View Full Version : Fire Sale and Wrong Listings

cashrich
15-09-10, 12:10
Start this by gathering the fire sale listing and the wrong post from the net. This could be my new hobby.

cashrich
15-09-10, 12:11
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb-for-sale-mi-casa-2031285

Stanley Wong

Senior Associate Director
Call (+65) 9336 5892

Or call: 81019035

cashrich
15-09-10, 12:20
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2001412/for-sale-oleander-towers

Edmund Tan

Marketing Director
Call (+65) 8200 4448

Or call: 90624567

cashrich
15-09-10, 12:28
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1836820/for-sale-new-launch-exective-condo-compassvale-bow

Irene Kwek

Manager
Call (+65) 9105 4728

OLY99
15-09-10, 12:31
these agent really need to get f**k. can sue for misleading?? and their title us SO BIG!!!! wtf!!

15-09-10, 14:58
they do that to get calls, as simple as that

15-09-10, 23:14
these agent really need to get f**k. can sue for misleading?? and their title us SO BIG!!!! wtf!!

they are desperate lah

tactics they use :

they know D5 selling well .. then anyhow post D10 properties in D5

use nice pictures of other unit, with a tiny print saying : not actual unit

Negiotiable , but seriously ? its not...always blame seller for changing price

etc etc

16-09-10, 11:22
they do that to get calls, as simple as that

i alway use my other number to call,if no such unit exist. simply off my phone

16-09-10, 14:30
I utterly dislike this kind of approach.

I recalled when I was looking for a condo and have had made many calls to enquired about availability of units with etiher low or reasonable price, the standard answers would be as below

Me: Hi, I'm interested wo your adv about this condo at xxxxxx. Can you arrrange viewin?

Agent: Oh, that unit, sorry sold liao. However, do you mind to tell me your budget so that I can check my database to meet your budget....

Also, I noticed there are certain group of agents would ganged up to fish genuie buyer calls.... example as below:

Agent A, B, C, n... listed adv asking 980K, 965K, 960k etc for an unit in any particular project.

Then a day or two (something up to one week) later, an agent Z listed adv 860k+/- and for sure we will start calling this agent Z. Then again, the same story goes again..." Oh that unit sold liao, you are late, market is good. BTW, mind to share your budget so that I can find one for you....":tongue3:

Check yourself in Propertyguru & iProperty and you will noticed such acts in abundant....

:tongue3: sucker agent!

TS
16-09-10, 15:28

I recalled when I was looking for a condo and have had made many calls to enquired about availability of units with etiher low or reasonable price, the standard answers would be as below

Me: Hi, I'm interested wo your adv about this condo at xxxxxx. Can you arrrange viewin?

Agent: Oh, that unit, sorry sold liao. However, do you mind to tell me your budget so that I can check my database to meet your budget....

Also, I noticed there are certain group of agents would ganged up to fish genuie buyer calls.... example as below:

Agent A, B, C, n... listed adv asking 980K, 965K, 960k etc for an unit in any particular project.

Then a day or two (something up to one week) later, an agent Z listed adv 860k+/- and for sure we will start calling this agent Z. Then again, the same story goes again..." Oh that unit sold liao, you are late, market is good. BTW, mind to share your budget so that I can find one for you....":tongue3:

Check yourself in Propertyguru & iProperty and you will noticed such acts in abundant....

Ha ha agreed. I also called before for a unit. Told me I need viewing, just tell me where to meet to pass cheque to agent.

The agent then said, oh that owner withdrew his sales. Got other units, and asked if I am interested. :mad:

pengful
17-09-10, 14:54
Can we report these misleading ads to the newly-set up stat board, Council for Estate Agencies (CEA)?

Want to see these errant agents get their butts burnt!

17-09-10, 15:18
Can we report these misleading ads to the newly-set up stat board, Council for Estate Agencies (CEA)?

These Agents reflect BADLY on the Companies they represent. How come these Companies never take action? With new CEA, hope that they clamp down on these Companies who can't control their Agents....;blatantly trying to mislead....

cashrich
17-09-10, 15:30
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb-for-sale-mi-casa-2031285

Stanley Wong

Senior Associate Director
Call (+65) 9336 5892

Or call: 81019035

Listing expired. Power!

cashrich
17-09-10, 15:31
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2001412/for-sale-oleander-towers

Edmund Tan

Marketing Director
Call (+65) 8200 4448

Or call: 90624567

Rectified. Just add a ZERO behind. 0

cashrich
17-09-10, 15:34
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1836820/for-sale-new-launch-exective-condo-compassvale-bow

Irene Kwek

Manager
Call (+65) 9105 4728

still there, special offer at $65k for 2 Beds / 2 Baths, $78.41 psf

Must be missing a big ZERO behind.

