Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: The Glyndebourne @ Dunearn (D11, Freehold, CDL)

That is the reason why high end from now on will be hot since they have not moved since 2007 and the Govt introduced policy that kill the heat in the mass market and HDBs that had already doubled....... (We can start to worry only when the high end also become doubled in price as the mass market and HDBs).

the high end hot? the high end market has not moved since 2007, while low end and HDB have almost doubled.

The Glyndebourne would have been sold at higher prices in 2007.

hmmm...so u have been quietly watching me huh.........the moment i come up with a 4D number, i see the sparkle in ur eye hahaha. alright. may as well restart the game here since this is the hot project which triggered my guessing interest. my number is 1412, 55% rise from 911 last month. kekeke.

Quote Originally Posted by cheerful
    Start guessing liao huh ... another two weeks to count down ..

but even spottiswoode and robinson has to resort to MM to make it affordable and likely hot sales. i m still wondering what will happen to the super big units of 2007. seems like psf can't increase much for those (ie around 2000psf+/- big units). above 3000psf ones no problem lah, if the liquidity from the bigwig foreigners come they can stomach these easily as they are also better located.

That is the reason why high end from now on will be hot since they have not moved since 2007 and the Govt introduced policy that kill the heat in the mass market and HDBs that had already doubled....... (We can start to worry only when the high end also become doubled in price as the mass market and HDBs).

I hope you are right. but I guess the trend of high end condos going down and low end condos rising is perfectly reflected by business class flying replaced by economy class flying in the airline industry. BT reported a few days ago many airlines have been forced to eliminating business class sections due to poor demand.

so, let's see whether high end condos will double or not.

for airlines, its 1st class which is being eliminated in favour of business and economy class.

also in sunday times, speculated election date is apr/may 2011. still have time for one more ppty cooling measure if it gets too hot.

normally the govt would not intervene if only CCR is hot but if it drags the others up again then they would step in again.

I hope you are right. but I guess the trend of high end condos going down and low end condos rising is perfectly reflected by business class flying replaced by economy class flying in the airline industry. BT reported a few days ago many airlines have been forced to eliminating business class sections due to poor demand.

so, let's see whether high end condos will double or not.

The friendly skies are getting meaner and meaner.
    USA Today reports that some airlines are scaling back on first-class seats, since fewer passengers are paying up for the extra luxury. On international flights, business and first-class seat purchases fell 16%, and many blame (wait for it) the global recession. Airlines like AirTran, Qantas and United may cut out the section entirely, while Southwest has never offered first-class seats. (See 20 reasons to hate the airlines.)
    The majority of domestic flights in the U.S. only offer two sections — economy (coach) and premium (either first or business). Airlines have pumped money into premium amenities to keep customers coming. But since that hasn't worked, many have started a "premium economy" section, which offers coach seats with more legroom. (Yet no U.S. airline makes its flight attendants dance to Lady Gaga.)
    NewsFeed knows the true reason why people won't pay up. When they're charging us an arm and a leg to check a bag or pre-select a seat, we're probably not going to fork over an extra $100 for a glass of wine and extra legroom. (via USA Today)

Read more: http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/10/20/the-latest-airline-cutback-first-class/#ixzz146TLYGjf

so basically, can't say you are wrong. the idea is that everything cheap will be more in demand, and everything luxury will be in less demand. that is the message I was trying to convey.

i guess in this context, I believe that glyndebourne will turn into another duchess residences, with many tears to be shed.

USA Today reports that some airlines are scaling back on first-class seats, since fewer passengers are paying up for the extra luxury. On international flights, business and first-class seat purchases fell 16%, and many blame (wait for it) the global recession. Airlines like AirTran, Qantas and United may cut out the section entirely, while Southwest has never offered first-class seats. (See 20 reasons to hate the airlines.)
    The majority of domestic flights in the U.S. only offer two sections — economy (coach) and premium (either first or business). Airlines have pumped money into premium amenities to keep customers coming. But since that hasn't worked, many have started a "premium economy" section, which offers coach seats with more legroom. (Yet no U.S. airline makes its flight attendants dance to Lady Gaga.)
    NewsFeed knows the true reason why people won't pay up. When they're charging us an arm and a leg to check a bag or pre-select a seat, we're probably not going to fork over an extra $100 for a glass of wine and extra legroom. (via USA Today)

Read more: http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/10/20/...#ixzz146TLYGjf

so basically, can't say you are wrong. the idea is that everything cheap will be more in demand, and everything luxury will be in less demand. that is the message I was trying to convey.

i guess in this context, I believe that glyndebourne will turn into another duchess residences, with many tears to be shed.

