Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Buying now or later?

maybe because of SSD - if they sell now, the next property will be slapped with a 3 year SSD.

well, probably the hordes are starting to realise the gulf between resale and new shouldn't be so wide.

In a good mkt go for resale, in a bad mkt go for new.

in a bad mkt, buy condos launched during that time and if that don't have, subsale BUC.
    in a good mkt, hold and sell.

How exactly do you do money laundering in casino?

you bring in US$110k undeclared cash into casino.
    lose 10k to casino
    win 100k from casino
    so your 100k is now clean, because winnings from casino?
    and pay 10k fee to casino?
    why only a few thousand a hand at blackjack? why not hundreds of thousands a hand at baccarat?
    yeah that is how people do it. u mean u dunno?

why thousands a hand at BJ? less conspicuous and can rotate around the many tables at both casinos. i am a regular at both casinos and have seen different people playing BJ this way. BTW, not all of them are the owners of the cash, many of them are kar-kia doing laundry for their bosses. and many are not singaporean.

why not hundreds of K at one hand of baccarat? millions in an hour? that one sure raise many eyebrows. plus it is not wise to clean so much in such a short time.

Default BJ

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Anus

why thousands a hand at BJ? less conspicuous and can rotate around the many tables at both casinos. i am a regular at both casinos and have seen different people playing BJ this way. BTW, not all of them are the owners of the cash, many of them are kar-kia doing laundry for their bosses. and many are not singaporean.

why not hundreds of K at one hand of baccarat? millions in an hour? that one sure raise many eyebrows. plus it is not wise to clean so much in such a short time.
    Lord Anus you seem to be an expert at BJ.

Regular at both casinos... Aso busy washing ar??

HAHA I also dont know. This question may be stupid.

You mean you can confirm you will sure loose 10k out of 110K? And take home 100K? How to do that?

I tot it is depending on luck?

You mean you can confirm you will sure loose 10k out of 110K? And take home 100K? How to do that?

use BJ to wash $ i duno how...

but bacarrat can

mabe tats y barcarrat tables always FULL in macau casinos...lol

Casino winnings got receipt or not?
    How to proof money is from winning at casinos?
    I don't know, never been to casinos before.

Using BJ to wash money. A lot of people be involved. Does casino tell the croupier to let these clients win? Unless croupier can count cards, give hidden signal to clients whether to take card or not. And if hop table to table, the more people involved, the greater chances of leak. Maybe can go to Wikileaks

Only know a few ways to wash money.
    1) Wait at Paradiz centre, and buy those winning lottery tickets from original owners.
    2) Set up cash basis stores like cafes, stalls. Even though no customers, record as if have many customers.
    No.1 is best. No need to pay tax on lottery income.

Using BJ to wash money. A lot of people be involved. Does casino tell the croupier to let these clients win? Unless croupier can count cards, give hidden signal to clients whether to take card or not. And if hop table to table, the more people involved, the greater chances of leak. Maybe can go to Wikileaks

1) Wait at Paradiz centre, and buy those winning lottery tickets from original owners.
    2) Set up cash basis stores like cafes, stalls. Even though no customers, record as if have many customers.
    first time i heard of no.1...or i too innocent

easily exposed rite for no.1?

only sore losers/lamers blame on luck de lah.....they blame on luck, frens, agts, or even parents BUT except THEMSELVES

u tink bill gates/warren buffet so lucky throughout their years meh?

first time i heard of no.1...or i too innocent

easily exposed rite for no.1?
    how to expose ya? I also want to know.
    Lets say I have $1mil to wash. I pay $1mil for a $900k winning ticket, or split into several tickets.
    when claimed winnings, they recorded down IC, made a cheque.
    Oh ya, before you cash in winning ticket, make sure to photocopy winning ticket, and the newspaper showing the winning results, have to take down the date, very important.
    After receive cheque, also have to photocopy cheque before cashing it in, very important also.
    When IRAS ask how come got so much money, show them the photocopies.
    of course using Singapore Pools, the amount of money to be wash is small.