18-09-10, 22:03

The most infuriating thing is this, the advert the agents say 'oh its sold' or 'its withdrawn' is dated the same day I called in. How can it be sold or withdrawn in less than a day?

Also, there are those agents who refused to remove their advert even after its sold so that we can still call to make enquiries and then they'll ask us for our requirements. To them, they call it marketing strategies but to us potential buyers, we sometimes desire honesty more and not want to feel that we've been tricked...

18-09-10, 23:06
The most infuriating thing is this, the advert the agents say 'oh its sold' or 'its withdrawn' is dated the same day I called in. How can it be sold or withdrawn in less than a day?

Also, there are those agents who refused to remove their advert even after its sold so that we can still call to make enquiries and then they'll ask us for our requirements. To them, they call it marketing strategies but to us potential buyers, we sometimes desire honesty more and not want to feel that we've been tricked...

yup too many agents who use this method to fish for more potential buyers.

some even worse..they dont reveal which floor or stack and ask u to make offer..really a joke!!!

19-09-10, 05:33
A lot of developments, especially those MM types, were already fully sold but agents still advertising at ridiculous price to draw enquiries and recommend other units.

19-09-10, 11:24
A lot of developments, especially those MM types, were already fully sold but agents still advertising at ridiculous price to draw enquiries and recommend other units.

Now it is stipulated by law that all housing agents need to go for qualification entry test or something like that. Are they taught proper marketing etiquette and to refrain from such under handed techniques. Basically as a potential buyer, I'll be immediately put off by their manners and immediately not want to engage their service even when they are the sole agent for that unit. This is how stupiah (stupid + piah-slap face :doh: ) their marketing techniques make one feel.:tsk-tsk:

19-09-10, 11:44

How do you prove that? And unless you have plenty of time to try proving he misled you. Just move on and don't be bothered with such agents...

cashrich
19-09-10, 12:14
New ones

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1777355/for-sale-vacanza-east

Derrick Toh

NO.1 TOP PROPERTY CONSULTANT. SENIOR ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR. 12 YEARS AGENT
Call (+65) 8383 8066

cashrich
19-09-10, 12:15
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2023756/for-sale-new-launch-jupiter-18-2br-7xx-xxx-

Danny Ng

Senior Associate
Call (+65) 9093 9986

Or call: +65-91439619

cashrich
19-09-10, 12:18
Fire sale?

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1386632/for-sale-casa-aerata-3xxk-freehold

Sasa Tng

Call (+65) 9184 9948

cashrich
19-09-10, 12:32
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2014916/for-sale-adora-green

3 or 4 bedders? Store room counted?

Nancy Wong

Senior Marketing Director
Call (+65) 9326 3531

cashrich
19-09-10, 12:35
This could be a fire sale if listed correctly.

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2061844/for-sale-elias-green

K C Quek

Senior Marketing Associate
Call (+65) 9693 6863

Or call: 81886863

19-09-10, 16:16
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2023756/for-sale-new-launch-jupiter-18-2br-7xx-xxx-

Danny Ng

Senior Associate
Call (+65) 9093 9986

Or call: +65-91439619

This is a bad advertisement. I hate it whenever I see these types of postings. I will never call them at all.

19-09-10, 17:13
actually....tink of this way....no harm telling them ur requirements and let them go and check out the cheapest available unit in the market for u lor...

20-09-10, 12:40
another cheap trick to attract buyer with example of wrong representating (misleading????)

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/788015/for-rent-lakeholmz

The agent show a nicely deco picture which does not demostrate the right floor layout for Lakeholmz. (Nonetheless, he is kind enough to say it's for illustration purpose)

Question is: He is trying to illustrate "WHAT"?

:simmering:

20-09-10, 12:42
another cheap trick to attract buyer with example of wrong representating (misleading????)

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/788015/for-rent-lakeholmz

The agent show a nicely deco picture which does not demostrate the right floor layout for Lakeholmz. (Nonetheless, he is kind enough to say it's for illustration purpose)

Question is: He is trying to illustrate "WHAT"?

