View Full Version : Esparina

Pages : [1] 2

12-08-10, 16:28
All new EC coming soon. http://www.esparina.sg/ :p

12-08-10, 16:37
Heard starting from 630psf...but nice quiet area and NTUC just behind.

12-08-10, 16:52

u sure gona be quiet?....lots of potential construction nearby in future:p

i like those new HDB flats over there...got basement parking....got abit of condo feel:D

12-08-10, 17:32
Quartz now going for $800 psf so if really 630 psf then really quite a steal. Is 630 psf after the HDB subsidy?

chua may lee
12-08-10, 18:02
My personal deduction, this will be another sold out project! It will be a much sought after project for HDB upgraders. Don't be surprised that people queue overnight. MRT just right across this project and takes 20 mins to doby ghaut. Not to forget Punggol park nearby and extensive road infrastructure such as TPE & KPE. It is sandwiched in between Hougang and Sengkang, best of both worlds new and old. :)

12-08-10, 18:13
I will be surprised if not sold out:eek:

My personal deduction, this will be another sold out project! It will be a much sought after project for HDB upgraders. Don't be surprised that people queue overnight. MRT just right across this project and takes 20 mins to doby ghaut. Not to forget Punggol park nearby and extensive road infrastructure such as TPE & KPE. It is sandwiched in between Hougang and Sengkang, best of both worlds new and old. :)

cl0ver
12-08-10, 18:25
next to it also got another plot right? the one directly facing Quartz....
i think that one might hit 1000psft since Greewich already breach that...

12-08-10, 18:36
That plot which is on the reserve list is better in terms of location, this esparina is abit sandwiched, presuming there is another plot on the other side?

next to it also got another plot right? the one directly facing Quartz....
i think that one might hit 1000psft since Greewich already breach that...

12-08-10, 18:53
BUY BUY BUY!

isaaclim
12-08-10, 19:05

From who? That guy should be still dreaming.

12-08-10, 19:29
From who? That guy should be still dreaming.

6xxpsf considered high for EC oredi. 95% set aside for 1st timer and income ceiling 10k

12-08-10, 20:11
u sure gona be quiet?....lots of potential construction nearby in future:p

i like those new HDB flats over there...got basement parking....got abit of condo feel:D

Well it's beside Lilydale...and that EC has has unblocked views from the high floors (can even see the sea)

Dunno about future construction but owners of lilydale will confirm kena the noise from construction of this new EC. I think price of 630psf could be after subsidy...but the info I got got was supposed to be pretty accurate.

Prices of lilydale bound to shoot up I think.

However downside is quite ulu and if u want to go back home from CTE you'll be stuck along Junction of yishun ave 1 during peak hours (the junction where the estuary is)

isaaclim
12-08-10, 22:25
6xxpsf considered high for EC oredi. 95% set aside for 1st timer and income ceiling 10k

My wild guess is around 720-750psf.

12-08-10, 23:25
which street is Esparina located?

12-08-10, 23:25
Well it's beside Lilydale...and that EC has has unblocked views from the high floors (can even see the sea)

Dunno about future construction but owners of lilydale will confirm kena the noise from construction of this new EC. I think price of 630psf could be after subsidy...but the info I got got was supposed to be pretty accurate.

Prices of lilydale bound to shoot up I think.

However downside is quite ulu and if u want to go back home from CTE you'll be stuck along Junction of yishun ave 1 during peak hours (the junction where the estuary is)

hey...i tink u got confused...this EC located in buangkok

KC76
12-08-10, 23:39

yah lah, that is what was stated in ptyguru.

12-08-10, 23:44
so 4bedder can cost around 900k...wow...PH cud be more den a 1mil?

KC76
12-08-10, 23:49
so 4bedder can cost around 900k...wow...PH cud be more den a 1mil?

Haha... more good years ahead...:D

13-08-10, 09:46
hey...i tink u got confused...this EC located in buangkok

You are right! Was thinking why this appeared in northeast forum instead of far north.
Sorry guys I did get confused! Cos my agent friend told me that EC in yishun launching this week

propertyinvestor
19-08-10, 15:50

Just received from the developer sales team.

573 units, 18 storeys, 750PSF
TOP 2014.
2 BR 829 sf
3 BR 1001 to 1152 sf
4 BR 1367 to 1464 sf

So a small 3 BR should starts around 750K onwards.

19-08-10, 16:08
Think $750 should be for the 4 bedrooms and large 3 bedders, small 3 bedders and 2 beds should be 800 psf.

TOP 2014.
2 BR 829 sf
3 BR 1001 to 1152 sf
4 BR 1367 to 1464 sf

19-08-10, 16:21
So expensive for an EC?! :eek:

rainy
19-08-10, 16:23

TOP 2014.
2 BR 829 sf
3 BR 1001 to 1152 sf
4 BR 1367 to 1464 sf

:doh: what .... ec only 750psf :doh:

more likely to be 650psf

launching on in oct

don't think the sales team has the price now ...

propertyinvestor
19-08-10, 16:40
Think $750 should be for the 4 bedrooms and large 3 bedders, small 3 bedders and 2 beds should be 800 psf.

I am not too sure, probably you are right as this location is quite "prime" as compare to other sengkang projects.

19-08-10, 16:44
so many rich 1st timers?

rainy
19-08-10, 16:50
:cool: oasis@elias and waterfront key will be a steal ...:D :D :D

19-08-10, 17:24
maybe now say higher to programme into buyers, later less than 750psf, everyone say cheap and chiong in to snap up?

:doh: what .... ec only 750psf :doh:

more likely to be 650psf

launching on in oct

don't think the sales team has the price now ...

RE_Owner
19-08-10, 17:58
maybe now say higher to programme into buyers, later less than 750psf, everyone say cheap and chiong in to snap up?

good analysis!! sales tactic

mightyleftfoot
20-08-10, 13:39
Got a flyer last night on my windscreen, unnamed property but location looks to be Esparina.
It says from $828psf onwards.

U make the sums...

Over heated. Time to stand down.:simmering:

20-08-10, 13:45
haha, 7xx now becomes 8xxpsf. NV at pasir ris going for $600+k for 2 bedders, shouldn't this project be at a significant discount? :beats-me-man:

Got a flyer last night on my windscreen, unnamed property but location looks to be Esparina.

U make the sums...

rainy
20-08-10, 14:43

U make the sums...

$828psf ??? how to sell ???

isaaclim
21-08-10, 12:43
$828psf ??? how to sell ???

This is a question not for us to ask... It is a developer problem.

The right question is "How to buy?" :)

21-08-10, 12:49
dun buy lor:D

isaaclim
21-08-10, 13:48
dun buy lor:D

But for those can't effort private condo but want to stay in condo... How?
Isn't EC was meant for that?

21-08-10, 13:56
But for those can't effort private condo but want to stay in condo... How?
Isn't EC was meant for that?
Buy 2nd hand lor

21-08-10, 14:03
still got cheap EC like chestervale leh....:D

21-08-10, 14:19
Cheap condo also have:D

21-08-10, 15:00
still got cheap EC like chestervale leh....:D

I won't choose this project

21-08-10, 15:27
EC sell at private condo prices is sheer madness.

21-08-10, 18:20

willing seller willing buyer mah...

lets see wats the final launch price...i still tink its gona be 700psf on average:D

acewee
21-08-10, 18:41
The pricing for this will be interesting as the developer of the plot in Punggol will be watching closely on the response. There is also a plot at Punggol Drive that will be released later this year. There are Big Signs put up already. That one will be interesting as the 'river' flowing through Punggol should be close to completion by launch time.

cl0ver
22-08-10, 10:47

buyer can't even flip within 5 yrs time and applicants are subject to 10k combined income limit.....
it sure is pushing it....

acewee
22-08-10, 14:23
Price increase of ECs is expected as the overall property landscape has changed. However, the thing that needs to be reviewed is the income limit to be in tandum with the change in price.

buyer can't even flip within 5 yrs time and applicants are subject to 10k combined income limit.....
it sure is pushing it....

22-08-10, 14:32
Garment is not revising the income limit upwards as the average income has not gone up substantially. On the other hand, they have problem with those immigrant turns PRs or citizens which may fall into this lower category whereby they are mostly a single family income. I know of new citizens whereby the wife will resign from their job and purchase a flat first in order to be qualified for it.

acewee
22-08-10, 14:51
I guess if we are to be impartial, then the policy should not be changed to penalise 'new citizens'. Having said that, while the ave income may not have gone up significently, i think the income level of those who would be looking at ECs have indeed increased by quite a bit sinced the policy was first made.

Garment is not revising the income limit upwards as the average income has not gone up substantially. On the other hand, they have problem with those immigrant turns PRs or citizens which may fall into this lower category whereby they are mostly a single family income. I know of new citizens whereby the wife will resign from their job and purchase a flat first in order to be qualified for it.

22-08-10, 14:56
If they increase the income limit to say $15k, the price will go up even more. $10k for subsidised housing isn't a bad deal. No other countries provide subsidised housing for people earning more than $10k.

Price increase of ECs is expected as the overall property landscape has changed. However, the thing that needs to be reviewed is the income limit to be in tandum with the change in price.

22-08-10, 14:57
I guess if we are to be impartial, then the policy should not be changed to penalise 'new citizens'. Having said that, while the ave income may not have gone up significently, i think the income level of those who would be looking at ECs have indeed increased by quite a bit sinced the policy was first made.

I guess so as the country progress and people are looking for better quality of life given limited quality time.

22-08-10, 16:50
i dun see any issue y EC income ceiling cannot be raised to 12-15k soon

current income ceiling for EC is 10k which is way too low...or rather 2bedder EC shd be 10k and 3bedder upwards shd be 12k income ceiling at least....

BTO 4rm upwards is 8k...how can EC only 10k? DOESNT MAKE SENSE....:confused:

cl0ver
22-08-10, 17:21
of coz it doesnt make sense..
so dont believe rumours of 850psf....

let's see what the actual launch price would be....
then work out the sums...

22-08-10, 17:32
No. Goverment shouldn't be building subsidised housing for people earning $15k. These guys should stop whining and buy private properties. There are other people who earn less than $10k that needs more help than others. People shouldn't be selfish and only think of themselves. Imagine if the income ceiling is raised to $15k, you have a another bunch of people competing for HDB or EC which are already oversubscribed.

i dun see any issue y EC income ceiling cannot be raised to 12-15k soon

current income ceiling for EC is 10k which is way too low...or rather 2bedder EC shd be 10k and 3bedder upwards shd be 12k income ceiling at least....