Anyway google 'money laundering" will bring tons of results.

how to expose ya? I also want to know.
    Lets say I have $1mil to wash. I pay $1mil for a $900k winning ticket, or split into several tickets.
    when claimed winnings, they recorded down IC, made a cheque.
    Oh ya, before you cash in winning ticket, make sure to photocopy winning ticket, and the newspaper showing the winning results, have to take down the date, very important.
    After receive cheque, also have to photocopy cheque before cashing it in, very important also.
    When IRAS ask how come got so much money, show them the photocopies.
    of course using Singapore Pools, the amount of money to be wash is small.
    ooo...wat if the person who sell u the tix expose u?
    i nvr strike lottery one leh...sianz...paying additional 'tax' nia ....me NO LUCK DE LOR!

go casino 10times lose 10times...and not 9times...hahaha

ooo...wat if the person who sell u the tix expose u?
    i nvr strike lottery one leh...sianz...paying additional 'tax' nia ....me NO LUCK DE LOR!

go casino 10times lose 10times...and not 9times...hahaha
    Haha, my name is recorded in Singapore Pools system, his name is not.
    I have all the evidence on my side.
    that's why pay premium - now he bear the risk of IRAS asking him where he has $1m.
    Anyway, IRAS check also a few years down the road.
    Actually very curious how come IRAS very slow.
    That civil servant who stole $11million, most of his money spend in Singapore, buy properties here and there.
    IRAS not suspicious meh? They have these super duper system.....
    Looks like not working.
    or his salary very very high, that's why not suspicious.
    Greed is his undoing, if he wants to steal, steal a few times bigtime and run away, just like that lawyer who stole clients' money.

Haha, my name is recorded in Singapore Pools system, his name is not.
    I have all the evidence on my side.
    that's why pay premium - now he bear the risk of IRAS asking him where he has $1m.
    Anyway, IRAS check also a few years down the road.
    Actually very curious how come IRAS very slow.
    That civil servant who stole $11million, most of his money spend in Singapore, buy properties here and there.
    IRAS not suspicious meh? They have these super duper system.....
    Looks like not working.
    or his salary very very high, that's why not suspicious.
    tat guy too haolian la...if only he stay low profile...shd drive jap car instead of crashing ferrari and den buy another lambo

i guess they wun check on everyone lor...i guess he is kena expose one

tat guy too haolian la...if only he stay low profile...shd drive jap car instead of crashing ferrari and den buy another lambo

i guess they wun check on everyone lor...i guess he is kena expose one
    Personal preference is white collar crime, at least don't get caning.
    Also potential for stealing a lot of money is more in white collar crime.
    I don't understand their mentality why they keep on stealing for years.
    Always operate on the assumption that one will be caught sooner rather than later.
    On that assumption, have to steal big one time and convert straightaway to physical gold, bearer bonds etc. Get it out of banking system.
    Next either give yourself up to police or run away to another country which has no extradition treaty with Singapore.
    That lawyer is smart, but he made the mistake of converting to diamonds, which are worth about 10-20cents on the dollar in the black market.

Personal preference is white collar crime, at least don't get caning.
    Also potential for stealing a lot of money is more in white collar crime.
    I don't understand their mentality why they keep on stealing for years.
    Always operate on the assumption that one will be caught sooner rather than later.
    On that assumption, have to steal big one time and convert straightaway to physical gold, bearer bonds etc. Get it out of banking system.
    Next either give yourself up to police or run away to another country which has no extradition treaty with Singapore.
    That lawyer is smart, but he made the mistake of converting to diamonds, which are worth about 10-20cents on the dollar in the black market.
    hope not every lawyer is so so smart wor...cant imagine runaway our hard earned profits

Actually, i think IRAS is damn inefficient.
    A few cases show that those people who don't report rental income, they are caught only after a few years.
    If tenants declared rental and stamp duty, and owner don't, at most 1 year, the system should detect already.

The civil servant, buy a few condos and cars, all purchases are recorded computerised system. IRAS should know about it already.
    Unless the civil servant, being an insider, knows the weakness and loopholes in the system.

no receipt but got cameras everywhere to prove you were at casino.

casino losses also no receipt. how to proof being broke is from losing at casinos?

no need to involve many ppl lah.

think about it, you want to legalise $1m. would you mind losing $500k just to legalise that $1m? i won't mind that's for sure as all that dirty money was easy money anyway, if i can easily get 1.5m to go casino to wash, i can easily get another 1.5m.

in fact, some will even lose more money than what they have washed. why? you ask. isn't that dumb? well, these are not hard earned sweat and blood money and any money washed is considered a profit, despite hiw much dirty money is lost.

only sore losers/lamers blame on luck de lah.....they blame on luck, frens, agts, or even parents BUT except THEMSELVES

u tink bill gates/warren buffet so lucky throughout their years meh?
    gambling is still dependent on luck no matter how hard you count your chance. How not to?