:simmering:

Another example from the same agent
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1084462/for-rent-lakeholmz

cashrich
20-09-10, 13:10
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2067310/for-sale-botannia

Very cheap, missing a zero.
Roy Lee

manager
Call (+65) 9338 1618

OLY99
20-09-10, 13:35
maybe should call n make enquiry. then give them a good F!!! no wonder any tom dick harry also can be agent!!!

20-09-10, 13:44
maybe should call n make enquiry. then give them a good F!!! no wonder any tom dick harry also can be agent!!!

better don't call ..
Maybe these agents wanted to attract potential buyers to call them..
Don't fall into their trap!
Part of their advertising :)

20-09-10, 23:22
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2014916/for-sale-adora-green

3 or 4 bedders? Store room counted?

Nancy Wong

Senior Marketing Director
Call (+65) 9326 3531

That's "HDB way" of counting.
5 Room actually means 3 bedder + Living room + Dining room.
4 Room means 3 bedder + Living/Dining room

Actually I find this agent quite factual and giving more useful information.
Most agents just cut and paste the same text.
A nice map too!

But opine no advertisement should be allowed to be posted here.
This is afterall a forum.
As irritating as pamphlets stuck to my car! :hell-hath-no-fury:

cashrich
21-09-10, 00:39
That's "HDB way" of counting.
5 Room actually means 3 bedder + Living room + Dining room.
4 Room means 3 bedder + Living/Dining room

Actually I find this agent quite factual and giving more useful information.
Most agents just cut and paste the same text.
A nice map too!

But opine no advertisement should be allowed to be posted here.
This is afterall a forum.
As irritating as pamphlets stuck to my car! :hell-hath-no-fury:

You mean less than 1000 swf can have 4 rooms? Wow..

Anyway these postings are within this thread only and not anywhere else. Surely it is not as irritating as getting those flyers stuck to car windscreen right?

Anyway made my point. Will post more firesale listings for all to grab!

21-09-10, 00:44
thank you!!

Anyway these postings are within this thread only and not anywhere else. Surely it is not as irritating as getting those flyers stuck to car windscreen right?

Veryln
21-09-10, 09:26

thank you for starting this thread. very useful indeed and hopefully the agent who posted wrong listing will get to see their own posting here. hahaha

22-09-10, 22:25
No vested interest. View at own risk.

FIRE FIRE FIRE Sales for 1 bedroom

Welcome co-broke:

Venture View, 1 bedroom
size: 763sqft
Top: Sept 2010 (est)
Freehold, Goodlayout
Serious seller, give a serious offer.
Call 96896653 for more details.

22-09-10, 22:45
Firesales !

Dear friends,

Latest local bank valuation in Sept'10 at $1.4m! 80% LTV possible.

Exclusive at $1.3m BELOW Valuation (Must Sell)

- Advanced 2yrs rental payments $3500 monthly (tenancy expire 14 Aug 2012) on valuation price upon completion.
- 3+1BR+1 (2153ft) with roof-top open terrace garden (approx 1000psf).
- 5-10mins to Aljunied orPayaLeba MRT (Circle line)
- Personal Lift & pte stairs access to roof terrace
- 5 aircons / 2bathrooms / Just Renovated / covered carpark / Pool / Gym Steamroom
- Vibrant neighbourhoods / Firework / Pool View

Certificate of Title done and will be shown to buyer when issung cheque. A Must sell unit! 1st cheque presented will seal the deal.

More pictures can be viewed at http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/bestsingaporeproperty/ RSVP your viewing time with contacts now. Genuine buyers / Co-broke agents welcome!

FREDDY
65- 93671345

Jesslee98
23-09-10, 16:25
Suggest to have a list of blacklisted agents in this forum....kekek

cashrich
23-09-10, 18:24
Suggest to have a list of blacklisted agents in this forum....kekek

That's a very good ideal but not advisable due to legal reasons. The blacklist agents might take a suit against you.

Anyway leave this to

Council for Estate Agencies will provide better regulation, to start work on Oct 22

vip
26-09-10, 18:29
I met an agent who has a trick to convince owners to lease their units at very low rate. He would say things like,

"You know I just rented out unit #xx-xx, #xx-xx and #xx-xx at (very low rate). They have good facing and better decoration than yours."

"I have a tenant who can only afford (even lower rate). But getting this amount is better than nothing at the end of the month. If I were you, I would let go at this rate. Who knows, you may not get a better offer in the coming few months."

This is how he manages to close more deals in an efficient way.

When it comes to units for sale, he also advertises units at 'dirt cheap' prices in a property listing website.