BTO 4rm upwards is 8k...how can EC only 10k? DOESNT MAKE SENSE....:confused:

22-08-10, 17:52
No. Goverment shouldn't be building subsidised housing for people earning $15k. These guys should stop whining and buy private properties. There are other people who earn less than $10k that needs more help than others. People shouldn't be selfish and only think of themselves. Imagine if the income ceiling is raised to $15k, you have a another bunch of people competing for HDB or EC which are already oversubscribed.

i am refering to income ceiling for EC....not BTO...how to justify income ceiling for BTO flats 8k and EC only 10k?

in the first place, y come up with so call subsidised EC? subsidised to enjoy luxury living with swimming pool and facilities? lol

the latest Jurong West EC site, no bid at all...shows not viable for developer to build EC ? govt shd build their own EC instead of tendering out to pte developer if really want to keep 10k income ceiling

acewee
22-08-10, 18:06
Income ceiling is meant as a form of control to ensure that the target segment group remains. In the case of EC, its meant for those in between affordability (ie. pte condo and HDB). The pricing also supports this argument. Nonetheless, as the pricing of EC increases, the ceiling should also be raised as the assumption is that your income should also be higher to afford the higher mortgage. There are still other controls in place to prevent that the system is not abused. In fact, if ceiling not raised the risk of isolating the original target segment may be higher.

07-09-10, 08:27
From BT today "BT understands OUE will officially roll out Twin Peaks, a high-end project in Leonie Hill Road, on Sept 18. And Frasers Centrepoint has said it will go ahead with the launch of Esparina Residences - an executive condominium (EC) project at Sengkang - in October as planned.
Another EC project - the Canopy, by MCC Land at Yishun - is also scheduled for launch in October."

cashrich
07-09-10, 08:53
From BT today "BT understands OUE will officially roll out Twin Peaks, a high-end project in Leonie Hill Road, on Sept 18. And Frasers Centrepoint has said it will go ahead with the launch of Esparina Residences - an executive condominium (EC) project at Sengkang - in October as planned.
Another EC project - the Canopy, by MCC Land at Yishun - is also scheduled for launch in October."

Oh yes, forget to add...

Now is all EC time. HDB upgraders removed from investing in Mass Market Condo, they all now try EC and wait out for another 5 years.

07-09-10, 09:05
Attention turned to ec now? Perfectly orchested

07-09-10, 10:05
yup, time for EC and DBSS to do well. :)

Anyone has a list of which other EC or DBSS site has been sold other than Canopy and Esparina?

I know the sim lian DBSS in Tampines by Sim Lian. Any other plots sold by govt already?

cashrich
07-09-10, 10:09
yup, time for EC and DBSS to do well. :)

Anyone has a list of which other EC or DBSS site has been sold other than Canopy and Esparina?

I know the sim lian DBSS in Tampines by Sim Lian. Any other plots sold by govt already?

have some smart guys here...

anyway, after DBSS and EC MOP... Huat arh!

More DBSS and EC coming up... perfect reason to buy them now right?

07-09-10, 10:29
for first timers, that's strongly encouraged by everyone, even the govt! :ashamed1:

have some smart guys here...

anyway, after DBSS and EC MOP... Huat arh!

More DBSS and EC coming up... perfect reason to buy them now right?

TQ2008
13-09-10, 21:12
for first timers, that's strongly encouraged by everyone, even the govt! :ashamed1:

here's the pricing found at theesparinacondo.com

Executive Condo Unit types:
Unit Type No. of Units Area (sq ft) Price (approx) 2 Bedroom 165 829 S$600k-S$700K 3 Bedroom Compact 127 1001 S$700K-S$800K 3 Bedroom + Utility 156 1066 S$800K-S$850K 3 Bedroom Dual-key 53 1152 S$850K-S$900K 4 Bedroom + Utility 34 1367 S$950K-S$1.05M 4 Bedroom Dual-key 18 1464 S$1.07M-S$1.1M Penhouses 20 1690-2583 S$1.1M-S$1.3M Pricing: S$750-S$800 psf

These prices are on the high side.

Raydon
13-09-10, 21:45
This must be a record pricing for an EC Project. :eek:

Unit Type No. of Units Area (sq ft) Price (approx) 2 Bedroom 165 829 S$600k-S$700K 3 Bedroom Compact 127 1001 S$700K-S$800K 3 Bedroom + Utility 156 1066 S$800K-S$850K 3 Bedroom Dual-key 53 1152 S$850K-S$900K 4 Bedroom + Utility 34 1367 S$950K-S$1.05M 4 Bedroom Dual-key 18 1464 S$1.07M-S$1.1M Penhouses 20 1690-2583 S$1.1M-S$1.3M Pricing: S$750-S$800 psf

cashrich
13-09-10, 22:31

can catch it just after 5 years, sell on 10 is advisable.

13-09-10, 22:37
This will make NV residences look so cheap haa haa....:rolleyes:

cashrich
13-09-10, 22:42

see the big picture?

Condo expansive = cheong EC

EC expansive = Cheong Condo

Condo cheap = Cheong Condo

EC cheap = Cheong EC

and after measures EC will get cheaper? If yes = cheong EC, if not cheong Condo

But ....

HDB always expansive one.

cashrich
13-09-10, 22:51

Here you go

http://theesparinacondo.com/the-esparina-condo-esparina-residences/

14-09-10, 12:37
But NV not next to the mrt, this one is almost next to it.

The real winners are the owners of the Quartz. :)

Condorich
14-09-10, 14:01
But NV not next to the mrt, this one is almost next to it.

The real winners are the owners of the Quartz. :)

Quartz got losers also but most would be winners. Imagine the prices, one condo and one EC. EC at or higher than condo prices.

The only way forward is for condo to be higher than EC. Experts say 30% margin. Quartz should ask $9xx to $1xxx psf now.

14-09-10, 14:11
why would there be any losers from Quartz then?

Quartz got losers also but most would be winners. Imagine the prices, one condo and one EC. EC at or higher than condo prices.

The only way forward is for condo to be higher than EC. Experts say 30% margin. Quartz should ask $9xx to $1xxx psf now.

Condorich
14-09-10, 14:39
why would there be any losers from Quartz then?

oh, said that ages ago.

Losers in a sense of paying more than 200k than neighbour's. They paid high price but neighbour got higher floor units at $200k less... loser right?

Go figure, posted that ages ago. Developer cut price to move projects. First buyers kanna screwed. But... maybe they have a reason to smile now. Quickly sell I would say to the buyers who paid more than $200k for a similar unit that their upstairs, downstairs neighbour's.

Smirk is the word to describe the smile when they meet in the lifts right?

mightyleftfoot
14-09-10, 15:39
oh, said that ages ago.

Losers in a sense of paying more than 200k than neighbour's. They paid high price but neighbour got higher floor units at $200k less... loser right?

Go figure, posted that ages ago. Developer cut price to move projects. First buyers kanna screwed. But... maybe they have a reason to smile now. Quickly sell I would say to the buyers who paid more than $200k for a similar unit that their upstairs, downstairs neighbour's.

Smirk is the word to describe the smile when they meet in the lifts right?

Agree that all are winners now. Quartz location is better than Esparina.

isaaclim
14-09-10, 19:38
Agree that all are winners now. Quartz location is better than Esparina.

After NEX + Selatar Aerospace Industry, maybe TQ can start forming EN-BLOC committee liaw... The earliest condo that go for en-bloc :spliff:

14-09-10, 20:24
oh, said that ages ago.

Seriously I feel u believe u can/should time the market. This is, IMO, very wrong. Now doing back trading u said some quartz buyers are losers. I guess at the launch time u would probably have said quartz was a bad buy, due to ... Well whatever factors at that time. Now in 2010 this and double bay all suddenly seem like a good buy... And everything selling now is a poor buy, is this ur assessment ? Is there a project selling now that has ur "endorsement" ?

Condorich
15-09-10, 08:36
Seriously I feel u believe u can/should time the market. This is, IMO, very wrong. Now doing back trading u said some quartz buyers are losers. I guess at the launch time u would probably have said quartz was a bad buy, due to ... Well whatever factors at that time. Now in 2010 this and double bay all suddenly seem like a good buy... And everything selling now is a poor buy, is this ur assessment ? Is there a project selling now that has ur "endorsement" ?

I disagree with you, it is all about timing the market. Let me use an example on Stocks

SGX peak at around $15 dollars... versus trough at $4 plus... which one will you buy? when it is above $10... it is not so safe to buy... as it can lead u to $15 price but also $4 plus price. When do you buy? You buy when the price is RIGHT. At a time that you think is RIGHT.

The same goes for the Quartz. People buy and bite. Those who waited got bargains at $200k and below, same stack and higher floor somemore. Who is smarter, go figure.

If u need my pick, yes, waterfront waves, key and gold, one is sold out.

15-09-10, 09:45
I disagree with you, it is all about timing the market. Let me use an example on Stocks

SGX peak at around $15 dollars... versus trough at $4 plus... which one will you buy? when it is above $10... it is not so safe to buy... as it can lead u to $15 price but also $4 plus price. When do you buy? You buy when the price is RIGHT. At a time that you think is RIGHT.

The same goes for the Quartz. People buy and bite. Those who waited got bargains at $200k and below, same stack and higher floor somemore. Who is smarter, go figure.

If u need my pick, yes, waterfront waves, key and gold, one is sold out.

sounds more like hindsight....one can argue on genting stock: 1.2x seems very high....8xcts previous low....if miss the boat..1.2x enter seems high but also make $$ at todays price

ppty and stocks totally 2 different animals....

btw: FH=false hope?

Condorich
15-09-10, 10:20
sounds more like hindsight....one can argue on genting stock: 1.2x seems very high....8xcts previous low....if miss the boat..1.2x enter seems high but also make $$ at todays price

ppty and stocks totally 2 different animals....

btw: FH=false hope?

Genting hit $2 recently.

It's not hingsight.. it is the ability to buy at a low and sell at a high.

It is a skill to buy at low. Some need luck also.

