussie school. So for pple who think want to rent to Angmo...maybe possible but certainly not the 1-2 bedder type unless single Angmo - maybe teacher who come 1st before they families get here.

2. Have a cousin staying at " The Chuan" 2 bedder - last time bought at S$700psf, believe it is FH or 999 ..., confirm that although popular with angmo becos it is just beside the Aussie school, most Angmo with families won't cramp into a 2 bedder there. In the morning, Lor Chuan road is jammed...on the way to Braddell towards CTE.

3. Have an auntie - staying at Chuan Park, 99LH ...also 2 bedder...bought at $500k for 1173k sft apartment. Checked URA website, in June such unit transacted at S$900k, work out to be $700+psf.

Although old, but spacious, potential en-bloc type...30yrs already, Chuan Park condo is just beside MRT also, right at the junction. If want to invest and rent, believe Chuan Park give better yield.

4. Then you have FH condo Golden Hill Park Condo at Mei Hwan drive, actually it is just opposite Chuan Park Condo, years ago when launched i went to see, launch at S$700 psf. Check URA website in Jul 2010, transacted at S$1.068mil for 926 sft 2bedder, work out about $1154 psf. This one have side gate...just opposite MRT entrance at the traffic light junction. Convenient also. Just no covered linkway.

5. Therefore, give all the above thinking, i decided not to invest. For me, 99 yrs...in bullish market, best rental yield compared to FH, in term of crisis, 1st to plunge, be prepared to lose 30-40% and when mkt recover, flavour of investors changed already, may not recover to launch or pre-crisis price. This we have seen in 1997 crisis or last year.

For me, if have $1.5mil, instead of investing in a 4 bedder at Scala - only 99LH , 1270 sqft, i would rather scout of landed - 999 at Ser Gdns, just across the road, at lanes like Cardiff Grove, Colcester Drv, still have smaller units of land 1840sft type single story, build-in area of 1400sft...take $100k to do simple reno and enjoy. No need to pay parking lot or maintenance. Want facilities, join Serangoon Gardens country club (market is only abt $16k membership - now on wkend many angmo there as Term member), no need to pay condo maintenance.

Just some thoughts. For buyers who buy to stay, safer bet - UP or Down, no need to care so much. For Investors who want to rent, few condos next to Scala give better yields..., for investors who want to flip...- lock in fast when you see profits becos Singapore economy is good this year, am sure you can make some $$ before Dec...

wesing
29-07-10, 09:54
my July guess (include Scala sales in July) 1200 units :cheers6:

With the high sales figures for Scala, I up my guess for July to 1250 units:D :D which is 47% higher than June.:cheers1: :cheers1: to the developers.

smallant
29-07-10, 10:01
wow.... price not cheap but still selling like hot cakes... :scared-1:

New benchmark for tat area rite ?

29-07-10, 10:08
Just look at all our primary schools building the sheltered courts so that they like the parents can give the students a sheltered life. :scared-1:

tats very true!! what happen to the new generation? too pampered until become emotional & physically weak. what u said is true.....last time u can see a woman with a few kids taking bus to anywhere. now u seldom see this scene. or maybe singaporean are getting richer each day...........

29-07-10, 10:17
I think so too. Cut me the crap that Serangoon Ave 3 is more "prestigious" than Ang Mo Kio. Look at the surroundings - HDB flats and more concrete. The condo design is so bland that in fact looks exactly like the HDB flats nearby. 10 stops to Raffles Place MRT station which is further from the city centre than Jurong (9 stops)? From the news, it appears than most buyers are HDB upgraders or "investors" - one expert even came out to say buy at $1150psf can immediately flip at $1250 psf. And for drivers, CTE jam is not for the faint-hearted - you probably reach the office much later than anyone else at other far ends of Singapore if you come out at the same time - that after paying $10 of ERP everyday.