See my true story at:

http://propertysoul.com/2010/09/26/tricks-deployed-by-a-property-agent/

All owners and buyers, beware of these tricks deployed by dishonest property agents!

30-09-10, 10:01
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2148303/for-sale-new-launch-freehold-3bed-d-mira-novena-mr

Right smack deep in Balestier Road want to advertise as Novena? How, run everyday to Novena MRT har? :D

Even if you were to take a brisk walk from this new project, it would take you at least a good 20 minutes to arrive at the Novena MRT, all hot and sweaty :tongue3: :scared-4: :beats-me-man:

30-09-10, 11:28
Yap, heard of these before. That is why in Propertyguru you always see many of these super low asking prices! They cannibalize the genuine buyers looking for bargain, prevent the agents advertising at real asking prices from getting calls from buyers! I have been observing and found that despite the super low asking prices, many of the units appearing transacted in URA caveat records are much much higher than these super low prices. The only thing is sellers have to be firm on their selling prices and willing to wait out otherwise they will get conned into selling at lower prices!

This is also a big disadvantage when coming to selling a big estate condo unit because 1 common tactic by agent is to play out different owners like saying so and so with better facing and higher floor asking lower than your asking price blah blah blah. If you don't want to sell at this price, the buyer will buy from the other owners! :banghead:

----------------------------------------------

Tricks deployed by a property agent

September 26, 2010 by Property Soul (http://propertysoul.com/author/propertysoul/) Leave a Comment (http://propertysoul.com/2010/09/26/tricks-deployed-by-a-property-agent/#respond)

A few years ago, I bought a condo unit and wanted to rent it out. I met a property agent who stays in the same condo. In our 1st meeting, he began by showing off his pile of sales and tenancy agreement. He claimed that they were all from units in this condo. In fact, he was the major agent selling and leasing most of the units here. For the next hour, I was sitting there listening to his great achievements.
At the end, he suddenly said,
“You know I just rented out unit #xx-xx, #xx-xx and #xx-xx at (very low rate). They have good facing and better decoration than yours.”
When I looked puzzled, he added,
“I have a tenant who can only afford (even lower rate). But getting this amount is better than nothing at the end of the month. If I were you, I would let go at this rate. Who knows, you may not get a better offer in the coming few months.”
Luckily, the next day I found a tenant who is paying my expected ‘market rate’.
Later, I found out from other owners that this is his ‘tactic’ to help him close more deals, and in a ‘super efficient’ way.
Years later, when I want to sell the unit, I found the same agent using another trick when it comes to units for sale.
In one of the popular property listing website, this agent and his partner advertise units at ‘dirt cheap’ prices.
Of course, all buyers want to view units from ‘sincere’ or ‘desperate’ sellers. This is how they get all the calls. Competition is automatically eliminated by preventing potential buyers from calling other agents.
But when you call them, they will say,
“Sorry, you are late. The units were just sold by me (or owner withdraws the sale, or owner now wants to sell at higher price, etc.). But I have other units selling at slightly higher prices. Do you want to view?”
“You can only view on Tuesday (at certain hour) because this is the only time that the tenant can make it. But I can show you a few units at the same time.”
“Buyers are queuing up to view. Every Tuesday after viewing, my partner and I can easily sell a few units.”
Really? But, where are the sales transactions lodged?
“You have a similar unit for sale? Ok, leave the key with me and I will try to show it together with other units.”

I met an agent who has a trick to convince owners to lease their units at very low rate. He would say things like,

"You know I just rented out unit #xx-xx, #xx-xx and #xx-xx at (very low rate). They have good facing and better decoration than yours."

"I have a tenant who can only afford (even lower rate). But getting this amount is better than nothing at the end of the month. If I were you, I would let go at this rate. Who knows, you may not get a better offer in the coming few months."

This is how he manages to close more deals in an efficient way.

When it comes to units for sale, he also advertises units at 'dirt cheap' prices in a property listing website.

See my true story at:

http://propertysoul.com/2010/09/26/tricks-deployed-by-a-property-agent/

All owners and buyers, beware of these tricks deployed by dishonest property agents!

06-11-10, 17:52
Just saw this on Staurday newspaper:

Firesale! CityLights
1+SUTDY 12xx psf
High yield, 721 sqft
Onwer, must sell.
Call 8102 2029

BEACON CHEAPEST
2+STUDY
12xx psf High Floor
1109 sqft
Don't miss.
Call 8102 2029

06-11-10, 18:15
Richard the way you phrase it makes u sound like you're the agent :)

06-11-10, 18:30
I am just trying to bring some trust in this forum.
I am NOT an agent.