Can you time to buy at a low? Not so, you can only move forward and not backward. But you can always GRAB a bargain when you see one.

Genting had been at $60 cents for a long time.

Stocks can play long term also. Anyway, that stock is too risky now.

Was playing with Tag Line.

FH = Way to go man! only for landed only. For Houses.

15-09-10, 10:36
Market timing is KEY.

Empirial studies have show that funds that uses a "market timing" strategy way outperform those using an "asset allocation/selection" strategy. In fact, those funds that use an "asset allocation" strategy has consistently underperforms the market. The reason is, most stocks (and even property) goes up and down together. As long as you enter at the right time, you will make money. This is also a less risky strategy than entering the market all-the-time (the dumbest being the dollar-cost-averaging strategy which gets lots of people into trouble when the market crashed)

In addition, they key is to find undervalued assets. Undervalued doesn't mean blue chips. Some blue chips are already fully-valued. For instance, Genting way outperforms Singtel in the stock market. Similarly for property. Those who only only buy "blue chip" luxury condos will miss out on the potential of other areas, which clearly shows greater potential for price appreciation.

I won't say everything today is a "poor" buy - but the probability of getting a "poor buy" is much higher than had you timed it right during 2005-2006. If you really want to buy now, this means you're engaging the inferior "asset selection' strategy, which means you have to look very hard for an undervalued property in an area that clearly has future growth prospect. If you entered during 2005, I'm sure the chances of you losing money is close to zero - even if you just throw a dice on a map.

15-09-10, 12:23
If one really want to engage asset selection strategy without considering market timing, then most experts out there recommend buying the "high-end" segment. See advice below from UOB. Most experts have been recommending buying high-end property for the past 3 years as foreign buyers are coming because of F1 and IR and foreign buyers/funds do not bother about fundamentals. Also, many experts feel our SG government are biased (compared to HK) and generally do not dare to implement measures that will "hurt" the rich foreign investors. In short, most policy risks will ensure the rich gets richer and will only hurt the masses, e.g. HDB.

================

While we are cautious on the outlook for the residential segment, we see
selective value in the high-end segment. The high-end segment is less
susceptible to government measures and prices are still below that of key
gateway cities. Wing Tai is our top pick in the high-end segment.

15-09-10, 23:11
So comdorich, according to u, sgx now at 8 should buy is it ? Give u another one, google, 480 can buy ? It was 600 early this year u know ? :cool: Is this ur logic ? Look, u r simply doing back trading, and talk big. In may 2009 when sgx was 4 u were probably be talking STI can drop below 1000. :cool:

No one can time the market. If u can u will be instant billionair. Analyzing the market is a different thing. All your analysis smacks of amateurish coffeeshop talk cock material.

Devil/wild: I was simply testing his reasoning. Of course investment timing is critical. But this is not the same thing as believing one can time the market. That would be simply gambling. I was a bit irritated by the sudden flooding of postings from some self claimed gurus.

Condorich
16-09-10, 06:00
So condorich, according to u, sgx now at 8 should buy is it ? Give u another one, google, 480 can buy ? It was 600 early this year u know ? :cool: Is this ur logic ? Look, u r simply doing back trading, and talk big. In may 2009 when sgx was 4 u were probably be talking STI can drop below 1000. :cool:

No one can time the market. If u can u will be instant billionair. Analyzing the market is a different thing. All your analysis smacks of amateurish coffeeshop talk cock material.

Devil/wild: I was simply testing his reasoning. Of course investment timing is critical. But this is not the same thing as believing one can time the market. That would be simply gambling. I was a bit irritated by the sudden flooding of postings from some self claimed gurus.

amk. Stop being such a kid. Try google under "Timing the stock market" to learn about it before you say further.

Get a degree first before u talk.

http://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBwQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.neiu.edu%2F~reneapol%2FTiming%2520the%2520Stock%2520Market.ppt&rct=j&q=timing%20the%20stock%20market&ei=ekCRTNnmNJGyvgOqqdjfCw&usg=AFQjCNF6KsvK6yRQOo1u6kens3U8ek8E5A

wacko
16-09-10, 12:57
back to the topic, how will they price the 2583sqft PH? Surely banks will only give a certain amount of loan for a $10K monthly income, guess the buyer must have loads of cash up front.

16-09-10, 13:25
from the website http://theesparinacondo.com/the-esparina-condo-esparina-residences/

20 Penthouses 1690-2583sq ft S$1.1M-S$1.3M

so its $1.3m for 2583 sq ft? 503psf.

1.3m, even at 80% financing borrow 1.04m at 1.35% for 30 years = 3514.87. = "affordable" :D

back to the topic, how will they price the 2583sqft PH? Surely banks will only give a certain amount of loan for a $10K monthly income, guess the buyer must have loads of cash up front.

cashrich
16-09-10, 13:55

That's right... down 20% to 30% in cold hard cash... less problem later on.

Assuming 40% of 10k, monthly installment should be max $4k. If down in cash.. likely to be approved.

18-09-10, 17:07
amk. Stop being such a kid. Try google under "Timing the stock market" to learn about it before

u know my gut feeling is that u have neither the experience nor the capacity to do this business, but u enjoy talking here as a self claimed guru, finding some sort of satisfaction over at the forum. Ur postings are full of arrogance, ignorance, and disrespect to other forum members. MANY MANY experienced investors here are very humble. None of them is as arrogant as you, telling every one else "what u should do". We have been in the market long enough to know nothing is for sure. We give our view on the market, discuss, disagree or agree on the merit of each project. That's what the forum is for. Even the infamous stalin*** sometimes gave objective opinions albeit in a very interesting way. So please tone down ur "I'm here to tell u what's right". It's irritating. It's very obvious for ppl to tell whether some one has real experience or just talk cock. So pls stop embarrassing yourself.

Condorich
18-09-10, 21:28
u know my gut feeling is that u have neither the experience nor the capacity to do this business, but u enjoy talking here as a self claimed guru, finding some sort of satisfaction over at the forum.

I don't care about your gut feelings at all.

Do this business? What business? "Self claimed guru?". Please do a search of all my postings and quote me on that - the exact phrase that I had made such a claim. Before you say anything else.

Ur postings are full of arrogance, ignorance, and disrespect to other forum members. MANY MANY experienced investors here are very humble. None of them is as arrogant as you, telling every one else "what u should do". We have been in the market long enough to know nothing is for sure.

You have a problem with that? Get lost from this forum then. Forums are like that. You own this forum issit?

We give our view on the market, discuss, disagree or agree on the merit of each project. That's what the forum is for. Even the infamous stalin*** sometimes gave objective opinions albeit in a very interesting way. So please tone down ur "I'm here to tell u what's right". It's irritating. It's very obvious for ppl to tell whether some one has real experience or just talk cock. So pls stop embarrassing yourself.

Please list down who you mean as "we"

I cannot be bothered with you.

21-09-10, 08:32
Back to the EC, i think they are setting up a tent, most probably for pple to queue (S'poreans favourite pastime). Got queue also mean sure good hor...

cashrich
21-09-10, 08:38
Back to the EC, i think they are setting up a tent, most probably for pple to queue (S'poreans favourite pastime). Got queue also mean sure good hor...

I won't be surprise that it hit the head lines in the news. At least in Cyber News, i.e. H88?. Agents can also join in the que right?

Give free ice cream also can.

or free MILO

or Free umbrella's

or Free Kites..

Sure got long long que.

Joking!

fooblackie
21-09-10, 09:09

Got queue doesnt necessarily mean good. S'prean likes to join queue for security reason.

I stay in Seng Kang. This site is not the most ideal one because it will just next to the new mosque. you should have seen the no of cars illegally parking around the area last month during their fasting.

Around Buangkok, Compass pt, punggol park and in Seng kang, there are no less than 7 condo/ECs namely - Quartz, Rivervale, Park Green, Rivervale Crest, Compass Heights, Florida, Rio Vista, Too many in my view. This one and the land beside Park Green will add another to the list. There are also 2 reserve piece of lands beside Esparina and another nearer to compass pt. It makes a total of 10 condo sites in Seng Kang / Buangkok area.

I fear the case of over-supply of pte condo looming in Seng Kang??? All these are mass market development....

cashrich
21-09-10, 09:22
Got queue doesnt necessarily mean good. S'prean likes to join queue for security reason.

I stay in Seng Kang. This site is not the most ideal one because it will just next to the new mosque. you should have seen the no of cars illegally parking around the area last month during their fasting.

Around Buangkok, Compass pt, punggol park and in Seng kang, there are no less than 7 condo/ECs namely - Quartz, Rivervale, Park Green, Rivervale Crest, Compass Heights, Florida, Rio Vista, Too many in my view. This one and the land beside Park Green will add another to the list. There are also 2 reserve piece of lands beside Esparina and another nearer to compass pt. It makes a total of 10 condo sites in Seng Kang / Buangkok area.

I fear the case of over-supply of pte condo looming in Seng Kang??? All these are mass market development....

Not to worry.

There will be demand from HDB upgraders later.

IMHO, the cycle is like this.

New EC supported by New HDB. HDB after MOP can upgrade to either new EC or older resale EC. As you can see.. many many HDB's coming up around this area. Not to worry but buy within your means for stay. Upside is relatively not that attractive as before. Until things change again.

21-09-10, 09:37
Sengkang location is neither here nor there. Most of the goodies announced for the Northwest are in Punggol. Unfortunately, there seem to be no more land for economic developments in Sengkang.

21-09-10, 11:01
But in terms of location, this ec is probably only third behind compass point and Quartz. The others location is not so good.

If you fear over-supply of condos in sengkang, just look at the number of HDBs coming up, that is the feeder mkt for the condos. so unlikely oversupply.

21-09-10, 11:02
I feel punggol will be for showcasing, riverfront living .... Sengkang today is actually quite livable with all the amenties. But you are right not much land left except fronting the rivers and at the central areas.

Sengkang location is neither here nor there. Most of the goodies announced for the Northwest are in Punggol. Unfortunately, there seem to be no more land for economic developments in Sengkang.

fooblackie
21-09-10, 16:13
But in terms of location, this ec is probably only third behind compass point and Quartz. The others location is not so good.

If you fear over-supply of condos in sengkang, just look at the number of HDBs coming up, that is the feeder mkt for the condos. so unlikely oversupply.