I hope the govt won't come up with cooling measures after this. After all, many of the resale are not fetching that kind of prices :(

I bet the take up rate for Centro will improve over the next few weeks after people realise it now looks reasonably priced when compared to Scale that sold like hot cakes.

sencha99
29-07-10, 11:03
I think so too. Cut me the crap that Serangoon Ave 3 is more "prestigious" than Ang Mo Kio. Look at the surroundings - HDB flats and more concrete. The condo design is so bland that in fact looks exactly like the HDB flats nearby.
Serangoon Ave 3 is not 'prestigious' but that plot of land around Scala is exclusive for private residential. Are you the least bit objective in comparing to surrounding HDB that are more than 10 years old? Really? So Springbloom looks like a kampong to you?

cashrich
29-07-10, 11:10
i know the area, stay nearby at Ser Gdns, was down on sun with another friend - a neighbour who wanted to KPO. 5pm already, Agent say quickly give cheque b4 they close at 8pm, showflat not open for viewing. Deadline for cheque was 8pm so that can ballot on wed. Must give blank cheque.., sound really crazy. was quoted at ave. $1200 psf. Agent also don't know launch price on sun. 5mins after i drove off, Agent called my mobile asking me "how". Next morn, 7.30am, raining so heavy, so nice to sleep. Agent sms me, say he got approval to extend cheque deadline submission to 10am on monday. He say can come to my house to pick up. After considering, i replied, sorry, decided not to invest.

My reasons: ( personal - not to spoil pple who bought):

1. at $1150 ave - as stated in tis morn ST - very pricy for 99LH. Even have Aussie & American school, not many angmo will want to cramp into a 1-2 bedder. Most Angmo who already need to stay around the area are willing to get a big 3-4 bedder type or rent landed at ser gdns. My neighbr is Angmo with family. Hus & wife with 2 kids. I see many Angmo families now stay at ser gdns with kids.., some cycling to Aussie school. So for pple who think want to rent to Angmo...maybe possible but certainly not the 1-2 bedder type unless single Angmo - maybe teacher who come 1st before they families get here.

2. Have a cousin staying at " The Chuan" 2 bedder - last time bought at S$700psf, believe it is FH or 999 ..., confirm that although popular with angmo becos it is just beside the Aussie school, most Angmo with families won't cramp into a 2 bedder there. In the morning, Lor Chuan road is jammed...on the way to Braddell towards CTE.

3. Have an auntie - staying at Chuan Park, 99LH ...also 2 bedder...bought at $500k for 1173k sft apartment. Checked URA website, in June such unit transacted at S$900k, work out to be $700+psf.

Although old, but spacious, potential en-bloc type...30yrs already, Chuan Park condo is just beside MRT also, right at the junction. If want to invest and rent, believe Chuan Park give better yield.

4. Then you have FH condo Golden Hill Park Condo at Mei Hwan drive, actually it is just opposite Chuan Park Condo, years ago when launched i went to see, launch at S$700 psf. Check URA website in Jul 2010, transacted at S$1.068mil for 926 sft 2bedder, work out about $1154 psf. This one have side gate...just opposite MRT entrance at the traffic light junction. Convenient also. Just no covered linkway.

5. Therefore, give all the above thinking, i decided not to invest. For me, 99 yrs...in bullish market, best rental yield compared to FH, in term of crisis, 1st to plunge, be prepared to lose 30-40% and when mkt recover, flavour of investors changed already, may not recover to launch or pre-crisis price. This we have seen in 1997 crisis or last year.

For me, if have $1.5mil, instead of investing in a 4 bedder at Scala - only 99LH , 1270 sqft, i would rather scout of landed - 999 at Ser Gdns, just across the road, at lanes like Cardiff Grove, Colcester Drv, still have smaller units of land 1840sft type single story, build-in area of 1400sft...take $100k to do simple reno and enjoy. No need to pay parking lot or maintenance. Want facilities, join Serangoon Gardens country club (market is only abt $16k membership - now on wkend many angmo there as Term member), no need to pay condo maintenance.

Just some thoughts. For buyers who buy to stay, safer bet - UP or Down, no need to care so much. For Investors who want to rent, few condos next to Scala give better yields..., for investors who want to flip...- lock in fast when you see profits becos Singapore economy is good this year, am sure you can make some $$ before Dec...

Bro... I like your post... very logical and well reasoned...

I wish the goodu's good luck also...

BTW, the Centro looks like a bargain now...

My Ball ur ball, never mind whose balls as long as it is a bigger ball... just hope that balls don't drop!