What's the story behind Duchess residences? Can enlighten?

Hmm.. did a quick search on your posts and you said this when property prices is at its lowest. Bottom of the bottom

April 27th, 2009 #84
    Junior

advise you guys to sell. there are 87 units on propertyguru to sell and 300 units to rent. rental per month is about 5 to 6k for a 3 bedder, translating a yield of only 3% at the price you mentioned. the yield is too low to support the price, suggesting the price will go much lower.

rental yield should be about 5 to 6% for the price to be sustainable. besides there are a lot of supply to come on the market. Skyline is now selling for 1,000psf, and it is no worse than the sail in location and tenure.

sell if you I were you, the sail is a lousy condo for own stay. It is a bubble inflated by speculators like yourselves. sell before you lose your shirt. haha.

Read more: http://newsfeed.time.com/2010/10/20/the-latest-airline-cutback-first-class/#ixzz146TLYGjf

don't want to say liao. i already talked too much about this project. please use the "search" to check the thread which amk created and read the juicy story there.

Quote Originally Posted by KC76
    What's the story behind Duchess residences? Can enlighten?
    [/left]

Default Reuters Interview

SINGAPORE, Nov 2 (Reuters) - Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Tuesday the city-state's red-hot property market was a matter of concern and needed careful monitoring to avoid the creation of a bubble.
    "Our property market has been taking off, which is causing some consternation," he told Reuters in an interview. "We have had a series of measures to squelch the property market but liquidity is awash, sloshing around the whole region.
    "We are watching carefully. The last set of measures were announced at the end of August, they seem to have dampened sentiment some, but we will have to watch and see."

Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888
    Hmm.. did a quick search on your posts and you said this when property prices is at its lowest. Bottom of the bottom

April 27th, 2009 #84
    Junior

advise you guys to sell. there are 87 units on propertyguru to sell and 300 units to rent. rental per month is about 5 to 6k for a 3 bedder, translating a yield of only 3% at the price you mentioned. the yield is too low to support the price, suggesting the price will go much lower.

rental yield should be about 5 to 6% for the price to be sustainable. besides there are a lot of supply to come on the market. Skyline is now selling for 1,000psf, and it is no worse than the sail in location and tenure.

sell if you I were you, the sail is a lousy condo for own stay. It is a bubble inflated by speculators like yourselves. sell before you lose your shirt. haha.
    Has any of the project that i mentioned in that old post gone up in pricing or value? I was right about these projects. the sail and the skyline have both stayed at the same pricing level as in early 2009.

you are wrong about the sail.

i will let gfoo answer this one as he's the sail expert and lives there too.

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Anus
    you are wrong about the sail.

i will let gfoo answer this one as he's the sail expert and lives there too.
    oh, no. I don't like to make enemies. If gfoo is offended by my remark, I sincerely apologize.

but other than a few exceptions, the high end, luxury condo segment has not gone up much since early 2009. even if they have, the low transaction volume means whatever record prices have been achieved are not sustainable.

The premium is like an "option premium". If you buy a new launch, you pay only the upfront downpayment and the rest of the loan is disbursed based on the stage of completion. So if you can "flip" the property within a short while, you get better returns as compared to a completed unit as your upfront investment + loan drawdown is much lower. I don't see how anyone would want to buy a house that he thinks he might stay 5 years later - 5 years is a long time to waste waiting - most are specuvestors who hope that they can flip before the property completes and full loan disbursement becomes due.

But I agree this Glyndebourne with such a sorry pretentious name is over-priced. But it still attracts a substantial specuvestor crowd who hope to be able to make a killing in the next few years under the assumption US continue to print money like no tomorrow. With so much hot money swimming around with near-zero interest rate, anyone can afford anything. The biggest worry is if countries start to implement contractionary policies and interest rate start to normalise to 4-5% - that is very likely to happen in the next 5 years. And when that happen, those properties propped up by "hot money" will be the badly affected. Hot money are the first to flow out with first signs of trouble. Our parents would have witnessed that during the Asian Financial Crisis.