Guess you are refering to the ideal location as being nearest to a MRT. This is quite standard expectation of a gd location.

my personal preference is the Rivervale, having stayed in this area.

The Quartz is near to Mrt and then, there is nothing else. Small units with no view.

Compass heights is alot worst. Those units facing the LRT track will have symphony until midnite everynite. Those units away from the track would be having West sun. Hard to find anything in between.

The rivervale may be slightly older but offers park view and also close enough proximity to the MRT. Definitely walkable distance about 500m.

Just my personal opinion.

Pls may I remind that Esparina is still literally at the doorstep of a mosque. Every Fri and fasting month will be a nightmare... that's what my frens staying right at Buangkok mrt tells me...

21-09-10, 16:36
For Compass heights, the units facing the LRT track are those with the dreaded west sun. Actually the LRT is relatively quiet. North facing units face the HDB across the road.

Well the thing is that you don't get a condo next to a mrt that often, whatmore executive condo :) so chong arrgh

Guess you are refering to the ideal location as being nearest to a MRT. This is quite standard expectation of a gd location.

my personal preference is the Rivervale, having stayed in this area.

The Quartz is near to Mrt and then, there is nothing else. Small units with no view.

Compass heights is alot worst. Those units facing the LRT track will have symphony until midnite everynite. Those units away from the track would be having West sun. Hard to find anything in between.

The rivervale may be slightly older but offers park view and also close enough proximity to the MRT. Definitely walkable distance about 500m.

Just my personal opinion.

Pls may I remind that Esparina is still literally at the doorstep of a mosque. Every Fri and fasting month will be a nightmare... that's what my frens staying right at Buangkok mrt tells me...

21-09-10, 18:44
esparina will be the best among the future ECs....the only one near MRT
got mosque, mabe fraser willl price abit lower...imagine no mosque...squeeze buyers till maxxxx

DBSS and ECs same income ceiling....no brainer man:D imagine if govt revise income ceiling for ECs....

govt definitely nid to increase EC income ceiling for 3-4rm....if not developer keep building mickey mouse....no gd lah....all dun 'produce' how:tsk-tsk: :D

charvin83
22-09-10, 11:02
I think the dual key design in the project abit funny. The kitchen built at the entrance of the main door. Abit out of the way?

Any1 here going for Esparina, I am trying for one. The 3 bedroom compact...

22-09-10, 18:14
If only it was launched earlier....:(

Anyway we can now expect a flood of ECs and DBSS

I think the dual key design in the project abit funny. The kitchen built at the entrance of the main door. Abit out of the way?

Any1 here going for Esparina, I am trying for one. The 3 bedroom compact...

23-09-10, 01:32
At least we bought last year RCR at similar psf right? :D

If only it was launched earlier....:(

Anyway we can now expect a flood of ECs and DBSS

23-09-10, 08:55
Yup :) .

But just feel for EC & DBSS, they should be launched more regularly (say 1 to 2 each per year) and not only when mkt is going to overheat since it is patially public housing.

At least we bought last year RCR at similar psf right? :D

23-09-10, 09:43
Yup :) .

But just feel for EC & DBSS, they should be launched more regularly (say 1 to 2 each per year) and not only when mkt is going to overheat since it is patially public housing.

u must understand the purpose of EC.....its for the 8-10k group of ppl....when mass market condo is affordable for those 8-10k group of ppl...there is no nid for EC

ECs is not meant for those below 8k

23-09-10, 10:30
You think if EC were regularly released, the Mass Market prices will be better contained? :beats-me-man:

Afterall, 5RM DBSS already asking about $6++K to $7++K, 2 years back and have many analyst wondering if its truly affordable.:doh:

u must understand the purpose of EC.....its for the 8-10k group of ppl....when mass market condo is affordable for those 8-10k group of ppl...there is no nid for EC

ECs is not meant for those below 8k

23-09-10, 10:48
I think so. It also give home buyers some reassuance that if they miss 1 EC, there will be another in 6-12 mths time. When was the last EC b4 esparina, 5 years ago if not mistaken (as a lot of the marketing line goes, the wait is finally over).

How about those who waited and now do not qualify?

There should be a baseline plan, ie no of BTO HDBs, DBSS and ECs to be launched each year and this can then be adjusted say +/- 20 to 30% based on actual demand/conditions.

I think a similar comment was made by redas president about the GLS.

You think if EC were regularly released, the Mass Market prices will be better contained? :beats-me-man:

Afterall, 5RM DBSS already asking about $6++K to $7++K, 2 years back and have many analyst wondering if its truly affordable.:doh:

23-09-10, 11:07
But if EC were to be regularly released, and its prices were to rise in tandem with DBSS prices, then surely Mass Market prices will also rise right? :beats-me-man:

23-09-10, 11:12
I think so. It also give home buyers some reassuance that if they miss 1 EC, there will be another in 6-12 mths time. When was the last EC b4 esparina, 5 years ago if not mistaken (as a lot of the marketing line goes, the wait is finally over).

How about those who waited and now do not qualify?

There should be a baseline plan, ie no of BTO HDBs, DBSS and ECs to be launched each year and this can then be adjusted say +/- 20 to 30% based on actual demand/conditions.

I think a similar comment was made by redas president about the GLS.

ECs is considered as a luxury housing...y shd govt subsidise(grant/income ceiling to suppress the prices) when its not necessary?

when mass market is affordable for 8-10k group of ppl....govt dun have to come up with ECs at all

govt provide affordable BTO HDB for 1st timer and below 8k income and u guys wants affordable ECs....u get the flow?

den govt shd build HDB with facilities in future:D

23-09-10, 11:14
But if EC were to be regularly released, and its prices were to rise in tandem with DBSS prices, then surely Mass Market prices will also rise right? :beats-me-man:

tats not the idea of having ECs in the first place

Condorich
24-09-10, 04:28
tats not the idea of having ECs in the first place

EC comes with restrictions that Mass Market come without.

Because of that, EC are supposed to be cheaper than Mass Market.

and since they are cheaper, they are not likely to be near MRT.

Especially when the govenment can sell them as Mass Market Condo Plot instead of EC plot.

But sometimes, plots near to MRT are released, in instances where there are more plots available there and could further release them as Mass Market Condo Plot.

The trick is this. If Mass Market Prices are LOWER than EC... better grab and buy. If it is near MRT, better still. But if EC priced higher than Mass Market Prices, better dun buy. EC prices are the support price for all condo's.

Of Course, it is not always as simple as that as they are other factors to consider too but it will help you to decide.

isaaclim
24-09-10, 21:10
Just curious, Is there any incentive for private developer to bid for EC project?

24-09-10, 21:36
Though this EC us beside a mosque, its location is extremely good - 150m to MRT and amenities. If I qualify I guess I would be on of those in queue...

25-09-10, 00:07
From H88.com.sg website - Esparina launch expecting huge crowd (http://www.h88.com.sg/article/Esparina+launch+expecting+huge+crowd/)

http://www.h88.com.sg/images/content/2010-09-24/esparina_00006.jpg

25-09-10, 06:29
Though this EC us beside a mosque, its location is extremely good - 150m to MRT and amenities. If I qualify I guess I would be on of those in queue...

This site is seriously good :hungry: . I will be queuing for one too if I'm allowed to buy.

cashrich
25-09-10, 07:12
This site is seriously good :hungry: . I will be queuing for one too if I'm allowed to buy.

Yes, I agree...

can see but cannot touch too...

With so many empty spaces around it and 150 Meters to MRT..no brainer.

30-09-10, 10:42
Details are out on the website (http://www.esparina.sg/introduction.php)! :cool:
http://www.esparina.sg/introduction.php

30-09-10, 10:55
nice layout.....2bedder A2 layout is nice

charvin83
30-09-10, 11:26
Damn chio the interior....dunno can i be allocated a unit in the balloting

30-09-10, 11:31
Type B1 compact 3 bedder looks like 8@W compact 3bedder. Copy and paste one haa haa.

The 4 bedroom dual key is very interesting. :)

30-09-10, 11:43
Interior also looks similar to 8@W Metropolitan scheme. :D

Type B1 compact 3 bedder looks like 8@W compact 3bedder. Copy and paste one haa haa.

The 4 bedroom dual key is very interesting. :)

30-09-10, 11:51
But both bedrooms door are adjacent to Living/Dining le? :scared-5:

nice layout.....2bedder A2 layout is nice

30-09-10, 12:48
But both bedrooms door are adjacent to Living/Dining le? :scared-5:

no gd ar? lesser corridor and makes the living and dining much bigger....2nd bedroom away from master bedrm which is rare..lol

30-09-10, 14:05
is the showflat open today?

30-09-10, 14:08
BRAND NEW EXECUTIVE CONDOMINIUM OPPOSITE BUANGKOK MRT STATION

APPLICATION OPENS
FROM THURSDAY, 30TH SEPTEMBER TO TUESDAY, 5TH OCTOBER 2010

Showflat At Compassvale Bow Opens For Viewing & Application From 11am to 7pm Daily

Successful applicants will be given a Letter of Acknowledgement and a Ballot Number to be presented on Booking Day for priority to enter the showflat. BOOKING DAY
FRIDAY, 8TH OCTOBER 2010
BALLOTING FOR ENTRY COMMENCE AT 9AM SHARP

Members of the public without a ballot number will only be admitted to the showflat after the balloting exercise is completed. * Please bring along the following documents for application at our showflat :

NRIC
BIRTH CERTIFICATE
MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE
LATEST INCOME STATEMENTS Note :
* Other documents may be required on a case-by-case basis. Developer reserves the right to extend or change E - Application dates and matters pertaining to it.

is the showflat open today?

30-09-10, 21:18
Drove past @ 8.30pm still quite a number of pple there

fisho
03-10-10, 18:04
Just wondering, how many first timers are in the sandwiched class. If 95% of 1st timers are allocated priority bookings to this EC, how many of them actually have the financial capability to finance this $750 psf purchase?

Fisho

03-10-10, 18:27
$730-750 psf is CONDO price only a couple of months back! :scared-4:

03-10-10, 19:47
I heard when first timers buyers can get something like $30k grant right? That would at least help pay for the first 20% (or is it 10%?) cash payment. Thats's why they might find this EC more affordable than private even if same price. But for the same price, first timers really should consider resale private because at least that is not constrained by the MOP rules and restrictions on the ability to invest in another property.