29-07-10, 11:13
But think Centrio still more expensive in relative terms because of bay windows and slightly less functional layout. Received FEO's email on Centro, so timely :rolleyes:

29-07-10, 11:13

another one who compare last yr pricing with this yr pricing...metropoliatan last time 800psf+ much better compared to scala too:D

29-07-10, 11:17
Rental at scala will be competitive just like Dakota R and WaterBank.

will be competitive just like citylights/southbank?

cashrich
29-07-10, 11:20
I like the name ...scala

next time... it will be scar la when buyers are hurt... leave a nasty scar when burnt

29-07-10, 11:30

can find anot? now those smaller landed asking psf damn high even for old single storey....and when u check hw much was last may-july prices...oredi big jump in prices...and when they ask low low psf and still no takers...everytime got so disappointed after i go down to view. pm me if u got gd lobang...tks in advance...i am quite keen in the landed for tat area as well:D

29-07-10, 11:41
wow.... price not cheap but still selling like hot cakes... :scared-1:

New benchmark for tat area rite ?

not shocking....but i nvr interested to buy a condo there....only the chuan in 2007 tempted me...

older 99 condos over there ard 850psf....999LH The chuan 1050psf but since few mths back all asking 1200psf++ and now even higher! haha
...i was hoping to get 10xxpsf for the chuan as i noe scala cfm launch from 1kpsf...but the sellers at the chuan arent stupid either:D

so priced from 1-1.2kpsf not surprising and shocking at all...since older 99LH oredi transacted 8xxpsf. always 20-30% premium

aiya...whenever there is a new project....everybody will say expensive one....always compared it with older resale nearby and say new project damn ex blah blah.. den when the sales response is gd....ppl will say wah lau...good luck to those buyers...herd mentality blah blah....if the project cannot sell well...see...overpriced blah blah....tok is cheap lah really

dun believe me, browse thru all other new launches thread and u will agree with me:D

next coming up new launches is wat??? i will bet the same thing will happen again...

ask urself one question: when did u ever come across a project tat is selling cheap and selling very close psf with the older condos nearby??? if so, the nearby older condo cfm goto drop price liao.....

even during recession....u go browse thru caspian/double bay....all say EXPENSIVE at tat time when they launched...of coz neighbouring older condo sure cheaper lah....haha

u tink the developer so stupid meh...under priced their pricing so tat everybody will find it CHEAP???? u wait long long:D

29-07-10, 11:43
I think the minton is a better buy for self stay. Good facilities and more livable space in the apartments. :2cents:

29-07-10, 11:45
But think Centrio still more expensive in relative terms because of bay windows and slightly less functional layout. Received FEO's email on Centro, so timely :rolleyes:

i received their sms few days back...from 1.22mil for 2bedders...or all the smaller sizes r sold?

29-07-10, 11:49
I think the minton is a better buy for self stay. Good facilities and more livable space in the apartments. :2cents:

but prices for 99LH without MRT very jialat when the project gets old unless it is located in a better location

minton got planter box/baywindows...if they dun hf both...minton gd buy at current psf:D

wesing
29-07-10, 11:58
i received their sms few days back...from 1.22mil for 2bedders...or all the smaller sizes r sold?

Wow! 1.22million:scared-1: Probably for the higher floor units.

But that is about the price for the lower floor 2-bedders at 368 which is FH and nearer to town but about 800 meters from Novena MRT.

If someone actually buy centro, really wonder what is the main motivation:beats-me-man: What do they see good about this project to splash this kind of $ when there seems to be better deal elsewhere which is somemore nearer to town:banghead:

ocoloco79
29-07-10, 12:16
may I know where is the showflat venue? On actual site opp nyjc? thks. :)

sencha99
29-07-10, 12:20
ask urself one question: when did u ever come across a project tat is selling cheap and selling very close psf with the older condos nearby??? if so, the nearby older condo cfm goto drop price liao.....

even during recession....u go browse thru caspian/double bay....all say EXPENSIVE at tat time when they launched...of coz neighbouring older condo sure cheaper lah....haha

u tink the developer so stupid meh...under priced their pricing so tat everybody will find it CHEAP???? u wait long long:D
I remember when Metropolitan launch, a lot of people complained expensive. Those who bought during launch and sold last year were all laughing their way to the bank. Those who did nothing probably are still sitting around complaining new launch expensive. :D

isaaclim
29-07-10, 12:51
not just 1200-1400 psf for lor chuan ridiculous ..it is 99LH as well .. I AM A FH MAN

personally i wont pay for that location .. like i said i rather pay 1850 psf for river valley ...

what mistake i made in 2006 ? i saw a 3600 sqft unit FH condo .. the quantum frightened me off .. but i failed to see that the PSF was just slightly higher than marine parade HDB ..

while now looking at Scala .. 1100-1400 psf LH .. IF that is going to be the base psf for that area shouldnt the FH be a better deal ?

wouldnt 1700-2000 at D9/10 a better deal ?