Pls post on this forum if any luck guy got the deal.
I need to rush for movie with my wife now.

06-11-10, 22:36
But seriously... do you really think there are any real fire sales out there in this current market?

The sellers are not stupid... they will at least expect to get market rates. Who is going to sell below market. There are so many websites showing past transacted prices.

If it looks too good to be true, it probably is....:(

07-11-10, 00:16
for citylights ...its possible for very low flrs...probably less den 10th flr...i wud say its sort of market rate....12xxpsf usually means 1290psf...haha...the agt just make it looks like its a 'firesale'

it often happens for high rise projects as top vs low flrs can vary by about 300-500psf....76shenton/altez best example:D

cashrich
07-11-10, 05:09
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2495382/for-sale-twin-heights

Judy Wu

Division Director
Call (+65) 9060 4809

Or call: 91557700

cashrich
07-11-10, 05:11
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2424113/for-sale-seletaris

DESMOND HO

MARKETING DIRECTOR
Call (+65) 9069 7321

cashrich
07-11-10, 05:14
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/1582073/for-sale-alexis

Amy Lum

Marketing Associate
Call (+65) 9640 3422

cashrich
07-11-10, 05:16
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2035421/for-sale-mandarin-gardens

Christina soh

Associate Director
Call (+65) 9455 5128

Or call: 81383728

cashrich
07-11-10, 05:18
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2416090/for-sale-marina-bay-suites

Kerr Sun

Associate Sales Director
Call (+65) 9798 2320

07-11-10, 07:29
Misleading.... :D :D :D

of course they could argue that they just mean the 5% option money price... but still misleading.

I think the only reason why they do it is in the hope that their listing gets thru the search filter when potential buyers search for cheap condos to buy :tongue3: ;) :D

Lord Anus
07-11-10, 22:56
friends, i think the stupid agents who put these ads are fcuking KUM LAN la...

they dunno how to use the form and filled in wrongly hence these ridiculous prices in the ads....

Lord Anus
07-11-10, 23:07
http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/2148303/for-sale-new-launch-freehold-3bed-d-mira-novena-mr

Right smack deep in Balestier Road want to advertise as Novena? How, run everyday to Novena MRT har? :D

Even if you were to take a brisk walk from this new project, it would take you at least a good 20 minutes to arrive at the Novena MRT, all hot and sweaty :tongue3: :scared-4: :beats-me-man:

ya balls.... this is much nearer to TPY MRT than novena.

why doesn't she just tell the truth? near TPY mrt also a good selling point what!

kram
09-11-10, 14:07
Is this a firesale? Or is it an example of agent aggressive selling tactics?
Neighbouring block, height almost same, size almost same, but price difference of $450K. All i know is that if compare the 2 Caribbean transactions there will one sore seller and one sore buyer.

Address PSF Area Sqft Price Contract Date
30 Keppel Bay Drive #06 $1783 1206 $2150k 25 Oct 10
32 Keppel Bay Drive #07 $1398 1216 $1700k 08 Oct 10

09-11-10, 21:29
Is this a firesale? Or is it an example of agent aggressive selling tactics?
Neighbouring block, height almost same, size almost same, but price difference of $450K. All i know is that if compare the 2 Caribbean transactions there will one sore seller and one sore buyer.

Address PSF Area Sqft Price Contract Date
30 Keppel Bay Drive #06 $1783 1206 $2150k 25 Oct 10
32 Keppel Bay Drive #07 $1398 1216 $1700k 08 Oct 10

looks like different block ... 30 and 32 and could have totally different facing ... maybe one faces sentosa and the other facing highway ?

i am only guessing

perhaps fellow Carribeanians can verify

10-11-10, 00:18
looks like different block ... 30 and 32 and could have totally different facing ... maybe one faces sentosa and the other facing highway ?

i am only guessing

perhaps fellow Carribeanians can verify

true.. I remember going to Keppel @ Reflections and was quoted around $2400psf for the bay view while the golf course view goes for around $1800psf ..

kram
10-11-10, 08:41
Block 30 and 32 are middle blocks for Caribbean, so no highway or sentosa view. Think will face either water channel or swimming pool.

cashrich
09-01-11, 06:19
Did a search for wrong listings under $500k and hard to find any... CEA effective? The earlier wrong listings had either expired, removed, updated or amended to another project.

Do post if you can find any.