Looks like demand is still strong for reasonably priced projects in the suburbs.

03-10-10, 21:05
I think the dual key units are attractive especially to EC as it is the only way to earn some income within the first 5 yrs lock in period by renting out the studio portion of the unit.

fan
04-10-10, 13:39
That is really a brilliant idea. Confirm no restrictions on renting out either side during 5yrs MOP?

charvin83
04-10-10, 14:48
Wah..u all so rich>?

04-10-10, 15:16
And can't qualify to buy EC! :p

Wah..u all so rich>?

charvin83
04-10-10, 15:34
hope so...haha

i30yishun
05-10-10, 17:04
Planning to get a 3BR unit....
Hopefully no major surprise on the pricing plan n good luck in the balloting...

05-10-10, 17:10
Any idea the number of applicants, today's is the cut-off right?

Planning to get a 3BR unit....
Hopefully no major surprise on the pricing plan n good luck in the balloting...

i30yishun
05-10-10, 17:19
Any idea the number of applicants, today's is the cut-off right?

No Idea man... but yup, today is the cut-off date to apply for balloting..
I went down to showflat on Saturday, pretty crowded...
My agent told me good chance for me, as i am first-timer. She told me there are more second timers than first timers, and 95% reserved for first timer.
Don't know if it is true in general or just for my agent..

05-10-10, 17:30
Not surprising as it is not exactly cheap by EC standards. anyway good luck to you... :)

No Idea man... but yup, today is the cut-off date to apply for balloting..
I went down to showflat on Saturday, pretty crowded...
My agent told me good chance for me, as i am first-timer. She told me there are more second timers than first timers, and 95% reserved for first timer.
Don't know if it is true in general or just for my agent..

i30yishun
05-10-10, 17:51
Not surprising as it is not exactly cheap by EC standards. anyway good luck to you... :)

Yeah i know not cheap by EC standard, the plus point is that it is near mrt.
Then again, nowadays, the "mass market" condo aint cheap either, especially those that are near mrt.

Nearby Quartz going for 800+ psf. This EC with 30k grant, probably can minus 30 psf to the price for me, so around 670 to 720 psf hopefully. I think still reasonable.

I offered to buy Bullion Park (freehold at lentor area) 2BR for around 900 psf, got rejected immediately, asking for at least 960 psf... :eek:

05-10-10, 17:58
location is the key. cross your fingers and toes that you can get the unit you want....

Yeah i know not cheap by EC standard, the plus point is that it is near mrt.
Then again, nowadays, the "mass market" condo aint cheap either, especially those that are near mrt.

Nearby Quartz going for 800+ psf. This EC with 30k grant, probably can minus 30 psf to the price for me, so around 670 to 720 psf hopefully. I think still reasonable.

I offered to buy Bullion Park (freehold at lentor area) 2BR for around 900 psf, got rejected immediately, asking for at least 960 psf... :eek:

i30yishun
05-10-10, 18:09
location is the key. cross your fingers and toes that you can get the unit you want....
I hope so too, all fated la.

Anyway, i just went to check out the HDB prices in the vicinity, not exactly cheap either! :scared-4:

265E Compassvale Bow 01 to 05 92.00
Premium Apartment 2007 $430,000.00 Sep 2010 267A Compassvale Link 06 to 10 90.00
Premium Apartment 2006 $437,000.00 Sep 2010 268A Compassvale Link 11 to 15 91.00
Premium Apartment 2006 $475,000.00 Sep 2010 269C Compassvale Link 01 to 05 90.00
Premium Apartment 2006 $409,000.00 Sep 2010 267A Compassvale Link 11 to 15 90.00
Premium Apartment 2006 $485,000.00 Aug 2010

05-10-10, 18:56
Similar pricing to the estuary launched earlier this year...:scared-1: Not interested in Yishun anymore? :D The canopy also launching soon.

05-10-10, 18:57
Similar pricing to the estuary launched earlier this year...:scared-1: Not interested in Yishun anymore? :D The canopy also launching soon.

estuary lots of planter and baywindows leh

i30yishun
05-10-10, 19:05

Actually my parents stay in yishun, the flats just opposite Lilydale and Canopy. I know Canopy also launching soon. However Canopy really far from MRT and yishun is getting abit crowded. Roads leading into yishun (lentor and seletar camp area) also quite jammed nowadays in peak hours.

Just feel that Esparina has more potential than Canopy?

05-10-10, 19:29
Actually my parents stay in yishun, the flats just opposite Lilydale and Canopy. I know Canopy also launching soon. However Canopy really far from MRT and yishun is getting abit crowded. Roads leading into yishun (lentor and seletar camp area) also quite jammed nowadays in peak hours.

Just feel that Esparina has more potential than Canopy?

Yah, Yishun will not be that quiet rural relaxing town it used to be. So many new developments in the area and population is booming. Lentor avenue these days cannot take the increasing traffic anymore. :banghead:

Yah, Esparina is one of the best located EC so far.

i30yishun
05-10-10, 19:50
Yah, Yishun will not be that quiet rural relaxing town it used to be. So many new developments in the area and population is booming. Lentor avenue these days cannot take the increasing traffic anymore. :banghead:

Yah, Esparina is one of the best located EC so far.

I think Nuovo EC also quite near to YCK MRT.

Yishun is like a major construction site now, BTOs, DBSS, EC, Private condos... But i still love Yishun lah, spent so many years there.. haha

scsc
05-10-10, 20:35
The 7 spas looks cool..

05-10-10, 21:38
me also supporter of yishun! if not mistaken they're going to build more roads/highway to link to cte/others to divert and "spread" out the traffic.

05-10-10, 22:01
I prefer 7 pools, think NV has 6 or 7 right?

The 7 spas looks cool..

05-10-10, 22:24
thousand over ballot over 500 plus unit...experts telecasted in news on tv say the hot demand is due to the infrequent launch of EC since last time and private mass condo is stille xpensive...

this so called the property expert view...:doh:

is this the real reason? so called expert...:doh:

05-10-10, 22:31
not surprising if most of the applicants are second timers.
recent run-up in private condo prices had become out of range for many and they have to turn to EC.

05-10-10, 23:05
but second timers only entitled to 5%, which is abt 28-29 units, think mostly will be 4 bedder + penthouse.... especially since they would have the ammo too

not surprising if most of the applicants are second timers.
recent run-up in private condo prices had become out of range for many and they have to turn to EC.

05-10-10, 23:37
quantum is not small. I wonder if there are so many first timers with so much ammo:confused: unless with some support from parents!

05-10-10, 23:38
Does it work like that? What if only 20% of the buyers are first timers? Will they still die die allocate 95% to first-timer when only 20% apply? Or will they give first timer priority first, and all balance goes to second timers?

But looks like affordable condos are still in high demand. Looking at September caveats, prices seem firm.

but second timers only entitled to 5%, which is abt 28-29 units, think mostly will be 4 bedder + penthouse.... especially since they would have the ammo too

05-10-10, 23:59
If it was 10 years ago, no problem to have 95% first timer and 5% 2nd timer. Now at current price, likely 5% first timer 95% second timer.
What has changed? other then current price (which is benchmarked against the sudden peak only reached recently) is almost at private condo price?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 09:18
Does it work like that? What if only 20% of the buyers are first timers? Will they still die die allocate 95% to first-timer when only 20% apply? Or will they give first timer priority first, and all balance goes to second timers?

But looks like affordable condos are still in high demand. Looking at September caveats, prices seem firm.

Yeah, the condo prices are still holding well, even in surban areas, but probably with lesser sales. Sellers holding their prices while buyers waiting to see the market reaction after the cooling measures before committing.

Different people have different views and i can't say for certain that prices are going to go up or down. My feeling is that it will not drop but the rise will be minimal in the near future?

Considering market price now, i think Esparina is still ok considering 30k grant. Anyway, i can't sell it until 8-9 years later, which probably would have seen another property cycle?

Hoping not too many first timers this time round so i have better chance to get the units i prefer... haha :spliff:

06-10-10, 10:06
actually i am not sure how it works :ashamed1: . Last time when EC was launching 6 years ago, did see but cannot apply. Now also cannot apply, so did not see.

maybe 130yishun can update us after lucky draw on friday?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 10:37
actually i am not sure how it works :ashamed1: . Last time when EC was launching 6 years ago, did see but cannot apply. Now also cannot apply, so did not see.

maybe 130yishun can update us after lucky draw on friday?

Yes i will update after friday. But what i heard was that all ballots tickets will be in the same box. After 5% of the units are booked by second timers, the rest of the second timers drawn out will have to wait until all the first timers have finished selecting their units before continuing to the rest of the second timers... ;)

06-10-10, 10:53
Yes i will update after friday. But what i heard was that all ballots tickets will be in the same box. After 5% of the units are booked by second timers, the rest of the second timers drawn out will have to wait until all the first timers have finished selecting their units before continuing to the rest of the second timers... ;)

So 5% for 2nd timer is not fixed? can be more if still got many leftovers after priority all given to the 1st timer? u sure?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 11:16
So 5% for 2nd timer is not fixed? can be more if still got many leftovers after priority all given to the 1st timer? u sure?

OK, now i am not so sure when the priority will end for the first timers. Initial launch / first month of launch or initial balloting exercise. The only thing i am sure first timer priority will end after some time, the leftover units will be open to second timer.... :D

06-10-10, 11:22
OK, now i am not so sure when the priority will end for the first timers. Initial launch / first month of launch or initial balloting exercise. The only thing i am sure first timer priority will end after some time, the leftover units will be open to second timer.... :D

hehe...u aiming 2bedder?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 11:37
hehe...u aiming 2bedder?
Depends on the pricing that day, probably going for 3 + 1, if not will be going for 3 BR... Don't think i will be going for 2 BR. :)

Oh i read the T&C, first timer priority lasts 1 month. :D

06-10-10, 11:38
Depends on the pricing that day, probably going for 3 + 1, if not will be going for 3 BR... Don't think i will be going for 2 BR. :)

Oh i read the T&C, first timer priority lasts 1 month. :D

cool....go for the 3bedder+utility!! and low flr pool facing!!

twr e,f,g got direct access to carpark rite...:D

i30yishun
06-10-10, 11:48
cool....go for the 3bedder+utility!! and low flr pool facing!!

twr e,f,g got direct access to carpark rite...:D

Yes, Tower e, f, g got direct access to carpark, the rest of the towers have to walk a distance to the carpark.