If you buying property not for own stay but for investment, you shouldn't be bother by this LH vs. FH.

For investment, people just look at Location!

29-07-10, 12:56
If you buying property not for own stay but for investment, you shouldn't be bother by this LH vs. FH.

For investment, people just look at Location!

different perspective...some may wana leave their FREEHOLD landed/condos to next generation mah...actually very wishful...who noes wat happens after u DIE? i am sure ur kids or grandchildren will most likely sell ur FH ppty and enjoy the fruits....haha ...worse still, fight among themselves...$ is the root of evil remember?

to me, i am happy as long rental can cover the mthly installment even during downturn based on 60% and 30yrs tenure loan.....holding power is the KEY to ppty investment!!!

anyway gd la....during dowturn, cannot pay installment...bank auction lor or firesales....FREE FALL DURIANS!!!!!!!!!!!

if everyone so prudent....i eat grass liao:D

i tink it is also a common myth tat FH ppty drop lesser in terms of percentage den 99LH ppty during downturn....i disagree based on my own groundwork....tats the reason y many still stuck in the rat race....govt just nid to extend the retirement age lor:D

cashrich
29-07-10, 13:10
may I know where is the showflat venue? On actual site opp nyjc? thks. :)

u want to buy another? make yourself feel better? anyway this is conclusive that LH is priced higher than FH because of MRT.

More demand for this than small boutique developments... that one waste time.

ocoloco79
29-07-10, 13:18
u want to buy another? make yourself feel better? anyway this is conclusive that LH is priced higher than FH because of MRT.

More demand for this than small boutique developments... that one waste time.

Staying nearby so wanna drop by to kaypo, went to minton too. No la, for own stay, I still think I will choose primo over this if given a choice. FH and considered quite near MRT. Cheap too. A good forced savings for retirement.

cashrich
29-07-10, 13:22
Staying nearby so wanna drop by to kaypo, went to minton too. No la, for own stay, I still think I will choose primo over this if given a choice. FH and considered quite near MRT. Cheap too. A good forced savings for retirement.

Oh.. play badminton....

I like the way u put it... FORCED SAVINGS FOR RETIREMENT...

hahahahahaha.... more like slave to it...

29-07-10, 13:32
Oh.. play badminton....

I like the way u put it... FORCED SAVINGS FOR RETIREMENT...

hahahahahaha.... more like slave to it...

but when my mthly installment is covered by the tenant and by the end of the 30yrs tenure...tat piece of FH ppty is solely mine!!! just pay 40% down+stamp fees...mabe spend abit every 5-10yrs to touch up the place...gd deal? i tink its a VERY GODAMMED GD DEAL:D :D :D

work hard for coy BUT work harder for urself!!!

make $$/tenant be ur slaves and not the other way round:D

29-07-10, 13:42
Sorry. An address that read "Whatever Avenue 3" doesn't sound prestigious to me. In short, Serangoon Ave 3 doesn't sound more prestigious than Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 or Hougang Ave 3. Real presitigious address doesn't have an avenue number one. Haha. I know I'm being anal but really, the area doesn't look "prestigious" to me lah. The HDBs are pretty near u know. It's not exclusive to private for goodness sake.

Serangoon Ave 3 is not 'prestigious' but that plot of land around Scala is exclusive for private residential. Are you the least bit objective in comparing to surrounding HDB that are more than 10 years old? Really? So Springbloom looks like a kampong to you?

cashrich
29-07-10, 13:48
but when my mthly installment is covered by the tenant and by the end of the 30yrs tenure...tat piece of FH ppty is solely mine!!! just pay 40% down+stamp fees...mabe spend abit every 5-10yrs to touch up the place...gd deal? i tink its a VERY GODAMMED GD DEAL:D :D :D

yes, constructive comments...