There are many factors:-

1) FH or LH. If LH, obviously, the older, the less time left.
    2) Age difference
    3) Design, if the older development looks dated
    4) Level of maintenance of the older property.

But generally I find such a huge difference between new and relatively new developments, that buying a new development doesn't make sense.... especially for a long term investor. All projects become old at some point.

Should there be a price difference between a 20 and 25 yr old property?
    Last edited by Wild Falcon; 02-11-10 at 19:40.

Actually before the actual launch date, when I submit cheque to look see look see, I was told larger units like 3bd and above will be 18## psf. Qwek manages to ride on the optimism and QE2 expectation to sell at a higher price. If QE2 indeed happens as market expected, there will be a long period of excessive liquidity. CCR pty with 2### psf is going to be the norm, just like mass market pty with 1### psf becoming "normal".

I think no one is expecting CCR to jump like 50%. A 20 to 30% upside at ts moment is very real, if for nothing but the low US$

The premium is like an "option premium". If you buy a new launch, you pay only the upfront downpayment and the rest of the loan is disbursed based on the stage of completion. So if you can "flip" the property within a short while, you get better returns as compared to a completed unit as your upfront investment + loan drawdown is much lower. I don't see how anyone would want to buy a house that he thinks he might stay 5 years later - 5 years is a long time to waste waiting - most are specuvestors who hope that they can flip before the property completes and full loan disbursement becomes due.

But I agree this Glyndebourne with such a sorry pretentious name is over-priced. But it still attracts a substantial specuvestor crowd who hope to be able to make a killing in the next few years under the assumption US continue to print money like no tomorrow. With so much hot money swimming around with near-zero interest rate, anyone can afford anything. The biggest worry is if countries start to implement contractionary policies and interest rate start to normalise to 4-5% - that is very likely to happen in the next 5 years. And when that happen, those properties propped up by "hot money" will be the badly affected. Hot money are the first to flow out with first signs of trouble. Our parents would have witnessed that during the Asian Financial Crisis.
    yes, the name really stinks to heaven. I wouldn't be able to tell cabbies where I live at the airport without blushing.

Not true. Most Asian governments are more focused on curbing hot money inflows now. Singapore included. SG has always been like a whore that welcome "hot money" and anything "foreign" but with so much unhappiness on the ground and general impression of our government always implementing lopsided policies that benefit the rich speculators and foreigners, our government can no longer turn a deaf ear to the ground sentiments. HDB owners and upgraders are already unhappy that the recent cooling measures hurt the HDB market most. More importantly, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, South Korea are already trying to curb hot money flowing in. Singapore cannot sit there and do nothing and let inflation and asset bubbles continue unabated.

Quote Originally Posted by Squall8888
    Don't worry. Government not keen to control CCR. All the measures so far are targeted at mass market and HDB. Why would the Government control foreign funds from coming into Singapore? They welcome with both arms open. Anyway, the measures have impacted only the lower end, meaning HDB and mass market. The higher end is still hot.

It is so easy to understand why every country is so angry with US printing so much money. It is like your neighbors printing a bunch of monopoly money and trying to use that fake money to buy your house, without you being able to say no.

worst of all, it is a blatant attempt at currency manipulation with a straight face. with the US playing the game, no wonder China is not willing to lower its yuan. the US is wrecking the global financial system and no one can do anything about it.

I can bet that majority of Singaporeans are dead against the casinos. However, there are now not 1 or 2(!!!) in Singapore!!! They had turned a deaf ears to >90% of Singaporeans who are dead against casinos! That tells you so much about what the people want and what the govt will do. They want private property prices to be high but increase slowly over longer periods so that they can make money from selling 99LH land! They want people to buy those land that they sell! They want people to buy their reclaimed land with 99LH!

Not true. Most Asian governments are more focused on curbing hot money inflows now. Singapore included. SG has always been like a whore that welcome "hot money" and anything "foreign" but with so much unhappiness on the ground and general impression of our government always implementing lopsided policies that benefit the rich speculators and foreigners, our government can no longer turn a deaf ear to the ground sentiments. HDB owners and upgraders are already unhappy that the recent cooling measures hurt the HDB market most. More importantly, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, South Korea are already trying to curb hot money flowing in. Singapore cannot sit there and do nothing and let inflation and asset bubbles continue unabated.