I have never stayed in condo (i stayed in HDB, wife stayed in landed) my whole life, i am still undecided what type of facing to go for and high/low floor..

Would appreciate some advice from experienced owners here.

What are the advantages/disadvantages for low floor pool facing?
What are the advantages/disadvantages for exterior facing?

Many Thanks! :p

06-10-10, 12:20
Yes, Tower e, f, g got direct access to carpark, the rest of the towers have to walk a distance to the carpark.

I have never stayed in condo (i stayed in HDB, wife stayed in landed) my whole life, i am still undecided what type of facing to go for and high/low floor..

Would appreciate some advice from experienced owners here.

What are the advantages/disadvantages for low floor pool facing?
What are the advantages/disadvantages for exterior facing?

Many Thanks! :p

if i were u, i will go for low flr pool facing to enjoy the pool view....for outward facing get mid-high flrs but i suspect many constructions going on in future wor....so....low flr pool facing will be ideal....3rd,5th flr:D

i30yishun
06-10-10, 13:12
if i were u, i will go for low flr pool facing to enjoy the pool view....for outward facing get mid-high flrs but i suspect many constructions going on in future wor....so....low flr pool facing will be ideal....3rd,5th flr:D

Thanks thanks....

Alot of people seems to like low floor pool view?
Will it be very noisy? :confused:

06-10-10, 13:24
I understand ECs usually a lot of pple at the swimming pool during weekends, so if want more quiet maybe higer floor or non pool facing.

Thanks thanks....

scsc
06-10-10, 13:36
Thanks thanks....

if children pool then definitely gonna tolerate screaming in the day on weekends/holidays...

My personal preference is 5~8th floor.. If too high, need binoculars :scared-5: liao

06-10-10, 14:58
Is there any restriction in renting out a room for EC? In this case, rent out the studio portion of the dual key units? Can like once TOP rent it out liaoz?

06-10-10, 15:06
Is there any restriction in renting out a room for EC? In this case, rent out the studio portion of the dual key units? Can like once TOP rent it out liaoz?

can rent out rooms....studio portion...sounds like a big room to me...can bah:D

charvin83
06-10-10, 15:07
So face pool better or outside better then?

So who is going there Friday to ballot?

Perhap we will be neighbour next time.. any particular stack u all eyeing?

06-10-10, 15:08
Thanks thanks....

adult pool not so bad lor...better den facing construction next time rite?:2cents:

06-10-10, 15:09

down there no view so to speak....

so easier to sell next time for pool view?

06-10-10, 15:13
Why need to use binoculars if higher floor? (You biao cha bo need to see clearly? :confused:)
Got bird-eye view even better (No)?

if children pool then definitely gonna tolerate screaming in the day on weekends/holidays...

My personal preference is 5~8th floor.. If too high, need binoculars :scared-5: liao

06-10-10, 15:20
3 bedroom dual key stacks 13 and 14 are good.
4 bedroom dual key stack 16 good also hee hee.

Too bad I can't buy EC :o

i30yishun
06-10-10, 15:39

I am going down on friday :D
But still torn between pool facing or outside facing lah...
we could be neighbours next time! :cheers1:

06-10-10, 15:51
4 bedroom dual key the best, stay in the studio and rent out the 3 bedder, sure enuff to cover mthly payment. :)

3 bedroom dual key stacks 13 and 14 are good.
4 bedroom dual key stack 16 good also hee hee.

Too bad I can't buy EC :o

charvin83
06-10-10, 16:08
I am going down on friday :D
But still torn between pool facing or outside facing lah...
we could be neighbours next time! :cheers1:

How much is ya budget. The stack u eyeing?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 16:32
How much is ya budget. The stack u eyeing?

My budget in the region 750 to 780k max ba..
thinking of stack 12 or 20, haven't really decide which facing to go for.
How about you? going for which size and which stack?

charvin83
06-10-10, 16:47
My budget in the region 750 to 780k max ba..
thinking of stack 12 or 20, haven't really decide which facing to go for.
How about you? going for which size and which stack?

My ideal stack is 08... Dunno abt the budget part yet...going to discuss today wif my gf..

U are going for 3 bedrom with utility? so if they sell u 790k, u dun want ar?

06-10-10, 16:52
4 bedroom dual key the best, stay in the studio and rent out the 3 bedder, sure enuff to cover mthly payment. :)

Waa...thats a good idea, free housing haa haa.. :cheers1:

charvin83
06-10-10, 16:53
Waa...thats a good idea, free housing haa haa.. :cheers1:

Dun think 4 bdrm dual key going to be cheap...probably touching 1m

i30yishun
06-10-10, 16:56
My ideal stack is 08... Dunno abt the budget part yet...going to discuss today wif my gf..

U are going for 3 bedrom with utility? so if they sell u 790k, u dun want ar?

I also considered stack 8 but wifey says the clubhouse, function room, changing room, etc all down there, sure quite crowded at the lobby area...
But stack 8 should have no west sun right cos they are shielded by stack 32 and 33?

Planning to go for 3 room + utility, but got budget also ma, maybe lower floor cheaper. But if die die cheapest 3 + 1 is 790k then i go for 3 room lor..

I think utility room quite impt, at least got somewhere as storeroom... :rolleyes:

charvin83
06-10-10, 17:52
I also considered stack 8 but wifey says the clubhouse, function room, changing room, etc all down there, sure quite crowded at the lobby area...
But stack 8 should have no west sun right cos they are shielded by stack 32 and 33?

Planning to go for 3 room + utility, but got budget also ma, maybe lower floor cheaper. But if die die cheapest 3 + 1 is 790k then i go for 3 room lor..

I think utility room quite impt, at least got somewhere as storeroom... :rolleyes:

ya... but if 3 bedroom cost ard 700k to 730k, and 3bdrm + utility cost 760k to 790k, which one will u take? One storeroom for 50k-60k... worthwhile?

i30yishun
06-10-10, 18:02
ya... but if 3 bedroom cost ard 700k to 730k, and 3bdrm + utility cost 760k to 790k, which one will u take? One storeroom for 50k-60k... worthwhile?

If planning to get maid then i think utility quite a must...
if this is the case, quite a tough call for me, must decide to get high floor for 3BR or low floor for 3 + utility...

how about you?

06-10-10, 20:23
4th floor also ok if u not superstitious. And if cheaper, can buy. From some of my investments, the #04 units still fetch good price in the resale market. Just make sure not 04-04 :)

Thanks thanks....

isaaclim
06-10-10, 21:22
Thanks thanks....

Of course. Too high, the pool view effect gone liaw...
That why 3rd and 5th floor pool facing units always gone very fast...

06-10-10, 21:57
one thing for sure....have nice pool view but don't expect to be quiet!

i30yishun
06-10-10, 22:16
Of course. Too high, the pool view effect gone liaw...
That why 3rd and 5th floor pool facing units always gone very fast...

How is the pricing like for condo launch?
pool view low floor more expensive or price increases with floor? :confused:

06-10-10, 23:43
Balloting to be conducted for Esparina executive condo
By Chris Howells | Posted: 06 October 2010 2041 hrs (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1085505/1/.html)

SINGAPORE : A balloting exercise will be conducted on Friday to allow applicants of the newly-launched Esparina Residences to book their units.

This is because the Sengkang executive condominium (EC) has attracted more than double the number of applications for the units offered.

Over 1,150 people applied for the 573-unit executive condominium, which is the first EC to be launched in over five years.

Frasers Centrepoint Homes, which launched the property on September 30, said almost 75 per cent of the applicants are young professionals aged between 25 and 40 years.

Half of the applicants fall within the S$8,000 to S$10,000 income bracket.

The developer said more than half of the potential buyers are not from the area.

The EC site is close to Buangkok MRT station and has full condominium facilities.

Frasers Centrepoint Homes chief executive officer, Cheang Kok Kheong, said: "Esparina Residences is currently the only executive condominium located just five minutes' walk from an MRT station.

"Discerning buyers realise its premium location will contribute to an appreciation in its value."

- CNA/al

07-10-10, 00:15

Oh.. you can rent out the EC immediately after TOP? No need to satisfy MOP?

07-10-10, 00:21

rent out as rooms la....still staying in the unit leh

07-10-10, 00:31

dont think so lah

ECs are also subsidised ... sure have some rules attached

i know i couldnt sell in the first 5yrs when i got my EC last time

i30yishun
07-10-10, 09:17
Balloting to be conducted for Esparina executive condo
By Chris Howells | Posted: 06 October 2010 2041 hrs (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1085505/1/.html)

Half of the applicants fall within the S$8,000 to S$10,000 income bracket.

- CNA/al

What about the other half? I think the restriction is income to be below $10,000 right? Means the other half income is less that $8000?

Should be quite tough servicing a 3BR and above, 2 BR should be still ok.. :o

i30yishun
07-10-10, 09:21
dont think so lah

ECs are also subsidised ... sure have some rules attached

i know i couldnt sell in the first 5yrs when i got my EC last time

EC are like HDB in terms or rules attached to renting. Within first 5 years, cannot rent out whole unit, still have to be owner occupied (at least 1 room).

I think in dual key unit, probably the studio is considered as 1 room, so can rent out... ;)

charvin83
07-10-10, 10:10
EC are like HDB in terms or rules attached to renting. Within first 5 years, cannot rent out whole unit, still have to be owner occupied (at least 1 room).

I think in dual key unit, probably the studio is considered as 1 room, so can rent out... ;)

Confirm can rent out the studio.. if not u can refer to http://www.esparina.sg/dualkey.php There is the picture of a tenant in it.

07-10-10, 10:13
i tink can also stay in studio and rent out the other 3bedrooms...but who will do tat??:rolleyes:

i30yishun
07-10-10, 10:26
i tink can also stay in studio and rent out the other 3bedrooms...but who will do tat??:rolleyes:

Could be an investment wor... while continuing to stay with parents.
Keeping the studio is maybe for weekend stay or purely to stay within the law! haha...