I agree totally... 40% is a good figure... 50% is even better... stretch the loan to the max.... use rental to finance it while saving up a buffer to hedge against interest rate hikes... u get the picture? When you have other source of income... make a full redemption... super super strong holding power... u have a winner... it's a modified form of pension... just that u need a golden goose (house that is fully paid) and not a goose that needs to eat and shit... (monthly debt)

29-07-10, 13:53
http://thescalalorchuan.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/sale-site1.jpg

If this is called "exclusive to private enclave". I am speechless :( Those blocks sure look like Serangoon HDB to me.

29-07-10, 13:55
will be competitive just like citylights/southbank?

Should be quite fierce competition if you look at the total no. of units. Total no. of units from Citylight and SB is far fewer than the total nos. from DR and WB. In fact qutie a no. of tenants from Citylight move over to SB upon expiration of tenancy contract.

isaaclim
29-07-10, 13:57

When a condo that reach that kind of age, the maintenance cost is going to be scary... (If you tell me you have sinking fund, I can tell you it is not going to be enough). Furthermore, if you have a choice, will you choose to stay in a 30yrs old FH condo?

To me, if a person can effort to purchase multiple units, LH is no longer a concern.

cashrich
29-07-10, 13:57

If this is called "exclusive to private enclave". I am speechless :( Those blocks sure look like Serangoon HDB to me.

WEST SUN!

No

cashrich
29-07-10, 13:58
<duplicated post deleted>

29-07-10, 13:59
In all fairness, Caspian got people say not expensive lah. Just saw interview in the papers. Of 3 interviewees, 2 say want to buy as "investment" to rent out to the ang mohs because of "Nex" shopping mall. One is a PRC who says PRC has too much cash and don't know what to do so buy property to invest. In short, where are the owner occupiers?

I remember when Metropolitan launch, a lot of people complained expensive. Those who bought during launch and sold last year were all laughing their way to the bank. Those who did nothing probably are still sitting around complaining new launch expensive. :D

isaaclim
29-07-10, 14:00

That mean you don't know what is at Lorong Chuan. If you have time, please go there have a look....

cashrich
29-07-10, 14:04
When a condo that reach that kind of age, the maintenance cost is going to be scary... (If you tell me you have sinking fund, I can tell you it is not going to be enough). Furthermore, if you have a choice, will you choose to stay in a 30yrs old FH condo?

To me, if a person can effort to purchase multiple units, LH is no longer a concern.

very constructive comments... the first punch!

hahaha.... I agree with you... LH is not a concern at all~!!!!!

sencha99
29-07-10, 14:10
Sorry. An address that read "Whatever Avenue 3" doesn't sound prestigious to me. In short, Serangoon Ave 3 doesn't sound more prestigious than Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 or Hougang Ave 3. Real presitigious address doesn't have an avenue number one. Haha. I know I'm being anal but really, the area doesn't look "prestigious" to me lah. The HDBs are pretty near u know. It's not exclusive to private for goodness sake.

Nobody said it's prestigious in the first place unless you agent told you so. By exclusive I meant by predominantly private residential. Perhaps you stay in core district because other parts of Singapore, it is rare to find places not near HDB. :D

29-07-10, 14:17
Noted lah. But then can't really say this is exclusive to private - that would be a misrepresentation because across the street is already all HDB flats already. If buy for own stay, happy can already but purely as investment would be quite high risk at this entry point. After all, it's 10 MRT stops away from Raffles Place leh. A lot of 99LH condo 10 MRT stations away from the core city center are only half the price.

Nobody said it's prestigious in the first place unless you agent told you so. By exclusive I meant by predominantly private residential. Perhaps you stay in core district because other parts of Singapore, it is rare to find places not near HDB. :D

29-07-10, 14:18
See the picture for goodness sake. A picture says a thousand words about the real location.

That mean you don't know what is at Lorong Chuan. If you have time, please go there have a look....

29-07-10, 14:20
Bro... I like your post... very logical and well reasoned...

I wish the goodu's good luck also...

BTW, the Centro looks like a bargain now...

My Ball ur ball, never mind whose balls as long as it is a bigger ball... just hope that balls don't drop!

Bro, in times like this, sometimes need think logically. Agent i saw on sun just sms me : "Good Afternoon, just to inform you that Scala is selling like hot cakes, would you reconsider to come to our showflat? Give me a call".

