Thread: What will you do with $200k cash?

Default What will you do with $200k cash?

A hypothetical amount.... It's not a lot, but I cant help wondering how the savvy property investors here will use $200k cash to grow. Anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by Nestor
    A hypothetical amount.... It's not a lot, but I cant help wondering how the savvy property investors here will use $200k cash to grow. Anyone?
    too little to fry ppty

used tat to fry stocks still got chance to make it big ....nid to leverage perhaps X5 at least

go casino show hand!

wait for TOTO big big ... whack 10,000 quick pick

buy 20 lots keppel corp for medium to long term.

too little to fry ppty

used tat to fry stocks still got chance to make it big ....nid to leverage perhaps X5 at least
    Minimum of 1 million needed to start? What about those 700-800 properties and using that as downpayment for a start?

Please pardon the noob question...

Minimum of 1 million needed to start? What about those 700-800 properties and using that as downpayment for a start?

Please pardon the noob question...
    for investment grade residential properties, $700-$800k would probably only get you a studio apartment in the prime and city areas.

if you're looking for massive return on your $200k, now is probably not a good time to get into investment property as there seems to be very little meat left for short term profits (2, 3 years window).

if you're thinking about non-prime suburban properties, these are not usually considered good for investment as supply is healthy and demand may go soft once immigrants stop coming in and when another crisis hits the "sandwich class" who make up the majority of buyers and owners in this class, for example job cuts and pay cuts.

$200k isn't a lot, but it's a fair savings amount for a typical middle class family in their 30s. i would save the money as a buffer/contingency, and not worry too much

get massive returns on your ego and lifestyle by committing to an Audi or BMW convertible

buy 20 lots of Hang Seng Index

Hmm.... $200k wor... I might feed my pet dog with his favourite snacks

Property not enough. Put into bank stocks or reits.

This might be obvious to many but it's pretty insightful for me... Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Anus
    for investment grade residential properties, $700-$800k would probably only get you a studio apartment in the prime and city areas.

if you're looking for massive return on your $200k, now is probably not a good time to get into investment property as there seems to be very little meat left for short term profits (2, 3 years window).

if you're thinking about non-prime suburban properties, these are not usually considered good for investment as supply is healthy and demand may go soft once immigrants stop coming in and when another crisis hits the "sandwich class" who make up the majority of buyers and owners in this class, for example job cuts and pay cuts.

But with 200K cash on hand, with no other huge property debts (assuming that property loan is less than 50%), can invest in studio right?

the rental opportunity for 2 bedder apartment is better.

Quote Originally Posted by ocoloco79
    But with 200K cash on hand, with no other huge property debts (assuming that property loan is less than 50%), can invest in studio right?

I will buy 200K of good REITS at 7-8% yield to give you a $1000+ of passive income per month....

nvr buy reits(still shares) for dividend

Isnt it obvious?? Use half of it to buy a top notch money printing machine (not USD model pls) and the other half to travel round the world washing those money.

I don't think anyone who says "never buy suburban property" is good insight. It has done relatively well. You can follow the herd like most Singaporeans and buy MMs in the CBD or you take just take a slightly more contrarian approach in finding gems using your own judgement. A lot of newly TOP projects recently are NOT fetching a premium from their original launch price in 2007, esp the prime condos. So what does it say? There is no such thing as "prime" property is "investment grade". Investment grade means something that gives you good yields and returns. A lot of prime properties fetch underwhelming yields - the only hope is foreign hot money - i.e. pray for bubbles to be formed by hot money. But it can also give lucrative returns if bubbles gets bigger. With low interest and countries printing money like no tomorrow, bubbles may become bigger but make sure you get out fast before the printing stops and contractionary policies begin. Hot money can flow out as fast as it comes in. And for new launch only TOP in 2015? Well, does anyone really believe the printing is going to be non-stop until 2015?

Go check out some properties that are going to TOP in next few months. You will be surprised the buyers who follow the herd and bought from developers are selling at no profits or even at a loss.

And with $200k, don't worry too much. Keep some as spare and buy some stocks.

This might be obvious to many but it's pretty insightful for me... Thanks!

nvr buy reits(still shares) for dividend
    i hold some reits purely for dividends leh.. not a gd idea ah??