30k grant, near mrt should be easy to rent out, rental shld be able to cover the installment of the whole unit... after 5 years sell.. haha :spliff:

07-10-10, 10:28
but balcony is connected leh. how to prevent tenant from coming over to your side of balcony huh?

07-10-10, 10:30
Keeping the studio is maybe for weekend stay or purely to stay within the law! haha...

30k grant, near mrt should be easy to rent out, rental shld be able to cover the installment of the whole unit... after 5 years sell.. haha :spliff:

rent out studio oredi quite good...i tink can fetch 2k (includes PUB bills) based on today;s market;)

anyone tinking of doing tat?

07-10-10, 10:32
but balcony is connected leh. how to prevent tenant from coming over to your side of balcony huh?

after CSC, build 'feature wall' lor....first yr, put big and heavy potted plants...haha

07-10-10, 10:35
Install invisible grilles? :D

after CSC, build 'feature wall' lor....first yr, put big and heavy potted plants...haha

07-10-10, 10:38
Install invisible grilles? :D

very gd idea:cheers6:

07-10-10, 11:52
the dual key design is not so good

the studio seems to be sucked into 2 bedder.

charvin83
07-10-10, 13:40
the dual key design is not so good

the studio seems to be sucked into 2 bedder.

Depend on individual needs, but might be too pricey for me

07-10-10, 16:45
rent out studio oredi quite good...i tink can fetch 2k (includes PUB bills) based on today;s market;)

anyone tinking of doing tat?

Wa... if can immediately rent out the 2bedder and keep the studio after TOP (thought it is illegal unless you apply to HDB on special circumstances like you are working overseas), then it is a good man! :)

But then...who are the renters in Sengkang?? Got any profile?
Will they rent the ECs instead of the HDB if given a price differential in rental?

07-10-10, 17:01
Wa... if can immediately rent out the 2bedder and keep the studio after TOP (thought it is illegal unless you apply to HDB on special circumstances like you are working overseas), then it is a good man! :)

But then...who are the renters in Sengkang?? Got any profile?
Will they rent the ECs instead of the HDB if given a price differential in rental?

u also cannot buy leh...:p

07-10-10, 20:54

the selling price will take into consideration the 30k grant ...

you think developers so stupid ?

they will know , most, if not all buyers will take the grant ..

i30yishun
07-10-10, 21:33
the selling price will take into consideration the 30k grant ...

you think developers so stupid ?

they will know , most, if not all buyers will take the grant ..

It depends on the number of first timers , second timers cannot take grant already. I don't believe most if not all buyers can take grant ;)

700 to 750 psf, take into consideration 30k grant then around 670 to 720 psf, not that bad la, considering location plus today's market. :o

07-10-10, 21:42
It depends on the number of first timers , second timers cannot take grant already. I don't believe most if not all buyers can take grant ;)

700 to 750 psf, take into consideration 30k grant then around 670 to 720 psf, not that bad la, considering location plus today's market. :o

is this what they are selling ? 700-750 psf without grant ?

990113d03
07-10-10, 21:45
most probably 750psf is after 30k grant

i30yishun
07-10-10, 21:54
is this what they are selling ? 700-750 psf without grant ?

That is what my agent say... actual prices only know tomorrow.
But Fraser had a press release stating the price range.

2BR - 590000 to 723000 (829 sqft, so prices are from 712 psf onwards )
3BR - 697000 to 980000 (smallest 1001 sqft, so prices are from 696psf onwards)

I think should be around this range. :)

07-10-10, 21:58
most probably 750psf is after 30k grant

thats what i am thinking

i bgt my EC at 467 psf .. that was also a peak then ..

at one pt it even fell to 310 psf .. but i was living in it so didnt bother ..

looking at today's mkt .. assuming 750 psf ...it is abt 60 pct higher than the EC i bgt last time ...

but the grant remains at 30k ???

the ec where i used to live , traded at 570 psf last ...also near MRT .. and unblocked view ... though just 10yrs old ..confirm no useless big balcony .. pure 1281 sqft of 3 bedder ..

i think its a better buy than any new EC now .. theres no guarantee that buying the new ones now at 750 psf, it will only go up .. it can fall too ..

like someone mentioned, EC are always launched during peak ..

i30yishun
07-10-10, 21:58

Don't know whether this media release can be trusted or not. haha :confused:

Attached the file.

i30yishun
07-10-10, 22:08
thats what i am thinking

looking at today's mkt .. assuming 750 psf ...it is abt 60 pct higher than the EC i bgt last time ...

the ec where i used to live , traded at 570 psf last ...also near MRT .. and unblocked view ... though just 10yrs old ..confirm no useless big balcony .. pure 1281 sqft of 3 bedder ..

i think its a better buy than any new EC now .. theres no guarantee that buying the new ones now at 750 psf, it will only go up .. it can fall too ..

Good point that EC is always launched during peak. I thought of that too, but i can't sell until around 9 years from now, i predict during this 9 years, the property will go down at some point, as long as i still can service the loan, i will still live in it. Hopefully after 9 years, the price will be above 750psf.

If the price will never go above 750psf, then many other condos will die together, 99LH condo going as high as 1000 psf in new mrt, subrban areas.

What will be the future prices can only be predictions, no one is sure, but at least for me, buying this is for long term (around 10 years) before i can do anything. Purely my views, hopefully 10 years later i will know this decision was good. :spliff:

i30yishun
07-10-10, 22:11
thats what i am thinking

Just curious, which EC is that? :D

990113d03
07-10-10, 22:17
It always amount to higher risk when one choose to buy during peak of property cycle. Profit margin will not be too substantial. EC is a product for own stay, not for investment. One can get a mass market L99 at 750psf when the market plunged. Just look at Caspian at 580psf and Quartz at 600psf during 2009Q1 when market plunged. Having said that, ppl will still rush for the ECs now at property peak esp with the 30k carrot dangling and be stuck for 9 years.

07-10-10, 22:20
It always amount to higher risk when one choose to buy during peak of property cycle. Profit margin will not be too substantial. EC is a product for own stay, not for investment. One can get a mass market L99 at 750psf when the market plunged. Just look at Caspian at 580psf and Quartz at 600psf during 2009Q1 when market plunged. Having said that, ppl will still rush for the ECs now at property peak esp with the 30k carrot dangling and be stuck for 9 years.

so probably next trough will be 750psf for mass market new launches...

07-10-10, 22:25
Good point that EC is always launched during peak. I thought of that too, but i can't sell until around 9 years from now, i predict during this 9 years, the property will go down at some point, as long as i still can service the loan, i will still live in it. Hopefully after 9 years, the price will be above 750psf.

If the price will never go above 750psf, then many other condos will die together, 99LH condo going as high as 1000 psf in new mrt, subrban areas.

What will be the future prices can only be predictions, no one is sure, but at least for me, buying this is for long term (around 10 years) before i can do anything. Purely my views, hopefully 10 years later i will know this decision was good. :spliff:

if i am not wrong ...for EC, after 5 yrs you can sell but only to sporeans and PR..

after 10yrs , then its free for all

990113d03
07-10-10, 22:26
if one prefer to stay in NE, then its ok to get this EC for its proximity to MRT station. But the biggest gainers are the owners of the HDB BTO flats at Buangkok who bought their units for only ~200k. This EC only helps to push up the nearby HDB BTO flats prices.

07-10-10, 22:26
Just curious, which EC is that? :D

windermere ..

people used to shun it cos the railway track runs behind it..but quite far behind, ..

now no more rail train ...

07-10-10, 22:32
if one prefer to stay in NE, then its ok to get this EC for its proximity to MRT station. But the biggest gainers are the owners of the HDB BTO flats at Buangkok who bought their units for only ~200k. This EC only helps to push up the nearby HDB BTO flats prices.

now 4rm HDB resale in sengkang/punggol above 400k oredi...so 200k become 400k...huat liao lor:D

i30yishun
07-10-10, 22:35

The flats already not cheap now, i posted the prices earlier, those are older flats. The newer ones still cannot sell yet, but the BTO are really cheap.

I always thought the property prices will cool down and i don't want to buy at peak, but it keeps going up.... haha. i think it will not crash that hard also...

07-10-10, 23:03
http://www.todayonline.com/Business/EDC101006-0000104/Buyers-flock-to-Esparina-EC

Buyers flock to Esparina EC

05:55 AM Oct 06, 2010

The first executive condominium (EC) launched in more than five years has received strong response from prospective buyers.

The Esparina, located in Sengkang, has attracted 1,155 applications or more than double the 573 units available, according to its developer Frasers Centrepoint.

According to property experts, there is pent-up demand for such housing and its affordability is an attraction for buyers, especially those among the sandwiched income class. The units in Esparina, are priced at $730 to $750 per square foot on average.

The proximity to Buangkok MRT Station is another contributing factor towards the popularity of The Esparina among buyers, housing agents said.

The project is the first EC to be launched since the La Casa in 2005 in Woodlands.

And there are at least three more developments set for launch this year, which observers believe will help cater to demand for such developments. Ryan Huang

08-10-10, 00:09
i think next trough at 700psf. :ashamed1:

so probably next trough will be 750psf for mass market new launches...

08-10-10, 00:17
am i right to say, the cheapest 2 bedder for a first timer will be 590k - 30k grant = 560k/829sq ft = 676psf? not too bad for a 2 bedder. :)

08-10-10, 07:01
i think next trough at 700psf. :ashamed1:
Probably bank will make cash call for those bought at around 1k psf?:scared-4:

08-10-10, 07:06
Can 1st timer borrow from hdb for ec? If bank possible firesales for 1st timer if stretched to buy big unit large quantum at current high prices ...

scsc
08-10-10, 13:49
Can 1st timer borrow from hdb for ec? If bank possible firesales for 1st timer if stretched to buy big unit large quantum at current high prices ...

i believe EC only can loan from bank...

fooblackie
08-10-10, 15:21
i believe EC only can loan from bank...

yes confirmed chop stamp. EC can only have bank loans. I owned a EC before...

the gd thing is that the current bank loan interest rates are in fact lower than HDB loan. It may be wise to tie to a fixed rate as long as possible.

08-10-10, 20:54
Anyone saw the news? It seemed with the demand for this EC prices are kept from sliding in the northeast area...