Guess Agent laughing all the way to the Bank and realise his account not fat enough to buy another unit for himself. Other day, he told he giving cheque for #06-26.

Ya, last year when Centro launched, I was thinking wow Tomato land, 99LH also >$1k psf, sure or not, now come to think of it, Ah Chuan area now higher liao.

29-07-10, 14:23
Should be quite fierce competition if you look at the total no. of units. Total no. of units from Citylight and SB is far fewer than the total nos. from DR and WB. In fact qutie a no. of tenants from Citylight move over to SB upon expiration of tenancy contract.

ooo...luckily my tenancy ends 1.5yrs later for my CL:D

MBR very jialat also...everywhr also jialat....anyway just calculate rental yield based on lowest conservative figure....i even use 2500 per mth for my 1+study unit at CL...now having 1k+ extra pocket $ and treat it as a bonus ...tats how kiasu or kiasi i am:D

29-07-10, 14:31
can find anot? now those smaller landed asking psf damn high even for old single storey....and when u check hw much was last may-july prices...oredi big jump in prices...and when they ask low low psf and still no takers...everytime got so disappointed after i go down to view. pm me if u got gd lobang...tks in advance...i am quite keen in the landed for tat area as well:D

Bro, i figure out, next time i retire or jobless, i become Property Agent, speciallise in place where i stay. Have seen some Agent grow and grow and monopolise same area until now they have downline to assist them. Must be laughing their way to the bank, maybe flipping also. At Ser Gdns, if you drive around, only handful of agents who handle probably 75% of all sales..many owners used them. I suppose once u show result, word of mouth from neighbours, etc.

Landed scouting is frustrating, sometimes old, rundown, but if you are prepared to be patience, check with a contractor what A&A can be done if you dun want to tear down entirely, can find gem. For land like 1900sft or 2k sqft, if single storey build in will same, but still have decent 1300-1400 sqft, park 1 car, small side lawn and land title to call your own. No need to worry if upstairs neighbour's toilet leakage..., dropped marbles in the middle of the night, etc.

just some thoughts.

isaaclim
29-07-10, 15:37
See the picture for goodness sake. A picture says a thousand words about the real location.

Sorry, i may have misunderstand you. Do you know all those buildings in that picture are private condo?

While we are chatting, someone in one of that "old" building maybe planning for another round of enblock due to the current selling price @ The Scala.

29-07-10, 16:37
Bro, i figure out, next time i retire or jobless, i become Property Agent, speciallise in place where i stay. Have seen some Agent grow and grow and monopolise same area until now they have downline to assist them. Must be laughing their way to the bank, maybe flipping also. At Ser Gdns, if you drive around, only handful of agents who handle probably 75% of all sales..many owners used them. I suppose once u show result, word of mouth from neighbours, etc.

Landed scouting is frustrating, sometimes old, rundown, but if you are prepared to be patience, check with a contractor what A&A can be done if you dun want to tear down entirely, can find gem. For land like 1900sft or 2k sqft, if single storey build in will same, but still have decent 1300-1400 sqft, park 1 car, small side lawn and land title to call your own. No need to worry if upstairs neighbour's toilet leakage..., dropped marbles in the middle of the night, etc.

just some thoughts.

u stay in srgn landed? cool man!

haiz...cant find any gd landed lobang so far..those hot deal...always got fierce bidding! and i dun like to bid...like a big carrot...

29-07-10, 17:02

sorry, i read it twice and still cannot figure out wat u r trying to say???:beats-me-man:

anything wrong with my strategy mentioned above? u mean we shd buy and keep flipping ppty when it gets old??

by the way, i nvr say LH no good wor? i owned many LH condos...recently acquired ones mostly all 99LH...but for tat long term strategy to work...probably holding a FH ppty for 30yrs is better den a 99LH? agree?

29-07-10, 17:22
I have the same strategy when I invest in property. Passive income after rental minus all the expenses is a must. Capital Gain+++ now and hopefully another few more ++ 2-5 years down the road.
ooo...luckily my tenancy ends 1.5yrs later for my CL:D

MBR very jialat also...everywhr also jialat....anyway just calculate rental yield based on lowest conservative figure....i even use 2500 per mth for my 1+study unit at CL...now having 1k+ extra pocket $ and treat it as a bonus ...tats how kiasu or kiasi i am:D