The only way I can think of is gamble with discipline which itself is a form of calculated risk.

different class... sound like "get out of my elite uncaring face" haha

casino losses also no receipt. how to proof being broke is from losing at casinos?

think about it, you want to legalise $1m. would you mind losing $500k just to legalise that $1m? i won't mind that's for sure as all that dirty money was easy money anyway, if i can easily get 1.5m to go casino to wash, i can easily get another 1.5m.

in fact, some will even lose more money than what they have washed. why? you ask. isn't that dumb? well, these are not hard earned sweat and blood money and any money washed is considered a profit, despite hiw much dirty money is lost.

different class... sound like "get out of my elite uncaring face" haha
    money launderers are probably lower breed than you are

they are the scum of society, sucking filthy money from filthy businesses and cleaning it so that they can maintain a veneer of respectability in society

many of them drive bentley continentals, porsche turbos and lambos around town. not all of them make few million a year thru entirely legal means

any idea how long do they keep records of videos in casinos. what are the legal requirements? in private rooms got video cameras?

Why need to prove being broke is from losing at casino?

A lot of money washing is due to unreported income due to high corporate and income tax in neighbouring countries. So those business owners definitely feel the pinch of losing at casinos, lose 1mil just to proof 500k legally, their money is definitely hard earned sweat and blood money. They might just as well pay tax to their governments!

any idea how long do they keep records of videos in casinos. what are the legal requirements? in private rooms got video cameras?

Why need to prove being broke is from losing at casino?

A lot of money washing is due to unreported income due to high corporate and income tax in neighbouring countries. So those business owners definitely feel the pinch of losing at casinos, lose 1mil just to proof 500k legally, their money is definitely hard earned sweat and blood money. They might just as well pay tax to their governments!
    if the money laundering is due to unreported income, sometimes it is cheaper to pay tax. that is the conservative way of thinking for some of these people. the more adventurous tax evaders will try to play at the casinos for the chance to win even more money! after all the chances of winning are only marginally lower than that of losing.

if money laundering is due to wholesale theft and embezzelment, which i suspect there are more of these cases than tax evasion, casino is the only way to clean those huge amounts of ill gotten gains. wait till you find out how many indonesians residing in singapore and elsewhere are wanted by the indonesian govt for white collar commercial and financial crimes.

With the recent news on higher Oct 10 sales volume and views that prices can only go higher, do bros/sis here think that its a good time to get an investm pty now?

When I see general view that property price will go up higher, I think the property peak is quite near. I still remember 2007 when everyone was so crazy about properties...

I will wait until 2012 when the dust is more or less settled to get a clearer picture i.e. liquidity subsides, many condos TOP, US economy outlook is more certain... http://www.cibmagazine.com.cn/Column...hrough_qe.html

Those who bought the Caspian condo (and sitting on paper gain) did so near the economy bust, while those who bought the LakeFront (and other condos) did so during the economy boom. So I think the downside is more than the upside for those buying now. But if you have spare cash and have enough for retirement, I think investment in property is still safer than stocks.

When I see general view that property price will go up higher, I think the property peak is quite near. I still remember 2007 when everyone was so crazy about properties...

I will wait until 2012 when the dust is more or less settled to get a clearer picture i.e. liquidity subsides, many condos TOP, US economy outlook is more certain... http://www.cibmagazine.com.cn/Column...hrough_qe.html

Those who bought the Caspian condo (and sitting on paper gain) did so near the economy bust, while those who bought the LakeFront (and other condos) did so during the economy boom. So I think the downside is more than the upside for those buying now. But if you have spare cash and have enough for retirement, I think investment in property is still safer than stocks.
    True but the wait is making my neck long and the correction is not even guaranteed.

Some old forumers stop visiting this forum. They adopt a wait and see attitude and will come back when the time is right. Maybe I will be gone if market crush.

If this is for self stay, buy. If for investment than wait a while no hurry if you want to be on the safe side.

If you chiong now, high risk maybe low return. So make sure you can hold on to it and your job is stable.

Also depending on which project you buy.

i am also making that kind of decision now...probably will sign OTP sometime this week on an investment property. Had to be extra careful in selecting - must have a lot of upside before i decided to commit. But there are still risks...

Some old forumers stop visiting this forum. They adopt a wait and see attitude and will come back when the time is right. Maybe I will be gone if market crush.

If this is for self stay, buy. If for investment than wait a while no hurry if you want to be on the safe side.

If you chiong now, high risk maybe low return. So make sure you can hold on to it and your job is stable.

Also depending on which project you buy.

old frumers disappear? i still have the thinking they are around but put in a newbie name that is all...