09-10-10, 15:05
Any update on the ballot exercise? Have the Esparina sold out liao?:cheers6:

09-10-10, 16:03
Today's ST reports, only sold 300+ units. In short, not sold out. It was reported that they stick strictly to the 5% for 2nd-timer rule. So when the 5% threshold was reached, all the second timers were asked to go home. So if you're a first time applicant, then there are still numerous units to choose from.

09-10-10, 16:09
So the lucky 5% 2nd-timer actually got 1st bite at the cherry? :doh:

09-10-10, 16:13
No lah. Ballot lah. But once 5% is reached, I guess no more 2nd timer goes into the ballot. Just my guess. U need to be there to know the exact process but from ST report, 2nd-timers were turned away.

So the lucky 5% 2nd-timer actually got 1st bite at the cherry? :doh:

fisho
09-10-10, 16:40
So if you are a first timer, you can get any of the balance unit? What happened if not sold out?

i30yishun
09-10-10, 16:56
So if you are a first timer, you can get any of the balance unit? What happened if not sold out?

First timers and second timers all in same ballot box.
So people get drawn out and queue to book their units, once 5% of the units booked, they announced and ask all second timers to go home. They can only come and select remaining units after 1 month.

The 1st month is reserved for first timers. So 1st timer now still can walk in to select the units available. 2 BR units are not hot, alot of 2BR units left from what i saw last night. still got some penthouse left, but not cheap.

noblebaby
09-10-10, 18:41
344 units sold at $730-$750psf according to BT. Not bad.

charvin83
09-10-10, 21:12
Any owner for Esparina here?

charvin83
09-10-10, 21:14
Don't know whether this media release can be trusted or not. haha :confused:

Attached the file.

Btw Esparina got penthouse selling from 864k meh? I nv see leh

isaaclim
09-10-10, 22:27
5% quota reached. Remaining 200+ units only for 1st timer until 7th Nov.

10-10-10, 00:20
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/premiumstory/0,4574,407705,00.html?

Published October 9, 2010

344 units sold in Esparina Residences EC

By UMA SHANKARI

A TOTAL of 344 units were sold in Frasers Centrepoint's 573-unit Sengkang executive condominium (EC), Esparina Residences, as of 6pm yesterday.

The developer had received 1,155 applicants for the project since it was launched on Sept 30. Eligible applicants with a ballot number had priority to enter the showflat for the balloting and booking of units yesterday.

But only 344 units were sold. Because of the balloting process, some potential buyers could have decided not to purchase a unit at all if their preferred unit had been sold. In particular, three-bedroom units, penthouses and dual-key units (which are units that can be divided into two separate apartments with different entrances) proved to be popular, Frasers Centrepoint said.

Prices at Esparina Residences range from $590,000 to $723,000 for a two-bedder; $697,000 to $981,000 for a three-bedder; and $1 million to $1.18 million for a four-bedroom unit. Penthouses are priced at between $864,000 and $1.3 million. On a per square foot (psf) basis, unit prices range from $730 to $750 psf on average.

Esparina Residences is the first EC project to be offered to homebuyers since end-2004.

ECs are a hybrid of public and private housing. New EC units are sold with eligibility, ownership and resale restrictions similar to those for public housing, but these restrictions cease to apply after 10 years.

Another EC project, MCC Land's 406-unit The Canopy in Yishun, previews this weekend. MCC Land has priced the units at an average of $600 to $700 psf. Unit sizes at the 99-year leasehold project range from 872 sq ft to 1,410 sq ft in two, three and four-bedroom configurations. There will also be 22 penthouses of between 2,088 and 2,239 sq ft.

10-10-10, 00:58
http://www.straitstimes.com/Money/Story/STIStory_588474.html

Oct 9, 2010

Esparina Residences sells 344 units in 1 day

Big crowd at balloting for units at first EC to be launched in 5 years

By Esther Teo

BUYERS snapped up 344 units of Esparina Residences, the first executive condominium (EC) to be launched in five years, on the first day of sales yesterday.

Dual-key apartments, a studio attached to either a two- or three-bedder for extended families to live together, were the most popular with 61 of the 71 available sold, said developer Frasers Centrepoint Homes. Three-bedders were next with 212 of 283 sold, while 12 of the 20 penthouses went.

Experts say the huge response was expected as the project located near Buangkok MRT station had been more than 100 per cent oversubscribed with 1,155 applications for the 573 units.

Pent-up demand from first-timers who will be able to make use of the $30,000 CPF housing grant and more affordable prices compared with mass market condos also added to the interest.

Frasers said on Wednesday that almost 75 per cent of the applicants were young professionals aged between 25 and 40, with half of all applicants falling within the $8,000 to $10,000 income bracket - the so-called sandwich class.

Mr Jonathan Tee, 22, booked a 1,001 sq ft three-bedroom unit with his girlfriend for about $750 per sq feet (psf).

'We think that the price offered is quite attractive, it is a good location near the MRT plus Frasers is also one of the top developers,' he added.

Another buyer, Mr Chua and his fiance - whose ballot number was picked after three agonising hours of waiting - said their first choice had gone but they decided to go for another three-bedroom flat on a lower floor instead.

HSR chief executive Patrick Liew said that 'response has been tremendous' as the undersupply of ECs over the past five years meant that demand has stayed high. He expects the project to sell out 'in a short while'.

Mr Steven Tan, executive director of residential at the OrangeTee agency, said the project's high take-up rate on a single weekday was very encouraging.

'If they miss this, buyers might have to wait for a while to have another EC site so close to an MRT station... If they wait, they might also exceed their income ceiling so they might have chosen to buy now,' he added.

MCC Land's viewing of its EC The Canopy at Yishun Avenue 11 begins today. Bookings start next Saturday.

The 99-year leasehold, 406-unit project will offer two-, three- and four-bedroom units ranging from 872 sq ft to 1,410 sq ft, and 22 penthouses between 2,088 sq ft and 2,239 sq ft. Average prices will range from $600 psf to $700 psf.

OrangeTee's Mr Tan said The Canopy will be catering to a different catchment of buyers in the Yishun and Woodlands area compared with Esparina Residences but he expects response to be similarly strong.

Its lower psf price also meant that it could meet the needs of more price-sensitive buyers, he added.

Despite the high number of applicants, not all flats were sold as some potential buyers might have backed out after not being able to get their preferred units. With 95 per cent of the units reserved for first-timers, second-time applicants were turned away two hours into the ballot after the quota was reached.

10-10-10, 16:09
looks like many second timers got turned away. Guess they all should be waiting for the 'expiry period' to be up and still hoping that thier ideal unit is there.

Govt should reconsider the 95% first timers for EC, pple already wait so long for EC (5+ years), still must wait some more when launched.:doh:

fisho
10-10-10, 19:55
Totally agree that government should reconsider the 95% allotment for first timers. This would allow more opportunities for genuine upgraders to purchase the EC and cool off the private MM segment.

Maybe the unsold units in Esparina shows that many first timers are not biting the high psf just yet.

12-10-10, 17:47
only another 20 units sold over the weekend, looks like first-timers got no strength got to wait for the calvery (2nd timers) to come.

i30yishun
12-10-10, 23:21
only another 20 units sold over the weekend, looks like first-timers got no strength got to wait for the calvery (2nd timers) to come.

I think most of the 3 and 4 rooms unit taken up except for those block with direct west sun. Quite alot of 2 bedders left which i don't think 2nd timer will go for. They will probably whack the few penthouses that are still unsold.:p

13-10-10, 00:10

what do you mean first timer no strength ?

they cant afford the 20 pcts?

13-10-10, 10:36
Do you have to pay the 20% upon booking of EC like private condo, i am not sure:beats-me-man: .

But i feel for 1st timers, who just started working say 3-5 years ago, such a huge financial committment is no joke. Especially for Gen Y, where (from what i read) they like to chase their passion and don't like to be tied down to a job.
For second timers, they are already sucked into the property trap, so they are just exchanging one trap for another, of course a bigger one.....

gohsoonk
13-10-10, 13:20
I think he was trying to use figurative speech. Basically, he is saying the number of 1st timers are not enough to buy up all the units. Require 2nd time upgraders to soak up the remaining units.

esparian
16-10-10, 08:44
Hey folks...

1) Any good loan package for Esparina project?

2) Am comparing the loan packages..
Does anyone has details of the building schedule?
Not sure if this is a good estimate:

Est date - Esparina Payment Schedule
2010 Oct - Option Fee
2010 Dec -Signing of Purchase agreement
2011 Jun - Foundation work completion
2012 Jun - Brick walls of unit completed
2012 Dec - Ceiling of the Unit completed.
2013 Jun - Door, window, wiring, plastering completed.
2013 Dec - Car park, roads and drains completed.
2014 Mar - Temporary Occupation Permit (TOP)
2015 March Certificate of StatutoryCompletion (CSC)

3) The Option letter will expire in 3 weeks. I guess we must settle the loan by 2nd week to allow the bank and lawyer to settle the paperwork...is the end of 2nd too late?

Please advise Thanks!

hellothere
16-10-10, 10:48

I am looking at the loan package from CIMB. Theirs look quite attractive. Do you have any recommendation?

gnooliew
16-10-10, 11:11

I am looking at the loan package from CIMB. Theirs look quite attractive. Do you have any recommendation?

Me too. The step-down package I presume. Yup, I should be taking that.

hellothere
16-10-10, 11:14
Me too. The step-down package I presume. Yup, I should be taking that.

Bro, do you have any packages for comparison?

gnooliew
16-10-10, 11:49
Bro, do you have any packages for comparison?

offhand from what i rem:
OCBC SOR+0.75% 3 years, SOR+1% thereafter (nolock in)
OCBC SOR+0.65% 2 years, 0.75%,1% (2 year lock in)
HSBC SIBOR+0.75% all the way
UOB SOR+0.7% 3 years,1% thereafter (nolock in)

hellothere
16-10-10, 11:54
From what I see,
OCBC is better initially by a few hundred dollars but CIMB is better in long run. However, CIMB had no lock-in and provides 1 year more Fire Insurance than OCBC. Though the Fire Insurance is not much.:)

16-10-10, 11:56
It is better to go for no lock if it is SOR package given the volatility nature of SOR. On the other hand, looking at US economy and US$, SOR and SIBOR should be remained low for quite some time.