Quote Originally Posted by ocoloco79
    get a decent size layout studio to partition extra room. that will be attractive to tenants.
    Etc odeon katong 600sqft sold ard 540k below 585k previous transacted. slowly hunt and u able to pick some undervalued

don't talk cock lah.

you mean in the current environment, you'd want to touch suburban at these prices?

also, more singaporeans do buy suburban condos than prime so i don't know what point you are trying to make about following the herd?

i agree going against the herd, which means to shun suburban in this current climate. At $800 to $1200psf for suburbs, how much more do you expect suburban condos to appreciate?

you have said so yourself how much suburban condos have increased in price and not prime condos, so which one continues to be more undervalued? also, prime properties are a whole different animal, with a more international investor base and market than the suburban, so i'm afraid one cannot compare the two just based on % price appreciation in the past 2 years. what is important is the performance from now to the future. we cannot look at the past performance any more as any indicator of price performance.

i would recommend NOT investing in any property right now, whether suburban or prime.

I don't think anyone who says "never buy suburban property" is good insight. It has done relatively well. You can follow the herd like most Singaporeans and buy MMs in the CBD or you take just take a slightly more contrarian approach in finding gems using your own judgement. A lot of newly TOP projects recently are NOT fetching a premium from their original launch price in 2007, esp the prime condos. So what does it say? There is no such thing as "prime" property is "investment grade". Investment grade means something that gives you good yields and returns. A lot of prime properties fetch underwhelming yields - the only hope is foreign hot money - i.e. pray for bubbles to be formed by hot money. But it can also give lucrative returns if bubbles gets bigger. With low interest and countries printing money like no tomorrow, bubbles may become bigger but make sure you get out fast before the printing stops and contractionary policies begin. Hot money can flow out as fast as it comes in. And for new launch only TOP in 2015? Well, does anyone really believe the printing is going to be non-stop until 2015?

Go check out some properties that are going to TOP in next few months. You will be surprised the buyers who follow the herd and bought from developers are selling at no profits or even at a loss.

And with $200k, don't worry too much. Keep some as spare and buy some stocks.

I'm this close to buying Shelford Regency for own stay and selling off my HDB... probably not a good idea huh..

I can wait though.. in fact I can wait for about 4 years... but if I wait.. what are the trigger points? Should I buy when the property prices dip? Pte property price dipping should also mean that my HDB price will dip, so sell high buy high or sell low buy low... in the end it's the same no? Or should I stick on the "keep HDB and buy cheap and affordable pte" plan.. which means I'll have to wait for Duchess Crest to fall below 1mil.. might not happen at all...

200k is really very little money!

200k probably can save thousands of children in Africa.
    Suggest u donate some. Less headache of buy high, low, when, where??

I'm this close to buying Shelford Regency for own stay and selling off my HDB... probably not a good idea huh..

I can wait though.. in fact I can wait for about 4 years... but if I wait.. what are the trigger points? Should I buy when the property prices dip? Pte property price dipping should also mean that my HDB price will dip, so sell high buy high or sell low buy low... in the end it's the same no? Or should I stick on the "keep HDB and buy cheap and affordable pte" plan.. which means I'll have to wait for Duchess Crest to fall below 1mil.. might not happen at all...

200k is really very little money!
    you have a girl too? lol you're in the same boat as me dude. shd do kopi ine day

If I have $200k savings I will...

Keep $100k for emergency use
    With the remaining $100k buy Starhub, Tiger Airways, GLP shares equally and wait

Is it a good idea to make use of the current property market and low interest condition to refinance my mortgage to take cash out to invest in shares?

Quote Originally Posted by nutzz
    Is it a good idea to make use of the current property market and low interest condition to refinance my mortgage to take cash out to invest in shares?
    if u hf been making $ from stocks...y not...get rdy hot cash and buy on dips

Buy $1000 4D per draw on one number and if hit first prize, its 2 million and u can do a lot more.

put your 200k into genting shares...there is risk but its the fastest way for your 200k to grow! n this counter will really fly if there's no crisis or mishap..

when investing long term, always better to look at company fundamentals.

genting is speculative, price is based on future earnings. although i don't doubt that casinos have potential to earn a lot in the long run. however any time casinos open in bintan or batam, you can be sure that RWS earnings sentiments will be hit hard.

keppel corp or semb marine on the other hand are blue chip stocks that have solid financials and fundamentals as well as business models. to me they are a lot safer to vest in. look at keppel's PE, it is cheap.