I wouldn't discount the possibility that some of the monopoly money that bernanke is printing has already been converted into SGD and been used to buy this stupid condo with the stupidly pretentious name.

sorry, i have been forced to comment again hahaha. now that really sounds like Duchess Residences when it was launched. last minute jacked up!

Actually before the actual launch date, when I submit cheque to look see look see, I was told larger units like 3bd and above will be 18## psf. Qwek manages to ride on the optimism and QE2 expectation to sell at a higher price. If QE2 indeed happens as market expected, there will be a long period of excessive liquidity. CCR pty with 2### psf is going to be the norm, just like mass market pty with 1### psf becoming "normal".

I think no one is expecting CCR to jump like 50%. A 20 to 30% upside at ts moment is very real, if for nothing but the low US$

I wouldn't discount the possibility that some of the monopoly money that bernanke is printing has already been converted into SGD and been used to buy this stupid condo with the stupidly pretentious name.
    The monopoly money printed by bernanke is bought by the chinese to keep they currency low. So it's genius on bernanke's part. If you can't get them to lower their currency, print plenty of yours so they have no choice but buy more of the useless paper....

these few days too busy to be offended lah.

i treat my home as an expense. qe2 happens, the bay rises 20-30%, i'd almost triple my money in 18mths. if it dun happen, prices plunge, i stay put and look out for depressed prices lor.

so far, the lifestyle here hasn't been too bad since june '10. concerts, fireworks, ilights, customs house eateries and cafes. mbfc commercial shopping opens tomorrow, jazz performances by the linear park, etc. end 2011 gardens by the bay opens, 500m away. 2012 DTL opens, 25m away. 2012 will also see Marina Arts park, Asia Sq. Rumored shopping center ala Taka size opening next to mbs by 2013.

xmas 2010 will be nice. xmas 2011 will be great. 2012, survive mayan calendar then see how lol

In short, if you're a flipper, buy new. If you're a long term investor, buy resale. Why pay the "the option premium" if you're not flipping.

I agree with u, Glyndebourne is a stupid name. what does it mean? The ah pek taxi driver wouldn't know have to pronounce it.

but it's better than say rich mansions or bullion park....

so far, the lifestyle here hasn't been too bad since june '10. concerts, fireworks, ilights, customs house eateries and cafes. mbfc commercial shopping opens tomorrow, jazz performances by the linear park, etc. end 2011 gardens by the bay opens, 500m away. 2012 DTL opens, 25m away. 2012 will also see Marina Arts park, Asia Sq. Rumored shopping center ala Taka size opening next to mbs by 2013.

xmas 2010 will be nice. xmas 2011 will be great. 2012, survive mayan calendar then see how lol
    i walked past the link mall this afternoon, shops are busy preparing to open...
    is there a super market in there somewhere?

Good for you. Early 2009. I wonder if you even know where is sail or skyline. Can't believe I am replying you.

It is so easy to understand why every country is so angry with US printing so much money. It is like your neighbors printing a bunch of monopoly money and trying to use that fake money to buy your house, without you being able to say no.

worst of all, it is a blatant attempt at currency manipulation with a straight face. with the US playing the game, no wonder China is not willing to lower its yuan. the US is wrecking the global financial system and no one can do anything about it.
    huh??? china would LOVE to lower its yuan! it is the US who are forcing china to make the yuan stronger!!

jeez... your information is cocked up, leading you to make stupid predictions...

In short, if you're a flipper, buy new. If you're a long term investor, buy resale. Why pay the "the option premium" if you're not flipping.

I agree with u, Glyndebourne is a stupid name. what does it mean? The ah pek taxi driver wouldn't know have to pronounce it.

but it's better than say rich mansions or bullion park....
    that entire neighbourhood has scottish heritage in its road names: trevose, dunearn, cambourne, dunkirk, dalkeith, tudor, narooma (this is anglo/scots aussie, i suppose), whitley, merryn, plymouth. kheam hock is probably the most local sounding. in light of the above, glyndebourne is not so out of place after all.

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Anus
    huh??? china would LOVE to lower its yuan! it is the US who are forcing china to make the yuan stronger!!

jeez... your information is cocked up, leading you to make stupid predictions...
    don't be so mean, it was just a typo.

At least his last sentence is true.

don't be so mean, it was just a typo.